Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,564 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,623
Set Bookmark
Lynne
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

In answer to Roy, 2 years later: Pronouncing "herbs" as "erbs" is American. Not a mispronunciation, at all.
I was rather dismayed that none of the colonists wanted to be rescued, and wondered about the scene with the two children and what we a being told, there.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

An OK episode but that's about it -- the various sub-plots are all a bit cliche and definitely need each other to make for a 1 hour episode that gets slow-paced after the first bit of starship battle is over.

Unlike Jammer, I didn't think the battle scenes were anything special or that hasn't already been seen in DS9 prior episodes. Been plenty of battles with the Jem'Hadar already and here's another one in the atmosphere of a planet. Tried to be a bit like Wrath of Khan I think but nowhere near as good since the Jem'Hadar are faceless enemies here.

Probably the best of the 4 subplots (Bashir/Dax get close, Kira telling stories to Sisko, Worf taking charge, and Quark/Karemma trader diffuse a torpedo) is the Worf one. But even it isn't that great -- so Worf starts out as overbearing but ultimately takes O'Brien's advice and gets the best out of the engineers. Ultimately it seems quite fortunate that they are able to destroy the 2nd Jem'Hadar ship. The Bashir/Dax subplot was the worst of the 4.

The episode suffers from Odo not being a part of it but I did like Visitor's acting as Kira taking care of Sisko -- just that it's cliche and didn't generate any emotional response.

"Starship Down" sounds like it should be a much better episode but I can only give it 2.5 stars -- an exercise in seeing how different "teams" of crew members interact in a desperate situation. Overall, a letdown considering how good prior DS9 S4 episodes have been.
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I feel like Klingons fighting Nazis would not be boring.

And yet...
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

2 stars. This didn't work at all. suspiria debut was a big deal. Voyager even included a special recap preceding the episode in the teaser. So I expected a great episode. Didn't happen and "Kes discovering her abilities" really was pretty ho hum. Overall a very MEH ep
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

@Zakalwe - The holodeck converts matter into energy and then back into matter all of the time. After a certain number of years 95% of the things in the holodeck are basically made of recycled jizz. Interestingly, this is also why Voyager could never siphon power from the holodecks. The engines can't run on recycled jizz, but you can make an Irish village out of it!

I'll see myself out now.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Mister Experientiality here...

I literally, honestly, and thankfully FELL ASLEEP during this episode. Enough said.
I got about as far as the demand for a cloaking device.

(Yawn) Nodding off just typing about this o...n...e....

zzzz.....

Set Bookmark
Intrinsic Random Event
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Yeah, this episode is definitely not what I was hoping to see when I pressed Play...
Not as completely terrible as 'Bounty', but most of the way there. Perhaps this idea could have worked if the writer had not been so determined to steer us all the way down the lite and silly path...
Set Bookmark
Moriah
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

Anyone have any ideas what bodily function Data was going to compare the Manheim effect to? Been forever since I've seen it but I'm watching it again with my parents right now, and I'm 99% convinced it's something sexual although they don't seem to think so. I was thinking orgasm, or specifically multiple orgasms, as many women experience?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

3 stars!

Very enjoyable. Too bad ENT couldn't do more of these type of standalones. I always have loved stories with a storm approaching and everyone batoning down the hatches then a crisis occurs. I enjoyed the crew in the catwalk and seeing them racing to prepare for the coming storm. I liked Archer and Tpol bonding more. A highlight
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

3 stars!

I enjoyed this one. It gave me the warm fuzzies with its quiet comfortable sweet little story
Set Bookmark
David
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

The ferengi characters make good supplements at times. They've improved a lot over the years. As the centerpiece of an episode, no. Just no. Every ferengi-centered episode in every series has just been a waste of time, except Little Green Men. I'm sorry, these stories are just not very entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

I would have loved this to pieces on TNG(replace the Vidiians with the Borg )and would have ranked it up there with Brannon's other smart high concept imaginative scripts like "Cause and Effect" and Timescape but it just didn't work with Voyager. One-it is hard to get enthusiastic when this episode is surrounded by so much uninspired mediocrity that populated Voyager season two. When I got to this episode I knew it was a mere brief reprieve from the underwhelming season. And two-- I never really developed a connection to the cast aside from Janeway and Seven of nine so I really couldn't get into this episode the way I know I would have had this been a TNG episode with TNG cast. That's too bad because the episode script on paper was as brilliant as his other stellar scripts. As is 2.5 stars. I had the same reaction to "Timeless" too where not being invested in the cast hurt my ability to be truly engaged or care
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

3 stars

I thought it was pretty entertaining. I enjoyed it with its creepy atmosphere and the crew working together. Fun!
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

A powerful, poignant ending made this episode for me. Prior to that, I felt it wasn't anything particularly noteworthy (similar to "Sacred Ground") with Neelix examining his faith etc. Wasn't sure where it was going...

Good acting all around especially from Phillips and Beltran (Neelix and Chakotay) - they had some solid lines. But especially Phillips who showed how his lack of belief in faith was subtly changing him -- he blows up at 7 of 9, is very circumspect at the party when being honored -- and then ultimately tries to commit suicide (with some ominous foreshadowing).

The fact that Neelix is a godfather wound up playing a critical role -- the whole point of the little girl was building up to show Neelix does not have to commit suicide.

I've never had a serious issue with Neelix's character -- maybe he was a bit obsessive about Kes -- but clearly Phillips is a very capable actor and more should be done with Phillips/Neelix. Starting to like 7 of 9 as a character as well -- much better than Kes.

"Mortal Coil" would have gotten 2 stars but for the ending with Chakotay preventing Neelix's suicide and how it tied up what looked like loose ends, I think this episode is worth 3 stars. Really strong ending and good character episode for the Voyager crew, bringing them closer together around Neelix.
Set Bookmark
N
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

3.5 for me on balance. There are a few key fudges/issues that stops the ep from being an outright great:

- The whole idea of Voyager inventing a technology with which they could traverse the galaxy in a few minutes beggars belief. If, say, the slipstream drive would have reduced their journey time to 6 years instead of 60, I'd be more open to it. The whole thing with Janeway and co. acting as if they're totally certain they will be in the Alpha Quadrant by tomorrow is just silly and strains credulity. We're used to expecting so much caution from Janeway.
- Surely the calculations (of this complexity) should be done automatically by the software and not reliant on Harry Kim (an ensign) doing them manually? Added to which:
- If they could run highly accurate holodeck simulations of the slipstream flight (accurate enough to correctly predict its disaster every time it was run), why couldn't they run simulations of the Delta Flyer-guided version? Instead, they do it for real without ever testing it - they should never have entered the slipstream without at least simulating the Delta Flyer-guided approach.
- Why are they throwing a party in engineering to celebrate the new drive/being home tomorrow if it's failed every single simulation, absurdly leaving Tom Paris as the sole voice of reason?
- Why is B'Elanna so sidelined and why's she allowing her engine room to be fitted with a tech that in every simulation run has ended in the ship's destruction?
- This episode requires the crew to be as absurdly, short-sightedly enthusiastic about getting home as they were in Bliss, and equally unprofessional, except in that ep it worked because it was the point. Here, they're incredibly dilettantish, first and foremost Janeway. It's one of Janeway's worst characterisations in the entire series run (no surprise Berman + Braga + Menosky wrote the ep), the disaster is her fault, not Harry's. Harry should never have been put in a position where a simple minor human error on his part would have the power to kill everyone. That's what senior officers are there for, to prevent situations like that from ever emerging. Janeway should have put the whole slipstream project on ice (pun semi-intended) until it had been rigorously tested, just like any company would do with a new product (let alone a new engine) today. No car company launches a new vehicle without successfully test-driving it a ton of times until it's passed every single test and complies with every regulation. Instead, for the ep to work, Janeway is written as naively gung-ho to fatal effect. It's just bad writing.
- Geordi should have been much keener to stop Chakotay and Kim. He even wishes them luck. As written, he seems pretty ambivalent about the last 15 years of his and everyone else's life being erased. He should have immediately fired on them.

So why 3.5? Because everything else works. Apart from the last point, all of these credibility-straining issues pertain to the scenes set in Voyager's present; by contrast, the scenes set in the future work entirely (and this is fortunately where the episode spends most of its time), and the character themes become more effective as the episode progresses. I wouldn't say Wang's performance is as good as in The Chute but he's OK.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

NoPoet, aside from the fact that the "saddo from the Internet" that you miserably denounce posted 8 years ago and will almost certainly never see your ridiculously po-faced riposte, did it occur to you that he was joking? Now you may not have found it funny, but then again the correct response to not finding something funny on the internet is to ignore it and move on to more important things in your life.

Personally I would like to know who, in the enlightened 24th century - a time when humans want for nothing and don't have to work for a living - has the job of cleaning what must be absolutely vast amounts of jizz off the walls and floor of the holodeck at the end of every day.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

The episode with the duck blind idea later bolted wholesale onto the tedious movie Insurrection.
I agree that this was an ok episode although Picard's solution to the dilemma reinforces the breach of the Prime Directive.
So what if the Mintakans now appear happy knowing that one day they will reach the stars-I'll bet that two months after the Enterprise leaves the planet cultural damage from being exposed to a superior culture will destroy the planet's population of half a dozen people .
Surely Star Fleet should have Picard and Crusher court martialled?
I would vote for life on a penal colony for Crusher for causing this mess.













Set Bookmark
Minrak
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Hello typos, meet cell phone at airport bar during 4 hour delayed flight.
Set Bookmark
Minrak
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Paraphrasing arguments you don't agree with by using misspellings or other condescending vehicles only undermines your ability to convince them they are wrong.

That said, it was a frivolous episode. I'm not a baseball fan, but there were some funny lines. My only gripe would be that the musical score was a little dramatic at times for how unserious this was supposed to be. The end ofnthe scene where the team decodes sisko is being to serious is a good example.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Interesting episode - started out like a fairly typical Trek episode with a member of the crew violating what is a sacred rule on an alien world (that is trivial to the crew member) and then dealing with the justice system.

But "Random Thoughts" had enough twists to make it decent, like the idea of a black market for violent thoughts in a culture that tries to suppress them. As for the suppression of the thoughts, we understand the Vulcan mental disciplines to try and control them but it never got in to what the Mari do to try to enforce mental discipline -- if there is anything other than the surgical purge.

Guill, the dealer in black market thoughts, comes across as your typical sleezy Trek villain. It was pretty clear from the 1st scene with Torres, something was up with him. Interesting encounter with Tuvok although Guill isn't a very good actor. It was intriguing to watch Tuvok go about the investigation and following up with Guill -- I think, like DS9's Odo, he makes a good investigator.

Torres is also good in this episode -- her "fiery head" as the Doc puts it adds more character to the episode. The Mari investigator was also more than just another bland hard-headed alien, and developed a rapport with Tuvok. They both have similar roles and can learn from each other.

Other good interactions came right at the end between Torres and Tuvok, who pays the former a sort of back-handed compliment about how she, as a Klingon, suppresses her emotions; and 7 of 9 questioning Janeway about the mission. I like Janeway's answer but 7 has a fair question. Given that it'll take several decades for Voyager to get back home, I guess (not having seen every VOY episode up to this one -- and not looking forward) that Janeway will get as far as she can to home and then somebody else will take over. So might as well explore and lolly-gag around before reaching the Alpha quadrant -- whatever the mission.

"Random Thoughts" just barely gets to 3 stars for my rating. Nothing hugely wrong, some interesting ideas, and good character moments and acting for the most part. But not a super-compelling story of greater magnitude which is fine after "Year of Hell", which was supposed to be just that.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

2 stars. Very hollow hour. Yawn
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

2 stars. Total bore. The one bright spot--Torres' mention of Data
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

"Maybe Brooks and Lofton just preferred black women in real life and the showrunners ran with the actors' taste. "

This is probably the best explanation. I didn't personally find it offensive, it just felt deliberate. And therefore noticeable. I have no idea how the casting of these guest stars worked though. Do they bring them in for a test scene with the person they'll be dating? Maybe Lofton likes mocha as much as Jake likes nose crinkles.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

Pretty good episode until the big reset in the end - which we all knew was coming. And finally the "Year of Hell" never actually happened. That doesn't sit well with me. And a pretty big reset it is with Janeway ramming Voyager into Annorax's ship and causing everything to reset -- guess that worked out nicely for VOY.

But overall I really liked Janeway in this episode - gutsy, instinctive decisions. Desperate times call for desperate measures. I suppose Doc is just going by the book and I can't fault him for wanting to relieve Janeway of command but I guess that whole scene was just to show how desperate the times were. Really well done with the ship destroyed to such an extent and still trying to be operational.

Also enjoyed the exposition of Annorax's character -- is he truly insane or not? Certainly obsessive about his objective but without a conscience or compassion for anybody but himself. But he ultimately gets his wife back in the big reset so Janeway solves his problem too. Good dynamic with Chakotay teaming up with Annorax while Paris tries to keep him honest and works on a mutiny.

As for the year passing by (Day 180, Day 203 etc.) I don't think that worked as well in Part II as it did in Part I -- it seemed like things should be happening faster than the number of days elapsing would indicate.

Also I find it hard to believe the badly damaged Voyager can pick up some allies and convince them to fight Annorax's ship - but whatever.

"Year of Hell, Part II" has enough good parts balanced off with a lot of implausible stuff - I think 3 stars for a rating is appropriate. Very good character episode for Janeway and Annorax; but how the reset went down and just the fact that it was such a perfect reset is irritating.


Set Bookmark
skibbles
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

This is the worst Voyager episode ever. This is the worst Star Trek episode ever. I'd watch Threshold again 10 times in a row before I would watch this again.

Here is pretty much how my inner dialogue went as I watched this pos.

no.

no!

No!

What??

Seriously?!

(at this point I switched to actually speaking out loud)

Are you kidding me!?

NO!

WHY?!!?

NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

YOUR'E JOKING, RIGHT?!?

Thank god it's over!!!

Next ►Page 1 of 1,623
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.