Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,648 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1026
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 6:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Jack,

Sorry so long to reply.

Good point. Garak must have had a past with Entek.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:11pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Sorry, auto-correct on my phone garbled that last word, which should have been "re-watch."
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Absolutely spot-on review by Jammer. But I'd give this 1.5 stars, and without the B-story, I'd go down to one or even zero. I don't ever intend a research.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Who can forget Dukat bellowing, Bajoran workers!" I loved this episode's take on TNG's very enjoyable equivalent. It was by turns dark and funny, and nearly always quite clever.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 2:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I like this episode 3 stars worth. One issue, and Jammer points this out is how little differentiation there is between the two Rikers--just the yellow vs. red uniform. And while it is startling and give a great heads up I think a better actor like Patrick Stewart might have been able to give a more nuance performance on the Riker that spent 8 years in isolation, and yes no holodeck or anything would allow that to be anything less than a traumatic experience. I actually had more belief in the kids in "Rascals" than I did in believeing two different Rikers, one in solitude for 8 years. Some suggestions: It was near the end of the season they could have had Lt. Riker with a bushy beard, then shaved after getting to the Enterprise. They also could have made him bit pudgier, why? Replicated food but living in a hole with little exercise.
I like that it was considered to kill off Cmdr. Riker. They could have went another way, promote Cmdr. Riker and keep Lt. Riker on the ship. A less note, I loved that Lt. Riker almost died, because you think they're hitting the reset switch, but nope there's going to be two of them.
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:54pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

If the viewer has no idea what's going on in Engineering I think it makes the bridge story more suspenseful. Data/Riker can fix it off screen. And then you genuinely don't know if everyone in Engineering is dead!
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

:)

Totally agree with you about poverty, but the wealth gap is more about the demise of the middle class than fixing poverty.
Steve - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sixth Season Recap

I always figured that they quickly built another one or were already in the process of doing it.
Steve - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 1:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

What's also really great here is the camera work and music. I think they used a light blue filter. Really makes it seem more cold and lifeless.

Music-wise this has some of my favorite short pieces in the series.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

This is one of the better Klingon episodes. I like how it exposed how the Klingon clergy would pull a stunt to get butts in the pews (so to speak). I like how technology proved Kahless, and then later proved that technology created Kahless (I also like the cleric's protest, "maybe this is the way Kahless is supposed to return!" Very astute.
I also like the subtle posturing between Gowron (political power) and the clergy.
While it does work well during first viewing, it wasn't great in the rewatching so 2-3/4 stars for me.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:46pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Chakotay's best line of the series...

"My God"

Can't wait to watch this one again!
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The episode doesn't work very well 1.75 stars for me. I can't imagine Dr. Crusher geeking out over an engineering marvel like corona shielding. As a dialog between the Doc and Guinan was probably the best vehicle to present it but also falls a little flat. I also thought the alien Jabrill was sooo incredibly alien his body had multiple organs and so forth, yet his chest hair and nipples suggest a typical human male painted green.
A few things I liked: Alyssa defying the doctor by saying, "you're not my boss anymore" and I did like the idea of flying into a star's coronna.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 12:11pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I have a strong aversion to the payoff in this episode, echoed by others because of the wide spread implications on the Trek universe and its implied alien intelligent design. Normally in Star Trek we can forget that the Trek universe isn't our own, so we can vicariously fly through the galaxy. This squelches that notion. I agree with the Klingon, if she wasn't dead I'd kill her!
While the episode would explain a lot, like why all denizons of the nearby galaxy are humanoid and how you can get a Vulcan-Human hybrid, putting this implausible scenerio front an center is a loser for me.
Before seeing it I was thinking it was a two parter...glad I was wrong on that.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 11:00am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

3-1/2 stars for me, always liked it. Especially playing from the center of the ship and the kiss.
It does work off of Inner Light's coattails, but those are great coattails to follow.
I agree with grumpyotter, it would have been nice to have her appear in another episode, the finale, movie or something. Especially since they didn't break up, though it is likely she moved on.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 10:52am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

BEst line of the episode:

"TUVOK: It would be safer for the crew if I were to remain in these quarters. I remind you, I am trained in the martial arts of many Alpha quadrant cultures. Sitting here, attempting to meditate, I have counted the number of ways I know of killing someone using just a finger, a hand, a foot. I had reached ninety four when you entered."

I'm reading ahead while rewatching Voyager.

I'll be back in a couple weeks with my cut.
Grumpy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 10:18am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Troy: "...if all the power was off on the ship and people weren't supposed to be on board, why is there still artificial gravity on board the Enterprise?"

Ahem. According to Sternbach & Okuda's technical manual, the gravity generators take hours to spin down. Because of course they do.
Nathan B. - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 10:16am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Double M, Nick M, and J: I am so with you! Cardassian women are not only incredibly hot, they are also amazingly interesting!

More seriously, I loved how this episode drew from and elaborated on TNG's wonderful Face of the Enemy. But DS9 does it even better, thanks to more character work and Visitor's great acting. Great, great episode!
Luke - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 9:25am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

@Robert:

"The Data/Riker story honestly did nothing for me either (you seem to agree)."

I do agree. Three of these five stories left me cold, but I can't see getting rid of this one because the whole plot depends on it. Unless you're going to have Picard and the kids emerge from the turbolift shaft in Main Engineering and have Picard be the one who fixes the problem, I can't see how you can cut it.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

William B,

Great observations. I only have one point.

I believe that Pel breaking down into tears in front of Zek was not just because of her eventual place in Ferengi society, but I think she feared what could happen to Quark.

Just my cut. Great post.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 8:46am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Robert,

Good to chat with you again. It's been awhile. :-)

I will say that our economy is a mixture, but we all see where that's going. No one was punished for the 2008 bubble burst (just how the hell can that happen?) and we just go deeper and deeper into debt. My argument is that while a safety net should be provided for those that actually NEED it, to say that the government should provide all basic needs is what got us into this mess. The "wealth gap" is trumpeted all around, but our poverty percentages were no better when the gap was smaller. That argument is just class warfare in my view.
Troy - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 7:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

If you don't think about this episode it is very good, maybe up to 3-1/2 stars. This is probably nit-picky, and isn't meant as a serious criticism of the episode but if all the power was off on the ship and people weren't supposed to be on board, why is there still artificial gravity on board the Enterprise? The episode would have been super sweet if they lost gravity as well.
Yes and the aversion to killing main characters in this episode both on the ship and at the station is a bit unrealistic. I've never made any connection to this and Die Hard, though if you do and it bothers you what about Die Hard 2,3,etc? I'd much rather see Patrick Stewart than Bruce Willis fighting off terrorists.
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 7:28am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

"Wow, this episode is so gripping that all we can do is argue about economics :-)"

Truer words were never spoken, this conversation may be more interesting than the episode!

"Gene's money free utopia is impossible without replicator"

While I will agree with that, in a post scarcity economy (enough land/food for everyone), everyone should have all basic needs met by the government and work should be for luxuries.

I take the mid-way approach whereby the free market is good but what people should be working for are improvements to their free time, not basic needs. IE free market encourages innovation, but it's not acceptable to say that you don't deserve food/shelter/clothing because you can't find a good enough job. For me the socialism vs free market is a cocktail... the thing to argue about is the percentages.

The only thing that'd fail as hard as 100% socialism is 100% free market (although you do admit you want regulation, so you clearly agree with me). As China gets bigger on the world stage it loses some % of socialism too. I don't know what the "correct" mix is, but due to the wealth gap in this country I don't think we currently have it.
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 7:12am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Also, to expand on my comment above. Those 3 stories flow together as "fish out of water" stories. The Counselor in command, the Captain in command of daycare and the soldier as a midwife.

The other 3 stories were filler, the fish out of water stories were the ones I liked. Data's story existed entirely for the cool factor of removing his head. It was empty.
Robert - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 7:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

@Luke - I'll mostly agree with you, but come to a slightly different conclusion. The Data/Riker story honestly did nothing for me either (you seem to agree). But your solution would be to jettison 2 other stories and expand that. I disagree.

This episode was more about Troi/Picard than anything else. I'd have jettisoned the Data/Riker story to add more suspense to the Troi story. Troi may be second guessing herself, but WE know Riker/Data are going to make it in the nick of time... we're watching them do it. And honestly... Worf's plotline provided a decent humorous C plot to a heavy episode.

I'd have gotten rid of Crusher/LaForge and Data/Riker. Then I'd have refocused Troi's story to make IT the A plot, left Picard's story entirely alone and kept Worf for the comic relief.

I think I'd still rate this higher than you though. 7/10
Luke - Wed, Jul 29, 2015, 5:44am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Five stories in one episode? That's pushing it a little far for my tastes.

The main problem with "Disaster" is, like Jammer said, it's "a collection of half-baked C-stories." Taken on their own, most of the stories could legitimately be good, but forcing them together like this harms each one. What we end up with is a situation where there are too many dishes in the fire so none of them are properly cooked. At least two of the five needed to be jettisoned and the time spent on them used to better develop the remaining three.

The first one that really needed to go was the LaForge/Crusher story. Aside from the novelty of putting two characters who rarely do much together in the same story, what did this one actually add to the mix? Nothing. The story connects in no way to the others. Not only that, but it really adds no character development to either Crusher or LaForge. It was a nice little diversion, but a needless one.

The second that needed to be dropped was the Worf/Keiko story in Ten Forward. The only element this story added to any others was a moment's concern from Chief O'Brien on the bridge when he wants to know what happened to Ten Forward because that's where Keiko was. The story did provide some good humor to the episode with Worf, of all people, having to be the midwife. But, did we really need a whole sub-plot focused on Molly's birth? Good grief, she's not even named in the episode! (And, as an aside, given that "Disaster" aired less than ten months after "Data's Day," where the O'Brien wedding took place, and given that Keiko directly tells Worf that she still had another month before her due date, she and Miles sure didn't waste much time, did they?! LOL!) This was another nice diversion, but another needless one.

The three remaining stories - Troi/O'Brien/Ro, Riker/Data, Picard/kids - are what this episode should have focused on exclusively. Even without the compression the first two stories are forcing on them, only one of these remaining three is handled properly.

Let's start with the Troi/O'Brien/Ro story. I'm most likely in the minority here, but I actually like the idea of putting Troi in command, even if it makes absolutely no sense. (Seriously, the character who "should" have been put in command once the Conn Officer was killed was Ensign No-Name at Ops, but we all know that wouldn't happen. One of the main or recurring characters would be placed in command, not some random nobody. But of the three characters we focus on, Troi is the last person in line for the job. O'Brien obviously would be a better choice since he's clearly the most competent of the three. But, he's an enlisted man, not an officer, which has been established by this point. Ro should have been placed in command. Once she climbed out of the turbolift shaft, she should have immediately assumed command. She, unlike O'Brien, is an officer. And, unlike Troi, is a Bridge Officer. Troi may in fact vastly outrank Ro, but the Bridge Officer status should be the determining factor. Ro is trained for situations like this; Troi isn't. And, really, how interesting would it have been to have Ensign Ro in command, especially so soon after joining the show?) But, despite all of that, I'm willing with roll with the idea of Troi in command because it actually gives her something constructive to do that doesn't involve her ill-defined empathic abilities and isn't a romance plot. As for her initial indecision giving way too quickly to decisiveness - that's exactly why this story needed more time to be properly fleshed out. Cut out the "pregnant woman antics" and give us more character development for Troi!

Now the Riker/Data story. This one is essential for the episode because it's the one that ultimately solves the main dilemma - the warp core breach. (Another aside - how the hell does Troi not know what a containment breach is?!) However, of all the stories, this one is the one that absolutely begs to be developed further. It's ultimately nothing but Riker and Data crawling through some Jefferies Tubes, nothing else. Good Lord, give them something to actually do!

Finally, the Picard/kids story. The one, and only, story of the five that's properly developed and utilized. What a wonderful situation to put Picard in. It has no relevance to the other stories, but I don't care because it gives us some marvelous character growth for Picard. It's quite possibly the most humanizing story he's had thus far. And, we actually get kids acting like kids! That's something Trek has really struggled with. I have no problems with this one.

So, what is "Disaster"? Well, it's not a disaster of an episode. Each of the five stories are enjoyable in their own way. They just didn't need to be crammed together like this. "Disaster" is a perfect example of something not being greater than the sum of its parts.

5/10
Next »Page 1 of 1026
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer