Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,794 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,552
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Jason R.,

I've heard from other sources it's meant to be Mustafar, although to be honest I didn't notice that when I first watched the film.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"And of course, we revisit Mustafar and discover that Vader decided to build his castle at the very place he lost not only his wife and mentor, but also his own body. A way to keep his anger and hate properly fueled. "

Is that fire planet Mustafar? Based on Force Awakens in particular, it seems Disney has an antipathy toward significant continuity with the prequels. Remember the desert planet that wasn't Tatooine and the city planet with a Senate that wasn't Coruscant?
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Jammer's review is too harsh here - how this episode rates lower (by a full *) than "Two Days, Two Nights" makes no sense. But I agree with Jammer here: "This all feels hastily scripted and unconvincing. Although the episode is nicely paced and technically well directed, it comes across as a string of blatantly silly mechanics."
It would be tough to live up to Part 1 and there is a lot of handwaving - the part about Archer coming back from the 31st century to kick Silik's ass is far too much of a stretch.
ENT tends to do some stupid things like Hoshi's shirt coming off - totally unnecessary.
Daniels not explaining anything to Archer (and therefore us) does let the writers off the hook and is very convenient. If they are truly stranded hopelessly in the 31st century, why not be more forthcoming?
I didn't mind the action scenes for the Tripp & Co. to retake Enterprise but the trick with the warp engines to get rid of the Suliban is also a stretch.
The writers set themselves up for a letdown on this episode but it is still one of the better Season 1 episodes. I'd give it a strong 2.5/4.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

Easily the best episode from an ok Season 1. Watching it right after "Two Days, Two Nights" makes it come across as even better given the action scenes, good pacing and good lines.
Interesting that Daniels, TCW, Suliban are all at play here and the plot works for me. The whole TCW / time travel thing is a big ? but it not worrying about the details of the TCW allows this episode to work.
Usually these 2 parters have a great 1st part. Can only hope 2nd part lives up to the 1st part. I liked the action scene on the Suliban ship - good to see the Enterprise trio at their action best. The Suliban play convincing villains - not as good as say the Borg in "Best of Both Worlds" but them and the whole TCW thing is ENT's main storyline.
One of the few episodes I'd go back and re-watch from Season 1 of ENT. 3.5/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

At this point I'd gladly take every bridge crew officer as a card-carrying member of the Rainbow Coalition as long as they hurry the damn thing up haha.
Set Bookmark
Eduardo
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

With films coming out every year, it's going to be increasingly difficult to do a proper viewing marathon of the saga. It was challenging enough to do the seven Skywalker films in one sitting.

With Rogue One (which is borderline Episode 3.5 to me), I went for a different approach. I consider it part of the Death Star arc. Therefore, I watched the films in the following order:

Attack of the Clones
Revenge of the Sith
Rogue One
A New Hope

This list makes the most sense.

Attack of the Clones introduces the Death Star schematics designed by the Geonosians.

Revenge of the Sith shows us the DS skeleton being built.

Rogue One has flashback scenes with a young Jyn Erso living in Coruscant, presumably around Episode III's timeframe.

Bail Organa's Corvette is officially introduced in Episode III and brought back for Rogue One.

And of course, we revisit Mustafar and discover that Vader decided to build his castle at the very place he lost not only his wife and mentor, but also his own body. A way to keep his anger and hate properly fueled.

Since Episodes II, III and Rogue One are all downbeat depressing films with dark and/or sad endings, it makes sense for the action to follow into A New Hope, giving viewers the well deserved happy ending.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Actually I will make one specific criticism of 'North Star' after all, because I think it explains why I can't just go along with the 'Shucks, why can't you just enjoy a light episode' thinking. 'Twilight' did no harm to the - remember DESPERATELY URGENT - Xindi story arc, because ultimately it never happened. But here, Archer and co. completely forget that the genocide of the Human race is imminent, and go arsing around on the set of Gunsmoke. I see now Limey made this point already, but it's sorta important, I'd have thought.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Let me see... What I liked about this episode:
1. Odo's friendship with the girl was nice given Odo's normal character.
2. While a very minor part, I really liked how Jake's father respected his son's decision not to join Star Fleet.
3. While I have no idea how advanced that man's (forgot his name) species is, that holo-projector appeared to be more advanced than a Star Fleet holodeck (although Voyager later appeared to contradict that). Hard to believe he could have built and programmed it all by himself. He could rival lt. Barclay if he joined Star Fleet. (!) Any way, it was a decent episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

I don't get Jammer's overly glowing review but others calling it total garbage are a bit harsh. It is a dull episode with nothing really happening for the 1st half hour. 4 storylines to fill an hour.
Didn't think Hoshi would be so loose - would have been better if she didn't get in bed with the stranger even if things went along well. Tripp/Malcolm's escapade was entirely predictable. I actually enjoyed Phlox's revival - did make me chuckle. But what was more interesting was Archer's incident with the disguised Tandaran although it was slow in developing. Does set the stage for more to come on that storyline.
Overall almost a waste of a total episode, not sure how Jammer gives it 3 stars - it's definitely one of the weaker episodes. 1.5/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 2:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

After the exceptional 'Twilight' I'm not going to dismiss this episode because it failed to contribute anything to the Xindi story arc.

I 'll just dismiss it for being awful.

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Michael... hmmm.

This is all predicated on next to nothing of course, but it would seem a big leap, though not actually out of character, if Trek were to skip over homosexuality to go straight to a transgender lead. Except they haven't, really; they've only avoided going near MALE homosexuality.

In DS9 Jadzia falls in love with one of Dax's exes when they're both biologically female.

The mirror universe Kira is strongly depicted as bisexual at times.

In Voyager, Kes (or technically the guy who's taken possession of her) gets flirtatious with his girlfriend, but visually it's female-female.

And, if it counts, the supposedly 'third sex' character in Enterprise, by Tucker's admission, looks more female than male (actually she looks like David Bowie circa 1972, but whatever).

I'm not stretching my brain cells too hard, but I don't recall any even semi-serious depictions of gay males in TV Trek. Unless you count Quark in drag, which would only mean they were still in the 70's and could only treat it as a comic subject.

It's not a huge thing to me, but why is it that female homosexuality, even if only obliquely approached, is acceptable in Trek, but not its male counterpart. If this new lead does have complex gender or sexuality, he/she is once again nevertheless in a female body. Is it that most Trek fans are guys? Am I missing the Point Entirely?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Well, I sure feel stupid. I've been saying all season that ENT should stick to the main story arc, and that the main problem was wandering off into material that didn't advance the overall said arc. Then THIS comes along, using the reset button and contributing nothing whatsoever to the story arc, and it's the best damn episode of ENT yet. As a Canadian friend once said to me, "There's so much irony in that, you could move it around with magnets."

Very early on, as soon as I got a basic idea what was happening, I started thinking of DS9's 'The Visitor'. Well, it ain't quite in that exalted territory, but miraculously, IMO, it's the first ENT episode which approaches greatness. What stops it tipping over the edge - again just IMHO - is primarily too much complexity. Too much going on. Too many ideas and action eventually swirling around together. It doesn't have 'Visitor's still center. Both episodes involve bizarre metaphysical weirdness, but in 'Visitor' it's always reined in, subservient to the emotional journey of Jake and his father. Here, though the episode makes strides with the emotional development of the characters which i frankly wouldn't have thought possible, the bizarre metaphysical weirdness is allowed to become the center of attention.

But that being said, this is a genuine achievement from the writers and cast of ENT. I find I really cared about Archer and T'Pol. Not long ago I'd have thought that unlikely. The episode hits close to home on a number of personal levels, as I'm sure it does with many of you, but I think it would have affected me anyway.

This is the first ENT episode which I think belongs in a list of Trek's best. Not high up on the list, but if you'd told me that near the end of last year - actually if you'd told me three episodes ago - I'd have been very dubious.

Why the hell did it take nearly two and half years for this to happen?

And why, looking ahead at the 2 and 1.5 star episodes ahead (at least according to Jammer), was it such an isolated event?

Well, two worthy episodes in a row. Hats of to Mike Sussman and all concerned.

Rock solid 3.5 stars from me (I'm sorry, but if I give this 4, what do I give eps like 'Visitor'?) I'll make it 3.75 and you can round it up.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Tara,

"One thing though: Your claim that suicide's illegality is what matters (in medical decision-making and ethics) is simply completely wrong. "

If suicide was 100% legal and acceptable, I don't see how a doctor would have any business preventing a patient doing so. Medical ethics might suggest that a doctor can allow it but not assist, but a doctor couldn't disallow it. Likewise, if suicide were 100% illegal, a doctor would not be allowed to assist, nor would the patient be allowed to kill themselves if it could be prevented (as is the case in the U.S. now). Medical ethics and the law are not identical, as you say, but medical ethics cannot allow something the law deems illegal, and so this is a hard constraint. Patient suicide is prevented because of the law, not because of medical ethics, because the law is the stronger arbiter of its lack of acceptability. If suicide was legalized and medical ethics ruled that it must still not be allowed in a hospital, then you'd have a case for suicide prevention being strictly a medical ethical decision.

"Legality of patient behavior is never a consideration. We aren't cops, just like cops aren't doctors. Patients do illegal things all the time right in their hospital rooms. "

Right, but are you telling me that if a patient announced "I am going to kill myself" you would (a) do nothing about it, and (b) that if you did nothing and the patient did kill themselves, that there would be no legal repercussions for the doctor who allowed it to happen without notifying authorities? I don't think this is this case. If you correct me on this and tell me that you literally have zero liability or legal responsibility if a patient commits suicide under your care when you knew it would happen, then I'll drop this particular point. Note that I didn't claim that a doctor must enforce all aspects of the law, such as preventing a patient jaywalking or robbing a bank. I'm strictly speaking of the patient trying to kill themselves with the doctor passively looking on as it happens. As I understand it even a patient protected by confidentiality (under care of a doctor or therapist, for instance) must be reported if they make it clear they are going to kill someone else or themselves.

Assuming I'm correct in these statements, the issue is really what the law says about suicide, which in turn makes us wonder what Federation law says about this, which we aren't told. I find that a serious plot hole in the episode, since if Federation law protected a patient's right to suicide then Crusher would be totally in the wrong, whereas if it was illegal then 'committing' him to prevent it would be demanded by the law, and Crusher's position would simply be a reiteration of what the law demands.

Set Bookmark
Isostatic
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

What refreshing comments. Beyond was the highlight of a terrible year for me, with world events from Brexit to Trump, and movies from BvS to ID4-2, having some optimism for the future was needed.

Like many, the travesty of into-darkness meant that I didn't see beyond on opening day, I almost didn't watch it at all. As it happened I did watch it at the cinema, and then as it was great, I watched it again.

Sadly the box office reflects how bad STID was. Sure STID did well in the box office, but people went to watch it based on 09, which was pretty good. They didn't see Beyond because of "fool me once".

Definitely top 3 of trek movies, along with voyage home and first contact, probably just ahead of generations, insurrection and search for Spock. Top marks and then some to Simon Pegg.
Set Bookmark
Dana
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I thought the episode would end with Tom engineering an identical transporter malfunction thereby making a copy of Dana who stays on planet with him.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

Indeed very atmospheric but rather unpleasant
Set Bookmark
Vii
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Peter G: "I think you're right that it's a Curzon 2.0 episode in a way, but in the right way. It once again shows how much trouble it is for her to just pretend to be the Old Man."

I completely agree. And Sisko wasn't doing her any favours by constantly referring to her as 'Old Man.' Oh dear.

I like Jadzia, but she seems overly defined by her past hosts, Curzon in particular, in a way that Ezri never was. As you suggested this is possibly a personality weakness of hers. Jadzia mentioned that she used to be shy and introverted, which did not change until she had received the Dax symbiont, upon which she turned into Curzon 2.0. In her case, I think it's possible that the symbiont's personality overshadowed Jadzia's, which is why she was excessively influenced by the characters of her past hosts, as she was probably meeker to begin with. Ezri on the other hand strikes me as someone more aggressive, who isn't afraid to do what she wants. She left her homeworld and an overbearing family to pursue something she wanted to do, and this force of character might have been why her personality was not overwritten by that of the Dax symbiont.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

@Luke: "It does have some social progress on display, as the female (non-white female, I might add) character is allowed to die; that's at least something, I guess."

Mate, I usually enjoy your posts, but I seriously don't see your point here?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Back on track! Well, let's wait and see: last time we got a top episode, the next four were let-downs or outright duds, but hope springs eternal.

At last we get an episode where everything that happens is germane to the plot arc. There is only a minor B story here, and it has to do with Phlox and Tucker working on Xindi weaponry (whose biotechnology is a little bit dodgy, but I can live with it). The rest of proceedings make great progress in advancing the story arc, and are well paced and acted, with little action but plenty of tension.

Archer comes across as too in your face and aggressive, but thankfully not for long. If they can keep this balance; the new determined Captain, keeping his essential good nature while losing his earlier goofiness and poor decision making, we'll have a winner. The fact that the new military personnel don't question Archer is a subliminal vote of confidence, too.

John Cothrane is excellent as Gralik, and makes me wish there were more elderly or middle aged personell as regular characters in Trek. It's been an issue since the start. Is there a sort of Logan's Run system at work in Starfleet where everyone not already a senior officer and over 35 gets retired til they're 70 when they get wheeled out and made an Admiral? Strange place to mention that, and didn't mean to introduce a sour note in a review of what I think is the best episode, or equal best along with 'Anomaly' of the season thus far.

This isn't perhaps a classic, but it would have been a strong episode in any Trek series, and here it's conspicuously so. Now, some more of the same, please!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Also, have you noticed the same boring tactic people use when they don't like what someone has said? Always taking the argument to the person. Whether you like it or not, Crusher was prepared to keep Worf under house arrest indefinitely because his culture and beliefs did not gel with her own. That is exactly what the episode shows. Don't blame me, snowflake. Blame the writers.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

What I said stands for itself. It doesn't need a pillock putting his own meaning on it :)
Set Bookmark
Anna
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Just watched this again. Have to reiterate how funny I find this one. The scene where dr crusher and Picard are talking about her mother's journals is exceptional. Picard: "hmmmm it would seem that the Howard women have exceptionally vigorous libidos ". Dr crusher: "I certainly hope so". Hahahaha!! And the look on his face as he has to seriously deliver that excruciating line. Oh my, that both Patrick Stewart and Jean Luc Picard would say that line is so crazy and funny. You can't help but feel for the actors involved. But they are good sports and do their best. It's a kind of funny that can only happen when no one is trying to be funny. It's such an awful and wonderful episode.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Ezri's statement to Bashir that Jadzia would have gotten together with him if Worf hadn't come along was ridiculous. There was never any indication that Jadzia thought of Bashir as anything other than a cute puppy. It supports the offensive idea from previous episodes that Bashir had the right to consider Jadzia the one who got away, or the one he lost. She never was interested, and the retcon is just male privilege rearing its ugly head.

Rant over.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

And I would like to add something to my previous comment:

Alixus to me seems to have fallen into a trap that probably gets a lot of people, namely narrowmindedness and failing to accept that your view on how things should be isn't the only one. (While one person can't live by two opposing views, that doesn't mean that there can be multiple not entirely mutual views on things.)

Alright, I'm going to try stop rambling now. :-)
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Apr 16, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Decent episode. Alixus came across as stilted and while I partially agree with her views about the negative effects of technology, I personally probably would never want to revert to her kind of lifestyle. At least not fully. Nice review btw.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,552
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.