Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 49,428 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,978
Set Bookmark
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 1:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

As a female fan of Star Trek, just chiming in on the Tyler/Burnham situation in this episode.

One word: disgusting.

Sarek: "There is also grace. For what greater source of peace exists than our ability to love our enemy?"
Burnham: "I've made foolish choices. Emotional choices."
Sarek: "'re human. As is your mother."

What the hell kind of father starts religious guilt tripping her adopted daughter to get back together with a guy who tried to kill her? And then comparing the thing to his relationship with Burnham's mother? Is he a wife-beater now, perhaps?

Then the next scene:

Tilly: "When we were in the Terran Universe, I was reminded of how much a person is shaped by their environment. And I think the only way we can stop ourselves from becoming them is to understand the darkness within us and fight it. Tyler needs you."
Burnham: "I'm told he's doing well."
Tilly: "That's not possible. Not when he's lost a person he has cared about the most."
Burnham: "He killed a Starfleet officer. And he...he tried to kill me."
Tilly: "And those crimes are reprehensible. But Tyler is not the person who did that - at least he's - he's not anymore. He is something other. Someone new. What we do now, the way that we treat him, that is who we will become. I know you still care about him."
Burnham: "I do. That does not mean I should."
Tilly: "Michael, he's been stripped of his badge, he will never fly for Starfleet again. He'll be lucky if he doesn't end up in a lab. Or a cell. What kind of future can he have? Say what you have to say, even if it's goodbye."

Tilly here goes full on with the whole "Your treatment of your ex is categorical moral responsibility for the future of the human race. Plus, he's totally changed now. Besides, think of how bad things are for him." Seriously?

And then the finale:

Tyler: "I'm sorry. I know there's no way I can prove this to you, but Voq, he's gone."
Burnham: "I believe you...was there ever really an Ash Tyler? Did he love me? Cause I loved him. You lied to me. You said that if it got to be too much, that if you couldn't handle it, you would come to me. And it did. And you didn't. And that wasn't Voq - that was you, Tyler!"
Tyler: "Who the hell is Tyler? You think I know anymore? You think I've any idea who I am anymore, where I belong? This isn't about a lie - this is about you looking for an excuse to end it."
Burnham: "Excuse?!"
Tyler: "My crewmates have been kinder than they need to be. Why are you - the person who knows me the best - so quick to turn your back?"
Burnham: "Stop."
Tyler: "I want you to admit it. Admit that you can't do this anymore, because you finally went there with someone and things got complicated. Because your parents were killed by klingons and you fell in love with one."
Burnham: "Maybe you're right. I know, in my head, that you couldn't be responsible for Voq's actions - but I felt your hands around my neck. And I looked into your eyes and I saw how much you wanted to kill me. The man that I love wanted me dead. And no matter how hard I try, when I look at you now, I see Voq's eyes. I see him. Your crew might have put it behind them, but I can't."
Tyler: "I shouldn't be here. I should be an activated Klingon spy. Behind bars - or dead. Michael, the reason it didn't take, the reason L'Rell couldn't get through to me, that was you. Did Ash Tyler love you? Hell yes he did. And I can't find my way back without you."
Burnham: "We created something beautiful today in a desolate wasteland that had never seen life. After the Battle of the Binary Stars I was so lost. I had to sit with myself. I had to work through it. I had to crawl my way back. I'm still not there, but I'm trying. That kind of work - reclaiming life - it's punishing, it's relentless and it's solitary."
Tyler: "No, I-"
Burnham: "Ash, it's not easy letting you go."

So. Tyler, the guy who tried to strangle Burnham, is guilt-tripping her for 1) not having commitment, and 2) being responsible for his future. What utter bullshit, but I guess some manipulative assholes do this IRL too. Burnham should never have seen him at all, but I guess that's what your family and friends guilting and gaslighting you does, hmm?

IRL, if something like this happens to you,
1) you have every right to dump any guy, whether they try to kill you or not
2) if someone tries to kill you, cut all contact and immediately contact the police
3) if family and friends try to get you back with him, give the bastards and the now-ex-friends fully a piece of your mind

Would be nice if this kind of realism was around sometimes. People really need to stop with this "love conquers all, so it's women's responsibility to cure violent guys" bs. At least where I live, conservative Christian cults do it, and it results in pretty immense human rights abuses and suffering.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Data's Day remains one of my favorite STTNG episodes. Regarding the dance sequence on the holodeck: Am I the only one who remembers that Data chose a sexy blonde dance partner after Dr. Crusher left the scene - or did I dream it?
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

And by "Neelix" I mean "useless smiling ugly pestering annoying thing".

Ok, ok, I never ever liked Neelix, but at least it was sort of touching when he decided to stay on the asteroid - I was happy, 'cos he was a real pain in the... nose, but it was a little sad too - bitteraweet.

This is the first time ever I've been watching Enterprise. Please, no spoilers!! I do hope they leave him on a asteroid too! And Archer back to Earth, where maybe he can make a difference making easier decisions.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

I kinda think this episode could have worked if Geordi had displayed some - even a bit - of insight into the pattern he'd fallen into yet again. I don't even mind the eventual romance (if the actress had been better and had some chemistry with Burton...). But the development is all too pat and simplistic, with Aquiel playing too much of a "manic pixie dreamgirl" stereotype (at least in her logs, and oddly well before Garden State).

It's funny because it's not as though Geordi is incapable of having a friendly but non-creepy relationship. Even if platonic, that's just what he had with that one in "Identity Crisis". The episode could have been a whole lot more interesting if Aquiel had actually been an acquaintance or friend (or more) from Geordi's past, maybe someone he never knew well. Gets to know her finally through her logs, *feels* and maybe mourns her presumed death, and then has more reason both to defend her when she does appear, with a much better developed romance.

Now I don't know that Renee Jones and Burton really had the chemistry to pull this off, but maybe that reflects the weakness of the writing rather than the actors themselves.

Anyway, it's still something of a clunker, but I don't really cringe through any scenes (as compared to, say, season one or even much of "Galaxy's Child").
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

No stars. This episode is a cynical attempt to fabricate the bases for the Prime Directive. There is no ethical dilemma at all. If the Doc really had the cure, he ought to have handed for the suffering people. He claimed to be a scientist, but he jumped to conclusions too easily - actually, it is hard to believe he really could find a cure so fast. They (he and Archer) did played God.

In DS9, Doctor Bashir faced similar situations and no Prime Directive stopped him, at least, to try to find a cure.

Everything was going well before the stupid twist. What I thought was going to happen, logically, was that since the Doctor couldn't possibly find a cure, the hopeless people would try to force Archer to hand over Warp technology, as hinted more than once.

Well, I guess our “Neelix” Doc did not pass in the charisma test. Under the same circumstances, let’s think, what would Bones do? Bashir? Crusher? Any human doctor?
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I've just watched this one and it's damn frustrating because there's a very good idea at the heart of it, but it comes across as one of those initial great concepts that a writer is so in love with that they just don't think it through.

For a start, I don't buy Odan - a seasoned negotiator - jeopardising his mission by continuing to obsess over Crusher. I can buy the romance, but as soon as he got to work with the Alpha and Beta ambassadors he surely must have put his relationship on hold until the non-more-high stakes mission was completed. Faced with interplanetary war, he should have been laser-focused on the task at hand, not swooning over Crusher. And that's even before he had the added grievous complication of Riker's body. The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the... um... not quite one?

McFadden Gates plays Crusher's confusion, anger, love pretty darn well and fortunately for the most part she manages to stay in professional mode when the chips are down... well, for the most part up to the point when she visits Odan's / Riker's quarters. At no point are Riker's feelings held into account, and unless there was a poker game when Riker drunkenly recollected about a symbiote-swingers party he once dropped his shuttlecraft keys in on, then I especially don't buy that Crusher would be so incredibly insensitive to not view it as an issue.

I do sort of buy the ending though, it is a legitimate case of emotional whiplash that Crusher has gone through, and it's reasonably well handled, it's just again... the Riker question negates any high-ground she might feel she has. It's a shame that the run up has made the romance so incredibly preposterous, and it fails to really explore the 'twist' by finding further richness in the concept. And I'm still amazed that Picard didn't smite the both of them at any point with one of his classic, "Not good enough, damnitt! Not good enough!" outbursts over their distracted mooning. So bah. Just two stars - barely - for trying.

The frustrating thing is it could have worked as a strange romance, and as a further character piece for Crusher. But I resent how it diminishes her. How she (and Odan) put the critical mission, and so blatantly Riker, subservient to their brief relationship. And yet the interesting core idea remains. One interesting enough that I started obsessing about how it could be made to work, and so I came up with my own version.

(Um, I started writing this and it pretty much virtually turned into a massive story synopsis-fiction type thing. What started off as a couple of paragraphs kept getting more and more complicated as fresh issues with trying to square away as the fundamental, "But dude! Riker!" issue kept surfacing in the romance. I don't think I've fully solved it, and in a sudden leap to make the tired Generic Alien plot more interesting I've possibly even compounded it, but hey... if you're bored then prepare to fill a coffee break...)


Have the same set up, only this time all parties in the episode know the basic truth about the Trill. Odan and Crusher are falling for each over on the outward trip. Upon arrival, have the ambassadors immediately demand the meeting be held on a remote, secure station. Both factions forbid any outside contact out of paranoia, agreeing only to have the faction ambassadors and a Federation representative, in this case Riker. However on their way there Odan and Riker are attacked in their shuttle-craft. The shuttle-craft manages to dock, but Odan is badly injured. The ambassadors cannot agree to allow either side's medics attend, but in the face of righteous Riker wrath allow Crusher aboard to tend to him.

Odan reveals his host body is dying. "I shall miss him. Poor soul, he learned so much in his slumber. He would have inherited my memories, my skills in the Parting Ritual. Get word to his people." The talks are failing. Riker volunteers his body. The ambassadors are desperate, limited hostilities are breaking out in their off world colonies, and unable to agree on one of their own for obvious reasons, they happily acede to Riker's request.

Riker voluntarily agrees to the symbiosis. Before doing so Odan explains that since the joining will be temporary their true symbiotic nature will not entwine to the usual degree, and that though Riker will carry the memories of the experience, he will not carry a piece of Odan's spirit within him after separation. "It seems strange," says Riker, "... to be put away inside my own body, no longer my own master. Hagridden." Odan replies that a Trill is incapable of committing to an action against the will of the host, that the evolved survival traits of the Trill dictate that it cannot be a threat to a host's soul on any level - the nature of the connection forbids it. If such an existential threat existed, the hand of every species would turn against the Trill. Instead, they have evolved to truly benefit both the host and the self. "Besides," grins Odan, "Though a host sleeps, they in a way sense... a Trill that tries to live a life that runs contrary to the soul of a host... well, let's just say that existence becomes one long terrible hangover."

The process takes time, with thoughts and memories running between the two of them almost as a fever dream. Sometimes it is Odan who awakens and speaks, sometimes Riker. When Riker does speak he reveals how strange it is, how it is as if he felt he had dreamt of being in love with Crusher, but that the feeling slips away from him, like a dream upon awakening. Crusher, a little freaked out but trying not to show it, tells him to try not to be embarrassed, to just imagine it as being like an instance of one of Troi's rare, strong emphathic reactions. Riker tells her how he's not embarrassed. "Odan really loves you, you know..." Crusher smiles. Riker grimaces at the pain before saying... "You know, if I don't make it through all this... make sure they remember me... as a badass. I want that said. At my funeral. With a flyby." Crusher grins through the tears. She runs a scan of Riker's brain functions, and the tricorder shows the brain wave adjusting to reveal a pattern consistent with Odan.

Crusher is communicating with Picard in her room, telling him over the screen that Odan now sees through Riker's eyes, and that Riker sleeps deep within his own body. She tells him how difficult it is, but that they are focused on their mission. She explains how she is monitoring brain activity and that Odan's brain pattern is strong and vital... but she then reveals that a faint echo of Riker's plays beneath... like a quiet counter-refrain subsumed in the music. Picard asks as to the risk of Riker becoming lost permanently to the main symphony. Crusher explains that at this level of symbiosis, as Odan loses consciousness and sleeps, Riker should be able to reach out, with his own pattern becoming more dominant. She also states that she's been reading up on the host races accounts of the process, and that it truly is temporary.

As Odan does his diplomacy stuff, with Crusher in attendance, she becomes drawn once again to him. A Picard star-date voice over reveals that the talks are grinding on - two weeks now - but little progress, and radical elements in both governments are becoming increasingly fractious. Alone together amidst warring personalities, Odan and Crusher draw together in mutual support, trying to emotionally support each other in the face of the raw anger between both sides. A quiet, gentle, romance kindles again... a hand held, a gentle kiss. Love blossoms again, but both resist taking it futher. "You know," remarks Crusher ruefully, "This reminds me of another relationship I once had."

"I won't be in this body for long... after all this... a few years from now when I have truly become one in mutual symbiosis with a new host... will you come find me?"

"I will, Odan."

But the talks continue. Odan begins to fear of failure, and Crusher tries to rally him. "You're a great comfort to me, Beverley." They hold each other's hands, begin to lean in, but then remembering break away. "It's strange... Odan. The more I look at you, the less I see Riker. I'm not sure how I feel about that. It's like a betrayal of him. And yet he's still there."

"We look at creation through the eyes of another, Beverley. Some among us say we feel so intensely, with such emotion, because we sense the barrier of an alien skin between ourselves and the universe, a barrier we must penetrate. Others say that it is as a woman in term feeds for two, so we must fuel our emotion to sustain two souls. Perhaps it is this compulsion to reach out, this connection others cannot help but pick up on... perhaps this is what makes us the best negotiators..."

Beverley leans in again...

"Well, I think Troi might have something to say about..."

And then drama! Picard pops up on screen and states that a large group of Beta diplomats and citizens have just been expelled from Alpha, and that their convoy is under attack from radical elements. The Enterprise must leave and join the fight to protect the convoy! (Presumably Worf is thinking "Best day ever.") The Enterprise zips off.

"Great timing Picard."

"Probably for the best," says Crusher, collecting herself. "Though to be honest, if Riker didn't still have that beard..."

And then suddenly - disaster! Their romantic-comedy beat is interupted by the station coming under attack from more radical elements. After good old actor hurling-selves-about-a-bit they make it to the main conference room. The shields are failing. The Enterprise is too far away. The attendant female Alpha and male Betan leaders begin accusing each other, but Odan calls them to order, stating that if they want to survive they must work together and get a message out to their combined fleets. They grudgingly accept in the face of a Hero-Speech from Odan, and their combined groups rush to the consoles to do jiggery-pokery with the shields, call for their ships, etc.

"This is bad, Beverley. If one of them should die, I don't think anything could stop a devastating escalation."

"But look at them. Working together, taking orders from each other, uniting... perhaps there is hope..." offers Crusher.

He grips her hand, a fire of passion in Riker's eyes. Suddenly a Nev-R-Explodo console panel erupts in patented sparks, injuring both Odan / Riker and the Alpha leader. A wave of Alpha / Beta reinforcements beats off the rebels ships.

After a glance at Odan, Crusher and the Beta leader race to the Alpha leader. She grips her wrist and whispers, "I don't matter... nothing else matters... he was right... don't let the talks fail..." and then falls unconscious. The Beta leader looks shocked... "He speaks truth..."

She takes charge as shock seeps in amongst the party. She orders both Alpha Leader and Odan be taken to sickbay. She tells the Alpha deputy to tell the fleet that the Alpha leader is only lightly injured and is indisposed whilst his superficial cuts are being cleaned. "But he is comatose!" "Are you a Doctor, Mr. Deputy? I'll thank you very much to relay my diagnosis. In the meantime, maintain the quarantine! Beta Leader! You need to buy us time!"

Crusher examines her patients. She discovers that the Alpha leader has severe neural trauma. It can be repaired, but the nerves of the brain have to be stimulated during a long recovery process. In effect, the Alpha leader is in a coma - her brain wave registering on the tricorder as the mere lightest refrain.

Odan's brain patterns are fluctuating and Riker's keep surfacing. The stress of the injury has disordered the symbiosis. "The neural links are failing. You must remove me to save Riker."

"But you'll die."

"We'll both die if I remain here."

She turns to the Beta leader. The Beta leader speaks with bitter sadness. "She's a woman revered amongst many of the Alphas. If she dies... they go to war. No doubt the radicals planned this. They probably planned it together. We cannot stall the fleet for ever. If only we both could speak to them... billions would need not die..."

A look passes between Crusher and the leader.

"Listen to me Odan. We're going to transplant you into the Alpha Leader's body."

"The symbiosis must be voluntary! It is cardinal!"

"She's not even conscious. I can't ask her."

"You misunderstand... do you understand the nature of the soul...? I spoke truth, Beverley... we cannot exist in an unwilling body. It is death to both host and passenger. Do you think... she will accept?"

She looks at the Alpha leader's brain patterns. "... if we don't try... she's dead anyway. I can't tell you how many regulations I'm about to break... let alone every ethical code in my body... but weighed against the lives of billions..."

The operation is a success! The frowning and suspicious fleets accept a stand-down in the face of a joint declaration from the Beta and *cough* Alpha leaders. The Federation promises to make every effort to solve the Betan energy crisis, and to aid the Betan scientists in their quest to fix the Alphan eco-system. Big handshakes all round.

As Crusher is packing up, Riker enters. They talk. Riker jokes about how Odan left him with a craving for pickles. "And I know what you want to ask me, but daren't, Beverley. How much do I remember?"

Beverley nods.

"I can't say it's quite like before, that it was all fading. We were together too long. I carry some of him in me now, in a way... not like a host after parting... nothing so profound... but like I said..." he grins, "...pickles." And then he looks serious. "But also a memory, of a love between you and another, a love that I looked upon - as if from outside myself - looked upon as a friend... and gave you my blessing."

"Thanks Will."

"And Beverley, if you're ready... then Odan wishes to see you. He's waiting outside, but he understands if..."

"No, thank you Will. I'm ready."

Riker welcomes Odan in. "I'll leave you too alone," Riker says. "I've a lot of paperwork to catch up on. It's a good thing Starfleet agreed to hush this entire thing up, or I don't think we'd ever see daylight again. Anyway, I'll send Odan in..."

Crusher thought herself prepared. But it's still a shock seeing the Alpha leader.

"How... how goes the..."

"The mission continues. Peace is a delicate thing with these people. Many speeches to be made. They're trying to restore my poor host's psyche... it's delicate business... and in the strictest secrecy... but my people are helping... behind the scenes. In time, I'll be able to part with her... she's a good person, deep down you know... underneath the fear."

"It's strange... I always thought of you as a he... and now..."

"It's no longer physical?"

Crusher looks down and blushes.

Odan takes her hand. "Forgive me. Inhabiting an Alphan politician's body... they're a lot blunter than I thought... it rubs off on you... Beverley, are those feelings still there?"

Crusher looks up. "We really had something Odan. I love you still, in a way. The first time... how you moved, looked, smiled... it was magical. I thought it lost when you... with... in... Riker... but then I began to feel it again... and now..." she sighs, "I was never of that persuasion, Odan. I don't know it would work out."

Odan gives a tight smile. Nods.

But Crusher continues, "We know so little about the Trill. Sometimes it's a little scary for us... something so different. But we get used to things... in time. Maybe even this..." she looks up at Odan, and Odan leans forward and kisses her.

"Yes, in time... call me..."

Exterior Enterprise, classy non pan-pipe music, fade to credits.


So. That's it. I can't pretend it's anywhere even remotely in the same system as Ursula LeGuin's beautiful Left Hand of Darkness, which for me is the great science-fiction love story between a man and a being who switches between man and woman and somewhere in between, but hey. Go read that instead. It's amazing and has ice planets and consciously a little Star Trek in its DNA itself.
Oh, and Orlando by Virginia Woolf is also splendid. Thank you for indulging my ramble.

P.S: Thanks for the great reviews site, Jammer.

Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jennifer Sisko wearing a bikini and stepping out of fire was literally the hottest scene in the series.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

And they call it Gaia. Barf. This episode has two stars written all over it. Nice, predictable and a bit boring with no consequences. "They have an enemy. It's called time." Oh please.
Set Bookmark
Panagiotis Karatasios
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The difference between discovery' s first season and other bad first seasons in trek shows is that the other showd were episodic ( even ds 9 first season) while discovery had a , bad, story arc. Theis has more lasting consequences
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Lwaxana has to be one of the most annoying characters are conceived in Star Trek, she would make a fine security officer though. :-)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

If I remember correctly, wasn't this meant to be the continuation of the alien threat from "Conspiracy"? Someone then supposedly decided that the horror angle wasn't what Trek was about, so they introduced the Borg.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

This episode did have one mildly amusing bit, when one of the ships approaches the Enterprise and Picard orders them to do something unexpected (drop the shields? I can't remember) and Riker asks him why, and he replies, "In case we decide to surrender to them, Number One."
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 2:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

@NoPoet - Fortunately, limited runs and shorter seasons are becoming at least somewhat more accepted over here, and Netflix has opened up another avenue for ideas that don't necessarily lend themselves to 20-25 episode seasons. Some ideas are better-suited for television than film but at the same time won't work if you try to keep them going and going and going. For example, The X-Files would have been a stronger body of work if the alien conspiracy thread had been definitively wrapped up at some point, and Buffy, despite a strong finale, IMO never quite found its footing again once the high school setting was left behind.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

Solid episode and does feel like the show is hitting it's stride. There is a point though were Malcolm almost dies from that fire, really hammered home how little I care about him. I don't even think the other characters would be all that upset about it.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 1:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@TrekOrrTreat82 I vaguely recall hearing at one point that there was originally an intention to introduce the Borg at the end of Season 1. I don't know if the idea was that they destroyed the outposts and the writers just decided to hold off on revealing that, or if this was a "replacement" story for whatever the first Borg story otherwise would have been. It seems unlikely that the Borg would have been the ones destroying the outposts since they wouldn't have been anywhere near Federation space or the Neutral Zone at the time, unless they had some scout ships operating covertly.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

@ Jason R.,

"Wouldn't a society based on personal wealth be cool with its ostentatious display?"

I think you've cracked this one wide open. You've convinced me to change my rating of the episode from "stupid" to "stoopid."
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

This episode had a solid mystery element.

I just don't see how someone can have a back and forth conversation with the hologram of a dead person.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Q understands why we watch TNG:

"Jean-Luc, sometimes I think the only reason I come here is to listen to these wonderful speeches of yours." - Q
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"On the whole I might give you TNG, but it had more that it's share of clunkers."

TNG has clunkers, but they only make up about 25% of a given season on average. That percentage is about reversed for an average season of Voyager. The big advantage TNG has is that even when the episode isn't the best, the actors can still put on an enjoyable performance (take for example lower quality scripts like "Encounter at Farpoint" or "Datalore" or even "The Neutral Zone" which are all still pretty entertaining).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

"You're right, I don't think I can take this episode seriously any more"

And another thing - why were the Ferengi so offended about Starfleet officers wearing gold? Wouldn't a society based on personal wealth be cool with its ostentatious display? What would they have done with it, used it for electrical cabling?
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Trent

..."Was the Federation aware of the need to outfit all crew members in sensible clothing, and then Trump became the president of the United Federation of Planets and suddenly we have micro mini-skirts?"

HAHA.... Make Trek Great Again!!

@ Chrome

"Similarly composed shows like Voyager or Enterprise certainly don’t hold a candle to TNG."

Sometimes they did, sometimes they didn't. On the whole I might give you TNG, but it had more that it's share of clunkers.

@ SpaceHippy

"I wish there was a separate page for comments on the season as a whole. I think I was reasonably entertained episode to episode and I'd rate most a 2.5 or 3.0 but the season as a whole is far less than the sum of its parts. Despite being entertained by the episodes, when I step back and take a look at this first season, I'm terribly disappointed."

That's about how I feel. When you put all your eggs in the "season long arc" basket, you'd better not drop any eggs in the end. I think we got scrambled.

"I came out of this not caring about any of the characters and I'm just not "into it."

I won't go that far, there are many of the characters I really enjoyed.

"Expanse is light years ahead of DIS, and while dark and gritty, manages to keep you invested in the outcome and plot lines."

I don't know that you can really compare. I too like Thr Expanse, but what's so good about it is you don't know what's coming. That's the bad thing about doing a prequel, we already know what's coming.

"I hope Jammer finds the time to review this great series someday."

Jammer reviewing anything would be great.

"I honestly feel after this season 1 of DIS that it's time to retire Trek for good and let us enjoy what came before."

Well, I can't go there. I ALWAYS look forward to new trek, even if we are disappointed at times.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

It is another derivative ok show on surface. Actually quite enjoyable. What I really liked was the captain's attitude. Despite being "pre-industrial", those people are not backward morons. The Doc said it loud and clear: had that scientist be born on earth or Vulcan, she would be very successful. The notion is quite clear: ancient people were NOT less intelligent or capable than modern people, so there is no evident reason for patronizing "pre-industrial" civilizations. Archer did the right thing.
Another blow on the contrived Vulcan "prime directive" policy.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

@ Jason R.,

You're right, I don't think I can take this episode seriously any more.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

This empire had the power to literally move stars and yet was wiped out by a supernova?
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

The scenes at the beginning with the Ferengi moving around past the knocked out crew could potentially have been compelling - if they hadn't been the Ferengi, but rather some new race. It could have been mysterious and creepy - why are these people here, what are they looking for, what do they want with the Enterprise crew? But because it's the Ferengi, we know they're here to steal stuff and leave, so we're just waiting for the plot proper to start.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,978
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.