Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36,797 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,472
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 2:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Thanks for the history insight.

However: I must point out that TNG started in the mid to late eighties. And it is widely reported that the early episodes (miniskirts, crying Yar, pleasing Minuet, silly "code of honor" and "Angel one", leering sex-loving Riker contrasted with nun-like uber-feminine female regulars), showed the heavy hand of a certain Roddenberry.

So... You'll have a hard time convincing me he saw women and men as equals/complements.

Fortunately., along came Ro Laren, DS9, Xena, Buffy, and Firefly to ease the pain of growing up a female wannabe-hero. :)



Set Bookmark
JohnC
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I noticed the same thing as Pete above, which I found it jarring that the Romulan wished Janeway good night, as if he knew what time it was 70000 light years away. Second, I don't know if this is been addressed and I can't recall the exact dialogue, but if Tuvok figured out that the Romulan died before the twenty years was up, why didn't he suggest to him that he should arrange for the messages to family members to be passed on in his absence in case something happened to him? I understand why you wouldn't want to tell the Romulan that he was going to be dead in 16 years, but still, it seems like he could have planted a seed in his head to plan for a contingency.....
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

For what it's worth... I too liked Wang and what they seemed to be doing with him in the first season. But after 2 more years of basically nothing happening with him, and Kes being one of the most alien aliens that Trek ever did... I was pissed about this choice.

And I liked Neelix.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Excerpt From "The Influence of Star Trek on Television, Film and Culture" :

"Although NBC executives liked the basic premise of the show, they hated all of the details, particularly the "demonic" Mr. Spock and the too strong, too intellectual female Number One. the network demanded that the cast be changed and the pilot be redone. Rodenberry, in order to keep the show alive, agreed to the network's demands, but, forced to choose between promoting something akin to a feminist agenda and promoting racial tolerance, insisted on keeping the character of Mr. Spock, whom he felt was integral to the meaning of the show."

So yes, behind the scenes stuff went on. He decided to fight one battle because he felt he'd lose both.
Set Bookmark
Beej
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Grumpy_otter said: "Also wanted to say I like Caroline Kava in this episode very much--she played her part perfectly. They could have made her entirely a villain, and she wasn't at all."

Ha ha ha ha ha! What?! You could practically see her twirling the ends of her mustache as she rationalized her use of an experimental drug on that dude in the shuttle bay. I'm absolutely certain that scene was there only for the purpose of making her less sympathetic and Crusher more so. I rolled my eyes so hard I'll probably need an untested procedure to get 'em pointed right again.

In general I found Worf's point of view presented entirely unsympathetically. You'd think (well, I'd think) that in a Utopian future it would be unequivocally accepted that the right to die was a fundamental one. Instead apparently your doctor has the even more inviolable right to hold you prisoner indefinitely. Progress!

Tne one thing I did like about this ep is that at least a character outside the Enterprise bubble was allowed to do their job competently and "save the day". Dr. Pulaski would've pushed Dr. Russell out of the way and fashioned Worf a new spine out of spit and baling wire.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 1:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

This was a weird episode.
I think there are three distinct components:

1. 3 corpsicles on what looks like a bargain basement version of Skylab are thawed out to reveal a soccer mum, Michael Douglas from Wall Street and Roscoe from The Dukes of Hazard.
2. First evidence of a Borg incursion one assumes.
3. The Romulans ,having been revealed a century ago in TOS Balance of Terror, are rather unconvicingly supposed to have become semi mythic again,having disappeared for 50 years.

The first two components are eminently pointless and having the Borg reaching the edge of Federation Space at this point contradicts the rapidity of their advancement depicted a couple years on.

The vanishing Romulans makes absolutely no sense in the political landscape we assume to be in place and witnessed quite clearly in the TOS movie era.
So one day the Romulans have a resident ambassador on Earth and then within decades they have vanished.

I know that the utopian society of the UFP as envisaged by Rodenberry may frown on such things but the Feds would have spies in their neighbour's systems and even if they didn't the Gorn and Orions would.
Looking at the Vulcans' monitoring of the Andorians in Enterprise and later TNG storylines like Reunification clearly our chums in Starfleet would know what the Praetor had for breakfast a few hours after he left the dining table.

It is this kind of failure to suspend disbelief that has typified virtually the whole of season 1.

I really struggle to find nice things to say about Season 1 of TNG.

The only thing is TNG eventually got better but first we had to get through season 2.
I recall reading an opinion in in Starlog around the time of Season 3 to the effect that Star Trek TNG was the zenith for science fiction TV.
Well, you would not have imagined that this show would generate that sort of plaudit in 1987.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I jjst realized the way you described the ship - it's the TARDIS from Doctor Who. Wait, what?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Tara, I always found it ironic that in early episodes like The Cage and The Final Frontier in TOS, women are portrayed in positions of higher authority, whereas in the later episodes they revert back to more "traditional" roles as you describe.

I don't know what went on behind the scenes, but my guess is there was tension between Rodenberry's vision and what was commercially (and culturally) feasible at the time.

Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"The last thing I want STD.. (yeah, it's STD because it sounds awful and it lingers on and on in production hell haha).. the last thing I want my awesome Trek to do is friggin' flat out DIE from it."

Trek won't "die". Nothing can take the 700+ "classic" episodes (TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY and ENT) from us.

Recently I began a rewatch of TOS with my wife, and you know something? Even after 50 years, it remains a classic. And CBS can't take the already existing legacy from us.

"Holy shit, guys. Do they realize how many people would jump at the chance to HANDLE THIS RIGHT?"

Yeah. Unfortunately, this cannot be done legally without CBS' approval (which they'll never give).

Maybe it's time to start a new sci fi universe. Create an alternative that fills the niche that the official "Trek" no longer fills. The brand "Star Trek" has been diluted in the past decade or so, anyway.

Oh, and it will be hilarious if Paramount or CBS try to sue somebody for doing this. I'd love to see them trying to convince a jury that a thoughtful quality show is "too similar" to the crap they're producing...
Set Bookmark
Beej
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 3:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Yeah, I guess I don't understand the final scene either. I don't think Riker really needs catastrophic memory loss as an excuse to mack on some chick --- just a few episodes ago he was on Risa doing hookers and blow, or at least the 24th century equivalent thereof, and Troi didn't care --- but he has it here, so .... what am I missing?
Set Bookmark
Beej
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 2:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Daniel B says: "2) Why didn't he make himself the captain? Because he hasn't got the foggiest clue how to run the ship. Everyone else retained their skills and technical knowledge, so he had to put himself in a place where he could get away not spouting technobabble about the ship's capabilities or how to do anything, but he could command most of the people who did (and advise anyone he couldn't command). "

He knew how to arm and fire the weapons.

He must know how the computer works too, or his people must, since their magic memory ray worked on it too.

And it's not like he made himself cook. He's second in command of the ship. He's going to have to know as much about starship operations as the captain anyway.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I've never really understood all the vitriol that Voyager gets and I think it's good entertainment. However I do have to echo some former posters' sentiments that this episode basically seemed to be about Jennifer Lien being let go. I've heard all about the by now infamous story about Garrett being the person who was originally supposed to go, but then People magazine stepped in and so forth. I've never understood why Neelix was never on the chopping block. That character was obnoxious to the point of grating every time he showed up on the screen and he was just a very annoying character in general, mean-spirited and irritating, especially in the earlier seasons, where he was practically unbearable. I'm sure Ethan Phillips is a lovely person but man I hated that character.

Harry Kim on the other hand was an okay character imo and I've also never really gotten why he gets so much flack. I agree that his character didn't show much growth, but that seems to be the writers' and directors' fault, not Wang's or the characters. From what I heard Wang apparently clashed heads with Admiral Berman fairly early on in the series which basically sealed his fate. It's fairly easy to google and he's been very vocal about his lack of character growth. For my part I thought he did a good job with what he was given and he had good comedic timing and great chemistry alongside Paris and Torres. I've been rewatching the series and there are a lot of S1-S2 moments where him and Torres bounce off each other really well, with B'lanna affectionately nicknaming him 'Starfleet' and making fun of the fact that he's so obviously fresh out of the academy and innocent of the world, as it were. Pity they didn't show more small moments like this, but it is what it is.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Seven: Wow, this is like the highest concentration of wormholes in one place ever...

Later...

Seven: Remember that time I told you there were 6 of these things?
Set Bookmark
Dave
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

A race that advanced on the edge of the Beta Quadrant (basically adjacent to the Klingon Empire) surely would have made themselves known by Picard's time to the Federation, or at least the afforementioned Klingon Empire.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

TNG Season 3:

"Evolution"-3
"The Ensigns of Command"-3
"The Survivors"-4
"Who Watches the Watchers"-3.5
"The Bonding"-3
"The Booby Trap"-3
"The Enemy"-3.5
"The Price"-2
"The Vengeance Factor"-2
"The Defector"-4
"The Hunted"-3
"The High Ground"-3
"Déjà Q"-3.5
"A Matter of Perspective"-3
"Yesterday's Enterprise"-4
"The Offpsring"-4
"Sins of the Father"-3.5
"Allegiance"-2
"Captain's Holiday"-2.5
"Tin Man"-3
"Hollow Pursuits"-3
"The Most Toys"-3.5
"Sarek"-3.5
"Ménage à Troi"-1
"Transfigurations"-2.5
"The Best of Both Worlds, Part 1"-4

Average: 3.08

Excellent season.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

Almost every season of Voyager and Enterprise above the best of DS9?

:/
Set Bookmark
Tara
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 9:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Addendum:

In my preferred version (a standard ST outing that just happens to involve a gender-flipped sexist planet as background) I'd love to see a meta conversation between Yar and Crusher as they enjoy the scantily clad male scenery.

Yar: "Isn't it fascinating that even in an advanced society that has done away with money and conflict and which claims to a beautiful vision of the future, , one sex still rules while the other sex is still merely decorative and obedient?"

Crusher (choosing a boytoy from the luscious crowd, taking him by the hand and heading toward the nearest bedroom): "Actually it's always been surprisingly common. So much so that some people don't even question it."
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

Just saw the episode for the 2nd time in the last 3 months or so. I liked it more the 2nd time than the 1st time but it's not a particularly strong episode.
The kids are annoying and I'm not sure why they need to band together under the leadership of the oldest male kid.
I liked the Kirk-Miri-Rand subplot and Kirk reasoning with the kids with Miri's help. Rand has played a high-profile role in the first few episodes of Season 1 - she's a good actress though not particularly useful.
Of course, plenty of questions about what 300-year-old kids would actually be like - maybe the virus prevented them from learning and maturing despite still being in kids bodies? It would have been good to get more insight into the grown-ups who created the virus.
Anyhow, 2.5/4 stars for me -- interesting idea, some good parts but kind of a slow episode with not that much happening.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

The "Star Trek" shows - and sci-if shows in general, and TV in general, and nearly all world cultures in general - have had no problem with societies/depictions of societies in which makes make decisions and females simper obediently in the background (and are punished if they do otherwise).

Given the supposed "Star Trek" aim of depicting a just and peaceful future, negated by the pathetic"Star Trek TOS" reality of depicting obedient yeomen in miniskirts and an all-make command staff led by a Kirk who bangs scantily clad aliens, TNG certainly owed its audience a wake-up call about its own gross history of sexism.

This wake-up call was a bit laughable, however, given that TNG itself featured Troi in a miniskirt early on and had plenty of other sexist crap .

However, the utter hatred that this episode gets is funny. Almost no reviewer ever mentions that the men on Angel One live lives just like the TOS yeomen and the females on most sci-di worlds.

If you never had a problem watching Kirk Spock and McCoy lead the Enterprise, why have a problem with Beata and company lead Angel One in exactly the same sex-segregated manner?

That's the crux of my objection. I suppose: the episode would have been much smarter if it had mirrored a typical TOS show , just with the genders reversed. IOW: give us an all-female away mission to a woman-led planet, where males simper and please their wives and wear booty shorts, and Crusher and Yar joke about the local male beauties, and Troi seduces a male alien hottie. No need to show the males rebelling - after all, simpering miniskirted females never rebel.

It is worth mentioning that in the follow up to "Angel One" we are treated to Riker in the Holodeck getting it on with a Holobabe who does nothing but flatter him and listen to his prattle and serve his needs, then flatters the captain as well when he pops in.

Yes, Roddenberry's vision sure is..... Beautiful! Futuristic! Egalitarian!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I've said this before, but for the sake of perspective:

I am disappointed by how CBS has been handling this series thus far. They may yet pleasantly surprise us in fall or whenever. But no matter how badly CBS screws up, no matter how much they milk the cow till it's dead, no matter how many Romulan saboteurs wreak havoc behind the scenes, Star Trek will always live on in our hearts and nothing can take that away from us.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 5:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Neelix's "if they aren't welcome, then I'm not staying either" threat was extremely weak, since Neelix staying a while was wholly Neelix's idea, not theirs. They were already pretty much handing him his hat.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Not a great episode for me. A bit plodding.


Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

There have to be some lines one is not willing to cross. Torture to stop genocide, I'm ok with. Murdering one dickhead ambassador to save your own people, that's ok too. There has to be moral calculus in every action. Genocide though? That's a few steps too far.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

If the Federation is capable of subjecting the holograms to work in the mines, then maybe it isn't the best idea to let them get their hands on the mobile emitter technology when Voyager get home.
Set Bookmark
N
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Yeah, I'm done too.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,472
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.