Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 23,829 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 954
Vii - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 5:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

@Bravestarr
So let me get this straight. Jazdia Dax, a Trill officer with the rank of Lieutenant Commander is told to stay at the station during a very important and critical mission in the Dominion War. But NOG who is an ENSIGN is right up there on the bridge, mixing it up with the Captain and piloting one of the most powerful ships in Starfleet!? Are you kidding me!? I'm not joking people this little guy is worse than Wesley Crusher.
---------

I can't agree with you more.It's ridiculous how Nog started off as illiterate, and even had to have Jake teach him how to read, but ended up being on every important mission, doing all the piloting, getting it Right On Every Occasion, and simply shooting up the ranks. Emissary's son's best friend? Check. First Ferengi ever to enter Starfleet? Check. Technological genius? Check. Son of the Grand Nagus? Check. Helllloooo Mary Sue. I found him so much more worse than Wesley Crusher, to be honest. Nog's self-righteousness was incredibly grating, and the way he was so patronising to people he considered 'below' him, and sucked up to the superiors. I seriously wanted to punch him in 'Valiant', or at least see Jake Sisko clock him one. Someone on TrekBBS posted a drabble about a conversation Harry Kim would have had with him once he'd gotten back from the Alpha Quadrant concerning promotions, which was hilarious.

I thought this episode was fairly good, although it didn't quite match the velocity of previous season enders. I liked all the three-way scenes between Damar, Weyoun and Dukat - every time Dukat just barges in on Damar and Weyoun, and how they regale him with increasing incredulity whilst Dukat keeps trying to convince them how he and his Pah-Wraiths will save the day. My favourite scene was when the Chin'Toka system had just been taken by the Allies, and Dukat announces what a "great" victory he's won again for them, whilst Weyoun shouts at him, and Damar rolls his eyes and groans at the ceiling. The distinguishing characteristics of these three men are played out so vividly that it's a joy to watch.
MsV - Thu, Mar 5, 2015, 12:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I have read most of the comments and I have come to the conclusion that I am like no one else Lol. I liked this episode a lot but it made me angry not sad. I got mad a Kira first because she kept saying 8000 people have to die. The wouldn't die, they just simply would not exist. Second I got angry with Worf because he thinks he knows how other people feel. He said, " you're afraid of your destiny." He said this to Miles who already has a family and is very much in love with his wife (I don't know why). And how does Worf know for certain that this is their destiny, it was an accident after all that got them there. Then there is Dax, not for causing thise situation, but for not voicing her opinion about not wanting to stay, I could see it in her face, even after they were on the Defiant getting ready to go through the barrier.

There are 3 people that I was not angry with, Odo, Sisko and, Obrien. Odo and Obrien were true to their feelings, at least until the end when Obrien wavered. Sisko went along with the majority which will call a waver. They never considered that the Klingons would take over the wormhole and the Dominion would take over the Alpha quadrant if they didn't go back, that was more than 8000 lives.

Great episode!!
Vii - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 10:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Again, most of what I thought about the episode has already been said, but my pet peeves about this story were:

a) How they didn't show the final resolution between Sirella and Jadzia, and as a former comment pointed out, this episode did a far better job of showing how incompatible Worf and Jadzia are, than selling me on the reasons they should get married.

b) I was very disturbed by how awful Sirella was to Jadzia. No one's ever mentioned this before, so maybe it's just me? Anyway, I didn't care for Sirella's blatant xenophobia or disrespect to Jadzia. Perhaps the two of them worked something out - again, this links back to my first point, that we should have seen a scene of sorts where both acknowledge their "wrongs." I also did not care for how insistent Worf was that Jadzia cave in to his demands.

c) The way the Odo/Kira situation was resolved. I thought Kira was a person who didn't forgive easily, and with Odo's betrayal, they came this close to total annihilation by the Dominion. The fact that Kira was the one to reach out to Odo, rather than the other way round, was simply implausible. It should have been the other way round, considering that it is Odo who is in love with her and Odo who betrayed her.

Apart from the above gripes, which ruined the episode rather, it was enjoyable. Jadzia's bachelorette party was a hoot, and the Polynesian lieutenant's expression when he bumped into Worf on the way out was hilarious. Ditto for poor Miles and Julian's various reactions to the Klingon bachelor rite Worf puts them through.
KittyKatt - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I have a question about a actual human relationship. I herd (insiade), a term used in this episode referring to rikker when (troi) as under the images. Please I want to know ur explanation of (insadi)!
Jadzia - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:49pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Ah. I really want to like this show. But then Archer says "when I was on a mission in East Africa, I saw a gazelle giving birth"...
Vii - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

The strong points of this episode were, as has been mentioned, the magnificent battle sequences and Dukat's spiral into madness. Some people have mentioned that they found Garak's reaction to her death to be underplayed, but I thought that was completely in character for him. By nature he suppresses his emotions, joys and fears as best as he can, and I thought that the last scene, where he Defiant crew return to DS9, conveyed the sense of Garak's awareness of Ziyal's absence very fittingly. You can see him walking around and looking frantically for her, and then when someone mentions that she's in the infirmary, he goes off like a shot. His expression at her deathbed reminded me of him standing in the midst of ruined Cardassia in the last episode: a deep well of grief that he holds at bay.

Also agree with some former posters here that Odo's (predictable) betrayal and subsequent return to the fold could have been handled a lot better. At this point it seems pretty clear that the only reason Odo's not siding with the Founders is because of Kira, which makes him a rather loose cannon. What if Kira had managed to get herself killed? The events of this arc make it clear that he's not fit for duty and can be easily manipulated, yet this is something that's never fully addressed per his relationship with the 'solids' other than Kira.

While we're on the subject of Kira, I do think that the producers are taking it a bit overboard with her Mary-Sueish "Wonder Woman" depiction. Dukat's obsessed with her, Odo's obsessed with her, Bareil and Shakaar and Riker and Bashir and Quark all fall for her, and she's capable of knocking the living daylights out of a fully armoured Cardassian twice her size...What?
The Dreamer - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 2:49pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Good Episode

I also wondered about the potential Wolf 359 plot hole

In guess the transwarp conduit could be plausible

I.e a sphere left behind to collect escape pods and return to the Delta Quadrant? (The Wormhole aliens protecting The Sisko of course.) or a ship or two assimilated and headed for the DQ after the cube was blowed up

It would have been more plausible for these the starfleet officers and romulans to be the victims from the outposts along the neutral zone referenced in the same named episode. But I guess wolf 359 sounds more memorable

As far as explaining Klingons etc
Michael Wallis - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

A lousy episode pushing a conformist late 20th century agenda. However, the ending was enjoyable i.e. the murderers received their death sentences.
Andrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:25pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

This episode doesn't depart from the TNG format as much as it could or maybe should have but I didn't think it was bad or disappointing; the anomaly plot felt familiar but not particularly tired and I liked how Janeway, Chakotay and Torres were shown as flawed and conflicted without going too far (and the last scene with Janeway and Chakotay showed pretty good chemistry).
Robrow - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 11:28am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

I'm sorry, but this was perhaps the most irritating episode of DS9 I've seen so far. Too preachy by half, full of lazy contrivance and the scene where Dax recovers her badge from the loony was embarrassingly bad. Coming after the train wreck that was Fascination, it feels like they're in danger of throwing away all that good work from the first two seasons. Please get back to the Cardassians and the Dominion.
Icarus32Soar - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Who gives a toss about the chick on chick action? What a bore! Two awesome actresses wasted on a lame concept, awful soap opera dialogue, totally predictable ending. No tension, no dramatic ambiguity.Bland is not how I like my Star Trek. No stars.
Icarus32Soar - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

FAB episode, more nuanced and unpredictable than Duet. Visitor's voice and laughter are a few decibels too high but so what? The tension in Dukat's character and the ambiguity of the relationship is what makes enthralling viewing. Hamlet scores laughs in the graveyard before Ophelia's funeral, the dramatic and the comic together is what makes great art convincing, the thorn scene is part of that blend and it's effective.This episode is off the scale, 6 stars out of 5.
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 8:56am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@ Jonn Walsh

The producers' decision to go for incredibly bland atonal background music was the wrong choice. Imagine if Ron Jones had scored Gambit I and II!

Honestly, I think the change in soundtrack style is when TNG went from being cinematic to just another TV show.

MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I kept thinking when I saw Dey Young, she looks familiar and couldn't place where I had seen her. She is Leigh Taylor-Young's younger sister. Leigh plays Ezri's mother in "Prodigal Daughter".

I am glad Kira realized Odo could be interested in someone other than her. She seemed a little jealous when everyone thought Odo spent the night with Arissa.
Dave in NC - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:27am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@ Holographic Andrew

I just can't help myself. :)

The episode is so ludicrous and over-the-top I have to sit back and smile. Yes, it is cheesy and badly written, but it is NOT boring.

I, mean, Picard walks in on Beverly masturbating!!! How can that NOT make you laugh?
Jonn Walsh - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Family

I had to echo the feelings of a previous poster here about the gratuitousness of killing off Robert and Rene Picard.
No fire suppression system there at Chateau Picard, I see.
I'm surprised they even had electricity or running water.
A glaring inconsistency.
Also, as I'm typing here I've got Nth Degree on and as much as I may like some aspects of it, it clearly is the episode that signaled the beginning of the end for the Will Riker character AND so begins here the era of the audio wallpaper soundtrack.
Say what you may about Night Terrors (one of my top 10, actually), the musical soundtrack is magnificent. The music in Identity Crisis was a transition...a hodgepodge with elements of the prior and the next episodes providing a bridge over the chasm between the 2 disparate styles involved. And then Nth Degree....and except for very few exceptions (The Inner Light being the prime exception), the aural tenor of the show would never be the same. And with it went a chunk of the show's heart. And boy, is Riker dumb in Nth Degree!
MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:13am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Very nice episode. All of it even though the Kira part was very bland. I wished Shakaar had stayed on Bajor, he was the most unnecessary part of it. I really wished Odo had stayed solid a little longer and learned a little more about his friends.

This was not a real heavy episode but I truly enjoyed it.
HolographicAndrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I see where Dave in NC is coming from although I wouldn't go so far as to say I liked this episode. I see what they were going for and the fog on the enterprise was kind of fun. "It just rolled in, Captain."

My main problem with it is that it falls into the category of a female character having some evil dude dating them, which happens a lot.

I really don't think season 7 is a bad as some say it is, but I'd rank this one slightly below The Royale.
MsV - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Oh Brian S your assessment of this episode is right on the money. Many times reading this I was tempted to comment on the religious comments but, I didn't. It made no sense. It was the accident that triggered the visions and I believe the aliens gave him the knowledge he needed or was compelled to explore.

It seemed to be a good thing, since this information saved Bajor during the war.

I love your explanation without trying to explain your beliefs or disbelief of religion and not stepping on ones toes who do believe.
HolographicAndrew - Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'd give this one a full star rating. One of the best season 7 eps and certainly a very good Data episode. Explores a lot of character stuff with some big moral questions in there too. And the actress was really good, and she still is (recently having seen her in Lost).
Vii - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 11:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I thought this episode was really weird and didn't provide a satisfactory viewing experience. It was all right the first time, since the audience wants to watch it simply to see what happens next, but it really doesn't hold up to a second viewing in the way 'Tacking into the Wind' does, for instance. (Then again that's probably an unfair comparison - Tacking easily gets 4 stars from me.) Contrary to popular opinion, I rather liked Alexander on DS9, and 'Firstborn' I found to be very solid and moving episode, but the Alexander story arc here was just very lacking. I didn't understand the battle scene and what led to Alexander and Worf's aboutface - are we supposed to believe that there's something honourable about Alexander's (presumable) attempt to commit suicide?

I also didn't understand what the scene where Damar brings Kira the dress from Dukat, is supposed to convey, unless it's that Dukat's trying to overwork his XO (seriously, it seems like Damar has to do EVERYTHING on the station, from cargo bays to security, personnel reviews and then neutralising the minefield). Or that Dukat secretly hates Damar and was hoping that Kira would punch the living daylights out of him for the dress delivery.

On the subject of Kira and the B-plot, it was more compelling than the A-plot as many have pointed out, but again, doesn't really hold up to a rewatch. Nothing here that we don't know - yes, Dukat fancies her, Ziyal wants them all to be one happy family and Kira hates that idea and Dukat. Perhaps it wasn't executed properly, but I felt that it was another "been there done that" concept that I didn't have much interest in watching. I feel it would have been better if we'd seen some more about the Cardassia-Dominion power struggle, rather than Kira and Dukat sniping at each other day in and day out. Neither characters are at all likeable this season, unfortunately - Dukat just comes across as a slimeball and Kira as being foolhardy.
Daedalus - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 8:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Really, not a single comment about the fact that we can't even get *5 minutes* into the episode without "F2 - Find flimsy excuse to get as many half-naked people onscreen as we can, because we're UPN, dammit!"?

Here we are, minding our own business with the ship coming apart around our ears. "No life signs - and artificial gravity is down as well!" warns T'pol. CUE SUDDEN SCENE CHANGE: MACO's GONE WILD. Cut to Corporal NotasprettyasBermanthinks "I very clearly wanted to be on a different show but this is all I got" McDeadeyes, putting up her pony while in her skivvies and surrounded by not-more-convincing MACO dudes. Let's throw in Scott Bakula for good measure, heard he was jealous that Trip was getting all the nekkid time. But we need to tie it all together - I KNOW. Let's talk about gravity boots and magnetic variances. THAT'LL MAKE THINGS SEEM ORGANIC.

I get that Trek has always been something that you might get embarrassed by if someone caught you watching it. But this just takes that to a new level of squick.
Vii - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 7:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Powerful, riveting episode. I concur with Jammer that it's probably one of the best episodes in DS9, right up there with In the Pale Moonlight.

Andrew Robinson provided a stellar performance as usual, stealing the scene every time he appears (when does he not?). I agreed with his assessment that "Humans have rules in war. Rules that tend to make victory a little harder to achieve, in my opinion," which was a very nice foreshadoing of the events to come in 'Pale Moonlight.' I like how his Cardassian pragmatism is shown to always prevail over Federation hedonism, but how both sides of the argument are so subtlely played out.

Another wonderful scene that really stuck with me was how the Jem'Hadar all crowded around Keevan when Bashir was about to perform surgery on him, in 'childlike curiosity' as a former poster pointed out. It foreshadows the Third's final dialogue with Sisko in a way, that the Jem'Hadar truly don't have any control over their autonomy and how tragic that is. As we see later in 'Treachery, Faith, and the Great River', neither do the Vorta. Both their species have been specifically programmed to obey the Founders' every whim, even if it means killing themselves.

Others have gone into detail about how horrific Yassim's suicide scene sears into one's mind, so I won't elaborate on that.

On a final note, I'm getting tired of Nog showing up in every scene. He didn't annoy me so much when I first watched DS9, but ever since I watched 'Valiant' yesterday, I want to strangle him every time he gets all self-righteous and pompous on screen. He's like the Wesley Crusher of DS9, and to be honest I think he's even worse than Wesley. At least we had the satisfaction of seeing Picard and Bev Crusher shut him up a few times.
Icarus32Soar - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 6:24pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Better than Duet.
Meh - Tue, Mar 3, 2015, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Meh...
Next »Page 1 of 954
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer