Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,928 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,438
Set Bookmark
MM
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 7:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Worst episode of all time. Terrible handling of sexual assault.
Set Bookmark
MM
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I'm watching Voyager again as an adult female scientist, which is what Janeway was before she became a captain. From that perspective:

- research is just what scientists do. I would keep trying to find a cure too. Plus it seems to get C to clean house and make dinner. Double win.

- the thunderstorm scene under the table was C keeping J from leaping out after her sample. I've got a burn scar on my arm from going headfirst into a freezer after a sample.

- the monkey was useful to show her adjusting to her new situation. First she treated it like a research subject, by the end more like a pet

Also- the backrub. Did y'all catch that he starts by playing with her hair, putting his hands over hers, almost kisses her head and then starts in with the talk about his mother? I totally took that as a "think about baseball, backrubs don't have to be sexy " moment for him, which he fails at since he does kiss the top of her head as soon as he stops babbling about his mother. She pulls away, stands up and goes to bed right after.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"Chakotay sure goes down like a sack of potatoes down a flight of stairs if you so much as brush up against him."

I think Chakotay was caught off guard, but went with it, and put on a show for Janeway - "see what I have to deal with Captain??"

"Never did like Chekotay. I think he purposely escalated a tense situation."

He did. There's animosity towards Paris, he's little respect for him.


Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I would give this episode 2 1/2 stars. Good material, but poor execution, and I agree with the earlier comment that "Measure of a Man" leaves "Drumhead" in the dust because the former presented a balance of intelligent worldviews in the courtroom debate. While "Drumhead" paces the tension nicely and does a nice job setting up a confrontation between the captain and admiral, the one-dimensional zaniness and climactic ranting of the admiral undo any sense of dramatic interest at the end. Compared even to "Court Martial," the TOS episode where Kirk's trial is overseen by worthy adversaries as opposed to ranting fools, this TNG outing is a real loser. While the issues of security and personal freedom are certainly pertinent, the one-handed presentation fails to give the admiral's position any rational traction that might push back against Picard and provide the viewer with more dramatic traction. As often happens in TNG, the solutions here are a little too obvious and the moral superiority of the captain is a bit too self-righteous. There is good stuff here, but the script and performances fail to give us the "debate of equals" the admiral's reputation had promised, and the easy way out that the screenwriters take is just that: a cop-out.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I haven't seen "Arrival" and don't know when or if I will get a chance. My wife and I did take our little ones to see "Moana," though, and liked it a lot.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The original rating for this I believe was one star, at the time right after the original airing, and then changed to zero at the end of the season. So it wasn't like a huge change.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Just out of curiosity, what was the original rating for this episode and how much time passed until the review was rewritten?
Set Bookmark
Niall
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Anything else non-Trek is basically off the table, save the stray movie review" - would that potentially include Arrival, Jammer?
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The first 3 official actors
www.spoilertv.com/2016/11/star-trek-discovery-doug-jones-and.html
Set Bookmark
Shakaree
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Am I the only one who feels B'elanna should've been thrown in the brig or punished for tampering with the doctor? I thought that would result in some kind of reprimand, but I guess she was given the psycho hormonal mommy pass.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@ JustJim:

I think Guinan sort of doubles as ship's councelor too.
And a bartender on a warship makes about as much sense as a Bolean barber I guess :D
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

What is this - the third time Troi has been possessed on this show? Why is it that whenever this happens, her voice suddenly goes deep? Why wouldn't she speak with her normal voice?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

After re watching the episode, I don't think Kovin is dead I thhink e beamed back to the planetto grab the rest of those nano probes that the doctor for some reason left behind.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@ David Pirtle,

Yes, the Eugenics Wars 'took place' in the 1990's, so around 380 years prior to the episode. Did they really say 200 years in the episode? I never noticed that, but if they did it would be a mistake, yeah.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Also, not to be too pedantic, but wasn't the Eugenics Wars period 400 years ago, not 200 years ago? If the latter were true, Khan would have been banging around AFTER the events of Enterprise, right? A bit awkward, that.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

When a character's past is retconned in such a major way as this, it's almost always for the worse, but this is one of those rare exceptions that proves the rule, because it actually fits so well with what's already been established about Bashir (his athletic prowess, his undeniable intellectual abilities, his occasional arrogance about said abilities, etc...). It's a shame that everything about the development, from how it was revealed to how it was tidied up, was so poorly written. This could have been one of DS9's best stories if handled with more subtlety and patience.

On the other hand, I largely enjoyed the Zimmerman/Leeta/Rom love/lust triangle, and, even if it was 'low brow' for Trek, I can't complain about seeing Chase Masterson bouncing around in a towel.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

"Let's make sure that history never forgets the name ... Enterprise."

While this is an historic line in trek, I still to this day do not believe Patrick delivered it very well.
Set Bookmark
Ardax
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 5:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I am amazed how no one noticed that this Reset Button wasn't a total one. I don't agree that the characters didn't get any development. In my opinion, this is the episode where Chakotay and Janeway call each other on the first name basis for the first time, this is a beginning of a strong friendship, even Kathryn later says that she doesn't trust anyone on Voyager more than Chakotay. THIS episode is the starting point of that enormous trust she has for him.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

Absolutely loved this episode. Previously watched Is there in Truth no Beauty which I thought was zero star misogynist bile. This I thought was beautiful, thoughtful and moving. I love the scenes that show the self-sacrificing nature of the big three and the depth of their relationship.

I'm with Jammer - 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

@Alex
In case someone hasn't said it first:
Mark Lenard was the Romulan commander in Balance of Terror, then
Sarek (Spock's father) in Journey to Babel.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Yep, love the episode.

Kirk: "I didn't start this war, but I'm liable to finish it."

And no, he didn't violate the Prime Directive - for all the reasons elaborated on above. I also find it amusing that TNG is accepted as *the* canon for all things Trek -- as in "Picard said this, Kirk must be wrong." Maybe Picard got it wrong? Or maybe things just changed in the "generation" between TOS and TNG.

Great satire on making war too sterile and antiseptic -- probably more timely today than it was then.

Finally, something I like to point out (usually commenting on a DS9 episode) is General Order 24: "Blow up the whole planet." That's some *serious* badassery.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Mon, Nov 28, 2016, 11:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I'm watching all of the ST films, from TMP to Beyond, with a large and very mixed group of people in their 20s and 30s right now. As we wrap up our weekly marathon, I must say: Every single person agreed that Insurrection is the absolute worst Star Trek movie ever made. Yes, it's worse than Star Trek V. Utterly awful. And "Nemesis" actually holds up well; we were rather entertained by it. Not sure how Jammer could give both "Insurrection" and "Nemesis" 2 1/2 stars, as the latter is at least trying to do something.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Nov 28, 2016, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Heya Everyone!

Most of my thoughts were already covered above, but one thing I liked was them reacting in a 3D way in the atmosphere of the gas giant. Something was above, something was below, similar to the Enterprise in Wrath of Khan, in the nebula. For some reason, in space, the writers regard everything as 2D/on the same plane in their writing.

Oh, one more thing, I also figured they'd be crushed by the atmosphere when the containment field crashed. Since I've learned this was supposed to be set in water, perhaps in that case they might have a few seconds to get into the lift and close the door. Seems like they forgot to re-write the script here, getting them into the tube before the field let go. Just my random thought though...

Great day to everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Mon, Nov 28, 2016, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I thought this episode was vile, by far the worst TOS episode. Sure there are some bad, boring, ridiculous episodes and yes TOS always had a nasty whiff of sexism. But the sexism and pure misogyny in this episode is beyond the pail.

The attitude of being "a woman" being of greater value than her career is tough to swallow. All of the characters act incredibly shallow and superficial. The dinner scene is cringe inducing with all the male characters coming across is creepy and drooling all over her, and she is acting incredibly unprofessional and petty towards Spock the entire time.

It feels like it was written by someone with the emotional range of a 12 year old and frankly is pretty offensive. Combine that with some absolutely clunky shlocky direction that looks like it comes out of a piss-poor Horror movie and you have an absolute disaster of an episode. OK Spock;s Brain is an absolute disaster of an episode but it didn't annoy me the way this one did - ZERO stars.
Set Bookmark
Beej
Mon, Nov 28, 2016, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I enjoy this episode, but I find it comical that the Prime Directive allows for an observation post to be placed on the ground of an alien world. C'mon man, with the rate of technology failure in the Star Trek universe, that thing is never going to remain hidden.

And were they still planning to use it even after showing it to the Mintakans? Isn't that kind of creepy? "Hey, we're going to be inside that boulder monitoring you. So uh, just act natural, 'kay?"
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,438
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.