Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 80 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Bill
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Wakeman

Dave's silliness was most likely trolling, particularly as we are all aware that such creatures target discussions where people like us are passionate, and so take an extreme opposite position--an all too common testing of adulthood for the minds of developing 12-year old boys (or grown men who still act that age).

But you thought Dave's was just another opinion, eh? I'd recommend that you both read Robert Bolton's "People Skills" which, although written in the 1970's, still finds reality among its principles today. Perhaps moreso in this era of anonymous posting. The reality is that I accurately identified one or both of Dave's habits in posting NOTHING REDEEMING (repeat that to yourself until it sinks in, in case you don't grasp "trolling") in this episode.

Nothing redeeming in this episode. Nothing. Uh huh.

Sorry, Wakeman, but as McCoy might exclaim, "A blind man could see it with a cane!"

I'd typically say we'll have to agree to disagree, but I won't waste more of my time. I will do you a favor by saying straight up I won't be replying to you again. I've known people like Dave (and enablers like you) for decades. I also know there's a way out of his particular madness (and yours), so my comments will stand on their face without further defense--to be judged, or not, by Jammer.

You've a lot to learn. But then we all do. Good luck in your journey, Dave. ;)

Bill
Set Bookmark
Bill
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I liked this episode even while recoiling in horror at the sadism displayed. I agree with all the four-star reviews here. Mission accomplished.

One thing I didn't find anyone cited: We finally get to see the full face of the Medical Tricorder (what McCoy sees) when he's comparing Alexander's blood to Parmen's, a sort of oscilliscope display with multi-colored tracings. It was brief. But cool.
Set Bookmark
Billy
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Four stars for me.

It was absolutely tragic, emohasised by the "real" crew finding nothing of note at the scene. The real Voyager rushing to the aid of the duplicate one felt very poignant and the scenes did seem to convey a sense of speed.

And it was real for them. That’s the thing. An infant sentient species that duplicated an experienced race, whose urge to get home was so strong... gets me every time.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 7:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

@troll.BLT

LOL

Sure, sure. And sane people everywhere summarize Seinfeld's essential characteristics as a thin, neat "womanizer."

After all, nearly every episode in over three-times TOS's run (9 years v. 3 years) directly had or implied he was bedding yet another woman. So nah, he's not a comedian. The essential summary anyone now needs to know in 2017 about Jerry Seinfeld is that he's a "womanizer."

LMAO

Did someone recently read some snippets from Alinsky?

11. "If you push a negative hard enough, it will push through and become a positive."

13. "Pick the target, freeze it, personalize it, and polarize it."

Oh, you'll have to do better, my dear little SJW--you and your silly finger-wagging while you're blind to those three other fingers on your same hand pointing back at you. Go virtue-signal somewhere else after you learn the meaning of respect. And while you crack the books, pick up some grasp of context, too.

Until then, thanks for the amusement!

Bill
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

Yes, indeed, Spock's comment about "a beaker of death" always prompted my friends and I to yell at the screen, laughing as others have for its over-the-top drama, but also because, "Dammit, Spock, it's an Erlenmeyer flask!"

Surprised that Spock didn't also hold an A-7 Expert Classification in Chemistry. He was, after all, the flagship Enterprise's Science Officer, not just its Computer Science Officer.

Great points about going out of its way to tell us, "Another Earth!" and then drop the meme completely. I guess I'd understand if I was ever tasked with cranking out an episode a week for national broadcast. I wonder if original scripts (before editing) exist. Seems like such a cavernous hole, more of a "collaboration" error than one of originality.

I liked the episode, the acting, Rand's part, and the Spock-McCoy development.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

@ Luc-Jean's "Funny how it always seems to be the nutjob religious types who have a problem with Picard's musings on death..."

I'm an atheist and objectively found Picard's musings on death to be arbitrary, his conclusion not worthy of his intellect. But if you have proof that it should be taken seriously, please, it's a fundamental question and we're all eyes, brother.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

If one has ever suffered through, or witnessed up close in others, moderate to severe clinical depression, the first half of this episode encapsulates the feeling of hopelessness very well. One way to describe it is, "Nothing I do matters."

The second half? Not so much with the tension released as we realize, oh, it's only "Q-Lite" (made me laugh, thanks) and the inane metaphysical BS about death in the end (but yeah, creepy face, kudos for that observation--back then watching it when it was first broadcast, shivers).

But I will admit that I enjoyed the episode, at least as much as the reminder of the increasing tightness in my chest during the first half would allow. Needed to remind myself it's a TV show, which I did, which it is. Grounding nearly always helps. ;)
Set Bookmark
Bill
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

One double episode in for Discovery and it's interesting to note the task they have to establish and develop believable engaging sustainable characters like TNG did.

Also Sarek is the link ... and much that I would not like to see it happen it would not surprise to see a TNG character time travel back for an episode
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

I've read all these marvelous comments. Yes, four stars, of course.

I had a great friend for whom I played EDD and this episode back to back; as you might have guessed already, he was the person who'd turned me on to Arthur Conan Doyle many decades ago. He'd lived well, just without a television. So when he'd visit, I'd show him things that I thought would appeal to him. It did.

I'm astounded (I even did a web page search for applicable terms, in case I'd missed someone's review who'd mentioned it)! No one has framed this ending in terms of it paralleling "The Managerie." Since it's an accepted meme here that Moriarity and the Countess were sentient, we've certainly come a long way since TOS and the Talosians, haven't we? :)
Set Bookmark
Bill
Thu, Aug 24, 2017, 8:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Yeppers to the prior comments. What a sad last line to end the series when The Beatles left us with (not counting John's final ditty to Her Majesty):

"And, in the end, the love you make is equal to the love you take."
Set Bookmark
Bill
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

@graham: "Air conditioning ducting large enough to stroll around in cliche"

Sign of the times, and probably many were as large back then in RL.

Two more quick examples circa the 1960's?
---Mission: Impossible
---Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea

You're right, tho. Cliche. ;)

Although if we wanted to stay completely true to life, and had each series continued into today (although I could not have watched a new "monster of the week" for 50 more years that Voyage had degenerated), suffice to say there's a good chance Captain Crane, Barney (especially Barney), and the very attractive Dr. Helen would be dealing with an asbestos-related disease which, sadly, will see peak mortality within the next three years per the CDC (2020).

Apologies for the dour note. A quick revisit of the Helen Noel scenes should cure that, unlike Mesothelioma which has no cure. OMG, I did it again. Okay.

Helen Noel. Helen Noel. Helen Noel. Get thru the duct quickly, Helen!

Argh!!

Helen Noel. Helen Noel. Helen Noel.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Agreed, Anna. Sure, I was initially overwhelmed when I saw the intro for the first time (and even on repeat viewings). But then the writers made Scotty out to be a doddering fool--this, the genius he is and a captain now (for him, it was a few seconds ago) with all the mental acuity that required--and he's portrayed as not even seeing the need for rest? Not getting what it means that 80 years of technological changes have passed and now need learning?

The error was initially Riker's then Picard's--they take full responsibility for bad command decisions. Riker in the first segment assigns Geordi as Scotty's tour guide; yeah, "great" idea, in the face of the Dyson Sphere, apparently a wholly new phenomenon that no one to-date has ever seen. Picard makes the same mistake later.

Clearly the writers of the script never managed a team, let alone a floating city with many teams.

I liked the episode and I'm fine with the 3 stars. But I'm also aware that it's my own nostalgia that drives such a judgment, and not any brilliance in how this iconic character, nor his supporting cast, were portrayed. The plot and the dialogue simply sucked.
Set Bookmark
Billy
Fri, Jul 14, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Yeah the end went totally the wrong direction. Little molly after returning ,once older Molly goes back, should not have been charged at all. that whole time line of older Molly should have been erased once little molly was sent back through the temporal portal on golana. I love temporal mechanics ( but only if they follow thwir own rules they put down). as for sending oldwr Molly back I agree thats a big moral stretch
Set Bookmark
Bill
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 9:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Great comments, all. So I'll come swooping in at a 45 degree angle out of the sun.

Whatever happened to Dr. Daystrom's M-5 Multitronic Unit and the science behind it?

Yeah, we know: Daystrom was probably committed and the M-5 became self-inflicted toast in TOS's "The Ultimate Computer." But Daystrom would have had notes from which "rows of fools" could have taken up his work but, this time, not imparted neurotic engrams on what would be the M-6.

So what happened in the 80 or so years between TOS and TNG (or perhaps did not happen) that made Data so special, other than him being in the form of what the Japanese are doing with robots in the 21st Century--looking like us? Did no one pick up on Daystrom's work in those 80 years to even do a modicum of exploration with an M-5 clone, but not afflict it with sociopathic engrams (at worst) or Asperger's engrams (at best)?

Even bigger question: Did Moore's Law (or its equivalent in future technology) come crashing down so hard that the incredible gains we've seen in computing technology over the past 30 years ground to a total halt? What were Computer Scientists doing those 80 years with a design as advanced as the M-5 simply waiting to be re-engrammed?

Or were the M-5 and Daystrom's notes put in storage by "top men" ala "Raiders of the Lost Ark"?
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sat, Jul 8, 2017, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Neelix: (happy and enthusiastic, as usual) I'm ready for my lesson!
Seven: (gorgeous and dismissive, as usual) I've concluded teaching you to sing is an inefficient use of my time.
Neelix: (deflated, rallies) But, uh, but I've been practicing.
Seven: (gorgeous and dismissive) In your case, practice is irrelevant. Your vocal chords are incapable of producing basic diatonic tones, not to mention your rhythmic shortcomings.
Neelix: (astonished, disappointed) I sound so good in the sonic shower.
Seven: (gorgeous and dismissive, now with a hint of empathy in her eye contact) Perhaps you should confine your efforts to that location.

Yep. 4+ stars for all that's been mentioned and a lot more.

Set Bookmark
Bill
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

"Brain and brain, what is brain?"

My wife (of nearly 40 years) still, and strategically, uses that line on me today when our opinions about something seemingly important are at an impasse and my frustration with my ability to "convince her" has become visible.

She never fails to crack me up and defuse the situation with that line. I do love her so. :)

So here's to one of the worst TOS episodes ever, but one that has helped keep my marriage intact for decades!
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

To your credit, Dave, I did read through 2/3 of your comment, up to the point of, "...where the great symbolic action is Kirk NOT doing something. How pathetic."

It was at that point I stopped reading. I'd finally realized, and similar to Louis CK's observations about the value of the opinions of those under 20, that you are only a child. Because only a child who hasn't actually lived a life yet would think that "NOT doing something" in the choices adults sometimes must make is "pathetic."

Only a child could think that.

However, true to the spirit of Star Trek (although not to trolling, sorry, son), I still do wish you well dealing with your Aspergers. I know enough about life to predict that I won't have to be there to witness when the inexorable progression of time teaches you just how wrong both your opinions and approach to people are today.

It's inevitable. So, good luck, youngster! And yes, I mean it.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

FU JHOH
Set Bookmark
BeesBill
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

This was a great episode of Star Trek - I have just watched TNG, V, DS9 and Enterprise in that order and this is top 10 material across all ST versions. Taken in the timeframe it was made it ranks even higher, Kirks acting range and way his line 'There's no room for bigotry here' was delivered were compelling viewing. Sometimes less is indeed more - I suspect if that episode were made now we would have had endless drawn out special effects battle scenes - as the technology of the time forces the acting and script to the fore it forces them to be very good to carry an episode. And the final shot of Kirk walking haunt consoled the widow speaks volumes - I'm sure that Patrick Stewart took inspiration from it.
Set Bookmark
Billy Bob
Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 1:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

Great, a Hoshi episode. 45 mins of watching a bad actress whine and pout.

This character makes Troi seem useful and watchable.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

Okay, I'll confess. Can't argue with Jamahl or the other posters here so I won't rate this episode. Can't bring myself to do it.

Because... I'll always be enthralled watching France Nuyen as Elaan just as much as I am watching Sophie Marceau's performances in "Braveheart" and that silly Bond movie ("The World Is Not Enough").

Yeah, okay. I know I'm a dick. To each his own.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

This is indeed the worst among the worst. At least with "Spock's Brain" or "The Way to Eden" I could laugh. This episode's premise is the complete opposite in every way of Individualism, Egoism, and Rational Self-Interest. Kantian in its drivel ("the greatest good is that which enriches the doer the least") and steeped in Christianity, the silliness even extends to things non-philosophical and strictly scientific such as the diversity within the Human Race itself toward all ends of all ethical spectrums. And yet, by Gem's performance, the Vians will know her species? Even the Old Testament's rubric required "10 good men." God awful (pun intended) in every way, from sets, acting, philosophy, ugh. Zero stars with a McEnroe "argument for the next call" for some future capability on this wonderful website to rate episodes negatively.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Michael Ansara! (Cochise!!)

Allow me to borrow a line from Ricardo Montalbán: "Excellent. Excellent."

Set Bookmark
Bill
Sun, Aug 30, 2015, 5:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Difficult for me to expand significantly on any of the excellent comments, particularly those of Paul's and William's. I enjoyed William's isolation of "compassion" as the significant quality that became inversely proportional to the growth of Gary Mitchell's god-like persona.

The only aspect I would add is to give an enthusiastic nod to the direction of Gary and Elizabeth as portraying their evolving characters with a pronounced physical stiffness. Such is often the case in real psychological armor (review historical records of totalitarian dictators or any extremist today, Left or Right). It's often most prevalent in their "frozen" faces. I didn't know about this as a boy in the 1960's, of course, but I do now, having studied these phenomena in depth. When Gary briefly transforms back to human in the holding cell on the planet, his softness returns and he utters, "Jim," before losing the empathy and compassion of his humanity again, in effect, re-armoring. A similar scene can be studied in Spielberg's "Schindler's List" when Amon Goeth has pardoned a few prisoners, then looks in his bedroom mirror and says to himself, "I pardon you." The outstanding acting by Fiennes shows clearly the armor returning and, a few seconds later, he goes to his balcony and shoots a prisoner dead.

The portrayal was also perfect in hooking into the kinesiology of another well-known monster: Frankenstein's. I mean, c'mon, they can create beautiful gardens out of nothing, destroy force fields, move cups of water, strangle unsuspecting Kelso's with a cable, and on and on... but they can't lubricate their knee joints? So yeah, while I thought it was just creepy as a boy, I find this peculiarity brilliant today.
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sat, Aug 29, 2015, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

"He's dead, Jim."

Classic line, first reel before the first commercial of the first episode. Other than that... :-D
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.