Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Angela
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

So much hand wringing! Yes, Discovery is dark and Abrams-ish and not as strong on crew chemistry as Trek of yore (so far, anyway). But the writing and production values are good enough to indicate they're taking this seriously and I think it's worth keeping an open mind through the season. I'm convinced enough to keep my All Access subscription, in any case. Maybe I'll catch up on Family Ties too.
Set Bookmark
Angel
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Does anyone remember when Star Trek used to be about the exploration of space, the human condition and science?
Set Bookmark
Angel
Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 7:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Was always amused in this episode when Picard orders Worf to "locate the exact source of that tractor beam, lock on phasers" and it takes Worf 4 shots to actually even come close to remotely hitting it =D
Set Bookmark
Angel
Sat, Nov 17, 2012, 12:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Whilst I enjoyed the scene where O'Brien demonstrates the rifle's abilities against that melon, each time I see it, I find it absurd that Odo puts on the saftey goggles. He's a shapeshifter, they're not real eyes! And if he needs protection, he can just morph his own goggles on =P
Set Bookmark
Angel
Wed, Nov 7, 2012, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

Perhaps its personal choice. BoP's are far more maneuverable and better trouble makers than Vor'cha cruisers. Plus they look far cooler =P
Set Bookmark
Angel
Mon, Oct 29, 2012, 7:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Apparently this is one of the least favourite episodes by the producers. The director, Ron Moore and others all have stated that though they started off with what seemed like good ideas, did not come out on camera and ultimately they all pretty much admitted it was a bad effort. The only thing they liked was Meg Fosters performance (source Memory Alpha ST Wiki).
Set Bookmark
angel
Sat, Sep 10, 2011, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Episodes like "The Collaborator" show that Quark would be better at Odo's job than Odo is, seeing at how he can just effortlessly bypass security bullshit that Odo can't
Set Bookmark
Angelobrooklyn
Tue, Aug 9, 2011, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Wow thinking of DS9 now looking back .... Life was good on...cant believe how screwed up the world has been since star treks voyager ended..another good ending .....we all should of realize it going to shit with (Enterprise) ..lol haven't lost hope with the new Star trek .") I wish ds9 would be on reruns ....it dont get enough credit it was one of the best..left me hanging and wanting more every week!")
Set Bookmark
angel
Tue, May 17, 2011, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

@Paul: "Troi, unfortunately, is a completely superfluous character that really has no place on the ship. She's clearly a bad counselor, she's sitting on the bridge all the time God knows why, her empathic abilites just torpedoed the plots (so screenwriters started removing her from "sensitive" scenes)... She's a complete mess of a character."

Oh, is that why Terry Farrell left her show? Troi also had a nice relationship with Riker, & later Worf (just like Dax, go figure)
Set Bookmark
angel
Mon, May 16, 2011, 2:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Yes, it is blasphemy to say that because "The Inner Light" did it first.
And, lest anyone think I have TNG-bias, the same reasoning can be drawn for why "The Naked Time" is better than "The Naked Now" (despite the cute Data-Tasha hookup)
Set Bookmark
angel
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

grumpy_otter, don't bother changing Jammer's mind about Troi. He just hates her for no damn reason, even though she's no more 'useless' than Dax (Terry Farrell obviously thought so)
Set Bookmark
angel
Mon, May 9, 2011, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

to Weiss, I'm just sick of people who think that the ONLY possible way to give DS9 the love & attention it didn't get during its run is to take pot shots at TNG, the show which made DS9 possible, & the way Jammer (and some others) basically drool over that show by giving too many of its episodes 4 stars, while short-changing TNG classics such as this one, "Family," & "The Drumhead" in the same way suggests they are doing just that.
Read any interview with the irascible Ira Behr and he basically says: "TNG sucks, watch our show instead." Hardly a way to draw viewers!
He comes across as bitchy as Kevin Sorbo does when anyone brings up Xena.
Set Bookmark
angel
Sun, Apr 24, 2011, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"Such as other life-forms. Non-humans. How altruistic."

Picard didn't say other life forms, he said other SOURCES
Set Bookmark
angel
Fri, Apr 22, 2011, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Picard: "If we can determine what its needs are, we may find other sources to supply it."
Set Bookmark
angell
Sun, Apr 17, 2011, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

How exactly had they 'tried allowing it to live'?
Our heroes hadn't seen the CE since "Datalore" so it's not like Picard could've just decided one day to seek it out and talk to it.
And for the last time, PICARD ACKNOWLEDGED THAT IT MAY BE NECESSARY TO DESTORY THE CE!!!
His meeting with it would have determined whether its destruction was imperative until Marr decided to skip a few steps.
Set Bookmark
angel
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I see what you're saying but giving a kid a wild animal for a pet and allowing a teenager to spend time away from home with friends are two different things.
Although this was never specified, the friends he was with may have been school/childhood acquaintances whom his mom trusted.
Set Bookmark
angel
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Picard admits to Marr that there is the possibility that they may have to destroy the entity. But he didn't want to resort to that until he had exhausted all other options, which Marr kept him from doing when she destroyed the entity.

Marr's son was a teenager, so maybe he was at the age when he wanted to be on his own (for a while, anyway).

Set Bookmark
angel
Fri, Apr 8, 2011, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Yes, the climax was a bit too obvious, but, hey, it's not Troi's fault she so freakin' hot.
Set Bookmark
angel
Fri, Apr 8, 2011, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Troi worse than Leeta?? I don't think so
Set Bookmark
angel
Fri, Apr 8, 2011, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

How the hell do you know DS9 would've done it better?
Knowing that show, we would've gotten a threesome with her, Dukat, & Nurse Ratched
Set Bookmark
Angel
Tue, Apr 5, 2011, 10:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

How would you know no workable compromise was possible? That was precisely what Picard was hoping to find out until Marr decided to take matters into her own hands.
Set Bookmark
angel
Tue, Apr 5, 2011, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Jammer,
If you want to consider Crosby playing her own daughter as a 'soap-opera conceit,' fine, but, based on your other reviews, if this had been a DS9 episode, I have the feeling you'd have given this 4 stars for precisely that reason.
Set Bookmark
Angel
Fri, Apr 1, 2011, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

"I'm honestly not even sure how the ship ultimately gets repaired."

One word: Starbase

BTW, if you want to convince yourself Troi is useless, fine. But that doesn't change the fact that she's hot & became more interesting as the show went on.
Set Bookmark
Angel
Fri, Apr 1, 2011, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

"Darmok" is no more overrated by its fanbase than DS9 (as a whole) is by its fanbase
Set Bookmark
Angela
Wed, Jan 27, 2010, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Kara's behavior isn't as inexplicable as it outwardly appears; she's driven by guilt. Remember how Kara was engaged to Lee's brother, Zak? 1) She feels responsible for his death. 2) Despite her relationship with Zak, when she met Lee they were attracted to each other (see later episodes). 3) Her relationship with Admiral Adama (with its father-daughter feel) reinforces the sibling-like bond between herself and Lee.

All these combine to give her a truckload of guilt, which compels her to push Lee away despite their attraction. He's the forbidden love, the brother, the other son, and a reminder of her past mistakes all in one. Add to that Lee's declaration of love, and no wonder she's lashing out at him: it's because she hasn't forgiven herself. Why would Lee fight back? Sexual frustration, Kara's part in Zak's death, and good old vexation.

In light of this guilt-ridden plot, Admiral Adama's present conflict is more understandable. Adama feels irrational (and rational) guilt over the fact that the Cylons were able to hold humanity hostage on New Caprica for so long. He blames himself for letting go of the hardened military mindset which would have kept a stronger fleet in orbit, and so lashes out as an expression of reestablishing emotional distance between himself and the crew.

To me, this episode is in line with the series' goal: to be a drama that just happens to be sci-fi. The boxing was the crew's outward expression of pent up frustration and guilt, and was appropriate considering the science fiction military setting.

But hey, that's just my two cents. :)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.