Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,745 (Showing 76-100)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,310
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Jammer: "and even though a Seven/Janeway or Seven/Icheb scene can still be very good, it also feels like an iteration of a Voyager staple."

You mean like meaningless Ferengi episodes in DS9? :-)

Love this one. I could have done without the "I got here first aliens". Nothing added, nothing gained.

All actors were very good. They sold this one. I'm a sap, Icheb/Seven relationship had me in tears.

3.5 stars here.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

OK, here are my season 6 scores:

Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy / 4.00
Pathfinder / 4.00
Blink of an Eye / 4.00
Child's Play / 4.00
Muse / 4.00
Equinox Part 2 / 3.50
One Small Step / 3.50
The Voyager Conspiracy / 3.50
Collective / 3.50
Survival Instinct / 3.00
Barge of the Dead / 3.00
Riddles / 3.00
Dragon's Teeth / 3.00
Fair Haven / 3.00
Virtuoso / 3.00
Tsunkatse / 3.00
Ashes to Ashes / 3.00
Good Shepherd / 3.00
Alice / 2.00
Life Line / 2.00
The Haunting of Deck Twelve / 2.00
Live Fast and Prosper / 1.50
Memorial / 1.00
Unimatrix Zero Part I / 1.00
Spirit Folk / 0.50
Fury / 0.50

Total: 71.50
Average: 2.75

Much lower than the epically great VOY season 5. Some really great stuff in there but more stickers sprinkled in and they cap it off with Stupidmatrix Zero. It had me wondering which pill to take.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

So.... why are the drones able to be killed in UMZ ... I mean physically? Aren't they just FRAKIN DREAMING!!!!

...or not....

I actually made myself watch this this last weekend.

I know, dedicated am I....

I can't even go 2 stars here... it's just so damn implausible...

I'm all for outwitting the Borg when the opportunity presents itself, but this is a FRAKING TACTICAL CUBE DRONE class four thingy...

I LOVE Susanne Thompson but...

They just blew it here.

NCC-1701-Z hit the nail on the head... Janeway should have asked for a pot of coffee and let the BQ blow up her empire.

1 star each for both halves.

Set Bookmark
KB
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

My view of quality entertainment is if the story continues to live in my imagination. From the first time I saw this episode, it has been with me... all the what ifs! My background is in anthropology so I find this fascinating. Also, it demonstrate that Vulcans can improvise and adapt, something they do not always demonstrate. I think Jolene Blalock does excellent job differentiating the characters. Finally, her back story allows us to understand how she so successfully integrated on Enterprise, which is the point of the dinner party...
Set Bookmark
FJ
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

In regards to the comment of "Tom" who calls this episode "disturbing anti-feminist", I want to add that I feel your criticism one-sided and inconsequent. The plan to mix both societies in that episode called for both men and women having three partners each - each woman having three men and each man having three women. So the notion of "three men bargaining away women's sexual freedom" and the criticism of anti-feminism fall short, in my opinion. First, if at all, it bargained about women's and men's sexual freedom. Second, with Pulaski, a woman was also involved in creating this plan. And third, it didn't seem to me as if force as involved. Both societies agreed on that plan, and if anyone disagreed, nothing to me pointed to the suspicion that force would be involved.

Still, this episode is definitely not one of TNG's token episodes, and altogether a rather weak one. Others here have made some good points on why and how it is.
Set Bookmark
Sue
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Didnt hate this episode but did find it pretty slow. It was very watchable in no small part due to the fact the poet guy and some of his crew were rather easy on the eye :)
Set Bookmark
The Man
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Elliott
"Wrong. These are not the questions the episode asks, they are the veneer which is apparently all you were able to glean. The real questions translate as follows :"

Actually you're wrong and it's disturbing that you "gleaned" that from the episode. The rest of your translation isn't worth reading.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

This is utter, pointless dreck from beginning to end. It adds nothing to the original trilogy, and simply piles up lots of garbage. Visually appealing? Who gives a crap if the story is shit? I am amazed anyone has anything good to say about this.

To clarify that I gave this a fair chance; I was hung-over when I first went to see it. But I had promised my son and his friend that I'd take them on opening weekend, so off we went. I semi-dozed through most of it, but basically thought it was complete garbage even as I was cringing from the noise and the light.

However, since I knew I wasn't in the best frame of mind to watch any film, I went back to see it again the following week, and it was still crap. I am amazed that anyone can find anything good in this. The acting is appalling, the story line is stupid, and the visuals are just so much clutter. Blech and double-blech.

A virgin birth? ARE YOU EFFING KIDDING ME? Sailing through the middle of a planet? A dull and witless Padme? An obnoxious, well-fed slave family? THE DESIGNER OF C-3PO? And that flying Arab salesman whose name I can't remember? This was bad. Appallingly bad. It should be forgotten and erased from our collective memories. Yippee!

I can't even remember why the brat yelled that--there was some sort of battle at the end, I think. But I could be wrong--who knows? Not memorable.

One small thing that also bothered me is that once it became obvious that Padme was going to be Luke and Leia's mom, I was disappointed that she was royalty. I had imagined they came from humble beginnings. Making them royalty seemed to buy into the bullshit idea that certain bloodlines are more valuable than others. And an elected queen? Can you define queen?

Sheesh. Big old pile of worthless garbage. Jar Jar was probably the least offensive thing in the movie since he was just supposed to be comic relief. Anybody who was supposed to have a purpose was embarrassing.

People have mentioned the "impressive" lightsaber battles. Really? I don't care what people do with lightsabers if they are dull and wooden and pointless people.

Okay, well, that was fun to vent. I'll end with a little story.

Shortly after ROTS came out, I was exiting the grocery store and saw a man who looked like George Lucas--so much so that I did a double-take. He saw me do this, smiled and said, "You're about to ask me why I ruined Star Wars, aren't you?"
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

@Skywalker - Totally agree, I can see why this episode might not be for everyone, but as a quiet character piece about Odo's feelings it's really, really good and Rene nails it hard enough to sell this quiet little character piece.
Set Bookmark
JD
Mon, Jun 20, 2016, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Holy sheet, guys! Kira gets zero break from the severe shock of having her friends hunted down all around her and being taunted by a serial killer while she's pregnant? Some of her closest relations in the world? Ooo, she's still too hard on Cardassians, I guess that's the racist, irrational way she really still feels, ooo. Give the woman a break! She's about to have a fetus cut out of her belly and be murdered, and people are talking about how her world view must not have really matured from season 1. Holy Lord. Hasn't anyone else been upset to the point of irrationality? That really speaks to a sheltered life or a poor imagination, assumptions of Kira's mentality under the circumstances like this. A little empathy.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

So Geordi falls in love and has a date with a Holdeck character, falls in love with a Holodeck simulation of a doctor and falls in love with diary logs of a woman believed to be dead who is sending those messages to his sister but finds it disturbing and uncomfortable that a real life woman might be attracted to him? Wow.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Oh my gosh, the pure torment of Odo! Oh, haven't we all been there... Poor guy. When he enters into Kira's quarters after she has slept with Shakaar, every little thing she says is "like a dagger in me," to quote that line from Fontine in Les Miserables. Just exquisite agony! When Kira realizes later just how much she tortured Odo she is so wonderfully contrite.

And the ending. She must be thinking, "Well, that was weird. I guess Odo doesn't really want to be friends anymore." The touch with the belt was excellent. "Just sticking to the essentials, Major." Nicest way ever to say "go to hell, biatch."
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Luke, no way! Vulcan secede from the Federation?! Awesome! Go RDM! Where did you read that?

I really liked the interaction between the O'Brien changeling and Sisko. It was classic RDM; BSG would have plenty of those moments (like with Six and Baltar, and with Cavil and Tyrol).
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@Luke, I definitely see your point and agree rather fully with your analysis. Regarding the U.S. president hypothetically delcaring martial law over Virginia — maybe it's more akin to declaring martial law over the District of Columbia.

D.C. is already severely limited in its representation; U.S. Congress acts as their local legislators! Yet the people have no say in the matter, no city council, just a mayor.

Perhaps Earth in the UFP is a similarly unique place, and as the capital world of the Federation it really doesn't have any local government approaching the power of other planets', so an even more severe version of the D.C. analogy.

You're right that a few lines of dialogue could have satisfied these curiosities.
Set Bookmark
dipads
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

OMG! Anton Yelchin of the new Trek movies died today. He was only 27. My condolences to the immediate family on behalf of this web site.


Set Bookmark
Jagerbombastic
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

JC, Phasers have always been able to use that setting since TNG, it's just never used, probably because it's HAX and would spoil many firefight scenes.

One thing I've noticed however is that the maximum setting for a phaser seems to change with the wind, in some episodes of Trek it simply disintegrates one person, in others it's described as being able to destroy a small building.

It's a shame they had to make them look like electric razors though, the Federation has no style!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Chrome
Fri, Jun 17, 2016, 9:37am (UTC -5)
@jack_Faith

This show might have been a better "Last Hurrah" than "All Good Things" but "All Good Things" was definitely better Sci-Fi. I'll take cosmic anomalies over soap opera-level red-eyed monsters any day.
================================================

Agree. AGT was much better SCI-FI.

And jack_Faith,

WYLB should even be mentioned in the same breath as AGT. Read my review above for all the faults. I won't mention them here.

In short, AGT wraps up the series involving all the characters in 3 different times in an interesting SCI-FI puzzle culminated by all the crews working together to prove once again that humanity is worthy of traveling the stars. Capped off by a simple game of cards that ended an historic TV series on a positive and moving note.

WYLB, well.... it's just a turd. Jake loses is father again, Sisko becomes a god via some witchcraft mumbo jumbo crap and they doesn't even remember all the characters in the montages.

They aren't even in the same league.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

So sad. What a talented guy.
Set Bookmark
belowzero
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

Belanna Torres Episodes are pretty fine episodes to watch. I just like Dawson play the part. I wished they would have used her more often.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

www.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertainment/actor-anton-yelchin-killed/index.html

This is bad news indeed. Anton Yelchin has been killed in an accident.

How terrible.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Whenever Trek fans talk about Roddenberry's Star Trek "vision" when discussing Trek they don't like, they should remember this episode. Star Trek had 2 pilots and for both of them Gene wanted to make this episode.

This episode is how he wanted to represent Trek to the network and world at large. A show about sexism, selling people, and muddled messages about beauty.

Star Trek is not Gene's vision, it's the result of all the people who worked on it and reigned Roddenberry in when he went a little too far. Look at TNG Seasons 1 & 2 when he had more control, they were pretty bad.

Star Trek lives and dies by the people at the top, and their ability to accept input from those under them.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Any time an animal spirit thing happens, I now remember back to what was driving all of that nonsense.

It was the Celestine Prophecy, and it's follow on The Tenth Insight books. I read them both. New age psychobabble based on the misogynistic writings of a few earlier philosophers. Is it no wonder the women of the show were treated so stereotypically horrible?
Set Bookmark
belowzero
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 4:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

I like this episode, not the swarm story so much. But the interactions between the doctor and torres and the doctor and zimmerman are great.
Its fantastic when the doctor grabs zimmermans shoulder and spins him around.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 4:02am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

So, I'm a professional film editor, and I made a fan edit of this episode that I think SUBSTANTIALLY improves it. The episode suffers from a few main problems. First, Apollo's backstory is absolute nonsense that doesn't fit in the show, and it makes the Shevon story pointless. Second, Fisk's killer is given away right away, when it really should be a mystery noir and the noir should be built up more.

So, I made a fan edit that addresses these issues. Here is my list of changes.

1) Instead of the woman from the past, Lee is thinking of Starbuck and of how Zack died. Basically, he loves Starbuck but doesn't know if he can ever be with her. Shevon is Kara's replacement. When she doesn't work out, basically Dee is next in line.
2) Fisk's killer is not revealed in the opening. This makes the questioning scenes far more compelling, because we're not sure where we're going now.
3) In the end, it's a twist, and not only is Zarek the head of the black market (last scene with him with henchman) but flashbacks show HE, not Phalen, was the one in the room when Fisk died. It's because Fisk was keeping shipments from the Astral Queen, in attempt to get him to renegotiate. I would bet this was their original intention too, given all the info in the episode.
4) The Dee scene welcoming Lee on board, and saying sometimes she wishes she'd been back on Caprica instead of here, is back in. This builds up the Dee relationship SO WELL.
5) The Pegasus Tremmel introduction scene is back in (But the head slam bit is not. It's trimmed down). It builds the noir tone really well, and sets up that Pegasus is still at odds a bit with Galactica and wants to do things their own way.
6) Scene in the middle of Colonel Tigh scene, where we cut to Shevon's daughter coughing, is DELETED. It's more compelling to stay with Tigh, and this just gives us no new info that the previous Shevon scene didn't. Also, in this cut, Shevon is just replacing Kara. So emphasis is taken off the daughter.
7) Scene with guy in black market telling Lee where Phalen is, is now back in. It's cut down (Lee trades his gun and guy accepts, instead of trading necklace). This builds the noir tone more.
8) Scene with Lee fighting Phalen's guards before being taken in to meet him is back in. It builds the noir and sense of dread more.

The result still clocks in right at the 44 minute mark.

And I think it is very compelling. It's a cool noir mystery with a cool tone. It has a great twist ending reveal. And Lee's backstory now carry's the show forward (Lee loving Kara and thinking of here streams right into the next episode of Scar extremely well). It's imo WORLDS above the cut they released. Please let me know if any of you would like to check it out!
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Sat, Jun 18, 2016, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

I loved most of this episode. From the moment Quark said, "War? What is it good for? Absolutely nothing." I knew this would be a great episode. I very rarely laugh out loud at the tv but that had me. (Even though I usually hate it when 20-21st century pop culture is inserted onto the show, this was perfect.)

On the downsite, as usual every time Miles or Keiko were in an episode I wanted to slap them. I can't stand them. They were as annoying as always in this episode, and I'm sorry to see them dragging Kira down with them.

On the liberal versus conservative debate: There is no question that all of ST is socially liberal and from TO S was ahead of its time in that regard. But on the conservative side it is also a highly militaristic series and has been since the beginning. There's a lot of war is hell lip service, but it's also often a show about war, with the implication that huge, powerful, expensive armies and cutting edge military equipment is a necessity for survival.

It's also conservative in that the we earthlings -- and specifically, 20th and 21st century American culture--are considered the gold standard against which all other cultures fall short. Across all the ST series, the only powerful alien cultures that weren't eventually "human-fied"-- with their leaders figuring out that human culture is better than their own (the big cube thing on TNG, I forget what it's called) or else looking like idiots (Ferengi in general) -- is the Dominion, which is one reason why I think that DS9 is the best of all the series.

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,310
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.