Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,875 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,395
Set Bookmark
Timothy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 2:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Wait, why is Archer concerned about sex slavery now? Just recently he condemned an entire gender of an alien race to sex slavery, even refusing asylum to a refugee who was so distraught by their captivity that they killed themselves.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

1) Did not appreciate the Gowron send-off. He deserved better.

2) Come on, we all knew who Damar was going to shoot, so painfully obvious.

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

It was ok (**)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

(**)
Set Bookmark
mik73
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Of course silly me I forgot Jammer uses the 4-star rating standard. So make it 1.5 / 4 stars on that scale. Not quite scraping the bottom of the barrel for the various and sundry merits I managed to dig up. :)
Set Bookmark
mik73
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Re-watching Season 1 and was somewhat dreading the appearance of this episode. I remembered the main premise and plot points (specifically the 'surprise twist' relationship between Ariel and the leader of the survivors). I remembered in my youth being somewhat aghast and offended at the 'tables being turned' nature of the Matriarchal society. In 'prepping' for the show by reading Jammer's review and subsequent comments my dread was only amplified. I came close to just hitting 'delete' on the PVR and giving it a pass. But felt I owed it to nostalgia and mild case of OCD to 'complete' my S1 trip down memory lane.

So I just finished watching it, and I'm somewhat shocked to find that I wasn't as offended by the viewing as I expected. Yes, overall the quality of the script, plot contrivances and premise are largely absurd. But I find myself looking at the episode in a kinder light (or at least with more forgiveness) for technical and performance reasons.

I see some real progression in the acting choices made by the TNG crew. Riker/Frakes fares very well I thought (I'll expand on his role shortly). I also appreciated Brent Spiner's continued refinement of the 'Data' persona we will all learn to love in seasons to come (still in a groove after Datalore I suppose). Troi, Geordie and Worf also seem to be a bit more comfortable in their skins (albeit Worf has a minimal role, as usual, but his command advice to Geordie was a nice touch). Stewart doesn't have much to do other then act sick and indulge in his 'get off my lawn' persona to Wesley.

McFadden still seems to me a bit awkward, like she doesn't yet know how her character is supposed to relate to the rest of the crew. Or she to her fellow actors; particularly Picard/Stewart. I like the character, and I like McFadden as that character...but there's something holding her back from 'fitting in' quite yet.

Yar / Crosby also remains awkward, but not in a way that indicates much room for growth or improvement to be brutally honest. I don't know all the gory details of how she was feeling about her position on the show at this point, her (or the producer's) estimation of her acting abilities, or the quality of the scripts she was given. But this episode is, unfortunately, a marker to me that things just aren't working out.

To the plot itself - Surprisingly I wasn't nearly as offended or off-put by the whole gender-bender Matriarchal thing as I remembered from my viewings years ago. I think it was handled somewhat 'gingerly' by all concerned. We're still in the 80's here, so I guess there's only so far they would go to try and throw their male viewership for a loop.

Certainly it had it's share of 'men are brainless' lines and condescension sprinkled here and there to remind us of how 'backward' their society was. All in silly good humour for the most part. But overall they didn't hammer the gender vs gender thing as much as I thought they would (definitely not as ham-fisted and unbearably self-righteous as it would be if written by modern hacks).

This can be largely attributed to how Riker handles things (and is handled *cough* by the planet's leader). I was impressed that he really tried not to rock the boat with regards to their customs. It would be easy to come in guns blazing and spend the episode preaching to all in earshot how misguided they all are. All of the Away team seem to be in sync with Riker and Data's Prime Directive conclusions (even if they don't make much sense from a real world law point of view). At least we are spared the usual 'school lesson' a senior officer has to give a junior, who should know better.

Now add in the fact that both the main female leaders from this planet fall hard for the first 'strong alpha male' type that happens along, and much of the gender politics behind the plot gives way to Season 1's infamous 'sexcapades in space' routine.

Anyway, I won't defend the plot, the stricken-crew cliche, multiple countdowns, one-note planetary political system, another band of survivors refusing to leave, etc. This is definitely a Season 1 episode and lacks much of the refinement in script and plot we would see later on.

But I'll give this 2/5 stars for not beating me over the head with the women vs men thing. For growing comfort, if not growth, by the actors in their roles (Crosby excluded, alas). A fine outing for Riker in most respects. And a marked improvement in some technical aspects of lighting and camera angles (no annoying fish-eye shots of Stewart's nose for example...ugh).

Definitely better times ahead, but there was enough here to keep it off the bottom rung of Season 1's worst offenders for me.

Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Rene Auberjonois, the actor who plays Odo, is in my opinion one of the best Star Trek has ever had, and a real unsung hero of the franchise. His portrayal of Odo is something special: he breathes so much life and nuance into the character. Even though his facial expressions are limited, with every little turn of his head or twinkle of his eye he manages to convey so much. And his sense of humor is great to boot. It's interesting that in real life his voice sounds quite different - that low gruff voice is part of his act. He really shines in that last scene with the other changeling.
Set Bookmark
Gopher
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

The technical thing that kills me from the first act on this one, and which I haven't seen anyone mention to my surprise...

It is revealed at the end that the portal is two-way. Stuff can pass back and forth through it easily. Meaning, Miles or Keiko, or anyone else, *could've* just walked through and returned with Molly, at *any time.*

Now, you can say they didn't *know* that... but could they really not think of any way to *test* it? Program a flying drone to fly through, then fly back? Nope. It was just... "Molly went through this portal-thing. Obviously, it is one-way."

If I push that (glaring, imo) issue aside, I liked the episode well enough - I'd agree with 2.5 stars, though I quite liked the Worf sub-plot. Someone complained about Worf being so hard on himself, but to me, Worf was projecting his fears based on the *fact* that he *royally screwed up* with Alexander as a child, a fact that has been forced brought back into focus for him by the recent return of Alexander. He whines and postures to Dax as if he's proving it to her, but really he's wanting to prove it to himself. And in the end, he does, and it's a good little sub-plot for him. I like this B-plot enough to bump the ep's overall rating up to a 3 out of 4, personally.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Trip trips out on alien gas then gets impregnated by an alien hand bath. (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

Tripp trips out on alien hashish (*)
Set Bookmark
Andi
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@Jay
What about quantum computers? Now on the horizon of science research. That could be the next big thing after binary technology.


@George Monet
"Finally, how the heck did these Saurians even discover that one single human skeleton"
A Kazon could have heard or examined what the Voyager people did on the planet and could have tried to trade in that information. Other aliens, who were in contact with Voyager over time could have extracted their DNA (secretly) and also trade these informations. Like in the "Fair Trade" episode, those stations are full of dubious traders who would sell you even secret receipts of their own grandmother.

"Furthermore, it is impossible for this species to have left absolutely no fossil record on Earth."
The Dinos could have been taken by advanced aliens, maybe as new farm animals. And then they slowly evolved on that other aliens planet, up until they made their fossil records and all technology traces on that planet. The only thing that is proofed by Gegen is, that their DNA comes from Earth. Nothing is said about the exact history of their further evolution.

@NonRelativist
Interesting idea to agree with the traditions of the Dinos, just because it seems to have worked for so long so very well. Maybe only firm traditions can stabilize a society over many thousand and even million years. So it's a nice touch of this great VOY episode to show how strong the traditions are and that they are not overthrown by first sight of some DNA proof. Maybe they only need some more time, give them 200 years or so, to slowly incorporate Gegen's theory into their mainstream culture without destabilizing anything.

Absolutely great, fresh, fast-paced episode that gives you something to think about.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 1:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Enterprise is a nice change of pace from the other Treks. The Enterprise is feeling it's way through warp space and learning about themselves more than about other races. With no prime directive the crew is able to make mistakes and grow. Entertaining (***)
Set Bookmark
RichD
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

This episode is in my top 5 of the whole series. It's expertly written. I applaud the writers for going to a place that very rarely is shown in the Star Trek universe. The horrors of war. The Dominion War dominated the DS9 story line as we all know, and I think it was brilliant to show an episode from this perspective. The scene with Quark and Nog at the beginning, was tremendous. It's those little stand out scenes, that tend sneak up and surprise you. That's what I enjoy so much about this show. You could be moving along, business as usual watching an episode, and then bam, they hit you with something like that. They've obviously done land based, hand to hand combat themed episodes in the past, but for some reason, this episode struck a chord with me. It packed an emotional punch. Perhaps watching Nog, a character I grew to admire more and more as the series progressed, so valiantly help the team, only to lose his leg, got to me. He represents the viewer in a lot of ways. Very well done. This one was a pleasant surprise when I first saw it.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

I was just reading the review of "Bride of Chaotica(!)" and some comments about the UPN trailors gave me a flashback to the original trailor for "Elogium." I distinctly remember seeing the trailor for this the week before it first aired, with the voiceover claiming something to the effect that (in all caps, to reflect how it was said) "VOYAGER ENCOUNTERS THE MOST POWERFUL FORCE IN THE UNIVERSE". I remember seeing this and thinking "Is it the Q? Something else?" I can't say I was necessarily enthused, as I wasn't liking the show particularly, but at any rate I was curious.

When "Elogium" aired my sustained reaction was 45 minutes of "w. t. f." Unlike the promo, my reaction was not in caps but in lower case tedium. Jammer is right to have railed against the promos as much as he has, but in this case it went beyond merely being cheesy or overblown. This one was a flat-out blatant lie, and because of it what should have been a humdrum mediocre hour was instead an hour of serious disappointment. If the morons working for UPN thought they were doing their network a favor by putting one over on the audience then they were even dumber and more dishonest than the promos they were putting out. I wonder in hindsight whether audience members could have successfully filed a class-action suit against UPN for false advertising.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

1) They made it way too obvious that Ross was working for Sloan.
2) Bashir would make a terrible spy.
3) Liked the Romulan council scene, and Sloan's 'death' was shocking.
4) Romulans need more makeup where the foreheads meet their real faces. Or just don't have such a low camera angle, if that's easier.
5) Solid episode, but not 4 stars. 3.5 at best.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

The Klingon is to advanced looking considering TOS was further into the future. Finally a Star Trek launch with no god like beings and existential quests. Thee best first episode of any Star Trek series. (***.5)
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I like this episode a lot! Just rewatched it yesterday and it still works for me. Yes, there are clich├ęs, as Jammer wrote, but it's well directed and well acted.

Plus the terrible "Ferengi love songs" still burns my memory... so this is gold!!!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Good catch, Jammer.

That being said, I think even the ST:III line is a meta-joke about how repair demands are always met despite them being impossible. The "Relics" joke would then a joke on the joke. Even in ST:II they're taking the piss out of this by Kirk actually instructing them to give an exaggerated repair estimate. My point was, when watching TOS it's not really plausible that Scotty was deliberately giving inflated repair times; it's just that Kirk's demands somehow magically made anything possible. It's not like we were going to get an episode where, during the crisis, nothing works, with Scotty telling the Captain (as the ship is exploding) "I told you I couldn't do it this fast!"
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

And now on to enterprise! wheeee!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

The Scotty "miracle worker" is established with specific dialogue. From "Star Trek III: The Search for Spock":

Kirk: "How much refit time before we can take her out again?"
Scotty: "Eight weeks, sir. But you don't have eight weeks, so I'll do it for you in two."
Kirk: "Mr. Scott, have you always multiplied your repair estimates by a factor of four?"
Scotty: "Certainly, sir. How else can I keep my reputation as a miracle worker?"
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

(***.5) DS9 was a far superior series on the whole but Voyager got the better send off. The only regret is not seeing 7's reaction to earth considering they spent so much time building her anticipation. As for the others, even though the future was negated I was satisfied with the original depiction of life after voyager.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

@ Kuebel, "I am not so sure about this "miracle worker" thing: Did Scotty really overestimate the repair time on purpose during TOS?"

It's been a Star Trek trope by this time that the chief engineer gives the captain an ETA for repairs and the captain says he's got a fraction of that amount to get it done. Despite the timetable being impossible, it always gets done. I'm pretty sure Scotty's line here is a meta-joke on that tired trope rather than being a reference to his actual behavior with Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

So now the Federation/Starfleet have had a war with the Tzenkethi.
For a peace keeping organisation based on exploration and learning they sure get into a lot of wars.

At which point do the peace loving hippies think "Screw this, lets seal our borders and stay here. Too many innocents are dying because we want to boldly go..."

Be interested to see a list of everyone they've had a war with.

Romulans
Klingons
Cardassians
Tzenkethi
Dominion

The Borg don't count as they're headcases.

Anyone else?

Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

sigh (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

(****)
Next ►Page 1 of 1,395
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.