Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 32,363 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,295
Set Bookmark
tlb
Tue, May 31, 2016, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

I fell asleep on 5 separate occasions watching this episode. It took forever to get through.
Set Bookmark
dipads
Tue, May 31, 2016, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Awful episode in all respects.
What was that animal burrowing in the cave? We only caught the tail end of it but it looked turtle-like with its outer shell. It reminded me of a miniaturized Horta that dugged tunnels and laid eggs in TOS.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Tue, May 31, 2016, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Standard Trek plot elements, such as humanoid aliens and world government, are concessions to television. It would not be possible to create a unique alien species for every episode in a weekly series, nor would it be practical to portray the government bureaucracy needed to make the decision the chancellor makes unilaterally.

Patrick Stewart is particularly excellent in double scenes when he has a good actor to play to. Replacing that great scene of him and George Coe with speeches before a UN-like decision-making body would diminish the show substantially.

The comedic rape scene looks to me like a last minute insert they threw in when a well-known TV actor requested to be in a show. It had no effect on the plot, and probably would not have existed except for the presence of Bebe Whatshername.

The Trek writers have often said that they were constrained from addressing issues in depth by the schedule they had to keep. The same is true with all of the production people, I'm sure. Makeup artists couldn't possibly create an effective non-humanoid appearance for each alien species week after week. The result would be more of the rubber-masked lizard and fish people from season 1. Why do all Romulans have the same haircut?

We can take our time discussing these issues over several years, but a TV crew has to do everything in a week.

Set Bookmark
William H
Tue, May 31, 2016, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Isn't all this talk of destiny and fate kind of linear for the prophets?
Set Bookmark
E2
Tue, May 31, 2016, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@nooffenseintended


I'll admit to having enjoyed both '09 and '11. Nothing wrong with some high-dollar fantasy space explosions!


But I can remember what made me care about Trek in the first place. Sure, I showed up initially for the space explosions. I became attached because of the underlying optimism of the original series, and TNG, and DS9, Voyager and Enterprise as well. (What I don't remember is anytime when admitting to actually liking the original show made you cool- you were better off admitting you played D&D or liked ballet...)


The idea that you could use low-budget camp sci-fi to inspire people- to suggest that all people could work together for a future that would be measurably better than today's realities, while enjoying shirt-tearing fist fights and phaser-gun action- That's what made the show worthy of note. That is why so many people still care so much.


It isn't that the last two films have been bad (although there are certainly arguments to be made!) But that they have consciously chosen to jettison what made Roddenberry's universe special.


Can you squeeze such ‘middle-brow’ stuff into a two hour movie? Meyers & Nimoy sure did. Should you, in 2016? I don’t know. I like having something between the 2001:ASO, Interstellar and the Star Wars, Transformers style films.


Sure, there is plenty of hate & vitriol to go around (Hey- this is the internet!) But I feel what you’re seeing (at least on Jammer’s pages) are merely disappointment for potential wasted, or the mourning of the loss of an old friend.

Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, May 31, 2016, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I can ignore all the physics issues but I am unable to get past the fact they left after being freed. Would it not be worth sticking around nearby for a few weeks or a month to see if they can help you get home? They would likely have some sort of safe transwarp type flight within a few centuries of their time and would no doubt figure out a way to communicate with Voyager despite the time shift. I would have stuck around for a bit. What do you really have to lose.

Alternatively, the planet inhabitants really have no reason to go into space as anything they send would be outdated as it reached space and probably overtaken by a new generation of ships minutes later. Also, based on how quickly they procreate compared to the rest of the galaxy, they would own the delta quandrant in short order if desired.
Set Bookmark
BobT
Tue, May 31, 2016, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

@John,

You seem like a well-meaning, albeit embarrassingly inexperienced, young kid, so I advise you to read carefully what Andy's Friend wrote about your comments. You clearly have a lot of maturing to do, but some intelligent words -- from someone who's experienced the real world in a way that you're too young to have done -- may be of help.
Set Bookmark
Niall
Tue, May 31, 2016, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

For me, this episode is a surprising and jarring misfire that damages the characters that appear in it, especially Garak, Ezri and Sisko (perhaps to some extent also Worf, Bashir and Quark). The Worf/Ezri material mostly works (though not as well as it could), but the Garak material doesn't work at all (for the reasons William B outlines), and Sisko and Garak aggressively using reverse psychology on a vulnerable individual comes over as misguided in the extreme (as William B also writes above). Fortunately, Echevarria was able to fix in Penumbra/Til Death what didn't work here in terms of Ezri/Worf - I felt Penumbra did a much better job of handling the two characters and their complex situation.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Agree Robert. You'd think the "superior" DS9 would have broached that! :-) Seems they were too worried about how to make Sisko a god. (sigh)

This episode always irked me. I'd just sit there, watch it and shake my head.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Fifth Season Recap

Here are my VOY S5 ratings.

Night / 3.50
Drone / 4.00
Extreme Risk / 2.50
In the Flesh / 2.50
Once Upon a Time / 2.50
Timeless / 3.00
Infinite Regress / 4.00
Nothing Human / 1.00
Thirty Days / 3.00
Counterpoint / 4.00
Latent Image / 3.00
Bride of Chaotica / 4.00
Gravity / 3.50
Bliss / 3.00
Dark Frontier / 4.00
The Disease / 1.50
Course: Oblivion / 4.00
The Fight / 0.50
Think Tank / 3.00
Juggernaut / 3.00
Someone to Watch Over Me / 4.00
11:59 / 3.50
Relativity / 3.50
Warhead / 3.00
Equinox Part I / 3.50

Total: 77
Average: 3.08

Wow, my first ST season rated with a average score of over 3! The only other series I have completed is DS9 and it didn't get there.

Voyager really has taken off since 7 joined the crew. The writers have also stepped up their game.

On to season 6!
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, May 31, 2016, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@Yanks - "Don't agree with this though. What's to stop others? Law. You can't do much more than that. "

I wasn't disagreeing with you. I was just stating the other side basically. I actually think Spock would say that the urge to throw the data away is an illogical emotional response.

How many of us would want to set fire to data that describes how a loved one was painfully frozen just to be thawed later? But on the other hand if your kid fell in a freezing lake are you going to not want everything used to save them?

It's why I still think this episode would have been better with Kira and the real Krell. You could have upped the stakes in all sorts of ways. But either way the episode would have been better if the moral dilemma was ultimately resolved by the loved one and the victim (either Odo/Kira or Tom/B'Elanna. Janeway doing the authoritarian thing didn't really work.

It actually COULD HAVE worked, but the episode didn't even try to be about Janeway/Torres' relationship. They centered it largely around the Doctor, which was an odd mistake. His decision to delete the data at the end was weird.

Or hell, since it's easier to be pigheaded when YOU'RE dying they could have had this be about Ziyal and Kira. Now that would have been perfect. Ziyal is dying, and is in Kira's care, and the only one that can save her is Krell, a current dissident that fled Dominion leadership that Kira has to track down and decide to work with to save Ziyal. There you go, now you have a Jew needing to track down and beg help from Mengele to save her surrogate daughter/sister. That's an interesting moral dilemma.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 8:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

Why do the EQ crew come off as bad guys?

.... um.... because they ARE bad guys? They all knew they were screwing up. Which seemed to be fine until Mom came home from work, noticed the cookie crumbs and started investigating.

Outstanding episode here. I'm sure we will debate much while reviewing part 2. :-)

Love the "evil doctor", but the BLT stuff was ... well blah. :-)

I won't go 4 stars, but 3.5 here. Apt "cliff-hanger".
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I will admit, I haven't watched this one in awhile, but I don't remember ever thinking it was a bad episode.

This is a very "trek" episode of Voyager.

Harry gets a leadership challenge, new form of intelligence, pretty good story with Voyager ready to sacrifice itself in an attempt to stop the smart weapon.

I don't think it's a 4 star episode, but a solid 3 star one for sure.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Getting ready to start S6 Robert.

I actually think I ranked S4 higher than 5. I'll post numbers soon.

So while I don't dislike S1-3, Voyager really hit her stride in season 4 IMO.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 31, 2016, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Kes hadn't experienced these powered yet. (I believe)
Set Bookmark
michael
Tue, May 31, 2016, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

First rule.: Any TNG episode with a Ferengi is going to be bad. That said, I still don't get the appeal of watching one of the most trite plots in TNG -- The Visiting Ambassador. Visiting ambassador comes aboard, shit better not happen or the blah, blah, blah is doomed. Shit happens. Picard steps in. War averted, treaty signed, whatever. bittersweet ending.

The classy whore made it only slightly better
Set Bookmark
Nate
Tue, May 31, 2016, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

And please stop comparing this series to DS9. We do not want to sit here and read about why you think DS9 was a superior show.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, May 30, 2016, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Oh, and I disagree with Jammer when he says there isn't a line of drama. If Yuta had successfully assassinated Chorgan, the Enterprise's efforts for peace would've fallen apart. The tension was present the whole episode as we were presented with a fragile relationship between the Acamarians and the Gatherers.

Again, Riker had a *chance* to take on a Kirk role in this episode and he passed on it so he could do his job.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, May 30, 2016, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

@Kiamau

"When the away team's on the planet and Riker calls out for them to vaporise the noranium, he, Geordi and Data shoot the noranium but Worf clearly fires up at the Pirates. Classic Worf."

Worf was providing suppressing fire. Riker, Geordi, and Data needed to stand to make their shot at the noranium. If Worf wasn't firing at the Gatherers, the three would've been easy targets.

Also, this one's alright with me. We actually see Riker make some smart command decisions in spite of his libido and it basically saves the mission. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nate
Mon, May 30, 2016, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

@Stefan

Please stop. You are a moron. Everyone pretty much is complaining.

Anyways.

This episode deserves 4 stars in my opinion. Always liked the Doctor and when it comes to the argument about is he a real person or not, well, he is not. But this crew is allowing his program to develop and adapt. End the end, it is still a hologram that is prone to malfunctions. Malfunctions that need to be fixed. I think that the crew took a very humane approach by not completely restoring it to the original EMH software. They did the best they could for it. Very intriguing episode.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Mon, May 30, 2016, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

I thought Kathryn Hays did a lovely and convincing job of conveying the character of Gem though facial expressions and body language alone. In particular I liked the scene in which she places her hand on Spock's shoulder, obviously reading his emotional state, then gets a look on her face which clearly communicates that she has found the emotion of caring in the Vulcan.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, May 30, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I was just reminded today that earlier versions of this story focused on Jake uncovering a conspiracy as a reporter, and in particular that an intermediate draft had him uncovering what Sisko was doing. While I think it was the right decision not to have that happen in this episode given the amount of material there is, I can't tell you how much I would have loved to see the show Go There of having Jake uncovering Sisko's actions ala Watergate, maybe in season seven. Granting for the moment that the fact that Sisko succeeds is part of what makes this episode so chilling, the possibilities of another character, especially Jake, finding out about this and how their image of Sisko would adjust really excite me. An interesting might-have-been.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, May 30, 2016, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@William H., I agree.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, May 30, 2016, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Ratings for season seven, some of which differ a little from what I wrote at the time, all of which are (as usual) provisional. In parentheses, the difference between my ratings and Jammer's.

Image in the Sand: 2.5 (-.5)
Shadows and Symbols: 2.5 (-1)
Afterimage: 2 (-.5)
Take Me Out to the Holosuite: 1.5 (-1.5)
Chrysalis: 1.5 (-.5)
Treachery, Faith and the Great River: 3.5 (=)
Once More Unto the Breach: 3 (=)
The Siege of AR-558: 3.5 (-.5)
Covenant: 2 (-.5)
It's Only a Paper Moon: 3.5 (=)
Prodigal Daughter: 1.5 (-1)
The Emperor's New Cloak: .5 (-.5)
Field of Fire: 1.5 (-1)
Chimera: 4 (=)
Badda-Bing Badda-Bang: 2 (-.5)
Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges: 3.5 (-.5)
Penumbra: 2 (-1)
Til Death Do Us Part: 2.5 (-.5)
Strange Bedfellows: 3 (=)
The Changing Face of Evil: 3.5 (-.5)
When It Rains: 3 (=)
Tacking Into the Wind: 4 (=)
Extreme Measures: 2 (=)
The Dogs of War: 2.5 (-.5)
What You Leave Behind: 3 (-.5)

I know that my ratings are on the low side for the "fluff" episodes, and I will think about whether that's fair or not; the ratings are based on my enjoyment combined with some analysis, and in the fluffier episodes my enjoyment level is the biggest barometer, and that's going to be even more subjective than usual. The main place I went up in rating is "Extreme Measures." I...still don't like the way the episode played things, but having thought about what the episode did manage to accomplish with Bashir/Sloan (and Bashir/O'Brien) makes me think that it's ultimately not a failure per se, even though it's still a disappointment to me.

In any case, I'm overall pretty happy with this series, despite having some problems with it. I'd say that the biggest problem I have is that I still feel alienated from Sisko pretty consistently, with a few exceptions. The episodes where I felt most interested in him are probably "Homefront"/"Paradise Lost," "Far Beyond the Stars," and "In the Pale Moonlight." I don't quite know why this is the case. It's ultimately a bit of a weird show, going in many different directions at once, with a lot of threads which don't quite come together and many that do and quite successfully, with many great, memorable characters in its huge extended cast and fantastic episodes. I am sad that this rewatch is over. I might still write some more on some episodes, just as I might go back and write some more on some TOS/TNG episodes.

My girlfriend has expressed some interest in watching Voyager, so I will probably leave a few comments there, depending on how far we go. I did not enjoy Voyager as much as TOS, TNG and DS9 when I was younger, but I will try to keep an open mind; we'll see whether it becomes a full rewatch or just dipping my toe back into the Voyager world.
Set Bookmark
Ini
Mon, May 30, 2016, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

Really Dr. Phlox, you showed a screenful of your patient's medical records to a person who had no business viewing them, while acknowledging it wasn't exactly the right thing to do? For.. pineapple cake?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,295
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.