Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36,737 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,470
Set Bookmark
Codus
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Wasnt seven supposed to have waited for that guy from holomatrix. What happened wuth ending the series with that romance or to that dudes fate alltogether. It was partially answered since apparently the holomatrix civil war failed, so are we to asume he died in that civil war or what?
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 9:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Welp, this series is never coming out. Seriously, is it that hard to hire competent showrunners who can keep their promises? Apparently.
Set Bookmark
Rob
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Tremendous acting, with dialogue so chilling you'd expect it to come from a transcript at a Nazi war crimes tribunal.
DS9 was not afraid to show grit and realism, and it felt this episode was inspired by real history, especially with "Darheel's" maniacal rants trying to justify occupation and genocide.

It was also a very tragic episode. The line "the dead will still be dead" was very hard hitting because regardless what trials and sentences would be carried out the damage was done. Retrospective justice doesn't restore victims. The futility of vengeance is clearly shown. During the episode it felt that only Odo's security office seemed to provide solace from the great injustices that surrounded them.
Set Bookmark
Ivanov
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 6:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

Dear lord the Cardassian make up this episode was horrifying! I mean what the fuck was with that Gul's face?
Set Bookmark
Akkadian
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

This could have been a great episode (should have been a two parter) but sloppy writing resulted in a so so episode. They get points for trying in previous episodes and Tom's bad behavior as lead up. They lose a ton of points for the plot contrivances. But the biggest plot sin was having Nelix bumble his way into solving the spy problem (maybe they should make Tuvok the morale officer and Nelix can handle security.). So what was the point of having Tom risk his life and the lives of the Talaxians??? All they needed was Nelix and the comm history.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

I'm convinced the events leading up to this episode didn't quite happen the way they are described. See, I'm assuming Scotty woke up in sickbay after the accident, declaring himself fine and wanting to get back to work. Bones agreed, and everything was all set until someone realized there was a Starfleet regulation requiring Scotty to undergo psychotherapy for the accident. Scotty insists it's pointless; he has no emotional trauma. Bones agrees, assuming this is all some ridiculous pansy bureaucratic rule made by stuffed shirts in their ivory towers not understanding what life was actually like out on the frontier, but rules are rules... Scotty continues to argue, while Bones realizes that while psychotherapy is required, the precise form of this psychotherapy is up to the ship's doctor. So he throws his hands up in the air and declares strippers and booze to be the best therapy he knows, and Scotty decides he can get on board with that idea...

Hey, it's better than the ridiculous excuse they had in the actual episode...

As for the story itself, it... didn't really work. I mean, the mystery aspect should have been a success, and as long as you didn't think too much worked well enough to be entertained. But it just didn't help that everyone kept carrying the idiot ball around. The fact that the two follow up murders occurred showed a distinct lack of foresight on the part of Kirk and company, who despite seeing women stabbed left and right never thought to maybe, I don't know, stop leaving the knife lying around in broad daylight... Seriously, as soon as the hearing on the Enterprise convened with all the cast members and guest stars and front and center is a nameless female redshirt, I was convinced she was doomed (congrats for surviving the episode!) Also, the revelation that the knife came from the same planet as Piglett came way too late, after we already knew it was him. Why wasn't that fact disclosed earlier? Still, it was a semi-acceptable murder-mystery story...

...That then turned into a weird problem-solving episode at the end. A mystery's climax is supposed to be the revelation of the murderer, but here we have the last quarter of the episode switch genres and be about trying to defeat a ghost that feeds on fear and is possessing the ship. Fine, the resolution to that - hopping everyone up on happy pills (guess Psychiatrist McCoy didn't have enough booze and strippers on hand to prescribe that to everyone...) - was somewhat interesting to see, but the mood swings in the last 10 minutes kind of ruined whatever good will you might have had from the mystery part. At least, it all seemed messed up to me, and not really a satisfying payoff to the story.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I'm watching this episode now. I'm starting to recall how much I didn't really like it, principally because I hated the Neelix character.

Only things that could've saved this episode for me was if they recreated the Thomas Riker incident at the same time and kept Tuvok and Tuvix while Neelix died. Or if Tuvix had banged Kes and then when Neelix returned he was both fond of the memory and forever pissed at Tuvok.
Set Bookmark
Jason
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

What, you don't think Klingons make good midwives? At least they didn't have him do a Caesarian with his Bat'Leth.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

This episode is nothing short of an episodic masterpiece.

A couple of things to note. The dynamic of the ship's bartender overriding the captain based purely on intuition sets the tone for the entire episode. Secondly, Guinan's intuition is revealed early on in the episode; this makes Guinan one of the best implementations of the "magical support character" trope, as the episode's protagonists have an entire act to wrestle with their decision. The dutiful decisions the crews make and that this temporal rift triggers is the real focus on the episode.

1. Thoughtful captain of a starship willing to bet the entire Federation on a friendship, against every instinct in his body
2. Ship's crew willing to return a fight they will definitely lose
3. Sacrificing the few for the many
4. Loved ones, dying together, in battle
5. Dying an honorable death versus an empty death
6. Engaging in tactical maneuvers that essentially sacrifice the D for the C, on faith

Obviously a lot of this has Shakespearean roots. I have grown to admire the screenwriting of TNG and am not a fan of "one glaring problem" criticisms. For an episodic, the amount that is on the line, and the way out, is stunning. Guinan's "this isn't right" is literally the only piece of reality that the viewer of an episodic series can hold on to.

Once you buy into this device, you realize this episode is about human self-sacrifice and faith as a means of salvation when at every turn there is an easier way out. And ultimately it gets you from one episode to the next. Incredibly self-aware stuff. Best of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Janeway actually lampshades one of my main problems with all the Star Trek series, of which Voyager was possibly the worst offender. Janeway remarks, "I'm not sure how much longer Belanna can tolerate me standing over her shoulder." Thank you Jesus! For what reason do the writers think it's a good idea for the Captain, not only to give orders that an experienced crew would already know to initiate, but to constantly tell that experienced and competent crewman how to do? It's so retarded. This episode was one of the worst. Janeway was constantly telling Belanna how to do every single thing. I'm expected to believe Janeway knows more about physics and technology than Belanna? Dafuq?!
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Have they given up on using the combadges to explain away the translation issue?
Set Bookmark
Bill
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

FU JHOH
Set Bookmark
Vii
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 6:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

It was an okay episode, fun to watch. Voyager's very own version of the 'ghost in the machine' concept. Did anyone else think that the colour and design of the Alice-ship's nodes in Paris' chest resembled that of Enterprise's 'child' in Emergence?

I was intrigued by how B'lanna's call for help whilst she was being suffocated in Alice-ship was directed to Chakotay. There's always been some sort of subtle hint that the two of them share a bond that they do with no one else on the ship, and the fact that he's the only person she calls to for help by name whilst she's effectively nearly being murdered - is indicative of that special relationship. Funny to think that Chakotay's the first person she would think of in great trouble, not Tom, or even Harry.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Wow. This episode was a pile of puke. So is this review. A perfect pike of puke to end a pile of puke series.
This garbage constantly tried to rip off the magic of TNG. It was never legitimate on its own. "Hey let's put the Borg in half the episodes so the detestable Janeway can defeat them again and again by compromising humanity's, Starfleet's, the Federation's, and get own values, morals and rules."
At one time, the Borg were considered one of the greatest villains in TV history. Luckily no one watched Voyager or they certainly won't be remembered that way.
As for the finale, what a blatant attempt to rip off the essence of 'All Good Things.' Ever watch Deep Space Nine and notice it had its own characters, themes and plots? Poor Voyager. You never had a chance with Braga as the principle creative driver and Mulgrew cast in the lead.
One note on Jeri Ryan. Her beauty and blonde over biguns want enough to make the show decent, just bought it the three final seasons. She was a great actress though. Voyager didn't deserve her. This is evidenced by the last episode melodramaromance/ with Seven & Chakotay. What a disservice to both characters and actors.
💩
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

This one is okay and I think Jammer's 2-star review is pretty fair. And it's definitely NOT the worst Trek episode ever -- there are huge swaths of Seasons 1-2 "Enterprise" (let's not even start on Seasons 1-2 "Voyager") that are completely absent from my memory, as they fell into a cookie cutter of phaser shootouts without any substantial story or ideas. By contrast, "The Alternative Factor" has some neat ideas and iconic imagery, even if the high-concept SF story does tend toward tedium and incomprehensibility.

Despite the boredom in long stretches of this episode, I will give it this much: I have never forgotten it. The image of Lazarus fighting himself, the reverse-negative photography of their battles and Kirk's journey into the antimatter universe, and the nifty-looking "time ship" are all memorable concepts. It's the kind of "hard sci-fi high concept show" that TOS rarely did -- and in some ways, I suspect it set the stage for many later Trek stories, especially those written by Brannan Braga and Joe Menosky. Not a bad thing.

Being memorable for its imagery and ideas, despite the average execution, is a solid point in this episode's favor. By contrast, there are many (many, many, many) other Star Trek episodes from each series from which I can recall nothing at all. And there are many Trek episodes which are downright offensive and dumb. While this one is a bit of a drag, it's sincerely executed and strives for some big ideas. So I do think an "okay for effort" is in order. And let me be daring: Maybe it even deserves 2 1/2 stars for the cool female assistant engineer with the short haircut.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 2:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

For me, this one is good but not great, hardly deserving of the 4-star "classic episode" status that Jammer affords it. Unlike "Cause and Effect," it's not the sort of TNG classic that lingers in your memory for very long. Rather, it's an engaging little suspense story that doesn't offer much of lasting substance when it's over.

We all know that this kind of "events turn out to be imaginary, hit reset button" story becomes cliche in later Trek series. Here it's still highly enjoyable, tautly paced, unpredictable, and compellingly executed -- especially by Frakes in a bravura theater-style performance. And I like the thoughtful idea that the make-believe memories were a mental defense mechanism

The problem with "Frame of Mind" -- and the reason I would give it 3 1/2 star rather than 4 -- is that the plot doesn't make any sense if think about it too hard. It's all about the surface and moment, very little about believable characters or motivation. Consider: What is Riker's mission on the planet? Why do the aliens want to extract strategic information about the Federation from his mind? How did they know who he was and where to find him? Did Riker or the Federation do anything to give them reasonable cause for villainy? This stuff just doesn't hold together at all. Again, let's ask: Is there a prime directive issue here and did Riker violate it by using the transporter in front of the aliens at the end?

Like third-season TOS, these questions are all too complex for this black-and-white story. Unlike "Cause and Effect," where the high-concept plot twists didn't depend on stock villains, this show gives us a hostile group of aliens and tells us nothing about them or their motives. Since Braga apparently couldn't be bothered to tell us anything about them, they become one-dimensional baddies without any reason for their actions here. And for me, four-star Trek *always* needs well-rounded characters with at least a token motivation for what they do. So while this show is good, it's not among the best for me.
Set Bookmark
Sebastian
Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

What made Dukat more accessible was his confession that he had a Bajoran lover. And that he felt something for her (see scene with earpiece, so his trip was so much more than destroying evidence).

I believe on some level Dukat felt attracted to Major Kira, and once his first secret was out, he was emotionally more open.

The way he laughed about the thorn in his ass, he would have done, when he was alone with his Bajoran lover.

I would have expected a scene where after Dukat's announcement to kill his daughter Kira would have been angry that he first sleeps with a Bajoran and then wants to kill their common child. That should be a total relapse from the playful thorn scene, something like being betrayed.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 10:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

I kind of agree with Tara that Minuet is something of a 'fail' in terms of actually being what Riker and Picard suggest she is. The actors are selling something that does not really appear on the screen. To be honest I think this was just a writing and directing gaff, because while contextually it appears that it's her comportment that is what's attracting them, I think the intent of the episode is to show how advanced the holodeck is rather than how amazing she in particular is. When they say they could love her I sort of take that to mean "she seems real enough that someone could fall in love with her", i.e. the holodeck's simulation of human beings is very realistic. Contextually it does look like they are admiring her actual traits, but this is the part that I think was directed incorrectly. Riker should have been shown to be into her because she was into him (read: womanizer interested in anything pretty that finds him attractive), while Picard's fascination should have been more with the vividness. It's not that this wasn't there, exactly, but it wasn't highlighted correctly and the whole thing comes off as them being into her because she's a sex toy.

The end of the episode does specifically mention, though, that once the Bynars left she wasn't the same, which does imply something special about her program in particular, but the way it's written it may as well be magic. I don't think a Federation member would be withholding programming technology from Starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Don
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I enjoyed the Fairhaven episodes. They weren't meant to be taken seriously. The analysis of the logical problems is wildly out of place-- you might as well ask whether Inspector Clouseau would really have a job as a police detective. The writers were having fun. Clearly you and most of the others here were not.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Mentally I file this one next to
"Disaster" - in that neither one of them makes a damn bit of sense but who cares because the characters and the dialog are such fun!

Ro and Riker have been butting heads since her arrival episode. Given their personalities. - he's a womanizer; she's all pent-up angst and rebellion - It's totally believable to me that they'd tear each other's clothes off after two shots of vodka or a little amnesia... or pretty much any excuse at all. So that was pretty satisfying. Kinda wish they'd stayed frenemies with benefits from time to time... But I guess that would be a little too edgy for a family show?

Part of the epiaode's fun was my own persistent puzzlement over who the heck was that McDuff guy anyway? When it was over and the plot was revealed, I called myself a moron for not figuring it out in two seconds.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Three stars because it's fun!

I am in the minority for hating the Keiko/Worf crap. Ugh. Stupid humor as a woman goes through something that is (take your pick) deeply meaningful, very bloody and painful, a risk to her health, a vulnerable moment in which her naked privates are on display. But yeah let's yuck it up!

I am also apparently the only one who thought THE classic line of the episode was "Wait.- Data-- are you asking me to take off your head???"
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 8:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

A favorite episode. Love Ro Laren. But then, unlike some, I do like troubled tormented characters with dark backstories, and I do like seeing the overly-flawless regulars taken down a peg by an outsider.

Some priceless exchanges: Ro telling Crusher and Troi to eff off at the bar; Guinan telling Ro she's full of crap; Ro calling her peers morons with the classic line, "He has no diplomatic experience- - and he won't ask you to dance." Gossipy Geordi "I won't turn my back on her!" Laforge. Riker's puffed-up jerkiness: "Take off that earring! Ignore Troi's non regulation cleavage and Worf's non regulation sash!" Basically, all the crew acting kinda like jerkwads.

Ro Laren is like Barclay - though she is used much better throughout the series. They are the two characters who don't fit into the perfect Starfleet world. At the Academy, they both ate lunch alone: Barclay next to the potted plant, and Ro at the center table, pretending not to care that she was a lonely outcast who everyone shied away from.

I'm laughing at those who pretend to object to Ro because she's a "stock character." I actually can't think of another similar character on TNG - unlike the brilliant scientist or manipulative diplomat or arrogant alien or devoted wife - who are all shown again and again. . "Terminator chick"." Seriously?? As I remember, Ro doesn't so much as throw a punch, (unlike Linda Hamilton in T2, say) and is pretty obviously driven by emotion and PTSD and guilt and honor, very different from the cyborg Terminator itself.

Oh, and her awkward confession to a stern, frowning Picard was awesome. In a later episode when she says, "I can't believe it - I'm dead and I'm still intimidated by you!" it's an earned moment. And their relationship in "Preemptive Strike" and its ending - pure heartbreak.

Those are the character dynamics that make TNG wonderful.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Okay, so, yeah: zero stars for creativity, intelligent plotting, entertainment value.

But four stars for being So Awful That you and your friends all dive for the remote and scream, "No! No! Quick, turn it OFF! Turn it off right now!!"
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 6:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Four stars from me. I don't give a damn how ludicrous the frozen-Klingon plot is. Kheylar and Worf battling over love, sex, honor, and their mixed cultures, make it great.

I'm trying to remember if there's any romance on the show that I liked better. PIcard and wife on "The Inner Light" is all that comes to mind as a possible rival.
Set Bookmark
Tara
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

There needs to be a special star system that means "horrible yet entertaining; hate it but want to watch it again!"

Love Brenna and her odd crop-top. Hate the insulting depiction of dumb dirty Irishmen - even in the eighties that seemed just ugly. Hated that Brenna got stuck being the men's mommy, practically. Hated that she went after the leader of the other group because "He looks like he has two coins to rub together!" Hated that the Irish females were expected to breed babies inside their bodies for the good of society - yeah I read that novel: it's called "Handmaid's Tale". It's prevalent IRL too: it exists in backward and fundamentalist and poor societies all over the world. Breed for God, breed for your man, breed soldiers for our revolution, breed because it's your female responsibility.

And yet in spite of all those objections... Worf! Pulaski! , Riker! The whole damn episode entertains me, I guess even more than it infuriates me. While the Season One clunkers make we wince and look away, this one makes me stare with mouth agape.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,470
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.