Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 21,204 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 849
sexy riker - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 6:57pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

this episode was an insult to star trek. they build a wooden spaceship, so how does it get into space ffs?

worst episode EVER!
Grumpy - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 3:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

"...regarding that early '90s dude in the corridor - WTF? Was that an inside joke?"

Pretty sure the same extra, wearing a similar if not the same outfit, appears in a couple other episodes. Enough to have made an impression.
Taylor - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 2:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Worth it to see Spiner do mean and angry. And no, it's not the same as Lore, it's another different performance from him.

Sirtis is indeed more convincing in this role than she was playing captain as Troi. Go figure.

And I'm with Phl regarding that early '90s dude in the corridor - WTF? Was that an inside joke?
Dave in NC - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 11:40am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@ DLPB

Once could argue that the people DOING the drugs are more responsible for the damage caused than the lady sneaking them across the border. Saying someone needs to be "put to death" for drug smuggling is an extreme overreaction, especially regarding the case you are discussing.

By the way, this isn't really the place to grind your political axes, especially when you are arguing the pros of "death by firing squad".
Y'know Somebody - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 11:34am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

@J
"It's not like Dan to take his own life,' is one of the more amusing comments in this episode.

Yeah, thanks. You know, Dan doesn't usually take his own life like that -- I'd say this is a first. "

Let's wait and see if he does it again.
Y'know Somebody - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 11:00am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

@dgalvan

Was Apollo really even near-omnipotent?

Extremely powerful, yes. But he didn't really have many powers that would qualify him for being even semi omnipotent. Did he?
Y'know Somebody - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 10:51am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Has no one else considered their dubious use of the Masaka-Korgano relationship as an analogy of the Sun-Moon relationship?

The Sun-Moon relationship is only applicable on planets like Earth. Forcing some establishing piece that the place the comet comes from also happened to have 1 moon would be rather out of place.

I feel they ought to have used some more... applicable dichotomy.
Andrew - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 9:01am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I also thought it was fun how Crusher, Troi and Riker had some fun with Picard about his omissions early on, not thinking of how it would make Vash feel, without going too far, not intending to make Vash feel bad and still respecting that Picard had a right if not some benefits from being more reserved.
John TY - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 8:57am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Entertaining in parts but some serious issues as others have mentioned.

Something else: As an Australian I find Kirk's comment about the British landing at Botany Bay - "Those men went on to tame a continent" - as dated at best. Such a western world mentality believing that a continent inhabited by a 40,000 year old culture needs taming. And then setting Kahn and his people on a world that hasn't asked for him tells us that colonialism is good; the locals are just savages that need to be taught how to live proper like.
Andrew - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 8:57am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

This episode was good but mostly because of Stewart's acting. Otherwise there was too little doubt or misdirection about how Satie (just that she had been right about a past dangerous conspiracy and that as a child she enjoyed family table debates) or the episode would turn out; there was a bit that Tarses lying about being descended from a Romulan was portrayed as real bad but it was predictable (yet really rushed) that the crew would then feel bad about being suspicious. Picard and Taylor objecting to surveillance or duty-reassignment to someone under suspicion if not likely lying felt very extreme given the stakes involved.
Andrew - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 8:41am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I disagree, I thought that Vash and her relationship with Picard were much better portrayed then in "Captain's Holiday," Q was a very well-done mix of malevolence, reluctant debt-settling and eventually attraction to Vash and that Vash and Q ended up together was surprising but worked. The Robin Hood sequences were pretty perfunctory, aside from the climax, but the cast still had and somewhat were fun.
Baron Samedi - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 7:32am (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Dance of the Mayflies

MWAH-HA-HA-HA-HA! This would have made a great MST3K episode. And what's up with the Than? They were one of the first signers of the new Commonwealth Charter, and now they won't even explain what's happening before trying to blow up Andromeda? Are they still part of the Commonwealth? Oh well, I guess all of the goofy, colossally over-the-top, utterly abysmal action was way more important than the answers to any these questions.
Dakota2063 - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 4:00am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

My only problem with this episode is the device itself. Every one seems content to keep calling it a cloak, but it isn't, it's a phasing device with the added benefit of being unable to be detected. I think this is a massive distinction. By the logic that it makes you undetectable, one could argue that the slip stream network the borg uses is a cloaking device, or if the federation ever found a way to travel through sub space instead of folding regular space, and since you can not be detected while in it, you are effectively cloaked and able to go about anywhere undetected.

it comes down to what is and what isn't a cloaking device. And we are never given a satisfactory answer to that.

Then you have to consider that cloaks are not necessary to to remain undetected. I know that cloaks look like they bend light around the vessel, thus creating the illusion of invisibility, I'm going to give the cloak the benefit of the doubt that it's also redirecting other sensors, as visuals are not really important in space when looking for visual signs of another ship tens to hundreds of KM away is impractical at best. But it's not hard to imagine the federation relying on the concepts of stealth and ECM to blind and confuse an enemy vessel. I wouldn't call those cloaks. Jam sensors, painting the ship with a more stealth space camouflage, active and passive sensor interference techniques, all things that could be done before the treaty was signed.

Then you have to wonder, what about holo projectors on a ship, disguising it as something else, while scrambling with sensors to give off false readings. Would that be considered a cloak?
And why have we only ever seen one type of cloaking of stealth device, when there are far more ways to accomplish the task.

And why was the federation not allowed cloaks, but the Romulans had no problems giving cloaking technology to the Klingons, who had far more conflicts with the Romulans then the federation ever did.

And how are cloaks effective. The best way to detect any vessel is to scan for a thermal shift in the background. No matter what you do, you can not stop being hotter then space, and the is not something that is very easily countered, either, because you have to actively scramble your enemies devices that can detect thermal energy. Not to mention, looking for impressions in the gravitational field generated by the masses of these vessels.

loved the episode, but it did leave me wondering why the federation couldn't have the phase "cloak" as it's does not work on the same principle of standard cloaking devices, and has whole new applications. What if the Phase device didn't fully cloak the vessel, could it be used then?

Of course, Picard revealing the existence of a working phase cloak might also have massive ramifications in the capabilities of Romulan war ships. Might explain why my Romulan ships now have phase cloaks in Star Trek Online.
Taylor - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 3:10am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Putting the typically unlikely whirlwind romance aside, my problem with this episode is the alleged fragility of the society. We're continually reminded everyone is wired to perfection, yet if a couple dozen people leave, everything is supposed to collapse? It doesn't make any sense. (And hello, this is Trek. Anyone remember Khan and The Space Seed? Genetic engineering led to supermen.)

Funny story: We were just watching this and my wife said what about the Prime Directive? And I said I don't think it applies to humans, which my wife disputed. And then Riker and Picard had a very similar conversation moments later.
Sean - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 1:35am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"You are trying to bolster your argument because of popular consensus ("everyone hates..."). Rights are not determined by majority opinion, but on judicial interpretation of principles."

No I'm really not. You're focusing on the one little part of the sentence, the "everyone hates" part and ignoring the actual point that I've been trying to make. The "everyone hates" part is an acknowledgement that most of the comments in this thread and about this episode in general around the internet that I've seen are against this particular episode. It's not an attempt to bolster the argument with peer pressure. As I just said, peer pressure is not a reason to adopt an argument.

"That's an interesting question. I don't have an answer for you, but the point is in fact that assuming the purpose of laws, etc. is ultimately the preservation of life is, well, an assumption. What do you base this assumption on?"

It is the purpose of law. At least our own law, now in the 21st century. And what little of the law we see in the Federation.

Basing morality on the preservation of life is the ultimate assumption you can make. That is, whatever you base your morality on, that is where the argument stops. Because there is nothing higher to appeal to, morality being something that we ourselves have made up for ourselves. And as we made it up for ourselves, we tend to value living as the base for morality.

"The Federation (and as Yanks pointed out, it does not yet exist in this timeline) believes in *seeking out* new life, not corrupting, destroying or tampering with it. The goal of Starfleet's exploration was to understand the Universe in which we live, not impose our sense of right and wrong upon it."

And that is a laudable goal. And yet they still, as I've said many times before, answer distress calls and cure diseases many times throughout Star Trek history. Because helping people who ask for help is not seen as tampering with life or imposing their own senes of right and wrong upon others. It is seen as the right thing to do.

I understand that the Federation doesn't exist yet in Enterprise, but we're talking about an episode that was supposed to be the forerunner to the Federation's prime directive. And yet the prime directive isn't used in the way this episode suggests.
Taylor - Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 12:09am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Wow - Troi literally gets mind f-cked.

The somewhat sanitized treatment of disturbing subject matter reminded me of the Quinn Martin cop shows of the '70s - with the villain a typical creep.

Worth it to see Worf's bitch slap at the end - just an open palm straight into his face. Hilarious.
Vylora - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 11:26pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

This episode as a whole is a definite step up from the previous one, but not without some balancing issues. Notably the Janeway/Seven scenario. Janeway was very much correct in that the humane thing to do was to try and get the injured Undine back home. Seven was also very much correct that the lives of the crew were of paramount importance if the Hirogen were to attack.

Fortunately, the writers chose the lesser-expected route of having Seven countermand the captain in having the aliens involved beamed away mid-battle rather than opening the rift. Unfortunately, though, instead of making it a grey-area decision; the plot followed along in a black and white matter. Where Seven was 100% correct and made Janeway look 100% foolish to the viewer (even though, technically, she was just as right). Now I understand it was just a series of events, and that, decisions such as those can lead to any possibility based on any given situation in life. I just don't know if the end result was purposely intended this way by the writers or if they didn't fully think it through. At the end of the day, it really does make it look like Seven was absolutely right and Janeway was, not only absolutely wrong, but stubbornly naive. Even though she wasn't. *sigh*

This makes it all the more frustrating for me, because, in retrospect, it almost seems as a major demerit from an otherwise great episode. It does seem like the writers fucked up again. Or maybe they didn't. Maybe they really DID want Seven to win the argument and save the day. And maybe the captain WAS correct, just the circumstances didn't allow her to be.

3.5 stars.

Y'know Somebody - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 7:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

@Chris Harrison

"You might be forgiven for coming away from this episode thinking: maybe Nikolai is right, maybe this was the right decision, in this case no cultural damage was done and adherence to the Prime Directive would have needlessly sacrificed these people.

But the more you think about, the more unforeseen consequences there will be for these people over the next hundreds or thousands of years.

For example, evolution by natural selection may not be discovered because all their hominid fossils would have been left behind on the old planet. What would that do for their culture? It could be absolutely devastating in the long run. "


You're right! They should have let them be absolutely devastated in the short run instead.

We should probably have a law like that, too. Whenever something bad might happen to someone eventually, we just summarily execute them! We can spare them hurt feelings in the long run!
DLPB - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 5:19pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

Drug smuggling is a serious offence that blights hundreds and thousands of lives. You clearly have no idea.

Drug smuggling kills a lot of people and it creates serious organized crime. It also ruins families and lives.

So no. It isn't excessive. You obviously haven't been the victim of it, and don't know anyone who has. Wake up.
Grumpy - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 5:07pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Pardon me for being dismissive. I cannot diagnose true trolling without knowing a poster's motivation. Film Crit Hulk "never met nor read a critic who write a piece one way or other for sole purpose of just trying to get rise out of people," but we know Internet commenters might. I have no way of knowing if Mr. Jordan is pulling such a stunt, but after reading his points one by one, I decided I could safely dismiss them all. Not because his conclusion challenges the conventional wisdom (I agree ST2 is overrated, and I've nitpicked its flaws) but because his reasoning is so far out that a point-by-point rebuttal would waste my time. Especially if it's a prank.
Grumpy - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 4:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Gary Mitchell, Charlie X, the Metrons, the Organians, the Melkots, the Excalbians. The Bajoran prophets.
dgalvan - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 4:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Anyone have a list of omnipotent (or near-omnipotent) characters in Star Trek (writ large)? I'm almost finished watching all of Star Trek via netflix (started with DS9, then Voyager, Enterprise, TOS, TAS, and finally TNG).

-Q (TNG)
-Kevin Uxbridge (TNG)
-Nagilum (TNG)
-Trelane (TOS)
-Apollo (TOS)

who else?
Josh - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 4:21pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I won't get hung up on star ratings, but as silly and non-sensical as this episode is, I've always enjoyed it. Of course, I was also younger than any of the "kids" in this episode when it first aired. Riker's technobabble dialogue never ceases to amuse and the "re-taking" of this ship in the face of laughably inept Ferengi is well staged and effected. Of course, that the ship was taken at all is problematic, but then this episode strikes me as "TNG for kids by kids" and on those terms it mostly works.

(And I'd rather watch it than boring duds like "Imaginary Friend", or much of the last (or first) season.)
Shaen - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 4:19pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

The main reason I didn't enjoy this one was because it seemed to be such an arbitrary story to try to develop Tom's character. As others have said, there have been plenty of instances in previous episodes where a crew member disobeyed orders and struck out on their own, yet each time it just led to a conversation between Janeway and Chakotay that included "What am I supposed to do, confine them to quarters? Throw them in the brig?". But somehow this time it was different. The Voyager writers had a lot of flaws, but the biggest one by far was their inconsistency.
Baron Samedi - Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 3:28pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Be All My Sins Remembered

wtf WAS that??!! My optimism about this show's potential has almost entirely faded at this point. Post Wolfe-Andromeda so far hasn't even been entertaining from a dumb action perspective. Tyr, once the show's strongest character, has been reduced to a wimp while Unstoppable Savior Dylan performs all the heroics. Bobby and Margot were awful characters. I howled with laughter when evil Bobby was revealed in his Dollar Store costume. If this (and the last two episodes) are representative of what's to come, then I can certainly understand why you stopped reviewing the show. What's sad is how much potential this show really had, and the regular supporting actors really do seem to be trying their best. The main cast was solid and the first half of Season 2 showed how the Andromeda could still be worth watching as an exciting action show with great character moments worked into the frey. This, by comparison, is an empty void in terms of character development and the long-term story (a potential interesting civil war being written off-screen in favor of a generic hostage scenario) in favor of bad acting, bad sets, bad costumes, bad dialogue, and cliched and terrible fight scenes. Hearing how much of a POS Kevin Sorbo is in real life (from his statements about atheists, Ferguson, etc) goes a long way towards explaining the collapse of this show following Wolfe's firing amidst his reign as exec producer. That all sounds a lot angrier than I actually feel - it's just a show, after all, and I more or less knew what to expect. But MAN, this is quite a sudden and drastic drop in quality, especially given all the potential this show really had going for it.
Next »Page 1 of 849
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer