Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,825 (Showing 51-75)

Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 913
tulpa - Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 3:35pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

@elhphaba,

"It's the fact that the 22nd century crew can fight off the Borg when at Wolf 359 the massive Starfleet fleet was destroyed by one cube in the 24th century. It's disrespectful to Best of Both Worlds, Emissary, and Ben and Jake Sisko."

I've been thinking about this, and let's compare these two situations:

1-- Wolf 359. A fully functional entire cube , that could have held more than 100,000 fully assimilated and functional drones, (considering a borg cube is HUGE (> 3 km on each side). ) That could easily be more than 10 times the total number of starfleet personnel on those 39 destroyed ships -- assuming not all ships are as large as the enterprise.

2-- Archer, battling an earth transport ship, seized only days ago, that originally wouldn't have had ANY combat capability, let alone be any match for the enterprise NX, with 29 drones aboard - and even then, the great majority of those was still in the very early stages of assimilation, so it's reasonable to assume they weren't 'fully functional' yet. We see just two drones being excavated, so that latter number could even be as low as 2.

Perhaps the Borg do win their battles more by force of sheer numbers than by overhwelming technology. Also, we're not sure that if a collective dies, and only a very few survive, they have (instantaneous) access to all specific knowledge of the previous collective.

In short, I do not necessarily see a contradiction here.

Though I will admit it _is_ a stretch that Phlox is capable of finding a radiation cure within hours whereas 24th century science has a much harder time of it ...

Dave in NC - Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 12:45pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Getting hung upon the number of windows is really stupid, what idiotic producers . . . no wonder Enterprise sucks so much.
Jason - Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 8:35am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Wow, that was an interesting read. Thank you for the information.
Macca - Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 1:01am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Not sure if this has already been raised elsewhere.

When did the character of Jadzia Dax change to Terry Farrell playing herself?

I reckon it was the beginning of Season 3.
Nonya - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 11:56pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

This episode was okay.

Was anyone else bothered by Data's and Geordi's bad British accents?
mark - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 6:34pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I thought One's decision to resist the Borg was completely unearned by the plot. He spends a few days with the Voyager crew and suddenly he's willing to die for them? He has no human sense of morality, so I don't see how he could be so moved by the plight of those that the Borg assimilate. When he finally learned the Borg's history he reacted to it the way a human being would, but he's not a human being. When he finally made contact with them it would have made far more sense for him to embrace them rather than fight them.

The greater problem though, is that the episode was sappy. I thought the same thing about "I, Borg". Episodes like this serve to neuter the Borg as adversaries. I will say that Jeri Ryan was enjoyable to watch as always though, and like T'Pol on Enterprise, she's my favorite part of this show.

Even
NCC-1701-Z - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 5:01pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

@Jason @Paul M.

According to Memory Alpha, the CGI people had a pretty good model ready to use for this episode but were forced to scrap it at the last minute due to producer idiocy - i.e. they wanted "more windows" - no, I am not making that up!

For more info: en.memory-alpha.org/wiki/D4_class_(concept)

I'll let Picard convey my feelings on the situation: www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNsrK6P9QvI

No wonder why Enterprise got cancelled. It was only a matter of time before the head honchos' incompetence caught up to them. They did more than kill the goose that laid the golden egg, they vaporized it with a phaser on full power.
Del_Duio - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 1:04pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@ Andy's Friend:

"I would recommend "11001001". It's Season 1, it introduces the holodeck (to one who has never seen Trek before), it is very much Star Trek, and let's face it, it's pretty good sci-fi, and with great sound effects for the era."

Not only that, it helps the later episode "Future Imprefect" make sense in that it introduces Minuet.
Del_Duio - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 11:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

Just saw this again last night. I think the powers that be were really trying hard to get Andrew Robinson to channel his inner Scorpio Killer again (from Dirty Harry). While my daughter definitely liked the episode, I do feel it falls a bit flat in places. A two star review is a pretty good assessment.
Paul M. - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 4:55am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

^
Someone on the production side did later say that the design of the Klingon battlecruiser was a mistake. It wasn't supposed to look like that.
Dave in NC - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 1:43am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

@ Elliot, Harry Kim gets my vote.

Re this episode: The idea of a lovable space rogue isn't that terrible or implausible, but I found the character of Okona to be unbelievable all the same. He smiles WAY too much. I also found the "drama" surrounding his life and his suitors to be uninteresting, not to mention a tad bit outdated and sexist.

The whole Data/comic thing works if you think about it as anti-humor. That includes Guinan's regrettable annoyed/droid pun.

It is SO profoundly unfunny that I find myself laughing at how inept and off-base it is. Yes, I just said it's so unfunny it's funny. :/

It's like the car accident you can't pull your eyes away from. It's VERY bad, but such in interesting ways!

**
Two Stars
Matrix - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 12:51am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@dlpb. Yeah it's amazing how the slingshot around the the sun for time travel is based on real physics. Or those parallel Earth planets that Kirk stumbled on every other week. Or the dopey space probe that collides with another probe and becomes a deathray. Or the terraforming device that's intended to work on moons and planets, and yet turns a nebula into a planet. Star Trek has routinely taken liberties with depictions of science, as well it should because it's not trying to be science-fact, it's science fiction.
$G - Thu, Dec 11, 2014, 12:31am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Data and the comic doing Jerry Lewis is the worst scene ever filmed. I actually covered my eyes for a moment out of embarrassment.

This episode sucks. The conclusion involves two characters we had no idea existed until about 1 minute prior. Shockingly incompetent all around.
Beth - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 2:11pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Oops I meant "that somehow the survival of a pacifist could prevent America from joining WWII...". Her death, of course, supposedly stops that chain of events from happening.
Beth - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 2:08pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Well, much has been said about this episode already. I loved it, personally. Such great acting on all parts (I found DeForest Kelley's rendering of a mad McCoy breaking down in front of that hobo to be particularly moving). And good work on Joan Collins' part too (though part of me wondered what a clearly English emigree was doing across the pond in the US. Oh well, I guess they don't have to explain that).

I also have always found it hard to buy the central premise of the episode - that somehow the death of a pacifist could prevent America from joining WWII, and that would somehow give the Nazis time to construct an Atom Bomb. Pearl Harbour aside, I don't get the impression that the Nazis were even *close* to constructing a functional atomic bomb by 1941, or even 1944. That said, even if they were close (indeed, even they had been testing atomic weapons, which some eye witnesses claim had happened), did they really have the capability to bomb the heck out of ALL their enemies? Britain maybe, but how about Russia and the U.S.? That might have pushed the U.S. to enter the war then, and the Russians to develop that A-Bomb A.S.A.P. In any case, Japan can't really be taken out of the picture. Even if Pearl Harbour hadn't happened (though I don't know how it would not have), they might have done something to trigger kick-back offensives on the U.S.'s part, or Russia's.

Anyhoo, good episode. 4 stars for sure.
dlpb - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 12:32pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

This was another one of those episodes that turned the Borg into a a kiddy boogieman. And Species 8472 was just a lame excuse to stoke up some more tension and get fanboys to talk about the new "even deadlier threat!!!!".

Nothing really came of it, and an alliance with the Borg is as ridiculous as it sounds.

And like usual... it's entertaining at the same time.
Capitalist - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 11:50am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Didn't read every one of the 200+ comments completely, so someone may have brought this up already but...

One group (pro-Phlox decision) is saying that providing a cure is morally PROHIBITED.

The other group is saying that providing a cure is morally COMPULSORY.

Both groups deny the moral right of individual choice to dispose of one's resources as one sees fit. Some might decide to provide a cure, others might not. There could be any number of factors that enter into either decision. But the decision is entirely up to the PROVIDER of help. And either decision is morally valid. No one is obligated to help, nor should they be prohibited from helping.

I'm firmly in Black Hat's camp from this XKCD comic:
h t t p://xkcd.com/1455/

Explanation here:
h t t p://www.explainxkcd.com/wiki/index.php/1455

Charles - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 11:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

What I love about DS9 is the Cardassians. They're the only really well-developed alien race ever made on Star Trek.

They are all-around different. I love the discussions about the difference between Cardassian and human literature for example. Or the way they conduct trials - finally, a society that is truly, entirely different, and yet is big and powerful. The vulcans could have been that, but apart from "no emotion", their society was never really developed.

I LOVED the boy who cried wolf tale: Garek's immediate interpretation of it is so Cardassian, so him, so alien. Or the Cardassian adage about burning your bridges: Taking something we (Western 21st century humans) take for granted and common sense and turning it on its head while still making complete sense.
Jason - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 7:30am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

So, does the Klingon battlecruiser design not change between this episode, the original series, the films, and Deep Space Nine?

I get that the ones in DS9 were probably meant as second-rate ships pressed into service in an emergency, but still, that means this design was active for two hundred years.
Adam - Wed, Dec 10, 2014, 1:02am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

I am completely and utterly flabbergasted by the comments and review. Add me to the group of people that just doesn't buy into the mythology side of this show. It seems that when I watch an episode and think "wow, that was terrible," I come here and it has a 4-star review with others praising it as the best episode in the series. I just don't get it. Maybe I'm crazy, but I'm not at all surprised that this show saw a steady decline in ratings in seasons 3 and 4.
Moegreen - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 3:37pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

So the stuff dissolves the transporter pad and doesn't make a welcome hole in Neelix's chest?? Dire, dire episode.
Robert - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 2:33pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

In all fairness Elliott, the point of the VOY episode was absurd, even if the episode itself turned out pretty good. Any excuse as to why the Doc couldn't just access all the information in the computer database and do the work without consulting "holo-Crell" is a joke. I always though the episode would have worked better on DS9 with the real Crell wanting to treat Kira.

That said, if you wave away the nonsense of the holodocs computer finding creating a holomatrix to talk to more efficient than directly accessing the information, the rest of the 45 minutes after that is quite good.

What's absurd in Voyager is not necessary that they CAN make Crell, it's that they needed to. And beyond that, Crell is practically a new EMH and there was an episode where Harry was unable to create one.

In TNG the only "oddity" is that a holo character was given sentience. I don't know that those 2 things go together.
Elliott - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 11:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Jammer's comment from this episode :

"Harry and Doc spend a few minutes in the holodeck, give the computer a few broad commands, and presto—Krell in the flesh, a surgical assistant who can supply Doc with the assistance he needs to save B'Elanna's life.

Absurd."

and from "Elementary, Dear Data" :

"Who cares if he instructed the computer to create an adversary that could 'beat Data' as opposed to the fictional Holmes? The computer's sentient capability is the issue, not whether misspeaking one word can, or even does, cause it."

Just an interesting juxtaposition, I think.
Matt - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 10:15am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

After such heavy discussion, I'd advise taking a break. Go back to the episode and freeze the shot of the monitor where Trip is trying to choose a movie. The list of titles is a hoot!
Chris M - Tue, Dec 9, 2014, 1:39am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

I like Jammer's review, this episode is fun. But I also agree with Mike who wrote in 2013 about the seriousness of this episode to Star Trek canon. I was 12 to 15 years old when TOS originally aired. TOS was my favorite show back then. And this episode was one of the best for me. And after having to wait for season two through the whole summer! Great payoff! This episode is 4 star TOS for sure in my opinion. The big three relationship and the love they had for one another is on full display here. Nurse Chapel's care for Spock is really touching. The twist at the end is awesome. And like Jammer said, one of the best TOS moments ever is when Spock finds Kirk is still alive. I also agree that battle or sex would release Spock's hormones back to normal. So battle did it. I didn't find the plot trivial at all. I love this one and think its one of the very best TOS episodes ever.
Next »« PreviousPage 3 of 913
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer