Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,114 (Showing 101-125)

Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 885
$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Among the fairly controversial post-"Moonlight" stretch of S6 episodes, I've agreed with three near-consensus opinions for "His Way", "Profit and Lace", and "Time's Orphan"; disagreed on "Valiant"; and enjoyed but completely understand the ire for "The Reckoning".

For "The Sound of Her Voice" I'll be going against the crowd again, as I quite liked it quite a bit. This one is a lot like "In the Cards" in that it's light enough to be forgotten but does a nice job reflecting on the anxieties the characters have been going through up to this point. Nothing here is groundbreaking at all, but I really like that the show slowed down to do this episode. I don't think it's a waste like some may; the real wastes were the two preceding episodes.

Does the time-displacement gimmick work? I think it works. Lisa gives our heroes a bit of brightness during a very dark time - this much is obvious. The camaraderie, of course, works both ways, since Lisa gets that same companionship in what was (unknowingly to everyone) a hopeless situation. The gimmick also holds Lisa at a much-needed distance and keeps her death from being the result of an immediate plot contrivance (her medication being tainted, Defiant can't go fast enough, etc.). It all works for me, and I'm the guy who's always first to call an episode out for using a sci-fi gimmick when the story could have been told without one ("Things Past" I'm looking at you).

A strong 3 stars for me. A hidden DS9 gem, and my favourite S6 hour that isn't "Far Beyond the Stars", "In the Pale Moonlight", "Waltz" or part of the occupation arc.
xaaos - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 6:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@ Rikko: "A shame, because that would partially explain why him and Troi didn't last long."

But didn't they get married afterall, Rikko?
$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Yeah, this is not a good one. I'm generally not a fan of the torture O'Brien episodes, since most of them feel so detached from the rest of the series. O'Brien's established Every Man thing just isn't compelling enough alongside former terrorists, religious icons, shapeshifters, former spies, Trill symbionts, etc. So everything that befalls O'Brien is always... well, random.

This is probably the weakest O'Brien story yet, just inching out S2's "Tribunal". This one includes a lot of wasted rehab scenes, such as Molly playing with a ball or Molly eating a melon.

And then in typical (bad) Trek fashion, everything gets resolved at the end with no harm, no foul done to anyone? The institution may not be ideal, so the better idea is... sending Molly back to become a cave woman? If they NEEDED to do a Molly-in-danger episode, why not just use the Dominion in some way...? I'm willing to bet this was a pre-written script or something. It's all just pointless, like the worst of late-TNG.

1-1/2 stars, I guess. Most of it isn't necessarily unwatchable, but it's absolutely skippable and adds nothing to anything.

Here's the weird thing about S6 - it maybe has the best crop of strong episodes out of the entire series, but it also probably has as many mediocre and sub-par entries as S1. Even most of the weaker entries of S4 and 5 seemed to have at least a few things going for them. It's more painful in S6 though, since there's so much other stories I'd rather be seeing.
Robert - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:49am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I LIKE Ezri. I still wish Jadzia had not died, made captain, transferred, not gone to Becker, whatever, but I LIKE Ezri. I just think she was severely overused in S7.

S7 is VERY short if you don't count the intro arc which continues off last season and the 10 hour finale. I enjoyed her in the final 10 (I thought she was a nice foil for Worf dealing with his feelings over Jadzia and even really helped out in a positive way in the Klingon arc). I enjoyed her in the 2 part season intro. Sisko needed his old man. It fit nicely.

That being said, let's look at the rest of the season.

7x03 - Afterimage
Ezri episode. But I won't complain here, she was the new character and we had to get to know her. Strong performance.

7x04 - Take Me Out To The Holosuite
Ensemble episode with a Sisko focus. I liked the little bits with her here, she was always good in the ensemble.

7x05 - Chrysalis
Bashir episode.

7x06 - Treachery, Faith And The Great River
Odo episode with an O'Brien/Nog B-Plot

7x07 - Once More Unto The Breach
Worf/Klingon episode

7x08 - The Siege Of AR558
Good ensemble show, Ezri was fine here.

7x09 - Covenant
Kira/Dukat episode

Ok, so far so good. We're 10 episodes into the season and her use has been about the same as everyone else, she's grown on me and while she'll never replace Jadzia I'm enjoying her fine. The actress is doing a nice job with the part.

7x10 - It's Only A Paper Moon
Excellent Nog/Vic episode with an Ezri focus.

7x11 - Prodigal Daughter
What should have been an O'Brien episode (and would have been the only one in the season) turns out to be an Ezri episode. And a mediocre one.

7x12 - The Emperor's New Cloak
Mirror Ezri stars in the S7 Ferengi episode...

7x13 - Field Of Fire
Another mediocre Ezri episode.

See, now that's where my Ezri problem ends up. The mid season focus on her (in mostly crappy episodes) instead of getting some preciously valuable last few minutes with the characters we've been with for 7 years just sucks.

7x14 - Chimera
Odo/Kira episode

7x15 - Badda Bing Badda Bang
Ensemble

7x16 - Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Bashir episode

So ya, as you can see most characters got 1 episode, Bashir got 2, Ezri got.... anywhere between 3 and 5 depending on how you look at it. I think most fans problems with Ezri is just based on how she monopolized the season. I could have used a good O'Brien episode, another Sisko episode or even something featuring Quark that wasn't "Emperor's New Cloak".
Yanks - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:32am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Peremensoe,

I read Jammer's reviews.

Jammer: "There's a bit of goofiness here involving a malfunctioning universal translator. Archer must cover up by "spontaneously" kissing Riann."

Jammer: "The romance is based on the whims of scriptwriters (perhaps fulfilling the opening stretch's Archer Must Kiss a Girl quota), not because of characterization or motivation."
xaaos - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 7:22am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Another wooden perfomance for Dr. Crusher... By far the worst and most boring TNG character.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 2:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

@Robert, @William B
Arrghh.... I meant "Worf did fine baby-sitting Kirayoshi". No, obviously Worf messed up with Alexander...... sorry I wasn't clear on that!
zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 2:35am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

In TOS - A Taste of Armageddon, Kirk gives General Order 24 to Scotty -- to destroy all life on the planet. Seems pretty barbaric, even by 20th century standards. While TOS shows a greatly improved society overall, Starfleet clearly had a strong military component -- here's a General Order for planetary annihiliation that can be given by a starship captain -- and a starship equipped to do it.

Did TNG have this? Don't know. Someone above argued for widespread robots on the grounds "the fact that we didn't see robots doesn't prove they don't exist". Much the same could be said for the military arm of Starfleet -- you really can't argue "If it didn't appear on TNG, it wasn't common in the Federation." Did we ever see an episode focused on a planet where the Borg landed drones to assimilate a large population?
We know OBrien was a hero of Setlik III, so there's at least ground (human) troops there.

zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Great episode!

My only nitpick is one of scale:
1) If it's so valuable, why didn't the Jem'Hadar blow it up (just like any other asset that's in enemy hands)? Preferably from orbit.
2) It's the most valuable real estate in the sector (what, several solar systems?) and Star Fleet can only defend it with a lousy PLATOON? And with no air support, armor, etc? Even today's 3rd world country would put together a better defense than that.
3) The casuality list: Kira says it's got 1730 names on it. At the height of WWII, Germany was loosing a MILLION men a year; or 20,000 a week. Presumably Star Fleet -- at least during a war -- is a lot bigger than the Wehrmacht. 1730 is extremely light casualties for a war you're loosing.
The whole war seems like a minor border skirmish rather than a threat to the whole Federation.

Maybe DS9 does have the Roddenberry ideal, and we've "evolved" beyond the ability to defend ourselves ;-)


$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 1:09am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

The best part of this garbage is Worf's legitimately funny one-liner. I like that the camera doesn't even emphasize him; it's comes and goes like good banter should.

See, I like the *idea* of the Ferenginar arc. It's KIND OF well done, even though it only seems to involve six or seven individuals. The problem is that most of the Ferengi characters are annoying, and lots of their scenes are cartoonish and cliched.

The first couple of acts aren't unwatchable, but after Ishka has her stroke the episode takes a nosedive into concrete. This is some of the most unfunny, laborious TV I've ever seen.

Everything else has already been said, but I just want to echo everyone else.

This is a legit zero star episode. That it doesn't get REALLY bad until 20 minutes in is the only thing that keeps this episode from being the absolute worst DS9 has to offer (for the record, I give "Move Along Home" that distinction).
zzybaloobah - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 11:57pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Time for Economics 101.
In an advanced economy, Nog would rent Sisko's desk in return for some common medium of exchange. He would then use that medium to directly trade for the gravity stabilizers. There would be no need for all the other trades. In a primitive economy, you'd go through all the intermediate trades because you lack the common medium that all parties regard as valuable.
So, the Federation lacks "money" -- and while it makes for entertaining TV, it's no way to run a large economy. Sorry, suspension of disbelief fails me here...
And, for all the replicator economy boosters out there, why didn't the chief just replicate the gravity stabilizers?
NCC-1701-Z - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 10:19pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

@Gskunk: If you haven't already seen this video I think you'd appreciate it:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=edflm7Hh3hs
dgalvan - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 5:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

At the beginning, Sarek says Spock must have met Pardek at the Khitomer conference. Do we see Pardek at Khitomer in ST 6?
dgalvan - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 5:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

When I saw this episode as a kid I thought it was awesome. Probably because as a kid I identified with Wesley, and also the part where he manages to avoid escape for a while seemed pretty exciting, and then Data comes out of nowhere and saves the day. Also. . . Ashley Judd.

Now watching this as 34 year old. . .. It's pretty flawed.
Peremensoe - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 8:35am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Who said the kiss was a problem? I see two mentions more-or-less appreciating the joke.
Yanks - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 7:30am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

So when the Captain kisses a beautiful Alien woman its a problem?

...only on Enterprise...
Yanks - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 7:24am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

I don't know that is true. During ENT's Divergence we see Trip repel between the Enterprise and the Columbia without being dropped out of warp...
Eli - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 1:38am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

This episode is a great example of why I like Star Trek: Enterprise so much. I think the episode was understated and contained great interactions between the characters. The love story was convincing and compelling. Some have complained about the series in general being underwhelming. I instead, find it subtle and restrained, intelligent and sincere. The captain's thoughtful approach really embodies this spirit.
Eli - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 1:22am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

I thought this episode was very creative. The aliens were interesting, the conflict was compelling, and the setting was fascinating. It seems like the episode is based on the idea of chemiosynthesis. Of course, the elaborate life on the planet is a fictional creation. Still, a very imaginative episode.
$G - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 11:38pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

This must be the first episode of the series that has a near-unanimous bad reputation that I completely disagree with. I'm not going to try and argue since I think Jammer's review makes my case for me. I'll just leave a few points here that I think are interesting:

-Nog. A really good use of the character. We saw how much he wanted to join Red Squad back in S4, so it's nice to see him faced up with his old role models and... well, try to "make it" this time. I don't think Nog was completely blinded, but the drive towards being in a club he'd never been able to join is part of what makes his role in this one interesting.

-Jake. Making Jake Nog's foil probably strengthened Nog's resolve to go along with Red Squad's BS - he just doesn't seem to respect Jake anymore. But who would, in his situation? I have nothing against Jake, but it's very easy to see military cadets serving in wartime seeing someone their own age - the son of a current hero, no less - who isn't contributing as a hanger-on. Indeed, Watters almost out and out says it when he meets Jake.

-Watching the tides turn on the Valiant crew is actually pretty compelling. Unlike whoever conceived tripe like 'The Magnificent Ferengi', Moore doesn't put the idiot hat on the Dominion for the sake of an hour's entertainment. The achilles heel in the battleship is a really well done red herring, showing off how RS have become so damned overconfident that they think a day's analysis is equal to Starfleet Command's technical and tactical expertise. Did they even get the data back to Earth - the data on which the entire mission was based?

-Red Squad. For most prohibitively arrogant people, personal achievement is an end in itself; the big picture is only a game to be played and won. Was the helm the same slappable douche the Sisko grills in "Homefront"? If so, it's a nice bit of continuity. A scene with Nog might have been nice, though.

-I've said it before, but Jammer mentions it outright in this review: this series wastes way too many scenes to get all its actors in an episode at once. I appreciate the attempt at making the station feel more lived in than just the plot of the episode, but the teaser with Odo, Dax, and Quark just had no relevance at all.

Anyway, this one's a strong 3 stars for me. I'll take the heat for it, sure.
Dave in NC - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 10:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

As far as I am aware, all of the music in this episode is original (as is 99.9% of the music heard on Star Trek).

My guess is Jeri Taylor was the one responsible for loosening the musical restrictions on the later seasons of Voyager, and boy, did it make a difference! Bride of Chaotica, Mortal Coil and the one with the Doctor's fantasies are other examples of stand-out scores which really helped to advance the story being told.

Side question:

Now I know it isn't in Living Witness, but maybe someone can help me out. There is a scene in an episode where B'elanna is in her bedroom. Something dramatic plot-wise happens (she wakes up?) and suddenly orchestral strings and french horns do this absolutely amazing glissando thing (trading places in octaves), and of course, now I don't remember which episode it was. Anyone have an idea?
Domi - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 10:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Call me crazy but I actually like this one, although my opinion might be different if I had watched TOS first.

I would like to address some alleged plot holes and allege my own as well. First, someone noted that it was a little too convenient that no one boarded the Lantree as would normally be expected--they exercised an abundance of caution before there was a reason to believe such was necessary. But is it really true that the Lantree crew could pass the disease to other people? The way the disease is explained, it would see that one would have to come into contact with the genetically engineered children in order to contract disease, as the children's immune systems emit antibodies that change human DNA. I don't see anything in that explanation that a victim could then pass on the same disease to another.

Also why did Data beam up, thus abandoning the shuttlecraft at Darwin Station? Furthermore, why did they beam the child off the shuttle and back to the station, only to take the shuttle there anyway? Pulaski was already exposed, although I suppose that one could make the argument that the longer one is contact with the children, the quicker the illness progresses, thus they wanted to get rid of him ASAP.

Finally, it always irritates me a little when Star Trek invents was of avoiding having characters speak (because he's telephatic, of course) so that they don't have to pay for an "actor".
Matrix - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 9:13pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I like seeing the best actor/actress for the part. If Joe Asian-actor does a great job as Ambassador Spivok of Vulcan, awesome.
$G - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 8:04pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Argh, so much for proofreading.

The last sentence of the second paragraph should read:

"I guess there's something to be said for a universe in which this kind of thing isn't necessarily uncommon, but I understand why something so wacky being so important to one of the show's main narratives causes problems."
$G - Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 8:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I was expecting to hate this one, too, but I didn't at all.

As mentioned, the first three quarters of the episode are solid, with nice character touches for Sisko, Kira, Odo, Jake, and even Winn. The last quarter... I don't hate. It's straight up comic book DS9 in presentation - and I think it'll always be at odds with its more thoughtful social commentary stories.

This ep DOES work for me, but it's notably different in tone from what we've seen so far with this storyline (minus "The Assignment", which may as well have been any body snatching Trek story for as much as we knew about the Wraiths back then). Though it may sound odd, there is something a bit more sight-unseen about episodes like "Destiny", "Rapture", and even "Far Beyond the Stars". Up until now, the Prophets/WAs still came off as aloof other-dimensionals, on par with Q or Nagilum or any other godlike Trek entity. The tone finally changes here. I'm not totally comfortable with it, especially the implication that Bajor's natural processes are governed via... magic? That said, I don't outright dislike it either, though I feel like I should. I guess there's something to be said for a universe in which this kind of thing isn't necessarily uncommon, but I understand why something so wacky is so important to one of the show's main narratives.

This gets a 3 stars with an asterisk from me. I think it's a good episode that holds together, but it's potentially pretty alienating when it doesn't necessarily have to be. Do we really need Star Trek's take on well-worn gods vs devils story? Probably not.
Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 885
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer