Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,808 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 753
skadoo - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 11:07pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I found the story mentioned above (O Captain, My Captain: A Look Back At Deep Space Nine’s Ben Sisko) below is a better link:
www.racialicious.com/2012/03/15/o-captain-my-captain-a-look-back-at-deep-space-nines-ben-sisko/#more-21072

I thought it was a great article. I'm disappointed at the attitude people have over that small scene. I think for the most part if you are a person of color you're more apt to have thought of the scene as necessary.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@Jammer and Torayo, as to the sexism in DS9 and beyond, the reason there are female schemers using their bodies is because men desire them and women in real life use their bodies. That is life, too bad.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I did not love this episode. It was alright and it was really cool seeing everyone out of make up, Dukat and Nog in particular. I quite liked the first half of the episode when I thought it was going to be a light period piece, but than the "Racism=Bad" chanting started, OMG, can we ever get past this as a culture? I agree with some of the poster above who said that star trek works best in allegory, I did not like at ALL when this became "12 Years a slave" light.... I disagree on one major point with Jammer also, it is true this is the first direct reference to Brooks being black, but ever since "Past Tense" it has certainly been right there under the surface waiting for this terrible episode to happen.

Now, I have never been a fan of the "issue" episodes, I have stated many times I love Sci-Fi for the Sci-Fi, not for BS political reasons, I don't need over-acting Avery Brooks to tell me racism is bad, or stupid face painting in TOS for that matter, or boring TNG season 7 to know polluting is bad. I look forward to getting back to real science fiction.
pip - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

A big treat seeing Wendy Robie, one of my favourite Twin Peaks alumni. Almost unrecognisable without the eye patch.
tony - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

"Well for all those complaining about Quark not getting punished...........

Maybe this was one of the times when Sisko later proclaimed he could have come down hard on Quark but didn't. Makes sense to me."

Well, it sure doesn't make any fucking sense to me, since Quark's actions almost got a friend of Sisko's KILLED!!!

Tricia - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 5:04am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Isn't the universal translator built into the com badges? How does Janeway and Paris keep talking to the aliens after the com badges are taken? Apparently the aliens not only look exactly like humans, but they speak English. (The universal translator doesn't make sense anyway, but that's a different discussion).
Ric - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 12:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: One

@Nick "Why the strange alien of the week to pester Seven's subconscious? It made no sense. They should have stuck with the Borg theme"

I agree, but it is clear why they chose the alien at first. Because we were supposed to believe, for a while,m that he was real. If it was a Borg bothering her from the begining we would not be foolished. However, it got obvious pretty soon that the alien was not real... So I also regret they did not use the oportunity to explore in the way you've suggested.

Sure, the episode had a few big logic flaws, many of them already pointed here by others. But overall I found ths episode really entertaining, with a terrific development of Seven's character. Pretty good.
Retrospeculative - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I have to disagree with the prevailing opinion; as science fiction, this is a much better film than The Wrath of Khan, which has some embarrassingly bad ham acting (in particular, from William Shatner and Ricardo Montalban).
SkepticalMI - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

As others have mentioned, this is a rather dark story, with Geordi being put through hell. Of course, it could have been darker. Tell me, how did the Romulans know so much about Geordi's visor? How did they single him out so easily and seem to have the technology all in place? After all, it's not like they've ever gotten their hands on a VISOR before. It's not like any of them ever tinkered with one before. Well, except for that one guy in The Enemy, who worked with the VISOR enough to hook it up to a tricorder... Oh.

Yes, Bochra, the man who saved Geordi's life, who confided to Geordi that he did not want to die, the person involved in what Geordi cheerfully and triumphantly declared the first Federation-Romulan co-venture... Bochra was the one who caused all of this brainwashing. How's that for a nice swift kick in the gut, La Forge? Although I'm not sure which scenario is darker: Bochra immediately going to the Tal Shiar and offering up all intelligence freely, or Bochra imprisoned by the Tal Shiar and forced to give intel on his new Federation friend...

OK, random speculation aside, this is an excellent episode. There really is a sense of dread, a sense of danger throughout the episode. Of course everything would turn out ok. But Klingon and Romulan episodes tended to be the dark ones, tended to shake up the status quo. Worf killed someone in the last one. Maybe La Forge would too. Probably not, but maybe... Of course, it wouldn't be O'Brien. But that scene in 10-Forward was creepy enough because you knew something was going to happen. And when it ended up just being a spilled drink, it made perfect sense (the Romulans aren't going to call too much attention to themselves for a test) as well as being, well, a bit unexpected. A bit of relief, but then you realize that means he is still being controlled by the Romulans, so not a relief at all.

And then we see him in action, using his brain to wipe the computer memory. And then see him later with no recollection of it. It's painful for the viewer to see, which is undoubtedly the point. And then Data gets on the case, and it's a race to the end...

The end is a little bit contrived, but forgivable. I wasn't bothered by Data not running or anything, he didn't know an assassination attempt was underway. What was a bit of a bother was Worf fighting with the two Klingon bodyguards while Picard and Vagh stand there stupidly and watch him. And then Data seemed to hedge all his bets on Kell still having the transmitter on him. Which was a lucky guess. This was definitely the last order (since La Forge would be imprisoned if successful), and Kell beamed down to the planet after giving the last order. He could have abandoned the doohicky at any time. Yet it was obvious that Kell still had it.

But it's a minor nitpick. The overall episode was still an excellent, suspense-filled show, a worthy member of the Klingon civil war arc.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Decent episode. Not great. The main issue is that the council were willing to cover up the truth, which is contrary TO Klingon honour.
The council leader even suggests that he served alongside Mogh and "I do not want to remember him this way"

What way? You'd rather he was remembered as a traitor? That's bad writing.
Buck - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"... and all it cost was the life of one Romulan senator, one criminal, and the self-respect of one Starfleet officer."

Best line of the episode.
Joe - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:48am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

am i the only one that liked this episode?
Ric - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:15am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

That review was by far one of the best I've read on any Trek so far. Other sites included. Very very funny.

This episode's lack of logic was ofensive. The sudden lack of fuel/energy just to bring a pseudo-continuity for a lazy plot excuse was even more. The half stars is more than enough. I would give this same half star, but only for the fact that the writers decided to show officers beaming down to non-M class planet, i.e. even using astrounaut clothss. It always bothered me how rare this is.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Holy Trek, I almost slept during this one.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Really Strong episode. Very good all along.

From the captain finally listening the suggestion given by other (jn this case, Chakotay), to Seven's personal quest. And mostly, the way the episode dealt with "spiritual experience" - compare that with how DS9 deals with that and you give this episode some twenty stars.

The plot was pretty engaging and, as Jammer has pointed, it used the Voyager features naturally. Fully good, and Seven is a joy to watch. When I think we had to pay one Kes in exchange for Seven of Nine, I smile.


Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 9:03pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

The plot is poor. In fact Paris' need for a change of pace was too sudden, flat and lazy writing. As lazy was the how idea of changing bodies as a way to see some fake character conflict.

Not to mention that once again, the security measures of Voyager are worth nothing. The alien can so easily access the central computer and a lot of bio info on Paris. Pathetic.

Oh, in a last note, the first scene of the alien-Paris and The Doc shows again that he is not very good in psychology...
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:31pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

*FOR when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up

But yeah, 4 stars for me, this was excellent. Oh and to the ones questioning Sisko's capacity for blackmail... Episode 1. Quark.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:26pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

I like to think that the body's purpose was to instill a sense of ambiguity, that it was meant as a side dish for viewers who tried to piece the whole thing together in their heads. I, for one, feel that Ghemor was 99% certain that the dead body was, in fact, his actual daughter. Of course, now that he cannot return to Cardassia Prime, he will never know for sure. It was for this reason that my eyes got a bit cloudy when he gave back the family jewel. Then, of course, he says he hopes he'll find her some day, but again, I think the line was meant, once again, for the sake of ambiguity. It could very well be that he KNOWS he will never find her. That the order would be so cold as to use Ghemor's famillial emotions against him to an end, and that on Cardassia trials are already decided before they begin, I wouldn't put it past them to keep the fake corpse when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up. They probably knew Ghemor was a traitor from day 1, and the cameras that weren't on? ... Yeaaah I doubt that. Also, the comment about Garak, while could easily put the Legate into question, it could at the same time simply add more depth to DS9's ambiguity figurehead himself.

All in all, "Face of the Enemy" obviously comes to mind (possibly the only Troi episode I actually really enjoyed), but also "Frame of Mind", with the plot centering around trying to convince a main character that their life is a lie. To me, combining two of my favorite TNG episodes together and then having Garak come in and say what pretty much everyone in this comments section was thinking...

" Major, I don't think I've ever seen you looking so ravishing."
DLPB - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Also some of the lefty writing is annoying as usual.

"You are a non-violent man, yet you committed acts of excessive violence"

lmao...
DLPB - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Decent episode. But have you noticed the sheer frequency of criminals in Trek that aren't to blame for their own actions?
Jerry - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 3:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I agree with the 3 / 4 stars given. I think Michael Ansara was one of the high points of the episode, and the other was the 2nd most famous Klingon proverb - Only a Fool Fights in a Burning House.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

The whole episode I was bracing myself for another display of Quark groveling at "Move Along Home" cringe levels, instead I get a thrown bat'leth and (if you'll excuse me) "COME AT ME BRO", followed by the most amusing divorce ceremony ever.

And yeah, it's good to see Keiko responding negatively with depression, as awful as that sounds now that I think of it... It gives the character more dimensionality than the usual O'Brien marital duking we've seen. Here, we see Miles instead of returning angry canned lines off in the distance, we get 'I can't see her like this' and real solution.

I agree with Nic, though... Does Jake just have to suck it up and tutor himself and everybody else now?
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

@Bravestar - Considering Nog is Jake's best friend and the purpose of the staff meeting was to get a senior staff baseball game going and the only person who knows more about baseball on the entire station than Kassidy and the Sisko's is probably going to be Jake's best friend.... I'd say it makes plenty of sense that he was invited.

Beyond that.... since I'm aware of at least 3 people that WERE NOT main cast that outranked Harry Kim, what the heck was HE doing at the staff meetings (or Seven).
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:48am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

@Rivus - The Odo plot was a 4 and the other plot was... I dunno... badly written fan fic?

I absolutely love the beam out where Kira presses Odo's comm badge. I just love their closeness there.

I could never give this episode a 2 because of how much I love Odo's story in it.
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:46am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Are there bald people in the mirror universe? They have gay people there....

I always just assumed that bald was a fashion choice in TNG era.... after all, the Doctor re stimulates Seven's follicles to let her grow hair....
Next »Page 1 of 753
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer