Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,876 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 756
Ric - Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 3:28am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Really good episode. It proves that even this often used card of time travel, the whole tired concept, can be put to new use. Even bold use, I should say, as it meta-plays with the very series more than parodies with the franchise.

Pretty good. Certainly not exactly deep in philosophical issues and had its fair share of plot holes. But it certainly pushed forward the time travel stuff, gave a good scifi hour and smart entertainment.
Ric - Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 3:22am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Not bad, not good. A meh character development episode. Full of holes, short on the deepness it wanted to achieve.
Ric - Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 1:55am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Reaaly good plot argument. The idea of these genius aliens just looking for intellectual challenges was quite good, as well as how it matched with Seven's retained attraction for pursuing perfection. I also enjoyed the idea that Voyager turns the table by diplomatically convincing the first enemy that they were both being played by the second.

Sure, the episode did not execute these fine ideas as well as they could make one expect. But still a solid episode enough. And just another good one in this very consistent season. This has to be one of, if not the, most consistently good seasons in the franchise.
Ric - Thu, Apr 24, 2014, 1:16am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Superb episode, pure gold. Easily one of the best of Voyager until this point, and not impossibly seats among the very best of all Star Trek's finest.

Fun, funny, touching, poignant. Fantastic dialogues, smart without forcing, acute and accurate. Jammer is right and the B plot was distracting and unnecessary, but overall it was pure magic how this episode guards, behind the fun and entertainment, a very deep exposure of the complexities and perils of being a (or in this case trying to become a full) human being. Both for the Doc and for Seven.

If this one does not deserve 4 stars, a full 10 out of 10, I do not know which one does.
Garrison - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 11:17pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

I love the way DeForrest Kelly says 'Ennerpriiiise' when calling the ship. Used it as a ringtone for awhile.
Grumpy - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 5:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

According to Memory Alpha (named, of course, for this episode), Shari Lewis -- yes, the ventriloquist -- wrote the story so that she could play the lead. So there was never any contemplation of putting a regular cast member in the role.

Although Trek fanfic had been printed since 1967, this story is, in a way, the first to become canonical. Even has a classic Mary Sue!
Stallion - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 2:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I was thinking the same thing. A lot of episodes would had be better if they rewritten a whole bunch of roles in season 3 for sulu, chekov, and uhura instead of having an unknown crewmember. That would had made season 3 better. Despite the behind the scene changes im surprise the writting staff didnt suggest instead of having an unknwown crewmember play this part why not make it someone the audience know and care about like sulu, chekov, or uhura.
Stallion - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 2:12pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

This episode would had been a little better if it was uhura translating and figuring out the presever language with spock or chekov instead of having mccoy telling spock to go to bed. Would had been a good use for her character.

Stallion - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 1:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I meant roddenberry. This episode would had been better if they said spock's conscioness got stolen and uploaded to a computer instead of his brain. Also drop robotic spock. I like the character interraction to this episode.
Bravestarr - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 1:25pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Not going to lie, this episode BORED me. I actually skipped the whole episode when they started the slow as molasses seperation sequence. I liked Q of course, but the episode just went downhill fast after he let the crew go. Is this an episode about Q or about Space Jellyfish? Entirely too unfocused, thank god things picked up later on or else I would've thought this show would be cancelled.
Bravestarr - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 1:12pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

Not going to lie, I almost gave up on DS9 while watching this episode. Keep in mind I came off of TNG, and Voyager, so I was a little Star Treked out. This episode though I found slow, boring, and dull. Thankfully DS9 gets MUCH better later on around the 3rd season, but man did this episode suck.
Bravestarr - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 12:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Was on the fence on this episode up until they both looked at each other through the x-ray sights. I would've loved to see an Oh Shit expression on the vulcan's face as he saw that Ezri was looking at him with the exact same gun. Can you imagine looking through a sniper rifle to see someone else looking at you as well?
Corey - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

As others have noted, this is a pretty great and tense episode, but the sexism displayed by the Enterprise crew is disgusting (the entire season is sex obsessed), especially in light of the episode's broader story, which is ABOUT the sexism and violence of a crazy serial killer. In essense, the good guys are portrayed as being no better than the bad guy, but we're positioned to accept this because they're only "casually sexist" and dont kill people. Oh my.
Garrison Skunk - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 2:28am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

I'm not sure if anyone mentioned it, but isn't it convenient that Riker answered the page using the room's comm unit instead of his communicator, just so the guests could later get on the comm and annoy Picard.

