Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 42,235 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,690
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

"So yes, I find the claim of the Orville being 'a rehash' (or as one poster here put it: 'lazy grave-robbing') to be very strange indeed. Especially when official Trek is now a completely different beast then what the Orville is serving."

I think you are being a bit disingenuous when you say that you find the rehash claim to be "strange." Maybe you don't agree with it based on how you personally are viewing Orville's distinctions, but surely you can see where those of us who have made that claim are coming from.
Set Bookmark
Alberto
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Some people have already pointed out the similarities between this and Charlie X. However, I must say that the first season of TOS have too many episodes with the "the crew gets saved from powerful being that can do anything at will by some Deus Ex Machina or by something not really consistent to the adversary being all powerful". Charlie X and Squire are already pointed out, but The Cage, Where No Man Has Gone Before, The Corbomite Maneuver, all fit to the description.

Besides, did anyone else think that one of Trelane's statues (that he phasers away) look A LOT like the creature from The Man Trap?
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

@Jammer

"Maybe I need to look harder to see the differences (and yes, I will grant there are some), but the similarities are completely in-your-face and distracting. The show looks *almost exactly* like updated TNG/Voyager. The story beats are almost identical -- like I said, down to shot selection, production design, and the way the ship warps (sorry, "quantums") to and from locations with the musical cues, etc.

As the show continues, it may distinguish itself. And, sure, it brings some differences/tweaks. But to claim it does not look and feel like Berman-era Trek I think is ignoring the obvious."

Of-course it feels like Berman-era Trek. THAT IS EXACTLY THE POINT.

The question is whether the Orville does new things with this premise... or alternatively: whether it does some of the old things better than the original.

And I believe the answer to both questions is very firm "yes" (I've already give quite a few examples of this in my previous post).

So yes, I find the claim of the Orville being "a rehash" (or as one poster here put it: "lazy grave-robbing") to be very strange indeed. Especially when official Trek is now a completely different beast then what the Orville is serving.

"You are telling me the Union is not Starfleet plus a few tweaks?"

Of-course it is.

And again, I don't see this as a problem. Especially as long as "the Union" is just a background part of the setting.

Now, if they started to tell intricate stories about "Union politics" and they turn out to be very similar to "Federation politics" Trek episodes, THEN it would be a problem.

And the same is true with all the other elements similar to Trek. For example, if the Orville did a tech-heavy episode which features the "quantum drive" having a Trekkian warp field and subspace and warp/quantum factors... then we'll have a problem. Especially if the situation is resolved in a way similar to Trek.

But as I already said before, the Orville had already distinguished itself on this front. Unlike Berman-era Trek, the Orville is very low on technobabble, which is both a very good thing and a distinguishing mark.

Set Bookmark
Martin
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

So, with Galactica on its way out since the beginning of the series, it being in terminal condition for much of this season and now literally breaking its back... was it, in fact, the "dying leader" that would lead humanity to its new home that was mentioned in the Pythian prophecies? The prophecy already mentioned the "serpents numbering two and ten", which was actually a reference to the dozen Vipers that attacked the Tylium asteroid. I guess Pythia had a thing for space ships, just don't tell Roslin or she'll start setting fire to stuff again...


Really loved this episode, I actually thought the ending was pretty clever. Although it does mean that no one in the show was actually human as we know it. They were aliens that just happened to be pretty much like us... or what we would become.

Only thing I would question is destroying all the ships. Yeh, the "Red Stripe" Centurions have no reason to hold a judge now, but surely there were other baseships out there filled with lots more pissed off Cavils, Dorals and Simons that could just show up at anytime... you know, just like they did during the Fall of the Colonies. Or New Caprica. I doubt every last one of them was on the Colony. Obviously we know they didn't, but Adama had no way to know that.

During all the fantastic action scenes to rescue Hera, I was half expecting the crazy guy from "The Langoliers" to show up and shout "YOU'RE SCARING THE LITTLE GIRL!!!"
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

Funny how the same people who accused some of us of "prejudging discovery without seeing a single episode" are now arriving at far-reaching conclusions based on things like "long episode titles" and reactions from red carpet screenings (which mean absolutely nothing).

CBS is generating artificial hype and people are swallowing it without even stopping to think for themselves about how they're being manipulated. Guess the marketing guys at CBS know what they're doing after all...
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Especially in comparison, the commentary of TUC in itself and as allegory is much more impressive and interesting, that achieving peace and more understanding with an enemy after a 70-year-conflict will be far from easy, that good people on both sides will feel a lot of inner conflict, but it's still possible to gradually but boldly achieve compromises and cooperation rather than maintain or increase hostility.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

The problem with ID as social commentary is that is tries to or pretends to say that revenge and aggressive militarism are bad but it doesn't really say that revenge is bad, just that trying to get revenge against people that didn't actually attack you is bad (pretty pointlessly obvious). That might have been a somewhat underwhelming but still decent message 3-5 years after the start of the Iraq war but it was completely underwhelming ten years after (and four years after the election of a candidate who won in part from always opposing it and considering it a big mistake).
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I rather liked this one. It pretty much builds on Fair Trade, with Neelix continuing to find ways to make himself useful, and obviously (and correctly) seeing Tuvok as his biggest obstacle.
Set Bookmark
methane
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

Just a note to anyone who's setting their DVRs to record the first episode on CBS: 60 minutes is supposed to start at 7:30 ET/6:30 CT, with Discovery starting 1 hour later. However, CBS is airing a doubleheader in football, so there's a good chance 60 minutes won't start on time. You'll want to add time to your DVRs.
Set Bookmark
Skarbi
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

A few things bothered me about the episode.

Mainly the whole ring problem. Why not just make it a sphere? Huh? Why not? Huh? So annoying. It's always bothered me about Star Trek that everthing is 2D. Two ships meet in space and they are always perfectly in the same plane with the same orientation.

Then there is Neelix's jealousy again. I can almost understand it when Paris gives her the locket, but later when Kes remembers where people's crew quarters are located, he basically accuses her of being a slut and sleeping with half the ship. I hate Neelix and Kes should have dropped him like a hot potato.

And Janeway babbling out "It's talking to me -- do nothing!" or "Is docking doo be -- goo duthing!" is pointless. Since neither the audience or the crew can tell what she is saying. They should have just had her say it clearly, then the crew could have debated whether to believe her or if she was only delusional. It would have given them some rationale to give up like they did at least, instead of because 'Tuvok says so'. I did sort of like the ending in the holodeck though otherwise.

But the revelation that the ring was intelligent and had uploaded all this data to the computers was idiotic. They never mention any of that again. I would imagine they could have gotten something useful from all that data, but they just ignore it completely. Maybe the thing told them how to get home? Too bad they never checked any of it.

All in all not as bad as the last 2 episodes which were horrendous. But not that good either.

1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Okay, a lot of discussion about the episode revolves around to how sympathetic or unsympathetic Archer is. Let's just ignore that for a moment and look at the it on its own: Does it work aside from that?

Well, it's a comedy and not particularly highbrow one. But I don't think comedy really needs to be. Sometimes, even dumb humor can be funny. I do get a giggle at some of the stuff from Kung-Pow. But that's kinda because of just how dumb it is. I just don't think this one reaches that-partly because it doesn't really have much energy to it. I thought the fart gag at the beginning was little funny, and the scene where he tries to one up T'Pol gets a giggle. Otherwise, I thought it was mostly just embarrassing. Honestly, it's when the episode isn't trying to be funny, I had the most laugh, like Archer's Star Trek Captain speech about Kreetasans hurting his dog or him angrily watching water polo.

Writing wise, it's not too great. For one, what was the point the timer? What did that tell us? Archer bringing Porthos with him in the first place is very contrived. The sexual tension bit comes straight out of nowhere, not just series wide, but in the episode itself.

@skindles

1) I dunno about T'Pol, but Trip peeing on something sacred and getting sick from it does sound like on of his plots.

2) I'm not sure I buy Archer would care half as much.

"Never once complained to Kreetasans themselves". Later in the episode, he complains to Phlox about how they don't care about Porthos being sick. How would they know if Archer hadn't actually called them to tell them what assholes they are?

"didn't do anything drastic about it"

The first scene after the intro is him telling Trip they should just risk the ship and not bother anymore. And that's before he knows Porthos is sick.

As for "permission", he sent them his genetic profile. Even if they got from it that it's animal level intelligence, they likely figured out it was trained enough not to pee on random things because otherwise, why would anybody be so stupid as to bring it with them?

Also, asking somebody if they apologized like he told them to do and then literally thirty seconds later getting pissed off at them for apologizing goes beyond just being whiny, that's straight up crazy.

And the thing is, this all might be fine, if it was say, early or middle season 1. But this is Season 2. And this isn't a new situation, we have seen Archer being a stubborn ass unwilling to compromise. It's one thing for him to make mistakes and learn from it but you can't have him do the same mistakes over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

This series is like walking in to one of those new fangled neck-beard infested bowl places and ordering some hip-named deliverable, only to wonder in the end what actually ended up in your gut.

Anyone have the odds on how many episodes will actually air? I say it won't get past 6, friends say next one is the last.

Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Episode 2 of The Boreville was terrible. Almost everything that could have been funny, wasn't. The serious stuff was okay, a decent story, but that's not what I'm supposed to be watching is it? I can't understand the show, unless I sort of deconstruct:

1) Seth's money rules
2) Braga is stuck in the 90s
3) The Robot ABSOLUTELY SUCKS, and has done nothing racist or even remotely funny, and quite honestly isn't even close to Marvin the Paranoid Robot from Hitchhikers
4) Galaxy Quest nailed it
5) Can anyone envision the Cast sitting around and nodding approvingly at these episodes? I cannot, therefore...

Fake TV. Not Seth, but a doppelgänger, and Seth has lent his name to the production like Tarantino does to most productions these days. That's my guess and I'm sticking with it.
Set Bookmark
Pleasure Gelf
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

When it isn't being trite it is simply unconvincing. The worst episode of the whole series thus far. One star.
Set Bookmark
Splif420
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I suspect that the show is going to ignore a lot of the established Canon. And for people who've watch Star Trek for decades, this is gonna be a really big problem. So if the show can't generate a big enough new audience, I suspect the core audience of Trek fans will not find it easy to support the show by watching it. I hope it turns out good, but I suspect I will be greatly disappointed. Fingers crossed!!
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 2:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

"Why would they mimic Star Trek in so many ways but not in this one, especially given that the Star Trek transporter is so iconic?"

@navamske you answered your own question. Braga himself has said in interviews that the Transporter is the most iconic piece of Trek tech. There's always been lasers and space ships in sci-fi, but the transporter is so intrinsically Trek that they felt it would have been too far to copy that too.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Here I go again... finding myself agreeing with Seven when she disagrees with Janeway about the latter's decision not to terminate the drone.. It seems Seven knows more about humanity and the consequences of playing God better than Janeway. Again, Janeway makes a decision on behalf of the Borg drone to make him develop in her image of what he should become in the same way she did with Seven, nine months ago (in fact, that was the core of Seven's argument back then. It's a consistent pattern.

Great job by the guest actor Boehmer playing the drone. And kudos to Jeri Ryan for how well ahe expressed her desperation in her final dialogue with One. Great beginning and ending shots also. The fake smile, and the real sadness. Priceless.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Also in more general terms,

Jammer, I'm so happy that you're reviewing again. I'm sure this is one of the sites on the Web that I have been visiting the longest. I was definitely here back in the 20th century. I still re-read your old reviews regularly as I re-watch Trek.

I'm happy and cautiously optimistic with Orville. I enjoyed episode 2, and episode 3 was clearly a step up and a bit of a change in tone. I'm looking forward to where it goes from here. I am terrified it will get cancelled and I hope that it has a chance to find its niche.

Also - and I know it's off topic for this thread - but I'm looking forward to checking out Discovery in a couple of days, too. I've been avoiding reading much about it on the Internet. A) Scared of spoilers, and B) too much negativity! Fingers-crossed!!
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I wonder if the lack of a transporter is because the transporter itself is too often a 'get out of jail free' card in Trek stories, and so they too often had to come up with convoluted reasons to disable it? By not having one, they don't have to do the tightrope walk in their stories.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I said this under another episode earlier this season and I will say it again:

Everytime Seven and Janeway argue about some ethical issue, why is it that I find myself, everytime, agreeing with Seven? Janeway had a point at the very end with regard to Seven's fear but Seven was right in everything that preceded in that argument.
Set Bookmark
Ben Ramsey
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Just wanted to mention one thing that I didn't see anyone comment on - why would the Federation put their officers at risk of prison by having any dealings whatsoever with a culture that does "guilty until proven innocent"? To me that's the most unbelievable part of this episode. There would be some sort of diplomatic immunity, at least to some degree, or some negotiated amnesty, all done ahead of time, before being willing to subject themselves to such potential liability.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Star Trek's first shipboard tactical adventure remains a visually involving and fairly tense story. Directed by four-time Emmy winner Joseph Sargent, the lighting and camerawork in this one is particularly interesting, and the plot is classic Star Trek. Indeed, there's a real sense of probing out into the unknown to encounter alien life in this one that distinguishes it form the "rubber mask of the week" aliens on later Trek series, and the well-scripted characterizations make this a good ensemble piece for the main cast. I give it 3 or 3 1/2 stars.

There's a fairly realistic sense of shipboard life on a deep-space mission in this one. We see the cast struggling with fatigue, confusion, and fear as they work together to face a problem that quickly escalates from an annoying obstacle into a Kobayshi Mary "no-win scenario." Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scotty, Sulu, Uhura, and Rand all get little personality moments here, and some of their interactions build the characterizations in key ways -- Kirk's patience in exhausting every peaceful option before being forced to bluff, Spock's early inability (which will soften over the course of the franchise) to go beyond the strict logic that tells him they are doomed, McCoy's concern for the welfare of the crew, Scotty's earthy practicality, the cool professionalism of Uhura and Sulu, Yeoman Rand's ongoing tension with Kirk, etc. And with all of these developing characterizations we still get room for the deftly woven subplot of guest navigator Bailey, whom Kirk has promoted too fast and whose freakout brings a welcome sense of emotional honesty (i.e. regarding Sulu: "He's starting a countdown!") to what everyone else on the bridge is holding in. Kirk's command style emerges vindicated in this episode as he cheats death (good foreshadowing for Wrath of Khan) and eventually finds a better use for Bailey than bridge crew, giving him a chance to develop and mature as an ambassador to gain some confidence. There's a lot of character stuff happening in this deceptively simple space showdown plot, but all of it feels effortlessly earned through cast chemistry.

While the scenes of the Enterprise facing off against the little cube and later negotiating with the enormous sphere start to feel repetitive and go on perhaps a bit too long as buildup to the titular bluff, knocking this one down a peg for me because of the uneven pacing that peaks early, the ending reveal of Clint Howard remains one of the most memorable and creative endings to a Star Trek episode of any series. Not only do we get adventure and the curiosity of facing the unknown in this episode, but an unusual first contact that results in both sides growing closer together through a "game recognizes game" scenario where they respect each other's ability to bluff in facing the threats of the galaxy's unknown. It's intriguing how the Enterprise crew never succumbs to the temptation to judge Balok negatively or lash out at him in fear even at the moments when he's threatening them or appears vulnerable to counter-attack; they seem to hold out hope of finding a peaceful solution to the misunderstanding even when things seem bleakest. And it all ends with them drinking Tranya with the tiny little alien in his tiny little ship. It's not one of my absolute favorites, but this is classic Trek idealism at its best.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Hello Everyone!

The only, only thing I liked about this episode was the translator having problems to begin with. It was sort of neat to watch them talk and then a recognized word would pop in from time to time, until it was sort of normal(ish).
--------------------------

Well, this is your world, but since we just traversed a whole lot of space through a wormhole (and we have a story), it must be Our World Too!

Naaah... I don't buy it. Darned if I didn't cringe through most of it, waiting for it to end when I first saw it (and again now). I mean, don't tell a completely different race that their world is your home and that you intend to live there even if they don't want you to. Perhaps they learned the wrong lessons from the Dominion...

Just some quick thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Hello Everyone!

It's been two years since I saw this one, but I've probably watched it 20 times over the decades. There was something about it that really struck a chord with me.

The more I think about it, the more I think it would have been better without the Romulans, but I suppose there had to be some URGENCY to it.

The creature was so, so alone, and finally found someone to whom it could talk to. And Tam was so, so alone because he had to isolate himself since he could not shut out the voices.

Symmetry...

I would have loved to see them again, either just passing through, or helping the Feds with a crisis that needed a badazz ally. When the fat hits the fan in later years, where are all of these allies they've helped? :D

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Hello Everyone!

@borusa

Hmm... That sort of scenario didn't happen during TOS, as I recall, but while I think Bones might have had more sense, he'd have gone to the person that was hurt the most and made them beam them both up to sickbay. Even if they said "NO", he'd grab the arm of the injured person, since we've seen that makes the whole party of two beam up. He'd certainly have been doing triage as Crusher was. IMHO of course.

I figure Crusher was with the most injured person, so they should have just beamed them both aboard. It wasn't as if they were new to beaming or more advanced races.

Eh, we can pick it apart, but in my humble opinion again, it was a fairly decent story and I liked it. Even if Crusher had beamed aboard, they could have kidnapped her from there with the technology they were using, as it seemed they staged the entire event to find their Doctor. I believe Crusher would have been taken no matter what they did, once she was on the planet to begin with.

There was never a time I and my friends (and there were many who watched Trek), when watching the shows during their original runs, ever said we didn't like so-and-so, or hoped a character would be gone. We just accepted them as they were and as they were written. *shrugs*. So it's hard for me to look at a character and deem them unworthy. If they have a fault it is the writers. I believe all the characters played them as they were intended to.

Just my random thoughts on the episode... RT
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 1,690
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.