Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,253 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,371
Set Bookmark
Odyssey47
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

None of the Borg children were human! Amazing!
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Wait a minute, dream within a dream. Almost turned it off.
Good show. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Oh wonderful, it disintegrated into another aliens take the ship episode. No thanks.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Ah lu7cid dreaming. I've been doing that since I was a kid. I like to turn into a superman when I'm being attacked by monsters. Unfortunately I've also suffered from night terrors since I was a kid. That's where you are fully aware but can't move nor wake up.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

How's Neelix. He's dead . Yeah right
Shields are down so why show shields working as they are getting away from the proto matter?
Oh great. Another what's supposed to happen after death episode. Been done to death.
Mercifully fell asleep during Neelix 'attempted suicide
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Ryan
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Yeah the Hirogen network of communication satellites extended all the way to the Beta Quadrant, so it's plausible to have ships nearby.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

watchable (*)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Hogwash Vyiora. Imprisoning a person for a second is still imprisonment. The way she reacted to the brig you'd think that her society had found a way around imprisonment. They haven't.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I prefer Klingon opera.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

For a people who have a hatred for prisons they have no problem imprisoning people. Stupid episode. Justifying memory purging? How is that better than prison?
Set Bookmark
Rob
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

@Luke - I am absolutely loving your reviews, more so than Jammers actually as I tend to agree with 95% of what you say.

The only bit I disagree with on this particular review is that the Kira/Opaka scenes saved this episode.

I am really struggling to watch Visitor's acting right now. It seems to be getting worse and worse with each passing episode.

Siddig is getting on my nerves and I've been far from impressed with his acting so far too. He's very irritating.

I am, however, slowly growing to appreciate Sisko more. He seemed a little bit bizarre with some really out of place facial expressions in the first few episodes, but now that he's toned that down, he's actually coming across as a good Commander with Captain potential.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

better than part 1. I'm convinces that Voyager's biggest obstacles were Janeway and Chuckitallinkotay, They should have left them stranded on that planet.
This story was an insult to Asterix and Obelix.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

@ Rob,

"If this is some of the 'best' DS9 has to offer, I'm going to have a real struggle sitting through the rest of it."

It's not. DS9 is my favorite Trek series, and I find "Vortex" boring as well. The Miradorn part of the episode was frankly a waste of time and never developed, most of Croden's lies likewise. The ending gives me pause and it's supposed to be important for Odo as a step forward in his view of the law as being the only thing that matters, but mostly I find the dialogue and content in it tedious. I'd call it one of the worst episodes of S1, honestly, although it doesn't hold a candle to "Move Along Home."
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

sleep inducing. Once again Janeway is an idiot. She should have blown the first attack ship to bits. when someone is attacking you you don't give them a chance to win.
from there we get Mortal Kombat. Round 1. Fight! Round 2. Fight! sleep inducing
Set Bookmark
Rob
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Well I'll hold my hands up. I nearly fell asleep. In fact, I possibly did for around 30 seconds or so. That was tedious. I am shocked at the star rating awarded.

So far, Odo is probably my favourite DS9 character. I was really looking forward to this episode giving us some of his backstory and developing his character further.

The small amount of character building this episode does provide, is offset for me by the sheer boredom of it all. I couldn't have cared less about Croden or what happens to him, even after he found his daughter. I was actively hoping that Odo didn't get burdened with having to look after her for the rest of the series and the one positive is that he doesn't (thank you Vulcans!).

If this is some of the 'best' DS9 has to offer, I'm going to have a real struggle sitting through the rest of it.
Set Bookmark
Mombao
Sat, Aug 27, 2016, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

An absolute pile of crap. Apart from the last five minutes.
Set Bookmark
Gin
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Not a bad ep. Not terribly original tho, being a typical whodunit trope.

I have a gripe with the scene regarding the doctor lecturing Tuvok about mind melds. He condescends to him as if somehow Tuvok (as well as every other Vulcan) is unaware of the dangers of it. If memory serves correctly Vulcans have been doing this for at least a few hundred years prior to humans even developing warp capabilities. They are in fact even more well traveled than humans. Now all of a sudden humans have become the geniuses of everything in the Alpha Quadrant. At least that's how the writers seem to be writing them. Now they feel they have the right to tell others, such as Vulcans, how dangerous their practices are in spite of centuries of using those same capabilities - yet somehow they're still alive, well and thriving.

I'd rate it 2 - 2.5 stars for Tim Russ' kickass Vulcan portrayal. Pity they never paired him up with the late Leonard Nimoy for an episode or two.
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Maybe what Kira said to the kidnapper/psychokiller was her merely being smart. But what about the earlier scene where she is describing her first mission for the resistance, and the joy she took in shooting at Cardassians and finally feeling like she belonged? With no thought of, "I was a child soldier and I killed a bunch of people and maybe there are some issues here." That's appropriate for the beginning of a character arc, not a main character in Season 5.
Set Bookmark
Quarlix
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

God bless the commenters for this episode.

All but one who observed that the episode had "plot holes," nonetheless found the episode to be entertaining. As someone correctly stated, "how much I can suspend my disbelief depends upon the entertainment value of what I am watching." This observation holds true not just for Star Trek, but for life in general :-) If we find something to be amusing, we're more likely to pay attention to it, even perhaps against our better judgment.

Some people, though, have yet to board the amusement train, and one must respect their views. Indeed, I suppose that the person who upbraided the episode for its plot holes also has a quite valid and powerful philosophy, to wit:

"Shockingly bad. Plot holes/contrivances and corniness.......How time has ravaged it. 1 star is pretty generous."

"I just.... love scanning for plot holes. Plot holes.,,, You tiny little plot holes.... You precious little plot holes... Where...are...YOU?" ..........
Set Bookmark
Barboo
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Did anyone catch Quark's quip at Riker with regards to his proclivity for 'special' holodeck programs?
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I think a serialized prequel has potential. Part of Enterprise's problem in the first two years was that, aside from the crew betraying signs of inexperience at times, some of the stories could have easily been on TOS, TNG, or Voyager - they were just alien/anomaly of the week episodes. When they actually explored issues like how the crew might have reacted to situations in the pre-Prime Directive era or fleshed out some of the history that had been previously left vague, it could be pretty interesting. If nothing else, a serialized 13-episode run doesn't sound like it will be about aliens and anomalies of the week. Hopefully, Fuller and company have specific aspects of Trek history that they want to explore in more detail.
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Ryan
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

Once again ridiculous. We have a sample size of 4 Borg, two of them are from the Federation's area of space. Even more ridiculous, one of them is a Bajoran Starfleet officer. Hard to believe there were any Bajorans in Starfleet when she was assimilated but regardless the odds of their being two alpha quadrant races in a group of 4 is highly unlikely. Even ignoring how anyone assimilated at Wolf 359 made it back to the delta quadrant, only a miniscule fraction of a percent of Borg would be from the Federation. This has happened too many times.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'll probably watch the pilot and stop there, unless it's of "Lost" quality. I'm not paying to watch Star Trek, especially if they've just moved to All Access in order to shill for viewers with sex. Tiresome and not family-friendly.

If it's already profitable overseas, good for them. It'll be profitable without me on board.
Set Bookmark
Lmo
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

And also, the final resolution, killing Troi and reviving her at the last possible moment to have her magically restored to youth was just a really dumb idea with special effects at the level of Classic Trek 40 years ago.
Set Bookmark
Lmo
Fri, Aug 26, 2016, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

This episode was one of the worst of the entire series. Boring, stupid story, (why did dumping negative emotions produce sex craze?), main evil character like a boring used car salesman, people from the planet of no interest, zero interesting scientific technology. But add to that the very creepy sex assault by Troi of the young handsome ensign she picks up in the elevator after a really ugly stare at him: "I know where to find you if I need you again" as he leaves her quarters in a hurry. Attacking Riker with those deep scratches on the neck, and even the abuse of power over the poor lady ensign trying to get help with work issues. There was nothing about the Troi depicted here that was even close to Luaxana's character, which is funny and charming, even if overly sexually aggressive. Zero stars for this episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,371
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.