Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Mon, Apr 30, 2012, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

"Strange that Quark was uninterested in helping because "he considers VIc the competeition". Even if that's so, this ridiculous "malfunction" is gobbling up tons of time in one of his precious holosuites, so presumably Quark would be eager to help get it back in rotation so he can start charging for its usage again."

Vic's program has been running 24/7 in that holosuite since Paper Moon and wasn't going to be shut off any time soon.

"At any rate, if they care about him and want him to continue to exist, why not try and reprogram the damned holodeck--sorry suite. With everything we've seen O'Brien do, are we really expected to believe that this nonsense is beyond him?"

Joke answer: Copywrite infringement?

Real answer: While I admit the stakes were higher in this case, in a way that's kind of like saying 'why play a video game you can just hack it to make it show you the ending?' This wasn't an error, the programmer did it on purpose and took pains to protect it from tampering. He wanted them to 'win,' the scenario, not to hack around all his hard work.

And for people complaining about doing this in the middle of a war, I add my two cents: These people need distractions on their off time to keep them sane more now than ever. It may be one reason why Vic became so important to them so fast in the first place, as opposed to the Doctor. That and the fact that Vic is way more charismatic and likeable. (As much as I like the Doctor, he wasn't portrayed as winning any personality contests.)
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Wed, Apr 25, 2012, 8:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

While it's not one of my favorites, I don't think it's as bad an episode as many others seem to think. As someone else pointed out it may well be that Red Squad was picked for blind loyalty over prudence, then built up as the elite of Starfleet Academy, arrogance was bound to be the result.

When we last saw (or heard of) Red Squad, they pulled a false flag attack on Earth itself so that Admiral Leyton, could take control of Earth. Is it a really a huge stretch to see them acting this way when left to their own devices? Especially in a situation they were never meant to be on their own. Their coping mechanism was to further enmesh themselves into the Red-Squad-is-better-than-everyone-ism that had been trained into them.

And now... something probably no one reading this page will understand: "When Did Stephen Ratliff become a scriptwriter for DS9?"
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Tue, Apr 24, 2012, 7:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Not to throw things off-topic, but: I've seen at least two people mention the network forcing Gene to replace Number One with Spock. That's not truly accurate. The Network wanted Number One AND Spock BOTH gone. They thought Spock looked Satanic, thought he would upset viewers in the Bible Belt, etc. They even airbrushed out the points on his ears in publicity photos before the show premiered.

Gene knew if he fought the Network he could win one battle, but only one, and keep either Number One or Spock. He felt that the non-human character was more important to the show, so he fought to keep Spock. (Also feedback from test audiences shown the pilot revealed that not only did men generally dislike Number One, women generally disliked her too.) So he rolled Number One's logical personality into Spock's character and that's how we got the Vulcan we know today.

So... yeah the Network didn't want a woman as first officer, but they didn't want Spock either.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Sun, Mar 18, 2012, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Since probably everything of value has already been commented on, I'll throw in my nitpick for the episode: The Lights.

Now, I know the point of everything was the spooky atmosphere but I couldn't get over the fact that lights that huge in the 24th century not only put out so little lighting, but can't go a few hours without using up the battery? A phaser's power cell is how big and powers an energy weapon but apparently those lanterns the size of someone's head are using off-brand AAA's.

Yes, yes, atmosphere, I know, I get it... but it seemed so strange that 24th century emergency lighting is less advanced than early 21st. It stuck out like a sore thumb.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Fri, Mar 16, 2012, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Holy crap! I didn't even *think* about it until I read this review, but I never even gave the 2 Picardo characters being onscreen together a second thought. And normally effects like that catch my attention immediately. But in this case, I never gave it a thought. I really did just accept that there were two of him and it wasn't until I read this review that I realized I'd done that! A testament to both the tech team and the actor.

About copies... quite frankly, I think the only reason that 'rule' exists is because you could have infinite doctors... who cares if he gets killed, reboot him. That would be weird. It would also be hard to write for a TV show, just send the Doctor first anywhere there might be trouble. It's ok, we'll make more! It would have turned the show into Holographic Captain Scarlet.

It doesn't make sense, but from a TV standpoint I guess they had to. Except in that one episode that pulled the backup copy out of it's aft so he could testify in the future.

Anyway, I liked it. Picardo was good, and that other guy who played Zimmerman was good... oh wait.

Barclay can sometimes be almost painful to watch, (as he attempts to finally spit out a sentence) but since he was among friends or at least acquaintances, he wasn't having a panic attack the entire time, unlike his previous appearance. I liked him better as Murdock, to be honest, but in this episode it all worked. I loved seeing him trying to not laugh when the angry Doc was yelling about what Zimmerman did to the tricorder. lol
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Fri, Mar 16, 2012, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I thought it was a quiet but interesting episode. I admit I was also planting seeds in a tray to grow seedlings for my garden while I was watching it but I don't think that enhanced the experience in some actiony-adventurey way. lol

I do vaguely remember that when I was a kid, this episode coming off as booooring... but today I see some of the meaning behind it, instead of only looking at the surface.

As for the characters debate in the comments... personally, if I don't like the characters I won't be interested in a show. (Incidentally, that's exactly the problem with a book I'm currently reading. I have no interest in the characters so I'm not enjoying the book, even though it's filled with descriptions of sci-fi 'splosions. But I digress.) It's not because I don't have any friends or have no life, as Micheal would suggest, but because that's what pulls me into the story. I don't need it to go too far, (I gave up on Stargate Universe after a half a season) but I don't care if the characters live or die, I don't care how they get out of whatever mess they're in this week.

Seems Micheal would prefer watching a modern "remake" of Captain Proton, or a screensaver depicting robots shooting fireworks, but I'd get bored of that fast. To each their own, not everyone has the same taste, but Trek is generally supposed to be about more than things going 'splody. Might want to try another show, there's plenty more.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Fri, Mar 16, 2012, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

@Jack That *was* 6 years ago, and she's probably never been there in person in all that time.

My nitpick is this: When does how much anti-matter remaining determine the *top speed* a ship can go? (Or shuttle, in this case.)

Combined with how often they're looking for more dilithium, I'm starting to wonder if the writers got the two mixed up. And after burning food in a replicator, I think the writers forgot how the ship works.

Or they just don't care.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Fri, Mar 16, 2012, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

I think the writers have forgotten how the ship works and that's another sign. Burning food in a replicator? And why not put it back in, recycle it, and replicate another? A replicator is not a stove.

As for the story... there's a somewhat false choice at work. Try to pick up exactly where you left off or go live with aliens. What? Why not just rejoin the crew as what you are now if you wanted a real choice... but then we couldn't have the reset ending. (And what was the moral of this story, btw? Don't accept who you are, accept what other people want you to be?)

Set Bookmark
Cappo
Fri, Mar 16, 2012, 12:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I'm going to have to go against the consensus on this one. No, I don't dispute the fact that there are so many things wrong with this episode, with the handling of holograms, etc. Oh boy, are there!

And yet... it was kind of fun to just sit back and watch the mayhem occur. I liked the hologram characters, I don't know why. (I like Neelix too, so... what can I say.) I found it interesting to see them trying to comprehend what they were seeing, processing the strangeness though their limited perception based on the simulation's era.

I agree that the whole thing shouldn't have happened in the first place, and I agree that it's certainly no masterpiece... but hey, at least it wasn't boring.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Wed, Mar 14, 2012, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

The cube itself seems to be a 9 cubic kilometer plot hole. Yes, I can see the Collective not wanting to bother with 5 damaged "imperfect" drones... but what about that ship? Especially after 8472 (or the Undine, as Star Trek Online named them) laid waste a large portion of their fleet not too long ago, you'd think they'd want it back.

Then again, Janeway apparently didn't want it or any tech from it either. A giant (literally and figuratively) technological gold mine! But, meh, who needs that? We're not trying to get home *this* week, we're doing a Borgling episode. Maybe we'll grab the next Cube handed to us on a silver platter, we're too busy now. The writers gave it no more thought than a cardboard set prop, not even considering the implications. I feel insulted on that ship's behalf. It got less respect than Rodney Dangerfield.

Story-wise, I suppose it would be considered nitpicking, but from the characters' point of view... wow! Their metaphorical ticket home just hovering there, and Janeway ignores it without a thought and moves on. Even after 6 years you'd think the former Maquis, at least, would be willing to gang up and lynch her for that one.

Maybe Seven was right about The Voyager Conspiracy, and Janeway is staying in the Delta Quadrant on purpose after all? *Twilight Zone Music*
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Wed, Mar 14, 2012, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Another thought just struck me. Voyager's sensors shut down their propulsion system?

Could that be a reference to the stories that radar is allegedly what brought down the Roswell UFO?
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Tue, Mar 13, 2012, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Lewis

I suppose one could argue that Keeler's movement had some effect on the US government which resulted in no 1941 oil embargo on Japan (or something of the sort.) Presumably, the Japanese would not have been in such a rush to attack the US under those differing conditions.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Tue, Mar 13, 2012, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

What seems to happen with far too many older series (Voyager was probably too new to fall into that trap) these days is when the time comes to put out the episodes for home release it seems like eventually one company wants more dough shelled out than the other company is willing to pay. Then you end up with the dreaded 'replacement music' on the home releases.

As an example, I was greatly amused to learn that one of my favorite bands' (Brave Combo) song 'Vampire Twist' was chosen to replace the 'Monster Mash' in a Halloween episode of Cheers on DVD! I'd wager that not many Cheers fans were, however.

Now imagine replacement music for an episode with lip synching, it would be an absolute nightmare.

As to the actual episode... the way I see it, Doc got caught up in the lure of fame. It happens. He's as fallible as anyone, hologram or not, and he apparently has an ego similar to his creator.

After the novelty wore off, he probably would have smacked himself upside the head and said "what was I thinking!?" when he decided to leave the ship. But that couldn't happen in the episode because he had to back on board before Voyager departed at the end.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Sun, Mar 11, 2012, 8:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

*And = Or
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Sun, Mar 11, 2012, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Without inertial dampening field, the crew would be mere splatters on the aft bulkhead at the slightest (for a starship) acceleration.

However... aren't they only supposed to be INSIDE the ship? The ship should still coast though space, just like in the TNG episode when they were towing the Constellation.
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Sun, Mar 11, 2012, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Just to nitpick, didn't the Doctor figure out the baby was never Chakotay's to begin with? It was Cullah's all along, in spite of Seska's mind games.

Did the Doc forget to add that to the database? And was that failure due to the writers or Seven?
Set Bookmark
Cappo
Thu, Mar 8, 2012, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

I've been watching the show in order (or close to it, I skipped the Warp 10 episode) for the first time probably since it originally aired... I just finished this episode.

What I can't believe no one's mentioned in all this time is in that scene where she (temporarily) fires Chakotay she tells him "you leave me no choice."

I was already mentally saying to myself 'she's starting to act like Ransom' and then she utters his catch phrase! Knowing the writers on the show I wasn't sure if that was intentional at the time, at least until we see that the dedication plaque fell off the wall near the end.

In spite of her supposed intentions, she wasn't acting like a proper Starfleet officer herself, and at least this time the writers apparently intended that. (As opposed to other episodes where you have no idea if the writers noticed what they actually wrote.) I don't know what that says about the episode one way or the other but I thought it was noteworthy that Ransom-itis seemed to be contagious.

Also, I agree that the Doc just showing up like that did scream "cut scene(s)."
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.