Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,579 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,624
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

{ This was the point at which the quality of third-season TOS suffered its final collapse, and never recovered. }

I'd say it was right after this. While this one wasn't great, it was needed - and no more ham-handed than half of TOS anyway.

For all the lambasting season 3 endures, the first half isn't too bad - yeah it's got Spock's Brain and The Children Shall Lead, but also has The Enterprise Incident and Wink of an Eye. And Is There In Truth No Beauty and Day of the Dove and For the World is Hollow And I Have Touched The Sky aren't too bad either. Granted, between two of those and Let That Be Your Last Battlefield, they really needed some shorter titles.

But after that? It's a parade of stinkers up until All Our Yesterdays, which was one last high before ending the series on an absolutely rotten note (that everyone had to wait 4 months for, at that). Last Battlefield was the last semi-good episode right before the season collapsed.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

Skeptical - that was a great analysis of the episode.

I can forgive them for reusing existing sets and costumes given the budget. And give this one a little credit for not being a "just like Earth" planet.

It wasn't all that great, but it stands out above most of season 3 as being passable.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

They should have eliminated the Tholians, just made it an area of space that's phasing into another dimension, and called it something different.

As it is, we build up all episode waiting to see what will happen when the web is finally complete, and then poof they get thrown clear and we never find out. It's a Shaggy Dog Story.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

This could have been a great episode to end the series on. If only if only.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

{ Definitely the most overrated episode on ST. }

Well, at least the script utilized paragraphs.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

So, the title on Netflix is Bar Associate instead of Bar Association. The real title always reminds me if the Garth Brooks song America pun Honky Tonk Bar Aasociation.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Too many episode ends with a sudden brand new scientific technique being invented out of thin air to solve the problem at the last minute. The way a lot of episodes work, at the last minute Geordi would have found a way to transport through the radiation "technoblob the science through the plasma phase gibberish coupler" and they'd have - with fake tension - transported the last person off JUST before the Sheliak got there.

Instead, they try all episode to get the transporters to function through hyperionic? radiation and never can. It makes sense. If there was a way for transporters to do this then StarFleet's 743,204 scientists should have built into the transporter.

{ Picard's bureaucratic solution to the bureaucratic problem makes for a truly funny and satisfying payoff. }

That scene was AMAZING.

"You enjoyed that."
"You're damn right!"
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

1.5 stars

Not a big fan of Q or Vash and the plot with the alien life form was uninspired and tired
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

1.5 stars. Another potentially interesting idea executed in a very pedestrian way. None of it does anything for me. Probably why I wasn't a regular viewer of DS9 in season 1 back in 1993 and all these years later the first season still stinks. I'm surprised at the high ratings Jammer gave a lot of these S1 episodes honestly
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

"One or both?" is one of the best lines of the season.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

Easily 1.5 stars. I'm sorry but it's a chore to watch. I wasn't a fan of DS9 relying so heavily on TNG and bringing Lwaxana didn't help. I liked her on TNG but DS9 needed to stand on it's own. Plus it made her a one note character here chasing after yet another male character that rebukes her. Picard--okay. Odo -tiresome. And the plot was not the least bit interesting. The jeopardy didn't generate any tension. I think Jammer gave this too high a score like he did with Move Along Home and another clinker The Storyteller. Nothing enjoyable about this episode
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

So when security is called to Quinn's quarters...

1 - There's apparently nobody in security anywhere nearby, so they have to send Worf and Geordi running down from the bridge.

2 - They both show up without phasers.

3 - Then they send the doctor running up from Sickbay - who does have a phaser.

What?
Set Bookmark
skittles
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I liked this ep alot. The mysterious aliens, the mysterious food. :D

A lot of it was meant to be silly and was, yet at the same time showed the actual peril that the enterprise is in, in it's first voyage. 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Tara - I'm pretty sure Denise Crosby later said the ironic thing was that if she'd gotten more scenes in earlier episodes like the one where she and Worf discuss the tournament, she'd never have left.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Execution was shaky, but it's one of the better "Prime Directive" episodes in concept. They actually come up with a great way to solve the situation without technically breaking the rules. Usually they just make a big moralizing speech about why the rules aren't as important as The Right Thing and then flout the rules completely, or something else comes up to save them, or they use a trick to fool the less-advanced aliens.

But "We can't intervene to stop you - but we won't intervene to help you either" was a good way to handle it.

TB's first 2 paragraphs summed it up very well.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Yeah, I think the weapon starts off lame because it's how they make sure they don't sell "too good" of a weapon to a buyer based on their tech level (presumably the test was originally supposed to be non lethal). A lower tech race will succumb pretty quickly, a higher tech race will make the weapon get really good - either way, everyone is getting a new weapon system "just better enough" than their own abilities.

{ And I have to say that the Enterprise without its saucer looks pretty ugly. }

I think that may, as much as time/pacing, been one reason why they only ever separated the ship 2 more times after this one.
Set Bookmark
skittles
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I think this episode was terrible for any number of reasons, not the least of which is that the crew would have been interested in any of this in the first place.

1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Hello Everyone!

Upon first-run viewing, I'd been doing my best to not look for spoilers, and to not watch the trailers for the next episodes. So I was rather surprised to see Seven stay on the ship after all was said-and-done, when usually they'd just have a Captain's Log saying how they sent someone back to their home planet (or something) when the show ended. But I'd also seen Kes as a guest star, instead of in the regular spot she'd been in. I was a bit surprised. But at least it hadn't been spoiled for me. Mild Spoilers Ahead...

After I'd recently done some minor research into why Kes left, I'd found out it was supposed to be Kim who was written out of the show. From what I read, even he thinks his inclusion in the 50 sexiest men issue had something to do with it, because now even those that didn't watch the show knew who he was. I think that is why he had comparatively little to do with the episode. He wasn't supposed to be in it in his normal capacity, and they hadn't written anything for him. Yes, they could have given him more to do, but I figure they had their outline, and just left it as it was, except instead of dying, he lived.

I liked Chakotay going his own way when the Captain was disabled. It showed a spark from him that had been lacking, imho. Janeway said she would have probably gone backwards as the Borg wanted them to, but I agree with Chakotay that it was a step in the wrong direction. Heck, just slow down a bit and have the cube catch up with them.

I also wondered how Seven talked to them when the air was out of the cargo bay. Perhaps their personal force fields help with that. I also figured the Borg helped them out with the torpedoes hitting the 8472 ships. But when it took a few moments for them to die, as it were, I was surprised the high-yield torpedo simply blew the following ships up right away. It should have taken a few moments with them starting to shudder and shake before blowing up.

Some compared the visual of Species 8472 with the Shadows of Babylon 5. I didn't see the resemblance (although the sound they made reminded me of the scream of Shadow vessels). What I did see were planet killers that reminded me immediately of the Vorlon's, and the living ships as well. When they fired at that planet in the previous episode, as the beams came together I didn't think Star Wars, the type and style had me thinking B5.

Just some musings...

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

{ You let me know when women are competing equally with men in chess }

As someone who plays a large number of board games competitively, I can say with a large amount of certain that that doesn't have a damn thing to do with intelligence. It has to do with a particular type of thinking, but it has more than anything to do with attitudes towards competition.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

You have the name of that movie wrong. It's supposed to be Where Nomad Has Gone Before.
Set Bookmark
skittles
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

I have to preface this by saying that I think enterprise is the best of the star trek series. Mostly due to the acting and the more realistic dialogue.

As for this episode, I thought it was about average for the series. But it was most certainly a precursor of the prime directive. Many of enterprise's episodes were about it, but not explicitly, and I think this would go down in Archer's logs as one of the reasons to have the prime directive. Or at least the way they handled it in the show.

I don't think Picard would have had a problem trying to get rid of the alien on the planet, but not by blatantly telling someone there that they are aliens, but that is only another example of us humans learning to interact with other species. Archer is the first and is basically making it up as he goes along remember.

I give it 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Jammer, I think you're being too hard in the writers. If they had left breadcrumbs to point to the subterfuge of Kassidy and Eddington, it would have defeated the surprise element. It's not far fetched, as was Lee and the black market on BSG since all the pieces were already in the DS nine Lore.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

I think "Friday's Child" is all about action for the purpose of action but one good thing about it is the good moments with the Big 3 on the planet as well as having the rest of the important Enterprise crew (minus Chapel) all involved in the plot on the ship -- Chekov, Sulu, Uhura, and Scotty all had parts to play/enough lines to say.

McCoy and Eleen's interaction was pretty good. Kirk/Spock had some good lines re. the baby -- that was all the kind of stuff that makes 60s Trek so enjoyable for me.

As for the plot, @Skeptical raises a lot of valid questions/speculations. So many twists and turns in this one -- I was surprised Eleen said the baby/Big 3 are all dead at her hands (presumably to protect them from the warriors/Klingon). Then I assume Maab sacrifices himself so another one of his men can kill the Klingon (I don't get that at all). As for Kirk and the revenge comment, no idea where that came from.

The Klingon (did he even have a name?) was treacherous as could be -- but that was well portrayed. The viewer surely would like to see him killed and I think this is entirely consistent with how a Klingon would act under the circumstances. They are supposed to be evil and masquerade under a facade of honour. Just not sure why he didn't have any cavalry of his own.

I'd rate "Friday's Child" 2.5 stars. A fun, unpredictable episode that made good use of the outdoor environment, some interesting characters but some flaws in continuity and plot cohesion. Nothing too profound here.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I'd give this 3 stars. It's not the best Borg episode. It's not the best season five episode. I think 4 stars is waaay too high

I'm torn on the writers having brought the borg back into the mix here It'd had been 2 years with no Borg. Bobw pretty much got everything you could ask for from the Borg in those two hours. Bobw left the audience with idea that that cube was the entire hive--end of Borg. Tng was doing well and really didn't need them to boost the show. And in hindsight bringing the Borg back really only gave us two to three good shows--scorpion Descent part I, Dark frontier. First contact gave us an emotional seductive Queen whose destruction destroyed all those a Borg which didn't work for me. Descent II didn't do anything with those Borg worthwhile ultimately. Unimatrix Zero would have been more interesting if we actually saw that story actually lead to the downfall of the Borg and been a larger storylinr for Voyagers final season. And Endgame was a disaster with the emotional queen arguing with the collective and destroyed by a neurolytic pathogen by a future janeway came bavk with. Very anticlimactic

Maybe leaving them be would have been better after BOBW. But I won't lie when I saw that the Borg would be returning in the 1992 weekly trailer I was giddy. I was curious what kind of story they would tell. I Borg wasn't wholly satisfying. For me the Borg shouldn't be just a one regular episode kind of thing.

I also think the change of heart about using the virus was hard to fathom. I could understand if they were dealing with hypotheticals but this very crew barely lived through an attack by the Borg. They don't have to imagine such a situation and the events in BOBW actually happened not some alternate universe or reality they experienced. They remember how they nearly were destroyed and Earth assimilated. The Borg aren't too be taken lightly so them not going through with virus struck me as too idealistic. And they chose to abandon the virus before the idea popped into their head about letting hugh's individuality affect them

The rest of the episode was kind of routine as it chronicled the study of Hugh and Geordie befriending high

Actually the best part was what will the Borg be like next time the crew encountered them
Set Bookmark
Bob
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I love you idiots talking about Trump building sanctuaries when it's the ProgLeft creating sanctuary cities to protect illegal aliens without any qualifying factors, so including felons and violent gang members, because the politcians never have to suffer the consequences of their idiot policies like the rest of us do.

Meanwhile all Trump says is a government should tend to its own citizens first, and that gets him labeled literally Hitler. The Progressives are uttetly disassiciated from reality. Trump was the only candidate saying we need to stop waging war everywhere while the Left along with the rest of the GOP seem hellbent on starting WW3 with Russia and forcing our system on a world that doesn't want it.

Historians will one day spit the narme Progressive, amd your decendents will curse you for your pig ignorant idiocy,
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,624
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.