Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,836 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,554
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I'll just quote Todd from above:

"Darth Vader sees Leia's ship pull away during the heat of battle carrying the plans for the Death Star...chases after her and she claims she's on a diplomatic mission? Talk about chutzpah! Or just dramatic retconning of a 40 year old movie."

Captain Antilles claiming it's a consular ship, when everyone on board ought to know that Vader saw that ship and the plans with his own eyes and cut through a corridor of troops trying to get them, is really rich. It's quite a glaring inconsistency, since at the start of Ep IV the tone makes it clear that Vader has been building a case against Leia. In fact, the dialogue in the scene with Captain Antilles might even lead us to conclude that he truly had no idea that there were any stolen plans on board, and that Leia brought them with her without telling anyone. Based on how she has them on her person, and smuggled them off on R2, it looks to have been her private little operation, and that Vader traced *her* to that ship, rather than having followed the ship itself. A bit of this is speculation, but I think based on the text it's something like this. What's clear to me (and it was immediately obvious when I first saw Rogue One) is that Vader could not logically have seen the Tantive IV escape from the conflict zone and then have that ensuing dialogue in Ep IV.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Baron I am with you - no idea where this alleged continuity breach is supposed to occur. Leah's ship breaks off the main ship after Vader decapitates everyone onboard (as is shown in Rogue One) then presumably jumps to hyperspace and gets run down a day or two later by Vader at Tatooine. Easy peasy.
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

It seems that things will get even worst

trekmovie.com/2017/04/24/wga-members-vote-to-authorize-strike-star-trek-discovery-writers-voice-their-support/
Set Bookmark
Benjamin
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 12:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

Surprisingly, one of the best episodes of Trek IMO because of the intelligence of conveying the arguments on both sides and the incredible acting by everyone in the episode. David Ogden Stiers did a good portrayal of his character... making sure not to seem too human... being mello, reserved, not used to others... the expert in his field. Also enjoyed reading all of the opinions above.
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

This is so remarkably funny. We know Betazoids are federation members but they seem like a potential security threat-why isn't that explored? Not to mention terrifying in a personal sense-if your Joe Ensign and you think the Betazoid rep is good lookin she'll know it, if a betazoid thinks so about you-it would be very uncomfortable-no telling what sort of gentle prodding or manipulation they could use to get their way.
Set Bookmark
Anna
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

They took my favorite character from TOS and created a weird scenario to lay him low, crush his spirit, rob him of his dignity and pride so that the new generation can be noble and work with him to restore some sense of all that. It felt horribly contrived in that I agree with other comments that it seems unrealistic and out of character for all the characters concerned that he would become and be treated as a useless old pest who gets in the way and for whom no one has any use or interest or time. For these reasons I wish they'd left the character alone rather than bring him back for such an episode. Yes there were a few good moments and I suppose nostalgia is served. But on the whole I was really disappointed with the way this was handled and the contriver plot and character interactions designed to fit a theme that was unworthy of all involved
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Caedus or @Connor, could you expand on that a bit? I've seen A New Hope a ton of times and Rogue One only once. I didn't notice anything at the end of Rogue One that was particularly problematic in terms of matching up with the beginning of A New Hope, and I'm genuinely curious as to what about it sticks out to you.

I had assumed that some amount of time (I have no idea how much) passed after the end of Rogue One before the start of A New Hope, during which the Devastator finds the Tantive IV and pursues it, ultimately catching up to it near Tatooine. Maybe the start of A New Hope is right after the end of Rogue One and everyone is close to Tatooine already, or maybe the rebels split up to make following them to Yavin IV more difficult and the Devastator ended up following Tantive IV. I dunno, and I don't really care.

Is the problem with the layout of the ship, continuity errors, character actions that don't make sense, or the series of events we see somehow being implausible or impossible?
Set Bookmark
Connor
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"The last scene also doesn't gel well at all with the first scene in ANH"

No it doesn't. If you go watch the start of Episode 4 after Rogue One, you'll find the ending of Rouge One makes no sense in every way conceivable.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Yeah...this was a very bland episode. Redux of an old western. I generally agree with Jammer's review (don't care for all the Segal stuff) and like @Lupe don't see how he gives this 2/4 stars given his review.
This is just lame through and through. Why don't the Klingons detect a Federation ship in orbit? Won't they be back with more power? How is the mild embarrassment they faced going to deter them? They like being bullies.
The episode spending time showing them moving the camp, training etc. was all just filling time. Is that female colonist really able to avoid a Klingon attack based on a few minutes of T'Pol training.
These Klingons really come across as looking like fools.
Anyhow, this episode is just there - nothing to take away from it. Just Archer & Co. trying to feel good about themselves helping (temporarily) some bullied colonists. For me 1/4 stars. Seems like ENT does a lot of these kinds of episodes and it's starting to get tiring.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Can't believe I sat through this whole episode. Yes, it is on the same level as "Spock's Brain" - absolutely terrible episode. And Archer's character gets desecrated as he's made to look like a complete idiot.
The part about sexual tensions between him and T'Pol are ridiculous. The offending of the easily offendable race is stupid. How Archer has to make it up to them is laughable.
There have been some bad ENT episodes (like "Acquisition" the dumb Ferengi comedy) but this is the worst so far.
Personally, I love dogs and thought Phlox/T'Pol had a good roles to play in shining a light on Archer's idiocy.
For me 0.5/4 stars. Was difficult to make it through this one.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

This had the feel of a very pure sci-fi episode - much more so than the usual ENT episodes. The eery space station that has all the solutions does give one the creeps and the ending with all the dead bodies from various races really confirmed the sinister nature of it.
Also what is good is the continuity from "Minefield" and the dialogue about needing more discipline between Reed and Archer, Reed's leg injury. Too bad TOS didn't have more continuity from one episode to the next.
Anyhow, this episode brings a really cool concept - although a bit beyond the realm of what's believable. It's AI gone wild with its own purpose.
It's 3/4 stars for me given the originality (by ENT standards) of the episode and evoking a feeling of suspense, not answering all the questions and a cool explosion scene at the end with the station trying to repair itself. Good episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

A good episode - I like how in ENT they are dealing with much "simpler" problems that are more realistic than what takes place in the more distant future with other Trek series. I thought the mine defusing part was well done -- of course you knew it wasn't going to blow up, but it was well-portrayed.
I did find it strange that Archer would start fraternizing with Reed - he says it helps him relax but Reed disagreed but still I thought the conversation they had was helpful in the grand scheme of things. I didn't get why Reed was so tensed up -- unreasonably so -- at the start of the episode when he meets Archer for breakfast.
The Romulan part was bizarre - for a first meeting with them, so much more could have been done so I'd prefer for them to be left out of the episode. And I do detect some inconsistencies with Trek canon ("Balance of Terror" etc.)
And as for Reed -- the main character in this episode -- I don't get him disconnecting the oxygen supply. That is not what a Star Fleet officer should be doing and deserves reprimand - however given the circumstances...
I agree with Jammer's rating of 3/4 stars - episode works for me as a decent one.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I can't decide whether this episode was more stupid or more offensive.
Apparently Bashir skipped the ethics classes in med school.

Even if it weren't utterly disgusting for Bashir as her doctor and really her creator to date Sarina, the fact that he couldn't wait to get into her pants (or, weird dress in this case) was just gross. Sure, promise to show the universe to someone who has been able to interact with her surroundings for three days, but then plan to bring her to a sex planet! Great!

I did think of Flowers for Algernon as I watched this episode. But I also thought of TNG's The Perfect Mate, in which a young woman's sole purpose is to please whatever man happens to be nearby. At least this one had a better ending.

Stupid because Sarina's characterization was utterly unrealistic. I could not suspend my disbelief for a second.

Alexander Siddig seemed equally put off by the episode, as he kept stumbling over his lines.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

"Also wondering, did O'Brien transfer to DS9 back in that one two-parter where Data learns to dream but TNG never mentioned it because they assumed you watched DS9 and having it mentioned twice would be redundant? And is there an explanation for why Guinan is gone or does she just disappear just as suddenly as she appeared?"

You've got this a little mixed up. The episode you're describing is "Birthright" which is a TNG episode from season 6. As for Guinan not showing up, my guess is that Whoopi Goldberg was filming Sister Act 1 & 2 and didn't have time to appear on TNG as a recurring character.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 8:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I think this must be another one I dozed off during, as there are a couple of references to scenes here from the latter part which I don't remember, so I should reserve judgement til I've re-watched it - and I feel a bit more like moving on.

I'm a little less enthused about this - seems rather like it's all too familiar - but perhaps that's because I missed out on the best bits. It's certainly a vast improvement, as far as one-off's go, over Daedalus.

I was stunned at the start of this episode - Mayweather gets a major part in an episode! Except it's not Mayweather, is it - it's a non-corporeal alien occupying his body. It's a true measure of how bereft of character this character is, that nowadays the only time they'll give him any screentime is when he's someone else...
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

After rewatching season three I have to say I enjoyed it. Extinction and that episode where Archer and Tpol went back in time were the only episodes I hated. I did have a problem with them reusing episodes of DS9 and Voyager with Doctor's Order and Ez. I understand people have a problem with bad science, but the writers did a pretty good job on not making a big deal about the science to some of the episodes.
Set Bookmark
Locke
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Yeah, trying to work out which thing was more successful based on ratings can be taken to the extreme. I guess what a lot of people mean here is commercially, financially successful. In terms of how succesful something was as a piece of creative storytelling and how well recieved it was by the people who watched it, that's a different issue.

I do understand why it's commonly considered one of the weaker series of Trek and I'd probably agree, but I've definitely warmed somewhat to Enterprise lately. It's very flawed but I do like the 'pioneer spirit' feeling from the first couple of seasons, and I liked a lot of the in-universe nods from season 4.

Either way you look at it though, Enterprise was considered by a lot of critics to be quite stale and maybe representing a franchise that had lasted too long without enough innovation. BSG on the other hand was considered a bold, original breath of fresh air. Enterprise sticks to a very classic, safe formula. Light banter and action hour for the most part whereas I think many critics saw BSG as blowing away a lot of the cobwebs from sci-fi TV and really shaking up the forumla for the 2000s.

I don't really think one or the other type of entertainment is better or worse. I try to like my 90s style sci-fi and my gritty 2000s sci-fi fairly equally, but I think in terms of objective critical acclaim, BSG was the winner. It's harder to compare financial success because it's difficult to seperate the sole financial success of Enterprise from the net financial success of Star Trek the franchise.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Outsider65 "I hate to be that person, but... Would it kill them to have casted a guy who at least resembled the guy who played the original Khan?"

I remember at the time when it was pretty obvious that Into Darkness was a TWoK-remake I hoped they might have the sense to cast someone sensible as Khan Noonien Singh. If they wanted an English accent, for the Hollywood cliche English-accented villain, they could have invited Alexander Siddig to do it. Given that Dr. Bashir is supposed to be an augment too it would have been in-universe believable and good fan service to DS9 fans. Plus Siddig has had some solid big-screen roles since his DS9 days.

Personally I think Cumberbatch is overrated. Ethnicity aside, he just wasn't right for the role.

"Actually, I wish they hadn't ripped off Wrath of Khan but instead had made their own movie."

This would have been even more preferable
Set Bookmark
dave johnson
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 2:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Season 4 was what I hoped Enterprise was going to be.... an actual prequel with origin stories, birth of the federation, filling in storyline gaps, and caring about continuity (Season 1 and 2 didn't give a rip about continuity).

I did like the Xindi stuff in Season 3... perhaps if these were the first two seasons the series would have fared better. Season 1 and 2 pissed off a lot of trek fans due to blowing up continuity (they annoyed me in the premier with the 4 days to Kronos at warp 5).
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I think a lot of the outrage against Troi's and Seven of Nine's and T'Pol's costumes is at best excessive but I thought a bit part of why this episode felt so dumb and unpleasant was because it did feel exploitative, T'Pol's horniness was completely forced, with no real connection to let alone impact on the character.
A really sad aspect is that Dawson as a director pretty much does wrong everything she as an actress did right in the broadly similar "Blood Fever," there she and the episode overall treated the scenario with respect.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Enterprise takes a step back into the lame, lazily written episodes which plagued the first two seasons, and Archer reverts to the rookie captain with appalling judgement we thought we'd seen the last of long ago.

I have nothing really to add to what has already been written, but I do disagree with Jammer on one point. I didn't think that guest star Bill Cobb's role was 'nicely performed'. It seemed to me that it was often borderline inept.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

A satisfying conclusion to the trilogy that put Enterprise, belatedly, properly into canonical Trek territory and finally opened its local universe up into a real place where interesting characters do meaningful things. All the same it's perhaps by a slight margin the least of the three episodes - which is surprising since Shran is back. In fact there was something ever so slightly unsatisying about Shran this time. Was it just that the show had improved to such a degree that he wasn't automatically the most exciting character in the episode? Very possibly.

Jeffrey Combs is as outstanding as always, but I think part of the source of my misgivings is just that I don't really buy that Shran would torture Soval - or if I do buy it, then I think perhaps it damages Shran a little. But I'm sure Combs can recover Shran from this discrepancy unless he's given some truly stupid material in later episodes.

The final scene, introducing the Romulan conspirator is a sweet moment, ripe with all sorts of potential for future plot arcs, even if, like Jammer I'm confused as to how war with the Andorians does anything much to foster Vulcan/Romulan reunification (or at this juncture why that's the object of a conspiracy at all).

All in all a very satisfying three parter, which perhaps doesn't have quite the emotional clout of the outstanding three episode run towards the end of season three (the sequence which included 'Damage'), but is ultimately more important and significant.

Incidentally Manny Coto intended for Shran to become a permanent member of the Enterprise crew (an adviser' of some sort) in season five. The things we missed out on because of those addled opening seasons...

Set Bookmark
Caedus
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Let it be known I am both a prequel and old EU fan.

The best part of this movie was Vader slaughtering the rebels, I was rooting for the imperials because the rebel characters were so unlikeable, so painful to watch and listen too I honestly was cheering as they blew up.

The last scene also doesn't gel well at all with the first scene in ANH
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

You know I think Jammer was way too hard on Voyager and what do I think about that?

Fuck him and every reviewer that didn't show Voyager the respect it deserved.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

Okay, as some one else here already pointed out: how the hell can an ASTEROID possibly be m-class (earth like)?! I usually don't let these things bother me that much. Star Trek seems to be in the habit of screwing this up repeatedly. Into Darkness had something as ridiculous as a planetoid with a breathable atmosphere, and humans could walk around completely exposed. But no signs of plant life??? (oxygen) Any way, pretty nice episode.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,554
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.