Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,820 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 913
Alex - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 12:26am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

At least we get to see Tony Jay (Lwaxana's groom) and hear his incredible voice!
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 4:11pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Oh my goodness, I just love this episode! 4 stars, for sure. Uhura gets to be bad-ass (with her dealings with Sulu, with the phaser-taking from Marlena, just all around awesome), Evil "Scarface" Sulu and Evil Chekov are GREAT, and Spock isn't even evil in the Mirror universe, just a logical man trapped in a brutal, illogical empire.

I dig the goatee too - I guess they were thinking that would make Spock look more like the Devil, eh? Well, devilishly handsome, maybe.

I wonder if anyone on here had considered how the Mirror Universe came to be, and why it was so easily accessible? And is it truly a Mirror Universe, or just one where Earth, Starfleet and the UFP is upside down into an Imperial Earth bent? It's been noted that in later excursions into the Mirror Universe in DS9 etc. that alien cultures behave much the same as they otherwise would, only more aggressively towards a Terran Empire that is asking for a walloping.

My theory (which isn't really mine) is that the Mirror Universe came to be when McCoy stepped into The Guardian of Forever. The episode's events did put right the timeline of events for the "normal" universe that the USS Enterprise crew knows. But perhaps that other timeline, where the Nazis won WWII and conquered the world, still existed as the split-off Mirror Universe? It might explain why the Terran Empire incorporates a tradition of fascistic salutes, among other things. Anyway, it's just a possibility...
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 1:14pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

In answer to Sagiam I.K., perhaps Spock is not 10x stronger than Kirk on Vulcan because Spock is, on Vulcan, subject to the thinner atmosphere and higher gravity which gives a Vulcan his "super strength" when the air volume and gravity are set to human standards. But then again, Kirk would have still been hard pressed to breathe properly while fighting, and lifting those weapons should have been much harder for him. So maybe the Plak Tow (blood fever) does something to weaken the Vulcan in this situation. Or, it's also possible that despite the Plak Tow's influence, Spock was actually trying as hard as he could to restrain his full impulse to fight with all his might, and to instead go easy on Kirk, while making it *seem* like he was going all-out for blood. Being that he's half-human, perhaps the Plak Tow doesn't have *quite* the same hold on his mind as it does for a full-blooded Vulcan. [Given that he only underwent Ponn Farr for apparently the first time in his thirties, after thinking that he "might have been spared" from it, it does seem plausible that the Ponn Farr would affect a half-Human half-Vulcan differently than a typical Vulcan]. --> And yes, the regenerated Spock on the Genesis planet did undergo Ponn Farr as a teenager, but perhaps the Genesis effect didn't just accelerate his growth, but also intensified or ignited that which would have otherwise been largely dormant post-adolescent impulses.

Anyway, back to the Amok Time fight: Maybe Kirk was just very effective at evading most of the swipes and jabs and thwacks that came his way, and he didn't need to match Spock's Vulcan-adapted strength to fend him off for most of the fight - well, until the choking happened, which happened to coincide with McCoy's gamble of knock-out medicine.

Oh well, in any case, it wouldn't have been as fun a match if Spock had sliced Kirk in two with the Lirpa or beaned him in the noggin with the Ahn'woon right off the bat, would it?
Charles - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 1:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

As always with DS9, I loved it... up until they brought in the prophets. Way to kill your episode and everything you've worked for in this arc.

DS9 would have been such a good show without those prophets (that definitely killed season 7).
Capitalist - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:59pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Hmm, once again Jammer misses the point of the Trip/T'Pol scene, even after bringing up the related scene from back in "Unexpected." Isn't it obvious? Everytime Trip gets involved with a woman, T'Pol gets all miffed, pissy, n snarky. :D :D

I'm watching Enterprise for the first time, so I don't know how it'll play out, but it seems clear what the writers had in mind for these two at this point.
Charles - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:53pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Agree 100% with Jons. This is beyond absurd. How ironic that a show about intelligence insults the viewer's so much.
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

Ohh this episode... I just wanted to smack some sense into Scotty-the-Suddenly-Thick-Brained-Caveman, and give Lt. Palamas (aka Lt. Pajamas) another few whacks in the head. (And why the heck do all these pretty and easily-manipulable officers with "specializations in myth and antiquity" keep popping up on a ship of deep-space exploration? Ahhh, plot convenience, of course. Or as some might call it, poor writing).

I really wished for this episode (as with a few other Trek episodes) to have a stronger-minded woman to stand up and think a little on her own, who's more like the Number One from "The Cage", logical and focused on duty to her ship and crew, rather than some flimsy mimsy, being so easily swayed by some hunky two-bit "god" and a fancy-schmancy dress or robe. GRRR.

At least Kirk was able to put some sense into her and Lt. Palamas FINALLY spurned Apollo's affections with the cold sarcasm they deserved. (Too bad Kirk's speech smacks of, erm, R-A-C-I-S-M, but it gets the plot from A to B effectively enough).

I did feel kind of bad for Apollo at the end - like I felt bad for Charlie X or Trelane or any other god-power-being who meddles too far with the Enterprise crew and meets their sad fate. But as others above have pointed out, what the heck was Apollo DOING - and why would he think "Hey, I know, those humans will just come and worship me again after, um, growing past the whole god thing." And it had to be Apollo that didn't see the end for him coming - so much for his supposed wisdom!
Beth - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 12:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

Ah yes, yet ANOTHER episode where Kirk "outwits" the machine with self-destructive "logic". But wow, I was face-palming through a lot of this. From Spock's mind-meld (with a tin can?) to Uhura going from pre-school English to "College level" in a short time (wtf, do they have some kind of learn-by-osmosis machines in the 23rd century, ala the "lesson feeds" in "The Matrix"?), to the lovely (laughable) Nomad-perspective camera angles, to Kirk's TERRIBLE joke at the end that REALLY made me put palm to face...

And yet, it was still an enjoyable episode, and I could get past the hokeyness and silliness. It was also interesting to see this story again, and realize what I somehow hadn't realized before: "Oh hey, this is where they got that whole V'Ger thing from The Motionless Picture!" [The movie being a slightly different case, where the story was oversimple and the plot not all that well thought-out, and the pace plodding with somewhat stiff acting, but nonetheless still was somehow an enjoyable thing to sit through].

I give it 1.5 out of 4. Stupid, but fun.
Fish - Wed, Dec 17, 2014, 6:36am (USA Central)
Re: Confessions of a Closet Trekkie

Ahhhhh Jammer. I feel you mate.

As an Aussie, we pretty much loathe regular intellectuals over here, let alone those godsdamned nerdy bastards who are into scifi!

So you can imagine I kept my love of Star Wars on the down low all through school (didn't discover Trek till I caught "The Wounded" on TNG reruns on Channel 11, and didn't get onto BSG until this year as a result of your reviews!!). Closeted myself in being captain of the school rugby team and playing all manner of competitive sports, plus being an avid surfer always helps people assume you'd never be into all that weird nerdy shit.

I graduated high school four years ago, spent the last four years at uni doing law, and I can say that my experiences are similar to posters like Rachael and Starpollo (killing it with the screenname by the way). I dont advertise my trekkiness, but if someone asks me what my favourite TV series are, they'll be copping TNG, DS9 and BSG all the way. If thats enough for someone to heap judgment on me, then fuck 'em, they aren't worth it. Although that doesnt mean I'll bore them to tears with a comparison of the leadership qualities of Sisko and Picard from a moral vs. practical standpoint. Pretty open with it now, although, like you, I prefer people I know (usually dates) thinking I'm normal before I drop the Trek-bomb if we're on a topic of TV viewing! Nor do I mention commenting on Trek websites, or incidentally, membership of ASoIaF forum (baby steps, after all).

Anyway, just wanted to share my thoughts, trek transcends all walks of life, as evidenced by a 22 year old surfing, rugby-playing, booze swilling, Australian law student commenting on an American website about TV shows that hop all around the Alpha, Gamma and Delta quadrants to express his gratitude for your reviews.

I guess what I'm saying, in a really roundabout, long-winded manner is, you're killing it Jamahl, love ya reviews, and I'm really glad you made this website a couple of years after I was born, and even more glad I discovered it a couple of years ago!

Keep it up mate!



Del_Duio - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 8:33pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

"that's the episode where DS9 started to piss me off personally, talking about religion and gods like it's a real thing, and crossing from "star trek" to supernatural bullshit."

Yeah but the prophets / wormhole aliens ARE real in the DS9 universe. Many characters on the show have had run-ins with them or more. They aren't some intangible thing, otherwise you would have made a good point.
grm89 - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 7:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this one for the first time. Think most of the negative aspects have been discussed here, but one more for you that annoyed me more than anything at the end: this huge, cunning, scheming alien, who has masterminded the faking of his own death, killed someone else and then proven that he can take a phaser blast at point blank range..... Loses a fist fight to a skinny unarmed earth woman.

Also was there any way for Beverley to prove what happened on the shuttle after she vaporised him? Cctv doesn't appear to exist in the future...all they've got is the word of a disgraced off duty medical officer who's about to face the ethics committee for disobeying the captain's orders. Oh dear Beverley. Oh dear.
Jeff - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 5:11pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I was just thinking regarding holo-Barclay referring to Seven as the only human to fully recover from Borg assimilation. 10 to 1 this was, in reality, just a tremendous goof on the writing staff's part. But maybe, just maybe, it was a clue the writers' included to tip off the viewers that perhaps there was something wrong with holo-Barclay. Surely the real Barclay would be aware of Picard's situation from BOBW. He was serving on the Enterprise-D at the time. This could have been something the writers cooked up to put the viewer on edge and suspect the supposedly benign motives of holo-Barclay. Just a thought.
Elliott - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 1:50pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Not to get into too heated a discussion over this, but...

DLPB, you aren't incorrect that Islamic texts support violence, but that in no way invalidates what Corey is saying about Israel being an illegal occupying force. It's not an either/or.

Dave in NC, you are also correct, however, in 2014, the only sect of Abrahamic faiths which take their holy book seriously enough to commit violence in its name on a mass scale is Islam. The other two have (mostly) gotten to the point of ignoring their own religions enough to be past this stage, so it *is* fair to single Islam out in at least this respect.
Dave in NC - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 11:59am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

I guess your Bible doesn't have Leviticus in it, dlpb.

There are numerous quotes supporting murder and violence in all of the holy books of the Abrahamaic religions. It's not really fair to single out the Quran.


dlpb - Tue, Dec 16, 2014, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Sorry, Corey, but no. If you understand Islamic teaching then you see numerous quotes that teach hatred to Jews. There are dozens of countries around the world that have lost land at some point, and they aren't blowing people up anymore. Islam is a death cult.
dlpb - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 8:52pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This is probably my favourite episode of Season 1, and certainly one of the best overall. Most of this is due to Harris Yulin and the script involving his character. The episode was, on the whole, well paced and scripted. The only real negative I have here is how woeful Nana Visitor comes across when compared to Harris Yulin. His acting puts hers to shame.

Most of the main characters are not up to scratch in this show. Nog (especially Nog), Jake, Sisko (oh, and him too), Nerys, Dax, and Bashir... All their actors underperformed throughout the entirety of the show. When compared to the actors who played Weyoun, Garak, Quark, Gul Dukat, Martok, and Gowron, it is painfully obvious.

The actors playing Odo and O'Brien did a good job, at least.
Leeroy - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 2:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I didn't realize the captain was black, so I didn't understand this episode when it aired.
Capitalist - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 2:34pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

"Why don't they explain what they know? The obvious answer would seem to be because they know Archer would disapprove of their hunting of a sentient species — but no, because near the end of the story they lay all the cards on the table voluntarily. What makes them decide to do this, when nothing about the situation has significantly changed?"

LOL, I've often thought (and posted at least once) about how the folks on this board don't seem to get out much, and clearly that includes Jammer as well.

What has changed to cause the hunters to reveal their knowledge? Well, what are they all doing during that scene?

Drinking.

Hello???

I guess Jammer's never been out in the woods for several days hunting/fishing/camping/combat training or whatever with a group of guys. After a hard day or two humping around in the woods, it would be sacrilege not to unwind around a campfire with a few adult beverages of your choice. That's when the interesting convos always happen...
Gil - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 2:20pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

"WHAT protocols, given that this is probably the first space mission."

Even coffemakers are required by law to provide proper use instructions and safety guidelines. To suppose that space exploration amounts to no more than intuition and/or blind guesswork is patently absurd.
Susan - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 12:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

We the fans know Data and his abilities and character from previous episodes and therefore we trust him. Hobson didn't seem to know anything about him except that he is a legit 2nd officer on the Flagship. So it's true Hobson is being biased and prejudiced but he also had no experience with Data and his abilities. He also may have resented Picard advancing Data over him. It must be tough having to submit to a CO you don't have history with. If Hobson had been less jerky it would have made for a more intriguing story.
Dave in NC - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 11:54am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

^

Looking at the current problems Paramount is having with the script and the director for the new film, not much has changed. For such a venerable piece of pop-culture (which has been around now for half a century), it's amazing how those in charge really have NO idea what makes the franchise work.

Case in point? Jonathan Frakes isn't even being considered as a candidate for director, yet we have two directors from the Fast and Furious movies high on the inside track. Fast and Furious?!? That's just what the new ST movie needs: more jump cuts, swearing, and idiotic catchphrases.

So so sad.
Jeff - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 8:12am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

This episode seems to have gotten more comments than most others did. The words "bleak" and "pointless" appear a lot. I agree with Destructor; it really goes to the essence of Existentialism, but it also transcends Existetialism. The great fear of the duplicate crew was that they would simply disappear without leaving any record of their accomplishments -- which is what happened, and yet unbeknown to them, their real counterparts
were doing fine. The theme of parallel universes is common in science fiction, but here the two parallel universes are in one universe, and almost encounter each other. If the survivors of the duplicate crew did meet the real crew, they would have realized that, however meaningless their existance was, in the other universe their existance was fulfilled. As someone said, whether the episode was plausible or not, it did succeed in making us think about existance and meaningfulness.
todayshorse - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 6:16am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

What a bizarre episode. Having read the comments there's not much more to say but I did note a few things. The 'entire' crew seem totally not concerned with what's going on, even picard seems to give the impression ' oh Beverly what have you done now...sigh' like she does this all the time... even Beverly walks round the ship in a slow convoluted way, Data seems confused and 'not really interested' when Beverly asks him if sabotage is possible. They all seem to treat her as they would any 'non regular' crew member - or maybe it's just me that's noticed that - With contempt, irritability, as if anyone else on the ship but them has problems or knows what they are doing. Strange. Did enjoy the almost 'porn movie' sounds that seemed dubbed over the fight scene on the shuttle craft, and Beverlys roundhouse kick chuck norris stylee on the was dead but now isn't alien scientist bloke. Just how did he get out of the morgue and back again whilst he was doing dastardly things? And if I hadn't known better I would have said Will Wheaton played the ferengi.
Chris M - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 1:42am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Watch Q Who. Data states the Borg damage in that episode is "identical to what happened to the outposts along the neutral zone."
Adam C - Mon, Dec 15, 2014, 12:44am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

The Enterprise used personal logs and holodeck programs to help design the new widget. Two problems:

1. “Erase all programs filed under ‘Reginald Barclay’.… Except program nine.”
2. “Riker to bridge: If you need me, I’ll be in holodeck four.”

And this supposes that Professor Moriarty is still locked away in Reg’s little yellow cube. I just watched it (and actually enjoyed it quite a bit, although it’s hardly a classic — I’d say 2.5, maybe 3), and when Picard and Data were talking about the thingamajig in the ready room, I could only think that maybe they made a mistake. (Personal logs, too. Think of Worf saying as if reciting a weather report, “The conditions were difficult. Many contestants were maimed.” Yikes!)

Good luck, universe. Enterprise Junior is on the loose!
Next »Page 1 of 913
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer