Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 41,085 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,644
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

2 stars

The episode started out alright but once we got the reveal that all the weirdness established early on was because these were the mimetic aliens--well the episode cratered
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

1 star

Harry is such a useless character. Then you put him into a tiresome romance plot. The results were t going to be good. Then you have to sit through the cringeworthy Harry takes a stand. And the generational ship plot was a snooze
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Zakalwe

I read your comment, it's a very brief one after all. You're saying that an episode deserves credit for being entertaining despite it being utter tripe. I get that, a lot of people like Jerry Springer for the same reason. Jerry Springer-like debauchery has its place, but not in my Trek. No thanks!

I do agree this isn't the worst show Trek's done, though. :)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@William B

That's an interesting point, and I agree TWOK is arguably one of the most famous Trek elements known in mainstream culture. Nevertheless, I don't think I was reminded of Khan in this episode until the admiral name dropped him. I suppose, at least in my mind, there's a huge difference between curing an ailing child of mental deficiencies with genetics and creating a super human military tactician. The connection isn't immediately obvious.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

Except for one of the Q's idiotic remarks about the crew's DNA being scattered around the cosmos (more like fundamental particles and since when could life magically spring from loose DNA strands?) I thought this was a pretty good and thought provoking episode.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Chrome, with respect if you're going to respond to me you should read what I wrote, because if you think any of my post, which included the line "utterly risible, nonsensical and...relentlessly shite" constitutes "praise" then I'm struggling.

It's a very, very poor show. I just don't think it's worth zero stars. I'm not sure that saying something is bad but not the worst ever is terribly controversial, even in the binary world of the Internet.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

If the only appearance of Khan was in "Space Seed" and he was never mentioned again, maybe it would be necessary to bring him up several times -- who knows what details in random (albeit iconic and memorable) TOS episodes are of such great importance, and even the major importance of the Eugenics Wars in the 20th century might be a detail in early TOS that sort of eventually got dropped from "important" canon. But I dunno. The Wrath of Khan is probably one of the five or so most famous works in the franchise. (I'd say maybe Tribbles, City on the Edge, WOK, The Voyage Home, and BOBW, in terms of general renown and cultural penetration, FWIW.) I don't think that multiple reminders were really necessary.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@Caedus

That's a great point, I really wish they had laid out why genetic engineering was bad before Bashir went all doomsday on his career. I think the problem was, like I mentioned before, the Picardo plot was originally the A-plot of the episode. Later, it was decided that Bashir needed to have a horrible secret because the comedy material from A-Plot didn't fill a whole show.

I think the secret did in fact make Bashir's character more interesting, but the writers didn't really consider the implications of genetic engineering itself until later shows. In fact, you could give Bashir pretty much any family skeleton in the closet here and this episode would play out the same.
Set Bookmark
methane
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

--spoilers for the 2nd to last episode of TNG--

Ro on TNG was introduced as a Bajoran refugee, part of a group of Bajorans who had left their planet during the Cardassian occupation. She wouldn't join the Maquis until the second to last episode of TNG season 7. DS9 season 2 was airing at the same time as TNG season 7, so these DS9 episodes are several months before that. I'm pretty sure these DS9 episodes are the first mention of the Maquis in the Star Trek Universe.

Pillar was introducing the Maquis in both DS9 & TNG to prepare for Voyager, which was going to start the next year. I think I've read that Behr (who would take over DS9 in season 3) was annoyed that DS9 had to introduce the Maquis just to set up something for Voyager. Of course, DS9 would do way more with them than Voyager would (which pretty much forgot the whole idea after their pilot)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

@ Quarkissnyder,

The prophets had already told Sisko not to get married, Kasidy knew that, and insisted they should be ignored and that she wanted to marry Sisko. To go to her again with a prophet objection would be to disrespect her position on this. She doesn't need to be asked again, it would just come across as hedging and asking her to reconsider. Are you married? When someone is potentially going to marry you, you don't want to hear the reasons why they're not sure they want to go through it with. What you're suggesting would be cruel to Kasidy and not at all helpful. Her position by this point was clear as crystal. The only issue is whether Sisko himself was willing to go through with it or not. He was, and that was for love of Kasidy. It's *because* of his respect and love for her that he wouldn't bring this to her attention. She didn't need to know, she didn't want to know, and it would have upset her. It would have been egregious, to be frank, to interrupt a wedding to speak of it.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

@Peter G: Actually a person doesn't get to decide by themselves whether or not they will get married. The two people who will be married decide together.

Sure, it's unlikely that the vision would change Cassidy's mind. But it's not up to Sisko to determine that; it's up to Cassidy.
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 8:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Main plot is fine, B-Plot is physically painful.

The B-Plot is an utter waste of Picardo's acting talents. I can't imagine he was happy with the dialogue he was given.

As for the A-Plot, they didn't emphasize enough why these laws were in place in my opinion. They should have mentioned Khan at least three times in ensuring the audience knew just why the Federation is so hostile to genetic engineering.
Set Bookmark
Wim
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Extremely mediocre episode. What bothered me endlessly was how Melora's borderline insubordination in the beginning is never even commented upon.
I know Starfleet isn't strictly military, but an ensign being rude and even hostile to superior officers without anyone even saying something?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Well Peter I don't doubt that there were Soviet spies running around in the 50s up to no good. The question I have is whether McCarthy's purges were very good at rooting them out or if it was just political theatre and virtue signalling.

If I believed witches were real and truly possessed dark magic I'd be equally skeptical that too many were actually killed in Salem.

I just don't think "witch hunts" are likely very good at catching witches. Maybe I'm wrong. But the changelings didn't seem all that worried about it.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Welcome to the Bridge.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

this episode was a hugely wasted opportunity to explore sloan or probe section 31 and their twisted sense of ethics, or really do anything - anything at all.

i'm also still kind of hoping for some kind of moral examination of this disease that goes beyond a disgusted "its genocide!!" before the show ends but i guess not. as i was watching the episode i found myself wondering if it could really be considered "genocide" against a people like the changelings that seem so single minded and monolithic in thought and action. the 'founders' as a single entity chose to wage centuries of war on a quarter of the galaxy to keep sapient species under their thumb; they often take pains to suggest there is no distinction between the individuals. if all are absolutely dedicated to the cause of waging war for it's own sake against 'solids', attacking all of them seems like simply cutting off the head of the snake with little moral ambiguity in my book.

i had the time to think this because this was around the time the episode "time looped" to pad its running, and literally waste my time, when it could have been addressing something more interesting.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

2.5 stars

I originally hated this but the few times I've rewatched it over the years I don't have that same reaction. I've actually come to enjoy it and the post season four Ferengi episodes

They're not great but not as bad as I thought. As strange as it sounds they kinda have a certain charm all their own. Ira actually managed to create a nice little Ferengi subset of characters like Ishka, Zek, Brunt, Rom, Nog that are endearing. Maybe it's simply nostalgia but I found this episode entertaining enough
Set Bookmark
Stettles
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I agree 100% with Jammer on this one. A decent episode. Nothing special really, but no major gripes about it either.

2 1/2 from me too.
Set Bookmark
Skemple
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I'm not really going to defend this episode much. It was pretty bad, but it's not the worst star trek episode ever, maybe not in the bottom 10. The beginning wasn't too bad.

1 star
Set Bookmark
Skeeble
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

My favorite episode of the series. 4 stars from me. And the only 4 star episode I think.
Set Bookmark
Skrambles
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

Another reason (or 2 or 3) for Janeway not to be the captain of anything.
Set Bookmark
Skrimmle
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

1 1/2 stars from me.

Blunted bat'leths? What?

They use them so Klingons won't fight each other to the death and will kill their enemies instead? What?

Since when?

Klingons kill each other constantly.

More lame made-up Voyager nonsense, just to get out of having Paris fight to the death. And as if he would have lasted as long as he did in that 'duel' as it was.

And why does Voyager even have a transporter room and pads? Janeways asks that the klingon guy be escorted there so he can go back to his ship. Why? He can be beamed from anywhere to anywhere easily. They beam people to sickbay all the time. No pad. Torres beams herself from engineering to her room in this episode. No pad. And they beam 200! people from one ship to a cargo bay all at once in this episode. No pad. So wtf are the pads for?



Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

2 stars

I like that the episode tied into the new situation with the Jem'Hadar fiercely protecting Cardassisn borders and bringing the Klingons into it. I may have even liked the idea of an episode featuring a Klingon crew for an entire hour. The problem was this episode just really wasn't that interesting. Simple as that. I simply wasn't invested in the crew or their lack of morale or Martok's being crippled by his Dominion ordeal. I thought maybe this may have improved with age but having recently rewatched it--it is just as bland as I remembered from 1997

For all the talk about Ron Moore's writing this season it really wasn't all that great or even good--Looking for Parmach, Dr bashir I Presume?, this episode--all very meh
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Just saw this one for the first time, after missing it every time in original run and syndication.

The planet-side part with "Anna" was indeed tedious in the extreme. However, I must say that the second-to-last scene between The Ambassador and Picard was extremely well done... I think it was the combination of the eerie wind/sound effects, the rather effective music (some interesting melodic detail actually snuck through the usual background dirge of latter seasons!), and the excellent acting by both Stewart and Pierpoint.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

The only thing that was worthwhile from this episode was establishing the existence of Empok Nor which WILL be put to good use next season
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 1,644
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.