Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,153 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 807
Elliott - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:52am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

If not for Time's Arrow messing it up, we could have included Guinan in with Picard's love interests. While I understand why the subject may be an uncomfortable one, in this case, there seems to be something deliberate going on. I cite again "Badda-Bing" wherein Sisko makes a comment to Kassidy about "our people." Sisko's family seems to have settled in New Orleans. Of course, they could have settled there as late as his father's generation, but, assuming they've been there since our time, it is likely that Sisko's ancestry can be traced to the French slave trade. Is that Kassidy's ancestry as well? We hear her speaking English, but I always assumed that Keiko was speaking Japanese, Picard and Geordie French, Worf Russian, Kim Cantonese, Torres Spanish, etc. "Yates" is an old British surname, so it is likely that Kassidy's family can be traced to one of the empire's trades. The point is, the only feature Sisko can be referring to when isolating Kassidy, Jake and himself from the other humans is race. Without going off on too much of a tangent, this idea is another example of the writers failing to extrapolate in futuristic terms. These issues are only relevant to us now in this way. Until that episode, it didn't seem like humans paid race even the slightest attention. In fact, "race" was usually interchangeable with "species" (which makes more sense anyway, as there are actual genetic differences between different species). But now, we have to reevaluate Sisko's choices in light of this attitude, and his and his son's exclusive coupling with humans and aliens whose skin colour was the same as theirs is disturbing. Not to mention, as Robert noted, the only two non-white Bajorans we meet are Jake's love-interests. And there was Fenna, the only member of her species we ever meet, and she is played by a black woman. I can make exactly one exception to this rule--Sisko slept with mirror Dax (but that was mostly to keep her from suspecting his identity).
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:34am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Memory Alpha's picture of Vedek Tonsa confirms you are right! I went through all of them and there is one. I didn't remember him.
Paul M. - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 11:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Robert, as I remember, there were a few black Bajorans: a vedek, maybe some militia members...
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:27am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

That should have read "more wrong". Must not post before coffee.
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:26am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Paul - "For an out-of-universe answer, I'd hope there are enough "minorities" in Hollywood to allow a white guy to have a black girl every now and then. "

Of course there are, it's just less jarring when it doesn't happen (although that doesn't make it less wrong). If 9/10 characters we meet are played by white people, it doesn't feel deliberate that Picard didn't date the 1/10. When Sisko manages to ignore the 9/10 EVERY TIME and always land on that 1/10, it feels deliberate.

Again, doesn't make it less wrong but it IS more jarring!

Although TNG did do a better job than you might think mixing races. Geordi had Aquiel and Leah (one black, one white). Worf's love interests are all played by white people (which means of course that Deanna's love interest was played by a black man). O'Brien married Keiko.

Sure, Picard's 3 or 4 love interests are all white, as are Beverly's. Riker hit on anything with a pulse so there must be something in there that's not white... anyone remember anything right now?
Robert - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 9:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Is the actress who played Mardah white? She's darker than me, but I'm translucent.

I wasn't counting the vampire as a love interest, but I guess you could!

I don't care that Jake dated black Bajorans, I just found it jarring that I don't think there were ANY black Bajorans on the show EVER EXCEPT the ones he dated. Someone please point out if I'm wrong though!!
Josh - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 8:40am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I'm catching this episode now on a quiet post-call morning but I have to say....

After Dejaren's outburst to B'Elanna about how, among other things, he's ashamed to be made in her (organics') image, I can't say I understand why she's willing to stick around on this ship. As she says, he's a lunatic, and even without the dramatic irony of the teaser, I would have gotten myself off that ship without delay. Why she's willing to stick around yet alone snoop around the mysterious lower deck is beyond me.
Paul M. - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 3:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I don't know Elliott, that seems a problematic explanation, and one that relies on strange rationalisations. What happened to 24th century Earth? Did some unmentioned genocide of Africans and Asians happen that we don't know about?

For an out-of-universe answer, I'd hope there are enough "minorities" in Hollywood to allow a white guy to have a black girl every now and then. If we're finding Sisko's choice of dates odd, I posit that it's no less odd than Picard's or Riker's choice of girlfriends. Or Beverly's choice of men, for that matter.

I'm feeling a bit uneasy with this line of thought.
Elliott - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 12:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Katie, you just described barter not capitalism. Capitalism requires, well, capital. Something with assigned value rather than intrinsic value. When you don't sufficiently regulate this faith-based economic system, those with power manipulate the capital standards to benefit themselves. Capitalism is fine, but you have to dam the waters or you're liable to drown
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:50pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Very good acting, particularly by Sackhoff.

This is my first time watching the series. Three possibilities:

1. She is dead. If Starbucks is dead, then her "special destiny" was suicide after a life fighting depression. Not particularly interesting, IMO, but as a study in self-destuction. Which, I suppose, should be part of this universe. Still, sadly, I must agree the fleet is better off without her. The series certainly is better off without the chaotic Starbuck generated Love Z... It would have been much more satifying to see he get her act together along the lines the XO. Don't tell me his life was a bowl of cherries, and he manages to get his act together.

2. She survived. Well, there are no weird aliens in the series, per Olmos demand, so only the Cylons could save her. Which makes little sense.

3. She is one of the Five. Which means, well, whatever that means.

3.5 Stars
Katie - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:46pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

What is so fictional about capitalism? It is people consensually trading with one another. People give up things of what they perceive are lesser values for things they perceive are greater values. Is this really so strong? That is exactly what it is.

As for Corey and Elliot, capitalism isn't what we have right now. It's hardly unregulated and is nothing even close to what capitalism is. There is so much regulation, from both right and the left (even more from the right under Bush) that one could hardly call it capitalism. Every year, the state gets bigger and bigger. There's nothing capitalistic about what we have right now, so if you think capitalism is at fault, you're criticizing the wrong thing. This is not capitalism.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:30pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

It's been awhile since I've seen this episode, but I definitely can say that the actress who plays Libby's performance is so legendarily bad that among my Trekkie friends it's become a running joke. The way she plays her, it almost seems like Libby's a little . . . slow.

I'll have to rewatch it (not sure if that's a good thing or not haha), but they way I remember the episode playing out, Harry had way more chemistry with Tom than with his beard in San Francisco.
Peremensoe - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The other Worfs weren't just swapping places with ours, they (or at least some of them) were sliding through various successive realities as well. With so many possibilities, surely some were having similar troubles. On the other hand, there's no reason to think they'd snap back perfectly to their originals. Something must go wrong with a few of them. Not all the *ships* survived, why should the Worfs fare better?
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

I forgot to mention this in my review earlier, but this was another episode where Troi asks inappropriate questions which seem designed to pull off mental scabs.

If I didn't know better, I'd say that Troi gets off on making others feel pain. It's never seems to be enough for her just to make a point with a logical defense, she really seems to go for the jugular an awful lot.

As we saw with Suder on Voyager, it's definitely possible Betazoids can get addicted to the strong emotions of others. Naybe that's why she freaked out when she lost her powers in "the Loss": she simply couldn't get her fix.
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 10:42pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Adama is no dictator. He shares power with the Pres. Adama has complete military authority; the Pres has civilian authority.

So, the question is whether Adama went overboard by threatening Cally. Maybe. For the reasons many here have made. On the other hand, Chief's mistake was to "unionize" the flight deck crew. That violates the chain of command. Ooops. I am all in favor of unions, and this episode does a good job of showing why. But the military is NOT a civil society. The chain of command can only be bucked when an immoral order is given.





3.5 stars
Shane - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:55pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This episode is profoundly stupid. I found myself constantly shaking my head every time a character said something or some element of the plot was revealed.

Here we have a crew too stupid to conserve energy until the tank is on empty. Just a few weeks earlier we had Tom Paris playing with his Camaro on the holodeck. The crew should've been aware of their dwindling power supply at that time.

Since they found themselves out of gas in the middle of nowhere they move all the crew to one area to conserve energy. That's a good idea, but Tuvok won't let Neelix bring a blanket and small book for comfort? That was irritating. The book and blanket take up no more room than Neelix himself really, and they will serve to improve his morale slightly. Screw you Tuvok.

Janeway intends to crawl along at 1/4 impulse power. Do the writers have any clue how large space is? Speaking in interstellar terms they won't get anywhere at impulse speed in the week before their fuel runs out. (Not that they need the engines running constantly in the first place, but Trek always screws up the physics of space travel).

Why doesn't Starfleet have any robotic probes that can be used to "mine" deuterium? If a shuttle and environmental suits can survive the environment (even briefly) then Starfleet must have robotic probes that are more capable. The Soviets landed probes on Venus in the 70s and were able to acquire photographs and scientific data. Venus is incredibly hostile, surely humanity in the 24th century would be much more advanced. (Another thing that bothered me able Trek in general -- where are the robots?)

Tom and Harry land the shuttle a good distance away from the deuterium. Why would they wander so far from the shuttle in such a hostile place? And why only a crew of two? Why do they leave the shuttle door open? Wouldn't the "hostile" environment damage the interior of the shuttle? I'd hate to see what exposure to Venus' would do to the interior of my car!

Janeway again opts to land Voyager in a dangerous situation that really doesn't warrant it. She has a penchant for doing that.

And finally, looks like the whole crew opted to be duplicated. I wouldn't go through with that. I doubt most of the crew would either.

What did I like? Harry's little bit at the beginning of taking the initiative and voicing his opinion. He really has gained a lot of experience and did deserve promotion. Too bad the writers and producers were assholes and liked to punk Harry on every possible occasion.

This episode is definitely a 1-star or less for me. Not so bad it's good, just so bad as to be maddening.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:48pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Robert

Jake dated a (much older) white-Bajoran Dabo girl, and he was pretty infatuated with the weird (also white) mind vampire in The Muse.

Jake liked all kinds of ladies, just saying.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Apollo loves the wrong woman. Dope.
Matt - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Funnily enough the uniform change led me to believe that the whole episode wasn't "real".
I first noticed the difference after he was shocked and was talking to bashir, which seemed to me a designation of the difference between reality and wherever the event were happening in. Very confusing.
Snooky - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:40pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I'm surprised how many people found the female outfits sexist -- considering the TOS female uniforms in "our" enlightened future were really impractical miniskirts! As a female, I thought it was funny. But I wouldn't have minded some bohunk action in exchange.

The opening sequence was so phenomenal and unexpected, I dragged both my husband and son into the room and made them watch it. The credits, too. And the credits really were a social commentary of their own -- yes, we've invented and explored, but yes, most of the tech has been used for warfare. Even landing on the moon was an outcome of the Cold War (I say this at the 45th anniversary of the walk on the moon.)

The rest was so over the top, there's not a lot there to even discuss. The best part by far were the TOS references, the Tholians, seeing a Tholian, the Tholian web, and the TOS BRIDGE!!! That thrilled my Trekkie heart.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:38pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Yeah, this episode could have been done better in all the ways discussed. According to Wikipedia

"Edward James Olmos submitted this episode for consideration in the category of "Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series" on his behalf for the 2007 Emmy Awards."

Perhaps Olmos's desire to get an Emmy made what could have been better what it was...
Snooky - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:17pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

Wow, talk about spit screaming. I could see the spittle flying out of Archer's mouth. Jammer is right -- Bakula was insane here! I have often been put off by his character yelling and getting angry all out of proportion to what the scene requires or what the other characters are doing. Now I see Archer's volatility as visible evidence of hammy, overblown, really bad acting. Where was the director to tell him to dial it down a notch? Or ten?

I rewatched TOS not long ago, and was struck by how charismatic and confident James T. Kirk is, thanks to Shatner's portrayal. We've all made fun of Kirk's hammy acting over the years, and he had a few bad moments, but Bakula gets the prize by far.
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 8:41pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

As a secular Jew, I found this episode particularly well-crafted, and executed.

We need not know the specifics of why Saggitarions are despised. Our world gives us examples enough: Jews are despised for being stinky Jews; Romani for being thieving Romani; in Japan, barakumin suffer the same. Christian Scientists are despised for not believing in medicine. I am sure you can think of any number of examples.

The writers cleverly exploit our very human prejudice that many -- including myself -- have towards insular religious communities, and how that prejudice allows and even condones persecution.

The episode really shines, IMO, with the expression of this hateful prejudice in the bar scene. Characters who we know as decent people who strive to do the right thing reveal the insidiousness of this kind of bigotry. Tyrol and Dualla's were treated particularly deftly.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 7:25pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Great comments.

Re: Balter taking a bullet: Ain't gonna happen. Balter is about Balter and only Balter. He's an entirely self-centered SOB. And yet, (And I'm guessing here) he will be redeemed somehow. By saving humanity...?

RE: the Love Z. BORING

I don't care about any of them, except Dualla, who is a decent person. I like SciFi, and every moment spent on soap is one less spent on Scifi. But, I guess, enough Fan Boys and Fan Girls need the soap, so there you go.
Matt - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 7:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

What bothered me was that he hid under a table instead of helping evacuate. I was not expecting him to fight, only help everybody else carry the wounded, something he had shown he was capable of earlier. instead he hid under a table while waiting for the Klingons to arrive. While I can't vouch at all for a combat experience, I know that when I am nervous or scared, actively doing something helps relieve those feelings.
Next »Page 1 of 807
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer