Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,082 (Showing 76-100)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,604
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Jason R.,

He was "Lenny" too.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

I was watching the Breaking Bad spinoff Better Call Saul recently with my wife and noticed something intensely familiar about the Charles McGill character. Holy shit, he's Fear!
Set Bookmark
Stuart Milton
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

I like this episode.

However, the main thing that niggles me about it....

Why when someone falls victim to the disease does the person (Dax, Sisko being main culprits) get this look of fear/horror/confusion as they are speaking their first affected sentence? Surely to them its absolutely normal, the other people in the conversation would be aware, but no themselves yet.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 5:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

By far one of Trek's outstanding episodes. Been watching early Voyager and I forgot how good it was from the get-go, unlike DS9 which was boring and TNG which was unbearably naff.

The end goes down with Pale Moonlight as one of the best Trek endings, the clown is never less than terrifying, the way Janeway outsmarts him is brilliant.

This is another Voyager episode that makes the moaning, complaining haters look like the muppets they are.
Set Bookmark
Ca$hback
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

The beauty of trek is watching the strong left confronted by their morals and having to suffer to uphold them. The high road isn't free. It's also really preachy.
Libertarianism doesn't get starships built. No institution left big enough to want or pay for it.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

A lot of people have pointed out a lot of plot holes, which I can’t argue with. But I still found the episode affecting, because of Kira’s last lines:

ODO: Why did he give you a sedative?
KIRA: He wanted to protect the innocent, and separate the darkness from the light. But he didn't realize, the light only shines in the dark, and sometimes innocence is just an excuse for the guilty.

Wow, 92 comments and I’m the only one who interprets these words to mean: Kira knew that she had used Prin’s concern and compassion for the innocent baby against Prin, and she wasn’t proud of it: the innocence of the baby was the excuse for Kira to beg for a mercy which Prin allowed, which resulted in Kira successfully fighting off Prin. IMO, with these words, Kira was acknowledging her guilt in the chaos that is war. Kudo’s to the writers (if my interpretation is correct).

I can’t help but also add, that if Kira would get reprimanded for the actions she took in going after Prin alone, I don’t think that it would be issued at that very moment, when they were concerned about Kira and the baby’s health, though maybe they could have hinted at. It would have happened later, off camera.

And at the very end, didn’t everybody beam out? Nobody waited for the local authorities or helped deal with Prin’s body? Not even Odo?
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

My sister got my into BSG and she told me that I should watch Razor after The Captain's Hand rather than in Season 4, and this definitely turned out to be the correct way to do it. Unlike the viewers who saw Razor when it first came out, I got to see it in its "proper" order and it really works well there and doesn't spoil anything for Season 4. It's especially hard to try and think of where a show had been when you had seen it a season prior, so I would probably have been frustrated trying to put myself back in the Season 2 mindset if I was about to start Season 4.
Set Bookmark
Atu
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I wish Quark was yelling something like "you will never crush our spirits, the hope will live on until the day your evil tyranny comes to an end!" when the Klingons were taking him away.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I thought this was a clever episode - to use the holodeck to re-enact a crime. I thought it was hilarious how there could be 3 totally different versions of the fight between Riker and Dr. Akbar. But also, it shows (whether it intends to or not) different accounts of how a man (Riker) and a woman (the Dr.'s wife) see rape.
I really liked Frakes' acting in this one - the scene when he's on the bridge sitting beside Picard and not willing to say much given what went down on the station - well done.
And it also helps that the guest actors did a reasonably convincing job - weren't as wooden as usual.
The ending scene that resolves the mystery does tie things together nicely although I'm having to extend my suspension of disbelief for the little delay to accommodate the reflection of the phaser onto the generator that blows up the station and kills Dr. Akbar.
I also liked Picard's role here in maintaining his professionalism regarding Riker being accused of murder. This part was well-written and conceived.
I'd rate this episode 3 stars -- a good way to examine a legal issue through the holodeck showing different perspectives of the lead-up to the crime. Throw in a couple of shady supporting actors as well - that helped.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Unbelievable people liked this episode and even got moved by it. Lwaxana had some strong episodes but this isn't one of it. Terrible over acting. Melodramatic and I just wanted to tear my eyes out and puke. If only this episode could have been send to my mind with all images at once so it would have been over in 1 second. Not even worth of 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Prior to watching YE for the first time just a few minutes ago, I had astronomically high expectations. I was well aware that many consider it one of the best TNG episodes, that it's been called a classic etc. etc.
Having just finished watching "Yesterday's Enterprise", I'm a tad disappointed mostly because my expectations were so high. Time travel stories always have their holes and this one is no exception although it maybe has fewer of them.
I have to agree with Elliott and Kurgan who posted a couple of the initial comments in this thread.
YE does pull out all the stops with a different bridge, different uniforms etc. to reflect the changed timeline. There is also an nice battle scene and some good lines between Picard/Guinan & Picard/Yar & Guinan/Yar. They even threw in a bit of romance (which I didn't give a shit for) with Yar/Castillo.
I found the episode difficult to get a reading on at first -- how did the transformation of the Enterprise-D come about? Then it made sense with Yar back that the Enterprise-C coming into the future changed history etc. Bit of an arbitrary circumstance.
As for the moral dilemma, I didn't see it as so much of a big deal as is made out by folks calling YE a classic. OK, so Guinan has her feelings (I can accept that) but I also feel Picard should tell the Enterprise-C to go through the rift since that is where they belong. Guinan should do better in articulating her feelings re. Enterprise-C as she did re. Yar's meaningless death (which then makes Yar request a transfer to Enterprise-C). Data makes the most valid argument that dying in battle will be seen as honorable by the Klingons and is what turns out to make the timeline the way we all know it to be.
In any case, this is a riveting episode, a well-thought out story with some great action scenes and a bit of moral/ethical stuff. I'd rate it a strong 3.5 stars - I'm not enamored with it and, for me, it is not one of the top 5 TNG episodes (certainly not up there with BoBW, for example).
Set Bookmark
BSGCommenter
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

this set up Jamie Barber for his future on Law & Order: UK!
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

This was a fun hour of TNG - have had plenty of heavy, serious episodes so it's nice to have a change of pace. But on it's own, I'd hardly consider "Deja Q" a classic. I don't even think it's a true comedy like "The Trouble With Tribbles" or "A Piece of the Action" - it just that Q is a humorous character but the rest of the crew is dead serious about dealing with the him and the moon. But no question John de Lancie is a terrific actor and does comedy well - plenty of good lines between him and the Enterprise crew. Plenty of good acting all around with the different crew members displaying their reactions to Q.

The thing is the whole while the viewer knows Q will get his powers back in the end and play some gags.

I wasn't too engaged with Geordi's attempts at deflecting the moon - not sure a starship should be able to do this, but who knows in sci-fi. The technobable wasn't particularly interesting.

As for the real point of the episode which I assume is about human qualities being experienced from the standpoint of an alien - the compassion, selflessness issue is dealt with a bit summarily. Data and Q made a good team and the android exemplified the self-sacrifice but it's a bit hard to take seriously given it's hard to know what's really going on with Q's situation.

Bernsen was fine as the 2nd Q, but his judgment about Q's shred of humility is cloaked in humor as well - so a bit hard to give much credence to the story's plot.

"Deja Q" is worth 3 stars for me - not a fan of omnipotent beings but that doesn't factor into the episode except for at the edges but it's a fun episode mainly because of Q's humor and the crew's reactions toward him.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Ah, thank you so much, Jammer, for the housecleaning on this thread.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@ SC,

Gene's vision isn't that there is *no* religion in the future. It's that people think for themselves and make their own choices, and respect each other regardless of which choice they make. IDIC =/= 'no religion'.
Set Bookmark
SC
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

This episode makes me wanna give up on DS9. Before it was suggested that the Prophets might just be aliens and Sisko was sceptical. Suddenly he's getting visions and believes wholeheartedly in the Bajor religion. Does this mean that Wolf's religion is incorrect? I've never liked the Bajor episodes and instead prefer Gene's future vision where there is no religion. Of course if Trek was truly representative of the future there would be practising Muslims everywhere, as there's no way Islam wouldn't still be around. Trek should stick to science with everyone getting along, without religion. On another note, Avery was overacting again in this.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers


I wonder if the Prophets helped launch the thing. I too thought the ship was a tad far fetched even for Trek.

Here's my real question: Why are so many people here irked by the Bashir/O'Brien drinking scene but just as many fawn over the Picards fighting drunk on wine scene (from STNG)? What's the diffy?

Chuck
Set Bookmark
Gentlejackjones
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

A few points.

1) Jammer's reviews are great, I read each one for each episode I watch, but every once in a while, I think he might dismiss the nuance (yes, sometimes precious little nuance) with which some of the scenes between characters are performed. T'Pol is clearly smitten with Trip, and has been since well before the whole "let me give you a massage while I flip the gender roles and reveal my superior dexterity and strength" massage therapy angle came about. The Archer-wife thing was a little curveball, but otherwise the writers have been throwing right over the plate with this coupling. Also, it seems maybe Jolene Blalock plays these scenes in a way she might be best suited (see T'Mir in "Carbon Creek") , as a somewhat desultory, somewhat sultry, pretend-disaffected woman who remains just accessible enough for continued dialogue.

2) If T'Pol wanted to use me to check a bucket-list item, then would let me do my job aboard ENTERPRISE, I would be just perfectly fine with that. Perfectly, perfectly fine.

Set Bookmark
peter
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

While Odo feeling resentful towards his "father" is understandable it seems that the situation had to get to the point that the "baby changeling" nearly had to die and Odo truly expressing his love for it before finally changing for the better. Interesting that the seemingly trivial B-plot involved the birth of a baby...
Set Bookmark
Lawrence
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

The reason the Borg haven't tried to assimilate the Dominion is quite simple. The Borg are in the Delta quadrant, whereas the Dominion is in the Gamma quadrant. Both are the dominant power in their respective quadrants and since they are in different quadrants of the galaxy, it is likely they have never met or come across each other.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

@Lupe
Jamahl didn't really make the effort to figure out this episode and dismissed it too quickly as a silly cartoonish story on the level of "Genesis". It's a pity.

Strangely, he rated "A Fistful of Datas", another episode in which Spiner showcases how funny he can act, with 2 stars. Compared to "Masks", that episode was pretty much pointless and had no depth to it. Let me propose more adequate scores:

Masks 1.0 -> 2.5
A Fistful of Datas 2.0 -> 1.5
Set Bookmark
Linda
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Yes, you’re right, Corey. Spock explained that radiation killed the animals, but that the spores thrived on human bodies. I'm not exactly sure how that would work but obviously it did.
Set Bookmark
methane
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

This season wasn't full of bad episodes. The problem is, there aren't any great episodes either. Most of them are just above or just below passable. On the whole, an uninspiring season of Star Trek.

Some notes:

-the best episodes of the season were probably the Borg episode (which I think can fit into cannon if you squint a little), "Stigma", or maybe "Future Tense" (as a pure action episode)

-I don't like the Duras family being villains across centuries. I don't like the idea that if you're good/bad then your ancestor or descendant was/will be the same. That's the sort of reasoning that justifies an inherited aristocracy. I would rather an ancestor of Duras be a hero & the ancestor of Worf be a villain.

-I said in my review of Season 1 that, despite my dislike of the whole idea of the "Temporal Cold War", it really didn't hurt that season. It didn't hurt this season either. I thought "Shockwave part II" was OK (if unmemorable) & "Future Tense" was actually enoyable.

-I also said in my review of season 1 that I hadn't remembered how bad Jolene Blalock was that first season, and that I remembered her doing better later. She did indeed improve significantly in the 2nd season. She won't be remembered as one of the great actors of Trek, but she was fine this season.

-Of the crew, T'Pol & Phlox got some good character moments this season. Aside from them, Ensign Mayweather in "Horizon" is the only who really got any development (and that was in a middling episode). Tucker is well acted, of course (and is heavily used as the everyman by the writers), but I wouldn't say the character has really done any developing before we get to the season finale. I don't know what to say about the captain. He's written blandly, and I don't think Bakula elevates the material.

-I think the episodes in the first two seasons of Enterprise weren't worse than the first 2 seasons of Voyager (and were perhaps better, although I haven't watched Voyager in a long time), but Enterprise suffers by not having memorable characters that draw you back even when the writing is bad. Berman & Braga said they were excited to do a prequel so they could write less "perfect" humans. Yet the humans on the show are so very bland.

-About the finale: I wasn't really impressed. Once you take out the pointless Klingon plot, and the foolishness of an alien species deliberately giving up the element of surprise, the drama is mostly in watching the characters reactions to the attack on Earth. That doesn't resonate as well as it should, partly because we haven't been drawn in by these characters for 2 years so far.

-About the change in direction & the Xindi conflict: clearly a change was needed, and more serialization is certainly welcome. However, this Xindi conflict was clearly unneeded. The first 2 seasons of the show were stronger when dealing with the cultures of the Andorians & Vulcans. I'm pretty sure I thought at the time a focus on them (and other prequel elements) would have been a better direction. i remember the 3rd season being a mixed bag; I'll see how well it holds up.

-Of course, mostly what the show needed was better writing.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I expected some anti-religion comments for this episode but it makes me wonder how Trekkies or Trekkers themselves are doing when it comes to that positive vision of humanity Gene Robbenberry envisioned? Seems like far too many comment threads on Jammer's Review turn into pissing contests. Shouldn't we be more evolved than that?
Set Bookmark
jpg
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I just watched "Shattered" from the Twisted Realities Star Trek Collection and it made me think of this episode (which I haven't seen in years). What I remember clearly about this episode clearly is the pathos and the tragedy. While I acknowledge the plot holes, I think this is a good and memorable episode of television.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 4 of 1,604
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.