Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,239 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,530
Set Bookmark
Matt
Wed, Mar 29, 2017, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

People have mentioned their uniforms not degrading, but remember their uniforms were not part of them (like Odo's uniform was). Their clothes were created separate like the ship and other objects. Obviously they change their uniforms every day, take them off to shower, etc. If they were actually part of them they wouldn't be able to do that and it certainly would have given it away to them that they weren't really human. I took it that non-living matter created by the silver stuff held up better than living organisms created by it.
Set Bookmark
K9T
Wed, Mar 29, 2017, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I would venture to guess those complaining about the Miri-crush on Kirk as "disturbing" or "creepy" are a) men (who have no idea what this feeling is, because they conveniently forget when they had this exact same thing when they were young teens with a very good-looking adult woman in their life) and/or b) have never worked with kids of that age before (as a teacher, etc.), because a young girl getting a puppy-love crush on an older man, especially one she looks up to, is entirely believable, real, and occurs every day with human beings. The "disturbing" or "creepy" part would be if the man used that crush to take advantage (romantically, of course, or even with just plain power-abuse, like using her infatuation to con her out of money, etc.), which Kirk patently does NOT do in this episode.

So, I guess, I'd just say to all the witch-hunters: pack your torches and pitchforks and go home, because every interaction between an adult male and a female child is NOT the sick and perverted fantasy created by your own minds that you think it to be.
Set Bookmark
Jaryd
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

As a friend pointed out, the kid's (Joshua Harris) performance was exceptional; it must've been very hard for a boy of 12 to imitate an android with no emotions (and still keep a straight face.) For this alone, the episode should be awarded 2 stars.

Troi explained that she couldn't council the boy, who was traumatized, because he'd closed himself off to most strangers, all but Data, who had saved his life. However, I do agree with the earlier comment: her function was as a counselor (ship shrink) and she failed miserably in this in this episode. It was due to this episode alone, that I'm glad there are no counselors on smaller ships like Voyager.

Ezri Dax pulled of a decent counselor on DS9, mainly because she was working through her own issues of multiple personalities, due to getting a symbiant without being trained for it. (This was done to save the life of the Dax symbiont during transport on the USS Destiny; Ezri was the only Trill on board.)

All in all, Hero Worship was a fairly decent episode, if only because it showed how the crew handled the sole survivor of a ship disaster, a traumatized child. I just feel it could've been written better. Perhaps a scene where Timothy screams in his sleep, reliving the disaster, and waking up crying, with Data trying for comfort him. That would've been far better than the ridiculous castle-building scene!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 11:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

@ RT,

Frank Herbert wrote about something like this in the Dune series. Basically, by even creating a self-programmable AI killing machine one literally risks the annihilation of all life in the universe. If you've seen The Lexx there's a similar theme there. I don't know if there would have been an upper limit to what this thing would do. Maybe it would have realized at a certain point that it needed to assimilate new technology in order to improve itself and become a new Borg race.

My take on the uses of such technology is that it's better not to use them, for any reason.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

I would like to thank outsider65 for the above comments, which are the possibly the funniest comments ever written about any episode. Bravo, 65!
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Hello Everyone

I always thought the machine started at its lowest level when against a newer foe. It had to learn their strengths, weaknesses, and capabilities, then would level up in a appropriate manner. If the Ferengi had landed, it would have started off the same, then gone off in a different direction. Same with Klingons or Romulans. It would eventually decide how much power was needed to defeat/kill the newcomers, and used no more than that.

No matter how smart Geordi and the Enterprise got in defeating one of the weapons in orbit, the machine would just program another machine to defeat them the next time, or come close to it. Then a better weapon would appear based on the information from the previous one.

If our intrepid band of heroes hadn't told it they were intent on buying one, it would have continued to display its weaponry and destroyed them all. The hologram did say it was a learning machine.

Actually, I'd have thought this would have had the weapons designers of Starfleet salivating for years. With just a few tweaks (don't kill the folks that designed you), something like this would be able to defend just about any Federation planet from invasion, forever. And for the larger/more important planets (Earth, Vulcan, etc.), they'd just give it more power to do whatever it wanted/needed to do. Of course, it might have destroyed the solar system to defeat the Borg, but what a show it'd have been...

Too bad when one of the shows went back to Earth, on a somewhat war-time footing, they didn't show a few of them floating around in the background, on partol at Starfleet...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Vii
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Just rewatched this episode again and it wasn't as pedestrian as I'd remembered it to be, but my main problem with it (as many others have mentioned before me) was the inconsistency. This Joran had literally nothing in common with the Joran in 'Equilbrium' save the name and the fact that they'd both been Dax hosts. They don't even look the same. If anything this Joran bears a close resemblance to Ezri's mad brother who was also driven to murder. I like JimmyDee's theory that the Joran we see here is a projection of Ezri's, but that was lazy writing/casting on the producers' part that they couldn't even be bothered to find someone who resembled the Equilibrium Joran.

Another inconsistency I found hard to swallow was how Ezri made it very clear that Jadzia had suppressed and denied the memory of Joran Dax, even though the entire last scene on Trill in 'Equilibrium' was dedicated to the fact that Jadzia had accepted Joran into her life and as part of her identity. This episode basically cancelled out the denouement and thesis of 'Equilibrium,' which is another reason I find it to be somewhat lacking and unsatisfactory.

If anything the Joran of this episode was somewhat more consistent with 'Facets' Joran, but that one might as well have also been a different person from the Equilibrium version, who was painted as a sensitive if slightly unhinged young man who loved music, but had a violent temperament if provoked. The followup episodes basically turned him into a sadistic serial killer like Ted Bundy, whom according to his biographer was "a sadistic sociopath who took pleasure from another human's pain and the control he had over his victims."
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I'll once again mention that 7 is claiming Kovin created a Borg drone. If they need evidence track down the drone! scanning for Borg nano whatevers should be easy for them by now.
Set Bookmark
ND
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

I've been enjoying reading each review and many comments as I've re-watched this series - so I guess you can call me a "long time reader, first time commenter."

There are some thoughtful commenters out there over the past few years. I've learned a lot about the scenes I've watched, their deeper meaning, and implications behind the scenes (in-story) that I hadn't considered. I've also learned about some of the flaws in what's been done in some episodes. I've found the majority of both pro and con comments to be valid and worth listening to.

But there are some who are constantly writing to try and get confirmation of their own disdain for scenes, characters, or entire plotlines. I don't think they're by definition trolls - they just love the sound of their own voice. They crave confirmation. I think Elliot is one of those. He's even spent countless time on Jammer's review site doing his own episode reviews. For pete's sake, it's called "Jammer's Reviews." Go start your own site, with your own reviews. Find your own audience, who agrees with you, if that's what you really want.

Thanks to all the rest, and to Jammer, for a great companion to DS9 and several other Trek and other shows.

-ND
Set Bookmark
Vii
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I thought this was a great episode and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Jeff Magnus McBride as Joran Dax. S7's Field of Fire should have brought him back to reprise the role, not the weirdo they ended up recasting.

As Andy's Friend and Yanks have mentioned above this episodes paints a very chilling portrait of the Trill socio-political backdrop. Once again we have a society which is willing to sacrifice individuals to maintain general order. Remind you of any other home worlds? And the fact that the Trills hide this cold ruthlessness and disregard of life, behind a smiling, kumbaya Federation mask somehow makes it even more unsettling. At least the Cardassians and the Dominion were direct about it.

All in all I can say for sure that Trill is not a place I would want to live in. They seem to produce a higher-than-usual ratio of repressed maniacs - off the top of my head there's Verad, Joran and Ezri's younger brother.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Looks like to planet's inhabitants preferred extermination to purchasing such shoddy merchandise and giving that holographic a-hole the satisfaction.

Which got me thinking, did they ever bill Picard for his purchase? Too bad he skipped out because a few of those drones might have come in handy against the borg.
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I too, like J, was confused about a supposed planet killing weapon that could never hit its target. It missed every shot, except the stupid energy field that trapped Riker. And they just guess that it's saving him for questioning later or was that just the writer's way of saying it could actually hit something? Was the thing programmed to fire warning shots first? Did it intentionally miss so it could give chase, for fun? Not a very efficient demonstration of a weapon you're trying to sell people.
Set Bookmark
The Cisco
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

Vulcans may be portrayed as insufferable snobs, but (at least during these initial episodes) Archer and Trip treat T'Pol just like you would expect any ignorant, entitled crew of high school jocks to treat anyone they consider inferior.

They allegedly reset being treated with derision and condescension by the Vulcans, but their boorish, sarcastic banter fares no better, in my opinion... I would expect senior military personnel to act in a much more professional, detached manner.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

To clarify: (thought it was clear but okay): When I referred to black Americans migrating from south to north to escape Jim Crow and rural poverty, I was not speaking of escaping slaves but their descendants who had been Americans for generations and called Ameroca, not Africa, their home and homeland.

Most of us have very recent ancestors who were chased off their land by war, cruelty, discrimination - don't we? (I surely do.) it's happening today all over the world. Whether you're a Christian from Mosul or a south Sudanese running from war, you're losing your land and it isn't fair.

What makes the Palestinian situation unique is that they wee forbidden by the surrounding Arabs to start over like normal refugees and migrants. The other thing that makes them unique is that - due to the political machinations of the surrounding Arab nations - they have been manipulated to still seek Israel's destruction. Obviously this prevents peace. Israel could wipe out GaZa in five minutes but doesn't. GaA's government would wipe it Israel in five minutes if they ever found the means. They are quite up front about it! The regular folk just want decent lives but are constantly trained to see Israel and Jews as the problem . It's a useful tactic for Arab governments, including Hamas, but it hasn't helped anyone except the Arab dictator-class and imam-class at the top of the food chain.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Outsider65: Your point is interesting and worth debating. Yes, Soren is more content after her corrective treatment than she was before it. All her angst at being different and all her longings for things she is denied have been erased. If citizens' happiness is the goal, forced corrective therapy is the act of a loving government.

On the other hand, the message I (and I think most viewers) take from the ending is that Soren was robbed of her individuality by the heavy hand of a State that had no respect for her right to be different. This is also the message of the glorious Twilight Zone ep referenced by William B above: "Number Twelve Looks Just Like You". ("Number Twelve" made it a bit more clear that the government's interest was to erase dissent. It's never clear to me what Soren's government is trying to do: enforce a religious ideal? Erase dissent? Or make their Sorens happy?)

Lots of stories center on this theme.

For example: I haven't seen "Stepford Wives" but I imagine it's the same idea. Would you rather be you and be full of usual human angst, or be a happy slave? One can fairly argue whether the majority of (middle class) women weren't happier when female roles were defined and limited and the prescribed feminine goals were achievable to many: marry, cook, have babies, get the laundry superclean. (A subset of middle class women were of course miserable because they had squelched dreams or abusive husbands/fathers, but perhaps the sum total of female middle class happiness was greater pre feminism? It's certainly possible.)

The various memory-wipe episodes can be debated in the same way. When Kern is mind wiped in some episode "for his own good", is it right or wrong? The same plot device occurs on Babylon Five - personality-wipe is a punishment/rehabilitation technique used on convicted murderers. And on "Angel," a beloved, suffering teen boy has his whole life rewritten and is inserted into a loving family - ensuring a better shot at happiness but robbing him of all his memories of two father-figures and everything he'd built, accomplished, striven for in his natural existence. In all cases, the individuals are happier - but is it ethical to change a person against her will? Is it ethical promised that she wants it? Is it ethical if she wants it solely because society discriminates and shames her current self?

I think most of us feel horrified at the idea of being robbed of our true selves. It's like the fear of death or of dementia. But maybe we shouldn't?

If you could be guaranteed, say, a hapoy lifelong stint of dementia or insanity (all your worries gone, cared for forever while living in an upbeat fantasy world of delusion), would you choose it?

I might, but only if my life were miserable - because I am too attached to my current dreams and goals and happy moments. On the other hand, if I were forced over the line into that upbeat fantasy world, would I want to return to my checkered and fraught current one? Probably not.

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Peter wasn't STV about a journey to the centre of the galaxy, not to its edge? I presumed it was a different energy barrier.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 6:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Oh, some of you people just aren't any fun!
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

I don't know I kinda liked Anya overpowering Worf as some disgusting screeching monster then trash talking him as a small older lady.

"You underestimated me in your sickbay. That is usually fatal." I like this line and how she delivers it, It doesn't sound like she's bluffing. I do agree though that there's little chance the Enterprise would put up with such dangerous behaviour
Set Bookmark
TH
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

It's very interesting to me to see the disparate opinions on this episode.

I have to say personally, I always thought the episode was decent, but my reaction to it has varied. Watching it today, I'm brought to a very emotional place by old Odo's scenes with Kira as well as by a handful of scenes towards the final day of the colonists - scenes like the Klingons asking Worf to kill them, and the planting scene; particularly where O'Brien speaks to Molly, and the senior staff meeting where they each voice their opinion on leaving. Auberjonois's performance as old Odo was picture perfect and completely empathetic. And realizing that all these people and their families were all going to die choked me up.

Then, the ultimate moment comes and the ship misses the anomaly and... everything just sort of went cold. I didn't get the sense that the bridge crew was as paniced and saddened and as they should have been in that moment. I also felt the score lacked a big swell of emotion underscoring the tragedy and significance of what had just happened.

The moments KNOWING what was going to happen to the colonists brought literal tears to my eyes, but the actual moment it happened almost alleviated the emotions. So perhaps this episode is more poignant on subsequent viewings (where you can appreciate the sadness knowing what is going to happen) than on the initial view. I don't think there's quite enough emotional reflection of the fate of the colonists. No one speaking of specific people who are now gone. No Worf lamenting those people having an unwarrior-like death or Molly never getting to see the crops reach 3 feet, etc.

Finally, I felt that as well as Auberjonois did as old Odo, young Odo's final scene just feels a bit off. As if he expects Kira to react positively to the news that old Odo was behind it. Perhaps it's an attempt to show how inexperienced and naive young Odo was compared to how mature old Odo seemed. I'm not sure. I just felt that that shot was the sole attempt to really put an emotional bent on the close of the episode, but it could have done more.

Still, 40 great minutes leading up to the ending.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I was reminded of the 1950’s movie The Fly, about a scientist working on a transportation device, trying it out himself, not knowing that a fly had flown into the chamber. Forty years later I still remember one of the final scenes: a fly with a small “white” (human) head, stuck in a spider’s web, screaming for help.

That ST Voyager would set up this kind of situation, and not opt for the easy answer, that “Mr. Tuvix” is not agreeable to the reversing procedure, very unexpected. After the transporter mishap, Mr. Tuvix reassembled the very best of Tuvok and Neelix into one unique individual—though one would have thought he would have been a very much larger individual, since he combined two people.

When ultimately the doctor and company find a way to restore the two from the one, it’s hard to believe that the doctor can declare that this newly invented, never before tried procedure entails absolutely no risks at all. But that, of course, is to take away a valid objection to the procedure.

Tuvix, with dignity and intelligence, spoke a brilliant defense for his life. But I think Janeway was right: if we could hear them, Tuvok and Neelix would have spoken with equal eloquence for their lives as well. That the crew did not speak up for Tuvix was in my view understandable: they would have had mixed emotions, they would not have wanted to lose Tuvix, but also did not want to lose Tuvok or Neelix either. No matter what they said or did or didn’t say or do, they were in a sense betraying a friend. In a way, I think the doctor spoke the dissenting voice that the crew felt but could not utter. And it didn’t matter what the doctor said or did, because it was Janeway’s decision anyway. And from the look on her face, it looked like the decision took its toll on her, one she was likely to remember, perhaps especially anytime she partook of any of Neelix’s over-seasoned meals or received a report from Tuvok.

Many times there are stories ST tells that mirror those in the present day world. As did this one: the terrible price a commanding officer must pay for difficult decisions, decisions made with the full knowledge that their command will send good people to their certain deaths. Kudos to ST Voyager for not taking the easy out. (Never ever thought I’d say or think or type that.)

After seeing only a few Voyager episodes in the first year of its original run, I opted not to watch the series. Recently I’ve starting watching a few. And this is the first episode I’ve seen that made me question my original decision.

So I don't know what the future holds. But if neither Tuvok or Neelix ever acknowledge what happened in this episode, how sad. For Tuvix had their memories, and surely both Tuvok and Neelix shared his.

And Neelix, how stupid is he? He does all that research on Vulcans and still can’t get it through his head that his behavior toward Tuvok is obnoxious and will not win his friendship? And the relationship continues in this manner, even after this episode? Without irony, without humor, without—? If so, wow, beyond sad. But that’s the kind of show that I decided not to invest time in all those years ago, one that hits the reset button and never looks back.


Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

@ Cloudane,

"Interesting in that it's very much fantasy rather than sci-fi, with the magical powers and such, laying the foundations for what would be a show that mixed the two quite a lot."

I would call this episode unequivocally a sci-fi outing. It's stated early on that the onset of powers is correlated to the ESP rating of the person struck (a matter of scientific interest to many in the 60's, both Soviet and American), and additionally, it explores a theme roughly in line with what the series would late say about the Eugenics Wars, where men who become "superior" to others run the risk of beginning to believe they're gods.

Of side interest to the setting of this ep is the barrier at the edge of the galaxy, which both here and, ironically, in ST: V, involves what seems like the suggestion that the barrier is not merely a natural phenomenon but has an intelligence behind it. Whether this means the barrier is, itself, some kind of intelligence, or maybe has properties 'like' intelligence, I don't know. Maybe it was put there by an advanced being and has traces of their energy patterns inside. Who knows.

Overall I would class this in with the Arthur C. Clarke principle of sci-fi, where things appear to be magical only because they're too advanced for us to understand. TOS, as you imply, does involve many encounters that are meant to show how primitive man still is in the 23rd century. TNG hold back on this for the most part, only occasionally presenting characters like Q and Kevin Uxbridge.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

If we worried too much about coincidences, there wouldn't have been a show at all. Putting the pretty ridiculous circumstances of right-time-and-right-place aside, it was well done and the Seven-Doctor dialogue at the end was great.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

To slightly amend my last post - 'In this respect, she was always portrayed as someone who would gladly put the lives of the many before that of her own.' "Needs" is a bit too broad for the point I was trying to make.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Peter G, you make a good point about how Jadzia had supposedly mellowed Worf, and that this was a focus of the episode. I think my problem with Worf 2.0 is that his change was a bit forced, especially in this episode, where it felt like it had been shoehorned in because they needed to justify his actions. This was a man who had basically abandoned his first love, his brother by birth and his family name for duty and honour. In that context his Klingon values should have told him that he would dishonour her by denying her the chance to die in the line of duty. The fact that she did not do so is indeed the underlying premise of 'Shadows and Symbols.'

Re your second point, I think it depended on which and how many lives were at stake. Jadzia was usually more cavalier when it was just her life on the line, which was the case in 'Rejoined.' (And that of Lenara Kahn's, but once Lenara had made it clear she couldn't go through with it Jadzia stopped pressing the point.) When it was for a selfless cause, however, Jadzia would have had no hesitation in sacrificing herself so that many others could be saved. In this respect, she was always portrayed as someone who would put the needs of the many before that of her own. The same goes for Worf. The beginning of the episode made it abundantly clear that the Cardassian defector's information would have tipped the war in their favour and saved countless lives. Therefore I find it unbelievable that they technically bought Jadzia's life at the expense of so many others, and showed no regrets whatsoever in doing so.

For the record though I really enjoyed this episode. The Jadzia/Worf banter was hilarious and so was the snarky, doomed Cardassian. The tongo plot was fun, though I half expected the doctor to win.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Mar 27, 2017, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Skeptical,
Very astute analysis of the episode. I too noticed the religious overtones of Mitchel creating the garden, and then completely missed the significance of him being the one that hands the apple to Dehner. And no, I, like you, can't believe for a minute that is was unintentional.
I also find it interesting that you postulate that Mitchell may not have been a really good person from the beginning and that Dehner was, and this might have been the thing that allowed her to hold onto her humanity long enough to realize that Mitchell had to die. I had always assumed that it was simply because she was not as far along in the process as Mitchell and that eventually she would also succumb to the temptation to be amoral. We do apparently both agree that Kellerman turned in a great performance as Dehner.
In any event you had some great insights about the episode that I had never considered.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,530
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.