Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 26,329 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1054
Davin - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 3:12am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Such a deep episode. As an audience, we KNOW this "traitor". We've seen her jump on the bed as a child! Many (myself included) agree with her choice to join the Maquis. While many (myself included) also respect the hell out of the Federation and what it stands for.

It's a tough call for Ro. But what is not a tough call is rating this episode four out of four stars. I am currently binge watching "Next Generation" in chronological order and as a first time viewer. This one hit me like a tidal wave in comparison to other great episodes of this amazing series.
Robert - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 8:48pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I couldn't disagree more with this review. This episode certainly deserves 3-4 stars. Of course it was expected for Tuvok to be restored at the end of the episode, but this fact did not detract from its overall emotional impact. It was wonderful to see another side of Tuvok, and his bonding with Neelix (in non-annoying mode, no less) was superbly performed by both actors. Like other posters above I teared up when "new" Tuvok uttered the line "how will you know how much I enjoy being with you?", as well as Neelix's line "I'm really going to miss him."

While it would have been nice to see Tuvok express more direct gratitude at the end of the episode, this was subtly done as Tuvok offered the non-logical response to Neelix's original riddle. I think this was Tuvok's way of letting Neelix know that, despite the restoration of the "old" Tuvok, that he did appreciate Neelix for what he was, even if his "logical" self precluded him from expressing it as often as he would like.

All in all, a touching episode definitely worthy of recommendation.
Abedfo - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 3:49pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

Speaking as a geology graduate, i can confirm sisko's plan wouldnt work!
Matt - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:53pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

If I remember correctly there is a quick shot of Worf carrying the rest of the items out of the time pod.
Diamond Dave - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Well, on the good side this introduces the concept of the wormhole that basically the entirety of DS9 is based off, and the Delta Quadrant for Voyager. And there are a couple of good scenes - notably Riker smiling off Ral's attempt to needle him.

But overall this is a shocker. Ral's seduction of Troi is profoundly creepy, and the dialogue clunky and unintentionally comedic. The bizarre girl talk aerobics session comes out of nowhere. And the Ferengi neither amuse nor entertain. 1.5 stars.
Blalock - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Meh. 2.5 stars. I, too, would like more Data backstory (pre-TNG) instead of more pre-activation. The real problem with this episode is the very idea that Soong was able to push synthetics to the point of having an android register on medical scans as human and actually grow older/die. Way too far fetched for me. It almost seems like the writers just threw this one together. Flanagan's acting comes through, though, and I rarely give TNG episodes < 2 stars, so 2.5 it is.
Diamond Dave - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 1:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

I was less enamored with this episode than many others. While it was handled well enough I never felt the plot lines really took flight.

Geordi and the Romulan having to put aside their differences and cooperate comes off as a sub-Sesame Street lesson, teaching us that we are all the same underneath. OK, but it's such an overused theme it's difficult to take too seriously.

The Worf story is stronger, and his flat refusal to intervene - and Picard's refusal to press him to the limit - feels like a character faithful interlude. However, as noted above Worf gets a free pass when the Romulan proves not to want his help - and that undermines the ground this story is built on.

So it's not bad, and after a couple of terrible episodes the VFX seem to be back up to speed, but overall - 2.5 stars.
Pam - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 12:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I found this episode overly mushy, entirely unsubtle, and the acting on almost everyone's part as wooden and unfeeling as the android who was the central figure. The plot, acting, and script bang the viewer over the head with the obvious, cliched themes. I found myself rolling my eyes at almost every interaction, and couldn't wait for this one to end. It was too much story packed into 40 minutes. It may have been better without the admiral business, which was a real distraction from the main event. But as it stands, this has to be one of my least favorite episodes of the series so far. I do not understand the undying love that so many have for this one. I may have to go back and watch "Measure of a Man" to get the bad taste of it out of my mouth.
Nebula Nox - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 9:06am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

Over the years, I have come to appreciate the Ferengi episodes. Anyway, this one is lovely, with the end coming straight out of "It's a Wonderful Life."
Thorlief - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 1:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I haven't really watched Voyager much--my wife is addicted to anything Trek, though--but I've been reading Jammer's reviews off and on, as I hear episodes being played in the background. Something amusing has cropped up as I've read the reviews--as I noted under the review for "The Gift," that episode was directed by Anson Williams, formerly Potsie on "Happy Days." This episode features Don Most as Kaden--that's formerly Donnie Most, who played Potsie's sidekick Ralph Malph on "Happy Days."

Is Ron Howard in one of these? Is there a Vulcan version of Fonzie running around the Delta Quadrant?
Mallory R. - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:51pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

...and whoops. I thought then and now that it was a deserving heir to TOS - as much as TNG. I guess it's just the nature of things that the good die young and the real irritation seems to persist, and that hack monstrosity Voyager unfortunately served as the anti-Trek.

Trip was especially great at the end, once again reminding us that Connor Trinneer was overqualified for the role.
Mallory R. - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:44pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Really a fun episode, and I love how it stays true to TOS. Hats off to Mr. Combs, awesome character actor, consistently great, and too often overlooked. He never lets up, whether as Weyoun in DS9 or Shran here. "Hands off, pinkskin." This was the first Enterprise episode I ever saw, and I was frankly amazed at how good it was



Robert - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:37pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

1. You're missing out on DS9
2. There were 2 VOY Ferengi episodes
3. The continuity bothers me and so did VOY constantly beating the Borg. Demystify the Borg and making them less scary and adding the Queen didn't bother me.
Mabit - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 7:10pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I have to disagree with the comments about the Borg Queen making the Borg weak.

From the outset the Borg are like and insect species based on hornets, wasps and ants but instead of chemical signals its a collective conciousness.

The fact there is a Queen gives them purpose and a structure.

I am currently rewatching Voyager after watching all TNG and TNG movies. Never got into TOS too 80's child and never liked "Deep Sleep 9" to quote the TNG cast.

The people commenting on continuity are missing the point of Voyager. It is an alien of the week show with each big jump in space allows for new weekly aliens.

The best saving grace of this was there was only one Ferengi episode. And the Borg got more dimention and with more exposure the scariest beast can be understood and that makes them less scary.
John Doe - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 6:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

It's a great episode for criticism of religious fundamentalism, but the comparison between Bajoran religion and our religions doesn't really hold up well. Bajoran faith actually has observable ground truth compare to ours. The wormhole and aliens are observable facts, they are not non-existent make-beliefs that Bajorans made up. Because Bajorans would like to call the entities Prophets and the wormhole Celestial Temple doesn't mean Keiko should dismiss their labeling. Bajorans just observed the aliens earlier than Federation scientists did, so they got to name the aliens 1st.

When we talk about a landmark, we describe the structure of the landmark and then we address it by its names. So in this case, the space landmark is a wormhole called Celestial Temple. Since Bajoran faith has some ground truth, I don't think it's difficult to compromise a little and incorporate their jargon when teaching about the phenomenon. Keiko's firm stance seemed rather unreasonable in this case. She could have easily dodged the bullet by saying "the worm hole is built by entities called prophets according to Bajorans" case closed. I find the premise of this episode hard to sell for such a dramatic conflict.
Robert - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@SonofMog - You totally missed the point of this episode. Winn could have completed the negotiations without him but elected not to so that she'd have a fall guy if she failed.

If anything this is sort of an inversion on that cliche. Bashir even openly calls her out on it.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 3:23pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Geordi finally gets a chance to helm an episode of his own and it's watchable enough. It is, however, very heavy on the technobabble, which does keep coming and coming and ironically leads to a resolution that involves turning all the technology off...

The sub-plot, with Geordi striking out and then finding love with the holodeck program as he resolves the problem, never quite manages to convince. When Brahms says "I can" - meaning the ship's computer - you have to wonder exactly what Geordi is being attracted to...

Still, it was nice to see Picard's boyish enthusiasm about something - as Troi said, it's not a side to his personality we often see. 2.5 stars.
SonofMog - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

So, so, so sick of the "negotiator who cannot be replaced" cliche. It's one of those premises I can't remember ever seeing outside of Trek but occurs routinely within it, especially TNG. Enough with this stupid idea.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 1:58pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

This starts off as an interesting riff on the nature of grief, and examines it from a number of different character perspectives. As an audience it's difficult to be too invested, given this is a previously unseen character that has died, but at least the themes are universal enough to identify with.

Once the 'ghost' enters, it becomes a rather more obvious and laboured examination of the topic, leading to an extended therapy session in which Troi helps Jeremy and Wesley come to terms with their loss and the alien recognises that all will be well.

As a character piece it works nicely enough, but it never really transcends its topic and becomes anything more than OK. 2 stars.
Shannon - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 11:40am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

The new BSG was everything that Star Trek Enterprise was not, edgy, gripping, relatable, make-you-stay-up-until-2 a.m.-because-you-just-have-to-see-the-next-episode science fiction, and on a simple level just downright awesome storytelling. Kudos to Ron Moore (loved all of the episodes he wrote for Star Trek over the years) for creating a masterpiece. And a big thank you to those idiots Rick Berman and Brannon Braga for being so stubborn, arrogant, and inflexible that they forced Ron Moore to leave Star Trek Voyager early in its 6th season (although, had Ron Moore been the Exec. Producer of Enterprise, that series would have turned out SOOOOOO much better and probably would have gone 7 years like prior Trek series). But Star Trek's loss was a big giant gain for us sci-fi fans, because this mini-series along with the 4-year series that followed was mind-blowing. Loved it!!!
romemmy - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 2:44am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

Yanks,

That may be true ordinarily, but the Klingons were at war.. and in literally the very next episode (Sons of Mogh) they talked about procedures the Klingons were taking to totally secure their vessels - including "entire directories of false information" - which was done in case the ship was taken (which means presumably their security would be massively increased.

Even *todays* security is better than that!

Also, you could say that, in response to the stolen Bird of Prey, that's why they increased security by the next episode.. but in Sons of Mogh Worf said he couldn't get ahold of Kurn for a long while, and that Kurn had been stripped of his rank and position months before when Worf originally told Gowron he wouldn't help them. Since Kurn knew of the security procedures, it stands to reason he found out *before* he was stripped, which is, in all likelihood significantly earlier than when Dukat stole the ship....

Finally, as for easy to break codes, there have been numerous occasions where the various different crews have said something like "Computer - lock out all command functions!" - without resorting to the long code Data used in TNG:Brothers.. And then it seems to take days or never for the intruders to break the code (e.g. Ferengis in TNG:Rascals).

I know, I'm guilty of over thinking it, but the technical inconsistencies can be annoying... Still love Trek tho ;)

Thanks!

S.



romemmy - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 2:27am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Does anyone else think Ensign Kim is violating protocol by asking the captain to give him and Ensign Ballard a minute? As soon as the captain agrees to accept Ballard as telling the truth, Ensign Kim almost dismisses the captain! Seems to me an ensign would keep his mouth shut until a private moment presented itself.

S.
William B - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 12:44am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

My reticence to support "Second Skin" also has to do with the magic trick the episode does which is very much like the one in "In the Hands of the Prophets" and "Cardassians" -- it sidesteps the apparent story to reveal unscrupulous political scheming as the root cause. Entek was behind it because the Order is diabolical. That's a plot explanation for why Kira was captured, but it does not provide the reason for the story to take place. Now, because the personal development with Kira leads to her boning with Ghemour, the sidestep does not wholly render the story irrelevant, by any means. And I think this sidestepping can work well -- "Duet" somewhat inverts it, in that Marritza's apparent villainy turns out to be part of his own scheme, but for various reasons I hope to talk about at some point, I think "Duet" earns that twist, an does not render the foregoing material irrelevant.
Bill - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

Okay, I'll confess. Can't argue with Jamahl or the other posters here so I won't rate this episode. Can't bring myself to do it.

Because... I'll always be enthralled watching France Nuyen as Elaan just as much as I am watching Sophie Marceau's performances in "Braveheart" and that silly Bond movie ("The World Is Not Enough").

Yeah, okay. I know I'm a dick. To each his own.
Bill - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

This is indeed the worst among the worst. At least with "Spock's Brain" or "The Way to Eden" I could laugh. This episode's premise is the complete opposite in every way of Individualism, Egoism, and Rational Self-Interest. Kantian in its drivel ("the greatest good is that which enriches the doer the least") and steeped in Christianity, the silliness even extends to things non-philosophical and strictly scientific such as the diversity within the Human Race itself toward all ends of all ethical spectrums. And yet, by Gem's performance, the Vians will know her species? Even the Old Testament's rubric required "10 good men." God awful (pun intended) in every way, from sets, acting, philosophy, ugh. Zero stars with a McEnroe "argument for the next call" for some future capability on this wonderful website to rate episodes negatively.
Next »Page 1 of 1054
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer