Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Fri, May 30, 2014, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I liked the episode. It wasn't the best combination to let Hoshi keep on sleuthing while Enterprise was in such a dire situation, but Archer is prone to make such bad decisions. Too bad he didn't refer to Fortunate Son and that he had learned its lesson. Now you get the impression that boomers are not allowed to use violence against pirates, yet Archer can against similar hostile aliens. My guess is the writers have already forgotten that episode.
But it had suspense, real aliens and a feeling of being alone and far out. No need to have the Vulcans at two days away. Just be out there without any help at all. Finding your own solutions. Again, rather a fun episode IMO.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Thu, May 23, 2013, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

And maybe.... the designers and operators of the station aren't gone at all, but lie amidst the other victims of the station.... (ominous music)
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Thu, May 9, 2013, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Elliott

You basically claim that scale is an excuse to abandon principles and that analogies are unwise to use here. Yet you use an analogy yourself when you say "if the beings the Enterprise encountered weren't sentient, but some sort of higher primate below that level of evolution, I don't think there would be a moral outrage about allowing nature to take its course" to explain your own point of view.

Crucial in this story is that it's not humans interfering with others, but others interfering with humans. The aliens came to the rest of the universe in a bid for help, not the other way around.

It _has_ ethical implications for humans - on any scale, and certainly in the Star Trek future - to turn down a plea for help. That is the reason why some of the analogies here are perfectly valid. They're not about interference, but about responding to a plea for help.

If you want to explain why such a directive came into being, it's only logical to assume that an inexperienced captain of the human race makes an understandable decision that turns out awfully wrong.

The series developers came up with the idea of the prime directive to remind the viewers of what had happened in history shouldn't happen again. South-American native people encountering Europeans, Native Americans meeting the newcomers. And so on. Never again, so they taught the viewers

The devastating results of introducing _technology_ (and not medical assistance) to people who would be endangered in their existence because they wouldn't know how to handle it. It never applied to people who didn't ask for help.

That's the weak point of this story. Coming back to your analogy: animals don't ask for help. People who don't know that there are ready made solutions out there don't ask for it either.

From the human's point of view it's not about pull, it's about push.
This is a pull situation: the aliens actively ask for help, and help was refused based on "maybe, someday, and maybe this or that, and could well be that one time in the future...."

The prime directive is not about scale and speculation, it's about caution and learning from earlier mistakes. If someone defends the prime directive with the words that it might be bigoted and arbitrary - then there sure is something wrong with it. Bigotry certainly doesn't indicate "large thinking". On the contrary.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Thu, May 9, 2013, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Ethics discussion aside: Enterprise is a "prequel series". The developers have told us the series would enlighten us how it all came to be. That's no truth from the Star Trek universe but from our own. It didn't develop stand-alone, it was the basis of the series.

From this "how come" point of view it would have been far more interesting if the writers decided to show us how that Prime Directive came to be. (It might also have prevented this whole discussion...)

Let's say Archer acts as a human being and tries to help them, with terrible results, thus making the space faring Earthlings rethink and re-evaluate their evident and ethical imperative, leading to the restriction called the "Prime Directive".

This weird episode is about the foreshadow of the prime directive (Archer almost mentions the name literally) yet does not tell us why the Prime Directive came into being.

It basically tells us: Archer sits on his hands "because", and millions die. That's the Prime Directive. It could have been: Archer _does_ act and as a result millions die. The prime directive comes into being.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sun, Mar 3, 2013, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

"none of that non-interference crap T'Pol's always shoving down our throats".

Like she did in Dear Doctor. Oh, no, she didn't, that was Archer.

Like she did in Cogenitor. Oh, no, she didn't, that was Archer.

Like she always did. Oh, no, she didn't "always", she only advised against open contact in Civilization.

It seems Trip Tucker still is the redneck racist from Strange New World. Good to see characters develop. And writers doing their job.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Mon, Feb 4, 2013, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

This horrible episode again demonstrated that the show creators and writers wasted so much potential.

You wonder what must have been going on in their minds. They often come up with good ideas and squander them in a most appalling way. They create characters behaving like fools without consequence yet insert others with sensible logic. Like Archer and T'Pol discussing on the treadmill, or Archer and Phlox in sickbay over a dog and onions.

Both T'Pol and Phlox point out what an idiot Archer is. These dialogs are written by the same people who transform Archer in a raving idiot with his own shitty dialog. Written by the same writers. It's flabbergasting.

This episode could have shown the development towards a next step in interspecies relations. Phlox learning from the reaction of his captain how important animals can be as pets - while eating other animals at the same time, learning a bit more about their emotional state. All he does is being right and all-knowing, unto diagnosing sexual tension between a human and a Vulcan. I would have liked it if here were shown dead wrong.

Archer could be irritated over T'Pols logic. Logic he hates because he hates Vulcans, yet he realizes that they always do have a valid point being the experienced space travelers and humans being the immature rookies.

Archer could well give stupid answers, only to explain later that he knew how stupid his reactions were, but that his annoyance about T'Pol being dead right took over. That is very human.
A captain telling his first officer that he said some stupid things could be countered by T'Pol that she - thanks to those very reaction - learned a lot about human pride. She could even have said that she needed to rethink her strategy how she should counter human reasoning that's obviously and blatantly wrong. Say the lesson about _being_ right and being _put_ in the right.

It could have been an episode about characters developing, understanding each other a bit better and growing towards each other, an episode about growing mutual understanding; about learning curves, just with these very ingredients the writers deliberately chose themselves.

It became an episode about a horny teenager who forgot to jack off the day before. Sorry for the language, but I fail to understand that people with the potential and ideas to write a good script always end up on Enterprise with half baked endings or - worse - juvenile, stupid sex.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Jan 12, 2013, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Jammer tells us "If it were me, she'd have just lit a powder keg."

What do we think now about a _man_ sexually taking advantage of a _woman_ just because he wants to hump or experience how a hump goes?

Even in our times we are growingly aware that this is sexual abuse. And especially amongst friends and colleagues. This is disgusting behavior.

I wonder what it tells us about the ethics of the writers. Really. I don't think they have caught up with civilized society, giving their script.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Jan 12, 2013, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Archer _is_ a bad captain and a bad leader, by any standard.

Contrary to what people think, as a leader you don't do whatever you please, you allow the people around you to excel at what they do. Archer listens to literally no one. He discards the advice of his science officer, and jeopardizes crew and humankind. He scoffs at his security officer for doing his job: deciding what kind of protection they need on an away mission.

And all characters are written as borderline idiots, not to mention Starfleet which sends out a spaceship without even the most basic of protocols.

Archer is an impulsive nut job. He likes to insult his science officer because she is a Vulcans, and he hates Vulcans. He is nothing but a racist.

The science officer T'Pol is right all the time, but an arrogant prick. Arrogance is an emotion, Vulcans repress their emotions, they don't express them. But I must admit: Vulcans are written as obnoxious obstacles in this series.

The chief engineer is a little kid, whining to go with his buddy instead of doing his job he's asked to do.

The armory officer is a danger to his surroundings by wanting to blow up everything instead of using common sense or electronics to open a hatch.

The comm officer isn't a teacher by nature, as Jammer suggests, but a starfleet officer. She went through a starfleet training and education for years, to join, umm, to... what's the purpose of STARfleet, again? Yeah, right, to teach gibberish clicking sounds in the jungle. Or was it about SPACE and SPACE EXPLORATION?
"I went to medical school but I faint the moment I see a drop of blood." That was a good decision.

And Phlox is a creep. Did you see that scene in the mess hall with Tucker?

I know it's a story, but I wonder why aliens would search other aliens to pump them out for their body fluids. I think it's utterly ridiculous. A civilization able to cross space has access to such vast command of energy and technology it would be idiotic to harvest it in space instead of creating it at home. But again, that's just a nitpick.

An actual depiction of life in space would be boring as hell for the spectator. Like watching astronauts preparing for an EVA aboard the ISS. Talking about protocols and common sense, we should Archer force to look at those preparations for an hour or so, together with his superiors back home. That should teach them a few basics.

At the end there's no indication of a learning curve. Archer has just escaped mass annihilation and a possible attack on Earth but will continue to ignore and humiliate T'Pol.
Now that is a good premise for the prequel the producers told it would be.

A few episodes in Enterprise have shown the potential of a prequel show, in which people learn from mistakes and other things that happen of don't happen, and explain why the so called "future" star trek inhabitants behave like they behave.
After all, the audience didn't come up with the prequel idea. The producers did. And after saying that, they did everything to ridicule their own premise. I wonder why you would blurt out such nonsense in the first place if you knew you weren't going to stick to your own ideas.

Regardless of that, the show looks great. The CGI is still amazing even for today's standards.

I'm not much into "canon" and "star trek bible". But I ofter have the feeling that there was so much possible and so little opportunity grabbed. Often I feel cynicism thinking about what Enterprise could have been. Too bad.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

Thank goodness the Augments are all wiped out. Else we would have to organize a fundraiser to properly clothe them.

A nice trilogy, too bad that the Augments were such dumb cardboard characters. Maybe that is the message: superhumans are super in everything, including dumb and destructive. Wasn't there a war about the subject in Trek canon? A good explanation given.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Trip has no family left, the episode seems to state. But all we heard prior to this is that he lost his sister in the Xindi attack. No one else.

But he also had a brother. He practiced dancing with him because he wanted to ask a girl on high school prom or something similar. He told that to the renegade Vulcan engineer at odds with his dad.

Or did his brother die earlier? If he died in the attack as well, why wasn't he mourning him as well?

Hoshi has a father, Reed had a father and a mother, Travis had a mom and dad...
What about Trip's father or mother? Were they both deceased, or killed in the attack as well or whatever? He never mourned them, either.

The disappearance of his family always nagged me. Maybe someone here knows what was wrong with his brother and family?
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

How about being understaffed if with 80 people aboard you have to settle for an entomologist as your medical sidekick.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I love this episode because it true shows a science fiction worthy idea.

I don't exactly understand why a ship from the past had to bump into them; it's an unnecessary complication. Let a big rock emerge from the "spatial distortion", or so.

And I don't understand why they only can relay a "simple message, a few characters at most" from one time loop to the other when Beverly is able to hear complete conversations of thousands of people.
Simply shout "Commander Riker was right with his suggestion!" prior to destruction and listen to it in the next loop. After all, they could hear "abandon ship", so that shout would certainly be heard.

And of course they could have done both: decompress a shuttle bay and push with the tractor beam.

Nitpicks, nevertheless. A very nice idea converted into a very nice episode. The poker scenes are great.

And humorous. "No help for the Klingon there" :)
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I liked the episode. The solutions data tries out (like visiting Freud) are funny.

The parasites were creepy. I would jump up and down if I discovered such a creepy critter was attached to my body, invisible or not. Our crew members are not that much disturbed.

One question: why does a captain have to attend an admiral's dinner? And that for six year in a row?
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Did you notice how Archer said "keep a low profile" to Trip and T'pol, then goes around the corner and starts a bar brawl? That was funny.

And of course it's non-interference time for Archer because the natural development let the humans overtake the aliens here, like the Menk were going to do with the Valakians in Dear Doctor. Oh, no, it isn't. Sorry.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I must say I was pleased to hear Archer refer to his abysmal genocidal decision in 'Dear Doctor'.

I wonder what ethical wise the deciding differences are between letting people die because of the Star Trek creationist's "natural evolution" or because of an "accident." Too bad that Archer lets it slip away by starting to yell that they have lost compassion and empathy.

Now what is it? Is "natural development" the criterion, or "compassion and empathy"? From the flow of the discussion Archer definitely places the latter above the former, but doesn't draw the conclusion that he was horribly wrong in 'Dear Doctor' and all those other episode he let people rot due to his "non-interference" treatment.

And again we meet aliens who are creeps because they are so super developed. It's stupid that they should be learned a lesson by an inferior species. "I'm very non-corporeal and developed, so I don't use my own brains. Instead I use regulations from our master society, whatever the outcome." "Hey, my fellow super-developed beings, another ship. Let's watch them die!"

I would have liked a bit more background information about their excursion. They went through an old Klingon dump. Trip as the engineer is the obvious choice, together with a few of his men, but Hoshi? Do you regularly bring a linguist with you when you're going to visit a landfill?

Tip o' the hat to Jay for his remark about Travis :)
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

The ocampans heard detailed stories about Voyager's ravaging, but not about saving their own frickin' homeworld form the Kazon? How dim can you be.

This other caretaker should have know that her fine friend over at the Ocampan home world was randomly abducting, torturing and abandoning people, leaving Voyager and its inhabitants stranded, 70 years away from their loved ones, for a lot probably never to see their families again - ever.


That's why you do the "I mean you no harm routine", of course in true Janeway style followed up by immediately "weaponizing".

It's frightening to know the more evolved species become in Star Trek, the more violent they become. Even in our society families of victims sometimes meet (and forgive) the victim's murderer(s). Alas, at the time you're a superbeing, you kill at first sight. Let's redefine "civilization".

It should have been a fierce discussion between the crew and this Suspiria about the horrors her mate back at the array did to Voyager and its inhabitants - not to mention all those others we never saw. And maybe this Suspiria could have reached out by hurling them a few extra thousand of light years way home or so. But no.

A depressing story.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Fri, Dec 28, 2012, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

@Jay
When it comes to sticking to a principle you are right, of course. But my main point is again that it shows how convoluted Archer's ethics are.

His implicit message to Tucker was: had you not interfered, we wouldn't have had a death on our hands. If the reason Archer is so upset over one death due to some decision, then why wasn't he disturbed about those millions he left dying back then due to his own decision?
And we know how consistent his ethics are.

Visiting a medieval world (Civilizations) he dispenses medication to cure a few people that didn't ask for help, obviously not making him feel bad. Result: many lives saved through interference.

In Dear Doctor he withholds an advanced civilization medication that specifically asked him for help. He let them die without as much as shedding a tear. Result: millions of deaths through non-interference.

In The Communicator he sends a civilization into a deadly war because these people shouldn't discover three advanced transistors and two futuristic condensors in a piece of equipment. Result: possibly millions of deaths through non-interference.

And now again he refuses to interfere again, sending a sentient being into death. Remember: it was HIS decision to _stop_ interfering here, not Tucker's. If he had interfered and given it refuge it would not have commited suicide. Result: one death through non-interference and he's upset about that death because it's the result of interference.

If you see time and again that non-interference leads to death and destruction, sometimes millions of people at a time, and interference leads to lives saved, you should reconsider your non-interference ethics. Archer couldn't be bothered. In his arrogance he even lectures other about these genocidal ethics.

It has been said so often: Archer is written as a psychopath and it's totally unclear how future Star Trek ever came to embrace such a non-interference "prime directive" if it gives such a repeated and guaranteed high death toll. In my opinion viewers shouldn't be pointing out those gaping flaws of ethic and logic.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sun, Dec 23, 2012, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

The way Enterprise handles this is creepy and becomes creepier with even more episodes to come.

After the Klingonette told Archer and co that they raided the ship (according to their captain) or the outpost (according to the Klingonette - do these people read their own scripts?) and "took what they want" Archer still wants to become friends with her. Pirates! They robbed and probably killed innocent people. This is eerie. Since when does Starfleet condone piracy?

Well, we get the answer further on in the series. Nausicans can sail away pirating while a freighter defending itself is being scolded by Archer, left to its enemies.

Ferengi plunder the ship and collect women to be sold as slaves - for goodness sake - and they can waltz away like nothing happens.

In that episode about the dilithium miners the Klingons are sent away with a few fire crackers, left to terrorize other people. Maurauders, it was.

It's no surprise when you realize how the series wrote Archer. Shockwave Suliban Silik ordered to kill 3000 miners and Archer lets him go, smiling happily because Enterprise after all wasn't guilty. And 3000 families grief, knowing the murdered was set loose by Archer.

Weird to see Archer making such a fuss about a Mallurian poisoning the water on a Sid Meyer world.

Not to mention when Archer _himself_ is a victim of pirates. In Anomaly he has no problem to nearly push a guy out of the airlock. Archer and co are written like creeps and mass murderers, like in Dear Doctor. Has this guy no common decency?

The 22nd century is not a good place to live in. Especially when you meet Archer and his ilk.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Dec 22, 2012, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

It's well known that Star Trek has a dubious grasp of non-tech science. When it comes to transporting, they cover the basics. They know it's nonsense, but in SF that's possible, so their casual reference to the "Heisenberg Compensators" in one of the episodes made me laugh because it showed that they knew what they were doing.

When it comes to genetics, they don't grasp the basics. Evolution has always been a one-direction train track for the ST writers. Remember "Dear Doctor" in ST Enterprise, where Phlox invents a new evolution theory by stating that a race it genetically marked for extinction.
The same problem here.

But I do like two things: the chase as an adventure and puzzle and the explanation why the Star Trek universe is full of races who just look like one dimensional humans. It's fun when writers think about the complications originating from their own inventions.

What I didn't like is once again a Federation beyond redemption. It seems to be filled with bureaucrats and apparatchik only interested in transporting things or people from one known place to the other. That's basically their attitude. Make Picard an admiral (do these people know what the meaning of a "flag ship" is?) and let him commandeer ten ships to go on the hunt. After all, this is mind blowing new knowledge. At least the Romulan captain understands at the end.

In the mean time at Federation headquarters: "Jean Luc, can you transport mediator T'Cuckoo to the next stupid regional conflict between CountryBumpkin Omega Six and TRex Prime? Thanks. Good to have a starship with a complement of 1000+ to provide this commuter service."

For exploration the 24th is not a good century.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Dec 22, 2012, 7:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Weird, the ethics in outer space.

I remember the episode from Voyager where cruel aliens planted their version of a conflicted into the heads of casual passers-by, giving them PTSD. The maniac called Captain Janeway then ordered to restore the monument so that others could be traumatized as well. But that was psycho Janeway.

In this installment some hillbillies think it's interesting to remember their culture by mind raping someone from a starship unlucky enough to zip by.
Highly questionable ethics, if you ask me. I wouldn't take kind to people forcing me into memories I never experienced, never had before and never asked for. Thirty years of torture. Unfathomable. Good these people are extinct so they cannot screw up others anymore.

Great episode if it comes to character development, lousy ethics, as so often in Star Trek. (Only to call into mind the creepy racist, authoritarian and scientifically deeply flawed "Prime Directive".)
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 9:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

This is a creepy episode. In "time and again" IIRC Janeway shouts at Paris that he shouldn't warn these people that they're on the brink of annihilation, due to the racist star trek prime directive. Don't contaminate, even if that means they will all DIE. And now she thinks it's great to mind-rape every civilization passing by by because PTSD for something you never did is great. Who knows what propaganda this whole monument is. How does Janeway know this is the truth? She is written as a total schizo and lunatic.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

I wonder why delivery by transporter isn't standard issue as it goes so easy. Why go through hours or even days of labor and especially pain?

Too bad that all that techno-babble was necessary. Simply "communicate" with the others by "phase-shifting" the communications device. It's as much bunkum as the chosen solution but leaves us with extra time to see the crew interact and to see the story develop.

For the rest I like the episode, especially because in the end the "healthy" Voyager is the one that's destroyed, not the one you expected. Solid 8 out of 10.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sun, Oct 14, 2012, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

I don't understand T'Pols trellium-D addiction. Why does she need to inject herself with a stimulant? In Fusion one night without meditation already made her nearly flip. Vulcans are known to meditate to repress their emotions. They don't need anything to get emotions but stop repressing them.
I don't like the way this series depicts Vulcans, and I don't like how they treat T'Pol in particular.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Oct 13, 2012, 5:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

I'm a caveman. I discover a quantum computer from alien visitors. It immediately contaminates my culture.

I reverse engineer it, going "wogga, wogga" while examining the quantum bits and extracting them for my own caveman technology. Within a week, I develop technology that is so advanced and out of place, that I'm contaminated beyond recognition.

And so microwave cooking was developed 150,000 years before it had to be invented. Ceramic cooking plates are being dug up from the Olduvai Gorge. Civilization came to an end, because all cooking technologies had been developed before their time.

So let's get back for that communicator and tell them to start a war.
Set Bookmark
CeeBee
Sat, Oct 13, 2012, 5:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I liked the fact that thugs in this episode were no cardboard characters like most thugs in Star Trek. The alien captain was interested in the ship and its crew, and played a psychological game with Archer instead of a stupid barking game.

And why didn't they use two catwalks? Enterprise has two, after all. They could communicate with each other, so why have a problem with "allocated space"? Heck, give Phlox's cats and dogs their own nacelle.

Myself I would be much more stupid and probably contact the aliens as soon as I discovered they boarded the ship. Isn't that the logical thing to do? But alas, in the future our universe has shrunk to tiny proportions; withing a 100 light years it's teeming with "civilizations", most of them out to fight or capture others in battle.

Alas, the future of mankind is dim.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.