Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,232 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1010
Claire - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 8:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Just rewatched this ep for the first time since I was about 12. I don't recall getting emotional then but I did this time. I personally really bought Majel's performance. In fact, I don't think I would have started crying if not for her breaking down as she relived Kestra's death.
NCC-1701-Z - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 5:43pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

Why would the Klingons send their boarding party through the Starfleet transporter rather than just transport them straight into a corridor or something? If I were Kirk, I would just arrange for a convenient little malfunction a la poor Commander Sonak in The Motion Picture. "Oops!"

Kidding, kidding. This is still a great Trek movie, and it's pretty amazing that they are able to bring Spock back to life without it feeling like a push of the reset button. That's no small feat.

The scene where Enterprise is stolen is a classic. Jammer is right, operatic is the best way one can possibly describe it.

James Horner does a terrific job with the music, although the TWOK soundtrack is still his best work within the Trek world. He was a man of incredible talent and will be deeply missed.

High 3 out of 4.
Jonn Walsh - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 5:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Actually, as much as I never really cared for this episode, '90s guy' never really struck me as out of place. He's an off duty officer in civvies. Adult civilian clothing on TNG was typically distinguished itself from '90s couture by altering the waistline and/or the neckline and I felt that that was accomplished adequately here. The narrow belt with the waistline showing above it was a stylistic touch along with the no lapel neckline giving the ensemble a crisp neat look that said, "we still wear pants and shirts in the future but style still exists as well." It does not scream '90s to me.
I must agree with one of the comments above stating that hellish disembodiment will rewrite anybody's personality after 200 years. Surely enough to drive anyone insane in but a fraction of that time.
William B - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 11:51am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

On tablet so briefer than usual:

Both plots share a story structure, where our burgeoning best friends end up helping a Bajoran guest character self-actualize and live up to the auhthority role left for them by their father or mentor: the second Sirrah for Bashir and O'Brien, and the princess (effectively) for Nog and Jake. The station plot is not great, but I like the idea of Nog and Jake getting interested in girls together and have Freaks and Geeks lite adventures. The Odo's bucket thing is amusing as a joke played by Nog to shock Jake, though I wonder if Nog having nearly been permanently locked up as a felon in the pilot might make hi warier than he is here. The depiction of the advantages to Ferengi philosophy, helping the princess come to a compromise, is worthwhile, and the princess character is okay. It is lighthearted, not so earnest as to be difficult (ala The Dauphin), fluff and not well acted, but okay.

The Bajor plot is mostly awful, characterized mainly by Bashir and O'Brien not giving a crap about their situation and seemingly viewing the situation entirely in terms of how to get these villagers to stop annoying them -- which I sympathize with to a degree. But really, what exactly makes Bashir think that the guy who tries to murder O'Brien in plain sight of a witness has either the moral fibre or even the common sense to be a spiritual leader, rather than say in jail. I do not understand why Bashir and O'Brien do not consider at all telling the villagers about this deception, especially given that Bajor's situation has changed since the Cardsssians have left; but even if we assume they are bound by some sort of Prime Directive restriction, should they not at least appeal to murderous Sirrah apprentice to send the orb fragment away so that no one will be killed by a cloud monster? At least there is some moral conflict in what should be done, given that the Sirrah himself put O'Brien in charge, and while Bashir and O'Brien are MAYBE not all that prepared to make these Do We Tell These Villagers They Have Been Lied To calls, they have subspace radio and command officers to call, including a Bajoran national who should have no ethical conflicts I can see about exposing the spiritual deception involving using secret Bajoran artifacts to create life-risking shows to maintain authority.

As a story about the power of myth in shaping and maintaining society, it is of a piece with this series in theme, but that the Sirrah is essentially Dukat in Covenant without the charisma (and the apprentice is even worse at covering up his attempted murders) is kind of a big deal to avoid talking about at all.

The Bashir/O'Brien friendship is eventually effective, especially in e.g. Hard Time, but is just annoying here. Why does Bashir tell O'Brien to stop calling him Julian at the end? If it is because he hears the contempt in Miles' voice, he otherwise does not seem to indicate he gets it.

2 stars for the fluffy but somewhat enjoyable Jake-Nog-Princess plot.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 10:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Teejay,

The whole purpose of the trial was to convict Worf under Starfleet/Federation rules and discredit him because he chose to serve in Starfleet. As Sisko and Odo proved, it was a set-up.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 10:22am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Enterprise was canceled.
Del_Duio - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 10:15am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"If only Enterprise had been cancelled instead of Farscape... "

Or Firefly :(
Teejay - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 7:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Ugh. Two stinkers in a row. Really disappointing, considering how strong season 4 had been up to this point. The only thing that "lawyer" proved is how ridiculous the Klingons are. He repeatedly states that Worf acted as a klingon would in that situation. If that's the case, WHY ARE THEY TRYING TO EXTRADITE HIM? According to what the lawyer presents, he acted as a Klingon would, so why would they want to put him on trial? In their eyes, he did nothing wrong.

Once again, I tend to dislike Klingon-centered episodes. Jons above pretty much stated my feelings about Klingons.
Teejay - Wed, Jul 1, 2015, 6:11am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Bad episode, possibly the worst of the season(along with "The sword of Kahless, although in that case, i'll admit I'm just not a fan of Klingon centric stories). The Bajorans come across almost as bad as the rubes following the crazy lady in "Paradise".

Only thing worth seeing in this episode is Worf's reaction to the news that Keiko is pregnant.
Darknet - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 9:07pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

So there's a "Jack in the box" in the program but that doesn't explain why they couldn't stop the program. The program is supposedly still functioning normally.
NCC-1701-Z - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 8:15pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

@William B: Touche.
Chris - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 4:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Picard shouting "Computer, freeze programme!" as a goon nearly blows him away with a Tommy Gun is priceless. Stewart's face is hilarious as he throws himself back against the wall.
Dimpy - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 4:16pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Watched it again, just to see the guy write in English. I missed it, I must have blinked my eyes or something...
Dimpy - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 3:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

The reason for lots of Troi is most likely that she looks more attractive here then in the older episodes.

Better face, better shape, better makeup, for some reason the longer the show went on the better she looked, until the movies.
mcoy, leonard mcoy - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 1:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Ashely Judd looked really young here. She's still wife material. Not a g/f or anything of that matter. Just straight up put a ring on that woman. Average episode though.
William B - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 12:22pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

There are no guns in Game of Thrones.
Capitalist - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 11:44am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

My gut reaction to the shooting: "WTF is THIS?? Game of Thrones??!!
Robert - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 7:07am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I'm not diving off the deep end of "Dear Doctor" again, but I think you completely missed the point in Congenitor. For the record, I'm totally morally appalled by the "Congenitor" episode, but not because of Archer.

Archer had 3 choices. Keep the Congenitor and risk making an enemy of one of the few really friendly species out there. Give the Congenitor back and refuse the asylum request of one individual. One could argue that being friends with them has a better chance of eventually changing things for all Congenitors than rescuing one individual.

But the point in the end was not "sex slavery good" vs "sex slavery bad". That's preposterous. Archer made a "selfish" choice to do something against the human moral code because it's better for his people. Plain and simple. I disagree with you about "Dear Doctor" being genocide, but at least you have a shot at defending that. Trying to twist Congenitor into saying that Archer or the show runners were CONDONING sexual slavery because of cultural differences is preposterous.

And based on simple story telling techniques you're OBVIOUSLY meant to agree with Trip. In the end he learns the price of interfering... the lesson wasn't that he was wrong about the Vissians. The lesson was that he shouldn't be playing hero by himself in the middle of a first contact.
Teejay - Tue, Jun 30, 2015, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

Definitely one of my favorite episodes of the season.

Man, the speech he gives to Kira when he's trying to convince her to join him on his crusade(and seems to me to convince himself as well) was awesome. I would've fought with him after that speech, and I'm a pacifist! :)
Mcoy, Leonard Mcoy - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 8:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Yeah surprised Jammer didn't like this one so much. I gave it easily a 3 star. I really enjoyed this episodes use of characters. Putting each character in uncomfortable situations or with there own set of obstacles. Picard with kids and Counselor Troi on the bridge and ranking officer. Data and Riker getting to enginnering and uses a frequent unused combo of Dr. Crusher with Geordi. I also like that the storyline was that there was a phenomenon and the ship goes down. It felt more like a realistic thing and a movie style premise. Great episode.
Andy1 - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 7:54pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Aldo Johnson:

* "If the code you live by, your morality, your democracy, can be so conveniently put aside whenever you think it's dangerous, then why live by that code anyway? Might as well just choose any moral that fits what's happening this month, this week, this day."

- It's no different than killing. It is illegal and immoral, yet allowed in war and in self-defense situations. As with every thing else in life, different circumstances dictate different ways of doing things.

* "Or put it another way; officially the Soviets do not have a policy of state-sanctioned assassination. Yet I'm sure the GRU/ KGB "allowed" people to die."

- I find it interesting that use Soviets/KGB as an example. Are you from Russia? Because I am from the USA, and if I was trying to make your point, I would have used USA/CIA, and the sentence would still be true.

* "Now replace 'the Soviets' with 'the Federation' and 'GRU/ KGB' with 'Section 31' Any Difference?"

- I will replace "Soviets" with "USA", and "KGB" with "CIA" as indicated earlier. Any difference? No.
Ok, replace them with Federation/Section 31. Any difference? Probably, but it doesn't matter either way.

* "When they did it, the Soviet was an 'evil Empire' What does that make the Federation?"

- They were an "evil empire" because someone from another empire with a similar track record decided to label them as such. That's the only reason, and it is only a label. Someone might label the Dominion or the federation as an evil empire as well, that doesn't mean that either is actually an evil empire.
Boxman - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 7:28pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

With the "Dear Doctor" and "Cogenitor" episodes we've seen the show's writers successful sell genocide and sex slavery to a wider audience. Bravo! Proof again that "open-minded" people are actually the most simple minded of all people in the end, for they are so easily brainwashed. Throw out some high-minded talk about "evolution" or "cultural differences" and you can convince the high-minded "moral relativist" crowd to sanction just about any type of evil one can imagine.

Sorry armchair philosophers: moral relativism doesn't make you intellectual; it's actually nothing but a cop-out. There's nothing high-minded or grandiose about moral relativism; it's a sign of intellectual and moral weakness, nothing more.
dlpb - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 6:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Although, to be fair, they had to be lazy there to make the story they wanted work. It can be forgiven.
Troy - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I don't like this episode 1-1/2 stars. I didn't know, until I read the comments, that Robin Williams was the first choice to play the professor. While on the surface it seemed like it might be a disaster, Robin Williams had very good range, look at one hour photo and some other serious roles where he played criminals or other types of marginalized people.
I don't blame Matt Frewer for this episode, just bad writing plain and simple (also great range love him in the Knick). At no point does it feel true. The one shining spot is the confrontation with Data in the time probe.
Peter - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Well it is good Archer remembers the aliens from Damage he stranded but who knows whether he would be able to organise a rescue mission.
Next »Page 1 of 1010
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer