Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 39,449 (Showing 101-125)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,578
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, May 21, 2017, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I should mention thatI I (re)watched this episode as part of an unbroken binge which lasted into season four, without pausing to review each episode while it was fresh in my mind. Therefore I won't go into too much detail. Except this one, because for some reason it really stuck in my head:

They carry rocks in the ceiling!

Really, in the scene where Garrett's bridge is blown up, the ceiling gives way and out tumbles an avalanche of various sized rocks. I watched in slow-mo just to check, and I can't imagine what else they could reasonably be construed to be. It always seemed kinda ridiculous to me that every time they get in a firefight things blow up all over the bridge in showers of sparks and flames and smoke, as if the whole place was running on old radio vacuum tubes, but now a bunch of obviously heavy, irregularly sized but basically rock shaped rocks tumble out of the ceiling and cause grievous injury to the Captain. Did they position the Captain's chair directly beneath the ship's collection of small boulders? It's a spaceship - everything should be as light as possible without sacrificing strength, and by the 24th Century I should think that would be very light indeed, so don't tell me these things are inexplicably broken up bits of iron girders or concrete or something.

Anyway, there's my main contribution to the analysis of this episode. I don't think it really needs much else from me by now, but I'll give it a fling:

I guess I'm in the good, probably very good, but not an instant classic group. I'd be willing to buy that it was an instant classic in 1989 in terms of what had preceded it on TNG, but in the bigger picture of what came out over the following 15 or 16 years of uninterrupted TV Trek, I can think of enough episodes which are markedly better that if I give this my highest accolade, I have no room left at the top for them (1989 was, BTW, around when I started regularly watching the series. I'd been aware of it before then, but it didn't start to click with me til around this point).

My biggest problem while watching this episode is really probably my own fault more than the episode's. I guess I'm insufficiently versed in Trek history, but I wasn't clear that there was an ENT-C captained by someone called Garrett, which had existed between Kirk's and Picard's Enterprise, and it therefore seemed to me as if there weren't one but TWO alternate timelines going on. I couldn't understand which universe this other ship had come from. This distracted me quite a bit, and if it's something I should have known about, or I'm missing something obvious, the fault, as I said, is mine.

Apart from that I enjoyed the episode a lot, though it did seem at times to be a bit too contrived or vague. I think the arguments about Guinan's hunch dictating Picard's decision are very valid. I'd thought it a little atypical of Picard while I was watching it, but one tends to get caught up by the creepy atmospherics of this quite effective performance, and to not overanalyse it at the time. As has been observed, this is probably as much Twilight Zone or Fantasy as SF, but ST has never really been the sort of Hard SF which John W. Campbell would have approved of. It does wander into other genres fairly regularly (that's if you even consider SF a genre to begin with). All the same it's inevitable and probably not unfair that it is going to attract the sort of viewership who expect it to cross its T's and dot its I's at least where commonsense is concerned.

All in all, not much to complain about here, and a good but not great episode. They should do something about that ceiling insulation, though.
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Lupe

Pretty sure that's a sub-paragraph of the same regulation!

Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

My mistake, that was in "Homestead".
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

I do have to LOL that this episode has little Naomi knowing about and merrily telling about the events of "Tuvix," that must have been the writers slamming all the fans who found its ending unethical.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

This episode had a better version of Eddington than "For the Uniform" but it still or more so feels like demonizing and strawman-ing the Maquis overall, as ruthless fanatics. I really disliked that the episode so much identified Eddington as The Leader of the Maquis, that seems pretty simple minded-they're bad guys, he's really bold and ruthless and was already a Lieutenant Commander so everyone else accepted and followed him.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I think Behr as showrunner in season 4 and 5 kind of regressed some of the characters from where they were in seasons 2, 3 and somewhat 4, notably Kira and, until DBIP, Bashir. So Kira's views were disappointing but not really surprising.

This episode, especially its ending, kind of exemplifies dark for the sake of dark and dark & ambiguous in an at least somewhat pretentious way.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 21, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Crewman: We're getting a distress signal from a star ship captain.
Sisko: What's her name?
Crewman: Lisa Cusak
Sisko: Let's look her up and confirm her identity before we 1) delay our mission by 12 days running after her, and 2) telling her all our personal and military secrets
Crewman [2 seconds later]: Wikipedia says she died years ago when her ship went missing.
Sisko: Captain Cusak, what's the star date?
Cusak: [some number]
Sisko: Honey, I've got some bad news for you.
Sisko [to Crewman]: Resume course.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Gilmore was a killer who shouldn't get a lot of consideration, let alone deference, from the crew.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sun, May 21, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Scotty got caught in an explosion on the Enterprise. And because it was caused by a female he now resents half the Human race. McCoy and Kirk decide the only logical thing to do is get him laid and call it therapy. This is a rather weird episode.

I must say that the Internet must have spoiled me, because I found the dancer in the beginning to be rather dull instead of provocative and the close ups on her lower front awkward. especially the creepy smile that Scotty sports the whole time.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Some elements that were kind of inconsistent, especially why and how the doctrine was essential to the governmental system being maintained (and why and how the scientist initially didn't know or ignored that), but still a success, mostly because Beltran did well and the relationship and chemistry between Chakotay and Gegen.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

To me this episode just felt too on-the-nose and manipulative and odd and unpleasant since it seemed manipulative with dark messages ... when people regain individuality they'll instantly go to incompatible tribalism and fighting? They need to be magic-technology-re-collectivized, that's the only way to prevent or end fighting?
And, from the early deceptions, it seemed obvious that the group would of course end up being not so benevolent or tolerant as they initially claimed to be (and the ending was a way to show that but in a safe way).
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Third Season Recap

On the one hand, this season generally didn't feel business as usual, there were some interesting stories and fine risks, on the other hand there were some episodes that were really awful and others that had too little energy and/or ended safely.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

The beginning felt a little too much like a low-energy "All Good Things...," with both Lien and Mulgrew no Patrick Stewart but still good in their own right, otherwise pretty good uses of characters but the pacing felt a little too random.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

The whole A-plot was an insulting waste of time. In the end, the 18-year-old Molly and her PTSD never had a chance to exist, which is the exact same thing that would have happened if they had just recalibrated and tried again in the beginning.

Also, recall that O'Brien and many on the crew had zero issues with **thousands** of people not getting a chance to exist in Children of Time. That is, until O'Brien saw a curly-haired redhead like himself and changed his mind.

The "all women get baby fever when they see a baby" thing was offensive.

Worf was surprisingly likable here. Keiko for once didn't grate on my nerves. Molly was her annoying self as a child, and now we know, as an adult too. Leave them both in the past, and send in Yoshi and Keiko too.
Set Bookmark
Stephen
Sun, May 21, 2017, 6:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

"though I think the way the episode invokes the Prime Directive is erroneous: If a warp-capable group of people asks for help in defending themselves, I don't see how that's a Prime Directive issue saying Janeway can't be involved."

This is not the only time this happens in the show. Basically every time the writers want an excuse for Janeway to want to stay uninvolved, they trot out the Prime Directive, and everyone nods their head, even though a significant majority of the species they encounter are warp capable. What's worse, there's an episode where they were discussing this and Tuvok makes the point about the Directive not applying because the aliens of the week... are warp capable. It's just another example of sloppy storytelling that persistently made this show infuriating to watch.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

@Jack

"Also...what is the insignia Chakotay has on his collar? It's not the usual 3 pips of a commander / first officer, but rather a long rounded bar."

That is a Starfleet field commission insignia that all of Voyager's Maquis wear. If you look close, they all have various numbers of bars/slashes on them in the same way the pips do to denote rank. Interestingly, Chakotay's has two good bars and one black, making his field commission actually equivalent to a Lt. Commander, despite him only ever being addressed and listed in the opening titles as "Commander" (Torres likewise actually shows a Lt J.G. pin) Second interesting thing is that in "Before And After", Chakotay wore the proper four pips of Captain after Janeway had died. Is there no field commission pin for Captain, or did he pull the pips off Janeway as they closed the lid on her torpedo?

But yeh, they're field commission ranks as I doubt Starfleet protocols allowed Janeway to give actual Starfleet ranks (or NCO ranks) to what were effectively captured terrorists. Paris got a normal Starfleet rank in "Caretaker" presumably because he had been captured and was being punished at the time, so he was "free" so to speak.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, May 21, 2017, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I suppose it's not exactly OCC for Worf to ignore Alexander like that-I even get why he would do it, not wanting to force his ideals on him-but it is worse than anything I recall him doing on TNG. I suppose it's so that Alexander would be more sympathetic, but it feels pointlessly cynical and mean-spirited to override Firstborn's happy ending (hell, arguably Worf's entire development as a father on TNG), especially just to resolve it in a single episode.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Sun, May 21, 2017, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

As others have touched on, I really don't see the moral dilemma here, at least not as much as it is played up. Yes you don't want to kill a creature if you don't have to, but this thing has destroyed at least a dozen planets along with all but a few of the inhabitants. So why, when faced with this deadly threat that is even incredibly hard to track and find that doesn't give warning of its appearances, is the Enterprise the only starship apparently looking for the thing? My main beef though is that through the rest of the series, the crew, and Starfleet in general apparently, are so much more concerned with dealing with Klingons, Romulans, Cardassians etc when there is effectively a planet killer roaming Federation space! There should have been fleets of ships looking to destroy this thing and not just Starfleet as I doubt the Entity would restrict itself to Federation/human planets. This is a threat to the galaxy not unlike the Borg, and we know how hard Picard would fight to beat them. Why is the Entity not one of Starfleet's most wanted?

Also, communicating with the Entity is apparently very difficult here. But didn't Lore, who is mentioned several times in this episode, communicate with it? And not in any super special, just invented it, method. He spoke to it in a normal voice over the regular comm system. Picard could have tried that, or even tried to have Data pretend to be Lore to tell it to get lost. At least that would have prevented Marr's sonic attack on it.

And what kind of scientist is Marr when she can't even hold a tricorder the right way up? When she was talking to Data in the caves, it was upside down in the shots of her towards to the end of the conversation. All she should have got scans of were herself. Not even Data, the science guy, noticed!
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Hello Everyone!

@Lupe

At least Gates didn't ask out during the season. Only being shown as a Doctor? While playing a Doctor? Perish the thought.

And What's Hername asking out of the show because they are writing the Security Chief as a.... Security Chief? The temerity! How awful!

If only these folks would have realized in season one how lucky and fortunate they were... At least Gates was able to wise up, not being dead and all...

On the other hand, I'd stopped watching TNG for being so awful, and this was one of the first episodes I recorded for posterity. I'd seen one of the Klingon shows and was impressed with the direction the show had taken. While it's not one of the best outings, I watched it over and over again because I only had a few of season one, and a few of season three (I did get the rest in re-runs before BOBW). So I never judge it harshly.

And I know how someone can fall for someone quickly, as Troi did. I once fell for a lady that came into my favorite bar. I asked no questions and we had a great time, until her husband came in one night... Gimmee three steps indeed...

But I digress. He was a cool negotiator, and oozed calm and kindness towards her. I felt sorry for Troi when she had to tell the Captain she'd been in a relationship with him, when normally it wouldn't be anyones' business.

Lastly, I always loved the look on the faces of the Ferengi, with the sharp intake of breath, as the wormhole sped away...

Just some random thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
Welshie!!!!!!!!
Sun, May 21, 2017, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

This is the worst "friend zoning" in Star Trek since Crusher destroyed Picard in TNG's "Attached."Auberjonois kills it in this episode. This episode is a solid 67 million out of 100 million. The entire time I thinking of Rick Springfield's song "I wish that I had Minister Shakaar's girl"
Set Bookmark
James
Sat, May 20, 2017, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

I don't see how the events of this episode didn't result in Data immediately being removed from his position on the bridge and sent back to a Starfleet research facility to ensure this never happens again.

If his brain is able to be hacked into, it's a huge security risk even having him on board.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sat, May 20, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

Episode reviews and political drama aside -- was it me, or did anyone else think that this episode was rather similar to TOS "LIving Legend" minus the Pegasus?

That is, think of the original series' "The Living Legend" where the Galactica goes after Gamoray alone.... that's what this episode really kinda is.

Still loved it. Still a lot of fun.
Set Bookmark
MollyMonster
Sat, May 20, 2017, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Just watched this one again and I am with Tmrn--the story was simply incoherent. And, sadly pedestrian. Maybe tastes have evolved in drama in the intervening years, but if the only part that was "real" was the initial shuttle crash so Janeway didn't get revived from near death (and then stand up and start running around with Chakotay which should have been a clue that something wasn't copacetic), then what was the point of the other repetitions? In the "Cause and Effect" portion of the show, she and Chakotay die a few more times, make it to Voyager where only Janeway dies again, start again where she becomes a ghost which allows "The Next Phase" portion of the show to start. So, she wanders around, trying to convince her friends she is still alive, attends her own funeral with her "father" as a guide where she can imagine all the nice things people will say about her but conveniently halfway wake up to get some grounding in reality. A little fight and then the end--it was all a dream! But you get a rose and a moonlight sail with Chakotay out of it? Wha?

It just didn't make sense. Why the constant deaths, what was that supposed to indicate? Death wants to snack on your soul so instead of getting right to it after you've been killed by Vidiians, he takes the time to kill you four more times and then hang out with you and play "this is your life"? Kes having her little "feeling" and suddenly everyone is rushing around trying to find interdimensional Janeway despite the fact that her dead body is right there for all to see. Guess it is good to be the Captain, I can't remember anyone else being thought to be on a different frequency after a pretty typical death no matter who might "sense" them. All the Janeway/Chaoktay interpersonal stuff comes back from nowhere and disappears into the void--he is distraught trying to revive her but that was all in her head since that was her first "death" but the rose and invite for a moonlight sale were in reality so what the hell? Picardo was the best part of the episode.

Really, I want to make Jeri Taylor watch this one again and ask her where the hell she was trying to go with it because it is a confused mess. Horror story about how Death happens? Sci-fi time loop? It was all a dream but here are some cool character moments we can't do in reality? Because it was all and none of those things.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 20, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

It's perfectly normal to send an ensign and his best friend to deliver a high-level diplomatic message from the leaders of the Federation to the Nagus. In the middle of a war. Without backup.

Also, Jake-o has grown up to be quite the A-hole. No wonder his dad seemed to have resigned himself to letting the prophets kill him in the last episode.
Set Bookmark
Trek Joy
Sat, May 20, 2017, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I'm tired of the writers having the Andorians continue to call ALL humans Pink Skins. Compete disregard for the diversity of humankind. Has Shran never met Mayweather? Is he not convinced he's human?
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 5 of 1,578
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.