Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,796 (Showing 51-75)

Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 752
Ric - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 5:32am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

Loving Seven of Nine so far. I enjoy the character, the portrayal, the acting.

But I just cannot swallow anymore how easy people can pass through Voyager security, escape from the ship, override crucial commands, beam up or down without authorization, steal or kidnap shuttlecrafts, and so on. Ok, Seven is a borg. So what? It's week after week, the same thing. If the one in charge for these security ridiculous flaws is Tuvok, he should have his career suspended right away...

Besides, what about the Borg stuff regenerating itself without any robotic pieces being implanted again? Even the super strength and the Borg shields. Meh.

Lastly, it was way too soon to have Seven finding her original ship where the Borg assimilated her. For my taste, playing this card at this point felt like a total lack of sense from the writers and more, a bit of an appellative and lazy way of making Seven move on more quickly.

Fortunately, however, Jeri Ryan and her character have both delivered so many good things so far that in the end the episode is at least a bit enjoyable.

PS: I usually thought that Jammer's point about shuttle losses sometimes is so repetitive and annoying as the unexplained shuttle losses themselves. But I have to admit and be fair. It has become beyond silly to lose a shuttle per week after 3 seasons.
NCC-1701-Z - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 4:02am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

The redshirt guard accompanying the captain down to Cestus III earns the dubious distinction of Dumbest Red Shirt Ever in my book. Today's lesson: If you're in a war zone and see the bad guys, scream really loudly and stand up tall. That always goes over well.

"CAPTAIN, I SEE SOMETHING!" [ZAAAAAAP!] [instantly vaporized]
NCC-1701-Z - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 2:48am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Disagreeing with the general consensus, I must say that I liked this episode. Yes, it was completely implausible from a plot standpoint (yeah, sudden mutations to the DNA would have killed everyone), but I tend to give episodes with way-out-there plots the benefit of the doubt as long as they are entertaining (i.e. don't involve characters turning into lizards and making lizard babies). Doctor Who has done crazier things than "Genesis" did. And I kind of enjoyed the technobabble this time. (Granted, my major is in bioengineering so DNA/genetics stuff is like second nature to me.)

All in all, it was fun to watch. It felt like a throwback to "Cure-The-Disease" style TOS episodes. I enjoyed the heck out of watching the transformations progress, especially Riker's - I found that one the funniest. I could tell the actors must have had a lot of fun playing their "transformed" roles. Would have liked to see Crusher's transformation - maybe an Irish Setter?
Nathan C - Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 12:54am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

So many times in Trek there is a logical or scientific approach to (in this case) temporal mechanics that allow the viewer to follow along using their brain and it makes sense. Kirk faced The Guardian of Forever. Picard in Yesterday's Enterprise, you get the picture that good credible SF can exist in Trek, but when episodes like this one come about, the writers throw everything and anything into it, that it becomes more fantasy.
Doctor Who does this shattering effect better than any. Entertaining it may be, yet when a mashup of timelines exist that would confuse even Doc Brown from Back To The Future let alone the most avid of Trekkers it destroys the premise.The reasons for criticism from those of us who are Trekkers is because we enjoy Trek, and don't feel that we should have to turn off our brain on every episode.
Credible SF is what made shows like Stargate successful. Gateheads follow the science and mechanics of Stargate just like those in Star Wars and Doctor Who. Criticism of a show like Star Trek is no different. When writers abandon what has been established as canon, then the material becomes mashed up and becomes less SF and more fantasy.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 11:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Notice khan had "5 times" the strength of kirk yet couldnt take him.

Still one of the best. Imho TWOK saved the ST movie franchise.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 11:03pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

Wasnt van gelder the same dude that led the comms against the yangs? Guy plays a good nut.

But not good enough as this one never broke out of the middle of the pack. Just a double.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:57pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Always loved the "cage-like" look of this ep. Both pilots have that look of 50s scifi that I always found to have a certain mystique.

Also enjoyed how gary was portrayed as essentially turning into a Q but in a much more human and believable way. 3+ for me as well.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Drug culture references indeed.

Spock hanging from the tree did this in for me.

1.237 stars for me.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:23pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Too funny you two.

Never crazy about this one. Produced well and had its cute moments, but what really happened? What was the story? Beam pilot aboard, beam him back, go back to future. Yawn.

The whole time travel vehicle has been utilized very well in the trek universe, just not here, imho.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Review is pretty much dead on except I would not give it 2 stars... Maybe not even 1.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Whats not to love? Mortars, car chase, scavenger hunt, fight to death, speed vs Brawn, iconic alien.

Oh yeah, there was that androgynous liberal at the end... OK well bump it down to 3.5 stars for that. Classic trek.
redshirt28 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

Wow, never knew this ep was so hated. I actually always liked this one.

Not the best but a good middle of pack. To each his own I guess.
Tom - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 7:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

I agree with Jammer's review. This was a nice, but flawed episode.

I found it strange that Picard would confide in his brother who he has not seen in years. Picard's brother is extremely unsympathetic. He bullies Picard heavily. He's rude and bigoted. I don't buy Picard's sudden breaking down into tears after a mud fight. He should still have been angry after what his brother had said to him. You don't just forget those things after a little fight. I agree with William that it did bring Picard down to Earth, which is a good thing, but I don't like how it was done.

It's also strange that the 24th century French have gone back to living like in the 20th century, except that they have forgotten how to speak French.

Wesley's father's speech was pretty horrible. "You're only a baby, but you'll probably be a doctor." This could have been a very moving scene. Wesley's "goodbye dad" was a lot more moving than his father's speech.

It was nice to see Worf's parents. They reminded me of Bashir's parents. Except they had better luck than the latter when visiting their son.
Londonboy73 - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 6:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

I love this episode for all the reasons said above. The Picard scenes are among the best in Trek

I have to say though that there is a major floor in the fact that Riker is apparently the best shuttle pilot on The Enterprise. It's obviously Data as he is programmed to be the best!!

If you have to be extremely precise in dropping mines who you gonna call...... It's not going to be the imperfect human is it.

Ric - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 6:21pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

It was pretty nice to see our new Borg friend develop into human being, along with the moral issues it brought. It is just a shame that in the end we are presented to such a rushed development: Seven of Nine becomes magically cooperative and almost fully human. It would have been much better to keep her development slower trough the next episodes. Maybe even still not hair for a while, wwhy not? I agree with those who have said that this episode should have focused on her, instead of letting Kes go at the same time. It was distracting.

By the way, of course Kes was a character with huge potential for development due to her mind abilities and different aging. However, let's face it: her character was always dealt with very poorly. From her relationship break up with Neelix, which has to be one of the worstly handled character situation ever in Trek, to now her going without us seeing her goodbye neither to Paris nor to The Doc! Oh gosh, it is really good that she was dropped from the show. Her whole presence was a total mess from begining to the end.

Overall, Seven of Nine saves the episode and gives me new hope for good character development.
Ric - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 5:18pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Good episode, but once again we have to see the complete lack of security measures in Voyager. Nobody was watching what the Borg were doing in the cargo bay? Nobody can use a knife or something similar while the Borg is assimilating Voyager, since the Borg is resistant to the faser? Bleh.

In the end, however, it seems that we are going to get some good welcome continuity. And to be fair, the interaction between Chakotay and the captain remains a joy to watch.
SkepticalMI - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 4:50pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

This is probably the best Lwaxana episode, not that that's saying much. I think I like the idea of her more than the actual presence of her. Some of the stupid Lwaxana tricks (such as nearly launching a photon torpedo) are just silly, but seeing some of the reactions to her works well. It just doesn't help when the plots surrounding her shows are awful (see Menage a Troi as an example). So it was nice to see a good plot for once. And it was nice to see Lwaxana forced out of her annoying mother character and into something more sobering.

I won't get too much into the death/respect of elders aspect, because I felt there was another theme there too that nobody else commented on. And that is the theme of love vs one's tradition and culture. Timicin did find himself falling in love with Lwaxana, and was then forced to choose between that love and everything that he was. Lwaxana was, essentially, asking him to sacrifice his entire way of life just to be with her, while Timicin was demanding that she put aside all of her morals and beliefs and accept his fate. And, to the story's credit, Timicin simply could not abandon his life for his new love (just as Worf couldn't in Emissary). Relationships ain't easy, and it's not clear how much of yourself you can bury for your partner. Yes, this is a more fantastic version of this theme than, say, one person wanting kids and the other doesn't, but it still demonstrates it all the same. And because of the fantastical nature of the rift between Troi and Timicin, the helplessness and anger Lwaxana feels hits home just a little bit more.
SkepticalMI - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 4:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

The mustache-twirling part refers primarily to her courtroom breakdown. It's just so out of place and unrealistic.

I didn't want to bring it up earlier given how easily these comments veer off in a political manner, but I was reminded of Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged while watching the end of this show. In the book (spoilers abound in case anyone cares), the characters are representative of Rand's Objectivist philosophy, so all the protagonists are 2-dimensional perfect paragons of rationalism while all the antagonists are 2-dimensional villains. That's ok, because it worked within the plot. The villainous qualities were greed, corruption, refusal to accept reality, and an overwhelming and flawed sense of self-righteousness. While it may be absurd to have everyone act this way, it was engaging on its own... until the end of the book. These self-righteous businessmen were now torturing one of the protagonists while becoming wildly unhinged, while said-protagonist was dealing with the torture and pontificating how awesome Objectivism is.

It took me completely out of the story. Just because you're a greedy self-righteous jerk doesn't mean you're also a sadist! It didn't fit the way the characters were presented for the first 80% of the book. And it didn't follow naturally from the events of the plot (at least to me). People just don't end up over-the-top like that. Furthermore, it makes it look like a cheat; a way for the author to turn the ratchet up on the opposing philosophy. Naturally, the author is right and anyone who thinks otherwise is clearly insane!

Have you ever composed arguments in your head while alone or in the shower or something, and imagined how devastating said arguments are? Of course, it's easy to win arguments in your head; you are calm and rational and understand everything perfectly, leaving your imagined opponent stuttering helplessly. Heck, I composed this reply while in the shower, and it was so awesome that the owner of Paramount read it and made me writer, director, and star of the next Star Trek movie... But seriously, most of us are smart and humble enough to know that we don't have all the answers, and that the arguments in our head are different than ones we might have in real life. But this episode reads like the sort of imagined argument you would come up with in the shower.

Norah Satie is a respected admiral and investigator. She is also a brilliant debater, and was trained by her father to be able to use logic as well as any Vulcan (at least that's what her tea break scene with Picard suggests). Given that, do you really see her spouting out a bunch of random insults at Picard's leadership, and then go on a rant when he gives one small speech? I don't.

Up to that final act, this was an excellent episode. But that rant kinda ruined it for me.
Rivus - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 2:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

This whole season seems to reek of the TOO MANY PLOTS syndrome so far... Not only that, but I feel this moral dilemma of taking out a universe was already explored far too many times in TNG in some form or another for me to feel any impact from it.
Ric - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:23am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

How disappointing! What a waste of an episode!

Sure, the first 30 minutes were brilliant. But once again we have to see a failure that makes the holodeck alive, and... yah, dumb. So we have holodecks that do not use the ship's energy and that get alive and cause trouble all the time. Pifui.

Oh yes, the self-destruct sequence in the holodeck program will destroy the holodeck matrix which will call Paris and Tuvok. Lame.

Score: 9/10 for the first 30 minutes. 5/10 for last 15. Overall, 6/10.
Corey - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 10:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

A touching episode.
Ric - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:39am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

In the first minutes, when they found out that Kes was not aboard, the first thing I thought was the following. Will it be too hard in the 24th century to program the ship's central computer to detect and inform when people leave the ship without previous authorization or without informing the ship? That is something that has always bothered me in diferente Trek shows.

But in Voyager it gets even worse. It is impressive how often the security measures of Voyager show to be simply absent. How easy is for anyone to steal a shutlecraft, to beam up or down without authorization, and so on. Blah.

I was also bothered by Torres turning The Doctor's voice out. This is really na unethical behaviour if they now consider The Doc a being, right?

And what about Trek shows once again showing the crew easily operating computers used by a totally diferent species that they have just met?


Sure, finding out that they were within a ship was nice. But a good surprised for 2 seconds. In the end, a weak episode, meaningless, silly, with all sort of those distracting problems. I will forget this in 15 minutes. And I will not regret that.
Ric - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 9:15am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Jammer was quite accurate to point that Voyager has played this card of "an element of Earth in the Delta Quadrant" way too often. Not to mention that Trek in general has abused the idea of alien connections with past Earth. It is starting to get childish. Sure, in what regards execution this episode is one of the best approaches to that theme in the whole Trek. But still, it feels really repetitive.

Discounting that and the cartoonish idea of the aliens being evolved dinossaurs... well, the execution of the episode was excelente. Almost perfect, for my taste. The way the episode starts is quite amuzing and, actually, as soon as I saw the show keeping a while without even showing Voyager, I felt sort of a breath of fresh air.

The premise was very powerful as well. And talking about that, I certainly agree with Elliot that it was not about tradition versus change. Of course not, this was quite superficial. The subtle debate about what it really means to evolve as a civilization was way deeper.

Also, the way the episode ended was really really good. Reminded me of the best episodes of DS9, which I was missing.

In the end, if one discounts the major crucial problems of "element of Earth" and "dinossaurs", this one easily desserves at least a 9/10 score. Not discounting, it drops to at most 7/10.
Quarky - Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 1:30am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

I just started watching DS9 for the first time. I liked this episode so much I watched it twice in one night. Just an interesting observation. The character of Thrax does a perfect impersonation of ODO. Either the actor has watched a lot of ds9 or the odo actor helped him with his scenes. Look at when he's talking to quark. All his mannerisms are perfect odo. Great episode
rick - Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 10:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

I love this episode. I also like all the season 3 episodes if for nothing else, nostalgia. Everytime I watch I am transported back to being a child watching them with my father whom is no longer among the living. That being said I do realize season 3 is weaker but this episode is a highlite. Just don't use logic and it goes down well.
Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 752
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer