Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

New: Bookmark and hide read comments | Clear bookmark

Total Found: 30,188 (Showing 51-75)

Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 1,208
Matthew
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Oh my god, Bryan Fuller is going to be the showrunner for this show. It might have a chance in hell of being good now. Maybe Kurtzman being attached can just be a vanity credit and we can get some real Star Trek.
Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

Yeah, the reaction to the murder was pretty offensive.

I guess because they look like earth animals they are not to be taken seriously? Funny how Gene looked at things back then.
Chrome
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

So according to Memory Alpha, this was originally going to be a Neelix episode.

Wow, they dodged a bullet there. Can anyone imagine Neelix in command?
William B
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 9:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

@Jason R., oh I see, sorry for the misunderstanding.
Jason R.
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 6:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

"@Jason R., on the second point, Pulaski stated that she believed Data simply recognized plot points from various actual SH stories, and while I'm not totally familiar with the Holmes canon I thought that was the intent of the scene. It's not that Data is such an impossibly great investigator, but that his encyclopedic memory of Holmes stories allowed him to recognize each clue and figure out the story."

I was thinking of the scene *after* the Moriarty adversary was created. Data and Laforge are chasing after Pulawski's kidnapper and they stumble onto this completely different murder, which I guess the computer just threw in for kicks as a "side quest". Data instantly deduces that the man was a drunkard strangled by his angry wife with some beads or something. When Laforge calls him out on it (again supposing that Data was cheating by memorizing past Holmes plot devices) Data explains his deductions indicating that he was not cheating. So he didn't solve it by memorizing former Holmes stories. It was a completely new fact pattern.

@Grumpy,

I kind of like the idea of the computer being basically this djinn that will fulfill your wish (so be careful what you wish for!). It's a cool idea to be sure. Had they linked this new ability with the 11001001 episode I think it would have been even cooler (and made alot more sense!) because then there'd be this sense that the computer really is alot more mysterious and has these weird, previously unknown capabilities.
James
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 6:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

But quibbles aside, what an ending. The final third is up there with DS9's finest moments. Poignant, touching and well orchestrated. Take a bow, cast and crew.
James
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 4:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I think I've figured out the reason the war in DS9 didn't have a huge impact on me as a whole. I don't understand the Founders motivation as conquering aggressors. They live on a world which isn't under threat and could easily be defended with the Jem Hadar, yet they feel the need to go out and take control of hundreds of other worlds. Why? They're a pool of slime. They have no need for vast resources, they don't even eat so there's no need for new territory for food production. Why do they need to expand their military rule? When the Dominion was first introduced this didn't bother me because it seemed there were hidden motivations, but by the end you have a picture of a single Founder controlling an array of races and ships for no other reason than to conquer the galaxy. I don't buy it.

Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Hard to imagine how this series got renewed past the first few weeks with Farpoint and this to start it off!

Oh well, Tasha had a great mid section at least :)
JC
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

When Kira and Dax shot that first fighter down, I hope I wasn't the only one expecting Slippy or Falco to appear in the corner.
JC
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

Given that the Cardassians were supposed to have released all Bajoran prisoners, I can't understand why, upon discovery of 12 Bajorans in a labor camp, they didn't just to report it to Starfleet and let the Federation handle it.
tlb
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

What a mess.
JPaul
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

The thing that's most concerning about TFA as a whole is where this trilogy is going in the future. It really seems that they've painted themselves into a corner somewhat, with Rey being set up as Luke Skywalker 2.0, Luke as Obi Wan/Yoda 2.0, Fin as Han Solo 2.0, BB8 as R2D2 2.0, Kylo Ren as Darth Vader 2.0 and Snoke as Palpatine 2.0. It's fairly clear what's going to happen over the course of this trilogy based on the events of the original trilogy, and it's going to be very difficult for subsequent writers/directors/producers to change direction a third of the way through.

If the next movie features jedi training scenes with Luke and Rey, Fin and the Resistance trying to escape the New Order, and some sort of familial revelation involving Rey it won't be too much of a surprise. At least in the prequels there was some sense of a new story being told, even if the execution was abysmal.
Grumpy
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 3:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Jason R. "...in a baffling oversight / missed opportunity, they fail to mention it ["11001001"] - leaving us with the ridiculous proposition that the Enterprise computer could always conjure AI, but... no one in the Federation tried to do it before?!"

"Missed opportunity" reminds me of "Booby Trap"/"Galaxy's Child" and the unexplored relationship between LaForge and the ship's computer. See, the computer wouldn't conjure AI for just anyone, but Geordi's wish is her pleasure. And he never thanked her!

Latent robosexuality aside, the Data/Holmes mistake works as almost Asimovian logic. The computer does exactly what you tell it to, so be careful! We don't need to worry about Moriarty being more self-aware than the computer itself. He claims to be more, but that's the computer doing its role-playing.
William B
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

@Jason R., on the second point, Pulaski stated that she believed Data simply recognized plot points from various actual SH stories, and while I'm not totally familiar with the Holmes canon I thought that was the intent of the scene. It's not that Data is such an impossibly great investigator, but that his encyclopedic memory of Holmes stories allowed him to recognize each clue and figure out the story. I thought it was also a pretty good parody of how mystery fans react when encountering a new but formulaic mystery story, where they recognize the tropes and are sure going to tell everyone, not because of real world logic but mystery novel/play/show logic (where typically information only appears if it's a clue and there are X many red herrings etc).
Diamond Dave
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Along with Janeway and the Doctor I felt that Kes was the only other character generating really compelling story ideas in series 3. It's rare that I actually get irritated by an episode, but the arbitrary way Kes gets written out here is not a high point. Apart from the super-power new planes of reality ridiculousness of it all it's not even explained. What the hell IS going on here? I don't suppose we'll ever know.

There are hints in the Seven story that this is going to become increasingly compelling, but at this point it's mostly just a shouty "return us to the Borg" type situation. 2 stars.
Jason R.
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Another thing I thought was funny with this episode, the way Data
"deduced" instantly all these conclusions with no background or context and practically zero facts, even after the new simulation was made so that it was a completely new mystery. I mean he solves the murder of that man on the street in what, 8 seconds?

I was just thinking, they should have Data do the Sherlock Holmes shtick all the time. Episodes like Conundrum and Cause and Effect wouldn't have lasted 90 seconds if Data was "deducing" like he did in this episode. Seriously, just put a pipe in his mouth and let him go.
Jason R.
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

"I enjoyed the episode, though it was hard for me to get past the "slip of the tongue" device that leads to Moriarty's sentience. The plot would have been a good opportunity to reference the Bynars and the creation of Minuet. Geordi simply could have discovered that some of the Bynars' programming had remained buried in the Enterprise's computer after all, and the computer had drawn upon those resources to fashion an improved, "real" Moriarty."

You touch upon the biggest weakness in the episode. It makes zero sense that the Enterprise computer would be capable of just conjuring up an AI due to a slip of the tongue as surely someone would have figured this out eons ago and there would have been safeguards in place.

The plot focuses on the hologram as if it is the source of Moriarty's consciousness, even going to the foolish proposition that he could be "destroyed" by obliterating the holographic image! No, clearly the real issue is the computer itself and why it is capable of doing something apparently unprecedented!

And as you mention, this is the biggest missed opportunity of the episode. There was a ready-made explanation, namely that the Bynar's had upgraded the computer, granting it vastly greater abilities and (for the first time) the capacity to create true AI. That should have been the first thing they discussed when the problem came to light. But in a baffling oversight / missed opportunity, they fail to mention it - leaving us with the ridiculous proposition that the Enterprise computer could always conjure AI, but... no one in the Federation tried to do it before?!
Chrome
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I'm not as big of a fan of The Doctor as some on this board, but this is really a great episode. Voyager can be a bit of a hokey show at times, but I give the showrunners credit for playing that to their advantage when making this episode.

We have what seems to be a very standard Voyager plot (The ship gets picked on by evil Delta Quadrant aliens), but it's completely inverted as the threat to the ship is never too prominent in this show. Instead, the direction is over a struggling, and for once I'd say, sympathetic doctor who struggles for command recognition.

The scenarios the Doctor dreams up are funny, too! I agree with some of the above posters that this is like TNG's "Hollow Pursuits" except that the Doctor's pursuits actually end up being used to Voyager's advantage. This makes the entertainment all the more relevant.

4 stars.
Dave
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

Even when watching it for the first time way back in 1987, I thought the following:

The federation is huge, these guys travel at WARP 9!. Humans have been space faring for 200 years; these Ferengi are in the same area of the quadrant and would have had contact with many of the same species the Federation deals with.

How on earth could they have never had contact, and not even know what one another look like! No one ever shared a photo? LIke didn't the Ferengi say "so, this 150+ world federation that is 7000 light years wide.... anyone know what those humans who run the thing look like? anyone think to try to trade with them?"

THen they make them so corny in this episode when they start begging the TKon guy for attention.... made them look pathetic. Strange way to write a species who were intended to be a serious villian.

JC
Mon, Feb 8, 2016, 12:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

Jammer I think you've been a bit generous with the DS9 stars... :)
petulant
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@Scott from Detroit

That's what i'd do to, cancel it as soon as i'd seen the series,

Be wary though because Amazon Prime has monthly subscription but a lot of the films and tv series on there have to be paid separately, for example seasons 1 to 4 of the walking dead are free to watch if you pay monthly but seasons 5 and 6 are £1.99 per episode
petulant
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I don't think there's anything not to like in this episode except maybe the red bloch on Yars face, i think it's an unforgettable episode,
4 stars
Patrick D
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I can bet any amount of money you want that the new Trek series will either be a hardcore, gritty, violent nuBSG-style affair or it's going to be in the lobotomized violent style of the JJ Trek movies.
Jason R
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 6:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

"The dumbest thing is that at the end it's revealed that BB8 only had a portion of the map and it would have been useless to the New Order without the additional piece of map contained in R2-D2."

Not since Revenge of the Fallen have I seen a film with a more stupid, pointless plot filled with so many useless characters. But who cares, really. What does it matter anyway if the story makes sense, if the characters are the least bit developed, if the action is any kind of coherent. That's just nerd stuff. If you care about that you're just a neurotic fanboy and Abrams doesn't care what you think.
Jason R
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

Guys, the movie is 2 hours and 19 minutes. And it felt like it. I think it says something about the incompetence of the writing that in a movie this long, they couldn't find 5-10 minutes to explain such basic background necessary to appreciate the story.

It's not like they based it on a well known book and needed to follow some convoluted lengthy story faithfully a la Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter. It was their script. No, the story really isn't that complicated, and the only answer is that the writing is just garbage.

But as I said, this is probably #3 on my list of things I hated about this movie, so I can hardly get too caught up with it. It's not like the movie would have been good if they had fixed the obvious deficiencies in the script.
Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 1,208
Copyright © 1994-2016, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. This site is an independent publication that is in no way affiliated with any company or entity that produces the subjects reviewed here. | Copyright & Disclaimer