Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 21,802 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 873
$G - Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 12:41am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

This is a surprisingly *not* terrible episode, even for a wet blanket for me. There's just enough charm to it to keep it amusing and the pacing is pretty well done. None of the situations, wacky though they may be, ever really outstay their welcome. There's a nice sense that the crew is working together and that the runabout squad really is being ingenious (opening doors, sneaking around, beaming people INSIDE computers). I could have done without the poor marksmanship of the Jem'Hadar at the end, buuuuuut it's probably for the benefit of the episode that it doesn't go full-on AR-558.

2-1/2 stars for me. Not essential, but enjoyable for what it is.

Just a comment on season 6 thus far: Someone above stated that the comedy episodes seem to be bunched up a bit. While it's not quite like season 5 having "par'Mach," "Tribbles," and "Let He..." within a four episode stretch, the last eight episodes have alternated between heavy and light. It makes it a little difficult to just hit play and enjoy the flow when the show's tone is jumping from "The Magnificent Ferengi" to "Waltz" to "Who Mourns for Morn?" to "Far Beyond the Stars" to "One Little Ship".
Ender - Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 12:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

I noticed that the Think Tank claims to have cured the Phage. Curious, since Voyager has travelled at least 30,000 light years since they encountered the Vidiians.

Sounds like a facile criticism, but I really wish they'd consider these things for continuity's sake. It's hard to be invested in a show which seems to break so many of its own rules.
$G - Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 12:22am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

This might be the best episode of *Star Trek* ever made when it comes right down to it. It might even be the best single hour of televised science fiction. It gets some added kick in the way it (loosely?) connects to the Emissary and Dominion storylines, but you could show this episode to anyone and they could enjoy it.

I won't begrudge anyone for being put off by some of the performances (I really could have done without Brock Peters' "preaching" myself), but, to me, this episode is just magic in spite of them.

What's really nice is how not only is Benny Russell's dream a reality within the story framing, but it's a reality because... well, it's reality. 40 years after Russell's struggle (and others like him), there is a science fiction show on TV in which Avery Brooks, Cirroc Lofton, Michael Dorn, and Penny Johnson are all the stars and on which they never have to deal with a contemporary racial spotlight. DS9 is frequently concerned with issues of race and xenophobia, so it's nice that, this once, they brought it back home.

4 stars cam barely contain this one.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 11:17pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Great episode. One of my all time favorite Treks.

Brooks' acting aside (I thought he did fine, though some of the framing monologue was not great), Garak steals the show. Not since "Improbable Cause" has he had such freedom to act. And what a delightful web of treachery and deceit he weaves! Sisko doesn't have a chance -- which, given Garak's final speech, is probably just as well.
My favorite character -- though I'd be terrified of him in RL.

Sisko's conscience: After "For the Uniform", I'm having a hard time seeing this as a problem for him.

The Federation's "conscience": The writers have made it plain: The Federation faces the END. They've made peace overtures; the Dominion wants TOTAL victory. Others can say "Picard would have found a way to negotiate", but that's just silly. In the face of what we've seen, there's no reason to assume the Dominion has any interest in negotiations. We've never seen the Federation in this kind of danger (Betazed down, Vulcan, Andor, Teller threatened -- we've even got a think-tank recommending surrender). We saw a not-quite-so-dark future in "Yesterday's Enterprise"; how far would have *that* Picard gone to save the Federation?

Is it *really* the "ethical" position to condemn billions to Dominion slavery when you can "violate the rules of war" and prevent it?
I'm with Garak on this one: When your back is against the wall, you do what it takes to survive. The only dirty trick in war is to start one in the first place. (And to jump ahead a season, yeah I'd consider bioweapons....)
(Though I was appalled with Enterprise's "Damage" -- those people Archer condemned were completely innocent.)

What would GR think? Would he *really* say "the Federation goes down swinging?". Or is the very concept of a stronger foe anti-GR? Maybe Kirk would have pulled some implausible rabbit out of his hat and saved the day?
Katie - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 10:35pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I've been re-watching ENT for the first time after watching the whole series 4 years ago. This is the first episode that was remotely familiar to me. Every other episode so far, I didn't remember anything. That goes for the series as a whole--I have some vague memories of the Xindi and I think something about Nazis? Oh, and the Borg episode, mostly because it pissed me off so much. But other than that, nothing. On the other hand, when I re-watched VOY and DS9 on Netflix over a decade after watching them on TV as a child, there were dozens of episodes that I remembered and was delighted to see again.

This really encapsulates the problem with Enterprise. It was just totally underwhelming and unmemorable. The one really familiar element emerging so far is how deeply annoying Archer is as a captain. I think it's partially the writing, but mostly Bakula's acting. He completely lacks the gravitas of Stewart, Brooks, and Mulgrew. He just comes off as an idiot.

Seriously wondering if I want to devote any time to re-watching this series.
Andrew - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 9:42pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

Coming back late but I don't think the episode requires the viewer to accept the Talarians' initial violence and kidnapping as justified or even acceptable to accept the conclusion that it would also be wrong to force Jono to change or put him under traumatic pressure (although again I think it could have been better developed that the crew was doing so).
William - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 9:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

Oh Dear Lord!
paul - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 8:20pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Well I liked this episode even if the flow was a bit illogical I thought it was a fun hour and jammer I can't understand how you rate this 1.5 stars when I read nothing in your review that would show u liked anything about this episode I love ur reviews but mabye u should have turned off the episode eariler if u hated the flow so badly....
navamske - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 7:53pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This would have been appropriate.

TUVOK: "There's a vessel coming through the [temporal] rift."
CHAKOTAY: "Klingon?"
TUVOK: "No. Federation."
JANEWAY: "Geez, I hope it's not Captain Braxton again."
navamske - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 7:40pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

When Starling finally gets into the timeship near the end of Part II, he controls it with voice commands and it replies to him. It would have been cool and maybe even a little hilarious if Starfleet/Federation ships in the twenty-ninth century were still using the Majel Barrett voice.
colincostello - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 5:28pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

An excellent episode, drawing heavily on themes first raised by Bladerunner. Many good scenes and some excellent dialogue. A thought provoking episode. I especially liked Janeways sense of guilt at letting the Hirogen have the technology in the first place. And the doctors gradual awareness that life with these holograms may not be as good as he fisrt thought.
Colin
digitaurus - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 5:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

OK, let me get this straight. Lieutenant Roker (or whatever) is a Blob when he arrives at the signal station. At some point the Roker Blob gets the dog and splits in two, so now we have Roker Blob and doggie Blob. Roker Blob then goes for Aquiel. She runs for the weapons locker gets a phaser and blasts away. She begins to be absorbed by Roker Blob (stripping her memories) but hoses Roker Blob down with the phaser before being fully Blobbed. She then traps doggie Blob in a tube (??) and escapes by shuttle.

Is this right ?

By the way, I thought this was the sloppiest murder investigation ever. Love the way Worf finds the phaser, grabs it with his sticky hands and starts pressing away on the buttons. No wonder they found Klingon DNA in all the wrong places …
digitaurus - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

This pair of episodes arguably throw an interesting light on Star Fleet Command's view of Jean Luc Picard by this stage in his career.

The fact is that - although the Enterprise was clearly pre-assigned to lead the Federation response in the event of a Cardassian attack in this sector (a fact the Cardassians learnt, leading to the ruse to capture Picard) - Picard was apparently NOT scheduled to be its captain in these circumstances. As a result, he has no knowledge of any contingency plans, which of course disrupts the Cardassian's plans.

Why ? Jeliico's behaviour gives us clues. Jellico assumes that the Enterprise crew has become slack - and the evidence suggests he may be right. Perhaps the crew's lack of edge reflects a going-off-the-boil of its captain ?

Personally, I think Picard's experience in The Inner Light DID have a profound effect on his character and that this change is reflected in (i) the tenor of all subsequent episodes (even the best ones), (ii) a more pronounced "softness" in Picard's character, and (iii) a resulting loss of edge among its crew. Maybe Ryker can sense it too which is why he keeps getting so antsy the whole time.

Whatever the reasons, by this stage Starfleet apparently don't see Picard as the right captain for the Enterprise in a time of war.

A counter-argument to this is that Picard is only relieved of the captaincy so he can run off to do spec-ops making use of his theta band experience (as per the Cardassian plot). This is probably the case but I rather like the idea that all Picard's escapades have lead to some serious re-evaluation at higher levels in Starfleet.

dgalvan - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 3:46pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

-Marc Alaimo was excellent as Gul Macet. (He later played Gul Dukat in DS9).

-The writers decided pretty quickly to abandon that weird Cardassian headgear that we see in the first couple scenes. We don't see them wearing it ever again.

-Colm Meany has already shown by this point in the series that he is an EXCELLENT actor. His delivery is always subtle and pitch perfect. So glad he got the opportunity for more depth in this episode.
Dimpy - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 3:44pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Someone once commented that he wants to punch Archer in the face.

If this is the "breast" Enterprise has to offer, the lineup to punch Archer will just get longer.
dgalvan - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 3:35pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I actually really liked this episode. Great example of scientific debunking of snake-oil salesmen. Also Ardra is played in a very charismatic way. Surprised it is so disliked by so many.

I can see that it may have been more appropriate in TOS than in TNG, but still: good stuff.
Jack - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 3:02pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Demons

It was strange that Trip and T'Pol fretted about the mining vessel going to warp inside the system, since just a few episodes prior when Columbia launched it went to warp the moment it cleared the dock.
Lal - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

@Clint the Cool Guy: You're right, TNG never did school well. Ideas about 24th Century education seem to contradict each other within the series.

In Season One (the episode where the kids are abducted by the Aldeans) there's a father scolding his perhaps 8 year-old son for not doing well on (or not completing) his calculus assignments. This fits in well with the notion that somehow mathematical or other school subjects of today will be "child's play" to the children of tomorrow - although I strongly disagree with this idea. I don't think the 12-16 hours, 6 days a week of Grammar School that Shakespeare endured - which was largely lessons on Latin and the Classical authors, such as Ovid - would be tolerable in the slightest to today's generation of kids. And I doubt that calculus will ever be "easy" for kids to learn, unless we genetically engineer future generations, or make learning by osmosis (computer-to-brain link up) possible.

But nor do I agree with the Montessori pre-school setup that passes for "school" on TNG. Or maybe they only meet up to have play time together, and learn the core subjects on their own in their quarters? I don't get it.

Alex - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 1:56pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

The episode showcases Picard and Vash's relationship dynamics, which are incredibly powerful and lovely. The Robin Hood story only enhances their differences, as they play the story according to their personalities - Picard the noble, and Vash the rogue. I love how neither Picard nor Vash will change themselves for the other, yet their natural rhythms lead them to appreciate the other. They don't need to be together for long; their relationship seem perfect for the two of them.
SlackerInc - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 1:17pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

There were two scenes in this episode that managed to pull off the very rare trick of being pulse-poundingly suspenseful, yet ROFL hilarious:

--When Baltar walks into the bridge and remarks "oh, there you are", casually flipping Shelly's little shirt doohickey (Tricia Helfer's reaction of surprise and indignation at his familiarity was a great little acting moment) and then engages in a "where is she"/"she's standing right next to you"/"you can all see her?!?" dance with Adama and Tigh.

--When Baltar is trying unsuccessfully to first delete the enhanced image and then to just destroy the computers it is on.

Four stars from me for those two scenes alone. Bonus points for the Starbuck-Tigh interaction (another neat trick: when you know someone is making a reverse psychology move on you, but they get your dander up so much, it works anyway), and the scenes with both Boomers, on Caprica and in the Galactica (Grace Park is so frackin' hawt--it was nice to see her get her own "glowing backbone" moment, and her loving caresses of the Cylon raider were sexy as well).
Peremensoe - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 11:51am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

The line is intriguing, but I hear it as saying that the process is simply incomplete. He *doesn't* have certain memories but he 'sees' where they should be, recalls references to them in other memories.
Peremensoe - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 11:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Remember, all of the Doc's initial medical knowledge, and his basic functions like sensory intake and language ability, were all "uploaded" to begin with. *He* never learned English (or Fed-standard, or whatever). *He* never went to medical school. He 'knew' the feel of a hypospray in his hand before he ever touched one.

If all of that can be integrated to create the basis for his existence in the first place, I'm not sure that there should be any difference when later memories, that he did make for himself, are broken off and then restored.
Fenne - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 9:31am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

No particular comment other than the fact that I was reading these comments on my smartphone before the episode was even finished. I didn't have the stomac to go through another round of cliché Klingon philosophy.

Except maybe, one more comment: before I started reading the comments I was looking for the name of the actor who played the leader of the Special K's. What do I know him from? Which series did he play in for me to recognise his voice. I was suprised to find a completely unfamiliar name and no series or movie to link him to. And then came the answer in Jammer's review. Funny how many people thought the same thing.
Robert - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 8:47am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

What's interesting about the phrasing "apparently on a few occasions I have been projected into other locations" is that it sounds like some of his memories were not perfectly reintegrated, but instead more uploaded like they were someone else's, but he knows they happened to him.

I wonder if he remembers the events of important Doc episodes like "Lifesigns" in that manner, or if at some point they were able to integrate them in such a way that he actually remembers them.
Peremensoe - Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 7:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

As someone who loves diversity among humans, I'm a little exasperated by how latter-day Trek so often depicts nonhuman peoples as having *remarkably similar* phenotypic variety to humans. "Justice" and "Code of Honor" may not be great but at least they don't make that mistake.
Next »Page 1 of 873
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer