Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,871 (Showing 101-125)

Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 755
Ric - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 10:47am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

@Nick LOL LOL

Awful episode. Implausible plot, childish story, cartoonish execution.

Besides, I am also one of those who just can't stand anymore "There's too much interference, I can't get a lock on him", not to mention "they bypassed security protocols". At this point, when I listen these lines, my mind already goes off the episode.
Bravestarr - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 9:51am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Once again Nog saves the day.
K'Elvis - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 11:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Non-touch telepathy among Vulcans has been shown ro exist, but is also shown as being very limited, but this episode makes it appear that speaking telepathically is common among Vulcans, but Tuvok chooses to use spoken words to deal with humans. There's little indication that Tuvok has substantially greater telepathic gifts than other Vulcans, and so rather than throw out the rest of canon to accommodate this episode, I choose to interpret it as he is able to communicate telepathically with someone who is a strong telepath.

I'm not sure what to think of this episode, because it requires judging this society, and we really don't know that much about it. It makes sense that a species of telepaths would have to control their violent thoughts. Are there better methods available? Perhaps they could work on shielding themselves from negative emotions rather than forcing them not to have such emotions. The Vulcans are even less open to emotions than these people are. While I don't think they would force you to have memories erased, they expect Vulcans to control both positive and negative emotions, and a Vulcan who went about expressing emotions would be treated as mentally ill.
Quarkissnyder - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 10:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Also, why does Garak kill the guy instead of stun him? Why does Sisko not have a problem with this?
Ric - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 9:59pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

The explanation given to Chakotay about how the weapon-ship operates and of what it has done, was terrific. The complexities of the Krenims behaviour was really nice to watch.

However, as @Jake Sedge has asked above... here I am to be the annoying one! I hated how the writers have writen the captain in this episode. Since the beginning, she was refusing to take any medical care or precaution was irritating and silly. Culminating with her disrespecting not only the Starfleet regulations, but The Doctor, in quite an awful way. Was this show to have a bit more of continuity and lasting effects, this would have to harm inescapably the relationship between her and The Doc, and more, would harm how much The Doc see himself as a real part of the real crew.

Some can claim that this moment has introduced a deeper, dark-side DS9-ish moment. I say it introduced an annoying captain, in a character moment I hope I can forget. Granted, we all know she wanna save the ship. We all understand the parallel that was trying to be made between her obssesion and Annorax's. But one thing is to show that she also has her obsessions, another is to show her so out of character. More than that, repeating her moments of stupid bravery dozens of times was not necessary.

Not to mention the dozens of "captain is being stupid, but let's obey". Curious, the crew still obeys hierarchy, but the captain herself does not! It is like just a personal stuff, the captain chooses when Starfleet stuff are valid or not. This is crap. It put me off the episode.

That said, of course it was entertaning, had a few good dialogues and a bit of deep moments. I also enjoyed the irony in the end, when we see that had Annorax let his ship and himself be destroyed before, everything he wanted to restore would have been restored! But for me, the damage was already made in my connection to the episode due to the shallow and irritating poratryal of the captain's obsession. I cannot give this episode more than an intermediate score.
Quarkissnyder - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 9:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

While this episode was enjoyable, it had huge plot holes. Why did the Bajoran woman just happen to contact Kira at the beginning of the episode, just when the Cardassians wanted to kidnap her? If she had been working for the Cardassians, then she wouldn't have contacted Sisko when Kira didn't show up. The Cardassians did not need the backstory of Kira just learning that she had supposedly been in the prison.

The idea that in ten years Kira never had a check up, which would have easily revealed that she was Cardassian, is silly.

Why would Kira's interrogator be asking stupid questions that Cardassia easily has the answers to? Wouldn't that tip Kira off that they don't actually want information from her?

I like to think that this episode is actually leading to a triple cross. Kira's "father" is a double agent. The bracelet he gives her is a spy device. His overwrought warning about Garak then takes on a different meaning altogether. It would have made the episode a lot more interesting.
Dutchstudent82 - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 8:39pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

This was THE one moment in the entire series that made me think WTF!

*genocide on your attacking race? without even twinking my eyes. It is what I NOT share with star treks cosy little world, I much more prefer the Alternative relaity of Terra Prime / The Terran Empire -> but than one with a little more trust between humans, and a little less killing your officiers.
As such the survival of man must ALWAYS take priority and any and all that pose even the slightest risk to that factor must be wiped out.
They NEVER should have stroke the accords with the cylons back than, and running was NOT the prefered chooise of action, ever since the first eposide my feeling was, payback, genocide on the cylons, in this episode they could, why don't they!

And didn't they took blood samples? surely they are not all destroyed. Time to catch some new prisoners, for attempt 2.0

BTW why think so small, the ONLY reason they ever needed that resurrection ship was because of the distance towards their homeworld(s)(as such resurrection ships are mere signal boosters) killing them in orbit of caprica, or any of the colonies would infect ALL cylon homeworlds, retake what ours.

Also there is the fact of having to protect that possible 13th colony too (and as far as story goes we still believe those to be humans)

In the same line, in the earlier kara-episode, I would have killed that kid, even on the hint she was hybrid. Humun blood must be pure, everything that has ANY cylon in it must be eridicated.

It might be a quick end to the series.. killing the cylons off in this one, but it would have been the right call.
It leaves me VERY dissattisfied in the end not each and every cylon has been wiped out of excistance as should have been the priority mission from day 1 (even more than survival)
Matrix - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 6:42pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

@Rob in Michigan. Love, love, loooooove those ideas. I remember when I first watched 'Valiant' and how Jake and Nog talk about how Starfleet sending Nog on some mission to Ferenginar or somewhere might lead to the Ferengi helping out in the war. I was really just hoping to see some of those big Ferengi ships we saw on TNG turn up on DS9. That second point, man I remember thinking up strategies where the Tholians and Gorn would make some kind of appearance, or at least just their ships. Plus, anyone remember in Voyager's 'Scorpion' where they talk about the Breen having organic ships? I always hoped those guys would show up with a Vorlon-type ship, but on the good guys side. Around about this same time Babylon 5 had the end of it's 4th season and they have that combined fleet of all the major races heading to liberate Earth. I would have loved something like that!
Bravestarr - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 2:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I could not be any less interested in a episode, and I spent 90% of it on my phone. Really hope this isn't the last Julian Bashir episode because the guy deserves more than this.

Who decided the genetic crazies needed a new episode? They weren't all that interesting last time and they aren't now.

Also, did anyone notice the kind of homosexual undertones with O'Brien and Bashir in this episode. Miles sounded alot like a jealous house wife.
Bravestarr - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 2:18pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

So...Nog is an ensign right? I guess he works in Engineering right? So what in the hell is he doing there during the senior staff meeting? Seriously, Chief O'Brien is there so you don't need any more engineering officers. So why in the hell is he so hamfisted into this show!? I'm serious about him being the DS9 Wesley Crusher, the guy literally does eveything! And who makes the one score in the game? Nog of course.

While I found this episode fun, and I do love baseball, this episode was also grade-A stupid.
Bravestarr - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 2:12pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

"If it wasn't Worf it'd been you." Screw you writers, Jazdia had three years/seasons to do something about Bashir and all of sudden you say she had actually liked Julian but Worf came into the picture? I call bullshit.
SFKeepay - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 6:19am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Futile, pedantic crusade alert: PLEASE do not abuse the word "literally". I know, I know, even the OED has (inexcusably) warped the definition to allow it in the context Jammer has employed above ("...literally make a deal with the devil."). But, to borrow a phrase, the line MUST be drawn HERE! The Borg are not some mystical incarnation of the famous cloven crowd-control device; Alice Krige is not Satan (although she clearly qualifies as godlike.) No other single word in the English language conveys the concept, and being squishy on this is just going too far! Great review, classic episode. Gotta run, I've literally got a hundred more of these to write!
Cal - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 3:04am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

The soundtrack was so good, I splurged double on the deluxe version of the soundtrack. The movie was so bad I gave the blu-ray away to my friend for free.

I think that covers it.

Also, given Tom Hardy's acting here, it's no surprise to me that he got picked to be Bane. I feel sorry for the guy, he tried to do his best with what he was given but the poor writing let him down. Glad it worked out for him in the end though. ("When the Federation is in ashes, you have my permission to die." Wait a minute...) Seriously, how did he not get an Academy for TDKR?
ryan - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 2:12am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

children episodes are so much better if you're a parent
I can think of all those TNG serials which I found annoying but then rewatching them 20 years later the emotional response (like the Hansen flashbacks)were disarming

nerds can only agree upon one thing:that there should be more episodes
me - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 1:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

program 9.
NCC-1701-Z - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 11:59pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Jellico to Troi: "I'd appreciate it if you wore standard uniform when you're on duty."

Me: "THANK YOU!!!! I've only been asking about that for the last five and a half seasons!"
Kuwanger - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 8:37pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I stand corrected about the mustache twirling. You're right. The episode would have been strengthened without the rant but would have left the episode with a more horrific truth, that Saties of the world keep on going and rarely do they go in and attack someone who has any chance of even debate. That's a harder truth to stomach, though. :/
Tom - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 7:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I thought that this episode was interesting, at least 3 stars in my mind. Personally, I did manage to care for these people.

I wonder what's supposed to be the Federation policy in the case that a civil war breaks out on a member planet. Did the Federation try to help them in the past? Maybe. The Prime Directive shouldn't apply in this case, so the Enterprise should have the right to intervene.

I understand that the Enterprise's mission isn't to help these people, but it's interesting to see that the Enterprise only seems to care about the missing crew members and Tasha's sister. Given how little the Federation cares about them, I can't really blame them for trying to manipulate the Enterprise into helping them.

I thought it was a bit jarring to see Picard blame Riker for "taking unnecessary risks" when he saved Ishara's life. That really makes the Federation look cruel and heartless. First, Ishara is a former crewmember's sister, she's also a former member of the Federation, a human and she, as well as her friends, risked their lives and gave valuable intelligence to the Enterprise. But it seems that her life is worthless to Picard. This is a prime example of Federation arrogance. It shows an inherent sense of superiority compared to "these people".

Transpose this into a colonial context: The white colonel blames his officer for risking his own valuable life to save a worthless black woman who well, risked her own life to help them. But he lets it slide because the officer had "an emotional response". I find this disturbing morally.

And couldn't they have made a bit more of an effort to help these people? They offer Ishara the chance to get rid of her implant, but what about the rest of the colony? At the end of the episode, Data keeps thinking about Ishara, but what about the billions of people suffering on that planet? Nope. I guess their boobs are not as hot.

It's also really simplistic to depict the colonists as ignoring the value of friendship. "No one ever does anything for anyone else unless they have something to gain from it." I understand that they have limited time and that their society is a caricature, but really? Humans everywhere are capable of friendship.

A major point of the episode is that disabling the defense system is wrong and that Data cannot allow it because then "the Federation will be responsible for the resulting deaths." But, wouldn't allowing one side to win the war bring a quicker end to the conflict? Isn't the Federation really just keeping in place a system that is causing a perpetual war? And what about the Federation's duty to help these people? Does it have one?

In the end, they blame themselves for having trusted Ishara, they wanted to see Tasha in her. But isn't it normal that Ishara tried to used the Federation to her advantage? After all, she and her people are in a desperate situation and the Federation clearly doesn't give a dang about them. Yet, if she had managed to manipulate the Federation people, then maybe she could have improved her people's situation or put an end to the conflict.

The episode's theme is betrayal, and doesn't this apply, first and foremost to the colony? They joined the Federation and when things went wrong, the Federation, presumably, didn't help them. Aren't they the ones who were were betrayed?

I wonder what other people think about this.

Copyright © Tom 2014
AnchorintheStratosphere - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 5:03pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

This is one of my favorite episodes. If you like it too I recently wrote a post on my blog inspired by this episode and it's lesson and I'd love for you to check it out!

www.anchorinthestratosphere.com
Nathan C - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 4:23pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I am a Trekker and have seen all forms of Trek @ least twice. Overall, Voyager was the worst. This movie as good as it was when I first saw it seemed to be a good reboot. I have to agree with Jammer, alip, and the criticism of this movie. Original Trek, TNG, Ds9, and most of the movies grt better over time. Repeated viewings bring out more SF, and healthy discussion.
As entertaining as the cast was in the reboot, it's all eye candy, flashy, and shiny. The reboots focus too much on action and sfx, the story suffers and winds up sitting on your shelf collecting dust for months at a time. After a while you can't remember why you put it back on your shelf and watch it's again. This is one of those movies. The movie reminds me of every Transformers movie. So busy from beginning to end that it's comes off like a roller coaster ride.
That is what Jj does well leaving viewers feeling like they were at an amusement park not at a movie. Case in point: there are over 200 lens flares used in Star Trek. Distracted by so many shots, sfx, and speed, there isn't much left to tell. My biggest gripe is the engineering scenes. Why does it' look like a boiler room or brewery?
Tom - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 3:49pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

"Use the force, Wesley. See past the numbers." "Yes, Master Yoda."

I don't like it when Star Trek goes too far into "space magic". I have trouble suspending my disbelief. The idea that space and time can be controlled by someone's imagination... That's pretty much magic.

I kind of liked the concept of having people disappear aboard the Enterprise. The reveal that Beverley was the one trapped was nice, but... I can't say I liked the solution too much. I wish they would never have introduced this traveller and his mystical powers.

In my mind, the Enterprise should solve problems by using logic, reason, science, philosophy, but not mystical powers or magic. For me, that belongs in another universe, maybe Star Wars.
NCC-1701-Z - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 2:09pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

The ever-reliable writers at fiveminute.net wrote up a hilarious take on this episode, well worth reading:

fiveminute.net/nextgen/fiver.php?ep=powerplay

I liked this episode, it was quite fun. I loved seeing Marina Sirtis play the ruthless type, it was quite refreshing.

(Small quibble: When Riker sent the bridge controls to engineering, couldn't the bad guys have just left someone on the bridge while the other two took over engineering? Answer: Because we wouldn't have had much of an episode then. I'll let that one slide.)

Tom - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 1:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

I agree with the rating. Masterful performance by Brent Spiner. Am I the only one who hadn't noticed that he played Soong?

The episode does leave a lot of questions unanswered. First, there's the question of Soong's call to Data. I have no problems imagining that a selfish old man would program a simple homing beacon without thinking about the consequences, but there should ideally have been some sort of reflection about the morality of doing that. Alright, that would probably require a double episode, so I can see why they left that out. It's probably also why we don't see them helping Soong at the end. They just left the old man injured in his home. No one would do that.

@SkepticalMI " At this point, Lore is essentially unredeemable. Why should Data forgive him when he has shown no sign of remorse for his actions? Brothers may forgive, but it requires some reciprocity on the part of the aggressive brother. Sigh... " I thought that Beverley's line about forgiveness might be foreshadowing a future episode where Data has a good reason to forgive Lore.
Josh - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 12:53pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

I thought this episode was pretty weak; I actually preferred the previous "Day in the Life" episode over this one. The class conflict comes out of nowhere as does Baltar's schtick about being a man of the people (and I agree with Michael it is hard to imagine Baltar developing a following). The resolution is way too pat. This should have developed over many episodes, not condensed into one.

Sam brings up the DS9 episode on the Bajoran caste system; DS9 also had an episode on worker organizing as did Babylon 5. All of those episodes like this one had commendably pro-labor messages but they all shared the same nice ending where the heroes pull a solution out of their asses to meet the demands of the workers. In reality successful labor mobilization are extremely difficult. It'd probably be easier to defeat the Cylons than win a union election in the contemporary US!
Roland - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 6:33am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Although the ratings are low for a reason I do think this was a great episode, great because of its campiness. How did they make up this stupid story? Anyway it was really amusing to see. I had the idea that the second general secretly was jealous that someone else gotten Crusher pregnant. It is good that if they cannot make a good espide at least make it campy and worth to laugh about.
Next »« PreviousPage 5 of 755
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer