Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 302 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

My sister got my into BSG and she told me that I should watch Razor after The Captain's Hand rather than in Season 4, and this definitely turned out to be the correct way to do it. Unlike the viewers who saw Razor when it first came out, I got to see it in its "proper" order and it really works well there and doesn't spoil anything for Season 4. It's especially hard to try and think of where a show had been when you had seen it a season prior, so I would probably have been frustrated trying to put myself back in the Season 2 mindset if I was about to start Season 4.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

Luke's compassion for Vader worked a bit better for me on my most recent rewatch, as did the Ewoks. You kind of get the sense that the Ewoks are distracting the bad guys more than beating them until near the end of the battle where they are beating them a bit too much.

I never liked the idea that Leia was Luke's sister and it still feels pretty forced.

I refuse to watch the blu ray with No, to me the point and a lot of the strength of the scene was that Vader acted to save Luke *immediately* upon deciding to do so.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back

Despite my having some qualms, a big part of what makes the film so impressive is that it does go in a very different tone and direction from the first film, rather than being at all a rehash, while still being true enough to the first film's spirit.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

Overall a quite good movie although not on the appropriately legendary, breathtakingly excellent level of the first two films.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back

As a kid (first watching it, although the original version, in '96 or '97) I had kind of mixed feelings about this film, I liked it and thought it was good, better than Jedi, but I thought both sequels were pretty big steps down from the first.

Then I thought it was just a bit too constantly dark, numbingly so, and I still feel that way to a degree (in particular, I don't like that Luke fails or otherwise is made to look bad in pretty much all of his scenes with Yoda) but I have grown a lot more appreciative and enjoying of its strengths, still a great movie although not quite as much as the first.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

I'm afraid I was pretty unimpressed ... I thought the episode basically tried way too hard.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

That Crusher admits and emphasizes, when Picard disputes the practicality of her restrictions, that she's talking about what she will permit in *her sickbay* (rather than what any doctor and medical establishment would do) suggests she is acting out of her personal ethical beliefs rather than having the law support her position.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

The way Worf, Picard and Riker all spoke and acted to me strongly conveyed that assisted suicide was permitted under Federation law but Riker and Crusher had a strong personal abhorrence to it, that it was a controversial request as most humans felt closer to Riker and Crusher's views than Picard's but not that Worf was asking that people and Picard accepting of act illegally.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I don't get the love for this episode, to me it was too loudly and clearly trying to be The Hunt for Red October (which I didn't like much either). It felt too random that Troi would choose to trust a character and that that decision was the right one.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

That there were other available planets to me was good de-escalation of the dilemma and that the Bajorans, particularly Kira, are respectful and empathetic of refugees and religious belief but not to the point of acquiescing to co-ownership of the recently occupied planet was still an interesting dilemma and decision.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

I'm don't really see how you could have the Prophets interacting with another species, let alone telling them to go to and giving them a claim on Bajor, without radically changing a lot of the basic elements of the whole series or making the Bajorans the Bad Guys of the episode for rejecting them (which would also make them much less religious for ignoring the Prophets' wishes).

A single episode probably couldn't and shouldn't have a struggling species either become so humble as to welcome millions in as siblings or so cynical as to ignore their own religion.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

My mistake, that was in "Homestead".
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

I do have to LOL that this episode has little Naomi knowing about and merrily telling about the events of "Tuvix," that must have been the writers slamming all the fans who found its ending unethical.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

This episode had a better version of Eddington than "For the Uniform" but it still or more so feels like demonizing and strawman-ing the Maquis overall, as ruthless fanatics. I really disliked that the episode so much identified Eddington as The Leader of the Maquis, that seems pretty simple minded-they're bad guys, he's really bold and ruthless and was already a Lieutenant Commander so everyone else accepted and followed him.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I think Behr as showrunner in season 4 and 5 kind of regressed some of the characters from where they were in seasons 2, 3 and somewhat 4, notably Kira and, until DBIP, Bashir. So Kira's views were disappointing but not really surprising.

This episode, especially its ending, kind of exemplifies dark for the sake of dark and dark & ambiguous in an at least somewhat pretentious way.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Gilmore was a killer who shouldn't get a lot of consideration, let alone deference, from the crew.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Some elements that were kind of inconsistent, especially why and how the doctrine was essential to the governmental system being maintained (and why and how the scientist initially didn't know or ignored that), but still a success, mostly because Beltran did well and the relationship and chemistry between Chakotay and Gegen.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

To me this episode just felt too on-the-nose and manipulative and odd and unpleasant since it seemed manipulative with dark messages ... when people regain individuality they'll instantly go to incompatible tribalism and fighting? They need to be magic-technology-re-collectivized, that's the only way to prevent or end fighting?
And, from the early deceptions, it seemed obvious that the group would of course end up being not so benevolent or tolerant as they initially claimed to be (and the ending was a way to show that but in a safe way).
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Third Season Recap

On the one hand, this season generally didn't feel business as usual, there were some interesting stories and fine risks, on the other hand there were some episodes that were really awful and others that had too little energy and/or ended safely.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

The beginning felt a little too much like a low-energy "All Good Things...," with both Lien and Mulgrew no Patrick Stewart but still good in their own right, otherwise pretty good uses of characters but the pacing felt a little too random.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, May 11, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I think this film works better viewed (as was probably much more intended) more as a film sequel to TNG rather than to TUC.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, May 11, 2017, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Seska is a lot better as a Bajoran Maquis than a Cardassian. This episode was a lot of rewarding fun even though the jeopardy section felt a little contrived and routine.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I think a lot of the outrage against Troi's and Seven of Nine's and T'Pol's costumes is at best excessive but I thought a bit part of why this episode felt so dumb and unpleasant was because it did feel exploitative, T'Pol's horniness was completely forced, with no real connection to let alone impact on the character.
A really sad aspect is that Dawson as a director pretty much does wrong everything she as an actress did right in the broadly similar "Blood Fever," there she and the episode overall treated the scenario with respect.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Mar 20, 2017, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Jammer's review and rating seem pretty harsh, his complaints pretty much that it was too sci-fi-y and reset-y and that it wasn't as good as "The Visitor".
I thought it was still a very good premise and pretty good execution. We may have seen time loop episodes before but it was still nicely nightmarish (and was mostly effective misdirection and also OK as Janeway refusing to accept her actual or phenomenon- or alien-induced death). My biggest complaint was that the false father did seem too bad guy for too long.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Mar 20, 2017, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

The episode also felt too predictable and drawn-out.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.