Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 67 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Wed, May 6, 2009, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@ Poltargyst

Can you please give the rest of us BSG deprived fans the link to the other review?
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Fri, May 1, 2009, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Ryan and AMB, I think we should simply accept the unavoidable truth that there will never be a review of Daybreak.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Tue, Apr 28, 2009, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Remember, we are not supposed to discuss Caprica here!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Tue, Apr 21, 2009, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jammer, I sincerely apologize for myself and everyone else who bugged you throughout this month regarding the BGS finale. We all perfectly understand that you, like everyone else, have a professional life, bills to pay, and cannot be devoted 100% to this site. Look forward to reading your review regardless of when it comes out.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Tue, Apr 21, 2009, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Since you are not planning on reviewing those Relaunch books - would you consider us audience members to write these reviews and you would post them under the miscelleneous section or is that opening up a Pandora's box?
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Apr 19, 2009, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Whatever the reason, the month of April has been cruel and unusual punishment for me. Please Jammer - could you post a link to other webwork you do so we can have something else to refresh every other day?
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Mon, Apr 13, 2009, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Would love to see your other work.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Mon, Apr 13, 2009, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Apologies Jammer - we were just too full of anticipation.

Any chance you could give us links of the websites you made for businesses?

Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Apr 12, 2009, 12:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I am starting to think that the April Fool's joke was for real...
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sat, Apr 4, 2009, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@ Jason K

For your information, I have been on this site since the end of DS9 - before there even was a comments section. True, I came here rarely during BSG season 1 and 2 and was reluctant to get into discussions before, but I always recommended this site to anyone who liked Star Trek.

I am indeed tired of waiting, but saying that is nothing special. I know that Jammer owes me nothing but what is wrong with passing the time by trying to build a consensus?

Remember, you are not obligated to answer. Just wondering if there will be a blank slate for comments to the official review...
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Fri, Apr 3, 2009, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

If anyone else is tired of waiting for the review like me, lets do something constructive. We can shape our collective comments into a collective review! So, anybody want to try to prove Jammer wrong by trying to build a consensus or is it too late?

Here is my futile attempt,
Can we agree on these 10 points:
1) Special effects and action were spectacular

2) Galactica's deterioration was misrepresented as it was still able to ram the colony

3) Tyrol killing Tory was the most feel good moment - which is a sad phenomenon as it illustrates how much we love revenge

4) Having the colonists find a new "Earth" cheapened the dramatic impact of "Sometimes a Great Notion" and was in essence cheating by the writers

5) The unilateral "Luddite" abandonment of technology by over 30,000 people (with no debate) was contrived and unrealistic as it was that technology which kept them alive the whole time. Lack of consensus in the quorum was illustrative of the inherent disagreements. This was sloppy writing at its worst!

6) Roslin's death with Adama alongside was the best dramatic moment of the finale

7) While not everything needs to be explained, having Kara simply disappear seemed disjointed from a narrative standpoint

8) Hera could not have been the mitochondrial eve unless all the other settlers and the human ancestors had perished. This begged the question of whether she bred with one of the human ancestors.

9) The "Head Characters" were abused as a plot device

10) "All Along the Watchtower" is an amazing song and was used perfectly for BSG as a motiff

Simply vote on each one of the points if you are for and against and feel free to substitute any point you disagree with (or all of them) with your own but lets keep it at 10!

Lets get the first ever internet comment consensus! Is this too ambitious - I think not!

So say we all?
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Wed, Apr 1, 2009, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Jammer Good April Fool's joke Jammer but I knew something was up when there were no stars on the page!

Don't worry about pissing anyone off, you can't possibly write anything that could upset me more than your Star Trek V review.

P.S: Onion is very funny: http://www.theonion.com/content/news/obama_depressed_distant_since?utm_sour%20ce=onion_rss_daily
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Well, I am disappointed that Jammer's review won't be in for a while but I guess I don't mind prolonging the anticipation. I am glad our comments will have an impact on his review. After all - we do not really have much else to look forward to other than the Star Trek relaunch movie this year (and BSG the Plan). I believe that Jammer will be "touched" by some of the scenes - particularly that of Roslin's death and Tyrol's revenge but in the end he will see the countless flaws (abandonment of technology, Starbuck's disappearance, the poorly executed Opera scene, etc.) within the finale and essentially go middle of the road with 2 and a half stars.

This will produced the least backlash as it appears that the majority of us were mildly disappointed with those who praise it and the haters being in the vocal minorities.

Alas - those who loved it will slightly criticize Jammer and those who hated it or were middle road will tend to agree with his review. Those are my predictions for what will happen once the review is posted. It will be sad to read it as I will know that after reading the review and posting feedback - I will no longer visit this site as much as I have for the past 4 years.

Here is to hoping that Jammer becomes a Sci-Fi full-time movie reviewer at some point!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

I felt that theme of building up Vulcans as interstellar "babysitter" was a nice and slow brewing storyline for the first season. I was very intrigued and found it very plausible!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Thu, Mar 26, 2009, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@1moreskinjob and others

The more I think about it the more I agree that the mythology was more of a liability to the overall BSG story while the gritty military aspects of survival was its strong side. The mythology was too convoluted to be resolved within a couple of episodes. Probably - another season was necessary to bring it to a satisfying conclusion.

However, in utilitarian terms - I would have made the mythology aspect be a moot point (simply a false profecy that was destroyed in "Revelations) rather than the whole angel and God's plan that seemed stapled to the plotline.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

I must admit that this episode is good comedy if you pretend that this is a MADTv or SNL parody of Star Trek rather than the real thing...
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

When this episode aired, this was the point at which I was hooked on DS9 and would not miss it for the world. No better storyline and characterizations as the one that got rolling in the third season have ever been made. I will go out on a limb and declare that DS9 still remains superior to BSG!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

Agreed Murphy, the historical episodes, especially ones that emphasize the conflict between humans and vulcans were some of the best - lovely. Wished there had been more of these!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

This was the episode that broke the camel's back and forced this ole trekki to stop watching Enterprise every week (only occasionally from now on). The blatent disrespect that the writers showed for the timeline was simply unacceptable and something that I and many others would not stand for. It is a shame that Enterprise's potential was squandered on this whole Xindy arc!

Just lost all hope in the revival of the Franchise at this point :(
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Loved this episode as it provided backgound information.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I think this episode conveyed the idea that the writers had no respect for the timeline! Big turn off for me but the final nail in the coffin would be the finale!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Was probably my favorite Enterprise episode. was a very fresh First Contact situation that I foudn very plausible!
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

While I liked Star Trek VI - I did not appreciate the blatent rip-off. THis episode proved to me that the Enterprise writers had no imagination to create plot lines without violating the time line (as they would do later on). The only way they could stay tru to the spirit of Star Trek was to copy it directly - pathetic in retrospect.
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Agree with your review completely Jammer. I rememuber how the pilot aired not too soon after 9/11 and the cast of Enterprise did all these patriotic vignettes. When I hear of the Suluban race - I thought Taliban right away (and was proven right when Braga confirmed it in star trek: the magazine - oh how I miss it!). I loved the opening song "Faith of the Heart" - though it did not feel Star Trekkish - it was appropriate to humanity taking baby staps. I remember how often I listened to that song at first. The show certainly had promise but was ultimately ruined by too much time travel and disrespect for the Trek timeline. I can never forgive the produceres for that...
Set Bookmark
Alexey Bogatiryov
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@ Occuprice

Defintely-, the Earth-shaped planet we saw ion Daybreak did have Africa. Do you think that the planet we saw at the end of Crossroads part II (when "All Along the Watchtower" played and it zoomed out from the Cylon and human fleets to Earth)and we saw North America - was that our Earth or the "nuked-out Earth" (I will refer to it as that from now on) of "Revelations" and Sometimes a Great Notion"? By definition - it had to have been our Earth (from "Daybreak") as it had the same geographical configuration! So clearly that was the same planet that we saw in "Crossroads!"

I wathced "Revelations" again. Gaeta said the constellations match the ones seen from the Temple of Athena or whaterver (was that in "Kobol's Last Gleaming?"). "Nuked Earth"
did not have any recognizable characteristics (from the episode "Revelations") similar to our Earth (it was too shrouded in clouds) but it was in precisely the same location! Consequently, this means Ronald Moore committed one of the biggest plot falacies on this side of the Enterprise Xindy attack on Earth (which violated the Trek timeline). He fooled us with the whole Constellationthing as we saw the 12 colonies as constellations from our Earth and the "nuked Earth." Granted - we never see the constellations from our Earth, but we know they are the same as the show takes us up to present time.

Irrelevant of whether the "nuked Earth" was geographically identical to our planet, the fact that they occupy the same exact location in space is simply sloppy writing. The only plausible explanations must be that they must be either in different dimensions or it was the same planet at different time periods (Galactica time travelled through the singularity?). Two Earths could not have existed in the same location! This just drives me nuts and takes away the credibility that "Revelations" and "Sometimes..." established. For shame Ron, for shame!
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.