Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,876 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 756
Retrospeculative - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I have to disagree with the prevailing opinion; as science fiction, this is a much better film than The Wrath of Khan, which has some embarrassingly bad ham acting (in particular, from William Shatner and Ricardo Montalban).
SkepticalMI - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

As others have mentioned, this is a rather dark story, with Geordi being put through hell. Of course, it could have been darker. Tell me, how did the Romulans know so much about Geordi's visor? How did they single him out so easily and seem to have the technology all in place? After all, it's not like they've ever gotten their hands on a VISOR before. It's not like any of them ever tinkered with one before. Well, except for that one guy in The Enemy, who worked with the VISOR enough to hook it up to a tricorder... Oh.

Yes, Bochra, the man who saved Geordi's life, who confided to Geordi that he did not want to die, the person involved in what Geordi cheerfully and triumphantly declared the first Federation-Romulan co-venture... Bochra was the one who caused all of this brainwashing. How's that for a nice swift kick in the gut, La Forge? Although I'm not sure which scenario is darker: Bochra immediately going to the Tal Shiar and offering up all intelligence freely, or Bochra imprisoned by the Tal Shiar and forced to give intel on his new Federation friend...

OK, random speculation aside, this is an excellent episode. There really is a sense of dread, a sense of danger throughout the episode. Of course everything would turn out ok. But Klingon and Romulan episodes tended to be the dark ones, tended to shake up the status quo. Worf killed someone in the last one. Maybe La Forge would too. Probably not, but maybe... Of course, it wouldn't be O'Brien. But that scene in 10-Forward was creepy enough because you knew something was going to happen. And when it ended up just being a spilled drink, it made perfect sense (the Romulans aren't going to call too much attention to themselves for a test) as well as being, well, a bit unexpected. A bit of relief, but then you realize that means he is still being controlled by the Romulans, so not a relief at all.

And then we see him in action, using his brain to wipe the computer memory. And then see him later with no recollection of it. It's painful for the viewer to see, which is undoubtedly the point. And then Data gets on the case, and it's a race to the end...

The end is a little bit contrived, but forgivable. I wasn't bothered by Data not running or anything, he didn't know an assassination attempt was underway. What was a bit of a bother was Worf fighting with the two Klingon bodyguards while Picard and Vagh stand there stupidly and watch him. And then Data seemed to hedge all his bets on Kell still having the transmitter on him. Which was a lucky guess. This was definitely the last order (since La Forge would be imprisoned if successful), and Kell beamed down to the planet after giving the last order. He could have abandoned the doohicky at any time. Yet it was obvious that Kell still had it.

But it's a minor nitpick. The overall episode was still an excellent, suspense-filled show, a worthy member of the Klingon civil war arc.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Decent episode. Not great. The main issue is that the council were willing to cover up the truth, which is contrary TO Klingon honour.
The council leader even suggests that he served alongside Mogh and "I do not want to remember him this way"

What way? You'd rather he was remembered as a traitor? That's bad writing.
Buck - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"... and all it cost was the life of one Romulan senator, one criminal, and the self-respect of one Starfleet officer."

Best line of the episode.
Joe - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:48am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

am i the only one that liked this episode?
Ric - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:15am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

That review was by far one of the best I've read on any Trek so far. Other sites included. Very very funny.

This episode's lack of logic was ofensive. The sudden lack of fuel/energy just to bring a pseudo-continuity for a lazy plot excuse was even more. The half stars is more than enough. I would give this same half star, but only for the fact that the writers decided to show officers beaming down to non-M class planet, i.e. even using astrounaut clothss. It always bothered me how rare this is.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Holy Trek, I almost slept during this one.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Really Strong episode. Very good all along.

From the captain finally listening the suggestion given by other (jn this case, Chakotay), to Seven's personal quest. And mostly, the way the episode dealt with "spiritual experience" - compare that with how DS9 deals with that and you give this episode some twenty stars.

The plot was pretty engaging and, as Jammer has pointed, it used the Voyager features naturally. Fully good, and Seven is a joy to watch. When I think we had to pay one Kes in exchange for Seven of Nine, I smile.


Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 9:03pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

The plot is poor. In fact Paris' need for a change of pace was too sudden, flat and lazy writing. As lazy was the how idea of changing bodies as a way to see some fake character conflict.

Not to mention that once again, the security measures of Voyager are worth nothing. The alien can so easily access the central computer and a lot of bio info on Paris. Pathetic.

Oh, in a last note, the first scene of the alien-Paris and The Doc shows again that he is not very good in psychology...
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:31pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

*FOR when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up

But yeah, 4 stars for me, this was excellent. Oh and to the ones questioning Sisko's capacity for blackmail... Episode 1. Quark.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:26pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

I like to think that the body's purpose was to instill a sense of ambiguity, that it was meant as a side dish for viewers who tried to piece the whole thing together in their heads. I, for one, feel that Ghemor was 99% certain that the dead body was, in fact, his actual daughter. Of course, now that he cannot return to Cardassia Prime, he will never know for sure. It was for this reason that my eyes got a bit cloudy when he gave back the family jewel. Then, of course, he says he hopes he'll find her some day, but again, I think the line was meant, once again, for the sake of ambiguity. It could very well be that he KNOWS he will never find her. That the order would be so cold as to use Ghemor's famillial emotions against him to an end, and that on Cardassia trials are already decided before they begin, I wouldn't put it past them to keep the fake corpse when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up. They probably knew Ghemor was a traitor from day 1, and the cameras that weren't on? ... Yeaaah I doubt that. Also, the comment about Garak, while could easily put the Legate into question, it could at the same time simply add more depth to DS9's ambiguity figurehead himself.

All in all, "Face of the Enemy" obviously comes to mind (possibly the only Troi episode I actually really enjoyed), but also "Frame of Mind", with the plot centering around trying to convince a main character that their life is a lie. To me, combining two of my favorite TNG episodes together and then having Garak come in and say what pretty much everyone in this comments section was thinking...

" Major, I don't think I've ever seen you looking so ravishing."
DLPB - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Also some of the lefty writing is annoying as usual.

"You are a non-violent man, yet you committed acts of excessive violence"

lmao...
DLPB - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Decent episode. But have you noticed the sheer frequency of criminals in Trek that aren't to blame for their own actions?
Jerry - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 3:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I agree with the 3 / 4 stars given. I think Michael Ansara was one of the high points of the episode, and the other was the 2nd most famous Klingon proverb - Only a Fool Fights in a Burning House.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

The whole episode I was bracing myself for another display of Quark groveling at "Move Along Home" cringe levels, instead I get a thrown bat'leth and (if you'll excuse me) "COME AT ME BRO", followed by the most amusing divorce ceremony ever.

And yeah, it's good to see Keiko responding negatively with depression, as awful as that sounds now that I think of it... It gives the character more dimensionality than the usual O'Brien marital duking we've seen. Here, we see Miles instead of returning angry canned lines off in the distance, we get 'I can't see her like this' and real solution.

I agree with Nic, though... Does Jake just have to suck it up and tutor himself and everybody else now?
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

@Bravestar - Considering Nog is Jake's best friend and the purpose of the staff meeting was to get a senior staff baseball game going and the only person who knows more about baseball on the entire station than Kassidy and the Sisko's is probably going to be Jake's best friend.... I'd say it makes plenty of sense that he was invited.

Beyond that.... since I'm aware of at least 3 people that WERE NOT main cast that outranked Harry Kim, what the heck was HE doing at the staff meetings (or Seven).
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:48am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

@Rivus - The Odo plot was a 4 and the other plot was... I dunno... badly written fan fic?

I absolutely love the beam out where Kira presses Odo's comm badge. I just love their closeness there.

I could never give this episode a 2 because of how much I love Odo's story in it.
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:46am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Are there bald people in the mirror universe? They have gay people there....

I always just assumed that bald was a fashion choice in TNG era.... after all, the Doctor re stimulates Seven's follicles to let her grow hair....
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

I tend to look at the stars before watching the episode, then read the review... This whole episode, I was scratching my head, going 'how in the hell is THIS two stars!?!?!?' I was laughing my head off at Garak's one-liner... But then the ending came around, and while I think the 'cop-out' isn't nearly as bad as some say, I think the issue is more with how it's presented. It's not like "Whispers", where there's all this huge buildup until the plot's made clear, it's just madness and chaos all throughout, and a sudden sucker punch at the ending... I just don't feel it punctuated the overall feeling of the episode as well as it could have... Still, excellently acted, especially the interactions between Kira and Odo. I'd say it's worthy of a 3, docked down from 3.5 just because the ending felt admittedly abrupt.
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

"Why did the Bajoran woman just happen to contact Kira at the beginning of the episode, just when the Cardassians wanted to kidnap her? If she had been working for the Cardassians, then she wouldn't have contacted Sisko when Kira didn't show up. The Cardassians did not need the backstory of Kira just learning that she had supposedly been in the prison. "

It's pretty obvious that SOMEBODY was working for the Cardassians, but I doubt it was that woman. The Kobliad woman who kidnaps her watches the communication at the beginning of the episode. Most likely whomever assigned the Bajoran to research Elimspur was working for the Cardassians, even if the woman who contacted Kira was not. The events were clearly not random (as you could see by the Kobliad woman observing) they were planned in some way.

"The idea that in ten years Kira never had a check up, which would have easily revealed that she was Cardassian, is silly."

I believe in Voyager Seska (who was also genetically altered to be Bajoran) scanned as Bajoran to most superficial scans... it wasn't until the doctor kept poking that he discovered she was Cardassian. And she tried to lie it away, claiming a transfusion from a Cardassian caused the readings. The doctor saw through it, but she clearly felt she had enough Bajoran DNA for it to be worth a try. And Voyager (at it's time) was state of the art. DS9 was likely using a lot of old Bajoran equipment and before DS9 she was likely getting even crappier check ups. Voyager's Second Son shows a race genetically altering Harry to not appear human as well. The original ending was going to have the doctor not be able to verify one way or the other.... so clearly the writers thought this tech was good enough to fool medical equipment (or at least it could be).

"Why would Kira's interrogator be asking stupid questions that Cardassia easily has the answers to? Wouldn't that tip Kira off that they don't actually want information from her?"

As far as I know interrogators almost ALWAYS start with the easy stuff. If you're not even willing to admit you've been in Ops, of course you're not going to tell them anything useful. You'd start with the basics (stuff she knows you know), move onto intermediate (stuff she doesn't know if you know) and move on from there. The idea being that there is no point in starting off with things you can't verify....

"I like to think that this episode is actually leading to a triple cross. Kira's "father" is a double agent. The bracelet he gives her is a spy device. His overwrought warning about Garak then takes on a different meaning altogether. It would have made the episode a lot more interesting. "

Have you seen the followup to this episode yet?

"Also, why does Garak kill the guy instead of stun him? Why does Sisko not have a problem with this?"

Considering Sisko later decks Garak for something similar, I agree with you here 100%. It was good for Garak's character to be established with the kind of edge that could just murder somebody like that for the hell of it, but it weakens Sisko's character a bit that he doesn't even so much as grumble about it. I mean.... in the end there's not much he could do. The man just saved his first officer and I HIGHLY doubt that there would be any real consequences for what Garak did... but Sisko is explosive enough (and presumably against murder) that I find it hard to believe nothing came of this. Maybe off screen....
Grumpy - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

"If Picard can baldly go, so can Picard-o." --some damn "Making of" special

As far as we know, Ric, incurable baldness is a side effect of the 24th century's cure for gayness.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 2:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I can't help but keep saying: it is impossible to keep swallowing how easy it is for someone to escape security measures. To overcome security officers at the sickbay, to by-pass command codes. To beam people without authorization. The lazy writing is extreme. Btw it is funny that Jammer did usually excuse these things more than he did the losses of shuttlecrafts.

That said, of course it was a good episode. Mostly by the fact that we start seeing continuity regarding the development of Seven's character. And finally we see some consequences for her wild actions. The last scenes and the dialogues between her and the captain were a joy to watch.

Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:54am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I think the best Trek episodes are ones like these that make you think. Speaking of Plato, I could imagine Picard shaking his head at all this. But that's a lot of DS9. Sisko says it best in The Maquis... The heart of the federation is all up in the clouds with their saints and philosophies, but the same doesn't hold true for the rest of the galaxy. In a way, the mirror universe takes this idea, and exponentiates it.

Now, looking at what Mirror Kira said about the terrans... Sure, there was probably high hopes initially, but look at what they faced here. First off, trying to make peace when all around you is much more chaotic, never mind the likelihood that mirror terrans would be ill-equipped to actually enact change in the way the Federation did... Klingons are no help, neither are the Bajorans, in fact here they seemed to have become Cardassians.

Another parallel I see here would have to be the prime directive (Yeah, I know, I know...). Much like how TNG gets all preachy with developing worlds, tampering with the course of natural history... Where here, 'natural history' throughout the galaxy seems to be one of chaotic order. All Kirk did would not be dissimilar to taking a pail of septic sludge and an eyedropper to drop a tiny droplet of pure water. At first, perhaps for an instant, the drop will appear to make a tiny portion of sludge look like cloudy water, but corruption is inevitable.

Granted, I still have yet to see "Mirror, Mirror", or for that matter the remainder of DS9... But this is how it looks to me.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Quite a good episode. I only can't take the fact that Voyager easliy sent the only doctor available in the ship to a mission with high likelihood of failure. It does not make sense at all and is one of these many examples of silly lazy wrtting in this show. Also, the lack of imediate consequences for Seven's wild behaviour was a bit annoying.

But again, the rest of the episode is very good. I do think that it managed to balance fun, funny and important storytelling. I can't understand how Jammer could have said this episode was superficial. We saw Seven's behaviour going wilder, we saw a bit of build up on her relationship with Torres, we saw The Doctor delivering a message to the Starfleet! Now they now about Voyager's journey. One thing is to expect deep character moments. Or profound moral choices (this looks a bit like a DS9-addiction). Another is to say the episode, its plot or its consequences were superficial like it was said about past episodes in this season. Lastly, what a joy was the last scene, what a great line delivery when the captain gets the final message...

In another tone, the dialogues between the doctors are frequently really fun. The piece about sex, with our Doc so proud of his sexual experience was amazing. And what about Seven's face when she asks "I am rude?", haha.

Also, I think they have managed to bring the Alpha Quadrant to the show in a smart and sort of believable way. I liked the episode a lot.


PS: Paris asking for more hair to the replacement doctor made me remind of something that I always have though about The Doc. He makes 21th century bald people like me hopeless about the future...
SlackerInc - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 11:17pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Bob's comment at the top of this thread perpetuates a pernicious myth about the Civil War that needs to be countered with a dose of reality:

www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/five-myths-about-why-the-south-seceded/2011/01/03/ABHr6jD_story.html
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 756
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer