Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 39,396 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,576
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, May 24, 2017, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Not a bad episode but I got turned off right at the start where, again, it's Voyageur crew being imprisoned on some alien world. We've seen this before...
But the episode does show a very dark, sinister side to the prison -- certainly not the kind of thing you'd see from TOS, for example. It does try to portray prison life on an alien world as raw and as realistically as it can -- may be better than any other Trek episode I've seen (and there have been many).

I didn't know what to make of the Zio character -- had he truly been able to negate the effects of the clamp (which I agree with @Skeptical's insightful comments that it is just a plot device and unnecessary) or is he truly insane with his damn manifesto.

For me, I wasn't overly impressed with Kim's acting - he did what he had to do -- he lost it on occasion, he was at his wits end trying to get the other prisoners to work together. It was OK.

Janeway's treatment of the 2 criminals was odd but also as @Skeptical said, I'm not sure what else she could have done. Nothing hugely wrong with it. The male prisoner was a wuss -- immediately giving into Janeway's threats of sending him back to the authorities. And the 14-year old looked more like a 20-something -- but that's not that important, just a random observation.

I agree with @Diamond Dave's brief assessment as well. It's a solid 2.5 stars out of 4 episode. Some gritty performances but the plot as a whole is well-trodden.
Set Bookmark
Smith
Wed, May 24, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

A lot of good points brought up about the show.

I would venture to say there is little continuity in Star Trek in general - most shows reset during the next episode with previous events/circumstances rarely brought up later in the series. I've also always had the impression that these episodes were written and spit out quickly under tight time constraints, so that there simply wasn't much time to sit around and think about the past history of characters (and Star Trek history) and how that would play into the present situation.

And of course, the show's entertainment value always trumps logical script-writing as well as any kind of scientific accuracy. That's television.

I would have to disagree that Jellico had an initial 'disdain for Riker'. From the moment he beamed on board, he seemed genuinely excited to work with Riker and the entire crew. It wasn't until he found out that Riker had neglected to carry out a specific request that his entire demeanor changed.

The conflict really seemed to surround the idea that it was Jellico's job to come onboard and immediately start preparing the ship in every possible way for combat. Rather than having outright disdain for anyone, he expected to have every order/request carried out without question, and immediately labeled someone as hostile if they showed any resistance. This may have been a failing on his part, having worked with diffiulct crews in the past during temporary missions, and transposing that hostility onto Riker for simply wanting to discuss the situation with him.

More than anything, it seemed he was expecting that, of all the crews he'd worked with, the flagship would be the easiest, full of top-notch officers who are ready to go above and beyond. When this does not occur (at least not up to his standards), that's when his disappointment begins.

Additionally, the attitudes of the crew certainly got to him as well. For example, rather than complaining and being outraged by the workload, if Geordi had said "Yes sir, I'll get right on that and do the best I possibly can to finish it in time", Jellico probably wouldn't have even cared if the job took longer than scheduled, as long as he knew that the crew had a great attitude and wanted to work hard.

This was why he immediately took so well to Data, and had him follow his run around the ship. It wasn't in Data's nature to complain, and instead simply calculate things coldly (like how long a job takes) without emotion or personal grievances.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, May 24, 2017, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Just watch, after that superbowl they're going to change the OT rules again haha. "EACH side gets a possession until the Patriots lose!"
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

That and you can only hit about a square foot of the QB and then only for a couple split seconds... it's gonna be flag football before you know it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Chuck,

"One need go no further than the "Alien Nation" series of mid-1990s to find this exact concept, even down to the Binnaum (the Tenktonese version of the cogenitor) who was also saddled with what appeared to be an under-educated or under-appreciated image. The only real difference between the cogenitor of ENT vs. the Binnaum of AN fame was that the Binnaum, while relatively "dumb" in appearance (Albert was at a menial job with the police department) was in fact a revered figure in the religious rites of the Tenktonese."

I wasn't aware. I keep tellng myself to watch that series.

That said, nothing is new on TV. Nothing. Just wrapped differently.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Don't agree Real Human Robot.

On a couple fronts...

#1, this isn't a US asylumn issue.

#2. None of these exist buy any information we know other than "I can read now" from "it".

"refugees fleeing persecution have the right to be granted asylum. That Charles' predicament constitutes persecution is quite clear, given its definition within, for example, the United States' court system, which lists numerous types of harm that apply here: forced labor (and possibly sexual abuse), slavery, unlawful detention, intimidation, interference with privacy, deliberate deprivation of employment and other life essentials, and restrictions on access to education."

You, as so many do, are making HUMAN assumptions based on human values learn from human experiences on Earth.

You can't do that. You have no evidence that this "it" was abused or persecuted at all.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Gooz,

I agree with you here concerning Bashir Gooz. I still can't really believe this got past anyone in charge of DS9.

Now I can't say I'm with you concerning Lauren... what's to dislike? .. a brilliant sexy woman? :-)
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 23, 2017, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

So....Bashir is finally outed as a sexual predator who grooms/creates his victims.

Serena is essentially a 3-day-old child (based on her experience of the world) who wants to be the woman Bashir wants her to be. As noted above: Gross.

Once she does manage to get back into her cocoon (probably to escape being molested by Bashir), he jumps right back in trying to build her back up again as his perfect pedo bride.

Also, WTF is up with the character of the sexed up mutant? She's smart, socially aware, and...her mutation just made her slutty? Oh, the horror! A sexually assertive smart lady. Reason enough to lock her up with Wilford Brimley, autistic Ethan Hawke, and Echo's mute kid sister!

Finally, when will Bashir and O'Brien finally get it on?
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, May 23, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

What’s so bad about feeling good? The colonists had purpose enough to farm and cultivate food to live. Their health improved to a perfect condition. And they now knew the cure for it. (I would like to know what happened to the animals they’d brought with them. The answer given to that question was evasive.) It seems like the planet possibly could be developed for a recovery facility, under certain conditions. And it was good seeing Jill Ireland again.
Set Bookmark
Real Human Robot
Tue, May 23, 2017, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I think the reason that this episode has resulted in such divisive (not to mention lengthy) commentary is because not one, but two officers can be seen as dropping the ball in the way that they relate to the Vissians.

Although I empathize with Trip's desire to help the Cogenitor (Charles from now on), I can also understand how many commenters here believe he was wrong to interfere. After all, considering the likely practical consequences of Trip's actions, he wasn't ultimately doing a very good job of advancing the cause of the Cogenitors. The establishing of normalized diplomatic and cultural relations would have gone a long way towards allowing the two species to understand and influence one another. And that relationship would have allowed for the human concept of individual rights – for all – to permeate the Vissian society and hopefully help to liberate the three percent of their race being currently oppressed. But Trip severely damaged what could have been an otherwise successful first contact through duplicitous meddling (including lying about where he was and visiting the quarters of the chief engineer without permission). As a result, the Vissians, fearing and mistrusting the influence of humanity, may go to great lengths to avoid them in the future. And since Charles is dead, it's not as though they – I think that's the best pronoun to refer to the Cogenitor sex – will be able to inspire any revolutions at home. So if Trip really wanted to help these people, he's not done so in a very effective way, and he probably should have just kept his nose out of their business. It also wasn't as though anyone had come to him asking for help. Not to mention, rushing off to play the White Knight can often be dangerous. Oftentimes a person can become emotionally invested in a cause about which he knows just enough to be dangerous.

However, once Trip had interfered and had opened Charles' eyes to the possibilities of life, Archer absolutely had an obligation to honor their request for asylum, whether it was politically inconvenient or not. I understand his confusion about what was “right” at this point. He's enjoyed his time with the Vissian captain. He wants to try to salvage what he can of a first contact which, up unto this point, had been one of the shining stars of their mission. He's hearing T'Pol argue strongly for Charles' return. But all of that is made irrelevant by the very clear path which millennia of human international law and tradition have laid out for him regarding asylum. As far back as ancient Greece, slaves had the acknowledged right to flee abusive masters and, reaching a temple or altar, demand to be transferred to a more benevolent person. And our own twentieth and twenty-first century law lays out the framework for asylum quite distinctly: refugees fleeing persecution have the right to be granted asylum. That Charles' predicament constitutes persecution is quite clear, given its definition within, for example, the United States' court system, which lists numerous types of harm that apply here: forced labor (and possibly sexual abuse), slavery, unlawful detention, intimidation, interference with privacy, deliberate deprivation of employment and other life essentials, and restrictions on access to education. The United Nations definition of a refugee (from the Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees amended by the 1967 Protocol) specifically mentions membership in a caste or social group as one of the protected grounds – and Charles' Cogenitor status obviously qualifies. Finally, what completes the UN definition of a refugee is that he is outside the country of his nationality. Once Charles is on board Enterprise (a ship flying the flag of Earth, so to speak), they are no longer in Vissian territory. Archer can ream out Trip all he wants for getting him into this predicament, but his failure to accept the asylum claim flies in the face of every legal and moral human tradition he claims to uphold. In fact, returning Charles is a violation of the central doctrine of refugee protection: non-refoulement.

Archer seems stuck in the sort of emotionally-based logic common to borderline personality, rather than dealing with the situation as it is now. He wishes Trip had never interfered. Sending back Charles is an attempt to make it as though Trip had never interfered. Ergo he sends them back. But that's not the reality. Charles is a different person now. Charles is asking for his help now. And in my opinion, it's far more wrong for him to deny Charles their right to self-determination than it ever was for Trip to stick his nose in where it didn't belong. What matters here is that Charles is a person with desires and rights – and seeing not only their own culture willing to trample on them but also this new alien one would be more than many people could take: it might just seem like the whole universe was unjust.

I don't think Picard would have answered the question this way. In “The Outcast,” although he can't officially sanction Riker's rescue of Soren, he doesn't stop him from acting independently, and it's hard to believe that Riker would have made the attempt if he didn't believe that, once Soren was liberated from detention, her request for asylum from the Federation would have been granted.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

@Yanks

Baseball used to be my #1 favorite sport by far. I'd watch 150 of 162 games a season easy. However since about 2000 I really started getting into football and now that is my favorite. I totally agree with all the rule changes and I think it's eventually going to be detrimental to the sport. For starters a touchback should bring the ball out to the 20, and not the 25. I get they want to increase scoring (Hits on the QB rules doubly enforces this too).

Baseball is a thinking man's sport and people "in the know" are just as excited when somebody gets a sac fly as they are when they belt a HR. I love football but baseball is a true classic that shouldn't be so easily dismissed by Senior Gooz.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Very disappointing finale - but having read the comments and understanding there was a writers' strike helps explain this disaster. Still, I think zero stars is harsh from Jammer - for me, this episode is a bit better than "Manhunt" and isn't as bad as (from ENT "A Night in Sickbay" or "Precious Cargo" or from TOS "Spock's Brain").
The actual plot is very basic - and how Riker is cured all of a sudden at the end is a mystery since the parasite's growth rate stops but it never (as I recall) went negative. It was as if a few steps were skipped. So some of his nerves should still be impaired.
I actually didn't mind the flashbacks until about half-way through them. I've seen most but not all of S1 and S2 and didn't mind seeing the ones that would have Riker go through the appropriate emotions.
The early part of the episode (before the treatment/memories begin) isn't half bad but when considering the overall episode as being very simplistic, I'd rate it 1 star out of 4.

That being said, TNG S2 is pretty weak -- seems most people are of that opinion -- of course it gets much better, but it has its strong episodes too. Would be good to see more consistency in quality of episodes.
Set Bookmark
Mr. Toad
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

Wouldn't it have made much more sense to end it with Archer giving the sensor data to Shran as a way of resolving the hostage crisis? Having him do it in a fit of pique is just such a bad decision.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

This was a fun episode - I liked the character Kolrami though I find it amusing that his race is considered the greatest tacticians and they've never been tested.
The premise of a war games simulation is a valid one and given the Borg threat and how the Federation is about exploration and not battle, it makes sense.
Nice to see the Ferengi as a real threat here and not - as they've become thought of by me like the clowns of the cosmos. Their appearance is convenient so we don't have to live with either Riker or Picard winning although had the story ended in Picard winning, that would have been perfectly acceptable given that he has the superior ship and would not diminish Riker at all.
The Stratagema game is also a nice subplot and its clever that Data doesn't try to beat Kolrami - but pisses him off greatly, which was nice to see. Data's line at the end "I busted him up" is great too.
It's a good but not excellent episode - 3 stars / 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

This is a hit-and-miss episode and I think Jammer's review reflects how I feel about it and where it falls short. The premise is kind of ridiculous that a Klingon warship will "thaw" and just start kicking ass on Federation colonies - but that is the B-plot. Worf getting the Klingon battlecruiser to lower its shields if threatened with phasers also is hardly believable.
What is good about the episode is getting to see Worf's traditional beliefs - but that he is not just rigid. K'Ehleyr is a good character - quite an impressive woman - a good balance that pushes Worf.
One thing that cracks me up is in Worf's calisthenics routine, one of the bad guys he battles is Skeletor!
Anyhow, lots of dancing around Klingon sex - but ultimately (and of course it would) things are left off in a reasonable way between Worf and K'Ehleyr. I rate this 2.5/4 stars - can't say it's a strong episode but the character of K'Ehleyr adds a lot of spice in a much better way than, say, Laxwana.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Some scenes were truly kind of funny - Lwaxana is an comedic character, no doubt and her making Picard uncomfortable was funny at first but then got tiring quickly. Data remains the one character with the most comedic potential in TNG.
The fish creatures were silly - the time in the holodeck was supposed to be humorous but I wasn't amused.
This is one of the weakest TNG episodes - just no plot, slow paced - overall boring.
Majel Barrett is a great actress - really enjoyed her roles in TOS "Amok Time" and "What Are Little Girls Made Of?" Her role as a comic figure in TNG I suppose is one way to include her in the series - she plays the role well, although it doesn't make for great episodes overall to say the least.
When I noticed Mick Fleetwood's name at the start I then started wondering what his role was - didn't see it stated in the credits after the episode. And so he's one of those fish assassins?? What a waste.
This one only gets 0.5 star -- 60 mins. of my life I'll never get back.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, May 23, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

So a few episodes ago, most of the crew was getting letters from home. Paris hadn’t gotten such a letter and if he would get one, he wasn’t sure it’d be something he’d want to read. So maybe he had that in his head and it affected him.

But even given that, this episode wasn’t at all compelling. There wasn’t even good techno-babble. And the alien may have also been a pilot, but didn’t Paris have to log into the computer with his own password at some point? How would the alien know that? And it doesn’t even matter. Time’s up, episode’s over. Doc’s fixes all off-camera and the reset button is hit. Hopefully we’re due for a better episode soon.

But I’ve got to agree with whoever about the comment about Paris’ duties in sickbay. It was one thing when he helped out because he had some basic first-aid knowledge. But the stuff Doc wants to teach now, I have to believe there’d be a better candidate than the ace pilot of the ship.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 23, 2017, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Ratings is commonly used to justify a series "success". By the end of BSG, they had an all out campaign in an attempt to find new viewership. Not that I hated the series, (I bought it) had they continued what they started in seasons 1 & 2 I would have put it up there with Firefly. Too many unanswered big questions in the finale. They had no idea what they were doing during seasons's 3 & 4.

Enterprise suffered from what I call "B&B fatigue". They had just done too much trek over the years. Coto brought new life in but it was too late. Now, a new series is coming out, trying to be different and getting pummeled for it.... and not one episode has even aired yet. I swear, there is no fan-base harder to please than trek. Coto gave them exactly what they were clammoring for and they didn't come back and watch.

Jammer's right, we should compair apple to apples. The problem is, the Apples for ENT S1&2 weren't fresh and new so it took unjust criticism for that while BSG was ALL new and folks loved it for that. The wrting on BSG early was outstanding too. What's funny is, even though we think BSG was so good, especially early on, it still didn't pull really good numbers. One has to wonder why.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 23, 2017, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Gooz,

"First, to expect anyone other than a fringe of humans wasting hours on a game where nothing happens for hours is one thing (I mean look at soccer and Cricket), because you can attribute it to cultural baggage from back in the days when there was nothing more interesting to do than sit through 9 innings. But, to expect logical vulcans to do this is just beyond the pale. "

First, it's boring because you don't understand it. There's more going on during every pitch than you can shake a stick at.

Baseball will survive longer than American football... they've already made too many changes to football and there will be so many more coming that the game might as well not exist.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, May 23, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I guess I had to watch all of these again as an adult, because I realize now this episode is, again, all about the Cold War, and again, there is a very subversive message here. The context of the episode is a dangerous adversary, but in a state of tentative peacetime without direct and open conflict. And the events of "Day of the Dove" consist of a malevolent entity desiring both sides to fight each other on equal footing, with no end in sight, where the only possible winner is the entity which reaps the spoils of their struggle. I now see this episode as showing that both sides in the Cold War were being played against each other, manipulated by interested parties to further the purposes of private interests. Whether not not this would be an entirely accurate reading of what was going on in the 60's, nevertheless I think the episode's point is that fighting just because you are given an enemy and the means to fight is insane. Sure, there will be all kinds of justifications given for why the fight is necessary (and I imagine the Vietnam War in particular was on the writer's mind), but just like Chekhov's reasons, they will prove in the end to be hollow and often even made up.

An interesting point to note is that the episode's theme is *not* one of peace. The episode paints a scenario where both sides are being scammed into fighting each other, but doesn't speak against fighting for correct purposes, such as self-defence. Certainly in the early wars with the Klingons the Federation wasn't being manipulated but was simply defending itself. Even Kang at the end says something interesting (just before smacking Kirk on the back 'jovially'), which is that Klingons need no spurious reasons to hate humans, which means they actually do have good reasons to hate them, but won't fight merely because they're commanded to by some third party. So the message to me reads not as a pacifist one, but as one where, when the idea of war looms, we should identify whether interested parties have instigated the conflict. If they have, we know who the real enemy is.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, May 23, 2017, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I've come to terms with the writers' delusion that a boring-ass game like baseball would have survived into the 24th century, because 1) it's the least of their idiocies and 2) they've always hinted that it's really not that popular.

This episode takes it to the next level.

First, to expect anyone other than a fringe of humans wasting hours on a game where nothing happens for hours is one thing (I mean look at soccer and Cricket), because you can attribute it to cultural baggage from back in the days when there was nothing more interesting to do than sit through 9 innings. But, to expect logical vulcans to do this is just beyond the pale.

Second, in the middle of the war, Sisko ties up his crew in training for a meaningless game? Seems like a great time for a Dominion attack!

Third, Sisko sells the game as something that requires courage and sacrifice. WTF? Courage in the face of a speeding ball, I guess. And sacrifice? Sacrificing your duties in the middle of a war to the altar of your captain's hurt ego?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

RMM I think it safe to say that Picard would never voluntarily remind anyone of the Borg incident.

But it is a little curious that Jellico never mentions it in passing, given that it's almost certainly a central item in Riker's CV.

Indeed, if I may speculate a little outside the four corners of the story, I think that Riker would have to be something of a celebrity in Starfleet due to his defeating the Borg. Knowing what I know about Jellico, his disdain for Riker could be driven by a degree of professional jealosy, which would be made worse by Riker's loose obeisance to Starfleet protocal and his personal charisma.

In other words, Jellico may perceive Riker as someone who feels above the chain of command (and the rules) who feels his special status gives him license to do his own thing.

As I said it is speculative but certainly plausible given what we know about Riker and Jellico.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, May 22, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

I think this is one of the two best episodes of Star Trek TOS. (The other one being "The Immunity Syndrome".)

A lot of drama, and superb acting. William Windom, in my opinion, gives the best performance of any guest actor on Star Trek TOS.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, May 22, 2017, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I think 2.0 stars is a little low. I'd say 2.5 stars. Bottom line, this is an entertaining episode. However, there are some problems with it.

Everything in this episode indicates Commodore Stocker is a stickler for regulations. So why, toward the end of the episode, does he ignore the very important regulation "Stay out of the neutral zone"? As Rahul correctly points out, "he should know better".

Also, isn't rather insulting to Sulu that no one fights for him to be placed in command. (I once read that Nichelle Nichols said that Uhura was 4th in command, but everything I've seen in every episode indicates that Sulu is the 4th highest ranking officer.) We have, on several occasions, previously seen Sula in command of the bridge. (Two that come to mind right away are "The Man Trap", and "Errand of Mercy"). Granted, when Sulu previously had the con, it was usually for a brief period of time with a higher ranking officer close by (Spock and Kirk on the planet surface, Scotty down in engineering). Still, Sulu probably has more Starship bridge command experience than Commodore Stocker. (I say "probably" because we don't Commodore Stocker's exact history. However, Kirk refers to him as a "chair bound paper pusher" who's "never had a field command". This would indicate that Stocker does not have much actual field experience. )

In fairness to Stocker, I don't feel you can dislike him. He did what he thought was right (except for his decision to enter the Neutral Zone).
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, May 22, 2017, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Hello Everyone!

@Ben S.

I'd thought about that a time or two. I always figured the machine destroyed the Drake. And since they found no wreckage, I can only surmise the machine also cleans up after itself, using whatever it finds in the wreckage to further the machine. Heh, I have to think that, since it was never mentioned.

A good point though, and it should have been addressed.

Regards... RT
Next ►Page 1 of 1,576
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.