One thing I do give the episode props for...the bit about TV going out of style seems visionary from a show about 8 years away from the popularity of the Internet itself, and about 10 years away from YouTube and DVRs
Ric - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 1:48am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Yeah, this one was sort of character dev.... Zzzzz.... just a shame that it had such magic-babble visions tha... Zzzzz.... chaotic space, chaotic episode, loosing my min... Zzzzzzz
Ric - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 1:00am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

This is the typical case of an episode where I couldn't help but feel that the writers were trying a bit too much to be smart and hit home. I mean, forcing an artificially wishfully-smart plot, not developing it organically. And for me, they did not completely succeed.

Even though, some issues raised here were powerful enough to make me think and enjoy the set up moderately. In the end, it certainly is another episode underrated by Jammer, but I would not give a constellation of stars as well.
Ric - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 12:47am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Repetitive plot (everyone blacks out, leaving the Doc alone - only this time he had Seven as well). Repetitive anomaly of the week. Repetitive ending. But as Jammer has precisely captured, there is something that makes it sort of good. Quite fun at least.

Maybe it was the grouping of good acting, just as others have said above. Anyway, surprisingly enjoyable. Of course, though, there were other episodes in this very same season that deserved 3 stars more than this and did not get them.
Ric - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 12:40am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Certainly a lot of holes. Some really big, like changing the continuity, as Jammer has correctly pointed out. I was a harsh critic of how DS9 changed a lot of things Trek's universe. Now that Voyager does the same (although in less philosophically profound and consequential ways), I will not be blind. It was a major hole that only once again shows the lazy writing regarding the plot initial motors. It is a recurrent problem in Voyager and here is put to the limit, just showing a "don't care" disrespect with basic Trek established history.

That said, what a wonderful episode for Seven! How Jammer can find more action-based than deep in development, it is beyond me. This episode highlighted many of Seven's inner issues and created a lot of potential for lasting consequences to her (which, after seeing the few next episodes, I think is confirmed). It means, it was a huge character development in many parts.

Overall, a really strong episode that, as usual, is built over a ridiculous plot hole. 8.5 ou of 10 from me.
Ric - Wed, Apr 23, 2014, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Not a stellar episode, but certainly not nearly as bad as Jammer's review and score would make one think. This was in fact more profound that it appears, if you think that it has dealt with the issue of loving a different species in an unknown quadrant of the galaxy, the moral difficulties of having personal life subject to hierarchical order, sort of unsafe sex in the 24th century, a bit of the peculiarities of being isolated in the Delta Quadrant... I enjoy seeing they talk about sex, which has been an aspect almost forgotten, almost a taboo in the series.

And sure, a bit of insight on Kim, which was long overdue. It was clearly the best installment about him in a long time (if not ever). The scene where Seven goes talk to Kim and wishes fast recovery is touching. Sure, it was far from good writen and, as always, only average acted (Kim almost always looks childish and flat). But one star is just being too harsh on this one.
Tom - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 11:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I didn't really like this episode. Yes, the story was clever, but I didn't really enjoy watching it that much.
eastwest101 - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 6:53pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Its a shame that Jammer and others cannot accept or deal with the surprise twist in the form of Kai Winn's motivations, it was all internally consistent for me. I just saw the episode and was actually quite impressed - the whole thing worked really well for me. A few genuine surprises and interesting to see Sisko take some interesting and unexpected decisions.

Brookes doesn't overact, Visitor and Auberjonis are written well despite the slapdash work in previous episodes to put them together, they work here.

This one will be appreciated and re rated more and more as time goes on, and I am not even a fan of the Bajoran religious stuff in DS9...
Corey - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 6:41pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I'd give this 3 and a half stars. Voyager's 4th season may be the most consistent season of Trek ever.
Fernando - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 5:49pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

There is no way Neelix would know about these people, he is nearly 10,000 light years from Talax, let alone the Nekrit Expanse which is the frontier for that area of the Delta Quadrant.

My suspicion is that this episode was supposed to take place sometime before Seven joined the cast and before Kes gave Voyager the gift.
David - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 3:58pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

I would rate this episode at least 3 stars. I only have 2 issues with it. 1. The slow buildup bothers me. It drags. Perhaps better pacing would have solved it. 2. I wish they had the extras exhibiting the same monomania. The radiation effects shouldn't happen to just the command crew. The extras shouldn't steal focus, but I would have appreciated seeing several in the background obsessing over something. All we see out of them is normal behavior while our stars obsess and then they are passed out.

I don't require plots to be original. I watch mostly for the acting. If it's engaging then I go with the actors and story.
William B - Tue, Apr 22, 2014, 12:55pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

That Uhura learning to read scene is high comedy, especially when Chapel goes over to McCoy and asks with seriousness and dejection, does he think they can really teach her again!? And then Uhura pronounces "blue" as "bloo-ey" and McCoy and Chapel laugh indulgently like Uhura's an adorable two-year-old. I think what makes it so bizarre, funny, and extreme is that only the most half-hearted effort is made to acknowledge how devastating this total loss of memory would be, and how difficult retraining would be, while still providing enough of an effort that it is not wholly glossed over. If they glossed it over entirely ("she'll be retrained for next week!") then it would be clear that the writers et al. didn't really expect us to buy it in any realistic way, but needed us to accept it and move on. The slow-approaching but "warp 15" pulses (as Jack mentions) and Spock's mindmeld with the totally non-biological machine (as Jammer and Strider mention) are examples of this -- they are totally goofy concepts, but they are part of the plot, so, deal with it and move on. If they actually took the thing *really* seriously, even ending the episode on something of a downbeat the way TNG's "The Mind's Eye" ends with Troi saying that it would take Geordi a long time to deal with the events of the episode (even though he's fine next week), there would be a sense that they were lending it the proper gravity. This business has essentially one or two lines which tell us this is Serious!, and then end with a joke; it's one of my favourite "bad" moments from the original series, perhaps because it's bad in a bizarre, audacious way that only this show could do.

Another moment I found quite funny, but I'm not sure is actually a poor decision, is a few times during the final Kirk/Nomad confrontation there would be a shot of Kirk saying something, and then a reaction shot of Nomad floating in stunned silence. Hee. It's funny how easily this anthropomorphization goes down, to the point where we look to a machine that literally cannot express any reaction visually in order to "see" its reaction. In general I think the episode does a good job of making Nomad seem like a recognizable character even though it's just a machine wandering about; one of the details I like is the way its attitude toward Kirk subtly changes from reverent awe to confused reluctant compliance to outright hostility as it becomes more and more disenchanted with Kirk's decisions.

The rest of the episode is pretty okay, if not thrilling. The Scotty death and rebirth business I agree is a little pointless. The extent of the social commentary comes down to the idea that well-intentioned missions can become twisted; *probably* we're not going to be sending out any probes which will merge with other probes to become super-probes which kill people, but it's a common theme in science-fiction that computers can sometimes go astray of the original *intent* of the programming, and something like that happens with Nomad. Nomad's emphasis on perfection and sterilization is also one of the series' frequent reminders that humanity is flawed, and this is not actually a "bad thing": ability to accept imperfection is necessary in order to go on with life, and Nomad's extremism comes down to its arbitrarily high standard for existence and perfection. The search for self-improvement and improvement of the world *is* a valuable one, but let's keep things in perspective. Like Jammer, I find Kirk's short-circuiting Nomad's logic more plausible than in other Kirk Outsmarts the Computer episodes, partly because the specific problem Nomad had, the impossible standards for perfection and the programming to destroy anything falling short of that problem, is one that obviously *would* implicate Nomad, as a sub-perfect machine.

I think I'd say 2.5 stars for the package, too.
Next »Page 1 of 756
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer