Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,824 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 753
Tom - Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I think it was an interesting idea to see how Troi would react to losing her abilities. However, this show was pretty much a failure. Troi doesn't have the acting ability to carry a show. Her crying scene was not convincing at all. Actually, pretty much all of her scenes were not convincing. When she's finally cured, she just puts on a fake smile.

It's harder to empathize with a character who loses a power that normal humans don't have. As Riker says, there's something aristocratic about it. The show didn't succeed in showing us what it was like for her to lose her sensing abilities and making us care about it. I agree with William that they also missed a great opportunity to have her interact with Geordi.

Also, the 2D life forms plot was pretty bad. I don't find the idea of 2D life forms convincing. Is that even physically possible?
SkepticalMI - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 8:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Well, it's not quite as good as last season's finale, but what is? Still a great episode. Probably the best part is all the tough choices people that our heroes had to make. Picard is generally the paragon of Starfleet morality, but the situation here is so messed up and so important that even he has trouble. First, in deciding the validity of Toral's claim. There was no winning answer there, as he pointed out to the Duras sisters. There was also a difficult duality involved. He knew that it was quite possible that the fate of the Federation depended on Gowron being the Chancellor, and yet he was sworn to uphold Klingon law in this situation. It was clear that he tried to avoid the inevitable civil war in his declaration, but it was also just as clear that it was futile. It's not so often that we see Picard powerless.

But the next decision was even more painful. Whether or not to get involved in the civil war. The Prime Directive and Starfleet's history of not getting involved certainly suggested leaving. But Starfleet also has a history of responding to distress signals and helping out those in need. There was also the personal connection that Worf was also being attacked, and yet Picard still ordered the Enterprise to back off. It was a character defining moment for Picard, just as much as his actions in the Defector the year before. He has shown the ability to make the hard decisions in delicate situations and sticking to them. But how much second guessing does he do in private? It clearly was not a decision he was all that comfortable in, and clearly one that could have nasty repercussions. It may not have even been the right decision. Gowron could easily have interpreted it as a sign of weakness, and could have abandoned the alliance even if he won. After all, Klingon's hold honor above all else, right? This was an excellent scene I think, just because it showed how quickly things were slipping out of control.

There were other hard decisions. Kurn clearly had no respect for Gowron, but had to follow him anyway. And Worf had to choose between his loyalties to the Federation and his identity as a Klingon. But there was another one that wasn't commented much on. I find it interesting that Worf lost his family honor due to backroom politicking... and regained his honor in the exact same way. Gowron didn't give it to him because it was right, but rather because Worf delivered Kurn's support. And my guess is, for someone that has as much personal honor as Worf, that had to hurt a bit. It was a little bit like cheating. But Gowron was his only hope, and he turned down the honorable return to grace. So Worf had no choice to resort to politicking. Just another little piece of evidence of the crumbling society of Klingons; the poison has affected even a knight templar like Worf.

***

As for the 4th season, it does rate pretty highly to me. I went through and scored it, and the average came out just slightly below Season 3 (3.08 vs 3.15 on a 0-5 star scale with no half stars). I find it interesting that this is the only season (I'm assuming) that I didn't rate any episodes as outright bad. QPid was stupid fun, while several of the other episodes people tend to dislike I found merely weak but not bad. Nothing here approaches Menage a Troi. And I also rated 9 episodes as excellent, the same as Season 3. But Season 3's highs were just a little bit higher, and its average episodes just a little bit better. Season 3 also seemed better paced. As others have mentioned, Season 4 started out extremely strong, but seemed to run out of gas after Reunion. There's some good episodes after it, but just seem to appear and disappear again. Other than the first 3 and last 3, I don't think there's a string of 3 good episodes in a row in this season.
DLPB - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 12:24pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Pretty good episode. But let me make one thing clear here: Palestine's issue is not the same as this. The fact is, Palestine bombs Israel because the Koran and Hadith teach that Jews are "not to be taken as friends" among other evil verses.

The left wing media continually ignore the truth that ISLAM is the issue in the middle east. Until we confront Islam, there will never be any peace in that region.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 11:09am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

The movie made for good sci-fi, but it didn't make for good Trek. They supposedly had Trek fans in the production crew, and yet that didn't seem to stop them from screwing with things that couldn't possibly have been screwed with in the plot.

A few examples:

1. Kirk's eyes are blue. Shatner's Kirk had brown eyes. Or hazel. I think they were closer to hazel. ANyway. This film established that he was being born at the time of the attack on the Kelvin (next points for more gripes on that) so he was already fully biologically developed and therefore couldn't have been affected by any stress on his mother from the battle. Minor point.

2. The Nerada is a BORG ENHANCED Romulan mining ship with BORG ENHANCED weaponry fro mthe 24th century. How does that weaponry not just rip right through the Kelvin like tissue paper on the first salvo. 22nd century shields would have been no match as it was for regular Romulan cluster torps, but these have been enhanced with Borg tech that the Federation of the 22nd century would have had absolutely zilch knowledge about.

3. Kirk's mother on the Kelvin. Galaxy-class starships were the first in Starfleet history to have families of officers on board. Unless, of course, you were married to a shipmate, as happened in TOS's Balance of Terror for all of like mere hours. Poor couple. So what was a non-starfleet officer, let alone one who was on almost due and not on approved leave, on a ship on patrol?

4. Black holes as a result of the red matter are apparently time travel plot devices at the start of the movie, but the Enterprise is certainly hauling ass to get away from it at the end, AND it destroys the Nerada then.

5. When Nero went after Vulcan, Starfleet got reports of a "lightning storm in space" matching the reports of what happened with the Kelvin. So ... did the Nerada just use a black hole to get to Vulcan from Rura Penthe, or wherever they were hiding the ship while they were diddling away their time at the Klingon prison (deleted scene)? If so, that's two black holes as travel/time travel devices and one not. Seems to be a roll of the dice plot device to me.

6. Flat headed Romulans. Seriously? There are none of those left in the 24th century. OK the tats look cool, but you can't just rearrange their appearance.

7. The Enterprise. No. It looks like a half-squeezed tube of toothpaste with a massive dinner plate attached to the front end and a couple of really fat ugly nacelles connected at the front end to pylons attached to the very back of the drive section. Gabe Koener, who did a lot of work on the BSG revamp, did an EXCELLENT model of a revamped Enterprise that was submitted for consideration. It kept the classic look while making it more techie, more futuristic. And it looks fantastic. And rumour states that his designs were REJECTED on the grounds of his work with BSG. Considering the alternative we were given instead, that's something of a huge loss for fans. The new ship has been rescaled, so that instead of the 200+ meters it should have been, it's now bigger in length than the Enterprise-D ... meaning that Failbrams Galaxy class implications are around the 1.5km length. And its design was more influenced by the Constitution refit than the classic in terms of hull texture and saucer design.

8. Renaming an existing planet in the Vulcan home system Delta Vega, when there is already a Delta Vega near the galaxy's edge (TOS: Where No Man Has Gone Before), and then having it WAY too close to Vulcan just so old Spock can see the planet implode. If Delta Vega MK II was that close to Vulcan, it would have been a moon, and Vulcan has no moons.

9. Transwarp beaming. And this crap carried over into the even more attrocious sequel attempt. Transwarp is not a factor of distance. It's a factor of speed. It's exceeding Warp 10. It's not "Here's point A, point B is waaaaaaaaaay over there, but we can still get to it". It's "Here's point A, and this is how fast we're going to get to point B." Since it was transporter tech, not warp drive, even if they wanted to call it transwarp beaming they could only do so by making it a lightning-fast transporter device. It would still have to conform to the technology's standard limits of distance.


Those are just some of the more annoying points. And I'll be polite and not even bother getting started on Wrath of--- I mean, Into Darkness. Because I could go on for weeks about the fail.

I would like to point out that Scotty's comment about Archer's beagle was sound. Archer lived JUST long enough to witness the launch of the original Enterprise under Captain Robert April in 2245, but then died the next day. Doubtful that the beagle in question was Porthos, though, since dogs don't live that long. It might have been (incoming attempt at humour) D'Artagnan.

That all being said; I understand that some people loved the movie, and some people didn't. I understand that some of them are Trekkies (I don't understand HOW), and I myself liked it when I completely ignored all the attempted Star Trek references ... which was hard, but in my head doable. I just didn't like it as Trek, successful or not.
FriendofSonic - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 11:06am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Jammer, thanks for the reviews. They made Enterprise all the more fun to watch on Netflix.

I would have loved Enterprise establishing Jonathan Frakes as the actor to play Chef. He was really great in it! But, no, we had to have the series be like "Remember Home Improvement when you could never see the neighbor hurhurhur"

I can't support much else of what this finale did, though. Really sad.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 10:06am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Firstly, I have to respond to that Mister-Caps-Is-Cruise-Control-For-Cool, because no. Just no.

1) The story is most definitely big enough, and the characters defined enough for the purpose. What could possibly be bigger than wiping out the whole of mankind before we could achieve the greatness that had been explored in every incarnation of Trek up to this movie.

2) To underscore Picard's intimate in-tuneness (I couldn't think of the right way to word it, so it's staying) to the Collective after what they did to him. People have dreams within dreams more than they realise, and that Picard is having such an experience about the Borg only highlights his anxiety about encountering them again.

3) Because of the time travel aspect. Now, granted, that's something that's annoyed me about the Borg in First Contact as well. If they had the ability to travel back in time to assimilate mankind in the past, then why not do so when there is no Enterprise around to stop them? You might argue that the Temporal Agency in the 29th-ish century would stop them, but if the Collective was able to distract them sufficiently with other events simultaneously, they could pull it off and see to it that there WAS no Temporal Agency.

4) Because that's the way bureaucracy works. Those in charge give orders regardless of whether or not they make sense. The Admiral assumed that Picard might crack, since he hasn't actually had a full-on encounter with the Collective since his assimilation. Command had no prior experience to think he would be an asset in the battle, and they made a judgement call.

5) It's assumed that all Trek fans MIGHT have watched enough DS9 up until this point to grasp it, and for those that didn't ... keep in mind they never televised or even showed us Sulu's promotion to Captain and assignment to the Excelsior prior to actually seeing him in command. It's been a couple of years since the Big-D went down, so it's assumed that SOME officers received transfers rather than wait around in limbo.

6) We don't know what many things are before they come into it. New people to the franchise will patiently wait for it to be explained, and it soon was. Trekkies know about First Contact since TOS days. It has been mentioned in the franchise, though not detailed, multiple times.

7) Skipping this point because you're only one-third right.

8) The Borg Queen was, conceivably, essential to the concept of the Collective. All the times the Borg have been in Trek, they've been described as having a HIVE MIND. Now anyone that knows anything will know that no Hive can function without a Queen, or some other individual driving that collective. It makes sense that the Borg would have a personification of that aspect of the Collective as well. When she talks about humans thinking in such three-dimensional terms, it's VERY CLEAR that she's pointing out that the Borg are capable of much more than we are. New Queens could be created as needed, with the consciousness downloaded into the new body from encrypted backup files within the Collective. That's just one example. Keep in mind that after her death in this movie, she was again seen multiple times in Voyager.

9) The emotion chip did far less than you claim. It hardly ruined the character. It gave him a quirky side when he was trying to work out its mechanisms, and made him slightly more in tune with his human/oid friends amongst the crew. Soong created the chip exactly for that reason.

10) Again, going to skip this point, because it's wrong and not worthy of rebuttal.

11) No one was going to buy the Pheonix itself. But that level of tech on a ravaged world would have been like gold during the rush. Every major power still licking its wounds from WW3 would have been after it. Why stay around on a planet with a bunch of people you hate when you can just warp to another and start over? How do we do that sir? Well, this guy in Montana has a ship. With this engine, see? We buy it. Why not steal it sir? Because we're the good guys, y'see? oooor Because he might sabotage it just to spite us. He states quite clearly that his only motivation towards building the Pheonix was to be rich. Wether or not that changed, or he put on the face of that having changed, after the flight, is left to viewer discretion.

12) Not when she's trying to get the information she wants. Would you prefer the hold a phaser to his face and hope the question he asks isn't "What the hell is that and where did you get it from darlin'?" approach?

13) Lily provides counterpoint to Picard. With his rampaging all over the ship killing anything that moves and mutilating Borg to steal their guts (obviously I'm exaggerating), the only other person in the crew that stood up to him was Worf. Did that work? No. Picard slapped him in the face verbally by calling him a Coward. It wasn't until someone from the 21st century compared him to a 19th century novel character and made him see that what he was doing wasn't justice, it was revenge. Still think she did nothing? Would you have rathered not have her there and have let the story line continue with everyone in the crew continuing to be systematically assimilated until the Borg completely controlled the Enterprise? No one else put Picard in his place and made him listen to his officers the way she did.

14) You claim that the scene is out of character, but it isn't really. From your comments, your comments I can assume that you prefer the series over the movies. But in the series, Picard was VIOLATED by the Borg. Statistically, more than 60% of humans who are wronged want vengeance. Picard showed some hints of this in I, Borg when he actually considered using an INDIVIDUAL drone against the Collective. He shows this again in a monumental scale after further years of the Borg hindering the Federation, and now seeking to take over his ship.

15) Refer to my earlier point of how the Queen could have survived. Prior to the distruction of that cube, she could have transported out. That cube could have rendezvoused with another ship en-route to Earth to offload the Queen. The Collective could have made another and had her consciousness downloaded from the Hive Mind. The possibilities are staggering. Remember that they have access to technology the Federation doesn't, and so it is believable that the Queen WAS on board the cube that Picard was assimilated by.



Onto Jammer:

I loved this movie. Of all time, it's my second favourite Trek film, and that was a tough call. Wrath of Khan will always be my favourite, because Ricardo Montalban was the villain in the very first Trek episode I EVER watched, and to see him return bent on revenge with a stolen Starfleet vessel just gave me chills. I still hum the music from the scene where the two ships approach each other in open space sometimes at random. And then that gives me the urge to watch the movie. Plenty of episodes of TNG-era Trek had the potential to show similar scenes of Starfleet-v-Starfleet battles, but those that did push that button (Defiant v Lakota, DS9; Ent-D v Pheonix, TNG, Voyager v Equinox, VOY) didn't quite match the thrill factor I experienced when the Reliant opened up on the Enterprise, or when Kirk responded in kind.

That said, I'm an EPIC sucker for space battles in any science fiction. And this rates as one of the best (included in my list are the fight from Star Trek X, Star Wars III, the season 9 finale of Stargate SG:1, and the series finale of Stargate: Atlantis). So to see the fleet fighting the Borg practically at the onset of the film was something that I enjoyed more than I can presently think to word.
Corey - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 9:12am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I'd give this three or three and a half stars. A very touching episode, I thought.
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 9:07am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I have to say that the few bits about this movie that irked me were:

1. Geordi was looked over when he got back, but the Enterprise bridge crew was at this point intimately familiar with the Duras Sisters and what they're capable of ... and no one checked on his visor to see if it had been tampered with. ESPECIALLY after ROMULANS tampered with it in an episode of the series to add E-band capabilities so they could direct his attempted assassination of a Klingon Governor.

2. All Federation ships had an ability to rotate shield frequencies. This technique became especially critical in combat after the forced introduction to the Borg. How come after the first 1, MAYBE 2 hits from the Sisters got through the shields, Riker didn't think to say "Derrrrp! Rotate the shield frequencies?" This, in my opinion, seemed nothing more than a way to destroy the loveable (again, in my opinion) Big-D in favour of a new ship.

3. Kirk has always said he would die alone. So they decided to completely ignore that and give him the epic, lonely death he so deserved and just drop a bridge on him instead with Picard there to comfort him as he passed on. No. No, no, no, nonono! NO!
Michael - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 8:06am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Very excellently reviewed. While true the film didn't explain the entity, I believe later "non-canon" (since I do like my extended material and consider it canon myself if it's worthy), explained that "The One" from this movie was a lackey of the entity known as 0 (zero). 0 was encountered by deLancie's Q through means of the Guardian of Forever, and then invited that entity into our dimension. Long story short, after a string of shenanigans whereby Q was supposed to be curtailing 0's nonsense on behalf of the Continuum, a war broke out between 0, his lackeys, (*) (the entity that pitted the Enterprise and Kang's crew against each other and kept reviving the dead to keep the conflict going) , Gorgon (from TOS episode "And the Children Shall Lead) and The One, and the Q Continuum. At its conclusion, The One was stripped of power and trapped in the centre of the galaxy while 0 was trapped without it (hence the existence of the outer barrier encountered in early TOS episodes) while the other two fled through a black whole and were later defeated themselves.

Now that I've finished ranting xD on to your review for 6!
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 3:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Certainly an overated episode.

Sure, nothing in this kind o episode pleases me more than seeing one of the insane, dumb, unprofessional risks taken by the captain quite often finally ending up in the obvious disgrace they should have caused many other times before this.

But common, it is offensive to watch yet another insane suicidal decision that felt completely bizarre in that artificial sudden sense of uregency to try a crazy new way to get home. It's utterly absurd. The crew develops an experimental idea in a ship that is lost from home for more than 4 years. And the captain is ready to try it even after knowing that there is a fundamental flaw!


What to say about Chakotay in this episode? Only that it is still painfully annoying to watch he agreeing once again with the captain's crazy decision of the wee, in yet-another-are-you-with-me-scene.

The episode had many other issues. From the corny countdown where the action happens when it reaches zero, to the super corny (and fairly silly) message that Kim sends to him in the past.

Yes, it was a well executed episode in terms of dialogue, especial effects, camera, etc. And yes, there were good pieces like Chatkotay and Kim as fugitives in the future. Still, here we have to swallow that they are willing to go back in time and make a history change of, in this case at least, pottentially enormous consequences. Without a moral doubt shown on screen.

Ok, it was sort of entertaining to watch. But it was not exactly good and is easily the most overated episode of Voyager I have found in this website so far. Certainly not more than 2 stars for me.
Ric - Sun, Apr 20, 2014, 2:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

This episode was mostly boredom disguised as a profound piece of episode.
trekmedic - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 10:46pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Does anyone else think it's hilarious that the Ferengi starship's name is "Cretin?"
Aaron - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 9:16pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

I liked this one. Seriously, after 7 seasons of Voyager being mostly one-shot episodes, it's nice to get some continuing plot threads. Enterprise was basically Voyager with hull plating instead of shields for most of the 2nd season. Now they've got a purpose.

I thought it was an apt storyline given ENT's broadcast existence in the post 9-11 era.

Oh, and people, stop complaining about canon! No one but hardcore trekkers cared about that, and it's why the producers of the new movies just said F*** canon.

It makes sense that events from more than 100 years before TOS might have lost their intensity, like the Spanish-American War or World War I for us today, that people don't talk about that much anymore unless studying history.

What I didn't get, though - 1) where the hell were the Vulcans? They didn't seem to give a crap or assist at all, so I can't believe that humans would put up with them at all, especially after this. 2) Earth vessels seemed to make short work of a Klingon battle cruiser, why was there no warning about this Xindi weapon?
Tom - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 7:33pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Pollyanna: "I found the exchanges between Wesley and Picard genuine and realistic." Absolutely. I never thought that I would find myself actually liking Wesley. Those scenes with the captain were touching and a testament to Wil Wheaton's (and Patrick Stewart of course)'s acting abilities. It shows how much the show and its writers have progressed since season 1.

@SkepticalMI - The Earth's mean temperature is 14C, or about 40C less than that planet. So, if they landed somewhere during the winter, maybe on one of the poles, than the temperatures we see in the show might make sense.
SkepticalMI - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 6:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Interesting that three of the last five episodes of season 4 (Half a Life, Host, and this one) all deal with very similar themes, namely a romance doomed to failure because one of the people in the relationship is completely and totally alien to the other. Of the three, I think this is the best, because it turns it around and makes the central cast member who we have seen and grown with over the past 100 episodes as the alien one. I liked Destructor, T'Paul, and William's comments, and agree with them. The fact that Data appears so mechanical here is what made the show. Others have mentioned elements of the last scene that were moving and striking, but I'll add one more. As Jenna's leaving, Data asks if this means that they are breaking up. This seems such a natural and emotional thing to do. If it were a human saying that, we might imagine he was being wistful or regretful, asking but not really wanting to hear the answer. But when Jenna confirms it, he merely comments that he will delete the appropriate program. There was no emotion behind his question, merely aiming for factual clarity so that he can efficiently organize his files.

I also agree that it was not out of the ordinary for Jenna to fall for Data; the episode set it up well. Data has had 20 some years of experience dealing with people in professional or relaxed social environments. So while he's not perfect in these realms, he does a decent job of following the proper social protocols. He really was being a good friend to Jenna beforehand, both in the torpedo bay and after the concert. In fact, I remembered the "double date" with Miles and Keiko as happening after they became a couple, not before. But given how clingy Jenna was being with Data and how comfortable she was with him, it seemed only natural that she would think he might be able to be more than just a friend.

And it was just as natural how much he failed. He has had zero experience with relationships (drunken one night stands with former security chiefs notwithstanding). Of course he wouldn't know how to behave. We see him act naturally (when Jenna visits him in his quarters), and he is emotionless and unavailable. So he tries to act unnaturally, and it is painfully obvious to everyone that it's a façade. Even Jenna noticed it was a failure pretty quickly. I guess that's why I can't complain about the pointless B plot too much. If it was so obvious to everyone that Data was pathetic at being a boyfriend, how could they have filled 43 minutes of it? Better to create filler than to mess up a good 30 minute story by stretching it to 43.

As for comparing Data and the Doctor, this episode is one of the reasons Data is a better character. From my recollections of Voyager (and in fairness, I don't know it as well as TNG), the Doctor's INhumanity was rarely explored. For the most part, he was just a sarcastic human who could be turned off. The episode where his OS crashed due to saving Kim and not the redshirt is the only exception I can think of off the top of my head. That's not meant as a slight to Robert Picardo, who played the sarcastic doctor well. But there was much more depth to Data, because he was much more alien. We could never be sure how much of humanity he was mimicking and how much really was there.
Ric - Sat, Apr 19, 2014, 2:45am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Holy Trek. Aside from the very implausible, silly, ludicrous explanation for how One was "born", the rest of the episode was pure joy to watch. Oh mine, it is amazing how much Seven has added to this show. The final of the episode, the dialogue, and how it builds upon Seven's contexto is just really really good.

I also enjoyed quite a lot the portrayal of One, as well as the actíng behind him. They ressembled the Tin Man from the Wizard of Oz, in the way he moved, talked and, most touching, both the facial expressions in between machine and human and the way he looked at the others.

Loved this one.
skadoo - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 11:07pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I found the story mentioned above (O Captain, My Captain: A Look Back At Deep Space Nine’s Ben Sisko) below is a better link:
www.racialicious.com/2012/03/15/o-captain-my-captain-a-look-back-at-deep-space-nines-ben-sisko/#more-21072

I thought it was a great article. I'm disappointed at the attitude people have over that small scene. I think for the most part if you are a person of color you're more apt to have thought of the scene as necessary.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@Jammer and Torayo, as to the sexism in DS9 and beyond, the reason there are female schemers using their bodies is because men desire them and women in real life use their bodies. That is life, too bad.
Nick P. - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 3:05pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I did not love this episode. It was alright and it was really cool seeing everyone out of make up, Dukat and Nog in particular. I quite liked the first half of the episode when I thought it was going to be a light period piece, but than the "Racism=Bad" chanting started, OMG, can we ever get past this as a culture? I agree with some of the poster above who said that star trek works best in allegory, I did not like at ALL when this became "12 Years a slave" light.... I disagree on one major point with Jammer also, it is true this is the first direct reference to Brooks being black, but ever since "Past Tense" it has certainly been right there under the surface waiting for this terrible episode to happen.

Now, I have never been a fan of the "issue" episodes, I have stated many times I love Sci-Fi for the Sci-Fi, not for BS political reasons, I don't need over-acting Avery Brooks to tell me racism is bad, or stupid face painting in TOS for that matter, or boring TNG season 7 to know polluting is bad. I look forward to getting back to real science fiction.
pip - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

A big treat seeing Wendy Robie, one of my favourite Twin Peaks alumni. Almost unrecognisable without the eye patch.
tony - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:00am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

"Well for all those complaining about Quark not getting punished...........

Maybe this was one of the times when Sisko later proclaimed he could have come down hard on Quark but didn't. Makes sense to me."

Well, it sure doesn't make any fucking sense to me, since Quark's actions almost got a friend of Sisko's KILLED!!!

Tricia - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 5:04am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Isn't the universal translator built into the com badges? How does Janeway and Paris keep talking to the aliens after the com badges are taken? Apparently the aliens not only look exactly like humans, but they speak English. (The universal translator doesn't make sense anyway, but that's a different discussion).
Ric - Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 12:38am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: One

@Nick "Why the strange alien of the week to pester Seven's subconscious? It made no sense. They should have stuck with the Borg theme"

I agree, but it is clear why they chose the alien at first. Because we were supposed to believe, for a while,m that he was real. If it was a Borg bothering her from the begining we would not be foolished. However, it got obvious pretty soon that the alien was not real... So I also regret they did not use the oportunity to explore in the way you've suggested.

Sure, the episode had a few big logic flaws, many of them already pointed here by others. But overall I found ths episode really entertaining, with a terrific development of Seven's character. Pretty good.
Retrospeculative - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I have to disagree with the prevailing opinion; as science fiction, this is a much better film than The Wrath of Khan, which has some embarrassingly bad ham acting (in particular, from William Shatner and Ricardo Montalban).
SkepticalMI - Thu, Apr 17, 2014, 9:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

As others have mentioned, this is a rather dark story, with Geordi being put through hell. Of course, it could have been darker. Tell me, how did the Romulans know so much about Geordi's visor? How did they single him out so easily and seem to have the technology all in place? After all, it's not like they've ever gotten their hands on a VISOR before. It's not like any of them ever tinkered with one before. Well, except for that one guy in The Enemy, who worked with the VISOR enough to hook it up to a tricorder... Oh.

Yes, Bochra, the man who saved Geordi's life, who confided to Geordi that he did not want to die, the person involved in what Geordi cheerfully and triumphantly declared the first Federation-Romulan co-venture... Bochra was the one who caused all of this brainwashing. How's that for a nice swift kick in the gut, La Forge? Although I'm not sure which scenario is darker: Bochra immediately going to the Tal Shiar and offering up all intelligence freely, or Bochra imprisoned by the Tal Shiar and forced to give intel on his new Federation friend...

OK, random speculation aside, this is an excellent episode. There really is a sense of dread, a sense of danger throughout the episode. Of course everything would turn out ok. But Klingon and Romulan episodes tended to be the dark ones, tended to shake up the status quo. Worf killed someone in the last one. Maybe La Forge would too. Probably not, but maybe... Of course, it wouldn't be O'Brien. But that scene in 10-Forward was creepy enough because you knew something was going to happen. And when it ended up just being a spilled drink, it made perfect sense (the Romulans aren't going to call too much attention to themselves for a test) as well as being, well, a bit unexpected. A bit of relief, but then you realize that means he is still being controlled by the Romulans, so not a relief at all.

And then we see him in action, using his brain to wipe the computer memory. And then see him later with no recollection of it. It's painful for the viewer to see, which is undoubtedly the point. And then Data gets on the case, and it's a race to the end...

The end is a little bit contrived, but forgivable. I wasn't bothered by Data not running or anything, he didn't know an assassination attempt was underway. What was a bit of a bother was Worf fighting with the two Klingon bodyguards while Picard and Vagh stand there stupidly and watch him. And then Data seemed to hedge all his bets on Kell still having the transmitter on him. Which was a lucky guess. This was definitely the last order (since La Forge would be imprisoned if successful), and Kell beamed down to the planet after giving the last order. He could have abandoned the doohicky at any time. Yet it was obvious that Kell still had it.

But it's a minor nitpick. The overall episode was still an excellent, suspense-filled show, a worthy member of the Klingon civil war arc.
Next »Page 1 of 753
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer