Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 37,521 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,501
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I liked the way Data gets trapped in an impossible situation, being pushed way beyond his comfort zone. The other story lines all play out well. Troi seems to be Picard's top advisory now, though I don't think that's what the producers had in mind when they created her character.

It's also nice there's a race that lives on non-Class M planets. What I don't like is how Data blows up the aqueduct. It looked like it was still working afterward. I also don't like how Picard always assumes colonists are willing to re-locate on a whim.

Still, 3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Orion Slave Guy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

I'm watching every episode on Blu-Ray and I'm absolutely love it. The vivid colors and details really add a lot.

I do think Evolution is a stinker, and not a good way to start off the season. The progression of the "beings" happens way too fast. I may have missed it, but I don't recall hearing details about what the "egg" does, and how it works. This would have helped solidify would have further helped Dr. Stubb's argument for no abandoning the experiment.

As far as the doctors, I'm not a big fan of either one, but Crusher brings more empathy to the role than the forced, hard-edged personality of Pulaski.
Set Bookmark
geekios
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 4:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

I see a couple of missed opportunities by the writers.
The natives back on 24th century earth have standard aliwn ridges on their foreheads, but are somehow Chakotay's ancestors. They could have written so that the tatoos marked on the forehead be a way for this culture to mimic and remember the sky spirits. This could have been used to enhance the storyline, and give sense to that distict Iron Mike marking by the ship's commander.

Set Bookmark
Sbestos
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Wow what a crock! Beaming the sword into space is the equivalent of destroying it. Either is will float into a star and be annihilated or simply never be found again since no future sword-hunters will have a handy shroud to lead them to it or a treasure room to preserve it. For Worf and Kor to toss something they claim to be so precious seems just a way of exonerating themselves for their own terrible behavior - as if they were compelled to try and kill each other by an object. I was surprised that Dax let them go through with it. She should have zapped them again and left them unconscious til they were at home. If any Klingon were to hear of this wouldn't they consider this a horrible dishonor to Kehless? Basically they decided to cut the baby in half.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

@Yanks Actually Data is recognized as a sentient being, the TNG did an episode confirming this when an attempt was made to dismantle him.
Set Bookmark
Grumpy
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 1:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Tara: "I do not think Troi got another normal conversation during the entire run of the show."

Troi's chocolate sundae bit in "The Game" always seemed a little odd, and now you've explained why.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 12:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Ah yes, "Arena." If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then this episode is one of the most iconic Star Treks ever, as it epitomizes what's great and cheesy about the franchise in one sublime package. Granted, the climactic fight is laughable in spots, but the script is so sensitive and smartly written that it's easy to forgive all.

I agree with many commenters that this episode is a classic worthy of 3 1/2 stars, knocked down half a star only for the sagging midsection and corny fight stunts; it's the show that many casual viewers remember when pressed to name a Star Trek episode from any of the series. Indeed this episode symbolizes everything I love about Star Trek: Compassion for the alien "other" and belief in the possibility that people can learn to get along after even the most violent of disagreements.

For many viewers, you've got to look beyond the obvious cheese of a guy in a rubber suit doing slow-motion fight moves to appreciate the sincere idealism of the story's payoff. But even the guy in the suit is part of the charm and part of what people love about "Arena," as its obvious budget flaws make the show that much more endearing. Also, the creativity of everyone involved -- the actors are *really* trying in this first season -- shows what can happen when a talented group of people work harder to overcome lack of resources.

I also have to admit that Shatner, although imitated by legions of comics like Kevin Pollak for his staccato monologues here, puts in one of his best Kirk performances here. As Wrath of Khan showed us, Shatner is often at his best when he underplays Kirk, and his theatricality is nicely understated here. There's a deep sobriety and lack of histrionics to his performance that really sells the story from start to finish, as his reactions to the slow-moving Gorn opponent help us overcome the initial guffaw at the fight and take it seriously. While Shatner often employs stylized acting flourishes, "Arena" is actually not one of the shows where he's jerking his body around and shouting at the camera.

There have been times I was underwhelmed at this episode and times I have taken it less seriously. I have tried at times to dislike it. But I just cannot hate "Arena" no matter how hard I work at it: While it's not the best TOS episode, it embodies the futuristic optimism and retro fun of Star Trek better than almost any show from the franchise. And we have to give it credit for that.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Fuck destructor comments for giving away a major spoiler
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Add to all that the fact that they make Shatner's character so unnecessarily cranky - He's pissed off the whole episode!
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

When I was young, I took both myself and Star Trek way too seriously, but I still enjoyed this kind of Star Trek episode alongside the weightier shows. Now that I'm older and can better appreciate the inherent glorious silliness of Trek, I tend to find some of the Self-Important Classics dull and some of the lighter episodes more diverting. Voyager's "Killing Game" is a good example of an episode the grows on me with the passing years, as it knows its own goofiness and revels in it, and I would give it at least 3 stars. I like this kind of self-aware humility in a TV franchise and fear it's too often lacking on latter-day Trek shows.

Like many commenters on this episode, I find myself disagreeing with Jammer's reviews on one fundamental point: He likes Big Ideas Episodes which often strike me as pretentious, while I like entertaining episodes which he finds shallow. (To be fair, he wrote many of these reviews when he was in his 20s.) In my view, Star Trek is at its best when it balances a sense of fun with a sense of thought-provoking ideas, and at its worst when it veers too sharply into either self-important ideology or cliche-ridden humor.

That's why TOS will always be the first, best, and most "original" Star Trek series for me. While TOS has its share of dogs, most of the episodes go for broke and try something really creative, blending adventurous fun with thought-provoking ideas. There's a reason JJ Abrams went back to TOS and not to another series for his Trek reboot: It's fun, it's retro, and it's hip in a tongue-in-cheek way. While the reboot movies have arguably veered too far into generic blockbuster mindlessness, they often channel the pulpy joy that made TOS a classic.

Voyager episodes like "The Killing Game," "Bride of Chaotic," and "Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy" remind us of a time when Star Trek took itself less seriously -- and that's not necessarily a bad thing from the post-TOS era when Trek episodes (DS9 most notably excepted) too often fell into a bland pattern of stage-bound, daytime soap-style rehashes of pre-canned ideologies wrapped in technobabble peril. When push comes to shove, I'd rather rewatch something like Voyager's "The Killing Game" rather than TNG's "The Chase" any day.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Also, the exchange between the Administrator and the Doctor at the end was made gold by Picardo's delivery:

Chellick: "You're only making things worse for yourself."
The Doctor: "As a matter of fact, I'm making things worse for you; I'm going to make you a patient in your own hospital."

The way Picardo leans in and says the last sentence with such vehemence plus the intense expression on his face held so much awesome. It was almost as good as Doctor McCoy in "This Side of Paradise":

Sandoval: "We don't need you, not as a doctor"
Dr. McCoy: "Oh, really? You want to see how fast I can put you in a hospital?"
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Actually, what the Doctor did at the end was highly ethical. He was kidnapped. His kidnapper's co-conspirator (don't say he wasn't every bit as guilty as the thieving kidnapper, as soon as the Doc told him he was kidnapped the Administrator became an accessory after the fact and as soon as he continued to prevent the Doc from contacting Voyager and tied his program to the Allocator he added a whole host of other crimes) was actively preventing him from performing his main function saving lives. The Administrator was never the Doc's patient. Hippocratic oath didn't even apply. He was a criminal engaged in actively violating the Doc's rights. He is also at least implied to have murdered the Doc's young protege. His explanation of sudden onset infection makes absolutely no sense.

In any case, this silly "unethical" assertion reminds me of this verbal exchange from Doctor Strange (2016). ****SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! AVERT EYES!****

Doctor Strange: "It is Dr. Strange. Not Master Strange, not Mr. Strange, Doctor Strange. When I became a doctor, I swore an oath to do no harm. And I have just killed a man! I'm not doing that again. I became a doctor to save lives, not take them."

*snip, snip, irrelevant dialog*

Baron Mordo: "You're a coward."

Doctor Strange: "Because I'm not a killer?

Baron Mordo: "These zealots will snuff us all out, and you can't muster the strength to snuff them out first?"

Doctor Strange: "What do you think I just did?"

Baron Mordo: "You saved your own life! And then whined about it like a wounded dog."

Doctor Strange: "When you would have done it so easily?"

Baron Mordo: "You have no idea. The things I've done... And the answer is yes. Without hesitation."

Doctor Strange: "Even if there's another way?"

Baron Mordo: "There is no other way."

Doctor Strange: "You lack imagination."

Baron Mordo: "No, Stephen. You lack... a spine."

The Doctor did what he needed to do under the circumstances. If he were to take up a phaser and vaporize the Administrator, beat him over the head with a lead pipe, kick him down a disposal chute, whatever, it would ALL be morally and ethically correct, because this individual was actively engaged in multiple crimes against the Doc AND preventing the Doctor from performing his primary task, saving lives. While it's good for his own mental health that the Doctor had misgivings about it, enough to ask 7 for a checkup, he really didn't have a reason to be worried at all.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 9:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I think Jammer got the scores for this and Meridian the wrong way round. Where as Meridian was utter dreck, at least this was a bit of fun. I have no problems with zany and wacky sometimes... plus I thought Sisko was a blast trying to deal with all the shananigans.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 9:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

That's the point @JC the fact that their sensors did not pick up thousands of people and buildings and structures on the planet which would have alerted them to a first contact is silly.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Also noteworthy is that this is the episode that gives Rom some uses other than comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 8:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Came here just to say that this character was annoying AF.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

Definitely four stars. This one has stood the test of time, for all the reasons others have posted upthread.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 7:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Also the comment that her face did not change when informed of Harry's death is idiotic because it is laughably inaccurate. She literally looked like shecwas going to throw up and looked at Chakotay in shock.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 6:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Another transporter accident, those things are dangerous!!! :)

I've always thought that borg episodes, doctor episodes, and seven episodes are my favourites.

This has all three! Five stars out of four!


Set Bookmark
The Man
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 6:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Quincy That is one of the things I never liked about Voyager. They were so determined to make Janeway one of the "great" captains that they made her capable of thinking up things, solving things and realizing things and saying line that Tuvok or Paris or Harry or Seven of Nine or Be'Lanna should have been saying or doing.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@MartinB The only thing better would be for Harry Kim to live and for your ability to post opinions to be prevented permanently.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I liked exactly one thing about this episode: Tuvok owning Chakotay's ass. Chakotay even picks up a weapon and still gets owned. I love a good ass whooping. I'm surprised Jammer didn't complain about the action, but I suppose I could've missed it. I only skimmed the review. Didn't otherwise like this episode. Whenever something happens with Tuvok it's always something to do with his brain. Mind meld gone wrong. Brainwashing by Borg or Maqui. Or just good old fashioned brain damage. It's tiresome.
Set Bookmark
Pedant
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

OK, I'm a pedant, but I'm willing to suspend disbelief to watch engaging TV. But my suspension of disbelief was disrupted every time T'Pol or D'jamat used the word data in the singular (e.g. "this data proves"). Data is the plural of datum, and writers should not mangle the language carelessly. Geesh. I couldn't take any more and had to switch off.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

@Dave Your post is beyond dumb. It would have been stupid to blow them up because it would have been tantamount to murder.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I am shocked.

Shocked by the teaser, in which Deanna Troi was allowed to have a. friendly conversation with a colleague, like a normal person deserving of one minute of character development. The conversation was unique in that it didn't involve the engrossing topic of boyfriends (unlike The Price, the Icurus Factir, the Scottish Ghostie).!!

Okay, we didn't actually learn anything new about her, but it was a refreshing treat. (Except that it made the generally crappy portrayal of the Troi character stand out in sharper relief. )

I do not think Troi got another normal conversation during the entire run of the show.... The possible exceptions being when she was a Romulan or possessed by an alien.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,501
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.