Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,136 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,526
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Voyager involved in yet another mess that is none of their concern. Because "we gave them the technology." No. You can't be responsible for what a sadist does when you give him a fork. "Oh no, he's stabbing someone with the fork we gave him."

But it moves the plot along and brings up nice issues about sentient photonics. I like it. Of course you need the double reversal, where we find out that the leader of the photonics is deranged. He also happens to be an idiot who doesn't know the difference between sentient holograms and 1-job subroutines.

Not sure why I'm supposed to care about whether the Hirogen live or die. I do care how they seem to always be there, no matter how far away they seem to get from their home world. I'm waiting for the Oompa Loompas (Kazon) to show up again.

Also,
Janeway to the doc after his insubordination: "How can I punish you for who you are?"

Janeway to pedophile: "How can I punish you for who you are?"

Sounds like a solid way of running a ship and society.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I went to see a midnight screening of this the day it came out and... blah, was not impressed in the least, but after having been thoroughly let down by 'Into Darkness,' was not particularly surprised.

After the brilliance of 'Star Trek (2009)', I was hoping that the momentum would carry on into the sequels and that the incredibly strong first movie would be a sign of even better things to come, but nope. It's a terrific shame as these films had so much potential. The casting was right on the money, especially for Spock, Scotty and McCoy. The first one was spectacular but after that everything went downhill. 'Into Darkness' was a rehash of 'Wrath of Khan,' and this one, the only good things about this one were the highly entertaining Spock/McCoy dynamic, the nice jacket Chris Pine wore at the reception in the last scene, and the ending theme, which was from TOS anyway. I can never resist it when someone says, 'These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilization, to boldly go where no man has gone before.'
Set Bookmark
Ant
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Superb acting from Stewart in this episode. Was good to see Picard outside his comfort zone.

Kudos as well for referencing Star Trek IV when Picard and Riker are discussing attempts at time travel (slingshot around a star)
Set Bookmark
Vii
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

'Now I'm picturing the Gilligan's Island episode where they found the Japanese guy who thought he was still fighting World War II.'

----

Uhmm was that the Voyager episode where they found Amelia Earhart? 'The 37s' I think it was called.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

I, too, thought that Bashir's annoyance/reluctance at being nominated was perhaps indicative of his genetic engineering, which was an issue that would come up in later episodes.

Eh, I liked this episode. The Grand Nagus Zek is hilarious and his voice and laugh are so ridiculous they're good. I also enjoyed seeing the Nagus' bodyguard, Maihar'du. Tiny Ron does a great job in that role and conveys a remarkable amount of emotion for someone who doesn't have any lines (his scenes as one of the Prophets don't count, as it's not him who's speaking).

Improbable Cause this certainly isn't, but it's entertaining enough.
Set Bookmark
Jonathon
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Yeah.... this episode was pretty not-good, but at least it was kind of fun. Probably 2/4 for me (after 4/4 Balance of Terror and 3/4 Conscience). Better pacing than some of the early season episodes, but just a dumb premise that was pretty lamely executed. But it was nice to see the crew in an actual outdoor location.
Set Bookmark
Ant
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Ok it's not a rip roaring classic but I've always enjoyed this episode.

As a general point by this time in season 2 it's good to see the cat really into their stride and playing their characters off against each other.
Set Bookmark
Janiel Miller
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

@Andy in VA - Yes! Spot on. And don't forget the undercurrent of non-stop victimization by Will Riker, in the form of "Oh, well, Imzadi will always be there for me when I get tired of sleeping around, but she'd better not get serious with anyone! " Geeze Loueeeeze. The writing for Deanna Troi drove me nuts.

What I think happened is the writers never thought beyond Sirtis' Wonder Bra and her empathic abilities. She had no other traits beyond those, so when they wrote for her it seemed all they could think of were tropes centered on her beauty and her empathy. And even then, they only used her empathic abilities when it was a convenient plot device. If they needed her to not notice someone "hiding something" or being nervous or dishonest, she either wasn't physically present, or simply didn't say anything -- like in "Starship MIne," where she floats around the reception not noticing any strange emotions in the men who would take them hostage.

Siritis was great in "Face of the Enemy," and had other little shining moments that proved she could have been an actual addition to the crew and plot lines if more thought and effort had been put into writing and directing her. They knew how to write powerful women. They did it all the time. Maybe they wanted some contrast between her and the other strong women on the ship (Guinan, and Crusher--who only marginally succeeded at portraying strength and intelligence), but didn't have any idea how to do it. Or maybe she just got hired for her wonderbra.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Ah, if only CBS started collaborating with the guys who do fan projects instead of gunning them down with lawsuits and "guidelines"... then we might actually have some incredibly good new Trek to watch.

Oh well... at least Discovery is going to have an amazing cast. Finally, one thing they've done right.

Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 9:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

@Dom - Everyone is entitled to their cup of tea of course, and I like Trek for the same reasons you do. But if I just wanted sci-fi I'd go watch the Outer Limits or a show like that.

What's special about Trek is the hope and change, yes... but it's also our characters. And sometimes it's fun to just have fun with your characters. It makes them more... human.

What are you, some kind of Harvey? :P
Set Bookmark
N
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

3 stars for me - I'll buy the central conceit insofar as the episode is entertaining, funny, well-performed and well-paced. Lots of little smart details in the script - Quark's "think of the orphans" appeal, Keiko's send-off to Miles, Martus being conned by the person we thought he was conning, Bashir's ridiculous costume etc - I like it.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Ah yes,the most over rated episode of TOS IMO and one where they should have put a laugh track in as well.
If you want comedy with your sic-fi there are lots of other options but some of us became fans of the series for it's message of hope and change - that is what really separates it from other mindless T&A ,action packed sci-fi - take away the
'preachiness' and your left with just that,which is exactly what the 'New Trek' is.
Set Bookmark
Tanner
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Of course it's probably necessary to have Nog react like this to his ordeal, but is that how a Ferengi would react to the event? Seems very human to me.
Set Bookmark
Peccath
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

@Chrome

That colonel part was not the only thing that @petulant spoiled in his comment; he also talked about characters that are going to die during the series and future alliances formed with the Dominion!!!

I'd never say anything like that in the context of episode-based reviews without spending a single second of my life for typing "SPOILERS:" first...
Set Bookmark
Okrad Del Diablo
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 3:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

Fun 45 mins. Evil Mistress Pain Intendant Kira-bitch fun to watch as usual (that attitude of hers seriusly makes my pants tight to bursting lol). Mirror Bareil is a let-down, he is just so... passive. At the end, why didnt he just vaporize the Evil Kira, and not put her to sleep? Big fucking risk for him to take, I assume when she wakes up she would be more then a little pissed off at him. Wuss...

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Okrad Del Diablo
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 3:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Cute episode. 2 stars for the novelty of seeing a Klingon wedding, and Jadzia&Sirella scrap at the party. At that point I was about to crow "yea, catfight" before it all ended all too soon. Aww too bad...

No more then 2 stars, since I never really thought J and W belonged together. And the bachelor party scenes were just a bore.
Set Bookmark
Okrad Del Diablo
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 2:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

#Chrome#

Sounds good to me, I love to fight! :) Just make Alura the prize for the winner, and I'm game hehe.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

I have a lot of the same nitpicks that others have already mentioned. However, my biggest problem with this episode is Dax's seeming immaturity. You'd think that after seven lives lived a symbiote/Trill combination would be able to handle this situation more maturely. I was irritated every time Jadzia would look lovingly into the other woman's eyes during the science experiment. I just felt like they didn't act like adults. I kept wanting to scream, "Stop staring at each other and get to work!" They kept acting like love-struck teenagers. No, they acted even worse than love-struck teenagers. This really got in the way of my enjoyment of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Gordie Laverty
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Rewatching this hits me harder atoday as my father is suffering advance Alzheimer's now

"Savor the fruit of life my young friends. It has a sweet taste when it is fresh from the vine, but don't live too long. The taste turns bitter after time."

The legendary Kor!

What a wonderful episode with a powerful moral for younger audiences.

Fucking bawling here lol.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I kind of wanted to see Data interact with "Hugh" at least once. It could have been interesting (or maybe I just wanted a repeat of Data ripping off "Locutus'" arm when he called him obsolete).
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

A really interesting episode with a truly despicable villain. The gradual revelations of the depths of the villain's depravity work well. It's chilling and a little heart-breaking seeing what even Data can be driven to do with enough mistreatment.

I have to wonder at all the comments explaining Data doesn't have emotions and then using words like "confusion" and "patience" to describe his actions during the episode. I think it's clear that while Data doesn't have "emotions" as such, he does have feelings after a fashion - he's clearly stated this several times, as him "being used to people" and even "missing" them as well as "being accustomed to their presence" and even sort of looking forward to being with them. He is not completely emotionless like, say, the ship's computer. Data is sentient and naturally has some degree of feeling as a result, even if he's designed specifically to not have emotions in the way most humanoids in the series do (given how cuckoo for cocoa puffs Lore turned out, this is an infinitely good thing), he is not strictly devoid of all feeling either (because a character like that would be boring and you couldn't do much with it).

Data's lie of omission at the end was very interesting. It can be seen as self-preservation or doing it for the greater good but either way it's showing us he's capable of deception. He's more of a potential danger to the Enterprise than even the holodecks, and has proven to be so on several occasions. The Enterprise is just lucky he likes them, or they'd be royally screwed.

And as for people saying Vulcans don't lie, what are you talking about? They lie all the time! How many times do they claim to be emotionless shells only to be proven wrong later? Sure, they mostly believe their own lies, but they're nonetheless still lying. They'll even lie when the truth is obvious. (How many times in TOS did McCoy or someone else point out something emotional Spock did only for Spock to flat-out deny it? Same with Sarek.)
Set Bookmark
GtheMVP
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

This is such a charming episode, regardless of when you watch it, as baseball is such a big part of Sisko's identity. The importance of the baseball symbol on his desk was never more poignant whem he left it behind after they abondoned the station and Dukat made a point about Ben leaving it behind, knowing he intends to return.

There's plenty of comedy gold here,especially Worf's lines. I always enjoy seeing the crew outside their element and I particularly recall being impressed by Dax's chest, that solidified my crush on her back then lol. The gorgeous Terri Farrell was irreplaceable until this episode

The onky thing that bothered me was Bashir not being a great hitter,doesn't he have enhanced hand eye coordination? I would like to have seen Worf crack one out of the park too, or bulldoze a Vulcan after Kira git run over.

I especially liked the reason behind Sisko's rivalry and was happy he won this round by not actually winning, I didn't want a might Ducks thing

All in all, wonderfully fun episode!
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I'll admit I enjoyed this two parter despite the holes (when has an episode of Trek not had holes? As long as the episode is entertaining I can usually forgive them).

The 19th century scenes did drag a bit, especially when Twain was talking (was it really necessary for him to have so much dialogue?) but I appreciated a lot of the gags, and the way Spiner really played up being disturbed at finding the head (a much better likeness than the model from 1st season) piqued my interest enough that I actually jumped at the reveal. (I'm usually childishly entertained by the weird faces he's always making, but at the same time have to wonder why he's so much better at portraying subtle emotions than most of the other crew. It's always a bit jarring when he actually plays a scene straight and makes Data act as emotionlessly as he's supposed to be as a result.) The description of the aliens was much creepier in my mind than the lame way they actually appeared, but TNG aliens are almost exclusively humanoid so I shouldnt have expected anything different.

It was kind of a cop-out for Data's head to be "dead" this episode but able to be reactivated and immediately put back on duty in the next (it's been shown to be able to function fine while removed before so you'd think they'd have tried reactivating it and asking it what happened to it... No wait, that would draw too much attention to the paradox of it existing in two places at once, I guess). Picard being willing to fry the aliens for poaching Earth was a nice change from his usual hand-wringing about self-defense.

I wish there was more explanation of Picard and Guinan, is this really supposed to be the only basis for their "closer than lovers, closer than family" relationship? I was expecting some great adventure together, not a happen chance meeting with barely any interaction. And why do they automatically assume that Guinan is even older than she previously told them, when she could have time traveled there as well from a different point in the future? Anyway, like always lots of holes, but fun enough that I was mostly entertained.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

IDK- to me it's just like beating a dead horse or trying to keep someone you love on life support,me thinks CBS/Paramount has milked the series for all it can give.
I'm prepared to let it die and live the memory in re runs,besides if you really still want fresh Trek with the original TOS perspective and style,there's no beating
'Star Trek Continues' IMO.
Fan made/funded and captures the OS perfectly,so much so that Rod Roddenberry has declared it cannon.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, Mar 22, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

OK guys ,most of you must be products of a younger (and overly sensitive) generation.
Yes,Star Trek TOS did hold onto some traditional male/female values but hey it was the 60's and audiences had to relate.
Having said that I think they did a fine job of trying to achieve equality across the board with gender and race for the time period.
As for the episode it was an interesting way of explaining Jack the Ripper (before they knew a local butcher was to blame.)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,526
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.