Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 38,795 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,552
Set Bookmark
Locke
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Yeah, trying to work out which thing was more successful based on ratings can be taken to the extreme. I guess what a lot of people mean here is commercially, financially successful. In terms of how succesful something was as a piece of creative storytelling and how well recieved it was by the people who watched it, that's a different issue.

I do understand why it's commonly considered one of the weaker series of Trek and I'd probably agree, but I've definitely warmed somewhat to Enterprise lately. It's very flawed but I do like the 'pioneer spirit' feeling from the first couple of seasons, and I liked a lot of the in-universe nods from season 4.

Either way you look at it though, Enterprise was considered by a lot of critics to be quite stale and maybe representing a franchise that had lasted too long without enough innovation. BSG on the other hand was considered a bold, original breath of fresh air. Enterprise sticks to a very classic, safe formula. Light banter and action hour for the most part whereas I think many critics saw BSG as blowing away a lot of the cobwebs from sci-fi TV and really shaking up the forumla for the 2000s.

I don't really think one or the other type of entertainment is better or worse. I try to like my 90s style sci-fi and my gritty 2000s sci-fi fairly equally, but I think in terms of objective critical acclaim, BSG was the winner. It's harder to compare financial success because it's difficult to seperate the sole financial success of Enterprise from the net financial success of Star Trek the franchise.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Outsider65 "I hate to be that person, but... Would it kill them to have casted a guy who at least resembled the guy who played the original Khan?"

I remember at the time when it was pretty obvious that Into Darkness was a TWoK-remake I hoped they might have the sense to cast someone sensible as Khan Noonien Singh. If they wanted an English accent, for the Hollywood cliche English-accented villain, they could have invited Alexander Siddig to do it. Given that Dr. Bashir is supposed to be an augment too it would have been in-universe believable and good fan service to DS9 fans. Plus Siddig has had some solid big-screen roles since his DS9 days.

Personally I think Cumberbatch is overrated. Ethnicity aside, he just wasn't right for the role.

"Actually, I wish they hadn't ripped off Wrath of Khan but instead had made their own movie."

This would have been even more preferable
Set Bookmark
dave johnson
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 2:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Season 4 was what I hoped Enterprise was going to be.... an actual prequel with origin stories, birth of the federation, filling in storyline gaps, and caring about continuity (Season 1 and 2 didn't give a rip about continuity).

I did like the Xindi stuff in Season 3... perhaps if these were the first two seasons the series would have fared better. Season 1 and 2 pissed off a lot of trek fans due to blowing up continuity (they annoyed me in the premier with the 4 days to Kronos at warp 5).
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I think a lot of the outrage against Troi's and Seven of Nine's and T'Pol's costumes is at best excessive but I thought a bit part of why this episode felt so dumb and unpleasant was because it did feel exploitative, T'Pol's horniness was completely forced, with no real connection to let alone impact on the character.
A really sad aspect is that Dawson as a director pretty much does wrong everything she as an actress did right in the broadly similar "Blood Fever," there she and the episode overall treated the scenario with respect.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Enterprise takes a step back into the lame, lazily written episodes which plagued the first two seasons, and Archer reverts to the rookie captain with appalling judgement we thought we'd seen the last of long ago.

I have nothing really to add to what has already been written, but I do disagree with Jammer on one point. I didn't think that guest star Bill Cobb's role was 'nicely performed'. It seemed to me that it was often borderline inept.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

A satisfying conclusion to the trilogy that put Enterprise, belatedly, properly into canonical Trek territory and finally opened its local universe up into a real place where interesting characters do meaningful things. All the same it's perhaps by a slight margin the least of the three episodes - which is surprising since Shran is back. In fact there was something ever so slightly unsatisying about Shran this time. Was it just that the show had improved to such a degree that he wasn't automatically the most exciting character in the episode? Very possibly.

Jeffrey Combs is as outstanding as always, but I think part of the source of my misgivings is just that I don't really buy that Shran would torture Soval - or if I do buy it, then I think perhaps it damages Shran a little. But I'm sure Combs can recover Shran from this discrepancy unless he's given some truly stupid material in later episodes.

The final scene, introducing the Romulan conspirator is a sweet moment, ripe with all sorts of potential for future plot arcs, even if, like Jammer I'm confused as to how war with the Andorians does anything much to foster Vulcan/Romulan reunification (or at this juncture why that's the object of a conspiracy at all).

All in all a very satisfying three parter, which perhaps doesn't have quite the emotional clout of the outstanding three episode run towards the end of season three (the sequence which included 'Damage'), but is ultimately more important and significant.

Incidentally Manny Coto intended for Shran to become a permanent member of the Enterprise crew (an adviser' of some sort) in season five. The things we missed out on because of those addled opening seasons...

Set Bookmark
Caedus
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Let it be known I am both a prequel and old EU fan.

The best part of this movie was Vader slaughtering the rebels, I was rooting for the imperials because the rebel characters were so unlikeable, so painful to watch and listen too I honestly was cheering as they blew up.

The last scene also doesn't gel well at all with the first scene in ANH
Set Bookmark
Caedus
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

You know I think Jammer was way too hard on Voyager and what do I think about that?

Fuck him and every reviewer that didn't show Voyager the respect it deserved.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

Okay, as some one else here already pointed out: how the hell can an ASTEROID possibly be m-class (earth like)?! I usually don't let these things bother me that much. Star Trek seems to be in the habit of screwing this up repeatedly. Into Darkness had something as ridiculous as a planetoid with a breathable atmosphere, and humans could walk around completely exposed. But no signs of plant life??? (oxygen) Any way, pretty nice episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Despite some questionable plotting, this episode continues the new found form of its predecessor, and even manages to be a little more accomodating by virtue of picking up the pace a bit and keeping the exposition to a tolerable level.

The whole desert half of the story is a little weaker; the real action is going on with the machinations of the High Council (or at least V'Las) against - it turns out - the Andorians (BTW does he actually believe that BS about the Andorians having the Xindi weapon prototype?). Perhaps the weakest element of the story (though admittedly also it's most compelling) is V'Las's apparent complete domination of the High Council. Why are they such credulous wimps when it comes to questioning his clearly increasingly incredible assertions and actions?

Well never mind; I for one enjoyed myself and felt the story arc was sustaining its welcome return to quality Trek. And all of this eventually gets Shran back amongst things. Excellent....
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

At last! Season four gets off the ground, and so resoundingly that you can't help mourning that the producers waited so long to bring this show in from the fold.

As noted, this episode is packed with plot and detail and exposition, and I can imagine many viewers who perhaps grew up with the Voyager style of doing things being alienated. I'm inclined to say 'too bad', but it's ironic that it may have been partly this long awaited evolution of the show which helped drive its ratings into the ground even further. I'll admit at times data was coming so thick and fast I felt a little inundated, but it's a nice feeling to have after three seasons of obligatory fire-fights at the end of most episodes.

Sovall finally becomes a three dimensional, likeable character, and in the process brings Vulcan culture with him, out from the fog of anonymous assholism which the writers had inflicted upon it til this point. Mystery, intrigue, historical and Trek references abound, and there is no horrid acting (I've meant to mention for a while that becoming a junkie turned out to be the best thing to happen to T'Pol. Well before season three's end she'd shed her infuriating lack of affect and become a genuine character).

The slow pace was like a breath of fresh air - even if I'm a little confused about what all this Syrranite business is ultimately about - and crucially thus is the first time that Enterprise has EVER felt like classic Trek (there have been numerous outstanding episodes, but this the first time it's felt really canon.)

The density and exposition stop this from being a four star episode, but in terms of what it brings to the series, it's priceless.

Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I'm actually curious did O'Brien and Bashir recommend Rom read Karl Marx or did he just stumble across it while looking up stuff about Unions?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

Don't know what to say except I'm glad that's over. Jammer nailed it with 'The problem with The Augments is the augments.' Unfortunately for me this is true of the whole trilogy. I didn't find this episode so much worse than last week's that I'd put 1.5 stars between them.

Ok, NOW can this season get started properly?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

Sorry, that was uncharacteristically mean-spirited of me. I'd re-write it if I could. Nothing personal to A.M. But Mayweather is still a void.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

*struggle* *strain*. No, I can't do it. I just can't bring myself to enjoy this mini-arc, or this episode as much as most of you do. I didn't review 'Borderland' because I nodded off for a few minutes in the slave market act, but the rest of it just seemed hokey, with these characterless Supermen in designer torn clothes. Here Spiner has some quite good moments, but the presence of these bloody 'augments' just somehow renders the thing juvenile to me. I know this isn't a very surgical analysis, and perhaps I'm forgetting just how bad the bad episodes of season two (and even early season three) were, but so far season four is simply failing to ignite for me. Another episode with these brats to come, and then MAYBE something will happen to change my mind. I must remember that I judged four of the first six episodes of season three to be poor as well.

Since I'm alienating everyone and being negative, I may as well get this off my chest, too. I wish they'd just lost Mayweather somewhere along the line in season three. His complete and utter lack of presence, his seeming ability to exude nothingness every moment he's on screen makes me cringe. I'm actually to the point of becoming irritated if not angry angry whenever I have to watch him appear for a few seconds to deliver a completely non-essential line of dialog with less personality than Majel Barrett's computer voice. I just watched an interview with Anthony, and have the strong impression that he's genuinely as clueless about acting as he appears to be in this show. He also claimed to really like having the power to cause people to love or hate him, so I suppose this will make him happy.
Set Bookmark
Peter
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

Uhura's memory-wipe aside, I liked this episode. The two things that stood out for me were the cinematography, especially the shots looking over Nomad's "shoulder," and the music score. I realize many of the music quotes were reused later in the series, but wow they are good. I am not sure at what point they stopped composing new scores and simply used existing material. If the pieces in this episode were from earlier ones, I wish I knew which ones.

When watching TOS, I also keep in mind when it was done, and I'm frequently thinking the effects were so good for that time. The way Nomad floats around the Enterprise about 3 feet of the floor is so nicely executed. I couldn't tell if they had it on some kind of rolling dolly or suspended with wires, but neither was at all discernible. You can be sure none of it was digital! 3 stars for me on this one, just on the strength of the music and production values.
Set Bookmark
Ramanujan
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Finally a believable realistic scientist on the show. Bravo. Brilliant episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Gee, I'm going to have to disagree on this one. I spent most of the episode just wishing it'd hurry up and finish.

Don't get me wrong; I can see why this episode needed to happen, if for no other reason than as a punctuation point. And I completely understand that it's a sign of a now mature show that it takes the time to deal with consequences, digest what we've just been through, and spend time working with developing characters and relationships (well, for the core trio anyway.) It's just that I didn't find very much of it interesting. My highlight was Phlox's puffer fish moment.

So I see why this was probably nescessarily - though I really didn't quite buy the Earthlings xenophobia- at least not the hostility toward Phlox, who after all is supposed to be one of the heroes who saved Earth - but now that we've had our measured, mature moment, let's get on with whatever this season is actually going to be about.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I laugh every time nuSpock screams "KHAAAAAAAN". The guy hasn't even known Kirk long enough to get upset about his death, let alone been friends with him long enough to form that kind of bond. It's just his anger issues coming out as always. Why is nuSpock so prone to fits of rage? Watching this short, borderline-chubby guy chase after lithe, lanky (yes, I know those are opposites) Khan was laughable. Even if he had caught up with his short legs, he'd never win. Where are the buckets of green blood? If I remember correctly nuSpock even gets impaled in the next movie and they still don't show hardly any blood. We're the filmmakers embarrassed to show green blood for some reason?

Cumberbatch should have been a Gorn or other alien race. He'd have made a really great Gorn. The man already looks reptilian. He'd have also made a good Vulcan. But he wasn't a great Khan, mostly because the character he was given to play was nothing like the real Khan. It was a really strange casting choice IMO, probably based off of Cumberbatch's popularity rather than suitability for the character.

I hate to be that person, but... Would it kill them to have casted a guy who at least resembled the guy who played the original Khan?

Actually, I wish they hadn't ripped off Wrath of Khan but instead had made their own movie. It just invites comparisons between the two and theirs is so vastly inferior.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

**Valeris, not Saavik
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

Having said that, the end of part two does hopefully bring this temporal Cold War thing to a close, and in a way the final scene is the true end of season three.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

@JohnC

I don't speak for everyone, but if you're referring to my comment, I call all "forced psychic entry into someone's mind" scenes that come up in Trek mindrape, because that's what it's called. It's portrayed as a deep violation of a person to do that to them without consent, force your way into their mind, and in the common vernacular it is referred to as "mindrape".

It has nothing to do with Saavik being female. There's a TNG episode where a guy mindrapes two female characters and one male character and it is explicitly called rape by the characters in that episode. A scene from the original series where Spock mindmelds with an unaware sleeping Kirk is often referred to as mindrape as well.

It's called mindrape because it's considered a horrible violation of a person, not because it's implied that it's saying something bad about Spock. The term is meant to make you uncomfortable, to emphasis what the writers are trying to get across: that it's a horrible violation and thus a truly last-resort when Spock does it. I don't use the term because I am accusing Spock of being a bad person, I use the term because in Sci-fi, that is the term used to describe the event that took place. It's not a 100% accurate term but it's the term used.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

One of the weak points of the story, for me, is Snoke. He feels pulled out of thin air to be a copy of the Emperor and not an organic character in any way. I mean, seriously, where the frak did he come from? What hole was he living in during the original trilogy? "Snoke" just *sounds* like a phony name to me.

He'd better be someone we know or have heard of (please let him be Darth Plagueis, please let him be Darth Plagueis). Heck, I'd even accept him being a horribly mutated version of Jar Jar. (Kidding - I'm not that desperate.)]

But seriously, where the FRAK did Snoke come from? Hope we'll get the answer in VIII and IX.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

I've missed out a lot of reviews for late season three eps; I'l try to catch up.

This isn't going to be very in-depth, and it can be taken to apply to both parts of this episode.

I think we're largely in agreement that season three turned a corner somewhere in its second half, and that the standard of the episodes in its last third, on average, was high. I'd say it seemed like a show that had finally found its feet. There is a scene in one of these episodes though, where Archer addresses the crew, and tells them that when this mission is over they can go back to doing what they did before. I understood what he meant, still it seemed to be an ominous reminder of how dismal things had become in season two. This was not what I wanted to return to after 'the mission'.

Well I can't say that this season four debut particularly reminds me of seasons one of two, but let's be honest, it's a considerable let-down. Freakin' alien time-travelling Nazis with the worst make-up seen on Trek since... when, actually? This whole two-parter was very mediocre. Come on, Manny - we know you can do better than this.
Set Bookmark
Vii
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

One of my alltime favourites from TNG. I always enjoy Brannon Braga episodes. This is right up there with Cause and Effect, Parallels, and Phantasms. It was great to see the entire aft section of the runabout - I only wish DS9 had utilised it more, considering how heavily featured they are.

Not too crazy about the aliens - I thought they were trying to stop the power transfer as well, which was what EVERYONE was trying to do, including Picard's team, so why attack Data and Laforge? I get that it makes for suspenseful viewing, but still a bit silly. Still though that's only a minor nitpick which I'm willing to forgive as the episode is so good. Troi's hair extensions were so obvious that I was distracted every time there was a close-up profile shoot of her, but considering that this was the 90s, I suppose I shouldn't be complaining too much.

Next ►Page 1 of 1,552
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.