Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,082 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,604
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I would say this is a decent example of a more low-key finale. I enjoyed the interactions between Janeway and Seven, even if they do confirm Seven has pretty much overtaken the show now. I mean, she is a good character and her relationship with Janeway is complex and itriguing, but still, even Data didn't get that much focus on TNG.

The fake out didn't reaaaally bother me, although it does feel regressive, especially since this season finally put some effort in giving the show a sense of progression.

Voyager trailers are legendarily horseshit, so Jammer probably should have known better, but it's not his fault the network people were being annoyingly dishonest either (no, all trailers don't lie). And I find "you just hate it cause it ain't DS9" people here pretty obnoxious.
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I acknowledge some of the criticisms here, but from childhood until now Arena is still one of my favorites. 4 out of 4
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

One of my all-time favorite episodes of all the series. Definitely a 4 out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Nacho
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I have just come to ENT in 2017. Despite it's bad previous reviews, I find the series quite good. Sure, a hero (and an Enterprise) before Kirk is somehow heressy to me but...

This time, I agree with those who said that Archer's spoken statement could have been less rude than "I musk kill you anyway". At least, I liked the detail of the unshaven, weary looks of him. Kind of visual indication of his stressed and somehow, remorsal state of mind.

I loved the final hearth - melting of T'Pol and the tasteful goodbye kiss. It was really touchy.

It was indeed a sad story but I believe that despite his short life span, Sim had a very, very intense one and it is at least a little consolation.
Set Bookmark
NineOfEleven
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I think it's safe to assume that some Delta Quadrant species explored & colonized space long before Voyager arrived by Caretaker; so why can't they already be somewhere tens of thousands of light years from home? The Talaxians had many years & generations to get to where Voyager drops off Neelix.

And if the Malons traveled thousands of light years 'back' to where Voyager was in "Night", they can certainly travel 'forward' as well.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

3 boring episodes played out like a Tom & Jerry cartoon, could have been one exciting episode
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.............
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Back to the abyss; that is; abysmal story arc. So boring not even Data can save it.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Almost perfect aftermath. The TPol marriage was clumsy, forced drama
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Linda,

We don't even have to guess about how benevolent Starfleet is or not in this situation. Just take a best/worst case scenario and see how each plays out. Worst case is Starfleet has no honorable intention and so therefore, yes, of course they could take the baby away since they administer on DS9 and can invoke security measures if they so desire. Best case is that Starfleet is entirely benevolent, in which case (just like a modern society) they would assume their science teams and xenospsychologists would do a better job than Odo in helping the baby to survive. All DS9 has is one doctor and one civilian Changeling who knows almost nothing about himself. Even if no one involved knew much of value Starfleet has better resources. If Odo showed signs of being unable to help the baby then it would be pretty automatic for Starfleet or the Federation to take the baby into their medical care. Since this is the best-case scenario I would suggest that it therefore doesn't matter whether Starfleet had benevolent intentions or not. The logic at either side of it would suggest that taking the baby away might be the best solution for all involved. I submit that by even giving Odo a chance they're demonstrating pretty fair intentions, all things considered.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Peter G.,

Certainly I don’t think the baby changeling belongs to Odo because Odo paid for it. Indeed I doubt that Odo was aware of the financial transaction, he was too distracted. I think it’s very telling that Sisko relays his message from “Starfleet”, the military arm, and not “the Federation”, the diplomatic arm. But who really has jurisdiction? According to my information, although Sisko commands DS9, the station actually belongs to the inhabitants of nearby Bajor. Perhaps we’ll need to consult with the prophets.

Then again, why bother? Starfleet apparently has carte blanche to do as it pleases. Obviously I’m not inclined to assume that Starfleet has a purely benevolent disposition in this matter. My historical knowledge of DS9 may be flawed, but I believe that “at this point in history” changelings have been identified as potential enemies, and I don’t think it’s unreasonable to think this fact would be considered in this matter.

When Quark offered to sell Odo what Quark believed to be a dead changeling, Quark, as presumably a sales ploy, suggested that the Founders would definitely be interested in acquiring it. Why Odo would be interested in purchasing a dead changeling, I never had time to contemplate, since Odo immediately identified it as alive.

As a live and sentient being, one would presume that the baby would naturally be returned to its family. But it was also almost immediately identified as having been cast aside by the Founders in an effort to gauge how another race treats the weak and vulnerable. Personally I think it says a lot more about the Founders that they would cast a baby out in such a manner. And it would therefore seem doubtful that the Founders would be first choice when looking out for the best interests of this baby. (This may be “unsubstantiated speculation”, but I think we’re to believe it’s true. Odo is the one who says it and as far as I know he’s usually a trustworthy source.)

It is my (perhaps incorrect) understanding that shapeshifters such as Odo are rare among humanoids: to the extent that it was only by trial and error that Dr. Mora had any success with Odo. As per Odo’s statements, some of Mora’s procedures were painful, intrusive and pretty much worthless. Therefore Mora’s assistance to Odo about techniques to use on the baby was based on limited knowledge: if it worked on Odo, then it would therefore work on this baby. I would question this assumption. Odo and the baby were of the same species yes, but each had its own unique circumstances and this baby had recently been treated for (insert techno-babble here) and was still under a doctor’s (Bashir’s) care.

If I’m right that shapeshifters were unique in the humanoid world, I would assume that there would be limited options of who would or could best look after such a baby. Was there anyone else in the entire Federation who had first-hand knowledge and dealings with changelings, other than Odo and/or Mora? To my knowledge, no. It is possible that because of his painful recollections of his early experiences with Mora, Odo may have been too tentative in his dealings with the baby. And perhaps the two acting in tandem might have been the best course. Maybe. We’ll never really know the roads that we did not travel.

I have the feeling that the major difference between your view and mine is that you’re more certain of the benevolence of Starfleet than I am. With all due respect to Gene Roddenberry, from what I’ve observed in ST, I’m more skeptical. Or maybe that’s just my nature.

If it’s your point, that Starfleet dictated the fate of the changeling, I agree with you 100 percent. Whether Starfleet would necessarily have acted in the best interests of the baby changeling is, I think, a very different question. Sisko makes it very clear early on Starfleet’s agenda:

SISKO: How long before it is able to take humanoid form?
ODO: Several months. Why?
SISKO: Well, there's still a lot we don't know about your people. The changelings could provide Starfleet with invaluable information about the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

What a rush! From the Xendi to the altered time WW2 plot, Enterprise has been quite a ride for sci fi buffs lately. Love it ! Keep it coming!
Set Bookmark
mefive
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Archer is dead. Archer is dead. .... yeah right. Who you think is watching? 3 year olds?
Set Bookmark
Pleasure Gelf
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

spoiler...

Picard writes a message to the future Enterprise crew by using an iron filing to etch it in Data's cranium .... in BINARY?

Sorry Star Trek, you couldn't suspend my sense of credibility any further than that point.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Another example of a TOS episode piecing together ideas from prior episodes: "The Paradise Syndrome" as William B. mentioned, but also a bit of "The Return of the Archons" for the computer controlled society. Some interesting twists on those themes but, by and large, nothing new here.
McCoy's romance with Natira doesn't work - it makes sense to have McCoy get this opportunity but Kelley doesn't do the part justice. Natira wasn't too convincing either.
I liked the romantic music for Natira/McCoy which is also used in "The Empath" for Gem. TOS had some wonderful musical scores.
What also doesn't work for me is how McCoy has 1 year to live so I guess he goes along with the idea of marriage and living on Yonada but then a cure is found in the extensive library behind the Oracle and then there's no more romance.
I think the episode has a good premise -- the Creators building Yonada to escape the destruction of their solar system some 10000 years ago. But it goes off course etc.
I don't know why the Oracle decides to heat the room when the Big 3 violate it instead of using electrocution again -- this miscalculation gives Kirk & Co. time to get the book etc. So it's somewhat convenient how this leads to solving the problem as everything else falls into place nicely.
I'd give this a strong 2 stars, nearly 2.5 -- seems like this episode dropped the ball a few times, unused potential.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Geordi is sure fixated on beard growth on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Trevr Darling
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Are the holograms in a holographic mine, or do they have mobile emitters...?
Set Bookmark
TheMechanic
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

TNG is my series (unlike Jammer and other people who post here) but I agree with almost everything here. Aside from all the plot weakness I do want to chime in to point out what a hideous episode this is to look at. The Klingon ships are ugly by design, but both Romulus (which have we seen before at this point?) in unbelievably boring. We're either in gray caves or beige boring restaurants and offices. Even the space bar isn't all that interesting. Not sure what happened on the production design on this one.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

"Day of the Dove" is an OK episode - some non-corporeal alien that feeds on hatred and violence creates situations for Klingons and the Enterprise crew to fight. Kind of reminds me of "Wolf in the Fold" where an alien feeds on fear.
Hard to know where to draw the boundaries between what the alien can conjure up and what it can't. It pulled off some pretty incredible feats, but ultimately is defeated once the Enterprise crew and Klingons stop fighting.
In any case, the message behind this episode is the strength of it -- the need to find peace, war can get you nowhere, and how difficult it is come to peace when indoctrinated to be at war.
Ansara as Kang does a solid job - like Colicos doing Koor in "Errand of Mercy" which established the truce between the Klingons and the UFP.
The Enterprise crew (other than Kirk and Spock - for the most part) are forced to act out of character due to the alien - so this actually proves to be a negative to this episode as opposed to one where their character develops -- like Scotty telling Spock "Transfer out. Freak!"
My rating: 2.5 stars -- some interesting situations to demonstrate a simple but difficult message to enact. It is a bit hokey though and heavy-handed in delivering its message.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

The best part of this episode was the spooky atmosphere - the red skies, half finished buildings, the background hum -- it did an excellent job of putting the crew in a surreal situation where they need to figure out a solution. Whether it is lack of budget (highly likely) or by design -- it worked.
I thought the guest actors playing the Earps etc. were convincing in their steadfast desire to kill Kirk & Co. Chekov acts unprofessionally but his death does give a clue to the solution of mind over matter.
It's always a bit awkward when Kirk & Co. get put into a contrived situation due to the incredible powers of some alien but it's all to tell a story and this one is not a bad one. The pacing is slow and it does drag on a bit, but it ultimately a test from the Melkotians -- as another commenter mentioned, similar to "Arena".
Makes "sense" how Spock arrives at the solution - evaluating how things have happened and how the laws of reality aren't being observed.
Agree with Jammer's 2.5 stars rating - not a bad hour of Trek but not a great one either. A contrived story but one with a reasonable solution that seems to add up.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

The other part of Gene's vision for the future was rejecting materialism. Odd that Star Trek conventions and comic-cons tend to be orgies of merchandising. Many fans don't seem to get bent out of shape about this. Mr. Roddenberry certainly didn't have a problem with merchandising and yet we have a continent of plastic floating in the ocean.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

"The Borg obviously have very very easy ways to do away with that. There is nothing that suggests even remotely plausibly that it won't happen again here the second "Hughes" is reconnected to the Hive. "

In BOBW the Borg "interdependency" was described as their achilles heel. It was stated that if one jumped off a cliff so too would all of them, which is how Data defeated them.

I infer from this that there is a distinction to be made between being "assimilated" by the Borg and *being* a borg. The assimilation process purges individuality and makes you a borg. Once you are a borg, you are, by definition, *all* borg hence the use of "we" rather than "I".

The point being, when Hugh rejoined the collective, he was not "assimilated" - rather he became the borg (and the borg became him) once more. So his individuality became part of the collective. To the extent Hugh was now an individual, so too was the collective and all Borg within it.

Of course I agree with others that there is something a little too easy about this, and indeed, the whole computer virus plan. It defies belief that the borg could have such an obvious weakness. Yet to be fair, the way in which Data defeated the Borg in BOBW was itself unbelievable. Heck it was even stated that subsystems like defence and power were protected by firewalls but the borg did not bother protecting their regeneration subsystem? Ridiculous.

I know this isn't the point of the episode and we are meant to presume that the virus would succeed but come on!

In any event I do agree with Picard's ethical decision. Funny enough it reminds me of the movie "It Comes at Night" which I just saw. Without providing a spoiler that movie, in my view, poses a similar ethical dilemma at the end which poses the very real question of whether or not survival can really be enough if it compromises our humanity. By the end of that movie, suffice it to say, I came to the conclusion that sometimes survival isn't the be all end all.

Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Linda,

I'd like to offer a different perspective on the issue of whether Starfleet ought to be able to take custody of the baby Changeling. Your premise seems to be that the Changeling is a living being rightfully under the guardianship of Odo, and that taking it away would be equivalent in some way to taking away a parents' child purely for strategic reasons. That is a dangerous thing to consider, but I don't think that's the case here.

Why should we assume the Changeling in any way belongs to Odo? It literally wasn't his offspring, and he cannot legally claim it's his unless it's a piece of property that he bought. Since Changelings are accepted as being sentient it follows that Odo can't just lay claim to a stray Changeling he finds any more than I can simply stake a claim to a stray child I find wandering on the street. As an abandoned child/life form Starfleet (or the Federation) no doubt has rules about how to place the being in foster or medical care, how to determine who its parents are if possible, and how to establish good care for the child. In the case of a Changeling baby we sort of know who its parents are and why it's been sent away from them, but the fact that Sisko and Odo happen to know the practice of the Founders in sending off their young doesn't have anything to do with Federation law. The rules don't cease to apply just because Odo has some insider knowledge about where the baby came from. The fact is that Odo ought to have had no right whatsoever to take the baby under his care unless granted as dispensation by the Federation to act as a foster parent, which is apparently what happens in the episode. But since he isn't trained for that his only qualification is being the same species, which isn't trivial but also clearly isn't enough, as we see since he has to go to Mora for help. Basically Odo had no business taking on that task, and in all seriousness I think Starfleet was rather fair in giving him a chance to do so since he requested it. Wanting to make sure the Changeling's development is on track isn't just a matter of the strategic necessity of seeing their asset taken care of; they would have the same concern (albeit probably not to the same extent) to make sure *any* foster child is growing properly and being well-nourished. If they felt that Odo was failing to help the baby grow and develop there is a real social work concern there, even aside from the fact that it's a Changeling. If it was a human parent and their foster child wasn't growing the Federation would probably take it away in that situation as well to give to qualified specialists.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Dagger of the Mind: Mentions a Christmas party

Balance of Terror: Wedding in the ship's chapel

The Ultimate Computer: M-5 says murder is contrary to the laws of man and God

McCoy: Always spouting "What in God's name?"
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@Linda

To be honest, I don't think Starfleet's rights/interests in the Changeling were very pronounced in this episode. Trek already did a show about Starfleet pressuring the monitoring of a life, and that's TNG's "The Offspring". This isn't that kind of show, though it does take notes from it as well as notes from "I, Borg", "The Abandoned" and others.

Sisko's pressure on Odo is really just a catalyst to get Odo to see that Dr. Mora wasn't such a bad guy, and that his methods, while objectively cruel, were at least humanely reasonable given Mora's circumstances. Whether Odo could fight Starfleet or would fight Starfleet is never addressed, so it's really up to the viewer's imagination how that would play out. Though, I can't imagine it being as bad as the pressure Dr. Mora got from the Cardassians.

In the end, were Odo's results quick enough (assuming the Changeling didn't "die")? That's not a question that's answered, but it does seem like a breakthrough was made that would at least justify Odo/Mora's position of custody.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,604
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.