Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 41,239 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,650
Set Bookmark
gingerbreadmen
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

I think Ezri's disregard for the reassociation taboo is perfectly in character. Dax had shown itself willing to go against it in Rejoined, with great reluctance. It makes some sense that much of that reluctance would come from Jadzia, after all she was indoctrinated by the Trill authorities during her rigorous training to become joined. Without that indoctrination, Ezri probably doesn't feel that same reluctance. Plus it could be a case of 'Well I never wanted to be joined anyway so why do I care about their stupid rules.' Also what are they going to do? Exile her from Trill? She's never shown any interest in going back and her family doesn't even live there. Disallow Dax from seeking another host? Maybe but Dax has already been willing to disregard the taboo anyway.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

@ Quarkissnyder,

Thanks for your thoughtful reply. I definitely agree that Sisko seems at this point not to be entirely clear about his priorities and it's pretty clear that he isn't always making the best decisions about everything. I think in this case he was right not to tell Kasidy, but there were plenty of other times in the series where I'd agree with you that he didn't seem to bring others into his inner world enough. Most notably, he seemed to entirely exclude Jake from all the stuff he was going through, and that's a bit I wish they had written better. To be fair Jake was all but written out of S7, but all the same they could have made the family situation more relevant in terms of Sisko's decision, both for Kasidy and Jake.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Great pacing, plenty of tactics, Data getting his command challenged and handling it expertly, and the reference to "Yesterday's Enterprise" all work together to make "Redemption, Part II" an excellent conclusion. A solid start to S5.

Obviously we're left wondering what Denise Crosby is doing after Part I but the YE references work although Sela looking so much like Yar is a bit of a stretch. But not a big deal -- the part with Guinan and her non-linear time memory and the story of Yar becoming a consort to a Romulan general work for me. Can't go too wrong with a sort of cameo from an excellent episode like YE.

I think we can all learn from Data how he handles insubordination. I think the average person would be tempted to kick the other commander's ass but Data's patience is to be admired. He finds a good solution and proves he's an excellent commander.

As for the Klingons hamming it up after Kurn tries the ol' warping away from the sun trick was maybe the only weak part of the episode. The Klingons aren't portrayed as too bright as they depend on the Federation and are being used by the Romulans. Not sure where Duras' sisters beam off to in the end.

Worf all of a sudden switching sides again was a bit abrupt but the episode builds up how his philosophy doesn't work with Klingons' honor/duty etc. It's obvious it's coming.

Part II is good enough for 3.5 stars -- a really good story with many moving parts all fitting together and decent to excellent on their own. The best part for me was the matching of wits between Picard and Sela commanding fleets. One would imagine we'll see more of Denise Crosby going forward spearheading the Romulan threat and the Klingon volatile political situation is an ongoing fountain of stories with Duras' son's life spared.

Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

@Peter G: Well, I was married, to someone who thought it was good to make decisions for both of us that affected both of us, because bringing information to my attention might . . . all the paternalistic things you just said. I'm not going to rant any more. I'm just going to leave it that whatever Sisko's rationale, whether well-intentioned or not, leaving her out of the loop is no way for a true partner to act. Any more than buying retirement property on Bajor without consulting her is the action of someone who understands what it means to share a life. (To be fair, Cassidy also moved to DS9 without discussing it with Sisko, which was also reprehensible.)
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I really enjoy these Klingon political episodes -- though the whole Klingon honor / warrior thing is a wishy-washy. But getting some conclusion to the whole Gowron/Duras/Worf discommendation is well initiated in this 2-parter.

I guess I still find it hard to believe Picard is given such an important role in determining the future of Klingon leadership as arbiter, but it does make for a good story and Federation involvement in internal Klingon affairs.

Gowron's eyes are great! He makes for such a good Klingon. His acting, delivery is on point. I cracked up when one of the Klingon women ran her nails across Picard's bald head.

The Federation principles of non-interference and Worf's loyalty are well dealt with here. Picard decided to order the Enterprise away from helping Gowron's ship -- he stayed true to Federation principles of non-interference.

The Duras / Romulan conspiracy and threat to Federation vs. not getting involved in Klingon internal affairs is a good dynamic. Picard holds true to Federation non-interference principles and Worf resigning is pretty powerful stuff after Gowron redeems his family name. And there's the usual quality Picard speech at the end about Worf's human qualities.

"Redemption, Part I" deserves 3.5 stars. A great ending to S4 TNG with all the crew there to see Worf off in silence. And then Denise Crosby shows up as the mysterious Romulan in the shadows -- definitely a terrific setup for S5. Plenty of great elements here to tell a good story.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Okay, I think I am kinder to Voyager than a lot of people. So far, I liked most episodes this season. But to me, this one is a failiure.

Kim Rhodes does a give a good performance, but even ignoring the continuity errors or the questionable backstory, the story is just incredibly forced and predictable. Ballard never being mentioned before wouldn't that much of a problem-although I still don't get why they couldn't just make her the woman from Latent Image (who would have an actual reason to not be mentioned) or set it up with making her a goldshirt in some episode-if it wasn't for the forced Romance of the Week with Harry. As I said, since we know it's not gonna workout at the end, you need to either tell it in an interesting way or make it about more than just that. This doesn't do it. It doesn't say anything about Harry, nor does it change him in some way. And taken on its own, while the idea of getting a second chance is at least something and their interactions aren't really bad, it really does feel forced to say she has all that history with Harry. It's especially weird how the episode doesn't at all mention his fiance and it makes Harry look like bit of a douchebag. Okay, I guess maybe he fell for her before he got together with Libby, but he says to Tom he still considered pursuing her and stopped once they got on Voyager. Uhm, why? He would consider getting together while his FIANCE was around, but when he's unlikely to ever see her again, or at least in years, then he musts stay faithful? But he still went after Seven?

You know, people talk about "O'Brien must suffer" episodes, but those are at least about something happening outside the norm and getting back to his loving family, while Harry's episodes are about something good happening him, only to go LOL NOPE at the end.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

@ Rahul,

She's rebounding, Data is sympathetic and considerate, and she's vulnerable. But I think the point the episode is trying to make is that after being hurt she thinks what she really needs is someone safe, reliable, and who'll be there for her, and Data is all of those things. What she doesn't realize is that the potential to be hurt has to be part of the package, because Data won't hurt her but also won't be able to love her. I think it's really great for an episode to show the ways in which Data would be good as a friend but problematic as a lover.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Pretty dull stuff here -- makes no sense that the girl Jenna would all of sudden kiss Data in a romantic way and develop feelings for an android -- a real stretch there.

The Data awkwardness with romance is worth a couple of chuckles but, for me, it's not that interesting. We can feel that Data is struggling to understand romance, but he deletes the subroutine and presumably just moves on without any emotional baggage in the end. The scene with him blowing out the candle in the end is nicely symbolic for the viewer but we have to remember, Data isn't really disappointed -- he doesn't really have feelings. It's purely a learning experience.

As for the phenomena of the nebula and the anomalies that mess up the ship, pretty dull stuff as well. I thought this kind of thing -- navigating the ship -- was done much better in "Booby Trap" (if memory serves) with Picard. But here, it makes no sense for him to be piloting the shuttlecraft. That becomes absolutely clear when it blows up and miraculously O'Brien beams him back -- not much made out of this potentially disastrous situation.

1.5 stars for me -- the opening act set this up as a pretty lame episode. The B-plot with the nebula's anomalies was just kind of there and I think it was stupid for Picard to insist on piloting the shuttlecraft. Only saving grace here is some somewhat funny/awkward moments between Data and Jenna and Data trying out how to be romantic.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

@Yanks

Then it appears we agree. The internet is safe again!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Chrome,

I quoted the entire passage to prove he never called him a person. Read my last line verbatum to see my point.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

@Robert

"It's a minor point, but I would have preferred that Picard guide him to what was right, not strongarm him. In the end his 2 choices were tell the truth or call Jean Luc Picard a liar to his face. I'd have preferred that his choices were tell the truth or lose Picard's respect is all."

I understand this, it isn't a new idea here as several people have brought it up over the years. But I can't imagine a scenario where Picard wouldn't report Wesley to Starfleet. This episode drives home how principled Picard is because of his past at the academy. So, really it's a matter of Wesley getting a false choice or Picard revealing his intentions.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I have to agree with Robert. Wesley getting away with it should have been a potential outcome, and letting Picard down should have been the reason why he would come clean. Picard is supposed to be his conscience here, not the head of an investigation that independently found out the truth. I rather think that the whole subplot of the Enterprise crew researching what happened should have been excised from the plot. Or if it happened, maybe it would have been neat if Picard had refused to hear the final report and had Wesley in his office without actually knowing if he was guilty or not. That way he could truly give Wesley the chance to come clean on his own without knowing whether he'd have to do something about it if he didn't.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

@Yanks

Picard was totally looking out for Wes, I just think the threat was excessive and that the choice should have come from within.

@ Chrome - "On the other hand, Wesley may not have confessed if Picard hadn't made that threat. He was pretty far deep into the lie at that point anyway."

That depends on how the writers wrote his conscience :P

It's a minor point, but I would have preferred that Picard guide him to what was right, not strongarm him. In the end his 2 choices were tell the truth or call Jean Luc Picard a liar to his face. I'd have preferred that his choices were tell the truth or lose Picard's respect is all.

Minor complaint.
Set Bookmark
artymiss
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Bloody hell how irresponsible were the Hansen's taking their 5 year child with them to study the Borg?! I thought Archer was bad taking Porthos along when hunting down the Xindi weapon, but that seems fairly minor in comparison. The Hansen's would have been less hideous to watch, and more believable (what sort of parent would actually do that?), if Annika had been in her mid to late teens but I suppose that would ruin the drama of 7 being 'raised' by the Collective.

Agree the child actor playing Annika was dreadful and not at all believable as the infant 7 who I would imagine was a bit of a little madam.



Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

@Yanks

I get that, in fact it's in my second sentence which you quoted. My point is that you don't qualify as an artist unless you're a person as far as rights are concerned. Spiders don't get copyrights on their webs no matter how beautiful they are.

Now that I look at the ruling it's terrible law. It only gives rights to this one EMH specifically and not to other EMHs who gain consciousness. This judge is just going to increase his calendar for next month...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

@ Chrome
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Well, let's discuss the logic of this episode. The ruling is: the doctor can't be a person but he can be an artist. I'm just going to pull the simple definition from Webster from artist: "1. a person who creates art."

So how can you be a person who creates art and not be a person? Can the judge explain that? Can Voyager's computer create art and be considered an artist? Since the EMH runs on Voyager's computer, I don't see what the difference is or how the ruling here clarifies anything logically.
================================================================

I hate when I miss these things. Sorry Chrome.

He didn't identify the EMH as a person.

"ARBITRATOR: We're exploring new territory today, so it is fitting that this hearing is being held at Pathfinder. The Doctor exhibits many of the traits we associate with a person. Intelligence, creativity, ambition, even fallibility. But are these traits real, or is the Doctor merely programmed to simulate them? To be honest, I don't know. Eventually we will have to decide, because the issue of holographic rights isn't going to go away. But at this time, I am not prepared to rule that the Doctor is a person under the law. However, it is obvious he is no ordinary hologram and while I can't say with certainty that he is a person, I am willing to extend the legal definition of artist to include the Doctor. I therefore rule that he has the right to control his work. I'm ordering all copies of his holo-novels to be recalled immediately. "

He's an artist. Now, artist's include holograms.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

OK, it's "Courts" Martial.

Victor, that's the warp core lock nut hexagonal calibtration device :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Robert,

"PICARD: You knew what you had to do. I just made sure you listened to yourself. Goodbye, Cadet."

I think it's Picard looking out for his own.

If the truth would have ever come out, who recommended his entry into Star Fleet?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

On the other hand, Wesley may not have confessed if Picard hadn't made that threat. He was pretty far deep into the lie at that point anyway.

"At the end of the day, no one forced that guy to participate. It's a shame he died, but that's the risk they all took. I wanted Wesley to stick w/the lie and not confess."

The episode makes it pretty clear that Joshua would not have participated had he not been pressured into it by his team. They all took the risk, but him alone taking the blame for a risk they all took is pretty shameful.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I liked Picard's speech and Wesley confessing. What I didn't like was Picard threatening to tell if Wesley didn't. I always felt that Picard should have given Wesley the option to save face and lose Picard's respect or to tell. It felt like Picard took the agency out of Wesley's hand.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

FWIW I always viewed holonovels as choose your own adventure books. I think that yes, if you wandered off and completely ignored the plot it would somehow railroad you back. But if you look at Tuvok's training program that Seska co-opted, everyone thought it was a holonovel. And you could play it out different ways.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

@ Mikey,

He's not cracking up, he's 100% correct and is totally sane. Maxwell's problem is that he values the treaty with Cardassia less than what he sees as the truth about what they're doing. He doesn't want the Federation to be duped and will ignore the rules to protect it. This probably isn't right, but given what we later learn about the Cardassians I'm not sure how unreasonable it is to take preemptive action. Take a look at what Jellico does in Chain of Command and this suddenly doesn't look quite as bad. The worse part was Maxwell killing people in the course of his investigation, but then again if you're dealing with people who are willing to throw the lives of their people away on a bluff can you really blame yourself entirely if that's what they do? Terrorists will routinely place military targets in hospitals or civilian sites to dare the other side to attack such a place. Well that choice is on them, not on people who eventually have to liberate the location.

It's a murky subject, so I'm just offering a bit of the other side in it. But I definitely think Maxwell is totally sane. I always sort of hoped he got a forced retirement with honors rather than a court martial for this. He's portrayed as a man of action who can't sit back and abide abuses during "peacetime" when it puts his people in jeopardy. There's something tragic about that, and he comes off as very positive to me in the episode.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

This is a good episode. But...

What the hell is going on with the phoenix? Where's the doctor to relieve him of duty? Where's the counsellor to prevent him cracking up in the first place?

I can't believe that starfleet wouldn't have strict protocols to prevent exactly this kind of situation.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

"The other is a question--the Cardassians have been off Bajor only about a year, right? Because wow did their city look incredibly pristine! I had assumed Bajor had been pretty well ravaged by the invaders--perhaps not."

Well, Paris looked OK right after the German occupation. I imagine Cardassians strived for nice Orwellian public face of peace and contentment while they plundered and butchered behind the scenes. It is not unexpected to see big cities relatively untouched while the countryside suffered.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Servicable, but not too inspired. Really, you could this "children brainwashed to be fanatics" plot with just about anybody. Perhaps if they brought up the fear of loneliness (as seen in I Borg or The One), that would make this more specifically a Borg story and would add more dimension to rather one-note First.

And good thing they gave a reason the Borg Cube didn't just destroy The Delta Flyer and Voyager in seconds, I was worried there for a sec. Sure hope the show will keep the dstreak going won't do somethign really stupid, right? Right?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,650
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.