Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 28,825 (Showing 101-125)

Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 1,153
Ben - Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 2:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@ Ian and comp625: You are both wrong. In TNG it is made clear that datas positronic brain is unique and that nobody could recreate it. So, whatever Bashir could have used would have been far less complex than data. In the context of the story it probably meant turning Bareil into a computer.
SJD - Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

This is a great episode if you just like seeing good conversation between two characters. The fact that is between Worf and Dax is a breath of fresh air.....But...

The fact a married couple is sent on a very dangerous mission, when we see in the same episode capable people like O'Brien occupied with card games, is an insult to any viewer that has a brain!

You can say non-star fleet Kira assigned them or Star Fleet is not predominately not a military force. However, my first rebuttal is while Kira was part of a unorganised fighting force she would still have the common sense not to do this. She would not send two people who have a romantic connection when she has the choice of so many others!

Secondly, even in non-military missions it isn't a smart idea to send a married couple as the only two people. It's common sense and I agree with others here if this rule was only just made by Sisko I am not surprised that Star Fleet are falling behind in the dominion war!

I really wish I could give this episode more but it really bugged me. Even when Kira gave the mission I was raising eyebrows, then when it came to the end I was almost flipping the desk. Just so forced, the writers must think the audience is stupid.

2/4 stars.
Skeptical - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 10:34pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Aw geez T'Paul, does every single episode have to have a message? Does it need to conform to your worldview? The episode itself was nice and messy, leaving everyone feeling a bit unsettled and uncomfortable. And in the end, it made the episode that much better and that much more meaningful. If there was any message, it was that life is complicated and messy and sometimes there are no easy answers. That's far better than some trite anvilicious show that tries to twist reality to suit an agenda. And I for one applaud them for not taking the easy way out here.

While it is certainly true that there is no proof that the random alien of the week didn't do it, there is no reason to assume that Voyager didn't finish the investigation. Presumably, they could fully examine the compound. Seven remembered a bed with restraints; surely they could search for that. After all, since the supposed attack was quick, so it almost certainly happened in the same building. Easy enough to investigate and conclude the innocence/guilt once and for all.

For that matter, his initial interrogation gave me the impression that he was innocent. Sure, he's an alien, but generally speaking people tend to get angry and upset when accused while innocent, and defensive when accused while guilty. So my impression is that he was innocent. But, while it may matter to the crew in general and Seven in particular, it doesn't really matter to the story. All we need is enough real doubt to make it clear that the Doctor overstepped his bounds.

And that's really what the story is about: the Doctor. I was surprised and, quite honestly, a bit appalled at his unprofessionalism. It wasn't just that he was encouraging Seven to become angry (watch out Doc, the last time Deanna said that to Data, he nearly killed her and Geordi...). It was that he was being blatantly biased during the investigation. While he almost certainly didn't know what Kovin said about demanding a completely impartial investigation, it probably didn't help. The Doctor's attitude probably helped in making him flee. Not entirely his fault, but still pretty freaking unprofessional. The only thing that can excuse it is that this is the first time he had to deal with it.

So while I was surprised by the Doctor's actions, I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised by the ending, when it was actually brought up. And I am always fond of components of these shows that highlight the AI's inhumanity. The Doctor, once again, shows that he cares more about other people than his own program, offering to eliminate his self-improvement given his screw up. It seems perfectly natural thing for him to do, and I loved this episode for it. In many ways, he is still a child, still lacking in experience. That he would overreact and be overconfident in his first bit as a psychiatrist (losing his objectivity in the process) is a natural plot point, as is the fact that he would overreact at the end. Like I said earlier, this episode didn't take the easy way out, didn't just provide mindless action. We get a hard look at one of our characters, and it wasn't a flattering look either. A perfectly meaty episode.

The fact that it was an ensemble show as well, with Janeway, Tuvok, and Seven playing significant roles as well, helped greatly. As was seeing them recognize that the Delta Quadrant is a dangerous place and trying to upgrade their weaponry. And seeing a race that wasn't pure evil! Based on the description, I came in with low expectations, but ended up thoroughly impressed. Bravo.
Skeptical - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 10:31pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I feel rather chagrined; I didn't even realize that was Tony Todd. I did notice that he was a whole lot better than the two Hirogen from the previous episode, and he was certainly intimidating enough. The Hirogen were rather derivative in the last episode, but I think they're starting to become a bit more rounded. Yeah, one note culture and all that. But they're starting to sell it some more.

Meanwhile, I find it interesting to note how many commentators would throw an innocent man to the wolves in order to save themselves. Is it logical? Perhaps, in a utilitarian sense. But it certainly isn't honorable, nor is it consistent with the ideals that have been consistently shown throughout the many series. Picard wouldn't even let the Calamarain go after Q, after all. If the Hirogen boarded, held Janeway and crew at gunpoint, and grabbed 8472, that would be one thing. But to just fork him over just like that? Kirk would be ashamed...

Although it would have been nice if there was at least some possibility of Voyager fighting back. Having it be so one-sided was a bit of a copout. By now we are well aware of the artificial danger portion in the final act of any Voyager episode. If the crew had a chance to escape, or fight back, then there would be a bit more tension of wondering how this battle would end. Instead, we're simply left wondering what the shields get down to before the deus ex machina occurs.

But whatever, its a minor complaint. Regardless of whether or not it was honorable, Seven's decision was perfectly rational in her view, and I don't blame her for making it. And it brought some well-needed tension to the ship. While the Maquis never should have started a mutiny or anything silly like that, questioning Starfleet philosophy would have been a legitimate use of them. Sadly, other than Seska and the occasional whimpering from Chakotay, they never used that angle much. Seven's existence allows us to bring some of that conflict back into the show. Janeway didn't do a great job of defending herself here, but she is certainly within her rights to punish Seven for her actions. And it is certainly a delight to see some consequences for Seven's actions, even if they start to disappear quickly...

Meanwhile, the tension throughout much of the episode is real, and made for an enjoyable episode overall. In fact, it's been quite a run of good episodes of late.
djgylend - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 2:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

This episode is an all time family favorite. The scene midway through I could watch over and over and over.

La Forge: The Pakleds seem pretty sincere.
Pakled Captain: We want what we want.
Riker: Our computer banks are non-negotiable.
Pakled Captain: We want them.
La Forge: Believe me, they're nothing if not persistent.
Pakled Captain: We want to be nothing if not persistent.
La Forge: Nobody ever said they were great conversationalists.
Diamond Dave - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 2:03pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Wow, something of a rarity in that what we have here is a genuine clunker as DS9 does Brigadoon. It's interesting that having the Defiant means that DS9 can now do forgettable early TNG episodes, as that's what this feel like.

The Dax story feels rushed, doesn't make a lot of sense, and is presented in such a 'soft focus' style as to invite ridicule. We know she isn't staying, so there's no drama to it either.

The B-story provides one big laugh - the Quark/Kira hybrid - but otherwise is eminently forgettable, and not a little sleazy with it. 1.5 stars.
James - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 12:25pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Gonna go with Lt. Yarko on this one. Interesting concept, poor execution. Would've been better to spend more time on the concept of reverse aging instead of creating a mystery that relies on incompetence. By the end of the episode, Alcia explicitly proves that she knows the crew of Voyager age differently... so why didn't she point that out earlier when Tuvok told Janeway about the endangered children?

Much like with Star Trek Generations, this episode has such a huge plot hole it seems like the writers gave less thought and more irrational emotion to it.
Jason R. - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 11:28am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

I am a big fan of Pulowski, but I found her reflexive bigotry toward the clone society distasteful. Although saying this means looking behind the plot (which I try not to do) I actually got the feeling that Pulowski wasn't interesting in finding a solution to the genetic degradation problem (and wouldn't have helped them even if she could have!), because of her prejudice against cloning. In a Star Trek context, I just found that baffling and unworthy of her character.

Also noteworthy in this episode was the flagrant murder of several clones by Riker, which was precipitated by Picard's flippant dismissal of the notion of ANY Enterprise crew donating genetic material. Again, it was not Riker and Pulowski's refusal to voluntarily donate their material that troubled me, but Picard's casual presumption that nobody of the 1,000 crew members would agree to this that bugged me. If he had cited the Prime Directive that would have been one thing - but I just wasn't on the same page with this anti cloning attitude. It just seemed out of place. Riker's notion that something would be lost in the universe if he was cloned (an ironic comment considering what ultimately happened with his character and the Thomas Riker character) came across as superstitious, again out of place in the Star Trek universe and unworthy of a Starfleet officer. For the record, I would have been fine with the donation myself!

The episode ends with yet another baffling point where Picard more or less orders the two societies to merge, even prescribing polygamy as a solution to their problem. As others noted, this was yet another dubious decision that just felt out of place and totally inconsistent with the setting and character.

It's like the writers were just on another frequency from the rest of us with this episode.
Sanders - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 9:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

"This ship was built for combat performance." No it wasn't. Intrepid-class ships are science vessels; that's been stated since episode 1. Top notch writers keeping up with their own continuity right there!

TOS's over-the-top characters and colorful settings are definitely in full force here. If it wasn't for the meaningful plot, I'd have laughed and turned off the TV a long time ago. At least we didn't have to see Kirk in this one.
Max - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 9:12am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

I'm also wondering how she caught up with Voyager? Aside from the distance they would have traveled in 2 years at warp, didn't they also use the subspace slingshot device during that time?
William B - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 8:22am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

For the most part, this episode pays off the promise of "The Way of the Warrior" in that it not only shows the consequences to Worf's split from the Klingon Empire, but also has something to say about how Worf has reacted to that split so far. Kurn, well-played by the always-great Tony Todd, comes onto the station and not only points out that Worf's actions have damaged others as well as himself, but through his own inability to deal with the dishonour that has fallen on the House of Mogh highlights that things for Worf have been comparatively easy. My favourite aspect of the episode is the way it actually makes Worf's shaky but still basically consistent ability to adjust to life as a pariah again a bad thing. That Worf is able to make do with "only" a cushy command position and an ongoing flirtation with Dax is not necessarily a sign of Worf's heroism and integrity, but may in fact be because he has lost some essential Klingon-ness, which means that he cannot feel the weight of his dishonour.

Exactly what Kurn's dishonour means is something of an open question; Kurn agrees with Worf's evaluation of Gowron's decision, and even the Emperor condemned the invasion of Cardassia. Kurn spent most of his life living in secret as *not* a son of Mogh before he came forward to Worf in "Sins of the Father" anyway, and at the time the Empire's official stance that Mogh was a traitor and thus so were his sons did not make Kurn suicidal. Klingon honour is a more and more confusing concept by the episode, but this episode really takes the cake: one can certainly understand why Kurn feels pained that he killed a Klingon officer doing his duty while Kurn and Worf were doing espionage for the Federation and the Bajorans, but it is kind of a particular low for a Klingon ship to put secret cloaked mines outside the Bajoran system, then when they damage one of their own ships due to their incompetence, accept free help from the people they had just been mining. It is easy to see why Worf is mostly able to dismiss the Empire's hardline stance that Worf has lost his honour.

Still, while I would have liked a little discussion of why this time is different from the last time the House of Mogh was on the outs with the Empire, I think I do get why it is for Kurn: when Mogh was falsely labeled a traitor, it was only a matter of time (perhaps even generations, but it would happen) before his name was cleared, and any dishonour that fell on Worf and Kurn in the interim was based on a lie and so was not "real." Whether Kurn agrees with Worf or not, siding against the Chancellor the way Worf did is (apparently) not done, especially when Worf is not going to declare personal war on Gowron and bring the Empire into another civil war, or take him down in hand-to-hand combat. Kurn accepts that Worf is "right," to some extent, that the dishonour that befell the house is not entirely just, but Kurn in his heart believes in the Klingon social system, wherein honour is a tangible thing that can be taken away -- which means, on some level, that if Worf were Klingon enough, he would too. Kurn's inability to live outside Klingon society and his desire to seek a way to restore his honour according to Klingon laws and traditions is well-conveyed, and his ambivalence to Worf -- love, respect, anger, devotion -- and Worf's attempts to find a place for him play well, both for what they say about Kurn and what they say about Worf. Following his conscience led Worf to ruin his brother. If his brother could give up the Klingon values which Worf does not really believe in, and are in some ways alien to viewers of the episode, he would be able to deal, but then he would no longer be Klingon enough.

I do mostly agree with the consensus here that the ending doesn't work. I can't tell if we are supposed to believe that Kurn agreed to the memory wipe or if it was just Worf's decision. To put it bluntly, I don't believe that Kurn would agree to this, unless *maybe* he were ordered by Worf to do so as older-brother and agreed reluctantly. The memory wipe in some senses has the worst of both worlds; Kurn still "dies" in the sense that his memories and identity is now gone, but it is impossible for me to believe that the Klingon spiritual belief would hold that a person truly dies and goes to Sto-vo-kor when their memory is erased, or that dishonour would leave a person just because they don't recall that dishonour. If it were simply that Kurn came to decide that the dishonour was not "real" but could no longer bear to live outside Klingon society, he could have just gone with Noggra and taken on a fake identity without losing his memory. Obviously the reason that is not an option is that Kurn *does* believe that he has lost his honour, which means that it would take ridiculous levels of cognitive dissonance to accept forgetting about it as a real option. The point made above about PTSD victims being treated with memory erasure makes sense to some degree -- the question of whether O'Brien could have the false memories erased in "Hard Time" is brought up, for example -- but Kurn's issue is not his sensitivity to painful memories, but is entirely dependent on his acceptance of a set of values which, as far as I can understand it, would not accept forgetting as a viable alternative.

Since Worf and Dax come up with the memory erasure idea while Kurn is unconscious, it does seem likely that Kurn simply does not know about it. This raises its own questions -- in particular, for Bashir to agree to the memory erasure at all seems implausible, but it's ridiculous that he would agree to erasing someone's memory without their consent. But still, this works a bit better for the principals in the episode. I do think Worf would recognize that Kurn would disagree with the memory erasure, and would see it as worse than death, and so the action is basically a betrayal of his brother; this would basically require Worf to believe that Kurn's belief system is bunk AND that Kurn does not have the right to self-determination, which makes Worf look pretty bad. But it actually intensifies the tragedy in some respects if we do view this as a call Worf makes because he is out of options. He makes the point in the episode that he does not believe that he can go through with killing Kurn again, and that he has lost some essential Klingon-ness that would allow him to go through with killing him. This extreme humanization of Worf is consistent with the episode's themes, and so Worf deciding that he wants his brother to be happy, and that Worf himself has already done away with many Klingon values, is consistent with that presentation. I am not so sure I believe it overall; I kind of feel as if Worf would be able to kill his brother for his brother's honour. More to the point, his inability to kill Kurn, and his deciding on changing Kurn's memories as a way of clearing up his dishonour, largely imply that Worf no longer believes in Sto-vo-kor, to me...which is a huge character change which the show does not really maintain. Still, within the context of this episode, it largely works -- Worf, by realizing that he can live with his dishonour, realizes that he does not truly believe the Klingon honour system, such as it is, and as such cannot kill his brother because he cannot believe anymore that this death can be a good thing. Realizing that Kurn cannot live with it, Worf accepts the Older Brother role enough to decide on a way Kurn can be happy within Klingon society, even if Worf is forever excluded for it. He additionally takes on not only the pain of losing his brother forever but the guilt of defying his brother's values. It is probably future episodes, which largely depict Worf still (ha) clinging to Klingon religious values without reevaluating his actions here, that are more at fault; for now this represents a major change in the character which the episode largely justifies.

Because the episode does not make clear that Kurn does *not* consent to the procedure, I cannot fully recommend the episode because of that ending; moreover, I think that this is in some senses an awful compromise, almost the worst possible outcome but the only one Worf can find himself capable of, should have been discussed more openly in order for the ending to have its real impact and to show that the real consequences of what this means for Worf were understood by the characters and the writers. Still, in its depiction of Worf coming to realize that he no longer believes in Klingon culture but that he loves it enough to wish his brother could have a place in it, I find the episode pretty effective and touching. 2.5 stars, say.
Diamond Dave - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 7:39am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

DS9 does MacGuyver. Basically an action adventure with more than a helping of fun. The hyper-paranoia of the Cardassians is almost comedic in itself as the computer program ramps up the response in the wake of the non-existing crisis. That Dukat gets caught out by his own program is a delicious moment. Lots of good character interaction too.

The only problem is that it does run out of puff towards the end, and the act of saving the say is perhaps the least satisfying in the episode. 3 stars.
James - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 5:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

The question raised above of the legal procedure regarding Trill culpability is more complicated than simply referring to Trill laws to resolve the case.

It would be an incredibly complex issue for the judge to determine which laws apply, and one that the episode does not touch upon. It would need to be resolved according to Bajoran law (and possibly inter-world laws) whether Bajoran or Klaestron laws apply to determining culpability of host or symbiont. Trill laws would probably be irrelevant.

Of course this is all based on the conflict of laws system we have now on earth, and I'm not even certain if it's the same outside the US and Commonwealth nations.
Alex - Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 1:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I'm compelled to write because I'm almost shocked to see this episode was not rated at least 3! I would give this 4 stars.

The plot is so sweeping - we have incredible acting from Riker and Picard, not to mention Data, Troi, and Worf. We see Data assuming command for a very satisfying amount of time! We see Data talking sternly to Worf, and we enjoy Data's logical, precise, consistent, fair command style. We get to watch as the mercenaries unwittingly aid Picard and Riker and are befuddled by their tactics. We get an incredible reveal that Talara is in fact a high-ranking Vulcan security agent and breathe easier as Picard is able to reveal himself to her - only to be fooled toward the end of the episode BY her! We see incredible acting on Patrick Stewart's part - a personal delight of mine was in seeing him hesitate a bit as he needs to remember which identity to use when he comms the mercenaries to make a course for Vulcan - look for it, he visibly overcomes the self-identity confusion before speaking to them. That's acting!

I'm saddened a bit that many of us here don't appreciate the ending conflict resolution. Peace! Picard instructs his crewmates to instantly wipe clear their minds of negative thoughts, anger, agitation, distress! This is an incredible clue as to the level of mental sophistication humans have attained by this time period, specifically high-ranking Starfleet officers. It's heartening! And it's incredibly cool to know that in the writer's projection, Starfleet officers would be familiar enough with the various content of their own minds to BE ABLE to pacify themselves on command when needed! It's an incredible statement of intellectual and meditative discipline and understanding. It was beautiful. And of course, the message itself is beautiful too - only through this realization, this attainment of "mind-mastery" through the understanding of all the various thoughts and impulses which flood our minds, was the Vulcan "Awakening" possible! It makes sense! The way Picard responded to Talara during the final encounter, specifically how he cleared his mind as the telepathic weapon was fired at him and peacefully but firmly took the device was pure writing and acting genius. THAT was beautiful.

I'm not even mentioning Boran, who was a very likable mercenary captain I thought, or Koral, who introduced a totally new sense of interest and humor. We are left with an ambiguous ending, also! Does Data actually escort Riker to the brig?!

This story is definitely one of my favorite TNG episodes. This, The Measure of a Man, Best of Both Worlds, Frame of Mind... but ah, this. We see Data kicking complete ass as a captain, come on! We see peace personified through Picard's interaction with the violent, reeling Talara! It's beautiful. Thanks writer and crew for making this episode.
James - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 3:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

"Aren't you Klingons supposed to kill yourselves when you're taking prisoner?" "Not when there are still enemies to fight." "Or hope of escape."

That sounds contradictory and hypocritical with what we learned in TNG "Birthright". What if the Klingons captured after the Khitomer Massacre believed there was hope for escape? The Romulans certainly didn't stop being enemies afterward, even if they did sign a peace treaty (and I don't recall such a thing being mentioned in any episode). Instead, those former Klingon prisoners were ostracized from society despite meeting these criteria? Perhaps how they're treated is dependent on whether or not they're successful in escape, but if so, a Klingon who escapes and makes it back to the homeworld should be welcomed... unlike that Klingon's father in "A Matter of Honor".

Other than Klingon society proving how absurd it is once again, this episode is great. Garak is perhaps the most interesting character I've ever seen in a Star Trek series thus far.
Anna - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 2:33pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Whenever the klingon culture is the subject, the story will fail. I TRULY do not get how any intelligent fan can stomach it. First it's just a human culture ( and a boring one at that) - which is so uncreative given they are aliens. But despite all of Worf''s belching bout "honor", klingons come off as aggressive, irrational power hungry animals. Of course women have a very limited role (OF COURSE)... And yet, when an intelligent woman decides rather than join this brain dead, misogynist, archaic and very human way of thinking, she will become an accomplished engineer, and a valuable member of her community, and raise a sane family - she has defied the religion she is not allowed to ever, ever leave and her mother gets to go to hell... Clever... Like any fundamentalist religion, it is stupid and offensive to any thinking person.

So she has to die and go to hell to rescue her mother's "honor".... And what exactly has she done wrong to doom her mother to hell? NOTHING... She rejected the idiotic religion imposed on her, which I for one think is a good thing, but like all religions, that means burning in hell... Seriously, this is the premise here. It is so anti-thought, anti-reason it's scary. Star Trek should just burn witches - it's the same thing. And somehow we are to think there is honor or nobility in this garbage.

As for the "character"... come on! The actress is really talented - but to to all the klingon garbage all she gets to do is spout technobabble or gripe about the stupidest culture ever created that she's wise to reject... It is boring and they have done it and done it and done it with her character already. There was nothing new here. I fear the next Star Trek will be as bad as the old ones often were when this gets 4 stars from fans.
Diamond Dave - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 1:56pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

Another strong episode. I don't see how you can deny the "I, Borg" comparisons here. The whole point of that episode was to show that there was hope, that the Borg were not incapable of change, and that one step could make a difference. Here, the point of showing the Jem'Hadar is that there is no hope. That even with their genetic deference to the Founders (Odo), they will still turn out to be killing machines whatever it is you try to reason with them. That's why he doesn't get a nickname, you can't domesticate a Jem'Hadar...

It also ends up giving Odo a big slap in the face for taking on a job he can't complete. That he feels a duty to try after encountering his people is another strong theme, especially given the joy he finds in his new quarters.

The B-story is nicely done but fairly lightweight. 3 stars.

Diamond Dave - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 7:47am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Strong episode. OK, so we know that Kira isn't really a Cardassian so much of the episode is spent moving towards finding out how and why this has happened. But the strength of the performances really help sell it. Additionally we have some fine Garak moments too - and maintaining that edgy, cannot be trusted element to his character is definitely the right choice. 3.5 stars.
Mike - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 5:59am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I remain absolutely baffled why the character Luxuwanna Troi even exists. Is an again woman with an insatiable sex drive suppose to be funny or intriguing or what? I don't get it. I'm just embarrassed for Majel Barrett. This used to be Nurse Chapel in the original Star Trek and she's come to this. Her zaniness and zest for life seem forced, unconvincing and hollow. And I just roll my eyes everyone she tells us she's a Daughter of the Fifth House of blah, blah, blah because it's such an obvious contrivance. We know practially nothing about Betazed government or society so what is this suppose to mean to us? Why does she, an ambassador, keep showing up a ship that's suppose to be on an exploration of deep space anyway?

Manhunt was absolutely pointless. Just as pointless as the character it focuses on.
Captain Jon - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 1:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

BTW...I LOVED this episode! In fact, this is one of Trek's best seasons, behind only TNG Season 3. This is season 5's ELEVENTH FOUR-STAR RATED EPISODE for me, which is HUGE!

I also say Season 3 is the only one to top it because I believe not only are the episodes top-notch but it lays the groundwork for a much richer universe. TOS and TNG Seasons 1-2 were Westerns in Space, but TNG Season 3 made the galaxy a bigger, richer place filled with politics between species. The Romulans became an opponent with plenty of moves and countermoves. The Klingons were given depth and political intrigue. This set the standard for the rest of TNG. If not for TNG-3, there couldn't have been DS9 because the Star Trek universe wouldn't have been so rich.

I could say more but that's for another day somewhere else!

Incredible episode! 4/4!!!
Captain Jon - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 1:15am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms


"24. Destroying the controls of Deep Space Nine. What kind of plan is that anyway? It doesn't make any sense at all, other than to give some fake "bad-ass" status to Wonder Woman Kira."

I'm not sure if this has been said or not, but it makes perfect sense. Why leave the station operational for your enemy? What sense does THAT make? The Cardassians abandoned Terok Nor as a busted up station where nothing worked when they left at the start of the series. Why? Because then it forces the new station occupant to take time and resources to make repairs. They can't just plant their flag and start with the business of the day. They need to spend their time fixing things and getting everything up and running again.

Look how long it took O'Brien to get the station working at the start of the series! It took a couple years! Now for the Cardassians it won't take as much time because they're the ones who built the station and they have the technology to easily repair it. O'Brien and Starfleet at their own incompatible technology so it took a long time to get the station working right. Even then, they weren't sure if it would work. Even in "Way of the Warrior" they weren't sure if their new weapon systems would work or blow up the station!

It makes perfect tactical and strategic sense for Sisko to leave a ruined station for the Cardassians. Dukat and his people have to fix things. My own problem with this strategy (and it's not with this episode but with "Sacrifice of Angels") is that the Dominion didn't do the same thing once again when they left the station. Sisko and his people walked right back into a fully operational station, one that probably worked better than before they left it because the Cardassians fixed it for them! They should've done as much damage as possible on their way out the door to set Starfleet back months on making repairs.

Just my two cents...
John - Sun, Nov 22, 2015, 1:06am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

This entire episode was pretty much a plagiarism of the episode "The Lorelei Signal" from Star Trek: The Animated Series.
Mike - Sat, Nov 21, 2015, 7:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I saw this episode when it first aired in the 90s and promptly promised I would never watch it again. To this day I have kept that promise. It's too horrible to watch even for laughs. There's nothing funny about an episode that so insults a loyal audience with such a pointless story.
Diamond Dave - Sat, Nov 21, 2015, 3:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Ultimately something of a disappointment. We have the guts of a good Dax episode here, but unfortunately she drops out of the episode as Bashir and Sisko solve the mystery. Given that there is no B-story this is also fairly slow moving, and it wraps itself up fairly quickly in a less than satisfying resolution.

Full marks for Odo's souffle preparation though. 2.5 stars.
Diamond Dave - Sat, Nov 21, 2015, 2:54pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Time for a bit of light relief after a heavyweight start to the season. What's interesting though is the real feeling of continuity starting to pervade the series - even in an episode like this there are long running story lines playing out.

The Quark story very nicely lances the incongruities of the Klingon honour system. But it has some real heart at the centre of it, and Grilka emerges as a sympathetic character for Quark to discover a little honour himself.

The Keiko story also feels like a realistic approach. Good episode - 3 stars.
Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 1,153
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer