Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,369 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 975
HolographicAndrew - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 12:54pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Yeah you can't really say what the writers were thinking unless you're in their head. We do know that making contact with potentially hostile species has been an objective of the show since the very first episode.
Peter - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 11:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Great episode!

The only minor quibble I did not see mentioned yet in the comments is with the Bozeman. Captain Kelsey Gramer has been stuck in the loop for over 70 years, and the uniforms he and his bridge crew are wearing are the ones worn around the time of first few Star Trek films (based on TOS). Makes sense so far... Yet when Picard identifies himself and his ship, the Bozeman's response is, "The Enterprise? I've never heard of that ship." Really? Was not the Enterprise the flagship of the Constellation class even then? His response should have been, "You're the Enterprise? I've never heard of you, Capt. Picard. What happened to Kirk?" Otherwise a fun and well-executed episode.

Peter - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 10:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

This episode was really good and exemplified one of the main reasons I love Trek. Who else would do a popular TV episode about a dry, intellectual subject like medical ethics.

I did understand Worf's expressed desire for suicide in the context of his Klingon warrior nature. The 60-70% mobility restoration of conventional treatment would seem to be enough, however. But that's besides the point. The episode seemed to be skirting around the issue of assisted suicide in our own culture, but it did not go far enough in that regard, in my opinion. They seemed to make it a point to say that Worf was not in pain, he was fully expected to live (i.e., his condition was not deteriorating and ultimately terminal), so those conditions don't meet the standards for euthanasia in our society.

Before the episode could fall short on the medical ethics front, the character of Dr. Russell, with her risky experimental treatments, brought that back into focus. Her character was perfectly written and acted, as was Dr. Crusher's in this episode. It is so rare to see a Crusher-focused episode, and she's a character I really like, so that also made it a winning episode for me.

The young boy who plays Worf's son is also consistently good. I mean, he looks like he is all of about 7 years old and under a lot of makeup and prosthetics to boot. That the kid does such a convincing job is remarkable.

Del_Duio - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 9:48am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

@ Robrow: Actually "Profit and Lace" is WORSE if you can believe it. Actually, IMO it's a lot worse. That is the single worst episode of DS9. There's only one good point to the whole episode and that's a joke Worf makes about 40 seconds in.
Robrow - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:45am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Worse than 'Fascination', I now feel I can say I've watched DS9's 'Sub Rosa'. Most of it was painful, bits excruciating. Apart from Quark and Bashir's mutual shock at Leeta's attraction to Rom. That was a good one.
Peter - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Regarding the Prime Directive aspect to his episode... Why does it even apply? Previously, in both TOS and TNG, the Prime Directive was explained as applying to interference with the normal development of technologically less advanced cultures. The J'naii have space travel and seem to be more or less on par technologically with the rest of the Federation. In fact, a similar level of technological development seems to be a requirement for membership in the Federation, and the J'naii seem to be members since they can call on Starfleet for help finding a missing J'naii shuttlecraft.

Picard and company have interfered in the affairs of advanced cultures before. In the leadership battles on the Klingon homeworld, for example. And then there's the episode where Wesley was sentenced to death for accidentally trampling someone's garden. They certainly interfered to save him.
Peter - Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:20am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Watching this episode, I did not think in terms of it's being an allegory for homosexuality so much as transgenderism and intersex.

Let's look at the facts as they are laid out in the episode. Here you have a race that has "evolved" to reproducing by husks (without some pressure necessitating such an adaptation, that would not make sense biologically, but whatever). The majority of the J'naii are now undifferentiated in terms of gender. But there exists a minority who are born "in the more primitive state," according to Soren. Soren explains that it involves not only distinctly male or female "feelings" and "longings" but some vestige of differentiated sexual organs. Rather like intersex babies in the past, whose parents were pushed by doctors into assigning one gender or other to the baby, Soren explains that those J'naii who still carry a vestige of gender are pushed toward full genderlessness. She even mentions that, in addition to the "psychotectic" treatments, "any remaining physical sign of gender" is eliminated. In other words, Soren must have been born with some female organs, and those would be surgically removed in addition to the psychological treatment.

This is all besides the point, of course. Riker could well have pointed out not only that homosexuality exists in his world, but that there is also such a thing as intersex and transgenderism. It makes no sense that all of those things have disappered in the future. Even if they had, Riker could have pointed out that they used to existt. The episode fell a bit short in that regard.

I realize the null-space pocket shuttle rescue plot line was just a pretence, but it bothered me a bit that the shuttle crew was alive and simply suffering from a harmless "lack of oxygen" (i.e., asphyxiation?). How long were they in trapped in the null space pocket? Presumably, they also ran down their shuttle's power in trying to get out of it. Even if they had not, wouldn't their life support systems have eventually powered down? Unless they lost life support just moments before Soren and Riker arrived to rescue them, the lack of breathable air would have certainly killed them.

MsV - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 10:01pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Now that Im back on track with my viewing from the beginnning to the end. Shows like this one are very cute, just like the previous posts suggest. I loved Odo in this one; I never knew he had such sensitivity for others. He always seemed to be so hard-nosed. The type of security officer that is always suspect of everyone. Almost expecting the worst like in "Dax".

I like this version of Jadzia much better than the pretty science officer that does nothing for the part. She is brilliant and her portrayal of Dax gets better as the series goes on.

Good Story!!
Xylar - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 8:06pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Well, I'll be damned. An interesting Harry Kim story. Truth be told, I didn't think it was ever gonna happen. But I'll give credit where credit is due. Garrett Wang did really well for this episode. He played his aged character perfectly as well as his more assertive, determined younger self.
For what it's worth, I also like the subtle make up use to make Harry and Chakotay appear aged. It's only been 15 years, so they shouldn't have changed too much, but you should still see a few more lines, a bit more grey in their hair. Make up did a great job with that.

I'm not going to try to poke holes in the timetravel aspect of the story, although there were definitely a few details that made my DOES NOT COMPUTE alarm go off in my head, but like Janeway says in this episode: Don't even bother.
Timetravel is always riddled with holes and inconsistencies. I must say, so far Voyager later season really outshine their earlier ones. I haven't seen if the trend will hold all the way to the finish line yet, but I'm liking the improvements so far.
TheSisko - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 4:29pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

DLPD, you disgust me. Why are you even on here? Clearly, you have not understood the message of humanism that Star Trek delivers. How could one watch this show and yet not hear what it's saying?
Peter Coutts - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 3:46pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

While watching this I was thinking that Jammer would give this one a thumbs up. At last Archer has to face up to the extreme range of his obligations to the mission-these are potent ethical sacrifices and may turn out to be fatal for the alien crew he steals from.
4 popcorns from me.
Azdude - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 3:19pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I could take or leave these episodes. But that's the great thing about Trek, it appeals to a wide audience, and it seems to have struck a chord with so many here.

The only great thing about this alternate reality is they s#!tcanned the opening theme song.

Evidently the Evil Starfleet has better taste in music.
Azdude - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 2:01pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I'm tired of these alternate universe / alternate timeline episodes.
I am thinking that maybe the demise of the entire Star Trek franchise had less to do with poor writers, but with the poor decisions of their Marketing Overlords.
At this point in the season, there is definitely a lowering of thoughtful scripts, and a focus on target markets. Ill conceived, but very apparent.

Anyway, I agree that the female uniforms were pretty silly.

But also pretty freaking hot.

Damn you, male hormones! !
TransformerSWO - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 1:43pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

To me, one of the main reasons genetic enhancement is banned in the Federation (beyond the knee-jerk fear of Khan) is that it will naturally enforce a terrible competitive environment. Parents with the means to do so will now (seeing that the consequences are minor) bring their kids in for upgrade, or risk falling behind. Your kid can be brilliant and successful, and you just have to be willing to spend a couple of years in minimum security. A lot of parents will be signing up! And competition keeps getting tougher, which imposes real costs on the children. Surprised that Starfleet's JAG admiral doesn't take that into account when rendering his very hasty decision.
Robert - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 7:29am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

"The prophets made the Jem'Hadar disappear. I don't think they are somewhere waiting for permission to come through, they are GONE."

In Star Trek Online they actually do pop out eventually and you have to deal with them years after the fact, like Akorem.
John Logan - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 7:27am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@Picard from USS Phoenix: That is a simply unfactual remark. The first universities were started by the Catholic Church in the eleventh century. The new world was discovered by a Catholic. Ancient writings from, Josephus to Tacitus were preserved by the church, and many church fathers studied Aristotle. Even most of the first hospitals were founded by the Catholic Church. Look at Albertus Magnus, Augustin-Louis Cauchy, Pierre Duhem, Jean-Baptiste Dumas, Roger Boscovich, Blaise Pascal, André-Marie Ampère, Gregor Mendel, Charles-Augustin de Coulomb, Pierre de Fermat, Antoine Laurent Lavoisier, Marin Mersenne, Alessandro Volta, Amedeo Avogadro, John Desmond Bernal and Henri Becquerel. The current wars in the Ukraine, and World Wars I and II, as well as the Cold War show that secularism did not cause violence to go away.
Robert - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 7:24am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Captain Janeway synched her Steam account with the VOY holodeck before they left spacedock.
MsV - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 4:43am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: The Circle

@ Elliot worst line of the episode is Sisko's “As I understand it, [Li], you report directly to the Prophets, but from time to time I may ask for your help.”

I seriously agree with you.
@Yanks Iron Mike Kira. I like the new name. Still laughing

I love this trilogy but I hat Kai Winn and my opinion of her never changed throughout the seven years.

My oldest son gave Bariel a new name too. "Dried Biscuit"
Azdude - Mon, Apr 27, 2015, 12:47am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Jammer-

This is the first episode that I disagree with you on. I do feel you got a bit too cerebral on this one, a bit too analytical.

I really enjoyed this episode. if I use this kind of analysis when I sat down to eat I probably never would eat. Thinking about where food came from, the processing, the poor animals that gave up their lives for my meal; well it just be too much.
Sometimes, simply put, a good steak is a good steak. Just enjoy.
Norvo - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 11:41pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the gateway to the temple... Deep Space Nine?"

... Well, don't mind if I do, Dax. That line always felt like cheating on the writers' part, a way of adding artificial tension and drama to the story. Throughout the series, the (mouth of) the wormhole is considered the gateway to the Celestial Temple, not the man made space station that was moved towards it.

For example, revisit "The Assignment" in which the Pah'Wraith possessed Keiko flew a runabout to the mouth of the wormhole in preparation of killing the Prophets. Or season 3's "Destiny" where another Bajoran prophecy claimed three vipers would "burn the temple gates", and that turned out to be three comet fragments that passed through the wormhole.

But, like Bashir said in The Reckoning: "The ancient prophecies are a tangle of vague contradictions".
W Smith - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 11:24pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Better than the last few episodes, with a social commentary that is kind of the point of Trek, but in the end it's not nuanced enough, the Vulcan bashing is tiresome, and what the heck were they thinking with Travis and melons! But at least with the A story in this episode, the writers tried to tell a good, Trek story.
Xylar - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 8:06pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

So, is no one wondering why Voyager even has that Flotter program in its holodeck base? Why would they have that? Voyager was only scheduled for a 3 week long mission with no children on board.
There would have been no reason for them to include that to the holodeck archives.

They couldn't have made it from scratch, because it has all the stories it's supposed to have on Earth and wherever else it exists, so where do they get them from? They can't pull up the stories from the database, because Voyager shouldn't have it in its database, because it doesn't need them. There were never supposed to be children on board.

These are the questions that haunt my mind. I know it's nitpicking and focusing on a detail that doesn't matter, but hey, that's how my mind twists stories that don't require me to pay much attention.
nothingoriginal 55 - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 3:52pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I have a few problems with this ep.
Troi never senses any hostile intent from anyone...would've been better had she not even be in the ep.
and, the ending was too light haerted. I know they didnt like him, but a starfleet commander was still killed in the line of duty...you'd think they'd talk about that instead of Picads frackin saddle.
Azdude - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 1:17pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

@Polt

I'm glad I'm not the only one that noticed this glaring lack of continuity.

ENT certainly isn't the shining star in the Star Trek universe, but the shows have been getting better, like a light bulb getting brighter before it burns out.

But, evidently, the powers that were didn't even watch their own shows.

A pity. I'm sure I'm not the only one going through Trek withdrawal. Thank goodnes for Amazon Prime, and the ability to catch up on shows I wasn't able to watch the first time around.
$G - Sun, Apr 26, 2015, 7:56am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Sometimes there are mediocre or bad episodes I don't think are *too* bad, but I'll see commenters here stamp them with a zero or half-star rating and think those commenters are being over the top about it. This episode is probably my turn at being one of *those* commenters.

I can think of only one compliment to lob at this episode: that Klingon and, specifically, Ferengi scientists are shown. Even better, the Ferengi scientist isn't just a businessman or con man in disguise trying to make some profit on some stolen technology (actually, he *does* offer exclusive rights to its further study or some such, but that's fine by me considering it's still *his* research and he is genuinely passionate about it).

Other than that? Terrible all around. Dialogue, plotting, characterization. All worthless. Was Beverly's autopsy on the Ferengi so invasive? Couldn't it have been just a scan? How come the autopsy on Jo'Bril left him intact? Why did Picard or Riker seemingly not care about proving that a murder (or two) took place on the Enterprise? Why was Worf not being held back from getting involved in the investigation? It all just seemed so tired, so worn out, and a little bit depressing? Bad writing, or just late season fatigue on the part of the producers and actors?

Why is it *Beverly* who is interested in shield technology? Why not Data or Geordi? Probably because Geordi got his own put-my-career-on-the-line murder mystery plot a few weeks ago. Yeah, I think "Suspicions" is even worse than "Aquiel".

And then the killer crawls out of the shuttle furniture (in one of the most unintentionally hilarious scenes since Season 1) and spills his *whole* plan. All of it, everything. I covered my eyes when he boasted about stealing the technology to build "a weapon". I was stunned into silence when Beverly did some kung fu (which I guess makes sense since she's pretty athletic, I guess...?) shot a hole in his belly, and when he, like a zombie, lumbered towards her until she vaporized him completely.

Punctuating this is the most juvenile and pathetic use of Guinan on the show. None of her advice is something anyone else could have given her. None of it is even all that *good*. Why did she need the pretense of tennis elbow? I mean usually she comes up with some act to make a point, but in this episode it's more like a parody. I'm also reading that this is Guinan's last appearance on the show. Not that the producers could have known that, but what a ball dropped.

Oddly, even though I'm a huge Trek fan, I'd never seen this episode before last night. I probably will never watch it again. Zero stars for me. Probably one of the five or six worst entries of the series. At least most dreadful Season 1 outings had a kernel of an interesting premise buried somewhere. I know an episode is beyond saving when I pulled out the "at least" apologetics for Season 1.
Next »Page 1 of 975
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer