Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,146 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 886
Jack - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

@ SkepicalMI

If you compare first officers on the 24th century series (Riker-Kira-Chakotay), only one of the them really gets to see growth in their character, and it's largely because the setting of her series is larger than The Ship. Kira grew by leaps and bounds as a character as DS9 progressed, but Riker and especially Chakotay became smaller and smaller as time passed.
Jack - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 1:15pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Oh SkepticalMI, my hats off to you. Had me on the floor in the Relics review pondering an exchange between Wilbur Wright and a contemporary jet mechanic, and now this masterpiece of sarcasm.
HolographicAndrew - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 12:47pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved this episode. I don't really understand the negative comments about Garret Wang's acting when I see an episode like this. He was great in this one. I think I can say I liked this episode a lot more than anything in season 4.
Yanks - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 12:41pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Agree James. But we did get Picard's drumhead speech though :-)
Petrus - Sat, Oct 25, 2014, 8:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Just rewatched this; and I think I must have only seen it once before, a long time ago. As people here probably know, usually I will take whatever B'Elanna fanservice I can get, but I actually agree with Leaf on this one. I think I know what they were going for here, but this episode was just plain awkward. The teaser with Vorik forcing himself on B'Elanna was cringe inducing.

As for the rape issue with Tom, I agree with people that that was icky as well. There is one particular scene where she is repeatedly kissing him, which does leave you wondering what you'd do if you were in Tom's shoes, but it's over almost as quickly as it starts, and then that is basically it.

Alexander Enberg's acting was mostly good, and it particularly reminded me of some of the chaotic Vulcan emotionalism we saw at times on *Enterprise.* It was a bit forced and off-key at times, yes; but said times were rare.

I'd probably give this one 2.5 stars, simply due to the ickiness/awkwardness factor.
Andrew - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 11:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

The dilemma of the episode felt a bit too easy, with Locarno coming off as a big jerk (talking about friendship and team loyalty yet pinning blame on the member that died) and with Picard warning he would tell otherwise.
Peremensoe - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 8:07pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

It has nothing to do with that. It's not *three* the numeral that's being output, it's "Three" as part an already-known (because Federation speakers have spoken of it) planetary identifier. Once the UT recognizes [whatever] as the foreign identifier for a thing already indexed in the Federation-hearer's language under a Federation-language name, it's going to spit out the name the Fed-hearer recognizes.
James - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 7:04pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

From the beginning of the episode I had a hard time reconciling how renowned and legendary Norah Satie that was being described in dialogue with the clearly lesser person standing before us in person. So pretty much the entirety of the episode was just an exercise in waiting for shoes to drop.
Jack - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 6:41pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I doubt that the UT would translate a proper name in a foreign language as Something Three. If the word for "three" in the foreign language wasn't spoken, there's no reason for the UT to spit out "three".
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Robert,

When I first saw DS9 my eyes threw fire at the screen each time I saw Ezri... :-) Jadzia lag I guess.

I have gotten over that and have started to appreciate the character and Nicole much much more.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:34pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

HolographicAndrew, I agree completely.

I refer to this episode as the "neuter Species 8472" episode.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:31pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

I never understood the distain for this episode either Robert.

Not a top 10 episode or anything, but at least average.
Yanks - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 1:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

A top 10 Voyager episode for me.

I can't wait to rewatch Voyager and review it :-)
HolographicAndrew - Fri, Oct 24, 2014, 11:10am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Yeah this was good episode, I just wish they had used some other alien rather than 8472. They were a pretty cool enemy to begin with, why mess with that so soon? And they go so far as to actually make them human in this episode.

Other than that pretty good episode, nice performance by Robert Beltran in this one and the previous episode too.
$G - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 11:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

I like this one. This is yet another episode that focuses on a new character with lots of guest actors, and I'm surprisingly fine with it. Yes, the main cast hasn't had a whole lot to do this season but I'm surprisingly okay with that. It doesn't feel like episodes focus on them for the sake of it, which is what a lot of late-series shows end up doing. I also don't feel like the stars are getting short changed, either. S7 gives the expanded roster a lot of meat and I'm really liking it. (Granted, watching it on DVD makes the waits between episodes non-existent. I can see why texture episodes like this grated on people back during week-to-week-to-hiatus airing.

This one's good because, like Jammer says, there are no family histrionics. No shouting, no predictable murder scenes, no overt Orion Syndicate mafia cliches. Just a nice, pleasant little drama with a mystery that wraps it up (and a mystery I had no idea would be this neat).

Also, New Sydney is a cool location, just like that cyberpunk hell in "Honor Among Thieves".

The Memory Alpha post about this ep makes it sound like it was an absolute production mess. I like it, though. Understated, quiet, enjoyable. 3 stars. Recommended.
Kubel - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 10:49pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

This was a fast forward episode. I probably would have rather skipped it. But it sucks that we only have a few more episodes left to tell the story, and they had to squander this 44 minutes on, what exactly?

Also, how does Adama still have a functioning liver after all these years?
ian - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 9:56pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Okay, if they could scan time in the future why didn't Braxton know what he was doing before?
Later they bring him back and destroy continuity and let him remember!
Time travel episodes are really pushing the absurdity to new levels and should best be forgotton and left in the "past."
Of course, that will never happen as long as Trek continues...
navamske - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 7:01pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

I thought it was odd that a member of a nonhuman species would use the word "humanitarian."

Oh, I get it. The Kraylor guy actually said, "[We're on a] Kraylorian [mission]” and the universal translator rendered it as "We're on a humanitarian mission." That must be it.
Latex Zebra - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 5:54pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

It's funny. I always find myself returning to this episode when looking for good Voyager episodes to watch to kill time.

This is a strangely captivating story. As I've previously mentioned it requires a lot of suspension of belief and repeat viewings only challenge that.
The thing is, I don't want to challenge it. I genuinely love this episode and niggles like the bombardment stopping long enough to get Gotana-Retz back to the planet or Doc's suddenly announced son don't detract from a truly original story.
I wonder what tweaks could be made to round this off and make it all coherant.
Then I remember my earlier comment and think... Why worry.
Even without being a nailed on 4 star episode this rates as a Voyager classic in my opinion for being exactly what I want Star Trek to be. Fun, touching and entertaining.
In my top 10 Voyager without doubt.
William B - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 4:27pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I dunno. I wouldn't describe Spock and Sarek as arrogant. However, TOS does portray them at times in negative lights as being stubborn and pigheaded. "Journey to Babel," after all, is Sarek's only appearance in TOS proper, and we learn that he essentially cut off contact with Spock for choosing Starfleet. There are quite a few elements of the Vulcans in TOS that were taken from a certain old-school Jewish culture, as Nimoy has attested at length, and this story has a lot in common with the "The Jazz Singer" (or, if you prefer, The Simpsons' "Like Father, Like Clown")-type story of a rabbi's son choosing a profession he deems unworthy of him and thus cutting off contact. This is not strictly logical, though Sarek frames it as such: his son has disappointed him, and therefore until his son redeems himself in his eyes it is proper parenting to shun him; or, rather, it is logical in that it follows from Sarek's core assumptions, but those assumptions override what should be bigger axioms: that his son doing good in the world is something to be applauded rather than shunned.

Spock does go out of his way to make fun of his human costars pretty often, in what I think goes beyond "yes I think that emotionalism is a poor way of making decisions" and into the occasional pettiness. I think in Spock's case, it's really because his proximity to humans makes it difficult for him to fully separate from them, and his difficulty reconciling his human side makes him want to point out his differences as often as possible. That said, I do think Spock is shown to be more frequently in the right than McCoy is, and less frequently led astray. I think Spock's biggest weaknesses are an occasional lack of imagination in comparison to Kirk and, especially, poor PR. Spock doesn't manage his image well when he's in command, which fails to induce confidence in his officers. This failing is only a problem when one is dealing with other emotional races, however.

I guess to continue: while Enterprise and the Abrams films (well, 2009 anyway, I haven't seen Into Darkness still) really do go to extremes in terms of portraying Vulcans as closed-minded and bigoted, there is a little more original series-era justification. Star Trek: The Animated Series is generally considered not to be canon, but "Yesteryear," Dorothy Fontana's Spock time travel story, is a pretty big influence I think, one which gets a canon name-drop in "Unification" IIRC. I know this because when I was younger I had the Star Trek Encyclopedia and it considered that episode canon and no others, because, you know, huge dork. But anyway, the episode does have the other Vulcan children ostracizing Spock pretty heavily, even though it's TOS era. Fontana is basically the expert on TOS Vulcans -- maybe the biggest creative voice besides Nimoy's in terms of fleshing out Spock from Roddenberry's very rough original conception.

None of that means that Solok or the "Field of Fire" guy are really particularly precedented, which they aren't. Spock was meant to be a hero and is ultimately both TOS' arguably biggest breakout character and is also someone whose qualities are much more frequently admirable than not.

The thing is, Vulcans being unethical do have TOS precedent, in T'Pring's chessmaster maneuvering in "Amok Time," which Spock compliments at the end as flawlessly logical. While she breaks no laws, T'Pring's use of Spock's emotional frenzy and Vulcan rituals to get the lover she wants is some coldblooded calculation playing with life and death. It also is something that would be unnecessary if it weren't for the extreme ritualistic nature of Vulcan marriage, bonding etc., which apparently does not permit escape, partly because of the intense, overwhelming mating urge which Vulcan ritual just barely holds in.

So, you know, I do think a Vulcan either acting as genius chessmaster, letting people die for personal gain, is precedented, as is Vulcans in emotional amok mode when their defenses shut down. I think in that sense the Vulcan killer in "Field of Fire" sort of almost works. He is coldly logical in his approach and attack and emotional in his motivations -- PTSD as Robert said.

However, I do think the episode places the blame on his Vulcanness. He wanted to kill people because he hates emotion!!!! Really? Rather than showing complexity in a race, this takes one trait associated with the race and magnifies it out of proportion, moving from disdain for personal emotion to killing happy people. Because logic demanded it, is his reasoning, because Vulcans like logic, right? It's not the main point of the episode so whatever, I guess.
Niall - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 4:26pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I agree with the other comments above praising this episode, for the same reasons.
Jack - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 3:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

As I've stated before, I give Voyage rquite a bit of leewya when comparing it to other series because it was the first one to be charged with carrying a network, rather than being syndicated. That left it far, far more at the mercy of absurd gimmicks, ridiculous promos, and various other meddling from network suits.
Jack - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 3:38pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

TH said:

"The biggest hole I found in this episode was the conversation between Chakotay and the Captain where she says she's wondering if he was right that they could never bring Seven "into the fold". I have a hard time believing that Janeway would take this technological borg problem of the week and actually have it in her mind that this is an internal Seven problem, and not some external force acting upon her."

I get where you're coming from, but I saw Janeway's comments more as meaning that Seven's Borg nature may leave her vulnerable to a number of unique and unpredictable situations, of which this is but one, which may make reclaiming Seven chronically problematic.
Jack - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 3:19pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

The midnight snacker ate an animal leg Neelix was saving for some ensign's birthday, but with Voyager's compliment, someone on Voyager is likely having a birthday every three or four days...is it really that special?
Christoph - Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 9:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

It is by far the worst DS9 episode. Another rehash of a boring American kind of sport in the future. I liked the pure US-American epis.. - eh excuse me - Ferengi episodes much better. They were always very funny.
Next »Page 1 of 886
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer