Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,864 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,395
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 1:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Enterprise is a nice change of pace from the other Treks. The Enterprise is feeling it's way through warp space and learning about themselves more than about other races. With no prime directive the crew is able to make mistakes and grow. Entertaining (***)
Set Bookmark
RichD
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

This episode is in my top 5 of the whole series. It's expertly written. I applaud the writers for going to a place that very rarely is shown in the Star Trek universe. The horrors of war. The Dominion War dominated the DS9 story line as we all know, and I think it was brilliant to show an episode from this perspective. The scene with Quark and Nog at the beginning, was tremendous. It's those little stand out scenes, that tend sneak up and surprise you. That's what I enjoy so much about this show. You could be moving along, business as usual watching an episode, and then bam, they hit you with something like that. They've obviously done land based, hand to hand combat themed episodes in the past, but for some reason, this episode struck a chord with me. It packed an emotional punch. Perhaps watching Nog, a character I grew to admire more and more as the series progressed, so valiantly help the team, only to lose his leg, got to me. He represents the viewer in a lot of ways. Very well done. This one was a pleasant surprise when I first saw it.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

I was just reading the review of "Bride of Chaotica(!)" and some comments about the UPN trailors gave me a flashback to the original trailor for "Elogium." I distinctly remember seeing the trailor for this the week before it first aired, with the voiceover claiming something to the effect that (in all caps, to reflect how it was said) "VOYAGER ENCOUNTERS THE MOST POWERFUL FORCE IN THE UNIVERSE". I remember seeing this and thinking "Is it the Q? Something else?" I can't say I was necessarily enthused, as I wasn't liking the show particularly, but at any rate I was curious.

When "Elogium" aired my sustained reaction was 45 minutes of "w. t. f." Unlike the promo, my reaction was not in caps but in lower case tedium. Jammer is right to have railed against the promos as much as he has, but in this case it went beyond merely being cheesy or overblown. This one was a flat-out blatant lie, and because of it what should have been a humdrum mediocre hour was instead an hour of serious disappointment. If the morons working for UPN thought they were doing their network a favor by putting one over on the audience then they were even dumber and more dishonest than the promos they were putting out. I wonder in hindsight whether audience members could have successfully filed a class-action suit against UPN for false advertising.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

1) They made it way too obvious that Ross was working for Sloan.
2) Bashir would make a terrible spy.
3) Liked the Romulan council scene, and Sloan's 'death' was shocking.
4) Romulans need more makeup where the foreheads meet their real faces. Or just don't have such a low camera angle, if that's easier.
5) Solid episode, but not 4 stars. 3.5 at best.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

The Klingon is to advanced looking considering TOS was further into the future. Finally a Star Trek launch with no god like beings and existential quests. Thee best first episode of any Star Trek series. (***.5)
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I like this episode a lot! Just rewatched it yesterday and it still works for me. Yes, there are clich├ęs, as Jammer wrote, but it's well directed and well acted.

Plus the terrible "Ferengi love songs" still burns my memory... so this is gold!!!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Good catch, Jammer.

That being said, I think even the ST:III line is a meta-joke about how repair demands are always met despite them being impossible. The "Relics" joke would then a joke on the joke. Even in ST:II they're taking the piss out of this by Kirk actually instructing them to give an exaggerated repair estimate. My point was, when watching TOS it's not really plausible that Scotty was deliberately giving inflated repair times; it's just that Kirk's demands somehow magically made anything possible. It's not like we were going to get an episode where, during the crisis, nothing works, with Scotty telling the Captain (as the ship is exploding) "I told you I couldn't do it this fast!"
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

And now on to enterprise! wheeee!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

The Scotty "miracle worker" is established with specific dialogue. From "Star Trek III: The Search for Spock":

Kirk: "How much refit time before we can take her out again?"
Scotty: "Eight weeks, sir. But you don't have eight weeks, so I'll do it for you in two."
Kirk: "Mr. Scott, have you always multiplied your repair estimates by a factor of four?"
Scotty: "Certainly, sir. How else can I keep my reputation as a miracle worker?"
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

(***.5) DS9 was a far superior series on the whole but Voyager got the better send off. The only regret is not seeing 7's reaction to earth considering they spent so much time building her anticipation. As for the others, even though the future was negated I was satisfied with the original depiction of life after voyager.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

@ Kuebel, "I am not so sure about this "miracle worker" thing: Did Scotty really overestimate the repair time on purpose during TOS?"

It's been a Star Trek trope by this time that the chief engineer gives the captain an ETA for repairs and the captain says he's got a fraction of that amount to get it done. Despite the timetable being impossible, it always gets done. I'm pretty sure Scotty's line here is a meta-joke on that tired trope rather than being a reference to his actual behavior with Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

So now the Federation/Starfleet have had a war with the Tzenkethi.
For a peace keeping organisation based on exploration and learning they sure get into a lot of wars.

At which point do the peace loving hippies think "Screw this, lets seal our borders and stay here. Too many innocents are dying because we want to boldly go..."

Be interested to see a list of everyone they've had a war with.

Romulans
Klingons
Cardassians
Tzenkethi
Dominion

The Borg don't count as they're headcases.

Anyone else?

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

sigh (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

(****)
Set Bookmark
SFKeepay
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals


Thought provoking review and comments all around - genuinely worth reading (for me) almost everything on this page.

It's often jarring to be confronted with disconcern and/or unexamined ruthlessness regarding the deliberate termination of life. Irrespective of, for instance, whether it would ultimately prove necessary to kill the enemy soldiers, isn't an evolution in the thinking processes of mankind a central tenent of Star Trek? Yes there is war, but this isn't set in the 21st century and Cisco isn't Patton or Rommel. He is supposed to represent hundreds of years of conscious, progressive effort to place in check our destructive instincts.

The world is gradually becoming less and less violent (no, really - I didn't believe it myself but Steve Pinker's evidence and arguments have convinced me). Certainly the Trek universe depicts humanity as having finally done most of the remaining work necessary to embody disciplined restraint and compassion at the expense of violence, whether reflexive or strategic. Attacking Cisco for trying to find a way not to kill those enemy soldiers (while understandable given the stakes) is, I would suggest, thinking in contemporary terms at the expense of incorporating some of the most defining elements of Trek into one's calculus.

In the same vein, many comments here have characterized "Paul Gordon" (Joseph Fuqua), the handsome Starfleet "redshirt" who is killed during the climax, as a victim of what they see as Cisco's - or even the writers' - misplaced attempts at diplomacy. But Gordon was Star Fleet, and more, he was a man, a human, of his time. I would like to suggest that he was not a victim, and would not have seen himself as one. Perhaps I am out on a rhetorical limb here, but supporting evidence was provided when the crew confront the morality of Keevan's ambush. Gordon himself says, with obvious revulsion at the idea, "So we just...shoot them down?"

Being killed, especially with most of your life still ahead of you, is not a choice most of us would make. But living by your convictions, especially when doing so is difficult or even dangerous, must be among lifes' most defining behaviors. Cisco did not carelessly or needlessly throw away Gordon's life. He pursued a course mandated by a philosophy of existence to which Gordon, and Star Trek, devotedly subscribe. With so much discussion here and elsewhere about "honor", what does honor have to "say" about acting in accordance to your considerd beliefs?

This episode is repleat with subtlety, depth, thematicism, and depictional excellence. Brooks and especially Visitor knocked it out of the park, as did the writers and director. Moreover, the guest actors were outstanding. Phil Morris was riveting, and Lily Chauvin was excellent - yes, IMHO, excellent, as Vedek Yassim. She depicted Yassim as poised, profoundly serious, appropriately proclative, and, above all, crystal clear as to her purpose: to open the eyes of someone in whom she had placed her faith for the salvation of her people. In.Frakking.Credible.

That this site persists despite the antiquity (in terms of the digital world) of the bulk of its content, obligates my sincere and evergreen gratitude. I began visiting here shortly after taking my first job out of college. Now closing in on two decades later, I find my occasional vintageTrek streaming greatly enhanced by re-reading Jammer's take, and catching up with opinions of other ST devotees. I love it when someone out there elucidates a point, whether or not I immediately or ultimately agree with it, that simply had not occurred. So thank you fellow commentators, and above all, thank you Jammer.
Set Bookmark
cant.believe.only.1.other.noticed.flaw
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

@Alex
yup. I noticed. was complete kakamany (or however it is spelled). completely bogus writing. they fudged up the whole synaptic simulator thing by their own description and directions.

@MartinB
Alex is right, you're wrong. I even rewound my DVR to double check myself. the doctor said the "doodad" would work based on the implant's tech to force the warlord out. it was discussed that KES would have the transfer implant most likely and that they would use it against her. they were counting on her having a transfer implant. only way the "doodad" (synaptic simulator) works on the dude at the end is if he had an implant setup as a pre-plan that the warlord would escape to him which was never mentioned.

as it was never mentioned, counts as a huge plot hole in my book for a series that tech is a huge part of.

Set Bookmark
Kuebel
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 2:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I am not so sure about this "miracle worker" thing: Did Scotty really overestimate the repair time on purpose during TOS?

I always thought that idea came from parodies ...

And I've been watching the BR commentary on this episode: Initially, Ronald D. Moore had written an even more distanced crew, but the actors thought their characters would like Scotty. Since he's the engineer of the crew that saved the Federation many times, I'm sure every Starfleet cadet would have read about him as often.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

I wonder if they died out. Oh well, at least they got one baby out of the deal (Kirk&Deela). More, of they used that one redshirt before killing him off.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

You could tell immediately when they beamed down that the blue geologist was doomed, lack of red shirt notwithstanding.

Spock was at his most obnoxious in this episode, needlessly berating his crew and nitpicking at their language and mannerisms. Scotty's a saint for putting up with all that. This is just one more episode explaining why the crew has ample reasons for being uncomfortable when Spock is in charge. Dude either yells at them for no reason or sacrifices them to space cavemen. Or endangers them all because he values the life of the captain over the combined ship and crew. Maybe it was a showcase of why Dr. McCoy is so essential - if he's gone, who's Spock supposed to fight with?

The away team hiding behind each other to evade the 'ghost' was a pretty funny visual. Sulu got some dumb moments but at least he got off the bridge this ep.
Set Bookmark
dave
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 1:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Hah, Luka...

I watched this tonight and came here to read the old review and comments. Yeah, I was thinking the same thing. I didn't like her too much as a character back in the day, however, she did hit the right notes in this episode. Maybe it was the aggression instead of her usually fluffy character that made it sexy?

Ah these Pah Wraiths...

They never explained them very well.... I always told the story to myself that they were the same type of beings as the wormhole alients and they had some sort of war or civil war in the wormhole, lost, and got locked into something that was buried in these fire caves. They always wanted revenge and to destroy their mortal enemies.

I wish they had of explained it more than just go on and on about Bajoran religion. We know it was just a created narrative for the people, they were not gods or prophets or anything more than just beings that lived outside of time, that could be killed.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

It felt like an episode of something else that happened to occur in the Star Trek universe. So even though it was well-executed, it felt off as a Star Trek episode. During the battle in particular I noted that the orchestral, epic music was really grand and profound, but it was SO not Star Trek. I would probably deduct a star for that.

Am I the only one who noticed that the engineer who dies is Will Robinson from Lost in Space (which was TOS rival back in the day)?
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I always wondered: if insanity is so easily treated and cured in the TOS universe, why was it always treated so seriously when a character was insane or went insane, or the possibility of being driven insane came up. After all, it seems like now only a temporary condition.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Sep 25, 2016, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Especially when in his minimal screentime he's actually competent or at least helpful.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Sep 25, 2016, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

There may be a trend that the better episodes of Voyager have a minimal amount of Neelix ...
Set Bookmark
Brettsky
Sun, Sep 25, 2016, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

I wonder if a female character had nipples growing on their arm, would they be allowed to show that on TV?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,395
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.