Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I enjoyed Star Trek Beyond. There are massive plotholes revolving the Franklin and the villain.

Spoilers... (of course i guess)

Jaylah hiding in the Franklin makes no sense. The villains would know where their original ship was regardless of her cloaking it. Also, the villains must not have tried very hard to escape the planet's gravity given how easy it was for Kirk and company.

Did any of you ever think you'd see Federation starship using VHF waves rocking Beastie Boys Sabotage to destroy a fleet of a 1 million mining drones? It's still amazing to me that this exist in a Star Trek movie. Schlocky but I'll admit I enjoyed it.


Best parts were all the scenes with the Yorktown, and the time lapse at the end with the Enterprise-A being constructed. I also thought the scenes where the crew was split up, Kirk/Checkov, Scotty/Jaylah, Bones/Spock were all pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Thu, Dec 17, 2009, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Firefly/Serenity

You should watch this show when you have time. It's only one season and a movie. Firefly and NUBSG trump anything Star Trek for me personally, and I never thought that would happen regarding space science fiction.

Not so much a question, and I'm not asking for reviews of the show. But you obviously enjoy space science fiction and I think you are missing out if you don't give Firefly a chance.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Sat, May 30, 2009, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

While I pretty much agree with the rating and the good, not great aspect... I think you were far too kind in your review.


No bashing for mini-cloverfield? You liked Scotty's Jar-Jar side kick? You didn't think the Scotty going through willy wonka' water engineering ride was corny?

The plot and story was swiss cheese.

Still, the effects, most characterizations, and the pacing were all excellent.
Set Bookmark
alex1939
Wed, May 20, 2009, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

C.I.C. = where so much great drama of the show unfolded.

Opera House = a theater in which a dramatic performance is set to music.


Man, I think Ron Moore played it beautifully. I have no problems with the CIC being the opera house. It makes poetic sense, because so much of the show happened there. For some reason I think a lot of people overlook that or disregard its significance.
Set Bookmark
alex1939
Sun, May 10, 2009, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Wow! Racetrack was dead lol!

I guess her eyes being open fooled me in the shot, but you all are correct, the asteroid hit the side of her ship which moved her hand into hitting the launch button.

Way to pay attention to detail!
Set Bookmark
alex1939
Sat, May 9, 2009, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Wow, I'm about to head over to a friends house that still has the finale Dvr'd and watch the Racetrack scene. I really never picked up that she was dead when firing upon the cylons. I thought she was just dying.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Sat, May 9, 2009, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I'm confused by something you wrote:

"But I thought it was a bit much to have the Cylon colony destroyed more or less by accident (or divine will, or what have you) when Racetrack's dead hand launches all the nukes."

Was Racetrack dead when she fired? I really thought she was barely holding on to life and fired the nukes as her last act. Perhaps I need to rewatch that scene.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Tue, Mar 31, 2009, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Daniel-

I'm amazed that anyone can consider "the Soprano's" finale amazing. It's the worst all time for me. Newhart- that was genius!

I enjoyed your rather long post, otherwise.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Good luck Jammer, it would be hard for me to write a non-biased review after so much backlash from the finale.

Since I completely enjoyed it, I feel in full defense mode.

To me, it's almost like people are looking for the answers to life, god, and the universe in the finale. While I'm willing to accept that "which we can't understand" as part of the answer to Starbuck, head-six, etc.

That's an exaggeration before all the bashers attack me =)
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

conroypaw,

about Hera: I don't think that's how mitochondrial eve exactly works. Basically yes, everyone is a descendant of Hera.

But, for example, Baltar and Six could've had a son. And that son and Hera could've had children. Then those children could've had children with other crew member's children down the line.

In other words, just because we all descend from Hera, does NOT exclude descending from the other 38000.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I can't believe so much of the whining has also spread here. It's sad.

Cgal: What is the conclusion of the series?

That humans and cylons are flawed, and forever move towards paths of destruction. But there is hope that WE (new earth) can rise above the cycle.

Starbuck: She was a human, and then she came back as an angel. She was the Harbinger of Death for humanity. As Hera is an ancestor to all of us (new earth), then technically we would all have some cylon in us.

The Opera House: It was forshadowing people! Geez, I thought it was well played. And to have the final 5 cylons, on a platform above there children!!!

NOT TO MENTION, So much of the BSG story was told on that SET. That is why it makes sense to be the opera house! Really beautiful considering the production, and that so much of the story comes from there!

Leaving the tech behind: How do you expect them to make new bullets? How do you expect them to make new fuel? How do you expect them to make new medicine? To me, I don't see how there was any other option. Take what provisions you can, and start a new life. A new life not confined in a 10X10 room, with community showers, shitty fuel, and alge alcohol.


Anyone here claiming "travesty" or will go down in history as "terrible" are ridiculous! The majority of votes everywhere are 80% or better in favor of the finale. I'd say it was an overwhelming success!

Failure was the Soprano's finale.

Masterpiece was BSG finale.


My guess: The people endlessly bitching about the finale quit enjoying the show long before the finale. I have no idea why they would expect to enjoy the finale if that wasn't the case. And I have no idea why the minority have become so crazy vocal about their displeasure.

FIND SOMETHING BETTER TO DO WITH YOUR TIME. If you didn't enjoy it, fine. What good is it doing to bitch about it continuously?
Set Bookmark
alex1939
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I thought I'd also add, I said to a friend after the show, "I can now go throw my TV in the lake. My TV viewing experience can never be as great as this show. I can forsake TV, because anything else I watch will fail in comparison to BSG."

Yeah, I liked it.


The very end of the finale has made me scared that my computer will come to life in the middle of the night and kill me.

So say we all?
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

For anyone complaining about them not taking technology with them, think about these 2 things:

1) They didn't have the means to replenish the resources. How are they going to refuel, etc? How are they going to make new ammunition? How are they going to make new medicine?

2) If you were locked in a confined space for 4 years (spaceship), do you think your opinion might change? Might you decide, hey.. fresh air.. animals I can kill and cook.. I could make a house near water.. I think that's enough to say, forget the tech, lets just live.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Thu, Feb 26, 2009, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

About season summaries:

I disagree that it doesn't have value. I like the reflection on the season as a whole. I'm sure others do as well.


An overview, or finale review, for the entire BSG (and for Star Trek shows) would be a suggestion supposing you want to continue your writing here (after TNG). It wouldn't require you to rewatch anything, considering you'd have all your other reviews here to go by. Hey it's only a suggestion and something you could do down the line (even years later), sort of nice finish to the website.

Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

One of your best reviews, imo, even if you were off on the title. Thanks for the tidy wrapups of the events and history of the story.

I agree with this episodes rating, I thought it was excellent.

You've enhanced my Star Trek and BSG viewing pleasure Jammer! Appreciate it! Reading good reviews on episodes like this add to my BSG experience!
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Thu, Feb 19, 2009, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

Ok, I agree about this being 3-parter, but only in the sense that I was MUCH LESS a fan of the first half of season 4.

So if it cuts into, or takes away one of those episodes, I see the extra dialog working into an episode, and scenes with non-essential characters given more story time.


But given this is the final 10 episodes, I'm very content with this wrapup of story arc, and think there is too much content left to cover in the remaining episodes.


This was a 4* episode for me, just the way it is, personally.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Fri, Feb 13, 2009, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

To quote Mac the Knife, "24 should've been canceled after episode 13."

Sorry to reply to an off-topic subject, but that is EXACTLY HOW I FEEL! The second half of season 1 I found so unbelievable as to the revelation of who some of the characters were. I stuck through season 2, and abandoned ship.

Never understood how the show remained so popular.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Mon, Jan 5, 2009, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

It takes a little imagination, but I prefer to look at it as the information became "lost" or "buried" over time.

Considering the Xindi attack that was about to come, and other major events of Enterprise history... it's conceivable to me that this one encounter with "cybernetic" beings may not be common knowledge 200+ years later during TNG events.
Set Bookmark
alex1939
Fri, Jan 2, 2009, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

Awww gotcha on the webisodes. Think you'll find them entertaining at least, even if it isn't as shattering as most regular season episodes.


Sorry to reveal the little bit I did, if it makes it any better, it's revealed in the first half of the first webisode.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Thu, Jan 1, 2009, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

Enjoy your reviews, but find myself in disagreement on the ratings and enjoyment of these two episodes.

To me, these episodes just are more.. boring.. than previous seasons. I guess this whole 4th season just doesn't have as interesting a story for my personal tastes.


That, and I have a real beef with the advertising of this show. "All will be revealed"... I am SOOOOOO sick of hearing that line. Just give me a good story and reveal things when you want. Also, I really don't give a shit who the final cylon is. That "pitch" just reeks of desperation to me, like is that all viewers are tuning in to find out???

/rant over


Also, Jammer.. have you checked out the webisodes on BSG@scifi? I'm finding the storyline pretty interesting and the quality seems far superior to the webisodes done before season 3. Any chance you'll also do a review on the webisodes as a whole?

(have to say I've been getting some good laughs about the character named GAY-TA being GAY. well bi, but still. Gay Gaeta, too funny to me.)
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Fri, Dec 5, 2008, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

"Technically, as an effects-driven hardware-and-battle movie, it's one of the better installments. Overall, I found it entertaining, but somehow lacking. Still, what I never understood was what seemed to me such an exceptionally negative critical and fan reception. This movie is no masterpiece, but it's not the train wreck some have made it out to be..."


After rewatching the movie twice, each of the past two nights, I relate to that part of the review.



There were some awful scenes in the movie. But after time I can more accept an additional android (b-4) in the film. I see the key striking point, of dealing with the good and evil possibilities of one's self.... Shinzon-Picard... Data-B4... they present interesting ideas about facing an alternate side of oneself.

On a sci-fi level, and particularly a special effects level in ship to ship combat... this movie stands up well...

2.5/4 stars is an accurate rating to me. It's not in the category of worst trek films. On the flipside, it doesn't stand out in any category, other than some special effects. It's not a fitting end for the TNG crew, but some endings just aren't perfect... this ending reflects some adequacy and a sense that the characters are moving into another "role"...

(star trek 11 peaked my interest in re-watching some star trek. I'm psyched for the movie! Hopefully it does well, that would keep the franchise rolling!! How about a sci-fi mini-series next....)

Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Thu, Nov 27, 2008, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Redemption Part 2 is one of my favorite TNG episodes. At least when you start back up on the reviews here... you start with a great one by Ronald Moore.
Set Bookmark
Alex1939
Mon, Aug 25, 2008, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

I do think each season has a different feel or tone to it.

Without making criticisms that would include spoilers, I'll simply say I did not enjoy season 4 as much as any prior season.

Look forward to Jammer's take in the future.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.