Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33,414 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,337
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Let's not overhype Threshold's award here. It was for make-up, not storytelling. No one is complaining about the makeup. :)
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@Yanks - Bold choices! I still hate Threshold, but I'm sorry I do because RDM does amazing character work.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

@ Rob E.

"Saul Rubinek is channelling William Shatner in his performance."

Watch Rubinek do other work; he's the same there. He seems to do the same 'character' in whatever he's in. So if he's channelling Shatner it's a career choice rather than an homage :)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Robert:

"Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority."

Worst: VOY: 'Threshold'. Universally hated, despised, spat upon.... I graded it a 2.5 on Jammer's scale. Only the ending was bad, that episode actually got an award! :-)

Best: I haven't reviewed everything yet, but DS9: 'Rapture' comes to mind. for Jammer this is a 4-star episode. for me, 1 star. (and I was nice)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Nolan, you are absolutely correct!! That actually make Kirk's "performance" even better!! (IMO)

Latex Zebra, HAHAHA!! good one!!
Set Bookmark
Rob E.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Just half-watched/half-listened to THE MOST TOYS on TV after 25 years.

Listen to Saul Rubinek - his phrasing, his inflections of speech. Watch his gestures.

It's Shatner.

Saul Rubinek is channelling William Shatner in his performance.

Interesting......
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Oh duh.... :-) Thanks Jammer.

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, the point is that marketing now-a-days isn't just "US". You are comparing apple and oranges. Movies are opening overseas, etc.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I could do a beloved episode I find middling. I don' t think I hate any beloved episodes.

I find some of the fanatical love for Frame of Mind to be baffling. The direction/atmosphere/music/acting are all amazing, but I think the episode fails to be more than the sum of it's parts. It's a really well presented, but ultimately unsatisfying dish.
Set Bookmark
KuberShark
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

Agreed w/ Tornado. So bad on so many levels... and yet like John Pate I remember watching this episode as a kid (freaked me out Spock talking McCoy through his own surgery!) so I wanted to revisit it. Random analogy: as a sports super-star occasionally has mediocre games and slumps - so does a great franchise like ST, at times, falter.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 8:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Yanks, the link to the original STID comment thread is in my first comment at the top of this thread.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Where are you getting your numbers? The don't match BoxOfficeMojo.

www.boxofficemojo.com/franchises/chart/?id=startrek.htm

Are you forgetting all the $$$ made overseas?"

I didn't "forget" them. I've ignored them (as did Matthew, by the way) since the international market is a relatively new thing. Any attempt to compare the overseas performance of a 1980's film to a 2010's film would be meaningless (and BoxOfficeMojo doesn't give the relevant data points for the first five films anyway).
Set Bookmark
apk
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

I didn't think this movie was even good enough to be bad. It was just boring. Which is even *worse*. It wasn't fun at all, and Other Hemsworth and the other newbies had no charisma to speak of. Goldblum was on auto-pilot (and he didn't have much to do, anyway), and Spiner's character just didn't work.

When Bill Pullman is the best actor in your movie, your movie has problems.
Set Bookmark
Anoymius
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

"Overall I enjoyed this three parter. It certainly helped the Vulcans regain their original stature from TOS. "

Oh really? They original stature from TOS? You mean like the less than diplomatic Sarek or the female betrothed to Spock who forced him and Kirk to fight to the death?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

For Robert's challenge:

Beloved episode that I hate: Nothing satisfies this exact category but a beloved episode that I think is middling, at any rate, is "The City on the Edge of Forever." It's decent, a bit dated, and certainly has its oddities that don't quite work (such as Bones and Kirk ending up in the exact same building by coincidence). The message is classic sci-fi, but also not even as visionary as a lot of TOS episodes that take their premise in stride rather than announcing it through a proxy. One or two great scenes with Kirk and Spock but otherwise I think a lot of this was overtrumped on account of getting a name actress involved.

Most hated that I love: DS9's "Fascination." Call me crazy but I think it's a lot of fun and gave the actors a chance to goof off in a good way. A few classic moments from Sisko (when Bareil tries to hit him) and Odo (deadpan look when Lwaxana 'dances' with him), and otherwise has such a strange energy from Brook's direction that I can see how it would be off-putting for those who prefer the more standard DS9 tone. This is DS9's version of "The Naked Time/Now", I guess, but where it's about sex for everyone.
Set Bookmark
Moegreen
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 2:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I feel very privilaged not to have had to endure 'G'dol's' Lament at school.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I think Conspiracy gets graded on a curve. It was really decent for S1.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

An interesting review and yet it doesn't seem to justify 3 stars ... I think the main parts of the film were Kirk, Spock, Khan and Marcus and all of them pretty much fell flat.
Kirk and Spock have flaws that don't seem to be acknowledged as flaws or things to grow from, they seem to have too little self-doubt or regret about their actions, especially the latter's rage in the climax. Kirk's trying to apprehend rather than kill Khan is indeed implied to be more of an error and Spock's "dark side" as maybe appropriate and what saved the day.
I guess the filmmakers were trying to depict Khan as calculating and manipulative but it came off a lot more as if the script was contrived and he really didn't have charisma. Marcus was indeed overplayed and underwhelming and didn't say much about the wider society or issues.
Set Bookmark
Keiren Simmons
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I can't disagree with this review more! Jammer clearly put a lot of thought into it however.... ;-)

I got tired of reading the phrase "on its own terms" in the review. Voyager worked "on its own terms" at what It set out to be, a one hour action adventure while being entertaining. However jammer doesn't rate it highly because it doesn't live upto it's potential.

Into Darkness "works on its own terms" as a blockbuster movie while being entertaining but doesn't reach anywhere near its potential unfortunately.

I think the difference we are seeing is the review now of a casual Star Trek fan compared to one who used to be invested in the franchise.

The movie itself? Dull, uninspiring and simply disappointing in my opinion :-(
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Challenge accepted.

Most beloved episode that I hate:
Hmmm...that's a surprisingly tough one. I'd probably have to go with TNG's "Conspiracy"; a surprising number of people seem to like it, but I don't.

Most hated episode that I love:
Definitely TNG's "Genesis" for me too. I enjoyed it despite the many scientific implausibilities.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Hey, I wonder of the design/silhouette of the 'Discovery' is based on the IDIC symbol?
Set Bookmark
Magnus Greel
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

My biggest problem with the film is the Khan reveal when he is in the holding cell. It's delivered as this shocking revelation, and it's all fan service. To the characters in that moment, it should be met with a big shrug and a "Who cares?" response.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

" If it is not a joint crew then I imagine the Klingon's legal team will be contacting Starfleet shortly."

Better call Saul!!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

@ Zebra,

That's what they get for ripping off that neat Abrams movie.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

"Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority. "

That would make a fun chat topic. Pick the most beloved episode that you hate and the most hated episode that you love.

I'd definitely pick "Genesis" for the second category. I don't know if I hate any beloved episodes, I'll have to think about it.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 6:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Not sure why so many of Khan's crew members or his "beloved wife" had to die after the Ceti Eel get's in their head.

A simple blood transfusion from Khan and they'd all be right as rain.


Very disappointed.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,337
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.