Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 47,265 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,891
Set Bookmark
Galadriel
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 8:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@ Plain Simple

At the current point, I see little other options that to discuss the plot. This whole season is just one story, and we cannot judge the value of the story, or its ideological character, before we know what it leads to.

I remember well how much I hated the 3rd season of Enterprise, which I used to call “24 in Space”. At the end, however, this criticism evaporated, because Archer stopped channeling Jack Bauer and behaved like a Starfleet Captain again (and I loved the dialogue with the Suliban spy “Captain, you have changed“ — “Not for the better” in the otherwise horrible Nazi two-parter).

So let’s wait for the remaining two episodes to air before critisizing the plot. I do agree, though, that till now the plot works mostly by mystery, twists and shocking revelations, not by logic or character. This gives the show a character that I compare to fast food (somehow appetizing and even addictive, but not really nourishing or long-time sustainable). But if the writers are significantly cleverer than they have yet shown us, I don’t doubt they could still pull off a five-course meal out of elements that are yet sown.

Set Bookmark
Plain Simple
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Henson: "Actually, this raises a very interesting question. If Lorca is actually from the mirror universe, then where is his non-mirror counterpart?"

I've heard or read speculation that MU Lorca destroyed PU Lorca's ship with everyone (including PU Lorca) on board. That would explain the strange story he told about blowing up his own ship while getting away safely himself.

@Brian: "Meanwhile, the message boards (including this one) consist mainly of people mired in discussion of the inane "plot" details that I could not care less about. "

If you raise an on-topic subject you are interested in instead, I'm sure we're happy to discuss it.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

The scripting and acting continues to be horrible. Mumbling dialogue, long expository sentences, it just gets worse as time goes by. Sonequa Martin Green looks great in a night gown but she is not a good lead. The plot is going nowhere fast. I don't care about any of the main characters. At this point I literally spent most of the episode hoping characters would die or be killed, so we could get them off the screen and make way for some good actors to be brought in to replace them.

Meanwhile, the message boards (including this one) consist mainly of people mired in discussion of the inane "plot" details that I could not care less about.

Yes, we now have a whole generation of Trek fans reduced to fighting over table scraps.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

@ William B,

If it sounded like I was chastising your old comment that's not how I meant it. My intent was to suggest that it's an episode so easy to dismiss that the viewer is almost lulled into doing so. I've seen it many times over the years and until this watch-though I never thought it meant much of anything, so I was certainly not singling you out but was at the very least including myself in the tend of people surmising that it was a mostly vacuous hour of TV. Now that I've seen it again my new estimation is that it's only moderately vacuous :)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@ Rahul,

Good call on the comparison to Lord of the Rings, I hadn't thought of that before. It makes the scene better in my opinion, if anything.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@ Jammer,

Love your observation of the backwards tone of the 'evil' universe being lighter and the 'good' universe being grim. It reminds me of the series The Lexx, in which

SPOILER

the heroes discover after some time in a horrific life that the universe in which they grew up was the 'good' one out of the two! The sardonic humor abounds as they eventually have to leave that living hell in order to enter the 'dark zone'.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Slightly better than mediocre episode which has a good premise for the A-plot but the B-plot of cheese infecting bio-neural gel packs is a silly way to generate a crisis on the ship. Is it supposed to imply that crises can happen from the most unlikely sources? And what of the solution -- heat to kill bacteria/viruses that isn't high enough to harm the human body? Bit of a stretch for me.

The idea of Tuvok training Maquis crew is a good one and I think it's good that VOY spend an episode focusing on the crew issues. They all know they won't see their families (probably ever again) and there are some very different philosophies among the crew (Star Fleet vs. Maquis) so there should be more examination of how that impacts their performance.

Tuvok is too accustomed to training cadets at the academy who want to be Star Fleet officers. Here he's dealing with people who don't want to be Star Fleet but who are forced to. Not hard to see that he should adopt a different approach and certainly not belittle them. Tuvok basically invites Dalby's hostility. Chakotay should have played more of a role in the training beyond slugging Dalby. (What species is the fat blue-skinned dude?)

Of course it wraps up in a nice way with the A&B plots meeting together to create a situation that brings Tuvok and the Maquis trainees closer together. I liked how everybody was sweating like pigs yet Doc, as a hologram, looked normal.

Barely 2.5 stars for this light-hearted outing. I guess Tuvok learns he needs to bend the rules from time to time -- if that's the major lesson from this episode. And perhaps the Maquis trainees gain some respect for the Vulcan.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Eric They sent Admiral Cornwell to a starbase for medical treatment before they jumped to the other side.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 10:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

"And the damage to the ship after all this? A non-factor (despite the fact that the overload practically made the Voyager look like it was on fire). Once the crew retakes Voyager, the ship, of course, looks practically like new"


One of the big complaints I have about this series is that Voyager never shows any wear or tear despite the fact it so far away from any Federation drydock or outpost. Every season Voyager is attacked some hostile alien species and yet by the end of the series it still looks the way it did in the pilot episode.

Contrast that with Battlestar Galactica which had a far more realistic depiction of a ship and crew far from home.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The two funniest and truest lines of your review:
'"Despite Yourself," on the other hand, shows signs of this series becoming a series of prologues followed (or interrupted) by more prologues.'
and
'Is this a Federation starship or a secluded murder-mystery mansion on the upstate coast?'

This one slightly exceeded my expectations. But since I knew in advance the Discovery would end up in the MU, my expectations were very low. I've always felt that the MU was a gimmick that worked for its first episode (or two), but as a sci-fi concept falls apart when you think about it too much. Starting with "Through the Looking-Glass" it has been used mainly for good vs. evil caroonish mayhem, which I've never cared for, and "Despite Yourself" was no exception.

Still, there were some surprisingly good character moments here (humorous and otherwise), and some of the best scenes of the episode involve the crew preparing to act like their counterparts (especially Tilly).

Although I am in favour of killing regular characters once in a while (Anyone Can Die and all that), I am sad that Culber is dead, because after all the hype we got about finally showing a long-term homosexual relationship on Star Trek, we've only gotten 2 or 3 scenes of them actually together, and he could have been an interesting character in his own right.

The Tyler/Voq/L'Rell stuff isn't working for me at all. I see that they're trying to create a realistic portrayal of the psychological effects of what he's been through, but something about it feels... off.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 8:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

I think this is one of the better episodes of season two that shows the maturing of TNG from the first season. But there are some growing pains which prevent it from being a really good episode. Such as:

-The opening sequence with Riker and Worf in the holodeck which seems to have little or no connection to the main plot
-The obvious "red shirt" killing of Haskell.
-Is Worf really prepared to be a Starfleet officer? Riker has to order him to snap back from his primal instincts on the holodeck and later he nearly loses his nerve again on the "USS Yamato"....one bridge!
-Would have been nice if Picard had said something at the end of the episode about warning Starfleet about this "hole" they encountered.


Highlights:

-Some creepy moments on the "USS Yamato"
-Data saying, "The beginning of wisdom is: I do not know."
-Picard musings on what is death
-Some good music from . Ron Jones
-I like how they don't try to explain everything at the end. It's a mystery.




convince Nagilum
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Jason R. -- OK, yes thanks for the clarification. I guess I was stuck on why no more Jem'Hadar ships would come through or why the female Founder wouldn't try to return home.

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Rahul the wormhole never closed except briefly after Dukat released the Pah Raith into the orb . It's just that after their armada got disappeared in Sacrifice of Angels no Dominion forces were going to chance it. But nothing would stop Odo and Kira from using it.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Where the hell is Admiral Cornwell!? They rescued her before entering the MU, why don't we see her at all?
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

A very good series finale that accomplished pretty much everything it should have. It had the final resolutions of major arcs and the sentimental moments at the end. It left some questions unanswered, but that's fine. Overall a very enjoyable and satisfying 2 hours except for the fantasy aspect of the prophets/pah-wraiths and the resolution of Dukat/Winn.

The 2-parter actually spends a fair bit of time on an epilogue after the war. I liked that. And the montage in the last half hour was touching -- so many great moments between the characters over the 7 years. I'm sure it would bring a tear to many people's eyes.

As for some of the specifics, I've always had an issue with the DS9 starship battle scenes. Just too many ships flying in such close proximity -- absolute chaos. How is a real strategy supposed to work? It looks like something out of Star Wars. In any case, war is war. I guess it should look like chaos -- I'll just take it that there is a strategy underway although it is not evident.

Also, Martok's lines talking about how great a victory it will be, drinking blood wine etc. were starting to get repetitive. I liked how Sisko and the Admiral refused to share in his joy once standing among the Cardassian dead. But this refusal didn't have long-lasting repercussions, fortunately.

An important character should die in a grand finale and that's Damar. His death works best for furthering Cardassia's uprising. He dies the honorable death and he's a martyr. Great character and good actor is Casey Biggs -- certainly a character that's come a long way. Nice twist with Cardassia being destroyed by an occupation after what its people did on Bajor...

And what happens with Garak on the free Cardassia? I wish we had more resolution for this special character. Anyhow, I liked his role in the final siege. We know he's got a killer instinct ("In the Pale Moonlight") and he quickly phasers Weyoun and nearly phasers the female Founder.

The whole link between Odo and the female Founder convinces her to call off the war just after she said doing so would be a sign of weakness. But the link solves all problems and the viewer has to assume the cure to the Founders disease is the answer. Still this was rather sudden as she accepts incarceration too.

So do we assume the female shapeshifter is in some kind of jail? How do you jail a changeling? And what of the rest of the Vorta and the Breen? Those questions remain unanswered. At least they held a war crimes trial so I suppose we can make some safe assumptions on these issues.

Bit of an abrupt and weird change when after Vic Fontaine sings at the DS9 goodbye party and then it switches to the fire caves and Dukat is revived from the dewad. (How long have Dukat/Winn been standing at the edge of the fire pit FFS??)

And then Sisko realizes he's got to go alone to the fire caves. He arrives lickety-split. Gotta say how this part is resolved cheesy/ridiculous and so predictable: Kai Winn is the distraction, Dukat destroys her and then Sisko takes Dukat into the fire with the "Book of the Dead" sealing the pah-wraiths. OK. This is the major weakness of this finale. This looked a lot like the scene when Frodo/Sam reach inside Mount Doom and send Gollum and the ring to their ends.

The episode glosses over how the wormhole to the Gamma Quadrant is re-opened (presumably after Sisko joins the prophets). It's a touching scene as Odo joins the link and cures all the Founders. Odo/Kira's romance has one last moment -- appropriate and struck the write notes.

A strong 3 stars for "What You Leave Behind" -- really good finale that wrapped up so much about as well as it could be done. Unfortunately, not much said about the future of Bajor. The final scene with Jake/Kira staring out of DS9 as we back away was perfect. Getting closure (learning of the future plans) for so many of the main cast was well done. Quark/Odo have one last interaction. So much to like and so much will be missed from DS9 -- truly awesome Trek.


Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

We had the MLK holiday this week. Maybe Jammer took the family on the road for a Star Trek convention. Give him a break. ; )
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

Once again the internet fails to appreciate a good Trek episode. Literally the only thing I didn't like was seeing a big fish face in space, which was cheesy and dated even then, although early TNG had a high gorgonzola content per episode.

This episode was mind bending and frightening, especially aboard the Yamato, and with Voyager in mind, Picard' s decision to blow up the ship seemed warranted. They were trapped, at the mercy of an immensely powerful alien they didn't understand, which was going to horribly kill half the crew. Seeing the crew's reactions, seeing that this was the first time in modern Trek that a self destruct was set and the characters had no precedent to follow, and Riker' s hilarious cancellation of the destruct, made the episode a winner for me.

I am not familiar with early Trek and it is strange to see how routine things had become by the time of Voyager. Everything was new and unfamiliar here. No cliches, just one fascinating scene of conjecture and mystery after another, with a genuinely horrible alien who somehow thinks humans are arrogant in spite of what he does to them.

Also - people who watch Trek clearly don't have super-IQs, or at least don't watch the episodes properly. Picard was worried about Worf's animalistic and violent behaviour, not the holodecn characters. Picard knows his crew better than the viewers obviously do *facepalm*
Set Bookmark
KT
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 4:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

... I was starting to wonder about that too!

What could be keeping him? not waterloo again I hope haha.

I hope he's ok...
Set Bookmark
William B
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

@Peter: point. I had just started commenting at that time, and was a little less generous for the middling eps like this one, at times. In retrospect, the shapeshifter metaphor is pretty solid. Not just for the reasons you mention, but even on a basic level, the idea of a teen romance being about the discovery that one's image of one's crush being incomplete or even false. I made fun of the way Picard delivered the "she is an allasomorph" line, and I still think it's funny, but it is a way for the ep to caution Wesley against believing that Salia's outward appearance is accurate, without having there be malice behind her "deception." Wesley is an open book, so he assumes others are, but their outward shapes generally will not represent their true selves. But their true selves might be even more beautiful. And since it turns out that Wesley actually maybe *isn't* the permanent Starfleet prodigy he believes himself to be, there is also a message there that Wesley can maybe find his own beautiful true self too.
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

By the way, I'm start to wonder if something happened to Jammer. He normally doesn't take this long to post his reviews...
Set Bookmark
LJ
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Ed

"Maybe she was XO, but I like to think that "Killy" was third or fourth in command and took out all her superiors on the ship at once. :) She's ambitious."

Yeah, I love that idea too! Captain Killy is awesome! :p
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Lots of bases to cover in this 2nd last DS9 episode -- was it 3 or 4 or 5 subplots working in this one? Ezri/Bashir; the Ferengi; Garak/Kira/Damar; the Dominion strategy and coalition's response; Kasidy's pregnancy; Odo finding out Section 31/Federation wanted to genocide his race. Good thing the writers didn't try to cram in Kai Winn/Dukat. The jumping around is the downside to trying to set up the grand conclusion but it's all pretty interesting stuff after 7 years of episodes.

Pretty cool with Jeffrey Combs in the opening credits being introduced as both Brunt and Weyoun. I saw this thing on Youtube where he was hoping the 2 characters would perhaps find some way to cross each other on the promenade...

So Ferenginar has been taking a hard shift to the left -- how prescient this is for what the U.S./Western civilization is going through these days. Totally can understand Quark's right wing philosophies and how similar they are to Trump's -- never thought the Ferengi arc would actually amount to a sensible allegory. Quark is out of touch with society but he isn't wrong in disagreeing with all the changes in Ferenginar.

The Ezri/Bashir romantic comedy was well done and seemed realistically portrayed. I think the chemistry and awkwardness was how it should be between the 2 -- bit of lightearted stuff but maybe could have been left out as there was enough jumping around in the episode.

Kira/Damar/Garak starting a civilian revolution was also good -- starting in the cellar where Garak grew up. Not sure how the Dominion found out and destroyed all of the resistance cells -- fair question from Damar to Kira about that. He should question her tactics but she brushes it off and they focus on the next step. At this stage Damar needs all the help he can get and it's good that the character seems to realize that -- he has no animosity for Kira anymore clearly. This subplot was well written and acted. Again, it makes sense and is not going in some stupid direction.

3 stars for "The Dogs of War" -- the main story keeps moving in an intriguing way with Dominion retreating to set up their perimeter and the coalition deciding on an all-out assault. The Ferengi comedy arc isn't really a drawback here as it is amusing (but not stupid) and the allegory is perfect for these times. A really good penultimate episode. One more 2-parter to go for DS9!
Set Bookmark
Gee
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Henson
Also it's evident that Klingons use real human personalities to layover their sleeper agents; It was confirmed in ep6 "lethe" that Ash Tyler is a real human (who is from just outside Seattle) as Lorca verified his ID. The real Ash Tyler is no doubt dead.
Set Bookmark
peter swinkels
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

(a)
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Okay, this is good episode. The computer going crazy and murdering, and it’s creator (Daystrom) going insane could easily be misconstrued as “ai = evil”, but was probably meant as a warning.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,891
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.