Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 49 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sat, Jul 16, 2016, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Like many others, I agree that Archer's compassion seemed very reasonable and even supported by rational moral arguments, at least until it descended into monomania. So, for me, this episode was a missed opportunity for the mutiny to be about the very ISSUES laid out at the forefront rather than it being a foregone conclusion that whatever Archer is saying is the result of mind-altering substances and therefore suspect and must be discounted (in which case the writing must be seen in a cynical light given the strong moral basis and traditional Trekkian precedent for it).

And you don't even have to agree with Archer's morality for it to have been a far more interesting episode for all, if they had simply deleted the part where Archer got sprayed by alien goo (and consequently also the 'my precious' scene just before he got stunned) and just went with it because it STILL would have made fairly decent sense. The only major difference being they would have found nothing wrong when they scanned Archer.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Jul 3, 2016, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Travis finally puts his ripped body to use, showcasing his incredible strength!
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Jul 3, 2016, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

Well, Enterprise doesn't have shields so... the Klingons could have just beamed Archer off the ship anytime they liked, right?
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Fri, Jul 1, 2016, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

I laughed when Archer practically needs to be dragged back to Enterprise as he's about to run after Kuroda at the end. Archer is still so concerned with Kuroda's health even though they've already fought three times and the ship is blowing up all around them.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Apr 17, 2016, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Jammer asks: "I've never seen Doc pull a Matrix-like move like that before, but then why did I need to?"

Because it was AWESOME.

That is all.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Apr 17, 2016, 2:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

There's this weird cognitive dissonance in this episode that no one seems to have picked up on, where on the one hand, Voyager makes a point of humbling itself before the rules and regulations of host species and even Tom is forced to keep in check his arrogance about being such a great pilot that he is above all standards of scrutiny. But towards the end, when the crew of Voyager must decide how best to 'un-break' the prime directive, it puts them in the awkward position of playing God over all involved parties and arrogantly overruling the intentions of the host species and breaking lots of their rules because Voyager presumes to know what's best for all.

The irony is that retroactively adhering to the letter of the prime directive can be as wrongheaded as breaking the prime directive in the first place, such as when 'undoing the damage' contradicts its essence of non-interference and precautionary principles that form the very rationale for having a prime directive. This means that sometimes it may be better to leave after breaking open pandora's box rather than sticking around to meddle with all the pieces. The Voyager crew doesn't seem to get this though, and readily uses its directives (the omega directive included) to rationalize their superior position and enforce their all-knowing judgements.

When the crew reveals their hypocrisy, we see right through Voyager's policy of deference to alien customs for its patronizing undertones, particularly when Tom breaks away from his punitive flight test to carry out his covert mission to forcibly transport the Ledosians around and his instructor's "Oh, you're so failing now!" is played for laughs. The Ledosians and their customs are made to seem comically insignificant when contrasted to Voyager's loftier principles and more pressing concerns, so the matter of the host's sovereignty being violated is swept under the rug and doesn't evoke any scrutiny.

So now, whenever Janeway reminds her crew that they must defer to local alien customs, we know why she rarely says it with a straight face, but rather with a slight smirk of condescension.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sat, Apr 16, 2016, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Ughn, yet another frustrating and cynical episode that is hard to sit through, and ultimately resonates as anti-Trekkian by the end.

It was such a pleasant surprise to see Carey again after all these years, but then the episode took a very suspenseful turn for me when they had him going on an away-mission given that an extra's chances for surviving away missions are about 30%... "oh, no.. please say it ain't so!" There was a brief surge of hope where it looked like Carey would be saved right before he is suddenly executed for no good reason... leading me to suspect that the writers must be masochists. The Doc doesn't even lift a finger to try to save him. The second he's beamed aboard, he's immediately pronounced dead even though he was alive the second before that...and the Doc just goes back to whatever it was he's doing.

Like Jammer, I didn't buy the aliens whining about the humans giving them technology that allowed them to develop their own tech in turn, which later malfunctioned so therefore "wahh wahh, poor us, this is all your fault.. we kill you now!"

"The urge to explore can't justify the loss of life..." Excuse me? So we have a take-home message of "curiosity killed the cat" in a Star Trek episode??

I was amazed that Paris activated that object that looked suspiciously like a thermal detonator, which luckily happened to be a toy, without any forethought. I'm not surprised that the aliens freaked out when Paris gave it to a child (even though they'd be more likely to recognize it for what it was).

And here, we finally learn the truth behind the mysterious disappearance of the Borg baby -- reincarnation.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Fri, Apr 15, 2016, 11:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

For some reason I can't help but think how much funnier Tom's impression of the Doctor would have been if he had given him a little Hitler mustache too, but of course that would never fly on Voyager.

I noticed that B'Elanna father spoke as if B'Elanna's mother had died at some point ("your mother would have liked that...") which seems to lend some more credence to events of Barge of the Dead, or at least would make those events more significant to B'Elanna.

Set Bookmark
Bryan
Fri, Apr 15, 2016, 12:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

This week's highlight: Kim unwittingly guzzles alien man-nectar, much to the amusement of all.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Thu, Apr 14, 2016, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Somewhere in here, there's a parable about the zero-sum mentality of the everyone-for-themselves laissez faire capitalist extreme versus the non-zero-sum mentality of more communitarian (not necessarily Communist) approaches... but more importantly, you also have realistic ship turbulence -- dishes falling onto the floor and breaking, potatoes being flung about the room like they're in a shake-and-bake -- which you so rarely see in Star Trek. Instead, sickbay and crew quarters are always perfectly neat and tidy with every test tube precisely positioned and undisturbed after the ship shakes hard enough to send people falling out of their seats on the bridge, which always had me scratching my head.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Apr 13, 2016, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

...speaking of cutesy ideas that don't go anywhere...

Stray observations:

1) As Paris rightly asks, "What were the chances that they'd run into the one ship with a Klingon on board?"

2) Those must be some pretty gullible Klingons to blow up their own ship over a prophecy broad enough to include almost anyone.

3) It's now possible to beam over 200+ people in 10 seconds? Good thing the Klingons anticipated Voyager's highly advanced transporter technology or else most of them would have gone down with the ship. Apparently Voyager even had time to spare so they graciously beamed over all those bat-leths too!

4) "Have you ever made a plea for the dead?" Um... wasn't that the whole conceit behind Barge of the Dead? Whether it was 'real' or not, I'd like to think that had a pretty big impact on B'Elanna, enough for it to be worthy of mention.

5) "The Nehret always comes without warning..." Yeah, no kidding. Like during battle at a pivotal moment, or when you're about to cancel a an ill-advised self-destruct sequence... nobody expects the Nehret. It is most inconvenient, mhm, yess.

6) I hope Neelix's romp with that skanky disease-ridden Klingon was approved by Janeway and the Doctor, but considering his impulsive behavior this episode, I doubt it was.

7) Kohlar: "The Kuva'Mach has healed all of us. She truly is our savior."
T'Greth: "... She?!" *rages and rebels all over again*
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Apr 13, 2016, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

The issues raised by this episode are gradually becoming more pertinent to real life and less exclusively in the realm of drama or science fiction as more and more cases of criminal behavior are discovered to be directly attributable to certain kinds of brain abnormalities and defects that were previously hidden or unknown. These insights are relevant to even the most heinous cases perpetrated by those we are most likely to perceive as unredeemable monsters, such as pedophiles. It's only a matter of time before treatment options catch up with our understanding and we'll have a lot more 'Iko's to contend with.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Tue, Apr 12, 2016, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

An episode worthy of as many groans as Janeway rolls her eyes in the Chaotica scene. With season 7 striking out every other episode it's a sign that Voyager is running on fumes and the approaching finish line isn't an unwelcome sight. It's hard to imagine suffering through yet another season of rehashes, cutesy ideas that don't go anywhere, and the writers' attempts to revive dead-and-buried concepts that they'd given up on long ago when they might've at least held some relevance.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Mon, Apr 11, 2016, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

I liked how Icheb, being a typical teenager, is caught snacking on nachos at his workstation but plays it cool by rationalizing 'snacking' as "a more efficient use of my time", and 'nachos' as "nutritional supplements replicated to meet my metabolic requirements."
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Lots of goofy and unintentionally funny stuff about this episode:

- After fake-Barclay explains his plan to send the ship through the geodesic fold, I nearly burst out laughing when Janeway said "We still haven't found a way to compensate for GEODESIC RADIATION !!" Because only on Voyager does everything down the very principles of geometry emit hazardous radiation. Too much gravity? Better watch out for gravimetric radiation. Too much light? Best raise shields to protect against the inevitable photonic radiation. Fish on the menu again? Don't worry, we'll contain the ichthyogenic raditation with a level 10 force-field!

- So... after Barclay is being all creepy and stalkery and super-paranoid of everyone after obsessing for months over the problem of why he can't transmit a hologram to the opposite end of the galaxy....Deanna comes to the conclusion that the one person he's NOT being openly paranoid about MUST HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THIS and this is considered probable cause to bring her in for questioning?

- I like how readily the smart people at Starfleet HQ are able to piece together the Ferengi's super-elaborate plans involving twin stars and geodesic folds and borg nanoprobes like it's elementary my dear Watson, but then when it comes to speculating why Voyager would fly through such a phenomenon that would surely kill all life aboard, they are forced to conclude that someone forcing the entire crew of Voyager to do so against their wills is the only logical possibility! Well, that's only because no one let Starfleet in on a key insight that only we viewers at home are privy to: that the crew of Voyager are LETHALLY GULLIBLE MORONS for the entirety of this episode!

- I like the sad, deflated music cue that plays when ever the Ferengi's plans are foiled -- it's like the symphonic equivalent of a "wah-wah" trombone. I wish we heard something like this every time Harry Kim is played like chump, too. Speaking of which, this episode ends such an epic Kim chumpage moment that it nearly threatens to implode into actual pathos, which for me at least, makes it all the more hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Agreed that there's a lot of goofy things going on in this episode and after a lengthy de-fanging campaign of the Borg the writers still manage to find a few more fangs to pull, but somehow it ends up being entertaining and greater than the sum of its parts.

And the Borg Queen always has an ominous green light on her at all times, even within the natural outdoor lighting of Unimatrix Zero because of her loyal retainers who dutifully follow her around with portable lighting stands, yet furtively conceal themselves behind bulkheads and bushes so that they are barely noticed.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Despite all there is to lament and criticize about this episode, it was refreshing to revisit all those season one-isms, even the gratutious ones like Ensign Carey (it was said that Carey's appearance here contributes to the myth that he died at some point later on, but the same could be said of Ensign Wildman who also makes an appearance in this episode's past yet it would make much more sense for her to appear instead in the present for once where she actually has a daughter she is supposed to be taking care of!!)

I also think it's easier to view this episode more sympathetically now than when it was released because it's now possible to read in the chilling parallels to Jennifer Lien's tragic fall from grace, when before you could only scratch your head and wonder, "what the hell is this character's motivation for becoming a crazy bitch all of the sudden?" and then decry character assassination on the part of the writers.

Whereas Kes' excuse that her downfall was perpetrated by Voyager taking her from her home where life was simple and filled her head with overly idealistic hopes and dreams that were later crushed after she had to leave, would have rung hollow to viewers 16 years ago, it now resonates with ironic pertinence when you consider that Voyager did indeed take an impressionable young actress from humble beginnings and then instilled high hopes, seeming to assure a place among the stars before summarily casting her out. She never quite caught herself with no one to break her fall and eventually her fragility became known to all even though no one saw it coming.

Knowing what we do now, that confrontation between Kes and Janeway is especially touching, even a bit heartbreaking.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Tue, Apr 5, 2016, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Unlike Darmok, these primitive aliens apparently speak and read fluent English. This isn't a unique contrivance for Voyager, or Star Trek altogether, but it works best when you barely notice. This time it was really noticeable for some reason.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Apr 3, 2016, 2:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

By my count, this is the third time Neelix has unwittingly contaminated the ship's systems following ill-conceived trades. Maybe that's why it was his turn to 'take one for the time' and get phasered.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Mar 30, 2016, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Yeeah, I didn't enjoy that that twist ending suddenly uproots our refreshingly simple and heartfelt plot with some nasty, cynical ramifications that don't make a whole lot of sense under scrutiny aside from serving as our prescribed dose of bombastic action. It may have sat better with the viewer if the episode had just ended after the crew says their goodbyes to Icheb.

Though I got a chuckle out of the Doctor's "Do you think Naomi thinks her mother is irrelevant?" whether the irony was intention or not, with Seven and Neelix having completely taken over her motherly duties during her palpably long absence from the screen.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Tue, Mar 29, 2016, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

I was never a fan of the Borg children. Plot and acting considerations aside, they're painful just to look at. I wish the Borg had done what you'd expect the Borg to do with abandoned Borg technology: destroy it lest it fall into enemy hands.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Sun, Mar 27, 2016, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Yes, I do much prefer the feel-good episodes to the Secretly Evil Aliens of the Week ones.
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Such a frustrating and annoyingly cynical episode...

The bulk of the episode is a bunch of spurious-sounding hints and foreshadowing that the Vaudwaar are Secretly Evil Aliens, from mythology, folklore, even little girls' intuition... it all feels so forced, out-of-place, and oh so unnecessary since this is one of Voyager's favorite plot types that we've seen so many times before that we've already come to expect it. If that's not enough, the snake-like design doesn't exactly inspire confidence (as they conspire in shadows I half-expect them to add "yesss, Cobra Commander"). Frankly, if this is the sort of episode it has to be, it feels fresher when the plot whiplashes you with a surprise 180 rather than string us along with this contrived gobbledygook because I doubt many folks at home are congratulating themselves on piecing it all together before the Big Reveal: "I felt like they had to be going somewhere with the obscure mentions of ancient Greek myths and Talaxian folklore that would otherwise seem to be disrespecting these aliens to their faces for no good reason...but it was Naomi's keen insight that clinched it for me, cuz, well, that girl's never wrong!"

So what's the takeaway message from this episode?
a) Don't free strangers from eternal limbo lest they turn out to be ungrateful bastards desperate to screw you over?

b) Ensign Wildman had a change of priorities following her near-death experience or f'ked off to Alastria or something because Naomi would be pining away in a small dark room all alone all the time if not for the tepid company of Seven by day, and nightly visits from Neelix, who has apparently moved in with her?

c) An enemy of my enemy is my friend...unless that friend turns out to be my enemy too...in which case the old enemy becomes my new friend...unless the new friend gets unexpectedly wiped out by the new enemy...in which case....??
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I accept that pseudo-scientific contrivances are part of the glue that holds these Voyager episodes together, but was I only one bothered by how they derived the much-needed cloak frequency from the cake diagram? No amount of computer analysis will allow you to quantify anything unless you label your axes, Mr.Vulcan! I don't usually nitpick at this level but it just seemed so basic...
Set Bookmark
Bryan
Wed, Mar 23, 2016, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

I don't think the choice Seven had to make was as controversial as the episode tried to make it seem, and I was a little surprised with the Doctor's scrutiny (although if the situation were different, it would not be out of character for him to question her motives like he did). Even though the 'triad' couldn't immediately be consulted, they had already made it pretty clear that their priority was to become individuals and the last thing they would have wanted was to have the borg collective forced upon them yet again.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.