Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 26,340 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1054
John Doe - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 11:48pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

This episode is just ok. For someone who has lived a couple hundred years, Laas sure didn't learn his manners. His arguments also don't make much sense on a station filled with a dozen different races where every one gets along. I think this episode doesn't really do Odo's character justice. He values justice so much more than everyone else, and yet his eyes were blinded by race so he couldn't stay objective like he always had been.
Shannon - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 11:06pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

This was no ratings ploy, as some here have suggested. Sure, every producer wants to put something really strong out there during ratings season, but I was impressed over how wonderfully restrained this episode was. It was a great character study on Barclay, and a fun story to watch unfold... The season was really humming along at this point, as this along with other episodes proved that when the stars align, great writing, acting, and directing all come together to put together an awesome story... Totally agree, 4 stars all the way!
Matrix - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 8:19pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: E2

I think Elliott's idea about same-sex crew members hooking up would've been neat and could've had some interesting conversations between say Reed and Trip.

REED: So apparently I hooked up with Rivers.
TRIP: Rivers? Really? Huh.
REED: Yeah. what's wrong with Rivers?
TRIP: Nothing, no I just thought maybe you'd be more attracted to someone like Kelby.
REED: Well Rivers is handsome in an unconventional way.
TRIP: You know who would've really made a good match for you? Major Hayes.

(My dialogue is garbage)

I did like the design of the old-Enterprise and thought Lorian was great.
Honkhonk - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 5:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

This was just what I needed: a fun, light, well-acted episode with surprisingly smart and hilarious details. Nothing too serious or heavy-handed. After watching some earlier TNG I was relieved there was no stiffness and bad acting to be found here.
Sharon - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 4:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

For all of you getting creeped out by being in love with a worm, have you seen what a brain looks like ?
Diamond Dave - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 2:57pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Excellent episode. We finally have a story where the stakes mean something, and by layering the tension we build to a conclusion that's every bit as satisfying as the rest of the episode demands.

We are kept twisting as to the veracity of Setal/Jarok's claims, and due to some excellent guest acting we can identify with the titular defector when he's revealed to simply have been a pawn in a larger game. For someone to have given up everything for an honourable cause, only to have even that snatched away, leads to the inevitable, and affecting, conclusion.

With some memorable Shakespearean allegory thrown in, this is a worthy 3.5 stars.
Diamond Dave - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 1:49pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

One of those episodes that turns out to be desperately uninvolving, if not actively bad. The Enterprise crew seem to have nothing to do except bang heads together when necessary, and after having dealt with one uninteresting negotiation scene we then get to do it all again with another.

Riker cracks on to Yuta instantly, and in front of the Sovereign too, but the relationship has to move fast because it's the only bit of the episode that really has a pay off - as he guns her down at the end.

So this has a couple of nice moments but overall - 1.5 stars.
Max - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 9:26am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Roman - I think you underestimate the trust Picard has for Guinan. Guinan's "hunches" are always spot-on, which I've always assumed, for lack of a better explanation, is because of the species she comes from.

I honestly don't think Picard would have gone through with the Enterprise-C going back in time if it hadn't been for Guinan saying it was absolutely necessary. This nagged at him, and changed his perception enough that instead of sending the Enterprise-C into battle (which it was clear they WERE going to do, whether or not the ship would have been "hopeless" in such a battle), he actually took time to think about his decision at many levels, and then finally decided that if there was a chance that the Enterprise-C could "fix" the timeline, it should be sent back.

As someone on the thread said before, the temporal prime directive would apply here, even if the concept itself didn't really exist at this point in Trek. Because Picard had an idea that he was FIXING the timeline rather than deliberately changing it, he was willing to do it. And the idea of fixing the timeline came directly from Guinan. Logic, in this instance, could have gone either way. It was Guinan's certainty that made Picard decide to do what he did.
Max - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 9:13am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I'm sorry, but the Mariachi band was completely hilarious. It was such a Q thing to do - stupid and genuine all at the same time, and completely embarrassing for the bridge crew. I actually laughed out loud when that happened. Plus, you know, the cigars, and the beautiful women. It was funny, dammit.

I definitely think this episode deserves the full 4 stars. I can't think of a part I didn't like or appreciate in some way. And there is a lot of depth here, which is what I enjoy most in a Trek episode.
MsV - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 8:41am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

William B, Thank you for sharing you personal experience. I will be brief, as I truly understand what you went through when your parents divorced. I had a similar experience after my divorce. I said nothing to my son until he was a about 5 and he asked me where was his daddy. I told him that he lived across town and I didn't know why he didn't come to see him but he could come anytime he wanted to see him. I gave him all the love I had, I even attempted to watch football and baseball with him. (I never liked sports) I refused to unload all of our garbage on my son. I remarried when he was 6 to a wonderful man that doesn't care for Star Trek at all. My second husband came in like a straight arrow,he told my son that he would be his dad and he would never have to look for him because he would always be there; He has kept his word. Ex- husband took us to court to re-gain his parenting rights, when my son was 15. My ex was rejected by my son because he started accusing me of keeping them apart. I took this approach because I wasn't going to be the villain, I let him learn about his dad on his own.

@Elliot I like your "Acts" I agreed with most of it especially about Dukat sitting at his desk in his uniform at any hour day or night. Also when you asked "aren't there any lawyers in the Federation" I think they could have gotten that Admiral from TNG "Drumhead" to arbitrate and it really would have been a fiasco.

@William B, I agree they should have had Sisko give a more detailed explanation of his decision to give rugal back to his father, but I don't think Rugal is capable to making this decision because he doesn't have all the pieces to the puzzle, when he goes home with the butcher he will find that all Cardassians are not the same.
FromHolland - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 5:29am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

What annoys me is that after something happened Tuvok rushes to Engineering and asks for back-up by Security. Later we see him entering Engeineering together with ONE (1!) security crewmember and he contacts the captain that the female caretaker is aboard. A few scenes later Janeway sees the female caretaker in Engineering and when she looks up she sees Tuvok and Belanna floating in the air: the female caretaker has done this. Where is the security crewmember that accompanied Tuvok? What did the female caretaker do with him? He just disappeared? Strange.
Davin - Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 3:12am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Such a deep episode. As an audience, we KNOW this "traitor". We've seen her jump on the bed as a child! Many (myself included) agree with her choice to join the Maquis. While many (myself included) also respect the hell out of the Federation and what it stands for.

It's a tough call for Ro. But what is not a tough call is rating this episode four out of four stars. I am currently binge watching "Next Generation" in chronological order and as a first time viewer. This one hit me like a tidal wave in comparison to other great episodes of this amazing series.
Robert - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 8:48pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I couldn't disagree more with this review. This episode certainly deserves 3-4 stars. Of course it was expected for Tuvok to be restored at the end of the episode, but this fact did not detract from its overall emotional impact. It was wonderful to see another side of Tuvok, and his bonding with Neelix (in non-annoying mode, no less) was superbly performed by both actors. Like other posters above I teared up when "new" Tuvok uttered the line "how will you know how much I enjoy being with you?", as well as Neelix's line "I'm really going to miss him."

While it would have been nice to see Tuvok express more direct gratitude at the end of the episode, this was subtly done as Tuvok offered the non-logical response to Neelix's original riddle. I think this was Tuvok's way of letting Neelix know that, despite the restoration of the "old" Tuvok, that he did appreciate Neelix for what he was, even if his "logical" self precluded him from expressing it as often as he would like.

All in all, a touching episode definitely worthy of recommendation.
Abedfo - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 3:49pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

Speaking as a geology graduate, i can confirm sisko's plan wouldnt work!
Matt - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:53pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

If I remember correctly there is a quick shot of Worf carrying the rest of the items out of the time pod.
Diamond Dave - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:44pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Well, on the good side this introduces the concept of the wormhole that basically the entirety of DS9 is based off, and the Delta Quadrant for Voyager. And there are a couple of good scenes - notably Riker smiling off Ral's attempt to needle him.

But overall this is a shocker. Ral's seduction of Troi is profoundly creepy, and the dialogue clunky and unintentionally comedic. The bizarre girl talk aerobics session comes out of nowhere. And the Ferengi neither amuse nor entertain. 1.5 stars.
Blalock - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 2:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Meh. 2.5 stars. I, too, would like more Data backstory (pre-TNG) instead of more pre-activation. The real problem with this episode is the very idea that Soong was able to push synthetics to the point of having an android register on medical scans as human and actually grow older/die. Way too far fetched for me. It almost seems like the writers just threw this one together. Flanagan's acting comes through, though, and I rarely give TNG episodes < 2 stars, so 2.5 it is.
Diamond Dave - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 1:29pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

I was less enamored with this episode than many others. While it was handled well enough I never felt the plot lines really took flight.

Geordi and the Romulan having to put aside their differences and cooperate comes off as a sub-Sesame Street lesson, teaching us that we are all the same underneath. OK, but it's such an overused theme it's difficult to take too seriously.

The Worf story is stronger, and his flat refusal to intervene - and Picard's refusal to press him to the limit - feels like a character faithful interlude. However, as noted above Worf gets a free pass when the Romulan proves not to want his help - and that undermines the ground this story is built on.

So it's not bad, and after a couple of terrible episodes the VFX seem to be back up to speed, but overall - 2.5 stars.
Pam - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 12:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I found this episode overly mushy, entirely unsubtle, and the acting on almost everyone's part as wooden and unfeeling as the android who was the central figure. The plot, acting, and script bang the viewer over the head with the obvious, cliched themes. I found myself rolling my eyes at almost every interaction, and couldn't wait for this one to end. It was too much story packed into 40 minutes. It may have been better without the admiral business, which was a real distraction from the main event. But as it stands, this has to be one of my least favorite episodes of the series so far. I do not understand the undying love that so many have for this one. I may have to go back and watch "Measure of a Man" to get the bad taste of it out of my mouth.
Nebula Nox - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 9:06am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

Over the years, I have come to appreciate the Ferengi episodes. Anyway, this one is lovely, with the end coming straight out of "It's a Wonderful Life."
Thorlief - Wed, Sep 2, 2015, 1:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I haven't really watched Voyager much--my wife is addicted to anything Trek, though--but I've been reading Jammer's reviews off and on, as I hear episodes being played in the background. Something amusing has cropped up as I've read the reviews--as I noted under the review for "The Gift," that episode was directed by Anson Williams, formerly Potsie on "Happy Days." This episode features Don Most as Kaden--that's formerly Donnie Most, who played Potsie's sidekick Ralph Malph on "Happy Days."

Is Ron Howard in one of these? Is there a Vulcan version of Fonzie running around the Delta Quadrant?
Mallory R. - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:51pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

...and whoops. I thought then and now that it was a deserving heir to TOS - as much as TNG. I guess it's just the nature of things that the good die young and the real irritation seems to persist, and that hack monstrosity Voyager unfortunately served as the anti-Trek.

Trip was especially great at the end, once again reminding us that Connor Trinneer was overqualified for the role.
Mallory R. - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:44pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Really a fun episode, and I love how it stays true to TOS. Hats off to Mr. Combs, awesome character actor, consistently great, and too often overlooked. He never lets up, whether as Weyoun in DS9 or Shran here. "Hands off, pinkskin." This was the first Enterprise episode I ever saw, and I was frankly amazed at how good it was



Robert - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 9:37pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

1. You're missing out on DS9
2. There were 2 VOY Ferengi episodes
3. The continuity bothers me and so did VOY constantly beating the Borg. Demystify the Borg and making them less scary and adding the Queen didn't bother me.
Mabit - Tue, Sep 1, 2015, 7:10pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I have to disagree with the comments about the Borg Queen making the Borg weak.

From the outset the Borg are like and insect species based on hornets, wasps and ants but instead of chemical signals its a collective conciousness.

The fact there is a Queen gives them purpose and a structure.

I am currently rewatching Voyager after watching all TNG and TNG movies. Never got into TOS too 80's child and never liked "Deep Sleep 9" to quote the TNG cast.

The people commenting on continuity are missing the point of Voyager. It is an alien of the week show with each big jump in space allows for new weekly aliens.

The best saving grace of this was there was only one Ferengi episode. And the Borg got more dimention and with more exposure the scariest beast can be understood and that makes them less scary.
Next »Page 1 of 1054
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer