Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 23,838 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 954
Tim Rigney - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 7:56am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

I actually liked this episode, but did anybody notice the glaring continuity error? In the middle of the episode, they encounter a debris field which closely-matches the field that would be expected from the missing ship - the "Fleming." Data even goes so far as to imply that it probably *is* the Fleming. Then at the end of the story, the Fleming is encountered and its crew is safely beamed on-board the Enterprise. The debris field is never mentioned again.
I suppose it could be argued that the warp rift problems caused by travel at warp speeds could cause time shifts, but if that's the case I think it should have been spelled out. I think it's *way* too vague to expect people to just infer it, if that's what they were expecting.
I also thought they were a bit too vague on what it means to "field saturate" the nacelles. Maybe "Trekkies" would get that but as others have mentioned, there was perhaps too much "techno-jargon" involved in this one - imo it's *bad* science fiction to be throwing technical terms around willy-nilly without explaining what they mean.
It's actually one of my favorite episodes overall but I would definitely agree that it needed a re-write. It was written by Naren Shankar who was perhaps high on the science knowledge, low on the writing experience.
Soundchaser - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 7:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I'm still kinda new to Star Trek, since I'm exploring it starting last year. I first saw the 2009 reboot and then got interested in the old TOS movies, watched them all and then finally the TNG movies and the TNG series. (and Into Darkness) I checked out the TOS series as well, but I only liked few of the episodes...(I love the Kirk crew, but most of the stories are really silly and stupid to me) Until now TNG is THE Star Trek to me and I like the series the most, and I'm also a huge fan of the "The Inner Light" episode, which is my favourite one of the whole series.

I now went on to DS9 and wanted to give this series a chance. Unfortunately most of the first three seasons was disappointing/average to me, as I always see much potential in the characters and many stories, but it rarely works for the whole episode imo. I still find TNG much superior in story telling than DS9 until now.
I just startet season 4 today and already liked the first two episodes, but damn, THIS third episode here...I think I've found my "The Inner Light" of DS9! What a brillant episode! I loved it from the start and I still can't stop thinking about it - it's the same as with "The Inner Light". I'm curious how the series will continue from now on - until now I really like the fourth season. ;-)
Guilty Bystander - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 6:52am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Amazing episode. I have one small (and extremely silly) nitpicking issue with it:

Shouldn't the process of transferring into a new body be called uploading, not downloading? Clearly the dying/dead body must be the one that starts the transmission, not the new body in the bathtub.
Thrackerzod - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 5:02am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I thought it was strange that Logan was initially demanding that Geordi get them out of there immediately, but later when Geordi does decide they must leave Logan jumps all over him for leaving the away team. Isn't that what he wanted to do in the first place?

I also thought it was awfully darn convenient that there just happened to be a particular type of roots growing in that cavern that could stop Beverly's bleeding and that she just happened to know about them.

All that aside for season 1 I thought it was a pretty good episode.
Guilty Bystander - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 4:08am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

Truly great episode. Having seen the entire series, definitely in top 5.

Most of what I could say about it has already been said in the review and the comments, but I'd like to add a point another reviewer made: The "you can't rape a machine" is faulty logic: if physical abuse of a Cylon isn't the same thing as with a human, it would be entirely pointless to even do it. If it can have any hope of working as interregation tactics, then it must be a rape by any meaningful definition of the word.
Guilty Bystander - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 3:03am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S2: Home, Part 2

Dork Knight is right about the constellations. They are not where the colonies are, they represent them. Frankly, Im dumbstruck that someone could be capable of NOT understanding that at this point of the series.
Vii - Fri, Mar 6, 2015, 12:47am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I mentioned in the runner-up to this episode, 'Image,' that I was rather fed up with Kira's animosity at the Romulans bringing weapons to the hospital. In this episode it's stoked to fullblown irritation. I found it perfectly reasonable that the Romulans would ship their medical supplies via warbirds, since the whole neighbourhood of DS9 was one of the most strategically important military zones in the Alpha Quadrant and therefore it was going to be one of the most dangerous warzones in the sector. What was Kira expecting, luxury cruisers? In fact, Kira represents a lot of what I felt was wrong about the Bajorans in general - they were never happy with anything, laid it on far too thick with the whole "victimisation" mentality which got stale very quickly, resented Federation "interference" but at the same time didn't hesitate to go running to the Fed when they needed their help.

I feel that the ST in general presents a rather biased view about racism. Apparently it's okay when the Bajorans and Klingons and even Federation make racist, sweeping generalisations about whole species and dislikes them simply because of whom they are. This sickening racist attitude is shown yet again in this episode, where Worf's condescending attitude to Quark is one of the running themes of their plot. Notice how Worf has never ever called Quark by his name, but only ever by his species? Yet somehow it's not okay when the Cardassians or the Romulans (or even the Borg) do, because they're the "bad guys."
Vii - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 9:14am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

I agree with Yanks that Kira's reaction to Cretak and the Romulans was a bit over the top. Isn't the main priority at this point defeating the Dominion, rather than internal fighting? And Bajoran security, as everyone knows, doesn't count for much.

I may be in the minority here, but I've never found the Bajoran storylines or their race in general to be particularly compelling. As for their Prophets, there's just so much inconsistency there that it brings down their credibility even more. This may have been discussed somewhere else, but I just can't buy that the Prophets would stand by and allow Bajor to be subjected to brutal colonisation for 50 years without doing nothing, yet send along Sisko as an Emissary for the Dominion War. In fact, if they were capable of wiping out 2800 Dominion ships, then why didn't they do that every time the Dominion sent reinforcements? Why let the Dominion through to the Alpha Quadrant in the first place? At this point, a more credible explanation is that the Prophets are just an illusion perpetrated by Q, who's once again trying to test the Federation.

As $G pointed out, the Cardassian arc is frankly the best thing about DS9, and that was one thing they got completely and utterly right. I don't think I would have wanted to continue watching if not for them, and they get better with every viewing. As Admiral Ross said, thank God for the Cardassians. Oh, and Martok and Weyoun of course. In fact, thank god for most of the recurring cast, whom I ended up liking much more than the main cast.

Went slightly off topic there, but I'll finish by sharing my favourite scene in this episode:

BASHIR: Miles, I don't know what to say. I'm touched.
QUARK: You're both touched.

Armin Shimerman's delivery cracked me up. The man's a born comedian.
Dimpy - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 8:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Other then the " breaking the 4th wall " moment at the end, I felt completely ... BORED
Vii - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 5:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

@Bravestarr
So let me get this straight. Jazdia Dax, a Trill officer with the rank of Lieutenant Commander is told to stay at the station during a very important and critical mission in the Dominion War. But NOG who is an ENSIGN is right up there on the bridge, mixing it up with the Captain and piloting one of the most powerful ships in Starfleet!? Are you kidding me!? I'm not joking people this little guy is worse than Wesley Crusher.
---------

I can't agree with you more.It's ridiculous how Nog started off as illiterate, and even had to have Jake teach him how to read, but ended up being on every important mission, doing all the piloting, getting it Right On Every Occasion, and simply shooting up the ranks. Emissary's son's best friend? Check. First Ferengi ever to enter Starfleet? Check. Technological genius? Check. Son of the Grand Nagus? Check. Helllloooo Mary Sue. I found him so much more worse than Wesley Crusher, to be honest. Nog's self-righteousness was incredibly grating, and the way he was so patronising to people he considered 'below' him, and sucked up to the superiors. I seriously wanted to punch him in 'Valiant', or at least see Jake Sisko clock him one. Someone on TrekBBS posted a drabble about a conversation Harry Kim would have had with him once he'd gotten back from the Alpha Quadrant concerning promotions, which was hilarious.

I thought this episode was fairly good, although it didn't quite match the velocity of previous season enders. I liked all the three-way scenes between Damar, Weyoun and Dukat - every time Dukat just barges in on Damar and Weyoun, and how they regale him with increasing incredulity whilst Dukat keeps trying to convince them how he and his Pah-Wraiths will save the day. My favourite scene was when the Chin'Toka system had just been taken by the Allies, and Dukat announces what a "great" victory he's won again for them, whilst Weyoun shouts at him, and Damar rolls his eyes and groans at the ceiling. The distinguishing characteristics of these three men are played out so vividly that it's a joy to watch.
MsV - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 12:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I have read most of the comments and I have come to the conclusion that I am like no one else Lol. I liked this episode a lot but it made me angry not sad. I got mad a Kira first because she kept saying 8000 people have to die. The wouldn't die, they just simply would not exist. Second I got angry with Worf because he thinks he knows how other people feel. He said, " you're afraid of your destiny." He said this to Miles who already has a family and is very much in love with his wife (I don't know why). And how does Worf know for certain that this is their destiny, it was an accident after all that got them there. Then there is Dax, not for causing thise situation, but for not voicing her opinion about not wanting to stay, I could see it in her face, even after they were on the Defiant getting ready to go through the barrier.

There are 3 people that I was not angry with, Odo, Sisko and, Obrien. Odo and Obrien were true to their feelings, at least until the end when Obrien wavered. Sisko went along with the majority which will call a waver. They never considered that the Klingons would take over the wormhole and the Dominion would take over the Alpha quadrant if they didn't go back, that was more than 8000 lives.

Great episode!!
Vii - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 10:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Again, most of what I thought about the episode has already been said, but my pet peeves about this story were:

a) How they didn't show the final resolution between Sirella and Jadzia, and as a former comment pointed out, this episode did a far better job of showing how incompatible Worf and Jadzia are, than selling me on the reasons they should get married.

b) I was very disturbed by how awful Sirella was to Jadzia. No one's ever mentioned this before, so maybe it's just me? Anyway, I didn't care for Sirella's blatant xenophobia or disrespect to Jadzia. Perhaps the two of them worked something out - again, this links back to my first point, that we should have seen a scene of sorts where both acknowledge their "wrongs." I also did not care for how insistent Worf was that Jadzia cave in to his demands.

c) The way the Odo/Kira situation was resolved. I thought Kira was a person who didn't forgive easily, and with Odo's betrayal, they came this close to total annihilation by the Dominion. The fact that Kira was the one to reach out to Odo, rather than the other way round, was simply implausible. It should have been the other way round, considering that it is Odo who is in love with her and Odo who betrayed her.

Apart from the above gripes, which ruined the episode rather, it was enjoyable. Jadzia's bachelorette party was a hoot, and the Polynesian lieutenant's expression when he bumped into Worf on the way out was hilarious. Ditto for poor Miles and Julian's various reactions to the Klingon bachelor rite Worf puts them through.
KittyKatt - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I have a question about a actual human relationship. I herd (insiade), a term used in this episode referring to rikker when (troi) as under the images. Please I want to know ur explanation of (insadi)!
Jadzia - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:49pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Ah. I really want to like this show. But then Archer says "when I was on a mission in East Africa, I saw a gazelle giving birth"...
Vii - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

The strong points of this episode were, as has been mentioned, the magnificent battle sequences and Dukat's spiral into madness. Some people have mentioned that they found Garak's reaction to her death to be underplayed, but I thought that was completely in character for him. By nature he suppresses his emotions, joys and fears as best as he can, and I thought that the last scene, where he Defiant crew return to DS9, conveyed the sense of Garak's awareness of Ziyal's absence very fittingly. You can see him walking around and looking frantically for her, and then when someone mentions that she's in the infirmary, he goes off like a shot. His expression at her deathbed reminded me of him standing in the midst of ruined Cardassia in the last episode: a deep well of grief that he holds at bay.

Also agree with some former posters here that Odo's (predictable) betrayal and subsequent return to the fold could have been handled a lot better. At this point it seems pretty clear that the only reason Odo's not siding with the Founders is because of Kira, which makes him a rather loose cannon. What if Kira had managed to get herself killed? The events of this arc make it clear that he's not fit for duty and can be easily manipulated, yet this is something that's never fully addressed per his relationship with the 'solids' other than Kira.

While we're on the subject of Kira, I do think that the producers are taking it a bit overboard with her Mary-Sueish "Wonder Woman" depiction. Dukat's obsessed with her, Odo's obsessed with her, Bareil and Shakaar and Riker and Bashir and Quark all fall for her, and she's capable of knocking the living daylights out of a fully armoured Cardassian twice her size...What?
The Dreamer - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 2:49pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Good Episode

I also wondered about the potential Wolf 359 plot hole

In guess the transwarp conduit could be plausible

I.e a sphere left behind to collect escape pods and return to the Delta Quadrant? (The Wormhole aliens protecting The Sisko of course.) or a ship or two assimilated and headed for the DQ after the cube was blowed up

It would have been more plausible for these the starfleet officers and romulans to be the victims from the outposts along the neutral zone referenced in the same named episode. But I guess wolf 359 sounds more memorable

As far as explaining Klingons etc
Michael Wallis - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

A lousy episode pushing a conformist late 20th century agenda. However, the ending was enjoyable i.e. the murderers received their death sentences.
Andrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:25pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

This episode doesn't depart from the TNG format as much as it could or maybe should have but I didn't think it was bad or disappointing; the anomaly plot felt familiar but not particularly tired and I liked how Janeway, Chakotay and Torres were shown as flawed and conflicted without going too far (and the last scene with Janeway and Chakotay showed pretty good chemistry).
Robrow - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 11:28am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

I'm sorry, but this was perhaps the most irritating episode of DS9 I've seen so far. Too preachy by half, full of lazy contrivance and the scene where Dax recovers her badge from the loony was embarrassingly bad. Coming after the train wreck that was Fascination, it feels like they're in danger of throwing away all that good work from the first two seasons. Please get back to the Cardassians and the Dominion.
Icarus32Soar - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Who gives a toss about the chick on chick action? What a bore! Two awesome actresses wasted on a lame concept, awful soap opera dialogue, totally predictable ending. No tension, no dramatic ambiguity.Bland is not how I like my Star Trek. No stars.
Icarus32Soar - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

FAB episode, more nuanced and unpredictable than Duet. Visitor's voice and laughter are a few decibels too high but so what? The tension in Dukat's character and the ambiguity of the relationship is what makes enthralling viewing. Hamlet scores laughs in the graveyard before Ophelia's funeral, the dramatic and the comic together is what makes great art convincing, the thorn scene is part of that blend and it's effective.This episode is off the scale, 6 stars out of 5.
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 8:56am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@ Jonn Walsh

The producers' decision to go for incredibly bland atonal background music was the wrong choice. Imagine if Ron Jones had scored Gambit I and II!

Honestly, I think the change in soundtrack style is when TNG went from being cinematic to just another TV show.

MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I kept thinking when I saw Dey Young, she looks familiar and couldn't place where I had seen her. She is Leigh Taylor-Young's younger sister. Leigh plays Ezri's mother in "Prodigal Daughter".

I am glad Kira realized Odo could be interested in someone other than her. She seemed a little jealous when everyone thought Odo spent the night with Arissa.
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:27am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@ Holographic Andrew

I just can't help myself. :)

The episode is so ludicrous and over-the-top I have to sit back and smile. Yes, it is cheesy and badly written, but it is NOT boring.

I, mean, Picard walks in on Beverly masturbating!!! How can that NOT make you laugh?
Jonn Walsh - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

I had to echo the feelings of a previous poster here about the gratuitousness of killing off Robert and Rene Picard.
No fire suppression system there at Chateau Picard, I see.
I'm surprised they even had electricity or running water.
A glaring inconsistency.
Also, as I'm typing here I've got Nth Degree on and as much as I may like some aspects of it, it clearly is the episode that signaled the beginning of the end for the Will Riker character AND so begins here the era of the audio wallpaper soundtrack.
Say what you may about Night Terrors (one of my top 10, actually), the musical soundtrack is magnificent. The music in Identity Crisis was a transition...a hodgepodge with elements of the prior and the next episodes providing a bridge over the chasm between the 2 disparate styles involved. And then Nth Degree....and except for very few exceptions (The Inner Light being the prime exception), the aural tenor of the show would never be the same. And with it went a chunk of the show's heart. And boy, is Riker dumb in Nth Degree!
Next »Page 1 of 954
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer