Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33,454 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,339
Set Bookmark
Mygaffer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Wow, this episode made me stop watching Enterprise. Literally, I was so disgusted by it, not just the idea that Archer and Phlox are complicit in genocide, which they totally are, but the science is really bad too. The understanding of evolution and disease are so completely off target as to be something that wouldn't feel out of place next to someone's Facebook screed about indigo children and healing crystals.

If you like this episode... man, examine yourself.
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I think this is a great episode of Star Trek, anything 50's is always great when mixed with Star Trek, but seeing as this episode was directed by Brooks and centered around race which is something Brooks loves to always mention and go on about it seems, I agree with some of the above comments that it does seem fairly "All Black people are innocent citizens who are picked on by "the White man" for no reason", even Jake's character who is a known thief and dies trying to steal something doesn't seem to be given a bad light, he seems to be shown in a "It wasn't his fault that he got into crime, he was just a poor black kid and he was shot by White policemen", a common hypocritical narrative in recent news the last few years.

It's certainly great to take a fictional look on race and make people think of the real world racism but making a one sided eg Making all the co-writers White and having only one of them support him but even then, Shimmerman's character just seems a usually combative, argumentative person so it's unclear whether this is because he feels its injustice or because he "just wants to have a moan" whilst the rest act like "That's just the way it is".

But the rest of the episode and other themes were great.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

John Garman "J. G." Hertzler Jr., .... born to be a Klingon.

There has never been a time where he is on screen and the scene or episode is not better for it.

This is of course a homage.

I really didn't want to see Archer be on trial and or go to Rura Penthe but, this episode is much better than the script/trailer make it out to be.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This piece of crap was not 3-stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Yeah, this one has always been blah.

I also think Archer was too quick to the "mad Archer" side.

It's not a bad ep, but nothing special

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

@ Joey Lock,

I think they missed some real opportunity to conclude the Jadzia/Worf relationship, even within the time they had available. But I guess maybe at some point they just said f--k it and wrapped it up simply as they did.

They make some efforts in seasons 4-6 to show that Worf isn't a traditional, normal Klingon, despite his fervent desire to be one. In fact, his honest desire to be a traditional Klingon makes him about the only one there is, from what we see. The rest of the Empire appears to view his kind of mentality as already antiquated, almost like Kor. Jadzia makes a few efforts to show Worf that she's perfect for him because what he really does need is someone who's as much of an oddball as him. Klingon, but too Human, just as she's Jadzia, but too Curzon. Between her background with Klingon culture, her acceptance of eclectic individuals, and her wild, passionate side, I really do see her and Worf as being perfect for each other despite their temperamental differences.

You're totally right that Sorella was basically correct about her. She wasn't really prepared to be married; at least, until she was. She was creating as many chances as possible to sabotage it, and Benjamin basically just tells her to grow up. I mean, Curzon died on Risa for Chrissakes, and unless Jadzia wants to live that life again she's got to drop the crap and get real. Worf went through this with her previously in "Let He Who Is Without Sin", where he had to deal with who she was, and now SHE has to deal with who she really is. She wanted everyone, from Benjamin to Sorella, to treat her with deference as if she was still Curzon. She even took liberties with Worf, and at her engagement party, apparently clinging to his persona and doing the kinds of things she remembered him doing.

But aside from her conflict with what kind of person she wanted to be, I do think Worf recognized that he's never find someone as unique and well suited to him as she was. I mean damn, how many non-Klingons could train against him with a Bat'leth, speak Klingon, understand his ways, and know how to calm him down without merely placating him?
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

What I appreciated most about this episode was the way it basically showed that people who consider themselves smart, bright geniuses who believe they know everything because they have higher qualifications are inherently flawed with their almost inherent sense of arrogance that anything they say is correct simply because they're smarter.

The conversation between O'Brien and Bashir was great, O'Brien is the everyman, the normal average joe who has years of experience and is going to be the one dealing with the actual situations whereas Bashir represents the ones who sit behind the desks with their knowledge and comes up with probabilities, then proceeds tell the regular joes what they should and shouldn't do simply because of a few calculations and assumptions they've made, rather than personal experience, despite all the statistical probabilities that go into stock markets these days, they still can't seem to predict stock market crashes and fluctuations very well because statistics alone aren't enough.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

What do you know, a good Ferengi episode!!
Set Bookmark
Joey Lock
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Everytime I watch this episode, Jadzia always strikes me as someone who doesn't want to get married even though she says she does, like she wants the Single life when it suits her but also wants a partner. For example I mean the way, in the words of Lady Sirella, that she was acting like a "Risian slut", she certainly didn't act like someone who was getting married the next day, rubbing the chest of a random topless Lieutenant whilst subtly hinting she may want more from him in the coming hours, specifically the fact she woke up in her quarters with two men on her wedding day one of which was the man she was touching up the night before, that's a pretty bad sign.

Worf must really care deeply for Jadzia like no other for him to put up with her overly confident, flirtacious, wise-cracking tough, independent nature compared to his staunch, traditional, devoted reserved nature, either that or the love making was the best he's had and he didn't want to lose it, but I'd guess its the first one.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Oh dear. This movie is the product of 20 years of rewrites. It's clear that every time they started a new draft they kept one 'cool idea' from the previous version.

The best one for me was the idea that a ground war had been waged in Africa. This would have been a great premise for the entire movie.

Never mind.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Kuebel
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I was a bit disappointed when Deanna didn't solve the puzzle. I was so sure at first that she suspected - because she had shown Data-Graves images of Tasha and Kareen and the reaction to both should have been an obvious sign.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

3 stars - I agree. That is all.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Note on the above - I'm definitely *not* suggesting that Spock's nearly beating Khan to death was "cool" or would have been perceived as such, just the yelling of "KHAAAAAN!"
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

It's been three years since I actually saw it, but I'd probably give it a 2.5. It wasn't horrible, but it did enough things wrong that I couldn't fully recommend it. And as for its place within Trek and Trek's place in popular culture, I'm more of the mind that unless there's something truly interesting and original to do with it, Trek should just be left alone. It's nothing to be ashamed of if, after hundreds of TV episodes and ten movies, the potential for Trek as mainstream popular entertainment is mostly used up, and it doesn't seem likely that the various novels, comics, fan productions, and other smaller-scale forms of Star Trek are going away any time soon.

The issue of Starfleet as a military organization and what sort of values it espouses and defends is a worthy one, but like Jammer I thought the movie only got halfway there. To this day I'm still not entirely sure whether Kirk originally intended to carry out the assassination and changed his mind, or if he just didn't want to tell Marcus no to his face or otherwise risk revealing what he had in mind. If it was a change of heart, I couldn't tell what prompted it - he just goes from "let's kill him" in one scene to "let's capture him alive" in another.

And I have to say that I don't like what they're doing with Spock here. Yes, he's younger and hasn't yet become the character we know from TOS, but has it ever been suggested that the kind of emotional control we expect from Vulcans remains a struggle for them by the time of early adulthood? And again, it's been a while, but is there anything at the end to suggest that he's troubled by how he lost his temper and nearly beat Khan to death? It feels like the sort of thing that started as a "wouldn't it be cool if..." but never got developed beyond that level. (In this case, "Wouldn't it be cool if *Kirk* is the one who decided to sacrifice his life, and then Spock loses it and yells "KHAAAAAAAN!" like Shatner did in the original?")
Set Bookmark
Genre-Buster
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Hard fact: Trek's characters are hopelessly canonized - nobody is ever allowed to truly die - think about it: not even Tasha Yar. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, although like any trope it can be misused - witness STID and Nemesis. It's just a limitation of the franchise, and limitations can be exploited.

So RT: Love that alternate universe stuff - keep it up. It's proper that good ideas should occasionally make the head hurt. Since Kirk and company CANNOT be killed off (and by now any attempt to do so will only be met with groans), tell us a story that teases their entrance, but then doesn't deliver until the third act, or even better, a later movie. And if the story is good, their entrance would be a secondary development to a plot that's already got us by the gonads.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Wonderful final episode, now to continue with my Trek rewatch, onward to DS9, The Jem-Hadar....

Thanks for all the reviews!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@William B

You're right, WYLB is definitely not as beloved by fans as "Duet", "Improbable Cause" or even "Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges". But it's really hard for me to complain about classics like those. I feel like I'm nitpicking shows that don't deserve it when there are *really* bad ones out there that do.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Nice to see you back. :)

I liked the movie all right, but it didn't leave me with a sense of 'Wow'. I've had episodes of Battlestar Galactica (reboot), Babylon 5, and all Star Trek series leave me with a sense of 'Wow' from time to time, and I sort of expect a Star Trek movie should as well (my 'Wow' feelings can be a super story, a surprising story arc, something that makes you feel really good, etc. Your mileage may vary).

Maybe part of it is that I'm jaded: I never feel the characters are in any real peril (not even a little bit of peril). Sure, they get chased, and smacked around, perhaps even irradiated to death. But I KNOW they will always be back. Because they always have.

Still, it was kind of fun. I did enjoy it, but there is always something nagging at me, that the movie just doesn't FEEL right...

Boy, I'm almost ready to say I'd have preferred it if they did the reboot with a all new crew. The target audience of summer action/adventure folks (that had no real knowledge of Trek), would still have come, and the rest of us would have seen it just to see it. Then we wouldn't really know if a character was going to die or not (Yes, we want you to play Captain Opus of the Enterpoop, for exactly 1 and 1/2 movies or so. Your character will die in the middle of the 2nd one from extreme radiation poisoning, and your body will be shot into space. Still interested?). We could have even had cameos of a old name or two, perhaps Lieutenant Kirk from the Farragut, or a Commander Number One (never gave Majel a name in The Cage) could swoop in and out for a while (still could, actually... hmm...). Maybe bring on a Captain Kirk in the 3rd one, or 4th... Eh, thinking of an alternate universe for a movie in an alternate universe makes my head hurt.

Maybe 2 1/2 from me. Some spots were better than others, and I liked the visuals. It's just that if feels... I don't know... a bit OFF...


Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Apples and Oranges Adam.
Set Bookmark
johng
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 7:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

@Luke
I had no problem with the Duras sisters. Using immediately let the audience know they were trouble. I loved the scene where Odo disarmed them. Also, bringing in TNG viewers was a good thing. Without viewers we might not have gotten seasons 2-7.

Good point about no mention of the Celestial Temple. Have a major trade hub in the system might be seen as a mixed blessing to Bajorans, but cutting off or destroying their gods would seem abhorrent.

Regarding the impact on Bajoran indepence, the Cardassians had apparently decided the cost of continuing to hold on to Bajor was too high. The discovery of the wormhole changed that equation dramatically. The Federation would not stay in a system with no strategic importance if its presence was unpopular.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

I found it funny that earlier this season, the crew was fighting tooth and nail to stop B'Elanna from being forced to undergo an engramatic purge - a procedure that would erase the memory of a violent thought. This time around, no one seems to really care that these aliens are essentially wiping everyone's minds. Chakotay even drinks champagne to celebrate it!

No consistency...
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

@ Skeptical,

I've thought about the Romulan/Vulcan thing from time to time, and I like your theory. I wonder, though, whether people wouldn't boil over frequently if they really were that emotional, fear or no fear. Creating a contained, boiling cauldron seems like a recipe for chaos. But on the other hand, the Romulan commanders we see do appear to be extremely measured, beginning with Mark Lenard and the commander in "The Enterprise Incident", who are both passionate but in control, and ending in DS9 where the Romulans are downright stonefaces who reveal almost no emotion at all other than disdain. So I'm not that inclined to believe either one of two things: 1) That the Vulcans are telling the whole truth about how emotional they are without logic, or 2) That the Romulans are at present identical to the Vulcans. I prefer (2), and my suggested explanation for this is that while the Romulans left to avoid being forced to adopts the teachings of Surak, they still experienced the old emotional problems upon reaching Romulus. Since they have no problems with violence, I would expect they massacred every Romulan who was overly emotional, in a long term eugenics plan to weed out the most emotional of them and breed calmer people. The Romulans we know may be passionate, but barely more so than Humans, and hardly the maniacs we see during the Pon Farr.

Regarding your other point about "The Visitor":

"Inside was the wizened old brilliant author who only published one story, because that's totally how authors work."

Jake in the episode is a deliberate reference to J.D. Salinger, who shares exactly the features you just described; was famous for exactly one book, which was a classic, went into seclusion for unspecified reasons, and wouldn't allow interviews once he did. This episode is a kind of "what if" nifty sci-fi explanation for why such an acclaimed author would quit writing. To study subspace physics and save his father, of course :)

Set Bookmark
Josh
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I'm much more negative about Into Darkness, not only because of the less "Trekkian" story or the pointless reboot of Khan, but because of the Destruction of San Francisco bit.

It's simple enough to contrast such scale of devastation with DS9 in particular. In "The Changing Face of Evil", Starfleet HQ is attacked by the Breen. The DS9 crew views images of the aftermath in the ward room and they are appropriately upset. Note that the extent of damage to San Francisco in that episode appears to be substantially less than in Into Darkness. Later, in "What You Leave Behind", Cardassia is devastated by the Dominion, leaving cities levelled and hundreds of millions dead. We see Garak's reaction, but we also see Sisko, Admiral Ross, and Martok on the planet, surrounded by the dead.

While I had a lot of issues with Into Darkness prior to the climax, the over-the-top CGI scenes of mass destruction with no consequences were overlong and boring.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

I seem to recall hearing that the Yeoman who had eyes for McCoy was due to a hasty rewrite after Yeoman Rand got written out of the show. Originally, there was supposed to be some romantic interactions between Rand and Kirk, and presumably that got rewritten into a combination of this random Yeoman and McCoy as well as Kirk and Random Girl From Past #573.

I have to agree that the repetitive nature of the plot and the fact that the crew were completely clueless does kinda render the whole situation rather absurd. Just how many times does someone need to say "I'm reminded of X..." and then X appears for someone to get the hint? And isn't it convenient that practically everything that appeared after the White Rabbit was a threat to the crew? No one was thinking any sort of happy thoughts? Even in the beginning before everyone was worried about all the threats? Heck, even afterwards no one was thinking to themselves how much better it would be back home or with a book or anything else? Pretty convenient to keep the "action" side of things moving along.

For that matter, wasn't it just a week ago that Martine's fiancee died? Shouldn't she have thought about him? Yeah, I know, this is before continuity was important, but still... Actually, more egregiously, did anyone else notice that Martine died and she was never brought back, unlike McCoy? Or at least she disappeared... I guess they intended to show her getting shot by the plane, but it looked like she just ran into a tree and fell down instead. Maybe the fact that she doesn't show up again is just her being too embarrassed to show herself after being that stupid.

I guess the twist in the end that this is just a holodeck-like experience and that they get to enjoy their shore leave after all was kinda nice, and the mystery at the very beginning was ok, but the middle just dragged on way too long. Arsenal of Freedom had a similar idea in TNG, but because the danger was real there it ended up being a lot better. That's kinda sad, being beaten by a Season 1 TNG episode...
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Heh, actually Peter, while I agree 100% on the fact that the Romulans being a Vulcan offshoot means they're highly intelligent, the fact that they AREN'T prone to emotional outbursts is one of the things I was thinking about when I mentioned that Trek never did much with this relationship. I'd consider the Klingons (even pre-Viking TOS Klingons) more of an emotional race than the Romulans. They seem to be fairly measured in their actions in practically every engagement we've seen.

This, to me, seems to suggest that the Vulcan claim that only pure suppression of emotion can control their emotions is wrong. The Romulans can clearly do it without resorting to pure logic. So how do they do it? I think there might be some external suppression from the government that acts as a substitute for the Vulcan's internal suppression. By keeping society rigid, the Romulans impose a sense of order on the people and tell them where their place is. The lack of freedom combined with a strong patriotic fervor towards that system leaves the Romulans with less of an outlet for their emotions. As such, they remain placated. Even the upper class can keep emotions in control by being loyal to the state, so even though they may have more freedoms than the lower classes they also end up with more of a reason to maintain the desired order. An unwillingness of anyone to upset the Romulan State is enough to keep everyone in line. This even seems to be the case with Mark Lenard here. He clearly hates his mission and could fly off the handle because of it, but his sworn sense of duty prevents it.

Of course, this is only a hypothesis on my part, as it is never mentioned in the various series. That's one thing I would have liked to have seen explored.

As for the other topic:

While I have issues with Tapestry and Chain of Command, two beloved classics, I still like both of them. So instead, I think the one I disagree with the most is DS9's The Visitor. Maybe it was a deep and emotional story, but the framing narrative (It was a dark and stormy night. Inside was the wizened old brilliant author who only published one story, because that's totally how authors work. He is visited by a young, attractive, wide eyed novice writer on accident who just so happens to be his biggest fan! And on the night when the wizened old author is planning to meet his destiny, no less) made my eyes roll so fast I simply couldn't concentrate on the rest. The fact that I was never a big fan of Jake probably didn't help either.

On the flip side, I will go with TNG's Emergence. Sure, it's dumb, but I was just happy to spend some time with the crew working out a very silly problem. Also, while I do think Threshold is downright awful, I don't think it is its own special category of atrociousness that a lot of fans seem to put it in. Not that that's saying much...
Next ►Page 1 of 1,339
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.