Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,911 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,397
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

"What is more boring than two people stranded on a shuttle/planet for 45 minutes?"

Two people stranded in a corny Irish village holodeck program?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

This story has given me a great idea for an episode of modern family. The youngest girl brings her new frat house boyfriend over to meet the family. The frat boy comes in the house and notices that the dad's fly is open. Without telling the dad his fly is open, the frat boy leaves in a huff, comes back later that night and toilet papers the house. he then throws industrial waste slime on the toilet paper. After all, he was deeply offended by the dad's open fly so the punishment had to fit the crime.
The dad finds out that frat boy toilet papered his house and made it a health hazard so he asks frat boy why. Frat boy tells him that he was deeply offended by the dad's open fly. the dad apologizes profusely and frat boy gives him the name of someone who will clean up the toilet paper and industrial waste slime.
Sounds like a winner doesn't it?
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Harry transfers Doc and Krell from the Holodeck to Sickbay — Doc was wearing his mobile emitter on the Holodeck, and is wearing it again in Sickbay. I guess Harry transported it at the same time Doc was transferred. Hah.
Set Bookmark
William H
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

The main plot seems like something of a walking back from the dark conclusion of "The Abandoned". Goran'agar as a character suggests that the Jem'Hadar aren't purely creatures of their programming. Its an interesting story, though in the end it discusses a lot but doesn't really go anywhere. And I do think Bashir is a bit too forgiving, given how far O'Brien ultimately goes.

I'm really not keen on the B plot. Worf acts like an idiot, Odo does too but the story doesn't really acknowledge it. Then its wrapped up with a rather weak excuse for Quark's get out of jail free card and some preaching of the shades of grey creed.

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 6:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

The crew gets toilet papered (-*****)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Couldn't stand Pulaski. Glad to see her go.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Alien holocaust. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Odo to the holodeck (***)
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Not seen this one before either. Seem to be doing my Sloan trilogy now!

Loved it. What I really liked is that this touched upon some of the fan controversy of Section 31 by framing it against the almost perfect Federation citizen, Bashir. The line about Section 31 being there because people like Bashir are too idealistic is brilliant and it makes loads of sense,
I’ve always maintained that the Federation cannot just be some wet pacifist organisation as they live in a Galaxy with Gorn, Tholians, Romulans, Klingons, Borg, Breen and countless other threats. An organisation like Section 31, no matter how un Federation, HAS to exist.
The senate scene was excellent, I was genuinely on the end of my seat wondering how it would pan out (I knew it would end relatively well as I have seen the end of the series). Great interplay with Bashir and Sloan. Love seeing another Intrepid class ship. Enjoyed the off the record chat with Bashir and Ross even though it was obvious Ross was working for them.
4/4 easy.

Now for the final 10 parts!
Set Bookmark
gigalore
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

3/4 episode.

Don't like just a dream, don't like Brooks acting, like more or less everything else.

Regardless, disappointing to see what appear to be devoted Trek fans expressing what can only be described as regressional political views.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 2:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Bwahahahahahaha loved it! More Ferengi please! (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Level the playing field? How is making one side undetectable levelling the playing field? Seems Archer and the doc had no problem administering the '"çure' this time. Guess evolution wasn't doing its job. (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Star Trek needs to stick to scifi and leave psyfy alone (0)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I'm not even sure that's a plot hole. When the Pasteur uses the inverse tachyon pulse, it may take a finite time afterwards for the anomaly to form, which would then proceed to travel backwards in time. When the Future Enterprise encounters the anomaly ~6 hours later, it's 'small' but non-zero in size. How can that be, if it was 'just formed'? Perhaps that was its starting size. Or perhaps it actually took more than 6 hours to form (i.e. formed in the future of when the Future Enterprise found it, and they encountered it after/before it grew a little already). But then you ask - what about the Pasteur why didn't they see it! Plot hole!

Even then you don't know that. You'll note that the Enterprise in "Encounter at Farpoint" didn't see it either. Not a plot hole. It's because Q's sending Picard through time was creating an alternate timeline, and only ships in the alternate timeline would see it. The Enterprise crew in the 'regular time' didn't have memories of the events allegedly happening concurrently in the past. Also not a plot hole. Each ship in each era was independently being whisked into an alternate timeline. The point is that time isn't linear in the way we think of it. The Pasteur was originally in the 'regular' timeline, where there was no anomaly. Only once they initiated the pulse did they create a shunt into the alternate timeline. And again, if that took finite time to occur it wouldn't be instantaneous. By the time the future Enterprise finds the anomaly they're already in the new timeline; we can't know exactly when they entered it.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Say what you will about this one, it's all worth it for Sisko's reaction to Bashir admitting he obtained Romulan mind probes. That little interaction is worth a star or two by itself.
Set Bookmark
David
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

A very over-rated episode. Sure it was funny, but is that enough to make a good TNG episode? Not in my view. I also noticed that this is the first episode not to have Gene Roddenberry's name appear at the end before the credits roll. Was he that embarrassed by it that he left his name off it?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

What is more boring than two people stranded on a shuttle/planet for 45 minutes? Nothing (0)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Entertaining (***)
Set Bookmark
Broadlake
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

At the beginning of the episode, did anyone else notice that the Doctor commented on the "medieval safety constraints" (seat belts) of Tom's car, yet Voyager itself (and it's shuttles) lack any sort of safety/restraining devices?

You'd think with their technology they'd have developed some sort of high tech collision safety system to stop bridge personnel from being catapulted out of their seats every battle.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

@Dustin

Those are fair enough complaints, but mind you the episode is about Q trying to teach Picard to look beyond his limited concept of time, so it's safe to reason that applying usual linear time would not teach the lesson Q wanted.
Set Bookmark
Dustin
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I am among the tiny few who absolutely HATED All Good Things. I've only watched it once, when it was first aired. I've never been able to bring myself to watch it again since. Back then, I could have given you a whole laundry list of the problems I had with the episode. Since it has been so long now, I only really remember the biggest gripe I had.

Specifically, you have an anomaly that travels backwards in time. But when future Picard arrives, there's nothing there. They do their tests and leave. Hours later, Picard convinces them to return and lo-and-behold, there it is.

Wait. What? The anomaly is spawned by their testing and travels BACKWARDS in time. But when they arrived it wasn't there and when they came back AFTER... it is there?

That's the only specific plot hole I remember now, but it's a pretty large one. I remember writing off the whole episode as "Q is involved. Q does whatever he wants, whether it makes logical sense or not. The episode is fine. There are no plot holes. The apparent plot hole with the anomaly works fine because Q makes it appear where it "needs" to appear in order for Picard to react properly. All bow down to Q."

Perhaps I should try to watch it again and look for all the character interactions instead. Apparently, based on the rave reviews here, if I ignore the "science" supposedly involved, the episode is great.
Set Bookmark
Dustin
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

My father and I watched this episode together during the original run. We tuned in late and missed the opening scenes, so we watched the episode without knowing anything about Wesley's experiment.

Had we seen the show from the beginning, I don't think we would have enjoyed it nearly as much. I'm confident we would have figured out that it had something to do with Wesley's experiment at some point along the way.

Instead, we spent nearly the entire episode throwing ideas back and forth, trying to guess what was going on. It was glorious. We were wrong time and time again, but it was immense fun bouncing ideas off each other while watching this highly entertaining episode.

I still have fond memories of this episode. I think it is probably my favorite episode from any of the series, all because we missed the first 5 minutes. :)
Set Bookmark
Someguy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Even though it was a giant floating Rasta Santa head, at least it wasn't Nagilum
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

Run of the mill (*)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@Yanks

"I might see an issue here, but didn't Jake date a "white" alien in that episode where he double-dates with Nog?"

Jake dated a black woman, Lark Voorhies (a.k.a. Lisa from Saved by the Bell). Well, at least it was nice to see Lark again. :)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,397
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.