Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 20,948 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 838
HolographicAndrew - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:38pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

@Justin "The Cataati were desperate people who had lost everything and they acted out of that desperation. But it seems like what you're saying is that you wish Janeway had finished what the Borg had started. Instead, she was able to remain compassionate and find a more diplomatic solution. Kudos to Janeway for putting the Federation's best foot forward."

The voyager crew is desparate too, but you don't see them disregarding their morals in order to get home. Desperation doesn't mean you get to just mug people with no consequences.

Janeway basically taught these aliens that if they don't get what they want from the Federation, they should threaten Federation lives. The Federation should not be pleased...

Compassion ends when they try to rob you at gunpoint. It also is not consistent with the Janeway who coldheartedly sent Tuvix to his demise for the safety of her crewmembers. But it is more in line with the Janeway who wouldn't go out of her way to get Neelix's lungs back.

My jaw honestly dropped at the resolution of this episode, I couldn't believe Janeway did not even give them a stern warning. Instead she equips them with the capability to continue robbing and plundering any ships that pass by. Ridiculous.

I totally agree with Lt. Yarko's comments on this episode.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I'nora, ja'kala vok 'za Ezri. Zhian'tara rek pora'al Zheem Dax tanas rhem Joran. 'za Ezri tanas rhem Joran. Vok Ezri, Joran tanas rhem.Tu Dax noh zhian 'vok j'zui. Joran rhem tanas Ezri.

(burp)

I guess that the "Zhian'tara" or the Guardian isn't needed anymore.

(burp)

Vulan's smiling

(burp)

Zero Stars.
HolographicAndrew - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:18pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Not getting the confusion about Tom's motivation. He wanted to save Chakotay because he felt guilty for not flying the shuttle, which he feels would not have been shot down if he was flying. Seems good to me.

To me this is one of the strongest Voyager episodes so far. The weird language was way better than other Trek attempts at having altered speech. And the acting was really good by everyone in this episode.

My only criticism is that the entire propaganda plot twist, while mind blowing, literally comes out of nowhere. I don't think there are any clues that the viewer could have picked up on that what Chakotay was experiencing was not real.

The moral message seems kind of unclear to me but overall this is a strong episode.
Vylora - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:18pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Moral dilemmas aside, this episode is ultimately a prime example of lack of follow-through of potential. There's some good scenes here to be sure. However, the crux of the matter is under-utilized and replaced with repetitive scenes involving Kes. Not that they were bad, just unnecessary. The crews reaction near the end was just plain bad writing. And the Captains decision amounts to meaning nothing when it's all said and done.

It's pointless to me to worry about the moralizing of an episode when said episode can't even match the premises potential.

1.5 stars.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:12pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Ezri dressed up like a whore.

Zek.

Mirror episode.

ZERO stars.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Good episode. Not great.

The more I get to watch Ezri the more I'm impressed with Nicole's acting.

Average. 2.5 stars.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 1:02pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Elliot,

"The weakness in the story has to do with Vic...the opportunity here was for the hologram to learn something about what it means to be a real person from Nog, dealing with a very real dilemma. Instead, he simply possesses all the wisdom and ability of a Guinan via virtue of some programmer (not to mention, he has ambition, passion and a desire for company...it's unsettling)."

Not a valid gripe Elliot. Vic DID learn something here. ... and it didn't take Guinan type wisdom to figure out what needed to happen.

Kristen's point about friendship is right on the mark. I'm surprised Jammer didn't comment on it.

A wonderful episode that had it not taken place would have cheapened the reality incurred in 'The Seige of AR-588' It would have been a shame not to address Nog's loss/hardship and it would have been even worse had he just showed up ready to go back to work.

Any comments directed at Ezri as a sub-par counselor are just dribble, illusory and boring. She did her job very well here. (as she did with Garak) Just because she isn't sitting there talking to Nog everyday (which Nog stated he was very tired of) doesn't mean she didn't aptly use the resources at her disposal. From her decision to let Nog stay in the holosuite with Vic, to making Vic realize Nog needed to move on - she was spot on. She also didn't do everything in a vacuum.

I don't know about any of you, but when Nog broke down and said he was scared I lost it. What a performance by Aron. Well done.

I loved it when Vic gave up his "life" for Nog and probably loved it more when Nog gave it back.

Another 4 star episode.
John TY - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:58pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Actually I recall that Robert S McNamara made the comment that the US administrations he served had a very misguided/limited view of the nature and causes of the conflict in Vietnam. And we all know how that turned out.
John TY - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:16pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Enjoyable - Kirk as quasi-villain is always fun to watch.

And some nice insight on the way casualties of war can become numbers and thereby facilitate the indifference of the general public. Topical stuff given the Vietnam War, and obviously still relevant today.

But in order to achieve a dramatic conclusion the show falls into a few TOS clichés. Most annoying is Kirk and co deciding they're going to dictate what's best for these people even though they've only just met them and know close to nothing about their war. Whether it technically breaks the prime directive or not, this kind of message is simplistic at best; encouraging very black and white thinking. It brings to mind many people's attitudes to ongoing (yet distant) conflicts around the world today - Israel/Palestine for example.

Anyway yes, at least no red shirts died in the filming of this episode.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Downgraded to 1 star.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

For gods sake, just how stupid ARE the Bajorans?

I so wish someone would have made Jim Jones (I mean Dukat) take one of those Promazine pills he gave everyone else.

I wish Kira would have killed him.

I don't like this character turn for Dukat.

2 stars. I really don't like watching this episode.
Yanks - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 11:51am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

"QUARK: Maybe, but I still don't want you anywhere near them. Let me tell you something about humans, nephew. They're a wonderful, friendly people as long as their bellies are full and their holosuites are working. But take away their creature comforts, deprive them of food, sleep, sonic showers, put their lives in jeopardy over an extended period of time, and those same friendly, intelligent, wonderful people will become as nasty and as violent as the most bloodthirsty Klingon. You don't believe me? Look at those faces. Look in their eyes. You know I'm right, don't you? Well? Aren't you going to say something?"

So, why do we get Quark in this episode and why do we get him saying stuff like this? I think he brings some more realism to this episode. It's not only a statement to Nog to make him maybe open his eyes to what it REALLY means to be a soldier and what by default you may be transformed, but it's a statement to us to bring the soldier/ground troops segment of the war front and center.

This episode aptly depicts war/battle worn/hardened soldiers that have been "on the lines" too long. This makes me think of WWII and the Battle of the Bulge. US soldiers served in the front lines without relief for longer than 5 months to include horrid winter conditions.

It's not so much about the battle as it is about the people in those situations and the decisions they are forced to make. The landscape provides the stage for the impending battle. You can say that’s convenient, but think about it. If it had been any different the Jem’Hadar would have retaken the comm array long ago. They always win the numbers game. It probably makes sense that the comm array is located where it is. It’s an easier position to defend.

There were a couple “tough choices” in this one. First, Sisko’s choice to remain was a huge one. That took some serious guts and was the right choice. They needed numbers. Plain and simple. Even adding inexperienced Star Fleet personnel (not ground troops) was better than leaving these soldiers with an unwinnable task. The presence of “Houdini’s” posed the other. The "Houdini’s" were immoral when they were used by the Jem'Hadar, but once they were figured out they had no choice but to use them to survive. Obviously it had to be done, but it was still a revealing choice to make. War isn’t about the easy choices, it’s about the hard ones. I commend Sisko for making both of these hard decisions.

Nog ends up losing a leg and despite Quark’s constant input, what does he do? He apologizes to his Captain for not getting the job done and takes responsibility for the death of Larkin. Say what you want about Nog, but don’t you dare pigeonhole him as soft, undedicated or unmotivated. I’m very impressed with him. The only thing he lacks is experience. The kid has heart.

I’ll nit-pic this one issue: The Jem’Hadar sending in holograms doesn’t seem realistic. The terrain already forced the conflict to a small area. I don’t think this stunt would have revealed anything anyone with half a brain couldn’t have deduced.

“Hold” is the order. Not like any battle our heroes have sustained or fought before in the series. No chance to fight then retreat, no chance to just outsmart your opponent, no chance to out maneuver them. No shades of grey. Hold, or die.

So the battle ensues…. First the Houdini’s do their part (which was pretty damned eerie) then they fight them off from a distance, then in close hand to hand combat. Of course, we lose SF personnel we just met and our heroes win the day. But this wasn’t just a bunch of ships plowing through other ships, these were people fighting and dying. PEOPLE. I’ve always wondered what the Jem’Hadar loss numbers were. Cannon fodder comes to mind. Even Quark has to gun one Jem’Hadar down.

This episode does everything it needs to do. I got the feeling what I was watching was real. It meant something. That doesn’t happen too often in any series, not just Trek or DS9.

“Wars may be fought with weapons, but they are won by men. It is the spirit of men who follow and of the man who leads that gains the victory.” George S. Patton

(replacements arrive)
Reese refers t to them as childrenn.

“Not for long.” Benjamin Lafayette Sisko

4 Stars.
Vylora - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 11:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Intriguing, strange, entertaining, brilliant. The amalgamation of fear is utilized in its many aspects from creepy to sinister to terrifying with doses of black humor in the range of subtle to outlandish. Fantastic performances and dialogue and an incredible ending. Very risky episode, indeed, but they pulled it off in spades.

Yes. I absolutely love it. Hands down one of my favorite Trek episodes.

4 stars.
Katie - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 11:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

@Elliot:
WOW. This is what you call a "little review"? Please stop.
Vylora - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 10:11am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Definitely an enjoyable hardware show with an interesting take on one of many quantum theories. Very nice pacing with a few well-realized "omg" moments thrown in for good measure.

This is one of those times, though, that makes me wonder if the repair teams are manned by miracle workers. My hunch is that the newer Starfleet vessels, like the Intrepid class, are built to be more self-sustainable. Still, the damage here seems to be quite extreme.

Neither here nor there, this is an impressive episode on a technical level and everything else is above average to good with only a few quibbles. I'd rather have Tribbles than quibbles, but, as a famous philosopher once said: "You can't always get what you want."

3 stars.
Peremensoe - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 9:04am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Rivus, you missed the point of the "carpet" line. Notice how Bashir raises his voice, as if he's angry; then Martok, who was actually getting angry a moment ago, only grumbles and walks away; Bashir smiles after him. He is saying, if you want to 'thank' me, don't get yourself hurt like that again.
Vylora - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 7:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

A well-directed and pretty exciting episode to be sure. Unfortunately, creativity and logical progression is replaced by lucky coincidences and contrivances galore. To end several episodes of setup with a payoff such as this is insulting.

1.5 stars.
Peremensoe - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 5:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

It's not a "magic reset" if the characters have to *work* to effect their recovery. If it takes time and struggle and choices, and leaves behind change and perspective.
Elliott - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:51am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Falconus: ironic that you would choose the word "demonised" since the concept of the demon is a unique product of religion itself. Religion has a way of damning itself, and bureucracies have a way of magnifying inherent faults. Granting political, bureucractic power to formalised collective wishful thinking is sinister in my book.
allen - Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 12:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Some technicalities about this story.

So nodes from dead drones won't work, and Janeway doesn't want to kill a living one to procure the component, gotcha. But how about the obvious next option? The borg don't sacrifice themselves to make new drones, so vessels must have stockpiles of pre-initiated nodes ready, to support their ambition. I'm sure there must have been some in that same debris field they were at.

Second story technicality: Ichep brought up a good point about his young age helping his adaptation to life without a node. But what about the other children they left behind on so and so planet? Their lifespans won't be much longer than twenty years unless their nodes are removed too.
msw188 - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 11:34pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Somebody earlier made a comment likening this to Birthright, and I agree. Unfortunately, I find 'office romance' less compelling of an idea compared to 'regaining lost culture'. The execution here is a bit better, but only because of better acting. There's almost nothing for me to chew on here that isn't just piggybacking off of the Inner Light. It just doesn't feel like there's any inventiveness in the writing (compare with the ideas floating around in "Perfect Mate"), and the overall story and directing feel stale. I'm beginning to see why people say season 6 is where the show starts to feel 'tired'. I'm a bit harsher on the scale than Jammer; I'd probably hand this a low 2 or a high 1.5 stars. Whereas Birthright as a whole I'd feel okay with giving 2.5 stars.
msw188 - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 10:04pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

This is a hard pair of episodes to judge - interesting ideas but the execution is mixed.

SkepticalMI,
I pretty much agree with everything you're saying here. Especially:
"that plot point was dropped like a hot potato and nothing of any relevance came out of it. And naturally the relationship was dropped immediately after the episode ended. It should never have happened at all."
I know, right? Just like the Tasha Yar thing on Yesterday's Enterprise. Why doesn't anybody complain about that one?

(PS: I know there's no adult+teenager ick-factor in YesEnt, I'm just still trying to figure out why people like that episode so much)
Falconus - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 8:58pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

What is this "organized religion" that is being demonized?

It's nothing more than two or more people agreeing on a particular metaphysical premise. There's nothing sinister about that, nor much of anything to distinguish it from the vague "spirituality" that you find acceptable.

Now I'm disappointed because I don't know if this actually worth watching, or if evangelical atheists are just praising it because they agree with the message.
David J - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 8:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

I loved how faddil played the changeling disguised as bashir when o'brien catches him in the tube. It was oh so slightly off, but not obvious.
Yanks - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 7:26pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Wow, I'll review this tomorrow.

I still say Gene would have approved of DS9.

We didn't start the "war" with the Borg, but we fought it. The ever proper Picard lost it in the battle process as well. If it weren't for Lilly, he might have just lost the battle in FC. Hell, Picard was going to infect Hugh and commit genocide until he heard him say "I".

We didn't start the war in DS9 either. Does anyone for a moment think the Founders could have been talked out of imposing order on the Alpha Quadrant?

DS9 showed us how humans react to war in the 24th century. And the simple fact is, we all will do anything to protect what is ours, and our families. So episodes like ITPM are realistic. All Star Trek incarnations did this. Kirk attacked a Romulan war bird to protect our posts and prevent a war. Picard attacked the Borg, Janeway battled the Borg and Archer Battled the Xindi. The difference is DS9 actually had to deal with a war.

This episode, in the universe that has Jem'Hadar and Klingons as ground soldiers required the Federation to respond in kind. I personally do not think ground soldiers would ever be necessary in the 24th century where star ships are commonplace, but that's not the setting we were given. So this episode is pertinent and situations like this could happen.

While Star Trek is not dystopian, it's not utopian either aside from Earth.

See you guys tomorrow, my Steelers are on.
Next »Page 1 of 838
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer