Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,910 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,437
Set Bookmark
dave johnson
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

What a lot of discussion here, amazing political debate, and so forth. HOWEVER,

let's get real..

The most important part of this episode is...

How the hell did Rom accumulate 5000 bars between getting married and buying the bar!!!! That is one story I want to know!
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

@Grumpy -- "Almost 30 years after the fact, I'm beginning to wonder... how did the saucer section make it to Deneb IV without warp drive??"

I just re-watched this today, and that is the first time this occurred to me. The saucer section would have to have its own warp drive! I suppose it could, but as far as I know, we only ever see one warp core. Can't believe I never thought of that before!

I remember back when this came out I couldn't get it on my TV for some reason, so I begged the few friends I knew with VCRs to tape it--but I didn't have a VCR until about 2 years later so I was way behind on watching, lol.

I love this--a terrific start to the series, and showed them exactly what they needed to iron out, as others have noted above. I think the slow saucer separation and wide shots of the bridge are great--Star Trek hadn't been on TV in any form for a long time, so there was a bit of fan-service to show what this new Enterprise was like and what it could do.

I also love the space jellyfish--I think the idea of a sapient creature being used as a space station is original and amazing, and I loved when the two jellies went off together into space. I wish we'd me them again. They were interesting and said "thank you" for the rescue.
Set Bookmark
Matsu
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 1:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Now I'm officially stopping reading your ridiculous reviews.. this episode is one of my favorites, absolutely hilarious.. Q is always the best. I don't understand how anyone cannot like this episode. Now to erase this site from my bookmarks...
Set Bookmark
Maniac
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

"Good character work and solid performances redeem a less-than-stellar storyline." - this sums up the episode the best. Kat's deathbed talks, paper shortage and that little smile when Adama spots Tigh acting like a stressed out teenager on his way to a first job interview make the episode. In short - the character moments carry the forgettable story - 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I've followed Jammer's reviews for YEARS, and I mean years - since he first started reviewing Trek. And on the whole I agree with a lot of his opinions. But man..... I think some of his TOS reviews are wildly off the mark - especially with Season 3. Many of his low scoring episodes I've really enjoyed and several of his higher scored episodes I've thought were awful..... including this one.

The premise of Flint was a fascinating concept, this lonely man who had been so many pivotal figures in human history..... but it was totally undone by the incredibly out-of-character behaviour of Kirk.

I do not buy for one second that our heroic captain, with the lives of all his crew on the line, would suddenly risk everything because he's decided he's in love with a woman he's met for an hour..... It is so wildly out of character it completely ruins the episode. Spock is chastising him throughout the entire episode - I expected him at one point to yell "Jim, you are acting incredibly unprofessionally - unbecoming of a starship captain".

And the less said about "Stay out of it Spock, we're fighting over a woman" the better. Can you imagine any military, political or civil leader uttering those words ever.

And then at the end, Spock removes Kirk's memories without permission!!!!!!! That is a serious violation or assualt, and again completely out of character for Spock.

What had the potential to be a 3 or 4 star episode is reduced down to a 1 star for the awful, awful characterisation.
Set Bookmark
MR P R ALLEN
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Also love episodes where the doc is used in unusual ways. His intro in this episode is superb, as is his easy going confidence during that part.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Fun episode, very TOS, in a good way.

Agree with Diamond Dave when he said:-

"CLOWN: I'm afraid."
"JANEWAY: I know."
(fade to black)
it's perfect. The final "drat" throws the whole thing out the window for me."

Although I' still give it 2.5 to 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Rob
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 6:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

This was utterly tedious. Easily in the top five worst episodes of DS9 I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 5:52am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

It seems that filming starts on january:

www.treknews.net/2016/12/03/star-trek-discovery-to-begin-filming-in-january/
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 4:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Lame repetitive boring sequences of SFX tied together by random generic thoughtless technobabble topped off with such obvious incredulous leaps of logic?

This is categorically the worst ep of Trek ever put together, an unredeemably sloppy lazy hot mess that must have been "phoned in" and then half heartedly put together in a week that the the technical department were all on annual leave and left it to the work experience kids

Commits the two worst sins of simultaneously boring and confusing it's audience without any unintentionally comedic moments.

Negative 5 stars
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 4:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

I figured I had to be in the minority here but several of the comments seem to agree. This episode has such a negative reputation I expected it to be awful, but shock & horror...... I really enjoyed it.

I thought it was an interesting look at the characters, and how they could well be viewed by outsiders who don't idolise our heroes. The look at counter-culture was respectful and I felt the views of the characters were on point. Chekov reminded me of Riker. Within the system he's a player, he's charming and loves the ladies - but to to those opposed to the ways of Starfleet he will defend the system, structure and ethos to the hilt.

It really helped that I dig on the music, man :-)

I enjoyed it far more than other Season 3 episodes that I found rather thin such as Troiyus, Children shall Lead, Zetar, Battlefield etc. I'd go so far as to say 3 stars.

I have to also say, I think Season 3 is a little undeserving of it's poor reputation - there are some really interesting ideas around here - Spectre, Enterprise Incident, Empath, World is Hollow, Wink, Gideon, this one, I've enjoyed them all. Only a couple more to go in this season. Looking forward to the last 4 :-)
Set Bookmark
Abbey
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 7:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

The whole Circle coup plot was unresolved. For that alone, it was a fairly weak storyline.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Thank you Mikey for bringing up the hull breach issue. It's not even that the stream of water would slice Tom in half, but the tiniest breach would instantly crush everyone inside to pink goo. Futurama made this same mistake (though probably deliberately) after conceding that a spaceship's design considerations are completely opposite that of a submarine.

LEELA: Depth at 45 hundred feet, 48 hundred, 50 hundred! 5000 feet!
FARNSWORTH: Dear Lord, that's over 150 atmospheres of pressure.
FRY: How many atmospheres can this ship withstand?
FARNSWORTH: Well it's a spaceship, so I'd say anywhere between zero and one.

Assuming the gravitational field holding this planet together is similar to the gravity we experience on Earth, at 600km in depth, they'd be subjected to nearly 60,000 atmospheres of pressure, or 875,000 pounds per square inch. And they were able to survive without the shields? Then there's the question of how exactly they can propel and maneuver the Delta Flyer underwater. I can see them technobabbling a way out of it, but firing phasers too? The science makes me sad.

I do think the overall idea of the planet needing an artificial gravity generator to maintain containment is sound though. At 600km in radius, this ball of water is only 1/3 the size of our moon. That's no gas giant. An all-water planet of this size wouldn't generate enough of its own gravity to prevent atmospheric escape losses. Basically the planet would evaporate away, or be blown away by solar winds without a magnetic field and other help.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

I can always guess the score you'll give an episode based on how many Ferengi are heavily featured. It's an inverse ratio.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

@Smith

I like that idea, let's ask Paramount to make it canon!
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

and seriously, you wouldn't kip in the shuttle at night??
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Holy crap, those kids were annoying.

Set Bookmark
Smith
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

What did the Romulans give up in the treaty?

They promised not to make a crappy movie with a bogus script about a boring clone who looks nothing like Picard, and a band of (somewhat) Romulan misfits who have no reason to be angry at the Federation at all.

Unfortuantely, in 2002 they broke the treaty and the movie got made.

Conclusion: Starfleet can now use cloaking technology whenever they want.
Set Bookmark
AtemAndrew
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

Wow...reminds of 'An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge', at least in it's time span..and partially of Stephen King, assuming anyone else has read his short story, "The Jaunt".
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Sat, Dec 3, 2016, 11:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

What did I just watch? Surely this is the kind of episode that "wasted potential" was designed to describe. Let's also add the words "weird, uncomfortable, contrived," and "half-baked" to describe the dumpster fire that is "Tuvix." Hands down, this is one of my least-favorite episodes in all of Trek, and it has a lot to do with the creepy and manipulative way the script tries to make us care about Tuvix before killing him off.

This is the latest blunder in a season of high-concept blunders for Voyager, a season of grotesque character-transformation gimmicks that almost makes one question whether Star Trek was ever good at all. In a classic Trek cliche, we're here introduced to a character we know cannot last beyond the episode, and then subjected to nearly an hour of plot manipulations to make us care about him before he is cashiered. The problem is that Tuvix, as a character, is weird and creepy. Not only does he creep out the rest of the crew, but he combines the most annoying character pairing (Neelix and Tuvok) in all of Star Trek history, minus the fleeting moment in "Meld" where Tuvok choked Neelix to death in a long-overdue payback for the latter violating his personal boundaries in a consistently disrespectful way.

The endless "awkward moment" scenes where we watch the crew adjust to life with Tuvix, in which "weeks" pass even though the writers obviously don't plan to invest more than one episode into this character, seem to fill up 4/5 of the episode's running time. They feel like filler (what else to call material that will have absolutely no impact by next week's episode?) and are made infinitely more uncomfortable by the scenes in which Tuvix puts the moves on Kes. The awkward scenes between Tuvix and Kes deserve to be in a Hall of Shame for Trek writing. They try to show Kes struggling to love someone who combines the traits of her mentor and boyfriend into one person, but they are simply awful dead-end material.

In the last 10 minutes, the episode throws a moral dilemma at us that should have been the focus of the entire episode rather than a throwaway moment in the final reel. Had the episode done away with the impossible contrivance of trying to make us care about or like a character we knew was going to die, focusing on the question of whether he deserves to live instead of on his creepy scenes with Kes and others, this might have been a halfway-decent show. But there's no real debate or understanding of character motivations here; Janeway makes a judgment call and the episode ends, pure and simple, without our even finding out if Neelix and Tuvok retain or recover any explicit memory of their joining. Now THAT'S a cop-out, even if the episode avoided the more obvious cop-out of allowing all three of them to live through some kind of technobabble solution. While I understand why the writers felt it necessary for dramatic tension to make us like Tuvix, I don't appreciate how the script works way too hard to manipulate us into that position, as I don't like being manipulated. To be honest, I think it would have been more realistic to make Tuvix a bit of a dick, adding more nuance to the "good or bad" category these kinds of guest stars often inhabit on Trek.

Ultimately I give this episode 1 1/2 stars because it's sincerely-acted, proving that hardworking people can do their best even with B-level material. But this is just an awful piece of garbage that trots out a unilateral moral decision (killing one person to save two others) without giving it anywhere near the debate time it deserves even on a TV show. And Tuvix himself is hard to take seriously; the entire concept just doesn't make sense. There are many, many Trek episodes that do this kind of "sympathy for a misunderstood life form" theme better. Unfortunately, it seems to be a repetitive cliche on Voyager.
Set Bookmark
whodat
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

For those who have a problem with the timeline, quantum physics postulates the existence of every possible universe existing simultaneously
Set Bookmark
Lmo
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Nice story device to have the first breakfast conversation with Picard and Beverly chuckling over the fact that he had not been listening to her (so familiar to long married couples), with the rest of the story about how they can't stop hearing each other's thoughts. Good commentary in the end about the intimacy that produces.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 10:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

I actually would have liked the story told without flashbacks. Maybe add a sentence to the final conversation between Kira and Bashir. Maybe not even that. But maybe it wouldn't have worked as well. Maybe I just wanted more Weyoun.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 7:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I'd probably rate this one a 3.5, though I can easily see how some would give it a 4. For me, I just found it a bit too hard to swallow that the crew could remember such distinct details (let alone anything!) from previous loops. It goes against the very idea of a time loop, where everything is completely reset (including memories) at the end. I also agree with other comments above that too much time was taken by Data explaining his tractor beam idea. I groaned every time he turned around to talk to the captain, while in the background we see the other ship literally seconds away!
Set Bookmark
Edax
Fri, Dec 2, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

@Peter G.
No I understood what you were getting at. It's difficult to gauge what the Organians would have considered too much, since I don't think the Organians were actually killed when the mass executions happened. Perhaps they planned to pantomime the subjugation of their people to better study the Klingons? Since the Organians fully cooperated with the Klingons, there would be no logical reason for executions, so I dispute that it would be inevitable. Whilst mass murder could still happen, it would only be pure speculation at that point. The Organians didn’t even react when they were being mass executed in the episode, they were much more distressed at Kirk’s actions.

Going back to the topic of Imperialism, this acceptance of Klingon occupation vs war should have been the Organian's decision, not Kirk's. Organia was in the disputed zone, and the Organians accepted Klingon rule, Kirk really had no legitimate reason to threaten the Organians or engage in a guerrilla war on the planet, since it was now peacefully under Klingon rule. What was the Federation going to do if Kirk somehow managed to drive the Klingons off the planet? Forcefully annex the planet against the Organian’s will? It’s a strategically valuable planet that has rejected the Federation and the Federation would not allow Klingon occupation of it. Can you see just what kind of mess Kirk has potentially caused? Would the Federation have to send in occupation force to prevent further Klingon invasion? Remember, this is the only habitual planet in the disputed area, the Federation would have little cause to dispute the area unless they wanted Organia for themselves. Just how free would the Organians be if the Federation gave them no authority to decide their own fate in this Klingon-Federation war? Kirk’s offer that they had the freedom choose seems really disingenuous since when the Organians refused, Kirk provoked the Klingons against Organians while posing as an Organian.

Considering that the Klingons were just “Russians in Space”, what if the Organians wanted to be under Klingon rule? Some countries actively sought out the Soviet Union, what would Kirk or the Federation have done in this circumstance? Since the Federation disputes the territory, I suspect they would not have allowed that, perhaps even have “made Organia useless to them”.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,437
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.