Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 34,339 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,374
Set Bookmark
Rich
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Season 7 was not DS9's best season, but it stayed true to form and it culminated to a satisfying end. That's saying a lot, because I would say the ratio of all great series finale's are 50/50 at best. And yes, DS9 was a great series. It is vastly underrated and underappreciated, even after all of these years. I want to write about the series as a whole, rather just the last season.

I just finished watching the entire series run on Netflix. I dedicated the entire summer to re-watch this hidden gem. TOS had the legendary triumvirate in Kirk, Spock, and Bones and balls to launch a series that no one had ever seen before. TNG had the master thespian in Patrick Stewart. Oh man, was that guy awesome. He carried TNG even when several episodes careened off of the rails. I still get chills watching scenes from the Inner Light, The Measure of a Man, Sarek, and Chain of Command. I digress. VOY and ENT certainly had their moments, but with DS9, it can be argued that pound for pound, it was the best ST series.

The show started out with a slow burn, trying to find its footing. The ingredients were there, but it didn't quite find its calling until Duet at the end of season 1. I remember watching the 1st season in college. Back then, you had to set your VCR if you couldn't watch the show live. I was far to busy. I would record 3-4 episodes at a time. I'd binge watch before the term was even invented. I remember thinking, man, this show isn't going to make it. It's so different yet, it wants to be Star Trek. It couldn't make up its mind. I loved the pilot and thought it was a great start, but the subsequent episodes were mediocre. That first season, the two saving graces were the cast and the introductions of these new, wonderful characters. From the start, I felt the characters were interesting and had all the makings to be something special. The cast may not have had a "Patrick Steward" but, they were not slouches by any means. After Duet, I thought to myself, it's on now baby.

Season 2 had its ups and downs, but it wasn't until Necessary Evil were I started to see some brilliance again. Then, the season ended with a succession of episodes that were among the best in the entire run.

I stop watching DS9 from seasons 3-5 for various reasons. It wasn't until season 6 that got back on board. I had to play catch up in syndication. Boy, I didn't know what I was missing. The Way of the Warrior was flat out brilliant and took the show in a whole new direction. At any rate, I had long since forgotten about the show after 1998. It wasn't until I caught In the Pale Moonlight in syndication around 2009. I had to re-watch the series again.

Then finally, again, this summer, I decided to re-watch the series from a different perspective since so many had proclaimed DS9 to be one of the forerunner shows to provide continuity to a series. The X-Files certainly provided it's own mythology. I have to give props to that show. With DS9, it had its own stand alone episodes, but in order to appreciate the show as a whole, you needed to invest in every episode. Even the sub-par ones. There I was, night after night, taking it all in from a different point of view. I learned to appreciate the series in a whole new light. Mad Men is the one show that comes to mind where you have to watch in its entirely to understand all of the nuances. That's how I feel about DS9. It was different from TOS and TNG. It was darker and grittier. The characters didn't always see eye to eye. They fought and quarreled, but at the end of the day, they were family. They learned to appreciate one another. The relationships grew and evolved for better or for worse. Bashir and O'Brien, Sisko and Kira, Odo and Kira, Kira and Dax, O'Brien and Sisko and my favorite of them all, Odo and Quark. The series had at least 5 solid story lines that ran across the series, from the Bajoran religious angles, the Maquis, the crossover universe, to the Dominion war. Say what you will, but I loved the Ferengi episodes. Wallace Shawn kills me. Plus, those episode broke the monotony and provided comedy relief. I would make the argument that DS9 had the superior story lines.

I am an avid Star Trek fan. I have been since my older brother took me to see Wrath of Khan as a kid. I can't wait for the new series to start up. As a whole, I believe DS9 is the richest, most fulfilling, and entertaining series of the lot. That's just one guy's opinion.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

"The rate we go through runabouts, it's a good thing the Earth has so many rivers." - Kira

Funniest line of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Rich
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

What an astounding episode this was. I would place it in the upper 1-2% in the great pantheon of all Star Trek television series. It was just tremendous. I was completely engrossed and absorbed from the opening scene. It's always fun to see Garak in his element, doing his thing, however, watching Sisko grapple with his ethics and code of honor was truly mesmerizing. In my opinion, this was DS9's finest hour.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Kind of odd that people are saying they sympathise with Eddington because of Sisko's actions. Sisko didn't do anything that Eddington hadn't already done, unless you think it doesn't matter because it was only Cardassians. I find myself unable to sympathise with Eddington just because of how smug and annoying he is.
Set Bookmark
Simon
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I quite liked this episode, but the oldest male "child" looked about 30!
Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

There are a few things that attempt to salvage this episode. However, as to the plot, this dead horse has been beaten so badly, it's bones have been pulverized to a fine powder. Enough already with the "close calls". It's unoriginal. It's boring. It's insulting to the audience. This is the one major reason why I feel Voyager could never measure up to the other series that came before. They could have done anything with this ship but instead, it turned into this "plodding our way home" ordeal. As Jammer said, enough with the teasers. If they aren't going to get home until the series finale, then let's stop with the false hopes BS and get on with other themes. Frankly, I don't care if others don't find the Gilligan's Island plot repetition to be obnoxious. This is bush league writing and fodder for the all-but-discerning viewer.

It's especially insulting that the encrypted Star Fleet message from several episodes past was just a "Sorry, no go on any help from us... but good luck!" What a complete waste of a plot device.

-2 for yet-another-we-came-close-to-getting-home-but-sorry-not-this-time plot
+1 for good dialog and performances from the Voyager crew
+1 for great character interactions between Janeway & Seven
-0.5 for Ray Wise's lackluster performance
-1 for absurd revenge plot and associated contrivances
+2 for exploring the effects of Janeway's decision from Scorpion
-1 for making us wait for the Star Fleet message decryption for nothing except another Gilligan-in-Space spiel

Episode gets a -0.5 stars in my book. Call me picky, but Gilligan's Island barely worked as a serialized sitcom. Stop using its themes in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@NCC-1701-Z : Well Dax couldn't have been in Starfleet during that era, so I doubt she'd be a main character. But I would get a kick out of a name drop or a cameo too :)
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

This episode was quite acceptable after a crummy pilot and trashy early episodes.
Hardly surprising since it was co written by Diane Duane and loosely based on one of the best TOS novels:The Wounded Sky.
The mirage section was old ,old territory and cropped up again in Generations. As implied above how much better would it have been if the hallucinations were created by morally ambiguous extra galactic monsters.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I don't think Dax will be a main character, but if she pops up as a one-episode guest character or even a cameo that would be a really awesome Easter egg for the DS9 fans!!!
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Chrome - I can answer that! Since Bones hadn't entered medical school when he met Emony and 10 years before Kirk's voyage he'd have to be in medical school if he was going to be the chief medical officer of the flagship in 10 years (despite what nuTrek says, you don't get magical promotions from cadet to Captain of the flagship) it can't be anything PRIOR to Emony. So Lela/Tobin are out.

Assuming no retcons at all from DS9, Joran Dax died in 2286. DSC launches in 2255, 31 years earlier. So Joran and Curzon are out as well (Joran Dax only existed for 6 months after all).

Aside from Curzon we know the most about Torias because multiple episodes involved him. We know he got into the shuttle crash after being joined less than a year. So the latest Audrid could have died in 2284.

Bones was born in 2227. Upon further examination Emony met Bones when he was in college and she was judging a gymnastics competition on Earth. So let's say 18-22 years after this (2245-2249).

Her career was over already if she was a judge, and Dax raises children as Audrid. So presumably Audrid Dax existed for at least 20-30 years. So I'd say, with a bit of guessing, that DSC launches right around the time that Emony died and Audrid became host. So you could really meet either one.

Audrid is the head of the symbiosis committee on Trill, so if you wanted a good story that might be more interesting than a gymnast.
Set Bookmark
Jack Bauer
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode."

Like I said, there is a multi-million dollar fan flic being made right now on Axanar. Look it up the documentary on Youtube, its going to be awesome. It has some familiar faces in it.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The real question is, which host would Dax be in during that time? :-)
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Ah yes more Chakotay is every native american stuff. poor Robert Beltran the only episodes they ever write for him are about how he's a native american who's tribe lived in central america but holds north american values and cultural traits.

No wonder he bitches about the voyager staff all the time they made his character from a Guerrilla fighter trying to protect his home to, my people believe you can't own land now I must go on a spirit journey and play the song of my people Pan flutes. Doesn't help that for all but a half dozen episodes he was janeway's bitch who rarely voiced his opinion and just did what ever the captain said.

I do find it amusing that the voyager writers actually wrote that native Americans were so uncivilized with little more than fire and stone tools that they needed aliens to genetically alter them in order to thrive and build civilizations.
Set Bookmark
Wafflestomper
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

One thing I learned from this episode:
Omega Directive > Prime Directive
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"Is there any chance that a Dax previous host shows up on this show somehow?

I don't think Trill was discovered until way later on but hey who knows? "

It's about 99.999999999999% likely that TNG's "The Host" never happened. Stuff we know about Trills from Dax:

1. They don't re-associate with past lovers.
2. They have spots.
3. Dax was involved with Starfleet at a point where Emony met Bones.
4. Curzon was Sisko's mentor, a Federation ambassador, and Sisko was aware of his nature. This occurred prior to the beginning of TNG.
5. The symbionts do not overwhelm the host, instead creating a new individual.
6. Has no trouble using the transporter.

Stuff we know about Trills from Odan :

1. "It" was totally fine continuing a sexual relationship with Beverly across 3 hosts.
2. Forehead ridges, no spots.
3. Starfleet does not seem to be aware that Trill symbionts exist as of the events of "The Host" (2367) despite Curzon dying in 2367 and Dax, a Starfleet officer, getting the symbiont. I guess they don't do medical scans on her ship.
4. And while we're on the topic of medical scans, I guess they didn't scan Odan when he boarded. One would assume that passengers brought in on shuttles are scanned since that would be standard procedure for the transporter.
5. Odan has no personality or name change from one host to the next. Riker is completely gone. And apparently these symbionts can be briefly joined to humans?!
6. Cannot use the transporter.

Verdict. You can either a) retcon "The Host", b) assume that there are two species called Trill that by some random coincidence both use symbionts and that Dax's Trill homeworld is a Federation member while Odan's is relatively unknown or c) retcon all of DS9.

I don't care if you pick a) or b) but I'd have some beef with c).
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So far the only TOS reference for this time period I can find that would make a good story is the Battle of Anxanar referenced in that Asylum episode.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Holy crap, just thought of something:

Is there any chance that a Dax previous host shows up on this show somehow?
I don't think Trill was discovered until way later on but hey who knows?
Set Bookmark
TS
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

After years... and I mean YEARS... of starting and stopping my very first watch of Enterprise (mainly due to the consistent mediocrity of the show), this episode and "Dear Doctor" have been the ones to keep me going this year. Glad I've finally made it this far.

Aside from moments that bordered on complete silliness ("Stinky"...?), I thought this was a very effective character based episode.

A shame they haven't been making more like "Dear Doctor" or "Shuttlepod One" up to this point, otherwise I might have actually stuck with the show when I first tried watching it 8-9 years ago. I hope there are more like them as I continue my first run-through of the series.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

The only interesting scenes were on the holodeck.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Very nice. Even Janeway and Chuckitoutkotay were at least watchable here. (***)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Watchable. (*)
Set Bookmark
Saty13
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I enjoyed this episode very much. It works on many levels. Great story-telling and suspense. Great character development. Beautiful performance by Brent Spiner as an amnesiatic Data trying trying to convince people he only wants to help them and not harm them.

And the woman who plays the teacher/healer/scientist...awesome character. My favorite moment is when she says: "I'm sure my grandmother would have called [Data] a demon or spirit or some sort of monster" Then her modern, scientific-thinking leads her to conclude, "You are an Ice Man." Priceless. It's a wonderfully funny moment, yet it doesn't make her look ridiculous. She's is simply making sense of things using whatever frames of reference she has.

Set Bookmark
dave
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

@RandomThoughts

If they took your advice on auto beamouts half of the Trek episodes would be gone. What would the writers do then? :)
Set Bookmark
O'Doyle
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Totally agree with Corey - 4 stars. I was born in '71 and caught a lot of TOS in early reruns. This one was totally riveting. The silencing of heartbeat scene is on the three or four most indelible TV moments of my childhood. Loved it. I've picked up the new blue-ray release and have been watching them with my son - he gives this one 4 stars as well. Can't argue with that.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Tue, Aug 30, 2016, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

I liked Kira's comment, something like 'I'm sure you Starfleet types find this all fascinating. But I am a Bajoran military officer. This is not what I signed up for!"

It would have been better if someone said to her at the end of the episode something like, 'well, you'll have to get used to it.'
Next ►Page 1 of 1,374
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2016 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.