Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,564 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,623
Set Bookmark
Tara
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis



So: The Ornorans loaded their wobbly freighter with goods to barter for the drug, and flew to Brekka . There, Brekkans loaded the drug onto the freighter but somehow forgot to offload the Ornaran goods. Then the Brekkans climbed aboard the deathtrap ship themselves for a ride to Ornora. We're not given even a throwaway line to explain any of this.

I remain confused also by how the two cultures are portrayed. The Ornorans have spacefaring technology but are dumb as Pacleds about maintaining their ships. They also wear clothes that look rustic and threadbare. What's the message: Are they stupid? Drugged to the point of incompetence? Impoverished by the predatory Brekkans? None of these options make a lot of sense. Meanwhile the Brekkans are wearing the latest in metallic fashions - presumably manufactured in Ornoran factories. And for all their apparent riches and leisure time, they've been content to remain technologically behind the Ornorans they look down on - and are okay with completely dependent on them and their crumbling ships?

I am going to stop thinking too much - and just get back to enjoying the bizarre face of Electric Riker. I could look at that all day.

Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

Terrific episode - great to see K'Ehleyr again but also too bad we won't be seeing her again. She brings a spark to the episode, her facial expressions, her attitude. What's with the Klingon kid showing no expression at all upon seeing her killed? I would have expected some tears, crying. The part about the son drags the show down a bit, although at the end when Worf says he's the father was a nice touch.

As for the main plot, it's the usual Klingon stuff with Duras/Gowron acting like tough guys - both equally distasteful in a power struggle. But the plot plays out well although I do feel the part of the bomb going off was left a bit up in the air. Small detail that isn't too important.

Good episode for Picard to have to take on the job of arbitrating between the 2 Klingons. Also liked his talking-to to Worf after Duras is killed was well done. Liked how he had to deal with the 2 Klingons - they did respect him ultimately.

I still feel the Klingons are a bit ridiculous given how their customs operate. Apparently no issue for Worf to kill Duras for the Klingons, but StarFleet gives him a reprimand - whatever that turns out to be.

I'd rate "Reunion" a strong 3.5 stars. It really picked up with K'Ehleyr's murder - a big moment - and the chain of events that set in motion. Wonder where it leaves the Klingon empire with Gowron in charge...
Set Bookmark
Tara
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Thanks for an interesting viewpoint. It caught my interest. But on second thought, I don't understand your ideas about feminism etc.

You are cobbling together a lot of different things. Lemme separate them out for you.

"Feminism" is an ideology. In the west it has existed since maybe the late 18thC. It has been almost entirely driven by women themselves, calling for redress of sex-based injustices. It has nothing to do with consumerism... though companies certainly hitched themselves to it for profit (Virginia Slims cigarettes, for example).

Women's suffrage is the pursuit of voting rights for women. This datas to 1900-1920. Again the marches, demands, etc, were nearly all female-driven. Even when women got the vote in England and the US they largely did not have money to burn. (The rich women did - but the vote didn't create that: they already had money and sometimes the freedom to spend it. And after suffrage, working-class women continued to work, as they always had/have - but they were unlikely to buy much beyond the essentials.). So the suffrage movement didn't do anything to benefit salespeople.

You cite the 1950s: as a time of no daycare workers. The 50s did offer other crap jobs to women though: nurse, secretary, teacher. (This was well after women got the vote, so please don't mix up the 50s with suffrage!).

Ads pitched to middle class women were out in force in the 50s and 60s, in magazines and on the new medium of TV. They were ads for cleaning products and glamor/beauty products, and enforced the UN-feminist status quo: "Clean your husband's shirts as well as your pretty neighbor does, so your husband won't wander!" Or, "Wear this face cream and look like Jackie!". Consumerism, yes...feminism, no.

As for the 70s and the opening of work opportunities to half the population: errr yes, I suppose day care jobs were created , Daycare work is all low-paid, and not a great source of taxes! Nor are daycare workers likely to buy much luxury stuff as they scrape by on min wage.

And again, the push for work opportunities was largely driven by women themselves. TV shows and ads lagged behind the demands of feminists, upholding the status quo before wising up and smelling a new opportunity to market themselves to women of the new era. It was and is feminists who protested - still today - at the retro portrayals of themselves in ads and print media. The ads still said "Buy Mr Clean and have a perfect home!" while feminists were saying "Screw that."

Basically, anyone with means (or married to someone of means) is targeted by those with something to sell. It has always been that way. All that's changed is the products pitched to both sexes and the way those products are presented.

So I am puzzled - but interested - by your assessment .

Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

Pretty simplistic stuff here. Also pretty obvious that Ishara is planning something treacherous (but what...??) The crew surmised that when she was introduced but go along with it. So she basically wants to get access to blow up something and uses the crew to get it, but then Data/Riker phaser her and prevent the explosion - nothing special here.

I'd take issue with Data here for being duped so easily even if he was tight with Tasha Yar. Did Ishara know that Data is her best hope for deceiving someone? She did recognize him as non-human immediately and maybe read up on Yar's friends aboard the ship?

"Legacy" gets 2 stars from me. Seen better episodes where Data is dealing with emotions (like "Skin of Evil" when Tasha Yar is killed etc.) Got slow paced at times as Ishara familiarizes herself (or rather goes about duping) the crew. Just not a very captivating episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Felt this was kind of a bogus episode - certainly not one I enjoyed. Is the episode supposed to represent the need for some kind of belief in I'm not sure what? Plenty of the kind of technobabble I don't get -- warp bubble / space-time continuum / moving into phase etc. It did not make a lot of sense.

And then some kind of space traveler appears and has Wes do some God knows. He's closing his eyes and pressing buttons.

It's a heavy sci-fi episode - thoughts altering reality in a warp field. Decent performance from McFadden although others doing this kind of episode have done better (Frakes in "Frame of Mind" did a better job). ENT's "Vanishing Point" was better as well - less technobabble/pushing sci-fi to the limits of beyond what is acceptable.

Can't give this episode more than 2 stars. Maybe the best part of "Remember Me" was the cool sci-fi shots of the vortex and the ship disappearing around Crusher as she runs to engineering.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

You are right. Some ratings likely would change. The circumstances under which the reviews were written were very different, spanning years and in some cases decades. I have admitted this many times.

But I prefer to let the original reviews and ratings stand for what they were and the contexts under which they were written.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

@Jason R.

I think so, I always read them as college juniors or seniors which would place them in the 20 ~ 21 range. And if Wesley Crusher exemplifies them, they're probably all child prodigies to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

While definitely recycling ideas from other episodes, I would say this one falls into "an old story well-told" category. Could be because I think I might have a soft spot for stories about weird motherhood. I was worried how were they going to handle the inevitable exit of One. We know he has to go and him heroically sacreficing himself would be particulary generic way to go and I was prepared to be disappointed when he blew up with the sphere. And then he beams back and comits suicide right before Seven. What a gut punch. I also give credit for bring back the Borg but keeping them extremely dangerous. Thank god they used a sphere and not a cube.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

We raise a mug (in this case, of coffee...) to our colleague, Gordie.
Very sorry for your father's health, sir.

Hi gang, Mister Experiential here... And Gordie's post SCREAMS my recurring point about how some episodes that have questionable plots or devices (like the ending...) score major points with fans by virtue of their experiential value.

In my case, this episode sings to me because I'm a fan of Colicos. Not was. Am. And as a previous poster pointed out, this was a swan song for Colicos in the ST universe, as he did pass into StoVoKor not much longer after this ep.

I was/am a huge BSG:TOS fan. Baltar. Nuff said. And in much the same spirit as Gordie and some other posters calling out the "vintage" Klingon characteristics that Colicos mastered so well, I also see a lot of Baltar in this manifestation of Kor, specifically in how Colicos voiced him. Sends chills up my spine to hear that sheer evil accent.

Just sayin'. Experience sometimes help trump mediocre writing. Godspeed Gordie.





I liked Kor from ST:TOS thru ST:NG and DS9. Probably just because I like Colicos.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

If I was forced to watch this or "let he who is without sin" again I'd choose the latter in a heartbeat.

I have no idea how Jammer can give Profit and Lace zero stars yet give this over 2 stars.

The whole episode is like a counselling session with Deanna Troi with a side plot of Odo planning for a one month anniversary.

W T F ?

At least Profit and Lace discussed an important topic - female consumerism and how the rise of feminism and female suffrage wasn't "moral" choices humanity made because they felt bad but rather a calculated piece of social engineering to tax the majority of the population and create new job opportunities (know how many day care centres there were in the 50s? You could count them on one hand).

This episode was simply boring and honestly Sisko in this one was a worse captain that young Captain Watters of the USS Valiant.

6 day mission off a one way distress signal? Maybe I can agree with that.

Using the phaser reserves to possibly save one life during wartime? OMG, lucky the Defiant is a Federation ship, had Martok tried to do that on a Bird of Prey Worf would have challenged him for captaincy and rightly so.

I struggle to think of a worse DS9 episode than this one, heck, it makes the alien jellyfish lovers at the end of TNG's Encounter at Farpoint look masterful (Blergh!)

Half a star (purely for Worf insisting they don't using phaser reserve power)
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Zero stars?

Way too harsh - 3 stars at least for Quark giving one of his employees a book called "Oomax for fun and profit"

LOL
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Maybe I am forgetting some details about this episode but weren't the cadets supposed to be in their 20s? Young but hardly child soldiers.
Set Bookmark
Michael Freeman
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

"Ken Tue, Jun 9, 2015, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
... and then does nothing after Keiko jumps off the Promenade balcony and is unconscious. "

I was becoming worried that I was the only one who noticed this. There are a number of places where O'brien could have got help without giving it away to the wraith. I know he's supposed to be on the back foot and is worried that the wraith knows his reactions so well through Keiko that it might pick up on the fact that he's got help, through body language. But this was never really convincingly tied together for me. Also O'brien and many of the other characters are almost acting out of character in this episode (badly directed?). O'brien punches Odo and says nothing ! He uses Rom as the fall guy at one point. Of course I'd be afraid if my wife were possessed by an alien, but O'brien is Starfleet and is supposed to be trained to deal with such things. He's just a little too manipulated here.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

People who say this episode sucked need to stop drinking tap water- you guys have missed very key pieces of information in this episode.

1) Red Squad exists = fact.

As we saw in Paradise Lost, Red Squad is not only allowed to exist (I believe all "elite" groups within groups are destructive) but they are given more than extra drills and training, they are given covert missions.

It's a travesty that Starfleet Academy allows this because despite all the checks and balances you put in place, an elite group within a group fosters hubris and divided loyalty.

2) Red Squad got to be on the Valiant under close watch of senior officers = fact.

This is where a lot of you haters of the episode get it twisted.

I don't doubt that Watters was promoted to field captain by the last dying member of the senior staff but I think that was only done to inspire Watters to get the Valiant back to the nearest Starbase by putting the burden of his classmates on his shoulders.

But did Watters do that? No. He decided of his own volition to rally the troops and keep the Valiant flying on a recon mission.

It's highly likely that in the beginning his classmates would've broken down and begged for an immediate return but both the "faux-promotions" of their new "captain" coupled with the peer pressure of not failing Red Squad (ie- "maybe you're not Red Squad material after all") would've brought them quickly in line.

Watters has parallels to Stalin here. When Stalin took power, everybody knew Trotsky was next in line to succeed Lenin but Stalin had charisma and fear on his side and everybody fell in line.

3) could these youngsters run a ship after 8 months?

Yes, yes they could. Kids their age fought in both great wars and it forces you to grow up mighty quick. These kids were the best of the academy, 6 months would've turned all that theory into somewhat competent practical skills.

As can be seen by the warp issue, there's only so far they could go but they had the second most dangerous ship in Starfleet at their command (only second to the Defiant because the Valiant is the "vanilla version" and lacks the cloaking device).

This was a wonderful episode about the dangerous of elite groups within groups and about child soldiers.

3&1/2 stars - watch it again and watch it closely.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 1:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode pissed me off. But it wasn't the Kes mess that did it. It was the "return" of the Vidiians (or the reminder, I guess). Yes, the Kes story was really botched and they screwed up what could've been a wonderful Coda to a character I liked. But it's the Vidiians that enfuriate me.

Well, maybe I should be honest and say it's not the Vidiians, but Voyager's reaction/handling of them. Here is a species that LITERALLY looks at every other sentient species as consumable. They're not desperate, they're evil. They may have begun as desperate, but now they only look to consume. Why would you treat them with kid gloves...ever? If you don't put them down when you meet them, they will turn on you without exception.

When the grappling things were broken off, Voyager fired torpedoes at it and they obviously got through the shielding. They should've kept firing until there was nothing left. Anything left alive would just attack and consume whoever passed by.

They were an excellent villainous force in the show - my angry reaction to them is a good indication for me, but it was the kid glove treatment that pissed me off. Voyager should've built a coalition of species predated by the Vidiians and led a massive fleet to wipe them all out. (Hmm...maybe they should've done that with the Borg, too...but hell, I like the Borg. Yeah, I know. But at least the Borg want to use you as a living being to increase their own. The Vidiians want to literally rip you to pieces to fix themselves.)
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And here I thought it was bad before - then it degenerated into an episode of Naked & Afraid without the naked. Holy shitballs.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

There was a heavy undertone to this episode which commented on organized religion and how its often infiltrated by people who don't give two hoots about it and just want the power.

Kai Winn is such a person. She doesn't care about holy artefacts, she doesn't care about communicating with the prophets - she's a selfish old woman who knows she is going to die within a decade and just wants history to revere her, heck, I don't think she even believes in the prophets.

To answer "why Jake?", as said above, he's the emissary's son. If you actually go back through the seasons you'll see some "coincidences" where Jake gets into a bit of trouble (and avoids others) - the Pah Wraiths have been after him for a while and while not responsible for all danger he's experienced they are definitely responsible for some.

Bet anything if Jake had an engineering background it would have been him and not Miles in that Pah-Wraith-Keiko episode.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Looking back at some of the low scores and negative or indifferent reviews Jammer gave to TNG episodes(the Bonding, Clues, Night Terrors, Silicon Avatar, Disaster, Hero Worship, Violations, Power Play, Rascals, Man of the People, Genesis) yet is far more enthusiastic with VOY episodes like this, Juggernaut, Blood Fever, Heroes and Demons, Prototype, Dreadnought, Alter Ego , Thirty Days, or DS9 episodes like The a Forsaken, Dramatis Personae, Move Along a Home, The Storyteller, His Way, Looking for Par'mach for instance has me totally befuddled. He needs to run DS9 and VOY back through the same process he did the TNG reviews. I hope a lot of those scores and semi positive to outright enthusiastic reviews might change
Set Bookmark
MollyMonster
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Many thoughts. If a sample of DNA was all that was necessary to totally replicate a person, personality, and memories, they should have dropped a bit of Seska or Vidiian DNA on them. Hehe. If the replicants are just like Voyager but need the other atmosphere to breathe, how did the Course Oblivion copies meet with other species or conduct away missions well enough to not notice they were copies? Questions for that episode I guess. Love that the next episode they can just replicate coffins... Er stasis units for the whole damn crew? It would have been awesome if, on the last episode, they had starfleet tour the ship and decks 9 to like 14 were empty caverns because all the metal and computer panels and carpet had been used to make shuttle craft that were then stupidly lost. Like in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

One thing I found amusing about this episode is the scene toward the end where Nog and the female survivor go to release Jake from his cell. Jake asks "What happened?" Nog's response "We failed". Gee Nog, don't you think Jake has figured out that much?
Set Bookmark
B.K.
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

These are some of the funniest reader comments in TNG!

Can we all agree that the Pakled's must be removed...from the White House?
Set Bookmark
Bill
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Agreed, Anna. Sure, I was initially overwhelmed when I saw the intro for the first time (and even on repeat viewings). But then the writers made Scotty out to be a doddering fool--this, the genius he is and a captain now (for him, it was a few seconds ago) with all the mental acuity that required--and he's portrayed as not even seeing the need for rest? Not getting what it means that 80 years of technological changes have passed and now need learning?

The error was initially Riker's then Picard's--they take full responsibility for bad command decisions. Riker in the first segment assigns Geordi as Scotty's tour guide; yeah, "great" idea, in the face of the Dyson Sphere, apparently a wholly new phenomenon that no one to-date has ever seen. Picard makes the same mistake later.

Clearly the writers of the script never managed a team, let alone a floating city with many teams.

I liked the episode and I'm fine with the 3 stars. But I'm also aware that it's my own nostalgia that drives such a judgment, and not any brilliance in how this iconic character, nor his supporting cast, were portrayed. The plot and the dialogue simply sucked.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

The ending was unnecessary for me, ruined what would have been a decent episode. Archer should die, but the writers can't have that and concocted some nonsense to prep for S4 and keep Archer alive.

Other than the ending, pretty predictable (other than Shran popping up) with the Xindi weapon blown up. Plenty of cliche action scenes with Archer fighting the head Reptilian. It was like Bruce Willis in Die Hard as he runs away from the explosions...or something like that.

I thought the inverting the tubes stuff was pretty silly -- going back to the routine of defusing the mine stuck on Enterprise in "Minefield". Why does Archer have to do that if he has the capability to blow the weapon up from the inside anyway?? I guess he disregarded Daniels' suggestion that he should not go inside the Xindi weapon and now somehow the timeline has changed -- which is what I think the ending suggests. But then there's that unrecognizable alien who is some kind of Nazi ally...whatever.

And of course, Trip's technobabble solution to blowing up the sphere was going to work even with some intervention from the Guardians. It's all decent action/adventure but fairly shallow and un-Trek to some extent.

Were it not for the WTF ending, I'd give "Zero Hour" 3 stars but instead 2.5 stars is more appropriate. I guess this Xindi story arc will just sit there in isolation since it doesn't seem to fit in with any stories from TOS, TNG etc. Maybe the new Discovery will make use of it?

Overall, I think S3 with its story arc could have been condensed, a lot of repetitive action scenes, minimal character development. Wasn't really engaging until the latter third of the season and then became satisfactory at best.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

To me this episode isn't nearly as bad as the review makes it out to be. I saw it years ago and thought it was entertaining. Just saw it again and still feel the same way. And yes, the story probably has a few holes and some things could have been done better. Not the best or most intelligent episode but not awful. At least to me. I would probably give this two stars instead of one.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I didn't think this episode offered much that was new. Odo is tortured by his identity crisis. Kira tries to be supportive but can't fully understand and then understands a little better and Odo feels loved. There was an episode in the first season that captured this well, when Belanna Torres' mother was nice to Odo when he needed to go into his liquid state.

Quark's speech did not work for me. I wondered whether it was Laas taking his shape.

Laas' speech about all humanoids becoming farmers who destroy their environment also didn't work for me. On earth alone there have been plenty of human populations that have been hunter gatherers not farmers. Other "lower" species also drive out competition.

Hard to suspend disbelief that all races in the federation are humanoid. I had always assumed that was what we saw because of budget restrictions and the limits of CGI (and maybe the cautionary tale of the Dune movie). But it's unlikely that the only intelligent life the federation has ever encountered are humanoids and the Founders.

It would be awesome if the brought Laas back with others of the hundred, and did something with it.

I don't understand why the Founders sent the foundlings (get it? foundlings. I endlessly amuse myself) out as infants. Seems mean. Why not send adults?
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,623
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.