Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36,596 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,464
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Robert I have never in my life simultaneously loathed a politician and his critics with equal intensity. I feel like a political orphan. I want somebody to put Trump, Meryl Streep and all of the talking heads on CNN on a rocket ship and blast the lot of them into the sun.

I feel like the world has moved on and left me behind - and I'm only 36.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

"Trump IS an evil sexist, racist, hotheaded awful bigot who we should all be collectively ashamed of."

It's amazing that he was none of this before he ran against Hillary.... all while being in the public eye for over 30 years.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 10:32am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@General Snacker Trust me Sisko and Worf from DS9 are tough bastards. Voyager and Enterprise though.... I agree with you on that.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

This is fascinating....

I think that DLPB is right (minus the email stuff). Not everyone who voted for Trump is a misogynist, Hillary's focus of making the election about "why Trump is bad" instead of "why I am good" obviously failed, and in general this episode was written in a way that made Kira look terrible (although I wouldn't have put it how he did). This one always rubs me the wrong way, especially given she's pregnant with someone else's kid. And I say this in part because Kira is my favorite character.

That said... I can't post all that without qualifying it with Trump IS an evil sexist, racist, hotheaded awful bigot who we should all be collectively ashamed of. But that doesn't change the fact that it clearly fell short of being a good argument for electing Clinton.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

The word mysoginist denotes a person who has great contempt or outright hatred of women as a group. It should not be confused with garden variety sexist or chauvinism, which merely connotes prejudice or bigotry.

N when you imply that someone hates women, that's a pretty serious allegation. I see no evidence of that on this thread. The allegation itself is a form of motive speculation and ad hominem attack - forms of argument banned on most civilized forums.

Instead of wondering why the people you personally insulted (without basis I might add) react angrily - you should consider your words more carefully next time. You should also ask yourself if throwing around words of that nature flippantly without proper thought ultimately devalues those words and makes them into a joke to be discounted or ignored.

Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Some of us recognize that this episode is based on imaginary assumptions, yet still enjoy it. I could imagine the Cardassians being insidious enough to plant a booby trap in their systems that isn't easily recognizable to Non-Cardassian engineers. It may have happened a little too late in the series, but this one's enjoyable enough that I can roll with it.

My favorite part was when Dukat appeared in person and flicked the baseball off Sisko's desk. :)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"Kirk would have blowed it up real good, the first opportunity he got :-)"

He didn't blow up the Horta. And it killed many humans too.

As for the CE, I am with Picard and agree with his approach. Destroying the entity without at least attempting to communicate with it and exploring alternatives (such as offering it a less destructive alternative for feeding) would have been unworthy of a Starfleet captain, even for Kirk.

If communication was impossible or the entity proved intractable, the Enterprise would have destroyed it. But Marr denied them even the chance at a peaceful resolution.


Set Bookmark
Nate Fleming
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 7:41am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I'm surprised nobody's mentioned the problem with casting in this episode. The Horizon seems to be manned by the same pretty young things that staff a Starfleet vessel. With the exception of Travis's mom, everyone was young and cute.

Seems like a freighter would be manned by all kinds of grunt workers like an oil rig or something. Not models.
Set Bookmark
N
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 6:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

"The Left" is not monolithic. Neither is the right. Why are you so angry?
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Have to concur, way undermarked by Jammer. This is a fun and different little ep, placing a lot of the characters in fish-out-of-water scenarios. It's exceedingly watchable and for what seems like a stand alone show, sets a lot of things up for the future. It gets 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 3:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

KIM: Take care of yourself.
TORRES: See you later, Spot.

This already horrible episode is now even more terrible for having the audacity to compare Harry Kim to a much more three-dimensional and better written Star Trek character.
Set Bookmark
SteveRage
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Sometimes you have to ask WWKD? - What Would Kirk Do?

Kirk would have blowed it up real good, the first opportunity he got :-)

Meh episode, and I kinda agree with Marr and Riker - 1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
foomench
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

"I'm a physician, not an engineer!"
I don't care whether you saw the twist coming or not. I don't think it is key to the episode, at least not for my enjoyment. But no one mentioned the above quote, only one person mentioned whether the expansion of the phenomenon itself might be part of the delusion, and only one mention of the Shatner Twilight Zone episode. Those were the things I noticed and pondered immediately, and that made this my favorite episode of the season so far.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I should have known what I was getting into replying to that. At least mephyve was concise...
Set Bookmark
General Snacker
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Can we have at least one strong male character in this? Watching the evolution of represented masculinity from TOS to TNG to VOY (The General can't really do DS9--maybe because it's stationary?) with zero alpha males, to this. Pussified City here we come haha
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

There's no need to "deliberately ignore"
-------

I gave you a need. It was hard for the writers to pull it off. It would have complicated the story they were telling, and they weren't prepared to invest time necessary to realize it. It's nothing to do with "canon". It's the realities of writing a fiction.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Chrome, really? Well can you tell your buddy that? He seems to believe that there are no theoretical limits to anything and so all predictions on the future are off.

I am willing to bet my life that alien systems won't interface on a space station (in fact, we won't even meet another alien race ever), and that we won't break the speed of light. Know why? Cause that's impossible.

I also know that in 300 years, carbon lifeforms will still die. And they'll still be susceptible to fire damage. But --- ohhh noooo... I can't possible know this, can I?

lol.
Set Bookmark
Diana
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

And Dr. Soong is supposed to be a genius…?


“Data! My favourite son! Glad you got my invitation.”

“Oh, Lore. Uh… how did you know I was here? No, no— I totes would have invited you too, if I’d realized you weren’t still stuffed in a box unconscious the way I left you. And had intended to leave you forever.

How are those dark and twisted emotions going, by the way? Still malevolently jealous and ambitious? Perfect, perfect— you should definitely stay and listen to the conversation I plan to have with Data.”

“Oh, Data— don’t be silly, with all that ‘Lore is evil and we should be afraid of him’ stuff. I can’t imagine where you’d get that from— except the detailed story you just told me, which I’m going to disregard. What’s that, Lore told you the villagers hated hated him because he was 'too human'? No, they thought he was evil and were afraid of him. No idea why everyone keeps thinking that. Except for all those reasons that led me to deactivate him.”

“Lore, what do you mean you think I love Data more? I love you both equally! Now, Data, I have a gift that’s only for you and not for Lore. It’s really quick and easy to install but I’m gonna let you both think about the disparity while I go have a nap, first."



Like, come on, man. Also, the pain factor of the writers inventing a precious 'emotions' chip for the *sole purpose* of having it ripped out of Data's hands in the same episode... foul play. I can't even bring myself to re-watch past the family reunion scene.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

When 3 alien computer systems are interfacing on a space station, pigs will sprout wings and do the air tango.

It ain't happening. It's not even theoretically possible. You'd have better hope trying to do what Tom Paris did and break the light barrier. HAHAHAHAHA!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

As for Hillary: if you think what she did was OK or in the least bit acceptable, you need your head examining. She is lucky she is not in jail - Anyone who did what she did while not being part of the protected elite would be. She lost that election for far more than emails, too. But, sure, keep crying sexism. Hillary had no workable polices; she destroyed Libya and is a war mongering nutcase that was provoking Russia. The electorate saw through it. 52% of white women voted for Trump. They misogynist too?

Get over it. The Left lost because their argument of "Trump is an evil sexist" fell short. And will continue to. You're going to be needing adult arguments in future. Pandering to minorities, virtue signalling, and slinging out stupid insults won't work now. Get that?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Accusing people who disagree with you of misogyny is old news. It doesn't work anymore. Please try to respond with an intellectual comment and not a stupid tag designed to close down debate. Cheers.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

This episode has one of the three necessary ingredients present in all the best Star Trek episodes (see my review of Blink of an Eye in Season 6) and for that it deserves to be watched.

But it is not a great episode and won't be on many people's list to watch over again (like the best are).

But it is canon for the simply reason that it shows how silly religious belief can be, especially when viewed as an outsider. It carries on the tradition of Gene Roddenberry's secular vision - episodes like Who Watches the Watchers' Devil's Due, and the excellent Voyager episode Distant Origin.

See it once for no other reason than to continue "breaking the spell" so we might one day actually live in a world like Roddenberry envisioned.
Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 10:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

The Borg started out as possibly the greatest villain in tv sci fi history (I remember feeling terrified by the menacing looking Borg tapping into Enterprise's mainframe in Q Who) but by now there are so many whole in Borg stories they've become both a joke and a bore.

To stay how they were at the start it would probably be necessary of have the occasional assimilation of a main character (an actor who wants to leave the show) but instead they get defeated in every encounter even when their odds are overwhelming (hello Dark Frontiers).

This episode wasn't bad - and yes, finally, we get to meet aliens who actually understand the concept of the positive-sum game - but by now I'm just over the Borg.

They need to slip them that fractal-virus-whatever thingy (from I Borg) and be done with them.

Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

I am tempted to give this 4 stars. It's a hidden gem, and for some reason I did not see it until just now. Here's why it's a very good episode:

Terry Farrell's acting is very natural here. I'm used to seeing a performance that's kind of phony or forced. Here she was actually acting. Whether that's because of a good director, or a good story, or the setting itself, or because she tried harder, I don't know. It might have been all of those things.

The camera work and direction was well done. The music was well done. There was a lot of good suspense here too. I liked it. And the A and B stories both finally decided to get away from Trek's "All worked out in the end" cliche drivel. What Worf did was realistic, and the tougher decision. It was a gutsy move by the writer. In fact, I think the writer deliberately set this up so that the viewer would EXPECT Worf to make the rendezvous point and to see Jadzia saved. But the rug was pulled out from under the audience instead.

Yeah, I'm gonna give it 4.



Set Bookmark
Greg
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Star Trek works best when it does at least one of three things: bases a story on a hard sci fi concept; presents a compelling moral dilemma; promotes a secular humanist message (especially when that message includes exposing mythic religion for the silly superstition it is).

This episode does all three which for my money, puts among the top 5 episodes of the entire series.

This one should not be missed.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,464
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.