Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,215 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 809
Baron Samedi - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 9:52am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

A very good final season to a magnificent show. The resolution to the Winn/Dukat/Sisko story was ridiculously anticlimactic and the ommission of Bajor's entry to the Federation was disappointing, but otherwise this was an excellent string of shows. Ezri was a great character. I loved her speech to Worf about the failings of Klingnon culture. DS9 is my favorite Star Trek show and one of my top shows in general (up there with The Wire). I admire the vision and ambition that went into it. Not everything on DS9 worked, but even when it fell flat it was rarely for lack of trying. I wonder if there will ever be a time when a fairly big budget and such a great degree of freedom (though I'm aware many of the limitations) are put in the hands of such a talented group of writers behind a sci-fi series. Thanks for the wonderful reviews, Jammer.
Entilzha - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 6:49am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

2 reasons:
1) It created Data's fascination with Sherlock Holmes.
2) It gave us Colm Meaney's 2nd Trek appearance which would later lead to Chief O'Brien.

The rest is boring.

So, historically we need this episode in the tapestry of Star Trek making, but we don't really have to watch it. :p
Entilzha - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 6:33am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

I loved the Klingon targ hallucination of Worf, and also the one with Tasha and her cat. It really showed something about the characters. After those two it seems the writers got tired from thinking and just decided to do strange things around the ship. What a missed opportunity.

The Traveller and Kosinski, and Wesley were also good. The rest of the crew were portrayed as very reactionary and stuffy.
Entilzha - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 6:20am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

Just notice how in each episode Troi's neckline is a little bit lower.

Also, the notion of women being 'less than' seems to be a universal one as it is presented by most of season one & two. Almost every single race sees females as a stereotypical weaker sex, or something to be viewed sexually. Really annoying. Seems the only true feminists on Trek so far are the Klingons. (Later there'd be the whole House of Duras inheritance that would wreck that :/).

This episode works if you see the first half as an action with a mystery story and the second as a comedy. It feels as if the director had a Jekyll and Hyde mental breakdown while working here.
Entilzha - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 5:11am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Worf: I don't understand their humor, either.
Wesley: It was an adult who did it!
Those two quotes can sum up most of this episode.

Wesley I liked. He is a bright kid who for some reason (through most of season 1) is surrounded by professional adults who act very stupidly: Why would the assistant engineer leave him in charge (It was before the infection took hold of him)? Why would his mother not notice her son sweating buckets after she knew about Geordi's and Tasha's condition?

Wesley being a very smart kid made sense for him doing all the things apart from the last 'saving the day' act. That just range false. I also loved this being a carefree Wes, drunk, happy and naughty. Much more enjoyable that his anxious to please everyone demeanor in later episodes.

The other good thing besides Wesley was Data's "If you prick me would I not leak." Love the Shakespearean paraphrasing. Also, that small part foreshadows great episodes to come in the future.

Small thing: both here and on Haven, Deanna calls Riker 'Bill'. Doesn't really suit him and I'm glad they changed that.

I didn't watch the show in episode order so for me it wasn't the second episode and the first time seeing it was quite amusing. But the unsophisticated humor fades very quickly after a couple of viewings. I found myself now laughing derisively at it rather than with it.
Mike - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 2:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Wow, finally someone, with my same name, that pointed out my biggest gripe of this show! You're tell me that the flagship of the Federation after episodes like the survivors, q who, the best of both worlds, couldn't mop up three 20 year old warbirds?

Don't get me started on Generations...
LongKahn - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 1:48am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I would have liked it if the writers had used the mirror universe in the dominion arc. They could do it in many ways. Maybe as a way to escape in a grave situation like when the dominion took over the station. Or maybe they could have gone to the gamma quadrant in the mirror universe to get the cure for Odo. Oh well. Almost every mirror episode had the other side using our characters for their advantage. Once the station was taken over by smiley they should have gone there for something. I mean there was a whole universe that the dominion didn't have access to. Just a thought
Ian G - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

This is a pretty dull and ponderous episode that try's to make some sort of ham fisted point about accepting handicapped people that would be fine in a 90's public service video but not Star Trek. Melora's predicament seems silly in the midst of all the medical marvels of the ST universe. The episode then degenerates further into a meaningless one off love story with her and Bashir. Melora herself is unbearable throughout, at first she's angry at everyone for no reason, then she's just a sappy love interest. Through all this we are slapped in the face by the script and told how awesome she is at everything lest we think all people with disabilities are meek and worthless.
HolographicAndrew - Fri, Jul 25, 2014, 12:08am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I used to like this episode before I saw season one, and now I realize it doesn't match up at all with Janeway's earlier actions when Neelix's lungs were stolen.

So what we have here is an episode where the entire crew is out of character, simply to force the status quo of the main bridge crew to remain the same. There's just no way they would sit there saying nothing.

I'm not saying Tuvix should have stuck around, but I don't like the show pretending there's some big ethical dilemma to Janeway's decision when really it's just the reset button being pushed. That's the same awful thing that happened in every conflict in BSG later on.
D. Albert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 11:03pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

"It's been an honor serving with you, my friend."

And that says it all. Homo Sapien. Cylon. All too human.
Ian G - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 10:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

There are some interesting concepts here but the episode is very poorly executed and stumbles around mostly padding out the run time. The Skrean story might have been compelling if M class planets weren't miraculously ubiquitous in the Star Trek Universe. The Skreans just come off as arrogant and idiotic since the Federation is willing to give them a whole planet. The Bajoran government's reasoning seems perfectly sound.
D. Albert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 10:10pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

Roslin has totally checked out. She should resign. And if the mutiny happens, it's Adama's fault. Discipline on the ship has broken down. Baltar's gone angry nihilist. Gaeta gone angry. Chief is lost.

Everyone is broken. Or angry. Or both.

Which is cool. Because that is exactly how they all should react.

So, yeah, good episode, despite all the flaws Jammer pointed out,
Eddington - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 9:50pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I understand that this is a metaphore for genocide, but it is a weak one. The Borg are not a species and not a race, and they share among themselves very little in the way of genetics, and they do not sexually reproduce so there is no "emerging" species or race. It is a purely techno-social military organization, albeit involuntarily conscripted. Aggressive military targets are fair game for extermination, if you ask me.

Yes, genocide is always wrong, even if it's your only hope for survival and you do it out of desperation. Your fear and desperation may mitigate your moral culpability, and good may come from your survival, but the genocidal act is objectively evil.

But the fact remains that exterminating the Borg is not genocide. Once again TNG's attempts to preach their morality have rung false due to bad science, sophomoric use of English, and shallow philosophy.

DS9, as usual, got it right. Section 31 was attempting to commit bona fide genocide, and that's why the story was so hard-hitting: they were actually dealing with the moral implications in a sci-fi setting with good science (a synthetic virus infecting a species), good English (look up genocide, they did), and deep philosophy (desperation, remorse, risk and sacrifice, action and rectification).
Adam - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 9:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Yes, one does wonder if this type of special ops mission would not be better suited to the likes of Section 31? Or the 24th century equivalent to Enterprise's MACOs. I always wondered about the plausibility of sending Worf, Crusher, and Picard on a dangerous grenade throwing mission behind enemy lines.
D. Albert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 8:35pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

Good review and comments.

I know attraction is personal, but I'll never understand why anyone would prefer Starbuck to Dee. Starbuck was a mess. Dee was sweet and a knock-out.

Eponymous Jones - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 8:00pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

It's been a real pleasure re-watching the entire TNG series and reading these write-ups and comments. It's made me think about the series in a whole new, more literary, way. This is what the internet is all about.

Franz Kafka wrote a short story called "Before the Law" (www.kafka-online.info/before-the-law.html) that reminds me so much of Picard's relationship with Q and the Continuum he represents. It's a story about a gatekeeper that denies a man entry through a door that was specifically designed for him. Superior morality.

The other thing I remember sending chills down my spine as a child is watching Riker's immensely powerful Enterprise come to the rescue of the Pasteur at an angle from below. To be with the old crew that is rescued by the starship we've followed for years - what a change of perspective! Still affects me!

Just wanted to share that!
Yanks - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 12:19pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

"The Cylons were created by man.

They rebelled.

They evolved.

They look and feel human.

Some are programmed to think they are human.

There are many copies.

THEY HAVE A PLAN."


So, we learn that "The Plan" was to "kill them all!!!" (see Cavil)

How epically disappointing...
Yanks - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 9:18am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: 33

I remember when I first saw this episode.

Wow! Riviting, suspenseful, pounding steady pace, just draining television.

After all this episode brings in the suspense/empathy department, what really caps it off is when the baby is born and our President adds a number to the tally. (snif)

Just a tremendous hour of television. Hard to match. (in any series)

4 stars EASY.
HolographicAndrew - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 8:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I agree that this episode is worth a second look. My immediate thought after seeing this episode for the first time, is that I enjoyed it more than TNG's Darmok. Both episodes are about misunderstanding another alien's culture.

I found Tuvok's interaction really touching in this episode, not tired at all. And usually kids acting gets pretty annoying, but they were actually good in this one.

Sure the reverse aging is silly, but no more so than the alien's language in Darmok. It just worked for me and to me it was a solid hour of Trek.
Robert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 8:18am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

That was half my point though. I wasn't making a value judgement as to anything, I was just saying that it's jarring if the (very small) amount of brown people all share each other as love interests.

As to what should be done to make it less jarring? Ya, I'd be in favor of more minority actors. You either should not have black Bajorans/Vulcans or you should make them common. I swear that Tuvok literally married the only other black Vulcan on the entire planet. Why couldn't Solok's baseball team be half black (it would have made the Tuvok thing feel so much less weird if there were a lot of black Vulcans). Did they ever have any on Enterprise (I haven't finished it yet).

"In that vein, Enterprise credits are the worst offender. They purport to depict humanity's progress towards the Space Age only to omit every single non-American achievement. Where's Gagarin or Sputnik, for instance? They fail to show the first human in space and the first Earth spacecraft? How about the first woman in space, Valentina Tereshkova in Vostok 6? Or Leonov's first spacewalk? "

Totally agree! Wasn't Chekov included on the bridge as Rodenberry's nod to Russian space progress? Back when we were enemies! That's the spirit of Star Trek.

Brown people are clearly the minorities on every planet somehow, even though by the time Star Trek rolls around America won't be very white anymore. Mind boggling.
Robert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 8:08am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Andrew - Sort of? Who mourned for the other crew that died? Why is Harry special?

They all got duplicated. In the SAME universe. Harry died exactly the same as literally everyone else. Everyone got split in two and EVERYONE had 1 duplicate die.

Considering there are theories that the transporter is doing this (killing you and beaming a duplicate somewhere else) the only thing that was really "lost" is Harry's memories between the split and the death. So like 10 minutes tops.

What WOULD have been interesting is to revisit this (briefly) in Basics when Naomi is sick. I always felt Samantha should have had PTSD from losing her baby the first time.

Yes, technically the Naomi she has is the same one she carried inside her for (what is it, like 15 months?) but she still watched one of the Naomi's die after childbirth. Would screw with anyone.
Angel - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 7:04am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Was always amused in this episode when Picard orders Worf to "locate the exact source of that tractor beam, lock on phasers" and it takes Worf 4 shots to actually even come close to remotely hitting it =D
HolographicAndrew - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 1:32am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Funny episode, but a little disturbing if you take it seriously. Because there's a universe where Harry Kim is dead and no one even mourned his death, because his duplicate stepped in to replace him. Since the show plays it off as an upbeat moment it kind of creeps me out. Yeah, I'm going to try to pretend that didn't happen.
Max Udargo - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 1:09am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

@D. Albert

Excellent analysis of the fundamental problem that undermined the series at it moved along. The key word here is "lazy," I think.
D. Albert - Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 12:39am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

Good review. Thanks.

Baltar's biggest sin,of course, is giving the nuke to Damaged 6. And there is no forgiveness for that.

Next »Page 1 of 809
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer