Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 21,116 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 845
Jack - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 5:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

How convenient was it that when they figured out where John Doe came from, it was almost exactly in the direction they were already going. I had to roll my eyes at that one. And then Picard says that fortunately, becuase of that, they won't hav emuch of a delay in their mission. But...isn't finding John Does pretty much their primary mission? It's right out of the narration in the weekly opening credits....
Datalore - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 4:18pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I think the biggest compliment I can give this film is that I've watched it with people who no nothing of Star Trek, and they still enjoy it.

It's not just a great Star Trek movie, it's a great movie!
Baron Samedi - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 3:45pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I agree with the "pissed-off" comment near the top - every single idea that went into this film was a bad one. Zero stars from me. There's a TNG episode where Picard follows orders to relocate a bunch of impoverished Native Americans, but here he refuses to relocate a bunch of selfish, healthy morons who don't want to help trillions of people by sharing the healing conditions of their planet that they A) found (in Federation space), rather than were indigenous to and B) only occupy a tiny percentage of anyway? The entire notion of small towns without (some) technology being conducive to a simple, happy life is absurdly stupid and directly contrary to the entire spirit of Star Trek. The guest actors are poor, the dialogue stilted, the costumes bland, the special effects cheesy, the story inconsequential. The insurrection even turns out to be supported by StarFleet at the end. What a cop-out! I can give Insurrection some credit for at least trying to be about ideas, but refusing to even show the Ba'ku facing the consequences of their decision robbed the movie of any potential power. There are some great Star Trek movies, but when they miss, they miss badly. The most tragic thing is that The Final Frontier - deservedly ravaged by critics when it came out - is only the fifth worst Trek movie thanks to Generations, Nemesis, Into Darkness, and this. Similarly, the most tragic thing about this movie is that Data singing with Picard at the beginning is only, like, the twentieth worst thing about it.
Baron Samedi - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

For the life of me, I've never understood why people hate this episode so much, though I respect everyone's perspective. I thought it was pretty good - DS9's done better but it was a strong story that had a lot to say. Most of the plot holes people keep pointing out were actually addressed in the episode. I suspect, as a few commentors have hinted, that American viewers would find the chanting and groupthink a little less frightening than European viewers. Maybe that's part of the issue, I dunno.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:52pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Entertaining, engaging, at times funny as hell. A high-concept episode of Voyager that actually works. The aliens were too stubborn for my taste but at least they had motive for what they do (as very clearly stated in the dialogue). Perhaps their stubbornness came from some sort of inherent belief that they are above it all, so to speak.

Craftily written dialogue and nice pacing round out this effort. I felt that the involvement of multiple cast members made it seem truer to an ensemble style episode rather than being aimlessly scattered. Certainly there was a bit of cliche ST to it but it was a fresh-enough perspective to make it all worthwhile.

Surprisingly good showing.

3 stars.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I think you're just an overly sensitive PC douche looking for problems where none exist. This isn't the 90's anymore. Grow up and stop picking at scabs you have no intention of healing.
===========

I agree.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I've sad it already, but I still can't get past it so I'm saying it again: I can't believe how DS9 has jumped the shark.

An interesting, original ST show has become a ridiculous Americanist religion-based jingoistic piece of drivel.
=========

It got what was coming from the day it stole B5 writer's ideas and plot. Karma, I guess.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 1:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

This episode started the massive decline in quality that this series suffered, culminating in one of the worst series seasons of all time.

The writers wrote themselves into a corner. They had no idea how to wrap up the arc and they left the hardest part for one episode. It's all very lazy. The "jail break" was more comedy than anything else, not to mention Kira and the gang would be long dead. Dukat's "Oh she is special to me" is nonsense, and just an excuse to rationalize Kira being spared for this long.

There is no way that station was being retaken. It simply wouldn't happen. And even if it had, the Cardassians/Founders would have had it bombed to bits.

And the final nail in the coffin... one of the worst deus ex machinas ever. I don't even need to elaborate.

It's an entertaining episode, but if you want some real meat to the story telling, this isn't it.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 1:36pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

Insanely frustrating episode that combines more important and fascinating backstory for Seven with a completely unnecessary and a downright stupid stubborn alien action plot. It is all the more irritating for the fact that Seven's personal journey in this particular case could have (and should have) been the only element of the whole episode. As it is, we're forced to endure contrived action scenes that strain credulity more than just about anything in Star Trek. The only one that worked was Seven's escape from Voyager funnily enough.

The idea that the Bomar were firing at the dilapidated Raven with the effect of merely shaking things was hilarious in a very bad way.

However, the meaty portion of the story is really quite good and by itself had the potential of yet another quality addition to a mostly good to great stretch of episodes. As it stands, it barely passes as average on the whole. A shame.

2.5 stars.
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:58am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

I think Samantha Wildman was the closest on VOY. They held back 4 S1 episodes and aired them in S2 (for reasons). That means she is actually in every season except 7.

Anyone know if anyone else comes close?

It's pretty impressive that DS9 has that many (plus 2 that came close) that appear across a 7 year run though. I think a lot of people would hit 5 seasons though, so many that I'm not sure I'd want to make a list :)

Random factoid. Lwaxanna does not appear in TNG S6 because her yearly appearance that year was on DS9.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:54am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Despite its predictability near the end of the main plot, this is a nice character outing with some great guest performances and a hilarious subplot that is worth the price of admission alone.

Regarding the supposed "non-reaction" by the Doctor; he was there to help Torres after a near fatal heart injury caused by Dejaren plus witnessed her getting clobbered upside the head with a tool before being attacked himself. It seems reasonable enough to me that that would be grounds for his reaction or lack thereof (whether or not Doc felt Dejaren could be fixed).

The scenes involving Kim and Seven ranged from mildly amusing to outright hilarious and further proves Ryan's capabilities as an actress. The understated dry wit and comedic timing were superb. Wang's performance as a nervous schoolboy was surprisingly effective and made for the pairing of these two a smart decision.

All in all, not quite up to par with the last several episodes but it is definitely a worthwhile showing.

3 stars.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I would too. I wonder when we will get "Remastered" DS9?
William B - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:39am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

Thinking about Elliott's character rankings for season one (which I think I agree with -- though I'd tend to put Kira higher because "Progress" and "Duet" count *so* heavily in her favour), I think Bashir is the character who comes to have the most dramatic improvement over the series' running time, and Jake probably the one who has the most dramatic dropoff. Bashir becomes, I think, one of the best characters in the show, and possibly the most successful human character (well, I don't know how he and Miles compare to each other -- Bashir has more of an arc, but O'Brien headlines more exceptional episodes); Jake gradually fades into the background and there stop being effective stories about him.

Hopefully I'll rewatch DS9 after finishing TOS (and I also plan on watching the movies after finishing TOS). I'd be interested to see how it holds up now. It's hard to disagree that "Duet" is the season's (and one of the franchise's) highlight(s), and that "Move Along Home," "Q-Less," and "If Wishes Were Horses" are very weak stuff. I think I had a more favourable reaction to the religious material when I watched it when I was younger -- but I see Elliott's points about them and wonder how it would hold up.

DS9's supporting cast really is remarkable. Hey, here's a question: which characters in DS9 appear in all seven seasons? I guess we have the initial opening credits cast save Jadzia (if we count Dax as one person, I guess she counts as well), and then:

- Garak
- Dukat
- Nog
- Rom
- ...Morn?

Am I forgetting anyone? Winn and Zek appear in *almost* every season, but don't appear in season four. By contrast, in TNG, I think the only non-regular who appears in all seasons is O'Brien (and until "All Good Things..." definitively establishes that the battle bridge conn Colm Meaney was playing in "Encounter at Farpoint," it wasn't clear that that was the same character). That means it's just the main seven minus Beverly plus O'Brien for TNG. Wesley and Lwaxana in every season but 6, Q in every season but 5. I guess if we count Majel Barret generally she gets credit every season for the computer voice.... Voyager is -- am I right in thinking it's the original opening credits cast, minus Kes? TOS is the sort of "regulars" minus Chekov, plus Chapel, I think. Maybe not that useful information, but fun!
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:33am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

Wow, that had not occurred to me. So I checked out IMDB.

Garak is only listed as partipating in 37 (of 173) episodes. I thought it was MUCH more than that.

Wow, such a powerful character. My favorite in DS9.
Elliott - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

@Yanks :

He only appeared in one episode this season! I'll give him a writeup in later seasons
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:15am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

Elliot,

No Garak?
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:15am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

"While the montages were moving. The Worf one was blood boiling. No Jadzia? Are they CRAZY?!?!? I know all the “excuses” and I don’t buy one of them. She left a year prior to this, I can’t think of one reason this trivial shit couldn’t have been worked out. This smells to me like “she chose to leave so…” "

It was blood boiling to me as well, but I bought this excuse "Jadzia is not 'remembered' by any of the characters due to a dispute with Terry Farrell over the use of her image in the show, after Paramount used it without permission in "Penumbra"."

April 7th - "Penumbra" airs, containing Terry Farrel's voice at Jadzia/Worf's wedding without Terry Farrell's permission. Her manager logs a complaint with Paramount sometime in the following days.

April 20th - Filming on "What You Leave Behind" wraps.

June 2nd - "What You Leave Behind" airs.

I have heard that, due to the pending dispute they could not even negotiate with Terry for the footage rights. The timeline certainly suggests there was not a lot of time to work it out. I don't know when post production wrapped on the episode.

That said I would, in a heartbeat, buy a new set of S7 DVDs with this episode updated to remedy this horrific slight.
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:55am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

If the occupation never happened Bajor wouldn't be what it is today and Sisko wouldn't have been assigned there. The prophets are probably not heartless, but I don't think they have compassion the way you or I do.
Elliott - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:43am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@Robert :

The problem with that explanation is the giant can of worms it opens regarding Bajor; once Sisko explained linear time to them (if indeed that gave them the power to alter history), why did the Occupation still happen? After all, the prophets can possess people right? Why not possess Dukat and some other leaders to have the Cardassians abandon Bajor before millions of those Bajorans who spend their miserable lives WORSHIPPING you die horribly? It's not so much that the explanation is in-universe implausible, it's that it makes the heroes into terrible, evil, heartless beings for whom we should have no sympathy.

I quite like Yanks' idea that what should have happened was the resolution to the Fire Caves Mumbo Jumbo would have meant the Wormhole Aliens sealing themselves away in the temple and the Bajorans putting away their credulity for a unified future with Cardassia.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Fantastic episode that takes some well-worn Trekkian ideas and puts them to fresh use. It is a little long in the tooth at first but after complete viewing it seems necessary to get to "know" these people.

The brainwashing aspect of this episode mirrors (in an extreme form) the more subtle tendency of current cultures to utilize corporation, religion, and media together to rally enough masses in justifying illegal wars and other military actions (and even non-military aspects of culture). Either way, it's propaganda in some differing forms but both with the same chilling results. The episode obviously shows a more direct approach in its utilization.

The fact that this episode even made me feel anger towards the ambassador at the end shows that tremendous amount of credit is due on the part of the writing staff. Beltran's performance here was exemplary to say the least.

This is a standout installment of the franchise and, as far as ST war stories are concerned, it rivals even the best ones of DS9. Excellent job.

4 stars.
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:18am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

That meant to say "if the ones in the Fire Caves CANNOT send out visions, then you would be right"
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I assumed the Pagh Wraiths in the caves are the ones that sent Winn her vision. If they are the ones Dukat released into the wormhole then perhaps I am incorrect. But if the ones in the Fire Caves can send out visions, then you would be right. Of course it COULD be the Pagh Wraith that escaped after the Reckoning (unless you ascribe to that being the one that possessed Dukat).

As for the timeline... "I guess my point is all those "countless time travel trek" plots require an understanding of time and aren't conducted by those that don't understand it." They DO understand linear time, because Sisko explained it to them. And after he gave them the understanding of linear time they were able to plan his birth in the past. We already know they can change the past (as they did when sending Ankorem back). You don't have to buy/like that answer, but I do think it's what the writers intended (although I have no confirmation of such).
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:12am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

"Why are parents wanting to remove their kids from public schools? Until that is answered, and answered truthfully, nothing will change. "

No argument here! I just think that the proposed solution is like killing a patient to stop a disease. It may solve your immediate problem, but I don't know that you enjoy what you're left with :P

The point you are sticking with is not wrong though.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

:-)

No problems. I have done a bit of reading, probably not as much as you. Of course there are good and bad. nothing is perfect. I'm not saying that charter schools are the Holy Grail but I will stick to my point. Why are parents wanting to remove their kids from public schools? Until that is answered, and answered truthfully, nothing will change.

Phlox was a prophet!!! lol
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 9:46am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Robert,

Thanks!

I guess my point is all those "countless time travel trek" plots require an understanding of time and aren't conducted by those that don't understand it. Whether the prophets are linear or not, Sisko is. And he is what he is based on a prophet that took over Sarah before Sisko was born. This just can't work for me.

As for the Paghwraiths... (I hope I don't have my timeline messed up) .... the PW's that Dukat released and he used to silence the orb are in the WH with the prophets. The ones in the Fire caves haven't been released and can't do anything until that text from the book (Khosta Mojin) is read to them. So I'm not sure either of the entities should be able to communicate with Sisko until the Emissary's Orb has been opened. (I'm pretty certain the prophets could not, I remember Sisko saying they went silent or something like that)
Next »Page 1 of 845
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer