Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Wed, Apr 12, 2017, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

The only reason they didn't kill Kim in season 2 was that the actor was included in People's 1997 sexiest people alive list.

Set Bookmark
Charles
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

@ Peter G.
I don't pretend to be an expert on the acting business nor do I speak for other actors or their motivations for acting. 90 % of TNG episodes are great. "Lower Desks" is in that 10 % category in my opinion. I look at acting from a scaffolding view. Smaller roles are made to get into larger roles on TV or Movies. The Sito character was treated horribly by the TNG crew and her career was ended by a suicide mission handcuffed by a Cardassian double agent. Sito never found redemption. Imagine if the writers killed off Riker, Pikard, or Deanna Troi in similar manner to Sito. There would be hell to pay by Trekkies. That would destroy the franchise. Protection of characters is job security if there is such a thing in acting. That is what I would advise actors. I think we are going around in circles.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Peter G. First I have been in a short film and am credited on the film. Yes. I am an actor. There is no need to make this personal. I would call her being hazed by the crew, not tested, and then her character is killed off violently. She was not allowed to have any redemption. This was done to make the crew look like the good people at her expense and had little to do with science fiction. To team her up with a Cardassian double agent, who treated her terribly, was bad. Also, her make up was to make her look abused. It not clear whether the cast new the last season was cancelled. The series ended a year early and was replace by the TNG movies. Actors I believe want to keep their jobs and roles can make are break a career. These are my opinions.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Last season, yes. But there were movies to make for TNG. There was suppose to be one more season that was never made. The Producers continued the series in their TNG movies. There is a term called "babyfacing" in the business and "jobbers". Meaning the Sito's character is hazed because she did a bad thing in a previous episode making the main cast look "good". The movies continued the series. I am a TNG fan and wondered what it would be to work on the TNG set as an actor. This segment was my answer.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Fri, Sep 2, 2016, 9:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

This show is interesting because it makes TNG somewhat a harsh corporation to "work" in rather then to "boldly go where no one has gone before" exploration party. Yes. Sito had covered up the death of a cadet in First Duty, but this does not explain the hazing she receives from the main characters especially Picard, Riker, and Worf. And then the producers kill her character off in a horrible duty of being teamed up with a Cardassian double agent. The overall aspect of the show seems very petty. The main characters seem to be in real life wanting to protect their acting jobs and not have any fresh actors be promoted in the show. This episode is an interesting mix of science fiction fantasy meets corporate producers at Paramount Studios.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"This will be the end, or the beginning"

Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

"It won't be easy. If it's true this section has existed since the birth of the Federation, they've managed to hide their tracks very well"

- Right, by telling every Tom Dick and Harry they interrogate about their existence and purpose. Surely NO ONE would have EVER heard of them by now.

Come on writers, this is ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

As always with DS9, I loved it... up until they brought in the prophets. Way to kill your episode and everything you've worked for in this arc.

DS9 would have been such a good show without those prophets (that definitely killed season 7).
Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Agree 100% with Jons. This is beyond absurd. How ironic that a show about intelligence insults the viewer's so much.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Dec 14, 2014, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

PS: Agree 100% with everything KanarWithDamar says in their comment. Sisko is the worst Captain for these reasons (and actually more, but regarding this episode and the whole Bajoran religion thing this is enough). That's the episode when he starts to believe in himself as the emissary, which if I had been the Federation, would have been reason enough to cut him as a captain to DS9. Of course, DS9 is a TV show, and the character was written that way (and we're supposed to admire him for it), so the fault lies entirely with the writers of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Dec 14, 2014, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Interesting that Jammer put 4 stars to this episode, because personally that's the episode where DS9 started to piss me off personally, talking about religion and gods like it's a real thing, and crossing from "star trek" to supernatural bullshit. I'd give it 0 stars.

Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

What I love about DS9 is the Cardassians. They're the only really well-developed alien race ever made on Star Trek.

They are all-around different. I love the discussions about the difference between Cardassian and human literature for example. Or the way they conduct trials - finally, a society that is truly, entirely different, and yet is big and powerful. The vulcans could have been that, but apart from "no emotion", their society was never really developed.

I LOVED the boy who cried wolf tale: Garek's immediate interpretation of it is so Cardassian, so him, so alien. Or the Cardassian adage about burning your bridges: Taking something we (Western 21st century humans) take for granted and common sense and turning it on its head while still making complete sense.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

This *was* a very boring episode, with more loopholes than plot, and to contribute to the discussion, Avery is a TERRIBLE actor. The best DS9 episodes are those where the story revolves around the Cardassian occupation / war and where he is seen the least...

I totally agree with Yanks that if Sisko had been a normal Trek "captain" (in a roaming ship, the center of the story), the series would have been pulled after one season.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Oh Elliott, I've laughed so much reading your review. This episode made no sense - it was like a silly TOS episode complete with cardboard sets, but without the excuse of being trapped on a distant planet by aliens and having to follow their rules. Here who can believe for a secodn that the kidnapping of 4 senior officers by aliens would not have meant the Starfleet Command being alerted immediately and the aliens on question being arrested??
Set Bookmark
Charles
Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

I'm re-watching DS9 for the first time. I barely remembered the pilot but I found it incredibly representative of how the whole series turned out.

I've liked DS9 but there were some major flaws that give me a love/hate relationship with it. And all of the them are very present in this pilot: the ridiculous religious themes which go against everything that is Star Trek, the Ferengi, but most of all, Sisko. I hate Sisko. And I guess that's why DS9 is my second least favourite Star Trek series (after TOS): Each series is so defined by its captain that if you don't like the captain you can't love the series. Sisko is a hot head, way too emotional, always looking angry. The scene with Picard speaks volume. Not only is he resentful (the reasons for which you may or may not agree with him about) but he is incapable of controlling himself. He looks like a caricature of a human in a bad Vulcan parody act. Impatient, emotional, aggressive... I don't like Sisko. Anyway - I've just embarked on 7 seasons of DS9 so I guess I'll just have to bear with him again.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Tue, Nov 11, 2014, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

I'm just going to complain about one thing: the whole "their technology is 900 years old!" "oh I can't use these controls, I'm 900 yo too late"- which makes NO SENSE.

Civilizations across the universe haven't evolved at the same time or at the same pace even. There is no such thing as an alien race with technology that's "900 years older" than another's unless they've had at some point the same exact same technology. For all they know the Vadwar were a billion times more advanced 900 years ago than the Federation is now.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Mon, Nov 10, 2014, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

"With the end of DS9—the most challenging incarnation of the franchise—now upon us, I'm realizing that Voyager will be all that's left to speak for Trek"

I finally understand your problem, Jammer. You don't like Star Trek. DS9 went as far as possible from what Star Trek (the original series, TNG, Voyager) is. It wasn't about exploration and discovery, it wasn't a utopian future, it reintroduced religion big-time, it was mostly a long-arch story. I liked DS9 and enjoyed it overall (I am actually planning on re-watching it after I'm done with my re-watching of Voyager). But it's not "Star Trek" - it's more like another (very 90s) sci-fi show that uses some elements of the Star Trek universe.

Episodes such as Warhead are what made and make Star Trek what it is. A one-hour episode that tells a story, gives an insight into an alien mind / alien culture, raises a few questions, brings drama and a satisfying resolution. I personally loved it. The questions it raises about artificial intelligence are certainly fascinating - yes AI can be good and can prosper (the doc) but if its programming has so restrictive as warhead's has been, then maybe we have the co-existence of AI (sense of self) and lack of free-will. What does it say about us? About our free-will? About brainwashing?
I also loved when the bomb asked "but did he ever stop being a doctor?". (And people who know m know I'm a staunch supporter of the view that AIs are people).

Anyway, 4 star episode to me.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Nov 9, 2014, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I really liked that episode, small continuity errors aside. I really like the idea that the Hansens were actively chasing the Borgs - it explains why they would end up being assimilated and in the delta quadrant all of places.

This being said, i hate the Borg Queen - here on in the movies. I thought that was a really weak move on the part of the writers. THAT is what made the Borg look weak, not Voyager. They were scary because they were a collective with drones which had lost all sense of individuality. Speaking to one was speaking to all. That's what made them so alien. The minute one was able to say "they're like..." (insects, a hive, whatever) their alienness was ruined.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, Oct 29, 2014, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I love the double standards used for Voyager and TOS... TOS is the perfect, amazing series, and each of its episodes is thought-provoking, and a classic, while Voyager is supposedly aimless and limited.

I'm sorry but that's complete bullshit. Once you accept Voyager is NOT DS9 and was never meant to be, and you compare it to TNG and TOS, it fares quite well. TNG had it fair share of doozies, and TOS well don't get me started on TOS.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Oct 26, 2014, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Love this episode. Deserves a 3 or even 4 stars rating. The "msytery" aspect is really good, and goes on for an appropriate length of time, until we get the "reveal" - both visually striking and clever. I'm happy it wasn't another of those "space anomaly does something weird to the crew". And it justifies why all of their symptoms were different...

Also, I don't see why the animal rights allegory is a problem, on the contrary. It's a very, very valid point that should have been made even more prominent. Yes someone (millions?) are benefiting from it but those who are suffering don't have a choice in the matter and they're not benefiting.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

As often, I disagre with you Jammer.

I really liked this episode, it was different, and you who are always asking for "character developement" / storyline, well you've got one here! The premise is almost irrelevant. the whole show is about the Tuvox-Neelix relationship and a "long due" elaboration on their rapport. I thought the outburst was really well acted and justified for the character, and really liked the final dialogue as well.

I generally don't like Neelix, but in this episode the whole thing worked. I also liked the idea of aliens invading other worlds cleverly, not by force but by ruse...
Set Bookmark
Charles
Thu, Oct 9, 2014, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Well, I really liked this episode. Jammer, I love your website and I read your reviews almost every time, but I'm afraid we just don't agree... I hate the Q episodes, the Klinglon episodes and you love them.
I really enjoyed this (of course, flawed like most ST episodes anyway) but fun little number, which I found captivating and funny (the doctor's subjects actually had me laughing out loud) and a reasonable conclusion of the spy-arc.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Thu, Oct 9, 2014, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Probably the only Torres episode I find watchable or even enjoyable.

Of course it's improbable that they would stumble on the weapon just like that. But that's one of the things ou have to disregard if you want to enjoy star trek. Space is very, VERY big. Truth is in reality, there wouldn't be any chance to happen on an inhabited planet, much less a spacefaring planet... AT ALL. To say nothing of every other week, even travelling at warp speed. So if you are willing to believe that, you're willing to believe in finding a lost weapon.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, Oct 8, 2014, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Apart from the unsufferable character that is Belanna, I actually enjoyed this episode, and it is one I have remembered many years after I first saw it.

I thought the premise was very "old-star trek". But at least there was an attempt at creating new aliens, with an interesting backstory, and I thought it worked. I'd give it 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Sun, Oct 5, 2014, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

I hate "theme episodes" (often holodeck episodes). ST is already a genre TV series: science fiction. If I wanted to watch another genre (cowboys, medieval, vampire...), I would watch another show!

That episode is the first in, unfortunately, a long list of theme episodes on Voyager (although they also appear on TNG and DS9...). Bleh.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.