Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,153 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 887
Jonathan - Sun, Oct 26, 2014, 2:32am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I can't believe no one else has mentioned the label on the compartment that Rom got caught breaking into during the episode's final act!

A51. As in, Area 51.

Surely, that is not a coincidence.
Baron Samedi - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 11:54pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

I doubt that anyone still cares, but I did go through Season 3 and figure I'll post another comment here about it. It was awful.

From what I’ve read, the show was made on-the-cheap by a cast and crew who really believed in what they were creating: a sci-fi action show with hardly any long-term story. And that’s fine. I certainly have nothing against the people who worked hard on this show (except for Kevin Sorbo, for reasons that will be obvious if you Google him). The main cast really seems to be trying their best with weak material (there’s hardly any character development outside of the final episode). The main actors certainly aren’t the problem, and I don’t think that the production crew is either.

But Season 3 was unfathomably terrible. It was a train wreck from the first episode (which was, incidentally, the worst). It was exactly what the second half of Season 2 promised. I new what I was getting myself into, but I kept going because I couldn’t stop myself from being a completest. It’s such a pity, because the first half of Season 2 showed how Andromeda could work as an action show. But making the season consist only of standalone Dylan-centric action episodes took away any potential momentum. And why constantly do action if you don’t have the budget to do it well? Is there really an audience for constant cheap-looking action? I spent the whole season wondering this. Only the surprisingly good finale even had decent CGI. Otherwise the “action” consisted of fake-looking footage that was often reused from earlier in the show interspersed with cheap-looking spark-filled battles between our heroes and this week’s incompetent army of faceless Bad Aliens.

Anyway, I might, just maybe, check out Season 4. The events set into motion by the Season 3 finale (its only great episode) have a great deal of potential. But given the consistently low quality, it’s sadly easy to see why this show was forgotten. There’s hardly any character or story development, just routine standalone adventures that are dull, boring, and cheaply made. It just doesn’t reach the level of quality necessary to merit serious criticism, although I’ve put together another list with a bit of commentary on each episode below.

Classic episodes:



Great episodes:

1. Shadows Cast by a Final Salute – Pretty much the only episode of the season with a lot of new FX shots and where Important Things happen in regards to the big picture. Tyr fulfills his character’s potential for once this season and has some strong scenes with pretty much the whole main cast. It’s basically a better version of Season 2’s finale, with large-scale battle resulting from actions of the characters that looks relatively impressive on a visual level. Moreover, the cliffhanger places the fate of the new Commonwealth is put on an even playing field with the fate of the regular characters. (9/10)

Good episodes:

2. The Unconquerable Man – The best clip-show episode I’ve seen of any series, although that’s not saying much. Rhade defeats Dylan in the pilot and sets out to change the galaxy. Some of the clips were unnecessary, but many functioned very effectively. Jamahl had mentioned the writers having read this website in the past, and I wonder if that influenced this episode as it draws clips from most of the episodes Jamahl rated highly. The central point to the episode is poignant: Rhade could never get over the disaster and disappointment that the Nietzschean’s became despite being one of them, whereas Dylan was able to forgive them despite being a victim of their deceit. The way that the episode intersects with “Ouroboros” is clever as well. (8/10)
3 .The Lone and Level Sands – A pretty good story all-around about a ship traveling in such a way that it still moves impossibly fast, but time passes by realistically around it. There’s a lot of distracting arcade game violence, but the episode ends with a poignant Trek-like conversation about exploring the unknown. (7/10)

Mediocre Episodes:

4. Day of Judgment, Day of Wrath – A sequel to Season 2’s best episode “The Knight, Death, and the Devil”, with a nifty continuation of Tyr’s subplot. The episode feels stronger than most because of excellent guest actors and a sense of urgency to the story, but the script is pedestrian and the visuals as cheap-looking as ever. (6/10)
5. The Dark Backward – Presenting an episode from Trance’s perspective was a great idea, as she constantly re-lives a series of events to try to prevent an intruder (who himself lives while going backwards through time, allowing him to see everyone’s actions in advance) from taking out the ship. The trial-and-error nature of the story is fun to watch, but it suffers from the same problems that derailed post-Wolfe Andromeda: the villain is stripped of any motivation whatsoever (he was originally supposed to be sent by the Abyss) and the solution is for Trance to just trust Dylan to figure it all out. Give me a break. (6/10)

Bad Episodes:

6. Cui Bono – John de Lancie returns, so that’s nice at least. Otherwise it’s a stock plot with stock characters. (5/10)
7. For Whom the Bell Tolls – Insects attack the ship, and there’s a ghost of a former crewmember. A not-terrible bottle episode (5/10)
8. The Right Horse – Dylan hardly appears in this episode, allowing Beka and Harper to play the main roles, and the New Commonwealth is incorporated decently. Completely run-of-the-mill otherwise. (5/10)
9. Twilight of the Idols – Another “genetic purists” episode, which for some reason the writers thought deserved about as much attention as the new Commonwealth. At least Michael Ironside shows up to deliver a typically great performance. (5/10)

Terrible Episodes:

10. Delenda Est – Oh my, how is this as high as number 10? Man, this series fell apart. The aliens from the Season 2 finale return midway through Season 3, and we get just as many answers as you’d except: none whatsoever. Who are they? What do they want? The show’s response: Why would you ever want to know these things when you could be watching our heroes blowing them all up? This episode only seems motivated by the desire to save money by re-using costumes and FX shots. All that said, it’s probably the most entertaining action episode of the season, if you’re into, like, Walker, Texas Ranger style violence where the Good Guys Win and the Bad Guys Lose. DS9 alluded to The Third Man; the final scene here is ripped straight from Predator 2. (4/10)
11. The Leper’s Kiss – Dylan hunts a mysterious assassin while falling for a seductress, and what-do-you know, they turn out to be the same person. (4/10)
12. Point of the Spear– An episode about a battle far greater in scale than the show’s budget can come close to capturing. Basically an hour of cheap-looking (often re-used) special effects shots. It is nice to see the Commonwealth Fleet competently in action. Billy from Battlestar Galactica makes an appearance, too, essentially playing the same character (though drafted into the military). He appears briefly in the finale as well. (4/10)
13. Deep Midnight’s Voice – Reminded me of Galactica 1980, which is not a good thing. There is an interesting subplot about Tyr’s scheming that sets in motion the Season’s only worthwhile story arc. (3/10)
14. And Your Heart Will Fly Away – Of all the stories to bring back from earlier seasons, why the genetic purists? (3/10)
15. What Happens to A Rev Deferred? – It was kind of nice to see Rev again, but the story was slow and muddled. (3/10)
16. The Illusion of Majesty – Dylan rescues a young attractive princess, you can see where this is going… (3/10)
17. The Risk-All Point – As if it wasn’t enough to sideline the new Commonwealth plot, this is where Andromeda starts to piss all over it too, as an incompetent new flagship is easily destroyed. Featuring a ludicrously dumb ending and a Dylan screwing around with a woman during the middle of an urgent rescue mission. (3/10)
18. The Shards of Rimni – Last season’s “In Heaven Now Are Three”, except cheaper and cheesier. (2/10)
19. Mad to Be Saved – Andromeda rescues bunch of mentally-challenged people, who may as well have written this mess of an episode. Another cheap-looking bottle show on top of that, although at least there’s no re-use of the recurring cave set. (2/10)
20. Slipfighter the Dogs of War – Let’s invade Iraq! Featuring newly-neutered Tyr at his wimpiest. Neo-cons wrote this fantasy, and they didn’t even write it well. (2/10)
21. Vault of the Heavens – Gordon Michael Woolvett’s acting provides one of Season 3’s only consistently entertaining elements, though his character has little to do. Woolvett penned this episode, and sadly it’s one of the worst, featuring cheap sets and a lame-ass love-fest for Sorbo as an alien seductress tries to mate with him (because he’s just so strong and attractive…). (2/10)
22. If The Wheel is Fixed – The opening episode is the season low-point. It's even worse than “Tunnel At the End of the Light” and a nail in coffin of what was once a show with promise. We learn nothing about the aliens who attacked the new Commonwealth, nor get any mention of the consequences of the Commonwealth charter ceremony being interrupted. Instead, the incredibly un-compelling “Did Beka or Tyr die?” question is the only one addressed. Goofy, stupid, terrible, without even any decent special effects (it looks cheaply made, setting the stage for what follows…). Andromeda’s pilot and “The Widening Gyre” are masterpieces compared to this premiere, and the season it begins is only slightly less terrible overall. (1/10)

Tl;dr Season 3 of Andromeda was exactly the disaster post-Wolfe Season 2 promised. But three episodes were genuinely good, so yay.
Peremensoe - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 11:51pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

I agree with Ken.

Neelix reacts with horror... he explains, in anguish, how Jetrel killed his family and so many thousands of other civilians... and, with no further ado, the very next scene is Janeway welcoming the man onto the ship?!
W T F

I don't think the un-vaporization scheme ever had a chance of working. Neelix's first instinct there was right: Jetrel was out of his mind.

The "redemption" ending was BS all around. The Cascade was "punishment for our hatred"? Really, all the charred children deserved it?

No, mass murder *is* monstrous. Unforgivable, irredeemable.

Like this episode. Zero stars.
Andrew - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 11:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

This episode went too far, and then Voyager continued, with the idea of the Borg as being a race or species; they're not, they're basically slaves captured and used by a program. Presenting rejoining the collective as an acceptable choice seems appalling given that it furthers rather than reduces further people being enslaved or destroyed.
For "Hugh" to have developed so much individuality and impressed people so much in two days felt like the writers were really abandoning their original ideas for versions that were less interesting and believable and that even they didn't have much confidence in. His friendship with Geordi generally felt underdeveloped, more told than shown.
@ Plain Simple, I agree that it didn't make sense why Hugh's individuality would have effects any different from that of anyone else that had been assimilated.
NCC-1701-Z - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 10:51pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

"People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint, it's more like a big ball of wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey ... stuff."

That Doctor Who quote pretty much sums up this episode perfectly. I don't think I need to say any more.
T'Mihn - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 9:10pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

"Where is Surak's katra now?"
Good question.
Well a couple of places. He could be stored in.a katric ark(apple sized crystalline structure. ) in the the Hall of Thought on Mount Selaya. Could be passed to a Monk. If he was in Sarek and then Spock, that would be intriguing. Sarek preffered Terrans.
$G - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 7:41pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Terrible from beginning to end. Not a single redeemable moment. This doesn't have any of the charm previous MU episodes had. Everyone is just a colossal moron, especially Worf, and all for the sake of nothing. Jammer's right - it wasn't even Zek who ruined this one this time.

Garak's death was absolutely the laziest kill I've ever seen on this show. He might as well have been hyposprayed. Not that I want to see someone's insides melt, but they already established how painful it would have been. Just... why to any of it?

An absolute waste of an hour. Zero stars. The only solace from this one is that it has no consequences or worthwhile character moments whatsoever so it's totally skippable. You won't even need to hit up a wiki (unless you need to know about Julian and Ezri holding hands).
Jack - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

@ SkepicalMI

If you compare first officers on the 24th century series (Riker-Kira-Chakotay), only one of the them really gets to see growth in their character, and it's largely because the setting of her series is larger than The Ship. Kira grew by leaps and bounds as a character as DS9 progressed, but Riker and especially Chakotay became smaller and smaller as time passed.
Jack - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 1:15pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Oh SkepticalMI, my hats off to you. Had me on the floor in the Relics review pondering an exchange between Wilbur Wright and a contemporary jet mechanic, and now this masterpiece of sarcasm.
HolographicAndrew - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 12:47pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved this episode. I don't really understand the negative comments about Garret Wang's acting when I see an episode like this. He was great in this one. I think I can say I liked this episode a lot more than anything in season 4.
Yanks - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 12:41pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Agree James. But we did get Picard's drumhead speech though :-)
Petrus - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 8:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Just rewatched this; and I think I must have only seen it once before, a long time ago. As people here probably know, usually I will take whatever B'Elanna fanservice I can get, but I actually agree with Leaf on this one. I think I know what they were going for here, but this episode was just plain awkward. The teaser with Vorik forcing himself on B'Elanna was cringe inducing.

As for the rape issue with Tom, I agree with people that that was icky as well. There is one particular scene where she is repeatedly kissing him, which does leave you wondering what you'd do if you were in Tom's shoes, but it's over almost as quickly as it starts, and then that is basically it.

Alexander Enberg's acting was mostly good, and it particularly reminded me of some of the chaotic Vulcan emotionalism we saw at times on *Enterprise.* It was a bit forced and off-key at times, yes; but said times were rare.

I'd probably give this one 2.5 stars, simply due to the ickiness/awkwardness factor.
Andrew - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 11:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

The dilemma of the episode felt a bit too easy, with Locarno coming off as a big jerk (talking about friendship and team loyalty yet pinning blame on the member that died) and with Picard warning he would tell otherwise.
Peremensoe - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 8:07pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

It has nothing to do with that. It's not *three* the numeral that's being output, it's "Three" as part an already-known (because Federation speakers have spoken of it) planetary identifier. Once the UT recognizes [whatever] as the foreign identifier for a thing already indexed in the Federation-hearer's language under a Federation-language name, it's going to spit out the name the Fed-hearer recognizes.
James - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 7:04pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

From the beginning of the episode I had a hard time reconciling how renowned and legendary Norah Satie that was being described in dialogue with the clearly lesser person standing before us in person. So pretty much the entirety of the episode was just an exercise in waiting for shoes to drop.
Jack - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 6:41pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I doubt that the UT would translate a proper name in a foreign language as Something Three. If the word for "three" in the foreign language wasn't spoken, there's no reason for the UT to spit out "three".
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Robert,

When I first saw DS9 my eyes threw fire at the screen each time I saw Ezri... :-) Jadzia lag I guess.

I have gotten over that and have started to appreciate the character and Nicole much much more.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:34pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

HolographicAndrew, I agree completely.

I refer to this episode as the "neuter Species 8472" episode.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:31pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

I never understood the distain for this episode either Robert.

Not a top 10 episode or anything, but at least average.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

A top 10 Voyager episode for me.

I can't wait to rewatch Voyager and review it :-)
HolographicAndrew - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 11:10am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Yeah this was good episode, I just wish they had used some other alien rather than 8472. They were a pretty cool enemy to begin with, why mess with that so soon? And they go so far as to actually make them human in this episode.

Other than that pretty good episode, nice performance by Robert Beltran in this one and the previous episode too.
$G - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 11:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

I like this one. This is yet another episode that focuses on a new character with lots of guest actors, and I'm surprisingly fine with it. Yes, the main cast hasn't had a whole lot to do this season but I'm surprisingly okay with that. It doesn't feel like episodes focus on them for the sake of it, which is what a lot of late-series shows end up doing. I also don't feel like the stars are getting short changed, either. S7 gives the expanded roster a lot of meat and I'm really liking it. (Granted, watching it on DVD makes the waits between episodes non-existent. I can see why texture episodes like this grated on people back during week-to-week-to-hiatus airing.

This one's good because, like Jammer says, there are no family histrionics. No shouting, no predictable murder scenes, no overt Orion Syndicate mafia cliches. Just a nice, pleasant little drama with a mystery that wraps it up (and a mystery I had no idea would be this neat).

Also, New Sydney is a cool location, just like that cyberpunk hell in "Honor Among Thieves".

The Memory Alpha post about this ep makes it sound like it was an absolute production mess. I like it, though. Understated, quiet, enjoyable. 3 stars. Recommended.
Kubel - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 10:49pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

This was a fast forward episode. I probably would have rather skipped it. But it sucks that we only have a few more episodes left to tell the story, and they had to squander this 44 minutes on, what exactly?

Also, how does Adama still have a functioning liver after all these years?
ian - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 9:56pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Okay, if they could scan time in the future why didn't Braxton know what he was doing before?
Later they bring him back and destroy continuity and let him remember!
Time travel episodes are really pushing the absurdity to new levels and should best be forgotton and left in the "past."
Of course, that will never happen as long as Trek continues...
navamske - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 7:01pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

I thought it was odd that a member of a nonhuman species would use the word "humanitarian."

Oh, I get it. The Kraylor guy actually said, "[We're on a] Kraylorian [mission]” and the universal translator rendered it as "We're on a humanitarian mission." That must be it.
Next »Page 1 of 887
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer