Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 39,465 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,579
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Sun, May 28, 2017, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Man, I thought this episode was so boring. Nothing happens, the foldout keyboard is so laughable en the way she talks to grinning Picard while playing Frere Jacques was really annoying. And they chickened out by not killing her on the surface. Could have given some extra dimension to Picard. Two stars at most for me. *yawn*
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, May 28, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I can understand a possible reasoning for this episode being that by introducing an alien species that is worse than the Borg, they've diminished the Borg and just created "yet another really bad guy". I suppose also continuing with a CG race would have been costly.

However on first watch it really was very frustrating as species 8472 was finally a truly alien non-humanoid species and something to fear, then suddenly they've been humanised, turns out they're not so bad after all and they all end up having a hug. Hated it because of that. Re-watched and still find it frustrating. It wouldn't be so bad if they were developed further as a species infiltrating the Federation and other worlds. Though is derivative.

In actual story and delivery, it worked well until the happy ending. That and the frustration of ruining a good alien wrecks the episode. Could have been a 4 star, more like 1.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 28, 2017, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

4 stars just for the scene where Laas kills the Klingon. Finally! Someone stands up to these xenophobic Klingon bullies. They pick drunken fights at the drop of a hat and then act all surprised when someone finally stands up to them.

And Worf, with his precious Miss Kronos Sash, acting all offended and taking the side of the Klingons. I can imagine him clutching his pearls: "Oh, My! How dare someone stands up to my species' bullying. How very dare they!"

There are no security cameras on the promenade or in the hold?

Plus, probably the first male gay scene in Star Trek or TV! Kudos.

The episode did start out iffy, though. Miles mentions Keiko in the first few minutes, and I was bracing myself for 45 minutes of putting up with her crap acting.
Set Bookmark
khatsar
Sun, May 28, 2017, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Oh my Lord. Archer already knows the Kreetassans are offended at the sight of people eating in public. So he graces their planet with an animal that engages all bodily functions out in the open? Porthos couldn't get his fresh air on a less sensitive away mission? How could Archer expect the Kreetassans to accurately predict which native pathogens would affect an alien quadruped based on a "genetic profile?" I would imagine any such analysis would be speculative, at best.

If Archer was a responsible pet owner, he wouldn't be taking Porthos down to populated worlds at all. I noticed that the crew doesn't scrub down before leaving the ship. Who's to say what alien races may not be deathly allergic to dog hair? ;)

Phlox's needling about Archer's sex life was creepy, and I'm sick of hearing about his 500 degrees. I'd rather see more creative medical techniques or other evidence of his ingenuity. Show, don't tell. As it is, I'm unimpressed by Phlox so far. When sweaty Archer hands him a vial and Phlox plunks it directly into the clean box without even quickly sanitizing it, I cringed a little. He conducts surgery on Porthos without putting on any kind of surgical protective equipment, and watching him converse with Archer directly over the tank was a little gross. This may be the scientist in me overreacting a little.

Archer's wet dream was unnecessary; I can understand why he'd have conflicting feelings about T'Pol, but I didn't need to see all that, and the Freudian slips were embarrassing to watch. That final scene with T'Pol hinting attraction toward Archer was absolutely silly, and I tire of the writers' attempts to convince us Archer is Sexy and Totally Not the Blandest Captain in All of Trek. The sexual tension between T'Pol and Trip, on the other hand, feels far more natural to me.

Hoshi catching the bat was awesome, though, and Phlox's nighttime routine was mildly amusing.
Set Bookmark
khatsar
Sun, May 28, 2017, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

I'm not sure why T'Pol would feel guilt over shooting Jossen in self-defense. Also not sure why she didn't just use the stun setting. She never tells us that Jossen's death was an accident, so I don't see a reason to conclude that her weapon was accidentally set to kill. The entire crux of her guilt is baffling.

Also baffling: that this type of incident would affect a highly trained Vulcan agent to the point of requiring brainwashing, or that Vulcan High Command would re-assign her to this mission years later. I appreciate Blalock's acting, but this plot made very little sense to me. And I don't think Menos did a good job of coming across as sympathetic upon capture. He launched into his "poor me, I have a family" act a bit too eagerly. At no point did I get the sense that this is a Vulcan who chose to abandon his culture. It would have been nice to see some remnants of Vulcan coolness.

I did enjoy the last scene with T'Pol and Archer-- I far prefer that dynamic to the "mutual attraction" drek from A Night in Sickbay.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, May 28, 2017, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Did the probe have inertial dampeners? A good Worf episode even if it didn't make much sense.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, May 28, 2017, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Truth be told, Trek has been way too conservative in its casting for a long long time. The diversity of The Expanse's cast, for example, puts Trek to shame. And it's not only the cast, but characters too. The overwhelming "anglo-saxon-ness + other assorted Germanic peoples-ness" of Trek is grating to say the least.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, May 28, 2017, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I think the issue is that most of the human (and humanoid) characters are white so it is natural for whites to date exclusively white and conversely conspicuous for black to date black.

The issue is not a double standard in viewing black versus white characters; the issue is the racial balance of the cast to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, May 28, 2017, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Luke,

I shared a similar sentiment on other threads here. Funny how no one ever finds it curious when white people only date other white people. For example, every single one of Picard's love interests were white (that I am aware of). Huge majority of white characters on various Star Trek shows dated or were romantically interested in other white characters and everyone is apparently OK with it. But the moment a black character shows what appears to be exclusive interest in other black people, we get remarks about that.

I agree that it's somewhat strange that 24th century humans still seems to think in racial terms, but that goes for ALL humans, black or white.
Set Bookmark
N
Sun, May 28, 2017, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

3.5 stars - didn't appreciate how good this one was when I saw it as a kid. Trauma, PTSD, survivor's guilt, shame... it's a heavy ep and Ethan Philips was superb conveying these difficult emotions. Given the potential displayed in this episode, it really makes you realize how underutilized Neelix was as a three-dimensional character - troubled, scarred and lonely yet kind and relatable. As it stands, his story can basically be told in three episodes: Jetrel, Mortal Coil, Homestead.
Set Bookmark
Daggoth
Sat, May 27, 2017, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I see some people saying that Janeway was out of line when she went against B'elanna's wish to not go through with the procedure.
But what about the creature attached to her? They would still need a procedure to remove it in order to transport it to it's own kind eventually so shouldn't the prime-directive or first contact rule apply there?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 27, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

"Rape victims are responsible for their children the same as any parents. You cannot legally abandon your child just because it is the product of rape"

"Excuse me. Yes, you can. Abortion in these cases is 100% legitimate and anyone with a healthy brain will agree with it under those circumstances. "

You cannot "abort" a child - which by definition, is already born.

As I stated, a rape victim cannot abandon her [already born] child regardless of how that child came into existence. There is no legal classification for children born of rape which negates their human rights (or their parents' responsibilities).

The example cited by Chachotay's dad had nothing to do with abortion. Like Chachotay, the tribe was faced with a fait accomplit - an actual child. Very much a different situation than a rape victim deciding to abort a fetus in-utero.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Here's what should have happened:

"Please. You can't let the Kazon take the array. They will annihilate the Ocampa"

Janeway: "Listen. We have something called the prime directive that forbids us to interfere. But, more importantly, I couldn't give a fat pimple on my aging arse as to what you think. You brought us here against our will and experimented on my crew. What kind of "caretaker" does that? My crew is my first priority. Maybe you should have been smarter and prepared for this day - rather than sticking probes into innocent beings at the last minute? You know what you can do with yourself, don't you?"

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I watched it all - and it wasn't too bad. Not bad, but not good. I didn't like the whole "Caretaker" nonsense, or the ridiculous idea that this species it was protecting lives for so few years and can mature so rapidly. Not believable in the slightest on so many levels. Turn off your brain. Janeway's decision is absurd and against the first duty of any captain. As the first post notes, the writer forgot (on purpose, no doubt) that there is such a thing as timed detonations.

Most of all, I was annoyed that this entity is given a free pass after violating the crew in one of the worst ways possible (they were experimented on - and it was very painful). You can see how brainless the writers are that they don't see a contradiction portraying this being as compassionate and caring at the same time as having it experiment on other living beings—and hoisting them light-years from their loved ones with no means of returning home.

How ridiculous is that? Just think about it. Think about what a useless writer you have to be to create such a massive contradiction with personality .

The other problem, of course, is that the Marquis become Starfleet as early as this very episode. I thought it happened later, but, already, it's obvious they rushed the story forward to create one crew. They never had ANY intention of making a believable and thought-out transition period - or a struggle between the two crews. It was laziness from the word go.

As I've said a billion times... it's entertaining. But, ultimately, this is like a packet of crisps to a glass of red wine (in writing terms).
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Ah, yes.... because all of us "pearl clutching" conservatives really had a problem when, say, Worf (played by a black man) ended up with Dax (played by a white woman). Or when Worf and Ezri hooked up. Or when Bashir and Ezri ultimately ended up together. Or when Worf and Troi had a relationship. Or when Paris (a white guy) married Torres (played by a Hispanic woman) on VOY. Or when LaForge over on TNG only expressed interest in white women. Or when Mayweather ended up having a past relationship with a white woman over on ENT.

But put two black people together in a realtionship and people actually start pearl clutching.

Funny how that works.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, May 27, 2017, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

Rape victims are responsible for their children the same as any parents. You cannot legally abandon your child just because it is the product of rape,
---------

Excuse me. Yes, you can. Abortion in these cases is 100% legitimate and anyone with a healthy brain will agree with it under those circumstances. Not only is that child likely to grow up and find out his father is a rapist, but the mother will be reminded daily by the child's presence of what happened. It is totally selfish and unfair of you to expect that a conception through a heinous act should be treated the same as through a loving and stable union. Bonkers. NO WAY.

As for adoption. Gee, yeah, cause that really helps the child. Just being given away. We have to get away from this mental illness thinking.
Set Bookmark
Peter
Sat, May 27, 2017, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

I just finished watching this, and I don't think this episode is being given enough credit. Yes, it's really quite similar to many, many episodes that came before it. And yes, it does drag a bit towards the end. But unlike most of its Voyager predecessors, the 'primitive' people behave in a rational, if suspicious, manner. They aren't hostile for no reason, they aren't intractable in the face of reason, and they don't go crazy and attack our heroes at the end for the sake of an action scene.

And there's other good stuff. The dialect spoken by the Novans was distinct enough from normal English to set them apart, but also close enough to be easily understood at all times. That's a lot harder than it sounds, and it makes sense if the oldest survivors of the Novan colony were five years old. And the debate between Archer and T'Pol about what to do about the Novans if they wouldn't move willingly is metatextually interesting. In other Star Trek series, the principle of non-interference makes the 'right' thing to do clear to the characters, even if they disagree with it, but in Enterprise, as this episode makes clear, that has yet to be codified. The as-yet-unborn Federation is still feeling out the edges of its principles, defining itself, and that conversation reflects that.

There's interesting stuff happening here, even if it's wrapped up in a fairly stock plot.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, May 27, 2017, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

So...if Nog had headphones (or super sensitive hearing) or Jake had earplugs, none of this episode would have happened? Lazy writing.

Also, in the 24th century, people are still so racist that they 1) haven't intermarried enough to get rid of distnct races, and 2) pick dates and mates based on skin color, (but not species, apparently). Cowardly writing meant to avoid pearl- clutching conservatives that would balk at seeing the natural evolution of humans into a mixed race mutt or seeing people of different races in intimate relationships.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, May 27, 2017, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I didn't mind the episode but it left so much unanswered and was so implausible. So I agree mostly with the review.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 27, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

"My problem with this episode is the conclusion that rape victims should be responsible for any resulting child. "

Rape victims are responsible for their children the same as any parents. You cannot legally abandon your child just because it is the product of rape, although I suppose you could give it up for adoption (as one could if the child was born of a consensual relationship).

The key point here is that the child is a fait accompli. We are not talk about person's right to abort a pregnancy not of their choosing. The father's example (of children borne of rape by whites being accepted by the tribe) is similar as the tribes were facing the choice of what to do with children that were already born - they could either accept them or reject them and they chose the former.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, May 27, 2017, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I know I must seem like a whiner who just hates Voyager because he was told to hate it and I see a lot of people really liking this one but I'm sorry, I think it's pretty mediocre.

1. The premise is very cliched. A member of the crew is accused of a crime by an alien society with extreme punishment and the crew has to investigate what really happened. This doesn't ruin anything but at this point, but you should do something really original with it.

2. The plot relies on Voyager crew to be morons. Did they not bother to look up basic laws of a culture they are trading with? If they are around long enough for Neelix to get a date (on personal level, thanks a lot for showing us his fetish, really needed that), they should know SOMETHING.

3. I'm... confused about the message here. If it's about literal thought crimes, then it's stupid, because we can't transmit those by accident. If it's about homosexuality as some suggested, I guess gayness makes you rape people? If it's about drugs... Actually, maybe? It's definitely pretty gutsy for a TV show at the time to suggest legalising drugs may be for the better or at least that war on drugs does more harm than good. And it doesn't portray dealers as some innocent victims either. Well, according to Memory Alpha, it's meant to be about censorship of violent media, which I guess works too.

I do like insight into Tuvok and his violent nature, but it's nothing all that new. I also like that the poliewoman was an actual character and not just strawman to preach at.

BTW, regarding the discussion above, I thing with Voyager's continuity that a lot of people defending it miss, is that it's a symptom of a larger problem: That the show fails to utilize its premise.

Two times have I finished most of this comment and two times I lost it. This has nothing to do with anything, but it pisses me off and I neeed to share it.
Set Bookmark
Levi
Sat, May 27, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

My problem with this episode is the conclusion that rape victims should be responsible for any resulting child. Chakotay's vision-dad basically told him that since it's his DNA, it's his son and he should take care of it. And Chakotay was basically scifi-raped by Seska.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 27, 2017, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Hello Everyone!

Ensign Vorik. Right off the bat, I knew I recognized him but could not remember exactly from where. Ah, the Enterprise, yes, that was it. Thanks Jammer. And, since he was playing a Vulcan the exact same way here, with the same rank, I'd say it's the same character as well. And I kind of like him. *I just did some minor searching and it has been suggested Taurik and Vorik were twins. But, they didn't put that in the show, so your mileage may vary.*

But... as I've slowly moved along during my re-watch, I don't recall seeing any Vulcans apart from Tuvok. There might have been some, somewhere, but I don't recall them. It seems to me if there was more than one Vulcan on board, they would hang out together sometimes, just as the Earthlings do. Like in the mess hall, sipping Vulcan tea and quietly reading at the same table, or playing Vulcan brain games together. Perhaps when Tuvok was losing his marbles after melding with the serial killer, Ensign Vorik could have helped him with his mental discipline (seems logical to me).

We've seen the engine room plenty of times, but this is the first time we see him? We give a pass to new Earthers we see, because many in the background are faceless uniforms, and if they bring one of them to the fore, well, we just didn't really notice them before. But with a specific race where there are only a few on board, it seems we'd remember them and they would interact. But maybe Ensign Vorik wasn't ever seen because he was on the Lower Decks. :D

I don't know, if they were home, I'd figure he was just a new crew member. But he's been on the ship at least two years, and probably longer, and they give him lines to speak that could have been given to anyone. He doesn't do anything particularly Vulcan-ish, he just seems to suddenly appear. That... seemed off to me...

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, May 27, 2017, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

@Luke See, I really wanted to like that Jadzia is for once treated as in the wrong and gets called out on her arrogant behavior. Problem is, well, is she really all that wrong in this case? Sirella is being difficult to her for admitted racist reasons and and acts like the injured party after pulling out a knife (even by klingon standarts, she coulda just punch her). I was genuinely enjoying Jadzia calling her out on her "my grandma was a princess" bullcrap. I guess given how she acts during the wedding, it could have been just a test but I think it should have been made more clear. Kinda reminds of how in Lower Decks, they had a test like that, except the point was one should stand up for themselves. I agree Jadzia was just being passive agressive confrontational with the party, but is it really that much worse than Sirella being straight up agressive?

And Worf... Like, she tells him she doesn't want a klingon wedding like Worf wants, so he storms off. But Martok then convices him to stop being stubborn and be willing to compromise. So he goes to Jadzia... an tells her to do what he wanted. How generous of him. Yes, Jadzia was doing pretty much the same thing in Let He Who is Without Sin, but I didn't like her there either.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

@DLPB: I agree. Granted they had to get the exposition out of the way quickly for newcomers, but it still seemed more of a ripoff than anything else.

Myself, I'm not sure what I would have done in the writers' place. Maybe just cut it altogether and leave the rest of the ep alone?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,579
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.