Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,833 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 914
Jeff - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 4:03am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Almost all of these comments missed the two most interesting characters in this episode: the mother who defied Verin to trust Voyager and save her child, and the little girl who first approached Tom and then discovered the change in the planet's atmosphere. So often in Voyager the female characters undone the damage created by the bad males.
Black_Goat - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Vortex: B+
This was a much stronger episode than the previous Odo-centric outing, and definitely one of my favorites so far. Rene Auberjonois is just so good that even the goofier aspects of this one aren’t particularly notable. It helps that Croden is one of the most compelling guest stars we’ve seen so far, and that nearly every interaction he has with Odo makes for an interesting dynamic. “Odo’s origins” hadn’t been something I was hyper-concerned with before this point despite a few past references, but this episode made me believe that the storyline is potentially pretty fascinating.

The Good:
- I like that the wormhole is getting a bit more play.
- Again, everything Odo. The straight-talking, humorless and gruff security chief must trade words with a man whose passion seems to be dissembling wordplay. I like how Auberjonois plays his restraint; you can tell there’s a part of Odo that would like nothing more than to follow Croden to the changeling enclave, but he never wavers in his duty. But his form of justice is tempered with honor and even a certain amount of benevolence, as we see from his later interactions with Croden and the girl (that smile!). While actually speaking to the crystal at the end was a bit of a stretch, I like the notion that it’s Odo’s cousin of sorts, and I hope it will make return appearances in future episodes dealing with Odo’s longing for a home.
- Speaking of that: I find it really interesting that Odo is both completely confident in his place on DS9 and extremely drawn to the notion of finding more changelings.
- Croden is an excellent character. Half of what he says is false and he manipulates Odo easily, but ends up being a sympathetic character possessed of basic decency despite all that. He’s morally grey and very ambiguous, and thus a type of character that the show has had luck with before (I’m thinking Garak and Kira’s old comrade from “Past Prologue”).

The Mixed:
- Quark and Odo were fine in this episode, (“I’m the man behind the bar!”) but I actually think Quark has been slightly overused now at the expense of some other characters. I mean, he was only significant in the early portion of this one, but the last two episodes were pretty Quark-centric and we haven’t seen much of anyone else recently. I do like how the show always stops short of making him completely amoral (notice that he doesn’t really embrace the idea of Ah-Kel killing Odo). Unlike Rom, who’s…kind of murder happy isn’t he? There’s something a little disturbing about that guy because he lacks both Quark’s cleverness and his humanity.

The Bad:
- The Miradorn are interesting in theory, but this wasn’t the right episode for them. Didn’t have time to flesh out the twins-concept, and so Ah-Kel becomes just another bad guy.
dlpb - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 6:46pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Brilliantly conceived and executed episode.
--------

Once again, have to disagree. Its whole premise is stolen from Babylon 5 again (The prophecies from Valen and the Vorlons), Except B5 did it much better, and over a proper arc.

Ignoring that, it's a decent episode, but also as the above poster notes, produced questions that the writers deliberately didn't try to answer because they couldn't.
Robert - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 6:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time. "

They should understand linear time as well as Sisko does. Since he explained it to them!
phaedon - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I'm really enjoying revisiting TNG for some reason. Bit of trivia:

The ship's name is correctly spelled "USS Brattain" --- even though it's misspelled on the hull of the ship itself. You can see a screen grab of the typo here:

www.mundostartrek.com/imagenes/biblioteca/brattain.jpg

This happens around 5 minutes into the episode. A few minutes later, Beverly and Picard review the Captain's Log from the Brattain and the entry is stamped "USS Brattain - NCC-21166."

Hope you found that interesting!
shire - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

I find it appalling that a man can die and the captain cant give two shits about him.
The captain has been preaching about how import the crew is to him but suddenly its ok to put some random that's been stuck in space for 15 odd years before the rest of the entire crew.
Screw the guy stuck in space, theirs already a **** load more people on the ship that don't want to die for some random person that "might!" be alive... They dont even know what the modifications will do to the ship either.

Yes I realize the captain has a past with them and that should not effect him as the captain of a star ship.

Personally this episode has blown out my judgement of the captain and I think tucker was right in questioning him and they should have left then and there. Worst episode of star trek enterprise so far...
Samuel - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 9:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Nick P is mr Plinkett.
dlpb - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 6:54pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Entertaining, but as usual full of holes. The biggest one is that the trial would not be allowed to proceed in this fashion. Firstly, having one judge is unlikely to happen, and even if that was the case, "as far as logic dictates" is plainly ridiculous. Court rooms work by law and strict rules. A judge would work within those confines (Starfleet rules in this case), not Vulcan "logic".
Charles - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 5:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"This will be the end, or the beginning"

Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time.
Edax - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 3:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

The thing that bother's me most about this episode...Is that Q is dressed as a British general (mostly), yet everyone identifies him as a French Marshal? French Marshals dressed in blue, white and gold, with maybe a red sash. Q is dressed in red and white, the colors of the British, France's sworn enemy! That's be like Q dressing in a SS uniform, and everyone referring him to an American general. Just how lazy is their custom department? The French soldier uniforms look terrible, but at least they got the general color scheme right.
Charles - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 1:59pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

"It won't be easy. If it's true this section has existed since the birth of the Federation, they've managed to hide their tracks very well"

- Right, by telling every Tom Dick and Harry they interrogate about their existence and purpose. Surely NO ONE would have EVER heard of them by now.

Come on writers, this is ridiculous.
Beth - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:46am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

I hated this episode when I first saw it, and I still hate it. It's only fun is for a few good Red Shirt deaths, and the Yeoman actually kicking the ass of some People of Vaal instead of doing the usual things she does in this episode, such as whining, asking a question that no one can really answer (how reproduction happens on this planet - cue unnecessarily awkward *SEX* speculation), and being the stereotypical blonde git whose idea of seducing Chekov (LOL, "Pav") is to ask him dumb blonde questions.

Actually, everyone is annoying in this episode, except maybe Spock, who seems to be the sole voice of reason. Like, why is their way of life so reprehensible? Ohhh right, because the "plot" demands some forced conflict. I kind of wanted to slap McCoy for his stupid arguments, and Kirk for his asinine speech to the People of Vaal at the end on how they'll just enjoy this new life of toil so much ("HEY GUYS! You get to have the SEX now! Maybe you'll figure out how to reproduce! *crowd laughs at this for some reason*).

I especially wanted to phaser McCoy and Kirk for their dumb joke that Spock looks like Satan. Like Spock's NEVER heard that one before. Or maybe he hasn't, considering that pointy ears and arched eyebrows doth not the Devil make!
Robert - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 6:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

3 Quick Questions

1) Can we think of very many nations that aren't technically occupying land that isn't theirs? Does there ever come a point in which it's no longer fair game to attack someone forever over land that your grandfather owned?

2) Does anyone actually think that either side would agree to anything remotely reasonable to end the fighting?

3) If #2 happened, does anyone actually think the fighting would stop?
Alex - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 12:26am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

At least we get to see Tony Jay (Lwaxana's groom) and hear his incredible voice!
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 4:11pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Oh my goodness, I just love this episode! 4 stars, for sure. Uhura gets to be bad-ass (with her dealings with Sulu, with the phaser-taking from Marlena, just all around awesome), Evil "Scarface" Sulu and Evil Chekov are GREAT, and Spock isn't even evil in the Mirror universe, just a logical man trapped in a brutal, illogical empire.

I dig the goatee too - I guess they were thinking that would make Spock look more like the Devil, eh? Well, devilishly handsome, maybe.

I wonder if anyone on here had considered how the Mirror Universe came to be, and why it was so easily accessible? And is it truly a Mirror Universe, or just one where Earth, Starfleet and the UFP is upside down into an Imperial Earth bent? It's been noted that in later excursions into the Mirror Universe in DS9 etc. that alien cultures behave much the same as they otherwise would, only more aggressively towards a Terran Empire that is asking for a walloping.

My theory (which isn't really mine) is that the Mirror Universe came to be when McCoy stepped into The Guardian of Forever. The episode's events did put right the timeline of events for the "normal" universe that the USS Enterprise crew knows. But perhaps that other timeline, where the Nazis won WWII and conquered the world, still existed as the split-off Mirror Universe? It might explain why the Terran Empire incorporates a tradition of fascistic salutes, among other things. Anyway, it's just a possibility...
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 1:14pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

In answer to Sagiam I.K., perhaps Spock is not 10x stronger than Kirk on Vulcan because Spock is, on Vulcan, subject to the thinner atmosphere and higher gravity which gives a Vulcan his "super strength" when the air volume and gravity are set to human standards. But then again, Kirk would have still been hard pressed to breathe properly while fighting, and lifting those weapons should have been much harder for him. So maybe the Plak Tow (blood fever) does something to weaken the Vulcan in this situation. Or, it's also possible that despite the Plak Tow's influence, Spock was actually trying as hard as he could to restrain his full impulse to fight with all his might, and to instead go easy on Kirk, while making it *seem* like he was going all-out for blood. Being that he's half-human, perhaps the Plak Tow doesn't have *quite* the same hold on his mind as it does for a full-blooded Vulcan. [Given that he only underwent Ponn Farr for apparently the first time in his thirties, after thinking that he "might have been spared" from it, it does seem plausible that the Ponn Farr would affect a half-Human half-Vulcan differently than a typical Vulcan]. --> And yes, the regenerated Spock on the Genesis planet did undergo Ponn Farr as a teenager, but perhaps the Genesis effect didn't just accelerate his growth, but also intensified or ignited that which would have otherwise been largely dormant post-adolescent impulses.

Anyway, back to the Amok Time fight: Maybe Kirk was just very effective at evading most of the swipes and jabs and thwacks that came his way, and he didn't need to match Spock's Vulcan-adapted strength to fend him off for most of the fight - well, until the choking happened, which happened to coincide with McCoy's gamble of knock-out medicine.

Oh well, in any case, it wouldn't have been as fun a match if Spock had sliced Kirk in two with the Lirpa or beaned him in the noggin with the Ahn'woon right off the bat, would it?
Charles - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 1:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

As always with DS9, I loved it... up until they brought in the prophets. Way to kill your episode and everything you've worked for in this arc.

DS9 would have been such a good show without those prophets (that definitely killed season 7).
Capitalist - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:59pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Hmm, once again Jammer misses the point of the Trip/T'Pol scene, even after bringing up the related scene from back in "Unexpected." Isn't it obvious? Everytime Trip gets involved with a woman, T'Pol gets all miffed, pissy, n snarky. :D :D

I'm watching Enterprise for the first time, so I don't know how it'll play out, but it seems clear what the writers had in mind for these two at this point.
Charles - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:53pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Agree 100% with Jons. This is beyond absurd. How ironic that a show about intelligence insults the viewer's so much.
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

Ohh this episode... I just wanted to smack some sense into Scotty-the-Suddenly-Thick-Brained-Caveman, and give Lt. Palamas (aka Lt. Pajamas) another few whacks in the head. (And why the heck do all these pretty and easily-manipulable officers with "specializations in myth and antiquity" keep popping up on a ship of deep-space exploration? Ahhh, plot convenience, of course. Or as some might call it, poor writing).

I really wished for this episode (as with a few other Trek episodes) to have a stronger-minded woman to stand up and think a little on her own, who's more like the Number One from "The Cage", logical and focused on duty to her ship and crew, rather than some flimsy mimsy, being so easily swayed by some hunky two-bit "god" and a fancy-schmancy dress or robe. GRRR.

At least Kirk was able to put some sense into her and Lt. Palamas FINALLY spurned Apollo's affections with the cold sarcasm they deserved. (Too bad Kirk's speech smacks of, erm, R-A-C-I-S-M, but it gets the plot from A to B effectively enough).

I did feel kind of bad for Apollo at the end - like I felt bad for Charlie X or Trelane or any other god-power-being who meddles too far with the Enterprise crew and meets their sad fate. But as others above have pointed out, what the heck was Apollo DOING - and why would he think "Hey, I know, those humans will just come and worship me again after, um, growing past the whole god thing." And it had to be Apollo that didn't see the end for him coming - so much for his supposed wisdom!
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

Ah yes, yet ANOTHER episode where Kirk "outwits" the machine with self-destructive "logic". But wow, I was face-palming through a lot of this. From Spock's mind-meld (with a tin can?) to Uhura going from pre-school English to "College level" in a short time (wtf, do they have some kind of learn-by-osmosis machines in the 23rd century, ala the "lesson feeds" in "The Matrix"?), to the lovely (laughable) Nomad-perspective camera angles, to Kirk's TERRIBLE joke at the end that REALLY made me put palm to face...

And yet, it was still an enjoyable episode, and I could get past the hokeyness and silliness. It was also interesting to see this story again, and realize what I somehow hadn't realized before: "Oh hey, this is where they got that whole V'Ger thing from The Motionless Picture!" [The movie being a slightly different case, where the story was oversimple and the plot not all that well thought-out, and the pace plodding with somewhat stiff acting, but nonetheless still was somehow an enjoyable thing to sit through].

I give it 1.5 out of 4. Stupid, but fun.
Fish - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 6:36am (USA Central)
Re: Confessions of a Closet Trekkie

Ahhhhh Jammer. I feel you mate.

As an Aussie, we pretty much loathe regular intellectuals over here, let alone those godsdamned nerdy bastards who are into scifi!

So you can imagine I kept my love of Star Wars on the down low all through school (didn't discover Trek till I caught "The Wounded" on TNG reruns on Channel 11, and didn't get onto BSG until this year as a result of your reviews!!). Closeted myself in being captain of the school rugby team and playing all manner of competitive sports, plus being an avid surfer always helps people assume you'd never be into all that weird nerdy shit.

I graduated high school four years ago, spent the last four years at uni doing law, and I can say that my experiences are similar to posters like Rachael and Starpollo (killing it with the screenname by the way). I dont advertise my trekkiness, but if someone asks me what my favourite TV series are, they'll be copping TNG, DS9 and BSG all the way. If thats enough for someone to heap judgment on me, then fuck 'em, they aren't worth it. Although that doesnt mean I'll bore them to tears with a comparison of the leadership qualities of Sisko and Picard from a moral vs. practical standpoint. Pretty open with it now, although, like you, I prefer people I know (usually dates) thinking I'm normal before I drop the Trek-bomb if we're on a topic of TV viewing! Nor do I mention commenting on Trek websites, or incidentally, membership of ASoIaF forum (baby steps, after all).

Anyway, just wanted to share my thoughts, trek transcends all walks of life, as evidenced by a 22 year old surfing, rugby-playing, booze swilling, Australian law student commenting on an American website about TV shows that hop all around the Alpha, Gamma and Delta quadrants to express his gratitude for your reviews.

I guess what I'm saying, in a really roundabout, long-winded manner is, you're killing it Jamahl, love ya reviews, and I'm really glad you made this website a couple of years after I was born, and even more glad I discovered it a couple of years ago!

Keep it up mate!



Del_Duio - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 8:33pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

"that's the episode where DS9 started to piss me off personally, talking about religion and gods like it's a real thing, and crossing from "star trek" to supernatural bullshit."

Yeah but the prophets / wormhole aliens ARE real in the DS9 universe. Many characters on the show have had run-ins with them or more. They aren't some intangible thing, otherwise you would have made a good point.
grm89 - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 7:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this one for the first time. Think most of the negative aspects have been discussed here, but one more for you that annoyed me more than anything at the end: this huge, cunning, scheming alien, who has masterminded the faking of his own death, killed someone else and then proven that he can take a phaser blast at point blank range..... Loses a fist fight to a skinny unarmed earth woman.

Also was there any way for Beverley to prove what happened on the shuttle after she vaporised him? Cctv doesn't appear to exist in the future...all they've got is the word of a disgraced off duty medical officer who's about to face the ethics committee for disobeying the captain's orders. Oh dear Beverley. Oh dear.
Jeff - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 5:11pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I was just thinking regarding holo-Barclay referring to Seven as the only human to fully recover from Borg assimilation. 10 to 1 this was, in reality, just a tremendous goof on the writing staff's part. But maybe, just maybe, it was a clue the writers' included to tip off the viewers that perhaps there was something wrong with holo-Barclay. Surely the real Barclay would be aware of Picard's situation from BOBW. He was serving on the Enterprise-D at the time. This could have been something the writers cooked up to put the viewer on edge and suspect the supposedly benign motives of holo-Barclay. Just a thought.
Next »Page 1 of 914
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer