Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33,342 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,334
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Really happy to see your review posted. If I ever doubted we'd see the day, I apologize. As always, this is really quite thoughtful and interesting (even if I disagree strongly - I'd rate STID at most 2 stars).

"Spock into the Awesome Kick-Ass Superhero"

This is actually the thing that bothered me most about the movie. I don't mind that the alternative universe version of Spock has more trouble controlling his darker side. That's an interesting premise. But all we see of this Spock is his darker side. Quinto's Spock seems to be perpetually angry. We never see him deal with the aftermath of his emotional outbursts. Watching CumberKhan get beaten up by Spock, I found myself feeling sorry for Khan and scared of Spock. I don't think that's what the writers intended. At the least, the movie should have had a scene at the end with Spock recognizing that he'd lost control, perhaps talking about it with Uhura, showing that he regretted his failure to live up to the Vulcan ideal.
Set Bookmark
Jixs
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I'm so over Ezri! What - is she the only person on DS9! too many episodes focusing on a character that does not have much to offer... We kno the the story all ready! I miss Jadzia!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I think it's awesome and kind of hilarious that this review "became your Waterloo". I am a procrastinator too and I totally understand. You have nothing to apologize for. I just feel lucky that I happened to arrive here only hours after you posted it, given that it's probably been a month or two since I last visited.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Ugh. We waited decades for a three-star review of a one-star movie? Tsk tsk, Jammer. ;)

"It's well-paced" and "it's aiming for a general audience" should only be worth two stars, max. 72 Dumb Plot Points, recycled Kirk arcs, magic blood, and the most painfully obvious villain reveal in the history of cinema dragged this movie down for me. It's just terrible writing, which only makes the fluid direction feel all the more NECESSARY.

And the 9/11 reference was more direct than you realize, Jammer. The plot point that Starfleet created their Khan problem by using him for weapons-building is, I'm pretty sure, an allegory for the belief that the U.S. created al Qaeda (and thus 9/11) through its weapons-dealing in Afghanistan. That's probably another reason why the movie turned me off - that particular piece of rhetoric has been sounded so many times by Hollywood in the last decade that another is just too much for me.

Beyond was way better.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 3:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

For some reason I came back to read the review of this finale. I've just gotten to the part concerning the Opera House visions and had to chuckle to myself at the subtle bookending.

In the Miniseries, both Roslin and Billy are new to Galactica, and in one scene Roslin is arguing with Adama for the use of an integrated computer system (which he's against due to the Cylons use of it before, and which he is now using AGAINST the Cylons) and Roslin states that it would; "Help the teachers to teach, and tell people where the bathrooms are." Meanwhile Billy with Batlar comments how he wishes he had a map. How's that for a map.

And then Baltar finds his way to CIC via the vision map, and teaches the Cylons that peace is the better option.

And if you want to go more metaphorical, at the start of the series, humanity was lost, and then at the end, they're lead, both by visions and their choices, to the path to find themselves.

No, definitely not planned ahead, but a nice reflection and bookend nonetheless.
Set Bookmark
Lanthanide
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 3:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Just a note for everyone saying the Ocampans would die out if they couldn't have multiple children - you are of course correct. They never talk about twins or triplets.

But, another way to solve this problem, is that Ocampans could potentially have serial pregnancies. That is, after the first child is born, they may have another period of fertility, allowing conception of a second child, etc. But once they miss the first conception period, that's it forever. Such a system would likely ensure that most females would have at least 1 child.

None of this is remotely backed up by the dialog in the episode (I'm typing this as the episode ends), but it's another solution for the "only have one child at a time, only have one "period" of fertility, but species doesn't go extinct" problem.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

This one is a guilty pleasure for me. For some reason I take great delight in seeing Da Vinci trying to comprehend all of this 24th century technology.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer, Thanks for the Review!!!

I was wondering --- all this time --- how this movie would be rated from a reviewer totally steeped in the Star Trek mythos.

I, myself, had given it an 8 out of 10 for the first two thirds of the movie, but thought it stumbled badly to a 2 out of 10 for the last third. Average it all together and it ekes out to two-and-a-half stars for me. I just couldn't get past the movie ripping whole scenes and dialogue from TWoK for the "clever" role reversal.

But I will say this: I have lots of friends and co-workers in their 20's --- many of which had never considered viewing Star Trek prior to 2009 --- and they were unanimous in their praise of the movie. One of them even told me he was *shocked* at my negative attitude. So, bottom line: Abrams mostly reached the audience he was going for. And you have vindicated that perspective with your insightful review.

Thanks again for following through with this. It's always a pleasure to read Star Trek reviews from a Star Trek expert!

Set Bookmark
TS
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:32am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Great review, Jammer. I would say it was worth the wait, but it was a hell of a wait... :P

This movie gets a surprising amount of criticism and I think you rightly nailed down it's downsides AND it's good qualities. That said, I do find that it is more of a mixed bag than the 2009 film and I'm guessing it would fall within a 2.5 range for me.

Spock's "KHAAAANNN!!" felt very unnecessary, it's a shame they couldn't resist using the line in that moment. I remember moaning in disbelief when I first saw it. I would've preferred a sort of silent rage from Spock.

Looking forward to reading your thoughts on Beyond.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Hmm, I agree with your view Jammer but not your rating. I think a lot of the magic ST 2009 had in its novelty fell flat in this movie.

Like you say, so many questions go unanswered about the Klingon war and Federation security, and those might have been poignant topics for a movie made in era where national security is a daily headline. And not only was Khan bland this time around, but things like Spock yelling "KHAAAAAN" felt incredibly forced.

But on the good side, Kirk and Spock's plans to outmaneuver Khan are impressive. The missiles actually housing relative innocents was an interesting twist that highlight some of the tragic moments of war. And the Starship battles, notably the Enterprise getting shot out of warp, were spectacular.

So all in all, I'd give this a 2 - 2.5 depending on how the next movie goes with this setup.
Set Bookmark
Grumpy
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

A review written soon after release might've been different. I, for one, emerged from the theater angry and insulted. Over the years, I've mellowed. Movie still sucks, but it wasn't made for me.
Set Bookmark
Daniel L.
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer, I was one of the movie's (seemingly few) defenders on your site, having belived and still believing that the movie works well for what it sets out to be (at the end of the day, if a person trying to evaluate a movie doesn't keep that one criterion in mind, the person given himself or herself license to change the movie-reviewing goalposts at will). Your review, which reflects how I feel about the movie, was well worth the wait. I almost fainted when I saw it on the site.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Furthermore, I appreciated this review, simply because it managed to connect some dots in the early plotting that I hadn't thought to put together, as well as the point raised about the levels of CGI destruction within a story. It's something studios are starting to have to address now because audiences at large aren't so easily distracted by the spectactle.

And I would agree that this movie had good stuff moment to moment, but I would say it overall was not the sum of it's parts.
Set Bookmark
Qualls
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Congrats on finally writing the review! It's well-written as always.

I'd give the film only 2 stars, however. Too many plot holes, too much ripping off the old series, and not enough character development.

But your input is appreciated as always, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Off by half-a-point. I was predicting 2.5.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Congrats on getting her written and posted Jammer!

As for my opinion, I felt the call backs (way back when I saw this in the theatre, for the only time) we're ill-used and trying desperately to appease the fans without knowing what made the Wrath of Khan great. It felt super cheap to me. A shame.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Yes, I've finally posted my review of this three-year-old movie. I took this opportunity to reset the comment thread. The nearly 900 comments that were on the non-review page have been moved here.
Set Bookmark
TS
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Happy to see that Beyond is getting great reviews, looking forward to your thoughts on it Jammer.

As for Independence Day, loved the original when I was younger, but I never had ANY interest in seeing a sequel to it. Maybe I'll check it some day.
Set Bookmark
Genre-Buster
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

...which means yet another blown deadline!

Ah well, maybe he should just skip straight to the STB review. It's a better movie, anyway.

(That's right - I saw it and I liked it.)
Set Bookmark
N
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Just got back from seeing it. In summary: good shlock. I was gonna write what I thought in more detail but basically I completely agree with Paul M. I much preferred it to the previous two films, which just didn't feel like Trek in terms of the spirit, values, anything... this one did. The action is seriously impressive and unlike anything ever seen in a Trek film before, yet dominates too much - the film is too action-heavy and a little shallow (the plot doesn't bear any serious scrutiny), but still has plenty of quiet moments and gives the characters far more room to breathe than the past two films. It's an actioner with heart that could use a little more brain. 7/10 (or ***)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

Jammer: "Look, I'm not asking that every hour I spend in front of a TV lend me some great insight to the human condition. I'm not asking Star Trek to reinvent the wheel every week (I concede that is impossible) or shock us with some sort of unanticipated notion or character revelation. What I am asking is that the creators make an effort — or at least pretend — that their stories say something, mean something, or get to the heart of something. Anything"

So you say you realize it can't be done and then ding this episode for not doing it?

I will say this isn't anything really special, but it in no way is bad trek at all. Do to miss-justice Trip and Archer are heading to prison. So what trek does this copy?

This was pretty good. The "seaweed face" alien was pretty funny.

It wasn't all action, Archer and Kuroda talk for a bit and we find out some insight into this fella. He was falsely arrested as a kid and imprisoned for 5 years! Archer has it all figured out until Kuroda reveals that part of his plan is to kill all the remaining prisoners. This of course changes things and they have to figure out a way to stop them.

The fight did last too long.

But I loved it at the end where Archer let's this dude have it. That quite possibly could have been Scott's best acting in the series yet!

I never skip it. I'll go 2.5 stars here.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Maguffins aren't that bad.... hell, I just watched Star Trek Beyond!

Ha! Great stand alone episode here!!

The Tholian's kicking some Suliban ass!! :-) I would have been disappointed had that not happened.

All good fun. Exciting twists and turns... fast pace...

I really felt like NX-01 and crew where in a WTF senario!

3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

I personally had no desire to see an in-depth negotiation. Good lord, we never even saw Surak do that drivel.

Suzie Plakson and Combs in the same episode? That's 3 stars right off the bat! :-) Boy she towers over him ... lol

Someone suggested Suzie get shot after undermining Shran.... NOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I lost her in one episode already!!! :-)

Love this episode! Easily one of this season's finest.

I think it's so good because I like Shran's decision to have Archer mediate. It's a logical choice from his standpoint. This "little war" instigated by the Andorians also is very plausible because of P'Jem.

I love how T'Pol wants her Captain to succeed and inundates him with references... the scene in the shuttle was nice.

I didn't have a problem with any of the "pew-pew" stuff. I didn't expect Soval to take a hit.

Archer's also right on point here:

"ARCHER: I believe someone once defined a compromise as a solution that neither side is happy with."

Just because all we see on TV is two sides shaking hands with someone taking credit in the middle doesn't mean that either sideis happy.

Love this too:

"SOVAL: Captain, your presence here has not been overly meddlesome."

Good day for Archer. He now know's he has a friend in Shran and Soval for the first time doesn't just walk out on him with his nose up in the air.

4 star episode in my book.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

I don't agree at all Jason. I think it could have been directed better. Sorry you feel that way.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

This is one of the worst SF movies I have seen since Prometheus, and that's not a comparison I make often, or lightly.

The story was utter drek. It was utterly incomprehensible. Essentially, it's like somebody came up with the concept for a bunch of action sequences and then created a half-baked "story" to go around them.

Into Darkness had its issues, but the writing in Beyond is infinitely worse. There may have been things in ID that I didn't like but Beyond goes, well, Beyond. You thought that nothing would be stupider than Khan's magic blood plot device? You thought wrong.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,334
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.