Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

New: Bookmark and hide read comments | Clear bookmark

Total Found: 30,160 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1,207
Andrew
Wed, Feb 10, 2016, 12:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Big LOL that the writers should have just saved this concept/plot for the finale, what a way that would have been to conclude.
Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Reading the comments on this one...

Had a laugh at that goof that called everyone flabby and fat and all that. Can't imagine what "David" looks like in real life. I guess you have to be 2% body fat or you are out of shape in his eyes.

All the actors and actresses on the planet were healthy, active, and fit people. Some were lean, some were not... but they all were healthy actors.

Strange comment to make; I guess it is par for the course on internet sites in the 2010's. Every person online is somehow ugly or fat or whatever, right? lol

TLW
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 11:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

The musical score really gets to me in this. When the two astronauts board Voyager and they see the crew frozen in time. It's kind of chilling.
James
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Patrick D, I'm the same as you. The only modern TV I watch are cartoons and comedy shows, because they aren't inflicted by the cynicism and violence of what I've seen of regular adult TV.

I get enough reality in my life, I don't need more of it in my entertainment. Kids have it the best out of all of us. Einstein once said "If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales".

Star Trek used to be a fairy tale - I hope the new series will be too.
Lord Garth
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I looked up the episodes Bryan Fuller wrote on Memory Alpha, and he wrote several good episodes of Voyager. “The Raven”, “Mortal Coil”, “Retrospect”, “Gravity”, “Relativity”, “Barge of the Dead”, “Alice”, “One Small Step”, “The Haunting of Deck Twelve”, “Flesh and Blood”, “Workforce”, and “Friendship One” are all episodes I can recommend. Most of those episodes are strong character studies. In several instances, the characters beliefs are tested or challenged.

“Workforce” takes it one step further by destructing and reconstructing characterization by showing how the crew would interact as characters even if they had no memory of their lives on Voyager or where they were from.

Some episodes are high-concept. In “Alice”, Tom Paris discovers an alien shuttle that slowly takes control of him. “The Haunting of Deck Twelve” is a spoof of “The Blair Witch Project”. “Relativity” is a wacky time-travel story that fully embraces its chaos.

Then (or rather, before) there were the two episodes he wrote for DS9. “The Darkness and the Light”, a Major Kira story dealing with the ugly aftermath of Cardassian Occupation of Bajor and “Terok Nor”, an atmospheric episode on DS9’s sister station, where Garak (Andrew Robinson) is affected by a drug that turns him into a danger more akin to another character the actor the actor has played: Scorpio in "Dirty Harry".

Out of 22 episodes he wrote, the only two "bad" ones were "Spirit Folk" (the second Irish village episode), which I don't have a problem with but most people do, and "Fury", the episode were Kes returns. That episode actually *is* horrible. So overall, that's a good ratio. 22 episodes and only two misses.

Judging by all these episodes, I think Bryan Fuller would have the range you'd normally see in a typical Star Trek season.

I haven't seen "Hannibal", so I can't say anything about that.
Patrick D
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@ Matthew

It might seem quaint and naive. But, on the flip side it could be refreshing escapism. I, personally, get worn down by the constant gritty, downbeat tone of modern pop entertainment. There's got to be others who feel the same way.
TLW
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

When I think about this episode and Endgame, I think Janeway can come back in time and erase decades of history for Seven, Chakotay, and Tuvok. But she can't go back a little farther and save Carey.
TLW
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 8:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

It was funny. I would have liked to have seen what happened when Tom found out exactly who he kissed.
TLW
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 7:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

One of the best of Voyager.

I think perhaps they should have shown if she was reprimanded for what she did. Tampering with the doctor's program could have made him not function properly when he needed to save a life. Remember he has had malfunctions before when he altered his own program.
BZ
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 7:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Actally, Odo is set up to leave the show in part 1 where he loses his position and resigns. I almost wonder if that was the original plan.
Matthew
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 7:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@ Pattrick D

The thing is, you kinda have to BE optimistic for a show like that to happen. The 60's and the 90's had their problems, but those were waaaaay better decades for America than the last 15 years have been. Making that kind of Star Trek today, would seem quaint or naive.

I would argue that's why Enterprise got better in seasons 3 and 4, and of course it's why the reimagined BSG was so good, because it better reflects issues of now.

Humanism can be there, and optimism can be there, but it's going to need to be a little more bitter. More episodes like the ends of In the Pale Moonlight and Chain of Command, and less of everyone finding a fair compromise at the end.
Joseph
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

I'm curious if you've read star wars ring theory, starwarsringtheory.com as that's changed my overall perceptions on the entire series (exception of the new movie)

Pattrick D
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

So, it's going to be like nuBSG then. I guess I can live with that since it's an alternative to the JJ Abrams garbage we've been fed these last 7 years.

*sigh*

There will never be an optimistic, humanistic Star Trek series ever again, will there?
Brandon
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Fuller coming on board is a big step forward. I hope he can steer the ship in a less Abramsy direction.
JC
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

"I prefer this time the best." Yeah, and DS9 is the most space station in the universe!
Diamond Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Chakotay vs Predators. OK, so I thought this had an exceptional twist (which clearly shows I'm slow as I never saw it coming). But honestly, the rest of it? As it was playing out I thought it was stilted, derivative and laboured. The fact that it took 22 minutes to see anything other than Chakotay and the cast of Platoon in a forest was far too long to hold my interest. Yes, it says some interesting things. But it takes its sweet old time to say them... 2 stars.
Paul M.
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Since I always like to bitch and moan about Berman&Braga, let me just quote Ron Moore on the way Voyager was being run:

"The politics of the show were such that the egos of the people in charge of the series were threatened by the people who worked for them. To be blunt, [writers] Bryan Fuller and Mike Taylor were treated very shabbily, and it pissed me off. They took a lot of crap, and the only reason it was done was to keep the guys on the top of the pyramid feeling good about themselves."

How cathartic it must be for Bryan to have a chance to run the new Trek show.
Quinalla
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

Thanks for the great review! I mostly enjoyed this installment too. I felt it was derivative, but also felt it had to be at least to an extent. I also feel that the whole cyclical Skywalker tragic family history is important to Star Wars and just because a lot of us knew right away that Han Solo was going to be killed by his son, doesn't make it not the right thing to happen with this family that keeps getting pulled light/dark/light/dark over and over.

I wish they had given Leia more to do on screen, but I loved seeing her again and loved that she was the General. I've seen some comment disparagingly on her acting, but I couldn't disagree more. I thought she was great.

Harrison Ford was so good, he had a lot of subtle moments.

And I
Jason R.
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

"Here's my issue with this terrible episode. The Enterprise should have never even encountered the Edo in the first place. Seemed pretty clear that these people were not space faring people."

I can't believe I'm defending this drek, but I took the episode to be implying that the Edo were already aware of interstellar travel and civilization so this was not a "first contact" situation. Also, while I agree it's laughable to even imagine it, we don't have any specific evidence that the Edo can't leave their world (they may have warp technology for all we know) but they may simply choose not to, kind of like those frolicking hippies in Star Trek Insurrection.
Diamond Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Feels like something of a melange of ideas this one, with a lot of themes all jumbled in together. I suppose overall this is fairly well handled but I never really felt that engaged with it. The Torres/Paris scenes left me feeling kind of flat rather than moved. The Seven scenes at least showed signs of promise. So there was nothing really bad here but also nothing really notable.

At least we did get to see an actual warp core ejection! 2.5 stars.
Matthew
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@Paul M.

Yeah Hannibal is just amazing and if Fuller brings that kind of creative force to Star Trek I will die happy. Just as long as Kurtzman's hands are kept far, far away from the writing desk.

And it would definitely be fascinating to see a Golden Age of TV style, complicated, serialized Star Trek show. DS9 proved it wasn't totally impossible after all.
Paul M.
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 12:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Ninjad by Matthew!

Yeah, Bryan Fuller is gonna be the new showrunner. The guy worked in Trek before, but more importantly, after having seen the masterpiece that is Hannibal, I'm positive the new series is in good hands.
Matthew
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Oh my god, Bryan Fuller is going to be the showrunner for this show. It might have a chance in hell of being good now. Maybe Kurtzman being attached can just be a vanity credit and we can get some real Star Trek.
Dave
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

Yeah, the reaction to the murder was pretty offensive.

I guess because they look like earth animals they are not to be taken seriously? Funny how Gene looked at things back then.
Chrome
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

So according to Memory Alpha, this was originally going to be a Neelix episode.

Wow, they dodged a bullet there. Can anyone imagine Neelix in command?
Next »Page 1 of 1,207
Copyright © 1994-2016, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. This site is an independent publication that is in no way affiliated with any company or entity that produces the subjects reviewed here. | Copyright & Disclaimer