Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,336 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,374
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Kind of odd that people are saying they sympathise with Eddington because of Sisko's actions. Sisko didn't do anything that Eddington hadn't already done, unless you think it doesn't matter because it was only Cardassians. I find myself unable to sympathise with Eddington just because of how smug and annoying he is.
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I quite liked this episode, but the oldest male "child" looked about 30!
Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

There are a few things that attempt to salvage this episode. However, as to the plot, this dead horse has been beaten so badly, it's bones have been pulverized to a fine powder. Enough already with the "close calls". It's unoriginal. It's boring. It's insulting to the audience. This is the one major reason why I feel Voyager could never measure up to the other series that came before. They could have done anything with this ship but instead, it turned into this "plodding our way home" ordeal. As Jammer said, enough with the teasers. If they aren't going to get home until the series finale, then let's stop with the false hopes BS and get on with other themes. Frankly, I don't care if others don't find the Gilligan's Island plot repetition to be obnoxious. This is bush league writing and fodder for the all-but-discerning viewer.

It's especially insulting that the encrypted Star Fleet message from several episodes past was just a "Sorry, no go on any help from us... but good luck!" What a complete waste of a plot device.

-2 for yet-another-we-came-close-to-getting-home-but-sorry-not-this-time plot
+1 for good dialog and performances from the Voyager crew
+1 for great character interactions between Janeway & Seven
-0.5 for Ray Wise's lackluster performance
-1 for absurd revenge plot and associated contrivances
+2 for exploring the effects of Janeway's decision from Scorpion
-1 for making us wait for the Star Fleet message decryption for nothing except another Gilligan-in-Space spiel

Episode gets a -0.5 stars in my book. Call me picky, but Gilligan's Island barely worked as a serialized sitcom. Stop using its themes in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@NCC-1701-Z : Well Dax couldn't have been in Starfleet during that era, so I doubt she'd be a main character. But I would get a kick out of a name drop or a cameo too :)
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

This episode was quite acceptable after a crummy pilot and trashy early episodes.
Hardly surprising since it was co written by Diane Duane and loosely based on one of the best TOS novels:The Wounded Sky.
The mirage section was old ,old territory and cropped up again in Generations. As implied above how much better would it have been if the hallucinations were created by morally ambiguous extra galactic monsters.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I don't think Dax will be a main character, but if she pops up as a one-episode guest character or even a cameo that would be a really awesome Easter egg for the DS9 fans!!!
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Chrome - I can answer that! Since Bones hadn't entered medical school when he met Emony and 10 years before Kirk's voyage he'd have to be in medical school if he was going to be the chief medical officer of the flagship in 10 years (despite what nuTrek says, you don't get magical promotions from cadet to Captain of the flagship) it can't be anything PRIOR to Emony. So Lela/Tobin are out.

Assuming no retcons at all from DS9, Joran Dax died in 2286. DSC launches in 2255, 31 years earlier. So Joran and Curzon are out as well (Joran Dax only existed for 6 months after all).

Aside from Curzon we know the most about Torias because multiple episodes involved him. We know he got into the shuttle crash after being joined less than a year. So the latest Audrid could have died in 2284.

Bones was born in 2227. Upon further examination Emony met Bones when he was in college and she was judging a gymnastics competition on Earth. So let's say 18-22 years after this (2245-2249).

Her career was over already if she was a judge, and Dax raises children as Audrid. So presumably Audrid Dax existed for at least 20-30 years. So I'd say, with a bit of guessing, that DSC launches right around the time that Emony died and Audrid became host. So you could really meet either one.

Audrid is the head of the symbiosis committee on Trill, so if you wanted a good story that might be more interesting than a gymnast.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode."

Like I said, there is a multi-million dollar fan flic being made right now on Axanar. Look it up the documentary on Youtube, its going to be awesome. It has some familiar faces in it.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The real question is, which host would Dax be in during that time? :-)
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Ah yes more Chakotay is every native american stuff. poor Robert Beltran the only episodes they ever write for him are about how he's a native american who's tribe lived in central america but holds north american values and cultural traits.

No wonder he bitches about the voyager staff all the time they made his character from a Guerrilla fighter trying to protect his home to, my people believe you can't own land now I must go on a spirit journey and play the song of my people Pan flutes. Doesn't help that for all but a half dozen episodes he was janeway's bitch who rarely voiced his opinion and just did what ever the captain said.

I do find it amusing that the voyager writers actually wrote that native Americans were so uncivilized with little more than fire and stone tools that they needed aliens to genetically alter them in order to thrive and build civilizations.
Set Bookmark
Wafflestomper
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

One thing I learned from this episode:
Omega Directive > Prime Directive
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Is there any chance that a Dax previous host shows up on this show somehow?

I don't think Trill was discovered until way later on but hey who knows? "

It's about 99.999999999999% likely that TNG's "The Host" never happened. Stuff we know about Trills from Dax:

1. They don't re-associate with past lovers.
2. They have spots.
3. Dax was involved with Starfleet at a point where Emony met Bones.
4. Curzon was Sisko's mentor, a Federation ambassador, and Sisko was aware of his nature. This occurred prior to the beginning of TNG.
5. The symbionts do not overwhelm the host, instead creating a new individual.
6. Has no trouble using the transporter.

Stuff we know about Trills from Odan :

1. "It" was totally fine continuing a sexual relationship with Beverly across 3 hosts.
2. Forehead ridges, no spots.
3. Starfleet does not seem to be aware that Trill symbionts exist as of the events of "The Host" (2367) despite Curzon dying in 2367 and Dax, a Starfleet officer, getting the symbiont. I guess they don't do medical scans on her ship.
4. And while we're on the topic of medical scans, I guess they didn't scan Odan when he boarded. One would assume that passengers brought in on shuttles are scanned since that would be standard procedure for the transporter.
5. Odan has no personality or name change from one host to the next. Riker is completely gone. And apparently these symbionts can be briefly joined to humans?!
6. Cannot use the transporter.

Verdict. You can either a) retcon "The Host", b) assume that there are two species called Trill that by some random coincidence both use symbionts and that Dax's Trill homeworld is a Federation member while Odan's is relatively unknown or c) retcon all of DS9.

I don't care if you pick a) or b) but I'd have some beef with c).
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Holy crap, just thought of something:

Is there any chance that a Dax previous host shows up on this show somehow?
I don't think Trill was discovered until way later on but hey who knows?
Set Bookmark
TS
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

After years... and I mean YEARS... of starting and stopping my very first watch of Enterprise (mainly due to the consistent mediocrity of the show), this episode and "Dear Doctor" have been the ones to keep me going this year. Glad I've finally made it this far.

Aside from moments that bordered on complete silliness ("Stinky"...?), I thought this was a very effective character based episode.

A shame they haven't been making more like "Dear Doctor" or "Shuttlepod One" up to this point, otherwise I might have actually stuck with the show when I first tried watching it 8-9 years ago. I hope there are more like them as I continue my first run-through of the series.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

The only interesting scenes were on the holodeck.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Very nice. Even Janeway and Chuckitoutkotay were at least watchable here. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Watchable. (*)
Set Bookmark
Saty13
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I enjoyed this episode very much. It works on many levels. Great story-telling and suspense. Great character development. Beautiful performance by Brent Spiner as an amnesiatic Data trying trying to convince people he only wants to help them and not harm them.

And the woman who plays the teacher/healer/scientist...awesome character. My favorite moment is when she says: "I'm sure my grandmother would have called [Data] a demon or spirit or some sort of monster" Then her modern, scientific-thinking leads her to conclude, "You are an Ice Man." Priceless. It's a wonderfully funny moment, yet it doesn't make her look ridiculous. She's is simply making sense of things using whatever frames of reference she has.

Set Bookmark
dave
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

@RandomThoughts

If they took your advice on auto beamouts half of the Trek episodes would be gone. What would the writers do then? :)
Set Bookmark
O'Doyle
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Totally agree with Corey - 4 stars. I was born in '71 and caught a lot of TOS in early reruns. This one was totally riveting. The silencing of heartbeat scene is on the three or four most indelible TV moments of my childhood. Loved it. I've picked up the new blue-ray release and have been watching them with my son - he gives this one 4 stars as well. Can't argue with that.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

I liked Kira's comment, something like 'I'm sure you Starfleet types find this all fascinating. But I am a Bajoran military officer. This is not what I signed up for!"

It would have been better if someone said to her at the end of the episode something like, 'well, you'll have to get used to it.'
Set Bookmark
methane
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Overall, I felt this was a satisfying season. I felt everybody got appropriate endings, even if they didn't always get the strongest material to get to those endings. I have lots of little thoughts on different aspects of this season, so this will be a rambling post.

I found the first 2 episodes to be solid, although (as I've said before), making Sisko's mother one of the wormhole aliens (or a human possessed by a wormhole alien), was a mistake. It didn't add anything to the series, while removing some of the moral differences between the 'prophets' & the paghwraiths.

While her episodes weren't the strongest, i did like the character of Ezri, and I did like how she progressed through the season. Sorry haters (or is it one hater, with lots of usernames?). I don't think she & Bashir are destined to be together forever, and if they ever show up in Star Trek again, I hope they aren't a couple.

Among the stand alone episodes, "The Emperor's New Cloak" is the only one I would call truly bad, although there are several, like "Prodigal Daughter" and "Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang" that I would say are just passable. "Take Me Out to the Holosuite", "Treachery, Faith, and the Great River", "It's Only a Paper Moon", and "Chimera" are all classics for me.

Some people (including Jammer) have pointed to Bajor not being admitted to the Federation as something that was missing from this season. I disagree. We already saw Bajor get admitted, which they turned down at Sisko's urging. I think it is understood they will again be offered admission soon after the peace is firmly established. If there would have been a season 8, it would have made a good storyline. The war would have made some Bajorans more sure of the fact that Bajor should try to be neutral, even as other Bajorans would be more convinced than ever that Bajor needed to be firmly integrated into the Federation. I think it was appropriate that season 7 end with the war without trying to tack this on. If we ever see a Star Trek series set post-DS9, I expect we'll see Bajor mentioned as full Federation members.

That said, I agree that it would have been good to see more stuff happening on Bajor these past few seasons.

On the subject of the final serialized episodes:

-I wish Ezri had more to do aside from resolving her romantic life. I think the writers were using her relationships with Worf & Bashir as an excuse to introduce some romantic comedy "fun" into the dark episodes while communicating the general idea that "life goes on". Sometimes it worked, but it dragged out too long (both parts: ending her realtionship with Worf & starting her relationship with Bashir). Of course, she did get the great speech on the nature of the Klingon Empire in "Tacking into the Wind".

-Speaking of that speech, the changing of the leadership of the Klingon empire was well done. A climax of Klingon political stories going back to...what, the 3rd season of TNG? Which would be 10 years of Klingon stories. The political changes on Ferenginar, however, don't make much sense. Which, I suppose, is consistent with how Ferengi society has worked throughout the series. Still, the characters were good there.

-Yes "Extreme Measures" doesn't address the moral questions posed by section 31, and yes, it does rely on "VR cliches" (as Jammer puts it), but I enjoy the episode for what it is: not a classic, but OK as the last Bashir/O'Brien buddy pairing.

-I agree with most everyone that the Cardassian material was the strongest of the final run. I disagree with a lot of people in that I believe it's appropriate that Damar gets killed before seeing Cardassia freed. First of all, he has done a lot of evil in his time, so it's not like he's an innocent. More importantly, however, the series is ending by removing the people who can command unthinking allegiance. Sisko (the chosen of the 'prophets'), Winn (the head of the religious hierarchy), Dukat (the charismatic leader), & Damar (the revolutionary hero) are all gone. Cardassia & Bajor are going to have to move forward by coming together without any obvious leaders who can command blind obedience. If there was an 8th season, it would have been interesting to see to what extent Kira & Garak could influence their planets. Neither one would have commanded blind loyalty, and Garak in particular would have been treated with suspicion.

-On the Winn/Dukat/Sisko prophet/paghwraith material. Some of the Winn/Dukat stuff was entertaining. Dukat becoming a Bajoran for a while is interesting, seducing Winn is both icky and interesting, losing his eyesight & being exiled is interesting, but we don't see him suffer (or learn) anything from that. Still, reducing Dukat to a one-dimensional 'bad-guy' was dull and a let down. Winn's characterization seemed to change from episode to episode in the final episodes (which I wrote a little about in a few comment sections). Like Sisko's 'prophet parentage', adding the paghwraiths to the series was a mistake.

-However, I do think Sisko ending up in the wormhole, out of time, is an appropriate ending for the character. Time has been a recurring theme with the character throughout the series, even before they decided to make him part-prophet, and the victory of "Sacrifice of Angels" required him not to find a straight-forward hero's ending. One of the earlier commenters above complained that DS9 didn't use a lot of science fiction ideas. Well, the hero of the series having been in the wormhole the whole time (guiding himself?) is an interesting science fiction idea.

I think every episode of the final run was worthwhile, but the unevenness of the material always leaves me with a bit of a feeling that this season wasn't quite as strong as it really was. Oh well, DS9 is still my favorite version of Star Trek & one of my favorite shows of any genre.
Set Bookmark
Dr Qui
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Not only was this a bad episode, but if you watch the fake newsreel footage carefully, you'll note that one of the 'parasitic elements' that needed to be rooted out was apparently the Canadian Prime Minister during WII, William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Granted, I've always suspected that if time travelling Nazi vampire aliens were to invade America they'd naturally want to make us into your puppet rulers, but I think the producers might have gone a little too far with that one.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

As Janeway pointed out, we went through this with Seven. Predictable ending (***)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,374
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.