Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 20,146 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 806
Paul M. - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 3:17am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I don't know Elliott, that seems a problematic explanation, and one that relies on strange rationalisations. What happened to 24th century Earth? Did some unmentioned genocide of Africans and Asians happen that we don't know about?

For an out-of-universe answer, I'd hope there are enough "minorities" in Hollywood to allow a white guy to have a black girl every now and then. If we're finding Sisko's choice of dates odd, I posit that it's no less odd than Picard's or Riker's choice of girlfriends. Or Beverly's choice of men, for that matter.

I'm feeling a bit uneasy with this line of thought.
Elliott - Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 12:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Katie, you just described barter not capitalism. Capitalism requires, well, capital. Something with assigned value rather than intrinsic value. When you don't sufficiently regulate this faith-based economic system, those with power manipulate the capital standards to benefit themselves. Capitalism is fine, but you have to dam the waters or you're liable to drown
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:50pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Very good acting, particularly by Sackhoff.

This is my first time watching the series. Three possibilities:

1. She is dead. If Starbucks is dead, then her "special destiny" was suicide after a life fighting depression. Not particularly interesting, IMO, but as a study in self-destuction. Which, I suppose, should be part of this universe. Still, sadly, I must agree the fleet is better off without her. The series certainly is better off without the chaotic Starbuck generated Love Z... It would have been much more satifying to see he get her act together along the lines the XO. Don't tell me his life was a bowl of cherries, and he manages to get his act together.

2. She survived. Well, there are no weird aliens in the series, per Olmos demand, so only the Cylons could save her. Which makes little sense.

3. She is one of the Five. Which means, well, whatever that means.

3.5 Stars
Katie - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:46pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

What is so fictional about capitalism? It is people consensually trading with one another. People give up things of what they perceive are lesser values for things they perceive are greater values. Is this really so strong? That is exactly what it is.

As for Corey and Elliot, capitalism isn't what we have right now. It's hardly unregulated and is nothing even close to what capitalism is. There is so much regulation, from both right and the left (even more from the right under Bush) that one could hardly call it capitalism. Every year, the state gets bigger and bigger. There's nothing capitalistic about what we have right now, so if you think capitalism is at fault, you're criticizing the wrong thing. This is not capitalism.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:30pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

It's been awhile since I've seen this episode, but I definitely can say that the actress who plays Libby's performance is so legendarily bad that among my Trekkie friends it's become a running joke. The way she plays her, it almost seems like Libby's a little . . . slow.

I'll have to rewatch it (not sure if that's a good thing or not haha), but they way I remember the episode playing out, Harry had way more chemistry with Tom than with his beard in San Francisco.
Peremensoe - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:20pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

The other Worfs weren't just swapping places with ours, they (or at least some of them) were sliding through various successive realities as well. With so many possibilities, surely some were having similar troubles. On the other hand, there's no reason to think they'd snap back perfectly to their originals. Something must go wrong with a few of them. Not all the *ships* survived, why should the Worfs fare better?
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:02pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

I forgot to mention this in my review earlier, but this was another episode where Troi asks inappropriate questions which seem designed to pull off mental scabs.

If I didn't know better, I'd say that Troi gets off on making others feel pain. It's never seems to be enough for her just to make a point with a logical defense, she really seems to go for the jugular an awful lot.

As we saw with Suder on Voyager, it's definitely possible Betazoids can get addicted to the strong emotions of others. Naybe that's why she freaked out when she lost her powers in "the Loss": she simply couldn't get her fix.
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 10:42pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Adama is no dictator. He shares power with the Pres. Adama has complete military authority; the Pres has civilian authority.

So, the question is whether Adama went overboard by threatening Cally. Maybe. For the reasons many here have made. On the other hand, Chief's mistake was to "unionize" the flight deck crew. That violates the chain of command. Ooops. I am all in favor of unions, and this episode does a good job of showing why. But the military is NOT a civil society. The chain of command can only be bucked when an immoral order is given.





3.5 stars
Shane - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:55pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This episode is profoundly stupid. I found myself constantly shaking my head every time a character said something or some element of the plot was revealed.

Here we have a crew too stupid to conserve energy until the tank is on empty. Just a few weeks earlier we had Tom Paris playing with his Camaro on the holodeck. The crew should've been aware of their dwindling power supply at that time.

Since they found themselves out of gas in the middle of nowhere they move all the crew to one area to conserve energy. That's a good idea, but Tuvok won't let Neelix bring a blanket and small book for comfort? That was irritating. The book and blanket take up no more room than Neelix himself really, and they will serve to improve his morale slightly. Screw you Tuvok.

Janeway intends to crawl along at 1/4 impulse power. Do the writers have any clue how large space is? Speaking in interstellar terms they won't get anywhere at impulse speed in the week before their fuel runs out. (Not that they need the engines running constantly in the first place, but Trek always screws up the physics of space travel).

Why doesn't Starfleet have any robotic probes that can be used to "mine" deuterium? If a shuttle and environmental suits can survive the environment (even briefly) then Starfleet must have robotic probes that are more capable. The Soviets landed probes on Venus in the 70s and were able to acquire photographs and scientific data. Venus is incredibly hostile, surely humanity in the 24th century would be much more advanced. (Another thing that bothered me able Trek in general -- where are the robots?)

Tom and Harry land the shuttle a good distance away from the deuterium. Why would they wander so far from the shuttle in such a hostile place? And why only a crew of two? Why do they leave the shuttle door open? Wouldn't the "hostile" environment damage the interior of the shuttle? I'd hate to see what exposure to Venus' would do to the interior of my car!

Janeway again opts to land Voyager in a dangerous situation that really doesn't warrant it. She has a penchant for doing that.

And finally, looks like the whole crew opted to be duplicated. I wouldn't go through with that. I doubt most of the crew would either.

What did I like? Harry's little bit at the beginning of taking the initiative and voicing his opinion. He really has gained a lot of experience and did deserve promotion. Too bad the writers and producers were assholes and liked to punk Harry on every possible occasion.

This episode is definitely a 1-star or less for me. Not so bad it's good, just so bad as to be maddening.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:48pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Robert

Jake dated a (much older) white-Bajoran Dabo girl, and he was pretty infatuated with the weird (also white) mind vampire in The Muse.

Jake liked all kinds of ladies, just saying.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Apollo loves the wrong woman. Dope.
Matt - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:45pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Funnily enough the uniform change led me to believe that the whole episode wasn't "real".
I first noticed the difference after he was shocked and was talking to bashir, which seemed to me a designation of the difference between reality and wherever the event were happening in. Very confusing.
Snooky - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:40pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I'm surprised how many people found the female outfits sexist -- considering the TOS female uniforms in "our" enlightened future were really impractical miniskirts! As a female, I thought it was funny. But I wouldn't have minded some bohunk action in exchange.

The opening sequence was so phenomenal and unexpected, I dragged both my husband and son into the room and made them watch it. The credits, too. And the credits really were a social commentary of their own -- yes, we've invented and explored, but yes, most of the tech has been used for warfare. Even landing on the moon was an outcome of the Cold War (I say this at the 45th anniversary of the walk on the moon.)

The rest was so over the top, there's not a lot there to even discuss. The best part by far were the TOS references, the Tholians, seeing a Tholian, the Tholian web, and the TOS BRIDGE!!! That thrilled my Trekkie heart.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:38pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Yeah, this episode could have been done better in all the ways discussed. According to Wikipedia

"Edward James Olmos submitted this episode for consideration in the category of "Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series" on his behalf for the 2007 Emmy Awards."

Perhaps Olmos's desire to get an Emmy made what could have been better what it was...
Snooky - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:17pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

Wow, talk about spit screaming. I could see the spittle flying out of Archer's mouth. Jammer is right -- Bakula was insane here! I have often been put off by his character yelling and getting angry all out of proportion to what the scene requires or what the other characters are doing. Now I see Archer's volatility as visible evidence of hammy, overblown, really bad acting. Where was the director to tell him to dial it down a notch? Or ten?

I rewatched TOS not long ago, and was struck by how charismatic and confident James T. Kirk is, thanks to Shatner's portrayal. We've all made fun of Kirk's hammy acting over the years, and he had a few bad moments, but Bakula gets the prize by far.
D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 8:41pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

As a secular Jew, I found this episode particularly well-crafted, and executed.

We need not know the specifics of why Saggitarions are despised. Our world gives us examples enough: Jews are despised for being stinky Jews; Romani for being thieving Romani; in Japan, barakumin suffer the same. Christian Scientists are despised for not believing in medicine. I am sure you can think of any number of examples.

The writers cleverly exploit our very human prejudice that many -- including myself -- have towards insular religious communities, and how that prejudice allows and even condones persecution.

The episode really shines, IMO, with the expression of this hateful prejudice in the bar scene. Characters who we know as decent people who strive to do the right thing reveal the insidiousness of this kind of bigotry. Tyrol and Dualla's were treated particularly deftly.

D. Albert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 7:25pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Great comments.

Re: Balter taking a bullet: Ain't gonna happen. Balter is about Balter and only Balter. He's an entirely self-centered SOB. And yet, (And I'm guessing here) he will be redeemed somehow. By saving humanity...?

RE: the Love Z. BORING

I don't care about any of them, except Dualla, who is a decent person. I like SciFi, and every moment spent on soap is one less spent on Scifi. But, I guess, enough Fan Boys and Fan Girls need the soap, so there you go.
Matt - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 7:23pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

What bothered me was that he hid under a table instead of helping evacuate. I was not expecting him to fight, only help everybody else carry the wounded, something he had shown he was capable of earlier. instead he hid under a table while waiting for the Klingons to arrive. While I can't vouch at all for a combat experience, I know that when I am nervous or scared, actively doing something helps relieve those feelings.
Elliott - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 5:59pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Paul M, because the Universe unfortunately includes people of non-white ethnicities as minorities (they are the exception, not the rule). Thus when their love interest seem to include only members of their own, relatively scarce race, it seems purposeful. Imagine a show set in India with a white protagonist who only sought out other white people. Wouldn't that be racist?
Paul M. - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 5:40pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Elliott, I'm as white as you can get--well, not really, those Nordic guys are blindingly pale;)--, but I have trouble understanding why it is only noteworthy when non-white guys exclusively date people of their "race". Don't get me wrong, I do hope that our own 24th century humanity outgrows this "habit". But how come it's odd if Kim (hypothetically) only dates Asian girls and Bashir only dates Middle-Eastern girls and Sisko only dates black girls, yet it's perfectly OK and in no need of commenting when a white guy only dates white girls?
Quarky - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 5:27pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

This is one of my favorite episodes of ds9. Phil Morris has a lot to do with it. I can't believe that is the same man who played Jackie Chiles on Seinfeld. Ha.

And since I like nitpicking here are are the only things I had an issue with. Why does Jake keep calling it an Occupation? Kira specifically said the the bajoran government welcomes the dominion plus they signed a non aggression treaty. The Bajoran government is perfectly fine with them on the station. Yet jakes keep calling it the occupation. Its annoying. Weyoun rightfully called him out on it. I wish when Jake was interviewing Odo that Odo or Kira had pointed out that this wasn't an occupation and any bajoran who had a problem with it should speak with their government. Now we all know the only reason they welcomed the dominion to ds9 was because Sisko recommended it. It's not an occupation. The other issue i have is Kira disobeying Sisko and forming a resistance. Sisko who she believes is a religious figure told her what to do. In a previous ep she told Sisko that the bajorans would do anything the emissary asks of them. I'm not a fan of the whole worshipping the wormhole aliens storyline but if the writers are gonna force it then let's be consistent.

These are minor problems. I can watch this ep over and over. I find it fascinating to watch how brainwashed the jem hadar and vorta are. Plus you have have great battles, awesome scenery and Sisko and company agreeing to shoot them down in the valley to win. Something that kinda shows starfleet will do whatever it takes just like in pale moonlight. Of course Nog is brainwashed by starfleet and can't understand why they would go against their principles. Great ep.
Sean - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 5:04pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

I love that Ron Moore interview so much. He's pretty much spot on with everything that went wrong with Voyager and why it turned out to be a bad show. I generally agree with Ron Moore on most things: he's one of the badasses of Star Trek, along with Michael Piller, and BSG is one of my absolute favorite sci fi shows I've ever seen. The only thing in that interview I disagreed with was his assessment of First Contact. He said it was just a fun "popcorn movie." First Contact is my favorite Star Trek movie. Shut up Moore, you're brilliant. xD

As for this season, blah. The funny thing is that Jammer is right, here. There were some decent episodes here, but it's so frustrating. The thing is, though, that Enterprise was a copy of Voyager. It did everything Voyager did wrong, but its episodes were even worse then Voyager. As a result, it had that "nothing really matters reset button" feeling of Voyager with "all bad" episodes in the first three seasons instead of "all mediocre" in Voyager. It's almost as if Berman and Braga are horrible writers and showrunners or something.
Dave in NC - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 3:18pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

Overall, I didn't like this episode.

I'm particularly angered by the scene in Picard's ready room with his captor "father". His explanation of his son's injuries is the equivalent of "My wife is clumsy. She walked into the door."

The scene with Jeremiah (not Jono) and Endar first meeting on the Enterprise also had the uncomfortable vibe of an abusive parent attempting to keep his child from saying something incriminating about them.

Couldn't anyone see how quickly Endar gets enraged when Riker hails him?! He goes from zero to pissed in two seconds.

Jeremiah was not given a chance to integrate his repressed memories or really explore his human heritage. Playing raquetball, eating a sundae and goofing with Wesley in 10 Forward doesn't cut it. And despite what his captors say, he's only sixteen. He doesn't know enough to know what's best what's best for him.

This episode does have it's interesting aspects. The whole father/son relationship seemed to have a homoerotic subtext, especially with Jeremiah's penetrating his symbolic father (Picard) with a knife. Jeremiah's line to Picard "As I grow closer and closer to you . . ." had a distinct double entendre, as did their transporter room Eskimo kiss.

Also, a nice understated score to the episode. It really held back until the final scene, where it helped give a little emotional lift to what was otherwise really a terrible ending.

This show had no moral legs to stand on.

Summary: They never should have sent Jeremiah back. He was kidnapped and brainwashed and abused.
End of story.
William B - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 3:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

@SkepticalMI, first of all, I forget if I've mentioned how much I enjoy reading your comments.

Second, in case it's not clear, of course I am against powerful people hurting others in their personal lives in order to maintain their public image. The episode comes down very firmly against Alkar -- the merit in the story, had it genuinely chosen to go the route I suggested (rather than halfheartedly gesture at it) would not be in showing why it's okay for leaders to treat people terribly in private life, but to shine on a light on the temptation to do so. Picard rightly should rise above it, not just because it's Troi who's being used up but because he's a good man.

Actually one detail that I think the episode gets right is that Alkar's "mother" seems initially to be a madwoman. Alkar gets to appear as a charming, put-together man, who is burdened with a connection to a crazy person who drags him down. This maps very well onto the way it very often happens that when a respected public figure is revealed to have hurt and abused another person in their private life, the victim of that abuse is immediately smeared by large groups of people to preserve their image of the public figure as sympathetic. Because Alkar gets to "take out" his "negative emotions" on another person, he gets to seem the calm and collected one in public which makes it very easy for him to hide his guilt and responsibility. I think the episode could have done well with this element -- for example, show people from the whatever planet Alkar's helping with their war thing and how great the temptation is for them to place all the blame for any apparent dysfunction between Alkar and his companions on the companions and ignore or disbelieve any evidence that Alkar is even doing anything to them. Could be interesting. As is, obviously, the episode is a mess, terrible, and coasts on one or two half-formed interesting ideas and a lot of Marina Sirtis walking around without many clothes on.
Robert - Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 2:57pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I actually wasn't that bothered by Sisko's monochromatic love interests. But Jake, who clearly has a thing for Bajorans (and good for him, the nose crinkle is adorable) only ever manages to find brown Bajorans (seemingly the only ones on the entire planet).
Next »Page 1 of 806
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer