Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this | Bottom

Total Found: 24,262 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 971
DLPB - Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 12:41am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

If it wanted us to ask questions, it wouldn't need to or implement a loading of the dice. Which is certainly did.
Xylar - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 8:04pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

@Todd
I assume the Doctor 'forgot' about her because his program is part of the ship's systems and would thus have been affected by the virus that erases all trace of their existence.
It's not exactly credible, but then again very little in this episode is.

The name of this episode is very ironic since I highly doubt that a lot of people will remember it at all. And why should they? Nothing actually happened. No impact was made on anyone or anything. Why even bother?
Robert - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:07pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Actually, what's interesting about this episode is that I feel it takes viewpoints that usually don't go together and many characters change their views. The criminal is reformed, quite literally and magically, but their crime system is about punishment, not really reform our public safety. I think in the end the episode is more about WHY we punish than how. And Neelix, presented as the "social justice warrior" gets taken. And several characters change their views and several don't. I loved this one.
St.Manfred - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 3:29pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Very thoughtful and well-balanced episode. Contrary to some of you, I think the story was neither pro or con death penalty. Rather, I was left with the impression the writers wanted us to question our opinions toward this issue. With regards to those of you voicing their stance on the matter quite loudly, I feel the writers have accomplished their mission. 3.5 stars.
Robert - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 2:32pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

For my 2 cents about Brooks... I don't know if he's a good actor... I haven't seen him in anything else.

I can tell you who is NOT a particularly good actor. Samuel L. Jackson. Samuel L. Jackson is really good at playing Samuel L. Jackson. And since he's AWESOME, we don't care. I'd watch Mace Windu L. Jackson or Nick Fury L. Jackson or whoever else. In the wrong roll that could be a problem, but he doesn't ever seem to take the wrong roll.

There are good actors out there. Hugh Jackman sells me in WHATEVER he does, all the way from "X-Men" to "The Boy From Oz". It sometimes annoys me when people start dissecting acting technique like it matters. If you cast your show really well it doesn't matter if everyone there is literally just playing themselves. Jackman is impressive, but you don't have to be that good to do your part service.

As for me, the 3 most important parts of a character are
1) Do I enjoy their scenes (see Garak)?
2) Do I believe their relationships (this is a really, really big one)?
3) Do I get immersed (ie, can I tell they are acting)?

For me, Avery's Sisko comes up with pretty high marks.
1) I enjoy his scenes. I think Avery's eccentricities come through a bit sure, but they don't detract from the performance for me. I just attribute those things to Sisko.

2) His relationship with Jake, Dax and Kassidy all score high marks in my book. Especially Jake. His relationship with Dukat scores VERY high marks in my book. Things things all work well for Sisko.

3) The ham didn't bother me here or with Shatner. I just felt like Sisko was a little eccentric. And that's ok.

So in short... we don't need an actor as good as Stewart if the casting people cast the role well, the writers can play up his strengths, the directors can play up his strengths and he has good chemistry with the people he needs to. And I think he does.
St.Manfred - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 1:33pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Great episode, nice upbeat atmosphere and Trek spirit. Just what to expect from Star Trek with regards to ideals and optimism despite human flaw. 3 stars.
Andrew - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 9:30am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I thought the script for Part II was able to symbolize and contrast the ideals and styles of the original series and TNG without presenting one as better while also acting as a tribute to Roddenberry (who did consider the latter better and partly created the series as a reaction to the original series and especially movies).
Korou - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 8:33am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I usually agree with the reviews here, but I have to disagree with this one. I found Devil's Due to be a nicely written story with plenty of suspense (in the Star Trek universe it's quite believable that the entity posing as the Devil could be some kind of superpowered alien; it doesn't have to be the Devil for Picard to be in danger from losing the wager). And I enjoyed the climax. All in all, one of the better episodes.
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:54am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Ah, Elliott and co again. Same old liberal clap trap. The belief that being a do-gooder and pacifist is always the correct choice, when generally is actually means you are wiped out. Typical apologist, do-nothing, hope for the best, weak minded nonsense. People like Elliott needs to live in a place where they can see the fruits of their deluded philosophy in action - you know, places like Detroit. Go and move there, Elliott, and then we'll see how your ridiculous progressive ideals hold up, won't we? It's easy for you to moralize from a lovely neighbourhood sat on your couch.
dlpb - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:43am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Three stars? Really? Can I have some of what you are smoking?
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:36am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Haha, if you think this episode is illogical, just wait for Season 4. It's a doozy!
DLPB - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 7:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Sigh. It gets really tiresome having to disengage my brain in order to get any kind of enjoyment out of a story. The whole story is littered with issues. The writers simply get anything to happen and don't care for logic, but, in this episode, one thing annoyed me more than anything else:

Voyager is attacked and heavily damaged. It needs to touch down on a planet for repairs. They revive an alien species (which is conveniently on the random planet) that may be hostile. Seven concludes that most humanoids are hostile.. and yet still does it. WHY?

In fact, forget the revive portion... the minute they land, Janeway starts her do-gooder speech about how there might be people who need help. HEY, REALITY CHECK - YOU AND YOUR OWN PEOPLE NEED HELP AT THE MOMENT. Only a complete retard would start seeking out people to help when their own ship is damaged and there is an enemy hovering overhead. It's just so damn basic and stupid from the writers.

Enter the real world.
zzybaloobah - Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 12:13am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

Starbuck to Kat: "You lied your way into the company of good people."
Starbuck should be tossed out the airlock.

Sorry to see Kat go.

Minor continuity goof:
After the 4th mission, Kat's radiation badge is black. Then, when she sees Enzo on the balcony of the hanger deck, it's white. Later, when she switches badges, it's black again....

DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 11:49pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnkKZqSR3dc

Let me know what you think. I thought this was really well written and acted.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 11:48pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I liked this episode. It had a meaning and it had a nice twist. That's usually a good sign. The idea of hating another side because of propaganda or treating beings on the opposite side differently has been done before, but it's done very nicely here too. 3 stars.

If you like this, check out the Twilight Zone episode: A Quality of Mercy.
Xylar - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 8:10pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I'm still trying to wrap my head around the fact that a species which is still a pre warp civilization has somehow developed a method of stabilizing one of the most dangerous, volatile and chaotic molecules in the known galaxy superior to that of the Borg, who have assimilated thousands of other species.
Basically, the Borg, who have the knowledge of almost 5000 species at their disposal can't figure out how to stabilize this thing, but these guys can? I find that highly implausible.

They can't figure out warpspeed, but stabilizing a molecule that has every other species that knows about it scratching their heads is something they come close to doing. I realize they don't succeed, but Seven herself admits that they came much closer to success then the Borg ever did.
I'm also wondering if Voyager blew those two ships to smithereens when they shot at the molecules and then hightailed it out of there at warpspeed. That's all fine and good for Voyager, but those aliens didn't have warp capability, so did just get blowed up real good or what?

I suppose it doesn't really matter, since this is technically a story about exploring a side of Seven we haven't seen before as well as a story about a directive that overrides all other ones and how Janeway and co handle that and everything else is just a plot device to drive that story forward.
dlpb - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 7:02pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Nah, I've seen him in the films and shows like Columbo and he's just as bad there.
Yanks - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 4:09pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

OK folks, Shatner is a good actor that hammed it up in the 60's to sell bad episodes in an effort to keep the show afloat.

Brooks can't deliver a sentence without breathing in the wrong places for gods sake. The only thing he's good at portraying is a bass ass.

Got it about the notes MSV, thanks.
Alston49 - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 2:55pm (USA Central)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

Archer tells Dr. Soong his Augments' existence comes at a pretty high price. No higher than when ol' Johnny committed genocide. Seems Soong wasn't the only one in need of a history lesson.

Those augments were pretty quick to dispatch Klingons. Why in the world did it take so long with the MACO's? Rhetorical question I guess. If they killed them off then they'd be unemployed.
DLPB - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 2:00pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Even a blind ape could make Shatner look like a great actor, let's face it. Stewart, on the other hand, puts them both to shame. But that's my point really... for a modern TV series, why are they using someone who doesn't even come close in talent?
Del_Duio - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 12:28pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

"Of course the big reveal is that the Founders are dying... and for some reason Odo isn't. Now Odo thinks no matter who wins, he is going to lose."

Though this last line was predictable, it didn't make it any less powerful. 4-star episode for me as well.

@ Jeff: I think the writers were going for something akin to TNG's "Relics" as far as Sisko is concerned. Remember the conversation Geordi and Scotty had about how Captains are like babies: How long will it take? How long will it REALLY take? What!? Ye' dinna' tell him how long it'd REALLY TAKE??!

Hahaha
Del_Duio - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 12:06pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

This episode is so great.. Kor goes out with a bang and earns Martok's respect finally, some really great acting chops all around (except for that Klingon woman who strangely sounds a lot like Nog lol.)

The shots with the Birds of Prey attacking surface objects was awesome and very unexpected. Had they ever done any ship to ground attacks within a planet's atmosphere before this point? I can't recall and I've seen them all before. Hmmm.
zzybaloobah - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 10:15am (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

One of BSGs worst (which is still watchable).

1) The implasuibility of the whole thing. How does a virus infect a software download? And how would it infect all Cylons -- there's Cylons back on the colonies out of range of this ressurection ship; for all we know, there's Cylons back wherever-they-went-between-wars. The idea that you'd get them all is silly. (And maybe that helps the moral argument -- you only kill the Cylons coming after you...)

2) The MASSIVE reset button. No consequences for Helo. And no attempt to try again. They have the virus. Surely they can come up with some scheme to capture some Cylons and infect them?

(Now for a rehash of a thread discussed on the DS9 board about the Federation's use of a bio-weapon against the Founders. Another example of ST using genocide...and I won't even mention General Order 24 -- whoops, I did it again.)

It's self defense. Which goes beyond mere survival -- my starving doesn't justify stealing food -- in that case, it would be "nobler" to starve than to steal. But when you're continually *fleeing* and being threatened with genocide, it is morally acceptable to use genocide in self defense.

Yes, it probably haunts you the rest of your life. But you live with it. There's nothing "noble" about not resisting extermination.
Michael - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 9:55am (USA Central)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

@Sparrow:
Well...

Given the amount of hot air in your post, I'd say the climate has already irrevocably changed.

All I see amid your bloviations are idle hypotheses. If X hadn't done this, if Y hadn't done that, if Z had done the other, A would have happened, B would have happened differently, C would not have happened at all, yadda-yadda-yadda. Because, won't you know it, the West (America, naturally, in particular) is the root of all evil. If I am a caricature of the Right's idiocy and ahistoricisms, you are a caricature of the Left's belligerence toward all dissent from the imposed consensus of the Cultural Marxist narrative. (Extra moron points for the "racism" aspersion. All it confirms is YOUR racism because it shows that YOU treat Moslems a certain way by reason of its being largely a religion adhered to by little "brown" people who need your protection from "enlightened" "openminded" pricks like you. Somehow, I doubt you are as enlightened when it comes to, say, Christianity, but that, in your warped world, is okay.)

I will not delve into the dozen of what-ifs because it is an exercise in futility. Yes, tings might have turned out completely different, they may have been delayed, or they may have turned out the same under someone else's fiat. The Western hegemony is by no means perfect. We made our fair share of mistakes. That is the nature of things though. Whenever there are even just two of any organic entities (be they even mere plants), there is a power relationship. It is, accordingly, inevitable that there should have been a succession of potentates and empires from the days humans began organizing themselves into tribes, then communities, societies, states, civilizations, etc. With that in mind, if it hadn't been evil old West calling the shots over the past X decades/centuries/millennia, it would've been someone else. And tell you what, pal: I'd infinitely rather have the West running the world than someone like Russia, China, Iran, Brazil, etc. America, for all its faults, has been by far the most benevolent and altruistic superpower ever seen in recorded history. We never went on an expansionist spree all over the world, we never sought to forcibly convert anyone to our values or beliefs, we never brazenly pillaged and plundered dozens of states dry with fleets of vessels transporting purloined goods to the motherland.

Slavery is our biggest stain from the past. Our support for Saudi Barbaria is our biggest stain in the present. We did a lot of crap the world over. But, and I'll be flippant here: SO WHAT! If we wouldn't have done it, someone else would have. People, individually, are scumbags. Overall though, I sure am glad it's been America in charge.

As far as the Islamic State, it originated in Syria (where, (in)famously, there was ZERO U.S. involvement). Plus, with or without the Second Gulf War, the eponymous Arab Spring would have happened, including in Saddam's Iraq, and Saddam would guaranteed have been extremely brutal in suppressing it, which, again, would likely have generated the Islamic State. It might be speculative, but no more nor less than your conjectures.

And now for the coup de grace. Islamic savagery did not begin with the "brutalization" of lovely, peaceful Moslems by the aggressive, avaricious West. The sub-animals slicing off innocent people's heads by the thousand, kidnapping/raping/enslaving girls as young as eight by the thousand, stoning people, throwing people off tower blocks, etc., etc., etc. are not doing that because they are mad at the West or because they're "poor" or "disenfranchised" or f**k knows what other excuse you have for them. If you truly believe that, then not only are you incredibly dumb, but also ineffably racist. There have been HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS of people throughout human history who had (and hey, are STILL having to!) to endure FAR worse that what those mofos supposedly experienced; yet, they did not turn into savage beasts.

No. The answer is found in their ideology. You obviously don't know s**t about the history of Islam. If you did, you would recognize that their actions are both catalyzed and endorsed by the Islamic creed. You would know they are following both the commandments AND EXAMPLE of the progenitors of Islam from its earliest days.

Or maybe you could talk to my wife. She is a "brown" Arab - yes, can you believe it! Me, a "racist," giving my heart and soul to a "brown" woman! - who suffered years of relentless daily physical and psychological abuse at the hands of her family. As did (and do) her sisters. And her friends. And pretty much all the women in her (former) community. I bet it's because their families have been victimized by the West though, right!

What a putz.

P.S. I'm not on the Right. If anything, I espouse probably as many liberal positions as conservative ones. If I *have* to label myself, which only bigots such as you demand, then I am Libertarian.
MsV - Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 1:41am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

I loved Lwaxanna's dresses. The one she wore when she started flirting with him in his office. All of those swirls were in the right places, all on a sheer back. She may have been annoying on both TNG and DS9, but she looked great. Mrs Roddenbury was in her 60's twenty years ago.
Next »Page 1 of 971
Copyright © 1994-2015, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer