Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,635 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 906
seagum - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 4:47pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

My brain just can't put together "I like seeing new people watching the show" and "it's normal to spoiler anything and everything in the comment section of a non-spoilerous review", and especially comparing it to clicking ads on the internet. It's just a contraddiction, is all.

It's basically banning people from having a spoiler-free experience from this site because the guys who got there first felt like writing some off-topic comment. Of course I learned long ago how things are in this section (or on the internet for that matter), and deciding to read anyway is on me, but keeping the spoilers out would have been so simple. Actually it would have been less effort than putting them in.

As for "the begotten", I was so touched by the story that I didn't even consider that it was "the episode where Odo got his shapeshifting back". But I did wonder why Odo was turned solid in the first place, since nothing particularly relevant had happened to him before he went back to being a changeling.
digitaurus - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 4:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

The neatest aspect to the story for me is that the Enterprise only gets sucked in to the vortex because Picard decides not to sit quietly and investigate slowly but tries to warp out of there ... and he only decides to warp out because he has been freaked out by future Picard ... whose only there because Picard got the Enterprise sucked in ...
Charles - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 1:08pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

This *was* a very boring episode, with more loopholes than plot, and to contribute to the discussion, Avery is a TERRIBLE actor. The best DS9 episodes are those where the story revolves around the Cardassian occupation / war and where he is seen the least...

I totally agree with Yanks that if Sisko had been a normal Trek "captain" (in a roaming ship, the center of the story), the series would have been pulled after one season.
Grumpy - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 12:40pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

For a first-time TNG viewer, the narration in "Data's Day" serves as an orientation to all the characters. If the goal is not sizzling salesmanship, that is.
Robert - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 10:38am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I started my wife on DS9, so when we watched TNG we just went straight from the beginning. She liked seeing Worf and O'Brien at Farpoint. I warned her that if she got bored we would start skipping the clunkers though.
Elliott - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 10:28am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Who Watches the Watchers and The Survivors are my go-to TNG introduction episodes.
Robert - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 9:54am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Andy's Friend - 11001001 is a great episode, but I'm not sure I would have started watching the show from it. I actually DID start watching from Q Who.

There's just so much high quality TV out there today that I think you need to knock her socks off with what the series CAN be. And it can be better than 11001001.

I don't know if I put any S1 episodes in "knock her socks off" level of good. Although I see Andy's Friend's point about Measure of a Man specifically, I still think it's a compelling courtroom drama, but you may not feel for Data without a season and a half prior.

Maybe "Who Watches The Watchers?" It needs less backstory (from Data and or Q) and it's pretty outstanding. Any thoughts?
Andy's Friend - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 8:52am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Nic,

That's a question I guess many of us have asked many times :)

In the end, of course, it all depends on the person you want to present it to. But while I agree of course with Robert that "The Measure of a Man" and "Q Who?" are outstanding episodes, they both benefit much from having seen the series till then. You cannot really understand, or rather, feel Data's situation in the former episode if you haven't seen a number of episodes with Data, and come to understand him and his nature. Much the same way, you can only know how desperate the situation of the Enterprise is, and how special an episode "Q Who?" is, if you've seen Picard & Co. handle a number of perious situations with relative ease before. You need to truly know how huge Picard is to see just how humbled he is here.

In my opinion, those two episodes are just too good to be shown to a Trek virgin. It's a shame to pull out the big guns to one who cannot fully appreciate them; you enjoy them much more if you know a bit more about TNG.

I would recommend "11001001". It's Season 1, it introduces the holodeck (to one who has never seen Trek before), it is very much Star Trek, and let's face it, it's pretty good sci-fi, and with great sound effects for the era.

After that, I'd suggest either any one of the better Season 1 episodes ― "We'll Always Have Paris" might be a good idea if she's a romantic at heart, while still having great sci-fi elements (I'll never forget the lift scene: pure magic when I first saw it all those years ago!) ― or "Time Squared", a great episode you can always watch out of continuity. It depends on the person.

Good luck, and have fun! :)
Robert - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 6:26am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Nick - I agree, while an excellent episode it's just great sci-fi, not great Trek. A good intro episode would be one not too far into the series (to avoid total shock if you decide to go back and do a full re-watch... the old stuff is barely the same show).

Personal suggestion would be Measure of a Man or Q Who, both from Season 2... whichever you think she'd respond to better.
zzybaloobah - Tue, Nov 25, 2014, 12:16am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 1

Nope, Jammer, I can't ever find it in my heart to cheer for Baltar. Funny? Yes. Detestable? Yes. Lovable? No.

@Michael: Yeah, there's a big religious aspect. I try and think of it as a fantasy element. I don't believe in Elves, but love LOTR.

Regarding the religious aspect.... Roslin's visions -- whatever their source -- are *accurate*. It's one thing for Adama to say "I don't believe in religion", it's quite another to ignore reality because it doesn't fit your world view. At some point, disbelieving in a inexplicable, but obviously true fact is itself irrational. I always felt like Roslin should have pushed the "Yeah, but they're accurate" angle harder. She didn't, and paid the price.

There's no way Tyrol should have left sickbay -- even after Sharon ordered him out. He is her only friend....

$G - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Carrots: Isn't that the plot of Ghostbusters 2...?

Anyway, I don't... hate this episode. I don't think it's GOOD, though. The constant showdowns grow tiresome, and nothing really feels like it's progressing anywhere until the end of the hour. Tasha dying early on (I forgot how early) works, giving the show a bit of a jolt that becomes legit creepy when Riker gets pulled into the tar (although that could just be 6-year-old me talking, who was terrified of Armus). Armus himself is menacing at times but comes off as childish at others. I suppose that's the point, but a bit more nuance there could have made it more interesting. I'm not asking for Dark Knight's Joker, but... something more than "I AM A SKIN OF EVIL".

I will say that I found Armus's backstory fascinating, though, in that mix of truth and myth sort of way. It's not on par with the Vorta backstory from DS9 (not even on the green, actually), but it has that same idea as a kernel-of-truth-wrapped-in-a-creation-myth. Admirable, but probably less thought out than I'm giving it credit for.

Ugh, look I want to hate this one because of how ridiculous it comes off but I'm really having a hard time actively disliking it. Its heart is in the right place and I think the hour has that subtle horror vibe that makes early TNG unique among the rest of Trek (see also: "Where Silence Has Lease", "Time Squared", "Q Who", and "The Royale"). 2-1/2 stars. Recommended but with a huge glaring asterisk to remind you that this is still TNG S1 we're talking about.
Nic - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 9:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I'm thinking of using this episode to introduce Star Trek to my girlfriend. I'm sure she'd like it, but perhaps it's not the best introduction to the universe, seeing as most of it is set outside the usual confines.

Anyone have any thoughts?
$G - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 9:19pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Elliott, I don't normally agree with your posts but in this case I think we're among the very few who legitimately enjoy this one.

This one is hamfisted, yeah, but I think it pretty much works on all of its cylinders. There's nice tension at the beginning and the slowburn of the true nature of the plague was surprisingly compelling (I still recalled the twist from decades ago, but still enjoyed the plot workings). Picard has a nice speech and I think his "solution" is a reasonable and cathartic one.

I'm going 3 stars with this. Pretty decent.

It's actually the fifth "winner" episode in a row (2-1/2 stars or higher - hey the bar is pretty low after all) and the seventh out of the last eight that wasn't embarrassing. Elliott, you're right that the second half of S1 is much stronger than the first. The first 13 episodes contain about 7 or 8 bottom-of-the-barrel shows, but the last 12 (starting from "10011001") are a lot more solid (with a few exceptions). I don't know much about how much in advance shows are written before they're produced, but it looks a lot like the producers saw how terrible the show was and were actively smoothing out the air bubbles.
Nonya - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 9:13pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Lol. This episode is awkward and funny. Data in that musketeer's outfit was the freakiest thing I've ever seen.
Black_Goat - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 8:49pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

Q-Less: C+
This is a perfectly charming episode in a lot of ways, including the enjoyable performances from John de Lancie and Jennifer Hetrick. It’s also a perfectly filler episode, especially for someone like me, who has never seen TNG and thus has no reason to care about Vash or Q. This early in a series’ run, it may have been a mistake to center an episode so heavily on guest stars, since it left our regular cast (i.e. the people we’ll be spending the next 170 episodes with) somewhat marginalized. Still, this was inoffensive. While an episode like “Babel” (which I scored the same) had more of interest to me, its sticking points were more extreme.

The Good:
- Angry Sisko might be best Sisko. Avery Brooks is still very stiff, but I like that he has qualities which differentiate him from Picard; he’s willing to be a bit rougher and a bit less diplomatic. For that reason, the boxing scene, while undeniably goofy, was kind of fun for me.
- Q and Vash did have some good moments, although I stand by not really caring about either one of them.

The Bad:
- It must be said: this episode was ridiculously full of technobabble. Probably the worst yet. I understand that it’s sci-fi and certain plot points have to occur, but I hope the writers realize eventually that hearing all that stuff is boring.
- Another episode where everyone on the station almost dies. Again, I understand the need for drama, but there’s a certain laziness to it.
- I liked the brief Odo/Quark scene, but it seems a little out of character that Odo would be at all tempted by the bucket.
- Eh, horny Bashir isn’t terrible but there are other aspects of that character I’d rather be explored first.
- Um. Giant…space…stingray? K.
Nonya - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 8:48pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

This episode is okay at best. It's just really, really boring, with the sort of plot that the viewer can figure out halfway through. That, and the soundtrack was trying too hard with those flute-ish sounds. The episode wasn't mystical enough for those sounds to work.

All in all, plain fare, but nothing offensive.
HolographicAndrew - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 8:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Alright episode, especially the Doctor's part of it. In fact, that was the only good part of it. He's awesome.

But I have to say the Seven aspect of it kind of annoys me. She's not only added purely for her looks, but now we have to have entire storyline where she learns how to date. It was way better when they did it with Data in "In Theory" where it wasn't as creepy as everyone on the ship wanting to bang a socially challenged super model.
dlpb - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 7:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One


Trident - Fri, Oct 3, 2014 - 9:16am (USA Central)
DLPB is so wrong, stupid and ignorant that it hurts me to read his rants.

=========

Well, firstly, it wasn't a rant. Secondly, the fact you can only insult, as a substitute for reason, shows who the ignorant one is here ;0

I'm sorry that the truth hits a nerve, but my original point stands. We don't mix female and male players at most sports and games, and when we do, they almost never win a match, let alone a championship. Sorry.
Logan - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 4:12pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

One of the worst Voyager episodes. Begins with promise, a flaming, pile of wreckage by the end.
Borusa - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 2:47pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I thought this was ok.
It may be just that I am an ancient saddo but when the NX Delta launched on its ski run with the 'rocket' trolley I could not help thinking this was a homage to Gerry Anderson's Fireball XL-5-the ship has a very similar appearance too.
BearHeart - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 1:47pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

"Tea. Earl Gery. Hot." I'm pretty sure this is the first episode with this line.
Robert - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 1:27pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

"especially when you consider that Riker's version is probably almost fully correct"

Sure, the episode makes no sense when you ignore the premise! :)

The writers almost undoubtedly intended the old saying that "the truth is somewhere in between". Both Riker and Mrs. Apgar shifted the situation to put themselves in a better light.

Her husband just died and she's wracked with guilt for cheating on him. Also, she actually BELIEVES Riker killed her husband. Suddenly her mind starts to see his advances as aggressive.

In his version the advances were all her doing... I'm just saying perhaps they came onto each other and then realizing it was wrong both blamed the other person and started thinking better of their own actions.
Lionheart - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 11:36am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Jay really does make a good point. When I saw how different Mrs Apgar's interpretation of what happened was, I instantly realized this episode failed. I realize that perspectives can be different during the fact, and can even change after the fact based on one's personal feelings, but this episode didn't just stretch it, it spaghettified it. There is no way she would turn a relatively normal conversation into an attempt at rape. Aside from that, she had a clear view of what happened when Apgar attacked Riker, so I find it very unlikely she would recall Riker punching Apgar in the gut twice -- especially when you consider that Riker's version is probably almost fully correct. To go from Riker dodging Apgar's punch, to Apgar being punched (rather slowly) twice... no. It just doesn't work.

The plot would've been more believable if Mrs Apgar were simply lying about what happened. Of course, the rest of the plot would have to be overhauled to fit that, so maybe Troi would have to have trouble reading Mrs Apgar... maybe it'd work if she were somehow a master of deceit.

Overall, it was just another mediocre TNG episode.
Robert - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

"First, this corrects Robert’s assertion that “All Trills CAN be joined.” They cannot; but what Robert probably meant was that all Trills that CAN be joined MAY do so. This means that it is only partially true that “everyone has an equal chance at a symbiont”. But it is still partially true."

Agreed. All Trills can be joined the way all humans can procreate, even though some of us can't. Legally we all have the opportunity to do so (even if some are biologically prevented).

"Second, it shows that the Trill state quite simply lies to its population. Not about top secret treaty negotiation clauses with an alien species, which might be quite understandable, but about the very nature of the Trills themselves. This is powerful stuff."

Agreed, although they lied to the Federation too (and I don't think Sisko blew the whistle, given that episode I think he may have left a lot of it out of the report). I wonder what the Federation would do if they learned of it?

"Third, it shows that Trills are, quite simply, divided in an A Team and a B Team. Half the Trills can never join. When you consider the enormous consequences of being joined, you must also consider the full implications of this fact. In time, it is virtually impossible to avoid, for instance, that the symbionts are joined to a host who is the descendant of a previous host, thus granting half the Trill population not only access to many former memories, but also to the memories of their own ancestors. This is immensely powerful stuff."

I do agree. I don't know that it's enough to rule out the possibility that all Trills have equal right and self determination though.

I often wonder if the symbionts are regarded in a god-like way given the DS9 writing crew's penchant for dealing with spirituality.

I mean, why else would Ezri agreed to be joined? If I was dying, and you could save me by "merging" with me... would you do it? (I doubt it)
Beth - Mon, Nov 24, 2014, 4:16am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Actually, a 3 out of 4 is the right rating. I keep mis-seeing your 4-star rating as a 5-star one, for whatever reason. :p
Next »Page 1 of 906
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer