Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,836 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 914
Beth - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 2:08pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Well, much has been said about this episode already. I loved it, personally. Such great acting on all parts (I found DeForest Kelley's rendering of a mad McCoy breaking down in front of that hobo to be particularly moving). And good work on Joan Collins' part too (though part of me wondered what a clearly English emigree was doing across the pond in the US. Oh well, I guess they don't have to explain that).

I also have always found it hard to buy the central premise of the episode - that somehow the death of a pacifist could prevent America from joining WWII, and that would somehow give the Nazis time to construct an Atom Bomb. Pearl Harbour aside, I don't get the impression that the Nazis were even *close* to constructing a functional atomic bomb by 1941, or even 1944. That said, even if they were close (indeed, even they had been testing atomic weapons, which some eye witnesses claim had happened), did they really have the capability to bomb the heck out of ALL their enemies? Britain maybe, but how about Russia and the U.S.? That might have pushed the U.S. to enter the war then, and the Russians to develop that A-Bomb A.S.A.P. In any case, Japan can't really be taken out of the picture. Even if Pearl Harbour hadn't happened (though I don't know how it would not have), they might have done something to trigger kick-back offensives on the U.S.'s part, or Russia's.

Anyhoo, good episode. 4 stars for sure.
dlpb - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 12:32pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

This was another one of those episodes that turned the Borg into a a kiddy boogieman. And Species 8472 was just a lame excuse to stoke up some more tension and get fanboys to talk about the new "even deadlier threat!!!!".

Nothing really came of it, and an alliance with the Borg is as ridiculous as it sounds.

And like usual... it's entertaining at the same time.
Capitalist - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 11:50am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Didn't read every one of the 200+ comments completely, so someone may have brought this up already but...

One group (pro-Phlox decision) is saying that providing a cure is morally PROHIBITED.

The other group is saying that providing a cure is morally COMPULSORY.

Both groups deny the moral right of individual choice to dispose of one's resources as one sees fit. Some might decide to provide a cure, others might not. There could be any number of factors that enter into either decision. But the decision is entirely up to the PROVIDER of help. And either decision is morally valid. No one is obligated to help, nor should they be prohibited from helping.

I'm firmly in Black Hat's camp from this XKCD comic:
h t t p://xkcd.com/1455/

Explanation here:
h t t p://www.explainxkcd.com/wiki/index.php/1455

Charles - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 11:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

What I love about DS9 is the Cardassians. They're the only really well-developed alien race ever made on Star Trek.

They are all-around different. I love the discussions about the difference between Cardassian and human literature for example. Or the way they conduct trials - finally, a society that is truly, entirely different, and yet is big and powerful. The vulcans could have been that, but apart from "no emotion", their society was never really developed.

I LOVED the boy who cried wolf tale: Garek's immediate interpretation of it is so Cardassian, so him, so alien. Or the Cardassian adage about burning your bridges: Taking something we (Western 21st century humans) take for granted and common sense and turning it on its head while still making complete sense.
Jason - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 7:30am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

So, does the Klingon battlecruiser design not change between this episode, the original series, the films, and Deep Space Nine?

I get that the ones in DS9 were probably meant as second-rate ships pressed into service in an emergency, but still, that means this design was active for two hundred years.
Adam - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 1:02am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

I am completely and utterly flabbergasted by the comments and review. Add me to the group of people that just doesn't buy into the mythology side of this show. It seems that when I watch an episode and think "wow, that was terrible," I come here and it has a 4-star review with others praising it as the best episode in the series. I just don't get it. Maybe I'm crazy, but I'm not at all surprised that this show saw a steady decline in ratings in seasons 3 and 4.
Moegreen - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 3:37pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

So the stuff dissolves the transporter pad and doesn't make a welcome hole in Neelix's chest?? Dire, dire episode.
Robert - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 2:33pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

In all fairness Elliott, the point of the VOY episode was absurd, even if the episode itself turned out pretty good. Any excuse as to why the Doc couldn't just access all the information in the computer database and do the work without consulting "holo-Crell" is a joke. I always though the episode would have worked better on DS9 with the real Crell wanting to treat Kira.

That said, if you wave away the nonsense of the holodocs computer finding creating a holomatrix to talk to more efficient than directly accessing the information, the rest of the 45 minutes after that is quite good.

What's absurd in Voyager is not necessary that they CAN make Crell, it's that they needed to. And beyond that, Crell is practically a new EMH and there was an episode where Harry was unable to create one.

In TNG the only "oddity" is that a holo character was given sentience. I don't know that those 2 things go together.
Elliott - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 11:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Jammer's comment from this episode :

"Harry and Doc spend a few minutes in the holodeck, give the computer a few broad commands, and presto—Krell in the flesh, a surgical assistant who can supply Doc with the assistance he needs to save B'Elanna's life.

Absurd."

and from "Elementary, Dear Data" :

"Who cares if he instructed the computer to create an adversary that could 'beat Data' as opposed to the fictional Holmes? The computer's sentient capability is the issue, not whether misspeaking one word can, or even does, cause it."

Just an interesting juxtaposition, I think.
Matt - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 10:15am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

After such heavy discussion, I'd advise taking a break. Go back to the episode and freeze the shot of the monitor where Trip is trying to choose a movie. The list of titles is a hoot!
Chris M - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 1:39am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

I like Jammer's review, this episode is fun. But I also agree with Mike who wrote in 2013 about the seriousness of this episode to Star Trek canon. I was 12 to 15 years old when TOS originally aired. TOS was my favorite show back then. And this episode was one of the best for me. And after having to wait for season two through the whole summer! Great payoff! This episode is 4 star TOS for sure in my opinion. The big three relationship and the love they had for one another is on full display here. Nurse Chapel's care for Spock is really touching. The twist at the end is awesome. And like Jammer said, one of the best TOS moments ever is when Spock finds Kirk is still alive. I also agree that battle or sex would release Spock's hormones back to normal. So battle did it. I didn't find the plot trivial at all. I love this one and think its one of the very best TOS episodes ever.
Jack Bauer - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 1:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

"that lead shows like "Tsunkatse" to be the highest rated of the season for reasons that aren't about matters of the intellect)"

Tsunkatse was the highest rated show of the season becasue it had The Rock in it and Smackdown (on the same network) drew 6 million viewers a week.
Allison - Mon, Dec 8, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I love how this episode had lots of problems, but the non-qualified solving each: Troi in command, Crusher pushing the control panel in the cargo bay because Geordi has collapsed, Picard with children, and, Worf delivering a baby. I was cracking up with every line he had. The tension between him and Keiko actually made you forget there was a bigger disaster going on. This will be one of my favorites, but unlike others, I think TNG is entertainment. Tension, humor, and fish-out-of-water stories are always theatrical, and usually entertaining. I don't really care how much techno-babble Troi can speak. She was true to character--she could feel every living being onboard. I don't think she could ever consciously decide to take their lives.
William B - Mon, Dec 8, 2014, 2:56pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Oh, right -- I should say, I did like that Scotty was sure that Mira wouldn't hurt him, and that this faith turned out to be justified. This does somewhat help with Scotty's annoying, patronizing behaviour earlier in the episode, because his initial misplaced faith that there is nothing wrong with her becomes a better, more precise kind of "faith" that she is strong enough to not hurt him, even though she fears she would. That moment did help and was a good moment for the character.
William B - Mon, Dec 8, 2014, 2:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

A dead civilization "takes over" and finds new life on the Enterprise -- taking over a crewmember in the process. If this sounds familiar, it's because I'm not just describing "The Lights of Zetar," but also "Return to Tomorrow," and, frankly, "The Inner Light." The crew member also happens to be a librarian, which means that one could read the episode as a metaphor for, um, becoming lost in long-dead worlds through, uh, books; one could read "The Inner Light" the same way, given Picard's interest in archaeology. Still, the difference is that "Return to Tomorrow" is a decent episode and "The Inner Light" is a classic, and "The Lights of Zetar" has nothing to say. What does it mean for the Zetarians to be extinct? Who knows or cares.

About all I can say about the Scotty/Romaine romance is that it makes me glad there weren't any other Scotty romantic subplots. (I guess there's also that scene in Star Trek V where Uhura hits on him.). It is somehow dispiriting that the only official "Scotty-centric" TOS episodes are this and "Wolf in the Fold," which focuses on how he maybe murdered a woman (but don't worry, he didn't!). Scotty's version of love means speaking patronizingly, speaking for Mira, ignoring Mira's repeated concerns that there is something wrong with her and some degree of prescience even in the wake of her unexplained fainting and unexplained (even by the episode!) near-loss during transport. Scotty's affection is meant to be endearing, but wow is it ever not. It's stated as a joke by Chekov that Scotty didn't even notice that Mira *has* a brain, but joke or not that's more or less how he acts, that Mira is a dumb but pretty bag of sweetness who needs to be protected from the world and her own hysteria by Scotty. The episode *almost* moves into criticism of Scotty for this, when it's revealed that Kirk et al. heard about her premonitions and connection to the "storm" hours late because Scotty kept telling her not to come forward, but at the end Kirk, Spcok and McCoy basically all agree that Scotty gets lots of, or maybe all of, the credit for Mira's recovery because he's so supportive. This fits with, as Alex points out, the continued patronizing way they all refer to her as "girl."

It is a shame, because I like Scotty and wish that there were a good Scotty vehicle in the series; his support role as captain in a few episodes works pretty well and he gets to show some nice comic shading in eps like "The Trouble with Tribbles" and "By Any Other Name." Apparently James Doohan's favourite episode is "The Doomsday Machine," and Scotty's intense, excitable nature helps build up the tension there, too, and there are other episodes like "Mirror, Mirror" and "The Galileo Seven" which succeed very well and benefit from Doohan's support work. But "Wolf in the Fold" doesn't really reveal much about Scotty at all, and this episode just puts him in a terribly annoying light.

The episode is padded and substance-free. Ron Moore reportedly picked this as his worst episode of the series. I wouldn't quite go that far, but it is pretty hard to get through. 1 star, maybe? I could see going lower, but I'm not sure if it has that extra edge of awfulness.
Nonya - Mon, Dec 8, 2014, 12:04am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

I'd rate this episode two stars at best. It's okay, but very dull. The aliens just aren't that interesting. The only thing I like is the bit at the end, and even that would be better if Beverly and Picard actually started dating.
Nonya - Mon, Dec 8, 2014, 12:00am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

This is a pretty fun episode, though I understand if people don't like it. To me, the only truly bad parts were any time "Freud" was on screen. Not only was the actor appallingly bad, but Freud himself was demented, and it's hard to take anyone seriously when they quote him. Given that the problem with Data was mechanical and not a real nightmare, Freud's input was useless and annoying.

That, and characters created from real people are almost always cringe-worthily inaccurate.
Nonya - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 11:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I'm sorry, Jammer, I just can't with this one. This episode wasn't horrible, but it was just so, so boring. The concept could have worked, but it was too dull to rewatch.

That, and it's off-putting how no one seems to care about Tom Riker's feelings. He's brought off the planet, and then immediately expected to act like he's just another junior grade officer. Why couldn't they just let him get used to the Enterprise again before giving him any duties? Maybe allow him some recovery time after being alone for several years? What huge jerks.
Nonya - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 11:42pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

A whole lot of talking about a meh episode.
Yanks - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 8:04pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Great post Eli. Bravo.
Yanks - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 8:01pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: E2

Mark, I COMPLETELY agree with you. T'Pol is not only my favorite Enterprise character, but Star Trek character.

Also, Enterprise suffered only for coming last. All series had time to gain their footing. Enterprise did that and the plugged was pulled.
Moegreen - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 5:07pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Did anyone notice that the sound effect used for God's howl is exactly the same as for the alien who Kirk kicks in the knee-crotch in Undiscovered Country?
Nonya - Sun, Dec 7, 2014, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

What I don't like about this episode is Worf isn't Worf. While Worf has always done a pretty good job being a Klingon for someone raised on Earth, he's never quite gotten there. In this episode, he seems to know everything about it. It's not just a matter of Worf romanticizing his culture -- Worf never at any point lived out his own culture the way he describes it in this episode. It's like Worf suddenly became a different person.

He was especially different when it came to respecting the Romulans. If Worf can live like a non-Klingon on the Enterprise, then why is he throwing such a fit when other Klingons have adapted to different situations? He can't call a Romulan wrong when all that guy wanted is for the two peoples to get along. If Klingon tradition wouldn't prevent the two from getting along in the past, then clearly the only reason it is now is because Worf is being belligerent about it (and for some reason the grown-ups thought their tradition wasn't worth teaching, somehow).

Also, as far as the comments above about honor go, please don't let TNG affect how you feel about honor. For one, all fiction is the artificial construct of the writer, and events that happen there cannot reflect reality more than they reflect how the writer feels about reality. For another, Roddenberry's themes are often very anti-cultural -- anyone who isn't a "starfleet-minded" atheist is wrong and ignorant, and no series in the franchise reflected this more than TNG. These types of themes have been subtly hinted at throughout the series.

It's no coincidence that many people here hate the Klingons. They were artificially constructed that way.
Andrew - Sat, Dec 6, 2014, 10:50pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

I think this series, but all of Trek to a lesser degree, does struggle between balancing individual rights and collective utility but tends to side with the latter (this series perhaps a bit more), siding with the former only when the deprivation would be severe (and/or if a main character is involved).
I didn't think the Bajorans were that unreasonable (while I don't like it, eminent domain with compensation is generally uncontroversial and certainly practiced) and I liked that the dilemma was made grayer with the mention of a slower method and that there was a lot of suspense about what Kira would finally do until the end, that she had to and chose to make a difficult choice.
Corey - Sat, Dec 6, 2014, 8:56pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

"But let me make one thing clear here: Palestine's issue is not the same as this. The fact is, Palestine bombs Israel because the Koran and Hadith teach..."

Palestine bombs Israel because Israel is illegally occupying land, was illegally formed in violation of the UN Security Council in 1948, and refuses to return to UN242 borders, as mandated by the World Court, UN and virtually every country on the planet. Everything else is irrelevent.

As for this episode, its very daring, but mis-steps by not delving into why independence is not being granted, and why it should. The episode ultimately comes down on the side of the State, of the status quo, and is so less radical than it seems at first glance.

Also, I didn't see anyone talk about the teleportation device in the film. Seems to me, the device is a metaphor for suicide bombing. ie - the device slowly saps the lives of the rebel faction, but allows them to infiltrate everywhere. It's a kind of tactically useful death sentence.
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 914
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer