Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33,390 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,336
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 6:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Not sure why so many of Khan's crew members or his "beloved wife" had to die after the Ceti Eel get's in their head.

A simple blood transfusion from Khan and they'd all be right as rain.


Very disappointed.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

"but if you had a Klingon / Federation crew(s) on this flying eyesore as a result of the fallout from the Dominion War that'd be pretty awesome if done right."

lol

If it is not a joint crew then I imagine the Klingon's legal team will be contacting Starfleet shortly.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 5:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

"I think we should follow that man, that brick may be an important clue"

She just doesn't even care any more.

Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@ Skeptical,

I must agree about this episode; it's not just great, it's superb. The entire thing is riveting, and the tension is really there. The characters the pacing, everything, as well as meeting a new foe that seemed almost stronger than the Federation ships.

Not that much is done about the Vulcan offshoot thing, but it subtly tell us that these people are as super-intelligent and even strong as Vulcans, but that unlike Vulcans are also wild and prone to temper and deception. In other words, they're pre-Surak Vulcans who are pretty much out of control. I like that tone a lot, because it does put the spotlight on Spock regarding this, and actually even a threat contained within, since in principle if Spock and other Vulcans dropped the logic lifestyle they could have turned out just like the warlike Romulans.

Mark Lenard as well - brilliant. I give this one 4 stars outright, and it's in my top 20 list for all Trek series combined. Top 2 for TOS (along with The Enterprise Incident). I might have to think about that some more but I think it's those two.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

@ Skeptical,

Oh, I completely agree that this is merely a good episode, which should have been great. Some aspects of it are outstanding, including Spock's hidden agenda (and even more hidden motives), as well as the completely unexpected turnaround where the Talosians, who were portrayed as antagonists, really turn into Pike's saviors in the end. It turns a straightforward episode like The Cage about monstrous aliens into a contemplative look at what those aliens really offered, and how failing to understand each other is what really caused the antagonism in the first place. A classic Trek message, if ever there was one, but not nearly as hackneyed as how such messages are delivered in later series such as Voyager (where you're hit over the head with it) or Enterprise (where it's shown in a kind of folksy, simplistic tone).

The parts that are unclear both make the episode better as a conversation piece, but also more unclear while being viewed.

To reiterate one thing William either said or alluded to, I don't think Pike *would* have changed his mind unless he was put in an extraordinary circumstance such as Spock put him in. Spock took a huge chance that he actually would, since if he didn't the whole trip was for nothing. He was banking on Pike having to revisit his memories and dealing with aspects of them he likely came out of with anger rather than clear-minded understanding. His takeaway from the event was that it was a bad, dangerous place, and nothing other than reviewing the events could change that. Perhaps it also took reviewing them with Spock, who was also there at the time (his #2), and who might have elicited Pike's sympathies since he had already gotten himself into serious trouble just to try to give Pike a gift.

There may be a side point to be made in Pike choosing to go back with the Talosians, which is what he had felt fed up, restless with his life, with Starfleet. Maybe the constant fighting, the antagonism, wasn't for him. After all, unless I'm mistaken, Pike came from a time during or just after the major Klingon-Federation war. I can see how yet another torturous experience with hostile aliens could give him some serious reservations about thinking that exploring is all so much fun anymore. But by going back to them he could do the one thing he probably always did want to do, which was to get to know new life forms in peace and engage in friendly exchange of knowledge. Heck, maybe he could even help them with their shattered world finally.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

The first time I watched this 2 years ago I actually didn't realize that this was a homosexual allegory until Sorens big speech. I thought this would just be an episode on an androgenus species and their wacky encounters with the enterprise crew. Amazingly this 24 year old episode has much better acting and plot than the Enterprise episode "Stigma" which dealt with a similar issue and also did its best to avoid mentioning that gays exist while also making as many awkward allusions to it as possible. 3 stars
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I'd rather they do an episode about the ship's lavatories, who cleans them and fills the soap containers, and the cabin cleaning staff than this dreck.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority. Apparently, for Jammer, it's Balance of Terror. Seriously, this is one of the best TOS episodes there is, and certainly the best so far in the series.

Part of it is that this is the first time we see an alien species on par with The Enterprise. Sure, there were the all powerful Talosians and Bartok, also the all powerful, but this is the first real ship to ship battle. This is the first peer to peer battle, not humans justifying themselves against someone more powerful. So it expands the scope of the Trek universe, and does so admirably. We now know what the Enterprise is capable of against an equal crew, and we see how Kirk and company react. Sure, by the time we get to Voyager, this is just standard background stuff they throw in every episode, but for now it feels very fresh.

Part of it is, of course, the performance of Mark Lenard and the Romulan presence. They could have remained enigmas, they could have just been generic villains. But instead, we spent a fair amount of time with them, getting to see different personalities. Sure, they were fairly standard - the eager and blind patriot lieutenant, the aged yet wisened adviser, and the thoughtful, philosophical captain - but Lenard's performance was masterful. He helped to clarify the episode and give depth to the Romulan empire. Watching him doing his duty even when he knew it was wrong, swearing loyalty to leaders he didn't believe in, was immensely satisfying. Even though the morality of the Romulans may be different, you can tell that these are a thoughtful, intellectual people.

As an aside, I'm curious as to the reason why they are a Vulcan offshoot. Trek never did do too much with that relationship (except perhaps the Unification story), and it doesn't add too much to the Romulan people. It seems to exist only as a reason to get Stiles even more riled up against Spock. On the other hand, perhaps it's also there to immediately show that these people are a force to be reckoned with. By now, we know Spock is very intelligent and highly analytical, so presumably it's an immediate hint that the Romulans will be similar.

Meanwhile, I like that there is more going on than just the battle. We see how it affects everyone. We see Stiles still burning with anger. We see Martine struggling with the loss of her fiancee. We see Kirk having to work his hardest to come up with the proper strategies. And we see Spock having virtually no reaction to discovering the Romulans. It focuses the episode rightly on the characters (on both ships), rather than the technical details of the battle itself.

Not that the battle itself was bad, far from it! There was a ton of tension there, particularly when the Romulans fired their weapon on the Enterprise. I like that the two ships were evenly matched, but with different advantages for each. Made the battle more of a battle of wits than just a slug fest. Yes, it was blatantly taken from submarine battles, and that got a bit silly at times (especially the "everyone must be quiet" part), but I think the tension was still there. It's very reminiscent of Wrath of Khan's final battle as well. And really, the mental battle between Kirk and the Romulan matched up fairly well to that between Kirk and Khan, even if the characters have an actual history in the movie.

Enh, I don't have too much more to say. It's just a great episode, y'know?
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

For what it's worth, I was also under the impression that Vina was had more physical deformities than just being ugly, what with the comment about coming back wrong. I assumed she had severe deformities and possibly was even in constant pain. If so, then it isn't just vanity that keeps her with the Talosians, and would fit with this episode's theme that living a fantasy life is ok when you're disabled.

As for the rest of the conversation, I suppose it does make some sense that the Talosians contacted Spock somehow and offered their assistance when they heard about Pike's accident. Perhaps they do feel something for him and have some affection after he demonstrated his abilities by breaking free of their illusions. Maybe they can offer him more now. And I like William's theory that the purpose of the court martial was to get Pike to relive those experiences. But given how antagonistic Pike was during the original visit to Talos, why would they think that would change his mind? What was the reason for changing his mind?

Also, how do they get a hold of Spock? Why him instead of Majel Barret? How can they project their thoughts across dozens of light years?

I think these (and others) are all interesting questions, and I think exploring both Pike and Spock in the second half of this episode would have been great. So I stand by my statement that the framing story falters in the second half. William and Peter bring up interesting points that they could have explored, but didn't. It's why I feel this is just a good episode rather than a potentially incredible one.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@ OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 3:18pm (UTC -5)

Where are you getting your numbers? The don't match BoxOfficeMojo.

www.boxofficemojo.com/franchises/chart/?id=startrek.htm

Are you forgetting all the $$$ made overseas?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@ NCC-1701-Z:

I think Fuller publically debunked the rumor that this was going to be set between ST6 and TNG the same time he said this wasn't going to be an anthology series.

What if this somehow WAS set after DS9 and VOY? I don't know how, but if you had a Klingon / Federation crew(s) on this flying eyesore as a result of the fallout from the Dominion War that'd be pretty awesome if done right.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Just watched ST2009 and this back to back in preparation for Beyond tomorrow.

Even with its flaws, this is a pretty good movie IMO. It had been a while, but even the whole hands to the glass thing wasn't nearly as cheesy as I had remembered it before. I guess I was too stunned that they actually had to balls to steal this classic scene and it took a few years for me to get over it haha.
Set Bookmark
Louis
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Woohoo! Congrats on finally posting it, Jammer!

Even handed, balanced, nuanced, and well-written (if a bit long), sir. Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer,

Is there a link to the other thread that had everyone's reviews/discussion?

If there is, I can't see it.

Thanks
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Indeed...

Telling the truth, my exact words on the line "My name is Khan" were silently mouthed, so as not to disturb movie patrons who might be enjoying the film...

"Oh come on."

But it's a solid movie, I think...not the greatest there ever was, but certainly not the shit show that Star Trek V was.
Set Bookmark
jim360
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

There are some valid criticisms about this film, but Daisy Ridley having a British accent is hardly one of them... Also, wasn't there a scene where Kylo Ren and Snokes actually discussed her unique talents? Before the "bring ... her ... to ... me" line?

I've seen this one four times now, including three cinema viewings -- a record for any film, so I did like it. When I saw it on DVD it felt a bit flatter, though. Perhaps it was the smaller screen; perhaps the already-derivative plot was wearing even more thin. But there are too many things to like about this movie, I think. Rey is awesome -- perhaps in a too perfect way, I can see that, but for some reason I genuinely don't care. There's something endearing about her. I could put this down to Ridley's fine work, or maybe like Finn I'm too enamored to see the flaws in her relative lack of them. That scene where she was able to save herself from the attackers early on, as FInn was running to save her, was brilliant I thought. And why not? It's the perfect counter to Leia's relative passiveness in A New Hope, where to be sure she stands up tall to Vader but otherwise falls quickly when attacked and spends a lot of the time in a cell or otherwise powerless while the men do all the hard work. What that means for TFA and feminism is anyone's guess but I seriously enjoyed watching it -- although as a counter to her all-round badassery in this film it seems clear that she has to come off worse in the next confrontation with evil.

I think her complexity, though, will come from discovering who she is and where she comes from, and that is useful because Luke already did the "flawed hero" thing in this story, so it serves to differentiate the two. Prior to the famous line in Episode V, Luke's background was a relative non-issue (indeed if I remember correct, it wasn't established that Vader was Luke's father until after ANH anyway) so it's a different way of developing a character. I hope it's not too predictably resolved -- although on the other hand as Star Wars was initially meant to be a story about the Skywalker family (and not Qui-Gon...), it's hard to see her being anything other than a Skywalker.

I also loved Kylo Ren, and think he's one of the finer villains I've seen. Oh, hes not intimidating as Vader is for sure, but then isn't that the point? He's intimidating in a different way as he's totally unpredictable and out of control. I suppose there's an allegory to be drawn with the different nature of modern societal "villains", essentially randomers who draw on the experience of the far more sophisticated and, while never in total control, still end up being deadly. I enjoyed him all the same, his "wannabe badass" nature played off well. Again, this is kind of the point -- when he removes that mask you aren't supposed to be intimidated; perhaps even, feel a little sorry for someone obviously so young nevertheless being so evil.

I also liked Finn, although his set-up is rather too rushed and I don't think the film does enough to explain what drove him to reject years of mental conditioning. But he seemed well-intentioned and also had some decent comic material. Well, it made me laugh anyway.

The only real weakness of the film -- aside from that monster-in-the-tunnels scene that I think should have gone for a more nuanced introduction of Han Solo -- is the plot, of course. Too derivative. They sort of try and get out of this by even openly admitting it: "oh, just like the last [two!] Death Star[s] then?", but StarKiller Base goes down too easily anyway, and it would have been better for it to either have still survived the film if it had to be included at all. On the other hand, I think some of the character dynamics make it a better film in some ways than A New Hope was. They end up being paced very similarly, and TFA is (unavoidably) more convincingly connected to its world's past than ANH was.

Since ANH came first it remains the better film in the end, but I would rate TFA higher than the prequels and possibly on a par with, or even slightly better than, ROTJ. Although that would appear to depend on whether I'm judging it by my second viewing of it or my fourth one. Better than the prequels, anyway, that could have been awesome but were poorly executed.





Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

They haven't actually said when in the prime timeline Star Trek Discovery will be set in to my knowledge, just that it will be in the prime timeline, not the Abrams timeline (yay!). Does anyone have any documentation on when they said it will be set between TOS and TNG, besides the original unconfirmed rumor?

I'm going to suspend judgement until the first full trailer comes out, but I'm not too sold on the ship design. There's a reason the original concept art was rejected, put it that way.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

They wanted to show something but the CGI is computer game level stuff. I'm not thinking this will be any kind of representation of what the series will really look like. It's like a proof of concept.

I'm hoping for set after Voyager/Dominion War rather than a midquel. I have faith though, they have some of the great names of Trek involved in this.
Set Bookmark
Alex (in the UK)
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I was hoping the version of the video I saw was a spoof - Klingon-like Starfleet ship in an asteroid with terrible (as in obvious) CGI. From comments here I guess not. Oh dear.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I'm glad it's Prime Universe. I'm glad it's in an earlier time-period (whatever flaws Enterprise had, they weren't *because* it was a prequel).

The ship design is odd, but we still haven't seen anything important about the series on-screen. No real clues about themes, characters, or writing.

I shall remain optimistic and excited for new Trek.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@MidshipmanNorris, you have a good point about fans sometimes being too picky. However, I think there are still movies that manage to impress. Interstellar, Mad Max, Ex Machina, Dawn of Planet of the Apes, just to mention a few in recent years that received pretty universal acclaim. Yes, it's possible that as we get older we also become pickier, but there are plenty of examples of movies out there that manage to meet our higher standards. So I don't think that's a sufficient excuse for the type of bad writing in a movie like STID.
Set Bookmark
R.
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I'm pretty disheartened by what I've seen so far. The ship design didn't exactly grab me (even the NX-01 had a nice symmetry to it) but this will be the third prequel we've gotten since 2001. It would have been nice if they could have moved beyond the 24th century into uncharted territory. Instead it looks like we're going back again. I expected something a little more daring from Bryan Fuller. :/
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

...Is this real life? Have I just read Jammer's STID review?

And he says it's good???

...There is a lot wrong with the movie, but my main gist of conversation back when was that we, as a fanbase, have learned how to pick apart a Hollywood Movie since we started watching Star Trek with our parents as children. :)

Of course we're going to notice the seams eventually.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Notice Klingon style musical motifs in the last part of the trailer.
Thinking the Klingons have joined the Federation and this is the first of a joint design Star Fleet ship.
Set Bookmark
james alexander
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

being a bit fussy, but is it possible for a performance to be "too strong"?

I remember seeing it and getting the impression that Benedict was completely overwhelming the rest of the cast. it isn't something that I can easily explain though.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,336
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.