Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,876 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,556
Set Bookmark
Scot M.
Sat, Apr 29, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

I would have liked this episode much more if Jason Vigo had actually been the love child between Picard and his female friend from Tapestry. There is a woman from his past with whom he had a liaison in that Q manipulated timeline. The benefit of this is that it would prove that the events of Tapestry *really* did happen! I never liked the way it was just dismissed as a Q fantasy. It would have given much greater meaning to both episodes.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Still casting and recasting? Really? I'm not even somebody who's looking forward to this series and even I think this is beyond ridiculous. STD had better be perfect by the time it gets out after all this time in production. (It'll probably be the opposite though...)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I was disappointed that at no point during this two-parter did the robotic duo engage in some maniacal laughter. You can't set out to destroy the whole federation without some good old fashioned cackling. No wonder the plan didn't succeed.

That reset button is sure getting more and more use as TNG drags on. No consequences, back to same old same old next week guys. Geordi isn't the least bit traumatized by his best friend almost killing him in a horrific fashion. Why is it Data gets to work through his problems but most human characters don't? Even if Geordi understood that Data wasn't in control of his actions and regretted them as much as he was capable, he'd still need time to recover and come to terms with the fact his friend was so easily made to cheerfully torture him, that maybe his friend really was just a very convincing machine after all. Geordi will be having nightmares for months but instead it's HIM who's comforting Data, rather than Data apologizing to him. I feel the last scene would have been more meaningful if it had let Geordi be shaken by events too, shown their relationship won't ever be exactly the same even if both try to act like it will.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Fun episode - as many have already raised the issues with being out of phase (not falling through floors, light forming images, breathing etc.) But this is one of those episodes that, with a lot of handwaving (episode is heavy on technobabble), allows focus on the characters of Geordi/Ro and their different ways of handling the situation. It's an interesting idea to see what they hear from others about their deaths.
I do think Riker leading the away crew onto the Romulan ship (and I guess Picard) were too naive not to take their weapons and basically walk into a trap. Troi should have been around - she could have been useful in sensing the Romulan commander talking to Picard just before he orders the Enterprise to go to warp.
I'd give it 3/4 stars - I can see the casual TNG viewer enjoying this one.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

Seems like giving robots emotions is always a bad idea in Sci-fi. It almost always seems to end in a massacre, love triangle, or very embarrassingly stupid dialogue.

Why did the entire ship have to go planet-side to look for one MIA robot? Including the captain? In what alternate universe is Crusher ever qualified to captain the ship? Even if she was, given how dangerous Data can get shouldn't she be prepping sick bay for casualties? What about the Borg threat? Is one robot really more important than that?

As others stated above, first 2/3rds of the episode was good, but the final third just derailed. Data's admitting to feeling pleasure at killing an enemy was shocking and I wanted to see Data actually descend into evil, not suddenly flip the evil switch and become Lore's puppet.

I'll agree with what others have said about Bev being too "nagging", because she genuinely is. I know there's a lot of misogyny on some of these boards and that women have been stereotyped as nagging but blame the writers, not the commenters pointing it out. Bev's a terrible female character and just a poor character in general. To be honest even of she were male I'd still hate her character traits. But then again if she were male she'd probably be written better and would either not have those traits or have actual good traits to balance them out and make her actually likeable, or at least tolerable.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Decent episode - generally agree with Jammer's review but like others have posted, there are many plot holes.
Not a fan of the "Shut up, Wesley" - don't think a captain should be talking like that to one of his crew. The general point is the adults are made to look stupid while Wesley clues into what's going on. No issue with Wesley's role in this episode.

I thought what was cool was the children's drawings of the crystal entity and the foreboding it brings. Would like to have gotten more background on the crystal entity and what its link with Lore is -- does Lore just have a hatred for humanity somehow? Why?

So much potential in this episode - the ending of just beaming Lore into space, I guess that's leaves the door open for future Lore appearances.

Enjoyed watching this one but plenty of legit criticism from others in this thread. For me 2.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

This one didn't do anything for me, and the aliens didn't even get blown up at the end after all the trouble they caused. Don't lay your eggs in someone else's engines, it's quite rude.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

I always liked the obvious implications of "The Game" in modern society......just look around, everyone desperately staring at their smartphones, addicted to the quick highs and instant gratification of texting and games.

The problem with "The Game" is that they should have introduced it much more slowly, just like smartphones, so that by the time people caught on to what was occurring it had already overtaken society's social norms. At that point, it's not only built into the culture but also a 'social status' symbol, because heaven forbid someone catches you NOT looking at your phone and thinks you're unpopular.

Thanks for finally saying it out loud, Outsider65. I think the turbo lift scene basically told us exactly what the game gives people for completing higher levels and giving up control of their own mind. In that sense, it is actually a pretty bizarre scene when Beverly wants her own son to partake of the device.

What I always enjoyed about the episode was Wesley's brilliant play at misdirection, meaning that the entire chase sequence was simply done to give Data enough time to study the device and come up with a cure. I thought this was well written, particularly when it came to Data's entrance onto the bridge when it seemed Wesley was the only normal one left onboard.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Worf is such a baby. Quark says something rude, and he skulks away. He keeps begging to leave StarFleet in a tedious "should I, shouldn't I?" Dance without making a real decision. The gets all weirded out about being on a cloaked federation ship. Sad.
Set Bookmark
daveid76
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I was fully expecting a 4-star review for this episode. It's an absolute gem, a delight to watch and extremely moving. The creation of Vic Fontaine is a stroke of genius. He's a sort of male Vera Lynn for the troops and is played superbly by James Darren. Wow.
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

A GOOD POINT:

"At this point, I would like to see a show based on the making of Star Trek: Discovery more than the actual Star Trek: Discovery. What is happening over there?"

from
hio9.gizmodo.com/star-trek-discovery-switches-an-actors-role-mid-produc-1794747543
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

new casting

www.cbs.com/shows/star-trek-discovery/news/1007018/star-trek-discovery-recruits-more-stars/
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Yes, that would have been a great story. That way making the Skreeans as obnoxious as you like would have helped the story rather than rendered it as the irritating filler that it is. In fact, the absolute ideal would have been to spend the first two acts getting us to see the Skreeans as annoying primitives, and then turn the tables and only at that point tell us they were refugees from an occupying force just like the Cardassians. Now we would get a bitter taste in our mouth when we realize that we're assessing the Skreeans based on the same criteria with which the Cardassians assess the Bajorans as being annoying primitives by their standards. It would both humble the Bajorans to realize they can think the same way the Cardassians do, and also humble the audience at the same time. It could have been a powerful episode, I think.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

I finally got around to watching this one again last night, and I have a few comments to add to what I wrote above.

William, I think you hit something when you wrote that Daystrom was out for *revenge.* First of all, it now appears to me that by the end of the episode we see not insanity, but rather that Daystrom and the machine were both egotistical narcissists. They both shared pride in their accomplishments, even feeling gloating triumph at the deaths of the puny ships once they finally admitted they were proud of what M5 was doing. Daystrom wasn’t going crazy; he already was. He strikes me now as a borderline megalomaniac who felt others should bow to his superior intellect; another nod to Khan here, where a superior man secretly feels others should be subservient to his notions. The ignominy of being glossed over due to not making a major contribution since duotronics would have been maddening to someone who felt his superior mind shouldn't require putting out evidence such as new discoveries. As much as he might have wanted to lord it over everyone inferior to him, Federation culture wouldn’t allow that, but they could still be made to be subservient to him through his computer commanding them. It’s like making himself into a king through M5; that’s why he couldn’t allow it to die under any circumstances. It was almost like a coup d'etat in progress. It wasn't because it was his child, but because it was his proxy as absolute ruler over the important functions in man's life.

Daystrom is the type that's all about locking up all other men to “protect them”, to control them utterly. This hearkens back to the mention earlier of Asimov's laws of robotics, where Asimov wote about how machines, in order to obey the laws and protect humanity, might conclude that humanity had to be enslaved for its own protection. Well here we see something potentially more insidious, which is a man like Daystrom pretty much bragging about the fact that he's going to make it so man doesn't have to do anything dangerous ever again, which probably means not being allowed to, either. He has come to the same conclusion as Asimov's robots, and is looking forward to confining humanity to a safe pleasure center on Earth. So it seems to me this is also an episode about paternalistic control freaks who think their intelligence gives them license to decide on behalf of others what’s best. A cautionary tale even in our present time.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

It occurred to me Peter that there was a huge missed opportunity here and an easy way to fix the basic flaw of the episode: The Prophets. Imagine if they were worshippers of the Prophets too and may even have received orbs. That is hardly implausible either - the wormhole has two sides, doesn't it? What if the Prophets told the Kreeans to seek out Bajor?

I think the idea of a long lost twin sister to the Bajoran civilization, connected by a shared religion, also recovering from a recent history of slavery, would have been a powerful element in the episode. That would have not only justified the Skreean claim on Bajor (in a way the Bajorans could not lightly dismiss) but also illuminated the idea of how scarred the Bajorans had become by the occupation, incapable of charity even for the sake of their Gods and a sibling civilization in need.

I also think it would have been fascinating to explore the idea of the Prophets influencing other worlds, even in the Gamma quadrant. That might have made a more fascinating "discovery" and a hell of a twist rather than wasting time on the universal translator or dwelling on the Skreean's matriarchal culture.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Part of the reason the episode is so badly botched is because the fact that they are refugees is completely irrelevant to the issue of whether they have any claim to land on Bajor. In the former problem it is simply a question of compassion and mercy, whereas in the latter it's a question of whether the Bajorans are willing to share their planet under any circumstances, even with a race that has a real claim to it. These are both interesting topics, but they ended up being treated as basically the same issue - whether Bajor would cave in and let them settle. The issue of whether the Cardassian occupation had made the Bajorans more like the Cardassians - being territorial and unconcerned with other races - would have made a happy home here, but instead it most ends up coming off to me as an issue of bureaucrats making pragmatic decisions.

Jason, you're right that failing to give a good reason why they claim Bajor as theirs destroys the episode. It's the difference between them being potential co-owners and being riffraff squatters, and this distinction isn't trivial. The last act or two were our last chances to have some sympathy for the Skreeans, and without that the episode ends up being as it is: unwatchable to me each time I go through DS9.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Let me say that I think the Skreeans being rude, ugly, rowdy or whatever others have pointed out is a feature of the episode, not a flaw. They are refugees who were recently slaves. Of course they are going to be uncouth, even offensive in some respects.

The comparison with the Jews is apt but I think the ancient Israelites are a better comparison than post holocaust Europeans. Exodus describes that they were made to wander 40 years in the dessert. As it was always explained to me, this was for good reason - the slaves needed to die out, not just physically but their slave culture as well. Slaves are not suited to freedom as the Skreeans demonstrated in their misadventures on the station.

Getting back to the original point, compassion for kind, meek, inoffensive people who look and behave like you is basically a given. It is easy, natural, and consequently not worth very much. Showing real compassion by taking in a group of rowdy offensive refugees, ex slaves, that's not natural - and that's why a character like O'Paka would not have turned her back on the Skreeans. But of course O'Paka is gone by this point in the series.

So I am not objecting to the charactization of the Skreeans with their offputting matriarchal chauvinism or their poor social graces - that part was bang on. The audience *should* dislike them - that is entirely correct and intentional.

Where the episode drops the ball is in (as others noted) the total lack of context to the Skreeans' claim on Bajor. We are given precisely zero background to this. Did the Skreeans previously live on Bajor? Did their God promise the planet to them? Could the Prophets have sent them an orb that revealed the planet to them?

It is not simply that the belief is implausible to us or to the Bajorans, which is a given anyway - but we are given no basis to understand why even the Skreeans believe this, let alone care about Bajor. So it comes across as just tacked on for the sake of plot. It is arbitrary and simply not believable as it is portrayed. Other than in one line of dialog from the Skreean matriarch do any of the other Skreeans even mention Kintana, let alone show the slughtest intetest in it?

Finally, the ready availability of a perfectly good planet renders the Bajoran choice almost a given - it nullifies the moral dillema for them and robs the Skreeans of sympathy. The Skreeans don't want to live on Draymar 2. Well okay, why not? What does that male Skreean think is waiting for him on Bajor that is so much better than Draymar 2? Again it just comes across as arbitrary. The Skreeans are shown as feeling unwelcome and uncomfortable on the station - so why would they think Bajor was going to be an imorovement?

Overall a good concept with a botched ececution. 2 stars is bang on.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Hello Everyone!

I'd remembered I hadn't quite liked this episode first run, and wasn't really looking forward to seeing it on my re-watch. Heh, it was hard to get through.

The only thing that really made me smile was Quark talking about all the diffeerent words they have for rain on Ferenginar. Glemmening. That was funny.

It just didn't feel right for Dax to be pushing Risa, and everything else, into Worf's face. Seemed more like something to be done on a playground. What is she, five?

It was mentioned some of this episode was meant to be funny. Apart from the Quark scene mentioned above (and a few of his others were cute too), this falls very flat. For me, I believe it was because Worf was in such a bad mood right from the get-go. His stern demeanor just cast a shadow over anything else. Sort of like "Hey! Your dog just died, now let me tell you a funny joke." It's just not going to work.

I've been watching two or three episodes a week, interspersed with VOY and some other shows. When Lita and Julian showed up as a couple, I had to try really hard to remember they were one in the first place. But the show needed another couple to go with Jadzia and Worf, so they picked them after remembering they looked at each other once (with a smile). Of course the alternative would've been Miles and Keiko, who are about to have a Kara baby. Heh, can you imagine them on Risa? (Him: Let's get intimate. Her: Let's look at plants!)

I didn't like how Worf was written as devious, making it rain just to get back at Dax, with the excuse that it was for the good of the people. Hogwash.

I really like football and baseball, I really do. I like the history and the stories. But I cannot sit down and watch a game on teevee. My Cubs finally won the World Series, and I watched the games on double speed the next day. I might have one on in the background, or on the radio, but that's about it (now, if sitting at a bar, I can watch one, but... you know... beer). I think watching soccer to be about the same for me. On in the background, maybe, and I'll watch some highlights, but that's about it. Oh, I pull for Arsenal, for no good reason, and pulled for Leicester when they won.

That being said, though it's been a long time, I've loved watching baseball in person. But part of that might have been... you know... beer... (mmm... Old Style...)

Have a great day Everyone... RT

P.S.: We had spam! I was shocked! Heh, I started reading it as if it was a real comment, since I wasn't considering there would be any here.
Set Bookmark
Robotmaria
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

In answer to Quarkissnyder, Julian was wearing his surgical operating outfit. It's only been in one other episode.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

D. Albert

Yep. It crashed and burned. I was close numerous times to turning BSG off permanently in season 3, but I finally did so in the middle of this season. Insulting writing doesn't even come near to it. I am a harsh critic by nature, but I haven't found another TV show that was as BAD and lazily written as this one. I don't know how all these episodes seem to be getting 3 and 4 stars, either; it's basically the worst kind of writing imaginable (deus ex machina, "God did it... literally!", roll the dice to decide the plot).

I can only conclude that there is deep entrenched fanboyism going on here—worse than anything I have seen with Trek or even soccer. Only a world religion could trump the fanatic praise this show gets in the face of what is clearly inexcusable storytelling and writing. I think a lot of dumb or mindless people want to believe this show was about something and see plot holes and gaping errors as part of a grand plan. They fill in the blanks with their own twizzle-eyed nonsense and claim that BSG is "deep". It is deep... in BULL SHIT.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

Re monoculture: any advanced society will eventually globalize and develop a monoculture before space flight. Otherwise, you're going to end up with two cultures duking it out, and they won't have the resources to develop space flight until one kills off the other.

Re race: why is it that way into the future, humans are still segregating into races enough to have whites, Asians, blacks, etc (would require mating within your own race to be more frequent than between races). We will hopefully be one big mutt race by then, not so segregated mentally that every time Sisko falls for someone (e.g., Kassidy Yates, that disappearing alien lady, his first wife), they happen to be black.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 4:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

Another DS9 episode with more Ferengi silliness - the first half hour is a real snoozer as one wonders what the point of this episode is.
I actually think it's a neat sci-fi idea that some machines could somehow alter the laws of probability in a certain area. Again, this requires suspension of disbelief but the concept is an interesting one. I wish the episode had spent more time analyzing that. Of course the ending with phasers blowing up the gambling devices is weak.
The racquetball rivalry didn't do anything for me - I think the acting of Bashir and O'Brien is bland -- but it does make sense as a B-plot about rivals as Quark/Martus compete.
Anyhow, I haven't seen too many DS9 episodes but I have seen more than enough Ferengi episodes - their characters just strike me as stupid and only good for the odd B-plot.
It is an interesting twist at the end with the old retired lady and her asteroid mining operation proving to be a scam and Martus getting taken. But overall, this episode didn't put emphasis on the things that are potentially more interesting (sci-fi of altering probability) and the actual rivalry stuff was hardly compelling. The acting was bland.
For me, 1.5/4 stars. I imagine as I watch more DS9, "Rivals" will be one of its worst episodes.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I remember this arc being so spectacular when it first aired. But after watching it was 2017 eyes, it was pretty bad stuff. God, where to start. They skipped ahead 14 months which is longer than the timeline of the first two seasons. They glossed over so many potential storylines and rushed right to the evacuation. They completely botched the Cylon's motivation for being there and how they went about occupying New Caprica right to the point where they shouldnt of had any motivation at all. Caprica Six gets shot in the head and then comes back two scenes later without even a grimace. Sharon shoots D'Anna in both legs and then next episode shes walking around fine with no explanation. Boomer is there, but they dont even come close to touching on the fact that the people they are occupying used to be her ship mates. Like, that should have been 6 episodes right there considering they spend 20 on her in the first season. They rushed the "D'Anna dreams about the baby and questions her faith" story, it came out of nowhere and made no sense. Like who cares if the Cylons have the baby, whats the motivation? The thing was a rushed mess which left me wanting more while not wanting it at all.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I just watched this one again last night after avoiding it for several years, and to my chagrin I realize that I like this one a lot. I had sort of remembered it as a pointless technobabble problem of the week, as Jammer says, and I guess I never took that much note of the Data side-story.

However now I've seen it again this strikes me not as a technobabble plot but rather as an unintended follow-up to "The Offspring." The latter is more affective and moving, and is unified in its central story, and so of course that makes it a better episode. However there are some moving parts in "Hero Worship" that far exceed the quality of the overall machine. Timothy strikes me as being a mirror image of what Lal went through; he experiences a trauma and in cope wants to be an emotionless android, whereas Lol wants to be more human, and after her trauma ends up being able to feel for the first time. I felt the same father-child relationship here as I did in "The Offspring", and in some ways it was even sadder here because whereas Lal had her father by her side Timothy was searching for a parent in Data.

Another thought struck me while watching it, which is that Data's approach to hardship may well have been instructive to Timothy even aside from the fact of simply being good supportive company for him. Once Data accepts Timothy as a android, combs his hair back, and they do 'android things' together a sort of calm seems to pass over Timothy which goes beyond merely pretending that he has no feelings. In fact, pretending that he didn't feel pain seemed in fact to result in an inner calm and focus in him. I suspect there's something in here that hints at why Data is such a beloved figure among TNG fans: it's not just that he has cool abilities and has quirky mannerisms, and in fact I think those are almost irrelevant to Data's appeal. I believe that his chief characteristic that I always found inspiring was the sense of peace and ease he exudes. It's not that he's good at things, but that he never loses his air of innocence, and this is something that would always be a good example for a child. Another thing setting Data apart as a father-figure is that he approaches everyone with that sense of curiosity, which has as its premise a respect for the object of his curiosity. A human counselor would no doubt have been all over someone like Timothy trying to get them to grieve, talk about what happened, and so forth (in other words treating him like a patient), whereas Data gave him an environment where he could first feel like he had the freedom to be whoever he was, and to then deal with the issue in his own time.

I'll give credit to one more thing the episode got out of me, which was sadness for Data, although not as much as I felt in "The Offspring". In Ten-Forward, just as Timothy is lamenting having feelings, Data speaks of lamenting not having them, and while we know Data is trying to help him, at the same time we know he means it. Each of them, in their own way, is struggling to be more like the other and regrets their limitations. While Data doesn't 'get over it' within this episode, at the same time the atmosphere the two of them create does suggest that the two of them are working through their issues together, rather than Data merely taking care of the traumatized boy.

Jammer is surely right that the episode's structure is lacking, but overall it seemed like the lion's share of material was about Data and Timothy. I wouldn't call this one great, but the good material is strong enough that I would certainly grade it as above average overall. Very few TNG episodes successfully use guest stars to legitimately deal with ongoing issues the stars are going through. The Klingon episodes in TNG were particularly good about this, and we got the occasional Picard outings such as "Family", but overall the guests of the week don't tend to have as much importance to the main casts as I feel Timothy did for Data in this one. I was almost sorry that Timothy couldn't have been brought back at some point, maybe living on the Enterprise as Data's ward or something.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

I really like this episode. Strangely enough, I seem to be the exception (looking through the other comments). I honestly didn't expect there would be so much disapproval.

To me, this is one of the best child shows on any Trek series. The episode in which Picard was trapped in a turbolift with some children also comes to mind; it was on par.

"Kids can take about anything, as long as they feel they're loved by you", "For the most part, it's just a long adventure to them". This episode deals with the question of how children experience their lives on a dangerous trek, in this case a starship. It adopts a child's perspective very convincingly and the child actresses were both pretty good in their acting (plus the actress of Clara was just adorable).

I feel that this episode delivers a timeless, meaningful message. Adults can seem cruel at times, if they're forgetting to make time for their children or to reflect on what impact their rules have on a child. Now, what I don't understand is why this episode would get 1.5 stars, while uninspired garbage like "Where silence has lease" (season 2) would receive 2.5 stars. You know, that episode where a giant-faced alien lifeform uses the TNG crew as labrats, and when Picard ultimately points out that experimenting on humans goes against their dignity and the the alien should be ashamed of itself, all is well and the conflict resolved. Boring as hell and such a TOS rehash.

Am I the only one who sees this episode for who great it is? I'd give "Imaginary Friend" 2.5 stars as a minimum.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,556
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.