Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33,468 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,339
Set Bookmark
Lmo
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I like the Alexander character and the actor who plays him. Strikes me as a typical rebellious kid (still working through the loss of his mother) moving into adolescence with the Klingon overlay of strong emotion.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

@Skeptical, one thing I liked in both parts was that, despite occasionally being likable in dark, warped ways, the Equinox crew was pretty unapologetic about their actions, reluctantly admitting the actions were horrible but feeling they were still fully justified.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

What a terrific story line, very unexpected!!!! Clever as hell.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Ooooh, best/worst debates! I'm always up for those!

Worst episode I love (or at least enjoy): Genesis of course! It's so corny, silly, stupid, and outrageous that it's actually phenomenally fun. For the same reason I have a soft spot for a lot of TNG Season 1 episodes. They are generally so goofy that I can't help but be entertained.

Most beloved episode that I hate (or am cold towards): First Contact (TNG episode). I dunno, its clinical and dry hand-wringing morality always leaves me blase and eager to move on. I Borg is another. Very didactic and ponderous. I can't stand all those childlike kindergarten lessons with Hugh.
Set Bookmark
Skywalker
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

I like at 26 minutes in where the prisoner has a red halo around his head. Nice photography!

And the reveal to the space prison was pretty cool.

I hated this episode when I started ("not another Tom and Harry story..."), but it grew on me.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I have to disagree with some of the people here, the episode is far from boring. I found mutated Archer and Hoshi utterly hilarious.

I wouldn't even mind episode's approach to genetics, if it stopped at transforming them and changing personality. Teaching them different language and giving them specific memories is just too much for me and I thought ketchup could give you cancer.

@Yanks Oh, come off it. Accepting some breaks from reality, especially when those breaks are a huge part of the setting, doesn't mean you should accept anything they throw at you. And people called bullshit on TNG's Genesis too.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

JD, I'm not following you at all. Quark is a racist?
Set Bookmark
JD
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Let's just call a spade a spade. The reason Quark is so compelling in his arguments about humans becoming like Klingons is it's a perfect example of how people rationalize being flatly racist. Quark's just a racist and cultural elitist. He's always been racist. Of course, he's right about Klingons, because they're a savage race full of temperamental morons, as science has proven. But he's dead wrong, of course, in that humans could ever be like those primitive, cookie-scented mongrels. Genetically, due to skull structure, that would be impossible. The same way it would be impossible that a focused Cardassian brain could ever become as complacent as a scattered Bajoran one. These matters are predetermined. I don't mean that to sound racist. It's just simple physiology. As simple and predictable as a Bolian trying to develop a proper Tongo strategy. Don't get me wrong; Bolians are good at some things and I've got Bolian friends. They certainly do their best, unlike Lurians.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@Jasmine

To be fair, the episode never says Picard's a coward in the alternate timeline, but it implies that him facing near death was a huge motivation in his Starfleet career. In that vein, it doesn't matter how wrong or jerky his friends were. What mattered was avoiding hardship, that moment of looking in the breach, denied a crucial part of his life.

The message isn't that playing it safe is bad, but more broadly that extracting the dark deeds of your past can impact your very integrity.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

"A blind man teaching an android how to paint? That's got to be worth a couple of pages in somebody's book."

Best joke worth 4 stars by itself :D
Set Bookmark
Rick C
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I would imagine the runabout at least had a toilet on board?
Set Bookmark
methane
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

I watched DS9 weekly from its debut until maybe 3/4 of the way through season 5, when I left the country for a few years. Upon my return, not having come across any spoilers for the episodes I missed (would be hard to do now!), I watched the daily repeats in syndication from beginning to end.

So I had the whole series relatively fresh on my mind when I first saw this episode. Maybe that's why I'm apparently one of the few on this thread who expected the wormhole aliens to intervene at the peak of this episode. Once the minefield came down and the Dominion fleet entered their side of the wormhole, I remember thinking Sisko's only chance was a direct plea to them. Furthermore, if they were ever going to directly intervene in the affairs of Bajor, this had to be the time. Indeed, it's a flaw in the script that the dialogue seems to indicate that Sisko is surprised when they show up, as there is no way the man who has had a 5+ year-long ambivalent relationship with his "emissary" role doesn't think of the "prophets" every time he sees that wormhole. One might argue that Sisko thought that mostly ignoring them would more strongly communicate to the aliens that he would give his life if they didn't intervene; if so, I think there would be better ways to write that.

So, I reject the complaint that this "comes out of nowhere" or is a "deux ex machina". Though there is still much story to tell, this episode is the climax of the entire series, not just this short run of episodes; the beings in the wormhole were there in the first episode and are a regular presence in the series. Luke above points out some specific times they reminded the viewers of the prophets within the occupation storyline. The intervention of the aliens is well set up by the series.

The other big, related, complaint about this episode (one they pretty much apply to the whole series) is that people dislike the wormhole aliens because they believe having them somehow promotes religion. As an atheist, I think that's crazy. Yes, these beings are powerful and mysterious (not a new thing in Star Trek). If you're making a universe with real people (even people represented by aliens), it makes sense that some people would worship them as gods. But: 1) that doesn't make them actual gods and 2) that also doesn't make them automatically evil (which was often the case in previous Trek). Many of the complainers seem to think if the wormhole aliens aren't discredited in some way that makes them actual gods, and that means the show supports religion.

The "prophets" are an interesting science fiction idea...powerful aliens that mostly ignore the less powerful, but have some affection for them that makes them occasionally intervene. In many ways they are like the crews of the Enterprises in TNG & (especially) TOS: powerful "aliens" with a (prime) directive of non-interference with "primitives", that they just can't help but ignore at times to do "what's right" (yes, I'm aware I'm using a ridiculous amount of quotes). Just like the TNG & TOS crews, sometimes when they do and don't interfere seems arbitrary. But, from everything we knew about them, this seems like the one time they would absolutely interfere.

I don't think this episode is without flaws; the discussion with the aliens should be slightly rewritten, and their are other items that have been mentioned by previous commenters. Still, I find the episode satisfying and have no problem with giving it 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

@ Jasmine,

I believe you're right, and I also believe it is entirely intentional that Corey and Marta leave something to be desired in terms of Picard's glorious friends from the past, for whom he nearly died. The whole point is that Picard's nostalgia blinded him to what his past really meant to him. His memory of both himself and of his friends was distorted by regret. He wasn't just the idiot he thought he was; he was the wild freshman who won the Academy marathon. And likewise his great view of his friends wasn't as rosy as he perhaps remembered.

The moral of the story appears to be that, like Henry V, it was necessary to the development of his character that he run with a less than stellar crowd for a time. He couldn't have become the man he was without guts and a little too much self-confidence. His alternate version is an idealized version of himself; intellectual, with integrity, cautious, and responsible. In other words, Picard's idealized version of himself is actually worse than he really is, and Q made him see that. His flaws are what made him able to be who he was, and this appears to have been a repeated motif in Q's moralizing through the series. Q repeatedly shows the crew (specifically Picard) that self-congratulatory pride is a sign more of decadence than advanced thinking. For all his 'issues', Q fundamentally seems to embrace the spirit of creativity and newness, and this is exactly the kind of thinking he was trying to squeeze out of Picard in "All Good Thing..." Both of those require a kind of abandon, I think, that perhaps he saw in Picard that others didn't see and that he was hoping to eventually get Picard himself to admit to. How else could the ending of "Tapestry" be so funny to Picard, other than that he realizes he's been a fool...to want to have never been a fool.
Set Bookmark
Jasmine
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Oh my god, finally, I found at least two other people who think like I do about this episode. And here I thought I was just a Tellarite looking to play devil's advocate!

The characters of Corey and Marta were unlikable and uninteresting, in my personal opinion. Neither of them were being particularly good friends, and Corey basically abandoned Starfleet principles to get back at the Nausicaan. Although I understood when Sisko did something similar in "For the Uniform", the fact is, Sisko had to; Corey didn't. Then he made it worse by forcing his friends into a confrontation. It was manipulative and selfish.

Picard in the alternate reality made little sense. Just because he wasn't willing to cave in to his friend's expectations, he suddenly became a coward? What about him standing up to Corey and even striking his friend before he made a terrible mistake? In the words of Dumbledore, "It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends." Picard stood up to Corey to save him, and in my opinion, that's better captain material than Corey would've made. The message in this episode is such a broken aesop.

But, as usual, the acting of John de Lancie and Patrick Stewart make this episode tolerable otherwise. Aside from that, though, I don't feel it has much going for it.
Set Bookmark
Mygaffer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Wow, this episode made me stop watching Enterprise. Literally, I was so disgusted by it, not just the idea that Archer and Phlox are complicit in genocide, which they totally are, but the science is really bad too. The understanding of evolution and disease are so completely off target as to be something that wouldn't feel out of place next to someone's Facebook screed about indigo children and healing crystals.

If you like this episode... man, examine yourself.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I think this is a great episode of Star Trek, anything 50's is always great when mixed with Star Trek, but seeing as this episode was directed by Brooks and centered around race which is something Brooks loves to always mention and go on about it seems, I agree with some of the above comments that it does seem fairly "All Black people are innocent citizens who are picked on by "the White man" for no reason", even Jake's character who is a known thief and dies trying to steal something doesn't seem to be given a bad light, he seems to be shown in a "It wasn't his fault that he got into crime, he was just a poor black kid and he was shot by White policemen", a common hypocritical narrative in recent news the last few years.

It's certainly great to take a fictional look on race and make people think of the real world racism but making a one sided eg Making all the co-writers White and having only one of them support him but even then, Shimmerman's character just seems a usually combative, argumentative person so it's unclear whether this is because he feels its injustice or because he "just wants to have a moan" whilst the rest act like "That's just the way it is".

But the rest of the episode and other themes were great.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

John Garman "J. G." Hertzler Jr., .... born to be a Klingon.

There has never been a time where he is on screen and the scene or episode is not better for it.

This is of course a homage.

I really didn't want to see Archer be on trial and or go to Rura Penthe but, this episode is much better than the script/trailer make it out to be.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This piece of crap was not 3-stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Yeah, this one has always been blah.

I also think Archer was too quick to the "mad Archer" side.

It's not a bad ep, but nothing special

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

@ Joey Lock,

I think they missed some real opportunity to conclude the Jadzia/Worf relationship, even within the time they had available. But I guess maybe at some point they just said f--k it and wrapped it up simply as they did.

They make some efforts in seasons 4-6 to show that Worf isn't a traditional, normal Klingon, despite his fervent desire to be one. In fact, his honest desire to be a traditional Klingon makes him about the only one there is, from what we see. The rest of the Empire appears to view his kind of mentality as already antiquated, almost like Kor. Jadzia makes a few efforts to show Worf that she's perfect for him because what he really does need is someone who's as much of an oddball as him. Klingon, but too Human, just as she's Jadzia, but too Curzon. Between her background with Klingon culture, her acceptance of eclectic individuals, and her wild, passionate side, I really do see her and Worf as being perfect for each other despite their temperamental differences.

You're totally right that Sorella was basically correct about her. She wasn't really prepared to be married; at least, until she was. She was creating as many chances as possible to sabotage it, and Benjamin basically just tells her to grow up. I mean, Curzon died on Risa for Chrissakes, and unless Jadzia wants to live that life again she's got to drop the crap and get real. Worf went through this with her previously in "Let He Who Is Without Sin", where he had to deal with who she was, and now SHE has to deal with who she really is. She wanted everyone, from Benjamin to Sorella, to treat her with deference as if she was still Curzon. She even took liberties with Worf, and at her engagement party, apparently clinging to his persona and doing the kinds of things she remembered him doing.

But aside from her conflict with what kind of person she wanted to be, I do think Worf recognized that he's never find someone as unique and well suited to him as she was. I mean damn, how many non-Klingons could train against him with a Bat'leth, speak Klingon, understand his ways, and know how to calm him down without merely placating him?
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

What I appreciated most about this episode was the way it basically showed that people who consider themselves smart, bright geniuses who believe they know everything because they have higher qualifications are inherently flawed with their almost inherent sense of arrogance that anything they say is correct simply because they're smarter.

The conversation between O'Brien and Bashir was great, O'Brien is the everyman, the normal average joe who has years of experience and is going to be the one dealing with the actual situations whereas Bashir represents the ones who sit behind the desks with their knowledge and comes up with probabilities, then proceeds tell the regular joes what they should and shouldn't do simply because of a few calculations and assumptions they've made, rather than personal experience, despite all the statistical probabilities that go into stock markets these days, they still can't seem to predict stock market crashes and fluctuations very well because statistics alone aren't enough.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

What do you know, a good Ferengi episode!!
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Everytime I watch this episode, Jadzia always strikes me as someone who doesn't want to get married even though she says she does, like she wants the Single life when it suits her but also wants a partner. For example I mean the way, in the words of Lady Sirella, that she was acting like a "Risian slut", she certainly didn't act like someone who was getting married the next day, rubbing the chest of a random topless Lieutenant whilst subtly hinting she may want more from him in the coming hours, specifically the fact she woke up in her quarters with two men on her wedding day one of which was the man she was touching up the night before, that's a pretty bad sign.

Worf must really care deeply for Jadzia like no other for him to put up with her overly confident, flirtacious, wise-cracking tough, independent nature compared to his staunch, traditional, devoted reserved nature, either that or the love making was the best he's had and he didn't want to lose it, but I'd guess its the first one.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Oh dear. This movie is the product of 20 years of rewrites. It's clear that every time they started a new draft they kept one 'cool idea' from the previous version.

The best one for me was the idea that a ground war had been waged in Africa. This would have been a great premise for the entire movie.

Never mind.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Kuebel
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I was a bit disappointed when Deanna didn't solve the puzzle. I was so sure at first that she suspected - because she had shown Data-Graves images of Tasha and Kareen and the reaction to both should have been an obvious sign.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,339
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.