Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,778 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 752
Amanda - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 4:03am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Steinway> I didn't mention it but yes, I suspected it was the doc when Janeway started stammering on the bridge and using a hypospray on Chakotay. He was easy prey to such a tiny woman :-) I mean really? He couldn't shove her down? :-) If the doc had done a subtle seductive move to get him from behind, yes, but front attack, Chakotay looked very whimpy to me.

redshirt28 - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 3:40am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Notice it was a woman that stole his brain in the first place.
Ric - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 3:31am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

A horrible piece of junk, no question. Let's not forget, however, the nice touch of seeing, by Harry's trick, that there is still sadomasochistic sex in the 24th century.

Yeah, maybe two stars...
redshirt28 - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 3:27am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

This episode would have fit right in with season 1TNG
Alex - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 2:31am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

This episode reminded me of the two episodes involving the quartet of mental health patients Dr. Bashir treated on DS9. Either way, I found this episode entertaining, in part because of the interesting makeup and costumes worn by some of the guest characters, as well as the redressed Enterprise set.
Tom - Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 12:45am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

I was also surprised to see all the hate for this episode. I liked it. It's obviously lighter in tone. Jennifer Hetrick was pretty good as Vash. I thought that the episode followed a James Bond pattern, though Picard is a bit too cold to play a good James Bond. It was interesting to see Picard get romantically involved with someone. I thought that would never happen! They even slept in the same bed (or blanket thrown on fake rock floor, whatever).

It's also one of the first episodes to shape the Ferengi and bring them closer to what they will become in DS9. I'm not surprised that Behr wrote this. It's also the first episode with Rom's actor!

Overall, I thought that it was a fun episode. Sure, it's cheesy and full of cliches, but it shouldn't be taken too seriously.
Amanda - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 11:14pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I like this episode. I didn't in its original airing because I knew there were only so many episodes left that I remember groaning. Now that I can only choose reruns I warmed up to it.
Tom - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 11:08pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I liked this one. It's funny and engaging. I think they messed up on the reveal though. The aliens weren't very convincing and the explanation seems rather contrived.
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:17pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Ditto, "spocko".
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:13pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

Everyrhing you point out jammer is technically correct, but I still love this episode. The arena scene did it for me. Kirks "trainer" didnt hurt my eyes neither.

3 stars.
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:06pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

The reason I see for the love interest was to provide contrast. Without it the story would just be enterprise old folks home. She also represented kirks youth and vibrancy, something that was still there inside him yet you couldnt see it.

Of course stocker represents any of us who has had a boss that knows much less than we do. Familiar?

I always enjoyed this ep very much. 3.5 stars.
Tom - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 9:59pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Great episode. This one doesn't look dated at all and it lays the ground for a lot of what we see in DS9 about the Klingons. It also creates something that won't just be thrown away at the end of the episode. It's really amazing to see how far Worf has come since season 1. He's not some kind of savage beast anymore. On the contrary, he's one of the most interesting characters on the ship. And I agree with Rikko that the quality of the acting was high and it made a big difference. Like the little wink that his brother makes at the end. This is a 4 star episode for me.
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 9:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Usually one has to be in the presence of others to feel embarrassment, I was embarrassed at myself just to be watching it alone. The slapstick sequence was the worst trek ever produced, actors/characters nearly desroyed any credibility for me to continue enjoying this show.
I kindly give this zero stars.
redshirt28 - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 9:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Catspaw

I havent watched this episode in quite some time and there is a reason; I dont want to.

I rate 1 star only because im still high from watching doomsday mach week before.
Kuwanger - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 8:45pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

@Jay: As far as the So'na go, on the one hand you're definitely right about the whole moralizing of characters turning them into figurative devils or angels. Having said that, I don't see the collection of metaphasic particles being a "the needs of the many" win. In the short term, yes, the particles could be immediately used to benefit the many more Federation citizens for perhaps a couple hundred years instead of a handful of Ba'ku. In the long term, doing the actual study of the natural extant ring of metaphasic particles would likely produce benefit to near all life indefinitely. Instead, the needs of the few--the So'na--are taking a lead because they can--in the short term--harvest the particles when the Federation can not and the Admiral wants all the credit. Which brings back to the original point, the reason the So'na end up being so monstrous is they want to live forever but not be trapped to a planet in the middle of nowhere. If only they had enough medical knowledge, they'd just do the harvesting and self-regeneration all themselves. The real shame was the unwillingness to face that the Ba'ku were had their own sort of guilt, to live forever and yet waste that life--very much against the ideals of human self-improvement of Star Trek. That seems the bigger sin.

@SkepticalMI: I don't think Satie was ever really portrayed as a mustache twirling villain. Just a self-important (her little speech of all her "sacrifice"), self-righteous (unwavering in her convictions of a conspiracy) motivation to do what she thinks is right regardless of her methods going near directly towards investing everyone to step through and prove their innocence--the core of a police state, really. Yet only near the is she painted as much of a villain as her exuberance doesn't seem to be ever perturbed by contrary evidence. I mean, that's the whole reason why Picard's little counterpoints are always about the moderation of taking reasonable steps and not about Satie being wrong or that there couldn't necessarily be a conspiracy.

@To everyone: At some level, I understand where the debate of a weak vs strong episode comes from, especially hinging on how the evidence of a conspiracy--the question of whether the dilithium chamber door was sabotaged--being possible revealed too early. But consider that later those at the hearing gasp when they hear of "evidence" of a corrosive on the door. We're looking at the investigation and the hearings from the inside. And we see that what has to be the truth today--there are numerous investigations led by the exuberant investigators who all see conspiracies where there are none and even under the best of intentions will actively ignore solid evidence to the contrary and lie in public towards their own ends--"a tactic; a way of applying pressure" that begins with lies and with paranoia can end in torture and death. You see, *you* the viewer see a monster while from a different perspective, without that breakdown in the court room, you'd never think twice about Satie being but a virtuous woman and it very odd that such a fruitful investigation was cut short. But then I ask you, how many terrorists have the NSA/CIA/FBI caught? How quickly are they to tout figures of success only when their programs are threatened to be cut off and yet the rest of the time, it seems very clear that at best they discover near nothing. Even under the best of circumstances, from the inside the virtuous are likely to appear as monsters. Meaning to or not, perhaps the lesson is one of how greater transparency is needed so we have a better grasp on "the inside"? Or, you know, Picard's general moderation of action because of a recognition of "The Drumhead".
Jay - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 3:26pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Is SkepticalMI suggesting that being able to say contracions killed Lol?
Robert - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 2:53pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Actually, I'd argue that several of the episodes you skipped couldn't have been successful on TNG.

I'm often quick to bash Voyager not staying true to it's premise... but Jetrel and Heroes and Demons actually do flesh out the premise pretty nicely. Jetrel gives nice back story to aliens that we met in the Delta Quadrant (so it's good for a bit of world/character building, especially in relation to one of our main characters) and Heroes and Demons especially keeps true to the premise of a character that can't leave an area with holoemitters going on his first away mission.

Sure they chuck THAT premise later, but this is good bit of "only doable on Voyager" that actually doesn't suffer from TNG squared (like later seasons do). Sure the episode is only a mediocre bit of writing, but Picardo sells the wonder of a "holograms first away mission" hard enough that I buy it.
Moonie - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Boring.

I find the glorification of archaic warrior cultures just as annoying as the glorification of the "simple life".

stallion - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 11:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

While rewatching season one I skipped Time and Again, Ex Post Facto, Emantions, Cathexis, Jetrel, and Heores and Demons. I didn't skip those episodes because they were awful( I actually enjoyed a few of them) I just skipped them because it's disappointing to see Voyager have adventures that could had easily be done on TNG. If you skip those episodes Season one was pretty good.

The Recurring - Seska, Carey, and Durst made great recurring characters for season one. The Kazons and the Vidiians made great villians for the season. When it comes to scare factor I place the vidiians second with the borg being first.

If TNG had a rule that each episode must have a sci fi angle than Voyager obviously had a rule that each voyager episode must have an action adventure angle. At the time Voyager was airing UPN was advertising it network as an action adventure network with shows like Hercules, Seven Days, Xena, The Sentinel and so on. Voyager was probably presurre to go in that direction.

I like the main cast for the show. They were the reason I was able to stick with Voyager. Tom and Torres are two of my favorite characters.
Robert - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:19am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I know Harry Kim had just gotten one of People's hottest young stars or whatnot and so they axed Kes instead, but seriously... they don't ever do ANYTHING with him ever again. So it's a true loss that they picked her to go.
Robert - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:17am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Agree with most of the comments here. Kes' developing mental powers and her lifespan issues would have been a gold mine of potential story. It's complete BS that the character had "run it's course".

By Season 4 it's a complete travesty that Neelix didn't end up with a gold uniform and Kes with a blue one. They were clearly going in that direction and backed off.

Any time one of the arcs they were planning for the characters changed up the status quo too much they ran away from it.

Although Piller made mistakes on Voyager (who's perfect) the things he planned for the characters/series over the course of seven years could have been really, really interesting.

I'd have loved to see Chakotay as a single father, what Suder could have done as a recurring guest star, Kes become an elderly nurse by season 7 (or perhaps even a doctor), Neelix a junior officer and what would have happened if we had kept Piller's early vision of Janeway instead of the moralizing shrew we ended up with.

Honestly I really like Seven of Nine, Jeri Ryan knocked it out of the park so hard it's damned near impossible not to, but what we got in this tradeoff (a neutered Chakotay/Harry Kim fading into the background, losing Kes, Neelix never really amounting to anything, destroying Janeway etc.) I don't think it was worth it.

Hell, they were too scared to even let the doctor finish his S1 arc of picking a name. So much frustration rewatching VOY S1/S2 and realizing that it won't ever live up to all that untapped potential. And it EASILY has the best S1 of any modern Star Trek show... so it really could have.
Tom - Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 1:07am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

This was a moving episode and it asks an interesting question: does Data have the same right of procreation as humans and what does procreation mean for a robot?

I agree that the confrontation seemed a bit forced. Why does Starfleet want to take Lawl away so soon? If they recognize Data as a lifeform (since Measure of a Man), then shouldn't he also have rights as a parent? They should have found a better reason why Starfleet wanted to take her away. And the admiral wasn't super convincing in my opinion.

Some of the arguments he used are pretty weak too: "there are only two Soong style androids", yet they never cared that Data could also have died? "you're not a parent, I am. There comes a time when every parent must part with his children." First, she is only two weeks old, or barely older. As Picard says, that just might be a little too soon. And what kind of parent would argue for taking children away from their parents?

It also seems forced when the admiral seems moved by her death. It makes no sense that he suddenly has empathy for her.

Oh, and a minor point is the whole thing about using contractions. It's completely ridiculous that Data can't use contractions. He needs help from Google Translate.

Tom - Tue, Apr 8, 2014, 11:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I didn't like this episode. First, I'm not a big fan of time travel stories. They tend to be full of paradoxes. At first, Picard is wary of interacting with the other Enterprise, stating that it may lead to a time paradox, but they do it anyway and there are of course no time altering consequences, as is usual in those types of episodes. Everything's back to normal at the end, ready for the next show.

Kurgan said: "Are we to believe that in an alternate timeline, with years of terrible bloodshed, the Enterprise would be built entirely the same and with mostly the same crew? "

Absolutely true. It reminded me of the DS9 alternate universe, which I hate.

I can't say that I liked the idea of having Guinan's intuition play such an important role here. I like it better when the characters solve their problems through logic.

And the episode never addressed the question that Picard 2.0 might not want to go back to being old Picard. Presumably, he's lived a completely different life and the Enterprise has never done anything featured in past episodes because the timeline is completely different and the Enterprise is a warship. So, wouldn't Picard 2.0, who has no idea who Picard 1.0 is, really want to go back to his original reality? He would be destroying himself and his memories. The more you think about these time travel episodes, the less sense they make. The alternate timeline is just treated as the gimmick of the week.

And there's Tasha Yar. She's not horrible here, just bad, but we are reminded that TNG is much better without her. Her wooden performance doomed the little love story. I noticed that we don't see her face full on after the kiss scene, probably because the director noticed that she was completely incapable of conveying emotion. I also didn't like that the episode felt like a forced attempt to give Tasha a meaningful death retroactively.
stallion - Tue, Apr 8, 2014, 10:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

I actually enjoyed this episode a lot. Kirk was interesting to watch here. Normally Captain Kirk gets invovle with other cultures and races problems, but this time he decided to let the federation handle the problem. The cheron are obviously going through a civil right moment, but for the most part the crew just sat back and watched. After Bele took over the ship for a second time it did become a little bit preachy, but Frank Gorshin gave a great performance.
Tom - Tue, Apr 8, 2014, 8:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

This episode failed to convince me. The solution to the mystery wasn't especially interesting, nor was the journey to get there. I didn't really like the characters, nor the setting, nor the repeated scenes. I never really doubted Riker's version of the story. We know he's not a rapist and wouldn't try to blow up the station for no reason. There was no tension for me in the episode.
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 752
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer