Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,785 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,312
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

This episode is like the DS9 mirror episodes.

"Why are we doing this again?"

Some comedic value. I thought the impressions were pretty hilarious.

Deanna forceful?

2 stars of blah for me.


Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

This episode depicts whatever Healthcare System you don't like. It's clearly not American or Canadian or European. So pick one and complain. It seems more Socialist to me. the "state" seems to be at the heart of things because the level of H/C apportioned is basically based on one's contributions to society.

Of course the ACA was to fix all America's healthcare woes... chuckle... ho many are uninsured now? How many are still exempt?

I like the English version as long as "basic" health care doesn't include add-a-dick or breast augmentation or abortion etc.

This episode if fine. It did seem to drag a bit I thought. Janeway taking Tuvok's hand was frellin hilarious!!!

3 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@desmirelle

The implication is that Data is a new type of being and they had no reason to bar him from joining Starfleet. The *legal matter* of his citizenship was never raised.

I could totally buy this happening, actually. There have been recent news stories where students in Texas have become valedictorians of their classes only to reveal that they're undocumented immigrants. The university these students got accepted to never exposed them, and in fact offered to support them if difficulties arose.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Wow, we get into the economics of the Federation from this episode?

I will not digress. :-)

I forced myself to watch this dung simple to come here and reveal the fact I think it's dung.

Good lord... I don't think Tim's acting in this one is that good. Probably because it's shit.

More Bajoran voo-doo crap? Jesh, didn't we just have an episode where a hologram attempted to make himself a god? Maybe Elliot is right.... this episode is a slap directed at DS9.

I go 1-star because the 1st time I watched this the first 15 minutes of the episode were engaging.

This episode is shaping up like DS9 season 7. Hit or miss with the episodes. Either is 3+ or crap (so far)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

I enjoy this one.

It would have been a turd I think had B'Elanna gone off on some temper tantrum. I really like the way they (she) play this... once again Roxann sells the story. Has she ever had a bad acting day on Voyager?

I think not.

I too think her conversation with Seven was a good one.

Cyia Batten, IMO, was the best of the three actresses that played Ziyal. She also played the Orion Slave girl Navaar in ENT: Bound. I always enjoyed her but I don't think she has the screen presence that Kelly Waymire did.

Loved the Neelix play-by-play of the race along with Tuvok getting into it as well.

Poor Harry :-) I wish she hadn't been the terrorist and joined Voyager for the remainder of the series.

There really nothing to gripe about in this episode. Why did it take 3 years for them to get married? What's the rush? Why marry at all?

I'll go 3.5 star here.

Set Bookmark
Kubershark
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Love evil-grinning Spock!
Set Bookmark
Cowcharge
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Seriously? People sit there watching TV calculating what it would look like if you put black actors in whiteface alien makeup to be "fair"? Or any other kind of nitpicking? You can't just sit there and enjoy a story? There's no suspension of disbelief, and therefore no drama or immersion, if you're sitting there looking for production flaws. TV must really not be fun for you people.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

The very overly patriotic Americanism in this episode is nauseating, probably because I'm not American but in a world that's meant to have gotten rid of nationalism, the idea that an individual countries constitution is somehow remembered word for word and then spreads across the Alpha Quadrant is mental.

I see far more American over-patriotism on the internet and television than Id like to in real life, when it invades the Star Trek universe that's when it just gets far fetched.

The rest of the episode is pretty good though, like the jail fight scene with Spocks calm advice and McCoys scenes in the laboratory.
Set Bookmark
desmirelle
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

This WOULD HAVE BEEN a great episode if it had been a flashback on Data getting into Starfleet Academy. A non-sentient being (flesh or machine) will not be allowed to go through the academy. It's an unspoken requirement. Were it not, the Enterprise would be making decisions, Picard would be a seat warmer, Riker would be decorative but not useful and Geordi relevant only because the ship doesn't have a pair of hands for the little things. As this episode stands, I expect the next episode of the JAG officer's life involved a court martial for trying to make law when she's a judge; but more importantly, for violating the civil rights of a being simply BECAUSE OF HIS RACE!!!!! (And I'm sure that would involve Federation charges, not military; there must be some guarantee of rights for the various species involved with the UFP.)

Set Bookmark
The Man
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Sorry yes @Paul this was a good episode and just because you did not like it does not mean you speak for everyone.
Set Bookmark
Boris Zakharin
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

You know, the way the Dominion suddenly does everything in its power to undermine the alliance with Cardassia while seemingly oblivious is a bit too convenient. I can understand bringing in the Breen to help win, and to give them some Cardassian space to appease convince them to join, but to whose benefit is it to lose Cardassian territory and the forces defending it to the Federation? After all, Cardassia is the heart of Dominion space in the Alpha Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

The way Janeway treasures the necklace, and embraced the face of her surrogate father one scene prior, demonstrates why Mulgrew was such an excellent decision for the lead of this show, and for the first female captain of a Star Trek series (as opposed to the original choice of actress for Janeway, the French-Canadian woman who was stiff and terrible in the original filming of the pilot).

Mulgrew emotes in a deeply feminine and maternal way, without relinquishing her authority as captain for an instant. It's actually amazing to see how well she does this. I used to think of Janeway as kind of standoffish or too tough, but when I watch the series again as an adult she really demonstrates a fullsome tenderness in complete harmony with her lioness-like ferocity at defending her crew — her family — at all costs. In some respects this echoes for me Olmos' portrayal of Adama in BSG, who literally and figuratively played the embattled, indomitable father, both deeply felt and hard as steel.
Set Bookmark
elsiskito
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Sorry, but whoever came up with the design and costumes of the aliens should be fired. They looked and moved ridiculously. They looked like larger versions of the Jawas from Mel Brooks' Spaceballs. Laughable.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I also wanted to add that Whoopi Goldberg is terrific in this episode. Her method of "counseling the counselor" was great and all the scenes she was in were hilarious and heartwarming.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I do understand why people wouldn't like Deanna for going off on people after they were trying to help her. But otherwise, I think this is a good episode about loss of senses.

Let's compare it to DS9's "Melora" shall we? Troi becomes this sort of angry woman who doesn't like people "walking on eggshells" because of her disability. Ensign Melora was the same way, and the episode spent time showing how great Melora was just as she is.

So, this episode also shows us how great Troi can be as a professional without her empathic powers. And...it works to some degree. I like Troi puzzle-solving with Data for a change. There are also some great scenes for Riker and Troi where Riker gives Troi some tough love (and Troi of course gets back at him later).

And finally to address people's complaints about Troi's attitude, I think Siritis was trying to act out the emotional range of a newly handicapped person. It may come off strong, yet I think her off-putting demeanor shows just how painful it is to lose an important sense in a small amount of time.

3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Jammer: "and even though a Seven/Janeway or Seven/Icheb scene can still be very good, it also feels like an iteration of a Voyager staple."

You mean like meaningless Ferengi episodes in DS9? :-)

Love this one. I could have done without the "I got here first aliens". Nothing added, nothing gained.

All actors were very good. They sold this one. I'm a sap, Icheb/Seven relationship had me in tears.

3.5 stars here.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

OK, here are my season 6 scores:

Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy / 4.00
Pathfinder / 4.00
Blink of an Eye / 4.00
Child's Play / 4.00
Muse / 4.00
Equinox Part 2 / 3.50
One Small Step / 3.50
The Voyager Conspiracy / 3.50
Collective / 3.50
Survival Instinct / 3.00
Barge of the Dead / 3.00
Riddles / 3.00
Dragon's Teeth / 3.00
Fair Haven / 3.00
Virtuoso / 3.00
Tsunkatse / 3.00
Ashes to Ashes / 3.00
Good Shepherd / 3.00
Alice / 2.00
Life Line / 2.00
The Haunting of Deck Twelve / 2.00
Live Fast and Prosper / 1.50
Memorial / 1.00
Unimatrix Zero Part I / 1.00
Spirit Folk / 0.50
Fury / 0.50

Total: 71.50
Average: 2.75

Much lower than the epically great VOY season 5. Some really great stuff in there but more stickers sprinkled in and they cap it off with Stupidmatrix Zero. It had me wondering which pill to take.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

So.... why are the drones able to be killed in UMZ ... I mean physically? Aren't they just FRAKIN DREAMING!!!!

...or not....

I actually made myself watch this this last weekend.

I know, dedicated am I....

I can't even go 2 stars here... it's just so damn implausible...

I'm all for outwitting the Borg when the opportunity presents itself, but this is a FRAKING TACTICAL CUBE DRONE class four thingy...

I LOVE Susanne Thompson but...

They just blew it here.

NCC-1701-Z hit the nail on the head... Janeway should have asked for a pot of coffee and let the BQ blow up her empire.

1 star each for both halves.

Set Bookmark
KB
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

My view of quality entertainment is if the story continues to live in my imagination. From the first time I saw this episode, it has been with me... all the what ifs! My background is in anthropology so I find this fascinating. Also, it demonstrate that Vulcans can improvise and adapt, something they do not always demonstrate. I think Jolene Blalock does excellent job differentiating the characters. Finally, her back story allows us to understand how she so successfully integrated on Enterprise, which is the point of the dinner party...
Set Bookmark
FJ
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

In regards to the comment of "Tom" who calls this episode "disturbing anti-feminist", I want to add that I feel your criticism one-sided and inconsequent. The plan to mix both societies in that episode called for both men and women having three partners each - each woman having three men and each man having three women. So the notion of "three men bargaining away women's sexual freedom" and the criticism of anti-feminism fall short, in my opinion. First, if at all, it bargained about women's and men's sexual freedom. Second, with Pulaski, a woman was also involved in creating this plan. And third, it didn't seem to me as if force as involved. Both societies agreed on that plan, and if anyone disagreed, nothing to me pointed to the suspicion that force would be involved.

Still, this episode is definitely not one of TNG's token episodes, and altogether a rather weak one. Others here have made some good points on why and how it is.
Set Bookmark
Sue
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Didnt hate this episode but did find it pretty slow. It was very watchable in no small part due to the fact the poet guy and some of his crew were rather easy on the eye :)
Set Bookmark
The Man
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Elliott
"Wrong. These are not the questions the episode asks, they are the veneer which is apparently all you were able to glean. The real questions translate as follows :"

Actually you're wrong and it's disturbing that you "gleaned" that from the episode. The rest of your translation isn't worth reading.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

This is utter, pointless dreck from beginning to end. It adds nothing to the original trilogy, and simply piles up lots of garbage. Visually appealing? Who gives a crap if the story is shit? I am amazed anyone has anything good to say about this.

To clarify that I gave this a fair chance; I was hung-over when I first went to see it. But I had promised my son and his friend that I'd take them on opening weekend, so off we went. I semi-dozed through most of it, but basically thought it was complete garbage even as I was cringing from the noise and the light.

However, since I knew I wasn't in the best frame of mind to watch any film, I went back to see it again the following week, and it was still crap. I am amazed that anyone can find anything good in this. The acting is appalling, the story line is stupid, and the visuals are just so much clutter. Blech and double-blech.

A virgin birth? ARE YOU EFFING KIDDING ME? Sailing through the middle of a planet? A dull and witless Padme? An obnoxious, well-fed slave family? THE DESIGNER OF C-3PO? And that flying Arab salesman whose name I can't remember? This was bad. Appallingly bad. It should be forgotten and erased from our collective memories. Yippee!

I can't even remember why the brat yelled that--there was some sort of battle at the end, I think. But I could be wrong--who knows? Not memorable.

One small thing that also bothered me is that once it became obvious that Padme was going to be Luke and Leia's mom, I was disappointed that she was royalty. I had imagined they came from humble beginnings. Making them royalty seemed to buy into the bullshit idea that certain bloodlines are more valuable than others. And an elected queen? Can you define queen?

Sheesh. Big old pile of worthless garbage. Jar Jar was probably the least offensive thing in the movie since he was just supposed to be comic relief. Anybody who was supposed to have a purpose was embarrassing.

People have mentioned the "impressive" lightsaber battles. Really? I don't care what people do with lightsabers if they are dull and wooden and pointless people.

Okay, well, that was fun to vent. I'll end with a little story.

Shortly after ROTS came out, I was exiting the grocery store and saw a man who looked like George Lucas--so much so that I did a double-take. He saw me do this, smiled and said, "You're about to ask me why I ruined Star Wars, aren't you?"
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

@Skywalker - Totally agree, I can see why this episode might not be for everyone, but as a quiet character piece about Odo's feelings it's really, really good and Rene nails it hard enough to sell this quiet little character piece.
Set Bookmark
JD
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Holy sheet, guys! Kira gets zero break from the severe shock of having her friends hunted down all around her and being taunted by a serial killer while she's pregnant? Some of her closest relations in the world? Ooo, she's still too hard on Cardassians, I guess that's the racist, irrational way she really still feels, ooo. Give the woman a break! She's about to have a fetus cut out of her belly and be murdered, and people are talking about how her world view must not have really matured from season 1. Holy Lord. Hasn't anyone else been upset to the point of irrationality? That really speaks to a sheltered life or a poor imagination, assumptions of Kira's mentality under the circumstances like this. A little empathy.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,312
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.