Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,108 (Showing 51-75)

Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 885
Robert - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 1:44pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

@$G - I think you sort of hit the nail on the head with "DS9 is kind of caught in limbo between week-to-week adventures and serialized narratives, so some of the writer's choices are always going to service one aspect of the show while being incompatible with the other."

I would have had no problem narratively if the writers decided to kill Jadzia and then built the show around it that would be fine. As I mentioned about though, they rammed her down the show's throat for the final season because they didn't have enough time to "explore" the new character otherwise.

If they wanted to play reincarnate the Trill they really should have planned for it (instead of been backed into a corner) and done it earlier.
$G - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 1:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I'm pretty shocked at the comments in here. I had no idea Ezri was so disliked. I suppose it depends on how people enjoy their TV narratives. Do they value the evolving narrative of the series or prefer the reliability of the characters they've grown accustomed to doing new things each week? DS9 is kind of caught in limbo between week-to-week adventures and serialized narratives, so some of the writer's choices are always going to service one aspect of the show while being incompatible with the other.

But here's the thing: Ezri is the best thing to happen to Jadzia's story in the whole series. She was literally a character who would reincarnate after every life. How could the series *NOT* eventually utilize this element in its own narrative? A Trill character is pretty much designed to have this function.

I realize the writers, still boxed in by Trek restrictions, were probably happy to keep the crew together for the whole series (despite that series being about war). After all, Jadzia's death was due to business rather than writing. But even though they were backed into the move, the writers did the right thing - more so that Ezri is almost an anti-Jadzia. For once the viewer gets to feel the same shock at the Trill-symbiont life cycle that we've been watching the characters go through the whole series. "Rejoined" and "Facets" were both great Trill episodes, but Ezri is the Trill story in Trek.

One's enjoyment of this episode pretty much depends on how much one agrees with that, I think. If you object to Ezri in principle then you've already made up your mind.

Anyway I agree with Jammer that "Afterimage" itself is pretty well handled as an episode and has a couple of stand out moments. It's predictable but still works well. 3 stars from me.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 8:47am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

navamske,

Ocampans were proven to live much longer than 9 years (Cold Fire).

But I agree, her "lifespan" shouldn't have been an issue kicking her off the series. It could have actually enhanced the character.
Eli - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 2:57am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Great acting by Jolene Blalock in an absorbing episode. The episode contains fascinating, well constructed moments of amiguity. Also, there are a number of well acted scenes with Scott Bakula, who makes a marvelous captain. Further, I thought the Trip side story was a success. The ending was tough to swallow, but thought provoking. The writers did a very commendable job of portraying an important conflict within Vulcan society and culture.

This show is yet another example why I'm a big fan of this series.
Eli - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 2:36am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

This is a very well done, moody atmospheric episode. Another reason why a big fan of this series.
Jerry - Fri, Oct 17, 2014, 1:45am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Here's the speech I would have liked to have heard from Archer to Travis:
I get the whole cargo ship is a family thing. I get the whole Starfleet doesn't have jurisdiction thing. I even get the revenge against the Nausicans thing. If Ryan wants to go after the pirates, fine. But he tried to kill four innocent people, me included. I have a big problem with people who try to kill me and my crew, I'm funny that way. Don't tell me he knew the Enterprise would rescue us in plenty of time; he fired on us! He fired on my ship! That is unacceptable. I'm going after him, I'm going to throw him in the brig, then I'm going to make sure he's tried for attempted murder.
Caleb - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 8:50pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Really hokey and lightweight, but I gotta say, I really enjoyed it - mostly for the scene with Quark and the Prophets. Silly, but it worked.
Norvo - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:52pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

A fun episode very reminiscent of DS9's Dramatis Personae, though one minor point of logic still irks me. Once T'Pol realizes the radiation from the singularity is to blame for the crew's behavior, she claims she can't merely turn the ship around because that'd mean they'd still be exposed to it for the 48 hours it took them to get there... Yet, she manages to "plot a course that will get us clear within 17 minutes"? How does that work?
navamske - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:51pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

@Stefan

"The Okampa live for 9 years. Kes could have remained for the entire series. This would have been a problem only if Voyager had a ninth season."

In that eventuality they could have bumped her off in the seventh year and she would have been on the show for only seven of nine seasons.
Henry - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 5:14pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Eric, I wouldn't try to make sense of the size of the holosuite or holodeck or why not more people would be addicted to living in them. It's less a problem here than in ones like the baseball episode, when it seems like you can really have as many people as you want in there, which would pose the question why they don't use it to give the occupants of the station as good a living condition as they might expect on their home planet.

In any case, I enjoyed this episode and I like Vic, but I agree with those saying that It was Vic who had a bigger problem he had to think around. Let's just say that I wouldn't have minded if the Doctor from Voyager and Vic had an episode together down the line swapping notes and maybe music.

It is a shame that Ezri wasn't the one who gets him talking about it as she seem to get how he thinks (dismissing him as 'just a hologram' instead.) I really liked Ezri in this too, a lot of nice pleasant characters that suits the theme.
Grumpy - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 4:59pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Point of information, XS: Orellius Minor is in the Alpha Quadrant. However, it still seems sketchy that 1) there could be a lost human colony so close to Bajor, 2) that Sisko & O'Brien would be scouting for colony sites so close to Bajor, 3) that *Sisko and O'Brien* would be scouting for colony sites at all, rather than DS9's designated colony-scouting team or, I dunno, a flippin' starship, and 4) that any inhabitable planets near Bajor weren't colonized already.
XS - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 4:48pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Long time fan but watching this episode for the first time. What I didn't get was - the wormhole was discovered about 2 years before this episode (2369) and prior to that the bajoran sector was subjugated by the cardassian union for 60 years. So how did this ship end up in the gamma quadrant in 2360? In emmissary dax and sisko have a discussion about edron being 67 years from bajor at maximum warp.
Yanks - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 12:50pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

"Star Trek is fun again" ....

... if I remember the reviews of the time period correctly ...
NCC-1701-Z - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 12:07pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

*gets in starship*
*slingshots around the sun*
*erases this episode from history*
*slingshots back around sun*

Enough said.
$G - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 11:51am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@DavidK (from a year and a half ago, damn this linear existence):

That's a neat explanation, and one that might even make sense. I actually really like the idea of the Prophets meddling with timelines for their own benefit after learning what time is.

But here are my questions: Do they want to ensure Sisko has a connection with them? Are the qualities of the WAs passed on genetically? Is this why, in "Accession", Sisko is suddenly cryptically told he is "of Bajor", because the Prophets had gone back and altered his existence? Is this why the events of "Rapture" take place? What's neat about this is that Sisko's visions in "Rapture" aren't Bajor-centric. Remember, Sisko sees the *universe* but still makes the choice to seek out Bajor's role and use that information for the benefit of the Bajorans.

On the other hand, this is all just fan interpretation, reasonable though it may be. "Shadows and Symbols" doesn't address it - it just drops the plot twist on us, which raises questions without answering them. This is the bad kind of ambiguity. It changes our understanding of a character's purpose in the story very suddenly, but since there's no groundwork to base the twist on all our hands go up at the end of class as the teacher is already out the door.

The episode in general is well put together but with some flaws. The Siskos + Ezri in the desert is good. Kira's story is strong. Worf's motivation is pretty good, even if the events on the Rotarran aren't.

Sisko saving the wormhole is okay, but it all seems... disconnected a bit. Opening the orb on Tyree to save the wormhole at Bajor is neat conceptually but a little too random for my liking.

Kira's storyline is good - so interesting, in fact, that I wish it had its own episode. Kira in charge of DS9 would have made for some great stories. The shot of the Romulans converging on the Bajoran moon is great.

The main flaw built into the episode is Quark. He ruins every scene he's in and nearly wrecks any intrigue in the Klingon op. Martok is a welcome voice of Klingon reason, at least. At least the effects that close out this plot are great. I really love that shot of the in-construction Cardassian warship being annihilated by the solar flare.

Ezri is okay. She doesn't hurt the episode but I think her inclusion might be one element too many. It still works, though. I mention it here because it sets up a really, really great moment right at the end when Worf straight up walks away when he sees her. After all his existential strife over getting Jadzia into Sto'vo'kor, here she is, reincarnated, in this elfish little ensign. A great little moment that grows naturally out of so many competing existential beliefs.

One thing I want to say is that, while this episode itself completely great, this series knows how to do epic and has really brought the Trek universe to life. Think of it, this is an episode that takes place on Earth, Tyree, Cardassia, in orbit of a Bajoran moon, and on a Klingon bird of prey sneaking through a Dominion shipyard. It even has time for a few Benny Russell scenes (which are, as Elliott mentioned above, one of the coolest metaphysical elements on the show).

I came here to write a pretty negative review of this episode and slap a 2-1/2 rating on it, but... honestly? My comment isn't all that negative, is it? (It's pretty long, though...) And now that I've written my thoughts out, I find that "Shadows and Symbols" is secretly pretty good. I'm still skeptical about the Sisko birth twist, but this episode is far from being *just* about that. I don't know - this is a pretty good episode, guys, and a solid enough closer to this three-part arc. 3 stars.
Thelia - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 11:04am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

This is absolutely, 100%, by far the best Trek movie of all time!! When Scotty says "Captain there be whales here!" it absolutely makes me grin every time. And who doesn't grin every time Spock says "They are not the hell your whales." No doubt about it best EVER!
$G - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 8:09am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@Spindles

I'd say the writers chickened out too. But the options aren't between changing Odo back here or never changing him back at all. It's all straight up magic anyway (which I'm fine with), so why not just have him change back later in the series and do more episodes featuring Odo's fragility? "A Simple Investigation" would have been perfect for a solid Odo. The most they really did with fragile Odo was his initial angst in "Apocalypse Rising" and him being injured in "The Ascent".

It just makes one wonder about the writers room. At times they seem to just switch gears on stories without mining their scenarios for all they're worth. I'm not sure if it's because there was studio meddling, or they didn't know how else to treat the story, or they just got interested in following another character thread, or something else entirely. Plot twists need to be earned. Odo is still a great character, but him getting his abilities back so unexpectedly like this is the first of two huge missed opportunities with his character on the series.
James - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 8:00am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

A better film than Nemesis and Into Darkness. It also has more personality than The Motion Picture and probably all the TNG films, although not as good technically or in terms of story.

I think the spiritual focus should be given more credit than people give it. It's not about the destination and whether God is there at the end. The movie does, at times, get you thinking, in a very muddled way. It's decent sci-fi. But in the end it's too muddled. I liked the idea that the barrier was something which only belief can penetrate - but did they really intend that? After all it's not God. Why did Sybok get through and no one else?

In the end, it was far too ambitious for its own good. Maybe Kubrick directing with Arthur C Clarke writing could have pulled it off. I'm still glad the film exists.
Thelia - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:53am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Well RedShirt I believe the story was exactly what the review said it was... The impact one random individual can have on the world and the future. Or if you would prefer the ramifications of seemingly unimportant moments... Maybe by beaming that particular pilot aboard he took the hope and awe he saw in the future back home with him and gave his son a belief and not a dream. Or maybe it was just "beam a pilot aboard,beam him back and go back to the future.
Thelia - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:29am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

I have to point out that ya'll are saying that Trelane "had the mind of a child'and was "acting like a spoiled little brat",when in fact,Trelane WAS a child. His parents showed up and apologized for their child's selfish and immature behavior and even went so far as to assure Kirk that he would be punished for his bad behavior. The female parental figure even takes some of the blame saying they "spoiled" him. I think this justifies the characters' behavior completely. He acted like a child because he was a child.
James - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 7:00am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

In my opinion this film doesn't deserve an equal score to Generations, and it's also slightly worse than Insurrection. I wish it didn't exist actually. It leaves me with a bad taste of the TNG crew far worse than The Final Frontier did with the TOS crew.
Thelia - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 6:29am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

I would just like to point out that as a Vulcan Spock was NOT devoid of emotion. He used logic and Vulcan techniques taught to him as a child to CONTROL his emotions. And that was true for full blooded Vulcans as well.
Spindles - Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 3:13am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

It does seem like the writers sort of chickened out at the prospect of keeping Odo a solid for the duration of the show. But seriously, who wants to see Odo live out the rest of series as a solid? It seems to me that the more interesting possibilities exist in Odo remaining a shape-shifter in light of what's coming down the road.

As much as the twist end was a little suspect, I found the fact that the changelings turned Odo into a being with working organs, bones, nerves and skin the ridiculous plot point. What are the changelings, magic? Sentient shape-shifting beings are already stretching credulity for a science fiction show. Lovely episode though.
William - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 11:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I think if they were determined to give a nod this early to TOS, a better episode would have been a follow-up to "The Doomsday Machine" or "The Immunity Syndrome."

Either would have kept them off a planet and put the crew into an intense situation similar to -- but not exactly like -- what TOS crew faced.
$G - Wed, Oct 15, 2014, 11:22pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

This is a pretty solid continuation of several major plot points. Like "Tears of the Prophets" this episode balances a LOT of stuff and still comes out well paced. The producers should get credit for that. Jammer's observation that this is more of a launching pad episode than a ratings-grabbing premier is correct.

My thoughts:

-The Damar and Weyoun bickering is particularly well done, especially centring on Damar's love of the bottle (which is arguably the lynchpin that resulted in the Dominion losing DS9 back in S6). It's simple, but a nice continuation of the uneasy alliance they have going. Weyoun's threat that “too much imagination can be dangerous” is yet another line that characterizes Weyoun as an accommodating but wary diplomat. He's probably had more than his share of experiences getting involved in the political maneuverings of races who think they're smarter than the Dominion while simultaneously depending on them. The story of Cardassia is, frankly, one of DS9's crowning moments. They do have ONE line that makes me cringe, though – the “debt of gratitude” they owe to Dukat closing the wormhole and how it shifted the momentum of the war. Damar I can KIND of buy making such a leap. He DID seem to admire Dukat (though that admiration sometimes came off to me as pure sycophancy) but it seems so out of character for Weyoun to be this willing to buy into that notion of causality.

-Worf, O'Brien, Bashir all get some good moments. The scene in Worf's quarters is nice. It's odd, though, that Worf has nothing to say about Dukat considering the circumstances of Jadzia's death seem to be common knowledge. I imagine it was a difficult sell to the studio to have a main character actively plotting a murder (regardless of the victim being a villain), but... it seems more like a missed opportunity. I do like what's here but it's a shame it doesn't fill out its potential. Martok's inclusion fits in well, too, and I like that the episode spares us his obvious conversation with Bashir about Stovokor. Maybe it's just me, but it's the clever little omissions like this that make the series feel alive – like the characters exist and interact outside of the confines of the screen.

-I think Kira and the Romulans is actually a strong story. It's good to see Kira kick ass again and in a leadership position as well. I wouldn't have minded more episodes with Kira in charge of DS9. She's nearly always great.

-I enjoyed Sisko being back on Earth. It gives the show a lot of scope just by breaking out of the confines of the station. Brooks plays a lot of his scenes well. It's always just NICE to see him interact with Jake, laughing and teasing. One scene I particular like is when Joseph confesses his mistake about hiding Sarah from his son. Ben tells his dad that “yes, you made a mistake” and gets up from the table. The scene doesn't end there, while I feel like most programs would have left it at that. The scene continues with some exposition, but I like that the rift isn't just smoothed over. Obviously we don't need any prolonged drama over this (which, frankly, I wouldn't buy anyway since the Siskos are actually heartwarmingly close) but I like that it isn't smoothed over. Ben getting knifed by that Bajoran is actually a pretty shocking scene, although that tension kind of fizzles once he comes home completely healed because of futuristic medicine.

- I'm... not really big on the plot twist Joe drops, though. It's the kind of thing that people (rightly) dislike because it comes straight out of nowhere and doesn't need to, like the producers are suddenly decided to tell a new story when what we're already getting is more than good enough. There's more to be said, but most of it doesn't actually take place until the next episode.

-No more Vic please. He's an indulgent waste of time on the part of (from what I've read) Ira Steven Behr. I'm not usually one who re-writes a scene to his own taste, but there's no reason we had to sit through a Vic song so Worf could have an outburst. He could have done that sitting in Quark's among people playing tongo and coming in and out of King Arthur holoprograms – you know, things we've actually seen Jadzia enjoy. If the song was a definable thing that we'd associate with Jadzia, it might work. But it isn't. The whole thing just strikes me as a contrived situation when something so much simpler and relatable would have worked just as well if not better.

That said, this episode still balances FOUR separate plot threads and treats them all with the beats they deserve. I'm not down with the implications of the major Sisko plot twist yet, but this is still a surprisingly well executed stepping-stone episode. 3 stars.
Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 885
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer