Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 103 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, May 29, 2017, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Very surprising to see Theodore Sturgeon's name under the writing credit at the end. Often a guest writer may get a killer plot and totally fail to integrate it into the tone and formula of the show (I'm looking at you, William Gibson-penned-X-Files-Episodes) - here we get kind of the opposite.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

EPISODE VIII TRAILER REVIEW
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I have never liked how they did Alexander. He was conceived at the end of season 2 in TNG and we first see him in season 4. By season 6 of DS9 he's only 10 at the most in human years (Since DS9 started showing during season 5 of TNG). They never aged him properly nor explained to any satisfaction the Klingon aging process.

Because he is shown as perhaps an 18 year old, he either ages twice as fast as humans or they just f'd up bad with him!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/02/27/star-trek-discovery-to-premiere-by-early-fall/

Discovery to premiere "by early fall".

So, January 2018 then. ;)
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

The whole episode I was screaming at the TV. Just act zombified and the second those kids look the other way hit them with a haymaker! There is a world of wiggle room between killing and knocking them the hell out! I hate this episode with a fiery passion.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

One thing that is never made clear is what will happen if unification is successful. "Romulans and Vulcans will be one!" Okay, but how? What form will it take? Would Vulcan leave the Federation and become a superpower with the Romulans? Would they form a new faction? Is it supposed to bring peace between the Federation and Star Empire (which seems to not be a priority of Spocks)? Would Vulcan become a neutral system between the two powers, being friendly to both sides at the same time?

There simply is no telling what the end game is beyond "We'll be friends!"

Also, the resolution is really ridiculous. Sela (who I have always viewed as one of the better Romulan commanders, although she doesn't seem as bold as she is just cunning), leaves them alone in a room with access to a computer. A computer that apparently has no safeguards in place. A computer that she just showed could project holographic images and left them alone! Her failure is cringeworthy.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

One of the things that has always amazed me with TNG (especially as I've gotten older and can understand more of the deeper meanings of the stories being told), is the fact Picard has been given such a free pass by Starfleet Command.

After the Borg incident, where he helped the Borg destroy 11,000 fellow Starfleet Officers, 39 capitol ships and at least 3 smaller defensive vessels around Earth, Starfleet doesn't force him to take an extended leave of absence. No, they act as if a few sessions with Troi will fix everything.

During "Inner Light", he lives an entire lifetime in 24ish minutes, wakes up, clearly is having very difficult time remembering the Enterprise and his life in general, but they don't have him take time off to get his memories back but just keep him in charge.

Then this, where he was tortured and broken at the very last (you even see it in his eyes at the last that he could no longer see just four lights), but they don't send him away to recover. They leave him on the ship and act again as if a couple of heart-to-hearts with Troi will fix everything.

Now, Picard is very capable of rebounding from these bad experiances. Yet, as I watch these types of stories, it boggles my adult mind as to why Starfleet didn't make him take time-off from command of the Enterprise at the very least. Especially when they go so far as to order him to stay away from engaging the Borg in First Contact because they believe him to be an "unstable element".
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

No date offered.

I think we're officially in development hell.

I figured out a while ago that all this "subscription lets us do graphic stuff we couldn't on networks!" and "sci-fi sucks on networks!" is really just studio-code for "we're going to have a gay character and he's going to be kissing men". I wonder if that was a source of conflict between the various parties.

But between them putting it behind a paywall and the Axanar studio, I can tell you I have no intention of supporting Discovery. Moonves is just putting forth a token doomed effort so he can go "See? Nobody wants it!" and dodge further criticism.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I think the most important question is... where is the toilet on that guy's tiny ship?!
Set Bookmark
Adam C
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

It just occurred to me that the Lantree quarantine beacon would be like a dinner bell for the Ferengi. They could have tried to salvage the ship or scavenge from its contents, potentially proliferating the disease despite Our Heroes’ best efforts. Would have made for an interesting (if grim) sequel.

Also, the more interesting and path would have been to leave Pulaski to die, presenting a true cost of her folly. One supposes they might have done just that, had the episode fallen near the end of the season.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Oct 1, 2016, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Just finished a rewatch of this series, and this finale is much more hollow than I remember it being. The whole thing screams of utterly sloppy writing. There is the borg civil war from Unimatrix Zero that is completely ignored. It was earlier established that Seven could NOT have a relationship because of one of her implants, yet now she has one with Chakotay with no issues (a relationship that just came out of nowhere and is not believable in the slightest.) Why would Admiral Janeway go to that particular point in time? Why not use the technology to simply bring Voyager back across the galaxy? Why is the exit point of the transwarp hub so close to Earth? Wouldn't it have been seen before? (They allude earlier that the exits are static: "That one leads to the Delta Quadrant.") If the Borg have trans-warp hubs, why haven't they ever sent an army to cripple Earth? With that kind of traveling power, one would think the Battle at Wolf 359 would have been a cakewalk for them.

I love Voyager but it could have been so much more. The whole story line with the Maquis is left unanswered - it's alluded to earlier in the series that the Maquis will face severe consequences when they get back! How does Seven integrate into society? What about the Doctor? Echeb?

My hope was that with the new Star Trek Discovery, we would at least get to see what happened to some of these characters via guest appearances, but turns out the series will be set before TOS. I don't have much hope for the Trek franchise anymore.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Sep 12, 2016, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Disappointed that the series is taking place in the pre-TOS era. Enterprise failed and the new movies are already in that time frame (albeit a different dimension).

Was excited to have a new series that took place after Voyager and that gave TNG, DS9 and Voyager actors a chance to make guest appearances.

Trek has been a disappointment for the last 15 years and I hope the new series breaks the wheel.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Sep 1, 2016, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I liked the premise of the episode, but it grew tiresome after so many scenes with the Picardos shouting at each other. Zimmerman's behavior was not believable at all. I would think a scientist, especially one near death, would be eager to exhaust every treatment option.

The constant references that the EMH Mark 1's were scrubbing plasma whatevers was ridiculous. The programs could be upgraded or deleted. That's like saying "my Windows Vista is outdated so I have it relegated to being my calculator."
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Aug 25, 2016, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

My claim was not that cause and effect is sufficient for sentience, it was to counter Skeptical's argument above that the Doctor was different than the Fair Haven character because he has free will. In terms of free will, I see no difference between Janeway, the Doctor or Michael of Fair Haven.

According to the dictionary definition, sentient is "having the power of perception by the senses; conscious" or "characterized by sensation and consciousness", although I will agree with you that conscious is the better word. The question of what it takes to be conscious is obviously a valid one, which is why I qualified my statement with "arguably."
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Aug 25, 2016, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

I disagree with Jammer's criticism that the hologram isn't real enough, and with Skeptical's assessment above that the Doctor has free will. In Sam Harris' book on free will, he makes a compelling case that humans don't have free will, only the illusion of it. After all, our thoughts simply appear in consciousness and it has been demonstrated in the lab that choices in the brain can be made as much as several seconds before we are consciously aware of them. In this sense, the only difference between humans and holograms is the physical substance with which these spontaneous thoughts are produced. In this sense, the story was much more compelling because the Fair Haven hologram is arguably just as sentient as Janeway and the Doctor.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Aug 24, 2016, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

I thought they did a great job with the holodeck versions of the Voyager crew. Notice how none of the characters actually contributed anything worthwhile, it was all just "wow Reg you're a genius!" I laughed a few times, especially with Janeway's "well, you've never given me reason not to trust you" moments before the warp core breach.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Aug 24, 2016, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

I didn't enjoy this episode very much. It felt like the writers were trying to give Chakotay something to do. All we've ever seen from him are squabbles with Janeway and spirit quests, yet suddenly he reveals a long interest in paleontology and history? I don't buy it. This is what goes wrong when you have a poorly utilized character six seasons into the show.

On top of that we have the standard "shuttle in trouble" storyline which you already know will end just fine because this is Voyager.

The episode's saving grace is Seven's story arc. The mention of the Yankees at the end of the episode was a nice touch. 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

This was the most enjoyable of the 3 films. The scene where the Enterprise is destroyed was the best, however, I found myself tuning out during a lot of the movie. I'm not sure what it is about the reboots - maybe the way they are shot - but these films just don't feel like Star Trek anymore.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

I found it funny that earlier this season, the crew was fighting tooth and nail to stop B'Elanna from being forced to undergo an engramatic purge - a procedure that would erase the memory of a violent thought. This time around, no one seems to really care that these aliens are essentially wiping everyone's minds. Chakotay even drinks champagne to celebrate it!

No consistency...
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

This one is a guilty pleasure for me. For some reason I take great delight in seeing Da Vinci trying to comprehend all of this 24th century technology.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Jul 18, 2016, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Funny how their suits only had a half hour of oxygen left, yet in that time, Seven was able to design and replicate a perpetual Thorium source and give it to the Cataati with enough time to spare for Voyager to find Tom and B'Elanna.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, May 5, 2016, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

"The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few...or the one."

Unless it's Troi?
Clearly, Picard did not share the beliefs of his predecessors.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones

@Peter G
One minor flaw with your Order 66 theory. This was a republic so even if the Jedi were considered traitors they would have deserved a trial, not to be executed off hand. This would be true even if the Republic was under martial law. You also ignore the fact that the Jedi now had evidence that Palpatine had committed treason; they went to arrest him, not execute him (unless you believe the serial liar/deceiver Palpatine).
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.