Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,365 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,295
Set Bookmark
MsV
Fri, May 27, 2016, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

@Luke...and later playing extra-ordinarily hard-to-get with Bashir. At one point Bashir even says "she enjoys it; she actually gets some kind of perverse pleasure out of it."
I have to disagree with you on this one, (from a female point of view). If I were Dax I would not be interested in Julian either, he couldn't control his hormones, he acted as if she was no different than any other woman he met. I cannot remember which episode it was but she came down on him for his behavior. We all would like to think we are at least, a little special. He was just a white livered whore.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, May 27, 2016, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I agree, great comment Greg. And I agree with Peter G. as well. It is worth noting that Picard is less concerned with loyalty than Sisko is, which is not to say that he considers it unimportant, but he generally believes that ethical concerns are more universal than interpersonal commitments. That question is also something of a theme in "The First Duty," from which this episode spins off -- the conflict there was also between loyalty and more abstract commitments (which also doubled as being between loyalty to the living and loyalty to the dead). Picard is sometimes described as aloof, and there is some truth to this, though I do not think it is a weakness in the writing and performance at all, but a measure of the personal cost that comes with Picard's level of commitment to his principles and duty. In this case, Sito being a Starfleet officer means that the threshold for what constitutes fair treatment is different than it would be for a civilian, or someone else not under his command. Conversely, Picard is also clear that this is a volunteer mission...though how much of that is a rationalization and how much is what he really believes is a little difficult to say. There is an element of guilt in Picard's final description of Sito's death as well, I think, which Stewart marvellously conveys. I like that the shift in perspective allows us to subtly look at a darker version of Picard -- of the kind in, for example, "Yesterday's Enterprise," allowing Yar to go off. I also think that the manipulation-but-while-allowing-choice is a kind of practiced diplomacy, where Picard has spent years honing the talent of convincing people to do things that they do not want to do for a greater good, which is difficult to do without some manipulation.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, May 27, 2016, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Great review, Greg. Trek fans should keep this episode in mind when suggesting that Picard is pure as snow while Sisko dirties his hands in an un-Federation way. Sisko would never manipulate his screw in agreeing to something rather than just being honest with them. This is no slight against Picard, but rather, as you say, a noteworthy look at the fact that things need to get done and in the military you use whatever methods you have available to get them done. It isn't pretty and at the end of the day not exactly Federation, which is why I think there's a firm distinction between Starfleet and the Federation.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, May 27, 2016, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

@Pam

"So I'm wondering if there's any significance to the similarity between Khan's name (Khan Noonien Singh) and the name of Data's creator (Dr. Noonien Soong)"

A connection between the two men is canonically retconned by the character of Arik Soong on "Enterprise." He knew who Khan was and his world kinda sorta intersected with Khan's. Perhaps noting the similarity between "Singh" and "Soong" and as a tribute, he decided to name one of his children Noonien Soong and the name was passed down the family line. We don't know that Data's creator was the *first* Noonien Soong; he could have been Noonien Soong IV. (Nit: When did Arik Soong father children if he'd been sent up the river for life? Maybe he had the kids before he went to prison.)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, May 27, 2016, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

zzybaloobah's comment above is the perfect response to so many of the criticisms of how wrong DS9 is regarding the Federation. I find it strange how many Trek fans insist on playing the purity card when their sense of Trek history is lacking detail. Another poster above astutely mentioned the close parallels between the Dukat/Sisko final scene and the final scenes in Where No Man Has Gone Before. Maybe the fire and special words made people upset, but the basic element of the telekinetic powers and strange aura was present in at least a half-dozen TOS episodes. There were countless benign or nefarious "advanced" incorporeal beings in TOS, and yet when they become a major plot focus here it's "technomagicbabble."

I really think these kinds of complaints are sort of petty, because honestly - and this is a complaint I make as an artist rather than as a Trek fan - if you are so sure about what would make a better story then you should become a writer and do better. If you can't, then you should relish the writers who can. I can see an objection to how a story is told in terms of technique and the quality of direction, acting and writing; these are sound areas of concern where a good idea can fall flat. I found the Ezri/Bashir scenes in The Dogs of War fell completely flat (actually worse), but that is a technical complaint rather than an objection to them having a romance in the first place. I can understand an objection about how the story of the Emissary was resolved, for example, but to complain that the basic concept of the prophets and supernatural stuff is stupid; well, that's like watching the X-Files and saying that the mystery stuff was good but the stuff with aliens was stupid. That's part of the basis of the show! It's the concept. The question is what they do with it. Is anything relevant to our lives told through the story? In the case of DS9 the answer comes back with a resounding "yes" in every department.

I love this finale but don't really have any particular critique or praise for its particulars. It was the fitting conclusion to a story that was all about characters becoming enmeshed in a war they didn't want. The lack of Terry Farrell is a reasonable complaint and is indeed a blight on the flashbacks, and I think it's fairly plain that too much battle footage was re-used, even though it was artfully done in the editing. But I've watched this series a lot of times, and I honestly think that most of the other criticisms being levied at logical issues are resolved by thinking about the facts of the series more. Things that people in a pinch think don't make sense - they really do, but it's not immediately obvious why. DS9 never played to the cheap seats; a lot of its inner thinking is left for the audience to wonder at or learn from re-watching. In this it is pretty much the antithesis to Voyager, which relentlessly hammers you in every episode with exactly what the moral of the story is and exactly what the writers are trying to say (usually Janeway or Chakotay voice the moral explicitly, almost staring into the camera as they do so). But in DS9 we are not privy to what the characters are thinking a lot of the time, and sometimes they do things they don't bother explaining, which doesn't mean they don't have a reason. It just means it's not our business to have it spoon-fed to us. The final link between Odo and the Founder is a great example of this, where frustrated viewers wonder what Odo could really have "told" her (even the question phrased that way belies misunderstanding of what he did). And the lack of having this explained suggests to these views that it was just deus ex machina and that the proceeding surrender was illogical. Such protests really need to be reconsidered, since if the viewer gives any credence to the writers at all they should assume there is a sense to be found and that if it isn't this means the viewer has missed something. The assumption that an immediate lack of understanding means the show screwed up is a bad habit bred by lazy writing in other shows, I think. Then again writers do make mistakes, but it takes some work to determine whether a particular question can be ascribed to an outright mistake versus a mystery to be solved. DS9 is all about the fact that people (alien or Human) are giant mysteries that never fully get solved. The same goes for how to protect paradise; there is no magic answer.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Fri, May 27, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

A Vulcan teaching at the Academy with a Kobayashi Maru situation? Reminds me a lot of ST2009!

I like the contrast of the Maquis not wanting to retreat versus normal Starfleet tactics, but now that I think about it, that doesn't make a lot of sense. As a force with inferior firepower and defenses, the Maquis must have made combat careers out of retreat! Just like any other guerilla fighters.

Regarding Janeway's holonovel, Jammer said, "It has no relevance to anything on the show." Is it really that hard to make the connexion? Janeway is playing the character of a governess, needing to become a mother suddenly to children who weren't expecting her. It's a metaphor for Voyager! Janeway as a character so far has excellently been portrayed by Mulgrew and the writers as a very intelligent, strong, decisive, modern woman, but still a *woman*, now forced into fulfilling the role of surrogate mother to all the people on the ship. Her warm empathy for the suffering of her crew is distinctly motherly and almost tender.

Speaking of which, in case anyone was wondering what the little boy said in Latin in the holonovel, he said, "in ullam rem ne properemus," which sounds like the bastardized schoolboy Latin of Englishmen of the 19th century. Literally the intended translation seems to be, "Let's not rush into anything," as a response to Janeway hoping she would become the children's friend. Pretty funny! Unfortunately Latin wouldn't phrase it that way (simply "ne properemus" would have been fine).
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, May 27, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@Yanks - S5 VOY/S6 were actually pretty good eh? We had a lot of standouts, it started to have some continuity again and everybody seemed to be having a good time. I critique VOY (as a whole product) a lot, and it didn't do what I wanted out of it, but it did have a creative uptick around here.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Fri, May 27, 2016, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

@Skywalker: I disagree it was an unprovoked invasion of a state that had just barely gotten over a revolution that overthrew an oppressive Regime. I'm glad Sisko warned them rather than let the Cardassian union be annexed by the Klingons and alienate themselves from the Federation. That's exactly what the Dominion wanted.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

azcats, "...and i cant believe it only has 20 comments after this post."

HAHAHA!!

Fun episode. Normally time travel is nostalgic for us, not the travelers. The episode revolves around them figuring things out in something that's familiar to us, this one is a nice twist, the nostalgic effect is in the Voyager universe.

Quite fun, 7 is fantastic.

So, has Janeway always known Seven?

Chuckle...

3.5 stars for me. ... and we get 7 in a Star Fleet uniform.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Nice to see this episode receive some positive reviews.

I enjoyed it. Fun? No.... but interesting.

I think the best part of this episode is that it reveals a problem that most everyone has which makes out heroes more human. We all at one time or another hold someone (or an event) up and it or they motivate us. Many times in the future the truth comes out and we are disappointed.

"Her life captured your imagination. Historical details are irrelevant.
TUVOK: I concur with that analysis.
CHAKOTAY: If it weren't for Shannon O'Donnel, you never would have joined Starfleet."

It doesn't matter what motivates you as long as you are motivated.

Solid hour of no explosions/aliens/shields at 47%. I enjoyed meeting Shannon.

3.5 stars (and we get that great picture of the entire cast)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

John,

Manners. They do exist and women do appreciate them.

Try them someday, you may be surprised.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

'Bout time we got back to Roxann. She's awesome.

I like this one. Don't love it, but any episode featuring B'Elanna (almost) is a winner for me.

Some side-splitting humor (even if it's only because of the source) :-)

"Whatever you say, Miss Turtlehead."
"As a rule we don't, but serving with Captain Janeway has taught me otherwise."

Tuvok's humor seems to be pretty prevalent recently.

Thank the gods for smoldering jackets. :-)

3 stars, primarily because we get a whole episode of Roxann.

Oh, we finally see a sonic shower actually work! :-)


Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, May 27, 2016, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

What more can be said of this episode? Geordi has women issues, Picard shows off his interest in artifacts, and the computer develops some weird holoimages. Actually's let's talk about the third one.

Isn't the computer being kind of creepy to Geordi? It suggests the holodeck program and, after minor instruction form Geordi, the program becomes way too friendly with Geordi, producing the famous "Touching the engine, you're touching me" line. What's more, the Brahms character decides to give Geordi a massage, weirding Geordi out. So I think the computer understood Geordi's frustration and helplessness. Since it couldn't give LaForge a solution, it decided to placate his male ego instead. And Geordi almost gets caught up in it...

So, William B I think got this episode's message right. Technology can be alluring and helpful, but it's no replacement for human ingenuity and control.

It is strange that Geordi's romantic issues never got resolved in this episode, as they took up a good deal of the show. There could be a message in this episode about dating, but it's not clear the writers ever found it. At least this sets up "Galaxy's Child", which is a great episode in its own right. A high 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

HAHA Bryan.... no soup for you!!

Another favorite of mine, but it doesn't fault itself into the 4 star range.

I think Alexander was perfect for this role.

I too had a TOS vibe during this one.

3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

This has always been my least favorite Voyager episode.

I just don't like to watch the damn thing, regardless of it's valid meaning.

It's awakens my "crazy gene" :-)

Always a skipper.

.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Wow Jammer, I believe we are further apart here than ever.

This is a top tier Voyager episode for me.

As we all know, one can dissect any episode and find flaws. There are no perfect star trek episodes people.

Everyone says Janeway should have turned around once she knew.... based on what? These things weren't even sentient until Voyager set down in their goo. This goo was made into Janeway so the initial reaction is more than plausible. She did change her tune, found a Y-Class planet, blah - blah.

The "logical" details are not what this episode is about. This is the ultimate character piece.

Those that like it, I think, do so because they are endeared to these characters. I still to this day get emotional watching our heroes "melt". Neelix's reaction to Janeway's "death" gets me every time. For those that complain that Trek isn't "dark" or "real" enough, this certainly should quench your pallet.

Then no record at all of their existence? So sad. I would have loved to see the real Voyager somehow figure out what happened. It would have been neat for them to recover the capsule, it for a short period.

This is one of those episodes you don't forget because it was so damn heart-wrenching.

I know Jammer would have had the same reaction to a DS9 episode similar to this where all his heroes die a meaningless death.

4 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 27, 2016, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

** Yanks tips cap to Jammer **

That's some funny stuff there boss. :-)

Teal'c did better with her than Harry did :-)

This made me think of the beginning of BAB5 when Captain Sinclair says something to the effect ... "stick to the list" :-)

I don't know that Star Fleet never had a "list", but I don't think we ever really discussed it in trek. I always just figured that knowledge was "briefed".

I'm not quite as hard, I'll go 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
MsV
Fri, May 27, 2016, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

Well, I like the idea that they were able to land and get almost everyone off the planet, it made sense, since the occupation was over and no one thought they would find those prisoners on Cardassia IV. They weren't expecting a jailbreak. My question was, how did Kira even think she could have gotten Li off the planet all by herself.
Set Bookmark
MsV
Thu, May 26, 2016, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

@RandomThoughs I agree with you totally, I did state this above. Bereil knew how to play the game, but the game went out the window when he believed someone would surely get hurt by Winn. I also agree that I love to hate Winn. But. there are some characters that I never cared for and some I totally disliked. Kira became a favorite of mine when she started to make sense. When she stopped fighting Sisko and the Federation and realized they were actually on the same side. I never liked Quark and after he nearly got Jadzia killed He couldn't even be redeemed. Although Odo was not always likeable, he was always one of my favorites. I remember when this show originally aired, it was must see TV, I was very young and had just became an RN. I thought, one day I would grow up and forget about DS9 and Star Trek, but No. I love it today as much as I did years ago.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Thu, May 26, 2016, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Times like this make me wonder why the Federation didn't establish a much more substantial presence at DS9 much earlier. If I were in charge of the Federation Department of Defense, I would have built two more Starfleet stations next to DS9 so that the wormhole really could be defended, blocked, protected. Another 20 ships in the Bajoran system would have been nice too.

I'm pretty horrified by Sisko actively wanting the Cardassians to be ready to fight back against the Klingon invasion. I think O'Brien presented the two options as (in my sartastic view) 1) do nothing and let the Klingons take out a dangerous adversary and risk them attacking the Federation, or 2) completely freaking betray the Klingons and ensure that thousands of Klingons die. "I want a third option," says Sisko. Which means he just wanted option #2: to hell with the Klingons and a swift and decisive victory; let's help the Cardies kill as many batleth lovers as possible. I love the manner in which he executed option #2 with Garak, but it's still insane and clearly immoral.

This seems like a good time to complain about dead crew members not getting recognized in funeral services, even by passing mention. People freaking die all the time in Star Trek! Starfleet officers. The sacrificed their lives for *science* and *peace* and the defense of the UFP.

No flags, no burials, no captains writing letters to parents about their children's bravery. I find the absence of at least passing references to these truly huge losses really distasteful.

I freaking love Gowron! What a great character. My favorite was this line:
"AND THIS WE DO NOT FORGIVE
... or forget."
I played that back about three times and laughed aloud each time! So great.

I really love this episode. It's the final metamorphosis for Sisko into *The Sisko,* now with a freshly shiny head; the Dominion is in the center of the series, and now we have Worf too. And it's awesome.

And it works so very well because DS9 used to be a fairly calm place with occasional tensions. Soon it'll be so wrought with conflict, even reconquered by the Cardassians and the Dominion, that it will hardly resemble the more peaceful station of s1-3. Thus we see what the Federation is fighting for later on in the height of the Dominion War. Battlestar Galactica started out with the gritty war in the first episode, but made good use of flashbacks to help the audience appreciate that those characters weren't always so gritty and hopeless, and that their struggle was to return to their formal, peaceful lives. In DS9 we don't need flashbacks, because we have seen it. Thus the payoff of these "star wars" is enormous.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Thu, May 26, 2016, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

@Luke, I agree with the oddness about the real Ambassador Krajensky never having come to DS9, and that the mission was invented by the Changeling. I think this is the writers' attempt to make us feel isolated way out on the frontier. But as a military officer, I don't find this realistic. I can assure you, Luke, that confirmation of orders *is* still a thing in the 21st century.

Generally I owe that to the writers knowledge of military affairs having probably come almost entirely from 1) watching earlier episodes of Star Trek and 2) from watching Hollywood depictions of the military. The shame is that there are so many plentiful, relatable stories of the mundane and action varieties within military life that, along with sensible military logic, never reach the doors of the writers room.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Thu, May 26, 2016, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

What a lively the discussion the past couple months! I wasn't expecting this when I came to read the comments for this episode.

I tend to side with the interpretation of Skeptical and Andy's Friend regarding Dax, while agreeing completely with Luke and William B at the same time: she is manipulative, but those traits are in line with her capricious, chameleon-like character. So I like that dichotomy. While I defend Dax's actions in this episode and others (like how she was trying to cock-block Bashir for fun in "Explorers" -- haven't you had a female friend who did that? Dax is mischievous; it fits her), I never was such a huge fan of her. She's too impulsive, and I rarely felt drawn to her like some of the male characters in the show were (I'm more of a Kira [or even Leeta] kind of guy).

@Andy's Friend, that said, I caution against a world-view that promotes multiculturalism. I believe multiculturalism, while well-intentioned, has generated many great evils in the modern world (notably the permissive attitude of the Belgian police to the enclaves of Muslim immigrants there, allowing lawlessness or even Sharia Law itself to reign). Socialism is another similar institution that, while well-intentioned, has been responsible for the lion's share of 20th century atrocities (outweighing even those of Fascism).

As this applies to Star Trek, the characters in all the series sometimes struggle with moral issues of right versus wrong. The writers are expressing their own struggle with such tough issues, knowing there is a difference between right and wrong, just like Starfleet officers have clear morality. They force themselves and their characters to confront and balance their assumptions with their gut.

Chrome made an interesting connexion with the root beer, and the obvious American-centric nature of DS9 and Star Trek in general. And you're all absolutely right there. There are complaints above that the writers don't depict truly "alien" societies. Well, how can they? They have chosen human actors to portray virtually all the sentient races encountered. Moreover, Star Trek has always been about taking familiar topics for its viewers and giving them a mouthpiece in various situations in the galaxy. That's where the "ethnocentrism" comes in — think of the audience. The majority are U.S. Americans (heh). And the actors are mostly Americans (I always find it entertaining when an alien like Dukat sounds more American than a human like O'Brien).

So the "ethnocentrism" is twofold: 1) it is the limit of the human actors who are American (along with the American writers); 2) it is by design, since we human audience members are meant to connect and relate to these characters. That's what makes it good TV.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Thu, May 26, 2016, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I'm not complaining about the fact that this is the first episode. It honestly felt a bit like an introductory episode, what with the introductory captain's log that mentioned Spock, and McCoy's names, Uhura's chat with Spock on the bridge, Sulu and Rand conversing in the botany lab, it's all meant to slowly get to know these people. I see no difference in those scenes than I see in Farpoint, Emissary, or Caretaker. So putting this episode first made sense to me. Maybe they knew they didn't have enough of a plot to fill a full episode, and thus added these scenes to fill it out and introduce us to everyone. Makes sense to me.

Meanwhile, the conference scene was probably the best part of the episode. With the creature in the guise of McCoy, it tries desperately to plead for its own life while his one supporter also tries to support it without giving away that McCoy was not actually McCoy. The episode did a good job of making us feel sympathy for the creature as well, even though we know the danger it presents. Even with Kirk telling Carter that his crusade may not be entirely unselfish, we still have sympathy for it. But unfortunately, if there is no way to stop it peacefully, the crew has to protect itself. The tension in that room was palpable, and was an enjoyable scene.

Unfortunately, while the show tried to give the creature sympathy, they didn't do a good job of making sure that it must die. Kirk said so, and so it must be. Clearly, there's enough salt to satisfy the creatures hunger, but unfortunately it tries to kill instead. Yes, the tablets Kirk held was far less than what he held in his body, but surely she could see that attacking Kirk in full view of McCoy would not go well for her. And after Spock started attacking it, it never pleads for its life. Why not? It was trying to plead for its life in the meeting, why not when it was trapped and cornered? Because, well, they needed to have McCoy shoot it to complete the story, but didn't have a good reason for why it had to stop it. Bad plotting on their part.

So, in general, not that great a start to the series, but I suppose it could have been worse.

As an aside, what's with the Captain's Log? It seemed rather... dramatic, don't you think? Not very professional sounding. I think Kirk took a creative writing correspondence course the week before this episode occurred...
Set Bookmark
Greg
Thu, May 26, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I have to agree with Jammer on this one. It is a 4 star episode. But my take on this is that it's the most anti-military episode of Star Trek. It aptly illustrates to what extent the military uses psychological manipulation of its personnel to achieve its ends.
First of all we are shown 3 ensigns that are up for promotion. Sito, Lavelle, and Ogawa. Sito and Lavelle find out that they are competing for the same promotion.
Now it just so happens, un be known to the audience or the ensigns, that someone needs to volunteer for a secret and very dangerous mission. And it is further stipulated that the mission has no chance to work unless the volunteer is Bajorin. And Sito is the only Bajorin in sight.
So what happens? Picard calls Sito in his ready room and rips her a new ass by telling her that because of an earlier incident at Starfleet Academy that she participated in that resulted in the death of a cadet that he considers her unfit to serve on the Enterprise. Since she was expecting a possible promotion this blow was doubly hard on her and she leaves his presence feeling about one inch tall.
Later Worf invites her to participate in a rather unfair martial arts test. When she finally realizes the test is unfair and says so to Worf he tells her she passed the test and suggests indirectly that she has been judged unfairly by Picard.
Sito, encouraged by Worf, confronts Picard and tells him that she thinks he has judged her too harshly and asks for a transfer. Picard then tells her that his initial ass ripping was just a test to see if she would stand up for herself and that he himself asked for her personally to be posted to the Enterprise. Sito is no doubt overjoyed to hear this and leaves Picard's ready room feeling ten feet tall and bullet proof.
Shortly there after Sito is ordered to the ready room to discover that there is a mission that she is requested to volunteer for that has a high probability of her not returning. Does she volunteer for the mission? Hell yes! She knows she is up for promotion. And she just got torn down and then told it was all a test ,so her ego is all built up again better than new. Hell she would probably volunteer to eat anti-matter rather than disappoint the Captain. And the Captain knows this and uses it to his advantage.
Finally when we are on the bridge and are waiting for her overdue escape pod the jr. Officers wonder what the hell is going on. So once again we are shown military tactics in the handling of their own personnel.
For the jr. Officers, they are treated like mushrooms. Feed bullshit and kept in the dark.
For Sito. First she is torn down. Then she has "smoke blown up her ass" to build her back up again and then she is invited to die.
And finally we are shown the 3 ways to be promoted. Ogawa is promoted because she is liked by her superior. Sito would have been promoted because she volunteered for a dangerous mission. And Levelle is promoted by default. Because Sito didn't come back.
All in all I took this as a rather scathing look at military life. And it's spot on.
Set Bookmark
Void
Thu, May 26, 2016, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

On the Ferengi:

No, the Ferengi are not a racist clicheé, they are a carricature of rampant capitalism, as Caroline said above. If you think that that also fits the Jews, or clearly only them, maybe YOU are the racist.

Second, Quark was not racist against the Skreeans. He didn't say "No, I won't serve them because they are different", he said "They have no money, I don't like them". How is that racist? I bet you anything, if they were the most obnoxious hateful people in the Universe, if they had money, Quark would love them. I think people need to get their definition of racism right. Bajorans are racists against Cardassians, for example. Quark hates poor people - because it's all about the profit. That is not racist, is it? It may not be very nice though.

Lastly, a point about something raised very early in the comments, the notion that the Palestinians "occupy" Israel, and that it is the rightfull land of the Jews - well, then Danzig still belongs to Germany, Romania to Austria, Poland, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, the Baltic Countries to Russia, America to England, Spain and France, or the Indians for that Matter, Tibet to China, and so on and so forth. There is a point where you have lost your claim on a strip of Land and have to accept that it is no longer yours. If you say it ain't so, I dare you to fight for the return of all lands of the Holy Roman Empire to Germany, because if your premise is true, that is all still theirs, and the Germans are an oppressed people, conquered by evil Imperialists from East and West, who suffered untold tragedy in exterminations and mass expulsions.

I think this episode is meant to deal with the question how we deal with refugees. From my point of view, the Bajorans were right. Trust has to be earned. Would you give a Stranger a part of your house, knowing that he may never leave again? I guess not. So if the Skrreeans had a little more sense, they could have formed an alliance with Bajor: They settle on that other M class planet, and give Bajor food in exchange for industrial help. Both sides profit, and trust can be built, and then, someday, both people may combine. Even though there is no need, since apparently, land is plenty, and the only thing that drives refugees is that there is not enough land (or resources) for everyone. Wars are also mostly driven by this. And Religion of course, but thats a can of worms best left unopened.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,295
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.