Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

New: Bookmark and hide read comments | Clear bookmark

Total Found: 30,131 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 1,206
Jason R.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 5:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Chrome,

Do you think it would be an important thing in the story to mention who was getting blown up by the death star thing? Do you think the scene would have been more meaningful if we actually knew who all those people running around were or even the name of the planets they were on?

As Peter notes, none of this is mysterious in ANH, the movie this one was modeled on. I didn't fall asleep because they took two sentences to explain what Alderran was, why they were destroying it, and how that related to Leia.

The irony here is that I actually thought I knew who was getting blown up - I assumed it was Coruscent. Due to my mistake, I actually was pretty blown away by that scene. Why? Because Coruscent means something to me. It's an important place and destroying it would have been a big deal!

Except, whoops, it wasn't Coruscent. It was some planet I never heard of that isn't even mentioned by name in the movie. Jesus. When did getting such elementary information become such a big deal? Are we all suffering from ADD that we can't pause the space battles and lightsaber duels for just a minute or two to explain even some basic facts? Or is it we just don't care what's going on or why, just as long as big explosions are happening on the screen?
Chrome
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Peter G.

Even that sounds like a waste of screentime to me. The opening crawl already reads:

"Luke Skywalker has vanished. In his absence, the sinister FIRST ORDER has risen from the ashes of the Empire and will not rest until Skywalker, the last Jedi, has been destroyed.

With the support of the REPUBLIC, General Leia Organa leads a brave RESISTANCE. She is desperate to find her brother Luke and gain his help in restoring peace and justice to the galaxy."

It's the second sentence that explains what you're asking for. I would've fallen asleep faster than you could say The Phantom Menace if they kept repeating this story.
Peter G.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Robert,

That is a very good point about Rey not knowing the answers to any of these questions, and therefore not being able to clue us in either. But actually this is what ought to point to Rey as being the perfect audience proxy to whom to explain all the things she's missed out on while stuck on Jakku. Even something as simple as "The First Order; what's that" followed by "Eh, some remnant of the Empire that won't give up." That would have been enough! Two lines. And the film's structure, especially with her being paired up with someone FROM the First Order (!!!) is the perfect vehicle for her to be asking these questions and getting quick, even comical answers.
Riceman1974
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Also doing a rewatch thanks to Netflix. Haven't seen this one in 26 years, and totally forgot what happened. Now I'm a father of 2, and that last scene brought full on tears. True the plot has holes, and the Admiral was pure characiture (all he needed was a twirly mustache to complete the cliche), but damn this was a great episode, with an incredibly bittersweet ending. TNG, nay television itself, at its best.
Robert
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

@William - I'm not 100% sure I agree with the Sisko story in the opener being an A-B-C style as much as an A-A-A style... but I'll give you that the baseball episode was probably Sisko centric enough to count. You have his baseball obsession, character back story, and a bunch of other Sisko/centric bits. And the central lesson was his to learn. So yes, I'll give you that one. It's not a typical Sisko episode like say... Destiny... but I'll count it.

"The one major Jadzia episode which is neither a Worf/Dax (or Worf-Dax) episode nor in some way about her Trill-ness is "Meridian," which, you know, let's forget about that."

Deal! And I like Blood Oath too :)

"Now...again, if the stories were good enough, it wouldn't really matter, but "PD" and "TENC's" Ezri portions feel disconnected to DS9's first six seasons and also suck, whereas "Field of Fire" is...somewhat more connected to DS9's first six seasons, and also sucks."

Agreed mostly. "Field of Fire" is connected to the rest of the series, but it's such a weird reboot of Joran's character that I'm not sure why they bothered. That just wasn't the same type of killer we saw in the previous episodes. I'd have preferred her need to tap into a different Dax. One we'd have spent less time with... like maybe the nervous one O'Brien played in Facets. Maybe something that would have helped her deal with her own neuroses? I dunno.

It's not even that I HATED FoF... it's just it was in the middle of such a miserable slog of Ezri garbage (and as you said, EZRI garbage, not even Dax garbage) that my patience for an episode such as this were about non-existent.

"Shouldn't Ezri/Worf be verboten, by Trill custom, even if Worf isn't Trill?"

Yes, and Worf mentions this. I assume if they'd continued their relationship outside of captivity that it would have been dealt with.

"Isn't Julian/Ezri on very thin ice for that reason?"

Probably not? No more than 3 lifetimes of friendship with Ben. Or basically taking Jadzia's old life....

I actually don't think the stuff with Worf scales poorly. As one of only 2 times in Trek history that 2 main characters got married (or 3 if you count Nemesis... but that's awfully late in the game) these 2 characters tying up their history was a necessary end game plot. The Julian stuff felt "fluffy" compared to all the heavy weight stuff, yes.

"it would be hard to figure out what major part of galactic politics Ezri would have a logical stake in"

It's a small role but I LOVE her role in Tacking. Once we got over the relationship stuff Ezri's friendship with Worf is really sweet.
Diamond Dave
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Nah, sorry but I just can't get past the plotting here. Believing that Dukat would never have mentioned a 7 year relationship with Kira's mother until now? That smacks of lazy writing - we never did anything with Kira's mother, so let's do something now. Having the Orb of Time play a role also just smacks of convenience.

What the episode does successfully portray are the shades of grey here - and actually, Kira's mother doesn't come off as a very sympathetic character, and certainly there seems to be more than just noble self-sacrifice in her relationship with Dukat. That's a fairly sophisticated outcome, even if it can't redeem the episode entirely. 2.5 stars.
William B
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

@Robert, I agree that the real problem with Ezri is that the show gave her a *concentrated* series of *bad* episodes, while neglecting several main cast members.

I take some issue with 0 Sisko episodes" -- the opening two-parter and "Take Me Out to the Holosuite" are basically Sisko-centric. They may be ensemble pieces, but the opening two-parter is very Sisko-focused, with the Sisko story arguably being the A-plot (in an A/B/C structure), and at least the title story, but anyway over two episodes constituting about one Sisko-centric episode. "Take Me Out..." is all about Sisko's baseball obsession and while it is an ensemble show, it is an ensemble related to Sisko's leadership and tone-setting -- though I will accept that this is a significant departure from previous seasons, where there were both "Sisko-led ensemble episodes" and "Sisko & one other person" episodes constantly.

I think that in s5-6 the focus of Dax episodes shifted away from stories about Trill issues and Dax-the-symbiont's past ("Dax," "Invasive Procedures," "Playing God," "Blood Oath," "Equilibrium," "Facets," "Rejoined") and, with "The Sword of Kahless" as transition ep, became primarily Worf/Dax stories ("par'Mach," "Let He Who Is Without Sin," "Soldiers of the Empire" [more Worf/Martok-centric with Jadzia as important supporting role], "You Are Cordially Invited," "Change of Heart," and the subplot in "Time's Orphan"). The one major Jadzia episode which is neither a Worf/Dax (or Worf-Dax) episode nor in some way about her Trill-ness is "Meridian," which, you know, let's forget about that. Actually my favourite Dax episode is probably "Blood Oath," which is maybe a marginal case but is still very much about Jadzia's relationship with Curzon Dax's past. ("The Sword of Kahless" is transition because it is a sequel to "Blood Oath" and is the main Worf-Dax story of s4.) And there are episodes like "One Little Ship" in which Dax is something of a co-lead in a more adventure-y/tech-y plot. For what it's worth, I don't really like many Jadzia episodes that much -- "Blood Oath" is my favourite, followed by "Dax" which was admittedly Dax 1.0 -- and I think I like Jadzia best in a supporting role, such as in "The Quickening."

But anyway, that gives some background to interpreting the Ezri episodes against the Jadzia episodes. "Afterimage" is a getting-to-know-you episode and so obviously a fine story to tell (I forget how successful it was, but that's another story). "Field of Fire" is pretty dumb but is at least consistent in subject with the type of Dax stories we have seen before. It's hard to know what the motivation behind "Prodigal Daughter" is though. I'm not saying the episode couldn't have been good, but why this interest in showing Ezri's (blood) family, when there was never even the slightest interest in examining Jadzia's (blood) family? Didn't they spend four years establishing that any "family drama" episodes for Jadzia are told through metaphor via her "ancestors" and "family members" via the symbiont? It's like another entry in the TNG s7 family drama sweepstakes...but this time for a NEW CHARACTER just introduced. Episodes about the Dax symbiont history, and about Ezri rebuilding (or not) her relationships with the DS9 crew based on Jadzia, are relevant to the show's history and make for a logical continuation of Dax's narrative. In fact, since the Trill change-of-symbiont is built into the character, it is fully consistent to continue telling Dax stories after Jadzia's death. But it gets really weird with an episode like "Prodigal Daughter," or really material about Ezri that's totally unrelated to the fact that she's Dax; it's really late in the series, with a lot of plotlines left to tie up, to basically introduce a new character and give her so much screentime, some of which continues a character we know and some of which, "Prodigal Daughter" and "The Emperor's New Cloak" (where IIRC Mirror-Ezri is unjoined), seem to have nothing at all to do with the character from the past.

Now...again, if the stories were good enough, it wouldn't really matter, but "PD" and "TENC's" Ezri portions feel disconnected to DS9's first six seasons and also suck, whereas "Field of Fire" is...somewhat more connected to DS9's first six seasons, and also sucks.

For what it's worth, (SPOILER) I find both the Ezri/Worf and Ezri/Julian material, well, relevant I guess, but oddly hampered by a lack of real follow-up to "Rejoined." Shouldn't Ezri/Worf be verboten, by Trill custom, even if Worf isn't Trill? And isn't Julian/Ezri on very thin ice for that reason? The Ezri romance material does also suffer because it is going on at the same time as Damar's preparation for rebellion against the Dominion and Dukat's game on Winn and so on, and it's not just a matter of scale, they are really completely unrelated types of stories, and it gives the weird impression that our main cast are really quite boring in comparison to the supporting players -- that the only interesting questions for the main cast are who they will end up with. Fortunately Worf and Bashir got meatier material later on (even if I think "Extreme Measures" was badly botched), but Ezri really doesn't get much, which...is probably okay (it would be hard to figure out what major part of galactic politics Ezri would have a logical stake in -- it turns out that the symbionts in that pool on Trill have superpowers that hold the key to the war!).
Robert
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

I will concede that if you need to ask yourself "what is happening" that it is a story telling failure. I don't necessarily know that "how is this happening?" necessarily constitutes a story telling failure... but "what is happening" does.

I will concede that I know very, very little about the First Order, the Resistance, the Republic, etc. and I wish I knew more. I guess I was ok with it because the PoV character is Rey and I assume she doesn't know any of this.

I'm hoping that in the next story they explain to HER what's going on and take us along for the ride and that those things weren't the story this was trying to tell... but instead were scenery... if that makes sense?

I also got the feeling that Snoke and Ren knew something about Rey... multiple scenes gave me that impression. I suppose though that if I'm saying the point of the story was Rey's tale we might have needed more from her. I will concede that Finn asking "How the hell did you do that" at some point or another might have been useful.
Peter G.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Robert @Chrome,

I understand what a trilogy is, but do you understand that the present action of a film cannot be literally unexplained AS IT'S HAPPENING? There was never one instant in ANH where I saw what was happening and asked "what the hell is going on?" or saw something and said to myself "that makes no sense given what they told me already." When Alderaan was destroyed I knew what planet is was, what it mean to Leia, and what the stakes were. I knew who did it, and why, and who was next. Tell me - how much exposition, exactly, did informing me of this take? So how can a star system be destroyed in TFA without me knowing what planets they are or why they were chosen? Should I have to wait until the next installment to find out?

How can Rey do all these miraculous things without anyone (herself included) commenting on how bizarre it is that she can use these powers. She never says, even once, something like "I don't know how I know how to do this, this is crazy." Which, by the way, is what any sane person would say if they were suddenly a kung fu master with no apparent training. Rather, she has this smug look on her face when she realizes she can do stuff and just wins. This is especially so when she faces Kylo Ren a couple of times and just when he thinks he's got her down for the count (mind control scene, and then lightsaber duel) she pulls a "I'm not left handed either" and turns the tables as if it was all according to plan. And you'd think he'd say something like "How can a mere force sensitive do these things?" You'd even suppose, after having his mind read, that he'd report immediately to Snope to tell him that some neonate has uncanny force abilities, asking for an explanation.

Then there are the things Jason brings up; the First Order, the RESISTANCE (sigh), the lack of the Republic, the reason the First Order appears to be unopposed, the reason some droid is carrying the map to Luke, and so forth. We begin and end the film knowing jack all about the universe, what's going on, who is on what side, what the deal is with the search for Luke, and even why exactly Han left Leia. Heck, we don't even know basic things like who the heck Orange Yoda is and why she has Vader's lightsaber (you know, the one that fell to the void on Cloud City), or why Ackbar is with the RESISTANCE but not Wedge or the others. It's not even mentioned, as if it doesn't matter!

This goes beyond merely sloppy writing and insulting the audience's intelligence, which by the way we know is part of it since Abrams has verbatim stated that he didn't want to "complicate" the film with background. Yeah, it would be too complicated for us to know anything, thanks buddy. But it's worse than that, because I honestly feel all of this is being kept from us precisely so that we HAVE TO see the sequel to understand anything. It's a marketing ploy, plain and simple. That is what I call fraud; when a product cannot stand on its own two feet and be meaningful on its own. If I saw ANH and never knew of any sequels the film would be satisfying and I would never realize something was missing or that I had to watch more to understand what had happened. Empire does have a cliffhanger ending to be sure, and yet all questions in that film are answered other than whether Vader is telling the truth.

As you mention, TFA does technically have a standard dramatic structure, but it's not like we learned a bunch of stuff and have a few new questions to have answered next time; we have only questions and no answers. We literally do not understand the meaning of most events in the film, and we are obliged to observe them but not comprehend them, to sit back and watch but have no stake in it since there's no context. The real questions at the end of TFA should have been (1) Who is Snope, (2) Why did Luke leave, and (3) what happened when Rey was a child. Three things that big is already a damn lot but I wish those were the only unanswered questions. Instead nothing is answered; tune in next time!!!

Diamond Dave
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Probably the cleverest part of this episode is how the tongo plot works up to something quite touching between Bashir and Quark on missed opportunities. The two - not one, but two! - jungle walking montages show the less clever, time filling side of the main story.

There's some really good dialogue in here, and a fairly daft plot, and in all honesty you have to wonder whether Worf's decision is not just a bit out of character. Of course, it's a contrivance to even get to that point in the first place.

The asteroid field FX is indeed outstanding, as is the make-up department's work on Dax. 2.5 stars.
JohnG
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Add me to the "Geordi comes off as a creepy, obsessed stalker" list.

At the time the show aired, there really wasn't any real life parallel. Now with social media and other technology we are getting closer to where someone could create a virtual reality version of a person he/she had a crush on or an obsession with.

You would think the evolved humans of the 24th Century would have had developed a good code of holo-ethics that would forbid such behavior.

He essentially appropriated her 3 dimensional image, her voice, and and his approximation of her personality and used it to create a virtual version of her for his own fantasies.

I think she had every right to feel violated and even more reason to think Geordi was pathetic and creepy.

I think Geordi had at least as serious holodeck issues as Reg Broccoli...I mean Barclay.
Jason R.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

As I was watching this episode, it occurred to me that instead of showing this advanced drone around the ship and giving him a tour of the mess hall, they probably should have just handed him a rusted out transwarp coil from one of the borg wrecks they salvaged, a screwdriver, and said "here, make this work" and then given him an afternoon to get them home to the Alpha quadrant. You'd think the crew would have learned by now that characters like that don't stick around for long and you gotta put'em to work while you can.
Robert
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Chrome - Sounds complete to me.

The big question is of course how a force newb can mind control and beat a trained dark Jedi in combat.

That doesn't make the story incomplete... it sets up a bit of bait to make you wonder what's going to be revealed in the next movie.

People complaining about this are either
a) Annoyed that they can't think of a good reason for her to have been able to do this
b) Think she's ridiculously overpowered
c) Think the writers will fail to properly explain this

The trilogy may still fail, but it may also be explained to our satisfaction. For now I consider it a mystery I'm intrigued to know the answer to.

My money is on a combination of
1) Ren is severely weakened by the guilt of what he had just done weakening his connection with his dark side force powers and his injury from a weapon we've seen kill people in one shot

2) Rey already having decent hand to hand combat (which we saw earlier). Untrained Jedi are supposed to be able to anticipate things before they happen. If Finn can hold his own against severely diminished Ren for a few moments a hand-to-hand combat veteran with the ability to anticipate things before they happen could easily do the same. Remember Luke basically blew up the Death Star blind folded. For me the bigger mystery is what's up with Ren that he was so BAD. He should have been able to bisect Finn with little effort.

So our mysterious are....
1) What's going on in the larger world? I don't feel this is knock against the movie because our POV character isn't going to learn any of that stuff until the following movie because she's living in a backwater nowhere.

2) Why was Rey so strong/Ren so weak?

3) Who are Rey's parents?

4) What has Luke been up to?

5) What happened with Han/Leia/BRen?

Is that really too many unknowns?

Things that are name dropped in New Hope and not elaborated on...

1) Vader "killed" Anakin

2) The Clone Wars

3) What's going on with Han/Jabba

4) The Emperor
Jason R.
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Chrome,

The Force Awakens didn't come out of a vacuum the way A New Hope did. There have been six movies that came before, giving us a pretty clearly defined universe to work with.

It seemed to me, watching this movie, that Abrams was so committed to basically remaking A New Hope, that he had little interest in actually making sure that anything fit with the existing story. Where elements of the New Hope story didn't really jibe with the events of the previous movies, he just kind of crammed them in there, I guess hoping we'd assume that it was going to be explained later in another movie, or maybe just not caring whether it made sense or not.

It's not that the events of TFA are inexplicable in the context of the existing Star Wars universe, it's just that they simply aren't explained at all, and many scenes leave the audience scratching its head saying "huh?". For instance (not to beat a dead horse!) but one of the defining plot points of the original Trilogy was the empire being defeated. But now they're back and they're called the First Order? And Leia is back to being a rebel again? Wow. They might have taken 11 seconds of screen time to at least tell us why after 30 years we're back to square one, like nothing in the last three movies ever happened!

Now you can say that Abrams was rebooting the franchise, which is kind of the case - except that this wasn't what we were promised. I thought TFA was supposed to be a sequel, i.e. a continuation of the story we had come to love. If I had known he was just going to give us a straight remake of A New Hope, I might not have bothered showing up.

But I will say that these elements weren't really the worst failings of the story. There's just so much else to hate about this film, I can hardly get caught up with this one issue.
Scott from Detroit
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I hope they do the new-age way of releasing ALL episodes for the season at once. CBS All-Access is $5.99 per month. I could watch an entire new season of Star Trek in the matter of a week or two. So $5.99 to watch a season of Star Trek? Hell yeah, sign me up.

I'd more than likely be canceling the subscription when I was done watching Star Trek, but maybe they can convince me otherwise, which would be the main reason for making Star Trek online-exclusive.

Mr. Jammer, there's plenty of time. Even if you don't review these episodes as they release we'll be hoping for reviews, even if they take years!
Diamond Dave
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

To me, this one would live and die over whether O'Brien feels sympathetic enough to Bilby to care enough whether he lives or dies. And I'm sorry, but the episode didn't sell that. At the end of the day, Bilby is a killer - the fact he loves his family and owns a cat being somewhat by-the-by.

This also reminded me a little of Far Beyond The Stars, insofar as it didn't really feel like a DS9 episode. A couple of good performances don't save it. 1.5 stars.
Chrome
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Call me a sucker for time travel plots, but I liked this a lot. Seven plays an interesting time cop, and it's nice to see some of the scenes of "Caretaker" from another perspective.

I also think it was a smart choice to use Seven, because other members of Voyager might have tried to alter Voyager's fate in the Delta quadrant. Seven doesn't really care about being stuck in the Delta quadrant at this point, so it makes sense that she'd help just to save her new home in the established timeline.

I'm not going to try and make sense of the time travel shenanigans (and you shouldn't either!), I'll just let myself be entertained by the idea of the challenge in stopping temporal threats and leave it at that.

3 stars.
Chrome
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

@petulant

"The aliens were too dumb to check the back of Picard or Rikers neck to see if they was one of them"

Actually, they did check Riker's neck and found bluegil because Crusher made a fake one. Picard wasn't taken over yet, the bug creatures were just taunting him before they did his conversion.
petulant
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

This episode barely kept me interested, even when Riker then Laforge and Worf were beaten up by an old guy i wasn't impressed,
The aliens were too dumb to check the back of Picard or Rikers neck to see if they was one of them,
and the alien that burst out of Remmik at the end just made me laugh,
over all the episode felt like a rip off of a few sci-fi films and the fact that there was no episode that continued from this one made it feel even more lame, 1 star might be too generous.
Chrome
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

@Robert, great point, and it makes me wonder if these same types of criticisms existed when "A New Hope" was released. Imagine "Episode IV? WTF? Where's I-III? What a ripoff!"

Anyway. I'd be open discuss this movie as an incomplete story. First, what does a story require? A story is defined as having an exposition, climax, and resolution. Let's see,

(1) Exposition: Rey, Finn, and Han find eachother in an attempt to flee what has become a powerful and oppressive military movement among the fragmented Sith Empire. They know they must find the powerful jedi Luke Skywalker before the this evil empire does.

(2) Climax: The trio, still missing the key to finding Luke, must confront the Fist Order before it captures and destroys their bases and homes. Han sets his mind to try and regain his son who has fallen to the dark side.

(3) Resolution: Han fails to turn over his son, who has become mad with power. Finn saves Rey and disables the First Order's defenses. The the pair is forced to confront the now powerful Kylo Ren. Rey's innate force powers awaken and she holds Kylo at bay. Having accepted her role as a jedi, Rey goes to find Luke, the last hope for the light side in the galaxy.

Sounds like we have all three parts required for a story here. Did I miss something?
Andrew
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

One reason I disliked Ben was he instantly presented too much as both loveable and all-knowing while Guinan from her beginning was well-meaning and very wise but hardly all-knowing, she made some mistakes and had frustrations as well as wisdom.
Andrew
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 9:59am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

I liked this episode more than "Lower Decks," mainly because I thought the crewmen were both more interesting and Celes more likeable and Janeway's interactions with them were more enjoyable and in-character than were Worf's or Picard's or Riker's; the plotting also felt pretty interesting until the forced climax and heroism (Barclay's saving the day in "Hollow Pursuits" worked much better). It's too bad they weren't seen later (aside from one Celes appearance set earlier). I'm not sure why there's hostility to introducing previously-unseen characters, a crew of 150 is still fairly big especially when the series does focus mostly on the main characters interacting with each other.
Andrew
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

I think the overall quality difference between Voyager and TNG isn't great and so Voyager overall isn't a bad show (they share some of the same weaknesses and strengths) but TNG is generally a better and more interesting show because it was generally was and felt a lot bolder and riskier and more significant, too often Voyager for whole episodes or at least the endings seemed to be too much playing it safe and even most of its successes and big changes were quickly reset-away and ignored.
Andrew
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

It would have been cool if the ending retroactively revealed that Kes had never left or even if Kes did return angry but not to a murderous level or wanted to and did rejoin/spend time with the crew, instead her suddenly changing dropping her anger but still wanting to instantly leave and go to her people and not helping Voyager more really didn't make sense.
Luke
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 9:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

"Vortex" is a good episode, but not a great one. Obviously the main attraction is the thought of having some of Odo's backstory revealed. And in that, it's ultimately nothing but a giant tease. Virtually nothing is actually revealed about Odo and the Changelings. All we get are a few things that would later be developed into the Founders' backstory - their secretive and suspicious nature and the fact of persecutions in the distant past - but what else? I'm not saying that all must be revealed (certainly not in the opening episode of this story arc) but this really isn't that much to sink our teeth into.

That being said, the rest of the episode works remarkably well - good performances from just about everybody, a nice action subplot with the Miradorn intent on revenge and the revelation that it was all to save Croden's daughter (even though it ultimately destroys any prospects of learning about Odo's backstory) all add nicely to the mix.

But, the biggest plus for me was the humanizing of Odo. After watching him act like a total ass (and outright fascist) for a lot of episodes, I really enjoyed watching him set aside his sense of order and release Croden and his daughter to the Vulcans. It shows that while he does have an exaggerated sense of duty and order, it's ultimately trumped by his sense of justice and compassion. It was a welcome change.

7/10
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 1,206
Copyright © 1994-2016, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. This site is an independent publication that is in no way affiliated with any company or entity that produces the subjects reviewed here. | Copyright & Disclaimer