Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 55 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?


Thank you for articulating my feelings
Set Bookmark
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Boooo Hisssss!

The sex scene with Dr. Claire Finn and Yaphit was disturbing, it suggested a certain type of beastiality, hopefully that will never be explored further on the show.
Set Bookmark
Pirate Tasha Yarrgh
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Welcome to planet Reddit!

For a group of people that are supposed to be at least somewhat competent, it sure seems like the Orville crew didn't do at least a minute of research on the world they were exploring. How did they not notice the badges, the giant green & red arrows everywhere, the constant feed, etc. without it being pointed out to them? Seems like the majority of this show's humor is built on the characters acting like idiots at varying times and to varying degrees.

As far as the planet goes, meh. Nothing about that society or the native characters we met makes me feel any sort of connection or hope that the planet improves.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

Did anyone else get a "Quantum Leap" vibe from this one seeing Scott Bakula in a WW2 setting ?
Set Bookmark
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

@James Tom was punished for insubordination, not just violating the PD
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Sat, May 13, 2017, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Baron Samedi, thanks for finishing the show! I check back here every once in a while just to see if you did it or not and sure enough here I am reading your Season 5 reviews. Thanks again. They are interesting to read.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

So if I were on this particular away mission I would probably request transfer off the ship upon rescue.

Spock's choices were reasonable and aimed largely at maximizing survival chance while maintaining the basic moral code of not committing unnecessary murder. The hopeless attitude of the people serving under him was disgraceful. If I were Spock, Boman would be getting at least an official reprimand and never permitted on an away mission again.

I get the point of the show was to test Spock in a survival-command situation but the deeply unprofessional behavior of the people under his command felt out of place.

Probably the best line was Spock's reflection that despite choosing logically two members of the crew had died - that's an important thing to understand because you can make the best possible choices and still end up with bad things happening. But this lesson doesn't fit with the story, which seems to set up being emotional as somehow a better way of making decisions.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I had heard great things about this episode, I wasn't misled.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Jan 22, 2017, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I watched Voyager when it first came out but missed quite a few episodes. I don't know why but this episode kept bugging me all day. I liked it, but I can understand why so many other people have a beef with it.

I felt such a sadness seeing Janeway as she walked around the bridge, so very slowly, nothing working in her favor.

Her dying at the end before the rest of the bridge crew was so depressing.

Besides the plot holes in this story I did enjoy it. I also enjoyed reading every comment and the reviewer on this site. Very thought provoking. Thank you.

Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Happy 50th Star Trek!
I am going to watch this tonight exactly 50 years later, I'm very excited.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Jul 31, 2016, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

My question is, why don't they take off in the shuttle when they are grabbing supplies?
Set Bookmark
bashir's steampunk brain
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Why oh why did they have Kassidy ask for a freaking minister? Didn't humanity rid itself of the poison of organized religion by the 24th century?
Set Bookmark
Bashir's steampunk brain
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

My, my, so many people butthurt about the realities of racism in America! The mere mention of it for a few seconds sent so many of you into a tizzy. It is really funny to read all these complaints about "of course the black guy brings up racism" in a tone that sounds very much like something they probably think about saying in everyday life but cannot without sounding like a racist. "When you're accustomed to privilege, equality feels like oppression". Interesting to see how many cryptoracists like DS9. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Bashir's steampunk brain
Fri, Jan 29, 2016, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Sisko asked Bashir directly for the gel because his plans were vetted by the federation, as stated in the episode.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Trailer #2 better win me over really well or something cause I have no high hopes whatsoever.
I will admit I'll see it no matter what. I just really want something good, fun, and original.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Wed, Nov 11, 2015, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

I totally agree with redbear.
Blowing up the ship was totally unnecessary.
It turns into a dumb dramatic effect when you think about it.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Fri, Nov 6, 2015, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

This is one of those episodes I don't particularly enjoy. I don't hate it, but to me, it's sub-par of what I expect from TNG.

Troi was always my least favorite character, and these weird telepathic connection stories (like the 'Troi in the green tunnel' episode) make me bored out of my mind. I already am (was) not liking the Worf/Troi romance so almost every aspect of this episode I frown at. 45 minutes of Troi's Telepathic Mysteries...with Worf.
Not what I call a good time.

Also: Hi Diamond Dave :)
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Tue, Nov 3, 2015, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Try, Try Again, NBC

And to think almost 16 years later, Cold Feet is practically nonexistant. I have heard of Homicide though.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Tue, Nov 3, 2015, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Yanks- No, I hadn't noticed, pretty creative on CBS's part. I also like the idea of not having a set cast. That would take a lot of stress off of the writers about making forced character-centric episodes (I.e. Sub Rosa).

The only real premise I ask for is anything besides Abramsverse. I want this new series to get to the heart of what Star Trek is and actually matter when taking the other series into consideration.

I'll still watch it if is in the rebooted timeline, but I'll be a whole lot less enthusiast.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Boy, am I excited!
Maybe this new series will be far enough in the future so that even intergalactic travel will be possible. Maybe touch up on some old stories?
Like the Kelvans from the Andromada Galaxy as seen in TOS.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

I must admit it, even I was a little puzzled about how some book magically revealed itself with only one drop of blood. Really, the whole Winn/Dukat arc is my least favorite story from all of the DS9 10 Parter Finale. Just too out of place for me.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Sun, Nov 1, 2015, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

I enjoy this episode.

I was very spooked throughout most of the episode and the whole idea intrigues me.

4/5 for me.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Oct 10, 2015, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

The Troi subplot really hammers home how poor episodic television is for real character development. TNG is great in that you can dip in to an episode without needing much understanding of the previous ones, whereas DS9 you really struggle to watch later episodes unless you are already aware of the plot leading in to it. The episodic as opposed to serialised nature I also think hurt Voyager as the one show that really needed tighter serialisation rather than too many stand alone plots with little connection.

I like a suggestion above that said maybe the B plots over a season could have been used for character arcs. Its a shame because the disconnect between episodes really becomes apparent when you watch multiple episodes back to back.

Set Bookmark
Wed, Aug 26, 2015, 8:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Thanks everyone - I'm almost as impressed by the quality of your comments as I was by this episode, which does deserve 4 stars I think.
Set Bookmark
Ashton Withers
Thu, Aug 6, 2015, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

@John G.
I am talking about how a human will give up his/her individuality to feel superior. That was one part of Nazism. Certainly not all of it.
And they were discrimatory against Jake, simply because he didn't share the same views. They locked him up.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.