Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 37,595 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,504
Set Bookmark
DLee
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 4:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Nice to still see Jammer's reviews available online. I read these when they were published on USENET (anyone know what that is?? hahaha)

While I've watched these 2 episodes a few times before, I had forgotten James Worthy had guest starred. Nice to see him in there. At 6'9" tall, he towered over Worf. I thought Worf was around 6'5'?? But he looked awfully small.

Overall, this was entertaining. I'd give it at least 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

Wow, did not know Kip helped out on Contact too! That's news to me!

Glad to have one scientist out there bringing his work to the masses!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Seeing the Odyssey get blown up must have been really terrifying to watch when this ep first aired back in the day, basically making the statement "If that had been Picard instead of Keogh, and the Enterprise-D instead of Odyssey, the ship still would have been lost with all hands" and establishing the Jem'Hadar as a credible threat without having to explicitly say much. Showing, not telling.

Yeah, that was definitely a well-done starship destruction scene. If it had to be done, do it like that. Star Trek Discovery, take note.
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Loved it one of Voyager's best and I hear Picardo's favorite ep as well.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

Good, solid, fun TOS episode. The plot overreaches perhaps just a bit, short-changing the developing sparks between Elaan and Kirk in favor of a neat Klingon battle that is drawn out a little too long. But I would give this one a solid 3/4 stars, if not 3 1/2 stars, because of the amusing battle of wills between the ever-diplomatic Kirk and the charismatic Elaan.

France Nuyen, the Vietnamese-French actress from several Hollywood classics, makes a strong impression here as the first Asian woman to play the main guest role on a Trek episode. There's an undeniable energy to her performance that sustains interest in the somewhat placid pacing of the episode. All of the regular actors, from Shatner down to Majel Barrett, feel very comfortable in this one -- nicely underplaying their parts with an easy chemistry that has really matured by this point in Season 3.

I enjoy both parts of the episode, namely the diplomatic crisis half (primarily centering around Elaan's friction with everyone on board) and the tactically driven (TOS is a throwback to the days when Trek space fights involved actual strategy rather than technobabble pyrotechnics) Klingon battle half, which tie together through the espionage plot. The A/B plot with a connecting link here actually foreshadows the way DS9 and other later Trek shows would often script their episodes. My only complaint is that, in this case, the drawn-out Klingon battle unfortunately pulls our attention away from Elaan's character a bit sharply -- it's much more jarring here than in the shorter battle sequence and spy plot that interrupts the diplomatic mission/interpersonal crisis in "Journey to Babel." And as fun as it is to see the Enterprise in a strategic dogfight with a Klingon warship, it's not as compelling as the Elaan-Kirk dynamic that it pushes to the background. But that's a small gripe in an otherwise engaging episode of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

In regards to the comments towards Sisko's somewhat hotheaded decision to pull a phaser and confront the Vorta, rather than hatching an ingenious plan to feed the spy false information - I think it's worth bearing in mind that he had just watched the Odyssey blow up right in his face, and he knew that that ship and its entire crew had basically given their lives to rescue him, a mission which he'd just found out was basically unnecessary as he had meant to be set free all along. He was furious and obviously very upset, as was the entire rescue team who watched the suicide run, so his first reaction was probably to just go in, all guns blazing. In Spock's words, he was 'emotionally compromised' so didn't have the leisure of forming intricate plans to ensnare the spy. I thought Kira delivered an amazing performance in the scene where she and Julian watch the Odyssey explode, you can see the raw horror in her face and her eyes brimming with shocked tears.

That being said, it was pretty gut wrenching having to watch a Galaxy-class starship being destroyed just like that. Point taken, but lawd that was painful. Also I have to agree with some of the former comments here - I liked Keogh too, wish he hadn't died. It would have been nice to see some more of him.

All told this is an episode I enjoy rewatching, but mainly for the denouement scene and the destruction of the doomed Odyssey. The irony of the ship's name is not lost on me..
Set Bookmark
Grumpy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

Z: "(thanks, Kip Thorne and Caltech!)"

For the record, Kip Thorne is also acknowledged in Contact (the original novel) for conceiving of the wormhole transportation network.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

As I recall, Jaffkin only said he didn't have a father. Why would that automatically mean they can't reproduce the same way as every other race? It could easily be a cultural or political circumstance. Maybe his race has a bunch of single moms with test tube babies. Maybe he was birthed in a creche with nannies and not parents. Considering how hostile certain groups have been toward the nuclear family in the Western world, I can easily see some hypothetical political body decreeing that henceforth all babies will be spawned instead of born.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

Just re-watched this; have to agree with every word of this review. This movie blows Contact out of the water on a giant wave as far as I'm concerned. I also appreciate that this movie is based on real science most of the time (thanks, Kip Thorne and Caltech!) and stays as realistic as possible in that regard, especially the black hole and wormhole moving away from traditional depictions of such as a funnel in space. Some of the visuals - the giant waves, the black hole, the docking scene - man it just blows me away every time I rewatch!

Soundtrack deserves special mention here - Hans Zimmer blows it away again. Especially during the giant wave scene - that scene was my favorite of the entire movie thanks in part to just the soundtrack!!

When I watched it with my dad, he liked all of it except for the bootstrap paradox of Cooper manipulating his own timestream bit which he didn't understand. I told him, "Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey. Just go with it."
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Ezri is a terrible character.

She's a young adult, who gets on like an absolute child. The hell is she doing as a lieutenant, and a counsellor on a station??
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 4:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

Another mediocre episode for me after "Who Mourns for Adonais?". Just a lot of silliness with Scotty being killed then brought back to life, part of Uhura's memory being wiped out and her learning to read basic English again, Spock mind-melding with a computer...
The premise of an old Earth probe being damaged and turned into an ultra-powerful killing machine that adopts Kirk as its creator is interesting. As Nomad starts to piece together its next move (killing off the crew and heading for Earth while starting to disobey Kirk) works, however the story is slow paced, it does drag as if it was a struggle to fill the full hour.
I do agree with many of the comments already made that of all the instances where Kirk convinces a computer to destroy itself, this one's probably the most well done.
This one rates 2/4 stars for me. Very much a true science fiction story which has its silly quirks.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I am all for slagging off season 1 and 2 episodes but ,for me, this episode shone as a beacon for what TNG could be.
It transcended the sterility of/ poor execution of ideas that permeates all that preceeded it.
I cannot accept Jammer's rating -this was massively better than Elementary Dear Data for example.
Of course one can be critical of aspects of the plot-Troi flinging herself at Riva, the intrusive interrogation of Worf's feelings in the transporter room( which has no plot purpose whatsoever), the single laser blast conveniently killing all the chorus members but these are nitpicking points.
Troi really did do well in this story.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 2:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

What pussies these crews are.

Poor episode.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Though I can't stand the character, Neelix taking over Tuvok's room and getting some Klingon poontang was hilarious. Although, it would be out of character, I would have loved for Tuvok to flashback to the time when he was strangling the Neelix facsimile in the holodeck. That would've been a welcome bit of continuity to laugh about.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I remember my headcanon when this episode first came out. The Trill started out as horrible monsters who enslaved the local population of humanoids. As their culture evolved, they became uncomfortable with the ethics of total slavery, and genetically engineered humanoid bodies that were just automatons. After many centuries of cultural evolution, a modern Trill would rather die than enslave a sentient being, but that doesn't change the fact that by nature they are horrible monsters designed to infest and mindrape and enslave.

That was my headcanon, anyway. The DS9 retcons probably open up far more complex identity stories than what I came up with. My version only allows for a few stories about a noble people with an incredibly ugly history and cultural guilt, and physical requirements that make even their workaround somewhat morally grey.
Set Bookmark
Chris Harrison
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

@Quincy

In the first part of your analysis, you complain that Lineage is bad because it's not sci-fi. You then go on to define two tropes of the sci-fi genre: "science" and "far reaching implications" of ideas.

The problem with your analysis, is that Lineage ticks both of those boxes. The genetic manipulation angle is definitely science. And the implications of that genetic manipulation and how far a mother could take it, is definitely a "far reaching implication" in my book.

I think what you are really complaining about, is not that it isn't sci-fi (which it definitely is) but that it's not action-adventure (a genre Trek has only ever nominally belonged to).

The rest of your comment is just incoherent rambling. Especially your half-formed rant about something to do with rape and sexual equality.
Set Bookmark
Kned
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster


1.5 stars

2.5 base minus one half for annoying children, and another half for a woman giving birth.

Its only because im feeling generous that i dont knock another half off for the singing
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

What breaks this episode for me is that Bashir would go from reanimating his coma patient on day 0, to putting the moves on her on day 2, that makes no sense. It's repulsive that his character couldn't control himself.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This episode was atrocious.

To start with, Elliot says that, "an example of plain old bad drama/fiction is one in which the story obsesses over its genre." I submit that another example of bad genre fiction is one in which the story obsesses over its characters, to the exclusion of other necessary elements. Soap opera comes to mind if you need a tangible example. We have genres because there are other elements besides characters that are as important as the characters. All of these elements, like setting, plot, etc have to come together to make a quality work.

In particular, the science in sci fi is its own character, similarly to whatever elements comprise other genres, like romance, adventure, fantasy, etc. Sci fi, therefore, has to be about more than just meeting interesting characters. I can and have done that at a train station or an airport. Sci fi as a genre is about ideas and the far reaching implications of those ideas, not only as they relate to characters, but the universe at large. And it has to be respected as its own character. In other words, it is not merely a vehicle that the characters are driving to get where they're going; it is the driver of that vehicle, a character all its own, who along with the characters in the story are all traveling to some hopefully wonderful place. All the good stories of any genre that I've ever witnessed treated their individual fields of endeavor with the utmost respect and shine as a result. This episode was Soap Opera and very bad Sci fi.

B'Elanna had a relatively tame childhood bullying experience and also her father was seriously derelict in his fatherly responsibilities. Boo hoo. And for that she's goes waaaaay overboard with issues that should've been largely addressed in that episode where B'Elanna was split into human and Klingon halves that had to work together and come to terms.

It's amazing the level of double standards that come out of Jammer's reviews. Whenever Harry gets any late series development, it's too little too late. Whenever 7 goes through some issues, it's we've seen this before. Here magical thinking concludes "'Lineage' gets very right... its single-minded focus on what's important" i.e. B'Elanna's old, tired, raggedy ass struggles with her Klingon heritage. If "Barge" wasn't sufficient enough to deal with this same old tripe, how many episodes of this garbage do we have to sit through before I can see some light at the end of the tunnel? This isn't character development; it's wallowing in "maudlin" self-absorption.

The thing that really burns me up about this episode is this emotionally challenged heifer mind rapes the Doctor. He doesn't even chastise her about it. That was so out of character it was utterly ridiculous. In any other episode the Doctor would've been outraged. Similar to when those hostile holograms mind raped him with their memories or when Janeway tampered with his memories. Here he just lets her slide totally off the hook with an "apology accepted." Then at the end she asks him to be her godfather, to which he eagerly accepts. WTF?!?

The current movie Passengers was called "justification of stalking" by many critics. I bet you many of those same people wouldn't have a problem with this episode, since the Doctor isn't female. No matter that he was mind raped by someone he probably trusted as a friend and definitely needs to rely on as one of the few crew members who can understand and repair his holo-matrix. No. They'd probably say the same crap I see above. They were "moved by the powerful acting." And "as a woman, I was very moved in the final scenes." Not to mention, "I also absolutely loved the ending, it nearly made me sob!"

It's just disgusting how the Doctor is treated. He's a sapient being. He has rights and deserves respect. But constantly the crew craps all over him. If it weren't for the fact that he'd be off the show, I'd want him to have become the leader of the holograms in Flesh and Blood after killing Iden. At least then, he could live among people who wouldn't automatically treat him as less than an autonomous individual. And then they could forge whatever society they wanted, like Iden's original plan.

I agree with Shakaree. 30 days in the brig sounds about right. And the Doctor should've never forgiven her for what she did, let alone be the godfather for her baby.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Matt: "The episode lost you in the teaser? But it set up the major plotlines of Data reads poetry and Riker has sleep apnea. Soon after, Worf gets a haircut!"

You joke, but I think the nature of this opening--shipboard life, nothing too exciting happening--actually does provide a good pad for the developing weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Gerry Valenzuela
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 4:43am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Sexist and passive-aggressive homphobic as well. So much has changed in the past decade. I can't believe that there never was a gay character portrayed in any of the five series that was supposed to depict our shared utopian future. I feel the same way when there is some crime on one of the starshps in the series and that there is no video evidence. Our primitive 7/11s have better criminal surveillance than Starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 2:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Yeah, this story is just kind of a mess. I get the metaphor they were going for, but the way they went about it just didn't work. I'm glad DS9 retconned the heck out of the Trill, changing them into a workable race.
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 1:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Jay Chattaway titled the closing cue to this episode: M55 Rev -- End To Pathetic Episode.

I think that pretty much says it all.
Set Bookmark
Cajun
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

The spy thing is an interesting inverse of the episode where Troi has to smuggle some rebels to Romulus.

The discussion about irony reminds me of conversations I've had with British people. They seem curiously obsessed with irony and act oddly superior about Americans being relatively literal minded.
Set Bookmark
Sisko Kid
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

This love for the execrable Voyager mystifies me. Best writing? DS9, hands down.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,504
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.