Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,350 (Showing 51-75)

Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 974
DLPB - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 5:03pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Sparrow is the latest in a long line of leftist apologists who have absolutely no idea what Islam is about. The very idea that Iraq would have "progressed like Turkey " is utterly laughable. And, Sparrow, if you think Turkey is a free society that we should praise, you really are clueless. All of the issues in the Middle East are caused by religion - by Islam.
DLPB - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 4:57pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

And yes, the crew would have been executed. But the writers pick and choose when to apply logic. I just roll my eyes.
DLPB - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 4:50pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

I was rooting for the Kazon. Voyager's crew was too stupid to have the ship. They didn't even deserve to live. Going on rescue missions for Kazon... going all the way back for Seska... and Chakotay's "son". And then when it was obvious this was all a set up, they still flew on into danger.

The series should have ended here, with Voyager's crew marooned forever.
St.Manfred - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 3:00pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I liked the ep, with the exception of Keegan's acting and / or the sudden change of mind forced upon his character by the writers. 2.5 stars.
Peter - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 1:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

@ KittyKatt: Imzahdi is a word that was previously used by Troi and Riker in a different episode. Sorry, I don't remember which, but it was in an earlier season. It means "beloved" in Betazoid.

I agree with William B that the story makes more sense as one of psychiatric/psychological malpractice. There have been real-life cases of implanted false memories. That said, it did seem that Jev did try to rape Troi. His later assaults on Riker and Crusher were basically non-sexual assaults to silence those who were leading the investigation.

I would have awarded the episode 3 stars, especially as I enjoyed the Geordi/Data detective team. For an episode in which the tension was almost purely psychological, I found it was well paced and it kept my interest. It loses an entire star from me, however, for Picard's ridiculous moralist speech at the end. I just don't buy that every human "carries the seed of violence" and that it's possible for that seed to "gain control." Especially not when we're referring to sexual violence rather than the biologically programmed "fight or flight" extreme stress reactions.
Jeff Bedard - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 11:49am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

And we never do find out what the People of Vaal find so humorous about Spock's name, do we? :)
Pam - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 6:09am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Just watched this creeptastic episode (yay, Netflix!), and I agree with a lot of the comments. The two main story lines are disjointed and without much tension. I spent most of the first half cringing whenever Troi was on screen, but I did feel a bit of vindication on her part in regards to Riker. His charming outburst questioning the identity of the "child's" father had me triumphantly (mentally) crowing, "In your face, Will Riker!" His wishy-washiness when it came to Troi always irritated me.

As for the virus plot... Zzzz. Dr. Porn-Stache's majestic facial hair was more riveting.

The one saving grace of the episode, I felt, came from an unlikely source: Wesley Crusher. He was helped along by Golberg's Guinan, of course. The conversation after she joined him at the viewport was one of the most genuinely human moments Wes ever had. The Ten Forward set provided an overall depth to the atmosphere of the Enterprise that we didn't realize we were missing until it appeared. It was a nascent glimpse of the Enterprise as being more than just a tin can full of random people. It was also a community.

Then Wes had to ruin the whole moment by, well, becoming Wes again.

Overall, this creepy/boring episode get's about a star from me, and that only because of Whoopie Golberg's injection of some much-needed class into it.
$G - Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 12:02am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

^ Just clarifying my thoughts a bit more on how the two-part story was handled:

TNG *often* had strong continuity, but storylines were often left to simmer and then return later on (to give the series weekly variety). "Birthright, Parts 1 and 2" contain very different plots, but are connected in the overall tissue of the show, not unlike "The Enemy" and "The Defector" were from Season 3. Or "Sins of the Father" and "Reunion" from Season 3+4. Strong continuity, but not necessarily unified plots or something that would work if aired side by side. I feel like the storytelling of the "Birthrights" is closer to that long-haul type of continuity than it is to the 90-minute plots of "Best of Both Worlds", "Time's Arrow", "Unification", etc.
$G - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 11:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I don't dislike this episode, but I don't necessarily like it either. Like most people say, it's boring. Jammer, IMO, accurately points out the whole thing plays out like a simplistic parable. By the end of the episode I was trying to think of a word that described it - and I think "parable" is the perfect label for something that felt so obvious and straightforward from nearly the minute it started. I'd give it 2.5 stars at the MOST - again, I don't dislike it and I think the concept it interesting, but it plays out with about as much life as a dying camp fire. I'm a big fan of how TNG generally handled Klingon culture episodes so this one being so tame is disappointing.

One thing that's interesting to me is the "Part 2" aspect of this episode. In my opinion, it's the most unusual "part 2" in TNG - it plays more like a serialized followup than a standard two-parter. Worf's dilemma (as well as Data's story) were enough to make Part 1 work on its own. But Part 2 doesn't include the Data story (which is wise, since it was perfect the way it was in Part 1), but it also doesn't really involve Worf's story from Part 1 either. What happens in Part 2 is a completely different Worf story - at least plot-wise. Once Mogh is ruled out the rest of the hour tells its own story. Very few elements of Part 1 are present at all, including Data, DS9, Bashir, Mogh, and even the Yridian. This episode is loosely connected to its direct predecessor, but I'd hesitate to call it a conclusion. The "Part 1/Part 2" title scheme seems more like the producers really not knowing how to treat the serialization, so just going with the Part 1/2 convention, subverting the strict episodic nature of the series but doing so in a way that's not too unfamiliar to the regular audience.
Xylar - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 8:12pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: One

The show is getting to be close to the Seven of Nine show, rather then conventional Trek, but I don't really see a way around that.
The only characters worth a damn who aren't Seven are Janeway, The Doctor and Tuvok. And even Tuvok is dancing on the line of just barely being worth remembering.

Harry, Chakotay, Tom, B'elanna, Neelix. Not much interesting going on there.
They either were never interesting to begin with (Neelix, Tom and Harry) or they already depleted what little material their characters had that was interesting (Chakotay and B'elanna).

Doc remains interesting, because he's the Data of this show. An unconventional piece of technology that attempts to become as human as possible and continuously struggles with achieving the same rights any human being has.
Tuvok remains interesting, even if just barely, because as the Chief of Security as well as Janeway's confidant, he is often involved in whatever alien activity Voyager encounters and thus always able to voice his opinions or give his advice. Basically, Tuvok remains interesting because he simply gets enough screentime to be such.
Janeway was always going to be interesting, simply by virtue of being the captain. She's the main character and everything goes through her.

After 4 seasons, you can't suddenly make uninteresting characters interesting without completely rewriting them. And that would require a lot more effort then just simply focusing on the ones that already work.
Scubabadger - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 6:05pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Xylar - turning off lifesupport would presumably just stop replenishing the air / filtering out CO2 etc, and turns off the heat. It doesn't mean that all the air suddenly vanishes, we've seen that else where as well. With only a few unconscious romulans breathing i'm sure there's plenty.
Scubabadger - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 5:34pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Nick - "how the hell can Voayger track the bad guys when their computer core is stolen" - I think they made some reference to backup systems coming online but that it would take a few minutes for everything to kick in. Cold standby so to speak.

Kieran - "at one stage Da Vinci is shot and was surprised that he wasn't hurt. I thought he would then realise he's a hologram and have a breakdown which might have been interesting" - there's a reference to the da vinci character interpreting his surroundings through the limited parameters of the programmed character e.g. he interprets the aliens and strange planet as people in "america". He's a hologram of a renaissance character so he couldn't possibly conclude from being shot and unharmed that he's a hologram - something he's never conceived of. Now if it was explained to him that he was an artificial man etc. etc., he could.

As terrible episodes go at least this one made efforts to explain the terribleness....and yes i'm answering 5 year old questions
bhbor - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 4:07pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

I couldn't help but think how Paris and Tuvok came off like a gay couple when Tom laid into Sarah Silverman about obscure B-Movies and promptly shot her down. That and the shirt he was wearing.
SamSimon - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 2:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

I totally agree with Jammer on this. Brilliant episode.

As for one of the comments above, they couldn't simply lock the false O'Brien, because they had to wait for his rescue first. Locking him too early could have meant the death of the true O'Brien held captive somewhere!
Peter - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 12:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

The worst aspect of this episode is the order in which it aired. Why show two child-centered stories back-to-back like this? Had the show just been moved to a Saturday morning time slot?

Standing on its own, it wasn't so bad. I found it believable that an emotionally devastated child would choose to emulate the emotionless strength of his android rescuer. I also found the boy's acting, right down to imitating some of Spiner's vocal inflections and mannerisms, to be pretty impressive. We're talking about a 10 or 11-year-old actor here.

While it may be contrived, I also liked the way it turned out that the "attack" on the Vico was not an actual attack. Although, again, the science of gravity fields having such an effect on most of the Enterprise's systems seems implausible. Doesn't the ship encounter strong gravity fields on a daily basis? If it's a question of sheer scale in the black sector (100's of collapsed proto-stars), wouldn't that be a good argument for a ship to study the area from a relatively safe distance?

As others have pointed out, this episode also demonstrates why it's not a good idea to have children on starships. Not only is it risky, it also apparently leads to terrible education! Story time, playing with blocks, and "Row, Row, Row Your Boat" singalongs for 10 and 11-year-old students?!? Judging by what little we saw in Alexander's classroom in the previous episode, it looks like the curriculum gets simpler as the kids get older. So I guess failing schools have become an even worse problem a few centuries from today. "EVERY child left behind!" might be the motto of the Federation's education ministry. Or is this just subtle way to highlight what an auto-didactic young genius Wesley Crusher must have been?
icarus32soar - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 10:22am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Sorry, typo, Cardies, that is!
icarus32soar - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 10:20am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

They killed Bareil, they killed Ziyal, they gave the spectacular stupendous unique Gul Dukat, the single best character in all of ST a trivial end, and they killed the second best character ever, Damar. Sisko ended up in the never never of the celestial temple idiocy. Every time an awesome promising character or story line was suggested by these mentally challenged and LAZY scriptwriters it was not allowed to go anywhere. The dusgusted smirking look on Weyoun's face when the horrid female changeling is peeling was a dramatic opportunity these idiot scriptwriters missed. Weyoun should have snapped HER neck and the Vorta should have co-ruled the universe with the Carries. I officially loathe DS9, a dozen or so outstanding episodes over the 7 seasons but all the promise of the most inventive ST series ever tossed out the scripwriting airlock.
Peter - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 10:13am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

I agree with Jammer's rating on this episode. It wasn't terrible, but it could have been better. My main problem was a scientific quibble with the wave, which I initially found to be a very interesting idea, although I did not get quite as excited about it as Geordi. It seems that the Law of Conservation of Energy would preclude the wave from becoming ever-stronger as it neared the planet. What was driving such an increase?

The more important plot, of course, is Worf's reunion with his son. I enjoyed that part more and also found it more believable than the other plot. I must admit to a certain satisfaction in learning that school kids in TNG sometimes encounter problems such as misbehaving in class. To me, the idea that humanity has somehow been perfected in the future has always been laughable. Some kids will always act out and need guidance, and other parts of society will also always be less than exemplary.

That said, I liked how Worf handled his new role of father, and liked the idea that the boy will remain with him on the Enterprise. I liked both Worf's and the boy's acting, and also liked seeing Troi doing her job well for once instead of just stating the obvious. ("I sense he may be hiding something, Captain.") I must question, however, why the Enterprise in TNG is carrying families in the first place. It's not like the ship isn't threatened with destruction in every other episode. It seems like Starfleet realized that a starship was a dangerous place for kids in TOS but forgot about that a few decades later.

Nic - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 8:51am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

John Anderson lost his wife shortly before filming "The Survivors". He claimed the episode was one of the most difficult of his career because of its subject matter.

The final scene moved me to tears, in part out of sympathy for Kevin Uxbridge and in part out of sympathy for the actor who played him.

Still, I don't think it's a perfect episode. It's not the kind of mystery where you're kicking yourself in the head at thend for not figuring it out, because there's simply not enough clues given for you to make a guess. The Troi scenes were grating as well.
bhbor - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 5:07am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Space diaspora. Interesting I guess. I found the gatherers entertaining and interesting although I don't completely buy why the federation is involved. These guys could make a show in and of themselves but this is Star Trek, not the space gypsy hour.
W Smith - Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 4:00am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Another episode that just went nowhere and made me dislike the characters more except T'pol. This ship is so important to Earth but they put a bunch of people on it who are so unprofessional that is belies any disbelief. Yeah, I get it that it was the singularity causing this behavior, but some of them should have noticed its effect at some point. And the plot device is one that Trek has done so many times before. This is why people eventually stopped watching Enterprise, it didn't boldly go anywhere new in Trek storytelling.
Alston49 - Sun, Apr 19, 2015, 10:44pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Very interesting reading Wisq. I liked the parallels you drew.

This was like watching Dear Doctor. Except the victims are now humans as opposed to being the alleged saviors. Interesting to see how desperate we became in our hour of need. Archer's speech about "playing God" in the aforementioned episode gets quickly put on the backburner when the shoe's on the other foot.

I do wish the writers had chosen to not let the aliens help the crew, though. They should have been made to accept the inevitable just as the Valakians were forced to. No reason why the Prime Directive shouldn't cut both ways.

I also agree with Markus. Travis gets more screen time, just not as himself. The irony of that wasn't lost on me either.
Adam C - Sun, Apr 19, 2015, 8:49pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

Might’ve been fun to revisit this later on, not for the proto-universe thing but to see what happened to Arjin. Maybe he got drummed out and turned, like Verad, to stealing a symbiont to realize his (father’s) dreams. Maybe he got a symbiont but went insane from incompatibility, making for a massive cover-up by the Symbiosis Commission. Or maybe, whether he got the symbiont or not, he decided that the whole process was unfair and became a black-market symbiont broker. (Perhaps it could have had some interesting implications between seasons 6 and 7, for example.) As it is, it’s not one of the better Dax episodes, and it’s not one of the worst. It just exists.

I do, however, love the Klingon restauranteur. He should have been a recurring character, at least until Worf showed up.
Sonya - Sun, Apr 19, 2015, 11:59am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

In my opinion, the show had a good premise and poor execution.

I like the idea of Chakotay confronting his fear of mental illness. (As an aside, how impressive that a treatment could turn off a single gene and prevent mental illness, presumably without having other unintended consequences.) I like the idea of showing the potential value of being insane by other people's standards. Here, the value is that the aliens could communicate with Chakotay and save Voyager in the process. (Usually, the "value" of insanity is portrayed as enhanced creativity or productivity.)

I did not like boxing and Boothby as mediums for conveying Chakotay's struggle. Why couldn't the struggle have been portrayed solely through Chakotay's flashbacks of his grandfather? Or perhaps flashbacks of other times in Chakotay's life when he was concerned about being vulnerable to mental illness. I couldn't wait for this episode to be over, which is too bad. More could have been said or implied about the nature of mental illness and what constitutes lucidity.
Taron - Sun, Apr 19, 2015, 11:41am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

"Unfortunately that whole sexual attraction half of the equation is kind of a major hurdle that one dinner and one dance doesn't cure."

I'll grant your other arguments (his earlier betrayal was overlooked way too easily, apparently entirely during a long conversation at Dax's party a few episodes ago) but I wanted to touch on this statement because it resonated with me personally.

I've been married now for 17 years to a woman who, for the 10 years prior to that, thought of me only as a casual acquaintance and then for that last 3 of those as a good friend. She even admitted in a journal entry back then (that she later revealed to me in a moment of weakness) that though she appreciated our friendship, she found the idea of anything beyond friendship with me to be "repugnant" (her exact word), which I've occasionally teased her about ever since.

How did we move from the "friend zone" to a romantic relationship that eventually lead to a long-term stable marriage?

I took her dancing.

I'm totally serious - there was this girl's choice dance at the university that she really had her heart set on going to, but the guy she wanted to ask become unavailable. Not wanting to miss out on the dance itself but having no one she was truly interested in going with as a date, and knowing that I happened to be trained in ballroom dancing, she asked me to go as a friend just so she could attend and wear the dress she had been wanting to wear for it.

After that dance, she suddenly saw me in a whole different light and we began dating, fell in love, got married, and have been together ever since.

My point is, don't underestimate what effect dancing might have on a woman who previously saw you only as a friend!
Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 974
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer