Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 43,865 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,755
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Since the rise of YouTube came, it is more realistic to think someone would fall for another by watching video blogs. This episodes works better now because of this.
Set Bookmark
Darren
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Speaking of such things, here's something else I don't recall anyone mentioning (my apologies if someone has): Why did Landry figure she had to chop off one of Ripper's claws? For one, doesn't their technology allow for identifying material simply by scanning? But if not, wouldn't a small slice of a claw have been sufficient, akin to a nail trimming from a person or animal, and therefore not the least bit harmful to Ripper?

And for that matter, once Ripper's navigational role was uncovered, why was the weaponization of her/his claws and hide and such just dropped? Given Lorca's focus in particular on doing anything possible to gain an advantage in the war, that seems very much to be a thread that was simply dropped for no sound reason.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I've noticed that on the desk in his office (i.e., "ready room), Mercer has a little model of the original Wright brothers flyer. Presumably the Orville takes its name from the younger Wright brother. Does anyone know why this is so?
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Thanks for the review, I enjoyed it and think it was very good. I watched only ds9 and the movies from Star Trek , but wanna watch it all starting from enterprise, I liked the pilot but not more than then liked, loved the small touches like the scope when t'pol wanted to look for trips signal , the gripller , the retro look of the different crafts, love the Klingon hate the new ones in the new series, what where they thinking destroying one of the most important races in the trek universe!!!!!!! Anyway give it a 3 stars, would have given it 2.5 but because its Star Trek had to give it 3
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

2 stars

Plodding sluggish. Dragged. Boring. Liked idea of war games in responsevto Borg threat but the execution was mediocre at best and took forever to get where it was going
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Does anyone else think Isaac's voice sounds like Brent Spiner? I know it's not him, but it sure sounds like him.
Set Bookmark
Brontodon
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Look at how First Officer Kelly Grayson is the toughest character so far -- she's the one being beaten and tortured in "If the Stars Should Appear," AND telling the guy beating her face in to go to hell! In the next episode, "Pria," SHE'S the one getting into a fistfight with the villain while the bridge crew -- including the captain -- stands around watching. Keep in mind that she's the reason Mercer got his command in the first place, and she was willing to leave the ship after he got it, having accomplished what she set out to do. Very tough, very loyal, self-sacrificing -- basically a female Captain Kirk! I think we're going to end up admiring this character after a while.
Set Bookmark
LT.BLT
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The part where they give Quark a Fox News style rant about racism being natural and genetic is absurd. Quark is a Ferengi trader who deals with a wide variety of people. Just because we mainly see humanoid characters doesn’t mean there aren’t others even in the Federation. In TNG Wesley Crusher fell in love with a noncorporeal being. Ferengi would be the first ones to try to sell stem bolts to the Founders. The whole thing was out of character.

The great thing about the episode is that it shows a deeply human question: should I run off and “find myself” in novel experiences or stay here where I feel comfortable and develop my relationships more deeply. It’s not easy to answer and neither choice is wrong.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Surprised at the negativity directed toward this episode. I've always thought of it as a very clever way to examine Janeway's loneliness, her inability to have a romantic or sexual relationship, her inability to be intimate, and her disconnection from her crew. It's a very sad and touching episode, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

3.5 stars

One of the stringer and more gripping season 2 episodes and one of the few episodes by Ken Biller I liked—the rest of his stUff isn’t very good

It pretty much had it all. It got right down to business within seconds rather than spending time on filler teaser scenes.

The Intrigue of a Federation signal employing codes that weren’t in use at time of Voyager disappearance., the raid on voyager was tense and exciting, enjoyed seeing Seska and the Kazon and their efforts to take Voyager, Chakotay going after seska, belanna’s imploring janeway to go easy on Chakotay, seskas ckefer tactics and countertactucs, janeway sides to beam the sect leaders to bargain for Chakotay and I enjoyed the cliffhanger.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

"And as I mentioned in a comment on an earlier episode, why didn't the ripper just leave Discovery? That really really annoys me. It can teleport wherever it wants to in the galaxy supposedly, as long as it has access to spores, which it does, but it can't leave. Why not? Seriously. Someone come up with a reason it couldn't leave either Discovery or Glenn. And it rehydrates itself in outer space at the end with the water it got from where exactly?"

Another thing that was very fishy was the whole interfacing of the tardigrades' brain with the computer. It was said that the star constellations were mapped in his brain; okay, but how comes that you have a computer that can read his brain?

The visualization of the star charts from his brain was cringeworthy.

The ejection of the tardigrade into space was also nothing but a cool visualization of "giving him freedom", without any explanation of why that act would actually set him free and why he couldn't leave before.

These are examples for visualizations that are pure eye-candy but don't really make sense; the scientific explanation is missing.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Someone should make a complete list on transporter functions.

Reverse age , desease, trauma, anomalies through DNA comparison.
Store yourself in buffer for a long time.
transporting via subspace stream of particles through old type shields



Set Bookmark
Doug
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

@Matt

Kindly fuck off about Jay's experience with mental health. You have no idea what you're talking about, and you're belligerent about it to boot. Two very annoying tendencies to co-occur.
Set Bookmark
Skuffles
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

First of all a possible spoiler so skip this part if you want.






------------------Spoiler-----------------

Johnathan Frakes said there will be a mirror universe episode of DIS. Also that he directed an episode. Not sure if it's the mirror universe episode or not, but that would explain the mirroring stuff and the beginning and end of the show. The last scene especially seems to hint at it.

---------------End of Spoiler-----------








Anyway....

I came a little late to this episode, so most of the stuff I wanted to talk about was already discussed by everyone else. So forgive me when I start repeating stuff.

My first real gripe with this episode was, how did the Klingons know where Lorca was, in order to kidnap him, and that he'd be on a shuttle with no protection other than one other guy? They pop out of warp right on top of him. Unless that's going to be answered in some future episode, that was pretty lame.

Then Mudd goes on and on about how Starfleet are bad guys, which we heard from the Klingons in earlier episodes. So noone in the galaxy likes Starfleet I guess, and judging from the characters so far on the show I can see why. They are all smug, self indulgent, annoying assholes. Even Saru comes across that way in this episode, after being a decent person before. Yes, he is out to save his captain, but still.

And I also don't like what others have called the 'edginess' of this show. Star Trek has done other adult themed shows in the past (Troi being raped, a few different times actually, for example), but that wasn't done solely for shock value, like them saying 'fucking' and having people's heads stomped on, as was done in this episode.

L'Rell has what to me sounds like a middle eastern accent (I may be wrong though), which I guess is to make her seem more 'evil' since muslims are the 'enemy' of the western world now. I think that's pretty low. Why not make her have an English accent or a Japanese accent or whatever?

Something very fishy is going on with L'Rell and that Ash guy, since she's only been on the ship for 3 weeks. I hope it turns out to be something cool, like Ash is a spy, and not just the writer's total brain fart. But yes, Lorca having a Klingon detector on his desk probably isn't a coincidence.

And as I mentioned in a comment on an earlier episode, why didn't the ripper just leave Discovery? That really really annoys me. It can teleport wherever it wants to in the galaxy supposedly, as long as it has access to spores, which it does, but it can't leave. Why not? Seriously. Someone come up with a reason it couldn't leave either Discovery or Glenn. And it rehydrates itself in outer space at the end with the water it got from where exactly?

At some point in the episode they start saying that the ripper is probably sentient. Really? When did that come about? Why do they think so? Is it or isn't it? No explanation of any of that is given. They just say it as if it's a given.

And I have to complain about, as many others have, that horrible exposition about how the spore drive works, among three people who know perfectly well how it works. That was annoying. Maybe that could fly in an episodic show, where something happened 10 episodes ago that you may not have seen, but the whole rest of the episode presumes that you had seen all the previous ones anyway so what was the point of that nonsense?

Now this part really annoys me. I mean really. Here goes.

The tardigrade (ripper) shares some DNA with the mushrooms/spores so it can use them to travel throughout the galaxy. Fine. But humans also share DNA with the spores, and also the tardigrades, so that means that both the ripper and the spores originated on earth, or they came to earth and we evolved from them. Either way, the fact that they have somehow spread over the entire galaxy and been able to travel over the entire galaxy for a billion years means that we should be able to as well, or at least the spores should have been found on earth or that earth tardigrades should be able to travel around the galaxy as well. Or something! Something! I really don't like this whole spore drive thingy.

And I may as well weigh in on the 'gay' thing, since it seems to be such a hot topic. :P

I could care less if someone on a show is gay or in a gay relationship. I just hated the way they presented it here. In the first 4 episodes, it was sort of hinted at a little in various ways, and then in this episode, at the end, it seemed like they went 'Hah! See! They really ARE gay! Did you figure it out?! And if you didn't, then what a surprise!'. That to me was sort of insulting.

Just as an example, take the gay couple in 'Modern Family'. It never occured to me that their relationship was anything but normal, because they never showed it to be anything else. Nothing but a normal couple doing normal couple things. But in Discovery, they made it a big reveal, 'They ARE gay! Gotcha!' , and that is what was super lame.

I could go on, but this is too long already.

I still haven't given any episode above 2 1/2 stars yet, and that's what this one gets too.

2 1/2 stars.


Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Shouldn't Janeway have immediately ordered her crew to commit mass suicide when they realized there was an indigenous alien race on the planet? They all should have jumped into lava rather than violating the prime directive by being seen by primitives on the planet.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@Caz: This ep had so much great dialogue but Worf's "Die" was the funniest. Worf got to have so much fun, and he had the honor of throwing Q in the brig too!!

Overall I think almost all the main cast members got to have their moment this episode. When TNG fires on all cylinders, they really fire on all cylinders .

Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

@ Derek,

"I'm with a number of you in that Sisko's reaction to Picard was rude and uncalled for and i was uncomfortable with Picard's wimpy reaction. "

In TNG addressing a superior officer like this wouldn't have happened as that show always had a certain decorum. And that's exactly the point and why it's such an important scene for DS9's pilot: this isn't TNG! (or as Sisko would say in a later episode, "I'm not Picard!") This isn't a show set in a cushy starship, but in orbit around a broken world full of broken people, and Sisko is being shown as being one of them in that sense. When you say his tone with Picard was uncalled for, do you mean that rudeness isn't befitting a Starfleet officer? But Sisko isn't just a Starfleet officer, he was a husband and a father. We're being shown a man who's lost the love of his life and hasn't recovered from it. He's still hurting as if it just happened to him. And the face of the man who did it is sitting right across from him. He's in pain and has nowhere to direct it. Is it fair for him to blame Picard? Of course not, that's not how grief and pain work. He's a damaged man to be sure, that's the point. Picard is savvy enough to pick up on this and chooses not to engage. What could he say to a man who feels like he's lost everything and isn't even sure he wants to be in Starfleet any more? Buck up? Picard has more class than that.

This is one of my favorite scenes *in the series* so forgive me if I rush to defend it. I think it's a very meaningful scene, in both its implications for the series, as well as the sheer fact of someone addressing Picard like that.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I think this episode, rather than The Begotten, should have been where Odo is turned from being a solid back into being a changeling again. If the female changeling returned and told Odo that the link had forgiven him, and then proved it by offering to restore his powers and giving him back what he lost, then that would have made Odo's betrayal somewhat more understandable, and as a result made his subsequent return to the fold somewhat more plausible. One of the strengths of this episode, and of the Odo character as a whole, is that he is torn between these two worlds, so giving him his powers back at this point would have been the most logical time to do it.

As Jammer noted in the review for The Begotten, there was concern that episode would come to be remembered only as the episode where Odo gets his powers back, and I think that is pretty much what ended up happening. To me it makes more sense for the founders to make him a changeling again because they had the power to make him a solid in the first place, rather than have a scientifically mumbled explanation where Odo somehow gets his powers back from a dying baby changeling. It makes Broken Link a little less powerful if Odo is able to become a changeling again without the link's approval. Also, if Odo had remained a solid for the entirety of the fifth season, it would have raised the question in the viewer's mind about whether he would ever become a changeling again, which I think would have been the better choice.
Set Bookmark
Skeeny
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

I'll start by saying I sort of like this episode, but it has it's problems.

LIRIA: 'The explosive was trilithium based. There is no source of trilithium anywhere in our system. So, you can imagine our surprise when our investigation revealed that your ship is powered by dilithium, which our scientists tell us is convertible into trilithium.'

But their own ships are powered by paralithium (Voyager had already found 3 ships that used it before they found the fourth and correct one), which can also be converted into trilithium, and they don't know that? I guess only the 'terrorists' know it.

As someone else mentioned earlier, the universal translator thing bothered me, since they obviously don't have their commbadges.

Zio was the one who killed the guy at the beginning and stole his food. Doesn't sound like he was all that in control of his clamp-iness. And if the clamp makes everyone go insane and want to kill each other, why is there anyone left? Why wouldn't they all have killed each other by now?

The magical pipe.

Janeway kidnaps a guy and a 14 year old girl and locks them up and holds them hostage and threatens them and bullies them into giving her information. Worst captain ever.

If the 'rebels' know where the prison is and know the codes for the shields and can get in that easily, why haven't they done it themselves already? I guess because they didn't have Neelix.

EMH: ...'Acetylcholine...helps stimulate one's aggressive tendencies.'

^ that isn't true, it would have been better had they used testosterone or steroids or something like that. Whatever, a minor point.

But, like I said, I sort of like this one.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Well, let's admite that refusing even to consider allowing intellectual pleasures to the Cogenitor, at least now that this one enjoyed them, was injustice. Let's note that this was the main point and it would't have interferred with the job, it would have meant just spending free time reading/watching movies instead of sleeping.
In fact, the cogenitor never complained too much about the job, neither Trip: the point was intellectual leisure instead. The visians could have at least considered that. The injustice is, they didn't.
Set Bookmark
Skwinty
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

It was cool to see Sulu and the Excelsior etc. despite the whole thing being shoehorned in.

What I didn't get is that if this is a meld between Janeway and Tuvok reliving his memories, why could anyone see Janeway at all, and how were they able to nerve pinch someone and steal her clothes and have Janeway sneak around and all that business? Were they changing his memories? And if so how can you trust the memories to be what actually happened and find the truth? Once the mind meld started going a bit haywire, they treated it as if they had actually travelled back in time instead of just reliving memories. That whole thing was a bit of a convoluted mess.

All in all, not too bad though.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Thanks to your advices, I watched yesterday TOS' Tholian Web & Mirror Mirror first, and then both mirror episodes of ENT. All in a row. It doubles the fun!
It's hilarious when you get on ENT the same details as TOS' evil guys: the salute, the lack of fabric on girls' uniforms, the sword&planet logo, the positions of dead Defiant's crew, the well-done Tholian, even the bearded Vulcans!
And then ENT's mirror has the twist about First Contact and special credits, what's not to love?

Thanks again for your warning about lowering my expectations, the script was just average.
But once you are ready for thar... watching such a game of thrones story with humour touches is pure joy!

Trip's bitter jokes, Archer as Macbeth but with exxagerated bed scenes, Hoshi as evil mastermind, Reed and Tucker still faithful to their jobs somehow, and the end twist... it was so much fun!
Set Bookmark
Darren
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@ Eric:

"I'm confused about Stamets; I thought he was in a relationship with the guy that died on the sister ship? How did he get over him so quickly and start dating another guy, even living with him?"

I kind of thought at the time too that he was involved with Strahl (?), the guy on the Glenn. However, as they both used the term "friend" at some point (as did Lorca, I believe), presumably, they were only friends.

But might they have been romantically involved at some point in the past? There did seem to be something in their interaction that suggested romantic affection; but, perhaps like Ed and Kelly on The Orville, they remained friends even once that was all over.

(Or, since we all knew Stamets was gay from the beginning, we're just seeing something that isn't / wasn't there between him and Strahl ...)
Set Bookmark
Skimpy
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Terrible episode. I'll skip over most of the terrible things in it that others brought up already and mention some of the other terrible things in it.

Chakotay takes the dead guys suit and says he'll make solar stills from it to collect water. How would that work exactly? How does a starfleet uniform convert into a solar still? And how would that give enough water for 150 people?

So the kid isn't Chakotay's. Seska had taken a DNA sample from Chakotay's spine in the earlier episode. Seska I guess accidentally used Cullah's DNA instead of the DNA she collected from Chakotay when she made the baby, so how did that happen? She can genetically engineer a baby from spinal fluid but, oops! she got the spinal fluid mixed up with Cullah's sperm! Or something. And she didn't ever do any sort of test to make sure who's baby it was? And a Cardassian/Kazon hybrid baby looks totally human except for one small bump on it's forehead. All that is stupid.

EMH: 'Computer, emergency medical priority one one four. Delete the signature of Mister Suder's comm. badge from the system. There is to be no record of his being on board.'

Because that is a medical emerency for sure. And why would he have the ability to do that at all?

Paris convinces the Talaxians to help him by saying he has a 'plan'. And they say 'OK we'll meet you there!'. Because they wouldn't ask what the actual plan was or anything.

TUVOK: '...I taught archery science for several years at the Vulcan Institute of Defensive Arts.'

LOL. Whatever you say Voyager.

The best way to rescue people held hostage by a band of aggresive armed cavemen is to walk right up to them and explain to them gently in an alien gobbledygook language that they are all going to leave, and then walk away. Yep. That would work.

Then after the dude gets eaten by the monster, they poke two sticks at the ceiling and cause the entire tunnel to collapse in a massive cave-in. Yep. That would work.

TUVOK: You may find nobility in the savage, Commander, but he is only interested in killing you.
CHAKOTAY: I don't believe that.

Because so far all they have done is kidnap two people and chase after you with spears and axes trying to kill you and then try to smoke you out of a cave so they can capture you and/or kill you, then chase after some more people with spears and axes. But no, Chakotay thinks they are nice. :) And of course he's right in the end, because, you know, Star Trek.

Chakotay rescues that cavewoman from the lava, by walking down a slope, and jumping onto a large rock and then onto her rock. Because there is no way she could have just done that herself, or anyone else could have, like maybe her caveman friends. Not to mention forgetting that it would be about 1000 degrees celsius where she is, but lots of shows/movies ignore the temperature thing (Revenge of the Sith and Return of the King spring to mind), so I won't blame Voyager too much for that bit.

The Kazon also used escape pods to leave Voyager, so they lost probably half of those this episode, but I guess they just made some new ones the same way they remake all of their shuttles and photon torpedoes.

The caveman puts a leaf with a rock in it(?) or something on Wildman's baby's chest and it's cured. Because of course primitive alien caveman medicine from the other side of the galaxy would treat a Human/Ktarian hybrid baby's fever and respiratory problems.

Part 1 wasn't very good, but it wasn't terrible. I gave it 2 stars. Part 2 is completely awful.

Zero stars for the planet nonsense, and 1 star for the space nonsense.

So 1/2 star overall.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Blue Alert!
Next ►Page 1 of 1,755
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.