Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 26,314 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1053
Robert - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@SonofMog - You totally missed the point of this episode. Winn could have completed the negotiations without him but elected not to so that she'd have a fall guy if she failed.

If anything this is sort of an inversion on that cliche. Bashir even openly calls her out on it.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 3:23pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Geordi finally gets a chance to helm an episode of his own and it's watchable enough. It is, however, very heavy on the technobabble, which does keep coming and coming and ironically leads to a resolution that involves turning all the technology off...

The sub-plot, with Geordi striking out and then finding love with the holodeck program as he resolves the problem, never quite manages to convince. When Brahms says "I can" - meaning the ship's computer - you have to wonder exactly what Geordi is being attracted to...

Still, it was nice to see Picard's boyish enthusiasm about something - as Troi said, it's not a side to his personality we often see. 2.5 stars.
SonofMog - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

So, so, so sick of the "negotiator who cannot be replaced" cliche. It's one of those premises I can't remember ever seeing outside of Trek but occurs routinely within it, especially TNG. Enough with this stupid idea.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 1:58pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

This starts off as an interesting riff on the nature of grief, and examines it from a number of different character perspectives. As an audience it's difficult to be too invested, given this is a previously unseen character that has died, but at least the themes are universal enough to identify with.

Once the 'ghost' enters, it becomes a rather more obvious and laboured examination of the topic, leading to an extended therapy session in which Troi helps Jeremy and Wesley come to terms with their loss and the alien recognises that all will be well.

As a character piece it works nicely enough, but it never really transcends its topic and becomes anything more than OK. 2 stars.
Shannon - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 11:40am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

The new BSG was everything that Star Trek Enterprise was not, edgy, gripping, relatable, make-you-stay-up-until-2 a.m.-because-you-just-have-to-see-the-next-episode science fiction, and on a simple level just downright awesome storytelling. Kudos to Ron Moore (loved all of the episodes he wrote for Star Trek over the years) for creating a masterpiece. And a big thank you to those idiots Rick Berman and Brannon Braga for being so stubborn, arrogant, and inflexible that they forced Ron Moore to leave Star Trek Voyager early in its 6th season (although, had Ron Moore been the Exec. Producer of Enterprise, that series would have turned out SOOOOOO much better and probably would have gone 7 years like prior Trek series). But Star Trek's loss was a big giant gain for us sci-fi fans, because this mini-series along with the 4-year series that followed was mind-blowing. Loved it!!!
romemmy - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 2:44am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

Yanks,

That may be true ordinarily, but the Klingons were at war.. and in literally the very next episode (Sons of Mogh) they talked about procedures the Klingons were taking to totally secure their vessels - including "entire directories of false information" - which was done in case the ship was taken (which means presumably their security would be massively increased.

Even *todays* security is better than that!

Also, you could say that, in response to the stolen Bird of Prey, that's why they increased security by the next episode.. but in Sons of Mogh Worf said he couldn't get ahold of Kurn for a long while, and that Kurn had been stripped of his rank and position months before when Worf originally told Gowron he wouldn't help them. Since Kurn knew of the security procedures, it stands to reason he found out *before* he was stripped, which is, in all likelihood significantly earlier than when Dukat stole the ship....

Finally, as for easy to break codes, there have been numerous occasions where the various different crews have said something like "Computer - lock out all command functions!" - without resorting to the long code Data used in TNG:Brothers.. And then it seems to take days or never for the intruders to break the code (e.g. Ferengis in TNG:Rascals).

I know, I'm guilty of over thinking it, but the technical inconsistencies can be annoying... Still love Trek tho ;)

Thanks!

S.



romemmy - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 2:27am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Does anyone else think Ensign Kim is violating protocol by asking the captain to give him and Ensign Ballard a minute? As soon as the captain agrees to accept Ballard as telling the truth, Ensign Kim almost dismisses the captain! Seems to me an ensign would keep his mouth shut until a private moment presented itself.

S.
William B - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 12:44am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

My reticence to support "Second Skin" also has to do with the magic trick the episode does which is very much like the one in "In the Hands of the Prophets" and "Cardassians" -- it sidesteps the apparent story to reveal unscrupulous political scheming as the root cause. Entek was behind it because the Order is diabolical. That's a plot explanation for why Kira was captured, but it does not provide the reason for the story to take place. Now, because the personal development with Kira leads to her boning with Ghemour, the sidestep does not wholly render the story irrelevant, by any means. And I think this sidestepping can work well -- "Duet" somewhat inverts it, in that Marritza's apparent villainy turns out to be part of his own scheme, but for various reasons I hope to talk about at some point, I think "Duet" earns that twist, an does not render the foregoing material irrelevant.
Bill - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

Okay, I'll confess. Can't argue with Jamahl or the other posters here so I won't rate this episode. Can't bring myself to do it.

Because... I'll always be enthralled watching France Nuyen as Elaan just as much as I am watching Sophie Marceau's performances in "Braveheart" and that silly Bond movie ("The World Is Not Enough").

Yeah, okay. I know I'm a dick. To each his own.
Bill - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

This is indeed the worst among the worst. At least with "Spock's Brain" or "The Way to Eden" I could laugh. This episode's premise is the complete opposite in every way of Individualism, Egoism, and Rational Self-Interest. Kantian in its drivel ("the greatest good is that which enriches the doer the least") and steeped in Christianity, the silliness even extends to things non-philosophical and strictly scientific such as the diversity within the Human Race itself toward all ends of all ethical spectrums. And yet, by Gem's performance, the Vians will know her species? Even the Old Testament's rubric required "10 good men." God awful (pun intended) in every way, from sets, acting, philosophy, ugh. Zero stars with a McEnroe "argument for the next call" for some future capability on this wonderful website to rate episodes negatively.
Bill - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 9:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Michael Ansara! (Cochise!!)

Allow me to borrow a line from Ricardo Montalbán: "Excellent. Excellent."

Diamond Dave - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 4:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

A wonderful little episode - but one that for obvious reasons is going to lead to strong opinions on either side of the spectrum.

For me, this is an examination of what might happen if a primitive but rational people were exposed to the dictum "Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic". Some might interpret that as evidence of a supreme being. Others might believe in the supreme being, but question how to interpret the wishes of that being. Others might not believe without proof. And if proof were provided - a primitive but rational people might conclude that the supreme being was not actually a supreme being.

Given the broad constraints of an hour's TV this episode does not perhaps examine all of these elements with subtlety. But it does at least ask the question based on its premise with some sensitivity. The scenes between Nuria and Picard on the Enterprise are particular highlights. 3 stars.
Diamond Dave - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 3:25pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

A triumph of pacing and slow-burn revelation as a mystery unfolds in classic style. Wonderful acting as well - except, it must be said, from Marina Sirtis - building to the most shattering conclusion in the series so far. It's a pitch perfect examination of an omnipotent being bounded by conscience and tortured by guilt and regret.

There are also some wonderful little vignettes - Worf's "I admire gall" and "Good tea. Nice house", and Riker's upside-down delivery in the trap of particular note.

Without the Troi subplot - which was an intriguing idea but which was perhaps not perfectly implemented - this would be a slam dunk 4 star. VFX dropped off badly in this episode too. 3.5 stars it is.
Peter - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 1:57pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

As for the advanced technology-well it seems related to the cloaking device . However the Romulans clearly nicked the idea from the Daleks ( Dr Who-Frontier in Space) when they were trying to foment a war between the Draconians and Earth Empires.
When is the Third Doctor going to turn up ?
Diamond Dave - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 1:49pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I always have an aversion to plot devices that nullify the simplest way of dealing with the problem - evacuate 15000 people with no transporters because of a radiation effect that never gets mentioned again? Boom, there's your episode.

But these naked plot contrivances aside, I found the Data story to be interesting. Here he is having to improvise and be creative - and yet, really, he makes no progress, simply trying a number of menu options until finding one that works. And in Data's relationship with Ard'rian, even the final kiss is something he computes is required, rather than intuits.

The B-story also reaches a satisfactory conclusion, as the Seliaks are hoist with their own legalistic petard. And the C-story reaches a conclusion with a miracle not being completed, highly unusually, and the transporters remaining unfixed. Overall, a solid 2.5 stars.
Robert - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 12:46pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Del_Duio - Agreed. I always thought it was a butterfly effect story, not a direct cause->effect thing. Like, one Klingon ship found the wreckage of a Federation starship, pulverized with Romulan disruptor fire, found the "black box", figured out what happened and was impressed enough to collect the bodies and deliver them back to a Starfleet ship.

The Captain of the Starfleet ship had a brother on the Enterprise C and the Klingon Captain and he share a moment of mutual respect. Years later they are both stodgy Admirals and meet to fight over something or other, remember each other and take a different path. One stone plopped in a lake makes a billion ripples and all that.
Diamond Dave - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 12:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

First impression is that those VFX shots look good.

It goes downhill from there though, and it seems a very low key way to enter a series. A number of the plot elements - Wesley's school project gone awry, Dr Crusher's overbearing motherly concern, Ken Jenkins' scenery chewing performance as Stubbs - get the eyes rolling rather than helping engage with the episode. That the nanites achieve sentience suggests that Wesley created an entire civilisation - and that little bombshell is wrapped up in 10 seconds at the end.

There are some nice little character moments, but really I didn't get along with this one at all. 1.5 stars.
Del_Duio - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 11:06am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@ Roman / "so how is the Enterprise-C doing to make a dent into a modern Klingon warship?!"

That's not the point though, it's to show the Klingons that a Federation ship would be willing to fight to the death in a lost cause (something most Klingons would respect of course). If you can respect your enemies, that might open the door to future negotiations for peace which is what likely happened.
Robert - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 11:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I wonder.... has it ever been commented on that Seven and her families early assimilation adds a very benevolent light to the rather dark actions of Q in "Q Who?"

If the Borg were already on their way to Earth, having learned of it's location from the Hansens... then Q did Picard a huge favor.
FlyingSquirrel - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I think Guinan was probably necessary for Picard to think that the plan had any merit in the first place. I don't see Picard as someone who would normally endorse the notion of using time travel to undo an unfavorable event or series of events. Guinan made the case that sending the Enterprise-C back was actually *reversing* an accidental manipulation of the timeline rather than initiating the manipulation.
FlyingSquirrel - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 10:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I think it's tough to really identify a "shark-jumping" moment for Voyager because it was so inconsistent as a series. While Seven did eventually become overused, she was in fact one of the most interesting characters on the show and many of the episodes focused on her were actually pretty good. But from Day 1, Voyager was capable of producing a fantastic episode one week and a thoroughly laughable clunker the next. I can't really pinpoint any particular episode of Voyager and say "it was all downhill after that" or any single change or development that led to a series of consistently bad episodes.
Dougie - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 1:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Lenny did it, he allowed a real TOS episode to appear in VOY. This is what Star Trek was always about. A good story not just techno it's way out of everything.

Picardo and Lenny stole the show.

(Lenny is from Lenny and Squiggy of Laverne & Shirley fame)
Thorlief - Mon, Aug 31, 2015, 12:11am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Coincidentally, Bob, you referred to this episode as the show's "shark-jumping moment"--the phrase "jump the shark" was coined from a moment in the show "Happy Days" when a water-skiing Fonzie jumps over a shark. This episode of Voyager was directed by Anson Williams, who played Potsie on "Happy Days."
methane - Sun, Aug 30, 2015, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Random comments:

-A good plot, but imperfectly executed. I would agree that it gets overwrought at times, and the scene at the beginning (explaining Trills to all the viewers at home who are only tuning in to see one of the first lesbian kisses) drags on. In fact, many of the scenes seem to drag on a bit too long; this could have used a short "B story" to let them sharpen some of those scenes in editing.

-You can tell Lenara will be gone at the end of the episode (the relationship was moving way too fast to be anything but a one-episode romance), which removes some of the drama. We all know the 2 characters will end apart; we're just wondering how they will end apart. It would have been better if Lenara had spent multiple episodes at DS9, with her relationship with Dax building up in the background until finally coming to a head with Lenara deciding she should leave the station.

-Nobody's mentioned Avery Brooks' direction; there are several choices with the camera that I thought were well chosen. I wonder if he got a bit more freedom than the "normal" directors.

-there certainly does seem to be good reasons for a taboo against "reassociations" for Trills, as others have discussed above. It might have been interesting to see this discussed more than it was in season 7.

I'd suppose I'd give the episode 2.5 stars.
methane - Sun, Aug 30, 2015, 9:20pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

For most Star Trek episodes with ambassadors, I would agree. But at the end of this episode, we find out the real ambassador was supposed to be on vacation, and the Tzenkethi coup that was the cause of their alleged mission never happened.

The impression those revelations give is that the changeling showed up at DS9 right after kidnapping the real ambassador, gave a mission, and nobody checked with Starfleet or the Federation, as they would have quickly found out something was wrong.

The alternative, of course, was that the Changeling had spent some time at Starfleet or the higher levels of the Federation bureaucracy, impersonating multiple people to fake intelligence about a coup and set up the mission. But 1) that doesn't seem to be how the writers were presenting it and 2) that would have immediately sent up alarm bells at DS9 and in Starfleet, because they would have started searching for what else the changeling could have done while there. They would have no reason to believe the only thing the changeling did while at the Federation and/or Starfleet was set up this mission. Our DS9 characters certainly don't seem specifically concerned about this possibility.
Next »Page 1 of 1053
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer