Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,269 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,371
Set Bookmark
Liam
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

The most annoying part of this episode for me is during the climax when First pushes Seven away from the control panel. She's badly hurt and briefly incapacitated as a result... by a Borg half her size... precisely one episode after being depicted as an epic prize fighter that beats The Rock and Hirogen Martok. *sigh*
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Great episode and one of my favorites. One little nick pick: When they're discussing what to do about the time loop and Geordi suggests reversing course, he's overruled and they decide to act as everything is normal.

But that would have been what they were doing the FIRST time into the loop! They should have said: "well, let's do something completely unpredictable. Reverse course. Set course for Earth. Stop dead in space and have a ship-wide barn dance.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Wow, break out the party chips! A great episode of voyager! (****)
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I love that scene where Garak is just shooting Klingons as they enter the corridor 1 at a time instead of rushing him in groups of 8 or 9. I did like that the Bajoran militia participated in this battle and showed general competence compared to the security teams on voyager and TNG :)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

DS9 S1 is very peculiar, though. When it first aired I believed, as I still do, that the actual plots were quite weak at times while the characterization was leaps and bounds beyond the stories in which they figured. Especially impressive to me is that S1 established an *atmosphere* quite quickly and which served to create a kind of serial tone in and of itself even though the stories were often adventures of the week. Both TNG and Voyager lacked this undercurrent of atmosphere, and therefore leaned heavily on the scripts and the actors to portray the story. A weak script would result in a loser, and an episode featuring a weak actor similarly. In DS9 S1, though, despite the weakness of many of the scripts in terms of plotting, the undercurrents are quite powerful and still make 'irrelevant' episodes feel like the world is being built up, so that when the better scripts come along there is already a solid foundation for them to stand on. It's this world-building aspect of early DS9 that I find so impressive, and that can only come from a sort of unity from the writing team. I more or less credit Ira Behr with everything good about DS9 in this sense, because a show consisting of random various visions will result in great unevenness like we see in Voyager. Some of them will be great, and others almost seemingly contradictory.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Hey RT,

I guess if Nechayev was only in charge of the Cardassian situation, it's not too bad. For some reason, I was under the impression that she had a bigger presence than that.

That said, I generally dislike how Trek handles admirals. Those guys never DO anything! They show up, give some vague and absolutely useless orders and then go away. I worked at a firm where the management operated that way and let me tell you it was one painful experience.
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Ryan
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Why does Troi say they're nearly 7 light years away like that's very far?
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

Yeah, I am kind of a Mr. Sunshine for parts of DS9 S1. I expect if I were writing them today, I would be a little tougher on some. "Move Along Home" and "The Storyteller" are probably good examples. But the reviews are what they are and represent a snapshot of the moment they were written.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

@JD did you see the size of that Klingon? she would have broken poor harry's pelvis! and with his luck he'd catch a klingon STD.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

"But I digress. William B is probably the most fair reviewer here aside from Jammer himself."

!!! Thanks, Chrome :)

Anyway, Luke is a good reviewer and that Rob (and possibly others) views him as representing the closest to their own opinion is worthwhile in and of itself. I think "fairness" is...good, but hard to evaluate exactly and dependent on worldview etc. I mean, I also diverge from Luke on the Maquis (and to a lesser extent Quark) for reasons related to his Libertarian worldview (my politics are a little in flux) but his take is valuable to read in general and it's cool that it's the closest to a lot of other people's views.

I think it might also be worth noting that Jammer's s1 DS9 reviews in particular are good but a little too sunny and kind, some of which I think is because of the way they were written (capsule between seasons). No offense meant to Jammer of course, JMHO and all that -- but really, Move Along Home is average? (It's not unique to Jammer -- I think Tim Lynch gave it a middling rating, too.) He's more willing to dole out bad ratings in later DS9 seasons when appropriate.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

Luke's reviews are decent, but his heavy Quark-bias reaches levels of absurdity at times. He's also too preachy with his Libertarian views. Like really Luke, the Maquis are just misunderstood? Shouldn't they take responsibility for agreeing to live under Cardassian rule instead of blaming the Federation for not giving them special treatment?

But I digress. William B is probably the most fair reviewer here aside from Jammer himself.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

This was hilarious. Not "good" in a strict sense but so ridiculous that I'd recommend it. I feel like it went through a cycle where it was amusing when it came out, then became dated and "bad-bad", and now is "good-bad" due to the campiness and ludicrous dialogue. The acting throughout was hysterical by the whole cast - including the regulars and the guest actors. I love the earnestness of TOS, as well as each episode's attempt to tell a unique story. The fact that the episode is trying to be lighthearted and funny makes puts this in a separate class from something like "Spock's Brain", which I always felt like I was laughing at rather than with.
Set Bookmark
Rob
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

Once again, a fantastic review from Luke. I can't fault this guy, he says everything I would want to say, far better than I can!

I'm watching DS9 for the first time on Netflix and I always look forward to reading Luke's reviews in particular, after each episode.

Jammer - I admire you for setting up this review site, but I really do not agree with a large percentage of your review ratings. Each to their own though.
Set Bookmark
JD
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Harry Kim's penis is racist against Klingons. Ambassador Neelix's enlightened, adventurous penis to the rescue!
Set Bookmark
karatasiospa
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 2:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I think there is an over reaction about the supposed"graphic" scenes in Discovery. Fuller said "just a bit more graphic". And i never considered star trek with its social allegories, moral dillemas etc as "family friendly".
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 1:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

It would have actually been pretty interesting to learn why this civilization decided to reanimate the dead of other species rather than use their normal way of reproduction. alas this episode isn't smart enough to ask that question.
Set Bookmark
Odyssey47
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

None of the Borg children were human! Amazing!
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Wait a minute, dream within a dream. Almost turned it off.
Good show. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Oh wonderful, it disintegrated into another aliens take the ship episode. No thanks.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Ah lu7cid dreaming. I've been doing that since I was a kid. I like to turn into a superman when I'm being attacked by monsters. Unfortunately I've also suffered from night terrors since I was a kid. That's where you are fully aware but can't move nor wake up.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

How's Neelix. He's dead . Yeah right
Shields are down so why show shields working as they are getting away from the proto matter?
Oh great. Another what's supposed to happen after death episode. Been done to death.
Mercifully fell asleep during Neelix 'attempted suicide
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Ryan
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Yeah the Hirogen network of communication satellites extended all the way to the Beta Quadrant, so it's plausible to have ships nearby.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

watchable (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Hogwash Vyiora. Imprisoning a person for a second is still imprisonment. The way she reacted to the brig you'd think that her society had found a way around imprisonment. They haven't.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I prefer Klingon opera.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,371
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.