Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sat, Sep 17, 2016, 3:43am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Chrome, surely one of TOS strengths was that it most assuredly didn't follow all of the norms of its time. It bucked them. It presented a woman first officer (briefly), a black senior officer, interracial kiss, etc. Though I am of the opinion these things were less revolutionary than they are commonly made out to be they are still evidence that TOS didn't observe the social norms of mid-century America particularly closely.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Aug 7, 2016, 6:57am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Strong negative correlation, the above should say - or to avoid misunderstanding, I mean the quality decreased as the quantity of combat increased. Only DS9 bucks that trend in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Aug 7, 2016, 6:53am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

>> (I wouldn't want to be like Khan and limit myself to two-dimensional thinking ;) )

Apart from a few battles in Trek not much use has been made of the 3D nature of the battle space. We tend to see two capital ships pinging each other's shields (and the dreaded "shields down to n%" line from a bridge officer).

I agree that Trek can't really use direct military or naval analogues in the same way that NuBSG did. Trek ships aren't aircraft carriers like the battlestars of NuBSG, nor are the weaponry conventional. That said if there isn't enough imagination to do combat both realistically and imaginatively (to make use of the setting, the period and the battle space) perhaps it would be better to avoid combat entirely.

Although I am not a "Gene's legacy" purist like some, I do think there is a generally strong correlation between the quality of the series and the quantity of literal combat. TNG used combat more sparingly - limited effects budget or better writing? Both? Did limited budget require the writer to work harder? Did digital effects make the quantity of pew-pew rise unchecked by budget concerns?

I enjoyed Enterprise probably more than a lot of fans did. It was silly much of the time and some unfortunate trends made their way over from Voyager but I have to say I can't remember any Enterprise episode really making me think. Some TNG episodes did, some DS9 episodes did. It'd be nice if we could get a modern science fiction series that has excellent production values but with the soul and spirit of the best examples of Trek e.g. Darmok, Inner Light, Duet, In the Pale Moonlight, The Visitor, Rapture, Blink of an Eye.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Thu, Aug 4, 2016, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

An interesting side topic indeed, NCC-1701-Z (mind if I call you Z?).

I thought NuBSG got it pretty right from the very beginning (the miniseries). Take for instance the battle at Ragnar Anchorage. Visually engaging, dialogue pretty good - Tigh issues realistic sounding commands "stand by suppression barrage".

Partly I think this is because the combat usually has purpose - Galactica making itself a shield for the fleet or vipers engaging bogies during patrol. Trek combat tends (DS9 aside) to be enemy-of-the-week attacking for god-knows what reason, standoffs or stubborn-captain-faces-down-aggressive-enemy type scenarios (could almost do with a mini-tropes website about combat scenarios). DS9 being the only Trek series with a full blown war going on had some very memorable combat sequences, the destruction of the Odyssey and the battle in Sacrifice of Angels come to mind.

I think it would be good if the next Trek series could avoid battles for the sake of battles. The combat is more interesting if there is a strong reason for it to occur, rather than the scenarios that seemed to dominate Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I was hoping the version of the video I saw was a spoof - Klingon-like Starfleet ship in an asteroid with terrible (as in obvious) CGI. From comments here I guess not. Oh dear.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I had a feeling the review might have been posted today.

Like others I can understand the mostly positive review given to this film by Jammer, but disagree with it personally. That said, a very interesting review with some points I have not seen made by anyone else. Food for thought.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Definitely not alone, Yanks. I really hope Jammer decides to review the new series.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Mon, Jul 18, 2016, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I also liked Terry Farrell's performances. I don't really understand the frequent dislike I've seen expressed about her. She always seemed to be putting a 100% into her role and rarely was noticeably "acting". Not to mention she is one of the few Star Trek "babes" who wasn't put in ridiculous cleavage showing costumes. She more than earned her place in the cast of DS9, in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Mon, Jul 18, 2016, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

>>The fact that he's getting better at copying other people is not something to be >>proud of. However, he's going to make a billion dollars doing it.

Very concerning, I agree. The fact Abrams and co get critical acclaim for their half baked knockoffs shows that the appetite for challenging material is and has been waning for some time, even amongst critics.

>>Therefore, there is never going to be anything innovative.

Ultimately I think this is what is killing modern Trek and TV sci fi in general. It is difficult - half of the audience WANT "magical" sci fi and obvious callbacks. Directors that don't pander to an audience used to getting what they want will find it harder and harder to succeed. On a wider cultural level new ideas, outside of technical progress, seem to be in short supply. Is it because we are drowning in seas of noise and unable to distinguish signal? Or is there a genuine dearth of new ideas?
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sat, Jul 2, 2016, 12:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Always nice to see new reviews by you Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Mon, May 30, 2016, 1:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Perhaps O'Brien simply preferred Scotch. :)
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Mon, May 30, 2016, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

... and I completely forgot to say I find the B-story utterly charming.

@Luke, I think DS9 is generally kindly predisposed to trade and the free market. In "Treachery, Faith and the Great River" Nog's barter and trade goes to a new level!
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Mon, May 30, 2016, 12:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

Interesting to see that some people disliked this episode. I like it. I find it to be a winner because at the very least it makes you think.

I subscribe to the view that conflict (not necessarily involving violence, but at least opposing points of view) provides the power in good drama.

Here we have the conflict of interests between the settlers and the vague millions that will benefit from the power generated by the project. Yes, the story is somewhat flawed - trashing a habitable moon to produce power does seem insane. That said I seem to recall that most of Bajor's moons are habitable to some degree and there is no shortage of habitable planets in Trek.

Earlier comments have been along the lines of "why can't the Federation provide plant and equipment to produce sufficient power?" Well, there'd be no story if it were that simple. Realistically the replicator is a simplistic idea and scarcity will probably always exist in some form or other. If you want post-scarcity science fiction that is all well and good but it doesn't speak very well to common contemporary issues and Trek has never really been post-scarcity.

As to the idea that post-Occupation Bajor should abhor violence and respect civil liberties, if you pay attention to the way real world societies have coped with occupation, colonialism and oppression many broke down completely when the occupying forces withdrew. Sometimes occupying forces restrain other forces from coming into play. That's not a justification for occupation or colonialism but it does happen. If anything it is unrealistic that Bajor becomes a prosperous and peaceful world so quickly without suffering many setbacks in the form of coups, factional violence, conflicts of ideas, etc. Thankfully the series does provide some realistic expressions of these (e.g. The Circle) though within the arc-based format the series took such conflicts don't last particularly long.

In my opinion "Progress" is a good episode that succeeds in telling the story they wanted to tell and doesn't come across too preachy. There are multiple ways of interpreting the moral dimension and I actually like that both sides have legitimate arguments. I like my drama to have shades of grey.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.