Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,846 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 914
mark - Mon, Dec 22, 2014, 8:46am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Just watched this again yesterday on blu-ray and a few things stick out:

First, if the Borg could travel back in time to assimilate Earth, why didn't they just do that in the first place rather than attack the planet with a cube and have to fight off the Federation fleet? (And why did they once again only send *one* cube to attack Earth?)

Lily was all well and good but her inclusion took valuable screen time away from the cast. Sure, she gives us a point of view character who can comment on the differences the 24th century represents, but I think giving Doctor Crusher a meaty character moment was a much more important consideration. Crusher should have been the one who talked Picard down at the end, not Lily. It would have given the relationship between Crusher and Picard a nice jolt and it would have given Gates Mcfadden something to do. She's the Chief medical Officer after all and she has every right to relieve the captain of duty if his behavior is endangering the ship. More to the point, she's the one member of the crew who, by virtue of their relationship, could believably engage in a shouting match with Picard. Moore and Braga dropped the ball on this.

I liked Crusher's impatient and condescending tone toward the EMH. I never subscribed to the idea that the EMH on Voyager could have become sentient, so this scene was a breath of fresh air for me. Data is a person, and his creation was a remarkable event; the EMH is a holographic tool that happened to be used a lot on Voyager. Just because you play a hologram over and over again, that doesn't make it alive.

The Borg Queen--she sort of made sense in that she was analagous to a queen bee, I thought the idea of her vamping around trying to seduce Data came off a bit silly. And did she really need to be wearing lipstick?

Best scene: Troi drunk.
Amanda - Mon, Dec 22, 2014, 12:35am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

I tried to like this. I tried to sympathize but gah, I didn't t like them!

Amanda - Mon, Dec 22, 2014, 12:34am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

holy smokes, long comments on this one :-)

I didn't like it. silly how this tentacle light being drags them in. Once again, poor stupid Harry.

Paced boring. Zzzz
Amanda - Mon, Dec 22, 2014, 12:30am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

It's all been said. Boo, needs a rewrite.

I liked the dark bridge atmosphere of the ship to set the tone, LOVED Janeway back handing Tuvok, and I loved her hair.

I laughed at the multi stun. whoops.
Mike Chambers - Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 11:23pm (USA Central)
Re: ANDR S2: Last Call at the Broken Hammer

I'm watching Andromeda for the first time, going through episode by episode. This is the first one that's taken me several nights to finish. I keep pausing it and going to do other stuff. It's that damn boring.
navamske - Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 2:30pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

@Jack

"[Re: Fontaine] Wasn't it Valtaine?"

Yes. (Actually "Valtane.")
msw188 - Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

In response to phaedon, I don't think your claim about 'resentment' towards TNG is warranted. The review here gives 3/4 stars, which looks pretty strong to me. The sentence " "Conundrum" is entertaining enough for me to forgive its unlikelihood" is followed by two whole paragraphs about how the episode successfully plays with the characters despite the ridiculous premise.

In response to Navamske, I often tend to like this sort of narrative device too if it doesn't come up too often. It works especially well in little self-contained bits like this episode. One thing that always bothers me though is the opposite arrangement - 'point of view' protagonists having knowledge that is withheld from the viewer. See my comments on Defector. I've complained about this in some other things as well.
Adam - Sun, Dec 21, 2014, 12:52am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

"Soylent Green is people!"

Am I seriously the only one who was reminded of that movie by the premise of this episode?
navamske - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 9:04pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

I think a great dramatic storytelling device is when the audience has information that the main characters don't have, which is one of the reasons I like this episode, despite its obvious flaws. Another example was that early "Enterprise" episode in which the crew of the NX-01 had dealings with the Romulans (the one in which Reed gets impaled through the leg) but didn't actually see them.
Nic - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 8:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

I finally got the chance to see the extended version of this episode on Blu-Ray. I must echo ReptilianSamurai's comments. I didn't think it was possible to improve on a classic, but I was spellbound. Of particular interest is a scene where Riker and Troi discuss whether their view of Data's sentience is true or imagined (whether they anthropomorphize him). Even as a telepath, Troi isn't sure. This scene makes Riker's arc much more involving, and I paid much greater attention to Frakes' performance.

All in all, I think this episode matches BSG's "Pegasus" in emotional impact and social relevance.
navamske - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 7:10pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

One problem I had with Troi's command persona was that she didn't have one -- O'Brien had to explain to Ro, "She [Troi] holds the rank of lieutenant commander." Troi herself should have shrugged on her command persona -- surely that's part of the training for the command track -- and said it herself, something all Al Haig-like, perhaps "I'm in charge here" and "Ensign Ro, you're on report for insubordination."
navamske - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 7:05pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

@grumpy_otter

"But did anyone else want to smack that Jay Gordon kid?"

yes
phaedon - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 4:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

You know, it's 2014 and I'm watching TNG again and this time, I feel like I'm watching it for the first time. I read the reviews here and sometimes I decide to skip an episode based on a poor rating.

But I've decided to take a stand on "Conundrum" of all episodes. It really has sunk in how much resentment there is towards TNG both in the reviews and some of the comments. I think that this is exactly the type of episode that makes or breaks you as a TNG fan - whether you can see past the episodic nature of the show, and even the "plotholes," to enjoy how the writers mix things up for the characters.

Quite frankly, it's episodes like this that drive home what the show is all about - it's not just "Best of Both Worlds" with a bunch of crap stuffed around it. It really does a disservice to the memory of the show to focus so overwhelmingly on the "plausibility" of the episode, which is so overwhelmingly outweighed by other, more character-driven, considerations in this episode - namely, nobody, including Data, knows who they are, or what their stations are. Their skills intact - but their identities unknown. The Prime Directive lurking underneath for Picard, and the alien mistaking Worf for a bloodthirsty Klingon - his parents are human, after all. Riker - who finally gets unleashed as a bit of a lady's man - sort of gets his ass handed to him at the end.

There is of course absolutely no discussion of this in "the review" - simply focusing on the absurdity of the alien. I have to say it's tremendously disappointing. And it reads mostly strongly in these trivial episodes, like someone who didn't really like TNG is just sloughing through it.



Jeff - Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 4:03am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Almost all of these comments missed the two most interesting characters in this episode: the mother who defied Verin to trust Voyager and save her child, and the little girl who first approached Tom and then discovered the change in the planet's atmosphere. So often in Voyager the female characters undone the damage created by the bad males.
Black_Goat - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 10:30pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Vortex: B+
This was a much stronger episode than the previous Odo-centric outing, and definitely one of my favorites so far. Rene Auberjonois is just so good that even the goofier aspects of this one aren’t particularly notable. It helps that Croden is one of the most compelling guest stars we’ve seen so far, and that nearly every interaction he has with Odo makes for an interesting dynamic. “Odo’s origins” hadn’t been something I was hyper-concerned with before this point despite a few past references, but this episode made me believe that the storyline is potentially pretty fascinating.

The Good:
- I like that the wormhole is getting a bit more play.
- Again, everything Odo. The straight-talking, humorless and gruff security chief must trade words with a man whose passion seems to be dissembling wordplay. I like how Auberjonois plays his restraint; you can tell there’s a part of Odo that would like nothing more than to follow Croden to the changeling enclave, but he never wavers in his duty. But his form of justice is tempered with honor and even a certain amount of benevolence, as we see from his later interactions with Croden and the girl (that smile!). While actually speaking to the crystal at the end was a bit of a stretch, I like the notion that it’s Odo’s cousin of sorts, and I hope it will make return appearances in future episodes dealing with Odo’s longing for a home.
- Speaking of that: I find it really interesting that Odo is both completely confident in his place on DS9 and extremely drawn to the notion of finding more changelings.
- Croden is an excellent character. Half of what he says is false and he manipulates Odo easily, but ends up being a sympathetic character possessed of basic decency despite all that. He’s morally grey and very ambiguous, and thus a type of character that the show has had luck with before (I’m thinking Garak and Kira’s old comrade from “Past Prologue”).

The Mixed:
- Quark and Odo were fine in this episode, (“I’m the man behind the bar!”) but I actually think Quark has been slightly overused now at the expense of some other characters. I mean, he was only significant in the early portion of this one, but the last two episodes were pretty Quark-centric and we haven’t seen much of anyone else recently. I do like how the show always stops short of making him completely amoral (notice that he doesn’t really embrace the idea of Ah-Kel killing Odo). Unlike Rom, who’s…kind of murder happy isn’t he? There’s something a little disturbing about that guy because he lacks both Quark’s cleverness and his humanity.

The Bad:
- The Miradorn are interesting in theory, but this wasn’t the right episode for them. Didn’t have time to flesh out the twins-concept, and so Ah-Kel becomes just another bad guy.
dlpb - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 6:46pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Brilliantly conceived and executed episode.
--------

Once again, have to disagree. Its whole premise is stolen from Babylon 5 again (The prophecies from Valen and the Vorlons), Except B5 did it much better, and over a proper arc.

Ignoring that, it's a decent episode, but also as the above poster notes, produced questions that the writers deliberately didn't try to answer because they couldn't.
Robert - Fri, Dec 19, 2014, 6:19am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time. "

They should understand linear time as well as Sisko does. Since he explained it to them!
phaedon - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I'm really enjoying revisiting TNG for some reason. Bit of trivia:

The ship's name is correctly spelled "USS Brattain" --- even though it's misspelled on the hull of the ship itself. You can see a screen grab of the typo here:

www.mundostartrek.com/imagenes/biblioteca/brattain.jpg

This happens around 5 minutes into the episode. A few minutes later, Beverly and Picard review the Captain's Log from the Brattain and the entry is stamped "USS Brattain - NCC-21166."

Hope you found that interesting!
shire - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:00pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

I find it appalling that a man can die and the captain cant give two shits about him.
The captain has been preaching about how import the crew is to him but suddenly its ok to put some random that's been stuck in space for 15 odd years before the rest of the entire crew.
Screw the guy stuck in space, theirs already a **** load more people on the ship that don't want to die for some random person that "might!" be alive... They dont even know what the modifications will do to the ship either.

Yes I realize the captain has a past with them and that should not effect him as the captain of a star ship.

Personally this episode has blown out my judgement of the captain and I think tucker was right in questioning him and they should have left then and there. Worst episode of star trek enterprise so far...
Samuel - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 9:30pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Nick P is mr Plinkett.
dlpb - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 6:54pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Entertaining, but as usual full of holes. The biggest one is that the trial would not be allowed to proceed in this fashion. Firstly, having one judge is unlikely to happen, and even if that was the case, "as far as logic dictates" is plainly ridiculous. Court rooms work by law and strict rules. A judge would work within those confines (Starfleet rules in this case), not Vulcan "logic".
Charles - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 5:51pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

"This will be the end, or the beginning"

Interesting, for aliens supposed to be out of linear time.
Edax - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 3:51pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

The thing that bother's me most about this episode...Is that Q is dressed as a British general (mostly), yet everyone identifies him as a French Marshal? French Marshals dressed in blue, white and gold, with maybe a red sash. Q is dressed in red and white, the colors of the British, France's sworn enemy! That's be like Q dressing in a SS uniform, and everyone referring him to an American general. Just how lazy is their custom department? The French soldier uniforms look terrible, but at least they got the general color scheme right.
Charles - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 1:59pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

"It won't be easy. If it's true this section has existed since the birth of the Federation, they've managed to hide their tracks very well"

- Right, by telling every Tom Dick and Harry they interrogate about their existence and purpose. Surely NO ONE would have EVER heard of them by now.

Come on writers, this is ridiculous.
Beth - Thu, Dec 18, 2014, 11:46am (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

I hated this episode when I first saw it, and I still hate it. It's only fun is for a few good Red Shirt deaths, and the Yeoman actually kicking the ass of some People of Vaal instead of doing the usual things she does in this episode, such as whining, asking a question that no one can really answer (how reproduction happens on this planet - cue unnecessarily awkward *SEX* speculation), and being the stereotypical blonde git whose idea of seducing Chekov (LOL, "Pav") is to ask him dumb blonde questions.

Actually, everyone is annoying in this episode, except maybe Spock, who seems to be the sole voice of reason. Like, why is their way of life so reprehensible? Ohhh right, because the "plot" demands some forced conflict. I kind of wanted to slap McCoy for his stupid arguments, and Kirk for his asinine speech to the People of Vaal at the end on how they'll just enjoy this new life of toil so much ("HEY GUYS! You get to have the SEX now! Maybe you'll figure out how to reproduce! *crowd laughs at this for some reason*).

I especially wanted to phaser McCoy and Kirk for their dumb joke that Spock looks like Satan. Like Spock's NEVER heard that one before. Or maybe he hasn't, considering that pointy ears and arched eyebrows doth not the Devil make!
Next »Page 1 of 914
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer