Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45,819 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,833
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

William B, you really misunderstood that scene where Janeway said Neelix took the bait. He took Jonas' bait. Tuvok and Janeway knew all about the dodgy log entries. However they'd hit a dead end because they were too well covered up. When Paris left, Jonas used that as an opportunity to frame Paris and take the heat off him (bear in mind he already had his final instructions from Seska, so he's expecting either to be serving under her and Culluh soon or for Voyager to defeat them and to be not found out as a wannabe traitor).

When Jonas knew Neelix was investigating - and remember he does know because he literally was there - he had to act. It was the kind of pressure Tuvok and Janeway were trying but failing to apply to the traitor. It caused him to make a move, which is something they wanted because it's more evidence, more chance to slip up. So, he goes and adds the fake signature to the doctored entries, because he doesn't know Tuvok and Janeway have already seen them, because they've been keeping very quiet until now (that's why Tuvok tries so hard to dissuade Neelix from doing any of this, because he thought it might scare the traitor back into hiding instead of scaring them into making a move). When Neelix announces Paris' guilt on his show, he's taking the traitor's bait, letting them get cosy again. That's what they were talking about. That's why she asks him to investigate again.

Apparently being fine with sacrificing the Talaxians is another matter, definitely. I can only imagine that it's because they could have held them off for a moment and called for Voyager's help as they weren't too far apart yet. Even so, that's pretty irresponsible of Janeway to endanger them like that when they thought they were doing her a favour! Endangering Paris, who is part of her crew and a volunteer for this mission, is one thing, but that's another entirely.

And I couldn't stand when Tuvok's idea of an open comm link is... not having an open comm link. "Omg are you doing sabotage???" and I don't know, Tuvok's on the bog? Even if he was, should he not have mobilised a team at that point and not later? It's annoying when they make characters less intelligent/powerful to serve the plot. Even if he sent the team but they didn't get to the doors before Jonas sealed them, it's the same outcome but less aggravatingly done! I can handle Jonas having weird powers over the ship (as he hasn't been previously shown not to, and he's not really important) but I can't handle Tuvok not keeping his eye on the situation when he literally promised he would. Tuvok isn't supposed to be an idiot or a liar. Anything! Like a scene on the bridge, Tuvok's lost his comm link to Neelix - which would suggest the traitor in action but still not precisely who it is. Whatever! I would still have thought it was stupid even if they hadn't written him to say he was listening, but as they did, it's unforgivable.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@ William B,

All of what you said is on-point, and I'd like to add one more thing too, which may sound like beating on a dead horse. The whole issue of using questionable knowledge, as you put it, may have been a centerpiece of the episode rather than a side point, but going along with that, the objection of the Bajoran could have become the primary issue once Janeway decided in favor of using the questionable knowledge. Can you imagine, five years into the Voyage, if a Bajoran former-Maquis felt so strongly about this that he tried to resign, and Janeway did threaten to put him in the Brig over it? That could create a resurgence of the Maquis-vs-Federation issue without it just being an excavation of old issues. It would create a new issue, which is - what happens if a Maquis no longer wants to participate with the Starfleet officers? Is he/she still under Janeway's protection, or is her cooperation with them conditional on their doing exactly what she says all the time? It could have made for a great Chakotay-Janeway scene to have her about to come down on a 'rebel' and have Chakotay threaten to band all of the ex-Maquis with that person and go on strike or something. Using a weekly plot point to go after a core issue on the ship is what this series should have been about, but instead it was the opposite; usually relationship issues on the ship were only used to serve the weekly episode and then forgotten.
Set Bookmark
TB
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Very good episode but I have a bone to pick with the producers.

If you're going to give Kes different wigs during the show to signify what time period she is in, don't choose this episode to change her hairstyle! At the end it wasn't clear whether we were seeing future Kes (relative to the previous/next episodes) or present day Kes. What stupid timing that was. I'd assumed the ending it was in the future because we hadn't seen kes with hair like that before and it would have taken a long time to grow it that long.

Set Bookmark
William B
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 12:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Just want to add --

The creation of the Moset hologram is not so implausible given the rules of Trekdom; Leah Brahms, as mentioned above. The problem is that Booby Trap actually was fairly careful to make sure that only Geordi came up with the great ideas, though it's subtle; and this episode, the Doctor *himself* says that the Moset program would have to be almost as complex as him. There's sort of a particular mismatch. However I'm willing to grant a bit of slack on this particular can of worms, because it's not just this episode that skirted close to opening it. There are other problems of this ep of which I'm less forgiving.
Set Bookmark
Ed
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@CPUFP

Voq didn't interest me as a person, but the fact that he agreed to go away and make some sort of ultimate sacrifice did.

If he is In fact Tyler, it seems that he's given up even the memories of his former self and become genuinely invested in his new identity. This has a lot of dramatic potential.

My one complaint is that one of the reasons he was first suspected of being a liar is that he said he was from a city (Seattle I think) when the real Tyler was from a nearby town. This is not suspicious at all. People often use the name of a large city for the general area around it--the "greater metropolitan area."

Set Bookmark
William B
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Also, that scene where Seven says "Ah, you all tell me that the Borg are awful because they don't respect life...but this one Cardassian also doesn't respect life! GOTCHA!" is annoying; Seven isn't that dumb. I don't think Janeway et al. ever claimed that there were no bad non-Borg.
Set Bookmark
William B
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I'm basically with Jammer on this. I actually am a little softer on the *idea* of using the Moset hologram to explore what I think the episode's central issue is -- namely, whether it is morally acceptable to use medical knowledge which was gained through horrific, immoral means. In a way, it's a potentially great metaphor. As Jammer says, no one would have given a second thought to using knowledge gained from Moset if he didn't look the way he did, but that is sort of the point. Having the avatar for the knowledge gained from a butcher experimenter *look like* that experimenter forces people to reckon with where the knowledge came from in a way that doesn't usually happen. And had the episode emphasized this element, I think it could have worked quite well for me. Have someone point out that they wouldn't even be having this discussion if it weren't for the walking exobiology textbook *looking like* a specific unethical doctor-butcher, and then have someone else pause and say, "You're right -- and maybe that is a problem with how we normally operate. Maybe every time we use knowledge that was gained immorally, we should have to have a visceral reminder of where that came from." (Well, pithier than that, hopefully.) So the episode does have a good central metaphor, in that sense. Don't bury the question of whether people react differently to a hologram of a butcher than impersonal knowledge obtained by that butcher, but make it a central concern of the ep.

I guess what bothers me is that the episode seems to throw the kitchen sink into this episode and sacrifices a lot of the clarity of this metaphor. Look, life is complicated and it makes sense to have a lot of different perspectives. But a lot of this gets junked up by things which are not only irrelevant to the moral episode at hand, but irrelevant to our world. There's a lot of stuff on making the hologram, the Doctor insisting they need a personality, Harry having to make the program work, Moset learning that he's a program, the Doctor bonding with Moset and whether he's letting his personal like of the guy get in the way of his objectivity, the question of whether people are unfairly prejudiced against them, the question of whether the Moset-gram is responsible for the actions of the real person he's based on, whether that Bajoran officer has the right to resign his commission over their use of the Moset-gram, and so on. The episode also requires a whole lot of buys in order to accept what we got, not just the Moset-gram's creation but also the idea that the whole Federation database is ignorant of Moset's crimes but one of his victims happens to be on the tiny ship which seemingly has like three Bajorans on it, just so as to set up the idea that the moral issue hadn't come up before this moment. The Moset-gram is a walking contradiction; the Doctor says early on that he's got to be nearly as complex as the Doctor is in order to handle that data, which means that his super-fast creation is implausible and opens a can of worms, and also the Doctor bonds with him as a fellow colleague and person, but then the episode avoids the question of whether the Moset-gram has a right to continued existence, since he really does seem about equally sentient to the Doctor. The Moset-gram both emphasizes that he has no memory of his atrocities and then starts half-heartedly defending them, rather than (say) reacting with the Starfleet-computer-cooked up friendly personality, so that he'd react with horror at what the "real him" had done.

We also have to accept the idea that the Moset-gram is basically a whole series of exobiology textbooks from many authors, *including* Moset, but at no point does anyone consider whipping up an alternative consultant who uses exobiology knowledge from just the other authors. I think the idea is that there's something that only Moset can do, but I do think that needs to be established. And I think part of the general problem is that it's generally difficult, in the sciences, to sort out which accomplishments go to one person and which don't, especially since a lot of research gets quickly developed on top of research done by others. I think the episode needed to establish more strongly why Moset's *research* and techniques were particularly necessary and why there were no alternatives, or at least why it wasn't possible to start searching for alternatives.

Now, individually, a lot of the issues I mentioned would be worth exploring in greater depth -- could an officer resign their commission on Voyager if they felt a strong moral objection, and if so, would Voyager be "required" to continue to have them as passengers? (Would a Maquis who tried to resign his Starfleet commission then get sent to the brig for Maquis crimes?) The Doc/Moset bonding follows from the teaser, with the Doctor's attempt to drag the crew into his hobby and their clear disinterest, in which the Doctor is really quite desperate for the attention of others and feels himself unappreciated, and it raises a potentially important point about how much people are willing to overlook the flaws and crimes of colleagues when they are also friends, and maybe the only people who can otherwise understand you.

Most seriously, the way Janeway overrides B'Elanna's wishes is a huge issue that needed to be addressed more strongly than the episode did. I didn't list it as one of the "distractions" because it seems to me that the episode does try to make it important, but doesn't quite succeed. The tone is off in the Janeway/B'Elanna scene, where Janeway seems pissed off when she walks in there, and doesn't even seem to bother defending her decision all that much. In general the episode has Janeway mysteriously downplayed for most of the running time. Chakotay is the one who gets most of the "command officer interaction" scenes in the episode and stays out of the debate until she stands up and says "You're both right but we're doing this and there's no questions," and then she gives the Doctor the decision of whether to delete Moset or not with a kind of annoyed disinterest. I guess this is where someone might argue it's part of Janeway's ongoing character development, that she's becoming a harder-edged, more pragmatic, and more distant leader, and that sort of makes sense, but it still plays out very strangely to me in practice.

And this is to say nothing of the whole screeching-alien "can we find them" subplot which is dealt with in a perfunctory way after the intriguing initial signal. (I noticed Frank Whelker, who does a lot of animal voices in animation etc., was the voice of the screeching alien, which is neat.) Favourite moment: in the middle of the battle (?) with the aliens, Tuvok's matter-of-fact reminder to Janeway, "We *do* have weapons," maybe the funniest line Tuvok's ever had in a low-key way.

Anyway I think the episode is messy and uncomfortable -- but some of the discomfort is for the right reasons (because the moral issues are uncomfortable). Most of it probably isn't. I think I'll also go with 2 stars. It's sort of an honourable failure.
Set Bookmark
CPUFP
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

At last, a little bit of closure on some of all those unanswered questions the show has presented us with so far. I was disappointed that apparently the rumors of Tyler being Voq are true. I had hoped for a more original resolution to this arc - though to be honest, I would not have minded if the writers had just dropped it unresolved, because Voq's appearances until now have left me completely uninvested in the character. Let's hope the writers start bringing in some other alien cultures, because it seems to me that this version of the Klingons does not really have that much potential for more storylines. They're not relatable as individuals, and as a culture, they're pretty much a one trick pony, far from the complex society established on TNG. I'd like Discovery to give us some more info on that era's Vulcans, maybe some Andorian characters like they had in Enterprise, or elaborate more on the Kelpians.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Just a very bad day at the office if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
CPUFP
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

This was the first episode where the humor felt organic to me, even though I wish they would've toned down the 20th century pop culture references and the slapstick wackiness on the Krill ship. The show is dealing exactly with the kind of issues I want to see on a sci-fi program.

One thing about the episode's resolution bothers me though: Mercer and Malloy killing the Krill seemed forced. Couldn't they have just turned up the lights for a short period in order to incapacitate the Krill, destroy the rocket, smash the ship's controls and escpape in the shuttle? Granted, it would have been riskier, but it would've seemed more in line with what he have thus seen of Mercer's and the Union's moral code than just brutally killing all the adult men on the ship. Of course, then there would not have been an oppurtiny for the "violence begets violence" message the episode finished on.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 6:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Uilliam it was one of the biggest facepalms of the pilot. Burnham explains emphatically that they must *not* kill this guy. It is the one objective of the mission. And she has him in her sights, and she just... kills him because, revenge? She literally just had to stun him and beam out. Mission accomplished. At that point I could have completed the mission.

We are to believe that after everything Burnham said, she would choose to start a war for the sake of a momentary act of revenge? And this woman is supposed to be a Starfleet first officer? Raised by Vulcans?

Or I don't know, did she intend to kill him? Was it an accident? BAH! This stupid stupid show.
Set Bookmark
Hank
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Hm, 2,5-3 Stars from me. I really liked the first three quarters, and I fully expected a reset button, but that explanation just didn't work for me. I'd much rather have it all be a dream, treaden as that ground is. I have very vivid dreams from time to time, and it would make sense for Alara here after her trauma. Or something like the movie "Sphere". I guess it is just personal preference.

Other than that great episode, my rating is just down to the ending. I really liked Bortus' jokes - he in 18th century clothing was just hilarious. The score was also really well done, as well as the fight scenes. Isaac felt really nimble and powerful, not the kind of "lumbering robot" that is so common. I also liked the funeral, with the chief making crude jokes - at first I thought "man, Seth, this is the wrong place", but I guess the Chief just wanted to keep acting like he did with his friend for such a long time, before the realization really sinks in. Really touched a nerve, without being full of false pathos.

Robert Picardo was sadly underused, but I guess we havn't seen the last of him. I almost thought he would appear on the ship, as some kind of final enemy. Oh, and for some reason, Nurse Park seems really interesting. He is the complete opposite of everybody else on the show: Down to earth, normal, dutiful human being.

And a final remark, the visual style is just great. It harkens back to TNG and Voyager, a calm, collected affair. Really excited to see where we go from here.
Set Bookmark
Uilliam
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 12:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Evoloution doesn't work that way.

The whole point of it is survival of the species and adaptions that get passed on.

I liken the whole 'Screw it, let'em die' to the 2013–2016 Ebola Epidemic.

The Prime Directive would have us sit back and go, "Well they're not exactly a warp (Western) civilzation and well maybe go-- I mean 'evoloution' has a divine plan for them. They might become the next Nazi germany or something if we save 'em. Screw'em let 'em die."

No, we as a western society went. "Oh no, people in trouble! Let us help!"
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 11:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I have only read some of the comments above, but this episode clearly brought out lots of emotions and analysis. I liked a number of things about the episode, but it is impossible for me to ignore the absolutely catastrophic failure to implement the Prime Directive on so many levels. Whatever direction the cultural infestation takes, there can be no doubt that this society has been altered irreparably. To have no back up generator in the first place, Crusher recklessly exposing herself to the daughter, Picard bringing the leader on board--one abomination after another. To think the leader and then her whole community would not still be in awe and worshipping the Picard when the Enterprise left is hard to fathom. 1 star
Set Bookmark
Jack
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

The problem with the structure isn't that it put the reveal at /near the end -- that's necessary for a story like this -- it's just that it kind of petered out a little early. And the real point, Alara beating her fears, or at least learning to function despite them, didn't quite get shown (although, maybe the intention was to show that she was wrong to be so determined to beat them).
Set Bookmark
Uilliam
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

But her actions were not in defense.
She and Georgiou had no trouble stunning Klingons left and right, and she deliberately switched the phaser from 'blue = stun' to 'red = kill' when Georgiou was killed.

This was a calculated act that went against her *own* mission which was, "Nah let's not kill this guy but lets snag-n-bag him instead otherwise we make him a Martyr."

Any other XO would've got the job done, no matter how they felt.
Hell, even Colonel "Chug" Tigh in Battlestar would've got it done. Bitching and complaining all the way; but he still would've got the job done.

Her action to assault her CO when she essentially 'didn't get her own way' was impulsive and not what we've come to expect of a main character. Certainly not one we've been told is all that and a bag of chips.
Set Bookmark
methane
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

I agree that the trilogy is held back by the lack of development of the augments as characters. Still, it was entertaining enough that I'd give this story a passing grade (with this episode being the weakest of the three).

Brent Spiner's acting is one of the best things about the trilogy. Even with the problems already mentioned (the character never teaches the augments, only preaches rules to them), Spiner is great all the way through.

Another thing this trilogy did well is world building. It references all sorts of stuff that were first mentioned elsewhere, but that's mostly for the good. We got a good feel for galactic civilization, with references to Orions, Klingons, Denobulans, and (of course) humans, and how all these races interact with each other. The props, sets, makeup, and special effects teams did a particularly good job with the Orion slave auction & the medical outpost.

Two references that I didn't think worked: The imitation of Khan on the floor of his ship at the end of WOK & Soong's reference to artificial people (both for reasons others have mentioned on this thread).

This is an early indication of how Enterprise would benefit by spreading stories over multiple episodes. Without that extra time we wouldn't get to explore Spiner's character, nor would we have the time to really investigate the different locales.
Set Bookmark
Wedspug
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Nothing makes someone who constantly screams "I am a victim!" happier than giving that person more to scream about. ODTP shouldn't be asked to leave. It appears that he means to annoy and anger and then, when called on the behavior, whine to the referee. If someone feels a comment he makes is meritless, consider ignoring the comment. Then he will REALLY whine, but to everyone else it will be like the sound produced by one hand clapping
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

Hiding in this bad episode were two good ones that would have made great Season 1 getting-to-know you episodes.

Episode One: "Prudence and Prejudice"

Goals of episode: 1. Give viewers a little snapshot of Alpha Quadrant/Federation. 2. Show how the crew handles conflict and diplomacy. 3. Have the crew examine their prejudices.

Synopsis: The Enterprise is sent to ferry delegates from Antica and Selay, two planets in the same solar system, to a peace conference on the planet Parliament.

The solar system lies near Federation space but is also near a part of space where the Ferengi have recently become more active, so it's strategically located.

The two planets fought a war more than 100 years ago when the Anticans achieved space flight and landed on the more primitive Selay. Since then, the Selay have also achieved space flight but are still behind the Anticans in technology. They've had a cold peace for almost 80 years but a new war is threatening to break out.

It's crucial to the Federation to make sure a firm peace is established so the Ferengi can't exploit a conflict so close to Federation space. (We can learn all that in briefing early in the episode with Data).

Here's where it gets interesting. The Anticans are very humanoid looking and get along great with Terrans, sharing many of the same attributes, culture and food. There's informal talk they'd like to join the Federation, and the Enterprise crew thinks that's a grand idea. The Selay are reptilian. They are aloof and demanding and eat disgusting things (to us). Also, Troi can't read them. She can only "feel a presence." They have no interest in joining the Federation and have only reluctantly agreed to the conference out of desperation because they are also practical.

Each side is accusing the other of acquiring weapons from the Ferengi to mount an offensive attack and the Selay say the Antacins are courting the Federation as well.

Troi, Riker and Picard have an initial meeting with both groups and have positive impression of the Anticans. The Selay meeting doesn't go as well. Troi meets with them alone a second time. Right after the second Selay meeting, Troi falls mysteriously ill.

Dr. Crusher believes she's picked up a type of venom from the Selay, which the Antacins subtly encourage. They even hint the venom was transmitted on purpose. After talking with the Anticins, Beverly administers a treatment but it has the opposite effect and sends Troi into shock.

(And that's our B-plot: Beverly frantically trying to save Troi's life and her guilt at making her worse, not better).

Meanwhile, hostilities mount between the Antacins and the Selay, and an Antacin is found dead and appears to have been killed by a Selay weapon. Tasha and Worf are assigned to security.

As the episode progresses, the Selay look more and more guilty and the Atacins make more inroads with everyone but Worf. He sees the Selay as noble and honest and admires their stark philosophy.

Eventually, a Ferengi vessel attacks the Enterprise, and it turns out it was a rogue Antacin delegate (and arms dealer) who has been working with the Ferengi to incite a new war. He sent coordinates to the Ferengi ship and was caught by one of the Selay. He attacked the Selay, who killed him in self-defense. The Anacin is also the one who infected Troi, and they also learn he learned the ability to block empathic probing from the Selay. (Worf is the one who figures all this out, with the help of Data).

Crusher almost loses Troi during the Ferengi attack, but the Selay leader helps her figure out the right antidote (using some of his own blood). The Ferengi attack is repulsed.

The Selay demand to turn back from Parliament because of the human prejudice, while the Antacin leader begs them to reconsider. They decide to work together toward a peaceful resolution on their own without Federation help or Ferengi interference.

Ends with staff meeting where Picard praises Worf for his prudence and admonishes himself and the others for letting their prejudices against a reptilian life form cloud their judgment and they must do better next time. (And in the B plot, Beverly goes through same thing making assumptions about Troi's medical condition).

With any luck, that paints a little picture of the political and cultural climate in the Federation, reinforces the Ferengi threat (such as it is), gives us some character growth and maybe gives you two species you might could bring back again.

I'll do Episode 2 later.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

...The long-range sensors can detect its power signature...what about the lateral sensor array? Perhaps it's not quite the same type of technology, and modifying the long-range sensors to operate the same way is not possible?

Technology can be full of seemingly nonsensical things that actually are due to really mundane explanations. Running programs from a command prompt, for example, seems totally counter-intuitive to do at this point simply because we have mice and cursors for that. But it actually makes more sense to do and you can access functions of a program that its GUI doesn't let you work with.

So, the sensors may work this way: Long Range Scanners can detect things like that, but they are not specific enough to use with the tactical systems. Those are locked into the lateral sensor array, which is for short range quick "get and go" identification of stellar objects, ships, signals, etc.

That makes a lot of sense to me, anyway.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I agree with Jerry above; this episode - like much of season 3 - has fantastic and intriguing ideas, and little scenes which rank amongst Trek's best, but just can't quite manage to pull together a completely good script. Tweak this script and jettison the filler and you'd have a neat game of cat and mouse.


Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I've gone back and forth on this episode for years, but I'm finally going to land on "good" and give it 3 or 3 1/2 stars. Space Indians, the captain living out a new life in another culture, and a crew member being mistaken for a god will all be done later on TNG as some viewers here have noted. But I like how this episode pushes Shatner way beyond his usual glib invincibility -- normally Kirk is hyper-resistant to anything taking him away from his ship, but this episode really sells the idea that he falls in love with something (Miramanee) else. I like how Spock is truly anguished in his command decisions regarding the asteroid after so much time goes by with the captain lost. And I love the touching farewell between Kirk and Miramanee followed by the equally touching effort by Spock to relieve the captain's sense of loss with a selective memory wipe. Wow, this is edgy stuff for these characters, and I like how this story goes for broke on everything.

This story continues the trend, which is very clear at this point in the series, of focusing on our regulars: McCoy, Scotty, Chekov, Sulu, and Uhura are all in fine form here. Watching all the episodes in order, more or less one a day as I've been doing, really shows how the cast chemistry grows throughout the series as stories begin accentuating just the regulars without shoehorning too many guest crewmen. Nicely done here. But the star of this one is Shatner: His love for Miramanee and heartbreak at the end feel unusually vulnerable for the character, shunning his usual glibness, and the concern and love of Spock for his friend really come through. I like this material.

The Space Indian stuff is okay, the Obelisk is suitably alien and mysterious, but all of that is just backdrop for the central story of "captain catches Tahiti syndrome." And you know what? It's a good story, well-acted, with good location shooting and some beautiful moments. I think this is a highly underrated Star Trek episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Kind of a goofy episode trying to capitalize on the good stuff "Pathfinder" started but it's pretty farfetched and seeing the Ferengi left a bad taste in my mouth. Overall, not great stuff here although there are a few good moments.

I take it the Voyager crew is so desperate to get home that they turn into "saps" as Jammer puts it. I don't get a kick out of seeing our protagonists look like idiots. But holo-Reg seems convincing and part of his routine is to win over the crew with his impersonations etc. That Voyager could come so close to getting destroyed through their own naïveté (i.e. not under some alien influence) is worrisome.

The good part about the episode is Dwight Schultz's acting -- showing the confident (and calculating) holo-Reg and the usual Reg we've come to know. Clear difference between the two came across.

Can't not have some serious doubts about the geodesic / technobabble crap with the giant red star and creating a pathway with the Ferengi ship firing some kind of beam. Oh, and then there's the Ferengi. Like Jammer said: "And a show of hands: Do we really want to see the Ferengi again?" NFW! This is one thing VOY has going for it that DS9 doesn't -- almost no Ferengi.

Troi wasn't bad in this episode although the scene with her and Reg on the beach dragged on a bit -- yes, it starts to paint the picture of Barclay's ex, which is another incident that sort of makes one take pity on him (not unlike Harry Kim in the final scene falling for Torres and Paris's dumb joke).

2 stars for "Inside Man" -- moderately entertaining but enough about it I didn't like or that was just plain dumb. Barclay on his own with a bit of help from Troi couldn't carry this episode and Voyager narrowly avoids destruction from a Ferengi scheme -- would the profit-motivated aliens really go this far after all the relations built up with the Federation? One of a few poor decisions for this mediocre VOY outing.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Pretty interesting episode about healthcare (of all things) and the discrimination for different segments of society given their different treatment coefficients on some alien world. Picardo is really good in this episode (again).

That the alien society runs on giving medical treatments based on different TCs is a good take on how a non-Earth society would/could administer medical treatment. All about treating those who are bigger contributors to society -- analogous to our planet (in a way) with the rich (1st world countries) being able to afford better treatment.

Doc's plan of poisoning Chellick reminded me of Kirk in "The Cloud Minders" beaming the administrator into the mines to prove the effectiveness of the gas masks. Kirk was trying to get a poorly treated class of society equality. I liked how Doc resorts to this extreme act to prove a point not long after the shock he sees at the unscrupulous medical ethics.

Also some decent humorous moments with Janeway trying to track down Gar - bit of a wild goose chase and then the interrogation with Tuvok and Neelix was well-done to get the thief to confess. This must have been a plan between these 2, although it seemed like Neelix took matters into his own hands (with the feeding of Gar) - much like Doc has to do on the alien world.

3 stars for "Critical Care" -- a really good take on medical care, though we don't know if that alien world changes its ways (in terms of one of the possible conclusions to the episode -- not a big deal). Doc is proven to be in fine condition by 7 when he was concerned his poisoning of Chellick was a malfunction -- that was a nice touch to end the episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

When I saw the name of this episode appear as I booted up Netflix I thought-oh no-I remembered this one with appropriate dread.
I hated it at the time and with good reason,
it is another implausible hour of silliness.
Come on guys-Saul Rubinek's pantomime villain would barely hack it for a 1980's remake Twilight Zone episode.
The deranged giggling and mincing about in that idiotic costume do not aid the suspension of disbelief.
I agree with Jammer on one point-there is no plot.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,833
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.