Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,815 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 753
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 3:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Certainly an overated episode.

Sure, nothing in this kind o episode pleases me more than seeing one of the insane, dumb, unprofessional risks taken by the captain quite often finally ending up in the obvious disgrace they should have caused many other times before this.

But common, it is offensive to watch yet another insane suicidal decision that felt completely bizarre in that artificial sudden sense of uregency to try a crazy new way to get home. It's utterly absurd. The crew develops an experimental idea in a ship that is lost from home for more than 4 years. And the captain is ready to try it even after knowing that there is a fundamental flaw!


What to say about Chakotay in this episode? Only that it is still painfully annoying to watch he agreeing once again with the captain's crazy decision of the wee, in yet-another-are-you-with-me-scene.

The episode had many other issues. From the corny countdown where the action happens when it reaches zero, to the super corny (and fairly silly) message that Kim sends to him in the past.

Yes, it was a well executed episode in terms of dialogue, especial effects, camera, etc. And yes, there were good pieces like Chatkotay and Kim as fugitives in the future. Still, here we have to swallow that they are willing to go back in time and make a history change of, in this case at least, pottentially enormous consequences. Without a moral doubt shown on screen.

Ok, it was sort of entertaining to watch. But it was not exactly good and is easily the most overated episode of Voyager I have found in this website so far. Certainly not more than 2 stars for me.
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 2:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

This episode was mostly boredom disguised as a profound piece of episode.
trekmedic - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 10:46pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Does anyone else think it's hilarious that the Ferengi starship's name is "Cretin?"
Aaron - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 9:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

I liked this one. Seriously, after 7 seasons of Voyager being mostly one-shot episodes, it's nice to get some continuing plot threads. Enterprise was basically Voyager with hull plating instead of shields for most of the 2nd season. Now they've got a purpose.

I thought it was an apt storyline given ENT's broadcast existence in the post 9-11 era.

Oh, and people, stop complaining about canon! No one but hardcore trekkers cared about that, and it's why the producers of the new movies just said F*** canon.

It makes sense that events from more than 100 years before TOS might have lost their intensity, like the Spanish-American War or World War I for us today, that people don't talk about that much anymore unless studying history.

What I didn't get, though - 1) where the hell were the Vulcans? They didn't seem to give a crap or assist at all, so I can't believe that humans would put up with them at all, especially after this. 2) Earth vessels seemed to make short work of a Klingon battle cruiser, why was there no warning about this Xindi weapon?
Tom - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 7:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Pollyanna: "I found the exchanges between Wesley and Picard genuine and realistic." Absolutely. I never thought that I would find myself actually liking Wesley. Those scenes with the captain were touching and a testament to Wil Wheaton's (and Patrick Stewart of course)'s acting abilities. It shows how much the show and its writers have progressed since season 1.

@SkepticalMI - The Earth's mean temperature is 14C, or about 40C less than that planet. So, if they landed somewhere during the winter, maybe on one of the poles, than the temperatures we see in the show might make sense.
SkepticalMI - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 6:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Interesting that three of the last five episodes of season 4 (Half a Life, Host, and this one) all deal with very similar themes, namely a romance doomed to failure because one of the people in the relationship is completely and totally alien to the other. Of the three, I think this is the best, because it turns it around and makes the central cast member who we have seen and grown with over the past 100 episodes as the alien one. I liked Destructor, T'Paul, and William's comments, and agree with them. The fact that Data appears so mechanical here is what made the show. Others have mentioned elements of the last scene that were moving and striking, but I'll add one more. As Jenna's leaving, Data asks if this means that they are breaking up. This seems such a natural and emotional thing to do. If it were a human saying that, we might imagine he was being wistful or regretful, asking but not really wanting to hear the answer. But when Jenna confirms it, he merely comments that he will delete the appropriate program. There was no emotion behind his question, merely aiming for factual clarity so that he can efficiently organize his files.

I also agree that it was not out of the ordinary for Jenna to fall for Data; the episode set it up well. Data has had 20 some years of experience dealing with people in professional or relaxed social environments. So while he's not perfect in these realms, he does a decent job of following the proper social protocols. He really was being a good friend to Jenna beforehand, both in the torpedo bay and after the concert. In fact, I remembered the "double date" with Miles and Keiko as happening after they became a couple, not before. But given how clingy Jenna was being with Data and how comfortable she was with him, it seemed only natural that she would think he might be able to be more than just a friend.

And it was just as natural how much he failed. He has had zero experience with relationships (drunken one night stands with former security chiefs notwithstanding). Of course he wouldn't know how to behave. We see him act naturally (when Jenna visits him in his quarters), and he is emotionless and unavailable. So he tries to act unnaturally, and it is painfully obvious to everyone that it's a façade. Even Jenna noticed it was a failure pretty quickly. I guess that's why I can't complain about the pointless B plot too much. If it was so obvious to everyone that Data was pathetic at being a boyfriend, how could they have filled 43 minutes of it? Better to create filler than to mess up a good 30 minute story by stretching it to 43.

As for comparing Data and the Doctor, this episode is one of the reasons Data is a better character. From my recollections of Voyager (and in fairness, I don't know it as well as TNG), the Doctor's INhumanity was rarely explored. For the most part, he was just a sarcastic human who could be turned off. The episode where his OS crashed due to saving Kim and not the redshirt is the only exception I can think of off the top of my head. That's not meant as a slight to Robert Picardo, who played the sarcastic doctor well. But there was much more depth to Data, because he was much more alien. We could never be sure how much of humanity he was mimicking and how much really was there.
Ric - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 2:45am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Holy Trek. Aside from the very implausible, silly, ludicrous explanation for how One was "born", the rest of the episode was pure joy to watch. Oh mine, it is amazing how much Seven has added to this show. The final of the episode, the dialogue, and how it builds upon Seven's contexto is just really really good.

I also enjoyed quite a lot the portrayal of One, as well as the actíng behind him. They ressembled the Tin Man from the Wizard of Oz, in the way he moved, talked and, most touching, both the facial expressions in between machine and human and the way he looked at the others.

Loved this one.
skadoo - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 11:07pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I found the story mentioned above (O Captain, My Captain: A Look Back At Deep Space Nine’s Ben Sisko) below is a better link:
www.racialicious.com/2012/03/15/o-captain-my-captain-a-look-back-at-deep-space-nines-ben-sisko/#more-21072

I thought it was a great article. I'm disappointed at the attitude people have over that small scene. I think for the most part if you are a person of color you're more apt to have thought of the scene as necessary.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@Jammer and Torayo, as to the sexism in DS9 and beyond, the reason there are female schemers using their bodies is because men desire them and women in real life use their bodies. That is life, too bad.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I did not love this episode. It was alright and it was really cool seeing everyone out of make up, Dukat and Nog in particular. I quite liked the first half of the episode when I thought it was going to be a light period piece, but than the "Racism=Bad" chanting started, OMG, can we ever get past this as a culture? I agree with some of the poster above who said that star trek works best in allegory, I did not like at ALL when this became "12 Years a slave" light.... I disagree on one major point with Jammer also, it is true this is the first direct reference to Brooks being black, but ever since "Past Tense" it has certainly been right there under the surface waiting for this terrible episode to happen.

Now, I have never been a fan of the "issue" episodes, I have stated many times I love Sci-Fi for the Sci-Fi, not for BS political reasons, I don't need over-acting Avery Brooks to tell me racism is bad, or stupid face painting in TOS for that matter, or boring TNG season 7 to know polluting is bad. I look forward to getting back to real science fiction.
pip - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

A big treat seeing Wendy Robie, one of my favourite Twin Peaks alumni. Almost unrecognisable without the eye patch.
tony - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

"Well for all those complaining about Quark not getting punished...........

Maybe this was one of the times when Sisko later proclaimed he could have come down hard on Quark but didn't. Makes sense to me."

Well, it sure doesn't make any fucking sense to me, since Quark's actions almost got a friend of Sisko's KILLED!!!

Tricia - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 5:04am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Isn't the universal translator built into the com badges? How does Janeway and Paris keep talking to the aliens after the com badges are taken? Apparently the aliens not only look exactly like humans, but they speak English. (The universal translator doesn't make sense anyway, but that's a different discussion).
Ric - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 12:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: One

@Nick "Why the strange alien of the week to pester Seven's subconscious? It made no sense. They should have stuck with the Borg theme"

I agree, but it is clear why they chose the alien at first. Because we were supposed to believe, for a while,m that he was real. If it was a Borg bothering her from the begining we would not be foolished. However, it got obvious pretty soon that the alien was not real... So I also regret they did not use the oportunity to explore in the way you've suggested.

Sure, the episode had a few big logic flaws, many of them already pointed here by others. But overall I found ths episode really entertaining, with a terrific development of Seven's character. Pretty good.
Retrospeculative - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I have to disagree with the prevailing opinion; as science fiction, this is a much better film than The Wrath of Khan, which has some embarrassingly bad ham acting (in particular, from William Shatner and Ricardo Montalban).
SkepticalMI - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

As others have mentioned, this is a rather dark story, with Geordi being put through hell. Of course, it could have been darker. Tell me, how did the Romulans know so much about Geordi's visor? How did they single him out so easily and seem to have the technology all in place? After all, it's not like they've ever gotten their hands on a VISOR before. It's not like any of them ever tinkered with one before. Well, except for that one guy in The Enemy, who worked with the VISOR enough to hook it up to a tricorder... Oh.

Yes, Bochra, the man who saved Geordi's life, who confided to Geordi that he did not want to die, the person involved in what Geordi cheerfully and triumphantly declared the first Federation-Romulan co-venture... Bochra was the one who caused all of this brainwashing. How's that for a nice swift kick in the gut, La Forge? Although I'm not sure which scenario is darker: Bochra immediately going to the Tal Shiar and offering up all intelligence freely, or Bochra imprisoned by the Tal Shiar and forced to give intel on his new Federation friend...

OK, random speculation aside, this is an excellent episode. There really is a sense of dread, a sense of danger throughout the episode. Of course everything would turn out ok. But Klingon and Romulan episodes tended to be the dark ones, tended to shake up the status quo. Worf killed someone in the last one. Maybe La Forge would too. Probably not, but maybe... Of course, it wouldn't be O'Brien. But that scene in 10-Forward was creepy enough because you knew something was going to happen. And when it ended up just being a spilled drink, it made perfect sense (the Romulans aren't going to call too much attention to themselves for a test) as well as being, well, a bit unexpected. A bit of relief, but then you realize that means he is still being controlled by the Romulans, so not a relief at all.

And then we see him in action, using his brain to wipe the computer memory. And then see him later with no recollection of it. It's painful for the viewer to see, which is undoubtedly the point. And then Data gets on the case, and it's a race to the end...

The end is a little bit contrived, but forgivable. I wasn't bothered by Data not running or anything, he didn't know an assassination attempt was underway. What was a bit of a bother was Worf fighting with the two Klingon bodyguards while Picard and Vagh stand there stupidly and watch him. And then Data seemed to hedge all his bets on Kell still having the transmitter on him. Which was a lucky guess. This was definitely the last order (since La Forge would be imprisoned if successful), and Kell beamed down to the planet after giving the last order. He could have abandoned the doohicky at any time. Yet it was obvious that Kell still had it.

But it's a minor nitpick. The overall episode was still an excellent, suspense-filled show, a worthy member of the Klingon civil war arc.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:31pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Decent episode. Not great. The main issue is that the council were willing to cover up the truth, which is contrary TO Klingon honour.
The council leader even suggests that he served alongside Mogh and "I do not want to remember him this way"

What way? You'd rather he was remembered as a traitor? That's bad writing.
Buck - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"... and all it cost was the life of one Romulan senator, one criminal, and the self-respect of one Starfleet officer."

Best line of the episode.
Joe - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:48am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

am i the only one that liked this episode?
Ric - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 1:15am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

That review was by far one of the best I've read on any Trek so far. Other sites included. Very very funny.

This episode's lack of logic was ofensive. The sudden lack of fuel/energy just to bring a pseudo-continuity for a lazy plot excuse was even more. The half stars is more than enough. I would give this same half star, but only for the fact that the writers decided to show officers beaming down to non-M class planet, i.e. even using astrounaut clothss. It always bothered me how rare this is.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:44pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Holy Trek, I almost slept during this one.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Really Strong episode. Very good all along.

From the captain finally listening the suggestion given by other (jn this case, Chakotay), to Seven's personal quest. And mostly, the way the episode dealt with "spiritual experience" - compare that with how DS9 deals with that and you give this episode some twenty stars.

The plot was pretty engaging and, as Jammer has pointed, it used the Voyager features naturally. Fully good, and Seven is a joy to watch. When I think we had to pay one Kes in exchange for Seven of Nine, I smile.


Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 9:03pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

The plot is poor. In fact Paris' need for a change of pace was too sudden, flat and lazy writing. As lazy was the how idea of changing bodies as a way to see some fake character conflict.

Not to mention that once again, the security measures of Voyager are worth nothing. The alien can so easily access the central computer and a lot of bio info on Paris. Pathetic.

Oh, in a last note, the first scene of the alien-Paris and The Doc shows again that he is not very good in psychology...
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:31pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

*FOR when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up

But yeah, 4 stars for me, this was excellent. Oh and to the ones questioning Sisko's capacity for blackmail... Episode 1. Quark.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 6:26pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

I like to think that the body's purpose was to instill a sense of ambiguity, that it was meant as a side dish for viewers who tried to piece the whole thing together in their heads. I, for one, feel that Ghemor was 99% certain that the dead body was, in fact, his actual daughter. Of course, now that he cannot return to Cardassia Prime, he will never know for sure. It was for this reason that my eyes got a bit cloudy when he gave back the family jewel. Then, of course, he says he hopes he'll find her some day, but again, I think the line was meant, once again, for the sake of ambiguity. It could very well be that he KNOWS he will never find her. That the order would be so cold as to use Ghemor's famillial emotions against him to an end, and that on Cardassia trials are already decided before they begin, I wouldn't put it past them to keep the fake corpse when it was finally time for a new trial to get the people all riled up. They probably knew Ghemor was a traitor from day 1, and the cameras that weren't on? ... Yeaaah I doubt that. Also, the comment about Garak, while could easily put the Legate into question, it could at the same time simply add more depth to DS9's ambiguity figurehead himself.

All in all, "Face of the Enemy" obviously comes to mind (possibly the only Troi episode I actually really enjoyed), but also "Frame of Mind", with the plot centering around trying to convince a main character that their life is a lie. To me, combining two of my favorite TNG episodes together and then having Garak come in and say what pretty much everyone in this comments section was thinking...

" Major, I don't think I've ever seen you looking so ravishing."
Next »Page 1 of 753
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer