Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,925 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,397
Set Bookmark
Graham
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

Found it disturbing that old age is automatically associated with dementia. Uncomfortable watching . . .
Set Bookmark
Graham
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Red shirt attempts to attack Klingon with possibly lethal force, without the slightest provocation. Kirk says it was self defence, not sure how that would stand up in court !!
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

Fun movie, not to be taken too seriously, as it breaks all the rules.

Watching the TOS movies in succession leads to some mood whiplash. First one tries to be mysterious/thoughtful, second deep/emotional, third was ??? (it had some humor, some sad parts, but overall was kind of scattered, no overarching feeling that I remember), and now fourth humorous.
Set Bookmark
dave
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Even back in 1996 I just went with the concept that his visions were from the prophets. They can see past present and future (without knowing which is which until Sisko explained time to them), so it is quite easy for them to give him a vision of something in the past, or warn him of something in the future (Bajor joining Federation = locusts heading to cardassia (dominion) destroying them as opposed to the non aggression pact they got to sign as an independent planet).

Bajor would have been obliterated when war broke out as they would have been target #1. Their independence allowed them to sign non aggression; which is what the prophets seem to have wanted Sisko to know.

Any being that is unexplainable can be looked upon as a god. That doesn't make them a diety. The prophets are not dieties, they simply had devices (orbs) that ancient Bajorans could not understand and it gave people visions and so forth and they became a religion . When science and discovery caught up, society doesn't let go of that faith so easily (same as with our religion), even if you can debunk any notion of someone being a god.

All of us would be gods if we went to 5000 BC somewhere, had our iphones, laptop, some movies, MP3 player, power generator, you name it..... we could do all sorts of tricks and before you know it someone in leadership is writing about us and 500 years later we are mythical gods and a religion is born.

There are no actual gods. They are constructs by sentient beings to solve various needs, mysteries, goals, or desires of faith. Anything can be created as a god if enough people buy into the message, some books are written, and a thousand years pass.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

Voyager ignoring Kes's warning from the earlier episode makes even less sense considering Year of Hell was supposed to be aired at the end of season 3 (closer to Before and After) but was shelved for the two-part season finale introducing Seven of Nine.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

But there are a lot of black Bajoran characters - they just tend not to have speaking roles.

Right off the top of my head, I know there are black Bajorans in "The Siege" (when the Bajoran Militia takes control of the station the General enters with black militia members), "Rapture" (during Sisko's prophetic walk through the Promenade he tells one couple, who are both black, that their harvest will be better this year), "Duet" (one of the Bajorans waiting outside Odo's office to see justice done is black) and "Wrongs Darker than Death or Night" (one of the Bajoran "comfort women" is black).

I'm pretty sure I remember numerous other black background characters like that as well.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Star Trek Umpteen: Been There, Done That

ST:NEM isn't really a bad story, as far as stories go. Arguably it was a better story than its goes-nowhere, does-nothing predecessor, the overly technobabble-filled pseudo-Insurrection (in which the most lasting consequence was Troi and Riker hooking up).

Unfortunately, they made Insurrection first, which pretty much doomed Nemesis.

What else doomed Nemesis? The resurrection of plot devices trotted out elsewhere:

* Data's bad sibling;
* Riker's "Kirk kicks Kluge in the face" finish to his fight with the Viceroy;
* The "Stop the Bad Guy and His Death Ray in the Nick of Time" finish we'd just seen in the prior film; and
* Kill off the beloved character, sort of.

Pity. Nemesis held some promise. The awesome opening Roman Senate scene; the desert chase; the intriguing Picard clone concept ("the triumph of the echo over the voice"); the Remans, the Scimitar, the vicious space battle.

This was a more entertaining movie than Insurrection but also showed the franchise running out of new ideas.

One wonders what would have happened if they'd skipped the bloated TV episode that was Insurrection and gone directly from First Contact to Nemesis. My bet is that would have left room for a better finale, perhaps one that could have woven together some of the contemporaneous characters from DS9 and VOY.

Now that could have been a heck of a send-off.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

I thought this was a rather dull and derivative episode.
Frake's portrayal of partially corrupted Riker evokes Gary Mitchell from the second TOS pilot but his subservience to patriarch Picard stops him and ,yes, this may indicate a submissive nature.
I agree with the above comments that Riker's gifts would not have necessarily been refused and Worf prob ably just needed a bit of privacy-seriously was he expected to just do it with the Klingon lady in front of his Captain?
Having said that Geordi's compliment to Tasha was genuinely touching as was Picard's consoling her when she was in the 'penalty box' but I say that partly as we know what is coming up in Skin of Evil.
John de Lancie can pretty much do no wrong of course but there are much better Q outings.
I think 2 stars
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

There are really two episodes contained within this one: the first is the 'Voyager establishment doing its thing', and the second is 'love story of the week.' In a sense these two narratives are at odds with each other and don't even make congruent sense when placed in the same episode. The Janeway/Doctor side of it seems to fit in with an episode involving insubordinate and selfish action on the part of an officer, where a moral lapse has occurred. The love story side of it seems to be about individual needs as they conflict with the needs of the group. These two sides should never have met, and indeed as some other commenters have mentioned, the scenes between Harry and Janeway/Doc are unintentionally humorous because of how stupid they are. Actually my reaction was anger rather than laughter, as I found their treatment of him to hardly more advanced than would be someone's attitude towards this kind of thing in the 1980's. It's hardly a model of advanced views towards sex or even basic tolerance towards human errors. Some have argued that this was really about first contact protocol - and on paper that holds, but as the episode plays it's really not about that. Let's face it: it's about a prudish attitude towards sex along with, yes, the heavy-handed morality play about STD. It doesn't belong in Trek.

However the *other* episode going on at the same time DOES belong in Trek, and moreover, it is the ideal story to tell about a lost ship. What happens when the needs of 'the ship' begin to grate on the needs of individual members of the crew? What happens when one member feels s/he really needs something, but 'protocol' or even 'efficiency' says no? In regular Starfleet service the answer would be simple: "if you really need this then maybe serving on this ship isn't for you." But on Voyager there is no choice in the matter, and so some element of compromise - or at least negotiation - in that direction would be entirely fitting. Maybe the crew could negotiate with the captain for certain policy changes to fit their new lifestyle? It would make sense, and would be great food for episodic tensions. Even forgetting about the long-lost hope of tensions between the Maquis and the Starfleet crew, at the very least individual complaints could be addressed from time to time. The last occasion where this happened was with Tom Paris, and - oops! It was all a trick. Everyone was happy after all. What a farce.

As far as direction goes, the 'love story' part of this episode always takes me by surprise as I find it works very well. Too well, considering the writing surrounding it. Somehow they managed to create a real human emotion in an episode that wasn't mitigated by or explained by any phenomenon, astronomical event, shuttle crash, or plot device. Two people just fell for each other. It doesn't matter whether it was lust, love, or whatever. It's a bottle episode concept that on its own worked very well. If the writing was better the notion of the generational ship could have been tied in to the impulse to couple up. Sex -> procreation -> next generation of the ship. DUH. So Harry's impulse to find a mate should have been painted as being right and proper for a ship seeing itself as generational, with the only problem being his haste in ignoring the medical regs. It didn't have to be a "Harry broke the rules" episode. It should have been a "Harry did a good thing in a bad way" episode, where the crew could feel sorry that they didn't have the infrastructure to have a true generational ship like that other race had, since they weren't designed for that and don't have enough people.

Bah. The parts of the episode that don't belong (the 'Voyager establishment parts') are indeed one star, if not zero, since they are both tedious as well as morally backwards. The parts that are about Harry needing some damn human contact I'd give 3.5 stars, as those parts are among my favorite in the entire series for their simple honesty. Most love stories on Voyager ride entirely on plot pretence; a strange forgetting spell; a shuttle crash; intrigue while hiding telepaths; it's all contrivances. This one was just honest, if simple.

My final score should combine the two scores, it it doesn't, because I'm happy to compartmentalize the episode and ignore the stupid parts. The Harry story is doing battle with the Voyager story, and since I root for the Harry story I'll take its side and give the episode its rating. 3.5.

Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

"I guess her skin pigment didn't matter to me. "

It didn't matter to me either, until I binge watched the show. And then I was like... huh, there are 3 black Bajorans on the entire planet and Jake dates them all!

I did not notice this during my initial 7 year viewing. I don't actually mind, people are attracted to what they are attracted to. Like... if we don't think it's racist that people like blondes I won't judge you for skin color attraction.

Maybe Jake just preferred mocha! Who cares... what IS odd is that they are like the only 3 brown Bajorans on the entire planet (Korena, Mardah and Kesha).

When he dates Leanne (a black human) it's not AS weird because there's more than 3 of those!!! There were just always a lot of Bajorans around on the station... if Bajorans were going to be multi-racial like that, I'd just like to have seen a lot more brown Bajorans around. That's all.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

@Outsider65

Nice thoughts on this episode. The more I read your commentary, the more I thought of some of the earlier TOS novels, where the author had just the basic idea of what Star Trek was about, and wrote a novel that was totally out of character. And Roddenberry wasn't there during the third season, if I recall correctly, to keep things from running off the rails...

Have a great day... RT
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

HA! I just remember she didn't like the chewing the food thing :-)

I guess her skin pigment didn't matter to me.
Set Bookmark
Jason R
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

The luggage scene was comedy gold, as was everything to do with Mr. Homm, one of my favourite Trek side characters.

I presume that as a powerful telepath, Lwaxana must have discovered Wyatt's intent to transport over to the Tallerian ship, yet chose not to warn anyone or talk him out of it. I like that - it gives her character a touch of nuance and seriousness that we sadly seldom get to see in the series.

Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Is it possible that Dourif had enough of a career outside of Trek that they weren't sure he'd be available for future appearances as Suder? I agree that keeping the character around would have been preferable, but I'm wondering if they'd have been able to have him appear regularly after this.
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

"What is more boring than two people stranded on a shuttle/planet for 45 minutes?"

Two people stranded in a corny Irish village holodeck program?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

This story has given me a great idea for an episode of modern family. The youngest girl brings her new frat house boyfriend over to meet the family. The frat boy comes in the house and notices that the dad's fly is open. Without telling the dad his fly is open, the frat boy leaves in a huff, comes back later that night and toilet papers the house. he then throws industrial waste slime on the toilet paper. After all, he was deeply offended by the dad's open fly so the punishment had to fit the crime.
The dad finds out that frat boy toilet papered his house and made it a health hazard so he asks frat boy why. Frat boy tells him that he was deeply offended by the dad's open fly. the dad apologizes profusely and frat boy gives him the name of someone who will clean up the toilet paper and industrial waste slime.
Sounds like a winner doesn't it?
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Harry transfers Doc and Krell from the Holodeck to Sickbay — Doc was wearing his mobile emitter on the Holodeck, and is wearing it again in Sickbay. I guess Harry transported it at the same time Doc was transferred. Hah.
Set Bookmark
William H
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

The main plot seems like something of a walking back from the dark conclusion of "The Abandoned". Goran'agar as a character suggests that the Jem'Hadar aren't purely creatures of their programming. Its an interesting story, though in the end it discusses a lot but doesn't really go anywhere. And I do think Bashir is a bit too forgiving, given how far O'Brien ultimately goes.

I'm really not keen on the B plot. Worf acts like an idiot, Odo does too but the story doesn't really acknowledge it. Then its wrapped up with a rather weak excuse for Quark's get out of jail free card and some preaching of the shades of grey creed.

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 6:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

The crew gets toilet papered (-*****)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Couldn't stand Pulaski. Glad to see her go.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Alien holocaust. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Odo to the holodeck (***)
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Not seen this one before either. Seem to be doing my Sloan trilogy now!

Loved it. What I really liked is that this touched upon some of the fan controversy of Section 31 by framing it against the almost perfect Federation citizen, Bashir. The line about Section 31 being there because people like Bashir are too idealistic is brilliant and it makes loads of sense,
I’ve always maintained that the Federation cannot just be some wet pacifist organisation as they live in a Galaxy with Gorn, Tholians, Romulans, Klingons, Borg, Breen and countless other threats. An organisation like Section 31, no matter how un Federation, HAS to exist.
The senate scene was excellent, I was genuinely on the end of my seat wondering how it would pan out (I knew it would end relatively well as I have seen the end of the series). Great interplay with Bashir and Sloan. Love seeing another Intrepid class ship. Enjoyed the off the record chat with Bashir and Ross even though it was obvious Ross was working for them.
4/4 easy.

Now for the final 10 parts!
Set Bookmark
gigalore
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

3/4 episode.

Don't like just a dream, don't like Brooks acting, like more or less everything else.

Regardless, disappointing to see what appear to be devoted Trek fans expressing what can only be described as regressional political views.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 2:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Bwahahahahahaha loved it! More Ferengi please! (***)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,397
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.