Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 20,900 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 836
Fin67 - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 6:51am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Just a funny fact. Kamala means in Finnish: awful, atrocious, dreadful, fearful, gruesome... Which is quite the opposite of her role. As Etana some episodes ago means a snail. Co-incidence, or did the writers use a Finnish dictionary to pick alien names?
Yanks - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 6:33am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sixth Season Recap

Here are my Season 6 ratings in order of best to worst. The seaosn started very strong and ended in a pile of dung.

Significantly worse than the outstanding Season 5. (almost a half point drop off per episode) I'm afraid that DS9 has peaked but I'm hopefull they can rebound for season 7. I'm not sure that's possible as I think they've weakened some characters and Jadzia is gone.


A Time To Stand 4.00
Rocks And Shoals 4.00
In The Pale Moonlight 4.00
The Reckoning 3.50
Behind The Lines 3.00
Favour The Bold 3.00
Sacrifice of Angels 3.00
You Are Cordially Invited 3.00
Far Beyond The Stars 3.00
Inquisition 3.00
The Sound of Her Voice 3.00
Tears of The Prophets 3.00
Sons And Daughters 2.50
Statistical Probabilities 2.50
The Magnificent Ferengi 2.50
Who Mourns For Morn? 2.50
One Little Ship 2.50
Honour Among Thieves 2.50
Time's Orphan 2.50
Waltz 2.00
Change of Heart 1.00
Wrongs Darker Than Death Or Night 1.00
His Way 1.00
Resurrection 0.50
Valiant 0.50
Profit and Lace 0.00

Total: 63.00
Average: 2.42
Yanks - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 6:11am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

" Archer's people were dying of Archer's own stupidity: exposing themselves to an alien virus."

This is nothing more that Enterprise/Archer hate dribble.
Weiss - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 1:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I just watched this ep and noticed Odo's very subtle reaction to hearing kira loves Bareil. He was saddened in his reaction and but quickly hid it and misdirected kira interpretation of his reaction. Very excellent scene well written. This set up his love story for her.

When I watched these eps in my teens of the bajorans I was always bored, although I always loved winns character. But now as I am older I find these eps very gripping! All the twists visions all excellently handled. It was hard telling what winns involvement was, maybe she did call the collaborator, she did have a sideways glance at him. But she was also desperate so she threw everything at the window, even trying to get a implicit endorcemtn from sisko. Her becoming kai was the worst outcome, but did the prophets want her to become kai?

Quark figuring out whaat odo couldnt with security makes sense, he is a conmen and thinks differnetly. Conversely quark being a security chief would be a terible idea, he lacks a ethical code to maintain security

Sean - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 1:24am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"See, that is itself a conflict; if it's a "no-brainer" as you say, then why would so many episodes make the opposite case? Isn't it clearly NOT a simple question of help or don't help?"

There are some episodes that try to make the case that helping people is bad. But most of the time the reasons for not helping come down to either: "Because evolution demands that we not interfere" or "shut up, I'm the captain."

Most of the episodes that involve dying species or distress calls have the main characters helping those who ask for help. The ones that don't are the exception, not the rule. And tend to have really bad justifications, like the ones I said above.
Sean - Thu, Aug 21, 2014, 1:17am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

In this episode, the species is dying through no fault of their own. In Observer Effect, Archer's people were dying of Archer's own stupidity: exposing themselves to an alien virus. What Archer in Observer Effect seems to say is that allowing an entire species to die through no fault of their own because evolution demands it is ok, nay even a good thing, while allowed a few people to die from their own stupidity is not having compassion. I'm sure the species in this episode thinks you're real compassionate Archer.
Tim - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 10:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I would argue that Section 31's actions against the Founders were perfectly given the war of annihilation (Weyoun casually discusses the extermination of Earth's population in one episode) they were waging against the Federation. Against the Borg it's even more clear cut, since I doubt the Founders would actually go so far as to exterminate an entire subject race, whereas the Borg do that by definition.

At the end of the day it comes down to a larger scale version of the common criminal that decides to try and kill you. Your choice is to fight back or die; nearly everybody will opt for the former. You didn't decide someone was going to die that day, you just decided it wasn't going to be you.
Nic - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:47pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

@Elliott: I agree that execution is important, but I would also argue that SOME plots will never work no matter how good the execution is (the aforementioned "Genesis" being an obvious example).

And isn't this episode an attempt at fan service? Doesn't it seem like the writers felt that viewers wanted to see those Maquis uniforms again, no matter what it took to ge there? Why else would they have made this episode?
Sputnik - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 9:27pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Soviet style healthcare was excellent. Even Maoism had a pretty radical and laudable health plan, sending hundreds of thousands of free docs off into the countryside. Sharing is caring.

Of course such things are unsustainable under capitalism, in which all money is nonsensically issued as debt at interest, but then capitalism itself is.
McDowell - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:36pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

Capturing the Odo-monster at the end of the episode seems like an homage to the end of the classic Forbidden Planet. And like Forbidden Planet this is also a story about psychology. It's a thrilling and emotional scene.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

DLPB,

They did the same thing with Tasha Yar in TNG. So glad she got tarred and Worf took over as head of Security.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

^^ Don't agree at all.

Odo made the conscience choice to sacrifice everyone in the settlement to save Kira. It's that simple.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 8:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Wow, I'm not sure I like or hate this one.

When I bought DS9 and watched it for the first time, I did not know she seeked employment elsewhere. I was FLOORED by her death and equally pi$$ed that that frakin punk Dukat did it. Man was I upset. So sad Decker couldn't have waited a year, or that she didn't finish DS9 first before going over. She really grew on me throughout the series and had really become one of my favorite characters. Another point.... why the frak did she have to die? How about a transfer, blah, blah... oh, then Sisko wouldn't have an "old man" to confide in next season. Her death chaps my ass to this day.

Well, the Federation attitude towards religion is not a surprise, but you'd think that they would realize the fact that the Dominon reinforcements can't come through the wormwhole is the ONLY reason everyone in the Alpha Quadrant isn't speaking "founder". They might think twice about contradicting what Sisko asks for when he hears from them. Head scratcher there.

Jadzia not at the helm of the Defiant during battle? …. And Nog gets the call? ***slaps forehead***

I also thought the Bashir/Quark sobbing over Dax grew quite old.

Little nit pick about the battle. When they finally figure out how to blow up the power generation asteroid (some pretty serious O’Brien technobabble BTW) it looked like only 1 or 2 of those platforms shot at it. It should have been all of them. It would have been much more pleasing visually and dramatically I think.

Does anyone else besides me think Dukat’s little PW trick should have worked? I think DS9 was more “DS9” when the wormhole was working…

“DAX: Our baby would have been so beautiful.” Snif….snif….

The writers REALLY screwed the pooch with Jadzia’s death. It should have been in ‘Change of Heart’

Well, I’ll give it 3 stars… I don't think this was as strong as other DS9 season closers. Not surprising really with the quality of the end of season 6.
Hlau - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 6:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I can't see it as a 1 vs 8000 argument. It's one set of possibilities vs another and you can say that we all make an infinite amount of these choices with every action we make. Maybe if I don't leave my house now, I won't make my wife and none of that line of descendants would've both etc. I mean, if they did go back 200 years, O'brien would HAVE to shack up with that Ensign after ten years at the exact same time to produce the right offsprings? I guess it is the time paradox about knowledge of the future, if it's destiny then you can't change, if you can change it then what you see as the future must be something else.

It's just how you frame it. I mean, we forget that this timeline only exists since Jake brought Sisko back in the Visitor. Jake wasn't presented with the choice, but the Dominion war didn't happen in his timeline, how many lives was that worth? But here we don't see odo's pov. I did think he was a bit of an idiot to tell Kira it was all about her though, that can haunt people for the rest of their life if there wasn't a reset at the end of the episode.

I did like that it took Odo two hundred years and time travel to get out of the friend zone though.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 5:59pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

While this is not a block-buster episode. It's better than the drivel we've been given the second half of this season.

I'm not sure why I enjoy this one, it could be that I really enjoyed the sound of Debra Wilson's voice (no pun intended), or how our heroes opened up to a complete stranger, or the fact that they cared for her ... or that maybe I did as the episode unveiled.

I agree, it would have been nice if they found a picture of Lisa so we could have seen her at the funeral.

I thought the funeral was a nice touch and O'brien's speech quite foreshadowing. I'm guessing that was done on purpose by the writers.

A filler episode, many times those are quite enjoyable.

3 stars for me.
DLPB - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 5:56pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Here here, Yanks! Nothing annoyed me more than Wonder Woman Kira. See, the writers are so dazzled by the need to have a strong female, that they think showing one performing totally unrealistic feats against superior foes does that.

Instead watching the frailties of the actor try and convince the audience, just falls flat on its face.
Elliott - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:52pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Did the math wrong on this.

Final Score should be **.5
Elliott - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:52pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

Did the math wrong on this.

Final Score should be **.5
Eli - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Oops sorry I rushed posting that, the first paragraph should read:

Three conflicts sustain a very good episode: a character torn between two cultures, an attempt to return to the past, and a revival from life after death.

The meaning might have been clear, but the English wasn't correct.
Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:43pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

"Eight-year-old Molly O'Brien travels 300 years to the past after falling into a time portal. The DS9 crew manages to reactivate the destabilized portal and get her back. However, due to an instability in the temporal field Molly comes home 10 years too late. She is now an 18-year-old girl, who has spent the past 10 years of her life alone on an uninhabited planet and is run wild. Nevertheless, the O'Briens decide not to alter the timeline again, since the existence of their older daughter would be extinguished once they tried to get her back at the age of eight. When Miles and Keiko finally decide to send her back to her home in the past, the time portal works properly again and she arrives at a time 300 years ago instead of the intended 290 years. So Molly meets herself as a little girl who has just arrived there, and persuades her to cross the time portal towards the future. At the same instant, the 18-year-old Molly vanishes, since she has never existed. Still, Keiko and Miles do remember her, as does the young Molly from her trip to the past.

The net time travel is that of 18-year-old Molly ten years into her past. In this respect it didn't matter whether the time the portal sent Molly to in the first place was in the future or in the past, as long as no interaction with the present was possible. The obvious paradox in this story can be solved, if we postulate that the time portal has an isolating effect, allowing that different timelines exist on its two sides.

(Ex Astris Scienta)

Sounds good to me :-)

This episode isn't the greatest, but I didn't think it was all that bad either.

I actually don't see any reason Molly couldn't survive. Those instincts are pretty strong and there weren't any predators, right? (uninhabited planet) We've accepted worse in trek for sure.

There were some touching moments, what I have to assume is the only purpose of this episode.

I'm so glad they got Molly back, that loss would have been a hard one to swallow. Just the thought of losing your child makes me quiver. I almost lost it when 8-Molly went back through the portal.

Average episode. 2.5 stars.
Elliott - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:38pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Teaser : ***.5, 5%

Kira shows up in Sisko's office to be a bitch (this is after all, her most natural state). She wants to deny a Valerian ship docking status at the station because the Valerians sold weapons to the Cardassians during the occupation and she believes they are continuing to do so. It's a nice callback to the more interesting parts of “Emissary” in that we are reminded why Starfleet is here, calling the shots: because the Cardassians would otherwise return on a moment's notice to reclaim Bajor. Sisko offers that the Federation would use political pressure to keep the Valerians from trading weapons with the Cardassians if Kira can find evidence to support her theory. Since it was Federation political pressure that finally drove the Cardassians off Bajor without starting another war, this should be an amenable idea to Kira. Shockingly, she actually follows this supremely logical course and decides to grant the ship access.

A Klingon ship emerges from the wormhole and explodes, transporting one injured individual to Ops who, with his dying breath, proclaims “victory.” Well, this is exciting! Mystery, political intrigue, reasonable characterisation. Looks like we're in for a great episode!

Act 1 : **.5, 17%

Sisko sends the Smart People in a runabout to investigate what the Klingon's ship was up to in the Gamma Quadrant and we get a close up on Terry Ferrel smiling goofily. Normally, this would just be another instalment of derp...acting? (see the last scene in “Q-less”), but the music tells us this is baaad news. She giggles and heads out with O'Brien.

Meanwhile, Kira is being her cheerful self, ordering a “slight delay” of the Valerian ship for her own personal suspicions, but Sisko overrides and clears the ship, cueing the third time Kira slams her hands against her console in this scene.

Odo and Quark chat about Klingons. Quark immediately sees through Odo's attempts to cull information about the ship, so Odo has to resort to bribery (you'd think Quark would be happy about this). Quark reveals the Klingon crew were after something “glorious” (what else could it be?). Odo turns to leave, but has a kind of Changeling seizure in which his head flaps open like a pair of wings and he falls unconscious (I immediately thought of Data's embossed tattoo from “Masks”). I still don't understand why an unconscious Odo wouldn't revert to a pile of goo. Is it not established that maintaining humanoid form requires concentration?

Act 2 : **, 17%

Odo “wakes up” in the Infirmary and Bashir has little to offer other than a rather cryptic set of paranoid theories.

Kira confronts Sisko in his office with her “hard evidence,” ready to confront the Valerians. She and Sisko get into a weird battle of wills and she steps aside.

O'Brien notes Kira's increased antagonism to Dax and they start acting weird as well, picking sides—Dax gets a little too chatty, O'Brien a little too terse.

Kira meets with Odo to gain his support, giving us a preview of her awful “intendant” style from the MU. Kira asks Odo to infiltrate the vessel behind Sisko's back. Odo refuses and she backs down offering the same “choose a side” bit from before. While these character shifts border on interesting, they are happening so quickly that they already feel like a gimmick, long before we know what's causing them.

Act 3 : **, 17%

O'Brien notes in his personal log that Kira “must have spies everywhere,” and thus the transformation from normal to influenced is basically complete in the course of the previous act. The Smart People retrieve a portion of the Klingon's logs and the crew review them in Ops, while Sisko expresses a profound boredom in the whole thing. Odo observes everyone's odd behaviour with concern.

Meanwhile, Quark makes Dax a sand sculpture to drink, mmm mmm. Kira shows up to try and recruit Dax to her team (cue: lesbian fan fic). Kira creepily maintains eye contact while sipping on her drink. Dax continues to absent-mindedly tell stories while Kira obsessively keeps trying to get her to help hold the Valerians and promises to “get rid of Sisko.” Quark overhears and Kira throws him down like an SS officer.

Apparently, this wiry Bajoran is so strong, she breaks Quark's neck. Jesus. So he reveals to Odo that he overheard Kira's little insurrection. Odo realises that everyone is acting strangely and Quark starts yelling, revealing that the neck brace is a Mort Goldman style ruse and he's not that badly hurt.

Odo finds O'Brien of all people sitting at Sisko's desk, reviewing the Klingon's logs. From what little we manage to garner from the video, something akin to the spheres from “Contagion” infected the Klingon vessel, and a mutiny ensued.

Odo finds Sisko in his quarters under heavy guard quietly and obsessively drawing a clock. In case we didn't already get it, he lets us know that he doesn't give a shit about the station anymore and tells Odo to talk to O'Brien.

Instead of slowly letting our characters transform into their various personæ, the episode has to beat us over the head with their new personalities ad nauseum. Either the writers didn't have confidence in the strength of their characters (and our ability to recognise the change subtly) or they really thought all these little performances were worth the screentime.

Act 4 : **, 17%

Mirroring O'Brien, Odo finds Kira with her feet up in his office, asking for his help. She confesses to locking down the Valerian ship. She tries seducing him with promises of her upcoming rule of the station. Odo tries communicating with an outside political party but the Federation and Bajor, but Kira and O'Brien have respectively restricted such communication. Odo is not surprised. He reviews the Klingon's newly reconstructed logs revealing the spheres of doom and an ancient power struggle.

Sisko orders O'Brien to arrest all the Bajorans, but O'Brien is more cautious and cunning. Sisko would rather go down phasers firing than play subterfuge with Kira, but O'Brien convinces him to wait while they conspire to leave on the Valerian vessel.

I think I know what Joe Menosky was going for here; the superimposed personæ attach themselves to hosts who most closely resemble the archived personality; Kira and Sisko are emotionally volatile leaders and, to a certain extent, don't trust each other; O'Brien is loyal and clever; Dax is nostalgic and aloof; Bashir is an observer, curious about politics (his later forays into spy thrillers are a testament to that). The problem is, the personality shifts are so extreme that we can't take these actions as revelations about their real characters (in contrast to, say, “The Killing Game”). If the episode could have been more patient and kept its cards closer, we could have followed a more natural progression from normal characterisation to exaggerated personæ.

So Odo finalises his theory about the telepathic matrix, using Bashir's own paranoia against him to get him to devise a technobabble solution to the real problem (the matrix) under the guise of dealing with the reenacted power struggle.

A Bajoran tries to poison Sisko in Ops. I suppose this particular Bajoran was in Ops when the Klingon was transported, because if he's just a regular unaffected officer following Kira's orders, that would reveal some major problems in the station's personnel.

So Sisko and O'Brien beat up Dax and the Bajoran agent, but Kira arrives with an armed party right before Sisko is able to kill the guy. Huh. So I guess there really will be some personnel problems. I'm sure there will be consequences...

Act 5 : *.5, 17%

Clever Miles beams Sisko and himself to safety (since Dax was too absent-minded to shut down the transporters). Odo plays along with Sisko while Bashir continues looking for his solution. Kira figures out that Odo is helping Sisko (but of course he plays it off as leading the commander into a trap).

Question : where is everybody? Isn't anyone else on duty? It seems like it's just the senior staff and a couple of extras running around the station at this point.

The notion that only those in direct proximity to the Klingon is confirmed as Odo drives out the matrix or whatever only when the senior staff is together (also ruling out the possibility that any of the other Bajorans (including the one who tried to kill Sisko) were affected, meaning they did this of their own volition. Geeze.

What follows is a goofy scene that takes all the suspense from the Beverly/Geordi plot in “Disaster” and throws it out so Odo can flush the matrices into space while the crew calmly avoids being blown out with it, suffering no ill effects. Great.

Kira tries to do some back-pedalling on this confusing idea by offering an apology to Sisko. We are given an interesting final shot where Sisko contemplates the clock he built while under the influence. Could this mean something? A sign of things to come?



Nope.

Episode as Functionary : *.5, 10%

A story with a lot of promise is really botched by some poor choices. How to fix this? Have the mutiny plot build up very slowly and naturally from Kira's initial disagreement with Sisko; there need to be a couple of scenes *after* they're affected by the matrix where they speak like themselves and gradually take on the exaggerated personalities unto a crisis point, when Odo can step in and save the day. Instead, they almost instantly change and we have to endure a bunch of pointless scenes that reveal to us nothing about these characters. Too bad. Another kind of significant issue is all the other people on the station! I mean, many of them went along with Sisko's and Kira's rivalry but weren't affect by the matrix. Shouldn't there be some fallout from how easily the Bajorans mutinied or how willing the Starfleet officers were to throwing the Bajorans under the bus?

Final Score : **
Eli - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:36pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

There is a lot to like here. Three prime conflicts keep afloat a very good episode. One, the idea that a conflict regarding a character torn between two cultures is fascinating. Two, a conflict of whether one can go back and return to the past is a fascinating premise (both for Lillard and Kim). Three, the most ambitious and difficult, a return from death.

The largest drawback to this episode in my view is that it didn't go far enough with such rich conflicts. Maybe it couldn't go far enough with the love story out of reverence to Kim's past girlfriend/fiancee. But, it was hard to watch a love story with such potential only partially enunciated and truncated before it swelled to its full ripeness. Further, without a stronger love story all of the conflicts lose their edge.

I understand the nitpicks; they have merit and trek fans should be rewarded for investing in a show with continuity. But, still nothing in the show can't be explained somehow. For instance, the Kobali have some technology that is more advanced that Starfleet. (Or a wormhole is available to Kobali that others don't know about.) Two, that the woman may have been an early crush for Kim, but not a crush that prevented him from having a girlfriend at some point (with whom we was engaged). So, I don't think the nitpicks regarding logic/continuity were fatal errors in the episode.

Overall I thought the episode was very good - 3.5 stars. Could have been four with more poetic and/or dramatic touches. (And, yes some continuity errors should have been addressed.)

Yanks - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 4:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Section 31 isn't anything like the PSI-Corps.

What clues did you want? They don't operate on the front page of the "Star Fleet Journal".
Jack - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 3:52pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Yanks said: He didn't want the OO to know that he was the one that saved Kira.

Entek entered the room with a couple of henchmen with him, and they weren't killed. Surely they saw Garak.

DLPB - Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 3:41pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Oh, and yeah, Bureau 13 from B5.

It's clearly a stolen idea. But the writers forgot that you can't just tack that into a story from nowhere. There was no clue, and nothing leading up to S31... it was just "Hey, guesss whoooooooo!?"
Next »Page 1 of 836
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer