Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,218 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,409
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery


(it's also stupid beyond belief. A hormone-stricken adolescent male is not going to start watching Star Trek just because the producers added a babe in a catsuit. There are plenty of other shows that fill this need better...)

So, so true. For those of us watching it back then, it was sort of "Wow, look at what she's wearing!". But I never heard of ANYONE who started to watch it because they could see Jeri in a catsuit. Ever. If anything, folks who knew nothing about the show would see her and ask "What's up with her outfit?". Mostly, it was more of a negative effect, especially if the commenter was female, because it was so obvious...

Just adding to the thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

Hello Everyone!

I always liked this episode. When I watched this with my Mother during our Friday night get-togethers, a few years later, we laughed and laughed at the puns and jokes. I still think of it that way. Quark was her favorite, actually.

Ferengi Commerce Authority, not Agency. Heh, just had to say it. :)

As with any other culture that was shown in any sort of depth during the Trek's, I simply accepted that this is how the Ferengi's operate. Same as when I saw the Klingon Homeworld, or Romulus, or Cardassia Prime. You might not agree with it, but that is what they do and we hope our heroes will be able to eventually change their political system a bit, so that it is nicer like the Federation (which eventually seems to have one Admiral after another trying to change it).

While reading some of the admittedly good comments above, I had a "Stripes" moment: Lighten up Francis...

Some great lines in this one, that led up to me being in stitches:

---O'Brien: Everyone... (then they all look back down at the lock in unison).
---Brunt: Hard work, bribes, sucking up to the boss—just like any other job.
---Rom: A-haa, you see? I told you! - What is it? Quark: I'm going to kill her!
---Rom: [about his and Quark's father] He went from one bad deal to the next, one failure after another. He couldn't hold on to LATINUM if you SEWED IT INTO HIS PAAANTS!!!

It'd been a while since I'd seen this, and I have to admit I had to pause it from laughing at the last one. The jokes seemed to build on one-another, until I got to that last one and it was just perfect.

It seemed to me that folks didn't notice Rom wanted the status-quo as well, he was just being nicer about it. He was uncomfortable with clothes, and just wanted Moogie to act like other Ferengi females. But the momma's-boy in him thought it was fine she still had profit, just as long as no one knew about it.

Even though I know what Rom eventually became, I think that at this time in the series, he was pretty spot-on. He'd earlier tried to achieve profit with the death attempt of Quark (to which Quark said he was proud of him), and had said many times he wanted the bar if something... bad... were to happen to Quark. Heck, they even mentioned how he'd been skimming in the past, knowing the code to Quark's safe. Rom had just been trying to get ahead all these years, and sometimes, he succeeded.

I always thought the front doors were low so visitors would have to "bow" as they came into your home, adding to the homage paid to their domicile, along with the entering ritual (where they actually paid). The same with the rooms, mostly. That they had to duck every time they went through their own doors would be irrelevant. They were used to it.

At the time, the B story didn't do much for me. They introduced Kasidy, but we didn't know if it would go anywhere. And it could have just as easily been mentioned in a later episode that "We listened to the game, and enjoyed the company, but she's not for me", and ended it at that. Honestly, without knowing what the future might hold, I always felt it was fairly lackluster.

Your mileage may vary, but I enjoyed watching this one again. For me, it is almost outside of the normal star ratings, just as it was outside of the normal episodes for DS9. It just exists and I liked it. :)

Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery


"Sexism was actually worse in the Berman shows than in TOS (starting with Troi's character and outfits, which did not fit into the 80s, whereas the outfits in TOS were normal to that era), and leading from Troi to 7's outfit to the even worse problems you noted in ENT, we see a trend of steadily worsening sexism across the Berman universe."


I mean, yes, 7-of-9's outfit is 100% sexist, but you can hardly judge an entire show on this one thing. How many female crew-members are there on the Enterprise-D/DS9/Voyager/The NX-01? Are they treated any differently than the males?

For the most part - no. Which is exactly why the "resident eye-candy girl" thing sticks out like a sore thumb. And as a pathetic attempt to "appeal to a certain demographic", it shows more contempt towards us (the viewers) than it could ever show towards women...

(it's also stupid beyond belief. A hormone-stricken adolescent male is not going to start watching Star Trek just because the producers added a babe in a catsuit. There are plenty of other shows that fill this need better...)

Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

On the plus side, there is some nice side boob at the end.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I'm making my way back through this series again, although I'm restricting myself to episodes Jammer rated 2.5 stars and above. Have to agree with the previous commenter that it's a miracle the series survived these early episodes which are just total camp. I would never watch this stuff today. To be fair I didn't really watch it back then either ; during TNG's original airing the first episode I saw was Conspiracy, and I wasn't able to regularly watch until season 3.

What's always struck me is how much more expressive Data is early on, drunk or not, than he would later be. I guess eventually a writer or producer must've questioned why an android would be smirking all the time. Also can't wait until I get to the part of the series where they stopped thinking having Data misunderstand a human expression was hilarious. I know there's at least one more in my future ; "combusting the late evening petroleum" or some such. Screw you, early Data.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Brent Spiner's acting in this episode is a high point. He manages to handle the cliche of the evil twin brother convincingly.
I absolutely agree with the comments on the jarring overuse of iritating wunderkind Wesley; Star Trek TNG's very own Adric.
This episode could have merited a high number of stars in my opinion except for the dire dialogue written for Frakes,Stewart and McFadden.
Crosby gets a few more lines than usual ,not that they are much good, but by this time the actress must have been getting ready to walk.
Utter drivel in the dismissive wrap up with no proper regard for the crystal entity which is presumably off to ravage half the galaxy.

2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

So we're three episodes in and I really did start this off telling myself I won't listen to all the negativity surrounding Voyager and I'll go in and try to be positive about what I'm watching.

It started off well - I enjoyed the pilot and the premise for the series.

Episode 2 then goes on to have a very dull story, but interesting character development.

Episode 3 then goes on to have both a dull story and no character development.

It's not looking promising.

Why are the Star Trek writers in general so obsessed with time travel around this period? We get 'All Good Things', followed by Star Trek Generations, followed by two episodes at the start of Voyager all about time travel. They need some new material at this stage.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

A good episode and I think that the creation of Section 31 is a logical thing inside the Federation. Speaking of that, I would have loved it if one of Sloan's men was a Vulcan. I could see a Vulcan seeing S-31 as something "logical". Plus, it was always one of my nitpicks about all Star Trek, not enough aliens in Star Fleet uniform. We see them all over the station, but not enough in uniform.

This episode laid the ground work for a great scene that never happened and should have happened. How many would have loved to see the conversation between Bashir and Garak AFTER Garak finds out that Section 31 exists and that they tried to recruit Julian?
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Jammer: "...but even on that level they don't quite come to life, and I think the reason for that is Montgomery's far-too-understated performance. He's too wooden. In the confrontation scene between Paul and Travis, for example, you can clearly see that Paul, as played by Parker, is the stronger screen presence. We can understand his emotions and point of view, even if they come across as forced under the circumstances (why not accept the weapons upgrades in a case where you clearly need them?). But I never felt that way with Montgomery's performances in these scenes. He needed to carry this show, but from what I see, most of the guest actors end up carrying him."

Man.... I thought the problem with this episode was Parker's over-performance. It was like every time he and Anthony have a scene together he was trying to make his chest bigger than Anthony's :-) I thought Anthony did fine in this episode. Very well in fact. He came off as much more mature and level-headed than his brother.

I kept waiting for the Mom to take command and slap Paul around a bit. He was acting very childish and immature. No reason not to accept Travis' help with the weapons etc.

The minimal "B" plot was one of the most enjoyable afterthought b-plots thingy's in all of trek I thought. Some say "movie night" on a Star Ship is not realistic. I beg to differ. When I joined the Navy there was no email or satellite TV, or computers, or pocket sized movie gadgets. Reel-to-reel movies were exchanged between passing ships. This was a big moment for the crew because most of the time repeats/re-showings came into play. (I can't tell you how many times I've seen Blazing Saddles and High Noon :-) ) Movies were shown on the mess-deck with the responsibility for showing them, making popcorn and cleaning up rotating from division to division as the deployment passed. This was a great way to break the monotony and riggers of the day to day life aboard a Navy ship on deployment. Also a great way for the crew to get to know one another. Even on small ships, jobs and watches make it so you don't get to socialize much with those you aren't working with.

Movie night was precious in this episode. Loved it.

All that said, I'll go a little higher than Jammer and give it 3 stars.

Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"They could have set it in the 26th century, for example. And it would also be a good idea to shake the political map of the galaxy a bit. We don't need another TNG/DS9 clone with Klingons and Romulans and Cardassians. "

Better yet, let's just have trans-galactic travel and have the Enterprise H be the first trans-galactic ship. Leave the Alpha, Beta, Gamma and Delta quadrants behind and boldly go. I'd love to see some of the old races too, but as crewmen.

I've always thought we should do a joint-venture with another power, in the same vein of the ISS being a joint American/Russian effort. It'd be great if say... an Iconian Gate to another galaxy was located in the Romulan neutral zone and instead of destroying it they built a joint Federation/Romulan vessel to go exploring. You could get that tension of 2 different crews working together that you had on DS9 and S1 VOY, while having an old enemy be friendly in the way that TNG did with the Klingons.

But I agree.... forward to the future!
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@Peter G. - I believe part of the reason that the reviews of the different shows seem to be a bit different, and sometimes be very subjective in the context of where they lie in the season/series is because DS9/VOY/ENT were done "live" while the show was running and TOS/TNG wasn't.

It's really a totally different measure how something affects you on the first run. I can tell you that I'd personally rate both "The Nagus" and "Broken Link" lower now than on the first run. "The Nagus" because Rom's characterization feels so WRONG to someone who's seen the whole show and "Broken Link" because the Odo is human and Gowron is a changeling both felt like such huge OMGWTF!!!! reveals and then neither of them really stuck. Gowron wasn't a changeling, Odo isn't as human as he seemed and the next episode was really good (a personal favorite for me even now) but it didn't seem to pay off "Broken Link" in the way that I was hoping for. I'd still probably give it a 3, but at the time I might have felt like 3.5 or 4. Likewise episodes that I might have rated abysmally like the yawn-fest that is "Storyteller" is worth a drop more now because of the glimmer of the start of the O'Brien/Bashir friendship.

And as to Balance of Terror... well I agree with Jammer. You can't have totally objective reviews because those would be wrong. I actually think Balance of Terror is not, objectively, as good as people think it is. The individual parts amount to a 3, whereas people rate it 3.5 or 4 regularly. I don't think the individual parts add up to that mathematically. Instead the factor of subjectivity allows acknowledging when an episode somehow adds up to more or less than the sum of it's parts. And I think this episode is one of those. I'd probably boost it from a 3 to a 3.5 for that "je ne sais quoi". As an example of the opposite I've always felt that "Where No One Has Gone Before" had some nice moments but was ultimately less than the sum of it's parts (I'd probably knock it from a 2.5 to a 2).

I think that if you don't allow for subjectivity in your reviews one would do a disservice to those episodes that have an extra special charm or whatnot, that'd you'd miss if you tried to be totally objective. Obviously subjectivity should be within a range (I'd say a range of about a star). I mean... if Jammers gives something a 1 I think it's fair to interpret that to the fact that he thinks it objectively sucks. Whereas a 2.5 could certainly be objectively decent but not the reviewers cup of tea. Earl Grey. Hot.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

I have one major problem with this episode. If the emanations detected by voyager were meant to indicate that there truly was an afterlife (next emanation) for these people, didn't Harry just steal the guys chance at immortality? I wonder if he would have been beamed to the asteroid belt after living out his life in the mountains.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

"Also, that Bensite(?)... No space faring race would come to the conclusion that waiting until a solution has been found was beneficial to safety."

You know, I had always thought of that bit as being implausible. And yet: consider the fact that Korean Air Lines CRASHED a 747 because the first officer, who realized the plane was about to do controlled flight into terrain, said nothing, because that would involve contradicting a superior. And much the same thing happened aobut 15 years later, when Asiana crashed that 777 at SFO and again the first officer was hesitant at contradicting his captain.

In commercial aviation, these incidents led to a lot of discussion about the role of Asian culture in cockpit management. Malcolm Gladwell famously discussed this issue in OUTLIERS, although he was not the first to raise it.

If this theory is to be believed, I don't see the portrayal of the Benzites as so far-fetched. To be sure, I wouldn't want to get on a Benzite starship, and my hope is that the Starfleet way ended up changing procedures on Benzite ships, rather like KAL cockpit culture changed after the airline brough in foreigeners for a thorough safety culture overhaul.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Liya Liya Liya... oh boy/girl/unisex/ungendered/polygendered/apacheattackhelicopter. You said you were a "millennial gen fan" and boy can I tell. All of the possibilities with Star Trek returning to television after 10 years of absence... and all you can think of is a complaint about sexism and relating this new show to feminist issues.

As a fellow Millennial I'm embarrassed for our generation; that this is really the kind of impression we give off. Not everything is sexist; and arguing that you are "concerned" about this new show before we've even seen a scrap of hard info is absurd. No amount of wiggling can change the fact that you weren't really concerned; you were just bringing up the point to fabricate an outrage that once again somehow victimizes women. Somehow.

I apologize for my generation fellow readers.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Sleeper prediction for the "major event": the Vulcanian expedition, referenced in TOS "Court Martial." Which would also explain the idea that Amanda Grayson may make an appearance.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

For me, "The Defector" is a good but not great TNG episode, meriting 3 out of 4 stars. One thing that works for me is how the defecting Romulan comes across as consistently sincere, noble, and goodhearted even as the plot heaps many reasonable doubts upon the reliability of his account. That worked against my expectations and made the twist ending work much better. And the episode is smart enough to ask (and answer) many of the basic questions we have while watching it. Anytime the Trek screenwriters are smart enough to do this, I sit up and take notice.

The big problem, however, is the pacing: There are long middle stretches of this episode where the Romulan is just hanging out on the Enterprise without any forward progress in the plot; a thick cloud of dead air hangs over endless scenes of dialogue involving either him or the crew speculating about him which really go nowhere. For me, it tastes like the soup is being watered down here to stretch it: If this guy defected with the intention of preventing an *imminent* invasion, why play coy for so long about the details? Wouldn't he have thought through what he was going to do or say after defecting? The scene where Picard pressures him to pony up comes too late in the episode to get me excited.

In my mind, this story also represents a major weakness of the Political Intrigue Episode (TM) that will resurface in TNG (especially in two-parters like Redemption and Unification) and later become common on DS9: It's fairly boring. While watching this episode with me, a friend who had never seen TNG fell asleep right before the climax and began snoring loudly. And can you blame him? This kind of Star Trek story, which can only work as political allegory if viewers supply their own real-world analogues, boils down to made-up people talking about made-up political conflicts in a made-up futuristic universe. (I've seen the same thing happen with Star Trek VI, which puts many non-Trekkers to sleep during the ice planet scenes because they simply *do not care* about make-believe Sci-Fi politics.)

This raises a question in my mind: Is this kind of story interesting to anyone other than diehard Trek fans? Unlike some of the better DS9 efforts, there's really no compelling character development B-story here, as the holodeck opening is just boilerplate Data stuff and the Romulan commits suicide before his character can really grow. For my money, this Political Intrigue Episode (TM) formula doesn't work nearly as well on TNG (where it often comes across as invariably bland and melodramatic) as Ronald Moore later managed on DS9.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

.Worf revealing that Morn was an excellent sparring partner (that Morn was a fighter good enough for that amount of praise from Worf) is fantastic.
The Dax crush on the other hand was a bit predictable. At some point they really started to make her too sex crazed. (Sex with McCoy, hots for Spock, hots for Morn, hots for that fire dancer at her bachelorette party, hots for Captain Boday). I would have just chosen some other thing that made Morn an important part of her life.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I think terra prime would have made a better finale for the show. That set aside, and judging this episode as a stand alone or addendum to pegasius, I thought it was ok. I rewatched pegasus right after and tried to piece the 2 together in my head. Maybe one of these days I will re-edit these two episodes together in Adobe premier. Here's my big beef: the holodeck mechanics. So all of the sudden you can materialize clothes in the holodeck? Lol, it's kind of a kick in the balls because in every holodeck scenerio in TNG the gang goes into it already in period appropriate costumes from the replicator. And objective mode? Neat idea, switching back and forth but I don't remember this function in the original series. These continuity errors really bother me with this episode. I can ignore the fact that Riker is old, grey and fat in this, but the holodeck really pisses me off.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Lindner
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I'm surprised anyone can give this more than 2 stars. It's legendarily bad. Especially compared to the previous episode which was rather good at 3 to 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

What really makes this episode difficult to watch is Wesley the Wonderboy. Sorry Wil Wheaton, I know you're not responsible for the script writing. I have no quarrel with you. Its just that his naivety comes off as grating more than it does as sincere.

Diana Muldaur's Dr. Pulaski was a fine character. She had grit and depth that it never felt like the writers were willing to impart to Gates McFadden's Dr. Crusher,

I join the commenters above in observing that the Rikers quarrel went away just a little too easily to be believable, while Will Riker's sudden decision to turn down the Ares seems woefully unexplained. Oh well, there's always the Melbourne.

Oh, wait...
Set Bookmark
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Set Bookmark
Rick C
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I felt bad for the nameless red shirt that got vaporized by the replicator phaser thingy.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I really like what Grumpy (2011) said about this episode and why it resonates.

What does this mean for our universe? By contrast with the mirror audience, we watch Star Trek to see heroes exemplify the values of cooperation, courage, and curiosity (among others). "The Tholian Web" and "Mirror, Mirror" (and "Crossover," for that matter, to name only one more) put the protagonists in a trap to see how the application of heroic values will let them escape. The heroic values stand out against the "negative space" shown by the mirror universe. Which is what SF is supposed to do: shed light on our world and our ideals by comparing it with an imaginary world.

Well said sir. That last sentence is exactly something I would say as an artist describing the nature of surrealism.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Archer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Glad I got another chance to see this episode again on Netflix because I didn't remember any of it.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

Three stars, seriously? This is a mind-numbingly boring and static episode, limited to a single set where two Implacable Alien Factions (TM) are locked in an unending battle with each other skewed by Artificial Immortality (TM), with our intrepid crew engaging them in dull negotiations. Honestly, this is the kind of thrice-warmed-over early TNG-style plot that was invented to cure insomnia, with endless scenes of people standing around and talking about things which don't really matter. You could surf the internet during this episode, without looking up once between the bookend scenes, and not miss anything. The Kira anger thing and stranding of Kai Opaka would only make you look up briefly before lapsing back into boredom The performances lack anything resembling energy. All I can say is "bleh." I'll give it 2/4 stars, as there's a thoughtful story buried in the bland execution, but it's not an engaging episode for me.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,409
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.