Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,209 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1009
Troy - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I don't like this episode 1-1/2 stars. I didn't know, until I read the comments, that Robin Williams was the first choice to play the professor. While on the surface it seemed like it might be a disaster, Robin Williams had very good range, look at one hour photo and some other serious roles where he played criminals or other types of marginalized people.
I don't blame Matt Frewer for this episode, just bad writing plain and simple (also great range love him in the Knick). At no point does it feel true. The one shining spot is the confrontation with Data in the time probe.
Peter - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Well it is good Archer remembers the aliens from Damage he stranded but who knows whether he would be able to organise a rescue mission.
Troy - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 3:00pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

I still like this episode. It feels realistic to me, especially using the reward system of the brain as a method of mind control. Depicts a valid underhanded way to take over the Enterprise/Federation. I can fully understand why Wesley would rather date 20 something Ashley Judd rather than play some new fad game. By the time he started considering trying it his intuition was buzzing about something not being quite right about it and in Wesley fashion do an experiment and hook it to a simulator. The chase scene and creepy forced "feeding" after Wesley got caught were well done.
I know a lot of fans don't like Wesley and also don't like Wesley saves the ship. This episode in particular is robust and doesn't bother me.
Troy - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I agree with 2-1/2. Dr. Marr always strikes me as loony, annoyingly so, but the episode still remains provocative. This is sort of a conterpoint to season 3's "Evolution", where humanity is unwittingly destroying intelligent beings. Communication in that case allowed for a truce to be reached. Communication would have also added to the knowledge base of the CE, and might be useful to defend against any of its race. (Like bugs and rats, doubt it was the only one.)

I think an interesting twist would be to have the CE's mode of reproduction to be destroyed with harmonic disruption. Possibly it's life cycle is to get large enough that it destroys humanoid planets at which point the humanoids "destroy" it thereby breaking it into uncountable spores ready to repeat the life cycle. Probably wouldn't work as a sequel, but worth thinking about.
william - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 12:50pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

Just watched this episode today and I agree it wasn't the best but I did love the alien with seaweed on his face irrational Trip.
Hillarious.
NCC-1701-Z - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 12:29pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

This episode epitomizes the reasons why I love DS9. Not only is it entertaining from a plot/action standpoint - those battle scenes are AWESOME!!! They still hold up today effects-wise - DS9 easily had some of the best battle scenes in all of Trek, even rivaling the movies.

It also makes room for crackling intellectual dialogue - the scene where Dukat and Weyoun are in Sisko's office and talking about the philosophy of war is pure gold, best line going to Dukat: "A true victory is to make your enemies see they were wrong to oppose you in the first place. To force them to acknowledge your greatness!" Very 1984-ish, especially since from TNG's "Chain of Command" onward the Cardassians were essentially depicted as a spacefaring Orwellian society.

I just love how DS9 is able to almost effortlessly balance out the talking and the action.
Robert - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 6:49am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

The subplot was a necessary counter-point though. At the start, Neelix is a bleeding heart-liberal who thinks that most criminals are victims of their own circumstance. And Neelix, being a shady character that was in fact a victim of his own circumstances that turned into an upstanding guy when his circumstances switch is the perfect person to espouse this view.

Seven meanwhile is the hardened conservative. The death penalty is necessary sometimes and who cares about the prisoners as long as we maintain order. By the end of the episode the prisoner she was ready to ship off to die is someone she's mourning over and Neelix got taken by his bleeding-heart. Subtle? No. Is there good stuff here? I think so.

In the end the only lesson here is a condemnation of revenge-sentencing and the idea that one should take a second look at ones own views on crime. In regards to the revenge sentencing I just think it was meant to make us think about why we punish criminals (deterrent, revenge, good of society, efficiency, order, etc.)

Maybe it loses a drop of points for not being subtle, but it was a good episode and all the pieces came together for a greater whole.
dlpb - Mon, Jun 29, 2015, 12:49am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

My point was that that is lazy writing. It's an excuse pushed in for no reason other than to explain something that is nonsense.
Andy1 - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 10:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Jayrus:
I don't know if Section 31 won the war not. I don't know about all their operations and what kind of advice, input, and information they provided to Starfleet/Starfleet Intelligence during the war. There could be an entire parallel series just for Section 31 and their role during the war that we don't know about from watching DS9. But I do know this: Tactics and methods identical to those used by Section 31 helped win the war. The example I can think of right now is what took place in "In the Pale Moon Light", which caused the Romulans to join the war on the Dominion. It doesn't matter who did the dirty work, the dirty work helped win the war.
None of that bothers me, what bothers me is that I don't recall seeing any serious and genuine effort by the Federation on this show to seek peace with the Dominion before the war started and during the early stages of the war, before things get out of control.
Andy1 - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 10:06pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

I don't know what's worse... Bashir's hard-ons and constant drooling over a certain female character on the show (in my opinion, the worst female character on the show), or his display of naivety and emotionalism every time he opens his mouth to bitch about someone "violating the principles we are all sworn to protect".
Xylar - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 8:02pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I find the fact that B'elanna and Tom's baby has two episodes devoted to her already (and she's not even born yet!) hilarious.

I don't really care about Klingon religions and all that, but I do have to admit that if they stuck to their guns and continued their mission faithfully for 4 generations, that that is some serious devotion to your faith. Especially considering the fact that it was not originally their idea to start the journey. The fact that even the great-grandchildren of the ones who originally began the mission are still devoted to it, is a testimony to the faith of the Klingons. Too bad they didn't adress that, at all.

The Neelix subplot was meh. Harry shoves a Klingon female once and suddenly he's got a 'fiery spirit that makes him a worthy mate'. Neelix shoves Harry one time and says one harsh thing and suddenly he's an even worthier mate. This particular Klingon sure is easily impressed...And yeah, more forced Tuvok/Neelix comedy routine, which never works, including this time.

Can we move on to something Delta Quadrant related now? Like the Borg or a native alien species or some unique space phenomenon or something?
August's Lament - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 6:36pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

This is the episode that caused me to stop watching Enterprise.
If only Enterprise had been cancelled instead of Farscape...

Anyway, I don't know how you can dismiss Phlox developing a cure to a horrible disease, and then WITHHOLDING it, knowing that it will cause a world to end.
The reasoning for this decision was so flimsy, that it requires extensive mental gymnastics to justify.
Dr Phlox ends up coming off as some sort of mengelesque monster, seeming to not be at all disturbed by what he is doing.
Was this could not have been intentional on the part of the writers, but it is still disturbing.


This episode managed to be both preachy and repugnant, and left me feeling sick inside.
Maybe if I took Star Trek less seriously, it would not have bothered me so much.

Capitalist - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 5:54pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Colonial Day

Surprised no one mentioned the interesting statement by Roslin that she had TWO unpleasant matters to take care of on the resort ship. One of course was the dismissal of her original VP candidate. You could argue that the other was the meeting with Baltar and bringing him on as a VP candidate.

But could the other task have been the killing of Valance? Not that she personally did it of course, but she could have arranged it. We've already seen her throw one prisoner out of an airlock.

And the little comment by Zareck about how he didn't kill Valance, and wondering who did...just plays into this.
W Smith - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 2:31pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I'm on the fence for this one. The story was about something interesting for a change, but the plot had too many contrivances. It could have been interesting if Sim didn't have Trip's memories. That part was too convenient in setting up conflict and strained any scientific belief. On the other hand, Trineer did some fine acting in this episode and the outcome had some emotional resonance despite the absurd science and contrivances.

At the story intro, it was funny how the camera last panned to Mayweather, I thought he might be the one to play dead for the entire episode since he doesn't get a chance to do or so much anyway. Poor guy...
Ini - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Been re-watching all of Star Trek and reading these pages. Awesome show, awesome reviews and comments. Thank you.
Metcaffeine - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 1:27pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I totally agree with this review. I love the whimsical attitude towards time travel in this episode. It's so fun... but in the end it doesn't have much meat on it's bones.

But it brushes over some interesting philosophical issues. For instance, what about this whole temporal reintegration thing? Do three versions of a person, from three different time periods, really count as all the same person? Is temporal reintegration murder?

And who does get to decide how the time-line "should" be? Presumably, Starfleet Command or the 29th century equivalent. It seems as if the purpose of the 29th century's Starfleet is to impose the will of High Command on the past. What's it like serving in such an organization? How did Starfleet become something so militaristic, paternalistic, and dark?

The ideas that this episode brings up are begging to be further explored. A series based on this episode could be a fresh and different take on Trek, even while preserving the ideals that Trek has espoused from the beginning.

Here's a post I wrote up that goes into more depth about what this series could look like:
www.sciencefictionalist.com/?p=95

I think it could work really well.
Mcoy, Leonard, Mcoy - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 1:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

I'll be honest. After watching these idiots roll out a red carpet and the leader show up, I immediately deleted this episode off my DVR. As Jammer said, this is not only bad TNG it's bad TOS.
Star Trek fan - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 10:37am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I think this episode is hysterically awful. The episode's premise is "we must stop the virus before it kills all the crew" and yet the story turns into a totally non-credible love story. Kirk acts like some possessed school boy having his first crush on a girl.

The pace is slow, no sense of urgency.

The Enterprise turned into a model was Irwin Allen type gimmickry.

KIrk is more concerned with loving a robot woman than saving his crew. Totally out-of-character.

It was fun to watch, all episodes of Star Trek have fun moments but I'd have to rate this episode zero out of four. Meh.
Andy1 - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 9:09am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I agree with eastwest101, and would like to add that this is nothing more than an anti-Vulcan episode. The DS9 crew, especially Sisko, behaved like a bunch of inferior idiots who suffer from a superiority complex.
Eddington - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

"Dark matter" is more a description than a hypothesis. Gravity is detected where seemingly insufficient mass is observed. The only thing we know of that generates gravity is matter. Therefore this "dark" matter must be the additional, unseen mass needed to explain the gravitational effects.

Be that as it may, the dark matter centipede was very creepy and none the worse for being an obvious and predictable plot point. Actually the episode was enjoyable despite the overplayed caricatures and Kate Mulgrew's contemptible on screen presence.

These three sixth-year misfits are far more interesting than any of the main characters.

And, for the record, if we're ever on a smallish space ship and a dark matter centipede alien bursts out of someone's neck and starts destabilizing the core or whatever, you shoot it. That's an order.
Luke - Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 12:02am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

"Wesley, you will be missed."

ROFLMAO! No, no he won't!

The scenes between the injured Picard and Wesley are serviceable. They're a little heavy-handed (especially Picard envying Wesley) but workable for what they are. The B-plot? Completely pointless and drama-free. Just go over or under the asteroids, morons!

However, for all the good on display (such as the wonderfully evocative shot of Picard, Wesley and Dirgo walking across the desert) they just couldn't help themselves, could they? They just had to give us another "Wesley saves the day" story to send him off. God, I'm so glad I only have his guest appearances to suffer through after this. They even go so far as to make the only other characters in the A-plot either completely brain-dead or incapacitated in order to make Wesley look better. To semi-quote an internet reviewer I follow - We get it, Wesley is awesome. But people, it is of paramount importance that as you feverishly fellate this character until he leaves a gland-shaped impression on your tonsils, you occasionally come up for god-damn air!

5/10
Luke - Sat, Jun 27, 2015, 11:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

"Future Imperfect" is a fluff episode, but an enjoyable piece of fluff. I don't quite know what else to say except that it was a pleasant little diversion.

As for Barash's "actual" appearance at the end of the episode - I kind of liked it. At least he actually looks alien. His species isn't identical in appearance to humans or identical to humans except with something glued to the forehead. Yeah, it looks corny, but so what?

What really stands out for me in this episode, however, is the use of Minute as Riker's imaginary wife. I'm literally stunned that Season Four made so many attempts to work in references and concepts from the first two seasons. I did not notice that until this re-watch. We've had the Borg, Lore, the Traveler, Yar's backstory, K'Ehleyr and now Minute make reappearances. For the most part, they've all been good as well. I'm going to give "Future Imperfect" a +1 bonus to my score for using a Season One character so well.

7/10
Luke - Sat, Jun 27, 2015, 11:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

"Reunion" is one of the prime examples of what Trek can, and should, be. It's pure, unadulterated universe building, nothing else. There is no "seek out new life and new civilizations" or "boldly go where no one has gone before" here. And thank God for it! It's an unabashed attempt to showcase the larger picture in this fictional universe. What this episode provides via the Klingon Empire and with Worf's personal story is exactly what I thought was missing from "The Best of Both Worlds."

By dealing with entities and people we already know, it allows for scenes that would otherwise be as enjoyable as watching paint dry (scenes of people talking in the Observation Lounge and the scenes between Picard, Gowron and Duras) to instead be infused with a great amount of drama and emotional investment.

And I have to say, massive props are due to the writers for having the guts to do two rather unexpected things - having K'Ehleyr die and having Worf do the non-PC thing of killing Duras in full Klingon berserker mode. Both of those were major risks for this show that often doesn't rock the boat.

Hands down one of the best of TNG and quite possibly one of the best of the whole franchise.

10/10
Luke - Sat, Jun 27, 2015, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

You know what, I've decided not to go back and re-watch this one, because I just can't bring myself to do it. The plot inconsistencies, the political subtexts, the woeful misuse of Yar's sister and the complete failure to show Turkana IV as a desolate wasteland of violence (seriously, it just seems like they have two competing governments instead of one world government - if that's so bad, then how come we manage to get along with around 200 governments in the real world?) all add up to one major misfire of an episode.

It's not as bad as, say, "Shades of Grey" because at least it's trying to be an episode. It's not as bad as "Code of Honor" or "Up the Long Ladder" because it's not openly racist. It's also not as bad as "The Last Outpost" because it's not a showcase of total incompetence. But, still, it's pretty bad.

0/10
Yanks - Sat, Jun 27, 2015, 8:57pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

methane is right dlpb.

BASHIR: Her normal anti-grav unit isn't going to work here. Same problem we had with the Starfleet cargo lifts. Cardassian construction just isn't compatible.
Next »Page 1 of 1009
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer