Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 25,768 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 1031
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:53pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Typo's: my bad!
Mallory R. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:33pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

"Wouldn't it be interesting to have our assumptions proven wrong for a change?"
YES. It would be very refreshing, but not a popular angle. It's partly why later shows like Game of Thrones stoked interest - the audience couldn't be on autopilot.

And yes the drive through scene was funny. I can't even smell that rubbish without feeling nauseous.

Mallory R. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:25pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Finally, a Trek episode that doesn't pay undeserved respect to religious nutters. I liked that they highlighted their contempt for science - so threatening to the comfort of their echo chamber. About time Archer got really pissed!
Batchick30 - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:21pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Oh my. Brian S, your Changeling Space Hitler just about did me in. I am wiping away the tears still. And Taron, what a beautiful story. I have also found that deep love can get a simple start. I think sometimes people growing alongside one another eventually find themselves reaching the plane of understanding that brings true love. I agree that this episode is quite a departure but sometimes that's a good thing. You are allowed to fast forward if you want but then you'd miss the fun these usually serious performers are obviously having.
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:18pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I can't help but notice that when Worf creates mildly destructive weather on Risa, it's "the worst Trek episode ever," good for zero stars, but when Sisko unleashes WMD's on a--to be sure, underpopulated--planet thus forcing its evacuation, the episode gets between 1.5 to 3 stars from the same critics! Compared to "For the Uniform," "Without Sin" is a wonderfully understated story with a certain quiet elegance.

I was disappointed in "For the Uniform." I wanted to are something a little more altruistic. That said, an excess of unthinking patriotism can lead to problems. This episode does a good job of that. I also don't think Brooks was over-acting. When I was watching this episode, I was incredibly angry in real life to the point where I punched my pillow. Watching the great Sisko punch his punching bag felt cathartic and later made me laugh. I think the point is that when you're in Starfleet, sometimes all that pressure just forces you to crack. It happened to Picard, it happened to Worf, and here it happened to Sisko. Sisko's frustration isn't only about Eddington.

Actually, Starfleet and the Federation in general seem to have fallen on hard times and made some morally questionable choices. "Insurrection" has a Starfleet admiral involved in interplanetary skullduggery, and one gets the impression that if he had survived to be court-martialled, it would have only been because Picard himself caught him.

I do think this episode failed on a dramatic note when it completely glossed over the evacuation of the Maquis planet. Sisko's solution--as bad as it ia--is too neat and packaged to be convincing enough to me as a viewer.

In short, there's some nice, disquieting stuff, which we all like in DS9, but it isn't handled well enough by the script writers to be considered anywhere near excellent.
navamske - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 7:52pm (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

While watching this for the umpteenth time this evening I thought it would have been funny if they'd had Picard pick his nose because he thought he was alone in his ready room.
Jammer - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 5:28pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I always love being told to stop doing something based on a writing from 18 years ago. Sure, I understand the notion, but either way I'm powerless to take it under advisement and instead just feel old. :)
Shannon - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 2:23pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Wow, Jammer, when you get something stuck in your head, there is just no convincing you otherwise. You hate DNA episodes, we get it, just like you hated Troi episodes back in the TNG days... But this was a 3 star episode in my opinion. The DNA experiments were just a minor plot device, as this episode was all about the crew's reaction to the unknown, in this case a threat that wasn't even visible. And I loved Seven's involvement here, as it was a great growing moment for her character... Stop being so biased in your reviews.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 1:52pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

Wonderful, thought provoking trek episode!

My only real knock is Gath... man, I just wanted to jack-slap him (and not because of not giving us the technology either) :-)

I don't remember when the "Prime Directive" tide was turned like this in trek. Bravo!!

Then Tuvok of all people choses to "betray" his Captain so she would have to. Brilliant.

Very touching exchange at the end, delivered flawlessly by Kate. She's so damn good....

3.5 star from me. Hard to believe an episode like this is a season one episode.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 1:42pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Wow, a Star Trek episode that doesn't spit on religion or religious beliefs. It actually dealt with them very respectfully here.

It's also a culture that has embraced the Doctor Jack Kevorkian as their role model! :-)

Wait, I'm in pain and a burden to my family, so let me end it all...

Interesting for a Trek episode.

I think Chakotay was right to respect the site as a burial site, but he might have went a little far with:

"The sanctity of these bodies should be respected. I recommend we make visual observations only. No tricorders"

As far as "sanctity" goes, what's the different between looking and conducting passive scans?

Love the exchange at the end where Janeway is telling Harry to take a couple days off and reflect.

Also, I was pleasantly surprised about this:

"JANEWAY: I wouldn't be so sure of that, if I were you. That neural energy their bodies release, it becomes part of the ambient electromagnetic field surrounding the planet. Our readings also indicate the energy's unusually dynamic. There's a great deal of variation and pattern complexity, quantum density.

KIM: Are you saying you think they do have an afterlife? That the energy field is where they exist at a higher level of consciousness, just like they believe?

JANEWAY: I'm not certain, but I am certain about this. What we don't know about death is far, far greater than what we do know. See you in two days, Ensign."

Can anyone hear Picard talking like this? Relating a possible scientific release of energy to confirming a religious belief? I like it, she's her own self/Captain.

I'll have to go a solid 3 stars here.
dg54321 - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 12:32pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

In STO, it's shown they do survive, with a little help from an alien species you heard of last in early TNG....
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 11:57am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Sorry Chis Harrison... typing quickly while appearing to work ... :-)
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 11:51am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

Torres' line is a classic Jammer, but it's not my favorite in this episode.

Best line?

"Not for my safety. For theirs. I was the greatest threat the Continuum had ever known. They feared me so much they had to lock me away for eternity. And when they did that, they were saying that the individual's rights will be protected only so long as they don't conflict with the state. Nothing is so dangerous to a society."

How applicable is that in today's society? Foretelling trek is?

Excuse me for a second while a stand and applaud. Gerrit Graham's performance was that good. Wow. Just perfect.

Yanks sits back down.

Death Wish is probably tied for second as treks best "court" episodes go. #1 of course being 'The Menagerie' and this one ties with TNG's 'The Drumhead'.

The beginning of the episode is pretty darn funny, Quinn's actions in the mess hall, then Q & Quinn's game of hide & seek, then Q ....

"Say, is this the ship of the Valkyries, or have you human women finally done away with your men altogether?"

LOL!!

Just love the writing and performances here.

Then of course, the trial. I was actually surprised at Janeway's decision. I thought surely she would side with the Continuum so Quinn couldn't kill himself. I thought she would side with the state here. You know, all "Federation/Star Fleet" and all. I'm very pleased that she didn't. She gained allot more respect from me in this episode. I of course think she made the right decision.

Kate's delivery here is heartwarming in a way that no other ST Captain seems to be able to do:

"JANEWAY: I'm not finished, Q. Now that you're mortal, you have a new existence to explore. An entirely new state of being filled with the mysteries of mortal life, pleasures you've never felt before. I like this life, Q. You might too. Think hard before you give it up."

Sniff, sniff...

Easy 4 star episode for me.

Chris Harrison - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

@Yanks,

Just FYI it's Maquis not Maguis. You've written the same on other posts too.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 11:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

djay,

Because then they wouldn't need Leget's (sp) etc. :-) Also, with a weapon like this to deal with the Maguis, no Cardi folks in charge need to get embarrassed by those pesky folks :-)

I also enjoyed this episode.

Roxanne is proving time and time again that she is a very VERY good actress. Very believable in every thing she's done up to this point. Faces, Prototype... all top notch.

Hey guys, how can one overlook a 50's Ford pick-up floating in space!! ... lol

Just happening onto things in trek is just the way it is and always has been. I used to say at the beginning of all the trek episodes... what story will they happen upon today? So why isn't it accepted here? Oh, because this is Voyager? Shall I start to name all the different "things" our Trek Captains have happened upon throughout all the series? ... nah, not enough time for that.

While, because of the nature of the series, we all knew that Yoyager wasn't going to blow itself up and we knew that B'Elanna wasn't going to bite the dust the actors had to sell it; and they did. Great performances all around here from Janeway on the bridge, to Tom thanking her, to Tuvok staying, to B'Elanna running out of oxygen on the Dreadnought.

I too enjoyed the "banter" back and forth between Torres and the ship... I also liked how she distracted it by enabling the Cardassian file.

We even learn what Kes' fathers name was. :-)

3 star episode for me.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:55am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Easy 4 star episode here. Not sure how Jammer can knock it down to 3.

Outstanding performances all around!

Interesting thought... didn't Janeway rule in favor of Q (Quinn) in 'Death Wish' - knowing full well what his intentions were if he was granted asylum away from the Q Continuum?

...but no "execution" for our mentally unstable Betazoid huh? ... even if he desires it with a sound mind?

Interesting.

I just love this episode.

Tuvok just can't come to grips with a murder with no motive, well a motive that is acceptable to him...

Brad Dourif was phenomenal here, as he was in many other sci-fi bit parts. Bravo! He plays an outstanding mental case. (see the character "Brother Edward" in BAB5)

Just watched this last night and loved it as much as the first time I saw it. I remember the first time I saw it I actually thought Tuvok schwacked Neelix :-) That scene made he think of Data choking out the Borg drone.

Then Janeway forgiving her friend and fellow officer at the end was classic.

"TUVOK: Captain, I must apologize for my inappropriate behavior.
JANEWAY: I'm just glad we have you back, Mister Tuvok.
TUVOK: I was most insulting to you.
JANEWAY: Don't worry about it. I've been insulted before.
TUVOK: I hope you understand that I have always had the greatest respect for you as a Captain, and consider you a friend.
JANEWAY: That means a great deal to me. Enough said. Get some rest. Tuvok. No more mind melds without my permission. Understood?"

Especially Betazoids :-)

Again, easy 4 star episode for me.
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:42am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Not sure what happened with the auto-correct there: "something to look forward to."
Nathan B. - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:40am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

As a resident "newbie" when it comes to DS9, I want to say that I have *NO* expectation about not finding spoilers here on a show that is so many years old. Furthermore, I'd have no such expectation on any public forum. As for the comments here, they are much of what makes Jammer's review site so special. The odd little spoiler increases my enjoyment by giving me something to look forward, too.

Regarding Jammer's comments on Odo getting his shape-shifting powers back, it seemed a little too easy for me, too. But Odo's time as a human was important in his character development. He softened up a bit, and he learned more about love.
Luke - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 10:34am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

Is "New Ground" full of cliches? Yes.

Is it well trend upon ground? Yes.

So what?

I'm not one of those people who demand that everything be original. The whole "Hollywood is out of new ideas" crowd really bugs me actually. I don't mind when an episode or a movie or whatever else is a retelling of a tried and true story. A good story retold is still a good story.

"New Ground," while again not groundbreaking, does have some good stuff on display. Worf and Alexander get some nice character development. Troi is - *GASP* - actually used effectively, and as a counselor no less! And, they don't hit the reset button at the end of the episode. It would have been extremely easy for them to ship Alexander off to the Klingon school and have Worf just go back to doing his usual routine. But, they didn't. They decided to keep Alexander on as a recurring character and I highly applaud them for that.

The problem the episode has is the B-plot with the Soliton Wave. It's completely unnecessary. It's obviously only there to provide the final manufactured crisis with Alexander trapped in the lab. The Gilvos just happen to be the lab that will be exposed to radiation. Isn't that convenient? Alexander runs off to see the Gilvos again. Isn't that convenient? The lab is massively damaged in the trip through the Wave while Alexander is in it. Isn't that convenient? Alexander is pinned under the conveniently fallen beam. Riker, Worf, Alexander and the Gilvos all get out just in the nick of time. Isn't that - what's that word again? - convenient? As another commenter said - this is TNG's A and B plot formula at its worst.

And of course, the Soliton Wave itself makes no sense. Warp speed without warp drive. How?! If you don't have something warping the fabric of space-time or slipping you into an alternate dimension or something, you can't go faster than light. Look, science was actually my least successful subject in school, but.... Physics 101, people! And, of course, all the manufactured drama at the end could have been easily avoided if the writers hadn't yet again failed to realize that space is three dimensional! People, you don't have to go through the Wave. Just go over it!

Still, it's nice to see the really good character development on display here.

7/10
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:43am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

LOL ... this episode certainly takes it's lumps and deservedly so, but is it really worse than 'Spock's Brain', or 'And the Children Who Lead', or 'The Naked Now', or 'Code Of Honour', or 'If Wishes Were Horses', or 'The Emperor's New Cloak', or 'Precious Cargo' or TATV? (just to spread the wealth here :-))

I don't think so.

I always thought this was a pretty good episode until the ending happened.

Hell, moving any mass faster than the speed of light (WARP) is a pipedream, along with replicators, transporters .... insert your accepted Trek-tech/science.

Great episode for Paris, and I thought that trying to accomplish something that wasn't possible was pretty interesting. Janeway's support along with B'Elanna and Harry... it was an interesting episode.

Just thought they could have ended it better.

.....MUCH better..... :-)

This one actually won an award!

2.5 star from me.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:21am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

Aside from the cheesy "STID attack the building moment" at the end, I really enjoyed this episode. Still can't believe the 3 photon Torpedoes shot from orbit didn't crash that little ship.

It showed that Janeway is all "my way or the highway". (although this really strengthened her argument, didn't it?)

Brought back the Maguis angle, included one of my favorite actresses (Martha Hackett), Kate was awesome and Beltran was great in this episode too.

This could have been a 4 star episode if not for the ending.

3 stars for me.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:14am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Why would something 400 years old remain "extremely painful" while not being relevant to the plot? I'm sure it had nothing to do with Avery's race...

Watch TOS: 'The Savage Curtain' for the appropriate context that is in line with Gene's vision.
Troy - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:09am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'd give it 2.75 stars. A very solid episode. I especially like the eye blinking as the giveaway to Data. It was probably best not to tell her, though I suspect that I'd like to know. Might allow one to take physical risks such as mountain climbing or sky diving taking advantage of having essentially an immortal body. A

After more than 20 years I had forgotten the twist (though in retrospect after the reveal I did remember it had something to do with eye blinks) so it certainly had value in watching it again.
Yanks - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 9:05am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Yes it is Aine.
Luke - Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 8:38am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

"If you cause a guy from the 22nd century to become trapped in the 24th century, haven't you just changed the past?"

I could honestly not say anything else about this dud of an episode. But, of course, I will.

Oh my God! For a franchise full of characters that literally freak out if a single blade of grass is put out of place during a time-travel adventure, that ending was HORRIBLE! It's especially grating when mere moments before the time pod disappears, Picard stands there and smugly condemns Rasmussen for attempting to change the past. Then he goes ahead and does so himself! Because, you know, it's okay when the good guys do it. But hey, at least all of our "heroes" got to stand around and act like arrogant, smug douchebags.

Add to that the fact that Rasmussen is so freaking annoying (was this actually "supposed" to be funny?) that it hurts. Was the whole point of making him this obnoxious so that the audience would cheer at his comeuppance at the end and just forget about how Picard and company massively altered the timeline for no reason at all? I'm not criticizing Matt Frewer here because it's a problem with the character and the writing, not the acting. I doubt that Robin Williams would have been able to do any better.

The only half-way decent part of "A Matter of Time" is the B-plot involving the crisis on the asteroid impacted planet. But even that is just ho-hum. It's greatest strength is that it isn't annoying as fuck like the A-plot and doesn't insult my intelligence at its conclusion.

There is at least an attempt at a good scene in the confrontation between Picard and Rasmussen over the ethics of keeping silent while millions might die. But it's torpedoed by the fact that Picard, who says "how can you be comfortable watching people die?," is guilty of doing that exact thing! He was willing to let Sarjenka's people die until Data essentially forced his hand back in "Pen Pals." And, a little over two years from now, he'll literally stand on the bridge and watch while not only millions of people but AN ENTIRE CIVILIZATION dies in "Homeward." I agree completely with the sentiment. How can a moral person honestly stand by and watch others die? But coming from Picard's mouth, it really rings hollow. But then, maybe this is just my problems with the Prime Directive surfacing again.

3/10
Next »Page 1 of 1031
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer