Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,265 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 971
Alston49 - Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 5:46am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Once again the writers decide humans can fix every problem every species across the quadrant has had. Since when did humans somehow become saviors for Vulcans? The Vulcans themselves are just like humans but with pointy ears throughout this. Not buying it. This is just lazy writing and not the least bit consistent with what Vulcans are supposed to be about.

Yet another reason why this show tanked. The writers couldn't help but revert to sanctimonious ways of putting humanity at the top as the answer to all the galaxy's ills in spite of the fact they're the children of the galaxy at this point.
DLPB - Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 2:44am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Although I really enjoyed Russ' acting and script while not having emotions. That was well done and at least the writers didn't make the Vulcan culture conform to trendy liberalism.
DLPB - Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 2:31am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Oh, good old Trek... forcing its anti-death penalty propaganda on an episode.
DLPB - Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 12:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

If it wanted us to ask questions, it wouldn't need to or implement a loading of the dice. Which is certainly did.
Xylar - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 8:04pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

@Todd
I assume the Doctor 'forgot' about her because his program is part of the ship's systems and would thus have been affected by the virus that erases all trace of their existence.
It's not exactly credible, but then again very little in this episode is.

The name of this episode is very ironic since I highly doubt that a lot of people will remember it at all. And why should they? Nothing actually happened. No impact was made on anyone or anything. Why even bother?
Robert - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:07pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Actually, what's interesting about this episode is that I feel it takes viewpoints that usually don't go together and many characters change their views. The criminal is reformed, quite literally and magically, but their crime system is about punishment, not really reform our public safety. I think in the end the episode is more about WHY we punish than how. And Neelix, presented as the "social justice warrior" gets taken. And several characters change their views and several don't. I loved this one.
St.Manfred - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 3:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Very thoughtful and well-balanced episode. Contrary to some of you, I think the story was neither pro or con death penalty. Rather, I was left with the impression the writers wanted us to question our opinions toward this issue. With regards to those of you voicing their stance on the matter quite loudly, I feel the writers have accomplished their mission. 3.5 stars.
Robert - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

For my 2 cents about Brooks... I don't know if he's a good actor... I haven't seen him in anything else.

I can tell you who is NOT a particularly good actor. Samuel L. Jackson. Samuel L. Jackson is really good at playing Samuel L. Jackson. And since he's AWESOME, we don't care. I'd watch Mace Windu L. Jackson or Nick Fury L. Jackson or whoever else. In the wrong roll that could be a problem, but he doesn't ever seem to take the wrong roll.

There are good actors out there. Hugh Jackman sells me in WHATEVER he does, all the way from "X-Men" to "The Boy From Oz". It sometimes annoys me when people start dissecting acting technique like it matters. If you cast your show really well it doesn't matter if everyone there is literally just playing themselves. Jackman is impressive, but you don't have to be that good to do your part service.

As for me, the 3 most important parts of a character are
1) Do I enjoy their scenes (see Garak)?
2) Do I believe their relationships (this is a really, really big one)?
3) Do I get immersed (ie, can I tell they are acting)?

For me, Avery's Sisko comes up with pretty high marks.
1) I enjoy his scenes. I think Avery's eccentricities come through a bit sure, but they don't detract from the performance for me. I just attribute those things to Sisko.

2) His relationship with Jake, Dax and Kassidy all score high marks in my book. Especially Jake. His relationship with Dukat scores VERY high marks in my book. Things things all work well for Sisko.

3) The ham didn't bother me here or with Shatner. I just felt like Sisko was a little eccentric. And that's ok.

So in short... we don't need an actor as good as Stewart if the casting people cast the role well, the writers can play up his strengths, the directors can play up his strengths and he has good chemistry with the people he needs to. And I think he does.
St.Manfred - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 1:33pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Great episode, nice upbeat atmosphere and Trek spirit. Just what to expect from Star Trek with regards to ideals and optimism despite human flaw. 3 stars.
Andrew - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 9:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I thought the script for Part II was able to symbolize and contrast the ideals and styles of the original series and TNG without presenting one as better while also acting as a tribute to Roddenberry (who did consider the latter better and partly created the series as a reaction to the original series and especially movies).
Korou - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 8:33am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I usually agree with the reviews here, but I have to disagree with this one. I found Devil's Due to be a nicely written story with plenty of suspense (in the Star Trek universe it's quite believable that the entity posing as the Devil could be some kind of superpowered alien; it doesn't have to be the Devil for Picard to be in danger from losing the wager). And I enjoyed the climax. All in all, one of the better episodes.
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:54am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Ah, Elliott and co again. Same old liberal clap trap. The belief that being a do-gooder and pacifist is always the correct choice, when generally is actually means you are wiped out. Typical apologist, do-nothing, hope for the best, weak minded nonsense. People like Elliott needs to live in a place where they can see the fruits of their deluded philosophy in action - you know, places like Detroit. Go and move there, Elliott, and then we'll see how your ridiculous progressive ideals hold up, won't we? It's easy for you to moralize from a lovely neighbourhood sat on your couch.
dlpb - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:43am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Three stars? Really? Can I have some of what you are smoking?
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:36am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Haha, if you think this episode is illogical, just wait for Season 4. It's a doozy!
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Sigh. It gets really tiresome having to disengage my brain in order to get any kind of enjoyment out of a story. The whole story is littered with issues. The writers simply get anything to happen and don't care for logic, but, in this episode, one thing annoyed me more than anything else:

Voyager is attacked and heavily damaged. It needs to touch down on a planet for repairs. They revive an alien species (which is conveniently on the random planet) that may be hostile. Seven concludes that most humanoids are hostile.. and yet still does it. WHY?

In fact, forget the revive portion... the minute they land, Janeway starts her do-gooder speech about how there might be people who need help. HEY, REALITY CHECK - YOU AND YOUR OWN PEOPLE NEED HELP AT THE MOMENT. Only a complete retard would start seeking out people to help when their own ship is damaged and there is an enemy hovering overhead. It's just so damn basic and stupid from the writers.

Enter the real world.
zzybaloobah - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 12:13am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

Starbuck to Kat: "You lied your way into the company of good people."
Starbuck should be tossed out the airlock.

Sorry to see Kat go.

Minor continuity goof:
After the 4th mission, Kat's radiation badge is black. Then, when she sees Enzo on the balcony of the hanger deck, it's white. Later, when she switches badges, it's black again....

DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 11:49pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnkKZqSR3dc

Let me know what you think. I thought this was really well written and acted.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 11:48pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I liked this episode. It had a meaning and it had a nice twist. That's usually a good sign. The idea of hating another side because of propaganda or treating beings on the opposite side differently has been done before, but it's done very nicely here too. 3 stars.

If you like this, check out the Twilight Zone episode: A Quality of Mercy.
Xylar - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 8:10pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I'm still trying to wrap my head around the fact that a species which is still a pre warp civilization has somehow developed a method of stabilizing one of the most dangerous, volatile and chaotic molecules in the known galaxy superior to that of the Borg, who have assimilated thousands of other species.
Basically, the Borg, who have the knowledge of almost 5000 species at their disposal can't figure out how to stabilize this thing, but these guys can? I find that highly implausible.

They can't figure out warpspeed, but stabilizing a molecule that has every other species that knows about it scratching their heads is something they come close to doing. I realize they don't succeed, but Seven herself admits that they came much closer to success then the Borg ever did.
I'm also wondering if Voyager blew those two ships to smithereens when they shot at the molecules and then hightailed it out of there at warpspeed. That's all fine and good for Voyager, but those aliens didn't have warp capability, so did just get blowed up real good or what?

I suppose it doesn't really matter, since this is technically a story about exploring a side of Seven we haven't seen before as well as a story about a directive that overrides all other ones and how Janeway and co handle that and everything else is just a plot device to drive that story forward.
dlpb - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 7:02pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Nah, I've seen him in the films and shows like Columbo and he's just as bad there.
Yanks - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 4:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

OK folks, Shatner is a good actor that hammed it up in the 60's to sell bad episodes in an effort to keep the show afloat.

Brooks can't deliver a sentence without breathing in the wrong places for gods sake. The only thing he's good at portraying is a bass ass.

Got it about the notes MSV, thanks.
Alston49 - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 2:55pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

Archer tells Dr. Soong his Augments' existence comes at a pretty high price. No higher than when ol' Johnny committed genocide. Seems Soong wasn't the only one in need of a history lesson.

Those augments were pretty quick to dispatch Klingons. Why in the world did it take so long with the MACO's? Rhetorical question I guess. If they killed them off then they'd be unemployed.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 2:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Even a blind ape could make Shatner look like a great actor, let's face it. Stewart, on the other hand, puts them both to shame. But that's my point really... for a modern TV series, why are they using someone who doesn't even come close in talent?
Del_Duio - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 12:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

"Of course the big reveal is that the Founders are dying... and for some reason Odo isn't. Now Odo thinks no matter who wins, he is going to lose."

Though this last line was predictable, it didn't make it any less powerful. 4-star episode for me as well.

@ Jeff: I think the writers were going for something akin to TNG's "Relics" as far as Sisko is concerned. Remember the conversation Geordi and Scotty had about how Captains are like babies: How long will it take? How long will it REALLY take? What!? Ye' dinna' tell him how long it'd REALLY TAKE??!

Hahaha
Del_Duio - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 12:06pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

This episode is so great.. Kor goes out with a bang and earns Martok's respect finally, some really great acting chops all around (except for that Klingon woman who strangely sounds a lot like Nog lol.)

The shots with the Birds of Prey attacking surface objects was awesome and very unexpected. Had they ever done any ship to ground attacks within a planet's atmosphere before this point? I can't recall and I've seen them all before. Hmmm.
Next »Page 1 of 971
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer