Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,101 (Showing 76-100)

Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 885
Jerry - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 5:06pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I'm TRYING to watch ENT, but the writing is so bad... "A firefight? In close quarters?" No, you stupid witch! The monks take cover, out of the way, and the instant the Andorians open the door, they're hit with phasers on stun! The writers assume that viewers are as stupid as they are, and won't/can't think of any other tactic/alternative. It's as if no one ever held a hand up in staff meetings and asked any questions.
Josh - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 3:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I don't disagree much with the review or most of the comments above. It is a bit funny to see Penny Johnson here pre-Kasidy Yates and Brian Markinson before his appearances on Voyager and, of course, as Dr Geiger in DS9's "In the Cards". I'd say "Soulless Minions of Orthodoxy" well describes the decisions of Picard and other Prime Directive dogma adherents.

Having said all that, I did like Paul Sorvino as Nikolai. It's too bad we didn't see him previously.

(I have to say that Nikolai's lavender turtleneck and fuzzy purple tailed jacket make for pretty bizarre fashion, even for this show.)
Yanks - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 2:48pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

I'm not sure why anyone would require more of Archer throughout the series. They treat him like he is part of an organization that's been around for 100 years... they seem to forget he's the 1st one out here.
Yanks - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 2:41pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I'll get around to reviewing this someday.

But really? You'd think that this episode removed the need for star ships...

Just the simple fact that this episode has a dog in it means it is better that 10 other crap ST episodes.

:-)
Vyse - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 11:26am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Worst.Episode.Ever.
James - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

Didn't it strike anyone as a little bit trigger-happy to land a cloaked ship in San Francisco's central park? Did they think it was impossible to see the lowered grass or walk into it?
James - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 7:23am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I think this is actually my favorite TNG film. I won't say it's better than First Contact, but the time I saw it was when I was at my peak of affection for TNG and seeing the actors on the big screen was wonderful. I don't care one bit about the plot holes everyone talks about.
$G - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 1:32am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Okay, I realize I should re-post (see: above) and say some good things about "Tears" if I'm going to claim its good when so many disagree.

This is a two-part episode that is condensed into 45 minutes and *works*. That is, it doesn't feel rushed in the slightest. Keep in mind, this is *including* a scene in which Vic croons to Bashir and Quark.

Here are the plots and character arcs this episode addresses:

-The Feds and Klingons convincing the Romulans to attack Cardassian space.

-The battle itself, with some of the cooler battle moments in the show, starring the Jem'Hadar suiciding into the Klingon fleet and Galaxy class starships being taken out by the Cardassian turret drones.

-The Prophets, whose warnings are as self-serving as they've always been. They believe Sisko could have stopped Dukat, but he understandably leaves to lead the attack.

-Dukat, returning to Cardassia and convincing Damar and Weyoun to let him use a pah wraith to re-open the wormhole.

-Dax gets a few last scenes with some of her friends, played as just another day in the life of the station.

-Kira and Odo get a couple of lovers' quarrels scenes together. These aren't really necessary, but I suppose it's nice to see Odo learning how to have a relationship.

-Ross chewing out Sisko for being a fence sitter Jenner actually plays this scene really well. Watch him, while Sisko explains himself, trying to keep his cool even though he's clearly had enough.

-Several strong Weyoun and Damar scenes. The stand out is the "Founders *ARE* gods" moment, but I also really enjoyed Weyoun straight up saying the Cardassians are a disappointment as an ally. I enjoy Weyoun's agitation with a campaign that should probably be going better than it is. Dukat was tough to rein in, and if the defector in "Change of Heart" and Garak's contacts from "In the Pale Moonlight" are any indication, the Cardassians are a poor business partner for the Dominion. Jammer's complained that the Dukat-Weyoun dynamic didn't have enough breathing room, but I think that dynamic transitions gracefully into the cracks we're seeing now.

-The last 6 or 7 minutes of the show include Dax's farewell, Sisko talking to Dax's casket, Sisko saying goodbye to his crew in Ops, Kira and Odo talking in Sisko's office, and finally Sisko back in New Orleans. It's actually a really strong sequence, regardless of whether or not you approve of how Dax was killed.

It's actually incredible that all of what I mentioned above is featured in a single episode and doesn't feel rushed. I do wish we could have gotten more here as a 2-part season finale, but I still think it satisfyingly closes the book on S6 while opening the doors for S7.

The criticisms I made in the above post are still legit (and so are a lot of the criticisms in this thread) but I think this episode really has a lot going for it even with its problematic aspects.
$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 9:46pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I think Jammer's review reflects my feelings on this pretty well. I think this is a good episode, but not as impactful or suspenseful as it wants to be ("Sacrifice of Angels" did this type of game-changing climax much better for a lot of reasons).

I have a few issues with this episode:

1: The pah wraiths vs. the wormhole. It's troublesome because it's now bringing the camp of "The Reckoning" to things that, well, actually matter. It's concerning, but the real problem is that the wormhole being closed isn't as much of a gut punch as it thinks it is. It doesn't even seem to be clear that that's what Dukat intended. It feels like a really obtrusive non sequitur in an episode that has so much more going on. Weyoun and Damar's reactions are pretty right-on: what does this have to do with *ANYTHING* right now?

Don't get me wrong - the wormhole closing is a strong plot point for the series, but it's not conveyed with as much gravity as it probably should have been.

2: Dax's death. It... works? Kind of, I guess. The problem is not that it doesn't work; it's that it could have been so much more affecting. I can't really think of a good reason why she couldn't go down on the Defiant in the heat of battle. That would, a) make the battle a lot more intense, and, b) add even more weight to the mounting casualties of war our characters are dealing with. I'm not talking about a blaze of glory, but something that the audience understands as death: war, battle, casualties, loyalties, anything like that. Not fire-zapped by the space devil.

3) Dukat forgiving Damar is just way too easy. One could construe this as the typical Dukat manipulation, but this is a case of a character's worth falling short of the series' length. We've already seen Dukat rise, fall, rise again, and the be defeated. He's only still around because the SHOW is still around, and Alaimo is one of the best performers. But a story shouldn't have to FIND things for characters to do. Their value should be self-evident to the tale. Once their value is up, they need to get off at the next stop. At least Alaimo is good. A good performance can sell some terrible writing - hell, just look at BSG's third season finale.

All this said, this is still a good hour. I know, I sound like I'm all over the place, but "Tears" is still a reasonably executed finale that juggles a lot of plot elements and pays off with Sisko finally having enough (the seeds of which were becoming obvious way back in "Far Beyond the Stars"). "Tears" just doesn't hit with the impact it should, and I think that's where a lot of people including me take issue with it.

3 stars. Good, but we criticize because we love.
HolographicAndrew - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 9:10pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: One

Entertaining episode but it kinda highlights my issue with season 4.

So far in my own rewatch I preferred the episodes before Seven came aboard. I think if this was an episode in season 1-3 it would have been better.

The whole, 'Seven is unique and can do x, y, and z' thing gets really tired. Like Jammer's review said the writers could have done this episode with any of the characters, but everything is so Seven centric this season.
Peremensoe - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:38pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Hm. I missed the second bit, read the first as approving.

I thought it was clear that the kiss is meant to be funny, both in the "goofy" context of the moment and as a meta reference to Kirk.

I guess I don't see Kirk's Beautiful Alien Woman dalliances as any less writer-whimsical. I'm not sure why Jammer's looking for more from Archer.
TS - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

"By far the worst and most boring TNG character."

Worse than Troi? I dunno. Little hard to understand the Crusher hate... certainly a better doc than Pulaski... but I guess when compared to the other ST docs, she usually fails to match their quality.
$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Among the fairly controversial post-"Moonlight" stretch of S6 episodes, I've agreed with three near-consensus opinions for "His Way", "Profit and Lace", and "Time's Orphan"; disagreed on "Valiant"; and enjoyed but completely understand the ire for "The Reckoning".

For "The Sound of Her Voice" I'll be going against the crowd again, as I quite liked it quite a bit. This one is a lot like "In the Cards" in that it's light enough to be forgotten but does a nice job reflecting on the anxieties the characters have been going through up to this point. Nothing here is groundbreaking at all, but I really like that the show slowed down to do this episode. I don't think it's a waste like some may; the real wastes were the two preceding episodes.

Does the time-displacement gimmick work? I think it works. Lisa gives our heroes a bit of brightness during a very dark time - this much is obvious. The camaraderie, of course, works both ways, since Lisa gets that same companionship in what was (unknowingly to everyone) a hopeless situation. The gimmick also holds Lisa at a much-needed distance and keeps her death from being the result of an immediate plot contrivance (her medication being tainted, Defiant can't go fast enough, etc.). It all works for me, and I'm the guy who's always first to call an episode out for using a sci-fi gimmick when the story could have been told without one ("Things Past" I'm looking at you).

A strong 3 stars for me. A hidden DS9 gem, and my favourite S6 hour that isn't "Far Beyond the Stars", "In the Pale Moonlight", "Waltz" or part of the occupation arc.
xaaos - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 6:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@ Rikko: "A shame, because that would partially explain why him and Troi didn't last long."

But didn't they get married afterall, Rikko?
$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Yeah, this is not a good one. I'm generally not a fan of the torture O'Brien episodes, since most of them feel so detached from the rest of the series. O'Brien's established Every Man thing just isn't compelling enough alongside former terrorists, religious icons, shapeshifters, former spies, Trill symbionts, etc. So everything that befalls O'Brien is always... well, random.

This is probably the weakest O'Brien story yet, just inching out S2's "Tribunal". This one includes a lot of wasted rehab scenes, such as Molly playing with a ball or Molly eating a melon.

And then in typical (bad) Trek fashion, everything gets resolved at the end with no harm, no foul done to anyone? The institution may not be ideal, so the better idea is... sending Molly back to become a cave woman? If they NEEDED to do a Molly-in-danger episode, why not just use the Dominion in some way...? I'm willing to bet this was a pre-written script or something. It's all just pointless, like the worst of late-TNG.

1-1/2 stars, I guess. Most of it isn't necessarily unwatchable, but it's absolutely skippable and adds nothing to anything.

Here's the weird thing about S6 - it maybe has the best crop of strong episodes out of the entire series, but it also probably has as many mediocre and sub-par entries as S1. Even most of the weaker entries of S4 and 5 seemed to have at least a few things going for them. It's more painful in S6 though, since there's so much other stories I'd rather be seeing.
Robert - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:49am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I LIKE Ezri. I still wish Jadzia had not died, made captain, transferred, not gone to Becker, whatever, but I LIKE Ezri. I just think she was severely overused in S7.

S7 is VERY short if you don't count the intro arc which continues off last season and the 10 hour finale. I enjoyed her in the final 10 (I thought she was a nice foil for Worf dealing with his feelings over Jadzia and even really helped out in a positive way in the Klingon arc). I enjoyed her in the 2 part season intro. Sisko needed his old man. It fit nicely.

That being said, let's look at the rest of the season.

7x03 - Afterimage
Ezri episode. But I won't complain here, she was the new character and we had to get to know her. Strong performance.

7x04 - Take Me Out To The Holosuite
Ensemble episode with a Sisko focus. I liked the little bits with her here, she was always good in the ensemble.

7x05 - Chrysalis
Bashir episode.

7x06 - Treachery, Faith And The Great River
Odo episode with an O'Brien/Nog B-Plot

7x07 - Once More Unto The Breach
Worf/Klingon episode

7x08 - The Siege Of AR558
Good ensemble show, Ezri was fine here.

7x09 - Covenant
Kira/Dukat episode

Ok, so far so good. We're 10 episodes into the season and her use has been about the same as everyone else, she's grown on me and while she'll never replace Jadzia I'm enjoying her fine. The actress is doing a nice job with the part.

7x10 - It's Only A Paper Moon
Excellent Nog/Vic episode with an Ezri focus.

7x11 - Prodigal Daughter
What should have been an O'Brien episode (and would have been the only one in the season) turns out to be an Ezri episode. And a mediocre one.

7x12 - The Emperor's New Cloak
Mirror Ezri stars in the S7 Ferengi episode...

7x13 - Field Of Fire
Another mediocre Ezri episode.

See, now that's where my Ezri problem ends up. The mid season focus on her (in mostly crappy episodes) instead of getting some preciously valuable last few minutes with the characters we've been with for 7 years just sucks.

7x14 - Chimera
Odo/Kira episode

7x15 - Badda Bing Badda Bang
Ensemble

7x16 - Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Bashir episode

So ya, as you can see most characters got 1 episode, Bashir got 2, Ezri got.... anywhere between 3 and 5 depending on how you look at it. I think most fans problems with Ezri is just based on how she monopolized the season. I could have used a good O'Brien episode, another Sisko episode or even something featuring Quark that wasn't "Emperor's New Cloak".
Yanks - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 8:32am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Peremensoe,

I read Jammer's reviews.

Jammer: "There's a bit of goofiness here involving a malfunctioning universal translator. Archer must cover up by "spontaneously" kissing Riann."

Jammer: "The romance is based on the whims of scriptwriters (perhaps fulfilling the opening stretch's Archer Must Kiss a Girl quota), not because of characterization or motivation."
xaaos - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 7:22am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Another wooden perfomance for Dr. Crusher... By far the worst and most boring TNG character.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 2:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

@Robert, @William B
Arrghh.... I meant "Worf did fine baby-sitting Kirayoshi". No, obviously Worf messed up with Alexander...... sorry I wasn't clear on that!
zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 2:35am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

In TOS - A Taste of Armageddon, Kirk gives General Order 24 to Scotty -- to destroy all life on the planet. Seems pretty barbaric, even by 20th century standards. While TOS shows a greatly improved society overall, Starfleet clearly had a strong military component -- here's a General Order for planetary annihiliation that can be given by a starship captain -- and a starship equipped to do it.

Did TNG have this? Don't know. Someone above argued for widespread robots on the grounds "the fact that we didn't see robots doesn't prove they don't exist". Much the same could be said for the military arm of Starfleet -- you really can't argue "If it didn't appear on TNG, it wasn't common in the Federation." Did we ever see an episode focused on a planet where the Borg landed drones to assimilate a large population?
We know OBrien was a hero of Setlik III, so there's at least ground (human) troops there.

zzybaloobah - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Great episode!

My only nitpick is one of scale:
1) If it's so valuable, why didn't the Jem'Hadar blow it up (just like any other asset that's in enemy hands)? Preferably from orbit.
2) It's the most valuable real estate in the sector (what, several solar systems?) and Star Fleet can only defend it with a lousy PLATOON? And with no air support, armor, etc? Even today's 3rd world country would put together a better defense than that.
3) The casuality list: Kira says it's got 1730 names on it. At the height of WWII, Germany was loosing a MILLION men a year; or 20,000 a week. Presumably Star Fleet -- at least during a war -- is a lot bigger than the Wehrmacht. 1730 is extremely light casualties for a war you're loosing.
The whole war seems like a minor border skirmish rather than a threat to the whole Federation.

Maybe DS9 does have the Roddenberry ideal, and we've "evolved" beyond the ability to defend ourselves ;-)


$G - Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 1:09am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

The best part of this garbage is Worf's legitimately funny one-liner. I like that the camera doesn't even emphasize him; it's comes and goes like good banter should.

See, I like the *idea* of the Ferenginar arc. It's KIND OF well done, even though it only seems to involve six or seven individuals. The problem is that most of the Ferengi characters are annoying, and lots of their scenes are cartoonish and cliched.

The first couple of acts aren't unwatchable, but after Ishka has her stroke the episode takes a nosedive into concrete. This is some of the most unfunny, laborious TV I've ever seen.

Everything else has already been said, but I just want to echo everyone else.

This is a legit zero star episode. That it doesn't get REALLY bad until 20 minutes in is the only thing that keeps this episode from being the absolute worst DS9 has to offer (for the record, I give "Move Along Home" that distinction).
zzybaloobah - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 11:57pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Time for Economics 101.
In an advanced economy, Nog would rent Sisko's desk in return for some common medium of exchange. He would then use that medium to directly trade for the gravity stabilizers. There would be no need for all the other trades. In a primitive economy, you'd go through all the intermediate trades because you lack the common medium that all parties regard as valuable.
So, the Federation lacks "money" -- and while it makes for entertaining TV, it's no way to run a large economy. Sorry, suspension of disbelief fails me here...
And, for all the replicator economy boosters out there, why didn't the chief just replicate the gravity stabilizers?
NCC-1701-Z - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 10:19pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

@Gskunk: If you haven't already seen this video I think you'd appreciate it:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=edflm7Hh3hs
dgalvan - Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 5:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

At the beginning, Sarek says Spock must have met Pardek at the Khitomer conference. Do we see Pardek at Khitomer in ST 6?
Next »« PreviousPage 4 of 885
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer