Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,947 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,398
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Say what you will about this one, it's all worth it for Sisko's reaction to Bashir admitting he obtained Romulan mind probes. That little interaction is worth a star or two by itself.
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

A very over-rated episode. Sure it was funny, but is that enough to make a good TNG episode? Not in my view. I also noticed that this is the first episode not to have Gene Roddenberry's name appear at the end before the credits roll. Was he that embarrassed by it that he left his name off it?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

What is more boring than two people stranded on a shuttle/planet for 45 minutes? Nothing (0)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Entertaining (***)
Set Bookmark
Broadlake
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

At the beginning of the episode, did anyone else notice that the Doctor commented on the "medieval safety constraints" (seat belts) of Tom's car, yet Voyager itself (and it's shuttles) lack any sort of safety/restraining devices?

You'd think with their technology they'd have developed some sort of high tech collision safety system to stop bridge personnel from being catapulted out of their seats every battle.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

@Dustin

Those are fair enough complaints, but mind you the episode is about Q trying to teach Picard to look beyond his limited concept of time, so it's safe to reason that applying usual linear time would not teach the lesson Q wanted.
Set Bookmark
Dustin
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I am among the tiny few who absolutely HATED All Good Things. I've only watched it once, when it was first aired. I've never been able to bring myself to watch it again since. Back then, I could have given you a whole laundry list of the problems I had with the episode. Since it has been so long now, I only really remember the biggest gripe I had.

Specifically, you have an anomaly that travels backwards in time. But when future Picard arrives, there's nothing there. They do their tests and leave. Hours later, Picard convinces them to return and lo-and-behold, there it is.

Wait. What? The anomaly is spawned by their testing and travels BACKWARDS in time. But when they arrived it wasn't there and when they came back AFTER... it is there?

That's the only specific plot hole I remember now, but it's a pretty large one. I remember writing off the whole episode as "Q is involved. Q does whatever he wants, whether it makes logical sense or not. The episode is fine. There are no plot holes. The apparent plot hole with the anomaly works fine because Q makes it appear where it "needs" to appear in order for Picard to react properly. All bow down to Q."

Perhaps I should try to watch it again and look for all the character interactions instead. Apparently, based on the rave reviews here, if I ignore the "science" supposedly involved, the episode is great.
Set Bookmark
Dustin
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

My father and I watched this episode together during the original run. We tuned in late and missed the opening scenes, so we watched the episode without knowing anything about Wesley's experiment.

Had we seen the show from the beginning, I don't think we would have enjoyed it nearly as much. I'm confident we would have figured out that it had something to do with Wesley's experiment at some point along the way.

Instead, we spent nearly the entire episode throwing ideas back and forth, trying to guess what was going on. It was glorious. We were wrong time and time again, but it was immense fun bouncing ideas off each other while watching this highly entertaining episode.

I still have fond memories of this episode. I think it is probably my favorite episode from any of the series, all because we missed the first 5 minutes. :)
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Even though it was a giant floating Rasta Santa head, at least it wasn't Nagilum
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

Run of the mill (*)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@Yanks

"I might see an issue here, but didn't Jake date a "white" alien in that episode where he double-dates with Nog?"

Jake dated a black woman, Lark Voorhies (a.k.a. Lisa from Saved by the Bell). Well, at least it was nice to see Lark again. :)
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I can't believe I would give a holodeck-centric episode about a Ferengi 4 stars, but this is so psychologically authentic, profound and well-acted that I'd have to. It's one of the most relevant-to-real-life episodes in Star Trek, and its relevancy is NOT limited to war veterans, but includes also anyone who's ever tried to escape from life out of fear. Those conversations near the end with Vic are gold: Eisenberg and Darren are simply brilliant. I felt uplifted after watching this. "Who could ask for anything more?"
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

This episode has just screened again tonight here in the UK. I must say that I like it more each time I see it. As Jammer said, the inter-cutting of the poker games is inspired. I still have to hide behind the sofa when Lavelle 'makes friends' with Riker in the bar.

What I like the most is that we finally see the 'real' characters of the senior staff. Their faults have been mostly airbrushed in the series- mostly implied rather than shown- but here we see what it really takes to command a starship in a dangerous universe and what it mens to serve under them.

(By the way, has someone been feeding the trolls??)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

R.I.P Kellie Waymire. Always loved seeing her.
As for the episode in question, Archer says that they were not out there to play god. What a stupid statement. Whether you give them a cure or not, you're playing god. You have a decision to make; save the people or let them die. whichever you choose, you're deciding their ultimate fate. Fact is "God", the universe, fate, whichever you choose, brought them there to make the ultimate decision. In their mind, they reneged by saying maybe they'll find a cure in the future. in truth they decided that the race should die. In my opinion, they blew it.
From time to time I come across episodes where I don't subscribe to Trek "doctrinë", but I don't let that color my rating.
(****) It was an excellent episode despite it's unethical conclusion.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

This town isn't big enough for the both of us. (***.5)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

Episodes like this mean nothing to me as stand alone episodes. All trey do is add more mystery. Cool if you like that sort of thing. As a stand alone episode (*)
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Agree that without Billingsleys efforts and a partially well written bunch of scenes on the Klingon colony this is a pretty empty flimsy by-the-numbets technobabble set of arbitrary set piece action scenes, very routine stuff and surprisingly boring to watch despite all the noise and movement.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Good job (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Very nice (***) I really don't understand why people have a problem with life on other M class planets developing like life on earth. Seems logical to me that given similar circumstances you'd get similar results.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 6:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Had never seen this one before!

Yeah, really good. Being roughly aware of what it was about I was hoping that during the interrogation things like Bashir’s time in the prison camp or his wish to surrender to the Dominion would be brought up. Well that and more. Really appreciate writing like this which credits the viewers with an understanding and knowledge of the characters.
Must admit I thought the beam over to the ship/holodeck happened when he was ”busted” out by Weyoun. As soon as he arrived there I said aloud “Holodeck!” It was only when I looked at the script this morning I realised the whole thing was set on the holodeck.
Sloan was great. William Sadler is an excellent actor and portrayed him really well. I read that Martin Sheen was considered as well. Would have been pretty awesome too.
No qualms with the existence of Section 31. Makes sense for any society that has a military capacity, and Starfleet is that, would also have a side that does the dirty work.
Easily agree with Jammers score and I’d be tempted to knock it up to 4/4 just because of the cleverness of the writing.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 4:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I agree with the reviews by Mike and William B above. I give it 3 stars. I found it very interesting and engaging, and it has a truly great monologue from Spock/Kollos about the human experience. A multifaceted episode with a lot to appreciate.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 4:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

The reason “intelligent” people watch this show is because it is intelligently written and it treats its viewers like grown-ups. It constantly refers back to the episodes and appreciates that the main viewership is those that tune in regularly. It is not written for the casual viewer.

Don’t think I have ever genuinely commented on this episode. It is a lot of fun. I never found it gut bustingly funny but if you can watch this episode without grinning there is something wrong with you.
Like all Trek you have to let certain things go, Starfleet citizens not having money for example. Especially as in other episodes you see Starfleet crew wandering around with loads of latinum they’ve just won playing Dabo.
Anyway, good lightweight episode and at least a 3 out of 4… Possibly 3.5
Set Bookmark
Timothy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 2:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Wait, why is Archer concerned about sex slavery now? Just recently he condemned an entire gender of an alien race to sex slavery, even refusing asylum to a refugee who was so distraught by their captivity that they killed themselves.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

1) Did not appreciate the Gowron send-off. He deserved better.

2) Come on, we all knew who Damar was going to shoot, so painfully obvious.

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

It was ok (**)
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,398
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.