Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,331 (Showing 26-50)

Next »« PreviousPage 2 of 814
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:34am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@ Sean :

If you consider human psychological evolution to increase in speed as much as the technological evolution the Trek-verse asks you to believe, it's not so difficult to conceive. Think about how much weaker religion's hold on us is now compared to 400 years ago. With the disappearance of money and corporate political institutions, religion serves to purpose in the Federation. I'm certain that people are still spiritual (there is evidence of this), but organised religion is anathema to the kind of civilisation we see.
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Ten minutes in and I'm pissed off again. Holo-Barclay says that everyone's looking forward to seeing Seven because she was Borg. Despite the odds she was able to re-claim her humanity. No one's every done that before. -_-

Did this show seriously just forget about Picard? The Best of Both Worlds? Wolf 359? One of the best and most exciting stories of Star Trek ever? Was the beginning of DS9? None of this ringing a bell to any of you idiots writing this horrible excuse for a Star Trek show? No? Ok... moving on. >_>
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:13am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I have a hard time accepting the premise that religion wouldn't exist at all in the Star Trek future. If anything, religion is notorious for its lack of ability to change. Knowing that there are alien races out there wouldn't stop religion from existing. Being able to explore the galaxy wouldn't stop it. WW3 wouldn't stop it. A nuclear war might even make MORE people religious.

I just can't see a point where religion just sort of stops existing. All of it, worldwide. It doesn't make sense. Indeed, you'd probably see aliens adopting human religion and vice versa. It just doesn't go away as easily as Trek wants it to. It never historically has. No matter how non-religious the population tends to be, religion is still there and pops back up again and again.
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 1:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Ok. Stop. Stop everything. I'm about a minute and a half in and I'm already pissed off. Harry "Can't Get a Lock Kim" says that the "transceiver wasn't designed to hold photonic data, we've got to get it out of there before it degrades." Just shoot me already. So you're telling me that when you sent the Doctor to Zimmerman and when he was sent back to Voyager, the transceiver was not designed to hold his program and so they had to pull him out quicly before he degraded? Did he know he was going to be facing such danger? I mean they treat him like a regular sentient being, so he should probably be aware of something that could potentially kill him.
TMB - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 7:03pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

As said by many others, this movie killed Trek for two major reasons (and a couple minor ones):

1. The scripts for Insurrection and Nemesis were no better than a regular episode and couldn't carry the weight of a feature film. They were boring and winning no new fans. "Mustachioed Villain with BS motivations a doomsday weapon and a countdown part n" would have been a good working title.

2. Everything about this plot was a big middle finger to the loyal fans they had left. Every five minutes was a major break in years of continuity built between TNG, DS9, and even parts of the previous couple movies. I wasn't expecting the movie to cater to fanboys, but it was like the writers never watched a single episode of Star Trek before making the movie. As a fan of Trek I spent more time scratching my head than watching the movie the first time around.

3. The TNG movies could have been called "Picard and Data parts I-IV." Every single plot was about them and only them. The rest of the cast combined probably didn't equal their screen time.

4. The TNG series ended on a fairly high note, but they were running out of ideas and laid the groundwork for DS9 and Voyager. The movies had nothing to offer except show us how the TNG cast was aging before our eyes.
Kahryl - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 2:54pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

WHY did Picard not get this guy's phone number??
Robert - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I guess I just mean that Kirk didn't seem to have been in there 100 years and that a piece of Guinan still seemed to be connected to it. I don't mean that it's entirely un-linear, it just didn't feel as linear as our reality. Certain things about that realm seem to work like the prophet's realm. It's probably over complicating it though to compare 2 things we don't understand with each other.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 11:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Elliot,

I agree with a lot of what you post but I don't agree at all WRT your take on "First Contact procedures" here.

"DAX: I think we might want to skip formal first contact procedures for now.
SISKO: Agreed. Why don't you meet him by yourself at the airlock, Mister O'Brien. He might find that a little less intimidating.
O'BRIEN: Aye, sir.
SISKO: And, if you can, find out what he's so nervous about.
O'BRIEN: Aye, sir."

Sisko made a judgement call based on his observations. He had no idea a group of soldiers was hunting him. Letting him stay with Obrien was reasonable. It's not like Obrien was all alone. Odo & company were just a chest tap away.

Did Picard go through "First Contact procedures" with Data's pen pal? No.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 11:24am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

@ Robert.

Good points all. I like that take on the orbs.

I don't know that the Nexus compairison is the right one though. Linear time was never an issue with it. One exited when one wanted to, not when the Nexus said to.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 11:18am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Very good episode, although I don't give it a 4.0 for a couple reasons.

#1. This episode assumes that Sisko, Kira, Odo, Star Fleet and the Federation just sit back and accept that Obrien committed these crimes. I know the episode say the Argrathi convicted, sentenced and administered punishment before anyone could do anything, but Kira was there – you telling me she wouldn’t do anything? The punishment only took a "few hours". So either Kira was there with him and didn’t put up a fight, or they were close enough to get her there quickly and if that’s the case why didn’t they go? eeesh.... Are these folks a member of the Federation, are the in the GQ? Wow, Picard didn't even do that when Wesley broke stupid laws on that planet (whatever the name of it was). He respected their process until it led to Wesley being put to death, and then he said enough is enough. It was convenient for this episode, but damn.... on your own I guess, right O'Brien?

#2. 20 years? NO ONE makes it that long under the conditions Obrien was subject to. That's the equivalent of getting thrown in solitary confinement. No food for weeks? No bathrooms? Not even a cot? The sentence was 15 cycles, why did he do 20?

#3. Was Ee'Char, played wonderfully by Craig Wasson, put in there by the Argrathi to help O'Brien get through the punishment? ... or was he too being punished and this mind gizmo linked the two together?

#4. I understand (I think) why the writers chose Bashir (O’Brien’s best friend) but I thought his little pep talk at the end was not delivered very well and therefore not very moving. It should have been given by Keiko. I think she would have had a much more emotional impact, and it was O'Bien's emotions that were getting the best of him. Hell, if I were Bashir, I would have tackled him.

#5. Obrien said: “mankind had out grown hate and rage” …. Really? How can he believe that? I guess he should have told Picard that while fighting the Borg in First Contact, or Janeway while pursuing the Equinox, or Sisko when he gasses planets to make them uninhabitable for the Maquis… strive for it, have improved as a race controlling them, but how could anyone believe it is a reality?

I don’t see this as a “reset button” episode. What was eating away at O’Brien was the fact he killed his cell mate/friend, not that he had been cooped up for 20 years. Once he acknowledged that, I don’t see the “road to recovery” taking that long for Miles. I also don’t see the need for pills that prohibit hallucinations either. When we saw Ee'Char acknowledging Obrien and leaving at the end, I think it was clear to Obrien that he wouldn’t be seeing/needing him again. Ee'Char was helping Obrien, just like he had in the cell.

While Colm’s performance was a good one, there are too many “WTF’s” to give this one a 4.0. Bashir not being able to wipe just those memories away I don’t think is one of them BTW.

3 stars for me.
Admiral Crunch - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 10:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

"Can someone tell me what Odo was doing on the station before he helped dukat in this episode? He just a decided to leave bajor and live on ds9 which was basically a prison camp??"

I assume he was on Bajor, and Ducat had him brought to the station for this assignment. Quark had never met him before, which wouldn't have been likely if Odo had been on the station previously.

"At the end Kira says she's tried to tell Odo. I call BS. She could have told him multiple times in the episode but didn't."

I thought she explained very well why she hadn't told him. "Tried" as in wanted to but couldn't bring herself to go through with it, not "tried" as in kept getting interrupted or something.
Robert - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 9:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I always thought the orbs exist partially in the prophet's realm and that exposing yourself to it brings you in connection with that realm.

An orb shadow is because it's not linear, so technically once you've been exposed to the prophet's realm a piece of you is always there, since, from the perspective of their realm your exposure is not "in the past".

I'm not saying it all makes perfect sense (and as you say we might not be able to grasp it entirely if it did), but it works a LOT like the Nexus with Picard being able to come out minutes after he was absorbed, Kirk coming out a century later and a piece of Guinan still being connected to it.
Robert - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 9:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I see what you're saying, but I don't think Sisko DID think it was the best choice. I think Miles thought it was the best choice and once he did it (and Sisko was going to have to reprimand him for disobeying orders anyway) he might as well let him finish.
Sean - Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 1:18am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Elliott, not all Starfleet officers are scientists. There are engineers, doctors, tactical officers, and yes, security officers whose sole job is to keep people safe with military training. The Starfleet officers in this battle are mostly of those later variety, security officers. That is why they joined Starfleet, what they are trained to do. To fight and defend. However, we do see other officers: engineers who are scared and ineffectual at fighting. They aren't trained as well in combat and so aren't prepared for it when it happens. As you say they should be.

Starfleet is a sort of NASA/Military hybrid. It is primarily a scientific exploration organization, but it also functions as a military. Notice that this is not the first time Starfleet has fought a war. And this is not the last. They've fought Romulans in the 22nd century, Klingons on and off for hundreds of years, and the Borg several times including the infamous Wolf 359. Starfleet is not ineffectual in its military duties. Yes, it is more of a science organization, but that doesn't mean it's a slouch on military.
Elliott - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 11:58pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

@Sean: plots don't make a show good. Any story can be great or terrible, it's about the execution. The writers were under no obligation to play fan service and please the base.
Sean - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 11:49pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

This is one of the best bad episodes of all of Star Trek. It's pretty awesome. It ranks up there with Threshold, Profit and Lace, Genesis, and of course the original bad Star Trek episode: Spock's Brain.
Sean - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 11:42pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

This episode is trolling. I swear. It's trolling people who actually wanted Voyager to be good. It had so much promise. But it settled for mediocrity.

This episode not only has the long wanted mutiny that would have been fantastic near the beginning of the show, but it also has a line by one of the Maquis that would have made a good story in its own right: Starfleet telling Janeway to arrest the Maquis. It's basically just saying "Hey look at the plot threads we could have done to make Voyager a good show! Are you happy now?" Ugh.

I wonder if Voyager's writers actually had a long leash they could have made something good like DS9. Although the way Berman and Braga write, I highly doubt that. Perhaps if Moore and Piller had been in charge.
Sonya - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 8:09pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

During the scene where Geordi and Data have a conversation about suicide, Data observes Geordi sigh, lean back, and cross his arms to prepare for discussing a heavy topic. Data crosses his arms in the same way while checking Geordi's form to make sure he gets the gesture correct. It's like you can see the wheels turning in his positronic brain. Brent Spiner really did make small scenes a joy to watch.

Elliott - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 6:44pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

"What was the alternative? Have the report say "Well we had a security breach but I decided to ignore it?""

Yes. Own your choices, commander. Explain why you thought it was the better choice. Starfleet (at least until Necheyev was introduced) is not hard-headed and unreasonable.

Your example from TNG is actually a good point--I dislike the way that episode ended more than the way it botches the message it was trying to deliver. It is, however, not the way Picard normally acted; your example from "Reunion" is more typical.
SkepticalMI - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 6:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Heh, I thought Madbaggins and Elliot's comments from a couple years ago were pretty funny. Because DS9 DID do this episode. And Jammer did give it 3 stars...

I'm referring to the Season 6 outing "One Little Ship". It's got the same basic plot. Some of the cast members undergo a Very Silly Transformation. Meanwhile, the bad guys take over the ship. Fortunately, they don't notice the transformed crew, and so these crewmembers use their Very Silly Transformation to their advantage to save the day via Wacky Hijinks.

So which one was better? I think we can all agree that DS9 outshone TNG by a parsec in the "ship getting hijacked" section; the Jem'Hadar make much better villains than the Ferengi. This was so embarrassingly bad that Worf and Riker ought to be demoted to latrine duty for losing the ship. As should every other member of the crew. 8-10 Ferengi boarding a ship with 1000 people (probably 300 or so of which are Starfleet) and taking it over? Worf missing the Ferengi with his phaser from 10 ft away? Data not snapping them in half within 5 seconds? How did the Enterprise crew not all die of shame after losing this badly? If the Drumhead happened after this episode, I would consider this to be perfect evidence that every member of the crew is guilty of treason...

OK, so that's a very, very difficult bite in the "willing suspension of disbelief" pie. Probably even a more difficult bite than the de-aging spatial anomaly and the ribo-viloxic-nucleic acids or whatever. Once again, rather than making up random physics for their technobabble, they just make up random biology. At least in Genesis, if you turned off your brain then the introns causing de-evolution thing might kinda sorta totally work by magic, if only because introns actually exist. But RVN? Where the heck did that come from? They should have said that the spatial anomaly affected the telomeres or stem cells or something, anything but making up new molecules that we know don't exist.

But then again, DS9's was pretty hokey too. So let's call that a wash.

The other big big difference between the two episodes is what they did with it. From what I remember, DS9 just ran with the concept without using it for any drama or character development. Yet here, it was actually a key part of the episode. On the one hand, I can easily see the DS9 argument: it's already a very silly episode, why would you try to treat it otherwise? The Adam West Batman era would look silly with any of the Christian Bale-era melodrama, so why would you want to add it in?

But on the other hand, it actually worked with TNG! OK, so Keiko's bit was, while reasonably well done, rather boring. It's perfectly understandable that she would have the most negative reaction to the whole situation, since as a wife and mother she has the most to lose. But since it's a Very Silly Transformation anyway, what relevance does it actually have? And do we really want to ponder the implications of Miles being married to a 12 year old girl?

But Ro's character arc made perfect sense, and was good to see (regardless of the acting quality of these two kids). Unfortunately, Guinan was being very annoying here. Touting how wonderful childhood can be may be fine, but the way she did it was rather presumptuous. Saying Ro must have had some happy times? To someone who lived through the Occupation? Saw her father murdered? And no compassion at all from the famous Listener? It could have been much better, with Guinan teaching Ro that this childhood COULD turn out differently, and there's no reason not to enjoy it when it's there for the taking. Even still, seeing Ro drawing at the end was a nice touch.

And kidPicard's scene with Troi was very good. One of the best supporting scenes Troi has had in the series! Picard's introspection was very well done here, contrasting his obvious frustration with the open-mindedness that he is famous for. He clearly objects to being treated like a child, and yet clearly understands why others would do that. And while he understandably is dismissive of his career options as being less than ideal (the crack about being Wesley's roommate was pretty funny), he is at least open to them. I liked the little introspective line about how he always looked forward rather than looking back, and he's afraid that this is now he is forced to look back.

In the end, I consider both episodes to be mediocre. DS9's was better executed, perhaps, but didn't take any real risks. It was just a silly and forgettable episode. TNG's was much shakier in execution, but took the risk of trying to say something meaningful. Even there it was hit and miss, but the few hits at least meant they tried. Neither are very good, and perhaps neither should have been made. But at least they weren't complete losses. But both were signs that the shows were starting to run out of ideas.

(Hope nobody interprets this as trying to start another DS9/TNG flame war, or criticizing Jammer's opinions. I just saw a huge similarity in these episodes, saw no one else commented on it, and decided to run with it.)

Also as an aside, this is the second season in a row that completely failed in terms of episode alignments in the first half of the season. Last season, we had the kid-centric New Ground and Hero Worship back to back, and this season we have the Very Silly Rascals and Fistful of Datas back to back. Sigh...

Out of curiosity, if Picard went back to being 12, did he get his real heart back? If so, then what happened to his artificial one?
Yanks - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 5:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

@ Robert - Tue, Jul 29, 2014 - 1:54pm (USA Central)

Sorry, I got ahead of myself. :-) I was using Jammer's comment browser and didn't see your first response.

I'm not sure I understand the "it's not linear" thing. Whether they understand it or not, it was linear for us.

But, that said, I suppose we are talking about something that is as foreign to us as linear is to them. So being confused is authorized! :-)

So... how does this "Orb Shadow" play? hmmm... this is sounding like maybe a test? Is this a method of communication to Sisko from the prophets?

Loved seeing Opaka once again. I forgot to mention that.

It was nice to see her "shadow" tell Sisko "You are of Bajor". Stuff like this always meant more to me coming from her. I guess we are right to assume this is coming from the prophets.

Yanks - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 4:47pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

@ Robert.

Ah, thanks. That makes sense.
Elliott - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 4:15pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

Teaser : *** , 5%

So, Bashir is still hitting on Dax, anxious to cure her of all the exotic STI's he's picked up out here on the frontier. On the other hand, she's a damned cock-tease. Stop eating with him if you're just stringing him along!

Dax is grabbed by the cloaked fellows, Bashir turns the corner and sees her...10 seconds later..."Dax!" It's a small thing, but if you're going to do an action scene, don't pace it so laughably. Since we aren't getting any tension from the music, it's on you Mr Director.

The scene may look silly, but conceptualised, it's a good teaser: to the point, with an upward dramatic curve and looming questions.

Act 1 : ***.5, 17%

We get a decent and functional chase scene (held back only by Ferrel's confusing "injured" with "sleepy." Also what's with that smile when she steps off the airlock? While it seems like this whole chase is just a gimmick (Action Insert) since the Clytemnestra or whatever they're called were trying to *extradite* Dax, it is later revealed to be part of trying to circumvent a legal technicality.

Act 2 : ****, 17%

The next several scenes are good for the following reasons: the characterisation elements are *revealed* by the plot. Yes, we get from point A to point B (Sisko and Kira force the Clytemnestra into an extradition hearing), but everyone's actions say something about who they are; Odo is diligent and skeptical, with no particular attachment to Dax; Sisko is loyal to his friend, pursuing every avenue of aid at his disposal, even when she asks him not to; Kira is self-righteous and temperamental; Dax displays a conflict between Kurzon's and Jadzia's feelings; and the Clytron (or whatever) subtly reveals his anxiety over needing to capture Dax. None of these ideas is stated outright, it's DEMONSTRATED.

RIshon Uxbridge returns from the dead with a new crinkly nose! So, we get opening arguments, and the premise is revealed; much like "The Measure of a Man," the trial will examine the nature life, individuality and sentience via sci-fi twist (Trill joining). This is classic Trek and presents a very absorbing draw. There's also the hinting of a deeper tragedy here in Dax's unwillingness to comment or return Sisko's smile. As we saw in "Emissary," so long as Ferrel doesn't have to talk, she can be counted upon to deliver.

Act 3 : ***, 17%

For the first time, Sisko's slippery brand of morality finds a fitting venue; he isn't breaking laws or violating ethics, but he is brushing aside all objectivity in his quest to save Dax. In this instance, it's okay, however. It would have been a little braver of the writers not to have the Clytemnestra practise capital punishment. Sisko is desperate because he wants to save Dax' life; this blurs the argument slightly as the Trills' nature is a relevant topic to pursue without this looming threat.

There's a bit of legal griping to get out of the way: so Trill is a Federation world now (I don't think Odan was considered a citizen). This is why Sisko has Kira and Bashir look for Federation precedents on the legal status of Trills' antecedent selves' actions. So, shouldn't Dax get a Federation lawyer? In MoaM, the excuse for having Picard defend Data had to do with the JAG office's lack of personnel. What's the excuse here? Wait a minute, even if Dax is a Federation citizen, the basis on which they're holding the hearing at all is that the Clytemnestra are extraditing from *Bajor* and NOT the Federation, so shouldn't the legal precedent for Dax' status be determined by Bajoran law? It seems like they invoke the Bajor/Federation division of authority when it's convenient and ignore it when it's not (just like in "A Man Alone").

Odo checks in to deliver news that adds a mystery element to the story and introduce us to Data's mother...I mean the Clytemnestra's mother. There's a bit of goofy block in this scene, with the widow walking sideways and backwards while fixing her gaze on Odo. Good thing she didn't trip and break her prosthetics. And, oh....widow wants to know about Kurzon. Well yep, looks like they were banging. There's a wrinkle.

The Trill Peers gives his testimony. I guess the budget ran out on decent guest actors as we get the Mitt Romney-tron delivery. The arguments that follow are high on substance, low on style. Which is a good thing. Court room drama has to do a lot of exposition in order to cinch the closing arguments. I only wish they'd found a better actor for Peers.

Act 4 : ***, 17%

I like the arbiter's acerbic irritation with this whole affair.

Bashir's beaming pride and moderate arrogance with his work is sort of charming here.

Sisko : "[Kurzon Dax] probably wasn't the ideal Trill. He drank a little too much. He could be more interested in women than maybe he should have been...he was not at all like the young woman in this courtroom." Can't help but revel in the irony of Worf-era Dax (drinking, partying, gambling, lesbian-ing...)

Sisko lays his little trap for Clytemnestra and, unfortunately, he walks into it a little too easily. He eagerly points out that Kurzon's culpability implicates Dax, thus proving Sisko's argument about the individual nature of each host-symbiont pairing. It's just a bit pat, especially against the rest of the episode. Brooks' portrayal is predictably distracting--smiling wide-eyed and over-enunciating. How about a little nuance there, Avery? Let me see; he's.....happy! Got it.

Odo checks in to reveal what we already knew, that the widow and Kurzon were shtupping during the war.

Act 5 : ***.5, 17%

So it turns out the General was an asshole, but a national hero and both the widow and Dax are sacrificing themselves for the reputation of another. The question in Dax' case is, is this the same sense of honour of which Sisko spoke in his testimony a product of Dax, passed on from the man he knew, or is it the new host, Jadzia, applying her own flavour of morality to her inherited memories?

My pondering this interesting question is painfully interrupted by Sisko raising his *fist* to Jadzia's face and lamenting that she is a woman now, and thus he can't punch her. Okay... then we get a story about how SIsko almost killed a man for throwing a drink in his face. Uhuh... Based on this and the events of "Tapestry," I'm starting to wonder if Starfleet isn't feeding their cadets crazy pills. Why is this man so damned angry?

Anyway, Jadzia reveals that she is indeed struggling with her memories via the metaphor of Kurzon's scar-producing ring.

So we get to the closing arguments. The question..."is not the new host responsible for the actions of its previous incarnations?" is interrupted by the revelation that Kurzon was ploughing the widow during the alleged betrayal. And we never really get an answer (which is okay, by the way).

I'm a little tired of these conversations on the promenade while two people slowly walk to no place in particular. How often do people converse like this? Trying to see where they're going will walking *next* to someone so they can be seen by the camera? It reminds me of all those dialogue scenes in the Star Wars prequels. Just lazy blocking. In any event, the widow tells Jadzia to stop living other peoples' lives, which is an appropriate way to close the episode.

Episode as Functionary : ***.5, 10%

As an allegory, the Trill make a good soapbox for the issues of familial inheritance. Just like Odan was thought to be his previous host's *son* the question of living in the shadow of one's progenitors is magnified for closer inspection by the sci-fi conceit. Most of the character work with Jadzia is done vicariously, with other people examining her on her behalf. In this way, it's weaker than "Measure of a Man," where Data did a lot of his own heavy-lifting. That said, it was very good work. Sisko's character is softened a bit (anger issues aside) and we get some good characterisations all around as well as a strong guest cast, with the exception of Peers.

Final Score : ***.5
Kahryl - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 3:42pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

How did the aliens get the antimatter to run their silver-Voyager??
Kahryl - Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 3:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I don't understand this ending. It's presented as the end to the Dominion threat - but the only thing the Alpha powers did was recapture the Alpha quadrent. In the process almost every Alpha power has been devestated, while the Dominion territory is *completely* untouched. Sure, it'll be tricky to get a foothold again with the wormhole as a bottleneck, but they did it the first time.. and now the Alpha quadrent is exhausted.
Next »« PreviousPage 2 of 814
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer