Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,654 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 907
Chris - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 10:58pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Nissa said: "...Um, am I the only one who really hates Doc? He's my Neelix, and I really hate watching his selfish antics. Everything he does is "me, me, me!" and this episode is no exception. He doesn't even go so far as to say "all my fellow crewmates gave up communications with their families just so I could come and help you." Instead, it's just Doc being self-centered, with his self-centered creator. Oh joy."

Nissa, I hate him as much as you. And you made a good point. Doc didn't say "all my fellow crewmates gave up communications with their families just so I could come and help you." Instead he says "I left my crew without a surgeon so I could come and help you."
Lutan - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 10:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Why is everyone so down on this episode? The men marry the women and get all their lands and possessions and if the husband wants another woman then they can fight to the death on some jungle gym bars. They are light years ahead of the ferengi.

But when tasha was asked if she wanted to take lutan and she replied "there would be complications" I wanted to see the missing scene where Picard goes up to Riker and says "this is our security chief? Can I fire her yet?"
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:53pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

I'm surprised no one has commented on the scene the episode is most famous for: Deela is fixing her hair in the mirror while Kirk sits on the bed, pulling his boots on. The implication is pretty obvious.
Sonya - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Do you remember Worf's relationship with K'Ehleyr in TNG? Now *that* was chemistry. I just don't find his relationship with Dax to be plausible in any way. And how idiotic was it for Dax to propose vacationing with Worf in Risa anyway? (But by this point, I'm pretty much resigned to the writers turning Dax into an idiot. I'm glad so many people enjoyed her in a swimsuit. I can't remember the last episode in which she was allowed to display her character's formidable intellect. It's like the writers are turning her into Kelly LeBrock from Weird Science. They seem to be working out their adolescent fantasies through Dax's character. K'Ehleyr was strong and sexy. Dax's character has become vapid.)
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

I read that the production crew's name for Shatner's character in this episode was "Captain Kirk, Space Queen."
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:35pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

This is a great episode with a great concept, but one thing bugs me. The Enterprise arrives at Sarpeidon to "warn" the inhabitants that their sun is about to go supernova in like twenty minutes. First there's the implicit paternalism implied in "the Sarpeidonites can't possibly have figured this out on their own, so they need us to tell them." Second and more important -- warn the populace that their sun is going kablooey in about twenty minutes? Seriously? The Enterprise crew doesn't know about the time travel schtick, so what would be accomplished by "warning" the inhabitants of the coming disaster except worldwide panic?
Allison - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 7:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

One thing I noticed throughout this episode is the use of pieces of Bruce Broughton's _Young Sherlock Holmes_ score. As a fan of both the movie and the score, this was a nice touch.
Paul M. - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 6:26pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

This has to be one of the worst episodes of Star Trek I've had the misfortune to watch... and that is not something I say lightly.

- As Mike noted above, Wolf in the Fold is hilariously chauvinistic: women are terrified "more easily and more deeply"? Really? Where does this little gem of wisdom come from?

- Therapeutic qualities that scantily clad womenfolk have on head injuries are indeed something I'd like to test myself. If I bang my head against the wall right now, is there a curved and padded female specimen reading this that is willing to advance the cause of medicine with me?

- So tranquilisers, huh? The word must have changed meaning in the future.

- Wolf in the Fold contains one of the most brilliant examples of level-headed reasoning I've ever encountered. I hope that all homo sapiens in the 23rd century attain such mastery of unsurpassed, and indeed unsurpassable, logic. The thing goes like this, literally: Scotty, suffering from partial amnesia, is the prime suspect in the murder of three women, but the polygraph indicates he's telling the truth when he says he either didn't commit those murders or that he doesn't remember committing them. A psychic helping with the investigation manages to say "Jack the Ripper" before she too dies. Kirk's immediate conclusion? Why, it must have been Jack the Ripper, of course! However, as those London murders happened hundreds of years ago, the only reasonable explanation is that both Jack the Ripper case and the "Scotty case" were committed by the same centuries-old non-corporeal entity that can manipulate memories and assume physical form at will! Duh! Great, innit?

- After successfully solving the grisly triple murder case, Kirk's first order of business? Let's go to the nearest nightclub and continue the sex party that was so inconveniently cut short by that bothersome and inconsiderate spectral murderer. Good times!
Moegreen - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Crazy ol' Leland strikes again. 'The Surrey with the Fringe on top!'
Moegreen - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 1:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

This was one of the most repetitive, pompous and badly acted episodes I've ever seen. High on its own weak concept. If I hear the term Omega again, there will be red shirt casualties.
Nic - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 10:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Wow, thanks for all the comments everyone, I did not expect so much feedback. All of your suggestions are good, especially "Data's Day".

That being said, I ended up going with "The Inner Light" anyway, but I warned her that it wasn't a typical episode. At one point she asked if this was the best episode of the series, so I guess that's a good sign.
Filip - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 5:13pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

An entertaining episode, plus, the final scene with the doctor in the infirmary is priceless!
Beth - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 6:07am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

I really enjoyed this episode, and I agree with the rating. The brainwashing/memory-inducing machine reflects the times, when treatment for the mentally ill commonly involved lobotomy and eletro-shock therapy [the latter of which is, yes, still used today, but not as much as it was then]. It also reflects the fact that such treatments, and the conditions of mental institutions, were beginning to be perceived as controversial and highly problematic.

The mental undoing and death of the sick-minded Dr. Adams was particularly poignant, as was Kirk's expressions at the end of the show. It showed that, while he was able to fight the effects somewhat, this "therapy" will stick with him for some time...

...Which makes it unlikely that Dr. Van Gelder would be so quickly reinstated as head of the appropriately-named Tantalus IV Penal Colony. I should think that Van Gelder would need a few weeks or months of real therapy to bring him back to a better state of mind. Or maybe that mind-meld worked wonders on him (which makes one wonder what the long-term effects might have been on Spock).

The only minus for this episode was Dr. Noel (who met Kirk at the Xmas party, har har), the ditzy doctor who is too thick and arrogant to clue into the things that Kirk is noticing about the inmates at Tantalus. At least she was pretty competent in getting the power turned off and kicking the other guy's arse into the high-voltage power unit. Damn, girl, that was smooth!

One small plus that makes up for Dr. Noel's blue panties being visible under her mini-mini skirt is Lethe's really nice poncho dress. I'd kind of like to have me one o' those.

Also, on another topic, I remember what handle I had before - it was Lal. But it's easier to just go by Beth now. :)

jk - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 4:20am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I myself find it hard to believe, but I was actually brought into the franchise by this movie.

I never watched it back in 2009, I don't think I even knew it existed. But I saw it on tv a couple years ago, and it made me want to watch the original series. Of course I already had that idea on my mind, but still. And now I'm halfway through DS9.

The point is, while I never thought Star Trek (2009) was a great movie, it provided me decent entertainment the first time I viewed it. I wasn't expecting anything from it, and I got some light-hearted entertainment.

Watching it now I can't help cringing at, well, everything that has already been pointed out. But I can still enjoy it if I manage to turn my brain off for a while, like with most of modern movies, and see it for what it's offering and not what I want it to offer.

And also, let's admit it, having watched Into Darkness makes 2009 look all the better.
Chris M - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 3:09am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

I love Jammer's reviews. Often so spot on. But I do agree with Paul that you were too hard on this one. I find I enjoy watching this episode again and again. I'm not sure why. Maybe for one thing, like Grant said, the chemistry between McCoy and the chief's wife. Mac-coy, the child is yours. I love that. And the colorful visuals of the Cappelan village and clothing. And the unremitting evil of the early Klingons. And I gotta say, the Cappelans are not boring. A very different brutal culture. Lots of great humor and writing here too. Overall, one of my favorite TOS episodes.
Beth - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 2:29am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

I thought this episode was one of those bad, but entertaining, ones. I like Mudd as comic relief (esp. during the little trial scene with the obstinate computer chiming "INCORRECT". The "police record" is amusing too - it looks so '60s. Like they couldn't have white text on a black background to make it look like something from the future? Oh well, cost-cuts and oversights like that are forgivable.

It's somewhat harder to forgive the overt sexism of all the guys ogling at the women, but it's not nearly as bad as some Star Trek episodes. ("Turnabout Intruder" comes to mind as a particularly one-legged and stupid example, with the idea that women STILL cannot be Captains of vessels in the 23rd Century as "stand-in" for 1960s workplace sexism).

I chuckled a little when Sulu's guiding one over-smitten crew member back to his place on the bridge, and tells Spock that he HAS noticed the women. And yet he's so much more calm and seemingly far less affected than the rest of them? Nice cover, George, I mean, Sulu. :p

Also, one thing that the episode never explains: Why DID the presence of one of Mudd's women cause the medical scanner to "boop-boop" weirdly? I hadn't seen this full episode before, so I thought for sure the drugs they were taking were causing their bodies to create fields that interfered with the ship's functions, causing it to lose even more power. But this Venus drug just gives you "more of whatever you have". Does that include more gut bacteria, more electricity, more energy burning producing more heat, duplicate organs, more excrement? LOL.

And the ending is pretty cheesy. "Think of yourself as beautiful on the inside and you'll have perfect makeup and a neat hairdo on the outside just like that!" But I guess that's about the best that 1966 TV can do for talking about body issues and self-esteem.

Anyway, your rating is fair. It's a good hour for some giggles, but it's not a very good episode.
Adam - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 1:36am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Completely agree with Clint. This is my first time watching BSG after my friend wouldn't stop hyping it up. I greatly enjoyed the first two seasons but the third has been very disappointing.

I am in awe that this episode got 4 stars. I get that Starbuck was depressed and disturbed, but the way she went out was just ridiculous. Too many visions and metaphysical nonsense. Helo suggests that she see a shrink, and she shrugs it off only to daydream about Leoben and her mother? Then she hallucinates and sees a cylon ship, has some kind of realization and decides to kill herself? She almost brought down Lee with her - completely selfish, as usual.

Her death made no sense to me. When her ship blew up I thought "umm... really?"

I hope the show gets back to stories that make sense. Lately, there has just been too much religious and metaphysical nonsense for my taste.
Gustav - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 12:55am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

What I would like to mention to everyone here who is saying that "people don't understand Klingon culture" in response to criticism of Worf wanting to commit suicide, is that Worf really is quite naive when it comes to Klingon culture. I mean, Riker knows more than Worf does, and he just did a very short tour of duty on one Klingon ship. So that whole argument seems very contrived to me.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 11:42pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

I think a reason Adama picked Sharon was to give her a chance to regain her self-respect. You don't send truly suicidal people on missions, even suicide ones -- they tend to screw up. And you certainly wouldn't send a non-suicidal ECO on a mission with a suicidal pilot.
I think Adama saw Sharon despondent. Obviously, he doesn't know why, but might suspect it's over her relationship with the Chief. An important, dangerous mission might be just what she needs.

Adama has an inner circle of people he trusts, and he'll ask a lot / give a lot to those people. Just don't betray his trust......
seagum - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 4:47pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

My brain just can't put together "I like seeing new people watching the show" and "it's normal to spoiler anything and everything in the comment section of a non-spoilerous review", and especially comparing it to clicking ads on the internet. It's just a contraddiction, is all.

It's basically banning people from having a spoiler-free experience from this site because the guys who got there first felt like writing some off-topic comment. Of course I learned long ago how things are in this section (or on the internet for that matter), and deciding to read anyway is on me, but keeping the spoilers out would have been so simple. Actually it would have been less effort than putting them in.

As for "the begotten", I was so touched by the story that I didn't even consider that it was "the episode where Odo got his shapeshifting back". But I did wonder why Odo was turned solid in the first place, since nothing particularly relevant had happened to him before he went back to being a changeling.
digitaurus - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 4:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

The neatest aspect to the story for me is that the Enterprise only gets sucked in to the vortex because Picard decides not to sit quietly and investigate slowly but tries to warp out of there ... and he only decides to warp out because he has been freaked out by future Picard ... whose only there because Picard got the Enterprise sucked in ...
Charles - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 1:08pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

This *was* a very boring episode, with more loopholes than plot, and to contribute to the discussion, Avery is a TERRIBLE actor. The best DS9 episodes are those where the story revolves around the Cardassian occupation / war and where he is seen the least...

I totally agree with Yanks that if Sisko had been a normal Trek "captain" (in a roaming ship, the center of the story), the series would have been pulled after one season.
Grumpy - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 12:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

For a first-time TNG viewer, the narration in "Data's Day" serves as an orientation to all the characters. If the goal is not sizzling salesmanship, that is.
Robert - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 10:38am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I started my wife on DS9, so when we watched TNG we just went straight from the beginning. She liked seeing Worf and O'Brien at Farpoint. I warned her that if she got bored we would start skipping the clunkers though.
Elliott - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 10:28am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Who Watches the Watchers and The Survivors are my go-to TNG introduction episodes.
Next »Page 1 of 907
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer