Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Black Charlie
Mon, Apr 10, 2017, 4:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I found it fun. Sort of fish-out-water, Riker, Worf and Data amongst these shallow, stylised characters, Data matter-of-factly stating the rules of blackjack and they have no choice but to simply agree amid playing their roles as shallow cliched characters.

A funny bad sad kind of hell trapped by aliens in what they believed to be your ideal way of living which is actually a really crap pulp novel. Still I enjoyed the setting and the mystery, but I do wonder what became of that planet. Surely they must have put a warning out about it, what if some other poor travellers became trapped in the hotel for eternity but never read the book in order to figure out how to get out.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Wed, May 29, 2013, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

@Nathaniel

Is that supposed to be some kind of defense to what Janeway said?
Set Bookmark
charlie
Wed, May 22, 2013, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Patrick:
"In fact, the most horrible crap happened to Worf and O'Brien out of all the main characters on the show. Is it a coincidence that they both happened to originate on TNG? Hmmmm....."

A very good point, Patrick. This could be seen as more of Ira's hatred for TNG; hatred which, as far as I'm concerned, ensured that DS9 would not be embraced as TOS & TNG were.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Tue, May 21, 2013, 5:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Janeway: "Unfortunately extinction is often the natural end of evolution."

Four words: WHAT THE FUCK, BITCH???
Set Bookmark
charlie
Wed, May 1, 2013, 5:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Let's face it, DS9 turned Worf into Harry Kim by coming up with crap episodes like this.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Wed, Mar 27, 2013, 6:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

The best of the Trek finales (Star Trek VI notwithstanding), regardless of the four cruddy movies which followed
Set Bookmark
charlie
Mon, Jan 21, 2013, 7:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Col. Green "led a genocidal war early in the 21st Century on Earth"?

That's funny, I always thought George W. Bush did that (hey, somebody had to say that, so it may as well be me).
Set Bookmark
charlie
Mon, Jan 7, 2013, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

"Ripping on TNG's popularity due to no competition is sort of like saying Lewis and Clark's achievements wouldn't be noteworthy or relevant in our time of the interstate.

The show earned its accolades, its ratings and its place in television history. Deal with it."

I couldn't have said that better myself, Patrick!
Set Bookmark
charlie
Thu, Dec 29, 2011, 6:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Nathan,
"Homeward" was just a fluke, just like giving Spock a brother in Star Trek V was a fluke. "Time and Again," however, proved the norm for Voyager.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Tue, May 24, 2011, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I agree with Frakes that this story would have been more effective if Soren was a man. Having said that, it was a nicely played drama with an appropriately downbeat ending. I remember reading a 4 star review of the episode in USA Today the very night it aired in my area.
I must also point out that the makeup job on Melinda Culea was really good. Check out how hot she is on "The A-Team" & "Family Ties" and you'll see how good the makeup was at changing her appearance.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Wed, May 11, 2011, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

One of the many things I love about this episode is that it takes the then-chiche of having a main character (of a TV show) marry & then have him/her become a widow/widower by episode's end (Bonanza is probably the most notorious example of this)-and puts that cliche on its ear.
Picard doesn't have amnesia when he 'arrives' on Kataan (the first thing he does is call for the ship), but the fact that he tells Eline that he wants kids is a pretty good indication that he's fallen in love with her by that point.
With the exception of O'Brien, Picard became the only Trek character to enjoy married life for more than just a bit, & it just cost 25 minutes of his time.
This episode was such a brilliant way to get around that cliche. I thought that in 1992 & I think that now.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Fri, May 6, 2011, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

MadBaggins,
I'm starting to think that Jammer hates TNG, too. In his review of "Muse,' he referred to "Darmok" as "a TNG classic," yet he gives the episode a mere 3 stars. How it's not as 4 star worthy as, say, "The Visitor," is something that baffles me.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Tue, Apr 26, 2011, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Just a guess, but I think Lore talking to the CE was just a way of giving it an arrow toward the flying candy store that's the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Fri, May 7, 2010, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Yes, some of the early TNG episodes were just ripoffs of TOS stories, but I'm actually kinder to "The Naked Now" than some others because it actually ACKNOWLEDGES that it's a replay of "The Naked Time." Like Jammer said, it's never boring & the Data/Yar sex scene has become classic.
Voyager never did this with its many ripoffs, of course I guess it would've been silly to have references to past Trek series in almost every episode.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Mon, Apr 12, 2010, 9:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

It's episodes like this that gave DS9 it's not-so-endearing nicknames of "Melrose Space" or Deep Space 90210."
Set Bookmark
charlie
Sat, Feb 27, 2010, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Despite the weak ending where Janeway explains everything, this was a fun episode, with Picardo & Dwight Schultz making a delightful team.
I also liked the moment where Doc tells Kes that she's beautiful. I always suspected that he had developed feelings for her, similar to Odo's for Kira on DS9.
Sadly, this potential was undermined when TPTB got rid of Kes & not Neelix-UGH!!!!
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Sat, Feb 13, 2010, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

Since a person only needs 1 lung to survive, I'm surprised the Viddians (sp?) didn't simply give Neelix one of his own lungs back.
Set Bookmark
charlie
Thu, Feb 11, 2010, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

Since the Beta Quadrant is relatively close to the Alpha Quadrant, the Excelsior could've had occasional stops at starbases just like Kirk & Picard's Enterprises did.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Mon, Jan 4, 2010, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

I fail to see how TNG's final season was any worse than DS9's (here come those rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth DS9 fans with their intricate excuses for why saying something like that is unacceptable).
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Thu, Nov 19, 2009, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Jammer,
PLEASE give us more reviews of TNG: The best of the Trek series
Set Bookmark
charlie
Mon, Nov 2, 2009, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I remember reading that. Not that I agree with it, but Phil (the author) seemed to say that the Dominion War could've been prevented if the Federation simply stayed on their side of the wormhole.
I, for one, am surprised that the Federation just didn't collapse the wormhole after the events of "The Jem'Hadar" to keep the peace.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Wed, Oct 14, 2009, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

Telek recommends that he could tell Starfleet not to launch the mission which sends Voyager in the Delta Quadrant. Chakotay says, though, that that's a bad idea because it'll mean affecting people in the Delta Quadrant.
I've always suspected his real motive in saying that. He wasn't on Voyager when it was launched. If Starfleet cancelled the mission, he & the other Maquis would have to go it alone.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Tue, Jul 7, 2009, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

There was a Next Gen book series ~10 years ago, called the 'Q Continuum' I think.. anyway, it took upon itself to provide backstory for some of the stuff from TOS, including 'God' trapped at the center of the galaxy. A good read, if you can find it.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Wed, Jun 3, 2009, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Just in case you're interested, they did pick up the brain leech guys from Conspiracy for a pretty good story in the Star Trek Deep Space 9 novels. Not the same as a true sequel, but it's something.
Set Bookmark
Charlie
Sun, May 17, 2009, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

I just watched Equinox on Youtube. I agree that Voyager's tone should have been more like that. I don't condone Ransom's actions, but Janeway was incredibly naive & simplistic by not placing herself in his shoes & just condemning him outright.
Ransom: "It's easy to cling to principles when you're on a ship with its bulkheads intact manned by a crew that's not starving."
Janeway: "It's never easy, but if we turn our back on our principles we stop being human."
She might as well have said, "Well, the show's production staff is obviously more obliging to us."
As Jammer pointed out elsewhere, any extreme damage Voyager takes becomes a non-issue by the end of the episode.
It's a pity that the show was never given the power & nuance it could've had (Lessing & Gilmore would've certainly made encore appearances had Equinox been a TNG or DS9 installment).
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.