Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,795 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,552
Set Bookmark
Dave Ryan
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Dom (and with apologies for the delay in responding): Yes, really. K-2SO was certainly one of the best characters in the film (not the most auspicious start, but I digress) and a humourous one at that - I was a big fan of the dry wit Alan Tudyk brought to the role. But in the wider context of what was happening in the film, it felt shoe-horned into the plot and almost had an element of "it's getting too heavy, make the robot say or do something funny" about it at times. As such, none of the moments felt joyful when my family and I watched it. Revenge of the Sith was no comedic masterclass, don't get me wrong, but in the context of what happened in the film (at least pre-Order 66) it did at least fit with the established dynamics and struck a far better balance.

As for "The whole ending of the film was so hopeful, seeing the Rebels succeed despite the odds"...I couldn't really disagree more. The opening crawl of A New Hope speaks of the Rebels having "won their first victory" against the Empire. What we got in Rogue One was a successful theft of the Death Star plans, yes, but also:

- a completely failed rescue attempt (all of Rogue One killed);
- Blue Squadron completely wiped out;
- various other pilots killed (Red 5 being just one);
- several ships being destroyed when Darth Vader's Star Destroyer shows up;
- the Rebel flagship being captured and presumably destroyed; and
- goodness knows how many Rebel soldiers mown down on Scarif or bisected by Vader in the process.

Even with a generous interpretation of "victory", that's about as pyrrhic as they come - and even then, only a "victory" because Tarkin decided to blow up Scarif for no explicable reason rather than zapping the Rebel fleet right in front of his face. (One thing the commander in Return of the Jedi learned from, at least) It felt more like The Charge of the Light Brigade than an inspirational victory.

I suspect part of the problem is also that they tried really hard to make us care about the sacrifice made by Rogue One, whilst relegating them to bit-part archetypes turned useful cannon fodder in the last battle. Honestly, I felt that them all dying was more of a storytelling cop-out rather than tugging at the heart-strings. As I said above, for me it felt forced, particularly after all the carnage before then.

I get that Disney was going for the darker vibes with this film, and that's fair enough. But it meant that, for me, it was an utterly joyless spectacle which I have no desire to watch again - and I say that as someone who watched all the films, played the video games and bought the books. But at the same time, there will be others like you who enjoyed it more and that's fair enough. I'll just politely ask people not to consider buying it for me as a present, if they're ever that way inclined...
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Was sort of bored last night so threw this one on again.

As much as I like Worf, I'm one of those people who thought that DS9 didn't need him added as a regular cast member.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I love it when a sci-fi show does sci-fi. I felt for Dr Crusher as her world became smaller and smaller. It's nice to see that the rest of the crew didn't treat her like an idiot when she was telling them more people should be aboard.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I wasn't expecting to see such a positive reaction. This is a tremendously boring episode. The dialogue was so cheesy between Data and Hayne; me and my wife were looking at each other shaking our heads. The crew comes across and way too gullible. Sorry I disagree with most of you.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Thu, Apr 20, 2017, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

This episode is a gem. Amazing acting from Dr. Mora and Odo, and a very believable, raw chemistry between the two men. My favourite scene was the one where the infant Changeling attempted to mimic Odo's head, the look of sheer wonder on Odo's face, and the fond proudness of Dr. Mora in the background.

I liked the idea that the infant Changeling didn't really die, but rather lived on through Odo, and that his first action as being part of Odo was to turn into a Tarkalian hawk. Very nice touch.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

What RT said about Keiko. For the life of me, I can't figure out if Keiko's personality is really that unpleasant, or if Rosalind Chao's acting was off. I've seen some of Chao's other movie appearances (Freaky Friday, The Joy Luck Club), and she certainly doesn't put on that entire plastic-grin gritted-teeth facade that she does here. Her marriage with the chief is believable, considering how many people get married for the wrong reasons, but I just can't buy that they're supposed to be a happy family as ST would have us believe. Every time they interact it feels like something out of a horror movie, where the wife is going to go psycho in the next scene and kill the husband. The only time I found Keiko's portrayal to be realistic was in that episode where O'Brien had been replaced by an alien and Keiko was trying to poison his during dinner. Now that performance I bought.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Had some decent moments, but the worst moment was Janeway agreeing to let him leave the ship. Unless she did so knowing he would come back, it's unthinkable to believe she would deprive her crew of their CMO for the rest of their journey, flesh and blood or not. Yes, he's an individual, but he's also a member of Starfleet. You don't just get to desert your assigned post on a Navy ship because you find your calling at some foreign port.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

Small point of order regarding O'Brien and his forfeited match, as implied by Mr Rage above me, winning the match would not have been as straightforward a matter as just flinging an arrow with his good arm.

A game of darts must end on a double or the bullseye - a player has to hit one very specific (and very small) segment of the board - the exact double required depends on the player's score. The size of a double segment is approximately 50mm x 8mm (approximation is because naturally the segment is curved, the bullseye is even smaller) and the player throws from just under 2.5m away. Not even Phil Taylor, the 16-times world champion, could hit a specific double on demand with his non-dominant hand. I wouldn't even hit the board. Miles would have had more chance of accidentally flinging his tungsten shaft into Bashir's eye than winning the game once his shoulder had gone (on which note, nobody ever tore their rotator cuff being handed a cup of coffee, but that's another matter entirely).

Of course, it could be that they were playing space darts, in which case all bets regarding the rules are off...
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

It's a common Trek theme for a character to gain mighty powers and then struggle with them. Here, I thought it was done ok with Kes. The part when she nearly makes Tuvok explode and screams ridiculously could have been done much better -- it was as if coming from X-Files or something like that.
I'm surprised Janeway wasn't more suspicious of Tanis and Kes spending so much time together but she's desperate to get in touch with the other Caretaker. It should be obvious that Tanis is not one to be trusted - he's a pretty shady character from the start. Why wasn't he able to fight back when Kes used her new-found powers on him after he sent Neelix flying.
The ending is a bit ridiculous as has been mentioned. I think the episode wasted far too much time with Kes/Tanis and exploring telekinesis -- should have spent more time on the Caretaker part. And yes, a ton of questions left unanswered. Quite unsatisfying in that regard.
I'd rate it 2/4 stars. Had some interesting moments and is not a bad episode but definitely not a very good one.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

This is only the 3rd episode of Voyager I've seen and first I'm commenting on. I mostly agree with Jammer's review -- it is a good story, well acted and the final scene with Janeway and the old man is touching. In Trek, we don't see too many such touching moments that are very relatable and human.
The relationship between Janeway and the old man started out as annoying but it got ever so much better as the plot went on and I liked how Janeway handled the it the whole way - she was very respectful, tactful and compassionate. The old man has suffered a great deal during the occupation and Janeway eases his mind at the end and he can die in a dignified way -- that is a good story.
Yes, there were some hokey parts like the final fighting scene when the 2 guards just back away or how Janeway is able to blow up the prison cells and get rid of the forcefield so that the Voyager crew could transport down -- or how Janeway and co. got there in the first place. There will always be some handwaving needed but it doesn't diminish the quality of the story.
The scenes with Tuvok and Torres was allright. Tuvok does a good job as a Vulcan -- very unemotional.
A really good episode, 3/4 stars for me. Good to see Janeway show the diversity of acting she's capable of.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I think this was a steaming pile of poop .
Allowing a mystery to remain a mystery?
Oh, you mean lazy writing.
Superb acting?
Just a lot of typical pompous posturing.

Why did the future shuttlecraft systems need reverse polarity power supply-my guess would have been because it comes from an anti matter universe but no the real answer is-oh yeah-the writers didn't bother to explain it-its just a mystery.

How do we get to plan B-got it just drive this thing right down the space entity/wormhole's throat-it worked for Kirk in the Doomsday machine-oh yeah-the Constellation was blown up.
Oh well never mind everyone can jig about a bit in their seats like this was an episode of Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea and then reality can reset.

Yuk-cancel the series time again.

3 wormholes for this one from me.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I loathed this episode.

I kept on thinking, "There's still time to do something interesting." I was hoping for a Dominion attack of DS9 in the middle of the game, requiring both teams to pull together.

It's not that I don't think they could have done something with this plot, in a different writer's hands. But as soon as Nog was at the first meeting of the "senior staff" I had a sinking feeling that went lower and lower as the episode wore on.
Set Bookmark
Physicist
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I'm sorry, as a scientist, this episode STINKS! Worst TNG episode I ever saw. I mean the Troi part doubly stinks (would you trust someone with such a low technical knowledge being in charge of your spaceship??)

A lot of you on this thread have portrayed the Data-on-the-planet story as being about how his superior reasoning skills could lead him to modern science, without any experiential knowledge (no memory).

That is so unscientific!

Consider the incident at the school. The teacher gives a lesson on the earth-fire-air-water theory of matter, ala the Ancient Greeks. Data then claims her "reasoning is false". That is not true! The theory could be correct, it could be false. The only way to check is by an EXPERIMENT! One cannot arrive at the modern conception of elemental atomic matter by "pure thought alone". Plato and the ancient Greeks were superb logicians. If one could disprove the earth-fire-air-water theory using only pure reasoning, they would have done so!!

The only acceptable thing for Data to do in that school lesson is to frown quizzically and say "An interesting idea. Let us attempt to falsify your theory. Let us burn a piece of wood in a sealed glass jar, and then carefully weigh the constituents before and after. If the smoke was present in the air already before the wood started burning, then the mass of the constituents before and after should be equal. "






Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Alex

"As using Trek's brand and IP is not permissible, it is time to do real Trek under a new brand with new characters and new IP."

I've been saying this ever since those "fanfiction guidlines" were announced last year.

And you know something? Even if Discovery were on the right track, I think the time is ripe for more sci fi of the "optimistic humanistic future" type. There are so many ways to tackle this general idea, and it's kind of depressing that no other sci fi brand has attempted to do so. I mean, it has been HALF A CENTURY since Star Trek first showed the way.

Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@karatasiospa

Wouldn't you expect more Likes after the series is released? I personally can't decide whether I like it or not.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

If Discovery is a disappointment then I think Axanar has shown the way - albeit, inadvertently. As using Trek's brand and IP is not permissible, it is time to do real Trek under a new brand with new characters and new IP. After all the core of what Trek is isn't Vulcans and Andorians, Klingons and Cardassians. It's a humanistic, optimistic vision of the future. That's the niche that is totally unfilled in modern day sci-fi and if Star Trek is abandoning that niche, well the market abhors a vacuum. The great river shall provide!
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Hopefully they'll be able to handle the issue as it should be handled; by simply not making an issue of it.
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I know that social media are not a representative sample of, the propable audience but 1 and half year after the annuncement of the new series the Discovery page on facebook has 57000 likes! From millions of trek fans only 57000 seems to be interested! Well that's too little.
Set Bookmark
Minion
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Why the hell every relationship in startrek had sad ending they last for two episodes then they are gone be it crusher,jordy,picard,will and many more.
This sucks are the writer wants to convey humans will turned into cold hearted creature in future.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@ JPaul

Well, to be fair, Wilson doesn't look anywhere near 51.

@ Lupe

We already know that there will be a male gay character on the show: Lt. Stamets (although for the life of me, I don't understand why the sexual preferences of the ship's astromycologist should be any of our business. If it will be relevant to the story, fine. But I have a terrible feeling it won't be...)
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

I rewatched this episode yesterday after, at least, 10 years. It's another case of a great idea (the generation ship and its society) which was wasted by the execution. Wouldn't it be more interesting if for example Kirk &co have found a residtance to the oracle by some of the people and a society torn by social unrest rather than the dull McCoy-Natira romance?
2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Tue, Apr 18, 2017, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

A light, fun show with a lot of heart. The solar-sailed ship was beautiful. This one is a keeper for me--I watch it every once in a while, and it always stands the test of time.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, Apr 18, 2017, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

To me, this is the most schizophrenic episode of Star Trek TOS.

This episode actually stars out quite well, with an intriguing mystery. But then it gets really absurd. As others have pointed out, it is ridiculous that the Enterprise runs into so many parallel Earths when exploring our galaxy. And to have a duplicate of the American flag - come on.

However, one interesting point is that some scientists believe the universe to be infinite. This is the concept behind what scientists call a level 1 parallel universe, which is basically just an extension of our universe. (Indeed, Einstein himself said that there were only two things which were infinite - the universe and human stupidity, and the 1st of those he wasn't sure about.) In an infinite universe, there would be an infinite numbers of Earth just like our own, an infinite number slightly different, somewhat different, and so on. I once saw a TV program with scientist Max Tegmark and he said the best evidence scientists now have is the universe is not just really big, but actually is infinite, going on literally forever in every direction. Tegmark said he calculated if you went 1 followed by a million trillion trillion zeros light years, you would find an exact duplicate of Earth. He said while this sounds like a long way, compared to infinity, which he believes to be the true size of the universe, it's right in our back yard. (Of course, the Enterprise still would come nowhere close to these parallel Earths, as they are far outside our own galaxy.)
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, Apr 18, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I think 2.0 stars is about right. To me, this show isn't great, but isn't terrible either. Also, I don't think it's boring (although it is not terribly exciting either). I think the main problem is the implausibility. Granted, a certain amount of artistic license has to be allowed for these shows to work. Still, there are some issues that just don't make sense. If Gideon is so crowded, where did they get the space to make such a duplicate of a large vessel like the Enterprise? Also, as pointed out above, why not just move some people to another planet? (I have to admit, I hadn't thought of this, but it makes real good sense.)
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Apr 18, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

An episode with some good points (1st half hour, the mystery, Riker/Worf on the Yamato being toyed with) but plenty of bad points (Nagilum as another type of Q, Picard's speech on death, the red-shirt death that should have been Wesley).
Brings to mind "The Immunity Syndrome" from TOS (which was a vastly superior episode) albeit ultimately very different.
I agree with what others have said re. Pulaski's interactions with Data -- who does she think she is coming on the bridge and asking Data to magnify the void x times? That was stupid and unnecessary. Also, what was the point of Worf/Riker fooling around in the holodeck as the show's teaser?
Overall, not a great episode because the ending is a letdown to a promising beginning. I'd give it 2/4 stars. I think Jammer is too generous in his rating.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,552
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.