Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 22,092 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 884
Ian - Mon, Oct 20, 2014, 12:26am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I do not like how Tuvok comes off very weak , at first, in his confrontation with the thought criminals.
Also, why did not the ship simply not be allowed to leave and take their bad thoughts with them?
$G - Mon, Oct 20, 2014, 12:23am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Reading the comments in this thread reminds me why so many Trek species come from Planets of Hats. Humans who lose sight of their values while trapped on a war-torn moon? A Ferengi who isn't greedy for profit? A Jem'Hadar who isn't completely loyal to the Changelings? A Cardassian who opposed the Bajoran occupation? A vedek who doesn't believe in grabbing earlobes?

It's almost as if DS9 has been suggesting since day one that a population is made up of individuals and not pieces of a one-note hive mind.

Snark aside, this is a fantastic Dominion war episode - maybe the best the show has ever done. Also, like Jammer said, the hidden star may be Quark. He works so well because of how much we've seen of his values to this point. Could any parent (or uncle in this case) watch their child casually go to battle like this without saying what Quark said? I really, really love the scene with Quark watching over Nog and then shooting that Jem'Hadar. Nog would have died if he was alone, but he never would be alone as long as his uncle was there. Also, notice how Quark doesn't even mention whatever purpose Zek gave him. Awesome Quark story here, of all things. Shimerman plays the hell out of it.

4 stars easy. Top 10 episode of the series easy.
$G - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 11:03pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I'm with Jammer on this one. I wish we could have seen something of the battle. Maybe the crew sees Kor's ship approaching the fleet before the viewscreen fizzles out of proximity? I don't know if that would have worked either, though...

Like another poster above said, I'm not going to armchair direct this one. I like everything that happened in this one... but I just wish it didn't end with the crew just standing on the bridge like that.

Anyway, this is a solid episode. The standout scene is Martok and crew mocking Kor in the mess hall. I found it tough to watch, but in an effective way. I like how Darok simply has none of it (Darok is a nice addition to this episode, actually), and I love Kor's reply.

Also, kudos to the FX team once again. For a show that's been giving us lots of inventive battle encounters, we get yet another gem. In the last 10 or so episodes, we've had a Defiant-class ship getting destroyed by a Dominion supership, an epic three-fleet battle at Chin'toka, a bird of prey inducing a solar flare to take out a Dominion shipyard, a chase through an icy asteroid belt, and now a Klingon assault on a Cardassian ground base. And, of course, we all knpw what's coming next. It's awesome.

Anyway, a solid 3 stars for this one.
ds - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 10:58pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I watched this one with my two young sons and it was quite touching. A credit to Picardo. So much lost potential in all of these unused story lines.
Skeptical - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 9:01pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

If we're going to rip off A Matter of Perspective, could we at least have included Tom shouting "You're a dead man Ren! A dead man!"?

Yes, this is a bad episode. It's a mess. I'm surprised to see LeVar Burton's name associated with this, because part of it seems to be bad direction. His two credits in TNG were Second Chances and Pegasus, both pretty good outings, so what happened? We had boring narration and multiple flashbacks, all of which plodded along. Some of which was very repetitive. Most of it was either boring or cheesy. The scene with the wife lazing in the garden smoking a cigarette was so cheesy, such a lame ripoff of film noir, that I have no idea who thought it would work well. Were they going for a sendoff of film noir? If so, it didn't work. Maybe Burton just didn't have anything to work with here.

Oh, and the dramatic reveal scene? With everyone gathered in the Den while Inspector Tuvok revealed the culprit? Is it possible to get any more cliched than that? I fully expected the revelation to be that the butler did it, even though there was no butler. That's how bad of a setup this was.

Meanwhile, the resolution made no sense. So the Doctor was a spy for the bad guys or something. And his unique method of getting data to the bad guys was this plot? How would that even work? How would he deliver Paris to the bad guys? After all, it was heavily implied that the aliens here were not going to let Paris off the planet. They only agreed to because of the bad reaction he was having. Surely a smarter plan would work?

Also, why was Kim dehydrated in the first place?

The episode also failed to give the viewers a fair chance to solve the mystery. Tuvok presented four pieces of evidence: 1) The Paris in the memory was too short, 2) The Paris in the memory knew exactly where to stab when the real Paris wouldn't know, 3) The symbols at the bottom was the secret code, and 4) The dog was fond of the killer. Now, a good mystery gives the reader/viewer enough information to solve the mystery as well. But here? The only one of those four that we could have caught was the height issue. We didn't even see where the knife struck, so we couldn't notice that it looks like an unnatural place for a human to stab. We had no knowledge that the symbols were anything but the normal course of events. And we didn't see the dog in the memory. In other words, the mystery cheated us. We were given no chance of deducing the mystery ourselves, and thus the episode presented Tuvok as a genius detective without giving any reason for us to believe it.

One final problem with the episode: nobody yells at Paris. We have no idea how far Riker went, but it's possible he was just being friendly in Perspective. But here? We know Paris went too far with the wife. Maybe not all the way, and he may have done nothing wrong illegally, but he was highly unprofessional. I don't care that it was a loveless marriage that just ended. If I'm on a business trip and I cause the divorce of a potential client and then hook up with the client's ex-wife, I'm pretty sure I'm going to end up fired. It would paint my company in a very bad image, just as Paris painted Voyager in a terrible light here. Paris should have been banned from any other away missions for that breach of protocol.

It also feels wrong for the character. While he is a felon, we're supposed to feel that he deserves another chance. That, deep down, he's a good guy. If he can't keep his hormones in check, then that's an image of the character that is going to have to change. Perhaps he really is an unlikeable, irredeemable jerk. So why is he here?

Far better to just assume this episode was a bad fluke and move on.
Skeptical - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 8:57pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

This was, altogether, a pretty good episode, perhaps even a very good episode, but it did have a few flaws:

1) It came too early. It's a bit silly to have a dramatic "can they get home?" story just six episodes in. It just feels like we're going too fast, that we are blowing all the interesting stories relating to being stuck in the Delta Quadrant too fast. Hey, there's seven seasons to get through, do we have to have it so soon?

2) There should have been more time discussing the ramifications of changing the future with the Romulan. It just seemed too easy for the crew to decide not to pollute the timeline or whatever, even though the timeline would only be about two months or so. Charlie's suggestion, that the Maquis ship would remain stuck in the Delta Quadrant, is an excellent one. Why didn't they expand on that? Instead of immediately dismissing the idea of giving a warning to Starfleet, Chakotay could have spoken up and declared that he probably wouldn't listen to any warning, and thus could have ended up stuck in the Delta Quadrant alone. Like eddie suggested, the thought of Kes remaining a slave to the Kazon might also give Janeway and company pause. We know that this tug of war between her principles and her desire to get home is a big part of the series, and it'd be a foregone conclusion that she would eventually deny permission to warn Starfleet. But that could have been an argument. Especially if one brings up all the nameless extras who died when the Caretaker brought them to the Delta Quadrant. Janeway could have weighed saving their lives vs helping Chakotay, Torres, and Kes. Then again, the dead crew members seemed to have been forgotten 5 minutes after they all died.

K'Elvis also suggested bringing them home, but staying in suspended animation. They also could have brought that idea up, although I think that'd be fairly easy to shoot down. Frankly, I'm not sure I'd trust the Romulans to keep me in suspended animation for 20 years. They are, after all, a nation hostile to the Federation.

3) While this would normally be a good thing, there's no Neelix. One would think it'd be worthwhile to get his perspective. It might have been nice to see an argument between him and Kes, with Kes wanting to return to the Alpha Quadrant with the crew and Neelix not so sure. Yes, he's willing to share the journey, but he realizes the rest of the crew won't care about him when they get back. It might have had an interesting perspective.

But the rest of the episode worked well. There was a great sense of an emotional roller coaster ride, as the crew naturally had their hopes raised and dashed multiple times throughout the show. This was probably a better idea than the normal raise hopes and dash them once. It really gave you a sense of just how much this meant to the crew. Torres in particular was really animated, which is rather surprising coming from her. After all, she mentioned that she had no family interested in her back home. And what does she have to look forward to upon getting home? Being arrested? Sure, perhaps Janeway can influence Starfleet enough to get amnesty for the Maquis, but she wouldn't be allowed to return to her former life. It just goes to show how alien the Delta Quadrant is to these people. Even Torres is desperate for a chance to get home to something more familiar.

Latex Zebra - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 3:03pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

If anyone deserved two lives then it was Picard. One as a starship Captain. The other as a family man.

He lived the dream man.
Skeptical - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 1:14pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I wanted to like this episode more than I actually did. On the positive side, we finally got to see another civilization in the Delta Quadrant, and it was a really interesting one. We haven't seen anyone like the Vidiians before, and they provide a wealth of possibilities (and I'm glad we'll see them again). They're a desperate race driven to desperate measures, but are their measures going too far? (Answer: yes) We can have sympathy for them but also fear them and, more importantly, defy them.

So the concept of the Vidiians was a good one. But it didn't work out. Like most others, I agree that Janeway's decision was wrong. But part of that is because, frankly, I don't trust the Vidiian story. Once they beam aboard, their story is nothing but being the nicest little folks around who was forced to do this brutish thing but would never ever do it again. Yet we know their organs will continue to degenerate. So there is a very real chance that these people will kill again. Janeway said that she didn't want to keep them in the Brig forever, and she has a point that that would be too difficult to do. But the problem is that part of the reason for incarceration is punishment but the biggest part is protecting society. By letting them go, Janeway is clearly making this area of space more dangerous. Sure, it may not usually be her responsibility, but it is now.

So Janeway claims she can't kill someone else to save her crewman, even if it is justified to some extent. But by letting them go, she is essentially dooming more people to die as well. Oh, but they seem nice... They only go graverobbing, right?

If that's the case... why do they have a giant trap?!?

That's what the dilithium asteroid was: a trap to bait random explorers to come in and so that they can steal their organs. There can be no other explanation for it. They bait the asteroid, hide in their holographic extraction rooms, and wait until stupid folks like Neelix wander away from everyone else. That elaborate bait defies their innocent expressions: they know what they are doing. To the Vidiians, the rest of the universe is just an organ factory for them, and they will kill anyone in order to get what they want.

And because of that, it's hard to justify not getting the lungs back. This was premeditated murder, and most people understand that deadly force is necessary for self defense. Admittedly, another option was provided, which eliminated self defense. But Janeway didn't know that when she decided to let them go.

Speaking of "other options", why did they desperately need Neelix's lungs back? Did no one consider heading for Talaxian space and looking for a donor there? Maybe that wasn't possible, but it would have been nice to have a reason for it.

Meanwhile, the Magic Mirror Asteroid was also pretty silly. Why did it exist? Was it just to confuse anyone trying to follow the Vidiian ship? Was it another trap? If so, how does it work? Unfortunately, I think the reason for the Magic Mirror asteroid was that someone thought it was cool, so why not? I'm wondering if that's really the trend: just throwing out cool ideas without a very tight plot.

So there were serious problems with the plotting, even if the first part was very good. There was also more evidence that Kes and Neelix aren't the loving couple that they try to convey. As soon as he's incapacitated, Neelix starts imagining Paris trying to angle in on Kes. Possessive and jealous. Again, it seems like Neelix has a rather creepy relationship with Kes, and Kes is just too naïve to realize it.

But Kes is at least turning out to be an interesting character. Yes, the wide eyed innocent who dispenses true wisdom is a bit silly, but her natural rapport with the Doctor was good to see.

So it was probably the best episode to date, but I don't think it's quite complete. At the very least, though, it was the first evidence that the Delta Quadrant was going to be different.
$G - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 9:25am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

@K'elvis:

Great post. Agree on the defective Weyoun 7. That Damar convinced him to do it is proof of that. I have doubts about Damar tampering with cloning process (as you suggest), but it's ironic that 7 here is exactly what Damar wants: a more malleable Weyoun. 5 was the one who was always squeezing the leash. "Imagination can be dangerous" indeed.

And the Vorta origin story? Awesome. It all reads like a primitive foundation-myth meant to assert its own goodness. We have the persecuted and misunderstood noble race, the inherently evil rival (Weyoun's answer to Odo's question is perfect here), and the warm-hearted primitives who are promised an anachronism that only the story's audience can understand (apes would have no idea what a space empire is). It's really well done. I love every scrap of Dominion mythology we get.

You know what's great about the Nog plot, despite it being flat out entertaining? That Nog is barely in it, and O'Brien keeps getting his forged signature thrown in his face. Whatever metaphysical force the Ferengi believe in, Nog and his trades are just like it: a force of nature! It turns out Ferengi myths are pretty neat too!

Oh, and one last thing that I love. That runabout chase in the asteroid belt! I love when Trek treats space travel with the quirks it deserves. It's way better than the (admittedly budget saving) point A to B transit.

What an inventive episode. This one slides into 4 star territory for being so damn creative on top of being fantastically written.
Charles - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 8:52am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

As often, I disagre with you Jammer.

I really liked this episode, it was different, and you who are always asking for "character developement" / storyline, well you've got one here! The premise is almost irrelevant. the whole show is about the Tuvox-Neelix relationship and a "long due" elaboration on their rapport. I thought the outburst was really well acted and justified for the character, and really liked the final dialogue as well.

I generally don't like Neelix, but in this episode the whole thing worked. I also liked the idea of aliens invading other worlds cleverly, not by force but by ruse...
$G - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 8:44am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

So this poor girl breaks out of her shell and Bashir asks her to stay aboard crappy DS9? Let her go, man. Despite Sarina not understanding love, she still seems to socialize pretty well. That kills it for me entirely, and all so Bashir can have an uncreepy romance that still ends up uncomfortable. Another 40-minute romance that goes nowhere and affects nothing.

1 star. Maybe worse than either "Resurrection" or "Meridian".
Eric - Sun, Oct 19, 2014, 12:21am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

No mention of the idiotic moment when Jeordi has no idea how the subspace conduit works, and yet he is able to duplicate the tachyon pulse to activate it after just two tries and mumbling something about, "Okay, how about a low bandwidth pulse?" And VOOM! the conduit opens and the Enterprise can use it. All to keep the ridiculously contrived plot moving.

Jeordi says that the subspace conduit is "100 times as efficient as our warp drive." You'd think that if it were that easy to open a conduit through subspace that could allow a ship to travel 65 light years in a few seconds, that Jeordi would take a couple notes and release a paper or something... You know, ditch that outdated warp drive crap. Of course, after this episode it is never mentioned again. Stupid.
HolographicAndrew - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 11:48pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I liked this episode a lot and I'm not a fan of most of the season 4 Seven centric episodes. The villain was interesting and brought up some past events. Not exactly a groundbreaking episode but seemed solid to me.
Peremensoe - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 10:17pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Hey GG. We're not exactly organized, round here. Jammer's just this guy, see, who reviewed Trek episodes, and these other folks drift by, and sometimes have ideas too. Who were you paying $19.95 to?
Guru G - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 8:24pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Wow. Reading this review in 2014 and shocked. Scientific Method is my favourite Voyager episode of the entire series. Script plot acting special effects - all top notch. So glad I stayed away from organised Star Trek fandom back in the day. I just paid my $19.95 each month and opined on the episodes myself. A much better way!
Gordon D - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 4:15pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

What spoils the end of this episode for me is that when Spock realises that Kirk is still alive, he gets a look of pure joy on his face. And just as he does, Shatner steps between him and the camera, so we don't see it properly!
Skeptical - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 4:11pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Well, that was a bit of a letdown. One episode in, and we're already doing the spatial anomaly of the week routine. I mean, we're in unknown space here. New life and new civilizations. You have a completely blank slate here, and can start to draw pictures of an entirely new Trek. Instead, we get another singularity, something that could have happened at any time and any place in TNG. Sure, these stories can exist in Voyager, but having it happen so soon in the series run is a bit unfortunate.

So the spatial anomaly plot was ok, all things considered. I mean, it was basically routine blah blah blah caught danger technobabble solution drama victory. Same as we've seen dozens of time. Unfortunately, there were two major eye-rolling parts. 1) As soon as we saw a weird ship in the singularity, I immediately half thought it would be Voyager stuck in a stable time loop. Well, I was half right. How is it this can be some brilliant plot twist when it seems like the natural course of action for a Trek show? 2) Event horizons do not work that way! It's a mathematical line, not something tangible! Seriously, Trek should do one of two things: either make everything up as magic technobabble, or use real science. The worst part was when Kes started asking questions and Neelix started explaining everything, except, of course, everything he was saying was wrong.

As for the character pieces, it was also ok. Frankly, the Torres part was pretty routine, and seemed about as standard as you can get. There was nothing bad about it (other than Torres and Janeway squeeing like little schoolgirls over warp particles). What was more interesting, to me, was Chakotay. He had to thread the needle here between keeping the peace and standing up for his old crew. Frankly, he was right and Janeway was wrong. Janeway was actually separating the Maquis and treating them as less than equals, whether she realized it or not. Chakotay could have let it go, recognizing that this was a Starfleet ship. And he could have tamped down the expectations of his old crew, all things considered. After all, they are guests on someone else's ship. But he stood up to the captain, risking further tension now in order to defuse longer tensions later. And he did it in a public manner, which may not have been the best option overall, but implicitly showed Janeway how serious the manner was. A rather high stakes game for him, but he pulled it off well. And in the end, he won, getting Torres posted as chief engineer.

Given that I remembered Chakotay to be a lame character, this was nice to see. From what I understand, part of the problem of Chakotay's character was due to Beltran's animosity towards everyone involved with the show. So maybe that hasn't happened yet. In any case, it felt a lot more natural than the forced conflict and resolution of Torres' plot.
Skeptical - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 2:04pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Not bad for a first episode. I remember being excited about it when it first appeared, being the first Trek show I saw from the beginning. I remember not being disappointed by it either. And while I currently have a bit of a jaundiced eye against this show for failing to live up to its promise, I thought it held up pretty well.

Yes, the water scarcity among a warp capable species is absurd. But sci fi never really understood resources in space. And honestly, it isn't really that bad. Each Kazon sect traded with others; clearly the Ogla were a worthless sect that just happened to be stuck in this system mining the whatever mineral. And Neelix? Maybe his ship lost warp capability and he was stuck there. Of course, there's no reason the entire system was out of water, the Caretaker said they only screwed up the planet. So there might be comets and icy moons and stuff out there. But oh well.

And then there's Janeway's controversial decision. There's no doubt it could have been better, but I appreciate what the episode was trying to do. Let's face it, Picard would have been willing to sacrifice the Enterprise to save another planet. The Enterprise C willingly went back into battle to try to save a Klingon outpost. So Janeway willing to strand her crew for the greater good is fine, and provides a bit more of a weighty reason for the series than the crew randomly being stuck over there for no reason (i.e., if the Caretaker just refused to let them go back). Yes, there are ways around it. Yes, a bomb may have worked. But then again, maybe the Kazon would have deactivated the bomb before it could go off. Or maybe they didn't have enough bombs to set it up. I don't know. So while they could have done a much better job of scripting Janeway's dilemma, I'm willing to let it go. Unfortunately, this poor scripting would show up all too often, but we wouldn't know that until later. I guess in retrospect, it was a warning. But like I said, for this episode I can deal with it.

As for the rest of it? Some comments::

- Who's bright idea was it to start the series with a scrolling text screen followed by a small rebel ship being attacked by the giant imperial starship? Star Wars, anyone?

- The beginning of this episode really, really dragged. There was too much dumping of information, and too much establishing character moments (which I suppose is kinda necessary, but still annoying). I mean, did we need to have a chat about bioneural gelpacks or whatever? Did we need to have a chat about calling Janeway sir or ma'am or captain or whatever? Frankly, I was bored until Voyager actually gets to the Delta Quadrant.

- Fortunately, at this point things start up again. Watching the crew react to the disaster was great fun, and we got plenty of real character defining moments. First of all, I imagine this is Janeway's first command, and she's not too far removed from a more hands on job. She is clearly more comfortable taking a hands on approach, skipping the idea of overseeing everything and heading straight to Engineering. This might not be the smartest thing to do (given how bad the disaster was, one would presume she should be on the bridge), but it is a very clear contrast to Picard. We also see the Doctor at his sarcastic, standoffish best, absolutely stealing his scene in sickbay. We see Kim being pretty much useless, but that's to be expected for a very young officer.

- And we see Tom being highly competent at everything. I'm not sure if this was intended. But Paris immediately starts walking around and taking charge of everything. He's basically acting like a professional, trained member of Starfleet. He's easily Janeway's right hand man now. Not Kim, not any other random Lt still on the bridge, but a criminal who's just an observer. Was this intentional? Was it planned? Was it intended to show that this is Paris' true character, and what he would have been had he not had that little accident and freaked out? That his bad guy routine was really just him projecting, as he doesn't feel he deserves to be rehabilitated? Maybe. I thought the whole "loner" bit was played up at first, but I think this part of Paris is for the best. He gets a second chance, and without even realizing it makes the best of it. He's a natural leader, even if he doesn't know it himself.

- Meanwhile, a bunch of the junk on the array with the Southern Fried Weirdness was pretty boring. Worst part was when they came back a second time, and we had the clichéd "cryptic" conversation when the Caretaker was giving random lines while not responding to Janeway. It was obvious what he was talking about, but Janeway and company seemed confused. And I guess the medical bay was creepy, but it didn't seem to move the plot along. Really, the best parts of the show was on board Voyager; anywhere else and the show drags.

- I didn't get the impression that there was much sympathy for the Caretaker. Janeway couldn't be judgmental with him too much, because she was still trying to convince him to send her home. Rule 1 of trying to get a favor from someone: don't piss them off. But yes, I agree that he wasn't all that sympathetic of a guy.

- Why on earth did Janeway trust Neelix again after what he did on the surface? Admittedly, Neelix was actually pretty interesting in this episode, but yeah, he should have been thrown off the ship.

- And for that matter, Kes and Neelix's relationship seemed a wee bit askew. Namely, we never see much in the way of affection from Kes, and constantly see Neelix try to reinforce their relationship. Again, I'm not sure if this was intentional or not. But it does give an interesting twist that we shall see if it comes up again. After all, Kes is technically only 2 years old and lived a very sheltered life. So Neelix could be seen as being very predatory here.

- Is it just me, or did moving straight to ramming speed for the battle with the Kazon seem a bit excessive? It seemed like it was just there because the writers didn't want the Maquis ship around. I guess, at that point, the Maquis still thought that Janeway was going to send them all home, so losing their ship wasn't that big of a loss. Still, it seemed quick to be done. It also seems like no one cared that Chakotay just killed thousands of aliens in one shot. That's one way to turn an angry skirmish into an all out war. And nobody complained?

But like I said, overall this episode had a good pace and did a good job introducing the characters. It's a good start; let's see how it goes.
Illuin - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

If anyone needs proof of how great this episode is...... it's been 22 fucking years and it is still generating this level of emotion in people. Not to mention, it does not look remotely dated, even now..... over two decades later. Masterpiece.... not just for Star Trek, for ANY TV show, movie, theater, etc.
SlackerInc - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 10:56am (USA Central)
Re: The Matrix Reloaded

So someone actually did like this.

I technically can't pass judgement on the majority of the film, as this is one of the few movies I've walked out of--in this case after about 20 or 30 minutes. Just seemed risible, and until now, nothing I ever heard about it made me think I should go back to see if I missed anything.

I still think though that the original movie had a perfect ending and there was no reason for sequels except as a cash grab.
SlackerInc - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 10:41am (USA Central)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I too want to cosign the "pissed off" comment from STD. Great rant, kudos.
Andrew - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 9:46am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

The plot wasn't convincing ("MacDuff" should have tried a smaller ship without so many civilians and without such a weapons advantage) and some of the actors (especially Sirtis) at times felt tired but there was still a lot of fun, especially amnesic Data, conflicted Picard and the Riker/Ro romance.
Nic - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 9:36am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I thought the issues presented were interesting, but only during the first hour. In the second hour, Iden’s actions become increasingly difficult to justify, and by the end he is so clearly wrong that the moral issue becomes moot. There may not be a clear-cut hero in this story, but there is a clear-cut villain. Kejal was probably the most interesting character among the holograms, but she did not get enough screen time. I’d give 3.5 stars to part I and 2.5 stars to part II.

There is a hilarious goof during Voyager’s first battle with the Hirogen. The crew walks onto the bridge and Tuvok bursts out "Sheilds at 68%!" before he has even reached his station. It's like he's sensing it telepathically! :)
Capitalist - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 9:31am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Wow, lots of comments, but no props yet for the fx dudes and dudettes that worked on this episode?

There are multiple scenes where an actor's head is opened up and an implant the size of a freakin' ROLL OF QUARTERS is either pulled out of it or inserted, all clearly visible in a single shot. That's AWESOME work.

I like these emotional eps a lot; the whole cast was just spot on. Also, I don't know why the action scene bothers people. It was fun!

PARIS: I need you on tactical! When they come back around, target their engine core.

JANEWAY: Yes, SIR!!

hehe

I'm in the 3.5 to 4 star camp.
Andrew - Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 9:29am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

The episode was good but I would have liked some more involvement from Riker (for his conflict with Worf to have gotten a bit more intense and to have had at least some sort of follow-up after the procedure) and Picard (for us to have seen the at least one conversation he had with Worf).
The episode is also hurt by that the series hadn't previously suggested much closeness between Worf and Riker, at least for some time, and had between Worf and Picard.
Next »Page 1 of 884
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer