Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 20,931 (Showing 101-125)

Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 838
HolographicAndrew - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:34am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Personally I don't really believe the myriad of reasons for the departure of Kes. To me it seems clear that they just replaced one hot female with another. I don't buy for a second that they were considering having both of them on the show.

It's just odd that it was so transparent that the new character was introduced at the exact same time she leaves.

That aside, atleast I found her storyline in this episode quite a satisfying conclusion to the character at this point.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:30am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I love the "Vic" episodes.

I love episodes that explore the Kira/Odo relationship.

I don't love this one though. It’s kind of a love/hate relationship with this one.

Cute yes, humorous yes, touching at times yes, but necessary? ... I don't think so.

It's actually a character killer for Kira. Didn't Odo just "go all linky" with the lead Founder and totally forget/disregard his job and responsibility? Resulting in the falling of the minefield and risk of death to his crewmates? How does Kira just forget that? IS this the same Kira that just plotted to kill her own mother? I don’t see a “forgiving Kira” here…

It’s a personal opinion I know, but here we are again, a “relationship” within the Chain of Command…. That never works (see Jadzia & Worf [Change of Heart]) and we ALL know what Odo is capable of doing with regards to his feelings for Kira (8000 wiped out [Children of Time]). I thought their relationship up to this point was a great one. Very enjoyable. Deep at times, funny at times…

This was neither needed nor desired and this is at this time is like jumping off a cliff right after ITPM.

1 star.
Robert - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:24am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

@Dave - I don't like this episode but I think "It's basically a apologist argument for abusive upbringings in "foreign places." is a bizarrely off base argument.

There is a difference between coming from a culture where it's acceptable to beat your kid and coming from a culture where it's acceptable to let your kids do things American parents would find dangerous. Before helicopter parenting kids jumped their bikes over ditches without helmets on, climbed trees/buildings, ran across roofs, played outdoors, used jungle gyms (those are basically not even allowed anymore) and you know what? They broke arms and stuff.

I am not defending this episode but the writers intended it to be canonical that Endar was NOT abusing Jeremiah. Fractured ribs? A broken arm? A concussion? Back in the day you could get such from climbing a tree, playing on a jungle gym and some football on the pavement in a parking lot.

"Have you ever had a son desperately try to win your approval, your respect? Jono broke his ribs riding on a t'stayan. Six hooves. A very powerful beast. The arm, in a contest with other youths. He endured the pain and won the competition. One day, he will be a great warrior."

If you think that line is BS you're reading something into the episode that is not there. Given your upbringing (which I am sorry for) it does not surprise me that you read them as lies. But the episode was not written to have them be lies, the actor did not deliver them as lies and Picard (who is our hero and we're supposed to trust his judgement) states his complete belief in these lines.

My cousin got a serious concussion falling off a horse and that's not a really powerful 6 hooved beast. Children's games in warrior cultures would be rougher than here, but even human cultures are not immune. Heck, even humans in the 24th century play dangerous games. Parrises squares killed the Doctor's daughter!

I'm not telling you to like this episode, to agree with Picard or to agree with the decision. I personally sided with Sisko in Cardassians, so I'd technically side against Picard here. But those lines are not lies and if you read them as such it's entirely a product of how your life colored this episode for you.
Robert - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

@Nonya - For like a minute. From the moment he sat on the spine to the moment he told Kira his plan to kill Ziyal (which all happened in a single scene). The episode so nicely helped you let your guard down with Dukat and make the two of them feel cute together and then slammed you in the face with the fact that he's a killer and what he's capable of.

It partially redeems him of course that he didn't kill Ziyal (especially if you take the position that he told Kira because he wanted to be stopped) but it was such a contrast between the two of them laughing together and him talking about murdering his daughter that the brief thought was fleeting. But I'll admit I had it.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:00am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Pretty decent Torres stuff. Otherwise, it is typical filler that is watchable enough with a few nicely conveyed character moments and some by-the-numbers plotting.

2.5 stars.
Robert - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:57am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Sean - You make some good points, but some fall flat.

"Again, why simply helping people is controversial is beyond me."

Nobody is saying that. Simply helping PRE WARP people is controversial. I don't know that it should be, and if you've read my take on the issue I think Archer made the wrong call.... but somewhere between "Dear Doctor" and "Homeward" there probably is a line we should not cross. I believe the as yet un-existing Prime Directive should not apply because these people are literally launching ships into the heavens looking for saviors with warp technology.

Everything is a slippery slope, it's a grey morality thing. Helping with medicine is totally cool right, but would you give them phasers and shield technology if they lived next door to the Borg? I mean... that's just as likely to off them as a genetic disease...

The Prime Directive is about deciding where to draw lines, and what I liked about this episode is that it said that Archer wasn't sure where to draw them. That's a pretty standard reaction for the first human captain and it colors his character in an interesting way. He's not perfect, he's not god. Was this maybe the perfect episode to say that? No. But I thought it served alright.

"Again, another episode within this same show: Archer pleads with the Organians in Observer Effect to help him. When it's his people that are dying from a disease, the people that can but won't help are horrible monsters. But when it's someone else, we didn't come out here to play god and evolution demands that we don't help."

That episode is so different from this it's not even funny. EVERY TIME the Federation EVER came across a planet with a danger like this they tossed a beacon to warn new comers. Why did the Organians not do that? Because they wanted to keep the planet in it's lethal state for the sake of running experiments.

They WERE interfering in a way already. Science tells us that simply observing something can be interfering. Especially the WAY they were doing it....

It'd be like if you knew the playground you jogged by every day was unsafe and you didn't tell anybody the flaws you noticed because you wanted to see how the children dealt with getting hurt.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:48am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

One of the better executed episodes so far this season. No major turns in plot for the sake of itself; just good storytelling from beginning to end. The plight of the old man was touching and tragic. Unfortunately, in this viewers opinion, the episode was not as touching and tragic as it seemed to want to be. I can't put my finger on it, so I won't.

It is well done, though.

3 stars.
not-dead-yet-jim - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 7:59am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Am I the only one that thought the station showed elements of Borg-like qualities?
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 7:26am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

The Valakians did reach out for help, and Archer did help them.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 7:00am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I'll rate this later when I rewatch Voyager but damn, folks that are making a cow out of the truck need to get over yourselves. Seeing Tuvok draw his phasOr when it back-fires is worth it all :-)

Lighten up people! Have some fun! Every episode doesn't need to be Scorpion, or Inner Light...
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 6:37am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

Yes, just you :-)
Todd - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 5:59am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Skeptical, I disagree on the notion that DS9 suddenly made Gowron incompetent. For starters, we don't know if he was ever a particularly effective tactician to begin with, but that wasn't the problem on DS9. The problem was he was *intentionally* making Martok (who apparently WAS an effective tactician) look bad by sending him into hopeless battles to discredit him.

I do wish we'd seen more of what supposedly made Kahless great, emphasizing a sense of honor, but for an episode about faith, Worf's proposed compromise of having Kahless installed as emperor was the best possible compromise to avert division or even another civil war. Neither Gowron, nor Korath, seem particularly happy about it (maybe not even Worf, for that matter) but seem to understand it's the best solution there is.

All in all, despite being an agnostic myself, I really enjoyed this episode and what address, regarding faith and symbols.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 3:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

Quite an enjoyable episode despite the contrivances. Once again, though, it is also seemingly another example of the writers not thinking things through completely when developing a story. Jammers quibbles are of note. I do like one commenters example of shields going down long enough to attempt transport. I believe that's what they meant in "Caretaker" when they spoke of combat-transport.

Chakotay risking himself was all fine and good, but leaving the opportunity open for the Kazon to have the shuttle, core wipe or no, was utterly foolish. I wasn't too bothered with Seska being left behind. After everything was said and done, it was a judgement call and they probably figured it would be too dangerous of a hassle considering that set of circumstances.

As far as Seska not taking over Voyager at the outset; I can see why they didn't. Why risk the crew of one Kazon ship in a takeover attempt when you can instead steal an important piece of tech, use it as a bargaining chip in acquiring an alliance, and THEN use said alliance to overpower Voyager for the tech? Makes sense to me.

The pacing was great, the direction was tight, and there were some really good scenes. The interrogation especially was well played out.

3 stars.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 2:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

This showing is a prime example of why Voyager, as a series, frustrates the hell out of me. We get a fantastic recap opening scene to set up a potentially great episode. This scene is followed by a few acts of nicely done character growth for the oft under-utilized Kes. All of it involving the ever reliable guest star Gary Graham and the hope for further insights into the Nacine. Plus an opportunity to learn more about the wayword Ocampa.

After a pretty satisfying, yet lengthy appetizer tasting menu, we're prepared for the main course. The plate is set before us which consists of simply dried, moldy bread slathered in what seems to be actual shit.

Enjoy what you can; just make sure to satiate your appetite before the last course here at the Unfulfilled Potential Restaurant and Bar.

2.5 stars.


Gandhi - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 1:37am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

An eye for an eye will leave the whole world blind
Dave in NC - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 1:17am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

@ Andrew

I disagree wholeheatedly!!!

Endar was antagonistic because he was from a warlike race that kills parents in front of their children and then abducts these children back to their world, where entire personalities and heritages are systematically replaced by the violent primitive thinking of an alien culture.

And what of Jeremiah's numerous significant injuries which so alarmed Dr. Crusher? The explanation offered in the episode was laughable.

Jeremiah should NEVER have been sent back because HE DIDN'T BELONG WITH THEM IN THE FIRST PLACE. He was kidnapped and mentally and physically abused.

The more I think about it, the more I really hate this episode. It's basically a apologist argument for abusive upbringings in "foreign places." I hate the message it sends, and I hate the way it puts a great character like Picard in a bad light.

A personal note: I was adopted and raised by someone originally from another country. I was abused a lot as a child, and I still remember watching this for the first time at age 12. I totally understood Jeremiah's internal conflict, feeling love for people that can't or won't express it to you, people that you don't really have a connection with, despite all your best efforts.

I still remember despairing when Picard bought Endar's lies about the abuse, and I can also recall being really upset when Jeremiah was sent back. This episode actually contributed to my staying silent, and that is something that I guess still gets to me a little. Sometimes the moral IS important.

How anyone can like this episode is beyond me. Truly a ZERO STAR episode.
Dave in NC - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 12:29am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

An episode that depends on contrived plot twists and red herrings to keep the obvious from being obvious.

First off, Ben Sisko is a BIG fan of Professor Seyetik and his celebrated/celebrity career, yet he has no idea that he is married?! Much like the Geordi/Leah Brahms episode, marriage status doesn't appear to be publicly available information in the future. Except other episodes directly contradict this possibility, so what gives? Bad plotting.

Fenna and Sisko didn't have a relationship, you could barely call it a flirtation. The longest amount of time they spent together (traveling from the Promenade to the docking ring) we don't even see. What did they talk about in the intervening time? Whatever it was, it wasn't anything personal, judging by the dialogue we did see. I also thought it odd that Sisko didn't just say "Computer, halt turbolift, security authorization etc etc" when Fenna ran off in the docking ring.

In four years, THIS is the first woman that Sisko had any kind of infatuation with? A woman he spent maybe a half hour with? I'm not sure I'm buying what they're selling here.

When Sisko meets Odo in his office to find Fenna, it's strange that Sisko doesn't think it prudent to mention her doubly-pointy ears. I know there are a lot of species out there, but you'd think a pseudo-Vulcan would sort of stick out. Maybe because that would have solved the mystery in five minutes. Very contrived.

And when Odo DOES find out that the woman doesn't exist on any manifest, he makes the rather ridiculous claim that not one member of the Prometheus's crew has disembarked for Deep Space 9 in the three days it has been there (other than the Professor). And how did not one surveillance camera catch this woman? More bad plotting.

I also found it odd that his wife had conjured Fenna three times over two days (twice during the day) and her husband (nor any Prometheus crewmember) noticed it.

I didn't like the persona of his wife, she came across as a rather stony-faced grim enigma in the little screen time she was given. She didn't express any kind of spousal affection to her husband at all. I understand the actress was trying to draw a dichotomy between the two characters she was playing, but when Ben told Nidell at the end she was exactly like Fenna, I rolled my eyes. They were polar opposites.

I think we were supposed to hate the scientist character and his personality, but everything the plot and background information told us showed that he was indeed an accomplished and gifted man. Since the "douchebag husband consumed with work" characterization didn't ring true, Nidell's true reasons for being angry with her husband were never explained (other than a vague sentence from the Professor about her mating for life and some ensuing disagreements).

Come to think of it, if her species DOES mate for life, you'd think she would have taken more care in choosing a spouse, especially one who dresses in such a provocative boisterous manner. (Seriously, who is his tailor?!)

Nitpicks: Does Nidell have dreams of being a hairstylist and fashion designer? Those were some pretty banging threads for a dream made flesh.

Why is Kira so obsessed with Sisko's morning routine? It didn't seem to fit her character. (I sense a rewrite from an originally Dax perspective).

More nitpicks: Why didn't Nidell mention that she had conjured up this woman before? Why didn't Seyetik call sickbay when he finally did see his wife was in distress? Also too, the actor who played the Commander of the Prometheus was very wooden. Snooze!

And why exactly was it necessary for the Professor to ACTUALLY kill himself in order to free his wife? Surely the Federation would have helped him fake his death to spare his wife's life. More terrible plotting.

Unusually for any modern Trek show (since TNG Season 3), this show LOOKS bad. The lighting is noticeably too bright, the various camera shots seem to linger a second too long, the characters not their usual selves. Everything about the episode seems kind of off. Especially noticeable is the incredibly slow way Nidell starts to clear the table after dinner, and the ridiculous baby steps she takes on her goodbye walk in the final shot. This episode was padded to fill time, and then some.

The only things that really worked for me were the exploration of the father-son dynamic between Sisko and Jake, the crew banter before the banquet, and the actual rebirth of the star. Special kudos to the composer of the star-rebirth score, who managed to sneak in some melody despite the Producers commands to the contrary.

Not a very good episode at all. 1.5 stars (and only because I liked the too-few father-son scenes).
Vylora - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 12:16am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Admittedly, there's some decent effort given to this episode. However I have a feeling that the writers, at times, delve into story ideas without really thinking them through. The Chakotay story here was admirable enough but some of it didn't feel quite right. It didn't help that too many contrivances were involved. The parts involving the Doctor, though, were fantastic.

2.5 stars.
Vylora - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 11:58pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

Sometimes, in fiction, it is quite alright to not be given any answers. This is one of those times. I found most of the scenes to be quite effective in slowly building a sense of delusional paranoia. I agree with Jammer in that the spreading of the hallucinations among the crew slowed the dramatic momentum a bit. However, it also allowed for a few interesting scenes. Whether they were necessary additions or not is debatable.

This is a breath of fresh air after the last few clunkers and a pretty good showing in its own right. The whole "only the Doctor can save us" premise (with Kes in this instance) doesn't bother me when it's done as well as it is here. Only downside is the reasons for some of the crew slipping into a catatonic state showed a weaker willpower on their part than I would like to think that they should have.

3 stars.
Nonya - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 11:56pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

....So...does anybody else have a little piece of them that kinda wishes Dukat and Kira would have gotten together?

No? Just me then?
Sean - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 11:46pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I wasn't aware we were talking about economics, technology, or politics. Elliott, at this point I'm talking about Star Trek's confliction with itself on this point. Star Trek's morality is one in which it's a no brainer to answer distress calls and help people. This episode (and others like it from TNG and VOY) try to make the opposite case.

And actually, it is about helping people. As I asked before, how many people does it take before curing a disease is somehow different? Because doctors treat people all the time. Indeed, many doctors look for cures for diseases. In Star Trek, doctors work with multiple different species and multiple different diseases from these species. At what number of people does it change from simply helping people to whatever it is you're talking about?

We like DS9 because it didn't have a clear cut answer to everything. That was the point. It was very different from most Trek in that regard. Moral ambiguity was everywhere in that show. However even Sisko would agree with Starfleet morality: that answering distress calls and helping people who ask for help was the right thing to do (and he even did so on numerous occasions). Again, why simply helping people is controversial is beyond me.

Again, another episode within this same show: Archer pleads with the Organians in Observer Effect to help him. When it's his people that are dying from a disease, the people that can but won't help are horrible monsters. But when it's someone else, we didn't come out here to play god and evolution demands that we don't help.
Sean - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 11:39pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Is this episode penance for Dear Doctor? You be the judge.
Vylora - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:42pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

It's a credit to Frakes' direction and some good performances that this episode is better than it actually is. Unfortunately, it is still subpar quality Star Trek with more contrivances than intelligent storytelling. Watchable enough, but not passable.

2 stars.
Vylora - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Go home, Voyager! You're drunk!

I give this a bit of credit for weirdness, a few good moments, and the ultimate acknowledgement of defeat by the crew. I'm sure there are much better ways to tell that story than this. In the end it all amounts to nothing and is mostly a waste of airwaves.

Half star.
Katie - Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:18pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Elliott, this is not true. Capitalism is free markets, and even the currencies themselves are also subject to whatever happens in the marketplace. In a real capitalistic society, there would be multiple currencies, and the best of them would be rise to the top. It could be gold or something else - let the market decide.

When I refer to capitalism, and I am referring to Laissez-faire capitalism where the markets are not controlled by governments and there is a respect for property rights.
Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 838
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer