Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 23,817 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 953
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 8:56am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@ Jonn Walsh

The producers' decision to go for incredibly bland atonal background music was the wrong choice. Imagine if Ron Jones had scored Gambit I and II!

Honestly, I think the change in soundtrack style is when TNG went from being cinematic to just another TV show.

MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I kept thinking when I saw Dey Young, she looks familiar and couldn't place where I had seen her. She is Leigh Taylor-Young's younger sister. Leigh plays Ezri's mother in "Prodigal Daughter".

I am glad Kira realized Odo could be interested in someone other than her. She seemed a little jealous when everyone thought Odo spent the night with Arissa.
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:27am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@ Holographic Andrew

I just can't help myself. :)

The episode is so ludicrous and over-the-top I have to sit back and smile. Yes, it is cheesy and badly written, but it is NOT boring.

I, mean, Picard walks in on Beverly masturbating!!! How can that NOT make you laugh?
Jonn Walsh - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

I had to echo the feelings of a previous poster here about the gratuitousness of killing off Robert and Rene Picard.
No fire suppression system there at Chateau Picard, I see.
I'm surprised they even had electricity or running water.
A glaring inconsistency.
Also, as I'm typing here I've got Nth Degree on and as much as I may like some aspects of it, it clearly is the episode that signaled the beginning of the end for the Will Riker character AND so begins here the era of the audio wallpaper soundtrack.
Say what you may about Night Terrors (one of my top 10, actually), the musical soundtrack is magnificent. The music in Identity Crisis was a transition...a hodgepodge with elements of the prior and the next episodes providing a bridge over the chasm between the 2 disparate styles involved. And then Nth Degree....and except for very few exceptions (The Inner Light being the prime exception), the aural tenor of the show would never be the same. And with it went a chunk of the show's heart. And boy, is Riker dumb in Nth Degree!
MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:13am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Very nice episode. All of it even though the Kira part was very bland. I wished Shakaar had stayed on Bajor, he was the most unnecessary part of it. I really wished Odo had stayed solid a little longer and learned a little more about his friends.

This was not a real heavy episode but I truly enjoyed it.
HolographicAndrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I see where Dave in NC is coming from although I wouldn't go so far as to say I liked this episode. I see what they were going for and the fog on the enterprise was kind of fun. "It just rolled in, Captain."

My main problem with it is that it falls into the category of a female character having some evil dude dating them, which happens a lot.

I really don't think season 7 is a bad as some say it is, but I'd rank this one slightly below The Royale.
MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Oh Brian S your assessment of this episode is right on the money. Many times reading this I was tempted to comment on the religious comments but, I didn't. It made no sense. It was the accident that triggered the visions and I believe the aliens gave him the knowledge he needed or was compelled to explore.

It seemed to be a good thing, since this information saved Bajor during the war.

I love your explanation without trying to explain your beliefs or disbelief of religion and not stepping on ones toes who do believe.
HolographicAndrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'd give this one a full star rating. One of the best season 7 eps and certainly a very good Data episode. Explores a lot of character stuff with some big moral questions in there too. And the actress was really good, and she still is (recently having seen her in Lost).
Vii - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 11:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I thought this episode was really weird and didn't provide a satisfactory viewing experience. It was all right the first time, since the audience wants to watch it simply to see what happens next, but it really doesn't hold up to a second viewing in the way 'Tacking into the Wind' does, for instance. (Then again that's probably an unfair comparison - Tacking easily gets 4 stars from me.) Contrary to popular opinion, I rather liked Alexander on DS9, and 'Firstborn' I found to be very solid and moving episode, but the Alexander story arc here was just very lacking. I didn't understand the battle scene and what led to Alexander and Worf's aboutface - are we supposed to believe that there's something honourable about Alexander's (presumable) attempt to commit suicide?

I also didn't understand what the scene where Damar brings Kira the dress from Dukat, is supposed to convey, unless it's that Dukat's trying to overwork his XO (seriously, it seems like Damar has to do EVERYTHING on the station, from cargo bays to security, personnel reviews and then neutralising the minefield). Or that Dukat secretly hates Damar and was hoping that Kira would punch the living daylights out of him for the dress delivery.

On the subject of Kira and the B-plot, it was more compelling than the A-plot as many have pointed out, but again, doesn't really hold up to a rewatch. Nothing here that we don't know - yes, Dukat fancies her, Ziyal wants them all to be one happy family and Kira hates that idea and Dukat. Perhaps it wasn't executed properly, but I felt that it was another "been there done that" concept that I didn't have much interest in watching. I feel it would have been better if we'd seen some more about the Cardassia-Dominion power struggle, rather than Kira and Dukat sniping at each other day in and day out. Neither characters are at all likeable this season, unfortunately - Dukat just comes across as a slimeball and Kira as being foolhardy.
Daedalus - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 8:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Really, not a single comment about the fact that we can't even get *5 minutes* into the episode without "F2 - Find flimsy excuse to get as many half-naked people onscreen as we can, because we're UPN, dammit!"?

Here we are, minding our own business with the ship coming apart around our ears. "No life signs - and artificial gravity is down as well!" warns T'pol. CUE SUDDEN SCENE CHANGE: MACO's GONE WILD. Cut to Corporal NotasprettyasBermanthinks "I very clearly wanted to be on a different show but this is all I got" McDeadeyes, putting up her pony while in her skivvies and surrounded by not-more-convincing MACO dudes. Let's throw in Scott Bakula for good measure, heard he was jealous that Trip was getting all the nekkid time. But we need to tie it all together - I KNOW. Let's talk about gravity boots and magnetic variances. THAT'LL MAKE THINGS SEEM ORGANIC.

I get that Trek has always been something that you might get embarrassed by if someone caught you watching it. But this just takes that to a new level of squick.
Vii - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 7:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Powerful, riveting episode. I concur with Jammer that it's probably one of the best episodes in DS9, right up there with In the Pale Moonlight.

Andrew Robinson provided a stellar performance as usual, stealing the scene every time he appears (when does he not?). I agreed with his assessment that "Humans have rules in war. Rules that tend to make victory a little harder to achieve, in my opinion," which was a very nice foreshadoing of the events to come in 'Pale Moonlight.' I like how his Cardassian pragmatism is shown to always prevail over Federation hedonism, but how both sides of the argument are so subtlely played out.

Another wonderful scene that really stuck with me was how the Jem'Hadar all crowded around Keevan when Bashir was about to perform surgery on him, in 'childlike curiosity' as a former poster pointed out. It foreshadows the Third's final dialogue with Sisko in a way, that the Jem'Hadar truly don't have any control over their autonomy and how tragic that is. As we see later in 'Treachery, Faith, and the Great River', neither do the Vorta. Both their species have been specifically programmed to obey the Founders' every whim, even if it means killing themselves.

Others have gone into detail about how horrific Yassim's suicide scene sears into one's mind, so I won't elaborate on that.

On a final note, I'm getting tired of Nog showing up in every scene. He didn't annoy me so much when I first watched DS9, but ever since I watched 'Valiant' yesterday, I want to strangle him every time he gets all self-righteous and pompous on screen. He's like the Wesley Crusher of DS9, and to be honest I think he's even worse than Wesley. At least we had the satisfaction of seeing Picard and Bev Crusher shut him up a few times.
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 6:24pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Better than Duet.
Meh - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Meh...
DSL - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:53am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

My favorite part of of this episode, and I'm not sure the scene survives the syndication cuts every time:
Kirk's on the blower -- sorry, communicator -- to Scotty and he's outlining the telephone-transporter scam about to be pulled.
Camera angle is on Scotty standing next to the captain's chair, Uhura visible behind him at her console.
As Kirk outlines the scam and what it entails from the Enterprise's end, Scotty's not quite catching on -- but Uhura is. And the delighted and satisfied grin that slowly spreads across Uhura's face is priceless.
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:50am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

O'Brien episodes are a bore this included.
DSL - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:41am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Strength: Showing the crew coherence among the prime bridge staff as it attempts to keep things together in the face od certain doom. (well, it wasn't, but they didn't know that.)
Weakness (and one for me that is especially galling in that it mars the strength, above) -- scene-stealing and line-counting.
I mean, one of the underlying tasks throughout this situation is to establish and maintain contact with Balok's ship. And every time Kirk gives an order that logically would have Uhura proving spectacularly that she's more, much more, than the Enterprise's Ernestine, Spock jumps in. Excuse me. Mr. Science, don't you have some sciencing to do? At your science console? Let the lady do her job. In my head, those scenes makes much more sense when Uhura speaks some of the lines that go to Spock, and I wonder if it was, in fact, that way in the first drafts ...
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:39am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

Did no one notice the title Hippocratic Oath? This is a deeply moving episode of the ethical dilemmas doctors face. A mature character study of Bashir, played superbly by Siddig, by far the most accomplished actor on DS9.Must be the British drama school training.O'Brien comes across as a moron by comparison, mindlessly phasering his way out of everything. This episode is light years greater than the moronic The Visitor.
DSL - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:30am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Great episode.
Strength: Showing how easily buried suspicions can be manipulated into overt hostility for an outsider's benefit, a metaphor that should have been plate-glass-clear to anyone alive when the show was aired.
Weakness: Scene-stealing and line-counting. Prime example: Corridor scene with Kirk, Spock, Mara. So many of Kirk's or Spock's lines regarding insight into Kang's motivations and likely reactions would have made much more sense coming from Mara (a fellow Klingon, a fellow officer and his WIFE, for cryin'out loud) -- especially once she realizes (and she clearly realizes) Kirk and Spock are looking for a way to end the fight on the best terms for both sides. But she's reduced to cutaway "hey, here's a cute alien babe" shots. She should have had a lot more to do with how this episode resolved itself. But Nimoy and (especially) The Shat were no doubt counting lines again.
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:24am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

One of the great classic double episodes of all times. Yep, when both Garak and Dukat are on the screen together it's drama off the scale. I could watch these scenes on a loop and never have enough. This double episode is paradigmatic of the best Star Trek. The pace is sizzling, not a scene out of whack. The political intrigue and humor are very grown up and realistic,and thank the prophets not a sign of Kai Winn. The Klingons are awesome and are not defeated, they're still at it at the end of the episode.
DSL - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:15am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

Read somewhere that "Spock's Brain" was intended to be a comedic episode, but "the powers that be" didn't want to do any more Funny Trek. So "Brain" was rewritten. If that's the case, the rewrite was ... not comprehensive.
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

A nonsense episode, shocking make up, some really dodgy overacting and not convincing. The Reset theme made all the "emotion" laughable.There are many better episodes of the father son thing done more subtly elsewhere on DS9 than this ununnecessary flood of tears.The writers should have obeyed the temporal prime directive and not engaged in plots with time loops, they are always aabsurd.DS9 does have some of the greatest episodes in the history of sci fi TV, but this isn't one of them.
DSL - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 8:58am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

I always wondered about the character of Yeoman Barrows (described above as "the chick who caught McCoy's fancy"). The episode really seemed to invest a lot in creating her character, giving her a personality beyond "miniskirt crewgirl No. 17", and yet we never see her again. And the actress who played her, Emily Banks ... she doesn't show up much in IMDB afterward. Realize this doesn't count for much in Trek's extremely loose canon, but author David George was struck enough by the Barrows character to invent a decades-long relationship, culminating in marriage that is still going strong at the start of TNG, for her and McCoy in "Provenance of Shadows."
Ospero - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 4:39am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

@parachutingpigeon: Not in canon, but there is a short story in the TNG anthology "The Sky's the Limit" that shows Picard on Romulus after the Romulans join the Dominion War, delivering the letter to Jarok's widow and daughter. I'm not going to spoil the ending of that one, except to say that it ties in nicely with DS9's Romulan stories.
MsV - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 3:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Why didn't Weyoun write down the information and give it to Odo. Since he knew Damar and Weyoun 7 was tracking them, he should have written down everything he knew about the Dominion and gave it to Odo so if anything happened to him, Odo still had the goods.
MsV - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 3:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Jack you said you can't believe that a prophet would go to earth and not find a Bajoran woman to be Ben' mother, (paraphrased). I agree with the earth part, but if a Bajoran woman was used, Ben would have been a product of the occupation and would have suffered just like the other Bajorans. They could have found a Vulcan, Andorian, or Tellerite woman to be his mother lol
Next »Page 1 of 953
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer