Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,910 (Showing 76-100)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,437
Set Bookmark
Supersized Scott
Wed, Nov 30, 2016, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I find it amazing that nearly 9 years after the original comment was made on this episode that we're here still talking about it with such intrigue.

Whether you liked the episode or not, it certainly goes to the quality of the story that this has happened.
Set Bookmark
zzybaloobah
Wed, Nov 30, 2016, 1:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

The one saving grace is the interaction between Lincoln and Uhura, when he says "What a charming Negress", then immediately apologizes for calling her that. And she responds (I'm paraphrasing) "why should I take offense at a word? [regardless of how it was used in the past] I'm happy with who/what I am." That's a classic Roddenberry vision of the future.

Yeah, the "let's examine good and evil by making them kill each other" is absurd. It's possible a truly alien race wouldn't know any better, but surely KIrk or Spock could have quickly pointed out the flaw in their experimental design.
Kirk: "Both sides can fight -- to find meaningful differences, you need to examine *why* they fight..." or something to that effect would have been a good start.

@JPaul - I like your notion of having the evil group implode with infighting. Maybe that's what was shown at the end. The good guys don't "win because Kirk is a good fighter" (and how lame is Spock here? you'd think he could easily kick butt of any of his foes, but can't seem to get the upper hand....); the good guys win because, despite a nominal 4 -to- 2 advantage, the "bad guys" weren't willing to commit their own skin to battle. Col Green comes across as a classic "lead from the rear" commander.
Though I'm not sure history indicates that the "good guys" exhibit bettery unit cohesion than the "bad guys".....


Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

This is my favorite Trek film. I understand where fans are coming from when they bemoan it, either as being too slow-paced, dour, and disinterested in telling a coherent story. However, those are my favorite things about it.

I was going to write that it's undeniably a slow-burner, but that's not fair. It doesn't even try to burn. There's nearly no plot to speak of beyond getting the band back together (and a vague rehash of a livelier TOS episode), but that doesn't bother me any more than a Jackson Pollack painting's lack of figures or narrative.

Even though it came out in 1979, The Motion Picture held the distinction of having the very best visual effects of the entire franchise for a full 30 years, and it's still got the best soundtrack of just about any science fiction film, let alone any Trek iteration. The movie's a visual and aural extravaganza that also happens to make you think a tiny bit, something seriously lacking in today's Star Trek films.

Several comments above have noted its similarities to 2001: A Space Odyssey, while others have taken umbrage at the very notion that this movie be compared with the Mona Lisa of science fiction. Personally, though I recognize that this film isn't in the same league as Kubrick's masterpiece, I have to salute the filmmakers for deciding to reach for that aesthetic when just about everyone else in Hollywood was trying (largely without success) to ape Star Wars' brand of flashy space opera. It was a bold move.

Another frequent complaint is that the characters aren't handled the way the audience wanted them to be, but I prefer TMP's more realistic vision of what' happened to our heroes to what we got in the soft-reboot that was Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan.

Kirk's become a bitter, middle-aged paper-pusher willing to sabotage the career of his own hand-picked successor just to get back in the captain's seat, and it nearly gets everyone killed more than once. Spock, having failed to find a comfortable place with humanity in Starfleet, has turned his back on that half of his being (and his best friends) in pursuit of pure logic, and even that doesn't work out for him. McCoy's so happy to have left the service that he has to be 'drafted' back onto the Enterprise. I imagine he spent most of his time between TOS and TMP getting loaded in a Federation version of a VFW bar.

That might seem depressing to some of you. Heck, it is depressing. But on top of being a boring person, I'm also a moody person, so I guess this film just speaks to me. :P
Set Bookmark
acd
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I think you all are confused. The transfer of memory was supposed to be voluntary but the memorial was malfunctioning due to not being maintained. Voyager repaired that part of the memorial and added a failsafe that will cause the memorial to shutdown and start broadcasting instructions for repairing it if it malfunctions again.

If this doesn't match what you remember, keep in mind that the voyager writers are confused too. Heh, seriously though, a lot of these episodes would be much more palpable if they were tweaked only slightly...
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Random observations.

I wonder if detectives actually do read detective novels. That has to be dull. I just realized that the fake stars outside DS9's windows slowly move. Nice touch. I liked the Finnean design. It's always good to see Trek do an alien with more than just a weird forehead (e.g. the Idanians).
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

The Gatherers looked like an out-of-work 80s metal band. Kept waiting for them to break out the guitars and amps.
Set Bookmark
Kevin Criswell
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Count me in as another Neelix fan. Took a long while, the first few seasons he was a horrible character, but once Kes was gone his character really started to come into it's own.

Loved Riddles, but like many others was irritated that they never actually made a change to Tuvox's demeanor towards Neelix. Neelix really goes above and beyond to care for Tuvox and you can see that it is honest compassion and care and all they do is have Tuvox make a crappy joke at the end?
Set Bookmark
MM
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 7:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Worst episode of all time. Terrible handling of sexual assault.
Set Bookmark
MM
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I'm watching Voyager again as an adult female scientist, which is what Janeway was before she became a captain. From that perspective:

- research is just what scientists do. I would keep trying to find a cure too. Plus it seems to get C to clean house and make dinner. Double win.

- the thunderstorm scene under the table was C keeping J from leaping out after her sample. I've got a burn scar on my arm from going headfirst into a freezer after a sample.

- the monkey was useful to show her adjusting to her new situation. First she treated it like a research subject, by the end more like a pet

Also- the backrub. Did y'all catch that he starts by playing with her hair, putting his hands over hers, almost kisses her head and then starts in with the talk about his mother? I totally took that as a "think about baseball, backrubs don't have to be sexy " moment for him, which he fails at since he does kiss the top of her head as soon as he stops babbling about his mother. She pulls away, stands up and goes to bed right after.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"Chakotay sure goes down like a sack of potatoes down a flight of stairs if you so much as brush up against him."

I think Chakotay was caught off guard, but went with it, and put on a show for Janeway - "see what I have to deal with Captain??"

"Never did like Chekotay. I think he purposely escalated a tense situation."

He did. There's animosity towards Paris, he's little respect for him.


Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I would give this episode 2 1/2 stars. Good material, but poor execution, and I agree with the earlier comment that "Measure of a Man" leaves "Drumhead" in the dust because the former presented a balance of intelligent worldviews in the courtroom debate. While "Drumhead" paces the tension nicely and does a nice job setting up a confrontation between the captain and admiral, the one-dimensional zaniness and climactic ranting of the admiral undo any sense of dramatic interest at the end. Compared even to "Court Martial," the TOS episode where Kirk's trial is overseen by worthy adversaries as opposed to ranting fools, this TNG outing is a real loser. While the issues of security and personal freedom are certainly pertinent, the one-handed presentation fails to give the admiral's position any rational traction that might push back against Picard and provide the viewer with more dramatic traction. As often happens in TNG, the solutions here are a little too obvious and the moral superiority of the captain is a bit too self-righteous. There is good stuff here, but the script and performances fail to give us the "debate of equals" the admiral's reputation had promised, and the easy way out that the screenwriters take is just that: a cop-out.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I haven't seen "Arrival" and don't know when or if I will get a chance. My wife and I did take our little ones to see "Moana," though, and liked it a lot.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The original rating for this I believe was one star, at the time right after the original airing, and then changed to zero at the end of the season. So it wasn't like a huge change.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 3:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Just out of curiosity, what was the original rating for this episode and how much time passed until the review was rewritten?
Set Bookmark
Niall
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Anything else non-Trek is basically off the table, save the stray movie review" - would that potentially include Arrival, Jammer?
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The first 3 official actors
www.spoilertv.com/2016/11/star-trek-discovery-doug-jones-and.html
Set Bookmark
Shakaree
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Am I the only one who feels B'elanna should've been thrown in the brig or punished for tampering with the doctor? I thought that would result in some kind of reprimand, but I guess she was given the psycho hormonal mommy pass.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@ JustJim:

I think Guinan sort of doubles as ship's councelor too.
And a bartender on a warship makes about as much sense as a Bolean barber I guess :D
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

What is this - the third time Troi has been possessed on this show? Why is it that whenever this happens, her voice suddenly goes deep? Why wouldn't she speak with her normal voice?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

After re watching the episode, I don't think Kovin is dead I thhink e beamed back to the planetto grab the rest of those nano probes that the doctor for some reason left behind.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@ David Pirtle,

Yes, the Eugenics Wars 'took place' in the 1990's, so around 380 years prior to the episode. Did they really say 200 years in the episode? I never noticed that, but if they did it would be a mistake, yeah.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Also, not to be too pedantic, but wasn't the Eugenics Wars period 400 years ago, not 200 years ago? If the latter were true, Khan would have been banging around AFTER the events of Enterprise, right? A bit awkward, that.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

When a character's past is retconned in such a major way as this, it's almost always for the worse, but this is one of those rare exceptions that proves the rule, because it actually fits so well with what's already been established about Bashir (his athletic prowess, his undeniable intellectual abilities, his occasional arrogance about said abilities, etc...). It's a shame that everything about the development, from how it was revealed to how it was tidied up, was so poorly written. This could have been one of DS9's best stories if handled with more subtlety and patience.

On the other hand, I largely enjoyed the Zimmerman/Leeta/Rom love/lust triangle, and, even if it was 'low brow' for Trek, I can't complain about seeing Chase Masterson bouncing around in a towel.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

"Let's make sure that history never forgets the name ... Enterprise."

While this is an historic line in trek, I still to this day do not believe Patrick delivered it very well.
Set Bookmark
Ardax
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 5:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I am amazed how no one noticed that this Reset Button wasn't a total one. I don't agree that the characters didn't get any development. In my opinion, this is the episode where Chakotay and Janeway call each other on the first name basis for the first time, this is a beginning of a strong friendship, even Kathryn later says that she doesn't trust anyone on Voyager more than Chakotay. THIS episode is the starting point of that enormous trust she has for him.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,437
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.