Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,664 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 907
navamske - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 10:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

There's a fairly suggestive line in this episode. When Chapel meets Andrea, she immediately becomes suspicious and maybe even a little jealous. Korby says, "Do you think I could love a machine?" which I take to mean "Do you think I could have feelings for a machine?" Chapel asks not "Do you?" but "Did you?" By phrasing the question that way, Chapel is asking Korby if he had sex with Andrea. (This, of course, is before she -- and the audience -- knows that Korby is an android too.)
Zod - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 8:53pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

The ending was so bad the worst ever in any sci fi tv-show and the last season I found only 4 episodes to be good. I think Braga lost ideas for tv-show. It was too many episodes with Borg and nothing else. As soon seven of nine arrived at show it become so different and not so interesting anymore. Still it OK to watch but that was the best they come with ending.Bad very very bad ending I was predending I was watching something else. Predicting Feature please...
Nic - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 1:42pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

I don’t feel getting Torres pregnant constitues is necessarily evidence that the writers changed their attitude towards character growth. It was such an expected outcome of the relationship that it would have been much more surprising for it not to happen. [SPOILER ALERT: and of course that had to lead to the baby being born during Voyager’s final battle with the Borg]

But this was a very nice little show. 3 stars.
Moegreen - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 11:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Garbage.
Moegreen - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 11:23am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Actually, the log being found would have wrapped the episode up in that schmaltzy, hackneyed and cloying fashion that VOY is so regularly guilty of. I can see the awful closing scene in my head of Janeway, with that awful sentimental longing gaze, staring at her monitor while Kim speaks his unimaginative last.

I was glad that the chaos of the universe won out, even though that's not the outcome my heart wanted. A rare success for the writers.
JanB - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 7:53am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

The wishes of the child were completely ignored and he would be taken to a planet where he knew no one, probably couldn't even speak or read the language.

Also, am I the only one who thinks it's weird that they completely ignored that Cardassia was an Orwellian dictatorship where you could be murdered by the state for the smallest things, while Bajor was a free society expected to become a Federation member within a few years? About the only thing Cardassia had over Bajor was that it was more wealthy but the boy's adopted Bajoran parents didn't seem to be anywhere near starvation, he even went to school, so that difference wasn't relevant here.
Leah - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 2:18am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Nissa What Geordi did was indefensible, and it makes him extremely creepy as a character that he would have a holo-replica of a woman for his sordid fantasies.

Get over yourself Nissa. I'm sorry but so many people these days over react when it comes to any sensitive issue. Geordi didn't create a holo sex toy for his "sordid" fantasies. What a joke.

In booby trap (and no that's not a sexist episode title) Geordi doesnt even mean to create a replica of Leah. He tells the computer to show him something. Instead of the computer highlighting the information it creates the real Leah. Then he just asked for some of her personality so he could congratulate her while he's trying to solve a problem. All he did was kiss her. He didn't do anything creepy. If you wanna see creepy go watch ds9 where quark actually tries to film Kira to replicate her so someone who paid him could have sex with her image. All without her knowledge. Geordi does act weird around women but if she would have watched the whole program she wouldn't have reacted over the top like jammer pointed out. I'm just surprised people are acting like Geordi is having threesomes with double Leah's inside the warp core. Ha.
stallion - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 2:06am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

It took until season two for the the staff to figure out Jadzia character and race and I feel like they were able to figure out Ezir character straight off the bat. It's pretty obvious in season one of DS9 Jadzia was a spock like character.
stallion - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 2:01am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I actually feel like Ezri benefitted by coming after Jadzia Dax. It's pretty obvious the writers understand the whole thrill concept and they did a great job writing it. I like the idea of an episode dealing with an unprepared thrill being joined. In away this kind of remind me of the Doctor regerating and a new doctor taking over.
tashayar - Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 1:49am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

When Geordi and data are in the conference room explaining the sitaution to the senior staff Riker asks Geordi if there is a way to destroy the holographic images themselves. Geordi then proceeds to say he knows a way to shoot some beam that will destroy all holograms. Then Picard asks what about Pulaski and Geordi says well it will also tear apart human flesh as well. Lol. Why did Geordi even recommend that if he knew it would kill her? It seems like he's just trying to sound smart because he knows he made a mistake.
Chris - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 10:58pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Nissa said: "...Um, am I the only one who really hates Doc? He's my Neelix, and I really hate watching his selfish antics. Everything he does is "me, me, me!" and this episode is no exception. He doesn't even go so far as to say "all my fellow crewmates gave up communications with their families just so I could come and help you." Instead, it's just Doc being self-centered, with his self-centered creator. Oh joy."

Nissa, I hate him as much as you. And you made a good point. Doc didn't say "all my fellow crewmates gave up communications with their families just so I could come and help you." Instead he says "I left my crew without a surgeon so I could come and help you."
Lutan - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 10:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Why is everyone so down on this episode? The men marry the women and get all their lands and possessions and if the husband wants another woman then they can fight to the death on some jungle gym bars. They are light years ahead of the ferengi.

But when tasha was asked if she wanted to take lutan and she replied "there would be complications" I wanted to see the missing scene where Picard goes up to Riker and says "this is our security chief? Can I fire her yet?"
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:53pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

I'm surprised no one has commented on the scene the episode is most famous for: Deela is fixing her hair in the mirror while Kirk sits on the bed, pulling his boots on. The implication is pretty obvious.
Sonya - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Do you remember Worf's relationship with K'Ehleyr in TNG? Now *that* was chemistry. I just don't find his relationship with Dax to be plausible in any way. And how idiotic was it for Dax to propose vacationing with Worf in Risa anyway? (But by this point, I'm pretty much resigned to the writers turning Dax into an idiot. I'm glad so many people enjoyed her in a swimsuit. I can't remember the last episode in which she was allowed to display her character's formidable intellect. It's like the writers are turning her into Kelly LeBrock from Weird Science. They seem to be working out their adolescent fantasies through Dax's character. K'Ehleyr was strong and sexy. Dax's character has become vapid.)
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

I read that the production crew's name for Shatner's character in this episode was "Captain Kirk, Space Queen."
navamske - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 8:35pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

This is a great episode with a great concept, but one thing bugs me. The Enterprise arrives at Sarpeidon to "warn" the inhabitants that their sun is about to go supernova in like twenty minutes. First there's the implicit paternalism implied in "the Sarpeidonites can't possibly have figured this out on their own, so they need us to tell them." Second and more important -- warn the populace that their sun is going kablooey in about twenty minutes? Seriously? The Enterprise crew doesn't know about the time travel schtick, so what would be accomplished by "warning" the inhabitants of the coming disaster except worldwide panic?
Allison - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 7:43pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

One thing I noticed throughout this episode is the use of pieces of Bruce Broughton's _Young Sherlock Holmes_ score. As a fan of both the movie and the score, this was a nice touch.
Paul M. - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 6:26pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

This has to be one of the worst episodes of Star Trek I've had the misfortune to watch... and that is not something I say lightly.

- As Mike noted above, Wolf in the Fold is hilariously chauvinistic: women are terrified "more easily and more deeply"? Really? Where does this little gem of wisdom come from?

- Therapeutic qualities that scantily clad womenfolk have on head injuries are indeed something I'd like to test myself. If I bang my head against the wall right now, is there a curved and padded female specimen reading this that is willing to advance the cause of medicine with me?

- So tranquilisers, huh? The word must have changed meaning in the future.

- Wolf in the Fold contains one of the most brilliant examples of level-headed reasoning I've ever encountered. I hope that all homo sapiens in the 23rd century attain such mastery of unsurpassed, and indeed unsurpassable, logic. The thing goes like this, literally: Scotty, suffering from partial amnesia, is the prime suspect in the murder of three women, but the polygraph indicates he's telling the truth when he says he either didn't commit those murders or that he doesn't remember committing them. A psychic helping with the investigation manages to say "Jack the Ripper" before she too dies. Kirk's immediate conclusion? Why, it must have been Jack the Ripper, of course! However, as those London murders happened hundreds of years ago, the only reasonable explanation is that both Jack the Ripper case and the "Scotty case" were committed by the same centuries-old non-corporeal entity that can manipulate memories and assume physical form at will! Duh! Great, innit?

- After successfully solving the grisly triple murder case, Kirk's first order of business? Let's go to the nearest nightclub and continue the sex party that was so inconveniently cut short by that bothersome and inconsiderate spectral murderer. Good times!
Moegreen - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Crazy ol' Leland strikes again. 'The Surrey with the Fringe on top!'
Moegreen - Thu, Nov 27, 2014, 1:05am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

This was one of the most repetitive, pompous and badly acted episodes I've ever seen. High on its own weak concept. If I hear the term Omega again, there will be red shirt casualties.
Nic - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 10:32pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Wow, thanks for all the comments everyone, I did not expect so much feedback. All of your suggestions are good, especially "Data's Day".

That being said, I ended up going with "The Inner Light" anyway, but I warned her that it wasn't a typical episode. At one point she asked if this was the best episode of the series, so I guess that's a good sign.
Filip - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 5:13pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

An entertaining episode, plus, the final scene with the doctor in the infirmary is priceless!
Beth - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 6:07am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

I really enjoyed this episode, and I agree with the rating. The brainwashing/memory-inducing machine reflects the times, when treatment for the mentally ill commonly involved lobotomy and eletro-shock therapy [the latter of which is, yes, still used today, but not as much as it was then]. It also reflects the fact that such treatments, and the conditions of mental institutions, were beginning to be perceived as controversial and highly problematic.

The mental undoing and death of the sick-minded Dr. Adams was particularly poignant, as was Kirk's expressions at the end of the show. It showed that, while he was able to fight the effects somewhat, this "therapy" will stick with him for some time...

...Which makes it unlikely that Dr. Van Gelder would be so quickly reinstated as head of the appropriately-named Tantalus IV Penal Colony. I should think that Van Gelder would need a few weeks or months of real therapy to bring him back to a better state of mind. Or maybe that mind-meld worked wonders on him (which makes one wonder what the long-term effects might have been on Spock).

The only minus for this episode was Dr. Noel (who met Kirk at the Xmas party, har har), the ditzy doctor who is too thick and arrogant to clue into the things that Kirk is noticing about the inmates at Tantalus. At least she was pretty competent in getting the power turned off and kicking the other guy's arse into the high-voltage power unit. Damn, girl, that was smooth!

One small plus that makes up for Dr. Noel's blue panties being visible under her mini-mini skirt is Lethe's really nice poncho dress. I'd kind of like to have me one o' those.

Also, on another topic, I remember what handle I had before - it was Lal. But it's easier to just go by Beth now. :)

jk - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 4:20am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I myself find it hard to believe, but I was actually brought into the franchise by this movie.

I never watched it back in 2009, I don't think I even knew it existed. But I saw it on tv a couple years ago, and it made me want to watch the original series. Of course I already had that idea on my mind, but still. And now I'm halfway through DS9.

The point is, while I never thought Star Trek (2009) was a great movie, it provided me decent entertainment the first time I viewed it. I wasn't expecting anything from it, and I got some light-hearted entertainment.

Watching it now I can't help cringing at, well, everything that has already been pointed out. But I can still enjoy it if I manage to turn my brain off for a while, like with most of modern movies, and see it for what it's offering and not what I want it to offer.

And also, let's admit it, having watched Into Darkness makes 2009 look all the better.
Chris M - Wed, Nov 26, 2014, 3:09am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

I love Jammer's reviews. Often so spot on. But I do agree with Paul that you were too hard on this one. I find I enjoy watching this episode again and again. I'm not sure why. Maybe for one thing, like Grant said, the chemistry between McCoy and the chief's wife. Mac-coy, the child is yours. I love that. And the colorful visuals of the Cappelan village and clothing. And the unremitting evil of the early Klingons. And I gotta say, the Cappelans are not boring. A very different brutal culture. Lots of great humor and writing here too. Overall, one of my favorite TOS episodes.
Next »Page 1 of 907
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer