Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,741 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,310
Set Bookmark
John C. Worsley
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Agree with all the criticisms. Weird, demeaning condescension to primitive cultures once again with Chakotay, schizo respect for the host society one second, then overruling it arbitrarily the next. Wildly oversimplified baddies at the end... and deciding what's best for everyone while sanctimoniously declaring "who are we to know what's best?"

Also apparently the Borg never assimilated a species that ever cooked or had to keep warm. "An exothermic reaction!" Yes, Seven, we call it fire!
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

Ahh yes The Creeper takes a fascination to young Wesley and befriends him, compliments him, gets in his head. Leave it to Doc Crusher to have no maternal instinct here. Of course later we get Sub Rosa.

This is as creepy an episode as the one with Alexander in a mud bath with naked adults. 23rd century sensibilities, I'm not buying what they're selling.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I can see why people call season 7 the weakest season of DS9(though I disagree and believe its season 1)for me the weakest ones are the Ezri centered episodes you just can't introduce a new main character without having at least two seasons to flesh them out. I personally blame Terry Farrel for leaving last season to be on a show no one even remembers anymore. Nicole de Boer is a fine actress its just that her character showed up at a bad time. maybe if Jadzia died somewhere in early season 6 we could have fleshed out Ezri without hurting this season.

The final 10 episode arc was great to watch I was honestly more interested in the Dominion war than the Pa'wraith storyline which seemed a bit more rushed.

The Breen:I like the mystery of these people we heard them referenced in Tng and in early ds9. There was a Breen prisoner with Bashir and Martok so I find it believable that the founders infiltrated them and convinced them to go to war. And I like that theres a Race that can't speak through the universal translator.

Plus I find it believable that the dominion would look for allies wherever they can find them, I'm just surprised the founders never tried contacting pre warp societies and doing the whole pretend to be god thing and offer them paradise to fight for them as say cannon fodder when invading a planet.

I like the farewell to all the characters at the end, I think the saddest is Garaks last scene with Bashir where he states that Cardassia will never be the same again centuries of art and culture and their greatest minds gone forever.

Overall even though TNG has my favorite episodes in the franchise DS9 certainly had the most Good episodes thanks in no small part to great guest actors and character development.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

OK, who thought firing phasor underwater at shore targets was cool as hell!!!

Hirogen ships are awesome looking.

I think this story was plausible as they come with regards to the Hirogen. I can definitely see them mandating the protocol changes.

Janeway didn't just give away the technology, wasn't she bartering for Voyager's life?

But I have to admit, I'm going to have to score this a little lower than Jammer did.

The damn Doctor committed TREASON!!! He, no shit, could have gotten someone killed! Come on man.... he should have been erased and brought back to day one for that. At least for a period of time. He got NOTHING! Good lord, Tom loses 2 ranks and get 30 days in the brig for defying her orders.

A Bajoran that wants to be a god.... didn't see that one coming...

I did enjoy B'Elanna once again. I'm starting to believe Roxann is the best actor on the set.

3 stars from me here.


Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Jammer: "...which seems to be a last-ditch effort by the writing staff to redeem themselves for years of Harry non-growth. "

Ah, yup... and it wasn't a good one. Harry: "Captain, can I go play Captain please?" Can I huh, can I"?

Well, we get Ron Glass and I still want to learn more about Sheppard Book. :-)

The whole B'Elanna pregnant/Icheb thing was pretty darn funny. I about lost it when she said "I was hot!!" ... lol

It is what it is, Seven has to tell Harry how to be Captain.... jeesh... even when Harry is in charge he needs a kick in the nuts.

2.5 stars I guess.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Skeptical,

Understand. I sort of look at it like watching your kid run into a puddle and telling them not to get their feet wet :-)

Kid: Well I'm going to get yelled at anyway :-)

I don't give this one a 4.0 because the holodeck pon-farr exercise didn't work with Vorik did it? Now it's "fully functional" with Tuvok? But hey, Spock didn't need to get it on either. He just fought Kirk, right? (I'll admit, it's been at least a decade since I've seen Amok Time)

I never skip this one, it's just too much fun. My young teenager watched it with me and couldn't stop laughing.

Good times.

3.5 for me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

This episode is like the DS9 mirror episodes.

"Why are we doing this again?"

Some comedic value. I thought the impressions were pretty hilarious.

Deanna forceful?

2 stars of blah for me.


Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

This episode depicts whatever Healthcare System you don't like. It's clearly not American or Canadian or European. So pick one and complain. It seems more Socialist to me. the "state" seems to be at the heart of things because the level of H/C apportioned is basically based on one's contributions to society.

Of course the ACA was to fix all America's healthcare woes... chuckle... ho many are uninsured now? How many are still exempt?

I like the English version as long as "basic" health care doesn't include add-a-dick or breast augmentation or abortion etc.

This episode if fine. It did seem to drag a bit I thought. Janeway taking Tuvok's hand was frellin hilarious!!!

3 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@desmirelle

The implication is that Data is a new type of being and they had no reason to bar him from joining Starfleet. The *legal matter* of his citizenship was never raised.

I could totally buy this happening, actually. There have been recent news stories where students in Texas have become valedictorians of their classes only to reveal that they're undocumented immigrants. The university these students got accepted to never exposed them, and in fact offered to support them if difficulties arose.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Wow, we get into the economics of the Federation from this episode?

I will not digress. :-)

I forced myself to watch this dung simple to come here and reveal the fact I think it's dung.

Good lord... I don't think Tim's acting in this one is that good. Probably because it's shit.

More Bajoran voo-doo crap? Jesh, didn't we just have an episode where a hologram attempted to make himself a god? Maybe Elliot is right.... this episode is a slap directed at DS9.

I go 1-star because the 1st time I watched this the first 15 minutes of the episode were engaging.

This episode is shaping up like DS9 season 7. Hit or miss with the episodes. Either is 3+ or crap (so far)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

I enjoy this one.

It would have been a turd I think had B'Elanna gone off on some temper tantrum. I really like the way they (she) play this... once again Roxann sells the story. Has she ever had a bad acting day on Voyager?

I think not.

I too think her conversation with Seven was a good one.

Cyia Batten, IMO, was the best of the three actresses that played Ziyal. She also played the Orion Slave girl Navaar in ENT: Bound. I always enjoyed her but I don't think she has the screen presence that Kelly Waymire did.

Loved the Neelix play-by-play of the race along with Tuvok getting into it as well.

Poor Harry :-) I wish she hadn't been the terrorist and joined Voyager for the remainder of the series.

There really nothing to gripe about in this episode. Why did it take 3 years for them to get married? What's the rush? Why marry at all?

I'll go 3.5 star here.

Set Bookmark
Kubershark
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Love evil-grinning Spock!
Set Bookmark
Cowcharge
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Seriously? People sit there watching TV calculating what it would look like if you put black actors in whiteface alien makeup to be "fair"? Or any other kind of nitpicking? You can't just sit there and enjoy a story? There's no suspension of disbelief, and therefore no drama or immersion, if you're sitting there looking for production flaws. TV must really not be fun for you people.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

The very overly patriotic Americanism in this episode is nauseating, probably because I'm not American but in a world that's meant to have gotten rid of nationalism, the idea that an individual countries constitution is somehow remembered word for word and then spreads across the Alpha Quadrant is mental.

I see far more American over-patriotism on the internet and television than Id like to in real life, when it invades the Star Trek universe that's when it just gets far fetched.

The rest of the episode is pretty good though, like the jail fight scene with Spocks calm advice and McCoys scenes in the laboratory.
Set Bookmark
desmirelle
Wed, Jun 22, 2016, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

This WOULD HAVE BEEN a great episode if it had been a flashback on Data getting into Starfleet Academy. A non-sentient being (flesh or machine) will not be allowed to go through the academy. It's an unspoken requirement. Were it not, the Enterprise would be making decisions, Picard would be a seat warmer, Riker would be decorative but not useful and Geordi relevant only because the ship doesn't have a pair of hands for the little things. As this episode stands, I expect the next episode of the JAG officer's life involved a court martial for trying to make law when she's a judge; but more importantly, for violating the civil rights of a being simply BECAUSE OF HIS RACE!!!!! (And I'm sure that would involve Federation charges, not military; there must be some guarantee of rights for the various species involved with the UFP.)

Set Bookmark
The Man
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Sorry yes @Paul this was a good episode and just because you did not like it does not mean you speak for everyone.
Set Bookmark
Boris Zakharin
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

You know, the way the Dominion suddenly does everything in its power to undermine the alliance with Cardassia while seemingly oblivious is a bit too convenient. I can understand bringing in the Breen to help win, and to give them some Cardassian space to appease convince them to join, but to whose benefit is it to lose Cardassian territory and the forces defending it to the Federation? After all, Cardassia is the heart of Dominion space in the Alpha Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

The way Janeway treasures the necklace, and embraced the face of her surrogate father one scene prior, demonstrates why Mulgrew was such an excellent decision for the lead of this show, and for the first female captain of a Star Trek series (as opposed to the original choice of actress for Janeway, the French-Canadian woman who was stiff and terrible in the original filming of the pilot).

Mulgrew emotes in a deeply feminine and maternal way, without relinquishing her authority as captain for an instant. It's actually amazing to see how well she does this. I used to think of Janeway as kind of standoffish or too tough, but when I watch the series again as an adult she really demonstrates a fullsome tenderness in complete harmony with her lioness-like ferocity at defending her crew — her family — at all costs. In some respects this echoes for me Olmos' portrayal of Adama in BSG, who literally and figuratively played the embattled, indomitable father, both deeply felt and hard as steel.
Set Bookmark
elsiskito
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Sorry, but whoever came up with the design and costumes of the aliens should be fired. They looked and moved ridiculously. They looked like larger versions of the Jawas from Mel Brooks' Spaceballs. Laughable.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I also wanted to add that Whoopi Goldberg is terrific in this episode. Her method of "counseling the counselor" was great and all the scenes she was in were hilarious and heartwarming.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I do understand why people wouldn't like Deanna for going off on people after they were trying to help her. But otherwise, I think this is a good episode about loss of senses.

Let's compare it to DS9's "Melora" shall we? Troi becomes this sort of angry woman who doesn't like people "walking on eggshells" because of her disability. Ensign Melora was the same way, and the episode spent time showing how great Melora was just as she is.

So, this episode also shows us how great Troi can be as a professional without her empathic powers. And...it works to some degree. I like Troi puzzle-solving with Data for a change. There are also some great scenes for Riker and Troi where Riker gives Troi some tough love (and Troi of course gets back at him later).

And finally to address people's complaints about Troi's attitude, I think Siritis was trying to act out the emotional range of a newly handicapped person. It may come off strong, yet I think her off-putting demeanor shows just how painful it is to lose an important sense in a small amount of time.

3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Jammer: "and even though a Seven/Janeway or Seven/Icheb scene can still be very good, it also feels like an iteration of a Voyager staple."

You mean like meaningless Ferengi episodes in DS9? :-)

Love this one. I could have done without the "I got here first aliens". Nothing added, nothing gained.

All actors were very good. They sold this one. I'm a sap, Icheb/Seven relationship had me in tears.

3.5 stars here.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

OK, here are my season 6 scores:

Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy / 4.00
Pathfinder / 4.00
Blink of an Eye / 4.00
Child's Play / 4.00
Muse / 4.00
Equinox Part 2 / 3.50
One Small Step / 3.50
The Voyager Conspiracy / 3.50
Collective / 3.50
Survival Instinct / 3.00
Barge of the Dead / 3.00
Riddles / 3.00
Dragon's Teeth / 3.00
Fair Haven / 3.00
Virtuoso / 3.00
Tsunkatse / 3.00
Ashes to Ashes / 3.00
Good Shepherd / 3.00
Alice / 2.00
Life Line / 2.00
The Haunting of Deck Twelve / 2.00
Live Fast and Prosper / 1.50
Memorial / 1.00
Unimatrix Zero Part I / 1.00
Spirit Folk / 0.50
Fury / 0.50

Total: 71.50
Average: 2.75

Much lower than the epically great VOY season 5. Some really great stuff in there but more stickers sprinkled in and they cap it off with Stupidmatrix Zero. It had me wondering which pill to take.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

So.... why are the drones able to be killed in UMZ ... I mean physically? Aren't they just FRAKIN DREAMING!!!!

...or not....

I actually made myself watch this this last weekend.

I know, dedicated am I....

I can't even go 2 stars here... it's just so damn implausible...

I'm all for outwitting the Borg when the opportunity presents itself, but this is a FRAKING TACTICAL CUBE DRONE class four thingy...

I LOVE Susanne Thompson but...

They just blew it here.

NCC-1701-Z hit the nail on the head... Janeway should have asked for a pot of coffee and let the BQ blow up her empire.

1 star each for both halves.

Set Bookmark
KB
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

My view of quality entertainment is if the story continues to live in my imagination. From the first time I saw this episode, it has been with me... all the what ifs! My background is in anthropology so I find this fascinating. Also, it demonstrate that Vulcans can improvise and adapt, something they do not always demonstrate. I think Jolene Blalock does excellent job differentiating the characters. Finally, her back story allows us to understand how she so successfully integrated on Enterprise, which is the point of the dinner party...
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,310
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.