Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,213 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,529
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

IDK- to me it's just like beating a dead horse or trying to keep someone you love on life support,me thinks CBS/Paramount has milked the series for all it can give.
I'm prepared to let it die and live the memory in re runs,besides if you really still want fresh Trek with the original TOS perspective and style,there's no beating
'Star Trek Continues' IMO.
Fan made/funded and captures the OS perfectly,so much so that Rod Roddenberry has declared it cannon.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

OK guys ,most of you must be products of a younger (and overly sensitive) generation.
Yes,Star Trek TOS did hold onto some traditional male/female values but hey it was the 60's and audiences had to relate.
Having said that I think they did a fine job of trying to achieve equality across the board with gender and race for the time period.
As for the episode it was an interesting way of explaining Jack the Ripper (before they knew a local butcher was to blame.)
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Hello Everyone!

@Trek

I have seen this three or four times over the decades, and I always thought it wasn't that they didn't understand the messages, it's they they didn't want to understand them. Because if they looked deeper, it might threaten their terraforming project. Perhaps not all of them, but some of them, turned a blind eye to the possibility. If they found something, all the work they'd done up to that point would be for naught.

Just a thought... RT
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

I really liked this episode.
It doesn't intend to be an accurate representation of any legal process-both advocates drift from examining witnesses to speeches and back again and .
Also one expects that this issue would be appealled and legislated upon ad infinitum.

This is a bit of a copy of an Asimov story I think but it is laudable and is one of the highpoints in season 2
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I wouldn't say Darmok is overrated at all, it's only overrated if you're some sort of Star Trek hipster "I liked it before it was cool".

Darmok is one of those episodes you could introduce non-Trekkies too and they'd be able to relate to it, it's got a tale of friendship between two completely different people in their attempt to understand one another, it's the very core of Trek "to seek out new life and new civilisations".

Sure, on an aesthetics point of view you might nitpick on "This scene was quite boring" or "This part of the script needed some work" but 99% of people aren't going to really notice that so that's where theres a difference between a "review" and a "dissection". Remember these episodes are only 45 minutes long, they can't go into detail about the entire Tamarian civilisation and it's inner workings plus even the writers don't necessarily know, so cutting the episode open and dissecting its internals and then claiming "it doesn't really work" isn't a review its - to extend the metaphor - a post-mortem.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

What gets me is that, there is really no need for the ridiculous "Macrovirus" idea. Just call it a parasite.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

We can all be grateful that the good people who post here FAR OUTWEIGH the... ah, well you know how it goes.
Set Bookmark
N
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Far from terrible, if not very far; more of a 1.5 than a 2 for me. What works about it works because of Colm Meaney's and Terry Farrell's strong comic performances - they react to the silly situation in funny and relatable ways that help make the whole episode less bizarre and offputting to the audience than it could have been. Plus the Odo/Quark fare is as strong as it has been throughout season 1, and Kira's PTSD moment of imagining an explosion and injuries is well-conveyed. What doesn't work is the whole space anomaly plot, which dominates the episode more and more, and the swift resolution and poor motivation/explanation for the aliens' behavior. The Buck Bokai actor is not good and miscast. The best parts of the ep are the Bashir/Dax scenes, which manage to be funny without being exploitative and even allow the real Dax a nuanced response (along the lines of "I almost feel we're the ones violating your privacy by having to witness your perfectly normal fantasy... but do you really want me to be so submissive?") as well as the teaser in which O'Brien discovers Rumpelstiltskin in Molly's bedroom - a WTF kitsch classic that lets us know this is going to be A Bad Hour Of Star Trek and works even better because of the look on O'Brien's face.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

I've always tried to err on the side of allowing open conversation and not moderating/deleting comments, unless they veer into slurs or hate speech. And on the whole I've always marveled at the high quality of the posts and civility here. It is reassuring.

That said, there's always the exception who acts like an asshole, but what ya gonna do.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

@Sean-

"Isn't there some kind of Federation legal mumbo jumbo about using real life images for characters on the holodeck? On the plus side, gave the actors more to do on this episode. "

I think we talked about this for the Barkley holodeck / Three Musketeers episode board before, and the consensus is that it's not illegal but it IS frowned upon lol.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

If we put Caedus and Okrad in a cage match, we'd easily get more entertainment than this episode.

(Hopes the Discovery writers are reading.)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Whew! I was nervous there for a moment when I thought we might not get Okrad's star rating, but there it is and the day is saved.

I sometimes feel glimmers of what it must be like to run this site, and all the care Jammer has put into it. I don't know how exactly what his experience is of reading all the various kinds of comments people leave, but I know in his place when reading the comment section my finger would be twitching over the delete button at times.
Set Bookmark
Okrad Del Diablo
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 4:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

btw forgot to rate it - 2 stars. Not much to the ep but its comedy value, but I laughed so hard that I'l give 1 star for that, and another star for Alura. Damn that bitch is hot! ;)
Set Bookmark
Okrad Del Diablo
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Fuck all this political correctness, and fuck so many ppl who can't take an episode for what it is - a ham-fisted comedy, and are so thin-skinned they can't take a joke. Thank god I dont live in the West, among so many politically-correct little snowflakes.

That dabo-chick Alura was damn hot! Those tits and that smile.... mmmyummy a line from "Alien Resurrection" comes to mind: "Severely Fuckable" :) I dont blame Quark for salivating over her, I would too. Ofc, I would find a more subtle approach to get her in my bed, but... some chicks like directness, and she proved in the end that she likes it.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 2:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

One of the first TOS episodes I saw as a kid -- and I don't remember liking it. Over the years, I've wavered between grooving on it and finding it awful, but now I've come to decide that I like "The Savage Curtain." I'll give it 3/4 stars.

While Lincoln's initial appearance on the viewscreen is campy, and soured me on this one as a kid, the story actually develops into a fairly serious, thoughtful, and well-scripted exploration of violence and pacifism. And at this point in my life, I've seen so much brainless and tasteless Star Trek episodes since I first saw this one -- including dozens of bad TNG, DS9, Voyager, and especially Enterprise episodes -- that I've softened on "Savage Curtain" quite a bit. For me, it's rather refreshing to watch "Savage Curtain" after seeing the 100th shuttle crash episode on Voyager or the 50th Archer-is-held-hostage episode on Enterprise.

This show gets points from me for being consistently intriguing, attention-holding, and even compelling at times. The crew interaction, banter, and debate in the early scenes when "Lincoln" comes aboard is especially sharp -- I particularly like the idealism of the classic Roddenberry-scripted exchange between Uhura and the president about race. Scotty and Bones are delightfully combative, Chekov and Sulu get a bit of screen time as they cover for Kirk and Spock on the bridge, and the Excalbian rock alien is cool.

This episode is important in Trek lore for introducing some major characters who later recur in the franchise's fictional universe. Although Kahless hardly makes an impact, being a fairly one-note projection of Kirk's negative image of Klingons, Colonel Green -- later seen on Enterprise as an inspiration for the xenophobic separatist group led by Peter Weller's character at the end of Season 4 -- makes a pretty strong impression as a symbol of humanity's dystopian past in a series that's normally very idealistic about humanity. But above all else, I really treasure the sensitive and thoughtful exchanges between Kirk and Spock with Lincoln and Surak, as they try to make sense of the situation and respond to it. It's a nice touch that the characters projected from the minds of Kirk and Spock, both good and evil, think themselves real despite not quite understanding their situation.

Ultimately, I can't go higher than 3 stars because the concept of aliens forcing the Enterprise crew to do battle was already a cliche on TOS by this point in the series run, and had arguably been done better on earlier episodes. Also, the climactic victory moment of Kirk and Spock is underplayed to the point of being well over before you realize they've succeeded. But the intelligent characterization of Lincoln and Surak, who the plot takes very seriously, makes the show worthwhile -- the expanding of Vulcan's backstory with the introduction of Surak is a uniquely strong highlight of the show. While the final lesson that good fights for others while evil fights for selfish gain feels a bit obvious in the end, I also like how "Savage Curtain" concludes on a note of moral ambiguity, with the Excalbian rock creature remaining skeptical of the human distinction between good and evil even as he grasps it and frees the crew as promised.

On that note, it's nice to see a TOS episode that ends with an alien who exists somewhat beyond our categories of good and evil, rather than being merely a good alien or bad alien or bad alien masquerading as good alien or good alien masquerading as bad alien. If you watch this episode closely, getting past the initial goofiness of the Lincoln reveal, there's actually quite a bit of substance and nuance in the plot. Incidentally, the Lincoln stuff reminded me of Voyager's "The 37s" episode, which began with a Chevy '57 appearing on the viewscreen and proceeded to discover Amelia Earhart and other figures from earth history living in stasis on a Delta Quadrant planet where they had been kidnapped. The difference is that Voyager took the idea of human historical figures living in outer space seriously, whereas this unfairly maligned TOS episode treats the same notion rather more sensibly as an illusion that is nevertheless real for the crew.
Set Bookmark
GtheMVP
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I loved this episode

I have a broken leg and have been binging all of DS9, while finishing Voyager and Enterprise, which I never could when it was on tv initially.

I have been saving this series for a second rewatching since it aired, so I've forgotten the many twists and turns. While Picard is my fav Captain, DS9 was my fav series, with its dark and intriguing Dominion war and cast of many memorable characters.

Vic is right up there as one of my fav characters,as he was able to take the crew out of their element, especially for another fav, the ever guarded Odo.

I'm a grown freaking man and this episode made me tear up in happiness for our friendly shapeshifter. Maybe it's like the equally guarded Picard dropping a tear in front of Data while he was abducted by the Borg, or crying in the arms of his brother, the vulnerability of Odo really got to me.

It's not easy to do a romance amongst so much technobabble,but this was more than story about love and relations, it was an evolution of Odo.

My words can't do it justice, but like the Dax and Worf love episode a few shows ago, DS9 really nailed this.

P.s.I love these reviews and their comments. I've read each one after every episdoe since the beginning of season 5 and wanted to chime in, thank you!
Set Bookmark
Linda
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

In Ten Forward, Pulaski accuses Data of not being able to solve mysteries because Data is incapable of having an original thought or inspiration. Nonsense. Data has already proved Pulaski wrong by all of the mysteries that he’s previously helped the Enterprise solve. Of course, Pulaski hadn’t been around in Season One to see it. (Lucky her, considering the quality of most of those episodes!)

Before Geordi ever entered his command for the computer to create an adversary worthy of Data, Moriaty sees the arch form and already seems to be scheming. The computer responds to Moriaty’s “command” for the arch, though the computer didn’t seem to produce the arch as part of Geordi’s wish for a “Data-worthy adversary,” but simply because Moriaty requested it. Moriaty learns everything to disrupt the Enterprise from the Computer: apparently he asks questions and the computer honestly answers. That the computer releases what has to be some classified secrets to a Data-worthy adversary for the sake of a holodeck program seems highly unlikely. Later Picard makes the point that he’s going to dress as a typical man of the time, so as not to give up any additional information to Moriarty. But when Picard meets Moriarty, Picard squeals like a stuck pig. And, as noted by others, as a very worthy adversary, Moriarty seems to give up awfully quickly.

But considering the quality of some of the previous storylines, it’s an enjoyable episode with some fun moments and banter.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Ugh......

Not having the baby be Chakotay's
Not letting the baby die
Killing off Suder because he's "not interesting"
Killing off Seska in the weakest way possible

I hate Jeri Taylor - 1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Great wrap-up to the show, the montage was fantastic, so poignant, NO *YOU* SHUT UP YOU'RE CRYING!!!

Thanks for all the reviews and all your comments guys, it's been fun. :)
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Where are the Vulcans?
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Towards the end I was really willing Kirk to go through with that punch, or just chuck the little sod out of an airlock. I'm a bad person :p

This is an interesting episode for me in that it coincidentally follows me having read quite a good social skills series over on reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/socialskills/comments/47v23l/how_to_be_socially_skilled_pt1_getting_started
Everything that is mentioned in that series came up in this episode. It felt like I'd just got to the end of a class and been shown a demonstration video :)

As noted by someone in the previous episode's comments, you do see more UhuraXSpock than I remember, along with more emotions in Spock early on, kind of invalidating those criticisms when they're directed at the 2009 reboot. (I'm still not a big fan of the reboot though)
Set Bookmark
Welchie!!!!!
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

This is a damn good episode. It was fun, intriguing, excellently acted. This is a Five star episode. The best mashing of TNG and DS9 to date. I liked the Kiss at the end the writers remind us again that Riker will act like Riker.
Set Bookmark
JP
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

The controversy stirred by this episode is fairly interesting, and I am all for episodes which ask difficult even unanswerable questions. While I feel this happened in moments of Retrospects, I also feel those moments were terribly disjointed and overwhelmed by the seemingly unintentional and clearly confusing messages.

I don't care about the implications for Kovin here, simply because they are not difficult to grasp nor are they particularly interesting. I will point out that in the show he IS presumed innocent, his alarm is at being subject to the law in any capacity. He feels, perhaps correctly, that it will destroy his career if anybody finds out he was investigated even momentarily. That's messed up. We have the victim's testimony, the medical professionals strong recommendation, the captain's approval, and Tuvok earnestly promising a fair trial and unbiased investigation. Kovin appears to believe his assault is de facto not a crime as it should not be investigated under any circumstances. Which is, obviously, absurd.

I understand the intention to do an episode about false memories. First, they flubbed it. Dumb, dumb, dumb. Second they stated that they felt they had succeeded in separating the sexual elements of a date rape story away from the false memory story. Wrong. Putting aside at what point they thought they had a 'date rape' story, they explicitly used the language of sexual assault victims in almost every scene. Why not model the false memory off of ptsd? Why not flip one or both gender roles? Tuvok has a pretty messed up head, couldn't we be blaming him for other people's trust in him.

The biggest failure, is that they show the "false memory sequence" with no difficulty and it's weirdly sexualised. Doc says it happened and seconds later we are present at the event. Are mental health professionals that potent/dangerous, or as suggested later are victims of assault the susceptible to delusion? Not only that, the event quickly becomes an arms dealer arranged for me to follow him to his lab where he shot me point blank which I guess is date rape in space because then he violated me and I didn't remember it 'til just now. If we have a false memory here, and if it is being planted by the doctor, shouldn't that be signaled by the writers. Take time to develop the docs logic so we can later point to his error, not hers. Or take time to develop the memory instead of the instant response we got. Maybe don't show us what you later say (but don't prove) isn't there.

I think viewers who need to argue away the complications here are partly biased, and seeing what they want to see, and partly victim to the biases and errors of the script. It's a shame that so much of the discussion revolves around Korvin and how he is treated or about people's personal views on rape. The story the writers wanted to write was about us, about the crew, and how they reacted. Not the facts of the matter, but the social response to the unknowable. Again they failed, but even in failing that becomes the most interesting part of the episode. The logic and the implications in how the crews position progressed is well worth discussion as well as how they came to make it an issue about them in the first place. Personally, I think the character with a history of 'being violated' being pushed into integrating with society and engaging with an unliked individual only to then be condemned for defending herself against the stranger/arms dealer, and later deciding that as a society you had failed to rise above her individuality to act with collective impartiality and disregard her experience is all massively problematic and interesting. Pity it couldn't also have been coherent.

In order to look at the show in different ways I do sometimes presume Korvin is guilty. But either way I look at it, I still end up with more questions and more emotional response for Doc and Janeaway than for Korvin or Seven of Nine.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Isn't there some kind of Federation legal mumbo jumbo about using real life images for characters on the holodeck? On the plus side, gave the actors more to do on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

@ Welchie!!!!!

Sure he could, he's the son of the station commander after all. And the Emissary's kid too. He could probably have half of Bajor if he wanted to :D
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,529
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.