Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 49,524 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,981
Set Bookmark
Old Trekker
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

I first saw this episode when originally broadcast back in the 66-67 season. Upon a recent re-viewing, a few things nagged at me: a) of the witnesses at the trial, only Spock and Kirk's names are spoken/idenfied by the computer. The Personnel Officer is not named, and neither is McCoy. b) Likewise, only Spock and Kirk seem to have Starfleet serial numbers. c) considering that the computer's audio pickup was amplified 10,000 x, how come only heartbeats are heard? d) We all know that Vulcan hearts are not in the chest, but McCoy positions the "white noise device" in front of everyone's chest (including Spock) to mask out known people on board. But then Spock is able to mask out the technician in the transporter room by pressing a few buttons on his console.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

This culture contamination thing is getting kinda tiresome.

I wonder what are the Romulans' and Klinglons, for instance, policies on the subject. There seems to be plenty of prewarp places around.

How do they build their empires??? Only at the expense of warp capable cultures, leaving others alone?! I would doubt so.

Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Classic WTF episode. The dog is cute, but so what?

I disagree with Jammer about Phlox. Before "Dear Doctor", he stroke me as being kinda Neelix doc, but rather arrogant (nothing against the actors at all).

After that sad episode, I simply don't care anymore.

Bones was the best ST Doc not for his medical mumble jumbo, but for his true humanity, always challenging Spock's cold logics.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Buried in the muck of this show was actually a good idea for a good episode: One ship carrying two groups of colonists that is "lost" to the Federation. And the two colonies take widely different paths of development.

I was always intrigued by the concept of Federation colonies, and those episodes on that theme usually didn't hang together well to my chagrin. This is a prime example of a solid idea gone stereotypically bad.

This one might have worked better if the Enterprise encountered the clone colony first. The ship is ready to evacuate them because of solar activity, but the away team quickly learns the colony has protective measures in place.

The clones send the Enterprise away by telling about the second group of colonists, the ones who eschew technology. However, they come up with a ruse to keep the away team (Riker, Pulaski, Geordi and a red shirt we must sadly sacrifice) on the planet.

So off goes the Enterprise to save some Luddites. When they get there, this away team ( Data, Troi and O'Brien) find not a bunch of wild Irish stereotypes but just a general group of Europeans who are pretty happy in their simple nonmechanical lives but also stubbornly proud about it. And they refuse to leave. To the point they attack O'Brien at one point to make their point.

(I think this is where you can have the strong daughter make the father and leader see they can no longer reject all technology; they must adapt to some technology to survive)

Eventually, the solar flares get so bad the daughter wins the day. They beam on board and head back to Clone Colony.

So of course our team learns about the clones AFTER the Enterprise as left orbit and they are forced into the clone experiments. Red Shirt is killed when the first attempt goes wrong.

Enterprise comes in when the away team is about to undergo the second cloning attempt.

And on their own with some assist by Troi, the daughter of Luddite group and the leader of the clones decide to merge colonies, one not too dependent nor totally devoid of technology.

Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Well, this is notoriously bad, but the matte shot of Betazed was nice, Picard's attempts at playing a wounded lover were A SIGHT TO BEHOLD! and I liked the Wesley stuff.

Or rather, I liked the idea of the Wesley arc; a squeaky clean space cadet right out of 1950s pulp scifi ("JEEPERS CREEPS MOM, IM GOING TO MARS!") getting a promotion on the finest starship on the fleet. Yahoo! Zippy Doo Dah!

So lame, but it captures well the tone of those Golden Age, science fiction juvenile tales.

Set Bookmark
Kent Clark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ah, the symmetry of the internet timeline! I find it fascinating to read a decade of comments about a show that initially aired more than a score of years earlier. What’s lacking in the episode I think, is a more complete discussion of how Tuvix’s personality was a complementary balance of the stoicism of Tuvoc and the impulsive id od Nelix.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I didn't know Michael Piller wrote parts of Unification; i've always attributed the decline in quality from TNG's season 5 onwards to Piller being replaced by Jeri Taylor as showrunner. Does anyone know how much influence Piller had on Unification's script?

Regardless, it's terribly dull and silly. The only redeeming scene, IMO, is that brilliant sequence in which Picard tries to take a nap whilst Data stands beside him processing data. So funny and creepy.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 6:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

This is likely in my ds9 top 5 episodes of all time. Absolutely genius.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

This is so amazingly, freakin', ass-kickin' good that it's beyond words.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 4:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Oh, and I forgot to add: The borg likely took everything usable from the wreckage, and only left hull plating and so forth, which is why further investigations into the crashsite did not produce any insights. It is also possible that they destroyed what they could not take with them. In their first encounter with Picard, they beam their dead back on board to not leave evidence behind.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 4:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Well, the reason why Picard didn't know about the borg is quite simple:
Do you know the USS Enterprise? I guess you do. Do you know USS Fletcher? USS Somers? USS Murphy? USS Meade? I guess not. The reason is quite simple: There are so many naval ships in the world, nobody can remember them all. In the same way, Picard does not know about every encounter Starfleet ever had. I guess there are quite a few that involve cybernetic organisms. 200 years of encounters, rumors, first contacts and so forth, are simply too much to keep in your head. And nothing made the Borg stick out, really. At that point in time, many species were more advanced than humans. So while their powers were certainly frightening, they did not show up for another twohundred years.
Set Bookmark
Prince of Space
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

So cute to watch Starfleet “security” in action. Lieutenant Moe, escort the prisoners to the brig! Ensigns Larry and Curly, accompany him!

I can only assume it was a simpler viewing audience back in the 80’s and 90’s? The security people jumping into the open and firing one time and then waiting for the bad guys to shoot them just seems goofy now. Is phaser fire a round-robin affair in the future?

Man, I’d push the hell out of the phaser button if I were a Starfleet security dude. “Yes, Captain, I neutralized the threat. I also regret to inform you I destroyed Shuttle Bay 7, 8, and half of deck 11.”
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Only 3 percent of their population are cogenitors - and that is apparently not enough, as that couple had to wait years to get one. If you give them all education, at least half of them probably would not want to be handed around to help procreate - and I assume that there is no technological way to replace them - which in turn means the species is at a serious risk of dying out. In the end, the cogenitors could be forced to lend their services again - only under harder conditions, being real slaves this time. In the end, it would only worsen their situation. This is another case of "We don't know enough to cast judgement or propose solutions."

This episode is also a good example of something I like to call "empathy desease": You see someone apparently in distress, and without a single consideration for the consequences, you rush in to help them. All too human.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

2 millions were the estimated casualties not the entire population. The bomb was not big enough to take an entire planet.
Set Bookmark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Ok, since this discussion is still ongoing, I would like to add my two cents.

First, I want to put some facts straight. Many people here argued that letting that species die is in some way equivalent to letting a bleeding person die. That is, to me, completely false. That comparison frames the discussion completely different: From big picture to small picture compassion. There is no question that letting somebody bleed to death, even though you could help and are asked for help, is morally wrong. But this episode is not about that.

As somebody earlier pointed out, what if a hundred million years ago, there were intelligent dinosaurs, and some alien race decided to save them? Then we would have never existed. Would you still applaud their decision? I mean, you couldn't, obviously, but would they have been right?

This episode was about interference - even though some of the other posters deny this. What they want to do is put their finger on one certain moment in history and freeze it in time. This one species is here now, so we must save it, completely ignoring the consequences. Lets think this through: Archer saves the Valakians. Sounds great. He is now directly responsible for EVERYTHING that happens after this point. If the Valakians decide to genocide the Menk a few years later? His fault. If the treatment doesn't work, and the Valakians die out anyways? Also his fault, as he (or humanity, if he is dead already) should have helped them again. Or should he say "No, we helped you once, not a second time though"? What if the Valakians need constant help? Where do you draw the line? They are pre-warp, as I understand it, so they are not "there" yet. Do you give them replicators, transporters, warp drives? If Archer takes the responsibility for saving their lives, he takes on the responsibility for their continued existence.

Or to put it into the "small" frame of reference: You see a starving orphan. You give it food, so it survives for another ten days. What now? You now have the responsibility for that child. Of course, it would be the right thing to help that child, and it would feel good. But what have you really given that child? If you truly want to help, you take it in, give it an education, until it can survive on its own.

Now why was that child starving? Maybe it was because it was living somewhere where food is scarce, and too many people already live there. And suddenly, there is not one child, but a hundred. Or a thousand. Or millions. And if you give them food, they will have children of their own, which in turn need food, and so forth. Suddenly, your small problem becomes a giant one. Instead of helping one starving child, you created millions of starving children.

And that is what this episode is about. Archer simply can not comprehend the consequences of his actions. Sure, maybe he cures them, and afterwards, everything turns out allright. That is one possibility. The other is, that the Menk will always be second class citizens, permanent slaves. I know, people believe Phlox was wrong in this assessment of the situation, but we just don't know for sure, and neither does Archer.

I think people should pull back a little and not get so hung up on the specifics of the plot. Instead, consider the general question asked here: Is it right to interfere? If aliens landed and helped the Roman Empire, or the Confederate States, or China, or Germany, or Sweden, or the Inka, no matter if the end result was "better" or "worse" - would that have been right? Who decides, if it is better or worse? If you help the Romans, and the germanic tribes or the gauls never have the chance to achieve anything, or even to exist - who wants to have that responsibility? Can you say for certain that this or that would have been better? And if you are sure that one or the other outcome would have been better, can you say the same for future events? If given the choice right now to help either China or America - can you say for certain that one or the other would turn out better? Who do you support in the middle east? And keep in mind, in all those examples, you are not even part of the species: You are some alien that knows almost nothing of the history of those events. All these examples are pretty poor, given that for most of them we can use hindsight. Archer can not do that.

Archer made the only sane choice here: To stay out of it. He was right: He is not there to play god (and no, that is not a religious argument, as somebody tried to protray it: He is not implying that he is interfering with "gods plan", he simply says that he can not decide the fate of an entire species). Even if it goes against all his urges. He wants to help. The pain he feels must be unfathomable. Picard made similar choices all the time - only that his choices had clear black-and-white consequences, most of the time. Here, the consequences are very unclear - which is why people find it so offensive. Everybody has their own interpretation of what would happen next, and thus finds it easy to say what would have been right or wrong to do.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

To call this episode a mixed bag might be right -- it has it's strong points (aims to be ambitious, tackle an aspect of medical ethics, some good character performances from Doc/Paris/Chakotay and Janeway somewhat) but it suffers from the downfall of many VOY episodes (lacks plausibility, campy filler material, convenient resolutions that don't deal with the real issues sufficiently).

The hologram of Krell just being created with a few Harry Kim/Doc commands is beyond ridiculous -- basically just create a real person with personality etc. That's too much... And the fact that it's a Cardassian so that Torres can dislike it and that it taps into the whole Occupation narrative -- pretty convenient/contrived, a true plot device.

As for the real issue of using "evil research" -- good arguments and script discussing the pros and cons. That Janeway makes the call to use Krell's research is fine but it would have been good to see her thought process after the fact. The scene where she visits recuperating Torres made it seem that the captain just wanted this whole thing to blow over.

Janeway is known in VOY for her controversial decisions (starting with "Caretaker" etc.) but here she puts the ship first (unlike in "Prey"), so I think she's less annoying here but the episode doesn't go the full way in getting her thoughts -- why not a captain's log entry or some monologue on the state of the crew? I think she felt Doc would do the right thing about the Cardassian medical program so good on her character not to overstep its bounds and micromanage.

As for the non-humanoid alien, I give VOY credit for being so different and coming up with the situation of this creature putting Torres' life in jeopardy for keeping itself alive. The energy wave and weird communication works as far as a totally different sentient alien species.

But the other contrivance/convenience is how the surgery to remove the alien with Doc figuring out in time that its life could be spared and beamed back to its ship in order to spare Voyager from destruction -- it's classic VOY -- a miracle in the nick of time. It's just too easy.

Barely 2.5 stars for "Nothing Human" -- started out pretty weakly with the filler teaser, the magical creation of a Cardassian doctor but the ethical issues examined were good although the end result left me unsatisfied. There were a few plot devices to really hammer each issue home -- like the Bajoran officer who just pops up to recount memories of atrocities. Too many things undermined a worthy concept.
Set Bookmark
Other Robert
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"As for the actual set, TNG and TOS had very bright bridge sets."

DISCO got me to rewatch TNG 3-6 for the first time in 25 years, and rather than going into a whole tirade, I'll just point out two things:

1. Anyone notice how hyper-futuristic beige/tan ENT-D bridge is feeling these days? All the sweeping curves and warm neutrals--makes you feel like this post-scarcity society has created a space that is not only comfortable (in contrast to the bleakness of deep space) but almost a sacred space for sending its emissaries to the farthest reaches of the galaxy. In contrast, the stark gray utilitarian look of sf these days implies a paucity of imagination, human ambition, and feeling. It's funny, the beiges and tans now feel almost alien, like it should be an Iconian chamber.

2. I had no idea about the HD remastered TNG, which is available on Blu-Ray and that popular streaming service. If you haven't seen it, it looks amazing!

2.5. There is more Klingon characterization in any random 4 minutes of Sins of the Father than the entire season of DISCO. Oops strikethru
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Now, I want to say that I read no comments here before I left mine.

That said, this has always been my absolute favourite TNG episode (or at least one of them). But one thing always stuck out-if these aliens are going back to the 19th century, what are the chances that they came from the 24th? Why not the 25th? Or 23rd, or some other time. I mean Picard & co go to their planet, and there they are (well, out of phase, but still in their time!) That is an unbelievable coincidence!
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

What I found ridiculous was the conversation in the meeting room regarding holographic projectors being impossible, and the Doctor countering that with the fact that they would only be very basic holograms, not capable of projecting something as complex as his matrix into space. Something which Bellana states they can't even do on the ship. Yet later on, exactly the thing they said would be impossible is done when the Doctor is sent out into space...
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?


As for the actual set, TNG and TOS had very bright bridge sets. That's what I always remember as well. But the TOS films it was often dark. Voyager's seemed to vary between light and dark depending on how close to Voyager was to losing shields that week. DS9 was pretty dark outside Quark's and Enterprise had a similar light scenario to Discovery. I thought they were the first to go that dark set wise as well untill going back, maybe HD and wide screen plays in to that.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?


From what the writers are saying, it seems like it was always the plan for this season to be the journey that shapes this crew. As they move away from the mirror universe its going to automatically get less dark. It's up to the writers to make Burnham's speech not wring so hollow in face of the genocide plot you just mentioned by following through on her words next season and forward. If done correctly, this could be viewed as true turning point for humanity to always put diplomacy first and hold actually hold true to that ideal, leading to the uber-diplomatic Picard 100 years later.

I get the criticism and hang ups but really don't get people completely rejecting this show already. Mistakes were made for sure but the bones are there, hopefully they get fleshed out well and the writers follow through on their promises. I just hope they don't blow it and pick a bad captain, there will be a void left by the last two leaving the show.
Set Bookmark
Jim Sondergeld
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

One track at a time....

1) Lursa and B'Etor are jaw-droppingly incompetent at corruption. How they could believe that the two individuals to try and bribe/seduce, respectively, over to their side were Picard (in Part I) and Worf beggars belief. If they were truly that stupid, it's no wonder Sela was so contemptuous of them. Ditto their belief the Toral could have served as their figurehead on the Klingon High Council, given that they themselves beamed out and abandoned him after their forces had lost.

2) The writers pretty much had to use Denise Crosby in the Sela role. Nobody else could have conveyed the consequences of Picard sending Tasha Yar to the Enterprise-C in the closed Federation-Klingon war timeline. She had a nice three episode arc (beginning in "Mind's Eye") and was an effective, if conventional, Romulan antagonist. Though her capitulation after Data's exposure of her fleet did seem awfully belated, as though written that way to conform to the episode's time constraints. And I never did understand how her failure here wasn't punished, such that she was able to fail again even more spectacularly in "Unification" several episodes later.

3) Hobson could have been written with more depth - as less of a "wrong-headed jackass" - given that the point he makes to Data when requesting his transfer about androids not being suited to starship command did have some validity. Is that not the seed of franchises like "Terminator" and "The Matrix" and even the TOS episode "The Ultimate Computer"? The fear of artificial intelligences taking over? The reason, of course, why Hobson wasn't written this way was because this story thread wasn't about Hobson, it was about Data. And it worked as written, particularly Data's initiative in exposing Sela's fleet being acknowledged by Hobson after the fact by acknowledging the android as "captain".

I didn't think much of Worf sparing Toral's life in the final scene (I seem to recall the latter reappearing on a later TNG episode or an episode of DS9 to attack Worf, illustrating Kahless's parable about never leaving live enemies behind you on the battlefield) and his justification - not punishing the son for the sins of his father and grandfather as a parallel to the unjust discommendation he endured for his own father's alleged crime at Khitomer - made no sense because Mogh was framed for that BY the Duras, whereas Toral was complicit in it. I also questioned how Worf could just abruptly blow off his duties and responsibilities with/to the Klingon Defense Force and return to Starfleet, especially after having insulted Chancellor Gowron by leaving a potential enemy to his rule alive. I attribute that to the episode's time constraints as well.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

A reliable tenet of TNG is just when you think it has emerged from the mire of the earliest seasons with their one dimensional characters, boring treknobabble driven plots and annoyingly archaic mores we get an episode like this.

Devil's Due was a season one-esque festival of yawns.
I completely agree with the one star.
I also admire the guy (or gal) who saw this as a TOS episode.
I agree entirely-just substitute Harry Mudd for Ardra and it could have worked.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Okay episode. Needlessly stubborn colony leader. Why is this episode called “Ensigns of Command”. I can easily look up what “ensign” means but the use of the word in the title makes no sense to me. Oh well Star Trek does have a knack for pretentious (imho) titles.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"Forego" is a valid variant spelling of "forgo" -- one I happen to prefer.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,981
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.