Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,752 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1031
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Not sure what happened with the auto-correct there: "something to look forward to."
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:40am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

As a resident "newbie" when it comes to DS9, I want to say that I have *NO* expectation about not finding spoilers here on a show that is so many years old. Furthermore, I'd have no such expectation on any public forum. As for the comments here, they are much of what makes Jammer's review site so special. The odd little spoiler increases my enjoyment by giving me something to look forward, too.

Regarding Jammer's comments on Odo getting his shape-shifting powers back, it seemed a little too easy for me, too. But Odo's time as a human was important in his character development. He softened up a bit, and he learned more about love.
Luke - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:34am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

Is "New Ground" full of cliches? Yes.

Is it well trend upon ground? Yes.

So what?

I'm not one of those people who demand that everything be original. The whole "Hollywood is out of new ideas" crowd really bugs me actually. I don't mind when an episode or a movie or whatever else is a retelling of a tried and true story. A good story retold is still a good story.

"New Ground," while again not groundbreaking, does have some good stuff on display. Worf and Alexander get some nice character development. Troi is - *GASP* - actually used effectively, and as a counselor no less! And, they don't hit the reset button at the end of the episode. It would have been extremely easy for them to ship Alexander off to the Klingon school and have Worf just go back to doing his usual routine. But, they didn't. They decided to keep Alexander on as a recurring character and I highly applaud them for that.

The problem the episode has is the B-plot with the Soliton Wave. It's completely unnecessary. It's obviously only there to provide the final manufactured crisis with Alexander trapped in the lab. The Gilvos just happen to be the lab that will be exposed to radiation. Isn't that convenient? Alexander runs off to see the Gilvos again. Isn't that convenient? The lab is massively damaged in the trip through the Wave while Alexander is in it. Isn't that convenient? Alexander is pinned under the conveniently fallen beam. Riker, Worf, Alexander and the Gilvos all get out just in the nick of time. Isn't that - what's that word again? - convenient? As another commenter said - this is TNG's A and B plot formula at its worst.

And of course, the Soliton Wave itself makes no sense. Warp speed without warp drive. How?! If you don't have something warping the fabric of space-time or slipping you into an alternate dimension or something, you can't go faster than light. Look, science was actually my least successful subject in school, but.... Physics 101, people! And, of course, all the manufactured drama at the end could have been easily avoided if the writers hadn't yet again failed to realize that space is three dimensional! People, you don't have to go through the Wave. Just go over it!

Still, it's nice to see the really good character development on display here.

7/10
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

LOL ... this episode certainly takes it's lumps and deservedly so, but is it really worse than 'Spock's Brain', or 'And the Children Who Lead', or 'The Naked Now', or 'Code Of Honour', or 'If Wishes Were Horses', or 'The Emperor's New Cloak', or 'Precious Cargo' or TATV? (just to spread the wealth here :-))

I don't think so.

I always thought this was a pretty good episode until the ending happened.

Hell, moving any mass faster than the speed of light (WARP) is a pipedream, along with replicators, transporters .... insert your accepted Trek-tech/science.

Great episode for Paris, and I thought that trying to accomplish something that wasn't possible was pretty interesting. Janeway's support along with B'Elanna and Harry... it was an interesting episode.

Just thought they could have ended it better.

.....MUCH better..... :-)

This one actually won an award!

2.5 star from me.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

Aside from the cheesy "STID attack the building moment" at the end, I really enjoyed this episode. Still can't believe the 3 photon Torpedoes shot from orbit didn't crash that little ship.

It showed that Janeway is all "my way or the highway". (although this really strengthened her argument, didn't it?)

Brought back the Maguis angle, included one of my favorite actresses (Martha Hackett), Kate was awesome and Beltran was great in this episode too.

This could have been a 4 star episode if not for the ending.

3 stars for me.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:14am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Why would something 400 years old remain "extremely painful" while not being relevant to the plot? I'm sure it had nothing to do with Avery's race...

Watch TOS: 'The Savage Curtain' for the appropriate context that is in line with Gene's vision.
Troy - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:09am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'd give it 2.75 stars. A very solid episode. I especially like the eye blinking as the giveaway to Data. It was probably best not to tell her, though I suspect that I'd like to know. Might allow one to take physical risks such as mountain climbing or sky diving taking advantage of having essentially an immortal body. A

After more than 20 years I had forgotten the twist (though in retrospect after the reveal I did remember it had something to do with eye blinks) so it certainly had value in watching it again.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Yes it is Aine.
Luke - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:38am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

"If you cause a guy from the 22nd century to become trapped in the 24th century, haven't you just changed the past?"

I could honestly not say anything else about this dud of an episode. But, of course, I will.

Oh my God! For a franchise full of characters that literally freak out if a single blade of grass is put out of place during a time-travel adventure, that ending was HORRIBLE! It's especially grating when mere moments before the time pod disappears, Picard stands there and smugly condemns Rasmussen for attempting to change the past. Then he goes ahead and does so himself! Because, you know, it's okay when the good guys do it. But hey, at least all of our "heroes" got to stand around and act like arrogant, smug douchebags.

Add to that the fact that Rasmussen is so freaking annoying (was this actually "supposed" to be funny?) that it hurts. Was the whole point of making him this obnoxious so that the audience would cheer at his comeuppance at the end and just forget about how Picard and company massively altered the timeline for no reason at all? I'm not criticizing Matt Frewer here because it's a problem with the character and the writing, not the acting. I doubt that Robin Williams would have been able to do any better.

The only half-way decent part of "A Matter of Time" is the B-plot involving the crisis on the asteroid impacted planet. But even that is just ho-hum. It's greatest strength is that it isn't annoying as fuck like the A-plot and doesn't insult my intelligence at its conclusion.

There is at least an attempt at a good scene in the confrontation between Picard and Rasmussen over the ethics of keeping silent while millions might die. But it's torpedoed by the fact that Picard, who says "how can you be comfortable watching people die?," is guilty of doing that exact thing! He was willing to let Sarjenka's people die until Data essentially forced his hand back in "Pen Pals." And, a little over two years from now, he'll literally stand on the bridge and watch while not only millions of people but AN ENTIRE CIVILIZATION dies in "Homeward." I agree completely with the sentiment. How can a moral person honestly stand by and watch others die? But coming from Picard's mouth, it really rings hollow. But then, maybe this is just my problems with the Prime Directive surfacing again.

3/10
Aine - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Definitely undermines a whole lot of everything that happened with Jadzia, but well, what's new? How much more 'cheap' heterosexual plugs do we have to watch and not complain about! Rejoined was one episode and got called out for that. Here, with Worf/Dax, we can expand it across episode after episode I suppose, with any restrictions brushed aside.

Leaves me feeling bitter! ST never seems to tire of the 'stick two people on random planet which just happens to be completely habitable/breathable and around for a crash landing' thing, just so they can come together due to the enforced proximity.

Of course, if same-sex individuals become close in enforced proximity scenarios, that's unnatural perversion. (Rant :p)
Aine - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 6:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Thoroughly enjoyed this episode, unlike a lot of other really boring ones. Why is there so much discussion about the race comment? Why does it bother people like that? It's almost like you don't want to hear the fact that YES it was and continues to remain extremely painful. It isn't particularly relevant to the plot, but neither are a ton of other side-comments that go on all the time. This one actually has a very legitimate and raw emotion behind it.

I haven't seen ocean's 11, but might check it out after the comparisons. I absolutely loved the whole stealing thing - had me on the edge of my seat. I was egging Nog (Egging Nog??) on the whole time!
Greg - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 1:36am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

Probably the second worst story of the series. But I agree with some of the commenters that it has some redeeming value for its unintentional humor. A bad episode but not a total waste like And The Children Shall Lead.
Greg - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 1:25am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I have to go with the majority on this one. This is just the worst episode of T.O.S. Perhaps the worst of the entire franchise. The writers must have been under the gun and just pulled this out of their ass at the last minute. Terrible, terrible, terrible. I won't even recount the plot it's so useless to do so. The only thing I will say is that as an adult I could see a bit of humor. "Hey kid what do you do when you are all alone in your cabin?" Kid makes pumping motion with fist. (Sorry. I had to do that.)
John G - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 12:46am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Not even going to watch this. Mirror universes are the worst thing ever to happen to Star Trek. I would rather watch an episode where a Ferengi in drag attempts a transwarp flight and evolves into a giant salamander.
Greg - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

After reading the comments I have to say I believe I have a unique take on the message of this episode. I won't be so arrogant to say it looks like every one else missed the point and I'm the only viewer that "got" this episode but......First I must say I liked it. 4 out of 5 stars. It went back to T.O.S. and explored the Orion culture. I mean if you are a straight male how can you object to "green slave women." But wait it turns out the women aren't the slaves but the men. "How can that be you say,since the women are sold into slavery?" Well first of all the most beautiful women would bring the highest price and therefore be sold to the richest men. And the men would then be controlled by the women. So being sold to the richest man affords the most beautiful women the most room for advancement. Sound a bit familiar? Something pretty close to that happens here on Earth. The most beautiful women usually date rich men. I mean when was the last time you saw a supermodel marry a walmart employee? Nuff said?
But the real message here is for men...and it is...Don't let women control you with their sex or you will be made a slave. You know, child support, community property, the big "D" that sort of thing. It shows us the wrong way for a man to have a relationship with a woman with Kelby's pleading, "Don't go" And then the woman telling him what he has to do to keep her.
Think I'm wrong? Well, just look at the last scene with Trip and Tpol. Trip has already asked to be returned to Enterprise but doesn't tell TPol. He attempts to get TPol to admit that she want's him back. When her pride initially prevents her from doing so Trip walks away only to have TPol follow him and plant a very passionant kiss on his lips in order to make it clear what she wants. Only then does Trip tell her that he already asked Archer for his old job back.
So we have two examples of how to deal with women. The weak way with Kelby begging the girl not to go. And the strong way with Trip walking away and allowing TPol to follow. I could have said the wrong way and the right way instead of the weak way and the strong way but you get the idea.
So this is really a primer on how men should treat women. Be weak and get treated like shit or be strong and get treated right. I'd bet a weeks pay it was written by men who have been through a divorce.
I suspect my take on this episode might infuriate a few feminist but what the hell. Most feminist I've met are pissed at the world from the get go and nothing I can say can change that little fact. And if I am accused of being a male chauvinist pig(what ever that means) I can only reply with, "Oink"
But, I'm in my fifties, I quit counting how many time I have crossed the Pacific Ocean when I got to fifty times and I have lived in many countries and experienced many cultures. And I have quite literally had more alien tail than Captain Kirk. And from experience I can say if you go in weak you will end up getting the shitty end of the stick every damn time. If you go in strong you won't win every time but your odds go up considerably.
And finally I will say again, The message of this episode is just so obvious it's hard to see how anyone could miss it.
Greg - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 10:51pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

All I can say about this episode is, "WoW." An outstanding effort. Several messages were here not the least of which is that maybe history is not what you think it is. Three Vulcans crash land on Earth in 1957. TPal's character and one other Vulcan seem to have a low opinion of Earthlings. Their superiority and condension are evident. They think of Earth as a primitive planet filled with near savages. But one sees Earthlings in a different light. He sees the positive aspects of our society and recognizes that we are on the verge of startling advances. When one of his shipmates notes that most of our technology is devoted to destroying each other he has to remind him the Vulcans did the same hundreds of years ago.
Several moments of humor here when one of the Vulcans remarks that a child keeps calling him Moe.(As in Moe of the three stooges.) There is also a nod to Lucile Ball and as most fans might recall she was the one that ok'd the money to make Star Trek:TOS Remember the first season was shot at Desilu.
After interacting with a young man that is obviously intelligent but without the means to go to college TPol somewhat modifies her opinion of humanity and provides the money for him to attend.
The episode ends with the Vulcans being contacted for pickup and one of the Vulcans deciding to stay on Earth due to his facination with humanity. Best episode of the second season and one of the best of the series.
greg - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 10:20pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I.M.H.O. this was the standout episode of the first season. Trip and Malcolm are stranded in a disabled shuttlepod and under the false impression that Enterprise is destroyed. That leaves them with a little bit of a problem. Without Enterprise to pick them up they will soon die due to lack of air. This episode did a lot to reveal both characters but especially that of Reed. One was the angel of death and the other was the cock-eyed optimist. I thought it was brilliant that the set was cooled down enough so you could see their breath during the final scenes when the temp is freezing. How many time have I watched scenes where the characters are supposed to be freezing but their breath is not visible? Enterprise went the extra mile just to help us suspend disbelief. Bravo for the best episode of the first season.
Batchick30 - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 6:29pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

I think this episode was a nice delving into the past of DS9's most interesting sociopath and how the truth of Nerys' past wasn't as cut and dry as she hoped. I never got the feeling she could change what happened since that was not her purpose in consulting the orb. She wished to see what really happened. However the truth wasn't what she assumed it to be. This was once again an episode that showed what a person can make into 'normal' on a day to day basis. And often even when under duress those choices would not make them proud to look back on later. If not out of love for her mother, Nerys may have recognized how close she was to this type of life herself not long ago during the reoccupation of DS9 when choosing to not go through with the bombing.My biggest issue was the choice of a child that didn't even have brown eyes to portray Nerys as a child? Wha?!
Mallory R. - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 5:51pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

After the superb "Twilight" episode I wasn't in the mood for another one of the recycled hack scripts that seem to fill half the show. At the point that it was clear T'Pol was in mortal danger if discovered, the logical action was to replace her on the mission. And she would have said so, because it was a needless risk - only used to generate tension by lazy writers. I turned it off, sarcastically predicting the ending (which I later saw was right).
Peter - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 3:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

I can't really accept Robert Foxworth's military adventurer in this arc.
Gul Sengosts - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 2:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

This review is just wrong, as always :P Its issues have been discussed to great lengths here already. I could have forgiven it for putting two people who don't like each other on a shuttle AGAIN... if it were good characters and a good combination. Sadly, Eddington is the most unsympathetic and plain annoying character in the entire series, it could only go wrong.

He's just a huge pain in the arse with his constant over-the top sarcastic self-complacency. Dukat gets away with it because he has the personality and nonchalance to back it up, Eddington just tries much too hard and makes it only worse with every word he says.

It's good that he starts talking a few non-rubbish sentences over the stretch of the episode, but this episode's greatest achievement, eventually, is that Eddington dies.
Yanks - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 1:20pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

HAHA... I think the builders should have read Isaac Asimov's Three Rules of Robotics :-) They just might still be around. Thought the same thing watching Ex-machine.

I really enjoyed this episode. I thought B'Eleanna waited a little long to agree to build the prototype. Voyager was taking one hell of a beating while she was blabbing with 3947.

I also really enjoyed 3947's voice and verbal expression. I never in a million years would have guessed that it was Rick Worthy. - Bravo!

Interesting dilemma. I'm not really sure the prime directive applies here as Janeway insists, hell - Data (mentioned in this episode) isn't even recognized as being sentient - so how does the prime directive apply here? Both her and B'Elanna where both talking of robots as life-forms, not sure that's Starfleet's viewpoint.

I don't know that the costume was so bad... the "blah" nature kind of it added to it's uniqueness and diverted more attention to the face; which added to the episode I think.

Very interesting reveal at the end. That really added to this episode.

3.5 stars from me. I just watched this last night and enjoyed it as much as the first time I saw it.
Batchick30 - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 1:10pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I think this was yet another chance to appreciate Colm Meaney's acting abilities. He always does an effortless job. It's a shame that he has never gotten an award for his talent of improving what could be lesser material in the hands of others. And any man who keeps a cat can't be all bad.
Did anyone else pick out Orange is the New Black's Healey as Chadwick?
Yanks - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 12:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

@ William B,

All done for dramatic effect I imagine.
Yanks - Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 12:25pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

romemmy,

Codes in trek historically haven't been very difficult to break aside from Data and that REALLY long one he created.

One could and probably should assume that the Klingon codes are easier to break.

I'm sure the Maquis had them, they had every other code/key in the galaxy :-)
Next »Page 1 of 1031
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer