Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,627 (Showing 26-50)

Next »« PreviousPage 2 of 986
Argent - Tue, May 19, 2015, 10:50pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

I've been watching on Netflix and reading Jammer's review after every episode. Feel the same as Azdude, this is the first time I disagree with Jammer. To me, this was one of the best eps of any of the Star Trek series. Can't dispute the plot holes mentioned by others, but the Aenar really moved me, loved learning about their culture and seeing the interaction between Shran and Jhamel. The Aenar may be my favorite alien species yet, wish we could see more of them. The Romulans were also interesting, particularly the conflicted scientist who followed orders but was clearly unhappy about what they were doing to the pilot.
Gil - Tue, May 19, 2015, 10:42pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

For a notoriously "stupid" episode I found it actually quite well scripted and directed; plus I enjoyed both Bakula's and Billingsley's performances. So, while it isn't amongst the best of Enterprise in terms of plotting, I certainly wouldn't lump it amongst the worst episodes either…some of the antics genuinely made me chuckle.
Gil - Tue, May 19, 2015, 9:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Sure, you could pick it to pieces if you wanted to (like any other Trek show) but the exemplary direction, above average writing (for Enterprise, that is), and game performances engage you sufficiently that you're willing to overlook any weaknesses in the plotting.

I consider Dead Stop to be amongst the best episodes the series ever produced.
Pafan - Tue, May 19, 2015, 7:23pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

The destruction of Pegasus was a bad move and did not seem necessary with proper planning. Adama should have taken Pegasus into battle, a superior Battlestar to Galactica, in the first place. (Really he should have taken both ships)

Realistically, Adama should have taken command of Pegasus after Caine was killed.

In an alternate scenario, Galactica could have been sacrificed and Pegasus then renamed Galactica.
Pam - Tue, May 19, 2015, 3:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

As soon as I saw who was inside the probe, I knew this was going to be an exciting episode. I haven't got much to say (there's plenty of brilliant analysis here already), except that I, too, enjoyed this more than Jammer. But then I tend to enjoy character-driven episodes a wee bit more than plot-driven ones, and so I can ignore the weak excuses for having K'Ehleyr show up on the Enterprise, and just enjoy the fact that she's there. I must have missed this episode when it originally aired, because I remember being surprised when all of a sudden Worf had a son a few seasons later. I'd probably give this one at least three, if not three and a half stars.
Robert - Tue, May 19, 2015, 10:24am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

@Del_Duio - Worf's reveal was kind of right on the tip of his tongue anyway. That one didn't bother me. Ezri claims to not even have realized she loved Julian until Worf told her what she said. That one was too convenient.

All Worf says is "No! No! I will not dishonour her memory."

Ezri says "I was your wife. Why don't you talk to me? I love you. Kiss me. Kiss me, Julian."

It's too convenient for sure.
Dohavior - Tue, May 19, 2015, 8:21am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

The Fortune used lower warp speed to purposefully make itself an easy target. Their cargo ship served as a decoy in order to safe guard other ships. It did nothing for revenge as they took no casualties when they took a prisoner. They were winning against the pirates and about to reclaim many stolen goods. This should have been Starfleet's military priority to eliminate such aggressors yet they failed in this moral regard. The crew of the Fortune made a fool of the Captain's immorality when he over stepped his authority applying his ethics liberally to pirate scum. The starfleet away team would all have died there if for not abusing their technological advantage to mitigate consequence for their immoral actions. The Captain had no justification for any of his logic as he went in blindly refusing to admit his course of action to avoid judgement knowing full well it was a misdeed. In his final speech he defered to a literal living breathing straw man blind with emotion rather than be put in his place for using irrational and blind logic.

All inhereted logic is emotion and it is fallible. Either it be passed down by authority, religion, schooling, parenting, inbred instinct it is all fallible unless tested to be tried and true with wisdom granted by experience. Autonomy is always the correct path. The starfleet crew had no purpose being there other than to bully.

What prompted defeat for the Fortune crew was not blowing their ship up and using the escape pods all because they relied on instinct that it was their home. Starfleet would have no choice but to come to their aid and without the aliens around the Fortune crew would own that outpost. They fell prey to the very same illogical immorality that plagued the Starfleet brought about from stockholme syndrome.

Opterant conditioning and the 8 deadly sins are one in the same.
jonn walsh - Tue, May 19, 2015, 7:17am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Shapeshifters. 10 minutes from Earth at Warp 9.
How can you get past that?
How can we meet ANY species in the first season of this show that isn't well known by the time 1701-D is roaming the Alpha Quadrant 215 years later, not to mention Kirk and the boys on 'no bloody A, B, C, or D' in 110 years, for that matter.
And, oh yes. I forgot. We're going to meet the Ferengi next week with Neelix making an appearance. Why?)
And the Borg are coming....
We meet species Picard will make first contact with and we meet species within months at Warp 4.5 (hours, minutes at Warp 9?) that we'll never hear of again......
Why oh why.
We DID NOT need a Ferengi episode (and I like the DS9 Ferengi shows).
And now it's all reboot.
Profound sadness.
I grieve with thee.
zzybaloobah - Tue, May 19, 2015, 12:13am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Here's where it became clear to me that BSG had jumped the shark.
But they didn't just jump the shark, they brought in Evel Knievel (aka Katee Sackhoff) to jump Sharktopus. And told you for months that the jump was coming.

And yet somehow managed to keep it interesting.

It's at this point that I started comparing BSG to Lost. In both cases, the "plot" went on its own pre-determined path, regardless of what the characters did.
"All of this has happened before, and all of this will happen again." At which point, the characters may as well kick back, pop a cold one, and go along for the ride. Hide from the Cylons? Why bother -- they'll show up as required by whomever / whatever is pulling the strings. Fly CAP? Again, why -- the Cylons will do whatever damage is required to push Galactica into whatever action is required.

BSG has made deus-ex-machina into a theme of the series.

I lost all interest in LOST -- I neither cared where the plot was going, nor did I care much about any of the characters.

I think BSG is going somewhere; I struggle with caring where. I'm mentally preparing myself for an epic FAIL, but maybe the writers will have a good resolution to this mess. And I do like the characters, so I care about what happens to them.

Regarding this episode..... I have mixed feelings. If you buy the whole "Starbuck has a destiny" angle ("would you look at the size of that shark!"), then it hangs together well. If you don't, then it's about Kara's final descent into madness -- with WAY too much time spent on her private delusions. There should have been more aftermath -- how does Lee deal with his horribly bad decision to let her fly?

Don't get me wrong.... I still love BSG (this is like the 4th or 5th viewing for me)...
legrate - Mon, May 18, 2015, 10:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I agree with the praise for Picard's wonderful moment there. I really felt it would have been stronger if they had left out the dialogue of "we're here to explore, not to kill"... yes, we know, and we recognized your joy and pain (and its motivation) from the acting, without the clunky speech for the cheap seats.
Matt - Mon, May 18, 2015, 10:01pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Peter Konrad - Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - 5:04am (USA Central)
This reviewer has made a conscious effort to avoid understanding what the episodes are about.

Wow.. statements like this are great when you don't even try to back them up. Bravo!
Gil - Mon, May 18, 2015, 6:45pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

If you take the charitable view that Enterprise was written by 13 yr olds for an intended 10 yr old audience then alot is forgivable.
Peter Coutts - Mon, May 18, 2015, 3:56pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

I rather like the Reptilian make up and costumes although I am not sure how they could get through the scanner at the spaceport wearing slinkies.
I think the female sphere builders look like Odo's relatives.
Kidnapping Hoshi seems senseless.
Paul M. - Mon, May 18, 2015, 12:48pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

So, I have to ask... Is the guy who pretends he's different people and then debates with himself back?

This whole thread is becoming kinda creepy.
Eric - Mon, May 18, 2015, 11:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

There have been a lot of interesting comments posted here on this episode, always one of my very favorite for DS9. I would suggest that any of you Garak lovers out there pick up a copy of the book called "A Stitch in Time" written by Andrew Robinson, the actor who played Garak in the show. It is quite simply the very best Star Trek novel ever written and gives a fascinating perspective of Garak's entire life both before and after the events of the series.
Del_Duio - Mon, May 18, 2015, 11:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

I liked this episode, but what I didn't really like were how Worf and Ezri's "dream dialogues" were straight out of a script from Plot Convienence Theater-(tm).

I mean, what are the odds that the two of them just happen to say something like this (I'm going to paraphrase here, so forgive me)

Worf: "NO! JADZIA! I DISHONOR YOUR MEMORY BY SCREWING AROUND WITH EZRI!!"

Ezri: "Oh how I love you! No, not you Worf, but JULIAN!"

Okay, okay, well a lot of that was super heavily implied of course but what are the chances that while they were both in a Breen-induced state of delusion they just both happen to blurt out how the whole Worf / Ezri relationship isn't gonna' work out in the end.

I don't know, that whole bit felt really forced and fake. Otherwise, I liked this episode.
SecMan - Mon, May 18, 2015, 10:22am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

I'm watching Enterprise beginning to end again. When it was first on TV, I really did not like it. But I think Trek was kinda "tired" then and I probably didn't give it a fair shake.

As I watch Season 1 for the first time in years (on Blu Ray), I'd say the show is better than I remember it. It's not "great" Trek, certainly not in TNG / TOS levels of greatness, but it's OK. I think it's as good as Voyager and not totally out of DS9 qualities in some ways. I appreciate on second viewing that the show is more slow-paced, with more emphasis on character development. I also like that the crew - outside of the tension with T'Pol - gets along, which is one the most important, unique features of Star Trek. The rush to make "darker" Trek with more and more conflict - DS9 and to some extent Voyager - is way overdone IMO as Trek begins to lose its unique appeal to become just another action-TV series.

One thing I can definitely do without is the BLATANT gratuitous sexuality thrown into this series. The decontamination scenes are just totally out of place and nonsensical (as if you'd use a gel instead of just spraying something on or using something EM...not to mention the idea of privacy). I'm also tired of seeing Archer in various forms of undress (there's one scene where he's in skin-tight underwear where you can literally see the shape of his penis...um no thanks).

But overall, I think I can look through the failings to see a pretty decent, enjoyable show.
John Logan - Mon, May 18, 2015, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I hope nobody reads this, whispers, I LOVE THIS MOVIE. I actually love most of the Star Trek Films. Yes I have seen Redlettermedias, CM`s, SFDBris`, and The Nostalgia Critic/ Linkara reviews. Here is my response:

1. The Federation might claim the planet is in there space but the Baku settled here BEFORE the Federation was founded. So it is like the Collonialists claiming America and calling the Indians tresspassers.

2. This makes this a pure invasion, it is actually worse then with the Indians as they were Federation citizens whom the Federation had authority over, and who settled on a world after it had come to be a part of the Federation.

3. The Baku are the Original inhabitans as they settled there first. The Indians originally claim from Asia also, but they were the first to come there.

4. If one can ignore the prime directive when it serves a greater purpose they could have interfered in the klingon civil war.

5. Unless the prime directive doesn`t apply when you help one people conquer another in which case what the Dominion did could be justified.

In other words, this was an invasion. People have tried to justify this because it serves the greater good, which is ironic, now we have a more morally grey conflict instead of good vs evil and a simple action plot, but now people don`t like how complicated it is.

6. The use of Spocks the needs of the many remark is wrong because: A. He voluntarely sacrificed himself, he didn`t force a man in there to die for the crew, Cartman does stuff like that, B. It was a sollution to an exceptional no wind scenario, C. It was Spocks personal, Vulcan, logical coldblooded opinion, D. Kirk disagrees with him in Star III, E. So does he when he after he accepts his human side in Star Trek IV risks everything to save Mecoy as it is the human thing, and F. Spocks logical is similar to that of the Vulcans and the Borg, valueling each individual is what is supposed to make humans different from the Borg. Slavery also often served many people in societies, so did Eugenics, and forced sterilisation, or drafting people into the army. There is a difference between the rebel pilot in Return of the Jedi commiting a suicide attack, or forcing someone to sacrifice their life.

7. The Sona tried to take over, that is the only reason they were banished. They had slaves and supported the Dominion, and they finally explained how the Dominion kept supplying the Jem Haddar. They wanted revenge, while the Baku wanted to forgive them, and they refused to take anyone prisoner.

8. I don`t agree with living with less technology but Star Trek is supposed to show a diversity of cultures.

9. Picard clearly learned from what happened in the Journeys End. He didn`t like to move them, he was simply following orders, and it didn`t happen. He was also silenced when Wesley resigned as he does here. Wesley clearly impressed him, I think they tried to show Picard grew as a person. I think that what happened with the Maquis showed the Federation was wrong, and I liked how this film showed the effects of both the Borg and the Dominion War. Now that they didn`t just want to screw over their own citizens but seperate cultures Picard realised he had to do something.

10. Both Sisko and Kirk disciplined their officers when they disobeyed orders while both still disobeyed them themselves. In the show Picard also defies orders, at one point just to save Wesley.
John Logan - Mon, May 18, 2015, 8:33am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Eddington Thank you for your balanced response. It is true Fundamentalists Protestants take the bible completely literally, and many Muslims reject science all together. This is ironic as in the nineteenth century rationalists tried to pain Catholicism as anti-science while portraying Islam and Protestantism as pro science. Also it is ironic that like with many issue Protestants are either extremely liberal or super conservative. They are either from the seventeenth century Puritan women don`t work tradition, or the enlighment inspired, modernist, the virgin birth was a metaphor abortion should be allowed for any reason till the baby is independent tradition. Either they bless gay marriages, or they would like them killed.

You are somewhat right about aplied science, but the church doesn`t object to it either. The church was fine with the advancement of medical care as it could help the innocent. Just as long as it is not used to change sexual ethics. Man am I happy that the federal appeals courts in Illinois and Washington ruled that Catholic hospitals and pharmacies do not have to provide the morning after pill. Hey Smile from Boston Legal your anti-Catholic episode was once again outdated by real life court cases. But I am getting extremely off track here.

Thank you. Yes Thomas Of Aquinas got it right on the reason part.

Also talking about generalising both science and religion, this episode can in no way paralell Christianity. Jesus was not an outsider to his believers, had no technological advantage over them, and although Paul was an important preacher the gospels were not written by him, and unlike Protestants both Catholics and Eastern Orthodoxes did not overplay his importance.
Robert - Mon, May 18, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Didn't they spend the previous episode testing Odo. It could literally just be a tiny fraction of Odo goo, right? I haven't seen the episode in awhile.

::blinks at other Robert while stroking goatee::
Robert - Sun, May 17, 2015, 7:03pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Jack, you rate the episode that low because of one minor quibble?
W Smith - Sun, May 17, 2015, 2:29pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Surprised this got 2 stars, it's more like 1 star, after the damning review. Started out with promise, then just got boring full of cliches, and then ended with the surprise of killing all the aliens. I guess it would have been further cliche to have solved the problem for the aliens, but blowing them all up felt quite "un-Trek" in philosophy. I also kept wondering why a non-corporeal lifeform would travel in a corporeal ship. That didn't make any sense, but then the episode was just bad anyway.
Sonya - Sun, May 17, 2015, 2:08pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Rosario said, "And the Doctor was no more ethical than he claimed the administrators were. His actions in Act 4 completely kicked the soap box he was standing on the rest of the episode right out from under him."

I'm surprised more people haven't commented on this. I thought the Doctor's decision to poison the administrator was clearly unethical with respect to his profession. I appreciated the final scene with Seven. Being willing to sacrifice an individual (the "bad" administrator) for the sake of a collective (the sick Level Red patients) does fit with a certain type of ethics. It's interesting to note that this was essentially the logic of Chellick. One subgroup was being sacrificed for another subgroup of society.

I initially saw this episode as an allegory for the U.S. health care system, and an indictment against allowing principles of capitalism to apply to health care. I'm also persuaded by Thomas, above. The episode does seem to assert that rationing of health care based on socioeconomic status is wrong. It also made the same point about rationing of education based on socioeconomic status - another problem in the U.S. 15 years after the air date.
Jack - Sun, May 17, 2015, 10:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

This episode really cheats, and it even lampshaded it with dialogue.

"Are you going to tell me how you faked the blood test"

"Does it matter?"

But...boy does it matter. How did Leyton acquire a sample of changeling material? This is vital to know. We already know that changeling material reduced to the gelatinous state the instant it leaves a changeling entity, so the ruse we witnesses seems quite literally impossible, but the episode seems not to care because it needed a climax. Can't give this episode more than a star and a half.
Mart - Sun, May 17, 2015, 9:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I'm going to disagree here, I hold this episode to be no better than two stars.

The setup is intriguing, and the plot is well-crafted, but the characterisation is lousy, with Krola and Mirasta being mere stereotypes (of the Evil StateSec Guy and the Treehugging Scientist respectively).

The dialogue clunks like a steampunk robot. Poor Patrick Stewart gets a bunch of sanctimonious speeches that even his talent can't make riveting; the babe in the hospital speaking in cult-like adulation of aliens; the declamations of Krola and Mirasta in support of their cardboard cutout roles: it grates.

The only saving grace is a powerful performance on some decent lines for Chancellor Durken.
Next »« PreviousPage 2 of 986
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer