Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,617 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 905
Logan - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 4:12pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

One of the worst Voyager episodes. Begins with promise, a flaming, pile of wreckage by the end.
Borusa - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 2:47pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I thought this was ok.
It may be just that I am an ancient saddo but when the NX Delta launched on its ski run with the 'rocket' trolley I could not help thinking this was a homage to Gerry Anderson's Fireball XL-5-the ship has a very similar appearance too.
BearHeart - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 1:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

"Tea. Earl Gery. Hot." I'm pretty sure this is the first episode with this line.
Robert - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 1:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

"especially when you consider that Riker's version is probably almost fully correct"

Sure, the episode makes no sense when you ignore the premise! :)

The writers almost undoubtedly intended the old saying that "the truth is somewhere in between". Both Riker and Mrs. Apgar shifted the situation to put themselves in a better light.

Her husband just died and she's wracked with guilt for cheating on him. Also, she actually BELIEVES Riker killed her husband. Suddenly her mind starts to see his advances as aggressive.

In his version the advances were all her doing... I'm just saying perhaps they came onto each other and then realizing it was wrong both blamed the other person and started thinking better of their own actions.
Lionheart - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 11:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Jay really does make a good point. When I saw how different Mrs Apgar's interpretation of what happened was, I instantly realized this episode failed. I realize that perspectives can be different during the fact, and can even change after the fact based on one's personal feelings, but this episode didn't just stretch it, it spaghettified it. There is no way she would turn a relatively normal conversation into an attempt at rape. Aside from that, she had a clear view of what happened when Apgar attacked Riker, so I find it very unlikely she would recall Riker punching Apgar in the gut twice -- especially when you consider that Riker's version is probably almost fully correct. To go from Riker dodging Apgar's punch, to Apgar being punched (rather slowly) twice... no. It just doesn't work.

The plot would've been more believable if Mrs Apgar were simply lying about what happened. Of course, the rest of the plot would have to be overhauled to fit that, so maybe Troi would have to have trouble reading Mrs Apgar... maybe it'd work if she were somehow a master of deceit.

Overall, it was just another mediocre TNG episode.
Robert - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

"First, this corrects Robert’s assertion that “All Trills CAN be joined.” They cannot; but what Robert probably meant was that all Trills that CAN be joined MAY do so. This means that it is only partially true that “everyone has an equal chance at a symbiont”. But it is still partially true."

Agreed. All Trills can be joined the way all humans can procreate, even though some of us can't. Legally we all have the opportunity to do so (even if some are biologically prevented).

"Second, it shows that the Trill state quite simply lies to its population. Not about top secret treaty negotiation clauses with an alien species, which might be quite understandable, but about the very nature of the Trills themselves. This is powerful stuff."

Agreed, although they lied to the Federation too (and I don't think Sisko blew the whistle, given that episode I think he may have left a lot of it out of the report). I wonder what the Federation would do if they learned of it?

"Third, it shows that Trills are, quite simply, divided in an A Team and a B Team. Half the Trills can never join. When you consider the enormous consequences of being joined, you must also consider the full implications of this fact. In time, it is virtually impossible to avoid, for instance, that the symbionts are joined to a host who is the descendant of a previous host, thus granting half the Trill population not only access to many former memories, but also to the memories of their own ancestors. This is immensely powerful stuff."

I do agree. I don't know that it's enough to rule out the possibility that all Trills have equal right and self determination though.

I often wonder if the symbionts are regarded in a god-like way given the DS9 writing crew's penchant for dealing with spirituality.

I mean, why else would Ezri agreed to be joined? If I was dying, and you could save me by "merging" with me... would you do it? (I doubt it)
Beth - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 4:16am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Actually, a 3 out of 4 is the right rating. I keep mis-seeing your 4-star rating as a 5-star one, for whatever reason. :p
Beth - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 4:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I don't remember what handle I went by before, so it's just "Beth" from now on.

I just want to say that I would rate this as a a 4 star episode (as I exclaimed at the end of the episode, "What an episode!", and that doesn't happen much. Maybe it was just renewed delight at how well Sirtis played her parts, the acting and plot overall on everyone's part). I also agree with SkepticalMI's points about the episode, and about what "Nemesis" could have been. "Nemesis" really could have been the calibre of "The Undiscovered Country". It ended up being a hollow shocker with a hollow plot filled with hollow, pointless action sequences... and dune buggy rides. Ugh. No, it wasn't quite as a bad as some ST movie outings, but it was nonetheless a huge letdown.
Paul M. - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 3:22am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

"How come 3 people have posted long reviews of this film within 3 hours of each other, after no comments since July?"


Return of the Jedi! ... Or is it Revenge of the Sith?
Sonya - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 9:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I know I'm in the minority, but I couldn't wait for this episode to be over. I wasn't really a fan of TOS, though. Dax was particularly annoying during this episode, but I suppose they had to dumb her down and sex her up to make her fit the TOS female standard.
chris - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 9:10pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

I'm surprised nobody mentioned Troi beating Data in chess. I can't imagine the likelihood of that.
$G - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 9:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

Reasonable and competent. This is an all right episode that introduces us to a slice of 24th-century Klingon culture. It also (kind of) works as a real introduction to Worf, who has otherwise been a speaking extra up to this point. I think the three other Klingons in this episode did a solid job - more believable than the average meathead Klingons that show up in later TNG and DS9.

One point already raised by William B is that the other Klingons tend to have more lines than Worf. While the character now has something like 11 seasons of development under his belt, I can see how Worf would have felt a bit distant in 1988 even after the airing of this episode. A notable moment comes at the end when the bridge crew seem to not be able to figure Worf out. Interesting (or out-of-character?) considering Remmick described that Enterprise crew as family at the end of the previous episode.

I haven't seen this one in a long, LONG time. It's one of the episodes I used to re-watch a lot on VHS when I was a young'un. When the episode started, I thought I'd misremembered the episode title because the rescue on the freighter took such a large portion of the episode. It's neat how they managed to fit in some Geordi moments (with the visor camera) but ultimately I wish a few of those minutes could have gone towards the Klingon story.

Anyway, this is a pretty decent one. It has some of the standard S1 problems of being a bit stilted, but unlike most of the rest of the first 25 episodes it's paced and written reasonably well. I want to agree with the 3 star assessment, but I don't want to recommend on that big of a curve. It's one of the better S1 outings but I think it plays more like a 2-1/2 star show. I recommend it nonetheless.
trekstar - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 8:45pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

My favorite episodes of St:TNG are "Yesterday's Enterprise", and this one. Thanks to Netflix, i think I've watched them both a hundred times each. There's something I've pondered while watching this one. The probe literally "brainwashes" Picard. They don't let him keep his identity. There is no 'hi Picard, this is our world, live amongst us and no time will pass in your world', instead it is, 'you are NOT Picard, you never were picard, your name is Kamen and your other world is a hallucination brought on by a fever.' I'm just wondering why they decided to do it this way...possibly to make him really "feel" like he was a part of their world and not just an outsider. Yet at the end...he is forcibly brainwashed in reverse by ostracizing him. We made you become one of us but you aren't. This family..these kids..grandkids you thought were yours are not real so now we end this "dream" and your family and life go "poof"! Bwahahaha! Lol i guess I've watched this show way too many times.
navamske - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 8:32pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

@Daniel Lebovic

"What (as the story itself tells us) is the pivotal event that the Borg seek to change, and is therefore, the event, if they are thwarted in their attempt to change it, that will allow the 'proper' timeline to resume? The making of first contact. They are thwarted in this effort (they are unable to destroy the Phoenix, or kill Zefram Cochrane)."

This is both true and not true. The Borg *did* prevent First Contact and assimilated Earth. This is canonically demonstrated onscreen when the Enterprise-E, caught in the temporal vortex but still in the twenty-fourth century, sees a Borgified North America and Data says the population of Earth is "approximately nine billion -- all Borg." What happened then is that the Enterprise arrived in 2063 *before* the Borg had completed their goal and was able to prevent them from doing so, effectively erasing -- or overwriting -- the timeline in which the Borg were successful.
NCC-1701-Z - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 5:56pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

@Niall - That, and Michelle Erica Green's TMP review was copy and pasted word for word. I fail to see what anyone could possibly gain from that...?
Skeptical - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 4:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

"Enjoy what you can; just make sure to satiate your appetite before the last course here at the Unfulfilled Potential Restaurant and Bar."

Heh, I know what you mean. That said, I think I'm becoming immune to Voyager's problems. Of course this episode is a lost opportunity. Of course the reset button was annoying. Of course the plotting wasn't as good as it could have been. But still, I generally liked it anyway. Part of the reason for that is that, by focusing on the Ocampa rather than the Caretaker, we got a better story. Yes, it's unfortunate that we couldn't spend more time with Susperia as well, but the Ocampa was better.

Let's face it, so far the Ocampa were basically sentient tribbles without the reproduction aspect. They are cute, cuddly, harmless, innocent little creatures that you just can't help but try to hold and protect them. All we saw of the Ocampa was the neutered version that the first Caretaker had, sterile people that were just sitting around slowly waiting for extinction. Then we have Kes, the childlike innocent one who is always eager to learn and help out and always perfectly kind and sweet to everyone. It's not a surprise that we anthropomorphize the Ocampa to be "good guys". We see them the way we want to see them, as the tribbles, a perfectly harmless bunch of elves.

And now, we find out that they can kill you with their brain. Not so harmless now, are they?

I mean, I thought the raptor scream was silly too at first, but I do think it does work. If it was a normal scream, Kes would be no different than any of hundreds of actresses in horror movies. We would see her as human. But in that scene, she should be alien instead. She's the one setting Tuvok on fire, after all, and she's the member of the species we are finding out is much more terrifying than initially thought. It should be a bizarre, unsettling scene. So maybe the raptor scream was a bit silly, but I can see the logic behind it. It's a bit unfortunate that so many people saw it as just a joke.

But the scene of Kes killing the plants was even better. Again, I don't know if the actual execution was that great, but the idea was smart. First of all, it was unexpected. It started out with Kes feeling the plants, something tender and kind. And then, she killed them all. And scariest of all, she didn't seem to mind. Her little garden was something she cared deeply about, and wanted to grow and nurture those plants. And yet she killed them all without a thought. And enjoyed killing them. And felt no remorse, no concern afterwards. Again, this is contrary to the standard expectation we had of the Ocampa and of Kes. It's frightening and disturbing. It's completely alien to us. And yet it remains all the same.

DPC was right, Tanis should have used this approach at the end. I mean, the "these puny humans are beneath you" thing has been seen dozens of times before. Tanis should have reminded her of the rapturous joy she felt in destroying those plants. He could remind her that she had never felt closer to the plants, had never felt them as deeply and emotionally as when she brought the fire. And in that instant, she felt more connected to those plants than she had ever been with anyone. Closer than with Neelix, closer than with Tuvok. If she truly cared about the crew of the Voyager, if she truly wanted to be close to them, there was only one way to do it.

Of course, Kes would protest. We would expect nothing less. Perhaps she can even turn it back on Tanis. If that is true, after all, why doesn't Tanis kill the people closest to him? Then Tanis could reveal that he DOES, that all of the Ocampa on this array do. When they reach the end of their lifespan, their closest friends and family gather around them and use their telekinetic powers to euthanize the elderly. Tanis did it to his father, and it was a beautiful, heartwarming moment for him. He looks forward to the day that his children will do it to him. But Kes will not outlive her friends on Voyager. She will never truly know Neelix. She will never feel the beautifully of becoming one with the people she kills. Unless she does it.

(I'm reminded of Stranger in a Strange Land here: the Martians in that novel eat their dead in order to fully "grok" them. Something like that is what I'm trying to get at; an act that is truly horrifying for us but is perfectly natural and loving to the alien.)

The rest of the episode would continue on as it did here. Except at the end, Kes' powers wouldn't leave. She'd simply refuse to use them anymore, out of fear of hurting anyone accidentally again. And just as scary to her, out of fear that she would enjoy it. She felt something inside her when she hurt Tuvok, and a part of her does wonder if Tanis is right, that she is missing out on something complete by not fully understanding her shipmates. Tuvok can tell her of his own emotions, and the Vulcan use of logic to control them. And it can end on much the same note, with Tuvok helping her to control these feelings and to move forward.

So yes, it's a wasted opportunity and that's unfortunate. But I like what this episode did for Kes. There's some depth in there, even if the episode failed to follow up on it. So yes, I like the episode despite its flaws. Like I said, I think I'm becoming immune to Voyager's problems. I guess we'll see how immune I get the next time they have some sort of massively ridiculous piece of "science" like a hole in the event horizon...
Nick - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 3:30pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Well, DS9 started out well...early episodes were imbued with classic Trek tropes. Then ratings plummet and we get the 'Dominian War" ===which ultimately devolves into melodrama and soap operaesqe plot lines. I get it, the show was suffering, the writers needed something big, which leads to the classic battle of good vs. evil. Notice however, of the remaining dozen episodes, where is the challenge of convention, the exploration of humanity, the discovery of the alien? Nowhere, ziltch. All tossed out for a plotline better suited to :::gulp:::: ....Star Wars.

Lastly,

Ric - Wed, Feb 26, 2014 - 4:34am (USA Central)

My thoughts exactly.
Niall - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 2:25pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

How come 3 people have posted long reviews of this film within 3 hours of each other, after no comments since July?
Disinvited - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

There are those that say that Kubrick’s 2001 with its minimal dialogue is such a movie and if that be the case, I have to give TMP in its 70mm presentations due consideration in that regard as it clearly was influenced by his prior work, right down to their own spin on an alternate creation for a “starchild”.

I recall exiting both films with a “WOW!” and a deep sense of wonder.

I recall pondering whether V’yger’s translation of Ilea was really much removed from how the transporter was said to work? And whether the created merging with its creator would be the ultimate destiny for any AI that mankind might develop?

I think it is safe to say that TMP was the deepest G-rated picture that I’ve ever seen.
Nick - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Sloan was built up as the ultimate protagonist. An all seeing, all powerful menacing force secretly guiding foreign policy of the Federation. He was on the cusp of wiping out the founders! Imagine, in a matter of days in the DS9 world, the virus would have done its job and ended the war. The Founder's genocidal war upon the galaxy had caused, we are told, billions of deaths. Would not the wiping out of the Founders justified the methods? .... a question whose answer we are denied as the dynamic duo Bashir and Miles go forth once more into the breach, saving the day. What do we get? Sloan, brain dead...the federation's brightest and monomaniacal, factitious agent, reduced to a vegetable. A cop-out indeed.
Capitalist - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 1:19pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I've never been a Neelix hater, and always considered him an upright scrappy fellow, regardless of his occasional annoyances. His early jealousy thing was quite offputting, but the episode where he fights Seska's buddy and ends up killing him and saving the ship was probably when I started to give him more respect.

Anyway, no one has mentioned a brief moment in this episode that really seemed like a subtle nod to his bravery and loyalty. When the miners were dropping charges on the asteroid, and Neelix was chasing them and detonating the charges with his ship's weapons, something or other knocks out his weapons. There's another charge heading for the surface, and he turns his ship toward it. Dexa freaks out and asks what he's doing, but at that moment, Voyager shows up to blast the charge and save the day.

What he was doing was aiming his ship on a suicide collision course to detonate the charge before it hit the surface. The scene goes pretty fast, so I wonder how many people caught the intensity of that moment, and understood the decision he had made.
Andrew - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 12:56pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

It felt odd that both "Babel" and this episode were pretty O'Brien-heavy but only mentioned and didn't include Keiko.

It also seemed odd for Odo to agree to take his time, right before that it seemed that he felt Tosk should be returned and would be especially unsympathetic to O'Brien's view after having been tricked.
Black_Goat - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 11:06am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Captive Pursuit: B
(Switching things up a bit, summation first and then pros and cons.)

Now, this one, I like. We see DS9 reverse the typical Trek motto of going where no man has gone before; now, Deep Space 9 is where no Tosk has gone before. This episode features extremely strong work from Colm Meaney, and though the plot is nothing new, almost everything worked. Very watchable.

The Good:
- Aha! Finally some information about the state of wormhole travelers.
- Nice to see Sisko playing diplomat at the beginning. In fact, I liked him throughout the episode – his anger at Tosk being hunted was righteous. Brooks is definitely improving, and I thought the character’s response to O’Brien’s transgression was very telling.
- Quark is not a barkeep.
- Really, the friendship between O’Brien and Tosk was well done. Miles is a fantastic everyman. We’ve all seen characters like Tosk before, but there’s something very affecting about the way he says “O-Brien.” And our chief becomes Tosk for a day!
- I think the negotiations about what to do with Tosk make sense. Hunting one of your fellows seems utterly barbaric – but that’s only by *our* standards, and the episode is very clear to not disparage the villainous hunters entirely. I’m glad Sisko doesn’t try to impose cultural hegemony on beings from the gamma quadrant. I’m also glad that we hear about people at Starfleet Command that are watching the station and any new life-forms it might encounter with interest.

The Bad:
- The hunters, unfortunately, were rather silly, and the phaser battle was even worse.

Trying to cut back on some of the fluff in these little reviews and just share my most salient thoughts.


Charles - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 7:03am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Oh Elliott, I've laughed so much reading your review. This episode made no sense - it was like a silly TOS episode complete with cardboard sets, but without the excuse of being trapped on a distant planet by aliens and having to follow their rules. Here who can believe for a secodn that the kidnapping of 4 senior officers by aliens would not have meant the Starfleet Command being alerted immediately and the aliens on question being arrested??
Alex - Sun, Nov 23, 2014, 12:15am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

What happens with Baily after the Enterprise leaves, I wonder? How long does he stay? Will he rise to power in the First Federation? Kill Balok and run the mothership to Earth? Better yet: Bailey is Borg-Alpha. Explains the cubes...
Next »Page 1 of 905
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer