Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,973 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,439
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

When Kira and Weyoun were speaking early on, it struck me that they have something in common - their faith in their 'gods.' The difference, of course, is that Kira's worship is something she has struggled with, whereas Weyoun's worship has been genetically engineered into him. I suppose it's that freedom to doubt that means everything.


Set Bookmark
Nic
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

I saw "Arrival" yesterday and found it spellbinding; I personally felt it was better than "Interstellar", though its scope was a little smaller. It had shades of "Gravity" and "Contact" (not to mention TNG's "Darmok") but it was still fresh enough to hold my interest all the way through.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 7:51am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Eye of Jupiter

Jammer, I agree that the storyline with Helo and Sharon was a surprise and it's quite fascinating. One correction, this was Roslin's doing. You mentioned that this was coming back to bite Roslin and Adams for the deception they created, but Adams had nothing to do with it. Roslin ordered Coddle to fake the death, and when Adaman confronts her and she reveals the truth, you can see by the look on his face that he is really pissed off, given the trust that he and Sharon have developed over the past year.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 3:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

I think this review is dead-on accurate: The Sulu stuff on the Excelsior is fun; the technobabble plot about a mind bug not so much. Had they developed Tuvok's repressed memory as a real thing and overcome it through something other than Treknobabble, this episode would have been great rather than good. As it stands, I think 3 stars is fair.

Love George Takei. And it's fun to see Grace Lee Whitney and Michael Ansara doing what is essentially a TOS plot within a Voyager episode, even if Janeway's running meta-commentary during their scenes makes it hard to enjoy them at times. It's kind of cool that Voyager went back to Trek VI for Sulu, even bringing back a couple of actors from the Excelsior bridge in that film, rather than trying to set something up on the Enterprise with some of the bigger actors.

It makes sense to do Trek VI here, as the passage of six years allows the TOS actors to appear virtually the same age as they were in that film, and makes the Excelsior bridge recreation look that much better. I enjoyed seeing Takei with a bigger role as captain in this story, even if most of his lines were rehashed from Trek VI, as his brief scene with Kang was especially entertaining. It's a shame the later Trek series didn't do more of this kind of stuff with the TOS cast, although it's true that we see most of them in 24th century stories at some point: Kirk (Generations), Spock (Unification), McCoy (Encounter at Farpoint), Scotty (Generations, Relics), Chekhov (Generations), and now Sulu. Of the seven main TOS cast members, only Uhura does not appear after TOS, even though some of these others (especially McCoy) only appear in brief cameos.

When I saw "Flashback" on TV as a 16-year old kid, I remember feeling disappointed that the Excelsior stuff wasn't featured in the story more strongly, thinking to myself at the end: "That's it!?" But watching it again today, 20 years later, I find that I enjoy it much more.

Compared to the DS9 episode "Trials and Tribble-ations" that came out around the same time in 1996 to celebrate Trek's 30th anniversary, the Voyager episode "Flashback" even holds up better for me in some ways: 1. Although DS9 brought back the actor who played Klingon agent Arn Darvin in TOS's "The Trouble with Tribbles," it didn't bring anyone else back from TOS, as "Trials" was essentially a TOS clip show merged with some modern footage; Voyager, on the other hand, actually brings back TOS actors for fresh scenes; 2. Watching the DS9 episode today, I'm struck by the fact that the CGI special effects I found eye-popping in 1996 do not hold up very well today; the footage of DS9 actors inserted into TOS scenes looks especially grainy and poor compared to the remastered TOS episodes now streaming on Netflix, with everything looking weird especially in the final scene of Sisko handing Kirk a log on the bridge; 3. There's a bit more mystery about where the plot in "Flashback" is going, as "Trials" is pretty much a foregone conclusion: Because DS9 is simply inserting actors into old footage, it can't really alter the events of TOS's "Trouble with Tribbles," whereas the Tuvok stuff feels genuinely open-ended even if the final result leaves much to be desired.
Set Bookmark
Spuzm
Thu, Dec 8, 2016, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Drinking Game:
1 sip whenever someone says "home"
1 sip whenever someone says "allamaraine"
1 sip whenever someone says "shap"
1 sip whenever someone says "game"
1 sip whenever someone says "double"

Bonus:
Take a shot whenever Odo blows Quark
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

I remember that in the next DS9 MU episode, Mirror Dax slapped Sisko and said "That's for making love to me under false pretenses!"
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Well that was grim. I never thought Star Trek would feature an old lady hanging herself in public.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Glad to see at least some of you give this episode the props it deserves. It's zany, and I mean that in a good way. I'm pretty sure I never expected to see Weyoun interrogating Jake and Nog about anything, let alone the possibility of a time-traveling Willie Mays.
Set Bookmark
crowtower
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Like most others here I thought the episode was very flat and didn't capitalise on several of the good variables it dealt with (interesting use of new tech, Geordi without a visor, refusal to accept the death of a parent etc.)

However, reading through the comments I'm surprised no one seems to have brought up what I consider to be the most unforgivable element of the story - the VR unit itself!

That time period already has holodeck technology which replicates in startlingly perfect detail the sensations and reality of being in a different environment. Yet the group make a big fuss about how this new VR unit triggers the senses in ways never before achieved and that this is partially due to Geordi's cortical implants [shakes head].

They should have made this a new offshoot of holodeck technology; using the holodeck to recreate what the probe was seeing and simultaneously allowing someone to control the probe through their actions on the holodeck. That would have explained why we were seeing a recreation of Geordi in that environment instead of the probe (which I understand, was simply a shorthand way to represent Geordi feeling as though he was actually there).

Though mobile holo-emitters weren't invented until Voyager, it would have been cool to extrapolate that sort of technology and have holograms of the crew able to leave the holodeck and perform dangerous tasks while the crew members remained in the safety of the holodeck.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Uh, are we really sure that Sisko slept with Dax and Kira? Both scenes show the actors fully clothed in the same outfits the scenes started with, hair unruffled, etc. In the scene with Dax, I got the impression that she was annoyed because Sisko started talking about ship deployments and whatnot. With Kira they talk about Sisko's fate. Again, fully clothed and unruffled in any way.

Honestly, I got the feeling that Sisko managed to get out of it in both scenes. Memory Alpha seems to indicate that the script indicates orherwise, but it just isn't that believable. Maybe it's just me.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

Lighten up. If you're gonna have a character go wacky psychotic on you, Garak's the one.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 4:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

Well, this was not half bad ,especially for season 1.
Worf's lack of security sense whilst showing the self confessed renegades around the ship was just unconvincing and the death ritual was a bit much but the story was workeable.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

This was a far better send-off than the character Eddington deserved. His last-minute conversion into a Maquis spy by writers was one of the most poorly handled characterizations in a show known for its great characterizations. I would have been happy never to have had it referenced again.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Romulan war core technology seems to be common knowledge to Starfleet. Given that they can track it, doesn't that make cloaking totally useless? Just scan for signatures to detect cloaks. Have that as a standard background scan and have the system alert you when it finds something. Then lock on photon torpedoes and blast away. Cloaked ships can't shoot back, not can they raise shields, so they would be helpless.

That coupled with the antiproton scans make Romulan cloaks (and by extension Klingon cloaks since they are derived frok Romulan tech) almost completely useless.
Set Bookmark
Stuart
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 8:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

@Peter G.

Bottom line is I don't think Jellico was necessary to resolve the conflict. I think his attitude caused the internal conflict with the crew. You can be a CO and get people to follow your orders but you don't have to purposely conflict with them which is what I think he did. He did nothing to help the crew trust him, other than Starfleet saying he was now in charge.

Still a good episode though, but the practicality of it is not there, to me.
Set Bookmark
Alex
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Male/female!

I love seeing Picard display his deep anthro understanding. I think this episode works because Picard IS a Korgano-figure - he does represent a sort of ultimate archetypal masculine. So it's satisfying to see him do badass things like reason sensibly with an all-powerful "glorious" female power. Another example of this sort of archetypal feminine power, I think, is found in Phoenix from X-Men.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Can I still hold a place in my heart for this episode, purely because it has one of my most favorite absurd line readings from Frakes, as Jammer pointed out. It always makes me chuckle. Probably cause it's so out of character for one, how it reveals the overdramatic, sensational, almost soap opera view the of the world of the viewpoint character has, as well as how they view Agbar.

Well, like they say, everyone is the hero of their own story.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@mik73

Good points here. There's no purjury here in any case, as according to Troi, Manua was telling the truth as she remembered it. It just so happens she remembered wrong.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Of course a rape acquittal does not automatically lead to a perjury prosecution! Good lord. Beyond the considerations already mentioned, there is the simple fact that--as with any other sort of prosecution--an acquittal does not necessarily mean that the crime did not occur.

Also, rape victims are not necessarily eyewitnesses to the act. Recall the recent Stanford rapist Brock Turner, whose victim was unconscious.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The scene with crazy Riker still chills me to the bone.
Set Bookmark
mik73
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Wait...what?

Very few rape acquittals lead to perjury charges against the accuser. Bad for the 'wanting women to actually report real rape without fear of jail time' business.

Does it happen on occasion? Certainly, but just like any crime, charging someone with murder, rape or perjury is one thing...proving it is another and could just make an ugly situation worse for all sides (or just be such a waste of time and resources it's not worth the bother).

From a lazy 3 second Google search using "rape accuser perjury jail":

"Unfortunately, the topic of rape is so touchy that many are unwilling to do anything about a false claim. Some prosecutors side with the false-accuser even after the evidence clearly reveals that the claim is false, believing it could be an honest mistake, a difference of opinion regarding consent, or a cry for help from someone suffering in other ways at the hands of the one they wrongfully accused. Moreover, prosecutors and law enforcement do not want actual rape victims to fear possible criminal sanctions for reporting legitimate rapes if it later becomes impossible to prove the case. As a result, very few false claims are ever prosecuted criminally."

Yeah yeah, don't believe what some schmuck posts on the evyl intarwebs. But this passes the smell test for basic common sense in my world. Of course this is Trekverse, not the real world. They've always played fast and loose with law, technology and consequences of same due to the episodic nature of it. I give them some allowances for entertainment value, but I admit this was stretching it quite a bit.

As far as the episode itself - The holodeck gimmick was neat. Frakes had fun. The rest....meh. 2 stars. Passable, not overly noteworthy or cringeworthy for me anyway.

Set Bookmark
Karolina
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I really liked it. It was sorta sad, and a little bizarre, and definitely had a bit of a Solaris feel to it (as someone mentioned in a previous comment). How would you feel if you knew that a duplicate of you was living out another life somewhere else? That the decision was pretty much made for you (as far as we know in the episode)? Torn? Betrayed? Violated? Maybe it's because I don't mind a little mystery and when things don't totally make sense. There's poetry in chaos, too. Things don't always need to be tidily resolved or understood (and honestly the validity of the science in the episode is irrelevant to me, the entire premise was bizarre so I just didn't care.) I liked Course: Oblivion, too. I didn't need or want there to be a "point". I guess there's a reason humans have been writing tragedies for ages...Maybe it's a little gratuitous but to me it's just another element of life to explore.
Set Bookmark
dave johnson
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

I am not sure why there is so much outrage over the jailbreak. They set her up to break out and that is why it was so damn easy.

First time I saw this episode and Neelix has a phaser when he walks in, it was prettty clear what the plan was. Nobody ever walks in to a holding cell like that.

The best part was Mr Method Actor immersing himself in Tuvok 24/7. The next Daniel Day Lewis I think.
Set Bookmark
Susan
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I wonder why they didn't develop the story along the lines of Sim really being a part of Trip, to ultimately be reunited to Trip in the conclusion. That would be a whole lot more positive than coercing Sim to die to save Trip. Sim knew he would die in a few days, but as Trip would have a chance at a normal adult lifespan. I agree with others also that other crew needed to have opportunity to react and voice their responses. This story made Archer into an ugly utilitarian which is not who he really is.
Set Bookmark
Tidesfromnebula
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

*Neeley
Next ►Page 1 of 1,439
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.