Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35,960 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,439
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Romulan war core technology seems to be common knowledge to Starfleet. Given that they can track it, doesn't that make cloaking totally useless? Just scan for signatures to detect cloaks. Have that as a standard background scan and have the system alert you when it finds something. Then lock on photon torpedoes and blast away. Cloaked ships can't shoot back, not can they raise shields, so they would be helpless.

That coupled with the antiproton scans make Romulan cloaks (and by extension Klingon cloaks since they are derived frok Romulan tech) almost completely useless.
Set Bookmark
Stuart
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 8:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

@Peter G.

Bottom line is I don't think Jellico was necessary to resolve the conflict. I think his attitude caused the internal conflict with the crew. You can be a CO and get people to follow your orders but you don't have to purposely conflict with them which is what I think he did. He did nothing to help the crew trust him, other than Starfleet saying he was now in charge.

Still a good episode though, but the practicality of it is not there, to me.
Set Bookmark
Alex
Wed, Dec 7, 2016, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Male/female!

I love seeing Picard display his deep anthro understanding. I think this episode works because Picard IS a Korgano-figure - he does represent a sort of ultimate archetypal masculine. So it's satisfying to see him do badass things like reason sensibly with an all-powerful "glorious" female power. Another example of this sort of archetypal feminine power, I think, is found in Phoenix from X-Men.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Can I still hold a place in my heart for this episode, purely because it has one of my most favorite absurd line readings from Frakes, as Jammer pointed out. It always makes me chuckle. Probably cause it's so out of character for one, how it reveals the overdramatic, sensational, almost soap opera view the of the world of the viewpoint character has, as well as how they view Agbar.

Well, like they say, everyone is the hero of their own story.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@mik73

Good points here. There's no purjury here in any case, as according to Troi, Manua was telling the truth as she remembered it. It just so happens she remembered wrong.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Of course a rape acquittal does not automatically lead to a perjury prosecution! Good lord. Beyond the considerations already mentioned, there is the simple fact that--as with any other sort of prosecution--an acquittal does not necessarily mean that the crime did not occur.

Also, rape victims are not necessarily eyewitnesses to the act. Recall the recent Stanford rapist Brock Turner, whose victim was unconscious.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The scene with crazy Riker still chills me to the bone.
Set Bookmark
mik73
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 6:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Wait...what?

Very few rape acquittals lead to perjury charges against the accuser. Bad for the 'wanting women to actually report real rape without fear of jail time' business.

Does it happen on occasion? Certainly, but just like any crime, charging someone with murder, rape or perjury is one thing...proving it is another and could just make an ugly situation worse for all sides (or just be such a waste of time and resources it's not worth the bother).

From a lazy 3 second Google search using "rape accuser perjury jail":

"Unfortunately, the topic of rape is so touchy that many are unwilling to do anything about a false claim. Some prosecutors side with the false-accuser even after the evidence clearly reveals that the claim is false, believing it could be an honest mistake, a difference of opinion regarding consent, or a cry for help from someone suffering in other ways at the hands of the one they wrongfully accused. Moreover, prosecutors and law enforcement do not want actual rape victims to fear possible criminal sanctions for reporting legitimate rapes if it later becomes impossible to prove the case. As a result, very few false claims are ever prosecuted criminally."

Yeah yeah, don't believe what some schmuck posts on the evyl intarwebs. But this passes the smell test for basic common sense in my world. Of course this is Trekverse, not the real world. They've always played fast and loose with law, technology and consequences of same due to the episodic nature of it. I give them some allowances for entertainment value, but I admit this was stretching it quite a bit.

As far as the episode itself - The holodeck gimmick was neat. Frakes had fun. The rest....meh. 2 stars. Passable, not overly noteworthy or cringeworthy for me anyway.

Set Bookmark
Karolina
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I really liked it. It was sorta sad, and a little bizarre, and definitely had a bit of a Solaris feel to it (as someone mentioned in a previous comment). How would you feel if you knew that a duplicate of you was living out another life somewhere else? That the decision was pretty much made for you (as far as we know in the episode)? Torn? Betrayed? Violated? Maybe it's because I don't mind a little mystery and when things don't totally make sense. There's poetry in chaos, too. Things don't always need to be tidily resolved or understood (and honestly the validity of the science in the episode is irrelevant to me, the entire premise was bizarre so I just didn't care.) I liked Course: Oblivion, too. I didn't need or want there to be a "point". I guess there's a reason humans have been writing tragedies for ages...Maybe it's a little gratuitous but to me it's just another element of life to explore.
Set Bookmark
dave johnson
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

I am not sure why there is so much outrage over the jailbreak. They set her up to break out and that is why it was so damn easy.

First time I saw this episode and Neelix has a phaser when he walks in, it was prettty clear what the plan was. Nobody ever walks in to a holding cell like that.

The best part was Mr Method Actor immersing himself in Tuvok 24/7. The next Daniel Day Lewis I think.
Set Bookmark
Susan
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I wonder why they didn't develop the story along the lines of Sim really being a part of Trip, to ultimately be reunited to Trip in the conclusion. That would be a whole lot more positive than coercing Sim to die to save Trip. Sim knew he would die in a few days, but as Trip would have a chance at a normal adult lifespan. I agree with others also that other crew needed to have opportunity to react and voice their responses. This story made Archer into an ugly utilitarian which is not who he really is.
Set Bookmark
Tidesfromnebula
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

*Neeley
Set Bookmark
Tidesfromnebula
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

LT Heeley - shame she wasn't turned into a reccuring character, completely steals show with the limited time she's given!

Not even an unamed random redshirt, how many 1 shot characters get the rank of LT!?

Count me in the Heeley fanclub!
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

"So maybe I'm wrong but Nechayev helped to create the situation but introducing "an unstable element to a critical situation"."

I seem to recall Tim Lynch judging Part I a little more harshly than Jammer did, partly because of this issue - while the payoff was worth it, pulling Picard off the Enterprise and assigning him, Crusher, and Worf to this mission doesn't really make a whole lot of sense. Doesn't Starfleet have the equivalent of "special forces," and wouldn't there be someone among them who knows enough about metagenic weapons to handle the mission? Or if not, couldn't they be briefed on the issue sufficiently? I could buy the notion of Worf as one of Starfleet's most proficient practitioners of stealth and combat, but not so much Picard or Crusher.

As for the military culture issue, I could imagine that Starfleet's culture might be a little more lax and free-wheeling compared to that of present-day human militaries. I'm not saying that entirely excuses Riker's behavior, but maybe it doesn't cross the line of unprofessionalism the same way that it might in a contemporary setting. Also, while it may not have taken shape in the writers' heads at this point, his history with the Pegasus might have engendered a certain skepticism of the "pipe down and just follow my orders" command style.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

@ Stuart,

"I don't think Jellico did anything to help foster an environment where people could work with him. Riker even told him he had the people so wound up there was no joy in it. A CO has to be stern and command but he also has to create an environment where people can work together."

This is certainly true if we were talking about working in an office, just as much as it would be untrue of a military unit. Starfleet *is* military, even if they're a different flavor of it in a utopian future. Some Starfleet officers are no doubt more militaristic, some more diplomatic, and others yet a bit informal. Jellico made his command style clear as day in the brilliant exchange when he asked Deanna to wear a standard uniform. She was sad about it, but in reality had no right to be seeing as the standard uniform is...well, standard. She was just used to a more lax bridge decorum, and the same goes for the rest of the crew, who seemed used to a more laissez-faire management. That's well and good, but rebelling when they don't get their cushy system anymore is really not professional. It's completely understandable, of course, since they had been working that way for years, but they were certainly not "right" that Jellico was out of line reorganizing the ship. The bottom line is they were holding out for Picard to come back and didn't want to switch away from his system, and that was as much as to say they didn't accept Jellico as Captain.

"Could Riker have tried harder, I doubt he would want to because of reasons I mentioned already, but perhaps."

This was the entire problem. Riker didn't want to try harder. From the beginning his attitude was "this isn't Picard, this sucks." He was actively resisting Jellico's command, and couldn't do his job properly as a result. It's the XO's job to implement the Captain's commands, and therefore the structure should have been Riker on Jellico's side, making sure the crew was able to function. It wasn't Jellico's job to make them feel good about it, it was Riker's, and he did exactly the opposite by making it clear (to Geordi, for instance) that he was opposed to Jellico's instructions. Riker quickly established an air of him being on the crew's side against Jellico, and for that he was rightly dismissed as he was totally out of line. Jellico didn't usurp the Enterprise, he was given it by Starfleet command, and if the crew had any respect for Starfleet they should have stowed their objections and completed their mission.

"Further, I didn't see that Jellico brought anything much to negotiating table other than making the Cardassians wait to throw them off balance. Riker comes away thinking, ahh at least he knows what he's doing with them, and Troi says no he doesn't."

That's not what they said, though. Riker said that Jellico was sure of himself, and Troi replied that he wasn't. That's not at all the same as saying he didn't know what he was doing, which in fact he did. The point is that Jellico couldn't be sure his tactics would work because they were a calculated gamble from start to finish. In terms of what he brought to the table, it was the understanding of Cardassian thinking, behaving with them in a way they would understand (recall the respect O'Brien accrued with the Cardassian scientist when he treated her aggressively), and chiefly the willingness to operate on a knife's edge and take dangerous chances. His decision to mine the Cardassian ships is something Picard would never have done, and we should bear in mind that this kind of inflammatory yet calculated tactic is also the only thing that saved Picard's life.
Set Bookmark
Stuart
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

I don't think Jellico did anything to help foster an environment where people could work with him. Riker even told him he had the people so wound up there was no joy in it. A CO has to be stern and command but he also has to create an environment where people can work together. It seems to me Jellico just came on and started barking orders and didn't even introduce himself to the crew at the change of command ceremony. When Troi comes to tell him you could be a little less Klingon about how you are doing things, he sends her packing without even giving her counsel any consideration. Again as a CO you need to listen to the professionals around you. Could Riker have tried harder, I doubt he would want to because of reasons I mentioned already, but perhaps.

Further, I didn't see that Jellico brought anything much to negotiating table other than making the Cardassians wait to throw them off balance. Riker comes away thinking, ahh at least he knows what he's doing with them, and Troi says no he doesn't. In fact, when the Cardassians asked Jellico where Picard was he was taken out of sorts as another poster mentioned. And that was when Riker took over the discussion in the conference room. Hope I haven't mixed that sequence up.:)

Riker has proved himself a sound tactician in many other situations before there is no reason to doubt his instincts here. I am sure he'd have dealt with the Cardassians as needed.

I admit some teams work better together, and mixing won't always produce the same good results. And Riker and Jellico definetly didn't get along here. I recall Picard picked Riker because he was adamant that his CO would not beam down into a crisis and Picard thought that was a good characteristic to have in an XO. Someone who would stand up to him.

And further to all of this, where did the Cairo go? If you have a crisis on your border don't you want more ships? If you want Jellico to head it up, leave the Cairo with the Enterprise under command of it's XO and Enterprise under command of it's XO and you could temporarily assign quarters to Jellico who could serve as the Flag rank, transfer his flag to the flagship and he can coordinate the small task force from there. The change of command was not required. How many times has Riker led the Enterprise into conflict without Picard...a few...

So maybe I'm wrong but Nechayev helped to create the situation but introducing "an unstable element to a critical situation".
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

When I first saw this episode, I thought that the logical thing to do would be to cut off Kira's foot. I mean, Kira is a battle-hardened former terrorist. She's no-nonsense and practical. Once it was clear that the crystal was going to keep growing then she could have chopped off the leg below the knee or something. I thought it was inconsistent with her character, particularly since we've seen her solve several problems with simply shooting things. That made the reveal much more credible to me. Little things were just a little off because of course they would be. The changeling was able to replicate how Kira looked easily enough, but her knowledge of Kira's personality would have come from Odo's memories, so they wouldn't be a perfect match.

As for why the phaser didn't hurt, either the phaser was set to a super low setting, or the phaser wasn't real. This brings up a point I've always wondered, when Odo turns into his liquid/gelatinous state, they don't show his taking his combadge off first. Instead, it always converts to liquid with him. Now, this could just be a nitpick over a minor detail, but it could also show that the changelings could turn themselves into functional electronics. In which case, making a fake phaser would be just par for the course as far as their abilities are concerned.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 8:18am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

" I ended up feeling like Sisko discussing linear and non-linear time with my son :-)"

It's like... BASEBALL!
The pitcher throws the ball: The batter swings.. He might hit it, he might miss..
YOU JUST NEVER KNOW!

I'm paraphrasing but my daughter and I joke around about Sisko's linear baseball speech all the time lol.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Dec 6, 2016, 2:36am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Del_Duio: That would be hilarious if that actually happened, and the camera panned out to the bridge of a 25th century starship.

25th century officer: "Sir, we were unable to save the warp bubble pocket universe."
25th century captain: "Make a note on the captain's log: sucks to be that universe. Set course for the Andromeda Galaxy. Warp 47."
[Camera pans over to Rod Serling]
Rod Serling: "The crew of the ship Discovery are no more. Indeed, they never existed to begin with ... except in the Twilight Zone."
[DUN DUN DUN]

^ I kid, of course. Not trying to slight the not-yet-premiered show. Just having some fun.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Everyone forgetting about the mercenaries Quark hired in the episode The Passenger? With Quark's help, they beamed aboard a freighter and killed the bridge crew making him an accessory to murder. No pangs of guilt about that.
Set Bookmark
David Pirtle
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 10:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Watching this episode just reminded me how special is this franchise. It's the only one that could produce it. That said, I was thoroughly prepared to be disappointed that What's-his-name Dax was responsible for modifying the flight plan. I thought it would have been way better if it had been Odo. Then it turned out to be Odo!
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Meh too.

Interesting concept, but somehow this episode is less than the sum of its parts.

Daynar's ultimate escape from the ship seems to take forever and somehow, on a starship with more than 1,000 people, there's just Worf and two security men available to hunt this guy? How is that possible?

Also, at the risk of being rude, at what point does somebody just hit Daynar with a phaser set to heavy stunn or simply kill him?

Overall, the episode seems needlessly drawn out for its preordained conclusion.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Arrival" is absolutely Jammer-worthy. Up there with "Interstellar" and "Contact".
Set Bookmark
Sean
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

You can clearly hear Zek say Rom when he's talking to Quark, but then who cares? This episode didn't do anything for me. Seeing Bashir and Ezri court each other for ten minutes was a painful scene to watch. And having Leeta ask for a raise seemed oddly out of place. It's fun seeing Jeffrey Combs play both Brunt and Weyoun in the same episode. I've always liked that guy.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Pam, you're not alone. I just saw this one again and thought it was insipid. Yes, there were some cute comic moments. But the whole "who's got the upper hand" changing every five minutes isn't an amusing running gag; it drained any momentum and plausibility from the plot. Worst of all is when suddenly it's The End and we have (a) no resolution to the planetary situation which set this whole thing up in the first place and (b) an additional Prime Directive issue because of an irrelevant piece of goofiness -- McCoy left his communicator behind. Kirk cracks a funny and we cut to credits. So WTF was the point of the whole story?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,439
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.