Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 334 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

This episode had a lot of potential and some moments but ended up feeling, disappointingly, way too black-and-white, good vs. evil-goodies vs. baddies.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

A very intriguing moment was, though it was contrived that Neelix would still stick around after most crew had been called back, when Neelix was really bothered by when Torres's thought led to violence against someone he really cared about and thought maybe Torres should therefore be punished/treated.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 10:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

The first act or two I was thinking whoa this is a lot like "Justice", why would they do that (IMO not a terrible episode but I know it's widely derided), and then it actually claims that no, Yar wasn't and now Tuvok isn't incompetent, that kind of thing supposedly happens regularly ....

Otherwise Tuvok is interesting but seems a bit too reckless, especially for being after his experiences in "Meld".

A dog barking being thought to be scary sure was goofy.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

I think the conflict between Dax and Sirella could been a lot better if Sirella thought Dax was over-playing her connection to Curzon and thus her Klingon-ness rather than just directly racism/xenophobia, openly against any non-Klingon and supposedly that she's less physically strong.

I don't blame Dax for either having mixed feelings about getting married or remembering & being affected by having been married multiple times before.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

The special effects-battles are great and also pretty amazing are how near-seamlessly the episode reintroduces the Prophets, and Sisko's relationship with them, as major elements of the series after being big parts in just four or five episodes since the pilot.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

I think DS9 as a whole is pretty anti-TNG, at least Behr was, so it's not surprising that Worf's past on the Enterprise and connections to its crew is generally greatly downplayed so not real surprising (even if it hadn't beeen it's easy enough to assume that both the actors and characters were just too busy).

Agreed that a lot of the interactions worked well, particularly between Worf and Dax, and Worf and Martok and Sisko and Dax, but Sirella was too extremely unpleasant, so much so that for Dax to have to beg to her felt like too much and for it to not be shown but still end with her feeling very warmly to Dax felt like really too much.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 11:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

Janeway was slightly annoying in her badass-ness (mostly demanding the ship leave the nebula when it clearly shouldn't) but for the most part it worked really well. Chakotay having enough of a dark or relativist side to sympathize with and want to help Annorax was pretty interesting (especially good retroactively as setup for "Timeless"), especially that it wasn't overdone.

The ending with Voyager, just choosing to bypass the space, was just a little too light and cheery but with Annorax it was quite strong, especially that it both strongly punished and, in doing so, rewarded him and we don't know what will happen later.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Pretty good story, creepiness and I thought also conflicts. The researcher was believable enough and good to make a direct comparison with how the Starfleet crew are explorers and generally utilitarian and how Janeway still insists they're very different.

I usually like Torres and Paris as a couple but they got a bit too cutesy in this one.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

One of the best episodes of Voyager and of the spinoffs, pretty much everyone at the top of their game. Certainly reminiscent of some earlier episodes but still quite fresh and even more impressive for being both.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 10:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

I always find it pretty goofy when a man (and maybe especially a Southerner) refers to himself as (acting like) a gentleman. Otherwise, pretty bland/a little tired but not bad.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Williams
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The most unbelievable part of this episode for me was the fact that a death by suspicious circumstances, where the doctor doubted suicide, on a Federation ship was not investigated because the family didn't want an autopsy.

Even if a forensic autopsy was not allowed where suspicious circumstances were a factor, which I find would be unacceptable from any society that has a rule of law, why would there still not be a criminal investigation?

They spend whole episodes investigating some inane scientific mystery, or spending days helping someone repair their crappy ships, like it's no big deal.

Potential murder? Meh, we'll leave that one alone. Who gives a fuck if our beloved Captain Picard might be next?
Set Bookmark
Andrew Williams
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 8:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

The beginning was quite annoying but seems to be employed more often than not.

When Picard, Data, and La Forge are frozen, Deanna moves from her seat. Even if Geordi and Jean-Luc didn't notice her suddenly being standing from sitting (which I don't believe anyone sane could not notice), Data definitely would have.

Making out like they had to prove Deanna right, instead of it being immediately apparent to everyone there was a problem, really bothered me in this episode.

On the whole, I liked this episode a lot. I could suspend my disbelief for most of the technobabble and questionable science, but things like Deanna's sudden relocation, or Suspicions where a murder on a Federation ship isn't investigated with or without the family's consent, are not believable and ruin the whole premise of an episode.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I think this episode, rather than The Begotten, should have been where Odo is turned from being a solid back into being a changeling again. If the female changeling returned and told Odo that the link had forgiven him, and then proved it by offering to restore his powers and giving him back what he lost, then that would have made Odo's betrayal somewhat more understandable, and as a result made his subsequent return to the fold somewhat more plausible. One of the strengths of this episode, and of the Odo character as a whole, is that he is torn between these two worlds, so giving him his powers back at this point would have been the most logical time to do it.

As Jammer noted in the review for The Begotten, there was concern that episode would come to be remembered only as the episode where Odo gets his powers back, and I think that is pretty much what ended up happening. To me it makes more sense for the founders to make him a changeling again because they had the power to make him a solid in the first place, rather than have a scientifically mumbled explanation where Odo somehow gets his powers back from a dying baby changeling. It makes Broken Link a little less powerful if Odo is able to become a changeling again without the link's approval. Also, if Odo had remained a solid for the entirety of the fifth season, it would have raised the question in the viewer's mind about whether he would ever become a changeling again, which I think would have been the better choice.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 12:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I love this new series. While waiting for this episode I went back and watched a couple of episodes of Voyager and and Enterprise and was reminded of just how dull Trek had become.

I also remember when TNG premiered. I was so excited to have new Trek on TV. However, looking back at the first couple of seasons, they were inconsistent and at times mediocre. Discovery, while not perfect, feels off to a stronger start than any of the other series, with the exception of the original.

I found the scenes with Burnham and Saru sort of heart breaking. I am a Saru fan and find myself rooting for a friendship between those two, or at least a good working relationship.

The little Easter eggs during Burnham's "mushroom trip" were subtle and well done. There was Starbase 11 from "The Menagerie" and Janus VI from "Devil in the Dark". Anyone see any others? Subtle enough that I didn't feel pandered to (unlike that starfleet insignia in the sand from the first episode).

Bring on Sunday.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Ending the first (and only free) episode on a cliffhanger and not introducing most of the cast, especially combined with the padding, make it overall feel particularly unsatisfying.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

From just the first episode, I thought it was average but unsatisfying ... too much exposition without the characters or plot being interesting enough (especially as it felt like there was also too much padding). Burnham was OK but having her raised by Vulcans, let alone mentored by and close to Sarek, let alone even (not in the episode but I know later) raised by Sarek, feel like trying too hard to make her cool. The relationship between her and Saru also felt trying too hard to be too much like the dynamic between Kirk or McCoy and Spock.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Spink
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Great episode but one nitpick:
SPOILERS


When the Jem Hadar boarded the Defiant, why did they start taking swings at Odo? Shouldn't they know that it's bad to beat up a founder? And clearly the writers knew by this point that they were going to have the founders be changlings. Unless maybe the Jem Hadar don't realize someone is a changling until they turn liquid. This seems to be supported by "The Abandoned" where the Jem Hadar gets all mystified when he sees Odo as a liquid. Might also explain why the Vorta and Jem Hadar in the last episode don't seem to recognize Odo as a founder. Do the founders only start appearing like Odo after this episode?
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

This episode deserves some credit for admitting Janeway forcing change on Seven is/should be viewed as controversial but the ending has a little too much acceptance too soon from the latter (although some more cooperation, relative to her earlier attitude, was probably needed for her to be a series regular/crewmember, just a bit too fast).
Kes had fine interactions and farewells with Tuvok and Janeway (although directly asking would you stop me from my choice was just a little too exact mirroring) but with Neelix it was so-so and it was also disappointing that the writers and characters didn't seem to care much about her relationships with the other characters.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

^about what should be done
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Rewatching, Janeway seems pretty insane to be so indignant with Chakotay. It was much less that he disobeyed her orders as that the situations drastically changed (I can't imagine she would agree to go in "the wrong way" in an instant) and disagreeing with her about what she be done, and privately telling her that he does, is hardly being at war with her.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 2:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Eh, average, somewhat intriguing but itself too off-puttingly manipulative. The Vori often come off as (at least maybe) a little too good (and the Kraden too bad) to be true, you still develop some sympathy with them and then the ending is sunk by sort-of-ambiguity. That the Vori would conscript and brainwash their own people is horrifying in concept but way too rushed to really be digested or believed. It certainly implies that the Kraden probably don't really commit any atrocities, none of what we saw was true, and it's too much that the soldiers would ignore that reality they knew before and become hateful (though we don't see real soldiers) based just on a simulation (or something) and people wouldn't realize the discrepancies from real life/the past or the similarities from their training.

The end where a Kraden refers to the Vori as their Nemesis is intriguing but it's a decidedly half-hearted attempt at ambiguity, everything else suggests that the wrong and fault is entirely the Vori's. If there really were atrocities the training wouldn't be needed.

While Chakotay's growing identification with the group is pretty well-done the climax goes too far where he just wants to kill a lot of Kraden rather than try to contact his ship even if that can also help the Vori. Then him not initially recognizing Tuvok (but then being able to) is also too overdone and doesn't make sense.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Dawson did well but it felt like much too much for her to think near the end that she was completely without honor when she consistently does great in her job as chief engineer.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I think this episode had quite strong acting, aside from McNeill being a little uneven, but pretty abrupt and overdone writing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Especially in comparison, the commentary of TUC in itself and as allegory is much more impressive and interesting, that achieving peace and more understanding with an enemy after a 70-year-conflict will be far from easy, that good people on both sides will feel a lot of inner conflict, but it's still possible to gradually but boldly achieve compromises and cooperation rather than maintain or increase hostility.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

The problem with ID as social commentary is that is tries to or pretends to say that revenge and aggressive militarism are bad but it doesn't really say that revenge is bad, just that trying to get revenge against people that didn't actually attack you is bad (pretty pointlessly obvious). That might have been a somewhat underwhelming but still decent message 3-5 years after the start of the Iraq war but it was completely underwhelming ten years after (and four years after the election of a candidate who won in part from always opposing it and considering it a big mistake).
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.