Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,830 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 754
Vylora - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 7:12am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

WARNING:

The comments section of Jammers Reviews may contain spoilers on shows that have ended years ago. Some more than a decade ago. Many comments were posted years ago by people that no longer post here.

.................

Just like anything else, internet users should have a bit of common sense when it comes down to it. Don't click on random ads. Don't have the same password for everything. And don't read open-forum comments on ANY show/movie without expecting a spoiler.

As a fan of ST and, especially, DS9...I welcome newcomers to the franchise. I think its fantastic warts and all. I wish nothing but the best possible viewing experience. Nevertheless, entering into a public forum and not expecting a spoiler is naïve at best.
Vylora - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 5:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

Yes I do mean 'symptomatic'. :p
Shawn Davis - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 4:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

It was great from the begining where the Renegade Jem'hadar attacked the station, Sisko and the crew goes to the gamma quadrant to find these group, then then join forces with the Jem'hadar and the Vorta Weyoun to stop the other renegade Jem'Hadar forces. I agree with the review about them bringing back the Iconian gateway from way back in season 2 of ST:TNG and I like the attitudes of the both the Jem'hadar and the starfleet personnel (the way that they don't hide how they feel about each other, especially Worf and one Jem'hadar constantly getting into a physical attack with each other). Of course I agree with the review and everyone else here that the violence towards the ending was a bit rushed (why didn't starfleet and use the sensors on the Defiant to detect the field that is preventing them from using their phasers). I give this episode at least 3 stars.

Also even though I responding to someone's message from years ago. To Nic: Although I agree that it's bit strange for the upper pylon to be repaired quickly like that without any explanation in the next episode, I believe that the crew of DS9 are capable of repairing it like that because they are in the area where starfleet and cardassia are and they can use their materials and other resources to repair the upper pylon quickly.

The main reason that I don't think that it makes sense for Voyager to be repaired so quickly by the next episode like that when they sustain damage from an alien attack is because they are in the Delta Quadrant about 75000 light years from Starfleet and they can gain access to materials and other resorces that easily to repair Voyager. Sure they could get some help from friendly aliens like the Talaxians, but some resorces and materials from the aliens of the Delta Quadrant may not easily compatible with the Starship Voyager.
Ric - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 3:40am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@Nick P. It's fine enough that you have such preference, but then Trek certainly is usually not real sci-fi according to your standards. Fortunatelly, I should say.
Ric - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 3:31am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

"I think the capt was being a bitch. Anyone in their right mind would have stop the idiots wrecking the ocean if it was in their power to do so. She should have helped Tom, not stopped him"

Yeah, because that's what Trek is about. About saying to other people, cultures, countries, planets or civilizations, what they should do with their destinies. Even more: forcing them to do what Voyager/we think is "for their own good". Nope fellows, that's just us in the 21st century US. And it seems there is not immediate hope for us in this century if we think it's pretty normal to do so.

That said, I find it amusing that people think Paris did not deserve that much of a punishment. He did not only disobey a direct order. He technically commited an act of terrorism in a foreing friendly planet! Not to mention interfere in the inner businness of a foreign planet (guys, having warp tech only means the civilization can be contacted, not treated as a puppet). Paris' punishment is the least he deserves. Let's just imagine that in all similar situations each crew member will just go there in a Rambo style imposing to other planets what Voyager decides to be better for them!

Now, it is not to mean that the episode was bad. On the contrary, it was a joy to watch. From the character development that was long needed for Paris, to the outstanding visual effects for that time in a TV show, from the acting to the plot itself and how it was played. I really liked this one. By the way, it is amazing how seasons 4 and now the 5th have shown huge quality improvement.
Ric - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 2:14am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

"If a crafty ensign and a holographic doctor can just throw together a few data files to make a carbon copy of an actual specialist, why do we even need people to run starships?"

Thank you very much for this perfect piece, Jammer. You are 100% right. How crappy a plot excuse/device has to be, so people would complain regardless of how deep is the moral debate that comes ahead? Wait, I agree that we should not let small plot holes to divert us from the main stories and deepest debates that Trek can offer. Sure. But let's not go to the other extreme as well. Sorry, in telling a story, it sometimes becomes pretty damn important how the story is told. Especially when it affects the universe where the show operates in. Jammer is right. If it were so easy to create operating holograms, there would be no reason for Starfleet not having a lot of holo-people working around. It does not matter whether in TNG or any other instalment Trek has delivered other holo-absurdities. Nor it matters if what came later was good. I am fully capable of recognizing a very good episode moral question and execution while criticizing a major plot absurdity.

And so, now turning to so-called moral issue treated by the episode. I loved the debates! The scenes between The Doc and the Cardassian, the debate between Parris and Chakotay, Torres' anger on the captain... were all amazingly good! Very powerful moments. I could also understand the reaction of the Bajorian, and even Torres’. But in the end, although it made total sense for me to debate on whether or not the data from the Cardassian should be erased due to moral considerations, debating on even treating Torres felt forced and artificial. What sense does it make to condemn a patient because the needed knowledge to save him/her was acquired under faulty ways? What is the fault of the current patient? It is nonsensical at the context it was presented. Also, I though odd that the moral decision was just put in the Doc's shoulders. The captain got a bit lazy, Hugh? Even though, I am happy the episode brought all that to the table. And it was mostly solid and certainly touching and powerful. In the end, an episode that deserved far far more than the 5/10 that the two stars sort translates into. Strongly underated.
Tom - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I think it was an interesting idea to see how Troi would react to losing her abilities. However, this show was pretty much a failure. Troi doesn't have the acting ability to carry a show. Her crying scene was not convincing at all. Actually, pretty much all of her scenes were not convincing. When she's finally cured, she just puts on a fake smile.

It's harder to empathize with a character who loses a power that normal humans don't have. As Riker says, there's something aristocratic about it. The show didn't succeed in showing us what it was like for her to lose her sensing abilities and making us care about it. I agree with William that they also missed a great opportunity to have her interact with Geordi.

Also, the 2D life forms plot was pretty bad. I don't find the idea of 2D life forms convincing. Is that even physically possible?
SkepticalMI - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 8:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Well, it's not quite as good as last season's finale, but what is? Still a great episode. Probably the best part is all the tough choices people that our heroes had to make. Picard is generally the paragon of Starfleet morality, but the situation here is so messed up and so important that even he has trouble. First, in deciding the validity of Toral's claim. There was no winning answer there, as he pointed out to the Duras sisters. There was also a difficult duality involved. He knew that it was quite possible that the fate of the Federation depended on Gowron being the Chancellor, and yet he was sworn to uphold Klingon law in this situation. It was clear that he tried to avoid the inevitable civil war in his declaration, but it was also just as clear that it was futile. It's not so often that we see Picard powerless.

But the next decision was even more painful. Whether or not to get involved in the civil war. The Prime Directive and Starfleet's history of not getting involved certainly suggested leaving. But Starfleet also has a history of responding to distress signals and helping out those in need. There was also the personal connection that Worf was also being attacked, and yet Picard still ordered the Enterprise to back off. It was a character defining moment for Picard, just as much as his actions in the Defector the year before. He has shown the ability to make the hard decisions in delicate situations and sticking to them. But how much second guessing does he do in private? It clearly was not a decision he was all that comfortable in, and clearly one that could have nasty repercussions. It may not have even been the right decision. Gowron could easily have interpreted it as a sign of weakness, and could have abandoned the alliance even if he won. After all, Klingon's hold honor above all else, right? This was an excellent scene I think, just because it showed how quickly things were slipping out of control.

There were other hard decisions. Kurn clearly had no respect for Gowron, but had to follow him anyway. And Worf had to choose between his loyalties to the Federation and his identity as a Klingon. But there was another one that wasn't commented much on. I find it interesting that Worf lost his family honor due to backroom politicking... and regained his honor in the exact same way. Gowron didn't give it to him because it was right, but rather because Worf delivered Kurn's support. And my guess is, for someone that has as much personal honor as Worf, that had to hurt a bit. It was a little bit like cheating. But Gowron was his only hope, and he turned down the honorable return to grace. So Worf had no choice to resort to politicking. Just another little piece of evidence of the crumbling society of Klingons; the poison has affected even a knight templar like Worf.

***

As for the 4th season, it does rate pretty highly to me. I went through and scored it, and the average came out just slightly below Season 3 (3.08 vs 3.15 on a 0-5 star scale with no half stars). I find it interesting that this is the only season (I'm assuming) that I didn't rate any episodes as outright bad. QPid was stupid fun, while several of the other episodes people tend to dislike I found merely weak but not bad. Nothing here approaches Menage a Troi. And I also rated 9 episodes as excellent, the same as Season 3. But Season 3's highs were just a little bit higher, and its average episodes just a little bit better. Season 3 also seemed better paced. As others have mentioned, Season 4 started out extremely strong, but seemed to run out of gas after Reunion. There's some good episodes after it, but just seem to appear and disappear again. Other than the first 3 and last 3, I don't think there's a string of 3 good episodes in a row in this season.
DLPB - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 12:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Pretty good episode. But let me make one thing clear here: Palestine's issue is not the same as this. The fact is, Palestine bombs Israel because the Koran and Hadith teach that Jews are "not to be taken as friends" among other evil verses.

The left wing media continually ignore the truth that ISLAM is the issue in the middle east. Until we confront Islam, there will never be any peace in that region.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 11:09am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

The movie made for good sci-fi, but it didn't make for good Trek. They supposedly had Trek fans in the production crew, and yet that didn't seem to stop them from screwing with things that couldn't possibly have been screwed with in the plot.

A few examples:

1. Kirk's eyes are blue. Shatner's Kirk had brown eyes. Or hazel. I think they were closer to hazel. ANyway. This film established that he was being born at the time of the attack on the Kelvin (next points for more gripes on that) so he was already fully biologically developed and therefore couldn't have been affected by any stress on his mother from the battle. Minor point.

2. The Nerada is a BORG ENHANCED Romulan mining ship with BORG ENHANCED weaponry fro mthe 24th century. How does that weaponry not just rip right through the Kelvin like tissue paper on the first salvo. 22nd century shields would have been no match as it was for regular Romulan cluster torps, but these have been enhanced with Borg tech that the Federation of the 22nd century would have had absolutely zilch knowledge about.

3. Kirk's mother on the Kelvin. Galaxy-class starships were the first in Starfleet history to have families of officers on board. Unless, of course, you were married to a shipmate, as happened in TOS's Balance of Terror for all of like mere hours. Poor couple. So what was a non-starfleet officer, let alone one who was on almost due and not on approved leave, on a ship on patrol?

4. Black holes as a result of the red matter are apparently time travel plot devices at the start of the movie, but the Enterprise is certainly hauling ass to get away from it at the end, AND it destroys the Nerada then.

5. When Nero went after Vulcan, Starfleet got reports of a "lightning storm in space" matching the reports of what happened with the Kelvin. So ... did the Nerada just use a black hole to get to Vulcan from Rura Penthe, or wherever they were hiding the ship while they were diddling away their time at the Klingon prison (deleted scene)? If so, that's two black holes as travel/time travel devices and one not. Seems to be a roll of the dice plot device to me.

6. Flat headed Romulans. Seriously? There are none of those left in the 24th century. OK the tats look cool, but you can't just rearrange their appearance.

7. The Enterprise. No. It looks like a half-squeezed tube of toothpaste with a massive dinner plate attached to the front end and a couple of really fat ugly nacelles connected at the front end to pylons attached to the very back of the drive section. Gabe Koener, who did a lot of work on the BSG revamp, did an EXCELLENT model of a revamped Enterprise that was submitted for consideration. It kept the classic look while making it more techie, more futuristic. And it looks fantastic. And rumour states that his designs were REJECTED on the grounds of his work with BSG. Considering the alternative we were given instead, that's something of a huge loss for fans. The new ship has been rescaled, so that instead of the 200+ meters it should have been, it's now bigger in length than the Enterprise-D ... meaning that Failbrams Galaxy class implications are around the 1.5km length. And its design was more influenced by the Constitution refit than the classic in terms of hull texture and saucer design.

8. Renaming an existing planet in the Vulcan home system Delta Vega, when there is already a Delta Vega near the galaxy's edge (TOS: Where No Man Has Gone Before), and then having it WAY too close to Vulcan just so old Spock can see the planet implode. If Delta Vega MK II was that close to Vulcan, it would have been a moon, and Vulcan has no moons.

9. Transwarp beaming. And this crap carried over into the even more attrocious sequel attempt. Transwarp is not a factor of distance. It's a factor of speed. It's exceeding Warp 10. It's not "Here's point A, point B is waaaaaaaaaay over there, but we can still get to it". It's "Here's point A, and this is how fast we're going to get to point B." Since it was transporter tech, not warp drive, even if they wanted to call it transwarp beaming they could only do so by making it a lightning-fast transporter device. It would still have to conform to the technology's standard limits of distance.


Those are just some of the more annoying points. And I'll be polite and not even bother getting started on Wrath of--- I mean, Into Darkness. Because I could go on for weeks about the fail.

I would like to point out that Scotty's comment about Archer's beagle was sound. Archer lived JUST long enough to witness the launch of the original Enterprise under Captain Robert April in 2245, but then died the next day. Doubtful that the beagle in question was Porthos, though, since dogs don't live that long. It might have been (incoming attempt at humour) D'Artagnan.

That all being said; I understand that some people loved the movie, and some people didn't. I understand that some of them are Trekkies (I don't understand HOW), and I myself liked it when I completely ignored all the attempted Star Trek references ... which was hard, but in my head doable. I just didn't like it as Trek, successful or not.
FriendofSonic - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 11:06am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Jammer, thanks for the reviews. They made Enterprise all the more fun to watch on Netflix.

I would have loved Enterprise establishing Jonathan Frakes as the actor to play Chef. He was really great in it! But, no, we had to have the series be like "Remember Home Improvement when you could never see the neighbor hurhurhur"

I can't support much else of what this finale did, though. Really sad.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 10:06am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Firstly, I have to respond to that Mister-Caps-Is-Cruise-Control-For-Cool, because no. Just no.

1) The story is most definitely big enough, and the characters defined enough for the purpose. What could possibly be bigger than wiping out the whole of mankind before we could achieve the greatness that had been explored in every incarnation of Trek up to this movie.

2) To underscore Picard's intimate in-tuneness (I couldn't think of the right way to word it, so it's staying) to the Collective after what they did to him. People have dreams within dreams more than they realise, and that Picard is having such an experience about the Borg only highlights his anxiety about encountering them again.

3) Because of the time travel aspect. Now, granted, that's something that's annoyed me about the Borg in First Contact as well. If they had the ability to travel back in time to assimilate mankind in the past, then why not do so when there is no Enterprise around to stop them? You might argue that the Temporal Agency in the 29th-ish century would stop them, but if the Collective was able to distract them sufficiently with other events simultaneously, they could pull it off and see to it that there WAS no Temporal Agency.

4) Because that's the way bureaucracy works. Those in charge give orders regardless of whether or not they make sense. The Admiral assumed that Picard might crack, since he hasn't actually had a full-on encounter with the Collective since his assimilation. Command had no prior experience to think he would be an asset in the battle, and they made a judgement call.

5) It's assumed that all Trek fans MIGHT have watched enough DS9 up until this point to grasp it, and for those that didn't ... keep in mind they never televised or even showed us Sulu's promotion to Captain and assignment to the Excelsior prior to actually seeing him in command. It's been a couple of years since the Big-D went down, so it's assumed that SOME officers received transfers rather than wait around in limbo.

6) We don't know what many things are before they come into it. New people to the franchise will patiently wait for it to be explained, and it soon was. Trekkies know about First Contact since TOS days. It has been mentioned in the franchise, though not detailed, multiple times.

7) Skipping this point because you're only one-third right.

8) The Borg Queen was, conceivably, essential to the concept of the Collective. All the times the Borg have been in Trek, they've been described as having a HIVE MIND. Now anyone that knows anything will know that no Hive can function without a Queen, or some other individual driving that collective. It makes sense that the Borg would have a personification of that aspect of the Collective as well. When she talks about humans thinking in such three-dimensional terms, it's VERY CLEAR that she's pointing out that the Borg are capable of much more than we are. New Queens could be created as needed, with the consciousness downloaded into the new body from encrypted backup files within the Collective. That's just one example. Keep in mind that after her death in this movie, she was again seen multiple times in Voyager.

9) The emotion chip did far less than you claim. It hardly ruined the character. It gave him a quirky side when he was trying to work out its mechanisms, and made him slightly more in tune with his human/oid friends amongst the crew. Soong created the chip exactly for that reason.

10) Again, going to skip this point, because it's wrong and not worthy of rebuttal.

11) No one was going to buy the Pheonix itself. But that level of tech on a ravaged world would have been like gold during the rush. Every major power still licking its wounds from WW3 would have been after it. Why stay around on a planet with a bunch of people you hate when you can just warp to another and start over? How do we do that sir? Well, this guy in Montana has a ship. With this engine, see? We buy it. Why not steal it sir? Because we're the good guys, y'see? oooor Because he might sabotage it just to spite us. He states quite clearly that his only motivation towards building the Pheonix was to be rich. Wether or not that changed, or he put on the face of that having changed, after the flight, is left to viewer discretion.

12) Not when she's trying to get the information she wants. Would you prefer the hold a phaser to his face and hope the question he asks isn't "What the hell is that and where did you get it from darlin'?" approach?

13) Lily provides counterpoint to Picard. With his rampaging all over the ship killing anything that moves and mutilating Borg to steal their guts (obviously I'm exaggerating), the only other person in the crew that stood up to him was Worf. Did that work? No. Picard slapped him in the face verbally by calling him a Coward. It wasn't until someone from the 21st century compared him to a 19th century novel character and made him see that what he was doing wasn't justice, it was revenge. Still think she did nothing? Would you have rathered not have her there and have let the story line continue with everyone in the crew continuing to be systematically assimilated until the Borg completely controlled the Enterprise? No one else put Picard in his place and made him listen to his officers the way she did.

14) You claim that the scene is out of character, but it isn't really. From your comments, your comments I can assume that you prefer the series over the movies. But in the series, Picard was VIOLATED by the Borg. Statistically, more than 60% of humans who are wronged want vengeance. Picard showed some hints of this in I, Borg when he actually considered using an INDIVIDUAL drone against the Collective. He shows this again in a monumental scale after further years of the Borg hindering the Federation, and now seeking to take over his ship.

15) Refer to my earlier point of how the Queen could have survived. Prior to the distruction of that cube, she could have transported out. That cube could have rendezvoused with another ship en-route to Earth to offload the Queen. The Collective could have made another and had her consciousness downloaded from the Hive Mind. The possibilities are staggering. Remember that they have access to technology the Federation doesn't, and so it is believable that the Queen WAS on board the cube that Picard was assimilated by.



Onto Jammer:

I loved this movie. Of all time, it's my second favourite Trek film, and that was a tough call. Wrath of Khan will always be my favourite, because Ricardo Montalban was the villain in the very first Trek episode I EVER watched, and to see him return bent on revenge with a stolen Starfleet vessel just gave me chills. I still hum the music from the scene where the two ships approach each other in open space sometimes at random. And then that gives me the urge to watch the movie. Plenty of episodes of TNG-era Trek had the potential to show similar scenes of Starfleet-v-Starfleet battles, but those that did push that button (Defiant v Lakota, DS9; Ent-D v Pheonix, TNG, Voyager v Equinox, VOY) didn't quite match the thrill factor I experienced when the Reliant opened up on the Enterprise, or when Kirk responded in kind.

That said, I'm an EPIC sucker for space battles in any science fiction. And this rates as one of the best (included in my list are the fight from Star Trek X, Star Wars III, the season 9 finale of Stargate SG:1, and the series finale of Stargate: Atlantis). So to see the fleet fighting the Borg practically at the onset of the film was something that I enjoyed more than I can presently think to word.
Corey - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 9:12am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I'd give this three or three and a half stars. A very touching episode, I thought.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 9:07am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I have to say that the few bits about this movie that irked me were:

1. Geordi was looked over when he got back, but the Enterprise bridge crew was at this point intimately familiar with the Duras Sisters and what they're capable of ... and no one checked on his visor to see if it had been tampered with. ESPECIALLY after ROMULANS tampered with it in an episode of the series to add E-band capabilities so they could direct his attempted assassination of a Klingon Governor.

2. All Federation ships had an ability to rotate shield frequencies. This technique became especially critical in combat after the forced introduction to the Borg. How come after the first 1, MAYBE 2 hits from the Sisters got through the shields, Riker didn't think to say "Derrrrp! Rotate the shield frequencies?" This, in my opinion, seemed nothing more than a way to destroy the loveable (again, in my opinion) Big-D in favour of a new ship.

3. Kirk has always said he would die alone. So they decided to completely ignore that and give him the epic, lonely death he so deserved and just drop a bridge on him instead with Picard there to comfort him as he passed on. No. No, no, no, nonono! NO!
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 8:06am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Very excellently reviewed. While true the film didn't explain the entity, I believe later "non-canon" (since I do like my extended material and consider it canon myself if it's worthy), explained that "The One" from this movie was a lackey of the entity known as 0 (zero). 0 was encountered by deLancie's Q through means of the Guardian of Forever, and then invited that entity into our dimension. Long story short, after a string of shenanigans whereby Q was supposed to be curtailing 0's nonsense on behalf of the Continuum, a war broke out between 0, his lackeys, (*) (the entity that pitted the Enterprise and Kang's crew against each other and kept reviving the dead to keep the conflict going) , Gorgon (from TOS episode "And the Children Shall Lead) and The One, and the Q Continuum. At its conclusion, The One was stripped of power and trapped in the centre of the galaxy while 0 was trapped without it (hence the existence of the outer barrier encountered in early TOS episodes) while the other two fled through a black whole and were later defeated themselves.

Now that I've finished ranting xD on to your review for 6!
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 3:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Certainly an overated episode.

Sure, nothing in this kind o episode pleases me more than seeing one of the insane, dumb, unprofessional risks taken by the captain quite often finally ending up in the obvious disgrace they should have caused many other times before this.

But common, it is offensive to watch yet another insane suicidal decision that felt completely bizarre in that artificial sudden sense of uregency to try a crazy new way to get home. It's utterly absurd. The crew develops an experimental idea in a ship that is lost from home for more than 4 years. And the captain is ready to try it even after knowing that there is a fundamental flaw!


What to say about Chakotay in this episode? Only that it is still painfully annoying to watch he agreeing once again with the captain's crazy decision of the wee, in yet-another-are-you-with-me-scene.

The episode had many other issues. From the corny countdown where the action happens when it reaches zero, to the super corny (and fairly silly) message that Kim sends to him in the past.

Yes, it was a well executed episode in terms of dialogue, especial effects, camera, etc. And yes, there were good pieces like Chatkotay and Kim as fugitives in the future. Still, here we have to swallow that they are willing to go back in time and make a history change of, in this case at least, pottentially enormous consequences. Without a moral doubt shown on screen.

Ok, it was sort of entertaining to watch. But it was not exactly good and is easily the most overated episode of Voyager I have found in this website so far. Certainly not more than 2 stars for me.
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 2:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

This episode was mostly boredom disguised as a profound piece of episode.
trekmedic - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 10:46pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Does anyone else think it's hilarious that the Ferengi starship's name is "Cretin?"
Aaron - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 9:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

I liked this one. Seriously, after 7 seasons of Voyager being mostly one-shot episodes, it's nice to get some continuing plot threads. Enterprise was basically Voyager with hull plating instead of shields for most of the 2nd season. Now they've got a purpose.

I thought it was an apt storyline given ENT's broadcast existence in the post 9-11 era.

Oh, and people, stop complaining about canon! No one but hardcore trekkers cared about that, and it's why the producers of the new movies just said F*** canon.

It makes sense that events from more than 100 years before TOS might have lost their intensity, like the Spanish-American War or World War I for us today, that people don't talk about that much anymore unless studying history.

What I didn't get, though - 1) where the hell were the Vulcans? They didn't seem to give a crap or assist at all, so I can't believe that humans would put up with them at all, especially after this. 2) Earth vessels seemed to make short work of a Klingon battle cruiser, why was there no warning about this Xindi weapon?
Tom - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 7:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Pollyanna: "I found the exchanges between Wesley and Picard genuine and realistic." Absolutely. I never thought that I would find myself actually liking Wesley. Those scenes with the captain were touching and a testament to Wil Wheaton's (and Patrick Stewart of course)'s acting abilities. It shows how much the show and its writers have progressed since season 1.

@SkepticalMI - The Earth's mean temperature is 14C, or about 40C less than that planet. So, if they landed somewhere during the winter, maybe on one of the poles, than the temperatures we see in the show might make sense.
SkepticalMI - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 6:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Interesting that three of the last five episodes of season 4 (Half a Life, Host, and this one) all deal with very similar themes, namely a romance doomed to failure because one of the people in the relationship is completely and totally alien to the other. Of the three, I think this is the best, because it turns it around and makes the central cast member who we have seen and grown with over the past 100 episodes as the alien one. I liked Destructor, T'Paul, and William's comments, and agree with them. The fact that Data appears so mechanical here is what made the show. Others have mentioned elements of the last scene that were moving and striking, but I'll add one more. As Jenna's leaving, Data asks if this means that they are breaking up. This seems such a natural and emotional thing to do. If it were a human saying that, we might imagine he was being wistful or regretful, asking but not really wanting to hear the answer. But when Jenna confirms it, he merely comments that he will delete the appropriate program. There was no emotion behind his question, merely aiming for factual clarity so that he can efficiently organize his files.

I also agree that it was not out of the ordinary for Jenna to fall for Data; the episode set it up well. Data has had 20 some years of experience dealing with people in professional or relaxed social environments. So while he's not perfect in these realms, he does a decent job of following the proper social protocols. He really was being a good friend to Jenna beforehand, both in the torpedo bay and after the concert. In fact, I remembered the "double date" with Miles and Keiko as happening after they became a couple, not before. But given how clingy Jenna was being with Data and how comfortable she was with him, it seemed only natural that she would think he might be able to be more than just a friend.

And it was just as natural how much he failed. He has had zero experience with relationships (drunken one night stands with former security chiefs notwithstanding). Of course he wouldn't know how to behave. We see him act naturally (when Jenna visits him in his quarters), and he is emotionless and unavailable. So he tries to act unnaturally, and it is painfully obvious to everyone that it's a façade. Even Jenna noticed it was a failure pretty quickly. I guess that's why I can't complain about the pointless B plot too much. If it was so obvious to everyone that Data was pathetic at being a boyfriend, how could they have filled 43 minutes of it? Better to create filler than to mess up a good 30 minute story by stretching it to 43.

As for comparing Data and the Doctor, this episode is one of the reasons Data is a better character. From my recollections of Voyager (and in fairness, I don't know it as well as TNG), the Doctor's INhumanity was rarely explored. For the most part, he was just a sarcastic human who could be turned off. The episode where his OS crashed due to saving Kim and not the redshirt is the only exception I can think of off the top of my head. That's not meant as a slight to Robert Picardo, who played the sarcastic doctor well. But there was much more depth to Data, because he was much more alien. We could never be sure how much of humanity he was mimicking and how much really was there.
Ric - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 2:45am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Holy Trek. Aside from the very implausible, silly, ludicrous explanation for how One was "born", the rest of the episode was pure joy to watch. Oh mine, it is amazing how much Seven has added to this show. The final of the episode, the dialogue, and how it builds upon Seven's contexto is just really really good.

I also enjoyed quite a lot the portrayal of One, as well as the actíng behind him. They ressembled the Tin Man from the Wizard of Oz, in the way he moved, talked and, most touching, both the facial expressions in between machine and human and the way he looked at the others.

Loved this one.
skadoo - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 11:07pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I found the story mentioned above (O Captain, My Captain: A Look Back At Deep Space Nine’s Ben Sisko) below is a better link:
www.racialicious.com/2012/03/15/o-captain-my-captain-a-look-back-at-deep-space-nines-ben-sisko/#more-21072

I thought it was a great article. I'm disappointed at the attitude people have over that small scene. I think for the most part if you are a person of color you're more apt to have thought of the scene as necessary.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@Jammer and Torayo, as to the sexism in DS9 and beyond, the reason there are female schemers using their bodies is because men desire them and women in real life use their bodies. That is life, too bad.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I did not love this episode. It was alright and it was really cool seeing everyone out of make up, Dukat and Nog in particular. I quite liked the first half of the episode when I thought it was going to be a light period piece, but than the "Racism=Bad" chanting started, OMG, can we ever get past this as a culture? I agree with some of the poster above who said that star trek works best in allegory, I did not like at ALL when this became "12 Years a slave" light.... I disagree on one major point with Jammer also, it is true this is the first direct reference to Brooks being black, but ever since "Past Tense" it has certainly been right there under the surface waiting for this terrible episode to happen.

Now, I have never been a fan of the "issue" episodes, I have stated many times I love Sci-Fi for the Sci-Fi, not for BS political reasons, I don't need over-acting Avery Brooks to tell me racism is bad, or stupid face painting in TOS for that matter, or boring TNG season 7 to know polluting is bad. I look forward to getting back to real science fiction.
Next »Page 1 of 754
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer