Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45,842 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,834
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Disappointing episode -- a ball dropped after a pretty intriguing opening. Jammer's review pretty much nails it.

The giant ship catching up and swallowing Enterprise and then shutting down all its power systems -- some great visual sci-fi here especially considering the massive ship is run by non-corporeal aliens. When Trip gets possessed and starts speaking in a different tone, I thought about "Return to Tomorrow" and I wondered if Archer would open his mind and try to help the aliens etc.

But of course, the episode quickly degenerates into a hostile takeover theme and the execution and writing is pretty weak. So the various non-corporeal aliens like to experience different things...and the one that possesses Reed is a sexual predator. Enterprise likes to throw in some cheap sexual crap like this from time to time -- it's totally unnecessary.

The episode should have spent more time on the aliens origin, purpose etc. Instead it becomes a mechanical exercise in flooding the ship with gas while a possessed Trip grapples with Phlox. This is ENT for you -- the key moment in so many episodes are physical battles it seems. The writers had to do better.

Disappointed to see the giant ship destroyed in the end. Makes me wonder why Enterprise didn't fire upon it in the first place if it new it was going to be swallowed up -- Archer & co. would have no idea what could be in store for them if they were to be swallowed up.

Barely 2 stars for "The Crossover" with the majority of the rating earned for the opening 10-15 mins. Usually body possession by superior non-corporeal beings comes with some philosophical lessons learned, but not in this case. Some fairly arbitrary things (like the Catwalk blocking the aliens, the gas to rid the bodies of the aliens) are thrown in, which give the episode its own twist on a very common theme -- however, that twist kind of sucked.
Set Bookmark
Ed
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

On the objection to Seven being the "first Borg to regain her individuality" I'd argue that in a sense it's true if we qualify it by excluding:

1. People who were only in the Collective for a short time.

2. People who were later re-assimilated either into the mainstream Borg Collective or some substitute hive mind.

3. Children who were in the Collective, but rescued while still very young.

Seven is either the only or first to live as a Borg for nearly 20 years but eventually learn to function as a relatively normal person by the standards of her species (though highly traumatized and with special medical needs).
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

Season 2 of Enterprise does plenty of "gun" fights, prison escapes, encounters with criminals and "Canamar" isn't bad for its action scenes, fights -- reasonable stuff between Archer and Kuroda, the main antagonist. Nothing profound here, however. Archer wants to help Kuroda and almost pays a severe price in the ending fight scene, when he could have just escaped and said "to hell with Kuroda."

Maybe the point of the episode is Archer, trying to save his bacon, gets too entangled in Kuroda's plan but draws the line when the criminal wants to crash the prison transport killing all the remaining passengers. Then Archer is forced to think fast. But this is mostly a by-the-numbers episode, which isn't a bad hour of somewhat shallow entertainment.

Was fun to see a Nausicaan again - they are the all-around generic tough guys of the Trek universe -- no purpose other than just bullying others. And then you have the talkative alien (nice prosthetics) who gets under Trip's skin.

In the very short teaser, it begins with Hoshi trying to hail Archer in Shuttlepod 1 - she tries repeatedly and then T'Pol asks Reed if there any life signs aboard to which he confirms there aren't. Shouldn't the crew first check if there are life signs aboard before they begin hailing? Just a minor nitpick that would bug me if I didn't mention it.

Barely 2.5 stars for "Canamar" -- you get the feeling the season lacks direction overall and is relying on action scenes, interesting direction to come up with episodes, creating tried-and-true situations with some new irrelevant races. But ultimately, the writing is weak and that affects the character development. I don't think anybody will remember or care for this episode shortly after watching it. But on its own, without consideration for the big picture, it isn't bad.
Set Bookmark
John Witte
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I felt that this episode was a rather middling affair. When I saw Robert Picardo as her dad I immediately thought that the show was going to turn into a character arc where she goes back home and learns alot about herself. Instead, it turned into a holographic haunted house where she is trying to overcome her demons. It was such a waste to get Picardo and only use him for one scene.

To me, it felt like a rehash of other creepy Star Trek shows. I suppose that it makes a certain amount of sense because Brannon Braga directed it. I agree with some posts that the end made me think of Ripley in Aliens. But that pretty much drives my central point. There's nothing really new here.

2 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@Peter G., that's a good point. I don't want to do a lot of BSG comparisons for Voyager, because I don't think they're useful, but while reactions to it are mixed, I'm reminded of the third season BSG episode Dirty Hands, where Tyrol believes that there are unfair expectations for the "lower classes," and there is no clear path forward for how to change their situation because of the precarious nature of the fleet. What do you do when you want a change of job or responsibilities, or want to refuse duties that are unsafe or (as in the case of Nothing Human) morally objectionable, when you're in an isolated space ship? There are obvious reasons why "resigning" is less of an option; Voyager presumably needs all or most hands, and even if it doesn't, what options are there? Let the guy continue living on Voyager but not contributing? Drop him off at the next Class-M planet with some replicated seeds and a tricorder? Throw him in the brig until he agrees to whatever Janeway says? And of course, resignation really *is* the only viable option for someone who seriously morally objects to a superior's actions; they can refuse to carry out orders, and maybe get thrown in the brig for it, but if the captain does something he considers to be awful and he is not directly involved, that's the only real form of protest that he has. Chakotay refuses the crewman's resignation, but the scene ends on a kind of uncertain note and then it's entirely dropped even within the episode. And of course as you say it is another way of examining the Maquis issues again. These issues should come up with the *Starfleet* crew even, but the Maquis obviously didn't sign up for joining Starfleet, and they are only on Voyager because Chakotay sacrificed their ship.

I should add that the B'Elanna side of things, which I already said was too thinly dealt with, bothers me more the more I think about it. I don't really think the episode seriously addressed the scale of what was going on, for B'Elanna, the Doctor or Janeway. Was B'Elanna seriously willing to die to refuse treatment -- and if so, does that mean that she considers the fact that she's still alive, after all, a fate "worse than death"? The Doctor and Janeway explicitly ignored B'Elanna's direct wishes. One of the commenters above pointed out that it's not just B'Elanna but also that alien's life which was at stake, and since they couldn't communicate with the alien it makes sense to assume that it would prefer to live rather than to die as a result of how these mysterious aliens got their medical knowledge, and so that *might* trump B'Elanna's wishes (though maybe not, since the alien attached itself to B'Elanna in the first place), but it's not really the issue presented.

And here, I think, actually addressing the history of this season would have helped. Tom wants B'Elanna to live, so he starts indicating that B'Elanna is obviously not mentally fit to make the decision to refuse treatment. This would be the perfect place to have Tom bring up B'Elanna's months-long depressive phase, which may or may not actually be over. We could imagine Tom and Chakotay, for example, getting into a much bigger argument about how much to value B'Elanna's life over her express wishes when they are both talking out of love. Tom could argue that B'Elanna is completely blinded by not just mental health issues, but also continued irrational guilt over the death of the Maquis at the hands of the Cardassians' new allies, and that she is unable to think straight, and this is a delusion that Chakotay seems to want to encourage; Chakotay could shoot back that Tom loves B'Elanna but he does not respect her if he cannot understand why she wants to stick to her principles, maybe because Tom has none of his own. And it could raise the question of whether B'Elanna really is reacting from ethics or from hatred/fear/guilt/depression. It writes itself, basically, and seems a natural extension of the perspectives that they were already showing, but grounds it in long-term issues.

I think the best comparison for this episode is TNG's Ethics, another s5 Klingon crew member injured/medical ethics show. I remember when I first saw Ethics, I didn't think much of it; it just seemed confused and all over the place, and it bothered me that Beverly and Worf didn't seem to be talking to each other. Now I really like it, even though I have some of the same problems. Ethics as an episode takes a lot on, and sometimes it gets confusing -- if Worf is at risk of ritual suicide, Beverly really has to allow Russell's risky procedure; if there is a risky procedure, Worf should take it rather than risking suicide, and the episode isn't really explicit enough, IMO, on why they remain at the impasse as long as they are. But it still mostly makes sense, because I think the idea is that Beverly and Worf's principles really do dictate that no ethically dubious medical practices should be tolerated (Beverly) and that a spinal injury really should represent the end of a warrior's life, rather than using medical science to cheat fate (Worf), and both have to relent because of the reality of the culture clash. The episode works for me where Nothing Human doesn't, despite being a little overloaded, because it does have a number of fleshed-out perspectives (Worf, Beverly, Riker, Picard, Deanna, Alexander, Russell) and largely it all follows organically from the one inciting event of Worf's injury. Most of all, though, when Worf seems to be seriously considering dying rather than seeking any medical solutions, the episode takes it seriously -- of what that would mean for Worf's own perspective. While Tom cares very much and freaks out, I don't feel like this episode really emphasizes the severity of B'Elanna's decision, nor really has B'Elanna seem to contemplate dying. I'm not saying that her principles are wrong, or that her objection is wrong! But I don't really get the sense from her that she is worried about dying, and I can't tell if that's supposed to be denial or depression or steadfast moral courage, and all would be consistent with her character.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

@Ruth, you're right. I misunderstood whose "bait" Neelix was meant to have taken.

I'm still skeptical about many other elements of this episode, but looking again, it seems as if the primary (and perhaps only) reason for playing the Paris-as-malcontent plan was to get him onto the Kazon ship. Janeway and Tuvok don't state that they had any intention of smoking out the spy by having him frame Paris, and so it seems that it's a totally lucky coincidence that Neelix did get him to tip his hand. I think my problem was that in this scene, it seemed to me that Janeway largely acted as if it was her and Tuvok's brilliant plan that led to the spy inadvertently exposing himself in some small way. I thought that in this line, Janeway was making one "continuous" statement:

JANEWAY: Commander, the simple fact is, we needed a good performance. I'm afraid we used you to help Tom provide it. And you did a damn good job. Now it seems Mister Neelix's investigation has made someone nervous. Nervous enough to put a trail in the computer system for him to follow.

I.e., I read it as, "Chakotay, you gave a good performance. Now, CONSEQUENTLY, it seems Mister Neelix's investigation...," as if Neelix's investigation was caused by the whole Paris plan. But instead it was just a topic shift.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

@Gretchen

"At least 'Genesis' was watchable"

"Genesis" allowed is not -- is episode forbidden!
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Like most unanswered questions on TNG, the followup to this story can be found in Star Trek Online. They go into pretty good detail about the Solanegen based lifeforms, and who they work for.
Set Bookmark
deelab
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

This one gets three stars if only for the depiction of Wesley as Blueboy
Set Bookmark
Ed
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Simon

Good point about the warp signature possibility. I've always been curious about how much a cloaked ship can obscure non-visual evidence that it's there. It is after all still a physical entity interacting with its environment. There is probably a constant competition to make better cloaks and better scanning equipment. Cloaking seems more useful in any event for surprise attacks as opposed to hanging around being perfectly invisible.

@CPUFP

There are definitely both good and bad ways they could handle the revelation that Tyler is Voq. I would like genuine inner conflict on his part when he finds out and the possibility of different decisions ranging from loyalty to one side or the other to hating both sides or even going insane.

@Nic

I think Discovery had determined Kol's position before he realized it and was in the process of firing on him before he had the chance to raise his shields. It's like someone who pulls and aims his gun a fraction of a second too late in a Western or Hong Kong action film (or real life for that matter).

And they were hit with several photon torpedoes which are supposed to be extremely destructive, though they haven't been handled consistently (like much Star Trek technology). But I think the idea is supposed to be like a small nuclear weapon while the big phasers on a ship are more like conventional artillery.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 7:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

A good, not great, episode. I agree that it had a sense of conviction and cohesiveness that previous episodes lacked. But it doesn't make up for all the shoddy storytelling that came before. And it has its own share of problems.

- I think the advantage of the cloaking device is overstated. They can't fire weapons or raise shields while cloaked, so even if Starfleet finds a way to get through the cloak, the Klingons can just de-cloak and raise shields. Which is what Kol should have done the moment Discovery started firing its weapons. Idiot.

- The sensors they place on the Sarcophagus ship are ridiculously loud, clunky and bright. How is it that no one found one and destroyed it before they finished relaying their data?

- I'm no expert, but I don't think that's how PTSD usually works.

- There should be a drinking game where you take a drink every time Lorca disobeys orders and then receives praise from the Admirals. Granted, this happened on DS9 (most notably in "The Die is Cast" and "For the Uniform"), but it bothered me then and it is much more pervasive here. I have no problem with characters doing illegal or immoral things, but there has to be CONSEQUENCES.

Still, still... This was the first time I actually cared about these characters, and the ending was the first time I felt genuiune interest in what would happen next.
Set Bookmark
CPUFP
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Ed

If he keeps Tyler as his main identity, but is drawn into an identity crisis by learning that he once was Voq, I'd also say there could be potential for interesting stories. What I'd hate though is if he was reprogrammed into Voq, and all the character building and the emotional investment the audience has put into the character would just be thrown away. As of now, I don't really know what to expect from the writers.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Oh and pressmans threat of “I made you mister I can break you” was AWFUL
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

2.5 stars

I think this is overrated

The best things about this episode personally was the action and jeopardy but the rest I was pretty much lukewarm to

A phasing cloak as big mystery reveal?!? Meh. I didn’t know originally that this was meant to answer why the Federation had not developed a cloak. Frankly not something in my opinion needed an answer to.

Pressman was absolute asshole. I couldn’t stand him any time he appeared onscreen. Little did I know that Pressman would not be the last time Moore would inflict insufferable characters upon us

Also I’ve never been crazy about the whole honor and duty schtick. Frankly it is trite.

I also don’t like seeing the crew not getting along

But like I said the episode did a good job with the action side of things Like the cat n mouse in asteroid field
The episode generated Tension with regards to whether the Enterprise can flood the asteroid before Romulans arrive and that was a clever manuever to throw the Romulans off and then another smart move was to continue to pretend scanning asteroid field to not alert the Romulans

It was neat seeing enterprise with search lights on inside asteroid and felt tension waiting for Ent running into the asteroid cause such an irregular passageway. Then when the Romulans notice enterprise gone sealing them in and could easily destroy them trapped inside



Tension on whether phasing cloak will hold and not give out before safely through the asteroid


Set Bookmark
Trent
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 9:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

There's a good idea in here (the bluring of good, evil, and the ways in which progress oft depends upon covert and overt violence), and a cool rock monster, but the action sequences are a bit too silly and devoid of tension.

Imagine if this episode unfolded like Darmok instead; Lincoln, Kirk, Surak and Kahless on a planet, around a fireplace, simply talking and vying with one another via ideologically-loaded dialogue.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Nothing special here, fairly standard trials of a new person facing some challenges, overcoming them (as expected) and not leaving. Ezri Dax is good for this role -- as a small woman dealing almost exclusively with large, dominant males, she can evoke the feeling of sympathy from the viewer. Surprised Kira didn't play a bigger role in acclimatizing her.

The real issue I have is Sisko promoting her to lieutenant from ensign as a counselor without testing her. She has huge issues of her own trying to manage the symbionts. She has no business trying to counsel somebody like Garak, a very complex person, who was in pretty bad shape.

Worf is an ass in this episode, but some of that can be attributed to mourning for Jadzia. Although being around humans for so long, he might try and consider how they (especially Bashir) might feel. Him coming around in the end toward Ezri was entirely predictable.

Garak's situation is crafted perfectly for Ezri to stumble her way through to a solution -- but it was weird seeing him dress her down so badly. We know what he can do (from "In the Pale Moonlight") but he's never been one to rip someone apart verbally. I'll chalk it up to his claustrophobia/guilty conscience and justifiable frustration with Ezri.

I was never a fan of Jadzia Dax. At least she had some technical skills and had earned the respect of everybody else. I wonder if there may be something about the treatment a smaller person (Ezri) gets vs. a taller one (Jadzia) at play here. A taller person gets respect more easily.

2 stars for "Afterimage" -- nothing horribly wrong but nothing great either, this type of episode is well-worn territory not just for Trek. Nevertheless, it's a needed episode to set up Ezri Dax, although I have my doubts about what she brings aside from all the symbionts.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I love this episode. Tuvok is one of my favourite characters and I like the child actors in this ep, especially Tressa.

I just watched it again and I’ve seen it before. WIth twist endings like this, sometimes it’s fake and they spring it on you out of nowhere. But not in this. Right from the beginning, the “children” are clearly describing what the woman at the end describes, and it’s only because we (reasonably) assume they are children from their appearance that we don’t realise they’re old. The first things they say is that their parents are all dead - but they don’t seem particularly upset about that as they would have hoped to outlive them - and that the attendants are dead, but that the attendants are not their parents. There’s more but that stood out to me as it’s the first things they tell Tuvok about their situation.

I agree with everyone who thinks it’s ridiculous that the woman didn’t tell Voyager about their aging, particularly when she was talking to Tuvok and he asserted that he was protecting Tressa. If she could say at the end that we age the other way around, she had to have known it when she was speaking with Tuvok. It’s silly. And she apparently takes a long time to realise Tuvok was trying to help the “children” and doing very good job of it. They had failed! The shuttle crashed and two “children” died alone, presumably terrified. The two who die when Tuvok is working presumably went to their deaths happy and content, and we know Tressa did. But why did it take so long to send more attendants? Janeway wasn’t checking in on Tuvok’s shuttle that often but she had no reason to, they weren’t on an important mission with vulnerable people.

I really like seeing Tuvok as a father here. He obviously deeply misses his children though of course he denies it. His lullaby was nice too
Set Bookmark
Trent
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Did this show need to revolve around another ship called Enterprise?

In TOS, you got the feeling that Constitution-class starships were fairly common, and that Kirk's crew were tasked with doing routine jobs (checking in on prison colonies, exploring space, protecting planets, engaging in first contact etc etc).

You also got the feeling that Kirk was exceptional at this job, that he achieved things no other captain did, and that his exploits, Earth-saving adventures and battles with Klingons and Romulans slowly made famous the name Enterprise. Heck, the Constitution class was already old when Kirk got one. You get the feeling that, rather than a priviledge bestwoed upon him, Enterprise was something Kirk, a hotshot rookie, nursed and made special and his own. Enterprise and Kirk made their names together.

But by giving Archer an Enterprise, you make that ship and its name already a totem of prestiege. Suddenly Kirk's Enterprise is already famous, rather than something he pushed into the history books.


Set Bookmark
Trent
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

I found this to be an excellent episode, and agree with Trekfan's wonderful comments above. I would add one point: TOS' abstract, expressionistic and broader style allowed it to briskly convey more than later, more "realistic" Trek. Here, in less than an hour, we have an entire revolution against a totalitarian society portrayed (complete with underground resistance cells and interesting layers of propaganda and control)!
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

There was enough about the various subplots that I didn't like that made me indifferent about the episode for long stretches. But this episode does go to the very basics of DS9 -- Sisko and the Prophets and ultimately the wormhole -- which gets the series back on the usual track but how it happens is too farfetched for me.

As for the Prophets, so they're another one of these Trek creations -- superbeings like Q, the Organians -- who have unlimited/undefined powers. You can't evaluate them and whatever the writers want to do with them goes. So there's pros and cons to them. DS9 toes the line between sci-fi and fantasy -- it's just that the fantasy (or faith) can flick a switch and make things whatever way they want.

As for the episode -- it's "Image in the Sand" with the same 3 plots being followed along, but I slightly prefer the parts from that episode more than this one.

What didn't work for me on the Worf/Martok mission was having Quark there. He was just annoying. He should have never been allowed on Martok's ship. And how does Bashir know how to operate a console on a Klingon ship?

The ending picked things up a good bit but it's still a bit of a stretch in suspension of disbelief. That the Orb of the Emissary re-creates the wormhole, that Martok's ship (in the nick of time) manages to unleash some kind of solar flare to destroy the Dominion's ship building yard (and 3 Jem'Hadar ships) and Kira's bluff wins out -- the last one is the only tolerable and believable end result.

The whole part of Sisko's journey is a bit too much "Raiders of the Lost Ark" for me. The whole reason of Sarah's marrying Ben Sisko's father and all that stuff revealed -- we're now clearly out of the realm of sci-fi and firmly into the realm of fantasy. But that's a Prophets-based subplot for you.

With the flashback to "Far Beyond the Stars" and Sisko in the looney bin with "Damar" as the psychologist -- that was intriguing and when it happened, I was like WTF? But the Prophet appearing as Sarah and explaining it, it makes sense but in an episode trying to juggle so much, it made it even more disjointed.

And then there's Ezri Dax -- she joins up with the Sisko quest but for introducing a new character to Season 7, she does make a different kind of impression. Very talkative, very junior -- no idea what she'll contribute in future episodes but I'm ambivalent now. Giving her the benefit of the doubt.

I think the best part was the Weyoun/Damar dynamic taking a turn south. There's something building here and it's intriguing. Damar's seems to have other things on his mind -- his drinking and womanizing is a facade for bigger issues.

"Shadows and Symbols" only gets 2 stars -- have to compare it to the prior episode and felt that this one wasn't quite as good, despite resolving the 3 subplots. The quest through the desert dragged -- and where were the unfriendly Bajorans along the way? Kira's standoff with the Romulans -- it was foolhardy on Kira's part but the wormhole and the prophets reappearing helped her resolve and the Romulans didn't call her bluff. All pretty fantastical resolutions but not elite Trek.

Set Bookmark
Simon
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Ed

"Most likely, this cloaking device isn't as advanced as the ones we see 100 years later. Discovery can pick up signs that there is a cloaked ship in the general area, but the information is useless for targeting it."

Yes, that seems like a reasonable explanation. I've thought of another one too: a cloaked ship moving at warp is (to a degree) detectable through its warp signature.
Set Bookmark
Spannerman
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Jesus man, take your boots off before you get into bed!
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

A lot of separate storylines going on here -- these in-between or follow-up episodes after an epic like "Tears of the Prophets" can be a bit scattered. But it does set the stage for a great season and I liked the fact that it didn't go for all-out wild action to kick off the season.

The Worf mourning for Jadzia seemed more like just Klingon moodiness, rage -- ho hum. But it gives Worf purpose when he signs on with Martok -- that's a good development for future episodes. But this was probably the weakest part of the episode. O'Brien and Bashir pitching in to get Jadzia to Stovokor is a bit hard to believe. So what about their DS9 duties and no checking with Kira on this?

Kira and the new Romulan head on DS9 was more intriguing because of the Romulans' seemingly constant subterfuge and Kira's suspicion. Good to have Romulans getting involved on the station -- again more promise for future episodes. Finally at the end Kira confronts the Romulan which was well done (I would not want her mad at me). It was as if Kira had to hold this back for a whole episode. "Romulans, they're so predictably treacherous." -- Weyoun's great line to Damar.

As for Sisko back on Earth and the revelation about his real mom leading to the Orb of the Emissary revelation, the knife attack etc. -- this was another change of pace altogether. Sisko did his huffing and puffing acting when he confronted his dad over not telling him, but the elder Sisko's acting explaining the whole thing was good. Ben Sisko had some contemplative moments too, which conveyed his predicament. As for a new, younger, smaller Dax showing up -- of course somebody had to fill in for Farrell, but I wasn't thrilled about seeing the little Dax pop up at this point. But ultimately, I guess another small story arc will be Sisko's quest for the orb -- perhaps Indiana Jones style.

2.5 stars for "Image in the Sand" -- hard to get too excited about this episode, it's more about what has come before and what comes after. Definitely a ton of stuff going on all independently. That is lot of juggling that this episode has to do -- it does a reasonable job.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

William B, you really misunderstood that scene where Janeway said Neelix took the bait. He took Jonas' bait. Tuvok and Janeway knew all about the dodgy log entries. However they'd hit a dead end because they were too well covered up. When Paris left, Jonas used that as an opportunity to frame Paris and take the heat off him (bear in mind he already had his final instructions from Seska, so he's expecting either to be serving under her and Culluh soon or for Voyager to defeat them and to be not found out as a wannabe traitor).

When Jonas knew Neelix was investigating - and remember he does know because he literally was there - he had to act. It was the kind of pressure Tuvok and Janeway were trying but failing to apply to the traitor. It caused him to make a move, which is something they wanted because it's more evidence, more chance to slip up. So, he goes and adds the fake signature to the doctored entries, because he doesn't know Tuvok and Janeway have already seen them, because they've been keeping very quiet until now (that's why Tuvok tries so hard to dissuade Neelix from doing any of this, because he thought it might scare the traitor back into hiding instead of scaring them into making a move). When Neelix announces Paris' guilt on his show, he's taking the traitor's bait, letting them get cosy again. That's what they were talking about. That's why she asks him to investigate again.

Apparently being fine with sacrificing the Talaxians is another matter, definitely. I can only imagine that it's because they could have held them off for a moment and called for Voyager's help as they weren't too far apart yet. Even so, that's pretty irresponsible of Janeway to endanger them like that when they thought they were doing her a favour! Endangering Paris, who is part of her crew and a volunteer for this mission, is one thing, but that's another entirely.

And I couldn't stand when Tuvok's idea of an open comm link is... not having an open comm link. "Omg are you doing sabotage???" and I don't know, Tuvok's on the bog? Even if he was, should he not have mobilised a team at that point and not later? It's annoying when they make characters less intelligent/powerful to serve the plot. Even if he sent the team but they didn't get to the doors before Jonas sealed them, it's the same outcome but less aggravatingly done! I can handle Jonas having weird powers over the ship (as he hasn't been previously shown not to, and he's not really important) but I can't handle Tuvok not keeping his eye on the situation when he literally promised he would. Tuvok isn't supposed to be an idiot or a liar. Anything! Like a scene on the bridge, Tuvok's lost his comm link to Neelix - which would suggest the traitor in action but still not precisely who it is. Whatever! I would still have thought it was stupid even if they hadn't written him to say he was listening, but as they did, it's unforgivable.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@ William B,

All of what you said is on-point, and I'd like to add one more thing too, which may sound like beating on a dead horse. The whole issue of using questionable knowledge, as you put it, may have been a centerpiece of the episode rather than a side point, but going along with that, the objection of the Bajoran could have become the primary issue once Janeway decided in favor of using the questionable knowledge. Can you imagine, five years into the Voyage, if a Bajoran former-Maquis felt so strongly about this that he tried to resign, and Janeway did threaten to put him in the Brig over it? That could create a resurgence of the Maquis-vs-Federation issue without it just being an excavation of old issues. It would create a new issue, which is - what happens if a Maquis no longer wants to participate with the Starfleet officers? Is he/she still under Janeway's protection, or is her cooperation with them conditional on their doing exactly what she says all the time? It could have made for a great Chakotay-Janeway scene to have her about to come down on a 'rebel' and have Chakotay threaten to band all of the ex-Maquis with that person and go on strike or something. Using a weekly plot point to go after a core issue on the ship is what this series should have been about, but instead it was the opposite; usually relationship issues on the ship were only used to serve the weekly episode and then forgotten.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,834
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.