Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 26,972 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1079
IIII - Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 1:50am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

Troi's counseling only worked when the scripted called for it. I say that because it didn't work in this episode at all, again, she's useless. Why didn't Troi say anything about how it would be wrong and damaging to removing a teenager from what he has know as home so quickly??? Doesn't Starfleet have to respect other culture's views and beliefs that's different from there own???? Or does this only apply when the script calls for it as well????? One thing's for sure, the fans haven't learned from that...

It's only Jono and Picard at the end that come to that conclusion, everyone else, like "counselor" Troi, are clueless to this... and besides, it's not up to Picard or Admiral Grandma to make that choice, it's Jono's choice, he's at that age to make it for himself.

And about the so-called abuse... half of you people are just making shit up, coming up with your own conclusions, your own head-canon, the episode was not written to for people to come up with there own biased answers... get your heads out of your asses!
IIII - Wed, Oct 7, 2015, 1:20am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Troi has always been a "know-it-all-character" and as I said on The Price episode, she's a hypocrite. The Loss episode shows us that without her know-it-all powers, she's useless and insufferable.
Grumpy - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 11:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

So the Trill perfected mental possession. Call me crass, but their ancient ritual surely has some practical applications -- even tactical applications. A joined Trill is a whole squad in a nesting doll, able to override the conscious minds of others. Coulda come in handy during the war, eh?

But since it was only a gimmick for this episode, the ramifications went unexplored, just like every other aspect of Trill culture. Who are the Trill, apart from the symbionts? The vast majority of Trill are unjoined, we're told (unfortunately), but for all we learn about them, they're nothing but spotted humans.

Except for this Guardian guy, who can transfer minds more easily than a mountaintop full of Vulcan Masters.
Darnell - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 7:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

For being purpose-bred and single-minded, spending every waking hour training or fighting, the Jem Hadar sure make shitty warriors. No wonder none of them makes it to 30. Though you gotta wonder how many die in an act of discipline.
Lister - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 5:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Voyager appeared to turn into the "hurumph!" scene from Blazing Saddles when Paris accepted the fight.

And the usual utter incompetence from Janeway. "Phaser fire in transporter room one". Janeway stares into space for a bit, calls Chuckles (?), nods at Tuvock, then stares some more. How about, ooh I don't know, isolating the transporters?

I did laugh at the Nelix scene though, with his post coital flush.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 3:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Worf finds a colony of pacifistic Klingons and awakens their warrior heritage. Basically, that's it. The Data plot line from part 1 goes out the window, and what we're left with is a fairly dull and pedestrian talking head show.

It also, for something that probably didn't merit being a two-parter, ironically seems to move astonishingly quickly. Worf's romance appears out of the blue, and the Klingon's set aside 20 years of history on the basis of an animal carcass and a sing-song. It just doesn't seem plausible. 1.5 stars.
Diamond Dave - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 1:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Has there been a less compelling two parter intro than this? It takes a long time to get where it's going and the two main themes are simply not carried over in an interesting way. Data's visions are a bit too spacey, and Worf's story has some interesting elements (his desire to find his father, even if that results in dishonour for him and his heirs), it's not truly explored.

I can't also help think that the ball was dropped in regard to the DS9 crossover. A few more cameos, apart from Bashir? Let's face it, this episode could have been set anywhere. Ah well, at least we get to see Morn.... 2 stars.
Yanks - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 11:40am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers


I'm not sure I'm familiar enough with the Kazon anatomy to say that's a plot hole...

They have trees for hair.... I guess anything could be fair game :-)

Hell, species 8472 don't fall apart in space, and our space is totally foreign to them.
Yanks - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 11:36am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II


LOL!!!!! nice!
Yanks - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 11:24am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

"4. Fake dilemma. Everybody agrees that if you fight Klingons/Romulans, if you want to survive, you have to shoot at decloaking ships. If some civilians transport were to decloak in the heat of battle, that's just bad luck for them.
And O'Brien disagrees? O'Brien???"

Love your post DJD and I felt many of the same frustrations, but Obrien is correct here. It doesn't matter, you MUST identify your target before you shoot. It's just the way it is.

All the crap in this episode, they got this right.

As I quoted above, Sisko's quote was spot on... even if his acting wasn't.
Yanks - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 11:16am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Dave in NC,

Not in solitary they don't.


Does anyone know or had any thoughts on this?

"#3. Was Ee'Char, played wonderfully by Craig Wasson, put in there by the Argrathi to help O'Brien get through the punishment? ... or was he too being punished and this mind gizmo linked the two together?"

Havok - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 8:27am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

@Ben Franklin: " why is everyone going ape-s**t over Craig Wasson? Sure his performance was good, but what's with all the genuflecting?"

Hyperbole much?

I counted: of the 40 comments before you, 5 mentioned Craig Wesson. Of those, only 1 was wholly dedicated to praising his performance. 3 praised his performance with a SINGLE adjective and 1 was dismissive of his performance.

So, the only person going "ape-shit" is you.
Jonathan - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 8:23am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

The storytelling, acting, pacing, and especially, the music here are absolutely incredible. This is the apex of science fiction television.

For those quibbling about time travel or Guinan's so-called "mysticism", well, respectfully, it's science fiction! Of course there are some logical flaws. Mysticism and the supernatural are inherent to the genre. This is a story with heart. One of the best ever for the series.

"Geordi, tell me about...Tasha Yar."
Wester - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 5:04am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Count me in as one of the haters.

Mirror Universe episodes - just like Holodeck episodes and Dream Sequence episodes and Travel To The 20th century episodes - are basically an admittance that the writers don't want to deal with the limitations set up by the actual established universe and just wanna have some fun. It's a cop out.

If I wanted a cartoonish Sci-Fi show, I'd watch one.
If I wanted to see everybody out of make-up working at a newspaper, I'd watch a show like this.

I'm watching DS9 precisely for everything they chose to cast aside and trample on here.
Elliott - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 1:49am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Jack: um what? Janeway specifically called him lieutenant as a clue in the teaser.
IIII - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 1:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

The episode is so, so. But Troi was a hypocrite, she uses her abilities to give the crew an edge and Ral flat out called her on it. Her only excuse is that Troi believes she's on the side of the good guys. When Troi lost her ability for a short time in one episode, she was useless and she knew it...
Dba - Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 1:24am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

I like turtles.
petulant - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 11:02pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

The Doctor's getting increasingly annoying this season and i'm already tired of Seven saving the day.
Deborah - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 8:43pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

3 stars. I like being reminded that not every evolved species is bi-pedal or air-breathing. I liked Voyager playing the two conspiring parties off against each other. I enjoyed the pyrotechnics of the Hazari pounding the think tank at the end. I liked the combination of civility and understated arrogance in Jason Alexander's performance.
Sketchee - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 8:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

I agree it would have been nice to have seen Guinan in the series one last time. As Jammer pointed out, they already had her planned for Generations. The movie has so much to do with her character's history. I think it would have been great product placement to set that up in some sly way
Jack - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 7:56pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

The silverblood-Paris got demoted to ensign too it seems. What a coincidence...maybe there was an ocean planet of silver blood floating somewhere...
DJD - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 6:46pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

I agree with the general consensus of the comments: stupid episode. EVERYTHING is contrived.

1. The premise. The Klingons know that Worf is commanding the defiant. They engage in an elaborate hit and cloak game that goes on for minutes - that despite the Defiant having proven itself to be just about the deadliest ship outside of the Borg or Species 8472 - just to set up a pattern and finally draw Worf to fire on a decloaking fake ship. Oh p-uh-lease. Bond villains have less elaborate plans.

2. The trial. The Federation and the Klingons are at war. Nothing else. The Defiant escorted a couple of Cardassian ships. It was then attacked without warning. That is an ACT OF WAR. Nobody on the Federation's side would have agreed to a trial after that.

3. The Klingon argument. The Klingon lawyer makes the case that Worf must be handed over because only Klingons could judge an act of bloodlusty killing. What?! The Vulcan should have shot him down on the spot! It's like Nog cheating on a stock deal and Liquidator Brunt arguing only the Ferengi could judge him for that.

4. Fake dilemma. Everybody agrees that if you fight Klingons/Romulans, if you want to survive, you have to shoot at decloaking ships. If some civilians transport were to decloak in the heat of battle, that's just bad luck for them.
And O'Brien disagrees? O'Brien???

5. Worf predictably going nuts. Like calling George McFly "chicken".

6. Odo's timing. So he checked up all the passengers' backgrounds and couldn't find anything halfway through the episode. Five minutes before the end he found they all had "survived" a crash 3 months ago. What the hell was the good Constable checking beforehand?!?!

7. Brooks' acting. My god, he is seriously the worst actor in all of Trek when he has to act emotional/excited/angry. It's immersion shattering.
Diamond Dave - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 4:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

This does a wonderful job of taking an aside from way back and building a story around it. The interaction between Picard and Q is a highlight. But overall, I find it less convincing than many. In fact, I find the most intriguing element of the story the possibility that it was a dream and not something concocted by Q at all.

And if it was Q all along, and it was real, what does the story actually mean? That Picard's regrets of his youth were unfounded? That there's no going back? Be careful what you wish for? What was Q hoping to achieve out of all this?

I can see why people like it as a "what if" type episode, showing a Picard that is out of step with the character as we know him today. But at some visceral level it just feels wrong to me. 2.5 stars.
Peter - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 4:12pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Weak, Strong?
Men are from Mars etc
It seems this episode is pulling out some of the commonly held views in the eternal battle of the sexes.
The comments are very interesting and much thought has bee given to them but the genesis of such an intriguing discussion is ,sadly, a really mediocre episode.
Robert - Mon, Oct 5, 2015, 4:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

Lower Decks and Parallels also deserve high marks and those 5 should be enough to counterattack the clunkers.
Next »Page 1 of 1079
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer