Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 41,076 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,644
Set Bookmark
Erik Campano
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Eric Stillwell

Thank you for checking in on this site, and for a fantastic script!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I think the high point was the discussion about respective ethical positions over candlelit dinner.
Ral ended up coming across as a weak slug of a guy damaging his credibility and initial promise.
It is almost impossible to believe that the show's writers had not ,after so many slaps in the face, realised the Ferengi's limitations as villains but potential as rogue traders.
The Ferengi became the equivalents of Cyrano Jones and Harry Mudd but not until DS9.

Having been critical I loved the focus on Troi and thank goodness that her silly mother was not in this.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Totally, Robert, that's why all the Ezri Dax episodes are awesome!!1one
Set Bookmark
artymiss
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved tipsy Seven, but I found this episode quite irritating. I couldn't get beyond my outrage at Janeway's awful recklessness in insisting on going the slipstream route in the first place, although perhaps my irritation should be directed at the script writers for making her suddenly utterly unprofessional so they could get this tiresome plot off the ground.

Set Bookmark
Weyoun Zero
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Did nobody else see Alicia as a total cut n paste of Lily from First Contact? Right down to her "Jean-Luc, blow up the damn ship!" speech, only here it's "Archer, don't stop until you kill every last one of those bastards!" 🙄
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

"So I think you're stuck with getting both or neither, which why I'm left wondering what the heck the Federation does to prevent eugenics in the breeding sense. It's not as bad as genetic engineering...but it still feels pretty bad to me. "

We are in agreement. The point of my story was that the only way to actually get one and not the other is to hide information from the patient. They let people take the test I mentioned under specific circumstances, but not others. Our case wasn't covered (for a variety of reasons not worth going into).

Other people think that people should be allowed to take the test, but only to identify birth defects. The doctor shouldn't tell you the sex. I feel very uncomfortable with the idea that doctors can withhold results of your own blood tests from you, but there we have it.

But you are 100% right. In old D&D like video games where stats were randomized if you wanted to have different stats you could use an editor or re-roll. Re-rolling likely didn't get you the stats you were looking for EXACTLY, but if you were willing to re-roll enough times you could certainly get closer. Selective abortion, could, in theory be used to re-roll your baby if you were heartless enough.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

@Mikey - Do you enjoy the Picard, Riker, Geordi, Data or Worf episodes? I mean... you probably don't right? Do you find Worf attractive?

Sorry all, that was borderline trolling, but I couldn't resist.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Speaking for those of us who don't find Troi physically attractive (I think she's actually quite ugly), this is an insufferable episode. I wish I could find her attractive, then maybe I could overlook what a whiny, know it all bitch she really is.
Set Bookmark
Jeremy Reffin
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

In defence of the Geordi/Susanna relationship, [heterosexual, male] nerds don't have problems relating to women, they have problems relating to women they are attracted to. It seems perfectly plausible to me that Geordi formed a great working partnership and friendship with Susanna in the past. Also, I don't buy the complaint that we haven't heard of her before or see her again. Those of us who have reached a certain age can recount a number of friendships (work related or otherwise) which are simply no longer functioning because you are not in each others lives anymore but which can re-form instantly when you do get together.

You might argue that Geordi would have to be blind NOT to be attracted to Susanna, but that would be pretty insensitive in the circumstances.
Set Bookmark
Capt Marrs
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I dont get it if yedron dax would hav never told the defiant crew the truth in the 1st place and just sent them on their way without any knowledge of the events
Sisco and the crew would have tryed to escape and crashed back into the planet and the alternative timeline would hav been preserved
Set Bookmark
Skootle
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

So the doctor and the twitchy alien ratman both learn a brand new made up musical language well enough to speak to each other fluently, even telling jokes, in a few hours, or a day, or whatever it was. Right.

And some of these ships have been here for years and can't find one or more of the ratpeople hidden on their ship in all that time? Right.

anyway, 2 stars from me.

Set Bookmark
Caedus
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Fun episode-some people in the comment section need to lighten up.

Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I'm with Nathan B. -- this is fun, nothing more. It gives the actors a chance to do some hamming it up and that's about it. I didn't find it made me think at all--it was just a pretty-typical action story, albeit an enjoyable one.

Unlike others, I enjoyed Mirror Sisko and thought his acting was, for the most part, much better than his acting as Original Sisko. I believed in MS more than OS, anyway.

It sure didn't really seem like much of a Mirror universe though--most people were just slightly different from their counterparts and I totally didn't get Mirror Kira--very confusing portrayal.

Mirror Miles almost made me cry--he wasn't different from Original Miles at all--just ground down. Colm Meany is a real actor--I have loved him long in the Irish movies he did before DS 9. I'd venture to say he's the best actor on the whole show.

They missed a humor chance with the last scene--have the runabout dock and be met by the others--and then Kira and Bashir come out looking the way they did, the others look on in shock, then Bashir says, "I need a shower," and Kira says, "Me, too."

I think I'd rank this about a 2.5--I can imagine enjoying it again.
Set Bookmark
grumpy_otter
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Most excellent episode. I had been getting a bit tired of Garak prior to this with his little hints and murmurs, which i found tedious; this episode played it perfectly. He reveals a bit, then a bit that seems different, a bit more--and then it turns out to be all true. I immediately thought as Blake W. pointed out--that Garak had told the truth with every story and it showed his journey to exile.

I LOVED Tain--I thought Paul Dooley struck the perfect note. He is apparently quite the murderous villain (or maybe not--we aren't quite sure what the Obsidian Order did) but he is definitely one of those people who has information coming to him from everywhere. He was scary without being diabolical.

I absolutely LOVED that he didn't make Bashir beg for the cure--some sorts of villains would toy with him just for the fun of it--Tain isn't that type. Based on the credits we'll see Tain again--that makes me glad.

Stunning performances in a stunning episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Excellent episode -- it really picked up when Geordi sets out to kill the Klingon captain while Data races against time in the shuttle to figure out the mystery. That part with Geordi walking down the hallway, the camera angle, the musical score all came together wonderfully to achieve the perfect effect of an assassin about to carry out his grisly deed. And it could have ended with Geordi killing the Klingon captain because he's just a guest character -- and then what would have happened? So I didn't know how it would play out in the end.

Again, the Romulans come across as a deceptive and worthy enemy. This episode makes use of Geordi's previous encounter with the Romulans (which ended well, or so I it seemed) in "The Enemy" -- although there is no reference to that episode, it would explain how the Romulans know of the visor and Geordi. But I guess there's still a fair bit of timing that they needed to get right with planting the Klingon ambassador on board the Enterprise, Geordi in a shuttle etc.

"The Mind's Eye" also mixes in the ongoing Klingon power struggle, corruption arc, which never ceases to provide decent to great episodes.

The only complaint I have is why were those transporter chips not checked for fingerprints? They should have been able to pin down Geordi sooner. Or to avoid this oversight, have Geordi do his bit with gloves on.

I give this episode 3.5 stars -- hard to turn away from it for a second. The normally affable Geordi is a good candidate to become a sleeper assassin. Plenty of suspense here as we wonder what Geordi is going to do (like when he spills his drink on O'Brien) as well as some credible investigative work done by Data. Also one of the notable musical scores for a TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

2 stars

Really? The writers actually thought this was all a good idea? An episode feeding Robert Picardo and the Doctor's opera fixation
A very dumb episode from start to finish with no redeeming value even as mindless entertainment. Also the whole Doctor debate was over by now as to his rights etc
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

2 stars

The episode started out alright but once we got the reveal that all the weirdness established early on was because these were the mimetic aliens--well the episode cratered
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

1 star

Harry is such a useless character. Then you put him into a tiresome romance plot. The results were t going to be good. Then you have to sit through the cringeworthy Harry takes a stand. And the generational ship plot was a snooze
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Zakalwe

I read your comment, it's a very brief one after all. You're saying that an episode deserves credit for being entertaining despite it being utter tripe. I get that, a lot of people like Jerry Springer for the same reason. Jerry Springer-like debauchery has its place, but not in my Trek. No thanks!

I do agree this isn't the worst show Trek's done, though. :)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@William B

That's an interesting point, and I agree TWOK is arguably one of the most famous Trek elements known in mainstream culture. Nevertheless, I don't think I was reminded of Khan in this episode until the admiral name dropped him. I suppose, at least in my mind, there's a huge difference between curing an ailing child of mental deficiencies with genetics and creating a super human military tactician. The connection isn't immediately obvious.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

Except for one of the Q's idiotic remarks about the crew's DNA being scattered around the cosmos (more like fundamental particles and since when could life magically spring from loose DNA strands?) I thought this was a pretty good and thought provoking episode.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Chrome, with respect if you're going to respond to me you should read what I wrote, because if you think any of my post, which included the line "utterly risible, nonsensical and...relentlessly shite" constitutes "praise" then I'm struggling.

It's a very, very poor show. I just don't think it's worth zero stars. I'm not sure that saying something is bad but not the worst ever is terribly controversial, even in the binary world of the Internet.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

If the only appearance of Khan was in "Space Seed" and he was never mentioned again, maybe it would be necessary to bring him up several times -- who knows what details in random (albeit iconic and memorable) TOS episodes are of such great importance, and even the major importance of the Eugenics Wars in the 20th century might be a detail in early TOS that sort of eventually got dropped from "important" canon. But I dunno. The Wrath of Khan is probably one of the five or so most famous works in the franchise. (I'd say maybe Tribbles, City on the Edge, WOK, The Voyage Home, and BOBW, in terms of general renown and cultural penetration, FWIW.) I don't think that multiple reminders were really necessary.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@Caedus

That's a great point, I really wish they had laid out why genetic engineering was bad before Bashir went all doomsday on his career. I think the problem was, like I mentioned before, the Picardo plot was originally the A-plot of the episode. Later, it was decided that Bashir needed to have a horrible secret because the comedy material from A-Plot didn't fill a whole show.

I think the secret did in fact make Bashir's character more interesting, but the writers didn't really consider the implications of genetic engineering itself until later shows. In fact, you could give Bashir pretty much any family skeleton in the closet here and this episode would play out the same.
Set Bookmark
methane
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

--spoilers for the 2nd to last episode of TNG--

Ro on TNG was introduced as a Bajoran refugee, part of a group of Bajorans who had left their planet during the Cardassian occupation. She wouldn't join the Maquis until the second to last episode of TNG season 7. DS9 season 2 was airing at the same time as TNG season 7, so these DS9 episodes are several months before that. I'm pretty sure these DS9 episodes are the first mention of the Maquis in the Star Trek Universe.

Pillar was introducing the Maquis in both DS9 & TNG to prepare for Voyager, which was going to start the next year. I think I've read that Behr (who would take over DS9 in season 3) was annoyed that DS9 had to introduce the Maquis just to set up something for Voyager. Of course, DS9 would do way more with them than Voyager would (which pretty much forgot the whole idea after their pilot)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,644
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.