Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 41,085 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,644
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

DPLB,

It doesn't have to be an either-or. The threat of the Changelings isn't just that they *can* impersonate people to do damage, but that (as Jason R. pointed out) they *don't even have to do anything* to do damage. The threat comes from both sides. Consider how insane security would have to become to truly neutralize that threat - is it even possible with Federation technology? If not, what do you do, surrender? Panic? That is one question the episode deals with, and Joseph Sisko says it himself. If you literally cannot take sufficient precautions to prevent the threat then the worst thing you can do is to is to freak out about it and neutralize your own effectiveness even more. You're right, it could have been an interesting sci-fi premise to figure out how exactly they could feasibly defend against this type of menace. But as DS9 doesn't tend to be tech-centric I'm more than happy they looked at the morale and psychological stability side of it.

For a good analogy about paranoia and poor security, I could ask if you've seen The Thing (not the latest remake). That story is basically the ultimate in never knows if anyone is real or if the creature is even there. The entire atmosphere is tense, frightened, and desperate regardless of what's happening or who may have the upper hand. They can never rest or allow themselves to think everything's ok. DS9 isn't that dark and so they weren't going to go there, but they hinted at that scenario here, and the conclusion is that the Federation has to be better than that, EVEN in the face of such a threat. Otherwise might as well close up shop and open up a knock-off of the Romulan system.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Outstanding episode - really great acting by Jeri Ryan for 7 of 9. You can see the emotion in her and how she struggles with it from start to finish. "Drone" made me care despite some wild sci-fi that stretches the realm of believability. In the end, some of the loopholes didn't matter because we have an intensely compelling and poignant story.

The early part of it really reminded me of Frankenstein. I expected the new Borg drone to go on some kind of rampage, maybe get 7 on his side, and that Janeway was being foolish putting 7 in charge. But 7 developed motherly instincts and the Borg drone identified with the crew and its individuality. When the Borg sphere came calling, the episode really picked up. There's a moment of doubt where you wonder if the call of the Borg will convert the new Borg drone. Again, for me, there's no enemy like the Borg -- their presence automatically makes you take notice.

Really great review written by Jammer too, which I wholeheartedly agree with. This is a good episode for the ongoing arc of 7 of 9 learning to be human. There was the early part where the doctor is training her to make conversation with Torres and Kim and that goes wrong, the part with her learning to smile -- all little things that feed into the greater story of her emotions at the end.

As for the Borg drone itself, yes, it is a lot like the TNG terrific episode "I, Borg" but this one still really worked for me. The whole creation of the new Borg drone was quite a stroke of creativity to come up with a way to conceive of a 29th century Borg drone -- but I didn't care about the huge stretch of believability because here we have a compelling and very poignant ending.

4 stars for "Drone". 7 of 9 is such a better character than Kes (and most of the others on the ship). I'd have to assume the 29th century Borg drone has that added dimension to its thinking to realize it's better off dead than alive as far as the Borg threat to the Voyager crew -- so it has empathy and can make the ultimate sacrifice.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

. I think his cavemen neighbor may be better equipped.
------------

HAHAHA! Let's just hope his caveman neighbour killed him - for being so stupid and unworthy to draw any more oxygen. I'd actually applaud such a writing decision.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

There are times that humans do themselves harm with paranoia and over-reactions. I see it all the time in sport, where a player is found guilty of doping and then a forum erupts with accusations aimed at other players on the most ridiculous "evidence" available "Oh, look at his muscles *snicker*". Classic witch hunt mentality.

But this episode is demented. Or, rather, the writers are. They are giving you a mortal threat—something that could easily be a war winner. A game changer. A race capable of—and SUCCEEDING at—impersonating the top brass. The top levels of command. Now, that on its own needs a massive response and some well written material in order to neutralize the threat to a believable conclusion. But, instead, they use this very real and deadly threat to say that there really isn't anything to worry about, and that the fear is all in people's heads. They are like a man with his brain hemispheres separated from one another - arguing with himself. Can you at least see how this is poor poor writing. Lazy? Silly? At least silly!?

If they wanted to show paranoia, then why the hell did they create a real and deadly threat in order to illustrate it? Paranoia and making matters worse through blind fear is only really relevant when... it really is paranoia and blind fear. Or, to put it an easier way: If someone tells you that a bunch of Vikings are going around torching buildings in the neighbourhood, and then you get evidence it's happening, and people start to panic, you don't say to them "This fear is tearing us apart. We must not give in to this fear.", and then leave it at that! You can be damn sure you would do something about it.

It doesn't make any goddamn sense!
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

4 stars!

Excellent episode

This was a quest done right with the smuggled pendant with the hidden holographic map. I loved the scope both geographically, historically and cast. The world building with Vulcan was fantastic-from the alien architecture in the cityscapes to the desolate Forge, the mysticism, the analysis of their culture. And The namedropping actually served a purpose other than being gratuitous. It enhanced the story rather than having a story built around them. The sehlat, T'Pau, Surak, The Awakening, Kate's and the mind meld between Soval and the injured officer felt truly alien and other-worldly in a way the act never has

The dialog was practically poetic( those who marched beneath Raptor's wings, Arev describing how green blood flowed through the Forge, the story of the IDIC etc)

Arev was THE perfect Vulcan and Remi see me in every way of my image of a Vulcan

The room full of caskets was powerful. No photon torpedoes but actual coffins. And with the loss of Adm Forest. And the unsettling events on Vulcan all perfectly got across that paving the way to the Federation would be not be easy, that in the 22'd century the Alpha Quadrant is in turmoil
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

3 stars

A very solid season premiere episode. Not as good as "Call to Arms" or "By Inferno'sLight" which are the benchmarks of Dominion DS9 episodes. But still entertaining

I thought smart move by writers to pick up the episode three months later which not only reflected originally the passage of real-time for viewers but also allowed for things to have settled into a routine for the characters

I also loved that the episode made it clear that this storyline would be going on for a while and not quickly wrapped up with the Defiant crew reassigned to a specific mission aboard the salvaged Jem'Hadar ship which was put to good use from an otherwise lackluster episode last year. The idea of a very stripped down vessel for the Jem'Hadar was a nice touch and makes sense they wouldn't need food replicators or sickbay. Also enjoyed the dynamics among Nog, Obrien Garak Dax onboard. The mission to destroy the ketrscel white depot was a good idea and quite suspenseful generating lots of genuine jeopardy as they first approached it then got trapped inside the security net with the bomb ticking. I was also curious what exact impacts the destruction of the ketrscel white would have down the line.

It also made sense that the minefield would still be intact. Much like in Call to Arms the dynamics among Dukat Weyoun and Damar continue to be intriguing and realistic First when Weyoun ordered Damar out and put him in his place--after Damar looked at Dukat. Then when Weyoun reminds Dukat that like the Vorta and the Jem'Hadar--he top is a servant, not an equal, of the Founders.

The Kira Odo plot was fair. Out of it mainly just Odo using his "Founder card" to have his deputies armed and then becoming part of station ruling body. Plus nice seeing the non aggression pact --holding.
Set Bookmark
Skooble
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

So the doc can just transfer any consciousness into a hologram? Anytime anyone comes into the sickbay with a life threatening injury or illness or even just a broken arm, transfer then into a hologram and have all the time you need (or a week at least) to cure them. They won't feel any pain and heck, they can even help you cure themselves!

Or set up holotransmitters near dangerous areas and if something goes wrong, transfer Torres into a hologram and send her in to fix it! Easy peasy. Or have holo emitters on shuttles and transfer Paris and Janeway or whoever into holograms and use them to do dangerous space missions. They won't even need food or life support or anything and they can't get hurt! Easy peasy

One of the greatest advancements of all time!

But no, it's just another made-up Voyager gimmick, that is never ever used again, or even mentioned, only used this one time to set up a sappy love story. Lame.

2 stars
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

4 stars!

This episode was DS9's "The Best of Both Worlds". It fundamentally changed the series in a good way and gave the series a direction and consistency

It was about time for the writers to pull the trigger and have the Dominion attack the Alpha Quadrant at hinting at it for three years
This was very epic stuff

I appreciated the namedropping of recognizable Trek races--miradorn, Romulans and Tholians--as governments who signed non aggression pacts with the Dominion. It really sent home the unsettling impact and mark the Dominion was having on the Alpha Quadrant. Furthering the episode's mission to fundamental shift things which was also excellent was having Bajor sign the non aggression pact and not join the Federation from earlier in the season so the Dominion couldn't target Bajor

It was also glad to see how the writers wisely dialed back the initial characterization of the Dominion frontage early years as a super Borg-like threat to just a very formidable adversary. I think it really worked out better.

I also wasn't particularly happy back in
"the Search" when the big reveal to the Founders identity just turned out to be a bunch of shapeahifters. I thought that was pretty ho hum but the writers over the seasons made me realize that while the immediate satisfaction was absent with that particular reveal that in the long term it was a good move to go with that choice

I also appreciated that the writers used the opportunity with the pressing events at hand to press pause on the Odo/Kira and Worf/Dax romance stuff and to not make a big production of the Rom/Leeta wedding then have Leeta rushed off the station. The sweet scene between Rom and Quatk as Rom rushed with last minute preparations with the Dominion minutes away was also nice These were simply little moments sprinkled in among the flurry of the larger more urgent threats at hand closing in

One thing I can't praise DS9 about enough and more shows should emulate was their keen ability to acknowledge the reality of any given situation and the players involved and their motives and perspectives. it was smart for Ira to have Weyoun remind Dukat that Bajor had signed a non aggression pact with the Dominion and as members of the Dominion the Cardassians would not be retaking Bajor. That they would be honoring it. This wouldn't be the only time either. Moments like this for me was what made the series sooo good

It was a real moment of awe when you see the station, the Cardassian/Dominion fleet going after each other. The battle sequences were very suspenseful and exciting. And unlike such scenes nowadays you could actually follow the action rather than it being a blur. When the defiant successfully activated the minefield was a real "stand up and cheer" moment(the idea of a minefield to block the Dominon from a Gamma Quadrant was a very clever idea with cloaked self replicating mines)Then Amidst the lull in the battle -- The moment Sisko orders Federation to abandon the station was a very shocking development

Then the development that the Federation was going to war was another such shocking moment that left me reeling and stunned. The image of the Defiant and Rotarran joining up with the massive Federation/Klingon fleet was EPIC!

The episode also did a good Job at leaving the characters in interesting unsettling places
--the Federation crew on the Defiant along with Garak
-worf and martok on the Rotatran
-Kira quark Odo on the station like in the old days with Dukat and Weyoun in control of the station
-rom as a spy pretending to being back working at Quark's
-jake staying behind covering the war
Set Bookmark
Don
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

A terrible review - this is one of the best episodes. Obviously the reviewer prefers the transformers' franchise.
Set Bookmark
Erik Campano
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Eric Stillwell

Thank you for checking in on this site, and for a fantastic script!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I think the high point was the discussion about respective ethical positions over candlelit dinner.
Ral ended up coming across as a weak slug of a guy damaging his credibility and initial promise.
It is almost impossible to believe that the show's writers had not ,after so many slaps in the face, realised the Ferengi's limitations as villains but potential as rogue traders.
The Ferengi became the equivalents of Cyrano Jones and Harry Mudd but not until DS9.

Having been critical I loved the focus on Troi and thank goodness that her silly mother was not in this.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Totally, Robert, that's why all the Ezri Dax episodes are awesome!!1one
Set Bookmark
artymiss
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved tipsy Seven, but I found this episode quite irritating. I couldn't get beyond my outrage at Janeway's awful recklessness in insisting on going the slipstream route in the first place, although perhaps my irritation should be directed at the script writers for making her suddenly utterly unprofessional so they could get this tiresome plot off the ground.

Set Bookmark
Weyoun Zero
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Did nobody else see Alicia as a total cut n paste of Lily from First Contact? Right down to her "Jean-Luc, blow up the damn ship!" speech, only here it's "Archer, don't stop until you kill every last one of those bastards!" 🙄
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

"So I think you're stuck with getting both or neither, which why I'm left wondering what the heck the Federation does to prevent eugenics in the breeding sense. It's not as bad as genetic engineering...but it still feels pretty bad to me. "

We are in agreement. The point of my story was that the only way to actually get one and not the other is to hide information from the patient. They let people take the test I mentioned under specific circumstances, but not others. Our case wasn't covered (for a variety of reasons not worth going into).

Other people think that people should be allowed to take the test, but only to identify birth defects. The doctor shouldn't tell you the sex. I feel very uncomfortable with the idea that doctors can withhold results of your own blood tests from you, but there we have it.

But you are 100% right. In old D&D like video games where stats were randomized if you wanted to have different stats you could use an editor or re-roll. Re-rolling likely didn't get you the stats you were looking for EXACTLY, but if you were willing to re-roll enough times you could certainly get closer. Selective abortion, could, in theory be used to re-roll your baby if you were heartless enough.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

@Mikey - Do you enjoy the Picard, Riker, Geordi, Data or Worf episodes? I mean... you probably don't right? Do you find Worf attractive?

Sorry all, that was borderline trolling, but I couldn't resist.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Speaking for those of us who don't find Troi physically attractive (I think she's actually quite ugly), this is an insufferable episode. I wish I could find her attractive, then maybe I could overlook what a whiny, know it all bitch she really is.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Reffin
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

In defence of the Geordi/Susanna relationship, [heterosexual, male] nerds don't have problems relating to women, they have problems relating to women they are attracted to. It seems perfectly plausible to me that Geordi formed a great working partnership and friendship with Susanna in the past. Also, I don't buy the complaint that we haven't heard of her before or see her again. Those of us who have reached a certain age can recount a number of friendships (work related or otherwise) which are simply no longer functioning because you are not in each others lives anymore but which can re-form instantly when you do get together.

You might argue that Geordi would have to be blind NOT to be attracted to Susanna, but that would be pretty insensitive in the circumstances.
Set Bookmark
Capt Marrs
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I dont get it if yedron dax would hav never told the defiant crew the truth in the 1st place and just sent them on their way without any knowledge of the events
Sisco and the crew would have tryed to escape and crashed back into the planet and the alternative timeline would hav been preserved
Set Bookmark
Skootle
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

So the doctor and the twitchy alien ratman both learn a brand new made up musical language well enough to speak to each other fluently, even telling jokes, in a few hours, or a day, or whatever it was. Right.

And some of these ships have been here for years and can't find one or more of the ratpeople hidden on their ship in all that time? Right.

anyway, 2 stars from me.

Set Bookmark
Caedus
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Fun episode-some people in the comment section need to lighten up.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I'm with Nathan B. -- this is fun, nothing more. It gives the actors a chance to do some hamming it up and that's about it. I didn't find it made me think at all--it was just a pretty-typical action story, albeit an enjoyable one.

Unlike others, I enjoyed Mirror Sisko and thought his acting was, for the most part, much better than his acting as Original Sisko. I believed in MS more than OS, anyway.

It sure didn't really seem like much of a Mirror universe though--most people were just slightly different from their counterparts and I totally didn't get Mirror Kira--very confusing portrayal.

Mirror Miles almost made me cry--he wasn't different from Original Miles at all--just ground down. Colm Meany is a real actor--I have loved him long in the Irish movies he did before DS 9. I'd venture to say he's the best actor on the whole show.

They missed a humor chance with the last scene--have the runabout dock and be met by the others--and then Kira and Bashir come out looking the way they did, the others look on in shock, then Bashir says, "I need a shower," and Kira says, "Me, too."

I think I'd rank this about a 2.5--I can imagine enjoying it again.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Most excellent episode. I had been getting a bit tired of Garak prior to this with his little hints and murmurs, which i found tedious; this episode played it perfectly. He reveals a bit, then a bit that seems different, a bit more--and then it turns out to be all true. I immediately thought as Blake W. pointed out--that Garak had told the truth with every story and it showed his journey to exile.

I LOVED Tain--I thought Paul Dooley struck the perfect note. He is apparently quite the murderous villain (or maybe not--we aren't quite sure what the Obsidian Order did) but he is definitely one of those people who has information coming to him from everywhere. He was scary without being diabolical.

I absolutely LOVED that he didn't make Bashir beg for the cure--some sorts of villains would toy with him just for the fun of it--Tain isn't that type. Based on the credits we'll see Tain again--that makes me glad.

Stunning performances in a stunning episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Excellent episode -- it really picked up when Geordi sets out to kill the Klingon captain while Data races against time in the shuttle to figure out the mystery. That part with Geordi walking down the hallway, the camera angle, the musical score all came together wonderfully to achieve the perfect effect of an assassin about to carry out his grisly deed. And it could have ended with Geordi killing the Klingon captain because he's just a guest character -- and then what would have happened? So I didn't know how it would play out in the end.

Again, the Romulans come across as a deceptive and worthy enemy. This episode makes use of Geordi's previous encounter with the Romulans (which ended well, or so I it seemed) in "The Enemy" -- although there is no reference to that episode, it would explain how the Romulans know of the visor and Geordi. But I guess there's still a fair bit of timing that they needed to get right with planting the Klingon ambassador on board the Enterprise, Geordi in a shuttle etc.

"The Mind's Eye" also mixes in the ongoing Klingon power struggle, corruption arc, which never ceases to provide decent to great episodes.

The only complaint I have is why were those transporter chips not checked for fingerprints? They should have been able to pin down Geordi sooner. Or to avoid this oversight, have Geordi do his bit with gloves on.

I give this episode 3.5 stars -- hard to turn away from it for a second. The normally affable Geordi is a good candidate to become a sleeper assassin. Plenty of suspense here as we wonder what Geordi is going to do (like when he spills his drink on O'Brien) as well as some credible investigative work done by Data. Also one of the notable musical scores for a TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

2 stars

Really? The writers actually thought this was all a good idea? An episode feeding Robert Picardo and the Doctor's opera fixation
A very dumb episode from start to finish with no redeeming value even as mindless entertainment. Also the whole Doctor debate was over by now as to his rights etc
Next ►Page 1 of 1,644
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.