Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,645 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 986
Xylar - Sat, May 23, 2015, 7:59pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Couldn't really get into it.
For starters, I don't know why Tom was so intrigued with the shuttle when he first saw it. He already has the Delta Flyer, which is pretty much his work in progress, isn't it? Anything he can do to Alice, he can do to the Delta Flyer as well, save for the Neurogenic interlink or whatever it's called.
I also found the actress who plays Alice a little lackluster. She just doesn't sell the manipulation parts. She comes acorss as flat and unconvincing, particularly towards the end. She detects Voyager messing with her shiels while B'elanna distracts Tom and she just doesn't transmit a sense of urgency or desperation, the way I feel she should. She's pretty to look at, but that's about it.

It wasn't all bad, though. I liked the opening scene where they try to guess Tuvok's age. I liked the bit where B'elanna gets locked in Alice and almost dies.
And I liked the joke Seven made where she tells Neelix that all sales are final, including his precious berylium crystal.
It works as a watchable hour, but just barely. Perhaps if Alice had been more convincing, it would have proven more interesting.
Trekker - Sat, May 23, 2015, 7:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

If Gowron could only see the future and his end in "Tacking into the Wind" :P

I think this episode adds a thread to the Klingon backstory that has been built over the years in TNG and concludes in DS9; it's a marvelous tapestry, the only complete story arc across all of Star Trek to be honest.

Luke - Sat, May 23, 2015, 11:54am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I agree with just about everything Jammer has to say about this episode.

The B-plot on the Enterprise is more satisfying than the A-plot with Data, mostly due to Gosheven's idiotic stubbornness. It gets the point where this supposedly elected leader starts acting like an autocrat and anyone who disagrees with his decisions just needs to be silenced. At least the Sheliak have legitimate reasons to be obstinate. They're sitting in a position of power while the colonists are hopelessly outgunned - a fact that the viewer is all too aware of right from the get-ready.

I'll disagree, however, on Data's interactions with Ard'rian. Those scenes are what really buoy up the A-plot for me. It's nice to Data in something of a subdued romantic relationship which isn't bogged down by constant references to the fact that Data is completely unfamiliar with human romance - which is a problem I remember having with "In Theory."

7/10
Andy's Friend - Sat, May 23, 2015, 4:55am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

@Grumpy: "I just think it's more interesting to imagine a more layered world beyond the narrow perspective the series gives us."

I see. That would explain your suggestion of Picard as an "unreliable narrator".

As for me, I accept and cherish the vision of the future that TNG has to offer us.

Because as I just mentioned, it’s not just Picard. It’s the very fabric of the series, right there from the very beginning at "Encounter at Farpoint":

PICARD: Most certainly I deny it. I agree that we still were [a dangerous, savage child-race] when humans wore costumes like that four hundred years ago. [...] But even as far back as that costume, we had begun to make rapid progress.

The very pilot of TNG establishes the cornerstone of the series: the child-like race is no more. Which is perfectly book-ended by the final episode of the first season I quoted before, now in full:

PICARD: A lot has changed in the past three hundred years. People are no longer obsessed with the accumulation of things. We've eliminated hunger, want, the need for possessions. We have grown out of our infancy.

I don't know about you, but I find the optimistic vision of the future of TNG absolutely wonderful. Don't you?

I know things changed. I know that eventually we’ll see devious admirals such as Pressman on TNG, and before we know it we’re watching DS9. But at its core TNG retained a futuristic, optimistic message: humanity is improving. And one day, we may become an enlightened civilization of enlightened individuals.

Now, you may find it more interesting to "imagine a more layered world beyond the narrow perspective the series gives us," as you put it, and you’re of course in your right to do so.

But that reminds me of that wonderful line by Łem I have quoted before:

"We have no need of other worlds. We need mirrors. We don't know what to do with other worlds."

If indeed you try to "imagine a more layered world", aren’t you really merely trying to see a reflection of *your* world in TNG, instead of seeking out that new world and new civilization TNG proposes?




hank - Sat, May 23, 2015, 1:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

been a star trek fan for almost forty years.deep space nine and the original series are my favorites.and i can say that this is certainly not a fluff episode even though it may appear that way on the surface.fiction,if it is done well and is believable and consistent over a long period of time creates its own reality for people.we see this with the entire senior staff of the station in this episode.fontaine and his lounge have become more than just a holoprogram to them.it has taken on a life of its own and they all step in to save it.kind of like what star trek fans did themselves back in the'60's.its why we as fans discuss the finer nuances of this universe.for me,thats the underlying premise of this show even if it seems frivolous at times.
zzybaloobah - Sat, May 23, 2015, 1:36am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

@Ryan
You're enraged by Roslin, you want her to "stop trying to pull all this devious shit...." but Baltar is the only likeable character left? Now there's a character who's always on the up-and-up.....


Roslin clearly admits that Order 112 is draft legislation she's working on, not some hold-over from Zarek.


Kara -
Maybe people should cut her some slack, she's always been messed up, particularly since New Cap. But, sorry, she's the CO. She doesn't have the luxury of being messed up. She acts like this, sooner or later she'll have a mutiny.


Cally:
I *liked* Cally. No, she wasn't a main character, she was just sketched in, not fully developed, but she was the young innocent who just signed up to get dental school paid for. And she did her job. Better than many.

Cottle did not imply she was taking opium. She was taking anti-depressants, and he (in his usual acerbic way) wanted her to stop taking the meds, go home, and get some sleep.

Clearly, she should have gone to Adama. But, she's totally sleep deprived, her life has just gone from a nightmare to her worst nightmare, and she's totally strung-out. Had Tory not shown up, she probably would have calmed down and gone to Adama. (Oh, here's a deus-ex-machina -- how did TORY find her -- how did Tory even know to look for her? Jammer calls this the inevitable conclusion and I don't disagree -- but it's a plot hole you could fly Colonial One through....)

I was really sorry to see her airlocked.... and I was feeling neutral about Tory until this.... now I'm ready to see her roasted over a slow fire...

Luke - Sat, May 23, 2015, 12:20am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

If the U.S. was invaded by a foreign power tomorrow, I doubt NASA would be called to defend the borders and/or repulse the enemy.

I'll fully grant that Starfleet is not militaristic, and certainly not imperialistic. But that's a far cry from saying that "Starfleet is not a military organization."

As Elliott points out, a military is tasked with securing and defending the sovereignty of its nation. That's obviously one of Starfleet's primary objectives. Whenever the Federation needs something like that done, they turn to Starfleet. In "Errand of Mercy," when war broke out with the Klingons, it was Starfleet that defended UFP territory and interests. In "Balance of Terror," when there was a Romulan incursion into Federation space, Kirk was tasked to deal with the threat. Even in TNG, in the episode immediately before this one, Picard is sent to deal with a possible military threat to outlying Federation colonies.

The fact that their primary purpose is exploration doesn't negate the fact that they are, without a doubt, the armed forces of the United Federation of Planets.
HolographicAndrew - Sat, May 23, 2015, 12:04am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Really surprised at the negative reaction.. I liked this one a lot. Just a cool time travel plot with an nice character cameo, I found it fun.
Luke - Sat, May 23, 2015, 12:04am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

This episode, while nothing particularly special, is a truly welcome breath of fresh air after the slog through the first two seasons. I almost free like Dante emerging from the pits of Hell into the fresh, clean air of Earth at the end of the Inferno.

Crusher is back, thankfully replacing Pulaski for good. The updated uniforms give a sense of a new beginning. But, most importantly, gone is the over-whelming smugness and arrogance the main cast displayed in just about every episode up until now ("Q Who?" being a notable exception). It's nice to see these characters finally becoming a little humanized.

As for the episode itself - it's average, neither bad nor good. It's got a serviceable story with a passable guest star and good routine performances from the main cast. While the resolution seems rather rushed (the nanites inhibit Data and suddenly everything is fine within two minutes), it is nice to see TNG's main ethic of cooperation on display. It's much better than, say, "Peak Performance," where the concept of cooperation basically boiled down to the crew whining to the guest character that "you're not the boss of me," or "The Neutral Zone," where cooperation meant "shut up and don't be different than us!".

5/10
KoshNaranek - Sat, May 23, 2015, 12:03am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

I remember watching this late at night, UPN before bed time. Voyager did not age well. 12 year old me loved it, especially when Jeri Ryan showed up in her domme suit.

This episode is every bad Voyager plot device: shuttle crash, fun with time, paper thin villains that make Snidely Whiplash seem deep, awful modern day stereotypes (courtesy of plucky white science girl and the conveniently paranoid, racist redneck militia men, ridiculous level Treknobabble and a completely disposable plot line.

One good thing: the mobile emitter giving the Doc a means to leave his confining world, though its just waaay too convenient. I would have preferred they create dramatic tension from the Doc's limitations rather than simply remove the limitations. I liked the early vibes of the Doc teaching Kes medicine because of the very real need for on-site medical care during crises the doc couldn't perform. But no---magical 29th century armband, problem solved.
Grumpy - Fri, May 22, 2015, 8:06pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

Andy's Friend: "This can only be a statement of fact, based on what Starfleet thinks of itself in the 24th century..."

Or it can be a statement of UFP propaganda, and what Starfleet (and its members) thinks of itself could be a delusion.

Now, I'm not saying you're wrong. Not at all! I just think it's more interesting to imagine a more layered world beyond the narrow perspective the series gives us.
The Man - Fri, May 22, 2015, 7:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

It actually makes sense that Geordi and Leah would get together. At the end when they're talking you could see a connection and mutual attraction. Her marriage could have easily fallen apart and that future with Geordi and Leah is probably going to occur.
Elliott - Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

While I concur fully with AndysFriend, one does not need even to go as far in this case to wipe the "childish" argument off the table. SFDebris himself brought up Riker's point about combat skill being a "minor province" in the makeup of a Starfleet officer. He (SFD) used himself as an example where he mentioned that as a teacher, he was required to be licensed in CPR even though he never had to use those skills. Now, it may be essential that a teacher be a competent nurse when an extreme situation requires it, but is that teacher now a nurse? Of course not! Because his primary mission is to teach, even if that mission requires mastering tangentially related skills.

Starfleet is an organisation which is military-capable when the need for military action arises. A real military is an organisation whose primary mission is military action--securing, defending and/or expanding the sovereignty of its nation. Starfleet's mission is exploration. The point is the Federation does not believe in supporting a branch whose exclusive purpose is military action because the goals of any such organisation undermine the principles of its government. Practical contingency requires that the Federation be able to defend itself when the time requires it and Starfleet is the logical body to execute this contingency, just as your cellar might be the best place to hide during a tornado, but it is not therefore defined as a tornado shelter. It's your cellar where you keep your tools and your wine and, occasionally, hide from the storm.
Seven Of Nine - Fri, May 22, 2015, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

"I mean compared to Terry Farrell isn't just about everyone tinier and uglier?"

We believe otherwise.

Chris L - Fri, May 22, 2015, 12:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I TOTALLY agree Steve!

WTH is the point of a Prime Directive that allows entire species to die off?

Stupid in the extreme!

I didn't mind the episode as entertainment, but I really got hung up about the PD in this case and I'm irritated through the entire show because of the nonsensical nature of it's interpretation.

Like Jammer said originally... Beam the entire lot into space...
Del_Duio - Fri, May 22, 2015, 11:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

^^ "It should be noted that she was tiny and uglier too, which doesn't help the cause" ^^

Hahaha, oh come on you had some good points but you had to say this? I mean compared to Terry Farrell isn't just about everyone tinier and uglier?

The best actors of the main cast are for sure Odo and Quark, then next tier I'd say go to Kira and O'Brien / Julian.

As far as the secondary cast goes though, they were pretty much batting 1000 there. Garak, Dukat, Weyoun, Martok, Winn, Damar, Leeta..

No, not Leeta just kidding! She's super nice in person and goes way out of her way for Trek fans but she doesn't belong in that sentence.
Robert - Fri, May 22, 2015, 7:09am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Anytime she wears rank insignia before the S7 episode she's a Lt. Commander. Therefore Picard was correct and Riker was not. It's acceptable to refer to a Lt. Commander as "Commander". It's not acceptable to refer to her as "Lieutenant."
Tim - Fri, May 22, 2015, 4:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Did anyone notice how Picard addressed Troi as "Commander" and then later Riker addressed her as "Lieutentant"? She got a Commander rank in Season 7, but before that I never heard any mention of her having an official rank (other than in this episode).
zzybaloobah - Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:18am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

I second the comment about the interaction between Adama and Roslin.... it's so touching.
That and the scene a couple of eps. back where Laura calls Bill asking him to order her out of bed.
They've become like the old married couple without ever being the married couple.
It's been so subdued and so well done.
zzybaloobah - Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:06am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Regarding the Baltar worship "making no sense." Can one even say (regarding an aspect of BSG) "this makes no sense" with a straight face? God (aka the writers) want it so.

Not all the characters have descended into the cesspool. I trust Athena *completely*. Who's not human, but who's counting.

And while the show had religious themes from the beginning, there's a big difference: Initially, religious belief was a huge part, but direct intervention by "God/the gods" was not. The first "miracle" was "The Hand of God" -- and the simplest explanation at that time was that Baltar was a sleeper Cylon. "Kobol's Last Gleaming" started to have more "miraculous" elements, but it wasnt' until Season 3 that we started seeing the miracle-of-the-week.

Andy's Friend - Fri, May 22, 2015, 2:04am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

@Luke” "Picard's line that Starfleet is not a military organization just bugs the hell out of me. [...] We have an episode here that is about improving combat tactics for people who aren't in the military? "

@Grumpy: “[...] just assume Picard is an unreliable narrator. This, and his pronouncements about the Federation economy, are his opinions, not shared by all”.

I'll let the good captain himself answer:

PICARD: That's what this is all about. A lot has changed in the past three hundred years. [...]
[“The Neutral Zone”]

The thing is, Luke and Grumpy, you’re looking at it from a purely 20th century perspective. To *you*, *today*, it may seem that if an organization has armed vessels, uses a classic naval hierarchy, and conducts exercises meant to improve defensive capabilities, that organization must by definition be military. It makes perfect sense to think that today, because such is the reality today. But in a future in three hundred years, that may perfectly well not be the case.

The absolutely wonderful thing about Star Trek, and particularly TNG, is that it tells the story of a future which is not merely a continuation of the reality of today with improved technology, but actually with improved mentality as well.

You can claim that this is a Utopia. As I have written elsewhere here, it is clearly the way the Western world is heading, though. The trend is undeniable, unless one has no historical perspective whatsoever. Try comparing 2015 to 1915, and to 1815.

In 1815, the thought of many of the phenomena we observe, tolerate, respect, and protect in our societies two hundred years later would abhorr most, and be considered immoral by virtually anyone; only an infinitesimal fraction of progressive-minded people would even consider them as utopian. Two hundred years later, it’s increasingly becoming our commonplace reality.

The vast majority of people from 1815 would consider people in distant 2015 living the way we do immoral. Take a look at yourselves: do you consider yourselves to be immoral?

Just like many people today seem to consider Starfleet in the distant 24th century military...

It is absolutely clear in TNG that Starfleet does not perceive itself as a military organization. That is what matters, not your perception of things. And it’s not just Picard as “an unreliable narrator”, as Grumpy suggests. Let’s hear it from the droid:

DATA: Welcome to the Enterprise, Ishara. I am Commander Data.
ISHARA: You're not human.
DATA: I am an android.
(Ishara glances at him.)
ISHARA: Built for fighting...?
DATA (reacts): On what do you base that assumption?
ISHARA: A cybernetic device serving on a starship...
DATA: The Enterprise is not a ship of war. It is a ship of exploration.
[“Legacy”]

This can only be a statement of fact, based on what Starfleet thinks of itself in the 24th century: it is an organization of science, and diplomacy.

People really, really, really have to open up their minds, and stop applying anachronistic concepts to a future reality that is clearly depicted as being different. You simply have to step out of your reality. Here’s an example of what I mean:

CLEMENS: Oh? Well, I'm not so impressed with this future. Huge starships, and weapons that can no doubt destroy entire cities, and military conquest as a way of life?
TROI: Is that what you see here?
CLEMENS: Well, I know what you say, that this is a vessel of exploration and that your mission is to discover new worlds. That's what the Spanish said. And the Dutch and the Portuguese. It's what all conquerors say.
[...]
CLEMENS: Young lady, I come from a time when men achieve power and wealth by standing on the backs of the poor, where prejudice and intolerance are commonplace and power is an end unto itself. And you're telling me that isn't how it is anymore?
TROI: That's right.
CLEMENS: Well, maybe it's worth giving up cigars for after all.
[“Time’s Arrow, Part II”]

It doesn't get much clearer than this wonderful quote: it just isn't how it is anymore. A lot has changed in those three hundred years. So in the end, we’re back in “The Neutral Zone”:

PICARD: This is the twenty fourth century. Material needs no longer exist.
RALPH: Then what's the challenge?
PICARD: The challenge, Mister Offenhouse, is to improve yourself. To enrich yourself. Enjoy it.
Susie - Fri, May 22, 2015, 1:59am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Why is Picard leaning in so intimately with a woman during the poetry reading? I thought he didn't date on the ship.
eastwest101 - Thu, May 21, 2015, 11:35pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

At least they were trying to do something a bit different and original. A few scientific/logical flaws but the whole thing was saved by reasonable acting and other strengths highlighted by John Gs comments above.

More of a success than a failure for me, maybe even 3 out of four stars.
eastwest101 - Thu, May 21, 2015, 11:30pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

When this started I thought: "Gee - I wonder what they will do once they go through all the western cliches of the 'hangins', possies, saving the schoolteacher, jailbreaks, bar fight/standoffs and shootouts?"

Answer: Nothing at all. A hackneyed revisit of every cliche in the book of how to make a western without any humour, risk, intelligence or imagination. Zero stars.
sticky steve - Thu, May 21, 2015, 7:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

what an utter bore captain picard is. 1 and 2 season of tng is true star trek, the remainder is commercial filler. That is all.
Next »Page 1 of 986
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer