Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 23,739 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 950
Dimpy - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 8:07am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

If you are sitting next to a friend who's never watched Start Trek, and you tell them this is one of your favourite shows, and this comes on...

... then put a bag over your head and bow in shame.
... then admit that you were adopted as a child and have issues.
... tell them you hate star trek and try to act "cool".
... never speak to that friend again, because you lost all credibility.

Worst Episode Ever

Also - if fear is this much fun, then The Exorcist and those devil horror movies like The Grudge should be a laugh riot to you.

The only thing to fear is ( not fear itself ), but watching this episode and LIKING it, because its the proof of what your life has come to, and if you liked this episode then ... that's just sad.

Also - cute midget chick in a ballerina dress. I'm sure that is an accurate portrayal of the future.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 8:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

I really liked this episode and the other 2 parts. I loved the way Sisko put Kira in her place, she is rude and thinks her issues are more important than anyones'. Sisko finished talking to his son and ordered breakfast and she had to wait. He also sent O'brien with her on this mission. During the first 3 seasons Kira was still a loose cannon and had to be put in her place. She wanted to borrow a Federation runabout, but didn't want a Federation ciizen with her. She never would have accomplished her mission alone. She needed O'brien.

Although Jaro was wrong, he also let Kira know she had to answer to her superiors. Bareil let her know he had to protect her and it was not her job to protect him. Her arrogance got her into trouble more than once until she learned to be a team player and accept the Federation's help. Also the Emissary learned to respect her beliefs.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 7:53am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

My opinion, the prophets are gods. I believe in organized religion and salvation.
Eli - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 2:28am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Oops: Last line should read:

I still think Enterprise was a good addition to the Star Trek canon. One bad episode does not ruin a series. I'm happy overall with the writing during the series.

The second to last sentence reads: "make run" instead of ruin.
Eli - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 2:24am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

The writers should have taken their own advice to Riker. They should have simply made a decision about the focus of the final episode. Should it be about Archer's big speech? Should it be about Riker's decision? Should it be about Shran and Archer? Should it be about Tucker and T'Pol, or Tucker and Archer, or Archer and T'Pol? They didn't commit to one subject.

I thought the subject that seemed to be most prominent was the Ricker/chef narrative. The writers should have just focused on Riker as the chef (a character that is much, but whom we never meet) interviewing each character. A quiet show of introspective discussions could have added to the show. Maybe the characters of Enterprise could have retold some dramatic memories for good measure.

In general, insufficient time was allotted for characterizations in this episode. The relationship between Trip and T'Pol merited more closure. Further, the relationship between Archer and Trip was confusing. Are they life long friends or aren't they? I personally also don't think killing off a main character is respectful to the audience. I like the idea of the characters living on in some capacity in my imagination.

By the way, I think people shouldn't criticize the episode too much for being a "bad" franchise finale. It wasn't the responsibility of Enterprise writers to provide closure for all other series.


I still think Enterprise was a good addition to the Star Trek canon. One bad episode does not make run a series. I'm happy overall with the writing during the series.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

Mulibok, was not wrong in wanting to stay but the ministers had decided on that moon and evacuated everyone except the 3 hold outs. I can understand how Kira felt, but if she truly wanted Bajor to succeed and grow, then she should have bit her lip and got the 3 hold outs off the moon. I am glad Sisko came down to remind her of her duty. If she can't follow orders she doesn't deserve the job. And yes, Sisko had to remind her that he was her boss.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 12:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

Scubabadger, you are so right. There couldn't possibly be a spoiler, the show is too old. Also, I get your point about the coincidence.
Jonn Walsh - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 12:18am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Special snowflake indeed. Yellow snow for sure.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 12:14am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

I think Kira acted very well in this one. Her genuine sobbing over Kai Opaka was very much like real life. I have a problem with 2 things I notice on this site. The unnecessary comparison with TNG, this show was suppose to be different from the others and people complain when the actors show real emotion, you guys think its to much or over-the-top. Then, on the other hand, I love that you freely express yourselves, I like the diversity of opinions whether I agree with them or not. DS9 is the best Star Trek ever, especially for the differences.
MsV - Wed, Feb 18, 2015, 12:01am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

SamSimon, I love your commentary, only one thing is incorrect, Odo doesn't have a prime directive, that is a Starfleet thing. I loved this episode.
MsV - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 10:55pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

@ Grumpy Otter: I have a dream that someday I will meet the person who thought up the character of Q and I will choke him to death on his own intestines.

Will someone please tell me that DS 9 never invites that infantile asshole back ever again?

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Total agreement.

I hope you come back to this site and read this post. lol
MsV - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 10:50pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

@ Yanks: It didn't make Sisko look ridiculous at all. It showed outstanding leadership.

I totally agree with you. I have a question, what makes you or any of you think that Miles got a reprimand? Sisko balled him out and the case was closed. That's how I interpreted the smile. As a matter of record, Sisko had to say something about it, case closed.
MsV - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 10:35pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

@ Yanks, the aid of Bashir's notes", blah, blah .... but we never saw him reference them.

Yes he did. I am so glad you guys were not the critics who critiqued the show back when it aired. Most of them loved Avery Brooks' portrayal of Ben Sisko and the one thing I remember them mention, he wasn't like the other captains. They seemed to appreciate the differences, rather than a copy of the same formula that had gone on for 7 years. * Heres to being different.
Brian S. - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 9:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I didn't totally dislike this episode. As Jammer said, it was amusing and lighthearted enough.


An episode with Holosuite Vic was a cute enough story by itself. I enjoyed some of the singing. I agree it was way too long, but I can accept that an occasional episode with a lighter slower pace works.

But the existence of future recurring Vic episodes makes me wish his light bulb had never been switched on. Julian's Bond holosuite program was done much better, IMO. One full drama/comedy episode with some interesting ideas, then a few minor mentions/glimpses in future episodes for continuity. Vic got more screen time than the departing Terry Farrell, and appeared in almost as many episodes over the final 36 episodes as Garak...including precious minutes of the series finale that bascially forced the writers to rush Sisko's *death* in order to get a full Vic Fontaine song.

Also, some of Vic's dialogue was cringe inducing as it didn't really fit the characters of Odo & Kira at all....

"It's the oldest story in the book. She thinks of you as a friend."

....a friend who she had no real attraction to earlier in the year even while she was on the rebound. Then you went and slept with Changeling Space Hitler in the middle of an active war, and got so wrapped in your *link*ing that you neglected your duties to such a degree that your love interest was arrested, your crew mate was sentenced to execution, and the entire quadrant was nearly overrun by a merciless army bent on galactic domination.

Yep, the oldest story in the book.


"Women have been known to change their minds. You just have to give them a reason....The girl already likes you. That means you're halfway home."

Unfortunately that whole sexual attraction half of the equation is kind of a major hurdle that one dinner and one dance doesn't cure. Especially in light of events of the past year.

I can see Kira and Odo repairing their relationship to the degree that she no longer wants to kill him in cold blood for being a collaborator. I can maybe even see her reconciling with him to the point where she can be friends with him again. But actual physical sexual attraction? To the guy who just slept with Female Changeling Space Hitler while she was leading the Resistance?

Sorry, Vic. There are no Frank Sinatra or James Dean anecdotes that can overcome that.
Hul - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 8:43pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

i agree with everyone about the laziness to continue to find alpha quadrant things in the delta quadrant. However, I found that I enjoyed the little bit of suspense and the acting in the episode overall.

This is my first time watching voyager through. Watched TNG as a kid, and watched DS9 all the way through last year after reading so many good things. Glad I did it. I know to temper my expectations for this series, but I find it pretty awesome that people are still discussing these shows some 20 years later! Definitely adds to my enjoyment.
Polt - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 7:33pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

These two episodes are my favorite ones from Enterprise. But then I've always been a Mirror Universe junkie. So much fun here...and seeing the Constitution class bridge again....nice. Also nice was Travis, with his different hair and earrings...very sexy.

I'm anxious to move onto the second episode now...I just smile the whole way through both these, enjoying the ride!
Brian S. - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 7:17pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

One other point......can we Trek fans PLEASE disavow ourselves of the supposed notion that Roddenberry's Trek a Utopian vision that DS9 somehow violates?

Earth itself may be generally painted as a paradise compared to what we have today where war, hunger, and poverty have been eliminated. But I have a hard time accepting that even 23rd century humans are really all that evolved when you consider that the captain of the flagship of that universe is a guy that basically beat the crap out of every alien he couldn't sleep with.

There were any number of conflicts, skirmishes, and even outright wars that broke out between the Federation, Klingons, and other powers during the run of TOS. Even in the TNG days, the threat of war with the Romulan Empire always seemed to be right around the corner.

Roddenberry Star Trek shows a Federation that is constantly on the brink of war. Earth may not be a hotbed of territorial conflict and war any more, but humans were still shown to be just as flawed and confrontational as ever when it comes to civilizations outside. By that measure, present day America is a utopian paradise because we don't have inter-state fighting any more and we only go to war against other countries. To be fair, we probably are more evolved in certain ways than some of our counterparts of the 16th/17th centuries, but we still carry a great deal of flaws that can be examined.

The 1st season of 23rd century TOS Trek showed us a Federation that declared war on Klingons, referenced prior war with the Romulans, and sought war with the Gorn. There are still human smugglers, and con artists, and space pimps (though that might have all been just Harry Mudd). Penal colony administrators who torture prisoners, a Starfleet lieutenant who fakes his own death as part of a revenge plot against his captain, humans who were only too willing to kill any alien they didn't easily understand or identify with, humans who became uncontrollably dangerous a-holes under any intoxicating substance or when given a little extra power. Even the hyper-logical half-Vulcan Spock was willing to go Grand Theft Starship and risk a death penalty just to help out a disabled officer he once served with. And just to ensure that stealing an entire starship for personal motives wasn't limited to people with Vulcan blood, Kirk did the same thing in Star Trek III. And of course, let's not forget McCoy's rather constant racist slurs against Spock. And I won't even bother addressing the myriad of human/Federation problems in TNG.

All in all, this hardly paints an evolved or enlightened portrait of humanity. If DS9 appears "darker" it may be simply because the writers examine the atrocities they use for their episode backstories rather than simply glossing over them or forgetting about them at episode's end. DS9 dives into the horrors and aftermath of 50 brutal years of Cardassian rule over Bajor. TOS takes a civilization with a centuries-old history of enslavement, persecution, and rebellion, grabs one ambassador from each side, sits them at a conference table, and wipes their hands and walks away never to return again. That isn't human idealism. That's laziness and naivete bordering on criminally negligent and ignorant.

Both Kirk and Sisko were prepared to go to war with the Klingons. The only difference is that the non-corporeal Organians stopped the war, whereas the non-corporeal Prophets stayed out of the way.
Polt - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 5:59pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

How you gave this even one star is beyond me. Even seeing Travis all sweaty, and muscley in a sleeveless shirt couldn't save this piece of tripe.

With so few episodes left in the series, it's quite a shame they wasted one on this stuff.

Brian S. - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 4:52pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Section 31 is probably just a relatively small black ops segment of Starfleet Intelligence (Sloan did say that they are a branch of SI).

If a naval captain questioned the Defense Department about the actions of some intelligence operative, the Defense Dept would simply respond back without confirming or denying the existence of the operative or his unit. Whatever Starfleet admiral Sisko contacted probably has no control or authority over the specific operations of a highly classified wing of a relatively autonomous segment of Starfleet Intelligence, and wouldn't discuss such matters with a mere Captain anyway.

As for what Section 31 does....they probably do some of the same things our own 21st century CIA does, and with the same questionable ethics. They aren't quite the Obsidian Order, they don't seek to overtly control the entire Federation and all its citizens and military personnel. But they are willing to skirt the constitutional laws of due process and search warrants to seek out major political threats. Starfleet and Starfleet Intelligence disavows any knowledge of their existence and gives them a lot of leeway to do whatever they need to do to accomplish their goals. Is it too much leeway? Maybe. But so long as they get results (and it seems like they usually do), Starfleet and SFIntel don't bother asking too many questions or making too many complaints.

Sloan to me is very much James Bond without the cinematically provided certainty. If you think about it, Bond does act as judge, jury and executioner in all those films. He investigates perceived threats, breaks into people's homes, steals property to gather evidence, takes people against their will, interrogates them, and kills them if/when HE deems it necessary.....all without any court, judge, or lawyer. The audience just *assumes* Bond/Mi6 is always right (which I'm sure Sloan assumes about himself), and the films usually show us the evidence supporting that (or the supervillain's confession). Bond has killed evil henchmen/villains on far less circumstantial evidence than what Sloan had against Bashir.....and to Sloan's credit, he gave Bashir far more of a chance to defend himself than Tain or Garak probably would have in the old Obsidian Order. Bond doesn't carry handcuffs with him and make warrant-approved arrests, he just goes out and takes care of threats....quietly.
dlpb - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 10:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

DLPB are my initials. My name.
Marmota - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 10:11am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Re: leela root: I imagine later on, they grew them. They did have a hydroponic bay, right? (Except that I noticed it was, if I remember correctly, cargo bay 2, which later houses Seven of Nine? I may not remember correctly.)
MsV - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 5:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

I hate this episode
MsV - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 5:24am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I will get to what I call the heart of the matter. Jadzia was real quick to say to Sisko, that was Curzon, but she was ready to die for the memory of a man that Curzonr knew, which is stupid. Jadzia was not even born, she did this in another episode, the one with the 3 Klingon warriors. She wanted to take Curzons honors but she could not kill the Albino when she had the opportunity. She knew a lot about Klingons but she was not one as Worf had to tell her.

Avery Brooks is a very good actor.
Vidur Kapur - Tue, Feb 17, 2015, 1:48am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Apart from the plot holes you identified, I kept wondering why Archer still put his full trust in the Vulcan High Command's story concerning who bombed the embassy when Soval had already said, in "The Forge", that it was unlikely to be the Syrannites and implied that he would even go behind the High Command's back to help Archer.

Still, I thoroughly enjoyed the episode, and 3 stars seems about right.
MsV - Mon, Feb 16, 2015, 10:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Hey Jayson Vaugh, remember these are Romulans.
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 950
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer