Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 43,849 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,754
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

@ Derek,

"I'm with a number of you in that Sisko's reaction to Picard was rude and uncalled for and i was uncomfortable with Picard's wimpy reaction. "

In TNG addressing a superior officer like this wouldn't have happened as that show always had a certain decorum. And that's exactly the point and why it's such an important scene for DS9's pilot: this isn't DS9! (or as Sisko would say in a later episode, "I'm not Picard!") This isn't a show set in a cushy starship, but in orbit around a broken world full of broken people, and Sisko is being shown as being one of them in that sense. When you say his tone with Picard was uncalled for, do you mean that rudeness isn't befitting a Starfleet officer? But Sisko isn't just a Starfleet officer, he was a husband and a father. We're being shown a man who's lost the love of his life and hasn't recovered from it. He's still hurting as if it just happened to him. And the face of the man who did it is sitting right across from him. He's in pain and has nowhere to direct it. Is it fair for him to blame Picard? Of course not, that's not how grief and pain work. He's a damaged man to be sure, that's the point. Picard is savvy enough to pick up on this and chooses not to engage. What could he say to a man who feels like he's lost everything and isn't even sure he wants to be in Starfleet any more? Buck up? Picard has more class than that.

This is one of my favorite scenes *in the series* so forgive me if I rush to defend it. I think it's a very meaningful scene, in both its implications for the series, as well as the sheer fact of someone addressing Picard like that.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I think this episode, rather than The Begotten, should have been where Odo is turned from being a solid back into being a changeling again. If the female changeling returned and told Odo that the link had forgiven him, and then proved it by offering to restore his powers and giving him back what he lost, then that would have made Odo's betrayal somewhat more understandable, and as a result made his subsequent return to the fold somewhat more plausible. One of the strengths of this episode, and of the Odo character as a whole, is that he is torn between these two worlds, so giving him his powers back at this point would have been the most logical time to do it.

As Jammer noted in the review for The Begotten, there was concern that episode would come to be remembered only as the episode where Odo gets his powers back, and I think that is pretty much what ended up happening. To me it makes more sense for the founders to make him a changeling again because they had the power to make him a solid in the first place, rather than have a scientifically mumbled explanation where Odo somehow gets his powers back from a dying baby changeling. It makes Broken Link a little less powerful if Odo is able to become a changeling again without the link's approval. Also, if Odo had remained a solid for the entirety of the fifth season, it would have raised the question in the viewer's mind about whether he would ever become a changeling again, which I think would have been the better choice.
Set Bookmark
Skeeny
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

I'll start by saying I sort of like this episode, but it has it's problems.

LIRIA: 'The explosive was trilithium based. There is no source of trilithium anywhere in our system. So, you can imagine our surprise when our investigation revealed that your ship is powered by dilithium, which our scientists tell us is convertible into trilithium.'

But their own ships are powered by paralithium (Voyager had already found 3 ships that used it before they found the fourth and correct one), which can also be converted into trilithium, and they don't know that? I guess only the 'terrorists' know it.

As someone else mentioned earlier, the universal translator thing bothered me, since they obviously don't have their commbadges.

Zio was the one who killed the guy at the beginning and stole his food. Doesn't sound like he was all that in control of his clamp-iness. And if the clamp makes everyone go insane and want to kill each other, why is there anyone left? Why wouldn't they all have killed each other by now?

The magical pipe.

Janeway kidnaps a guy and a 14 year old girl and locks them up and holds them hostage and threatens them and bullies them into giving her information. Worst captain ever.

If the 'rebels' know where the prison is and know the codes for the shields and can get in that easily, why haven't they done it themselves already? I guess because they didn't have Neelix.

EMH: ...'Acetylcholine...helps stimulate one's aggressive tendencies.'

^ that isn't true, it would have been better had they used testosterone or steroids or something like that. Whatever, a minor point.

But, like I said, I sort of like this one.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Well, let's admite that refusing even to consider allowing intellectual pleasures to the Cogenitor, at least now that this one enjoyed them, was injustice. Let's note that this was the main point and it would't have interferred with the job, it would have meant just spending free time reading/watching movies instead of sleeping.
In fact, the cogenitor never complained too much about the job, neither Trip: the point was intellectual leisure instead. The visians could have at least considered that. The injustice is, they didn't.
Set Bookmark
Skwinty
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

It was cool to see Sulu and the Excelsior etc. despite the whole thing being shoehorned in.

What I didn't get is that if this is a meld between Janeway and Tuvok reliving his memories, why could anyone see Janeway at all, and how were they able to nerve pinch someone and steal her clothes and have Janeway sneak around and all that business? Were they changing his memories? And if so how can you trust the memories to be what actually happened and find the truth? Once the mind meld started going a bit haywire, they treated it as if they had actually travelled back in time instead of just reliving memories. That whole thing was a bit of a convoluted mess.

All in all, not too bad though.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Thanks to your advices, I watched yesterday TOS' Tholian Web & Mirror Mirror first, and then both mirror episodes of ENT. All in a row. It doubles the fun!
It's hilarious when you get on ENT the same details as TOS' evil guys: the salute, the lack of fabric on girls' uniforms, the sword&planet logo, the positions of dead Defiant's crew, the well-done Tholian, even the bearded Vulcans!
And then ENT's mirror has the twist about First Contact and special credits, what's not to love?

Thanks again for your warning about lowering my expectations, the script was just average.
But once you are ready for thar... watching such a game of thrones story with humour touches is pure joy!

Trip's bitter jokes, Archer as Macbeth but with exxagerated bed scenes, Hoshi as evil mastermind, Reed and Tucker still faithful to their jobs somehow, and the end twist... it was so much fun!
Set Bookmark
Darren
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@ Eric:

"I'm confused about Stamets; I thought he was in a relationship with the guy that died on the sister ship? How did he get over him so quickly and start dating another guy, even living with him?"

I kind of thought at the time too that he was involved with Strahl (?), the guy on the Glenn. However, as they both used the term "friend" at some point (as did Lorca, I believe), presumably, they were only friends.

But might they have been romantically involved at some point in the past? There did seem to be something in their interaction that suggested romantic affection; but, perhaps like Ed and Kelly on The Orville, they remained friends even once that was all over.

(Or, since we all knew Stamets was gay from the beginning, we're just seeing something that isn't / wasn't there between him and Strahl ...)
Set Bookmark
Skimpy
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Terrible episode. I'll skip over most of the terrible things in it that others brought up already and mention some of the other terrible things in it.

Chakotay takes the dead guys suit and says he'll make solar stills from it to collect water. How would that work exactly? How does a starfleet uniform convert into a solar still? And how would that give enough water for 150 people?

So the kid isn't Chakotay's. Seska had taken a DNA sample from Chakotay's spine in the earlier episode. Seska I guess accidentally used Cullah's DNA instead of the DNA she collected from Chakotay when she made the baby, so how did that happen? She can genetically engineer a baby from spinal fluid but, oops! she got the spinal fluid mixed up with Cullah's sperm! Or something. And she didn't ever do any sort of test to make sure who's baby it was? And a Cardassian/Kazon hybrid baby looks totally human except for one small bump on it's forehead. All that is stupid.

EMH: 'Computer, emergency medical priority one one four. Delete the signature of Mister Suder's comm. badge from the system. There is to be no record of his being on board.'

Because that is a medical emerency for sure. And why would he have the ability to do that at all?

Paris convinces the Talaxians to help him by saying he has a 'plan'. And they say 'OK we'll meet you there!'. Because they wouldn't ask what the actual plan was or anything.

TUVOK: '...I taught archery science for several years at the Vulcan Institute of Defensive Arts.'

LOL. Whatever you say Voyager.

The best way to rescue people held hostage by a band of aggresive armed cavemen is to walk right up to them and explain to them gently in an alien gobbledygook language that they are all going to leave, and then walk away. Yep. That would work.

Then after the dude gets eaten by the monster, they poke two sticks at the ceiling and cause the entire tunnel to collapse in a massive cave-in. Yep. That would work.

TUVOK: You may find nobility in the savage, Commander, but he is only interested in killing you.
CHAKOTAY: I don't believe that.

Because so far all they have done is kidnap two people and chase after you with spears and axes trying to kill you and then try to smoke you out of a cave so they can capture you and/or kill you, then chase after some more people with spears and axes. But no, Chakotay thinks they are nice. :) And of course he's right in the end, because, you know, Star Trek.

Chakotay rescues that cavewoman from the lava, by walking down a slope, and jumping onto a large rock and then onto her rock. Because there is no way she could have just done that herself, or anyone else could have, like maybe her caveman friends. Not to mention forgetting that it would be about 1000 degrees celsius where she is, but lots of shows/movies ignore the temperature thing (Revenge of the Sith and Return of the King spring to mind), so I won't blame Voyager too much for that bit.

The Kazon also used escape pods to leave Voyager, so they lost probably half of those this episode, but I guess they just made some new ones the same way they remake all of their shuttles and photon torpedoes.

The caveman puts a leaf with a rock in it(?) or something on Wildman's baby's chest and it's cured. Because of course primitive alien caveman medicine from the other side of the galaxy would treat a Human/Ktarian hybrid baby's fever and respiratory problems.

Part 1 wasn't very good, but it wasn't terrible. I gave it 2 stars. Part 2 is completely awful.

Zero stars for the planet nonsense, and 1 star for the space nonsense.

So 1/2 star overall.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Blue Alert!
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

I haven't watched Emissary in many years, but I have watched in many times and IMO it is the best of all the pilots and one of the best episodes in all the series. I am truly shocked that you guys are so down on it. The context of the recently ended occupation, the religion that is at the heart of Bajoran society, the unwilling emissary in contact with the beings in the wormhole, very interesting characters. I suppose it doesn't hurt that i am a huge baseball fan and greatly appreciate its interesting references to the sport. I'm with a number of you in that Sisko's reaction to Picard was rude and uncalled for and i was uncomfortable with Picard's wimpy reaction. But i love everything else about this episode so much! 5 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

It's interesting to look back and see how raw and uncomfortable they were with each other at the beginning; it makes the rapport they later developed that much more special. I've always thought more highly of this episode than most--3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I'm confused about Stamets; I thought he was in a relationship with the guy that died on the sister ship? How did he get over him so quickly and start dating another guy, even living with him?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

Good news, everyone: “Orville” is (proportionately) the most DVRed show on TV:

tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/dvr-ratings/week-2-broadcast-live-7-ratings-oct-2-8-2017/
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

3 1/2 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 11:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Oh dear... I am glad (for them) that Jammer and others liked this two-parter but I have many problems with it..

What was the purpose of the conversation in the beginning with the Doctor and Chakotay about the medical conference? It was not followed up, it was just, just... there!

And Janeway orders the remaining aive Hirogens to be transported to sick bay? I mean, how big is sick bay? Later, we see a dozen or more in the mess hall, how did they all fit in the sick bay at first?

Also, a hirogen can simply disable the com system of Voyager from a cupboard in the mess hall? Seriously? How did that hirogen know which cupboard to locate to do that to begin with?

And the Doctor helps holograms who killed 43 hirogens so they can make things difficult for Voyager, against the orders of Janeway?

He gets a promise that Voyager would not be attacked. Then, of course, they betray the Doctor by abducting Torres. I could see that coming from miles away, but not the Doctor? And then, the abducted Torres also develops sympathy and gets played too, before realizing that it was the wrong idea? What is with this abductor-abductee romance?

Holograms with spiritual beliefs, praying... Bleeding and feeling pain by simple programming.. Too convenient and too easily explained by a few technobabble lines.

It's just, too much !!

And finally, this is the second time in less than a year that the Doctor decides to leave Voyager for good and make a new life. It's getting a bit unrealistic. It cokes across as if he has no allegiance to Voyager.

I rarely disagree with Jammer's ratings but this is a two-star outing for me, at best.

Side note: Kejal says to Torres that she doesn't appear "vicious and blood thirsty" like Klingons. Torres says that's a stereotype and not true of all Klingons. According to that, Klingons sure have evolved from the times of ST: Discovery (!)
Set Bookmark
A. C.
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

Looking for the David E. Sluss takes on STAR TREK: DISCOVERY and THE ORVILLE.

Anyone know if his Site will go live again with his takes on them?


And 51 years after TOS we are getting the public chance

https://dpo.tothestarsacademy.com/

…now that Musk/Bezos/Branson have laid a ground work in the zeitgeist that has so wildly taken root!

APPLE II FOREVER!
Set Bookmark
A. C.
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Looking for the David E. Sluss takes on STAR TREK: DISCOVERY and THE ORVILLE.

Anyone know if his Site will go live again with his takes on them?


And 51 years after TOS we are getting the public chance

https://dpo.tothestarsacademy.com/

…now that Musk/Bezos/Branson have laid a ground work in the zeitgeist that has so wildly taken root!

APPLE II FOREVER!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Nothing made sense in this episode. Harry's decision to disregard the prime directive, Janeway's support of Harry taking command after having broken the prike directive (oh wait.. that's not so unusual since Janewy played with the prime directive like a 5-year-old toddler plays with dominos), even Seven's encouragement of Harry to get back to captining the Nightingale. Please....

And the B story? We didn't even get to see a testosterone-filled car race between Tom and Icheb.

Really weak episode. The shots of Voyager on the surface were the highlights of it, if anything at all. And Jammer's following comment in his review:

"The show wants us to accept Harry as a starship captain. That's sort of like asking us to accept Tuvok as a stand-up comedian."

Hahahaha, that's great Jammer..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Shannon said (2015 comment):
"Great episode! Ryan and Picardo are clearly the stars of this show, and that's a combination of great acting coupled with very interesting characters".

I couldn't agree more.

The opening scene: just watch Seven's facial expressions as Doctor talks about the creation of life: 5-star job by Ryan. I laughed through the whole sequence just looking at her face as she listened to the Doctor.

Next best revelation: Jammer completely omitting the B-story of Tuvok's Pon Farr in his review. That was a first, and I was fine with that too :))

Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Guys, I don’t mind you bashing this show, but you can talk more Star Trek and less Hollywood? We get it, modern writers are all soulless monsters. Yet, I’m having trouble even remotely tying in what your saying to this episode.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Agreed. Hollywood has jumped the shark—so spot on

I don’t buy into the notion we are in a golden age for tv. Contrary to the notion that serialization is something that emerged in the last 15 years, arc storytelling existed long before and done better. Sure programs nowadays can have swearing and nudity and can make characters insufferable lab rats in some contrived character study. But that doesn’t make them good or entertaining. Yes shoes nowadays kill off main characters unabashedly as some sort of extreme reaction to older shoes bring more conservative but all this has done has lead to pretty gratuitous offing’s that lacked any dramatic weights and serve as nothing more than water cooler chatter the next day

And casts nowadays are massive and ridiculously so. I’d rather follow a modest ensemble than some unwieldy roster such as featured on Game of Thrones or Lost. Who wants to keep track of all those characters and spend a brief scene here or there every week moving their story forward as the episode rapidly jumps from scene to scene to scene.

And another criticism I have about tv and films nowadays is the fact that fanboys who know nothing about good writing resurrect and recycle nostalgic properties and write them like they were glorified pieces of fan fiction. Nobody can come up with shit these days. It’s all garbage overloaded with glossy visual FX

And the folks working on DIS are hacks. Just watch Aaron Harberts and Gretchen J Berg discussing the show on after Trek or read interviews of Akiva Goldsman. Even Gene Roddenberry knew not to recycle TOS when he created TNG and even insisted folks don’t use TOS races or characters. Now Abrams reboots TOS in the films and just recycles better Trek poorly and DIS had to go back to TOS era and throw in Mudd, Sarek, Spock having a half sister, Klingons, Amanda. Tng, Ds9 and even Voyager showed you didn’t have to regurgitate TOS
Set Bookmark
anthony is such a wiener
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

As time goes on Hollywood sucks more and more. So hopefully with all these revelations of the systemic predatory behavior of the people who run the old, tired and worn-out entertainment, music and media industry things will start to change for the better. We need all the old hags and bags that continually churn out useless drivel and garbage year after year to finally be outed as the sexual predators (rapists & pedophiles) that they are and the whole industry needs to collapse. This will cause a much needed turnover of personnel all across the industry that hopefully will bring in new people with fresh ideas that could potentially bring about a new golden era of entertainment and media.
The entire industry is infested with fat bloated pigs that are completely out of touch with reality and the public's taste in general.
That is why new shows and movies like (STD) will never be "great" and only "average" or "mediocre" at best. Hollywood, Nashville, and the MSM are completely out of anything fresh and will continue on this path of self-destruction unless they have a modern-day reformation.

#HollywoodHasJumpedTheShark
#OutPedoHollywood
#HollywoodReformation
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I think what grated me more than anything in this episode was calling that monstrosity of a ship a D7.

The D7 is one of the most iconic ships in Star trek and they jusy go and butcher like everything else Klingon related.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Jammer can't use 'character.moments' in anymore reviews..Boring episode, plot is way too transparent and stop with the stupid toy piano variations in Trek. 2 stars. At most.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

Loved "The Apple" as a kid, but not so much as an adult, and I've even hated it at times. However, I'm intrigued by the fact I've recently seen it in both Best TOS and Worst TOS lists online, so I haven't given up on it. And watching it most recently, in air date order as I go through the DVD set, I'm surprised to say that I'm finally landing on the "enjoyment" side here. It's a weird mix that gets my vote for the best video game Trek episode -- I think there was even a Vaal level on the NES game? -- but the mix of polemical debate and action remains sufficiently engaging for me to give this one 3 stars.

Seriously, someone is getting zapped or attacked every minute or so here, and it's fun to watch the landing party dodge the obstacles as they make for a native village ruled over by the computerized god Vaal. Not as much an ensemble piece as the first few shows in Season Two, but Chekov continues to make an impression -- his immaturity solidified by efforts to woo a yeoman during a danger situation -- and the presence of Scotty and Kyle on the ship add a note of continuity.

Lots of good dialogue and bits in this one, including Kirk's "Nothing makes sense down here!" The native humanoids are sufficiently alien and oddball to be unlike quite anything else I've seen in Sci-Fi. The debate about the Prime Directive is engaging without devolving into self-righteous posturing as we'll later see on the first two or three seasons of TNG; the fact that Vaal is trying to destroy the Enterprise and crew forces the crew (as in "A Taste of Armageddon") to intervene more in the culture than they might wish. Kirk tries to beam out and can't, and he continually tries to respect the native setting, but circumstances keep forcing him to get more involved in it. The question of whether a computer ruling a society -- albeit without its informed consent -- constitutes natural development is relevant: The notion that the computer keeps the native infantalized and ignorant of life's realities (sex, death, aging, etc.) certainly defies all human notions of what is psychologically healthy, even if it's possible that some alien cultures might experience such dependency positively.

Anyway, "The Apple" continues to surprise me, as there's a bit more depth here than the hokey set/costume design suggests at first. There's some serious stuff going on here amidst the fast-paced action. Together with the "Doomsday Machine" coming up next, "The Apple" seems to represent a conscious effort in Season Two to dial up the humor and action to 11 -- and it works because the cast's chemistry is locked down in this season in a way it wasn't quite mature before. The scene of Spock and McCoy debating to sway Kirk's decision about how to move forward establishes a classic template, not quite fully matured before this episode, that is fun to watch. And again, Chekov gets to be the naive rookie here, helping solidify our sense of his character in just a few short shows now -- he slides right into the crew like he's been there all along.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,754
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.