Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,216 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,409
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 21, 2016, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@aemom: Maybe Troi was guiding Worf's hand on the targeter to get around some Starfleet regulation preventing unauthorized personnel from firing the weapons. "I never fired those weapons, it was Worf who pressed the button".
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 21, 2016, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

The only reason to ever become a scientist in the Federation is because of the lovely assistants you get, Why do you think La Forge took that path? He knows the score.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 21, 2016, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

You too! I've been enjoying your ENT reviews :)
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 21, 2016, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

OK, season 2 in the books. It rated higher than I expected.

Carbon Creek / 4.00
Dead Stop / 4.00
Stigma / 4.00
Cease Fire / 4.00
Cogenitor / 4.00
First Flight / 4.00
Minefield / 3.50
The Seventh / 3.50
Future Tense / 3.50
The Breach / 3.50
Regeneration / 3.50
Shockwave part II / 3.00
Singularity / 3.00
Vanishing Point / 3.00
The Catwalk / 3.00
Judgment / 3.00
Horizon / 3.00
The Expanse / 3.00
A Night in Sickbay / 2.50
Canamar / 2.50
The Crossing / 2.50
Marauders / 2.00
The Communicator / 2.00
Precious Cargo / 1.00
Dawn / 1.00
Bounty / 1.00

Total: 77
Average: 2.96

Little higher than season 1. More 4.0 episodes, but more stinkers as well. While this season wasn't as consistently good as season 1, it has some trek classics in there. The 4.0 episodes are truly that good.

Of course Carbon Creek is my favorite Star Trek episode so.... :-)

My favorite theme is the ever improving relationship between Archer and T'Pol.

Comparing with DS9 and VOY S1&S2 is always interesting.

Voy: 3.06 / 3.02 average per episode
Ent: 2.94 / 2.96 average per episode
DS9: 2.08 / 2.71 average per episode

This falls right in line with what I've always thought. VOY/ENT Season 1&2 are way better than DS9's. I'm a little surprised, I'd always had in my head that the ENT early seasons were the best early seasons in trek (spin-offs) but my numbers don't quite reflect that.

On to Season 3!!!
Set Bookmark
Fri, Oct 21, 2016, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

"but if that happens to entail playing pool in the afternoon while getting mildly sauced"

Anyone else have an office at WeWork?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

@ Jason R.,

To know those vapid and clueless assistants, is to love them. And to love them - you wish.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I am grateful that for once Wesley Crusher had no hand in solving this particular puzzle.

While the answer was obvious, and it may have taken a little longer for Picard to put 2+2 together than I would have hoped, I do like that the climax of the story renders that little mystery rather superfluous; the issue isn't figuring out that Graves has usurped Data, but rather the moral implications of this act. As Graves puts it, he is human and Data is a machine. Legally speaking, he's probably not wrong. This is a taste of the ethical problem more fully explored in Measure of a Man. But it's only a taste. And ultimately Graves' decision to just pull the plug, just like that, seems far too easy.

This episode has its moments, but they are only moments.

As an additional criticism, I found the character of Kareen immensely tiresome. How many of these superfluous female characters are we going to keep running into? Does every old scientist have a beautiful young assistant / wife intensely devoted to him, but utterly vapid and clueless? It's like a repeating motif in Trek.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Good to hear from you Robert. Hadn't heard much since I finished Voyager.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

What a powerful, moving episode. I usually am disinclined to heap praise on episodes that show an alternate future we all know is going to be wiped out by the end of a Trek episode, but this is so well written and acted that it is even more than the sum of its parts (and its parts ain't that bad to begin with).

As for the commenter who says it's 'racist' to have a black Bajoran be Jake's wife, I really can't understand his or her complaint. We never saw a black Vulcan before Tuvok. Someone has to be the first. It's odd to hear someone say it's racist to be inclusive of other races...
Set Bookmark
Klovis Mann
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Just a note: The person in command of a ship is always called captain no matter what rank is formally held. For example "Captain" Bligh was a lieutenant.

I liked that Worf's parents were plainly Jewish. They would naturally sympathize with Worf's "outsider" status. I thought their family scenes together were quite touching. His request for some of Mom's Pie was a "humanizing" touch, sweet.

I imagine vineyards will look pretty much the same in a couple hundred years as they do now. Bottles? Maybe not. Corks or screw tops?
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

In a different kind of episode the Troi-Worf 'moment' of professional misconduct could serve as an interesting jumping-off point to study the profound cultural differences that would exist between a species of isolated individuals, and a species of empaths & telepaths.

It's almost impossible to fathom how the nature of privacy, social boundaries and even 'self' vs 'other' would develop in a race of beings who can read the true thoughts and feelings of the person their dealing with (and visa versa).

Lwaxana kind of embodies this friction whenever she steps on board the Enterprise, and ironically it's Deanna who has to remind her how different the social and behavior standards are among humans -- Which is a long way of saying that the good Counselor definitely should have known better in this episode.

Thankfully she does seem to redeem herself as the episode develops.

But setting aside previous character precedent (and a lack of discretion and common sense on Troi's part), one could imagine just how jarring it would be for a Betazoid to adjust themselves to an emotionally 'blind/deaf/dumb' culture. I suppose in a Betazoid culture, a reaction like Worf's would be immediately evident to everyone...including Worf. He would never think to 'hide' his feelings on this issue, he wouldn't even try.

If you are an open book to others, you would have to become an open book to yourself as well. Honestly and openly dealing with your emotional foibles, hangups, prejudices, anxieties and so forth would be 'de-rigeur' as there's no hiding from the judgement of others.

I guess a very stretched parallel is the development of monolithic Social Media in today's 'always connected' society. Virtually everything anyone thinks on a given topic can be transmitted instantly to a huge number of people, who in turn transmit that information to their circle of friends, etc, until everyone 'knows' about a given topic, incident, misdeed, etc. At least in 140 characters or less. How are you feeling at this moment? In the past you may tell a co-worker in the cubicle next to you can 'Share your thoughts' to half the planet with a few clicks of a virtual keyboard.

Along with that has come an erosion of our boundaries of what information is private and what is public (much to the benefit of certain corporation's bottom lines). Young people today are growing up in a more 'Betazoid' style world where everything is shared, and is expected to be shared, with everyone else. In many cases whether you like it or not (the Internet never forgets...).

Of course many members of 'older' generations look at this development with a mix of confusion and horror. Boundaries are being broken or at least mutated in ways we could hardly imagine even in 1989.

Full disclosure, I've always had a bit of a soft spot for Troi and I try to avoid dumping on the character every time she tells Picard she's 'sensing something', or 'doesn't think so-and-so is being totally honest'. She's an underdog type and I try to root for her, despite her frequent 'hicups'.

Ultimately I think the incident in this episode was just the writers trying to shoe-horn in another joke "Worf is a bad-ass warrior who cares little for 'peace'. And did we mention he's Klingon? Rawr!" Hamfisted and a disservice to Troi, unfortunately.

Hmm maybe Lwaxana, a full telepath and hillariously oblivious to Human social standards, should have been made the ship's counselor so we'd have awkward moments like this every episode. The crew would lose their minds, and Lwaxana would be there to provide a running commentary as it happened....

Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

Jammer: "Couldn't they have tested their weapons anywhere?"

Ah, yeah.... eeeesh.... the relative intelligence of our foe has just regressed to the level of a 5 year old. The test itself #1 removes any element of surprise for the real attack and #2 risks revealing your identity to your enemy.

This is just one of the writing gaffs that I just wipe from existence while watching season 3, the other is how an event of this magnitude couldn't ever be mentioned in trek lore. There ARE other ways to set the stage without killing 7 million humans in the first ever attack on Earth by an Alien civilization. Come on.

All that said. Most of what I just mentioned entered my brain after I watched this. This episode is fun to watch and does have emotional impact. The Delphic Expanse is portrayed by the Vulcan's as being very dangerous, the addition of the MACO's to the Enterprise crew speaks to conflict ahead. I was eager to start season 3. Just glad I didn't have to wait as I watched all this on DVD.

The best part of this one for me again involved Archer & T'Pol. She resigns her commission to remain with Archer & crew. Glad to see it.

Duras... blah, blah... only interjected so Reed can test his new weapons.

While this episode gets the blood pumping and I'm more that ready for more, I can't really give it above a 3 star rating because the test strike was just that stupid.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

" I can ignore the fact that Riker is old, grey and fat in this, but the holodeck really pisses me off. "

Spoken like a true Trekkie. I salute you Mr. Vulcan!
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@RJ - Having the hots for Spock? All she said is "He's so much more handsome in person. And those eyes."

He's a legend. It'd be like going back in time and finding that say... Rasputin is better looking in person than his pictures. I don't think there's anything wrong with such a line.... if a man said it, nobody would blink.

And if she had sex with McCoy then it was Emony!

As to Boday, he's just an ex boyfriend with a transparent skull. I will say the whole fire dancer thing bothered me though.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Jack, you sound like yet another dime-a-dozen, (disgruntled?), (frightened?), (insecure?), shameless, insolent, lazy, know-it-all, total-ignoramus atheist who has zero idea what genuine religion is about, its intentions, and its potential.
Set Bookmark
Nothingoriginal 55
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Three yrars on Voyager and Neelux still doesn't know how to work a communicator...
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

@Yanks - In my other comments I rail against annoying prequel tendencies to go against their premise. If you want to tell stories about the Borg, don't have a prequel!! Well, that's my usual philosophy anyway. In this case... totally agree with you. The execution justifies the product and stays my judgement. It was just good.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Sigh, we had a pretty darn good run of episode there and then boom.... we get this.

While seeing T'Pol in her undies hitting on Phlox had it's comedic moments, I remember watching and feeling bad for Jolene and John for that matter.

... and I don't think this was B&B ... I believe reading somewhere that this episode was made to satisfy the brass at UPN wanting more T&A stuff to help ratings. (I could be wrong of course)

I enjoyed Jordan Lund as Skalaar, but the story was pretty weak and we again get Archer looking for a get out of jail card. Been there, done that.... a couple times. Don't need to go there again.

So.... now we know that female Vulcan's go through pon-farr. (or maybe we don't as this might have just been a chemically induced state) Wonder if the male gets to preside over a battle to the death of two females, to classic Star Trek music. :-)

I usually skip this one.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Great review Jammer, but you've surprisingly left out a very important (to me anyway) part of this episode.

I personally thought we could and should have had an entire year of this. I thought the 1st year (or some number of episodes) should have showed us the struggles, crew selection etc of "making it into deep space".

I welcomed this episode with open arms.

Love how T'Pol sees Archer needs some companionship and "forces" herself on the shuttle pod.

"T'POL: I've brought some sensor enhancements.
ARCHER: Thanks.
T'POL: We'll find them useful in mapping the nebula, if it's there.
T'POL: This is a scientific mission. It's only logical to bring your Science Officer.
ARCHER: I'd prefer to handle this myself.
T'POL: Commander Tucker obviously didn't remind you that Starfleet regulations prohibit the Captain from leaving the ship unaccompanied.
(The shuttlepod launches.)
T'POL: We should reach the edge of the phenomenon in two hours, forty six minutes. I can pass the time by meditating, but if you'd prefer to talk?
ARCHER: Go ahead and meditate.
T'POL: Would you like to join me? You seem quite unsettled since your call from Admiral Forrest."

She really had no desire to go looking for a dark matter nebula, she knew her Captain needed her.

But I think the best part of this episode was how Archer's telling of the story had the wonderful backdrop of the experiment using the shuttle pod and Trip's charges.

This episode briefly encapsulates humanities struggle to the stars, fighting Vulcan influence, doubt etc. The experiment shares this theme as well. T'Pol has no faith that the "dark matter nebula" exists, let alone any hope that Trip's charges with find one, but Archer wants to press on. How the story unfolds along with the events as they occurred in the shuttle pod was perfect. Not only was T'pol's skepticism tromped on a bit in the shuttle pod, but the Vulcan's advising Star Fleet were also shunned as Archer, Robinson and Trip prove the potential of the prototype warp engine.

Wonderful story telling in my book.

I still, every time I watch this episode, tear up twice. First when Archer calls T'Pol up to see the successful results of the last 2 charges not just study the data (just like Archer proving to the Vulcan's that we are ready) and when T'Pol suggests that the nebula be named after AG.

"ARCHER: T'Pol, come up and look at this a minute.
T'POL: I have to monitor the quantum field.
ARCHER: Let the sensors do it. That's why AG and I worked so hard to get out here."


4 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I still remember my thoughts before I first saw this episode.

"They don't need to go there" ... "why?" ... "I'm not going to like this" ... Thinking back to the Feregni episode.

Then I watched it.

Damn they did a pretty good job. Very enjoyable hour of trek. Suspenseful, engaging, fast paced...

Outstanding special affects. What Enterprise gave us in this regard still impresses me. I just binge watched Enterprise and man, visually it's still outstanding.

For those that have a hard time with the Borg timeline, dig First Contact, not Enterprise.

As always we can nit-pick details, especially when time travel is involved, but much like Star Trek Beyond, I don't feel the need to because the product is well presented and fits with established canon at the time it was made.

I'll go 3.5 stars too.

Damn, season 2 has really got it's act together from 'Judgment' on. This season might grade higher than I anticipated as well.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

"As with any other culture that was shown in any sort of depth during the Trek's, I simply accepted that this is how the Ferengi's operate. Same as when I saw the Klingon Homeworld, or Romulus, or Cardassia Prime. You might not agree with it, but that is what they do and we hope our heroes will be able to eventually change their political system a bit, so that it is nicer like the Federation"

Looks like Eddington is being proved right about the Federation :)
Set Bookmark
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Tribble snacks.... lol

I thought this entire episode, A&B plots, performances by all the actors, was very well done. This is one of those flying under the RADAR outstanding trek episodes.

My biggest gripe with this is that they break Travis AGAIN!! I also agree with Jammers that I have a hard time believing that Travis attained expert skills in climbing while living on a transport ship.

This episode made me think of the Voyager episode "Nothing Human". Although I think this one was much better.

I cracked up when the Denobulans just scampered up the rocks :-)

Jammers' review says it all, but I'll go a little higher and give this "Star Trek" episode a 3.5.
Set Bookmark
David Zyk
Thu, Oct 20, 2016, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I guess I'm in the minority of people who dislike this episode. When I first saw it 20 odd years ago I actually enjoyed it, but it doesn't really hold up to repeat viewings and hasn't aged that well. The best part of the episode is the first act, involving the disappearance of the Doctor. Where it starts to go downhill, however, is when more people start going missing, which leads to a quite absurd series of events taking place. At this point, we know that nothing taking place is actually real, so I started to lose interest because why should I care anymore? 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery


(it's also stupid beyond belief. A hormone-stricken adolescent male is not going to start watching Star Trek just because the producers added a babe in a catsuit. There are plenty of other shows that fill this need better...)

So, so true. For those of us watching it back then, it was sort of "Wow, look at what she's wearing!". But I never heard of ANYONE who started to watch it because they could see Jeri in a catsuit. Ever. If anything, folks who knew nothing about the show would see her and ask "What's up with her outfit?". Mostly, it was more of a negative effect, especially if the commenter was female, because it was so obvious...

Just adding to the thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

Hello Everyone!

I always liked this episode. When I watched this with my Mother during our Friday night get-togethers, a few years later, we laughed and laughed at the puns and jokes. I still think of it that way. Quark was her favorite, actually.

Ferengi Commerce Authority, not Agency. Heh, just had to say it. :)

As with any other culture that was shown in any sort of depth during the Trek's, I simply accepted that this is how the Ferengi's operate. Same as when I saw the Klingon Homeworld, or Romulus, or Cardassia Prime. You might not agree with it, but that is what they do and we hope our heroes will be able to eventually change their political system a bit, so that it is nicer like the Federation (which eventually seems to have one Admiral after another trying to change it).

While reading some of the admittedly good comments above, I had a "Stripes" moment: Lighten up Francis...

Some great lines in this one, that led up to me being in stitches:

---O'Brien: Everyone... (then they all look back down at the lock in unison).
---Brunt: Hard work, bribes, sucking up to the boss—just like any other job.
---Rom: A-haa, you see? I told you! - What is it? Quark: I'm going to kill her!
---Rom: [about his and Quark's father] He went from one bad deal to the next, one failure after another. He couldn't hold on to LATINUM if you SEWED IT INTO HIS PAAANTS!!!

It'd been a while since I'd seen this, and I have to admit I had to pause it from laughing at the last one. The jokes seemed to build on one-another, until I got to that last one and it was just perfect.

It seemed to me that folks didn't notice Rom wanted the status-quo as well, he was just being nicer about it. He was uncomfortable with clothes, and just wanted Moogie to act like other Ferengi females. But the momma's-boy in him thought it was fine she still had profit, just as long as no one knew about it.

Even though I know what Rom eventually became, I think that at this time in the series, he was pretty spot-on. He'd earlier tried to achieve profit with the death attempt of Quark (to which Quark said he was proud of him), and had said many times he wanted the bar if something... bad... were to happen to Quark. Heck, they even mentioned how he'd been skimming in the past, knowing the code to Quark's safe. Rom had just been trying to get ahead all these years, and sometimes, he succeeded.

I always thought the front doors were low so visitors would have to "bow" as they came into your home, adding to the homage paid to their domicile, along with the entering ritual (where they actually paid). The same with the rooms, mostly. That they had to duck every time they went through their own doors would be irrelevant. They were used to it.

At the time, the B story didn't do much for me. They introduced Kasidy, but we didn't know if it would go anywhere. And it could have just as easily been mentioned in a later episode that "We listened to the game, and enjoyed the company, but she's not for me", and ended it at that. Honestly, without knowing what the future might hold, I always felt it was fairly lackluster.

Your mileage may vary, but I enjoyed watching this one again. For me, it is almost outside of the normal star ratings, just as it was outside of the normal episodes for DS9. It just exists and I liked it. :)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,409
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.