Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 21,126 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 846
eriq - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 10:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Well said! And I must agree, Barclay is a great character played by a fine actor. Love all of his episodes!

I love the Nth Degree but man it's so tough to pick between that and the great Voyager episodes with the Midas Array - I can't help but always cheer this very special TNG character on. There is just some really wonderful, memorable material here.
Chris - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 9:29pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I couldn't work up any feelings for this colony's survival, and especially the people in it, since for reasons stated already, even if this colony was saved by the Defiant's actions, these particular 8000 people are not the ones who will be occupying it anymore in any event.
SkepticalMI - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 9:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Oh yeah, the lede/lead/leed isn't just the Beverly has an erotic affair with a ghost, it's that Beverly gets horny reading the erotic adventures of her 100 year old grandmother. I mean, I guess I'm not as enlightened as these 24th century people, but I'm pretty sure my response would be an "ewwww" and to close the book really quickly, not start sticking my hands down my pants...

And we can put another nail in this episode's coffin. Apparently they were sued for plagiarizing an Anne Rice novel. I mean, the Trek crew denies it, but still not a good sign.

And not that this episode deserves this much thought, but whatever happened to the mantra of exploring new life? I mean, yeah, Ronin was creepy and possessive and violated about a gazillion of our little ethical codes, but to just up and kill him like that? You couldn't try to reason with him, Beverly? For shame, for shame.

Meanwhile, there was one bit of unintentional (or maybe intentional) comedy here. Beverly was telling Picard about her grandma's erotic affairs, and Picard commented about Howard women maintaining a healthy libido as they age. And the way he said it sounded like he was practically leering at her. And then when Bev mentioned that Ronin was 30 years old, Picard looked disappointed. Maybe I just have a dirty mind, but I couldn't help but think that Picard was hoping to test his theory about Howard women's libido with Beverly... Heck, I can imagine Patrick Stewart intending it to be that way.

In any case, that's about all the time I'm spending with this episode. I've already spent far more time with it than it deserves.
navamske - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 9:27pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

@Vylora

"So the aliens are a bit different"

Yeah, they have four nostrils. Do they live on The Planet of the Extra-large Handkerchiefs?
Jack - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 8:49pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I'm with Jay, Jeffrey Combs' Wayoun is definitely the best Vorta ever, but Chris Shea's Keevan from "Rocks And Shoals" and "The Magnificent Ferengi" is definitely runner up.
Greg - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 8:30pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

I'm going to be a wet blanket and just say that this episode is... boring. Outside of the initial amusement of seeing the sprinkled introductions of each character as a spy cliche, the episode just kind of trudged along. The Eddington-Rom side of the story was perfunctory and the in-suite plot didn't really stay all that entertaining. 2 stars by Jammer's system, IMO. Watchable and nothing more, but not aggressively bad.
Jack - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 7:57pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

lizzzi...Chakotay doesn't get any more first-oficer-y later on. If anything, his role is more Troi-like than Riker-like.
Jack - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 7:09pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Voyager was full of missed opportunities to be sure, but I think its somewhat unfair to compar eit to TNG and DS9 because those shows were syndicated, rather than being on (and essentially carrying) a network. The latter required Voyager to be slave to all sorts of gimmicks and ridiculous advertising and otherwise left it at the constant whim of executive suits. If Voyager were syndicated it could have come far closer to living up to its premise.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 7:07pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Wow Jammer. I can't believe this earned such a low rating from you. Easy 4 star episode for me.
Chris Hurt - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 6:13pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

@Ospero Yes, the ore was so rare thank you for pointing that out.
Most overused line this episode? "That's close enough." Janeway uses this or slight variations of it several times regarding technicawl details. Seems a bit fishy to me and I am no tech head by any means.
Jack - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 5:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

How convenient was it that when they figured out where John Doe came from, it was almost exactly in the direction they were already going. I had to roll my eyes at that one. And then Picard says that fortunately, becuase of that, they won't hav emuch of a delay in their mission. But...isn't finding John Does pretty much their primary mission? It's right out of the narration in the weekly opening credits....
Datalore - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 4:18pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I think the biggest compliment I can give this film is that I've watched it with people who no nothing of Star Trek, and they still enjoy it.

It's not just a great Star Trek movie, it's a great movie!
Baron Samedi - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 3:45pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I agree with the "pissed-off" comment near the top - every single idea that went into this film was a bad one. Zero stars from me. There's a TNG episode where Picard follows orders to relocate a bunch of impoverished Native Americans, but here he refuses to relocate a bunch of selfish, healthy morons who don't want to help trillions of people by sharing the healing conditions of their planet that they A) found (in Federation space), rather than were indigenous to and B) only occupy a tiny percentage of anyway? The entire notion of small towns without (some) technology being conducive to a simple, happy life is absurdly stupid and directly contrary to the entire spirit of Star Trek. The guest actors are poor, the dialogue stilted, the costumes bland, the special effects cheesy, the story inconsequential. The insurrection even turns out to be supported by StarFleet at the end. What a cop-out! I can give Insurrection some credit for at least trying to be about ideas, but refusing to even show the Ba'ku facing the consequences of their decision robbed the movie of any potential power. There are some great Star Trek movies, but when they miss, they miss badly. The most tragic thing is that The Final Frontier - deservedly ravaged by critics when it came out - is only the fifth worst Trek movie thanks to Generations, Nemesis, Into Darkness, and this. Similarly, the most tragic thing about this movie is that Data singing with Picard at the beginning is only, like, the twentieth worst thing about it.
Baron Samedi - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

For the life of me, I've never understood why people hate this episode so much, though I respect everyone's perspective. I thought it was pretty good - DS9's done better but it was a strong story that had a lot to say. Most of the plot holes people keep pointing out were actually addressed in the episode. I suspect, as a few commentors have hinted, that American viewers would find the chanting and groupthink a little less frightening than European viewers. Maybe that's part of the issue, I dunno.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:52pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Entertaining, engaging, at times funny as hell. A high-concept episode of Voyager that actually works. The aliens were too stubborn for my taste but at least they had motive for what they do (as very clearly stated in the dialogue). Perhaps their stubbornness came from some sort of inherent belief that they are above it all, so to speak.

Craftily written dialogue and nice pacing round out this effort. I felt that the involvement of multiple cast members made it seem truer to an ensemble style episode rather than being aimlessly scattered. Certainly there was a bit of cliche ST to it but it was a fresh-enough perspective to make it all worthwhile.

Surprisingly good showing.

3 stars.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I think you're just an overly sensitive PC douche looking for problems where none exist. This isn't the 90's anymore. Grow up and stop picking at scabs you have no intention of healing.
===========

I agree.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I've sad it already, but I still can't get past it so I'm saying it again: I can't believe how DS9 has jumped the shark.

An interesting, original ST show has become a ridiculous Americanist religion-based jingoistic piece of drivel.
=========

It got what was coming from the day it stole B5 writer's ideas and plot. Karma, I guess.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 1:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

This episode started the massive decline in quality that this series suffered, culminating in one of the worst series seasons of all time.

The writers wrote themselves into a corner. They had no idea how to wrap up the arc and they left the hardest part for one episode. It's all very lazy. The "jail break" was more comedy than anything else, not to mention Kira and the gang would be long dead. Dukat's "Oh she is special to me" is nonsense, and just an excuse to rationalize Kira being spared for this long.

There is no way that station was being retaken. It simply wouldn't happen. And even if it had, the Cardassians/Founders would have had it bombed to bits.

And the final nail in the coffin... one of the worst deus ex machinas ever. I don't even need to elaborate.

It's an entertaining episode, but if you want some real meat to the story telling, this isn't it.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 1:36pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

Insanely frustrating episode that combines more important and fascinating backstory for Seven with a completely unnecessary and a downright stupid stubborn alien action plot. It is all the more irritating for the fact that Seven's personal journey in this particular case could have (and should have) been the only element of the whole episode. As it is, we're forced to endure contrived action scenes that strain credulity more than just about anything in Star Trek. The only one that worked was Seven's escape from Voyager funnily enough.

The idea that the Bomar were firing at the dilapidated Raven with the effect of merely shaking things was hilarious in a very bad way.

However, the meaty portion of the story is really quite good and by itself had the potential of yet another quality addition to a mostly good to great stretch of episodes. As it stands, it barely passes as average on the whole. A shame.

2.5 stars.
Robert - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:58am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

I think Samantha Wildman was the closest on VOY. They held back 4 S1 episodes and aired them in S2 (for reasons). That means she is actually in every season except 7.

Anyone know if anyone else comes close?

It's pretty impressive that DS9 has that many (plus 2 that came close) that appear across a 7 year run though. I think a lot of people would hit 5 seasons though, so many that I'm not sure I'd want to make a list :)

Random factoid. Lwaxanna does not appear in TNG S6 because her yearly appearance that year was on DS9.
Vylora - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:54am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Despite its predictability near the end of the main plot, this is a nice character outing with some great guest performances and a hilarious subplot that is worth the price of admission alone.

Regarding the supposed "non-reaction" by the Doctor; he was there to help Torres after a near fatal heart injury caused by Dejaren plus witnessed her getting clobbered upside the head with a tool before being attacked himself. It seems reasonable enough to me that that would be grounds for his reaction or lack thereof (whether or not Doc felt Dejaren could be fixed).

The scenes involving Kim and Seven ranged from mildly amusing to outright hilarious and further proves Ryan's capabilities as an actress. The understated dry wit and comedic timing were superb. Wang's performance as a nervous schoolboy was surprisingly effective and made for the pairing of these two a smart decision.

All in all, not quite up to par with the last several episodes but it is definitely a worthwhile showing.

3 stars.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I would too. I wonder when we will get "Remastered" DS9?
William B - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:39am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

Thinking about Elliott's character rankings for season one (which I think I agree with -- though I'd tend to put Kira higher because "Progress" and "Duet" count *so* heavily in her favour), I think Bashir is the character who comes to have the most dramatic improvement over the series' running time, and Jake probably the one who has the most dramatic dropoff. Bashir becomes, I think, one of the best characters in the show, and possibly the most successful human character (well, I don't know how he and Miles compare to each other -- Bashir has more of an arc, but O'Brien headlines more exceptional episodes); Jake gradually fades into the background and there stop being effective stories about him.

Hopefully I'll rewatch DS9 after finishing TOS (and I also plan on watching the movies after finishing TOS). I'd be interested to see how it holds up now. It's hard to disagree that "Duet" is the season's (and one of the franchise's) highlight(s), and that "Move Along Home," "Q-Less," and "If Wishes Were Horses" are very weak stuff. I think I had a more favourable reaction to the religious material when I watched it when I was younger -- but I see Elliott's points about them and wonder how it would hold up.

DS9's supporting cast really is remarkable. Hey, here's a question: which characters in DS9 appear in all seven seasons? I guess we have the initial opening credits cast save Jadzia (if we count Dax as one person, I guess she counts as well), and then:

- Garak
- Dukat
- Nog
- Rom
- ...Morn?

Am I forgetting anyone? Winn and Zek appear in *almost* every season, but don't appear in season four. By contrast, in TNG, I think the only non-regular who appears in all seasons is O'Brien (and until "All Good Things..." definitively establishes that the battle bridge conn Colm Meaney was playing in "Encounter at Farpoint," it wasn't clear that that was the same character). That means it's just the main seven minus Beverly plus O'Brien for TNG. Wesley and Lwaxana in every season but 6, Q in every season but 5. I guess if we count Majel Barret generally she gets credit every season for the computer voice.... Voyager is -- am I right in thinking it's the original opening credits cast, minus Kes? TOS is the sort of "regulars" minus Chekov, plus Chapel, I think. Maybe not that useful information, but fun!
Yanks - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:33am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

Wow, that had not occurred to me. So I checked out IMDB.

Garak is only listed as partipating in 37 (of 173) episodes. I thought it was MUCH more than that.

Wow, such a powerful character. My favorite in DS9.
Elliott - Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

@Yanks :

He only appeared in one episode this season! I'll give him a writeup in later seasons
Next »Page 1 of 846
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer