Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 23,345 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 934
Nic - Sun, Jan 25, 2015, 7:06am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

A year ago (almost to the day), my father was driving to work, lost control of his car and crashed into a truck. He was killed instantly. To quote Guinan, it was « an empty death. A death without purpose. » I am sharing this for it may help you understand my change of opinion regarding this episode.

Sure, Armus is still one of the most uninteresting and implausible villains in the entire Trek canon. I feel bad for Lt. Prieto who may as well be wallpaper. I also fell bad for Frakes having to be covered in printer’s ink and metamucil. Apparently LeVar Burton went over to him after they shot it and said « I would never have done that! »

But the sudden death of Tasha is arguably the bravest moment of the season, if not the series. Having her go out in a blaze of glory would have been a hoary cliche. Most deaths in real life don’t have a purpose, they’re just a result of circumstances. It’s a gut-punch that stays with you and makes you realize how precious life is. It even makes up for all the silly « redshirt » deaths in TOS, because you can imagine them being ‘real’ people too.

This episode is also an opportunity to gaze at Patrick Stewarts amazing acting chops. No matter how bad the dialogue is, he can make you believe it. His "Au revoir, Tasha" brought a tear to my eye.

So 3.5 stars for Tasha’s death, 1.5 stars for Armus. Overall grade: 2.5
Niall - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 5:38pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Just watched this for the first time since the first time... so let me get this straight, the plot of the series finale is about a spatial anomaly expanding in anti-time created by an inverse tachyon pulse in a possible future and that has to be collapsed by ships from three different times creating a static warp shell? WTF? Braga writing at its absolute nadir. The series deserved so much better. Unlike many I'm not a fan of Cause And Effect, Timescape etc., but this is considerably worse drama than previously similarly-themed Braga episodes. The Q scenes are great, and Patrick Stewart's ability to transcend bad material is really on show here - he's brilliant, especially in the future scenes - but the plot is dire, and the attempts at character work (the Riker-Worf conflict, Worf/Troi, Beverly "Picard", the poker scene) are ham-fisted and don't ring true. Not to mention Riker's laughable aging-makeup and Beverly's "old lady walk". The DS9 finale had its flaws for sure, but it's in another league to this. As bad as the Voyager finale, quite possibly worse.
Rossana - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 1:14pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

My problem with the episode was only the ending. Why couldn't Archer just negotiate with the aliens and offer them to come in Enterprise and if they agree not to possess any crew member without a concrete agreement including length of time and alerting the crew of not commissioning the crew member to real work while the exchange was happening... Enterprise would then take the noncorporeal lifeforms to a planet where they could live in peace.

I think the way they destroyed 300+ lifeforms without trying to negotiate with them was inconsistent with their value system.
Transformer SWO - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 11:56am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

How would war with the Andorians serve the reunification goal? Several reasons: war inevitably damages the Vulcans which makes them prepared to accept an offer of help from their long-lost Romulan cousins when they really need it against the very capable Andorians. Further, the Romulans are not looking for an equal partner in reunification; they'd prefer a weakened, dependent Vulcan that's just happy to be on the team.

Overall for the trilogy - yes rushed, yes unnecessary martial arts, but I really appreciated the smart efforts to show that this planet Vulcan grew into the Vulcan of Spock's time. This looks much more like the same universe at different times, unlike JJ Abrams' alternate universe. Liked seeing a fiery (for a Vulcan) T'Pau who could age into the only person to turn down a seat on the Federation Council. Loved seeing Vulcans using the lirpa. Liked them fixing the stigma of the mind meld, and curing T'Pol's syndrome while still leaving her obviously suffering from being emotionally unmoored from her addiction.

Good storytelling (not great but very good) and good to see this level of respect for the ST universe.
David Ryan - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 8:00am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Pretty late to this debate (which I'm surprised has gone on so long, in fact), but here's my two cents:

First off, emotive value aside, what Archer and Phlox agreed to do (or not do) does not amount to genocide. The long-established definition from Raphael Lamkin of genocide is "a coordinated plan of different actions aiming at the destruction of essential foundations of the life of national groups, with the aim of annihilating the groups themselves". Whatever else it amounts to, the decision in this episode cannot rationally be described as "a coordinated plan of different actions" or having "the aim of annihilating" the species. They left them medicine to try and help, after all, which contradicts that. What it does amount to is omitting to act, and that invokes a different parallel.

The closest parallel, and perhaps the root for some justified criticism, is that it is akin to the international community response to Rwanda or other such atrocities. Even so, this is not strictly comparable. There isn't a direct campaign of violence against the Valakians; the source of their illness (and eventual presumed demise) is faulty genetics. There is no third party involvement. As such, the question becomes whether Enterprise could (and should) intervene - and I suspect the key point of the episode, which has gotten lost in all the bandying about of claims of "genocide", is that this became a much more complicated question once the crew realised what was actually at play. It wasn't a case of giving a vaccine or stopping an epidemic - it was potentially a case of deciding the outcome of two species, of which they had limited knowledge yet for whom they were proposing to make a judgement call without any idea as to the consequences. In short, they were in over their heads.

The obvious answer, for a number commenting on here, is to provide the cure regardless - but there are a number of what ifs. What if the peaceful state of coexistence between the Valakians and the Menk was purely a reflection of how the Valakians were being subdued by the illness, and their reliance upon the Menk in certain situations (the orderlies working in the hospital, for example)? What if, once back to full strength, the Valakians decided that co-existence wasn't so fun after all (particularly if the Menk begin to develop as suggested by Phlox) and moved to subjugate - or even destroy - the Menk? Would Enterprise then bear moral responsibility for triggering a potential genocide? What if, on being provided with warp technology (which they also asked for), the Valakians became a threat to other species in the galaxy? How plausible or not these are is a matter for conjecture - the Valakians did not appear particularly antagonistic or belligerent, but at the same time they're subjugating an entire species already - but ultimately they're questions which the crew cannot answer. So what is seemingly the obvious answer isn't necessarily so much. Ultimately, there's a knowledge gap which makes any decision by the crew a punt in the dark - and that, I believe, is why Archer eventually decides not to intervene. The status quo is not a particularly palatable option for him, but at least it's reasonably forseeable.

Where I think this episode did fall down, however, is (i) cures for genetic defects don't tend to come in easy-to-use, portable vials and (ii) this was crying for a kind of follow-up. Like, "We'll send help in a decade" or something along those lines. As a standalone incident, it does jar very strongly against the principles the Federation is due to adopt in the future. Phlox's cure, meanwhile, came across as a bit of a deus ex machina - it would have been more compelling, for my part, if he had maitained the difficulty contention and suggested instead that he had found some promising leads from the Menk DNA, but couldn't justify carrying on his research for the reasons he gave. That would perhaps be more justifiable than deliberately withholding a cure. Not necessarily justifiable full stop, but a less-worse option perhaps. Overall though, I think it's a fair reflection of the fact that there are no easy answers to a lot of situations, and that's something Trek was very strong on. Look at "Space Seed" in TOS followed by The Wrath of Khan for a (probably far better) illustration of this. So as difficult an episode as it may be to stomach, calling it a betrayal of Trek is a bit too strong for me.
Ian G - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 4:26am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

So we're told that both Kara and Baltar will lead humanity to its end?.. and of course nothing comes of either of these foreshadowings. Typical of season 3 and 4 to drop plot threads or give them the last minute resolution of "something, something god's plan".
Spicerak2 - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 1:46am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

This episode was by far my favorite of TOS. There is such nuance and layering to make this a gem of all three seasons. The in depth exploration of Spock's psyche, as well as the graceful development of the Alexander character make this worthwhile on their own. Add to that, the performance of Shatner and Nimoy. Many have found this episode to be controversial, but it is not simply because of an interracial kiss. The circumstances that lead up to that forced affection and the whipping scene after are meant to be grotesque displays of power and feigned superiority. If fans of the show felt uncomfortable or awkward while watching Shatner and Nimoy flopping around in humiliating fashion, the objective was met. That was exactly the point. I applaud the actors for "going there" for the sake of the story. 4 stars!
Chelsea - Sat, Jan 24, 2015, 12:33am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Reading through these comments I can see that people really hated this episode. But I thought it had some good moments! I've always thought that Jake as a writer was kind of a joke since he's never actually written anything. But here he actually comes out of his shell and nearly finishes a book! Who cares if the plot device was a little droll? The point was to get Jake writing and I think it worked.

The B plot was the weak point in the episode. I like Lwaxana Troi. She's always seemed like a fun and kooky aunt who comes over some times and spices things up. But I have to agree with the guy who said that her actions here were wrong. She's the non-custodial parent taking to the space lanes with her infant in contravention of the law. In our society, that would be grounds for an amber alert. But I guess alls well that ends well. I give it 2.5 stars.
Stuart - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 9:04pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

This episode takes place sometime after First Contact. I thought when Admiral Hayes' ship was destroyed in First Contact, he would have gone down with the ship. Seemingly not because he's still around! Maybe the admiral is a hologram! Or like Weyoun...Weyoun-5! Maybe he faked his own demise Section 31-style. Or he was the first one to the escape pod.
Gil - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 7:28pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Definitely one of those episodes best watched as an 8 year old.
Brian S. - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 6:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

On the issue of homosexuality, while it probably would be better to see actual homosexual characters, I do at least like the fact that Star Trek seems to at least make supportive references to characters of a bisexual or asexual nature. I forget the episode, but Sisko had a bried conversation with someone where he expressed his genuine congratulations and warm wishes for a fellow male officer who had given birth.

It may involve only passing references to off-screen characters we never see, but I do like the implication that the Federation is a place of tolerance and acceptance of all sexualities, and that the differences of those sexualities (be they in aliens or human-like beings) are generally tolerated and accepted as normal by most people.

Maybe "Star Trek" the TV show wasn't willing to show an actual lesbian couple (rather than two women portraying the reincarnation of a straight couple), but there is enough shown to infer that Starfleet doesn't discriminate or denigrate based on sexual orientation.


I also find it interesting looking back now after Britney, and Katy Perry, and all the other things that have happened in pop culture over the past two decades, and remembering how this benign scene used to be such a big deal. Same with the Kirk/Uhura kiss. It's interesting to note how far we've come (and depressing to think about far behind we used to be).

++++++

As for the story itself, I go back and forth for the reasons many of you have already stated.

At first I thought the Trill taboo was an odd contrivance. If past associations are so taboo, why does Dax spend so much time around all of Curzon's old buddies? And if you actually live on the Trill planet, surely you'd come into contact with a LOT of your former spouses and children. Especially in a field like politics where you constantly negotiate with other ambitious Trills and tend to interact with many of your constituents.

On the other hand, I can kind of see the point of the taboo. If I died and was reincarnated, I'd want to go back and rejoin with my spouse, see how the lives of my children and grandchildren turned out. I'd just seek them out and try to resume my old life right where I left off. Which could be a problem for the new initiated host.

They didn't really go into this too much, but what becomes of the initiate host's family? Remember hosts are grown adults before they are joined, with their own lives and experiences and worlds to live. Lenara had a brother. Under different circumstances, does Lenara turn her back on her parents, her brother, and possibly even her own spouse or children in order to go back and re-live past lives with former spouses and siblings and children? Personally, I have a wife and 2 daughters. Once joined, do I abandon them to re-immerse myself with my former wife and children? And what if a host marries someone who used to be one of their past symbiant's former children? Taboo? Awkward? I can see the societal ramifications of such intimate and familial relationships in a way that merely re-associating with old buddies or colleagues might not present.

Now that I am a grown adult with kids of my own, this episode became a lot more powerful for me, even beyond any plot holes. I envisioned the emotional torture I might go through seeing a reincarnated version of my wife. Or even just knowing she was out there, somewhere. Especially if she were taken from me suddenly through something sudden like a plane crash, where so much was left unsaid. I really don't know what I would do. How might I react if my wife's soul was hosted in a man's body? Or my children? If I die and am reincarnated, how do I just let go of them? Never see them or contact them again? How do I just willingly leave that life behind?

Could have been better explored, and the pain and probably could have been better acted, but the story itself is very intriguing.
Brian S. - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 6:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

The sand spine moment didn't really strike me as comic relief. In other words, it wasn't really intended to be funny for the sake of audience laughter the way a well-timed Rules of Acquisition quote might be. It was a humorous moment for the characters to share. Except that the "laughter" went a lot deeper than that and actually helped illustrate the relationship between the two.

Up to that point, the two characters had been strategically adversarial. Going along and tolerating each other for the sake of the mission and the larger spirit of the peace treaty, but the tension and contempt for each other was palpable. Nearly every comment was a pointed jab at the other, even the compliments (or as Garak might say, "*Especially* the compliments"). Their entire conversation was a constant power struggle. Dukat's condescension towards Kira trying to maintain his superiority and justify his actions during the Occupation; Kira wanting to lash back at the former oppressor of her people and looking for any avenue to attack him.

When Dukat sits on the thorn, Kira laughs loudly at him. But Kira's initial laughter wasn't jovial. It was bitter. It was basically schadenfreude. She was enjoying seeing him in a little pain. Here was the man who was the taskmaster, this powerful man who inflicted so much pain and misery on her and her people, who ordered death squads to kill dozens of freedom fighters.....and he's hopping around like mad, howling and begging one of his former enemies to help him, because of a simple thorn. It gave Kira the satisfaction of seeing Dukat knocked him down a peg....and Dukat knew it. And had no defense for it.

At first Dukat was just simply dealing with the momentary reaction of the pain. He quickly turns to anger and frustration over losing control of the situation and seeing his air of superiority and authority stripped away. He invested so much time and energy trying to maintain his power in front of Kira, and now she's just sitting back laughing as he makes a spectacle of himself. It infuriates him and he shouts at her. But then he calms down a bit and has no other choice but to acknowledge the humor of the situation. And for a moment, the bravado and the power struggles and the manipulative game-playing are all set aside and they share a brief but genuine chuckle that helps bring down some of the walls between, even if only slightly.

They still don't like each other much (Kira less so), but for one brief moment, they stopped being bitter rivals or cold allies. I thought it was well-done.

*****

As for Sisko-Yates, the part I didn't like is how it's acceptable for her to fly off the handle the way she did. I get that he could have been a little more communicative with her, but Sisko was right....her moving to the station *IS* a big step. Surely she would (or should) have recognized that and understood it.

This is his first real serious relationship since his wife's death. The possibility of her moving to the station was pretty sudden (not something they had talked about at length for months before). It's understandable that he might still have some reservations or hesitation before such a major change in their relationship status. A more compassionate partner would have been more understanding of how big a step this was and how Sisko might need a few days to process this new development and figure out if he was ready for it. Storming out and stonewalling him because he displayed a reserved response is detrimental to a healthy relationship where the feelings of BOTH partners are valued.

If my wife had basically asked to move in with me after only 6 months, I would have hesitated, too. And I probably would have rejected it as being too much too soon, even though I loved her.
Jason - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 10:37am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

ARCHER: Maybe inviting her to movie night wasn't such a great idea.

T'POL: On the contrary. I'm looking forward to Bride of Frankenstein.

This is, in my opinion, the funniest exchange on the entire series. I laughed so hard I thought I was going to be sick. There are a great many subtleties in the post-movie meal scene and this is a sterling example.

For some reason I couldn't help but imagine T'Pol as Elsa Lanchester, with the inhuman facial expression, bird-like movements, and insane haircut.

There is also, perhaps, an implied threat in T'Pol's line: if you liked my analysis of Frankenstein, you're going to love where I go with Bride. Maybe you'll think twice before dragging me to another movie night, eh?

On the subject of Frankenstein, I got a good laugh out of T'Pol's line about a reading of the book being more true to the author's intent than a film adaptation. There aren't a lot of films that deviate from their source novels more than Frankenstein!

Lastly, I had a problem with this line of Trip's:

TUCKER: Mary Shelley wrote it, the wife of a famous poet.

That strikes me as a bit sexist. Percy Shelley was a great writer and certainly more famous in his day, but in terms of cultural impact, the poor sod has been so thoroughly eclipsed by his wife that I can't imagine him being the first Shelley that pops to mind any time after the mid twentieth century or so.

Then again, maybe Percy's works have enjoyed a new cultural relevance in the Trek universe?
buddha - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 9:11am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

This episode did what Inception tried to do. Throw in some Back to the Future 3 and James Bond From Russia with Love and you get this, not so bad.
todayshorse - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 8:45am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

I love this episode, the build up as Data takes over the ship is intense and well put together. But has anyone else noticed the knowing 'nod' Data and Picard share just as they clear the bridge? Everytime i see this episode i wonder about it. When i first saw it, i presumed this 'nod' implied Picard was 'in' on whatever was about to take place. But its clear he isnt. Saw it again the other night, and theres also a 'nod' between Data and Riker just before Picards 'nod'. Bizarre!!! Im guessing its a 'meet you in engineering in a minute' type acknowledgement but im still not sure. Even Mrs Todayshorse noted it, i paused and rewound my tivo box to better grasp whats going on. Maybe its nothing! Still, brilliantly done, and as a few others noted i didnt even realise Spiner played Doctor Soong until more recent times. Its one i can watch over and over whenever its aired. 4 stars from me easily.
Niall - Fri, Jan 23, 2015, 5:56am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Totally agree with Skeptical.
Robert - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 9:47pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

That counts as meaningful on VOY!!!! :P
dlpb - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 9:40pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

No argument about the lack of followup, but he DOES mention it again in Future's End.

--------

@Robert, the person you were replying to said "in any meaningful way".
NCC-1701-Z - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 9:37pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Jammer, I just want to say I admire your thoroughness in giving a full, coherent explanation as to why you quit watching this show. I watched my friend struggle through season 2, and if it was indeed as horrible as he said it was/the few episodes I did see, I really wouldn't have blamed you for just posting one sentence for your season recap.

Based on the eps I did (unfortunately) see, I came away with the feeling that nothing will ever save this series from obscurity except a complete BSG-style reboot - i.e. junk everything except the most basic plot and character elements of the original and start from scratch. A pity; the premise was very interesting but light-years behind in execution. If this series had been left in better hands, it could have been a classic despite the obvious low budget.
Skeptical - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 9:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

This feels like it could have and should have been better. There were two potentially interesting ideas here, and both got shortchanged by being intercut with each other.

First of all, about the swarm. This is quite possibly the most blatant and most pathetic case of the writers not caring about characters so far in the series. Janeway's ENTIRE persona up to this point is that she will not sacrifice her principles to get the crew home in a faster or more convenient manner. This has been drilled into our heads over and over and over since the very first episode. So what happens here? She decides to trespass through a region of space controlled by a hostile species after being warned not to. Sovereignty? Respecting other species? Prime Directive? Screw it, I want a shortcut. No explanation given for her sudden change of heart, just a stupid line about them being bullies. Completely and totally out of character for her.

And completely irrelevant. They could have accidentally stumbled upon the swarm. They could have been responding to a humanitarian crisis. They could have been misinformed as to the swarm's intent. But no, we'll just have Janeway act wildly out of character for no reason whatsoever. Hurray!

But I feel the need to harp on this issue, because a couple commenters suggested that this is part of Janeway's character arc. Sorry, it doesn't work that way. If you want to have Janeway evolve from principles over expedience to ends justify the means over the course of the series, so be it. But there needs to be reasoning behind it. Either it needs to happen slowly, breaking down her resolve over time, weighing her decisions more and more before sacrificing just a few principles, or else there needs to be something big to justify her change. Neither happened. It was just "Starfleet principles morals Prime Directive, oh hi shortcut!" No agonizing decision, nothing. Just a quick change.

If they wanted to do that, they should have waited for Scorpion. The Borg are big enough to accept that Janeway might change her perspective. But a little shortcut? A quick line about bullies? Stupid.

Meanwhile, we have a potentially interesting alien species here. There's not a lot about them that is similar to people we've met previously. Perhaps it would be worthwhile to explore this race in more detail? Perhaps we might want to see what makes them tick? Nah, just show some random action scenes and call it a day. No need to develop them. No need to make them a recurring villain (after all, it sounds like their space is pretty big). Just show some special effects and have the bridge shake like normal, and we're good.

As for the Doc scenes, they're good, but they should be really, really good. I like a lot of how it went down. The fact that Kes was adamant about saving the Doc's memories and refused to back down is very consistent with her character. The fact that the Doc immediately was fine with wiping his memory was surprising, but in a good way. After all, his primary purpose is to be a Doctor. His lack of concern for his "life" is refreshing and shows that he still is, in fact a program. Some of my favorite Data scenes were the ones that made it clear he wasn't just a funny human, but rather still an artificial life form. That little scene in the beginning is the same.

So there was a lot of good going on there. Everyone's character seemed to be natural, and everyone's choices seemed a logical extension of what we've seen so far. But the ending was just a bad reset option.

For one, there was no drama. The Doc was rapidly degrading; he was clearly "dying". This meant that something had to be done, and that there was a clear time limit to when it had to be done. That leads to fake drama sometimes. If I have a life threatening injury and will die within hours unless I try a risky surgery that has a 50% chance of killing me, I will obviously try the surgery. The only drama is seeing how the cosmic author wants my surgery to go: successful or not. But if I have a serious but not immediately life threatening injury? Should I take the risk on the surgery or not? Now the drama depends on my choices, not a cosmic roll of the dice.

What if, instead of Kes treating the other person, the Doc was needed for another surgery? And what if, instead of an unknown solution, B'Elanna was reasonably confidant she could find a solution but it would take time? Then, drama. Do we force the Doc to dump his memory so that he can perform the surgery, or risk waiting so that B'Elanna can perform her surgery? Would Janeway order the Doc to die? Would Kes be conflicted between her role as a medic and her friendship with the Doc?

How about another option: the solution isn't to merge Holo-Zimmerman with the Doc, but rather to store the Doc's personality in the Holodeck computer? The holodeck can still be used for simple recreations, but no more advanced holocharacters. Will the crew be willing to give up their primary form of escapism just for a holographic program, most of whom probably don't work with him and thus still don't think of him as sentient? Would this be the way to finally accept him as a person?

Instead, we got a plotline that was pretty much just on the rails, with no chance for deviation. A "risky" solution is found, but the only risk is that it might not work, not that it involves any sacrifice on anyone's part. Since the Doc is all but dead anyway, a chance of a cure is better than none. So of course it's used.

And then the cheap reset ending. The Doc apparently doesn't remember anything, then starts singing. And other than a throwaway line a few episodes later, it's never mentioned again.

I mean, if you're going to press the reset button so blatantly, at least play with it a bit. Have him lose his memories, but still a backup exists in the ship's computer (it just can't be integrated into the program). Then you can have a few episodes of Kes grieving for her friend and trying to teach the Doc to become a person again, while Picardo can have some fun playing him like he did in season 1. Then hit the reset button later with magical new tech. Maybe even in Future's End. Do something rather than an ambiguous scene that is never brought up again.

Like I said, a lot of lost potential.
NCC-1701-Z - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 9:20pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

It's too bad Enterprise ended this way. It could have been so much more, but got screwed over by incompetent writers who were too afraid to do anything more creative than rehash warmed-over TNG-type storylines. By the time they did (Seasons 3 and 4 were a massive improvement over 1 and 2, and I liked S4 as a whole a lot more than Jammer did, apparently), it was too late. That pitiful excuse for a finale was the final insult. (HIMYM fans: We Trekkies feel your pain.)

On the bright side, 2005 was a good year for sci-fi. That was the year BSG started airing weekly episodes. Doctor Who was revived to resounding success (and it's still going strong to this day!). Lost finished up its first season, firmly cementing itself as a classic. It's a pity Trek wasn't there to join the party.

Someday, I hope, Trek will experience a Doctor Who-like revival and come back to TV with a fresh take on the genre that still respects what came before. The original Doctor Who was basically dead in the water when it ended in 1989, but when the time came, it roared back to life with a clean restart that still stayed mostly faithful to the old series.

Hope springs eternal, I guess.
Niall - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 7:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

But also I want to comment on how sensual and heartfelt this episode is, and how the line between father and lover is blurred in the form of Picard. It's an episode of goodbyes for Ro - goodbye to her father figure Macias, goodbye to her one-time lover Riker (their relationship only being possible under the circumstances of the episode Conundrum, but a tenderness and connection nevertheless remaining between them), and goodbye to Picard, the person who meant most to Ro in the world and who in turn cared tremendously about her and was truly proud of and invested in her. The scene where Ro and Picard have their final conversation while posing as sex worker and client, as they touch each other tenderly and whisper in each other's ear, is phenomenally directed and acted - there a breathtaking sensuality and deep sadness to it. Zack Handlen was right when he wrote that it came over like a break-up; they're both solitary people who forged an unexpected but deeply meaningful connection with each other in the face of barriers and who mean a tremendous amount to each other, more than is verbalized by either, but are both bound by their moral code and sense of duty, with the result that their paths are destined to diverge. That scene and a couple of others in this episode (like the final shot, and "Goodbye Will") feel kind of iconic and it's a shame that moments this truly deep and sensual are so rare on Trek; the intimate personal aspects and subtext of Pre-emptive Strike do remind me of Echevarria's Chimera in the final season of DS9, and the actors make just as much out of them.
ThankYouGeneR - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 5:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Having just re-watched this episode myself and coming here to read Jamahl's experience of it I found myself surprised at the comments about the Bebe Neuwirth scene. I automatically took Riker's statement "There are differences in the way that my people make love" to be the setup for Riker to tell her anything as innocuous as elbow touching to be 'the way WE do it', which would certainly give her the desired 'perception' of alien sex without needing Riker to engage sexually with her. She would accept that without hesitation and of course & fully experience it AS satisfying. I mean, gosh, her mind would have taken over and sparked her own happy physical responses. And she would have taken away the 'illusion' she had just had sex with an alien.
BRIAN ROBERTS - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 4:42pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

WE LIKE TO SEE MORE T.N.G. AN VOYAGER AN DS9 WHAT GOING TO HApPEN BEN SISCO .WE DID NOT THE OLD STAR TREK WITH KURK GOOD NEW LAST TONEW MOIVES LOST THE FILL OF WHAT STAR TREK IS ALL ABOUT HOW ABOUT LET ME NOW IF YOU DO IT RIGHT
Vidur Kapur - Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 1:15pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I actually enjoyed this episode. Star Trek has criticised our current society on countless occasions, but, for me, it never gets old, and I thought Blaloock played T'Pol's disgust at human greed, fossil fuel consumption and meat consumption very well - the scene in the drive-thru where the piece of meat fell on her, for instance, was well played, as was her dislike of Loomis, as this review notes.
Next »Page 1 of 934
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer