Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,819 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,313
Set Bookmark
navamske
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

The question that came to my mind while watching this episode was, If multiple generations of Horta have been tunneling through rock on that planet for eons, why is there any rock left? There is one plausible explanation, but it depends on the notion that in tunneling around, the Horta are consuming the rock, as opposed to just creating passages with their industrial-strength acid.
Set Bookmark
Torridd
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I think it's easily a 3-star rating. Dr. Marr's character was fantastic acting. I've watched this so many times and I can't fault Picard for wanting to communicate with it. Perhaps I need to see Datalore again to find out how "intelligent" the CE is. Ultimately, based on the communication, Picard could get rid of it or not. No one was in imminent danger and he would have to assess if the CE could feed some other way. I read most of the comments, but no one seemed to mention Riker's face after Marr destroyed the CE. He was pretty happy. I was sorry that Marr felt she had to take revenge, ironically an Ahab before Picard's turn later in the movie. Her career is ended, but would she be imprisoned for her actions? Probably not since her son died from the entity. Still, the episode was very good. Some of you are pretty difficult to please.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@William B: I wish.

I'd have to agree with most of the above, if a "pass the torch" cameo were to occur, getting Patrick Stewart back to play Admiral or Ambassador Picard one last time would be the ultimate display of awesomeness. Jon Frakes as Captain or Admiral Riker would also be a really good choice as well, if Patrick Stewart is unavailable.

I'd cheer if they could get Kate Mulgrew as Admiral Janeway, but since TNG is more of a cultural touchstone than DS9, VOY or ENT, a TNG cameo would definitely carry the most weight.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Vladimir

"As Doctor Pulaski would, at this juncture, no doubt remind us: 'Life is rarely fair'."
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

If Pulaski was still here, the memory wipe would have worked, and we wouldn't be in this mess.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

@DLPB - As stated I've never seen B5, so I can't have an opinion but "ship gets strange virus and Doctor races against the clock" was done a few times on TNG. Even "quarantined space station gets strange virus" was done. I can nearly think of an example once per season.

Ben mentions that episode and says it's not similar. I read the synopsis just now and it didn't sound similar. What elements do you feel were borrowed beyond virus + space station?
Set Bookmark
Belowzero
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

I hate chakotays Stories...theres an old story my people....theres an old saying...
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Let me unburden all your guilt. I'll pull the lever for you - and I will do it knowing that the ends justify the means.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

My apologies - season 2. But JMS gave an outline of pretty much everything to them - so you see many episodes cropping up in DS9.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

@Ben

I suggest you get rewatching B5 - because in the first season there is an identical storyline to this one. A virus gets released station-wide via the air system. But unlike Trek magic wand writing, B5 has a gutsy ending - that's where they differ.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confessions_and_Lamentations

"A deadly plague threatens the Markab race with extinction, leaving Franklin in a race against time to find the cure before even more species are infected."

This episode has cleared ripped off B5 - and I have 100 more examples.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Sisko is not even remotely comparable to Churchill. He is a captain on a space station. He is not a leader of a country.
Set Bookmark
James Ford
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

Did no one notice the glaring issue - that the Empire just got a 100 year leap in tech, when they were already progressing at a much quicker speed? Yet in the other Mirror Universe episodes the Empire is somehow magically the same as each respective timeline...

These episodes were probably my least favourite of the series as a whole. Terrible acting (in a non-ironic way), with the exception of Dominic Keating, and equally terrible script-writing; absent of any discernible plot; wasted and massively bloated budget; and hamfisted and hollow references to TOS and the universe in general, with results that ride roughshod over the continuity of later series.

Truly awful.
Set Bookmark
The Man
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

It is amazing that a pig-headed murderous being ignored peaceful negotiations and accuses the crew of being arrogant and Picard just lowers his head and smile
Iike "Yeah you're right." in actuality that creature is dangerous and arrogant and untrustworthy and they are the ones who need three centuries to clean up their act and mature not the Enterprise crew.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Another nice touch: out of the corner of my eye I could have sworn the Starfleet PADDs had Apple logos on the back! I went back and looked again: it's just the Starfleet logo. But how remarkably similar to today's tablets! Life imitates art.

Generally about the episode, I also thoroughly appreciated it. "For the Sisko," the Prophets say. Nice! "The Sisko is of Bajor."

And let me be another to resound the hilarity of terrified Worf shouting, "NOW?!"
Set Bookmark
Luka
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

This episode is brilliant. Seriously, I was a fan of TNG forever but when you get the depth of episodes like Hard Time man this is just awesome. Heh. Four stars is very appropriate. I actually conceived a story very similar to this in my mind before seeing this and then to actually see something play out like this I gotta give the DS9 writers major props. O'Brien I feel bad for the guy, he suffered for 20 fuckin years. Wow. The writing on this show is top notch.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@ Andy's Friend,

I could not have been any more specific with my request for clarification, and yet for multiple posts you have dodged entirely. I thought we were having a friendly discussion but it begins to feel more like you're hiding behind words. If you think my question is "already answered" in your previous posts then you must think my reading comprehension is pretty low. I am now 99% convinced you have no idea what "non-linear processing" means, and likewise what the mechanical difference is between a "computer" and an "artificial brain." And yet you base your entire argument on these terms, claiming definitively that this is the case and that I need to go do research to catch up to your level.

And by the way, mentioning that each of us sticks to his "one" belief out of bias as religious people (or all people) do makes two fatal mistakes: 1) It assumes that each of the three of us is making comparable unprovable claims. 2) Implying our ideas are no better than faith-based convictions puts all ideas on an equal irrational playing field, which is both insulting to reason itself and also insulting on a personal level.

1) We are not all making strong claims. William and I were tossing around ideas and wondering what to make of the episode. You are making a bold and definitive claim, and stating that it amounts to "real science" as opposed to Trek-speak. The burden is on you to demonstrate any validity to what you're saying, as you are the only one making a strong claim here. I said your idea is plausible; you say it's true. William and I both agree that based on what you've said so far you cannot know this is so.

2) I don't go in for this passive-aggressive argumentation style, where when called out on BS you go ahead and say that my opinion (or William's) is just some faith-based hunch that can't be reasoned with. It's just as rude as calling us morons as far as I'm concerned. I know you included yourself in that description, but calling all three of us idiots still means calling me an idiot, which I don't accept.

PS - I'll bet $100 cash right now that you can't explain in detail why Einstein was "at fault" for pushing for one theory to be true. What is this so-called fault he was wrong about for so long? And bonus points if you can show that it was because he was naturally inclined to "want to believe" just "one theory". Spoiler: what you said about Einstein wasn't true. The only 'fault' to date his theories have admitted is with the cosmological constant, and that was only because he didn't have access yet to data showing an expanding universe. And that "mistake" has been replaced with dark energy anyhow, which is the same accounting trick in reverse, so even his idea of how to deal with the problem is still considered to be correct. Nothing about relativity has, to date, been called into serious question in the mainstream, nor has even his comment about god playing dice, about which the jury is still out. The Copenhagen interpretation of QM is not a "fact".

Set Bookmark
Andy's Friend
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

@Peter G. & William B

Peter, I don’t know what it is you don’t understand. Everything you ask me to clarify I already have in my two posts from 2014.

Try reading what William writes. He has understood perfectly what I mean:

WILLIAM B―”What you are stating, essentially, is that it will at some point be possible to distinguish between what is actually conscious and what isn't not based on behaviour or anything, but based on the physical make of the object itself.”

Which is partly (but only partly: see below) correct, and what I wrote to begin with in 2014 specifically about Data & the EMH:

“It’s not about how Data and the EMH behave and what they say, it’s a matter of how, or whether, they think.”

In very simplified terms, not WHAT, but HOW. But I further clarified yesterday:

“if we widen our scope, what I have called the "artificial brain" is merely a word for some sort of cognitive architecture which may be very different from our own. The Great Link seem to have one, and I'm pretty sure it's quite different from Data's brain.”

Another thing: you seem to have misunderstood my point about the “religious” aspect. What I mean is that we all, deep down, are predisposed not merely to accept, but to actively prefer, and choose, one specific possibility, one theory, as true. Einstein famously did it, and it took him many years to recognize his fault. It’s just the way we humans are. In this, our opinions are akin to religious beliefs: William B’s, yours, and mine. Some of us are better at listening to reason than others. But as long as matters remain highly speculative, no reason is more true than any other. And all we really have are our humours, our moods, our feelings (because even intellectual choices are based on emotions) to guide us.

So your comment:

“If positing a theory about robotics makes someone a 'religious believer' that you can't communicate with...”

...was completely uncalled-for.


Now William:

Having said that, I do believe that you have a point, and the Great Link is a good example. What I mean is, to use your words above, it is necessary for us to be able to *recognize* and *understand* the nature and abilities of the "physical object" itself.

In other words, while we may be able to recognize Data’s “positronic brain” as an artifical brain able of consciousness, simply because it resembles and emulates what we know, we may not be able to recognize anything as alien as the Great Link as another kind of physical object capable of consciousness. And in such cases, at least at first, we will depend on behavioural analysis. And who knows if we will ever be able to understand the Great Link?

So in a way, both sides are right. And you are very right: we will probably always remain somewhat anthrocentric. It is difficult not to, when that is what we know and understand best. And if we indeed ever gain warp capability, who knows what new life we will encounter?

Finally, just to correct a slight oversight of yours, you wrote:

“You said in an earlier comment that it is the fault of the show that it fails to establish what Data's artificial brain does.”

No, that’s not what I said: I agreed with you. Try reading it again ;)
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

I've always enjoyed this episode, actually. My big complaint is that it perpetuates the ridiculous belief that clones somehow emerge from the gestation process as full-grown adults. What Riker should have found in the lab would be at most fertilized eggs, not body snatcher pod people.

Also, there are presumably thousands of Mariposans (since they have cities). Why couldn't the Bringloidi males (and the Enterprise males, for that matter) donate sperm to inseminate the clone women? Riker didn't seem too reluctant to donate his DNA to the Bringloidi genome.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Did anyone else notice that the doll Molly is holding in the first scene has Bajoran nose ridges?! Because they were on Bajor for so long!! I think that's a brilliant touch. I love this show.
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

A fun, amusing episode but nothing more. I'd give it 2 stars. I found the whole premise a bit ridiculous - such as climate controls that go so low as to freeze people to death? When the "infection" spreads to Enterprise, why are some people walking around the ship, going about their duty normally, while others are making out in the corridor? The best scene for me was the Asian engineer sitting there playing with the chips like a 3 year old - hilarious, but at the same time, totally ridiculous. Which I guess sums up this episode.
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Half a star is very harsh, Jammal. I've been rewatching this show from the beginning on Blu-ray (I have not watched these episodes since 2002, when the DVDs came out). With only a vague memory of how these early episodes play out, I'm finding them quite a lot more enjoyable than I thought I would. I'd give this episode 2 stars (or 2 out of 5 on my preferred 5 star scale). It's ordinary, sure, but not terrible. Simply put, I was entertained. One thing - I found it odd that Yar admitted to finding the leader attractive, though. I didn't think there was anything that stood out about him. Perhaps once I get around to watching the later seasons of the show again, I'll have to re-assess my ratings here. I'm still debating whether this is a 1.5 or 2 star episode....
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

I have to disagree with the rating here - I give it a 2.5 out of 4 (or on a 5 star scale, 3 out of 5). 2 stars implies it's nothing more than average. I consider it above average. I just re-watched this episode for the first time in 14 years (remastered on Blu-ray) and found it enjoyable. For one, it introduces an amazing, and seemingly invulnerable new villain - Q. The scene in the primitive earth court was also well done - I only wish it was longer. Farpoint station itself was vaguely interesting - it kept us guessing as to what was actually going on, and Zorn was a decent character. On this basis alone, I think it deserves more than 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Lol. Maybe it will be revealed that ST: Nemesis was all a weird black ops simulation, in the style of "Inquisition," headed by Admiral Janeway to, um...gosh, I dunno. See how Troi responds to her dozenth telepathic violation maybe. Adm. Janeway is not as good at Sloan at running the simulations, I guess, in this scenario.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Hey, let's not discount the possibility that the show will track a black ops outfit instead of a starship doing exploration. I think Admiral Janeway would be far better suited to overseeing that kind of dirty work than Admiral Picard would.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Maybe Ambassador Picard -- I thought that potential path for him (in AGT) made a lot of sense.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,313
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.