Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,068 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,603
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Another example of a TOS episode piecing together ideas from prior episodes: "The Paradise Syndrome" as William B. mentioned, but also a bit of "The Return of the Archons" for the computer controlled society. Some interesting twists on those themes but, by and large, nothing new here.
McCoy's romance with Natira doesn't work - it makes sense to have McCoy get this opportunity but Kelley doesn't do the part justice. Natira wasn't too convincing either.
I liked the romantic music for Natira/McCoy which is also used in "The Empath" for Gem. TOS had some wonderful musical scores.
What also doesn't work for me is how McCoy has 1 year to live so I guess he goes along with the idea of marriage and living on Yonada but then a cure is found in the extensive library behind the Oracle and then there's no more romance.
I think the episode has a good premise -- the Creators building Yonada to escape the destruction of their solar system some 10000 years ago. But it goes off course etc.
I don't know why the Oracle decides to heat the room when the Big 3 violate it instead of using electrocution again -- this miscalculation gives Kirk & Co. time to get the book etc. So it's somewhat convenient how this leads to solving the problem as everything else falls into place nicely.
I'd give this a strong 2 stars, nearly 2.5 -- seems like this episode dropped the ball a few times, unused potential.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Geordi is sure fixated on beard growth on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Trevr Darling
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Are the holograms in a holographic mine, or do they have mobile emitters...?
Set Bookmark
TheMechanic
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

TNG is my series (unlike Jammer and other people who post here) but I agree with almost everything here. Aside from all the plot weakness I do want to chime in to point out what a hideous episode this is to look at. The Klingon ships are ugly by design, but both Romulus (which have we seen before at this point?) in unbelievably boring. We're either in gray caves or beige boring restaurants and offices. Even the space bar isn't all that interesting. Not sure what happened on the production design on this one.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

"Day of the Dove" is an OK episode - some non-corporeal alien that feeds on hatred and violence creates situations for Klingons and the Enterprise crew to fight. Kind of reminds me of "Wolf in the Fold" where an alien feeds on fear.
Hard to know where to draw the boundaries between what the alien can conjure up and what it can't. It pulled off some pretty incredible feats, but ultimately is defeated once the Enterprise crew and Klingons stop fighting.
In any case, the message behind this episode is the strength of it -- the need to find peace, war can get you nowhere, and how difficult it is come to peace when indoctrinated to be at war.
Ansara as Kang does a solid job - like Colicos doing Koor in "Errand of Mercy" which established the truce between the Klingons and the UFP.
The Enterprise crew (other than Kirk and Spock - for the most part) are forced to act out of character due to the alien - so this actually proves to be a negative to this episode as opposed to one where their character develops -- like Scotty telling Spock "Transfer out. Freak!"
My rating: 2.5 stars -- some interesting situations to demonstrate a simple but difficult message to enact. It is a bit hokey though and heavy-handed in delivering its message.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

The best part of this episode was the spooky atmosphere - the red skies, half finished buildings, the background hum -- it did an excellent job of putting the crew in a surreal situation where they need to figure out a solution. Whether it is lack of budget (highly likely) or by design -- it worked.
I thought the guest actors playing the Earps etc. were convincing in their steadfast desire to kill Kirk & Co. Chekov acts unprofessionally but his death does give a clue to the solution of mind over matter.
It's always a bit awkward when Kirk & Co. get put into a contrived situation due to the incredible powers of some alien but it's all to tell a story and this one is not a bad one. The pacing is slow and it does drag on a bit, but it ultimately a test from the Melkotians -- as another commenter mentioned, similar to "Arena".
Makes "sense" how Spock arrives at the solution - evaluating how things have happened and how the laws of reality aren't being observed.
Agree with Jammer's 2.5 stars rating - not a bad hour of Trek but not a great one either. A contrived story but one with a reasonable solution that seems to add up.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

The other part of Gene's vision for the future was rejecting materialism. Odd that Star Trek conventions and comic-cons tend to be orgies of merchandising. Many fans don't seem to get bent out of shape about this. Mr. Roddenberry certainly didn't have a problem with merchandising and yet we have a continent of plastic floating in the ocean.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

"The Borg obviously have very very easy ways to do away with that. There is nothing that suggests even remotely plausibly that it won't happen again here the second "Hughes" is reconnected to the Hive. "

In BOBW the Borg "interdependency" was described as their achilles heel. It was stated that if one jumped off a cliff so too would all of them, which is how Data defeated them.

I infer from this that there is a distinction to be made between being "assimilated" by the Borg and *being* a borg. The assimilation process purges individuality and makes you a borg. Once you are a borg, you are, by definition, *all* borg hence the use of "we" rather than "I".

The point being, when Hugh rejoined the collective, he was not "assimilated" - rather he became the borg (and the borg became him) once more. So his individuality became part of the collective. To the extent Hugh was now an individual, so too was the collective and all Borg within it.

Of course I agree with others that there is something a little too easy about this, and indeed, the whole computer virus plan. It defies belief that the borg could have such an obvious weakness. Yet to be fair, the way in which Data defeated the Borg in BOBW was itself unbelievable. Heck it was even stated that subsystems like defence and power were protected by firewalls but the borg did not bother protecting their regeneration subsystem? Ridiculous.

I know this isn't the point of the episode and we are meant to presume that the virus would succeed but come on!

In any event I do agree with Picard's ethical decision. Funny enough it reminds me of the movie "It Comes at Night" which I just saw. Without providing a spoiler that movie, in my view, poses a similar ethical dilemma at the end which poses the very real question of whether or not survival can really be enough if it compromises our humanity. By the end of that movie, suffice it to say, I came to the conclusion that sometimes survival isn't the be all end all.

Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@ Linda,

I'd like to offer a different perspective on the issue of whether Starfleet ought to be able to take custody of the baby Changeling. Your premise seems to be that the Changeling is a living being rightfully under the guardianship of Odo, and that taking it away would be equivalent in some way to taking away a parents' child purely for strategic reasons. That is a dangerous thing to consider, but I don't think that's the case here.

Why should we assume the Changeling in any way belongs to Odo? It literally wasn't his offspring, and he cannot legally claim it's his unless it's a piece of property that he bought. Since Changelings are accepted as being sentient it follows that Odo can't just lay claim to a stray Changeling he finds any more than I can simply stake a claim to a stray child I find wandering on the street. As an abandoned child/life form Starfleet (or the Federation) no doubt has rules about how to place the being in foster or medical care, how to determine who its parents are if possible, and how to establish good care for the child. In the case of a Changeling baby we sort of know who its parents are and why it's been sent away from them, but the fact that Sisko and Odo happen to know the practice of the Founders in sending off their young doesn't have anything to do with Federation law. The rules don't cease to apply just because Odo has some insider knowledge about where the baby came from. The fact is that Odo ought to have had no right whatsoever to take the baby under his care unless granted as dispensation by the Federation to act as a foster parent, which is apparently what happens in the episode. But since he isn't trained for that his only qualification is being the same species, which isn't trivial but also clearly isn't enough, as we see since he has to go to Mora for help. Basically Odo had no business taking on that task, and in all seriousness I think Starfleet was rather fair in giving him a chance to do so since he requested it. Wanting to make sure the Changeling's development is on track isn't just a matter of the strategic necessity of seeing their asset taken care of; they would have the same concern (albeit probably not to the same extent) to make sure *any* foster child is growing properly and being well-nourished. If they felt that Odo was failing to help the baby grow and develop there is a real social work concern there, even aside from the fact that it's a Changeling. If it was a human parent and their foster child wasn't growing the Federation would probably take it away in that situation as well to give to qualified specialists.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Dagger of the Mind: Mentions a Christmas party

Balance of Terror: Wedding in the ship's chapel

The Ultimate Computer: M-5 says murder is contrary to the laws of man and God

McCoy: Always spouting "What in God's name?"
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@Linda

To be honest, I don't think Starfleet's rights/interests in the Changeling were very pronounced in this episode. Trek already did a show about Starfleet pressuring the monitoring of a life, and that's TNG's "The Offspring". This isn't that kind of show, though it does take notes from it as well as notes from "I, Borg", "The Abandoned" and others.

Sisko's pressure on Odo is really just a catalyst to get Odo to see that Dr. Mora wasn't such a bad guy, and that his methods, while objectively cruel, were at least humanely reasonable given Mora's circumstances. Whether Odo could fight Starfleet or would fight Starfleet is never addressed, so it's really up to the viewer's imagination how that would play out. Though, I can't imagine it being as bad as the pressure Dr. Mora got from the Cardassians.

In the end, were Odo's results quick enough (assuming the Changeling didn't "die")? That's not a question that's answered, but it does seem like a breakthrough was made that would at least justify Odo/Mora's position of custody.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Chrome, it’s probably been over 20 years since I’ve seen an episode with Hugh the Borg. I’d forgotten his youth and much of the circumstances of his initial interaction with the Enterprise. A lot could be said about Hugh—over 100 comments on “I, Borg” alone. But given the situation, proper precautions needed to be taken when he was first beamed onto the Enterprise, and they were.

And pretty much the same could be said for the baby changeling: as long as Odo continued to take responsibility for it, and it was in a place where its life signs were continually monitored by the computer, proper precautions were being taken and I think it would have been premature for Starfleet to take custody of it.

In the “The Abandoned” episode, Odo had lobbied for Starfleet to give the young Jem’Hadar a chance to develop into something other than an aggressive being. In this episode, Odo makes no such pleas or arguments. Either it was ground the writers didn’t want to cover again, or Odo learned something from his earlier experience.

Now at the time that Sisko issued his statement about Starfleet, Odo had yet to have any result from his efforts. One would assume that after the baby changeling began responding to him and a relationship was forged, Odo would have been very vocal if Starfleet tried to take possession. Still, one could argue that once Odo and Mora “stepped up” their interactions on the baby changeling, which was being monitored for medical reasons per Dr. Bashir, that such activity could have led to it ultimately succumbing, since it was already in a weakened state. But since the baby changeling absorbed itself into Odo, it obviously didn’t hold any grudges. All’s well that ends well, I guess.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Archer's gonna die. Archer's gonna die. Yeah, right :/ Who are you kidding, the 3 year old viewers?
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Archer plays mom to insectoid offspring. nuff said
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@ Robert,

I interpreted the comment to mean that homosexuals have a problem with heterosexuals who are not ok with homosexuality. More broadly, I think the point being made is that 'tolerance' seems to often only extend to beliefs that are complimentary, and the moment someone has a belief that is not complimentary to a group they are *not* ok with it (i.e. are intolerant of the supposed intolerant belief).
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

@Miguel - What do you think homosexuals find offensive about heterosexuals? I'm genuinely curious. As a member of the heterosexual community... what concept and belief of mine do gay people not accept?
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

This horrible attempt at creating drama would be laughable if it wasn't so pathetic. Ho Hum episode
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Quite enjoyable! If you couldn't enjoy this romp you have to be all trekked out. Good stuff
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Loved it! Good entertainment.
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

Great entertainment!
Set Bookmark
mefive
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Time travel!!!!!!! Love it!!!!!!
Set Bookmark
She Wolf
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

It's a good thing Trump wasn't president when this happened, or we would be at war with North Korea! LOL

I am really bad at pointing out inconsistencies in any kind of show or drama or comedy, but I do realize that to enjoy entertainment, we do have to acknowledge the inconsistencies, suspend belief comma and move on. I find it really hard to do sometimes and I can accept that others do as well. If you look at time travel in the dust on a butterfly's wing theory, you would go absolutely crazy trying to deal with the impact of time travel. Sometimes you just have to enjoy!
Set Bookmark
She Wolf
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I agree with a lot of the comments made, and won't belabor than by repeating them. This is indeed one of the best Star Trek episodes and rewatching it recently confirmed my opinion.

Some comments have been made about the style of helmets. Other than the obvious, which somebody already mentioned, was that the helmets were to prevent the expense of making everyone with ears. Aside from that, references to the founders of Rome by naming the planets Romulus and Remus, it is clear that someone based the Romulans on the Roman Empire. The references to Centurion, Decius, Centurion, etc make it clear. If you look back at history you'll see Romans wore this type of helmet at one point.

On the other topic, I think the episode The City on the Edge of Forever is overrated. It's not that it's a bad episode, but to state it is the best Star Trek episode of all time is going too far, in my opinion. I think it gains its reputation because it was written by Harlan Ellison. Even though a lot of it was rewritten after his original draft, I think a lot of people elevated to the best because of his reputation.

As an episode I don't particularly care for, the one I would nominate is Shore Leave . When I was a kid I really enjoyed this episode, but when I watch it as an adult it just seems a little bit silly. And Kirk's fight with Finnegan went on way too long and was just boring. I think probably Shatner pushed this idea to celebrate his machismo. I think that the idea was interesting, but it wasn't executed very well.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

@Tmrn I agree with nearly everything you said. It would've been really engaging if the aliens attacking at the end were that desperate and Tuvok points out that they are not necessarily the enemy. Of course, that would require the original message that Voyager sent to include the information of what the idiotic and inexcusably inflexible aliens were doing to the sinkhole and what that would do to the planets therein.

My point of contention is the racist remark: "Is it because she is white and looks like a human and has sparkly stuff on her face while the aliens look less human and have darker skin?" Too often these days such a statement is brushed aside, accepted or simply ignored because it targets "the Man" or white people. Basically it's become acceptable to make disparaging remarks about a particular skin color because of the skin color - making a race-based judgement. I understand the history behind the accusation and for all I know it might be true! But that does make its tone any less racist than it is.

I mean no offense to you Tmrn. I just wanted to make the point that this kind of behavior shouldn't be accepted. Again, the trend you point out may have some basis in fact, but too often it is used by race-baiters on both sides to pollute the debate with their own agendas.
Set Bookmark
BSGCommenter
Thu, Jun 22, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 1

did anyone notice that Tyrol referred to God (singular) and not gods (plural) when talking to Cavil?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,603
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.