Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,166 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 807
Yanks - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 6:54am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I don't know that the "prime directive" later in trek EVER prohibited the issuance of medical aid.

I seem to remember Beverly getting in Picard's face and winning the argument on a couple of occasions.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 6:35am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

So, "Ferengi on DS9 = funny" and "Ferengi on ENT = Lame and pointless"

I didn't want to see this on Enterprise either, but it's not a "bad" episode.

Combs brings his magic to the screen and there is some good comedy.

Hell, the gals are happy.... they get to see Trip running around in his space undies.

Clint Howard was fine and Eathan Phillips got to play a Ferengi again.

Just a fun episode. I thought all the characters were well played.

2.5 stars for me.

HolographicAndrew - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 2:50am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Totally agree with this positive review. The scene with tuvok going out of control on Janeway blew me away.

This has to be one of the best episodes up to this point in the series, not to mention one of the best vulcan centered episodes.
Sean - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 2:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

"Something acknowledging they're forever changed would have been cool."

Voyager didn't acknowledge things that happened in previous episodes. Continuity was an extreme rarity. And even when continuity did happen, it made no sense and was fairly badly written, as in the early season and with Fury.
NCC-1701-Z - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 1:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Onaya felt like a villain right out of Doctor Who, specifically, the witch-beings in the Doc Who episode "The Shakespeare Code", basically aliens controlling Shakespeare in order to accomplish their evil plan of the week. Except "Shakespeare Code" was fun while "The Muse" was just lame.

And I still can't stand Luaxana. Jammer put it just right - a major stumble in what is otherwise one of DS9's best seasons. Odo had the best line though: "I trust I can count on you to accept me even if I just stand there and read last week's criminal activity report."
NCC-1701-Z - Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 1:06am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I liked this episode...when it was TNG's "True Q".

Bleah. Voyager ruined the Q even worse than they ruined the Borg.
Tommy - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 6:13pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

SPOILER

I don't see the tricorder as being contrived, but it was a huge stroke of good luck.
Chris - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 5:31pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

As much as I detest pretty much ALL Ferengi episodes, and the writing talents of Berman and Berman Jr, I actually found this to be the least offensive of the Ferengi stories. Just based on reading the first few lines of Jammer's review prior to viewing, I was expecting spmething much, much worse that this.

Combs did his usual admirable job at making the character his own and playing it convincingly, seeing 'Balok' return to Trek was a nice touch, and I thought Bakula channeled a bit of Kirk when trying to convince Krem to help him.

Really, it wasn't THAT bad .... As Ferengi episodes go. At least not one character uttered the word "moogie". God, how I hated that shit.
SkepticalMI - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 5:25pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I think you have mentioned your appreciation before, and the feeling is mutual. For the record, I did not intend to imply that you agreed with Alkar in any way. I simply meant that if their intention was to make this a social commentary episode, they did a poor job of it (which you seem to agree with too).

I'm thinking that if they did want to go with this angle, of using this episode as a springboard to discuss whether or not it was ok for a politician to have moral failings if their cause is just, then changes would need to be made. For starters, I'm guessing that someone else (perhaps from the same species) would need to make the argument that Alkar was justified in doing this, rather than Alkar himself. That would fit with how politicians act; they try to avoid the subject entirely and if forced to discuss the matter, usually offer a hollow apology and say they are working on improving themselves (while the "machine" politicians work in the background to set the proper narrative). When Picard talks to Alkar and he defends himself, there's simply no denying that he looks like a common criminal offering lame justifications for his crimes.

Not that this one change would make it a good episode...
Josh - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 4:11pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

The counterargument from the "real world" is that Kassidy's character allowed for a prominent recurring role played by black performer. I don't think there's anything more "progressive" about portraying Sisko dating a white woman instead! Also, as has been pointed out, Jake's most prominent love interest was Mardah - a Bajoran played by an apparently Caucasian woman. Way back in "The Storyteller" both Jake and Nog seem interested in another "white" Bajoran girl.

Otherwise, I'm pretty sure Harry is supposed to be of Korean descent (certainly Kim would be an extremely atypical Cantonese name), though according to Memory Alpha he's from South Carolina. So I figure he'd be speaking English too.

(And, generally, I prefer to avoid the translation issue! Too thorny.)
dgalvan - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 1:18pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

Christopher Lloyd was awesome in this.

Also, what was his dog/pet on the bridge of the bird of prey? It was not a Targ, was it?
Ian G - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 1:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

I really enjoy this whole arc which starts at the end of the first season. The action sequences were from 90's TV so the standards were much lower then, but I still thought they held up fairly well. DS9 has a really funny trip of giving tiny Kira, who weighs in at a whopping 115 lbs, an iron fist that can knock any character, no matter how large and powerful they are, down with one hit. I also thought that it was odd that the nature of the political violence was toned way down to graffiti and branding Quark, compared to religious extremism fueled bombings and assassinations from the previous episode which seemed more appropriate for a society that fought a 50 year long insurgency with terrorist tactics.
Kahryl - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 1:00pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

No, Petrus, you DON'T know exactly what will happen if you don't do anything. In fact that result is just as unpredictable as one in which you interfere. Deciding not to act, is in itself a decision and an action with distinct results.

Also, the idea that the best decision is the one with the most "predictable outcome" is ridiculous. How about destroying the aliena' atmosphere and killing them all - you know EXACTLY what the result of that will be!
Elliott - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:52am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

If not for Time's Arrow messing it up, we could have included Guinan in with Picard's love interests. While I understand why the subject may be an uncomfortable one, in this case, there seems to be something deliberate going on. I cite again "Badda-Bing" wherein Sisko makes a comment to Kassidy about "our people." Sisko's family seems to have settled in New Orleans. Of course, they could have settled there as late as his father's generation, but, assuming they've been there since our time, it is likely that Sisko's ancestry can be traced to the French slave trade. Is that Kassidy's ancestry as well? We hear her speaking English, but I always assumed that Keiko was speaking Japanese, Picard and Geordie French, Worf Russian, Kim Cantonese, Torres Spanish, etc. "Yates" is an old British surname, so it is likely that Kassidy's family can be traced to one of the empire's trades. The point is, the only feature Sisko can be referring to when isolating Kassidy, Jake and himself from the other humans is race. Without going off on too much of a tangent, this idea is another example of the writers failing to extrapolate in futuristic terms. These issues are only relevant to us now in this way. Until that episode, it didn't seem like humans paid race even the slightest attention. In fact, "race" was usually interchangeable with "species" (which makes more sense anyway, as there are actual genetic differences between different species). But now, we have to reevaluate Sisko's choices in light of this attitude, and his and his son's exclusive coupling with humans and aliens whose skin colour was the same as theirs is disturbing. Not to mention, as Robert noted, the only two non-white Bajorans we meet are Jake's love-interests. And there was Fenna, the only member of her species we ever meet, and she is played by a black woman. I can make exactly one exception to this rule--Sisko slept with mirror Dax (but that was mostly to keep her from suspecting his identity).
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Memory Alpha's picture of Vedek Tonsa confirms you are right! I went through all of them and there is one. I didn't remember him.
Paul M. - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Robert, as I remember, there were a few black Bajorans: a vedek, maybe some militia members...
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:27am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

That should have read "more wrong". Must not post before coffee.
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Paul - "For an out-of-universe answer, I'd hope there are enough "minorities" in Hollywood to allow a white guy to have a black girl every now and then. "

Of course there are, it's just less jarring when it doesn't happen (although that doesn't make it less wrong). If 9/10 characters we meet are played by white people, it doesn't feel deliberate that Picard didn't date the 1/10. When Sisko manages to ignore the 9/10 EVERY TIME and always land on that 1/10, it feels deliberate.

Again, doesn't make it less wrong but it IS more jarring!

Although TNG did do a better job than you might think mixing races. Geordi had Aquiel and Leah (one black, one white). Worf's love interests are all played by white people (which means of course that Deanna's love interest was played by a black man). O'Brien married Keiko.

Sure, Picard's 3 or 4 love interests are all white, as are Beverly's. Riker hit on anything with a pulse so there must be something in there that's not white... anyone remember anything right now?
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Is the actress who played Mardah white? She's darker than me, but I'm translucent.

I wasn't counting the vampire as a love interest, but I guess you could!

I don't care that Jake dated black Bajorans, I just found it jarring that I don't think there were ANY black Bajorans on the show EVER EXCEPT the ones he dated. Someone please point out if I'm wrong though!!
Josh - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 8:40am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I'm catching this episode now on a quiet post-call morning but I have to say....

After Dejaren's outburst to B'Elanna about how, among other things, he's ashamed to be made in her (organics') image, I can't say I understand why she's willing to stick around on this ship. As she says, he's a lunatic, and even without the dramatic irony of the teaser, I would have gotten myself off that ship without delay. Why she's willing to stick around yet alone snoop around the mysterious lower deck is beyond me.
Paul M. - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 3:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I don't know Elliott, that seems a problematic explanation, and one that relies on strange rationalisations. What happened to 24th century Earth? Did some unmentioned genocide of Africans and Asians happen that we don't know about?

For an out-of-universe answer, I'd hope there are enough "minorities" in Hollywood to allow a white guy to have a black girl every now and then. If we're finding Sisko's choice of dates odd, I posit that it's no less odd than Picard's or Riker's choice of girlfriends. Or Beverly's choice of men, for that matter.

I'm feeling a bit uneasy with this line of thought.
Elliott - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 12:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Katie, you just described barter not capitalism. Capitalism requires, well, capital. Something with assigned value rather than intrinsic value. When you don't sufficiently regulate this faith-based economic system, those with power manipulate the capital standards to benefit themselves. Capitalism is fine, but you have to dam the waters or you're liable to drown
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:50pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Very good acting, particularly by Sackhoff.

This is my first time watching the series. Three possibilities:

1. She is dead. If Starbucks is dead, then her "special destiny" was suicide after a life fighting depression. Not particularly interesting, IMO, but as a study in self-destuction. Which, I suppose, should be part of this universe. Still, sadly, I must agree the fleet is better off without her. The series certainly is better off without the chaotic Starbuck generated Love Z... It would have been much more satifying to see he get her act together along the lines the XO. Don't tell me his life was a bowl of cherries, and he manages to get his act together.

2. She survived. Well, there are no weird aliens in the series, per Olmos demand, so only the Cylons could save her. Which makes little sense.

3. She is one of the Five. Which means, well, whatever that means.

3.5 Stars
Katie - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:46pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

What is so fictional about capitalism? It is people consensually trading with one another. People give up things of what they perceive are lesser values for things they perceive are greater values. Is this really so strong? That is exactly what it is.

As for Corey and Elliot, capitalism isn't what we have right now. It's hardly unregulated and is nothing even close to what capitalism is. There is so much regulation, from both right and the left (even more from the right under Bush) that one could hardly call it capitalism. Every year, the state gets bigger and bigger. There's nothing capitalistic about what we have right now, so if you think capitalism is at fault, you're criticizing the wrong thing. This is not capitalism.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:30pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

It's been awhile since I've seen this episode, but I definitely can say that the actress who plays Libby's performance is so legendarily bad that among my Trekkie friends it's become a running joke. The way she plays her, it almost seems like Libby's a little . . . slow.

I'll have to rewatch it (not sure if that's a good thing or not haha), but they way I remember the episode playing out, Harry had way more chemistry with Tom than with his beard in San Francisco.
Next »Page 1 of 807
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer