Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,331 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 814
zzybaloobah - Fri, Aug 1, 2014, 12:41am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

> "Little Green Men" has all the indications of a story bought on a single-sentence pitch.

In the season 4 DVD special features, Robert Hewitt Wolfe says exactly that: "Two free-lance writers came in ... and said 'Quark, Nog, Rom, and Odo are the Roswell aliens.'" And that was all it took.
zzybaloobah - Fri, Aug 1, 2014, 12:14am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

I'm re-watching the whole series, and I REALLY LOVE THIS EPISODE -- much more so than I remember from earlier viewing.
I don't think of it as a cliffhanger with some character development and padding -- it's all character driven.
* Garak trying to set up Odo on a date (too bad that never went anywhere...)
* Quark's concern -- which he could only show via bluster -- was spot on and almost touching.
* Garak's barely hidden concern for Enabrain Tain
* Garak's sparring with Odo on the Defiant
* the interchange between changeling and Odo
* The scene between changeling and Garak was downright creepy and brilliantly acted by both. And if there was ever justification for pre-emptive genocide....
* the Garak - Worf scene. Now, if only Eddington were still security chief....
* changeling society's way of dealing with their rebel

4 stars. A new "Top 10" episode, maybe Top 5 (but won't beat out Duet or ITPM)
Dave in NC - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 6:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

@ Yanks re #2- Plenty of people serve longer terms than their minimum time. Besides, part of the program's cruelty could be teasing inmates with the impossible promise of parole.

Overall an interesting episode . . . Prison Miles definitely had a little of that Mark Twain thing going on. ;) In all seriousness, I feel bad for the character, but Colm Meaney is so good he elevates the material beyond the run-of-the-mill Trek prisoner episode. I could definitely believe this man thought he was incarcerated for 20 years.

Keiko, for once, acted somewhat reserved. I was hoping he'd snap at her, but alas, it was little irritating Molly who got the brunt.

The actor who played the other prisoner was OK, I found the way the script presented him left something to be desired. Can someone be a jolly stoic? Apparently so. (Just speculation, maybe his motivations were unclear because the alien memory technology isn't perfect?)

The only scene that really dragged was the final scene where Julian tried to "talk down" Miles. The lack of any musical soundtrack in this scene was a bad choice. Julian's dialogue had the same clunky, expositional feel as the psychologist's speech at the end of Psycho. Yawn, snooze, why isn't Keiko in this scene?!?! Only lazy scriptwriters/producers can be blamed for this oversight.

Nothing super amazing about the music featured in the episode: lots of instruments in unison holding one note. Only the "beauty shot" before the closing credits had music that stood out, and unfortunately, that only lasted a few seconds.

A few nitpicks: I wasn't really sure how it was that Julian couldn't use Dr. Pulaski's memory wipe technique, but the dialog says he can't, so I guess that's that.

Why have we never seen Counselor Telnori? I haven't met the character and I'm more interested in him/her than I ever was in Ezri Dax.

Final thoughts: My comments may not indicate it, but this episode really is worth watching and probably worthy of three stars.

Some of the most natural acting I've seen on behalf of all the actors who play the O'Briens. I don't want to gush endlessly, but Colm Meaney is a GREAT actor. Meaney makes this episode worthy of a repeat view.

***

213karaokejoe - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 5:50pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

What with weapons routinely going of holodeck safeguards and trains barrelling down on patrons, it seems that the brilliant technoengineers and command structure of the future would have come up with a few rules for any holodeck adventure:

1. There must be a duty officer for the holodecks, checking in routinely to make sure everything is OK
2. There must be communicator capability at all times; routine check-ins by patrons is required
3. Removal of safegaurds has to be arranged with the captain and notification of removal of safegauards must be communicated through status indicators to the appropriate personnel and stations.

How many near-misses should be tolerated?
Grumpy - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 5:00pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

If it were a two-parter, Tommy, then the part that needs telling is what you suggest: a flashback to Robinson Crusoe with a holodeck. Contrary to your view, such an experience might wreck his mind even more. He might create an entire village of Fridays (like the guy in DS9's "Shadowplay"), but he alone would be their god-creator. And when he returns to civilization, he'd have trouble adjusting to reality, still interacting as if it were fantasy. How many holo-Trois did he bang? How many volleyballs did he kill?

But this got stuck in the "one episode per story; one gimmick per story" paradigm.
Taylor - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I can't see it as anything but a mixed bag. What if it were a rescue dog instead of an exocomp? Would Data have made the same decision? Endangering Picard and Geordi was a needless contrivance, and Data's decision was over the top. Could this really be brushed aside after the fact? I didn't care for the writers painting Data into this corner, it puts his competence as an officer in doubt.

With all this being said, I admit the episode (and contemplating this note) got me thinking about the core issue at hand, and on that score it's true there aren't clear answers.
Taylor - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I dig how the mercenaries apparently came from the Monster Mullet Planet.

Also, if there was an actor suited to schlep a bunch of Trekkie cranial makeup, it was Richard Lynch.
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:06pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Elliot & everyone.

"Jake goes through life miserably and broken because of an accident which robbed him of his father."

I think everyone is missing the point here.

Jake doesn't go through life miserably because he lost his father, he goes through life miserably because he isn't allowed to lose his father. When he did lose his father he really didn't. Sisko kept appearing and THAT had to be the hardest thing ever! Can you imagine?

I hate to bring this up again, but Avery's acting all but ruins this episode. Damn... how many times does this happen in this show? It’s so damn frustrating!

Tony Todd. I always thought his delivery problems were because of the Klingon mouth-pieces, but I guess not. He has such a hard time pronouncing words clearly, vocalizing (whatever it's called)) I strain to understand him. His performance wasn't a bad one though.

I thought Andrew's daughter Rachel Robinson as Melenie was a bright acting part in this episode (although she wasn't given much, she does have a nice screen presence). Cirroc once again carries the scenes with Sisko. He and Kira together were wonderful in this one.

When they got "the gang" back together all I could think of was 'All Good Things'...

I don't think the "reset" thing here applies, we all knew Sisko wasn't going to leave the series, so we knew Jake would get him back. It was Jake’s journey that made this one special. Many, many wonderfully touching moments in this one.

I really enjoyed this episode, but I don't rate is as highly as most.

3.5 for me.
TMB - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 1:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Kahryl, I always wondered what happened to the surviving Jem'Hadar, Vorta, and Founders. Maybe they were exiled back to the Gamma Quadrant. As far as the aftermath, the Dominion initially sent several hundred ships when it took over Cardassia, and lost several thousand when the Prophets stepped in during Sacrifice of Angels. The loss of those resources had to damage the Dominion's position back home. With Odo basically negotiating the surrender, I imagine the other Founders would keep their word to Odo to stay away from the Alpha Quadrant.
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 1:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

What's not to like about this one. Fantastic season opener.

We get Worf!

We are introduced to Martok!

DS9 can now kick some serious butt!

Some no kidding great fight scenes...

Kira and Jadzia are even more beautiful than last year! (I wasn't sure that was possible)

Easy 4 stars from me.

@ stallion: No SCI-FI show EVER pulled the ratings TNG did. (up to 20 million at times) There is something to be said about being the only SCI-FI show on the market.
R. - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 12:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

Did anyone else find the way Dax EFFORTLESSLY manipulates Dukat hilarious? These two characters have never had much screen time together, but she plays into his vain self-delusions perfectly.

She obviously paid attention when Kira and Sisko talked about him. :)
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 10:20am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

I think your review is spot on Jammer.

Couple points.

It was CLEAR to me that Brunt was in on this with the Doctor from the start. As soon as he showed up to the station and was revealed to be the "highest bidder" I knew this was his plan.

I love to hear Quark talk about Ferengi "heaven" :-)

"QUARK: Yes. And when I arrive at the gates of the Divine Treasury, the Registrar will accept my bribe and usher me inside."

...and of course Brunt played by Combs is great as well. I cracked up at this line:

"BRUNT: What I want is fifty two disks of vacuum-desiccated Quark. Nothing more, nothing less. "

lol

When both these great actors play off each other it really is a treat.

And once again, Garak's mere presence adds to this episode. I ROARED when Garak was demonstrating different methods of murder to Quark. They could have had an interaction between Quark and Garak after he decided he wasn’t going to go through with it, but I think just having Garak smile in the background when Quark tells Brunt he’s going to break the contract would have been sufficient.

Very interesting “B” story as well. Glad they figured out a way to keep Nanna. It’s my understanding that many times if a cast member gets pregnant in TV, they kill off the part.

I also agree; the ending made this episode. For a couple reasons. Quark now realizes his customers are assets, and more importantly he just might be coming to the realization that he IS a community leader as Sisko bribed him into becoming in ‘Emissary’.

The best “Ferengi” episode yet.

3.5 stars from me.
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 9:11am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Just great Trek and great character building episode for Julian.

Not much to add to Jammer's review here.

Damn, this virus was something. It even grew stronger in the presence of technology used to try and figure it out.

Julian gets his ego slapped around a bit to the point where he, of all people, doesn't need to take credit at the end.

The Dominion once again a revealed as "no joke".

Funny how an innocent baby always translates to hope. I really felt for Ekoria, enduring the excruciating pain for weeks to ensure her child had a chance to live.

This episode always brings a tear to my eye and a lump to my throat.

I can't find a reason not to give this one a 4.0.

Great Trek!
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 8:52am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

I'll part with Jammer on this one too.

Outstanding episode for many reasons.

Toraya believes the Founders/Vorta aren't military geniuses, I believe something is being missed in this episode. This was a secret mission for two reasons:

#1. They wanted to keep information about the portal as secret as possible.

#2. They wanted to keep information about dissenting Jem'Hadar as secret as possible.

This was a surgical rapid response strike team. Now had it not worked, other methods would have been employed.

About repairs... this is about as major a repair effort as we could see on DS9. Voyager repairing themselves is more believable than the herculean effort it would have taken to repair this upper pylon THAT IS MISSING. That said it happens all the time in both series so it just a matter of acceptance that we know that repairs can be made quickly in the 24th century. I forget, did the Enterprise D have to pull in for repairs after the Borg took a chunk out of her?

Now, back to the important stuff.

Contrary to Jammer I thought Omet’iklan was expertly played by Clarence Williams III. Wow, never once did I believe he was acting “tough” or as we’ve seen many times when someone is trying to ‘act Klingon’ over exaggerated. He portrayed the life blood of the Jem’Hadar perfectly. Loyalty and obedience. There was no question why he was the #1. BRAVO!! His exchanges with Sisko were tremendous. (and well written)

Sisko also was impressive in dealing with this situation and the Jem’Hadar. This was a battle of wills and he didn’t flinch. I had no problem with either party agreeing to join forces in this one. “The enemy of my enemy is my friend” applies here perfectly.

We are introduced to Weyoun. I remember this part was not supposed to be a reoccurring one, but Combs was so damn good they had to invent cloning to bring him back. I agree, what an outstanding DS9 character and Mr. Combs continues to bring all his characters to life. A truly great asset to Trek. Until I read this review and comments, I was not aware that Weyoun infected Odo. Wow, now that makes sense and unveils the reason for the teary-eyed interaction between Odo and Weyoun where Weyoun was trying to get Odo to come home. Weyoun was infecting his god! Well done.

I also enjoyed the interaction between Jadzia and Virak’kara. “I stopped counting at 300” :-)

I too thought the scene where Weyoun handed out the white was hilarious.

Yes, we lost some redshirts in the fight. Since when is that a problem? They had a plan and executed it well under tough circumstances. Especially when they found out their phasers didn’t work because of the gateway. How was this episode supposed to end? …. Where the Jem’Hadar suppoed to go down there and bond with the renegades? No problem with a fight to meet their objective. Sisko also made a pretty significant point to the #1 when he took an injury protecting him in battle.

“OMET'IKLAN: I threatened to kill you, but you were still willing to sacrifice yourself to save my life.
SISKO: Looks that way.
OMET'IKLAN: Why?
SISKO: If you have to ask, you'll never understand.”

The same goes for the methods of discipline I’m sure. Respect was earned by Sisko here. Just because your enemies does not mean warring parties can’t and don’t respect one another. Omet’iklan expressed this by stating there had been enough killing here today sparing Sisko and his men, but he also reinforced the fact that loyalty and obedience is paramount for them as he vowed to kill every last dissenting Jem’Hadar on the planet and that he killed Weyoun for questioning his loyalty.

This is a great episode that reveals what exactly makes the Dominion tic and a great baseline for just how formidable an enemy the Jem’Hadar are. It also set the stage for a later episode where Worf is imprisoned and fights the Jem’Hadar in the ring.

Here is why I can’t give this episode a 4.0

#1. Where are the dissenting Jem’Hadar getting their white?

#2. How will taking this white that Weyoun had be of any help? They can’t access the container; if they could I’m certain there would be a bunch of dead Vorta in the Dominion :-)

3.5 stars for me.

VICTORY IS LIFE!!
Tommy - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 7:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

They should have made this a two-parter, but only if they were going to follow through on killing the "real" Will.

As it is, it's rushed. Will's hostility toward his double comes off as forced.

Regarding Tom's state of mind, I think the only explanation is that the station had a holodeck. That's pure conjecture, but it's the only thing that would explain his mental health.
Yanks - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 7:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

@ Elliot.

It didn't make Sisko look ridiculous at all. It showed outstanding leadership.

See here's what you don't understand. He 'had' to tell Odo to "try" and catch him because to tell Odo not to is like telling a fireman he couldn't respond to a fire. Telling him to take his time was a Commanding Officer showing outstanding leadership and recognizing the bigger picture.

If you think about it, Sisko followed the prime directive here. Who is he to stop something that both parties of another race/society condone. Can he put a stop to it on the station? Sure. So he was smart enough to realize the only way to do the right thing was to "let" Tosk escape.

He handled the situation perfectly. No Odo can say "I tried", Obrien can say "sorry" and Sisko can truthfully report that he made an effort to capture an escaped prisoner. All while ensuring the right thing was done.

Bravo.
pauls - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 4:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I guess I missed something...
If they can send a message (even a video message!)
back in time, why couldn't he just tell them to not even try the slip stream drive in the first place?

This is my problem with a lot of lazy time travel stories. Why go back to a point in time just before an major event? Why not much earlier?
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 3:15am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

"As far as the Voyager-characters-as-saps paradigm goes, the last scene aboard Voyager is perhaps the show's most telling, in which Tom and B'Elanna pull Harry's leg with a far-fetched premise that promises another way home. And there he is, Harry Kim, still, after all these years and the immediately preceding events of "Inside Man," playing the part of the hapless chump — just as gullible and naive as he was when this series premiered nearly six years ago. Is this supposed to be a funny joke on the character? If we buy into it, I'm thinking the joke is on us."

Yeah, this one scene really does tell it all doesn't it? The Voyager characters and the show itself are just caricatures. They're not real people who change. The episodes are not things that really happen. It's just one caricature after another. It's what really disappoints me about the show. No character development, no attempt at telling a decent story, no real attempt at being a Star Trek show and living up the massive legacy left behind by TNG and DS9. It should have been good and it settled for less. It chose mediocrity when you knew that it had so much more potential. It had the premise, it had the writers, it had the concept. It should have been good, by all rights. But it settled. Played for the cheap seats. It's such a disappointment. A waste of seven seasons of Trek.
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 3:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

"(No one on board Voyager, by the way, will survive the radiation when traveling through this anomaly, which makes me wonder if even Ferengi would resort to murdering 150 people to score a quick buck.)"

I get the impression from DS9 that the answer to that question is no. Unless they're an arms dealer or some other shady business like that. For the most part, Ferengi like people to be alive so they can make deals.
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:50am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

@Sean: as I said before, the issue I take is with the psychological endurance in this extreme circumstance. We have every indication that the Dominion War is more of a drain on Starfleet's resources than either the Klingon or Cardassian Wars. The whole premise of this episode relies on the idea that Starfleet is at unprecedented levels of desperation (thus why replacement personnel had not arrived in so long).
Sean - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:48am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Oh ok. Good to know. I thought they were just pulling the "hologram isn't going to last long in the transmitter" thing out of their ass just for this episode.

Well it's not a good episode, just that one comment rubbed me the wrong way. Since, you know, Picard's assimilation is one of the main story points of all of Star Trek.

Also, it might be just me, but the Pathfinder cast seems like they'd make for a more interesting show then Voyager. Or at least a more interesting focus of the show then Voyager's main cast. They seem promising, if the show used them more. They're definitely the high point of every episode they're in.
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:46am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

@Robert: Sisko could have prevented Tosk from escaping. Miles told him he expected to be stopped but had to try anyway. Therefore, Sisko not only condoned, but actively assisted in the escape. He was rather clear in his disapproval of the Hunt, Prime Directive aside, so if he wanted to support Miles and Tosk, more power to him. But to hide behind telling Odo to just try and catch him really slowly is a childish move and a cowardly choice, trying to have it both ways where isn't "technically" culpable for his actions.
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

@Yanks : "Did Picard go through "First Contact procedures" with Data's pen pal? No."

Of course not. Her civilisation was pre-warp and her memory was wiped anyway.

Regarding Sisko, I don't begrudge him having Miles greet him at the door without a full colours band contingent, but he could have at least introduced himself in the days Tosk was on board the station before the Tron arrived. It's actually quite a minor point, but it makes Sisko look ridiculous meeting a race for the first time behind bars when the alien had been on his station for quite a while.
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:39am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Also re: your previous comment: Doc was warned that his programme might be irretrievable by Janeway and that his going would be a great risk in "Message in a Bottle." In "Life Line," Doc is indeed pulled out of the buffer immediately on both ends.
Elliott - Thu, Jul 31, 2014, 2:36am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

@Sean : To be fair, Picard was Borg for like a day, not his entire life. This episode is, however, one of the low points of the season, so I wouldn't expend much energy defending it.
Next »Page 1 of 814
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer