Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 28,758 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 1,151
Tman2135 - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 9:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

This is my personal favorite tng episode, if only for the fact that the themes are really deep for tv, specifically mental illness and the right to die. I only appreciated it much later.

Also the music cues for Gomtuu are haunting and almost tribal, a definite departure in sound.
Garth - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 5:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

"too old to be showing so much skin"
Jump out an airlock.
Anna - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 4:24pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

OMG... Rain? Really? ANd they had to get someone who talks like a highschool girl. RUINED both episodes. Unwatchable. Can't stand that woman.
Samaritan - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 2:12pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Belly of the Beast

Why would the Cetus be sentient? What would it do, exactly? It can't create art, can't compose music, can't build anything, can't write a story, can't grow food on a farm, can't talk to anyone because there is no one to talk too. It would just go insane being by itself for 6,000 plus years.

Which, by the way, what DOES the Cetus do for those 6,000 plus years? Are there other planets its eating? Is it having little baby Cetuses? Is it traveling here from another galaxy/dimension? Is it even the same Cetus every 6,000 plus years or is it a new one every time?
Maq - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 1:54pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

It is great, especially I liked that it did not try co catch to many funny points. I agree it was more a story over Vulcans, showing a variety of personalities. It was calm and the decontamination with the velcro fastener was .... logical.
Samaritan - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 1:17pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: The Fair Unknown

Considering the various things actually wrong with this episode, you actually took time to complain that the Vedrans are "excessively blue"? Why? Do you think Trance use to be excessively purple? Or that the human character are excessively pink? With the actually stuff to complain about, commenting on this just seem excessively petty.

Like the writers often do, you too seem to forget that Rommie is a COMPUTER. So of course she is in favor of blindly following the admiral's orders, she's PROGRAMMED to do that and it was nice to the writers remember that for a change. Sadly, you didn't.
Samaritan - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 11:58am (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: The Things We Cannot Change

Interesting how everyone keeps blame Sorbo, when it was Trubune that actually turned Andromeda this way. Way to publicly wallow in ignorance people. All this bring to mind that ancient saying: "Better to be silent and thought the Fool, then open your mouth and remove all doubt."
Jason R. - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 8:58am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Let me just say that I hate hate hate the Borg Queen. She's actually an effective villain and very well acted in this movie - but she wrecks the borg, which is unforgivable.

Conceptually, the borg are supposed to be a collective consciousness. That's what they were always sold to us as, and that's what made them uniquely terrifying. Episodes like STV - Unity even explore the allure of such a collective, hinting at how things may have started well intentioned, even noble, but gone horribly wrong.

But nope, scratch that. It's really an evil slimy alien lady with a big head making them do it. They're evil because she said so. The collective is like a dog on a leash and she's the one holding it. Bah! And don't tell me that she *is* the collective - this is too ludicrous to even fathom. Billions upon billions of assimilated individuals and their "collective" is represented by her? Uhh huh. Sure.

I will simply retcon this character out of existence in my own mind and avoid watching any Trek where she shows up.
Jason R. - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 8:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Overall, one of the better borg episodes. If I had to take issue with something though, it's how easily the colonists are to surrender their individuality (to embrace assimilation) given their experiences and more importantly, how Chakotay is willing to just go along with it. Yes, he was under their control at the end, but initially he recommended the plan to Janeway. I just can't wrap my head around Chakotay agreeing with the forcible assimilation of thousands of people, especially when you consider his earlier revulsion at the idea of even a temporary joining to save his life.

Even Janeway seems to take this concept a little too easily, focusing more on the danger of reactivating the borg cube and less on the obvious ethical problem.

I did, however, enjoy the ending and this episode does stand as unique in my mind in all of borg canon. It is the first and to my knowledge, the only episode that even hints at the origin of the borg, helping to explain how even good intentioned people could have been corrupted by the allure of collective consciousness. Rather than portraying the collective as horror, it gives us a glimpse of the seductiveness of that state of being.

Incidentally, I prefer to just ignore the Borg queen and pretend that the borg are more or less as they were portrayed before her unwelcome arrival in First Contact. Indeed, the addition of the Queen actually wrecks the episode for me, running counter to its central thesis about the loss of individuality as being both horrifying and seductive.
Robert - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 7:17am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

@John - No worries! I didn't think you meant that. It's just that the word drunk occurred 4 words away from "passed out". So I just read that post as being "drunk drunk" so to speak... not as a symptom of our overly PC culture. I agree with you for the most part though, some opinions on the topic basically means we've all raped somebody at some point. A
John - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 4:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

So my plot-hole detection sensor has picked up yet another anomaly: When Neelix is face to face with the head drug dealer, he (Neelix) tells him not to fire his weapon because it will cause an explosion that will kill them all. Then he adds, "And I would suggest not activating your transporters. Same effect."

Wait a minute. These aliens have transporter technology? When Neelix first came on board Voyager, he was so shocked and mesmerized by the transporters, claiming he had never heard of such technology before. And yet, these drug dealers seem fairly known, Neelix's friend knows them very well, and it is just accepted that they have transporter tech. So, why was Neelix so shocked by Voyager's transporters if he and his friend knew about them all along?
John - Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 3:44am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Robert - Of course I agree that you don't have a woman's consent if she is literally unconscious, falling in and out of consciousness, or so drunk that she can't even stand up straight. I was just quoting the drunk line because I felt that the person who said it was being overly broad and too general with the whole "women can't consent while drunk" concept.

I know that's what our PC culture is pushing at the moment, but it's too sweeping. That's all I was saying. Of course there is a level of drunk in which consent becomes impossible, but the woman would have to drink a lot to achieve that level. It is my opinion that most drunken hook ups are fine. Only a small minority are not. Sorry if I took the larger discussion out of context.
Samaritan - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 9:39pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Dance of the Mayflies

"The ungrateful dead."

That actually was hilarious!
Chris Lindsay - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 8:23pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I agree with your comment: "The Cold War allegory was certainly timely." The Romulans represent the Soviet Union in this episode; however, "Balance of Terror" has more parallels with The Enemy Below (1957) than Run Silent Run Deep (1958). I read somewhere that the script was loosely based on the Robert Mitchum film. I wrote a short essay on Balance of Terror called "The Doctrine of Proportional Response." If you would like to read it, here is the link.
Samaritan - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 7:51pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Be All My Sins Remembered

@ Baron Samedi

You're reaction to post-Wolfe-Andromeda is spot on.

However your comments about Kevin Sorbo are not only way off the mark, but who a huge lack of grasp on reality. Sorbo was dead right about what he said about Ferguson. Here is an excerpt:

"Ferguson riots have very little to do with the shooting of the young man," Sorbo wrote. "It is an excuse to be the losers these animals truly are. It is a tipping point to frustration built up over years of not trying, but blaming everyone else, The Man, for their failures. It's always someone else's fault when you give up. Hopefully this is a reminder to the African Americans ( I always thought we just Americans. Oh, well.) that their President the voted in has only made things worse for them, not better."

Here is what he said about atheists:

“I know these guys must believe in something, otherwise they wouldn’t get so angry about it, and they don’t like the fact that there’s a higher power out there that’s judging how they live their life.”

All of that is spot on, and Sorbo deserves props for standing up for morals and against hypocrisy, something we see all too few of from actors today.
Samaritan - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 6:47pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Ouroboros

Its too bad that Brent Stait could not continue on as Rev, but one wonders why they didn't simply cast a new actor to play him? Surely they could have either gotten someone who sounded pretty close to him (its not like you could easily tell it was someone else under all that makeup) or simply explained it away as a Magog metamorphous that happens later in their life cycle.

Rommie's new hair style is indeed somewhat odd looking, but I think it was meant to make her look more robotic - she a synthetic human after all.

I'm surprised you didn't give props to this story idea though, most TV would have them building the time devise 1st and THEN had the temporal effects. Having the effects 1st and then having the devise built was actually really cleaver.

Speaking of makeup, Trance's new look actually came about because the actress didn't like her purple look and got them to change it. Hence why the ending doesn't focus on her "future knowledge" being the reason she need to stay, switching Trances was written in last minute.
Yanks - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 4:56pm (USA Central)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017


I'm all for Mr. Combs gracing the Trek screen once again.

I personally would be disappointed if we get something like a 10 episode season. Call me greedy, but I want 24!!

If I was a betting man, I'd say something set after Voyager would be the smart thing to do.
Samaritan - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 4:34pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Into the Labyrinth

Actually the only annoying about the violence in the show is the way you keep complaining about it. We get your opinion already, geeze.

On another note, one has to wonder what was going through Tribune's collective mind. The continuity elements are what made Andromeda a success, so Tribune wanted to get rid of them?
Chrome - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 4:03pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Really, no fans of this episode?

I like this episode because presents an interesting dilemma for the crew: if they could find out anything about the future, what would they ask, and would it be right to do so?

Obviously Rasmussen doesn't have a whole-hearted argument as to why he can't discuss the future, but he does put up a pretty good show, playing on the overly-big hearts of the Enterprise crew. I do wonder what sort of "credentials" he passed to Picard to convince Picard to give him free reign about the ship, but considering the amount of temporal anomalies the crew faces weekly, this sort of traveler wouldn't be completely out of the question.

As for Picard's speech, I think it works. Sometimes we're faced with very difficult choices, and during those times people make are willing to try incredible things to get the right answer. The speech also succeeds in putting Rasmussen in a corner as his lies start to become transparent. It seems obvious that Picard doubted Rasmussen before talking to him, but the discussion made him realize the futility in second-guessing his own instincts.

4 Jammer stars from me.
Diamond Dave - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Season Recap

According to my scoring over the series, this comes out at 2.79 which makes it the highest scoring series of TNG and DS9 so far. I'm not surprised it worked out like this - it truly is an excellent series, that gets off to a good start, suffers a small blip mid series (with 6 in a row at 2.5 or below) but then powers to the end with 6 of the last 8 eps scoring 3.5 or 4.

I think here the key is that we've got a full ensemble cast working now. The interesting characters in series 1 continue to expand, but the less successful characters like Dax and Bashir are also beginning to find their voice. The increasing strength and depth this gives is show in the success of the various "team-up" episodes - as an example Sisko and Quark in the finale.

There is also a massive amount of world-building going on - particularly on Bajor, but also in the subtle way the Dominion has been slowly introduced right up to the revelations in the finale. Superb stuff.
Robert - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 1:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

"[Guys, I hope you're done with the back-and-forth. This site has a good thing going in the comment section, and you're messing it up for everyone.]"

Hey! Who told you that you could talk about Star Trek on my political forum!! :P

It's not my fault that Star Trek spawns ridiculous debates about politics. Jury is still out about which board would be the best to trash with our politic nonsense, did you have an opinion? I think I vote for "Into Darkness", Jammers is never going to review it anyway :P

As to your question, I think you are looking at this from too human a perspective. I think proto-Vulcans might see the logic in deliberately forgetting about this for the good of the development of their society. Just my 2 cents.
dirtyharry2 - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 1:07pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

The scene of the klingons from the 2 warring houses, alternately drinking and brawling together during their "off-time" from the war, is an entertaining one, and paints a cool cultural image. Unfortunately, it's COMPLETELY contrary to Worf, in season 1, pouring Q's drink out per the "Klingon code ... drink not with thine enemy". (and yes, I remembered the conflict, but had to look fairly hard to find the precise source lol)
Dan - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 12:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

[Guys, I hope you're done with the back-and-forth. This site has a good thing going in the comment section, and you're messing it up for everyone.]

What I find interesting about the episode is that, despite the Enterprise's best efforts, the Event ends up being a completely religious experience (with echoes of Christianity, in particular). Think about the elements, from the Mintakans' perspective:
- Travelers from "beyond" arrive at a certain holy place in the mountains
- They have great power, able to heal the sick, control matter, appear and disappear at will
- They bring a message about the nature of mankind (Mintakan-kind?), and have a personal concern for the people's progress towards an ideal; they teach that the old traditions are wrong
- One chosen Mintakan has a transcendent experience, witnessing the higher ways of these travelers and being given special insight into their message
- A doubter nearly succumbs to evil (murder to appease a false god), but is saved when the lead traveler allows himself to be killed, to the dismay of the believers; yet his power overcomes death and he returns, then departs permanently
- There is no evidence of these events, other than a few witnesses who are convinced of what happened

(Most notably, I saw echoes of Luke 24 in Nuria's early scenes on the ship: "But they were terrified and affrighted, and supposed that they had seen a spirit. And he said unto them, Why are ye troubled? and why do thoughts arise in your hearts? Behold my hands and my feet, that it is I myself: handle me, and see; for a spirit hath not flesh and bones, as ye see me have.")

Flash forward 100 years: how has the account of the Event been preserved, probably distorted in the retelling? In what way has it influenced philosophy, prompted the creation of organizations, been manipulated by power structures? (Alternative: as Jammer suggests, nobody pays much attention to "one man speaking secondhand nonsense", the stories fade into obscurity, none of this mattered.)

Picard goes to great lengths to convince them that he is not an omnipotent god. Nonetheless, he is a god. There is no better word for it. Ultimately, I think his decision is not "will I or will I not create a religion among these people?", but rather "what kind of religion do I want these people to have?" His answer to that question is what makes the episode compelling: no, I don't want your worship, nor will I give you commandments; I just want to inspire hope in what you can achieve through reason and ingenuity.
grumpy_otter - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 11:29am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

William B -- you said, "Also I love Worf's "So, we are in law enforcement" reading."

I was just going to say that! Worf has been DREADING this outing and then his face when he realizes he's got to clean up the town is great! Worf is one of my favorite characters and I love how he plays in this town. "You have been accused of homicide!" in that deadpan Worf tone.

I don't hate this one--I think the actors were having fun and since I like them, I liked this.

One other thing--I absolutely love Troi's western outfit and have been trying to find a coat like that for ages. Or rather, I found one, but it is so expensive I can't justify it!

I am beginning to see the appeal of this episode!
grumpy_otter - Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 11:21am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Mike, your question made me laugh out loud--why indeed!

I like character shows, so I love this one. Strangely, I thought young Picard was the weakest kid actor whereas most above me feel he was the best. Not sure why--I'm not analytical that way--but even though I think he was weaker he was still pretty good.

I really can't think of anything I didn't like in this episode. I liked bed jumping, I liked idiot Ferengi being foiled by the kids, I liked the jokes. I liked little Keiko when she said "Miles Edward O'Brien!" It was clever and frolicky and just plain fun! Y'all who didn't like it are just a bunch of poopy-heads.

Guess this episode brought out my inner child. :-)
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 1,151
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer