Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 21,280 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 852
Ospero - Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 12:29am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Jack: You have to take the fear quote in its entirety - "we do not fear you the way you fear us". The changelings' fear of solids lacks the element of paranoia that serves as this two-parter's undercurrent. They fear the outsider that wants to destroy what it perceives as a threat, not the infiltrator who can put on a familiar face and never drop it until it's too late.
Greg - Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 12:22am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

Straight up 4 stars for me. One of the most underrated episodes of the series. Quality from beginning to end - strong acting, perfectly paced, solid FX. Dukat taking a Bird of Prey is also a creative twist on both the character and the series' mythos. Maybe it's because it reminds me of ST3, but having characters commandeer an enemy ship is a great way to add stakes and shake up the foundation a little. It's one of my favourite sub-plots in the series.
Greg - Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 12:13am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

@Nonya:

No. LGM is one of the worst episodes of the series and easily the worst of S4. At least "The Muse" has a semblance of something going on. "LGM" is just a 35-minute gag that goes on far longer than it should (I dig Nog's farewell ceremony, so the first ten minutes are tolerable).
Greg - Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 12:06am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

This episode was very well done -- right up to the actual assault on the base, which was laughably executed. I don't recall the details of the TNG Iconian episode, but did it dampen their phasers then too? Regardless, the broad daylight mad rush with Jem'Hadar swords was a poor choice for a climax and plays like the writer had pre-knowledge of an FX budget limit. I don't know whether phaser battles or choreographed fights are more cost intensive, or even if it works like that, but I do know the whole affair felt anti-climactic and silly.

A lot of my criticisms have already been stated in this thread, but I have one I'd like to add: Sisko taking a wound to protect the Jem'Hadar First and the exchange that followed. Did they have mere minutes to wrap up shooting or something? Talk about stilted and perfunctory.

3 1/2 stars had the climax at all lived up to the tension that preceded it. Instead, a disappointing 2 1/2.
Domi - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 11:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I agree with the 2-star rating, but not the actual review. I like the very beginning with O'Brien, Sisko, and Jake, and I also like the Odo/Quark scenes. The rest was either cliche ridden, cartoonish, or too much like TNG's Disaster.
Grumpy - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 11:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I think I agree with Katie. But I also agree with Elliott. Therefore, by the Transitive Property of Grumpy, Katie and Elliott agree with each other.
Elliott - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 9:43pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I have to say, you can bite me. I am one of at least half a dozen other commentators on this site giving their own reviews in the comments section. We are all grateful to Jammer for providing this space and I'm sure a webmaster as diligent and thorough as he would have policed out any sort of "hijacking" by now.
Katie - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 9:29pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I have to say, I think it's kind of uncool to hijack Jammer's review pages to publish your own, lengthy, and unsolicited reviews. If you feel so strongly about these episodes and have long-winded opinions about them that you wish to share, why don't you start your own Trek reviews site?
navamske - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 9:03pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

@HolographicAndrew

"The one thing I'll give to this one is, at least they didn't just happen to bump into historical figures like Time's Arrow."

As we all know, ST:TWOK, ST:TSFS, and ST:TVH became a trilogy without the producers' intending that. I thought it was cool that they almost came full circle, because Khan was alive when the crew was looking for whales in 1986. Kirk could have said, "Hey, let's bump off Khan while we're here and none of this shit will ever have happened."
Ardent - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 6:28pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

DS9 SPOILERS AHEAD



Something I haven't seen addressed that I thought was interesting (given the references in the review to DS9) was the use of Robert Foxworth as V'Las. If you recall the other role he played in Trek: Admiral Leyton in DS9's Paradise Lost and Homefront.

In both that 2-parter and this 3-parter, he plays a leader who takes matters into his own hands and performs a false flag attack on his own people to solidify his control/authority. And while there are real threats to his people out there, Andorians and Changelings, he magnifies their apparent threat for his own purposes.

There are other parallels in his methods as well, though the Founders made up both the local and external threats in DS9, the Syrrannites in this existed to bring the threat home as it probably would have been much harder to hide a bunch of Andorians in the desert.

I just thought that there were interesting parallels between the two sets of stories, utilizing the same actor. I don't mean to offer any opinion on the effectiveness of the stories or Leyton vs V'Las as characters.
Elliott - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 6:03pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"Basing morality on the preservation of life is the ultimate assumption you can make. That is, whatever you base your morality on, that is where the argument stops. Because there is nothing higher to appeal to, morality being something that we ourselves have made up for ourselves. And as we made it up for ourselves, we tend to value living as the base for morality."

That's a perfectly valid opinion, but it is not a fact. Many people, religious and otherwise, see physical life as being something less than the highest order of existence to which we can appeal. Your reasoning and philosophy is very...18th century. Not that this is a negative criticism, but it is rather confined.

" Because helping people who ask for help is not seen as tampering with life or imposing their own [sense] of right and wrong upon others. It is seen as the right thing to do."

Except when it isn't. It most certainly is not ALWAYS shown as being the right thing, otherwise debates over the Prime Directive would never occur.
Eli - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 6:02pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

In regards to the comment Kieran made that the doctor was being pardoned due to his innate fallibility:

I thought the doctor was being pardoned because it was evident that he was a sentient hologram saving other sentient holograms. Janeway pardoned him because she felt it would have been like judging another life from for wanting to saving his or her own life forms. I interpreted this to be the moral quandary.

But that was only my interpretation and I'm not certain that was the intended meaning. This point was not clear in the episode.

It also wasn't clear (to me) to what degree the doctor was aware that he was putting the Voyager at risk. It would have been helpful had this been more clear in the episode. It makes the doctor look unnecessarily bad that things got so dire for Voyager after the sentient holograms tried to defend themselves (from Voyager).

All and all, it was an interesting episode with some very effective scenes containing very apt dialogue. The dialogue between the doctor and the leader of the sentient holograms was a highlight.
DLPB - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 5:43pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Major? She's be lucky not to be thrown into jail after that. Tired of this GI Jane.
Eli - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 4:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Great episode.

Outstanding use of characters. Very intelligent ensemble drama, with great use of flashbacks.
Corey - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 4:01pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Wow, surprised no one likes this one; I thought it was excellent.
Robert - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 3:56pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Elliott makes a good point. Male activists point to the fact that edge case women cannot achieve physically what edge case men can in sports and since this is true you'd be foolish to assume there aren't other differences and those differences must be the reason men make contributions to most fields at an incredible rate.

Except correlation != causation and just because you can prove a physical disparity between the sexes and achievement in sports does not mean that there is a mental disparity that causes the achievement gap in other things. Quite literally the deck has been stacked against women.

And as for the physical side... well it's amazing what testosterone will do for most athletes....
Elliott - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 3:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

You'd also be hard-pressed to find the female Pol Pot, McCarthy, Hitler or Stalin, wouldn't you?

The reason males dominate the upper echelons of our society is that our society's parameters for greatness (be it benevolent or otherwise) has been defined by men. The deck is stacked because the historically dominant sex has conditioned our society to view its own gender's superior attributes as universally superior.
Jim - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 2:26pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I watched most of the TOS as a kid back in the 1960's when they originally aired on a B&W TV, no less. Color of the shirts were shades of gray!

While I watched all the TNG episodes as they aired, I missed quite a few of the DS9's due to not having the channel where I lived and no cable. I just watched the DS9 tribbles episode this years and loved it - definitely a must see for all the old school trekkies! I can over look the minor gaffs and inconsistances purely for the nostalgia! I only wish there was a trek series still being made in 2014 - c'mon Paramount - time for a new series! BTW, the HD remastered TOS series looks great - now you can clearly see those stunt doubles! Hah hah. The space scenes look like they would've if they would have had the technology. Bravo!
Robert - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 2:22pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Well I answered the Federer question.

To quote me "I'm not going to argue you on some of the more physical things. Women athletes typically do not hold a candle to the male ones."

A male in the top .0001% of physical power is clearly going to be a superior athlete to anyone else in any field of athletics that does not largely rely on being incredibly tiny, aerodynamic and graceful. It just is. The Williams sisters could still destroy 99.9999% of male tennis players of course, but the top man vs the top woman? Nah, it's always going to be the male. At the physical edge case, male genetic potential wins out in most arenas.

Art/literature, at least you seem to have backed off a bit. As to Einstein, I think I mostly answered that too. Women just didn't have the opportunity to go into those fields that they do now. Perhaps we WILL have a female Einstein in the next 100 years. Since these people are once in a lifetime (or rarer.... where was the next male DaVinci!) it's not as those they just pop up all the time. Marie Curie made greater contributions to science than 99% of male scientists, though I'd not really put her up with Einstein.

I will grant there is no household composer I can be sure everyone would know in the vein of throwing out Curie, Kahlo and Bronte. Kasparov is neat, but if you can teach a modern computer to play chess like a genius I don't know that he belongs on this list.

I guess my point is just that such a woman would have to be born and placed in a situation where she could hone these skills. If nobody sought fit to educate Einstein I doubt we'd know his name....
DLPB - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 2:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

You tell me where Kasparov, Einstein, Federer, Feynman, Mozart equivalents are. They don't exist, and you can moan until the cows come home, but the facts are that males dominate a huge number of achievements now and in the past. And that's the end of your argument.
DLPB - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 2:03pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

You aren't understanding. Troi losing her powers can be conveyed as compared to a person losing their sight, but you can never hope to understand it, because it will never happen to a human. It is also not possible for you to really gauge what a loss of sight is like, since it hasn't happened to you.
Robert - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 1:42pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

I'm not going to argue you on some of the more physical things. Women athletes typically do not hold a candle to the male ones. It's very edge-case though... so it's an odd argument. For instance, the best female basketball player ever to live might be able to hack it in the NBA, but she'd only be famous for being a woman. She'd not be a Jordan, Shaq or Magic level player. But the males in the NBA are the edge of case of male anyway. She'd still be physically superior to 99.9999% of men.

Similarly, I don't know if saying there is no female Einstein is a really good way to present your case. There's no living male Einstein either (except perhaps Hawking). But those are still 2 in a hundred years kind of minds. There are brilliant females in science and engineering as well. And perhaps there WAS a female Einstein, but she was making babies and cooking for her husband, because she was supposed to.

But seriously.... there is no female Dickens and Picasso? How about Bronte and Kahlo. Just to name two (or three... both Brontes... off the top of my head).
DLPB - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 1:14pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Women have equal opportunity at tennis, running, darts, pool/snooker, and chess. And many other endeavours. They do not come close to the men. I am not making an argument that men are "better" than women, since men are generally the ones creating the most crime and dysfunction. But men are also overwhelmingly the driving force in science, now and in the past, as well as in the massive majority of fields.

The fact men have many more neurons in their neocortex than females (among other significant differences), may have a lot to do with it. Certainly it is a proven fact that men are generally stronger, faster, taller, and have better hand-eye coordination and spacial awareness.

All you need to do is look for the female equivalent of Feynman, Federer, Kasparov, Einstein, Picasso, Dickens, Bolt, and so on and so on and so on.

There isn't one.
DLPB - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 12:56pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

The woman in question was given a proper trial and found guilty. She was also caught red handed and is guilty. It's that simple. She knew the rules, and ignorance of the law is not a defence.

She should die.
HolographicAndrew - Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

I have an interesting experience in that I saw Into Darkness, The Wrath of Kahn, and read the tie-in Kahn comics before I saw Space Seed. So I basically got all the follow up Kahn stuff before I watched his first appearance.

Having seen it, I can totally see why he got so much attention in the series. Kahn is just a very interesting character and he's great in this episode. They gave a pretty deep history to Kahn in this episode for what was possibly one-shot character.

I kind of wish Montalban would have said his name more dramatically when he says his name is Kahn. He also seems oddly contented at the end with being stranded.

My preferred ending to this episode would have been Kahn defeating the enterprise crew and disappearing into space with his people. I'd like to see the guy with 5 times the strength of a man and vast intelligent outwit Kirk for a change.
Next »Page 1 of 852
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer