Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,910 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,437
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

@ Edax,

My example of Klingons trying to force the Organians into violent actions was just meant as a random example of how no matter whether Kirk got involved or not, the Klingons were eventually going to start executing Organians either way. Something would have happened, somehow, that would have angered the Klingons, and they would no doubt turned to killing before long. This is all to just answer your point that without Kirk's bravado things could have been resolved peacefully. I believe there was never any possibility of life under Klingon rule being either peaceful or non-violent. It wouldn't have been as bad as a war, but it would have probably still been too much for the Organians. The only difference, I suppose, is that if the Klingons alone had gone too far the Organians might have just done something *to them* and not to the Federation. It's for the best that this isn't how it happened, since the Organian peace treaty directly laid the path towards the Khitomer Accords.
Set Bookmark
Edax
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

@Peter G. While it's true the Klingons could have ordered the Organians to do violence against other Organians, this however that is purely speculation. At least this violence would have been the result of an Organian decision, and not the interference from a 3rd party. And perhaps, the Organians would better tolerated minor acts of violence vs a galactic war. The Organians very likely know what submitting to Klingon rule meant anyway, and it was Kirk's blind belief that the Organians didn't know any better that escalated the conflict.

@Skeptical I could see Spock as a character showing disdain for the Organians, especially when he noticed that their culture was totally stagnant. There's no logic in making no effort towards progress, to be content with the dark ages. Notice that Spock made no effort to respect the Organian's wishes, despite the fact that he got along with those damn hippies in Way To Eden.

"And indeed, all they had to do to maintain their way of life is banish the UFP and Klingons from their planet. That's certainly justifiable, and a minimal intrusion on the other two cultures. Instead, they imposed their culture throughout the entire UFP/Klingon territory. I thought defense of culture should only intrude on other people's cultures as minimally as possible? This wasn't defense; this was spreading their dogma through the sword."

I see no reason why the Organians need to follow the Prime Directive. Even though they were more advanced beings, they still carried flaws, such as the intense pain they experience around violent individuals. When the war was brought to their doorstep, the Organians became involved, even if they did not wish it. Spreading dogma through the sword implies aggression, but all the Organians did was act in self-defense and enforced a peace treaty. You can't defend a culture in a war with inaction. If the Organians just banished the two factions, they could have returned, and perhaps have attacked the Organians as an enemy, which would cause the Organians great distress, and having to continually relocate warships without trying to enact a peace treaty would have continually increase their involvement in a war.

"And remember my first point. All of this, ALL OF THIS, would have been avoided if the Organians had simply been honest in the first place. If they wanted to defend their culture, why didn't they try through nonviolent dialogue first?"

The Organians at no point were dishonest. They did try nonviolent dialogue first, rejecting the Federation's offer and accepting Klingon occupation law to prevent a conflict. Kirk ignored the Organian's decisions and wishes at every turn and continued to wage a conflict against the Klingons, and even threatened Ayelborne with "More violence then he'll know what to do with" if he could not arm himself. As for the Organians being TOTALLY honest, imagine the Federation in the TNG days just telling a pre-warp specifies, "Hey I'm an alien!" just for the sake of honesty? It's happened before, but it tends to permanently ruin the observation of the less advanced cultures.

@RandomThoughts I don't quite agree that had Kirk not turned Organia into a battlefield, the Organians might not have interfered. The Organians feel intense pain when around violence individuals, and a fleet battle over their planet could have prompted them to action. I think what's too easily forgotten is that Organia belongs to the Organians, and being the only habitable planet in the disputed zone, they would end up very involved. It would just be a matter of when the Organians have had enough of the conflict that they would act.
Set Bookmark
Rob
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 9:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Rikers comment about Troi being "aristocratic" was the equivalent of the more down-to-earth 21st century phrase of "poor little rich girl", which is exactly what she is.
TNG writers didn't try to make Troi a particularly likeable character - she just floated around, reading minds, making judgements, playing victim and eating chocolate.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Jammer describes this as a "mostly aimless story," which is kind of what I like about it. People always say that you need conflict to make a good story, or some sort of deep meaning, but sometimes I just enjoy watching the people I like do normal stuff. Or not normal, perhaps, in the case of Neelix and his Klingon romance, but fun anyway. I LIKE an occasional story where the imminent threat of death or privation is not driving it.

And this one delivers. We are given Kohlar as a crazy religious leader, then find out he's actually really smart and trying to find a permanent home for his people. He's awesome. It's funny Jammer says he sounds like Sisko--I was actually mildly distracted that some of his facial expression were Worf-like.

I loved Neelix's girlfriend. I have often wished to be the type of woman who could pull off that sort of raw sexuality. But alas, I am cursed to be a Lwaxana, lol

I thought everyone behaved here as they would--Tom and BLT were just normal. The battle was a bit much, but believable, given Klingon predilections.

And I loved the final scene in their quarters when BLT hangs the bat'leth on the wall. I like that she came closer to her Klingon heritage without hating it, for once. And I liked Tom's suggestion of naming the baby "Kuva'Mach." How cute would that be? "Kuva! Get in here and clean up after your targ!"

I'd give this a solid 3. Very enjoyable.

Set Bookmark
Beej
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I could live with more scenes of Ms. Troi and Mrs. Crusher doing team calisthenics.

This isn't a great episode for all the reasons that have already been listed here, but Ral's manipulation of the negotiating process was so fun that I don't even care. Very watchable.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

Really loved this episode. It's intriguing, surreal, spooky, and -- yes -- thoughtful. The analysis of Old West morality, together with the whole analysis of the nature of reality, comes across very well-written here. This is classic Trek, hitting a theme -- xenophobic aliens test whether they can trust the Federation -- with a flavorful execution. I would give it 3 or 3 1/2 stars and agree with Patrick D. that it's one of the best episodes of Season 3. I'd say it's one of the top-drawer episodes of the series overall.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

Howdy Folks

@Skeptical

As I recall from my mythology course and later involvement, the gods of Greece were more powerful the more believers/followers they had. In one of the mythos, the gods were able to defeat the titans (their forebears), because they had followers, which gave them more power. The titans could only use the power they had, as they were not worshiped, and were defeated because the gods were gaining power from the people. Of course this is just one telling (a bit simplified), and there are many stories, but this was the one I liked the best. :)

Also, in this episode, Apollo didn't seem to have real power of his own, he had a building that supplied him power, which he was able to convert to use with/against the Enterprise crew. Without that building/power source, he was much reduced. Perhaps it was just old habits, and he wanted to Feel the power of adulation again...

Now, Scotty. Hmm... Small spoiler alert, if watching TOS for the first time straight through, skip to the **'s.

They show him with a full-on infatuation/love for Lt. Palamas, which seems to nearly drive him mad. I mean, he does some really stupid things. Thinking about the later episode Wolf in the Fold, of course they thought he was the culprit (after a head injury caused by a woman), because he'd been shown to be a nutjob here when a lady said "Hello" to him or showed some mutual interest. Then, third season, The Lights of Zetar, he once again is a bit off the rails when it comes to the lady he had his eye on, who ends up being the person the baddies wanted. Now, I loved, loved Scotty, especially when he was in command of the Enterprise from time to time, but he was written very poorly when it came to women, and that is a dis-service to Scotty. We cannot do anything about it of course, but looking back... wow.

**

Overall, from the first time I saw this episode in the 70's as a young'un until now, I always thought it was so sad Apollo decided he had to spread himself on the wind. But it seems you cannot have an emotional, pull-the-heartstrings ending if he just sails off to Starfleet and tells them what he knows of the past, or his people... that's why it's a tragedy...

But most of us kinda/sorta wish that could have happened...

Happy trails everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

La forge tells Barkley that he never had a transporter incident. Was Barkley not there last season when the entire ship thought he was dead from one?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 11:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

It seemed odd that they were giving so much attention to an intern to begin with. The first thing the intern gets to do is meet with the captain?
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Heh, I just recalled that the Enterprise did indeed join the Federation fleet, and they were all racing toward the Klingons when they were stopped. We just don't get to see the other ships. Would've been neat if they'd shown some other ships when they did the revamp. :) But I digress, and my point is the same even with that small...

Whoopsie... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Heya Everyone!

Love the recent discussion! Nice to see.

After reading the comments, and running the episode through in my head (last watched around two years ago), something occurred to me: Without the meddling of Kirk and Spock, the Organians would probably have done... nothing, and billions might have died.

Now, hear me out. We heard during the episode that there was probably going to be a state of war between the Federation and the Klingons, but it hadn't happened yet. It was just probable. When the Fantastic Two head down to the planet, they are told time and again that everything is fine, just go home and we will sit here and smile. But they don't leave (eventually cannot), and keep stirring things up. And these Organians, who have let these ants run around their fake anthill, get more and more frustrated as they say "Stop, or we'll say Stop again" and the ants don't listen. Hey, they may be super duper powerful, but they are not perfect. They seem to still have some foibles. And one of them is when the ants tell them they would do as they please, over and over, they eventually cannot take it any longer (not liking the brutal, savage things they were planning on doing), and they metaphorically slam their hand on the table and say "Enough is enough! Not only are you going to listen to what we have to say, but we are stopping your war, as of NOW!", potentially saving billions...

On the other hand, if Kirk and Spock had left when they were first told to go (they still could, if memory serves), or had just become random fake townsfolk sitting in a room somewhere, the Enterprise leaves and joins the Federation fleet. They are eventually engaged in glorious battle with the Klingons and billions die in the war, while the Organians sit in their room, contemplating whatever they think about, and smile. They never got mad at the ants, so they never made a decision to intercede, because the fake anthill was still quiet and peaceful...

Since they had never gotten involved in any other war, that we know of, they probably wouldn't have now. Because, hey, we're just ants to them. And even today, we don't explain things to ants, because how could they possibly understand?

Anyway, that was the epiphany I had while reading these most thoughtful insights above.

I hope this is a great day for everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

I love the first Captain's Log after the credits. You can just tell that Kirk is sitting there, trying his best to avoid describing the events. You know the last thing he wants to say in his Log is that a giant floating green hand is holding on to the Enterprise. Despite all of TOS' wacky adventures, even Kirk knows this one is just too ridiculous to be believed.

Also, Agamemnon and company were ~3200 years ago (or 3500 by Kirk's time), not 5000. I guess once you get past a few hundred years, everything counts as ancient, huh?

Oh well, such is life. Ignoring the silliness of the green hand, what was the value of the episode? Sure, the whole "ancient gods were actually advanced aliens" schtick is a classic sci-fi staple, but, well, that's the problem. It's a classic sci-fi staple, and was already old by the time this episode aired. If you wanted to do it, you would need some kind of hook, some kind of spin on the concept rather than just playing it straight. Otherwise, it's just... there. And unfortunately, that's what this episode feels like. Something that is just there, without much meat on it.

I mean, compare that to Mirror Mirror, which at first glance might seem the same thing: just a sci-fi cliche of an evil mirror universe. Except that the episode builds on several subplots. We have the assassination attempts, we have our heroes being forced to play their roles as best as possible, particularly Uhura and Kirk. We have Kirk and McCoy being forced to choose between their own self-interest and their ethics (saving Spock and the peaceniks), we have variations on the theme of evil with Marlene and Spock. It's a sci-fi cliche, yes, but a good one. Here? The threads just don't seem to exist.

On the one hand, we have our subplot with our random yeoman of the week. A subplot which immediately calls to mind Space Seed, in that the powerful superman for some reason falls in love with her and she falls in love back. Sure, she doesn't betray the ship this time, but it was a paper-thin plot that went nowhere and had no payoff. We don't know why Palamas was attracted to Apollo nor vice versa, and frankly we don't care. It was there to fill time and provide another exotic costume for male distraction purposes, nothing more.

And on the other hand, we have a repeat of Kirk and company dealing with an irrational god-like being while trying not to get killed a la Squire of Gothos. And again, it provides some interest, but is overall rather lacking. The big picture, that this guy was on Earth 5000-3500 years ago, is completely ignored. Sure, Lieutenant PlotPoint finally got around to asking Apollo about his past, but even that was mostly just as part of her ruse to make Apollo upset. Yes, fine, Kirk's first duty is to his ship. But surely someone might have asked about the Trojan war, about the blossoming Greek civilization, about when the gods appeared and when they left. About the art, the politics, the music, the history, the architecture, the culture, everything. Archeology is a very inexact science. To have a living witness from that time would be incredible.

Makes me wonder why everyone had to be so obstinate. If Apollo wasn't so obsessed with trying to fit the Enterprise crew into little his little Greek boxes, he might have found a people that would respect and honor (albeit not worship) him. And if Kirk and crew weren't so antagonistic towards Apollo, they might have realized what a wonderful opportunity this was. So Kirk's wistfulness at the end about gathering a few laurels or whatever does make some sense. This was a huge wasted opportunity.

As an aside, what's with Apollo's obsession of being worshiped? Was it just what he wanted, or (much like Pratchett's idea in Discworld) did he require worship in order to survive? It wasn't clear to me.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Interesting commentary Edax, but I still have issues with it.

First of all, about your imperialism angle. I see where you're coming from. But on the grounds that Kirk and Spock were so sure of their own superiority that they didn't listen to the Organians, I think that's bad writing rather than intended, especially on Spock's part. Throughout the first season, Spock was written as practically a Mary Sue character. He was always the smartest person in the room, always suspected what was really going on, and always seem to be morally superior to the humans surrounding him. This episode is thematically similar to Arena, and the beginning of that episode had Spock practically spelling out the theme of the story for us in his dialogue. Thus, I have a hard time believing the writers intended Spock to be in error here. Other than Galileo Seven (where the focus was on Spock being an alien), Spock is simply never that clearly wrong or that clearly... human.

Instead, I think it was just a mistake on the writer's part. There's a mystery and a surprise reveal in this episode. Everyone knows that if you write a mystery, you need to leave clues throughout the setup so that the audience doesn't feel the solution to the mystery comes out of left field. The trick is to make the clues not so obvious that the audience doesn't figure it out immediately, and especially not so obvious that the audience figures it out and wonders why the characters couldn't do so. And I think the writers failed on that part. It was too obvious that the Organians had extra knowledge, and I think even Kirk and Spock mentioned it. But that was dropped in favor of the rest of the plot. I suspect that it wasn't intended to show a character flaw in our characters. Of course, that is just my suspicion; you are free to interpret the scene differently.

However, I am absolutely not convinced that, even if Kirk had imperialistic tendencies, that justifies the Organians own imperialism. Your justification that they were only defending their own culture seems a bit hollow, as it sounds like Hammurabi code of tit for tat, and I thought we moved beyond that line of ethos. If the Organians are truly pacifist, live and let live beings, then presumably they would want to limit their own imposition on others. And indeed, all they had to do to maintain their way of life is banish the UFP and Klingons from their planet. That's certainly justifiable, and a minimal intrusion on the other two cultures. Instead, they imposed their culture throughout the entire UFP/Klingon territory. I thought defense of culture should only intrude on other people's cultures as minimally as possible? This wasn't defense; this was spreading their dogma through the sword.

And remember my first point. All of this, ALL OF THIS, would have been avoided if the Organians had simply been honest in the first place. If they wanted to defend their culture, why didn't they try through nonviolent dialogue first?

Meanwhile, I think it's disingenuous to consider the UFP and Klingons to be two sides of the same coin, just two different flavors of imperialism. After all, the Federation knew of this planet before this episode, and knew of its strategic importance. Despite that, they were ok with simply leaving the Organians alone until situation demanded otherwise. Yes, The Federation acted in their own interest, but that interest was survival, not resources or bloodlust. And Kirk, even if misguided, did everything for what he thought were the Organians best interests. Sure, it may be slightly arrogant to say he knew what their interests were more than the Organians did, but that was partly because of the Organians' dishonesty. After all, the flip side of this episode is the Bajoran occupation. Given that a situation like that was the most likely outcome of the Klingon attack, shouldn't Kirk try to help them out? Why should he be condemned for not recognizing an outlier scenario instead of the far more likely one?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

I rewatched this tonight, but I'm also rewatching Voyager - my only real question why didn't the holographic doctor give his holographic family a consciousness - seemed like something he might have done? Or is that just me? But this was a very good episode - nice to see a high rating for it.
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@Steve - "Jamie Lee Curtis is a potential case. I say potential because she chose to behave/dress/act in a feminine manner. Biologically, however, she is XY." - please tell me this is a joke? She is female - the myths about her being born with both are completely false.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

" If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win."

Nero sends his regards.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

@Jez

IIRC, Worf believes that now, since he knows the future, he can help to make sure it will go down fine. Based on what Future Alex says, he was alone in his efforts, but now he and Worf would be on it together.

As for the time-travel complaints, yeah, but we've seen any ship can just go around a sun and go to the past anyway. And we at least know that Future Alexander didn't just go to the past the same way you go on a plane to Australia or something, he had to go to a specific guy that could make it happen.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 11:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I'm not liking season seven overall, I love Nicole DeBoer but making her a regular cast member for one season shouldn't have happened - it should have gone to Aaron Eisenberg, in my humble opinion. As for this episode - for some reason I didn't like that scene at all between Sisko and Kassidy. I just felt it didn't seem like Star Trek. But that's just me. And Jake Sisko isn't doing much this season at all. And where's the solo O'Brien story? And Morn still hasn't said anything - wth?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 8:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

I do have to wonder just what kind of an impression this episode must have had back in the day. While there were other episodes that offered a darker look at the Federation, especially around this time on TNG, I don't think it ever went as far as here.

Admittedly, the way it is handled could use some work. Nechayev really is just a convenient asshole here, especially given how she was portrayed in Journey's End. I think that dissonance is mostly due to both episodes coming this soon after one another (did Maquis form after one week or what).

I have a real hard time telling good acting from bad TBH, could be because I'm not a native English speaker, but good lord, Hudson's actor pretty much killed it in the second part (he really gets progressively worse-in his first scene, he's actually alright) I wonder if they didn't invent Eddington specifically to replace him.

@William B

See, I have to wonder if the colonist not being allowed to leave would push things a bit too far in their favor. I remember reading an advice for deciding to what extent can you make your antagonists sympathetic, is that you can make them likeable however you want, just never make them RIGHT. And I just don't see how would Federation and our heroes be the good guys if the colonists leaving wouldn't be an option. You could still argue Maquis are risking a war for their own problems, but under those circumstances, you have to wonder if that really would not be a good reason to go into one. After all, we are talking about the Space Nazis here.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 8:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Regardless of whether it's right or wrong, Geordi running into the holodeck room and getting caught red-handed was funny as hell!
Set Bookmark
DutchStudent82
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 3:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

I too had the memory lane experience.
-not remembering what episode this was as I rewatched it, but remembering parts of it as I watched it.
-However I did remember there was a TNG episode with such a being in it, just not remembered it was this one.

But I found this episode rather enjoyable, for different reasons.

After STE ended, I felt into cold vacuum, born in 82, I pretty much grew up with trek, never single year without new episodes, and such became the norm for me.
So when STE was pulled, for the first time in my life, (and that was in my early 20s) I was without anything to watch.. I was REALLY like "why it was good and well watched, how can there be no trek??"
After the first mourning, and a few years waiting and hoping they would come to their sences and launch a new star trek series, while visiting the star trek website dayly for news about this and reading "the trek life" I gave up.
I switched to star gate, that by than was in it's 6th season, untill it too got pulled with the same ununderstandable tricks, a few years later.
(it got replaced for the crap called SGU what logically never got a second season, but I did not expect the whole series to be ceased)

I save you the details, but rest to say star trek reboot for me is no trek at all, and don't get me even started on star gate reboot movies, true scifi is dead, sadly, corporate drones have assimilated all.

Well why this introducion, because this episode introduced the idea of "acended beings" BEFORE star gate, and that with hindsight thats very interesting.
It would make this race like both the altarans and the ori from star gate.
-> I hence would have loved a more detailed look at their tech, it must be advanced, very advanced, i they are so close to ascending, their space faring society must be much older and much more advanced than any of the main races in star trek. The chocking tech I hence buy, but I was waiting for a revelation : was it technological? in that case interesting very advanced indeed, or did even the conservatives have powers to enforce such things at range to other races? was there an "enhanced" aboard the attacking ship?
(could have made interesting drama play and put the danger of these ability's and the polarity they may cause even more into perspective)

I am a christian, and hence i not believe in evolution, but I do believe we were created originally as MUCH MUCH more than we are now, as beings living outside time, in infinite dimentions, litterly to the immage of God (and God is spirit) and that our vanity of wanting to be equal (the desire for control and power IS the core of all sin) caused us to be cast down much much deeper, to this pityfull 3d dimension linear timeloced beings, who like plato said "have an inhering yearning to heavens, aka like a memory of what they used to be, but are no longer"
(while I am good in science, and have a rational mind, I see many scientists are blind for these reasons, they only want to "know" what can be controlled, to gain more power to chance things, and are vain in wanting recognision of others. It does not even apear to them that that is not objective science at all, like Jesus said, none is as blind who cannot see, and only those who are prepared to loose themselves will keep themselves)
-> there is much more depth in what Jesus said than many christians often know, many are just as control freaky, with a book in their hand they use THEIR minds and THEIR ideas and THEIR institutes to control and be vain just the same as science does. Christ ment it when he said he left HIS spirit to guide us, why than are we using still our mortal brains to try to puzzle things out on our own, to obtain control?
-> and what I say is not the same as new age mumbo jumbo, witchcraft too often wants control and many of those people are just out there for vanity, power and money too. Those who are not are often hedonistic, just out their for their next endorphine shock, drug induced or otherwise, not how to find the truth either.

This episode hints to many of those features, control vs communion, a sence of things to come and that have been, but no hard memory, and for doing so I like it.

more down to earth, when picard confronts Q he does see mankind one day becoming like Gods and evolving beyond even Q's ability's, this shows one way of that to become true. (as I hinted before the Q may have simply evolved from biological beings, and my bet is Q has evolved from humans (thats why he is so interested in them, where the other Q, not so much as they must be of different races)

I give it 4/4 stars, for introducing many of such concepts.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 1:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Sisko's "It's easy to be a saint when you're in paradise" speech is probably one of his best moments in all of DS9, even if it is more than a little preachy with an obvious lesson and reminiscent of the sort of speeches Kirk would make. And very relevant today, I might add.

DS9 really excelled at the level of character dialogue when the writers put their minds to it (see every line ever uttered by Garak).

Yeesh, Nechayev was really unsympathetic this time. I was so glad when Ross came along in season 6.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

Not sure where to write this, so I'll write it here:

I loved, LOVED, the character of Admiral Ross. He carried a certain gravitas which balanced out the gung-ho attitude of Our Heroes, and came across as a genuinely sympathetic Admiral we could look up to instead of becoming either: (1) Distant Figure On A Viewscreen Giving Our Heroes the Orders Setting the Plot In Motion (2) Hardheaded Unsympathetic Distant Stupid Admiral Giving Unreasonable Orders (Nechayev in "Maquis Part II") (3) Crooked Admiral Who Drank The Water at Starfleet HQ (Pressman in TNG, Leyton in "Paradise Lost" and too many others to count). Even when Ross crossed an ethical line in "Inter Arma" the following season, he still came across as sympathetic, someone pressed into making a desperate moral compromise because he's sick and tired of ordering people to their deaths.

And, damnit, he *looked* and *felt* like an Admiral, instead of someone who was playacting. Ross was one of DS9's best recurring characters and one of the show's unsung gems.

Very sad to hear of Barry Jenner's passing; I know that I'll miss him for sure.
Set Bookmark
Frank
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 1:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I loved Similitude because of a few reasons
1. Any Star Trek fan of the original series knows the show has unrealistic superhero ways of saving the all important Crew and the real interesting question is this a cool way that they saved the Star Trek world?
For me it was a strong yes.
The character bonds of loyalty and friendship is the real draw for me in the series because I feel it is something we all would love to have in a perfect world so that is why I ignore the Big Bang Therory arguments of making it work because it would probably take way too long to tell the story correctly in less than an hour.

The topics that are addressed are Sim's complete innocence. Trip is flawed in many ways but Sim is a clone innocence. His life is so short lived that it represents pure innocence which is a great topic to ponder.
I also like the dilemma of whose feelings love T'pol, Trip or Sim and I also love the logic with T'Pol's affectionate kiss because how could she logically evaluate that innocence other than pure. I liked the fact that Sim's short love of his life gave him the perfect goodbye.

I loved Sim's attitude of such a short life better say the most important things to the most important people like calling Phlox a good father since that was truly his reality.
Sim's Sacrifice and his reasoning that was his meaning to life, what he is here for that question we all ponder and see he is part of a greater whole.

I also liked the way they started with the funeral and it didn't take long knowing Star Trek that it was Sim's funeral but it was a cool mix of bringing up a possible cure for Sim and his desire to live and the end result of although his life was only days it was far more significant than most people accomplish in decades of life.

I liked the Porthos scenes with Sim since dogs also have a short life and innocences and I think we all that love dogs can relate to Sim's death like a beloved pet.

The connections with this episode are to many important life's questions and dilemmas.

This world is flawed but it sure is nice to escape to the Star Trek world where they solve all of these mysteries in less than an hour and this episode hit on my favorites.


Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Thu, Dec 1, 2016, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Weak, weak, weak. Even weaker than Part I, which I gave 2 1/2 stars, and I would only give 2 stars to Part II. Vin and BC are two of the most irritating plot ciphers I've seen on Star Trek, with their antics merely designed as filler (along with pointless hostage negotiation scenes and other boilerplate TV material) to generate enough artificial tension to keep us watching this episode. This annoying stuff does give us some really powerful scenes of Sisko shouting at both of them, but it's really not worth it. This episode should have been a one-parter; maybe then the plotting would have been tighter ala the classic "City on the Edge of Forever" of TOS. As such, this second part of the episode suffers from jettisoning the social commentary and emotional residue of the first part, merely following its predetermined course (Sisko replacing Bell) without a single surprise whatsoever and with plenty of ho-hum cop show material. Yuck. But I did like Clint Howard (Balok on TOS, among other Trek roles) in his quirky little cameo appearance with Dax and Bashir.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,437
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.