Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 46,401 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,857
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

These are the voyages of captain Kirk. His five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life ... and pork it, wheter it's human or alien, organic, robot or android.

Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

That is so strange; I had remembered that the idea was that the Kyrians had ultimately won the conflict, but you're right, that is not what is described. My mistake. I'll have to think about it.
Set Bookmark
Jason
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 8:13am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I mustn't have been following closely enough (nodded off a few times), because I didn't understand how did they transport the holograms down to the planet when they didn't have mobile emitters?
Set Bookmark
Skranch
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 7:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

@William B

'Here is what the Kyrians (and in particular, the Kyrian leaders, who are the ones who get to control the narrative) want...'

@Matsu

'History is written by the winners - that's the undeniable truth that can be applied to all wars.'

This is one of my problems, is that the ones telling the story, at least for this episode, are the losers.

Yet they don't blame the victors of the war, they blame Voyager, based on almost no actual evidence whatsoever. If they wanted to make stuff up, you'd think they would make stuff up about the Vaskans, not some random aliens that showed up for a short time and then left. That makes no sense.

They dislike the Vaskans, and blame them for their troubles. Why insert Voyager, which was a minor player, in reality (though they didn't know that), and make them out to a major player, and the cause of a genocide in their fiction, instead of the Vaskans themselves?

The losers would blame the victors, not some random ship that showed up at around the same time.

It really makes little sense.

It was all a contrivance to tell a story, and I don't like that. And the Doc doesn't have a backup!!
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 6:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

Okay, having complained about TOS a while back I have to admit that a Tomorrow is Yesterday, The City on the Edge of Forever and this episode were pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Tanner
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 6:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Didn't Spock have the same choice to make in "What Are Little Girls Made Of?"
Set Bookmark
Tanner
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 6:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Did anyone else notice that the Enterprise symbol patch was missing from Kirk's shirt in the first couple of scenes (the evil Kirk as well)?
Set Bookmark
Skweeky
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 4:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@SlackerInc

'I'm glad you reminded me of Lamar's hottie though. Is that the closest to nudity we've seen on a Trek show? Or are they pushing it further on DSC?'

There are Klingon boobs on DIS. :D Complete nipplage.

I don't like that in a Star Trek show, but that's what they did.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

I found 'Tribunal' to be a poorly written episode that misses the mark.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 1:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

@Peccath

Actually i see no reason why anyone who hasn't seen a tv episode that's 20 years old would come to a comment section and complain about spoilers.
There comes a point when people should be able to freely discuss old tv shows they've seen.
Set Bookmark
SustainableGrowth
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 1:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I did not like this episode when it first aired. I was someone who, as an intelligent, progressive student in an English Lit class in 1987 reviewing The Color Purple, dismissed it to the prof saying "this book would have been valuable before the success of the Civil Rights movement but it is now moot. Alice Walker is taking a victory lap." How young and ignorant I was back then.

Finding myself now aghast at the re-dawning of what the older wiser me has, since then, come to realize is a Cycle of Hate that appears endemic to the culture we've created, I am now hopeful that stories like this DS9 episode will continue to stoke a flame of truth that even the mounting ashes of racial/gender/economic inequality cannot quell.

No one likes to appear stupid. It's beyond valuable that a burgeoning cell of 3 young white boys-- children unaware of their own privilege, yet already sensing the usefulness of ganging up on those less fortunate-- be made to feel a little bit dumb as a result of watching this episode, realizing their bully shtick is not cutting edge, but rather far older and even less successful than the generation they are already, not coincidentally, beginning to resent.

In the spirit of the holidays, I am choosing to believe that this latest Cycle of Hate is more of the "15 minutes of fame" variety, and that the spirit embodied by the Trek Universe will once again find itself in ascendancy for the next several generations.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 1:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

Progress wasn't the most interesting episode i've seen but i found no flaws in it and i wish i'd paid more attention to the episode before i'd moved home last time.
Kira's story highlights how once you've lived in a place and invested yourself fully in that place then to move will be the death of you.
Nog and Jake's story highlights how trading one thing for another doesn't easily result in getting what you want (Nog wanted latinum, he got land or as he called it "dirt".
Set Bookmark
SpaceCadet
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 12:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

@Borusa: Starfleet is akin to the military, not a private company workplace. Therefore, it is not out of place for Riker to forcibly grab Barclay's arm and reprimand him. And Riker has every reason to express displeasure at Barclay's level of performance.

@PeteTongLaw: you're right, it is unfortunate that the engineering staff is depicted as all men and wouldn't be cast that way nowadays but interestingly this was already a step back for TNG because the first season depicted a female chief engineer in only the second episode, and the second season featured Ensign Sonya Gomez prominently in a couple of episodes as part of Geordi's staff and she was intended to be a reoccurring character. At least by 1995 we had a main cast chief engineer with B'Elanna Torres on Voyager.

Yes, it was dickish of Wesley to also be a bully to Barclay when his character is the type that in the real world would also be made fun of for being a know it all child prodigy but it also makes sense in a way because it's not uncommon for those that want to fit in and be accepted to follow group think even if it's something negative like bullying another person. Wesley probably just wanted to be part of the group and be in on the joke though it was nasty. That rang true to me.

Anyway, this was a good, entertaining episode that is also thoughtful for one, addressing the issues of holodeck use privacy and the recreating of actual people to use however you want, and two) portraying a less than standard heroic Starfleet officer type who is socially awkward and struggling to fit in. That struggle and the efforts of his shipmates to reach out in various methods was really fascinating to watch. The Ron Jones conducted orchestration was excellent work. Same with the costuming. The humor was so good and you can tell the actors are just having so much fun playing their holodeck counterparts. Barclay is also an interesting complex character and Dwight Schultz really brought him to life. I also enjoyed the misdirection at the end of the episode that you think the character is leaving the episode for good and I remember the first time watching as a kid thinking how disappointing after really enjoying this unique character and then being delighted that it was just another holodeck re-creation. The save the ship dilemma did feel forced but I did at least like the reasoning and deduction used to figure out the solution. The one thing that I've never liked at all and I've never seen pointed out by anyone else is the lame end of Act One/cut to commercial when the officer's drinking glass has a leak in it and the officers in Ten Forward make this huge dramatic deal over it and the music swells ominously. I mean c'mon, your glass springs a leak and then the mood of the episode is supposed to become grim and dangerous and the audience is supposed to go "Oh no!" It was a bit over the top. I guess the writers couldn't figure out a smoother way for an act break. But still overall, very good episode. Also, reading these comments was the first I've ever heard of Schultz being some kind of nutjob which would be shocking if true. In fact, the guy wanted to do Star Trek and got connected with the role on the show because he worked with Whoopi Goldberg on the movie "A Long Walk Home" and asked her if he could get on the series. Fun fact!

Set Bookmark
JGK
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I was quite entertained by this one, but the premise makes absolutely zero sense for the reasons states (leaping to the Alpha Quandrant etc).

Interestingly, all they had to do to justify this, instead of coming up with some anomaly, is make it a 'Q' test for Chakotay and Janeway. Maybe he and Janeway have a serious disagreement and Q shows up to referee and splits the timelines.
Or, you could have a holodeck malfunction, where the holodeck is replaying Voyager's logs and something happens... anyway...

It was still a fun episode. It would have been nice if they threw in one "episode" we never saw in here - just to tease fans.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

The first episode of Voyager I'd be willing to put in the best of all Trek. Incredible and still very much applicable. More so now than twenty years ago.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I don’t see how The Joker is vaguely Oriental/Arabic. Anyhow, you guys are taking this discussion way off topic just so you can bash Batman movies. At least try to stay on the topic of why or why not Lore works as a villain.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Trekfan, William and Rahul said it all and said it well. This is one of the highlights of season 3, and ably blends a great SF concept with good character work. And like most episodes which place Bones and Spock alone together, it's packed with touching gestures of friendship.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 6:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Dark Knight and its sequel are the usual crypto-fascism and political strawmen; a billionaire with an arsenal of weapons engaging in wire-tapping, extrajudicial violence and illegal border-hopping extraditions whilst battling vaguely Oriental/Arabic villains and a conniving environmentalist woman. Our hero, when he's not embodying the White Man's Burden, possesses clean-energy technology but refuses to give it to civilians because "man is irresponsible". He also convinces a jewel thief to abandon her class-hate and join his cause. The alternative to his brand of justice is, of course, lawless chaos and barbarism. Indeed, Gotham literally turns into a giant soviet style wintery gulag when Batman is removed. ie - accept the inequities of Gotham, because the alternative is worse. It's the usual superhero fascism dressed up in slightly more "serious" decor.
Set Bookmark
Faille
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Watching this after all the Black Lives Matter activities of the last couple years just makes me so fucking sad. I feel like in the 90s when this aired we were supposed to feel like we were beyond this kind of racism.

The first comment here talks about how cartoon villainy the cops were. But now we live in a world where 12 year olds are shot for holding fake guns and so being shot for having a crowbar and then someone else being beaten while everyone else stands around doesn’t seem that far off.

This episode was depressing for how little progress we’ve made. These issues still surround us every day.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 12:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Chris-That comment literally makes no sense. There's a time loop in this episode-the Defiant hits a space-time anomaly on its way back to DS9, and gets sent back 200 years. They build the colony that meets the crew of the Defiant in 2373, when they crash on the planet. The real plot hole would be the bootstrap paradox, not whatever you mentioned.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@ Slackerinc,

"That review confused me. Was it written by multiple people? LOL "Not bad" but "so cheesy" and an "additional star" only gets you up to 2? Huh."

Yeah, I just tired of them being idiots. That and the cheese factor knocked it down for me. I actually like the story idea.

Love your screen name BTW. :-)
Set Bookmark
Skubber
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Fourth Season Recap

Come on Voyager, you have 3 seasons left to get above a 2.0 average. Unfortunately my hopes aren't very high :(
Set Bookmark
Skubber
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 5:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Fourth Season Recap

My ratings for the season. Highest to lowest.

3.0 - Message in a Bottle
3.0 - Prey
2.5 - Scorpion Pt. II
2.5 - The Gift
2.5 - Day of Honor
2.5 - Scientific Method
2.5 - Year of Hell Pt. I
2.5 - Mortal Coil
2.5 - The Omega Directive
2.0 - Nemesis
2.0 - Revulsion
2.0 - Year of Hell Pt. II
2.0 - Hunters
2.0 - Living Witness
2.0 - One
1.5 - The Raven
1.5 - Random Thoughts
1.5 - Waking Moments
1.5 - Retrospect
1.5 - Hope and Fear
0.5 - Concerning Flight
0.5 - The Killing Game Pt. I
0.5 - Vis a Vis
0.0 - The Killing Game Pt. II
0.0 - Unforgettable
0.0 - Demon

So my average for this season is 1.71 stars

A more consistent season than the first three, but unfortunately consistently mediocre yet again.

My season averages so far.

Season 1 - 1.53
Season 2 - 1.65
Season 3 - 1.44
Season 4 - 1.71

So the best season yet, but not by much. Seven made the season a little more interesting I guess, but I still miss Kes. I'd rather listen to her silky sweet voice, than Seven's stilted know it all voice.
Set Bookmark
Tanner
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 5:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Naked Time

How could Kirk make a log entry saying, “what we don’t
know is that a disease has invaded the ship”?
Set Bookmark
Skie
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

Too many plot holes/coincidences/contrivances for me. And I'm getting pretty sick of Seven.

1 1/2 stars.





Next ►Page 1 of 1,857
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.