Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,660 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1027
John G - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 7:48pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

@Ashton Withers
Well I guess they were sort of like the Nazis, without the racism, anti-Semitism, concentration camps, gas chambers, desire for global domination etc, etc.

Come on, they weren't anything like Nazis. They were generally good, very courageous young people fighting for a noble cause under extremely difficult circumstances.

Their fatal flaws were that they became arrogant and overestimated their own abilities and that they allowed their undestandable admiration of Watters to cloud their judgement and lead them to follow him blindly.

Cosette - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 5:41pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Also, they have a freaking exobiologist on board. Poor Samantha Wildman.
Cosette - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 5:38pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

I have to agree with Robert. We are uncovering information now that indicates solitary confinement might be akin to torture. At the very least, many people currently consider it inhumane. I have a very hard time believing that Janeway would consider it an appropriate punishment for a member of her crew.

They have encountered many cultures with innovative means of punishment. Why would they ever use one which is of questionable ethics?
Ashton Withers - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 3:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I found this episode very well played. I think 'Red Squad' is supposed to be akin to naziism. Think about the big picture. All the cadets thinks Red Squad is superior to everyone else. They even have certain rules. 'Don't talk about emotional things...blah blah' They have a symbol, the Red Squad badge. And I really started feeling the nazi vibe when everyone started chanting 'RED SQUAD! RED SQUAD!' Everyone took orders from the cadet captain blindly. Even to their death. I like this episode's metaphors.
Troy - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 3:10pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

I did like the dog and snake aliens in this one. Really some of the best aliens in the entire series where "alien" usually just meant spots, bumps, or just plain ordinary human. The "dog" alien is also reused in the episode "Tapestry" in the bar scene.
Ashton Withers - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 2:55pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Sometimes I wish I had an Uncle Vic...
Riker's Beard - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 2:41pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

This was a pretty lame episode. I did however appreciate the exchange at the very beginning between Riker and Data when Riker notices that Data didn't relay the time in milliseconds. This is great continuity from two episodes ago when Riker was questioning his reality by challenging Data's processing speed. Riker questioning Data in this episode shows how deeply Riker was effected by his experience and perhaps now he will always be looking out for indications that he is not part of normal reality. Also Data's reason for not supplying the information showed good character development. Thank you Michael Piller!
Troy - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 2:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Never understoody why some people say it is racist. I used to joke they went to planet Africa, but thought it was a good venue for black actors and also it made them bad guys rather than patronize them.
That said it is rather weak (1-1/2 stars for me), but ok when judged in the context of 1st season.
In regards to Adara's point about Tasha dodging rape gangs wouldn't be attracted to an abducter...while her planet HAD rape gangs it is never asserted that a rape gang actually caught her.
Troy - Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 1:26pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I'd give this 2-3/4 stars, as it is well done but doesn't quite rise to the top of my favorite episodes.
The smiley face in the warp breach smoke was very cute. I also liked the multiple instances of misdirection. Everything is made to look like a Romulan attack when in fact it wasn't even them.
The blow up and rewind didn't work as well as "Cause and Effect" and this is just a less enganging episode overall.
Corey - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:45pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I hate Daniels. The last thing Enterprise needs is temporal cold wars and time leaping Federation space police.

This episode had some good direction, some nice music, some atypically dark atmosphere. Unfortunately, it's all in the service of a lazy script. With episodes like this, Enterprise seems to be chasing ratings and attempting to be hip. It's cringe-worthy to watch.
Corey - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:42pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Contrary to what "capitalist" says, the Sunni/Shia conflict has always spawned, not from religious doctrinal disputes, but issues of power, politics, resources and land. Religious mumbo jumbo comes after.

Chelsea, it's a reach to read this episode as a comment on Israel's colonisation of Palestine. The Palestinian terrorists, again, blow themselves and others up not for religious issues, but for territorial issues.

What this episode is really doing is presenting the common post-9/11 view of terrorists: nutty religious fundamentalists who are mad at others for vague, nutty religious reasons. In the real world, though, most major studies show that terrorists primarily act, not for religious reasons, but for issues of political/national autonomy.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I chuckled along when reading this review, because most of what Jammer criticised in this episode, I enjoyed. And I love Lwaxana Troi, who is my favourite minor character.* I like all the Ferengi episodes I've seen, too.

The episodes I don't care for are most of the Mirror Universe episodes, and--the worst: Meridian. I don't hate the last with passion. I just really dislike it.
--
*TNG's Half a Life is probably my favourite episode in that series.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 6:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Jack,

Sorry so long to reply.

Good point. Garak must have had a past with Entek.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:11pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Sorry, auto-correct on my phone garbled that last word, which should have been "re-watch."
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Absolutely spot-on review by Jammer. But I'd give this 1.5 stars, and without the B-story, I'd go down to one or even zero. I don't ever intend a research.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Who can forget Dukat bellowing, Bajoran workers!" I loved this episode's take on TNG's very enjoyable equivalent. It was by turns dark and funny, and nearly always quite clever.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 2:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I like this episode 3 stars worth. One issue, and Jammer points this out is how little differentiation there is between the two Rikers--just the yellow vs. red uniform. And while it is startling and give a great heads up I think a better actor like Patrick Stewart might have been able to give a more nuance performance on the Riker that spent 8 years in isolation, and yes no holodeck or anything would allow that to be anything less than a traumatic experience. I actually had more belief in the kids in "Rascals" than I did in believeing two different Rikers, one in solitude for 8 years. Some suggestions: It was near the end of the season they could have had Lt. Riker with a bushy beard, then shaved after getting to the Enterprise. They also could have made him bit pudgier, why? Replicated food but living in a hole with little exercise.
I like that it was considered to kill off Cmdr. Riker. They could have went another way, promote Cmdr. Riker and keep Lt. Riker on the ship. A less note, I loved that Lt. Riker almost died, because you think they're hitting the reset switch, but nope there's going to be two of them.
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:54pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

If the viewer has no idea what's going on in Engineering I think it makes the bridge story more suspenseful. Data/Riker can fix it off screen. And then you genuinely don't know if everyone in Engineering is dead!
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

:)

Totally agree with you about poverty, but the wealth gap is more about the demise of the middle class than fixing poverty.
Steve - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sixth Season Recap

I always figured that they quickly built another one or were already in the process of doing it.
Steve - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

What's also really great here is the camera work and music. I think they used a light blue filter. Really makes it seem more cold and lifeless.

Music-wise this has some of my favorite short pieces in the series.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

This is one of the better Klingon episodes. I like how it exposed how the Klingon clergy would pull a stunt to get butts in the pews (so to speak). I like how technology proved Kahless, and then later proved that technology created Kahless (I also like the cleric's protest, "maybe this is the way Kahless is supposed to return!" Very astute.
I also like the subtle posturing between Gowron (political power) and the clergy.
While it does work well during first viewing, it wasn't great in the rewatching so 2-3/4 stars for me.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:46pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Chakotay's best line of the series...

"My God"

Can't wait to watch this one again!
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The episode doesn't work very well 1.75 stars for me. I can't imagine Dr. Crusher geeking out over an engineering marvel like corona shielding. As a dialog between the Doc and Guinan was probably the best vehicle to present it but also falls a little flat. I also thought the alien Jabrill was sooo incredibly alien his body had multiple organs and so forth, yet his chest hair and nipples suggest a typical human male painted green.
A few things I liked: Alyssa defying the doctor by saying, "you're not my boss anymore" and I did like the idea of flying into a star's coronna.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:11pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I have a strong aversion to the payoff in this episode, echoed by others because of the wide spread implications on the Trek universe and its implied alien intelligent design. Normally in Star Trek we can forget that the Trek universe isn't our own, so we can vicariously fly through the galaxy. This squelches that notion. I agree with the Klingon, if she wasn't dead I'd kill her!
While the episode would explain a lot, like why all denizons of the nearby galaxy are humanoid and how you can get a Vulcan-Human hybrid, putting this implausible scenerio front an center is a loser for me.
Before seeing it I was thinking it was a two parter...glad I was wrong on that.
Next »Page 1 of 1027
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer