Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 40,579 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,624
Set Bookmark
Nathan Beast
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Did noone else find Ryker's reaction to Troi clawing him hilarious?? He looked like he was about to cry, ran away, and didn't see Crusher to treat his wounds until the next day! That scene had me doubled over in laughter. 😂
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

For example, give Sulu a conversation with his family and have maybe the husband know something about the Nebula, about Krall, or even a weakness about the Yorktown station that's exploited later. Otherwise, it's just window dressing. They're adding a gay character so they can pat themselves on the back and say what a wonderful thing they've done to help the gay community.

I don't buy it!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Corey,

Glad you liked Chuckles, but he's just a stereotype indian... front and center see his tatoo...

I liked Chuckles too for the most part. He would have been the same had he been just a regular dude.

Man, this topic really got fired up. :-)
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

@Chrome

"It's because there's a difference between organically addressing diversity through storytelling and throwing in diversity for diversity's sake."

Ok...what's the difference then?
Set Bookmark
Intrinsic Random Event
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

OK... clearly the know the show is on the way out by now, so they're just screwin around for fun. Nevertheless, I found this to be a reasonably enjoyable midriff.

Sorry, EPISODE, I meant episode...
Set Bookmark
Wilshire
Fri, Jul 21, 2017, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

As with 'Masks', I am of the minority in that I enjoyed this as well.

Many of the comments point to this episode as an example of 'bad writing', but I think bad writing is when a piece fails to convey what it meant to convey to the audience. For the episode for the most part did what it set out to do using a familiar structure: a 'disease' sweeps through the ship, altering the behavior of the crew (not unlike 'The Naked Now' or even episodes with mind-altering incidents not biologically based, like 'Night Terrors') and the last of the unaffected or not-as-affected members (usually including Data) have to problem-solve to save the ship and undo the 'infection'. I enjoyed the spooky prehistoric jungle-like shift in environment when Picard and Data return and the definite monster-movie vibes (the jump-scare with Spider-Barclay and the chase between Picard and the Worfasaurus).

Again, this isn't 'makes-you-think' Trek; this is 'bizaare-otherworldly-adventure' Trek. Still, I can understand how this can repulse people. The problem with the horror/suspense genre this episode emulates is that a successful piece is based so strongly on invoking those emotions in the audience and is often at odds with other aspects of storytelling that we find compelling, like plausibility or character development. Either the monsters fascinate and frighten you, or they're weird and silly; there really isn't much room in between.

Also, I wouldn't consider Picard 'cowardly' as some previous comments have; if he were a coward, he wouldn't have volunteered to distract Worfasaurus while Data comes up with the antedote. He is certainly more frightened by what is going on, but he still comes through when it's needed.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

2 stars

This was a pretty boring episode. It picked up some interest with the the alien but then ripped the rug out from underneath me with it being just a hallucination. I'd rather they left that out rather than get my hopes up only to dash them. I don't know if I would have liked the episode any better because it wasn't very entertaining nor was it very involving
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Voyager had a couple episodes that they used the wrong species or character to be the headliner in. In the Flesh was one--the episode may have been okay but using Species 8472 didn't buy. And it seemed like it with some tweaks obviously may have been a better DS9 episode with the Founders

And here was another. I absolutely didn't buy into the notion that the Borg worshipped or had some sort of spiritual thing for the Omega particle. It was totally against everything we knew about the Borg. I also have to admit that after all the secrecy surrounding the Omega symbol to learn it was just a particle was disappointing. I was expecting something more interesting. Because of both these things I lost all interest in the episode
Set Bookmark
Wilshire
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I've always enjoyed this episode on some level. Granted, it falls more into the category of "down the rabbit hole" fantasy than cerebral drama, but for Star Trek, that's ok! It was one of those episodes where I was content with living in the mystery: the purpose of the alien structure, why it transformed the Enterprise, and why its creators would cram its version of the Iliad into it to be forcibly shared with others. I didn't need these answers to enjoy the crew tackling the problem, exploring the nuances and oddities of this ancient culture, and reaching the eventual solution.

Upon later viewings however, it did seem a bit silly that they didn't grasp the sun/moon connection much quicker than they did, even going so far as to propose other ideas (like Worf speculating the moon symbol was an animal's horns). The majority of the senior staff presumably grew up on Earth, so they should have been quite familiar with it.
Set Bookmark
Josh
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Like Ric this episode reminded me of soap operas, but not in a good way. All the histrionics of the Doctor, Janeway, and especially Seven and Icheb were ridiculous and bordering on parody. "I'm willing to risk my life for you!" "no, let ME risk my life for YOU!" Barf.

The episode would have been more interesting if Icheb was reluctant to donate his cortical node and the episode was about compelling him to do so; or if Icheb was a willing donor motivated by an infatuation with Seven.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

In true Star Trek fashion, all the other species on this ship are trapped there for years and years until the Federation swoops in to save the day and escape in less than a half hour.

This episode felt like it started with the idea of the crew displacement then had to find a way to explain it. The whole premise, while interesting at first glance, just made no sense. Why not just transport the entire crew at once? Why do they need to be replaced rather than just removing them? Why nine minutes and twenty seconds between displacements?

1.5 stars for a neat idea that couldn't find a way to make any sense.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Comments above berate Voyager for "pushing a silly Native Indian and his religion upon us", which is "hypocritical because Trek would never do this with Christianity". This, apparently, is "typical liberal double standards."

No. It's sticking up for underdogs. A TV series made in a predominantly Christian country in which nutty Christians wiped out Native Indians in the name of nutty values, doesn't need a blatantly "Christian character". But an Indian? That's kind of cool. And touching. And aside from the 2 or 3 episodes where Chakotay's Native Americanness is directly addressed - awful episodes which reduce him to a trope - he's an excellent and original character. When written well, and at his best, he's sexy, dignified, clever, brave, and with interesting cadence. He just also happens to be Native American. And the banality and matter-of-factness of his Indian roots is inclusiveness done well.

90s Trek was ahead of the curve in trying to portray a bevy of peoples and cultures. It didn't do this to pander to demographics or to chase dollars and markets, as is common now (see the recent Star Wars movies). It didn't cast blacks, latinas, lesbians and Indians to coax target audiences. There was an authenticity and well-intentionedness that differs from some of the more cynical characterizations of today.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Worf getting stunned on the bridge by a...Ferengi No wonder why he was leery of Quark on DS9. :P
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Knowing this episode was a Ferengi comedy I expected worse - turned out to be a watchable hour of Trek although nothing special.

Every now and then DS9 needs a Ferengi episode and they usually turn out to be the season's turkey -- but this turkey isn't as bad as others, just as DS9 S4 is shaping up to be quite strong.

Won't even comment on the technobabble to send the Ferengi back and forth through time -- just have to waive your hands and accept it and try to enjoy the episode.

Some amount of predictability here - the scientists wind up helping the Ferengi escape from the military folks. Neat that they tied "Little Green Men" to an actual historical event, and good that history's timeline didn't get messed up.

Couple of humorous lines I liked was when the military guys called the Ferengi martians and Quark emphasized they were Ferengi. And then Quark calls the Americans Australians who correct him, and Quark goes "whatever." Also I liked Odo turning into a German shepherd!

"Little Green Men" deserves a rating of 2 stars. Some fluff in this episode could be cut out to make it tighter, but the personalities of the 3 Ferengi come out well. Some good guest actors who smoke a lot did give a sense of being back in 1947.
Set Bookmark
Wilshire
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

@Axell They might have been too close to the asteroids to safely use the torpedoes. It's been stated at least once in some other episode of the show (can't remember when exactly) that a close-proximity photon torpedo detonation can cause considerable damage to the ship.
Set Bookmark
Lynne
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

In answer to Roy, 2 years later: Pronouncing "herbs" as "erbs" is American. Not a mispronunciation, at all.
I was rather dismayed that none of the colonists wanted to be rescued, and wondered about the scene with the two children and what we a being told, there.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

An OK episode but that's about it -- the various sub-plots are all a bit cliche and definitely need each other to make for a 1 hour episode that gets slow-paced after the first bit of starship battle is over.

Unlike Jammer, I didn't think the battle scenes were anything special or that hasn't already been seen in DS9 prior episodes. Been plenty of battles with the Jem'Hadar already and here's another one in the atmosphere of a planet. Tried to be a bit like Wrath of Khan I think but nowhere near as good since the Jem'Hadar are faceless enemies here.

Probably the best of the 4 subplots (Bashir/Dax get close, Kira telling stories to Sisko, Worf taking charge, and Quark/Karemma trader diffuse a torpedo) is the Worf one. But even it isn't that great -- so Worf starts out as overbearing but ultimately takes O'Brien's advice and gets the best out of the engineers. Ultimately it seems quite fortunate that they are able to destroy the 2nd Jem'Hadar ship. The Bashir/Dax subplot was the worst of the 4.

The episode suffers from Odo not being a part of it but I did like Visitor's acting as Kira taking care of Sisko -- just that it's cliche and didn't generate any emotional response.

"Starship Down" sounds like it should be a much better episode but I can only give it 2.5 stars -- an exercise in seeing how different "teams" of crew members interact in a desperate situation. Overall, a letdown considering how good prior DS9 S4 episodes have been.
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I feel like Klingons fighting Nazis would not be boring.

And yet...
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

2 stars. This didn't work at all. suspiria debut was a big deal. Voyager even included a special recap preceding the episode in the teaser. So I expected a great episode. Didn't happen and "Kes discovering her abilities" really was pretty ho hum. Overall a very MEH ep
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

@Zakalwe - The holodeck converts matter into energy and then back into matter all of the time. After a certain number of years 95% of the things in the holodeck are basically made of recycled jizz. Interestingly, this is also why Voyager could never siphon power from the holodecks. The engines can't run on recycled jizz, but you can make an Irish village out of it!

I'll see myself out now.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Mister Experientiality here...

I literally, honestly, and thankfully FELL ASLEEP during this episode. Enough said.
I got about as far as the demand for a cloaking device.

(Yawn) Nodding off just typing about this o...n...e....

zzzz.....

Set Bookmark
Intrinsic Random Event
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Yeah, this episode is definitely not what I was hoping to see when I pressed Play...
Not as completely terrible as 'Bounty', but most of the way there. Perhaps this idea could have worked if the writer had not been so determined to steer us all the way down the lite and silly path...
Set Bookmark
Moriah
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

Anyone have any ideas what bodily function Data was going to compare the Manheim effect to? Been forever since I've seen it but I'm watching it again with my parents right now, and I'm 99% convinced it's something sexual although they don't seem to think so. I was thinking orgasm, or specifically multiple orgasms, as many women experience?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

3 stars!

Very enjoyable. Too bad ENT couldn't do more of these type of standalones. I always have loved stories with a storm approaching and everyone batoning down the hatches then a crisis occurs. I enjoyed the crew in the catwalk and seeing them racing to prepare for the coming storm. I liked Archer and Tpol bonding more. A highlight
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

3 stars!

I enjoyed this one. It gave me the warm fuzzies with its quiet comfortable sweet little story
Next ►Page 1 of 1,624
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.