Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 37,576 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,504
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Matt: "The episode lost you in the teaser? But it set up the major plotlines of Data reads poetry and Riker has sleep apnea. Soon after, Worf gets a haircut!"

You joke, but I think the nature of this opening--shipboard life, nothing too exciting happening--actually does provide a good pad for the developing weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Gerry Valenzuela
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Sexist and passive-aggressive homphobic as well. So much has changed in the past decade. I can't believe that there never was a gay character portrayed in any of the five series that was supposed to depict our shared utopian future. I feel the same way when there is some crime on one of the starshps in the series and that there is no video evidence. Our primitive 7/11s have better criminal surveillance than Starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 2:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Yeah, this story is just kind of a mess. I get the metaphor they were going for, but the way they went about it just didn't work. I'm glad DS9 retconned the heck out of the Trill, changing them into a workable race.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 1:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Jay Chattaway titled the closing cue to this episode: M55 Rev -- End To Pathetic Episode.

I think that pretty much says it all.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

The spy thing is an interesting inverse of the episode where Troi has to smuggle some rebels to Romulus.

The discussion about irony reminds me of conversations I've had with British people. They seem curiously obsessed with irony and act oddly superior about Americans being relatively literal minded.
Set Bookmark
Sisko Kid
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

This love for the execrable Voyager mystifies me. Best writing? DS9, hands down.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@Jason R.

Fair points all around, I think I give those things a pass because the actors mostly play this one for comedy (Geordi's line about poker got a chuckle out of me).

Though you're off on one thing; Troi knew Rasmussen was hiding something big and she was very cold to him the whole episode. It was Crusher's defense of him that made Picard pass over Troi's objections.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

This was simply an above average clip show. I usually hate those things. This one however, didn't actually show any clips. Instead it showed brand new material shot in past story-lines. It wasn't meant to be a serious episode, as the Captain Proton section and the Janeway/Chakotay casually strolling section to section during an emergency indicate, and so didn't have to make sense.

My only gripe is Chakotay didn't kiss Janeway, since he knew she wouldn't remember it anyway. I wasn't a fan of the Chakotay x Janeway during the first airing. I never could understand how people could ship them. I thought who the hell would choose Janeway over 7? But now after watching every episode, including all the ones I missed the first time around, it's really growing on me.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

OMG, at the end, Naomi + Seven are so adorabubble. :)

"I will comply."

Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 7:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Wonderful Ryan episode.

Funny though how her Vulcan is very close to her normal Seven performance, the rest of the performances were top notch. :)

Doctor & Seven-centric episodes, along with time travel ones, continue to be my favourite.

Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 7:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Ok, it just got over. I liked it better than I thought I would however:

The Chakotay / Seven scenes were kind of.. wrong somehow. It felt super forced. He has more chemistry with Janeway and she has way more with the Doctor. Blah.

I kind of didn't get the ending. How's exactly did Voyager end up inside the sphere? When Janeway said "it'll be in my report" I was looking forward to the answer as well!

Oh man they really needed to devote more time for when they got back. Whatta' gip!
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

I think 3 stars is very fair although I'd give it 3.5. I remember being blown the f away when I watched it for the first time 10 years ago. Very few shows took risks like this. I just saw it again for the second time yesterday and I can totally see where Jammer is coming from.

"No normal logical person would put the whole human race at risk just to assuage their conscience. "

After watching it again this is the part that gets me the most. Roslin/Adama were willing to assassinate a fleet admiral 6 episodes ago because she was a threat to the fleet, yet in this episode, with the human race at stake, they raise their hand and salute the new President Baltar without even blinking AFTER his nuke was detonated and AFTER Roslin accused him of collaborating with the Cyclons.

I also dont get why the battlestars were so unmanned. You can have a manned military while not living on the ship. Just have schedules/tours.

I dont mind that they took a bold direction, but they could have gotten more out of the colonization storyline than what they gave us. Hell, considering the absolute drivel that was black market, you could have had many episodes on the subject of colonization.

Season 2 note: After watching this back with older (and "wiser" eyes), after Home Part 2 (which IMO is just the end of season 1.5) this season was a bit of mess with some sprinkles of brilliance with minimal guidance. This show was unable to develop convincing relationships between any of its main characters despite the characters being really strong. Colonel Tigh was relegated to the bottom of the character totem pole after starting the season in a really strong spot with the opportunity to have further stories based on his decisions. All in all, this season should have been 13 episodes with more thought put into the New Caprica story.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I always liked this episode but on rewatch it really annoyed me how the crew humors the professor who is so obviously a flim flam artist. I mean even if he were genuine, what gives him the right to waltz around the bridge like he owns the place? The guy was insufferable and it was impossible to believe the crew would be so accomodating.

Picard's speech was laughable given that he strenuously argued to allow entire civilizations die (on more than one occasion) rather than violate the prime directive, but now suddenly he is going to the wall for this one little colony? Pffff.

And by the way, another con artist impervious to Troi's empathic powers? Was his mind too "focused" for her to read? And where was Guinan? Naturally the one person who would have seen through this guy instantly was nowhere to be seen!
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

If Ardana is a Federation world, aren't all its inhabitants equally Federation citizens, and entitled to the rights enumerated in the Federation Charter and Constitution? I'd think Kirk would have had considerable leverage over Plasus just by mentioning this.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I'm 3 minutes in and we're supposed to believe the eternal Ensign Kim is a friggin' captain now? At his rate, he'd make captain around age 240.

I haven't seen this since the first time it aired but that jumped right out haha..
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Finally, a Torres story that doesn't suck. The only wierd gripe I have, is that star trek is talking about genetic manipulation and not once do they mention Kahn, like every other time star trek talks about genetic manipulation.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

Overall, a mediocre episode and quite similar to "Charlie X" and "The Squire of Gothos" with the Enterprise crew having to deal with a powerful being wanting to control them, with the alien lacking wisdom and an understanding of them. It is an interesting twist with the idea that the Greek gods of 5,000 years ago were in fact aliens and, given the primitive nature of humans, were worshipped. I certainly don't think Trek is advocating atheism here - as Kirk mentions "one god".
So, it's a fairly well-worn theme and what drags it down is the portrayal of Scotty -- just losing it over Palamas. He was terrific in "A Taste of Armageddon" however his character regresses here.
I liked Kirk's speech to convince Palamas of her duty -- that is perhaps the moral of this lacklustre episode. I though the ending is well done -- similar to "Charlie X" where one has to sort of feel for the antagonist's point of view.
But overall, I think Jammer's review nails my sentiments pretty well. It's 2/4 stars for me - it got a bit silly at times, but does have some small redeeming qualities.
Set Bookmark
Diana
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

On the one hand, I largely agree with Nikolai's position on the "Putting lives before abstract philosophy" thing. While, granted, there's a possibility that you save a race that goes on to become the next Space-Hitlers, the people who are living now matter now. And if you're really concerned about them developing in a dangerous way, you have the superior position from which to help adjust their development in a positive direction.

Nikolai really is a jackass, though. What is he thinking? The villagers stated outright they were ready to die when the storms hit-- they couldn't make the Prime Directive easier for him to follow if they tried. He had to fight to convince them to try to escape their fate. And impregnating a local with an alien baby? He doesn't think *that* will freak them out? Unless he's already genetically modified his own sperm, or the baby in the womb somehow-- or intends to perform surgery on it as soon as it's born, and then follow-up surgery on any children that baby has in future.

Not sure what I'm trying to say, really. I largely side with the ultimate decision Nikolai made? But almost every aspect of how he made it was the worst it could be? And the episode seemed kind of a mess in terms of not really laying out the best case it could on both sides?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

After closer inspection, it sounds like he's talking about an earlier script. Who knows?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Jack Bauer:
Wow i just found what you were talking about; sorry I doubted you: www.ign.com/articles/2014/11/08/jonathan-nolan-interstellar-spoilers

That's retarded. How in the hell is Cooper supposed to find the galaxy she's in from where he's at in the Milky Way and then find her planet within that galaxy? If TARS is that smart to be able to do all of that he shouldn't be listening to Cooper for sure.

Why in hell would Nolan mess up his own ending like that? He basically inserted a plot hole that was't there in the theater. That almost ruins the ending for me.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Corey: "And even if we accept the premise of ocean swells the size of the Himalayas (Thorne himself serves up some numbers that I’m not going to dispute), wouldn’t such colossal formations be blindingly obvious from orbit? Wouldn’t our heroes have seen them by just looking out the window on the way down? How dumb do you have to be to let yourself get snuck up on by a mountain range?"

Wow. Did you even watch the movie? Hours on the planet = years in space. Do you even realize that it took 20 some odd years from the pov of anyone IN ORBIT for the 1st and 2nd mountain ranges to sneak up on Cooper and the gang? No they couldn't see that from orbit unless that they sat around for a good part of a quarter of a century and noticed that what they thought was a mountain range was inch worming its way across the planet.

@Jack Bauer: "The big question online is where Cooper went when he stole the ship at the end. Well conventional wisdom says he went back through the wormhole and made the journey to Edmond's Planet. Well one of the Nolans have said there is no wormhole when Cooper Station arrives at Saturn. Thanks movie for establishing that. How did Murph know Brand was stranded on a planet setting up a civilization and that Cooper should go back for her? Why did Cooper give Murph the coordinates of NASA if he wanted himself to "Stay"? "

Please, post where Nolan says there's no wormhole at the end of the movie. Otherwise, I think you're mistaken. The movie itself never says that and I doubt Nolan would insert a nonexistent plot hole after the movie was over. TARS says the future humans close up the Tesseract. This is while Cooper is still inside the black hole. They then send Cooper back through the wormhole. How did he get from the black hole to the wormhole? Who knows? There are theories that say black holes can actually function somewhat like a wormhole, so maybe they're passing through the same hyperspace. In any case, he passes the ship he came in on the way out. How would they close the wormhole when he's traveling through it to get home? It would've had to have just closed at the Saturn end as soon as he arrived. And everyone would've been talking about it. Hey did you see that?!? The damn wormhole just slammed shut all of a sudden!?!

The wormhole can't be closed at the end. Edmond's Planet is in an entirely different galaxy. And while they may have some sort of anti-gravity drive, I seriously doubt they're implying at the end of that movie that they have an Alcubierre Warp Drive that can cross intergalactic distances, so Cooper is indeed going back through the wormhole.

Why did Murphy say Brand is setting up on OUR new planet if she's really talking about Brand setting up on her future test tube babies' new planet? The wormhole not being shown at the end is irrelevant. They don't show any of Saturn's numerous moons, but that doesn't mean the movie is saying they all fell into the wormhole that closed with nobody noticing it.

And how does Murphy know about Brand? Cooper's been awake for 2 days before he gets out of the hospital. You honestly believe he wouldn't have been debriefed during that time? Clearly, she would've been told everything that he'd told them, one of which is Brand went to Edmond. Why would they have to show him being debriefed or her being told the information from his debriefing? They didn't show her being told he had been found, but she'd already been told this and was already on her way to Cooper Station when Cooper's told that this is the case. We don't have to be shown absolutely everything for us to know that certain things have to have occurred. The movie would've been twice as long if they included stuff like that.

Why did he tell himself the coordinates if he wanted himself to stay? You're mixing up the very clear sequence of events. When he first goes into the tesseract he's in despair and acting emotionally and calls out to Murphy to convince him to stay.

AFTERWARDS, TARS, the robot, explains to him that he could communicate the singularity's interior quantum data through the tesseract somehow, although the robot doesn't know exactly how to do it. It's only then that he goes from despair to happiness. This is where Cooper decides to send the coords to himself in binary and communicate in morse code directly to Murphy the information about gravity that she needed to save everyone on earth INCLUDING HERSELF!

He excitedly says this out loud:
Cooper: "I thought they chose me. They didn't choose me; they chose her."
TARS: "For what, Cooper?"
Cooper: "To save the world."

Why in hell would he instead say, "But naw the hell with saving my daughter's and most of humanity's lives. I'll just break the loop and not give my daughter what she needs to save everybody including both my children in order to sit back on earth, so we can all either suffocate or starve to death. Cause hey, at least I'll get some quality parenting time!" That's totally retarded.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I'll say one thing about this episode which never occurred to me in all the years I've been rewatching the series: they clearly meant for this episode to be part of a larger Romulan arc that they'd been building towards during season 4. As much as we think that DS9 initiated the long arc, the TNG writers were keen to do it despite being prevented by the network, and in S4 they did get in some building continuity. The arc traces back to "Sins of the Father", and in S4 goes something like this:

"Reunion" - Introducing internal Klingon tensions.

"Data's Day" - Bringing the Romulans into the picture as being up to something (we'll omit "Future Imperfect" as counting).

"The Drumhead" - Reintroducing the idea of a Romulan scare, and in the process subtly implying that Satie believed in the possibility of Klingons and Romulans conspiring together. To our knowledge this hadn't happened since TOS when they shared technology with each other.

"The Mind's Eye" - Bringing to the forefront that the Romulans are up to no good. And I had completely forgotten until I watched this again the other week that Sela makes her first shadowy appearance at the end of this one.

"Redemption" - Where it all comes together.

To have five separate episodes in a season all leading towards the cliffhanger finale is pretty darn good considering they had to slip it in, most likely under the network's noses. From that standpoint I'll forgive some of the details in "The Drumhead" that don't add up to that much, because I can see now that as an arc they were using it to put certain ideas in our heads about wondering what the Klingons and Romulans were up to. The fact of the matter is that the way the script dealt with Tarsis wasn't very compelling in terms of us actually considering he might actually be guilty of something, and so Satie being wrong ended up overshadowing the legitimate concern about Romulan interference, which I think should have been written in better.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"One aspect of the story that I think goes unfairly unremarked, is that the episode doesn't act as if caution and suspicion aren't needed in times of danger. The klingon guy really was an enemy spy and he even used the race card. So while Sate may have been a bit too evil and not well argued, the episode is even handed enough in its approach to the situation. Yes, there IS danger-doesn't mean it's worth to let it destroy what and who we are protecting."

It brings up Satie's side of the argument, but she's made into a complete strawman. It's easy to walk away with the message that "National security just isn't worth it." because nothing Satie does actually helps the Enterprise. They already found the spy, and the "conspiracy" was debunked because there was no sabotage. All Satie did was waste everyone's time with litigation while what the ship really needed was a bigger repair crew.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

"Why wasn't the universal translator working??"

Because the UT reads brainwaves and can pick up the speaker's intent. If someone intends to speak so foreigners don't understand, it won't translate.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Iden was clearly off from the get go. He constantly talks about "organics." He relentlessly displays his religious nonsense, like where the Doctor encounters him in the chapel or whatever and he makes him wait until he finishes his prayer. He tortures the doctor with the others memories. (There's no excuse for this. They have ship wide holo emitters. If he wanted simple understanding, it would've been enough to show the Doctor their memories using the holo emitter. It was totally beyond the pale to actually implant those memories in the Doctor.) The way he's constantly explaining his actions to the blood thirsty Simon Tarses was so shady you could see very clearly he's putting on a show for the Doctor.

The real 180 comes when Iden, who's been displaying decidedly clever tactics suddenly flushes tactics down the toilet, abandons his ship to beam to the surface in order to hunt Hirogens. He's left himself completely vulnerable. He has no leverage at that point. If anyone wanted to kill him and the entire society he wanted to build at that point they could've just torpedoed the surface of the planet from orbit to destroy the holo emitter and also blown his ship out of orbit. Kejal wouldn't have been able to stop them from doing so alone. It was tactically retarded for him to go unhinged and drop all strategy when moments before he was strategically much more adept than most of the people he was fighting.

All in all, I really liked this episode. It's not a 4 star, but certainly 3 are well deserved. I really wanted to see some of these holograms again. Murderous Simon Tarses was a treat. Kejal would've been a good fit on Voyager. One thing I don't understand is the holograms had holographic weapons. You can clearly see this because when they're chasing the Hirogens with their phaser rifles, one of them throws something at the hologram and both he and his phaser rifle phase right through object. If you can make technology with the holo emitter (I always thought the replicators made the real objects/technology inside holodecks, alongside the holograms and force-fields; that can't be the case here), why can't you make a self-sustaining holo emitter? And therefore make self-sustaining holograms, especially since we've already seen a number of photonic life-forms?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,504
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.