Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,088 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,604
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

A good fan service episode that is made better by the presence of Keith Carridine.

On the supposedly "warp capable" escape pod: it wasn't, nor did the dialogue result in a a plot hole. On the contrary, it's well dramatized exposition. A.G. abandoned his test ship while traveling at warp 2.2 and therefore he had to pass through the warp barrier in the pod just after ejecting which was disorienting. The pod itself probably only had 2 thrusters.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I forgot that Caylem shanked the nazi with the knife Janeway gave him before he died. 10 out of 10.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

Outstanding episode, one of Voyager's best. Certain scenes in this remind me of both Schindler's List and The Pianist. I'm not saying it's on par with those stories but it did evoke some of the same feelings of pathos I have watching those films. 9 out of 10 stars.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

For everyone saying Culluh would have/should have just executed the crew - Culluh and the writers themselves answer that with Culluh's line as he is marooning the crew without any of their equipment. I think the line was "A fitting end for a people who would not share their technology." He saw it as poetic justice.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

There was a pretty good single-issue comic book story based on the ramifications of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I think the rating is low - I say 3.0 stars.

Craig and Skeptical do raise valid points. However, this is still an entertaining episode. Also, one thing I will say in defense in Star Trek in general is that every episode has now been seen literally many times by millions of people. Therefore, it is not surprising that people will notice that some episodes have plot holes, inconsistencies, continuity errors, etc.

I read the short story on which this story is based (supposedly), and it is a classic science fiction story. (I say supposedly based, because there are conflicting stories regarding the origin of this episode. One story is that the writers wrote this episode, without realizing there was a similar story already written by Frederic Brown.) The Outer Limits episode "Fun and Games" is similar to this episode. Indeed, even Star Trek's own The Savage Curtain and The Gamesters of Triskelion are similar.

I read the story adaption by James Blish (spoiler alert), and he had an interesting twist. In his story, the Metrons would destroy the winner of the contest, as they thought that race posed a greater threat.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I would say this is a decent example of a more low-key finale. I enjoyed the interactions between Janeway and Seven, even if they do confirm Seven has pretty much overtaken the show now. I mean, she is a good character and her relationship with Janeway is complex and itriguing, but still, even Data didn't get that much focus on TNG.

The fake out didn't reaaaally bother me, although it does feel regressive, especially since this season finally put some effort in giving the show a sense of progression.

Voyager trailers are legendarily horseshit, so Jammer probably should have known better, but it's not his fault the network people were being annoyingly dishonest either (no, all trailers don't lie). And I find "you just hate it cause it ain't DS9" people here pretty obnoxious.
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I acknowledge some of the criticisms here, but from childhood until now Arena is still one of my favorites. 4 out of 4
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

One of my all-time favorite episodes of all the series. Definitely a 4 out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Nacho
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I have just come to ENT in 2017. Despite it's bad previous reviews, I find the series quite good. Sure, a hero (and an Enterprise) before Kirk is somehow heressy to me but...

This time, I agree with those who said that Archer's spoken statement could have been less rude than "I musk kill you anyway". At least, I liked the detail of the unshaven, weary looks of him. Kind of visual indication of his stressed and somehow, remorsal state of mind.

I loved the final hearth - melting of T'Pol and the tasteful goodbye kiss. It was really touchy.

It was indeed a sad story but I believe that despite his short life span, Sim had a very, very intense one and it is at least a little consolation.
Set Bookmark
NineOfEleven
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I think it's safe to assume that some Delta Quadrant species explored & colonized space long before Voyager arrived by Caretaker; so why can't they already be somewhere tens of thousands of light years from home? The Talaxians had many years & generations to get to where Voyager drops off Neelix.

And if the Malons traveled thousands of light years 'back' to where Voyager was in "Night", they can certainly travel 'forward' as well.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

3 boring episodes played out like a Tom & Jerry cartoon, could have been one exciting episode
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.............
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Back to the abyss; that is; abysmal story arc. So boring not even Data can save it.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Almost perfect aftermath. The TPol marriage was clumsy, forced drama
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Linda,

We don't even have to guess about how benevolent Starfleet is or not in this situation. Just take a best/worst case scenario and see how each plays out. Worst case is Starfleet has no honorable intention and so therefore, yes, of course they could take the baby away since they administer on DS9 and can invoke security measures if they so desire. Best case is that Starfleet is entirely benevolent, in which case (just like a modern society) they would assume their science teams and xenospsychologists would do a better job than Odo in helping the baby to survive. All DS9 has is one doctor and one civilian Changeling who knows almost nothing about himself. Even if no one involved knew much of value Starfleet has better resources. If Odo showed signs of being unable to help the baby then it would be pretty automatic for Starfleet or the Federation to take the baby into their medical care. Since this is the best-case scenario I would suggest that it therefore doesn't matter whether Starfleet had benevolent intentions or not. The logic at either side of it would suggest that taking the baby away might be the best solution for all involved. I submit that by even giving Odo a chance they're demonstrating pretty fair intentions, all things considered.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Peter G.,

Certainly I don’t think the baby changeling belongs to Odo because Odo paid for it. Indeed I doubt that Odo was aware of the financial transaction, he was too distracted. I think it’s very telling that Sisko relays his message from “Starfleet”, the military arm, and not “the Federation”, the diplomatic arm. But who really has jurisdiction? According to my information, although Sisko commands DS9, the station actually belongs to the inhabitants of nearby Bajor. Perhaps we’ll need to consult with the prophets.

Then again, why bother? Starfleet apparently has carte blanche to do as it pleases. Obviously I’m not inclined to assume that Starfleet has a purely benevolent disposition in this matter. My historical knowledge of DS9 may be flawed, but I believe that “at this point in history” changelings have been identified as potential enemies, and I don’t think it’s unreasonable to think this fact would be considered in this matter.

When Quark offered to sell Odo what Quark believed to be a dead changeling, Quark, as presumably a sales ploy, suggested that the Founders would definitely be interested in acquiring it. Why Odo would be interested in purchasing a dead changeling, I never had time to contemplate, since Odo immediately identified it as alive.

As a live and sentient being, one would presume that the baby would naturally be returned to its family. But it was also almost immediately identified as having been cast aside by the Founders in an effort to gauge how another race treats the weak and vulnerable. Personally I think it says a lot more about the Founders that they would cast a baby out in such a manner. And it would therefore seem doubtful that the Founders would be first choice when looking out for the best interests of this baby. (This may be “unsubstantiated speculation”, but I think we’re to believe it’s true. Odo is the one who says it and as far as I know he’s usually a trustworthy source.)

It is my (perhaps incorrect) understanding that shapeshifters such as Odo are rare among humanoids: to the extent that it was only by trial and error that Dr. Mora had any success with Odo. As per Odo’s statements, some of Mora’s procedures were painful, intrusive and pretty much worthless. Therefore Mora’s assistance to Odo about techniques to use on the baby was based on limited knowledge: if it worked on Odo, then it would therefore work on this baby. I would question this assumption. Odo and the baby were of the same species yes, but each had its own unique circumstances and this baby had recently been treated for (insert techno-babble here) and was still under a doctor’s (Bashir’s) care.

If I’m right that shapeshifters were unique in the humanoid world, I would assume that there would be limited options of who would or could best look after such a baby. Was there anyone else in the entire Federation who had first-hand knowledge and dealings with changelings, other than Odo and/or Mora? To my knowledge, no. It is possible that because of his painful recollections of his early experiences with Mora, Odo may have been too tentative in his dealings with the baby. And perhaps the two acting in tandem might have been the best course. Maybe. We’ll never really know the roads that we did not travel.

I have the feeling that the major difference between your view and mine is that you’re more certain of the benevolence of Starfleet than I am. With all due respect to Gene Roddenberry, from what I’ve observed in ST, I’m more skeptical. Or maybe that’s just my nature.

If it’s your point, that Starfleet dictated the fate of the changeling, I agree with you 100 percent. Whether Starfleet would necessarily have acted in the best interests of the baby changeling is, I think, a very different question. Sisko makes it very clear early on Starfleet’s agenda:

SISKO: How long before it is able to take humanoid form?
ODO: Several months. Why?
SISKO: Well, there's still a lot we don't know about your people. The changelings could provide Starfleet with invaluable information about the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

What a rush! From the Xendi to the altered time WW2 plot, Enterprise has been quite a ride for sci fi buffs lately. Love it ! Keep it coming!
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Archer is dead. Archer is dead. .... yeah right. Who you think is watching? 3 year olds?
Set Bookmark
Pleasure Gelf
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

spoiler...

Picard writes a message to the future Enterprise crew by using an iron filing to etch it in Data's cranium .... in BINARY?

Sorry Star Trek, you couldn't suspend my sense of credibility any further than that point.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Another example of a TOS episode piecing together ideas from prior episodes: "The Paradise Syndrome" as William B. mentioned, but also a bit of "The Return of the Archons" for the computer controlled society. Some interesting twists on those themes but, by and large, nothing new here.
McCoy's romance with Natira doesn't work - it makes sense to have McCoy get this opportunity but Kelley doesn't do the part justice. Natira wasn't too convincing either.
I liked the romantic music for Natira/McCoy which is also used in "The Empath" for Gem. TOS had some wonderful musical scores.
What also doesn't work for me is how McCoy has 1 year to live so I guess he goes along with the idea of marriage and living on Yonada but then a cure is found in the extensive library behind the Oracle and then there's no more romance.
I think the episode has a good premise -- the Creators building Yonada to escape the destruction of their solar system some 10000 years ago. But it goes off course etc.
I don't know why the Oracle decides to heat the room when the Big 3 violate it instead of using electrocution again -- this miscalculation gives Kirk & Co. time to get the book etc. So it's somewhat convenient how this leads to solving the problem as everything else falls into place nicely.
I'd give this a strong 2 stars, nearly 2.5 -- seems like this episode dropped the ball a few times, unused potential.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Geordi is sure fixated on beard growth on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Trevr Darling
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Are the holograms in a holographic mine, or do they have mobile emitters...?
Set Bookmark
TheMechanic
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

TNG is my series (unlike Jammer and other people who post here) but I agree with almost everything here. Aside from all the plot weakness I do want to chime in to point out what a hideous episode this is to look at. The Klingon ships are ugly by design, but both Romulus (which have we seen before at this point?) in unbelievably boring. We're either in gray caves or beige boring restaurants and offices. Even the space bar isn't all that interesting. Not sure what happened on the production design on this one.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

"Day of the Dove" is an OK episode - some non-corporeal alien that feeds on hatred and violence creates situations for Klingons and the Enterprise crew to fight. Kind of reminds me of "Wolf in the Fold" where an alien feeds on fear.
Hard to know where to draw the boundaries between what the alien can conjure up and what it can't. It pulled off some pretty incredible feats, but ultimately is defeated once the Enterprise crew and Klingons stop fighting.
In any case, the message behind this episode is the strength of it -- the need to find peace, war can get you nowhere, and how difficult it is come to peace when indoctrinated to be at war.
Ansara as Kang does a solid job - like Colicos doing Koor in "Errand of Mercy" which established the truce between the Klingons and the UFP.
The Enterprise crew (other than Kirk and Spock - for the most part) are forced to act out of character due to the alien - so this actually proves to be a negative to this episode as opposed to one where their character develops -- like Scotty telling Spock "Transfer out. Freak!"
My rating: 2.5 stars -- some interesting situations to demonstrate a simple but difficult message to enact. It is a bit hokey though and heavy-handed in delivering its message.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,604
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.