Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 37,609 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,505
Set Bookmark
Diana
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

On the one hand, I largely agree with Nikolai's position on the "Putting lives before abstract philosophy" thing. While, granted, there's a possibility that you save a race that goes on to become the next Space-Hitlers, the people who are living now matter now. And if you're really concerned about them developing in a dangerous way, you have the superior position from which to help adjust their development in a positive direction.

Nikolai really is a jackass, though. What is he thinking? The villagers stated outright they were ready to die when the storms hit-- they couldn't make the Prime Directive easier for him to follow if they tried. He had to fight to convince them to try to escape their fate. And impregnating a local with an alien baby? He doesn't think *that* will freak them out? Unless he's already genetically modified his own sperm, or the baby in the womb somehow-- or intends to perform surgery on it as soon as it's born, and then follow-up surgery on any children that baby has in future.

Not sure what I'm trying to say, really. I largely side with the ultimate decision Nikolai made? But almost every aspect of how he made it was the worst it could be? And the episode seemed kind of a mess in terms of not really laying out the best case it could on both sides?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

After closer inspection, it sounds like he's talking about an earlier script. Who knows?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Jack Bauer:
Wow i just found what you were talking about; sorry I doubted you: www.ign.com/articles/2014/11/08/jonathan-nolan-interstellar-spoilers

That's retarded. How in the hell is Cooper supposed to find the galaxy she's in from where he's at in the Milky Way and then find her planet within that galaxy? If TARS is that smart to be able to do all of that he shouldn't be listening to Cooper for sure.

Why in hell would Nolan mess up his own ending like that? He basically inserted a plot hole that was't there in the theater. That almost ruins the ending for me.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Corey: "And even if we accept the premise of ocean swells the size of the Himalayas (Thorne himself serves up some numbers that I’m not going to dispute), wouldn’t such colossal formations be blindingly obvious from orbit? Wouldn’t our heroes have seen them by just looking out the window on the way down? How dumb do you have to be to let yourself get snuck up on by a mountain range?"

Wow. Did you even watch the movie? Hours on the planet = years in space. Do you even realize that it took 20 some odd years from the pov of anyone IN ORBIT for the 1st and 2nd mountain ranges to sneak up on Cooper and the gang? No they couldn't see that from orbit unless that they sat around for a good part of a quarter of a century and noticed that what they thought was a mountain range was inch worming its way across the planet.

@Jack Bauer: "The big question online is where Cooper went when he stole the ship at the end. Well conventional wisdom says he went back through the wormhole and made the journey to Edmond's Planet. Well one of the Nolans have said there is no wormhole when Cooper Station arrives at Saturn. Thanks movie for establishing that. How did Murph know Brand was stranded on a planet setting up a civilization and that Cooper should go back for her? Why did Cooper give Murph the coordinates of NASA if he wanted himself to "Stay"? "

Please, post where Nolan says there's no wormhole at the end of the movie. Otherwise, I think you're mistaken. The movie itself never says that and I doubt Nolan would insert a nonexistent plot hole after the movie was over. TARS says the future humans close up the Tesseract. This is while Cooper is still inside the black hole. They then send Cooper back through the wormhole. How did he get from the black hole to the wormhole? Who knows? There are theories that say black holes can actually function somewhat like a wormhole, so maybe they're passing through the same hyperspace. In any case, he passes the ship he came in on the way out. How would they close the wormhole when he's traveling through it to get home? It would've had to have just closed at the Saturn end as soon as he arrived. And everyone would've been talking about it. Hey did you see that?!? The damn wormhole just slammed shut all of a sudden!?!

The wormhole can't be closed at the end. Edmond's Planet is in an entirely different galaxy. And while they may have some sort of anti-gravity drive, I seriously doubt they're implying at the end of that movie that they have an Alcubierre Warp Drive that can cross intergalactic distances, so Cooper is indeed going back through the wormhole.

Why did Murphy say Brand is setting up on OUR new planet if she's really talking about Brand setting up on her future test tube babies' new planet? The wormhole not being shown at the end is irrelevant. They don't show any of Saturn's numerous moons, but that doesn't mean the movie is saying they all fell into the wormhole that closed with nobody noticing it.

And how does Murphy know about Brand? Cooper's been awake for 2 days before he gets out of the hospital. You honestly believe he wouldn't have been debriefed during that time? Clearly, she would've been told everything that he'd told them, one of which is Brand went to Edmond. Why would they have to show him being debriefed or her being told the information from his debriefing? They didn't show her being told he had been found, but she'd already been told this and was already on her way to Cooper Station when Cooper's told that this is the case. We don't have to be shown absolutely everything for us to know that certain things have to have occurred. The movie would've been twice as long if they included stuff like that.

Why did he tell himself the coordinates if he wanted himself to stay? You're mixing up the very clear sequence of events. When he first goes into the tesseract he's in despair and acting emotionally and calls out to Murphy to convince him to stay.

AFTERWARDS, TARS, the robot, explains to him that he could communicate the singularity's interior quantum data through the tesseract somehow, although the robot doesn't know exactly how to do it. It's only then that he goes from despair to happiness. This is where Cooper decides to send the coords to himself in binary and communicate in morse code directly to Murphy the information about gravity that she needed to save everyone on earth INCLUDING HERSELF!

He excitedly says this out loud:
Cooper: "I thought they chose me. They didn't choose me; they chose her."
TARS: "For what, Cooper?"
Cooper: "To save the world."

Why in hell would he instead say, "But naw the hell with saving my daughter's and most of humanity's lives. I'll just break the loop and not give my daughter what she needs to save everybody including both my children in order to sit back on earth, so we can all either suffocate or starve to death. Cause hey, at least I'll get some quality parenting time!" That's totally retarded.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I'll say one thing about this episode which never occurred to me in all the years I've been rewatching the series: they clearly meant for this episode to be part of a larger Romulan arc that they'd been building towards during season 4. As much as we think that DS9 initiated the long arc, the TNG writers were keen to do it despite being prevented by the network, and in S4 they did get in some building continuity. The arc traces back to "Sins of the Father", and in S4 goes something like this:

"Reunion" - Introducing internal Klingon tensions.

"Data's Day" - Bringing the Romulans into the picture as being up to something (we'll omit "Future Imperfect" as counting).

"The Drumhead" - Reintroducing the idea of a Romulan scare, and in the process subtly implying that Satie believed in the possibility of Klingons and Romulans conspiring together. To our knowledge this hadn't happened since TOS when they shared technology with each other.

"The Mind's Eye" - Bringing to the forefront that the Romulans are up to no good. And I had completely forgotten until I watched this again the other week that Sela makes her first shadowy appearance at the end of this one.

"Redemption" - Where it all comes together.

To have five separate episodes in a season all leading towards the cliffhanger finale is pretty darn good considering they had to slip it in, most likely under the network's noses. From that standpoint I'll forgive some of the details in "The Drumhead" that don't add up to that much, because I can see now that as an arc they were using it to put certain ideas in our heads about wondering what the Klingons and Romulans were up to. The fact of the matter is that the way the script dealt with Tarsis wasn't very compelling in terms of us actually considering he might actually be guilty of something, and so Satie being wrong ended up overshadowing the legitimate concern about Romulan interference, which I think should have been written in better.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"One aspect of the story that I think goes unfairly unremarked, is that the episode doesn't act as if caution and suspicion aren't needed in times of danger. The klingon guy really was an enemy spy and he even used the race card. So while Sate may have been a bit too evil and not well argued, the episode is even handed enough in its approach to the situation. Yes, there IS danger-doesn't mean it's worth to let it destroy what and who we are protecting."

It brings up Satie's side of the argument, but she's made into a complete strawman. It's easy to walk away with the message that "National security just isn't worth it." because nothing Satie does actually helps the Enterprise. They already found the spy, and the "conspiracy" was debunked because there was no sabotage. All Satie did was waste everyone's time with litigation while what the ship really needed was a bigger repair crew.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

"Why wasn't the universal translator working??"

Because the UT reads brainwaves and can pick up the speaker's intent. If someone intends to speak so foreigners don't understand, it won't translate.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Iden was clearly off from the get go. He constantly talks about "organics." He relentlessly displays his religious nonsense, like where the Doctor encounters him in the chapel or whatever and he makes him wait until he finishes his prayer. He tortures the doctor with the others memories. (There's no excuse for this. They have ship wide holo emitters. If he wanted simple understanding, it would've been enough to show the Doctor their memories using the holo emitter. It was totally beyond the pale to actually implant those memories in the Doctor.) The way he's constantly explaining his actions to the blood thirsty Simon Tarses was so shady you could see very clearly he's putting on a show for the Doctor.

The real 180 comes when Iden, who's been displaying decidedly clever tactics suddenly flushes tactics down the toilet, abandons his ship to beam to the surface in order to hunt Hirogens. He's left himself completely vulnerable. He has no leverage at that point. If anyone wanted to kill him and the entire society he wanted to build at that point they could've just torpedoed the surface of the planet from orbit to destroy the holo emitter and also blown his ship out of orbit. Kejal wouldn't have been able to stop them from doing so alone. It was tactically retarded for him to go unhinged and drop all strategy when moments before he was strategically much more adept than most of the people he was fighting.

All in all, I really liked this episode. It's not a 4 star, but certainly 3 are well deserved. I really wanted to see some of these holograms again. Murderous Simon Tarses was a treat. Kejal would've been a good fit on Voyager. One thing I don't understand is the holograms had holographic weapons. You can clearly see this because when they're chasing the Hirogens with their phaser rifles, one of them throws something at the hologram and both he and his phaser rifle phase right through object. If you can make technology with the holo emitter (I always thought the replicators made the real objects/technology inside holodecks, alongside the holograms and force-fields; that can't be the case here), why can't you make a self-sustaining holo emitter? And therefore make self-sustaining holograms, especially since we've already seen a number of photonic life-forms?
Set Bookmark
Vii
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Garrett Wang talks a lot about how the writers had it in for him, and how he was deliberately portrayed in a bad light, and I have to say that this episode pretty much proves that he was right. They intentionally trolled him by making him acknowledge/complain about how he was the perpetual ensign and that if he had stayed in the Alpha Quadrant he would have made ensign by now. Then him having to grovel to Janeway to get his shot at command (guess night shifts don't count), and also admitting to Paris that he was always the wingman and was sick of it.

I also really like Kim and Wang's portrayal of him and agree with SpiceRak2 that I'm a bit surprised at the amount of vitriol Jammer and a lot of the fandom have for him. Per his 'wooden' acting, there was an interview where Wang said that all humans were specifically instructed by Berman to show a minimum amount of emotion, as Berman didn't want the humans upstaging the non-human races. That being said, I think the good ensign works best when he's paired off with Tom or B'elanna, since those three seem to have a natural chemistry.

Also regarding the comparisons of Nog to Kim, I also don't think it's a fair comparison to make, and I agree with a former poster who stated that Nog's ascent in Starfleet ranks required a considerable suspension of belief. Character wise, everything about Nog was beyond obnoxious, from the way he brown-nosed all the important people to his condescension towards people who were non-Starfleet (Jake, especially in 'Valiant'). Not to mention, he had a very harsh and grating voice, which made his line delivery/character all the more annoying..! At no point did Harry Kim ever come close to being this irritating.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 8:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Janeway says that she would never hesitate to sacrifice her ship to save 2 million lives. I don't know if I believe that. But it was super cheesy to have the alien leader instantly believe her and turn into her friend. He was extremely suspicious moments ago. She could be bluffing, couldn't she?
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

One problem I have with this episode is where Crusher asks Worf "What are they saying" when they're on the Klingon colony. Why wasn't the universal translator working??
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Hello Everyone!

I really enjoyed this episode back when it was first on, and still do today. Upon re-watching, something did bug me just a bit: How did D'Anna/3 end up in command of this batch of Cylons?

What I heard, seemingly over and over but probably just a few times, was that they wanted to unbox her so she could identify the final five for everyone. She'd be helping :). But the next thing I knew, after her talk with Roslin, she is the one giving the orders and the rest are standing around letting her. 3 has no concept of what has been going on recently, or of what has lead to the civil war. What she does know is she wants to Brute Force everything and get her way. It seems they... let her have her way because only she can identify the 5, and are worried if she gets mad, she won't tell them. That's the only reason I can think of.

So the 2's, 6's and 8's all stand around, letting her take things to the brink, even though she just woke up. Allows her to space some redshirt. Allows her to make the nukes hot. And none of them say much more than "uhh...". They had their own type of guts to stand up to Cavil/1, but just let 3 run amok. Always had a problem with that. Later, President Lee talks to her about a truce and starting peace over again, shaking her hand to seal the deal, but none of the others are included.

Great episode that had me on the edge of my seat for certain, but I figured they decided they needed some confrontation, and had everyone bow to D'Anna so they could get it.

Have a great day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

One other thing: she can hardly breath, but she never, NEVER stops talking. The Defiant crew has to take shifts to listen to her! I found that hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 2:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

"Which is why the lying to Riker bit always bugged me. If the writer wanted it to be ambiguous, the episode was shot as Data pretty clearly trying to kill Fajo. So yes, it does come off as a lie. And actually, it seems the writer wasn't necessarily on board with that line either! From Memory-Alpha: "I asked Brent Spiner whether he thought Data purposefully pulled the trigger or not, and he was adamant that Data did fire the weapon, which was my intent as well, but the powers-that-be wanted that kept ambiguous, so it was. If I had a chance to do it over, with all the experience I have behind me now, I would argue passionately for Data's actions and their consequences to have been clearer, and hopefully more provocative." Sounds like it was probably Gene that forced that line in there. So frankly, I'd rather just pretend it doesn't exist. It just doesn't seem to fit."

In other words, it's a bit of bad writing caused by too many cooks in the kitchen. The writer wanted one thing, the execs wanted something else, so the final few minutes just plain old don't make sense. It's a pity, as the episode is otherwise outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

@dave johnson: 'The guy folded to Janeway 99% of the time without any fire to him.'

I always thought that was because he was desperately in love with Janeway, haha!

I don't understand the 2 star rating for the episode, I really enjoyed it and it kept my attention for the better part of an hour. The plot moved forward at a brisk pace and the Klingon actor who was a dead ringer for Sisko was suitably charismatic and had enough of a screen presence to make us care about him. I'm starting to agree with some of the other posters here who said that Jammer's major beef with this show was that it wasn't DS9. In any case it was nice to see some more Alpha Quadrant aliens.

Did anyone else make a face when Tuvok stepped into his room, right after Neelix and the Klingon woman had finished their business? EEW! If I were Tuvok I'd have lost it then and there and strangled Neelix's Talaxian neck for real. So gross.
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

The Omega molecule should be popping up all over the place and their is no way for the Federation to put SNL lock on it. One thing that this episode brings up is two scenarios play out: If this pre-warp society can develop the molecule once then they can do it again. OR as this was the society's Hail Mary (having depleted their resources) Voyager left them all to die - a slow death.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 12:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

This episode made no sense. The aliens admire Yar because of her ability to fight, supposedly unique for a female, yet they have a custom that's over 200 years old that involves two women fighting to the death?

Wesley on the bridge at ops? In what military organization would that be allowed? A kid, or any untrained officer for that matter? No way. Was that why Worf was missing from the episode--to give Wesley a place to sit?

And Riker takes over as head of security? He'd be the next one in line for that? Really?

The joke scene with Data and LaForge was the only redeeming thing in it.

It almost seemed like the script was written by a checklist: kidnapping, vaccine, negotiations, fight sequence, etc.

The quality of the first couple seasons is appalling. It's truly amazing what the series was able to evolve into, given it's beginning episodes.
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

An anti-telepath society is a fascinating idea. Telepaths could exploit people, take advantage of others, and due all sorts of things that give them a leg up even the most benovelent and gentle ones might cause harm by influencing or revealing the thoughts of others.

This was a great episode.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

Hello Everyone!

@Dba

You mirrored most of my thoughts exactly. I'm re-watching the series, and had my thoughts mostly ready to put on the page, then found you'd done most of them. :D

I believe Lampkin saw Head Cat. When Apollo trips over the empty food bowl, I thought perhaps he hadn't seen any cat (seems to look around for it), while Lampkin had. So perhaps Lampkin was a bit unhinged.

But, I also thought he was manipulating Lee a bit, to make certain Lee would end up being President. He believes Lee won't want the position, so he forces Lee (at the point of a gun) to tell him why he'd make a good president. At that moment Lee convinces himself that he should take the position. Masterfully manipulated by someone who has gone a bit to the 'funny farm' side of things.

Heh, I didn't see anyone mention the dog Lee gives Lampkin towards the end. I thought it was touching.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Hello Everyone!

@Kned and others...

Yeah, the thing that bothered me about this episode (that I actually enjoy), is their communications between themselves. If one of them needs a "spanner" from another crewperson, to fix the engine, they'd have to come up with a metaphor for that eventually. And, there'd have to be millions of them for what they need to do. And what if they forget, or don't know a particular metaphor?

First Crewperson: Rigandalo, in the puddle, at Wizant.
Second Crewperson: Grabs sandwich, tries to give it to First.
First Crewperson: *annoyed* RIGANDALO, in the PUDDLE, at WIZANT! *points down at spanner*
Second Crewperson: *nods in comprehension* Takes off shoes.

If they mis-remembered even one time, it could be catastophic. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 8:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

The absurdity of the parallel Earth aside, this episode had some serious promise, and then just tossed it all away in favor of silliness. Just look at all the possibly interesting plotlines that were thrown at us in the first act or so. The Enterprise discovers a mysterious virus that killed an entire starship crew, save for the captain. They learn they too may be infected, and their only hope is to go to the planet. There, they get caught in a war between two sides by the natives, only to discover the captain is assisting one of the sides in clear violation of the Prime Directive. But the captain says it is for a noble cause, that these people have the Fountain of Youth. So Kirk must resist the temptation to join him and to fix the damage he has done, all while McCoy races to find a cure. That's good stuff. Needs of the many (Fountain of Youth) vs the needs of the few (Prime Directive) vs the needs of the very few (the danger to our heroes) vs the needs of the one (Captain's desire to survive on a planet he is exiled to). Honestly, the setup is better than Insurrection, which had a similar premise. If they could have focused on that instead, we might have had a dramatic, tense, engaging episode. Instead, they dropped the ball on every single one of those possible storylines.

McCoy searching for the cure or the Fountain of Youth? Just one or two scenes of him working. I know, it's hard to make that dramatic or interesting, but they managed to do it before. McCoy actually has something to do for once on the away team rather than being irascible and insulting Spock, and they don't let him do it!

The potential danger to the away team? Bones doesn't even have to work to find a cure, it's already there! Actually, that could have been a nice twist, perhaps adding to the guilt of the captain knowing that he could have saved his entire crew and left at any time. But we barely see his reaction to the news. The twist has no dramatic impact. We hear about it, and that's it. No angst at all.

A villain with a reason to do what he does, who can argue for a position besides the prime directive? A villain, perhaps, trapped in a scenario in which there are no good choices? Ha, forget that! He just went into full evil mode, fighting Kirk for no reason even after learning that his dreams of eternal life were just dreams.

Weighing the values of the Prime Directive? Kirk declares he must do everything to stop him, then just up and interferes himself. They even lampshaded it with Spock! After all the posturing Kirk does about the seriousness of the PD, he just up and reinterprets the Constitution for the Yangs. And after waxing poetic about the sacredness of the PD, his response to Spock at the end was just flippant. I know, lighthearted endings were the style at the time, but if you're going to claim the PD is a serious topic, you need to treat it seriously!

So even ignoring the absurdity of the ending, the episode managed to fail. Good riddance.

OK, I can't ignore the absurdity entirely... Wasn't it just two episodes ago that Spock was claiming the odds of another planet creating Nazis was completely astronomical? What about the odds of not only creating America, but also having the exact same handwriting for the Constitution?
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Sorry Quincy, I disagree.

Oh sure, perhaps you have a point that an ethical person, seeing a situation like that, would do whatever to escape. Heck, we just had a lengthy discussion on that various topic over with The Most Toys. I'm not arguing that part. There are two specific aspects I argue: that this is a doctor doing harm under medical conditions and that this is an AI doctor doing those things.

Let's deal with the first one. You gave an example from Dr Strange. Note that he struggled mightily with simply using violence as self defense completely outside of his medical ethics. And eventually, he became more used to it. Whatever. Again, it's outside of the medical sphere. No one is saying a doctor can't engage in self defense, and no one would expect that. Dr Crusher had no qualms with firing phasers at various Borg or at a bug-controlled admiral, for example. But that's because it's not in her professional realm. The Hippocratic Oath is applied to the medical realm. If Hitler gets wheeled in on an operating table, you do your best to heal him. It doesn't matter that it's Hitler. Again, using Crusher as an example, I believe she still did her best to help the terrorists who kidnapped her in The High Ground. Bashir worked to help the Jem'Hadar. It doesn't matter what outside ethics means once you have a medical kit in your hand; you do no harm. The Doctor violated that. So if the Doc wanted to take a pipe and smack the evil guy upside the head, that makes more sense than deliberately poisoning him and then withholding medication.

Secondly, this isn't a person. Maybe the Hippocratic Oath says that you give Hitler the best treatment you can, but it's certainly possible that a human doctor would "accidentally" mess up a surgery there. This was a plot point in a MASH episode, for example. But the important thing, the thing the Voyager writers forgot about so often, is that the Doctor is not human. In fact, he's not even Data. Data was programmed to be like a human, to emulate humans. Thus, Soong programmed him to be able to make his own choices and his own ethical decisions. Obviously this backfired horribly with Lore, but it was still the way Soong programmed them. But the Doc? He was not programmed to emulate humanity, he was programmed to be a tool. A highly complex tool, but a tool nonetheless. His sentience is accidental in nature rather than designed like Data's. So why would Zimmerman program the Doc to be able to make ethical decisions outside the standard accepted medical practices? It shouldn't happen. The episode even lampshades the fact that it shouldn't happen, yet did it anyway! Why? How?

Keep in mind that less than 2 years ago, it was revealed that a simple triage decision outside standard medical standards caused catastrophic errors the likes of which we haven't seen since a good old fashioned Kirk Logic Bomb! How could he have evolved so fast such that he couldn't make that decision then, but could violate his own personal Prime Directive just a few years later? And again, all without a conscience decision on his part to overwrite his programming, which again is at odds with multiple other Voyager episodes.

So the idea violated continuity, and violated common sense. And it failed to use the Doctor's unique position of being an AI creatively, preferring instead to have him act like yet another boring human. Tis a waste.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Wow, not even one person? I thought this one was pretty funny. Yes, it's in many ways dumb, but when doing a goofy comedy, I think it's allowed to have higher suspension of disbelief, if it makes up with fun factor. For me, it mostly did.
Set Bookmark
spuzm
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

Actually the show was correct. "Aye, captain" would work in the scenario shown. Disregard above comment.
Set Bookmark
Spuzm
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

Since O'Brien is talking about naval traditions I think it's funny that Dax gives an order that is responded with "Aye, captain". The correct response would be "Aye, Aye, Captain" which means that the order was understood and will be carried out at once. A response of "Aye" is simple agreement and does not mean that the command was understood as an order.

(Someone correct me if this is wrong. I just got curious and did some very preliminary reading.)
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,505
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.